About Mercadito - River North

108 W. Kinzie
Chicago, IL 60610
View Larger Map

Mexican food with authentic flavors. Lobster, Shrimp, Fish, Steak, Chicken, and Pork TACOS!! Craft Cocktails that will blow your mind!!! Ample sized banquets accommodate large parties while smaller white quartzite tables and the soft wood floor and ceiling keep the atmosphere cozy. Exquisite details include rope screens separating banquettes, handmade pyramid-shaped copper lights illuminating the bar, and unique graffiti-style murals dressing the dining rooms. A massive bar area and lounge lets guests relax while taking in the stylish and upscale environment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday 11:00am-3:00pm & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Friday: 5:00pm- 2:00am: Saturday: 5:00pm - 3:00am

Cross Street:
Kinzie between N Clark and N La Salle

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 329-9555

Website:
http://www.mercaditorestaurants.com/chicago/

Catering:
MH-Catering: website: www.mh-catering.com
Call: 312.361.3299

Our team's knowledge is grounded in their experience as consumers and connoisseurs, and then improved through decades of restaurant and industry experience. We strive to create a remarkable and unique experience by perfectly detailing every aspect of your catering and event needs. It is important to us that every guest has an exceptional experience and is provided with extraordinary service.

Parking Details:
Valet parking daily

Public Transit:
Merchandise Mart stops Purple and Brown Line and 156 Bus LaSalle.

Executive Chef:
Patricio Sandoval

Private Party Facilities:
Plan your next birthday, office party, or event at Mercadito. For parties of seven or more we offer a range of tasting menus and open bar options to fit any budget and palate. We are happy to help you plan a memorable event that will exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Wohlfeill: 3123299555x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties of seven or more we offer a range of tasting menus and open bar options to fit any budget and palate. We are happy to help you plan your event. Contact: events@mercaditorestaurants.com

Restaurant Photos

Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Shrimp Tacos
Lobster Tacos
Estilo Baja
Guacamole Trio
Pancita Tacos
Baha Fish Tacos
Paloma Diabla
Carne Asada Tacos
Green Rice
Tacos De Cameron
Spicechata (vanilla, horchata, morita chile) and chocolate (chocolate, horchata) Mexican milkshakes
Cajun spice marinated fish taco, cabbage slaw, tartar sauce, corn tortilla
Cobb salad, romaine lettuce, corn, red cabbage, hard boiled egg, jicama, chickpeas, black beans, tomatillo pico de gallo, queso fresco vinaigrette
Mahi Mahi Fried Fish Tacos (Mexican)
Flan
Corn Masa Quesadilla
Dizzy Oaxacan
Steak Tacos
Smokey Pablo
Queso Fundido
Carnitas De Pescado
Torrejas De Bolillo
Salsas
Elote
Little Market - Margarita
Queso Fundido With Wild Mushrooms
Fried Plantains With Jalapeno-Ginger Sauce
carnitas tacos
Guacamole
Al Pastor Taco
Margarita
Tacos Langosta
Missionary Reposition Cocktail
Tacos With Soy-Glazed Zucchini, Cheese
BNGTM: Big Nose Goes To Mexico
Cafexata Cocktail
Pepino el Pyu
Mexican Tacos with Chicharron (Pork Rinds) and Huitlacoche Wild Mushrooms - Brunch/Breakfast
Strawberry Margarita
Margarita Tradicional
Guacamole Taster
Shrimp Tacos with Avocado (Mexican)
Mahi Mahi Fish Seafood Ceviche with Plantains Chips
Pan Mexicano French Toast - Mexican Breakfast Brunch
Huevos Ahogados Mexican Breakfast Brunch Poached Eggs Benedict on Cornbread
Pineapple Cachaca Fruit Edible Cocktail
El Pirata
Mini Quesadillas
Arroz Y Frijoles
Veggie Tacos
Chips, Guacamole, Salsa
Los Hermanos, Dizzy Oaxacan, Trad Margarita
Estrellados y Tampiquena
Torta Carnitas de Puerco
Bay Scallops Ceviche with Watermelon
Mexican Pork Cheek Tacos
Chocomole Hot Chocolate Tequila Drinks with Corn Tortilla Chips
Manchego Cheese Breakfast Brunch Pancakes with Cinnamon Butter
Guacamole and Chips
Mango Guacamole
Pollo
Tres Viejos
Mahi Mahi Tacos
Ceviche
Estilo Baja (mahi-mahi) Tacos
Ceviche Callo
The Little Market
Goat Milk Flan
Tacos al Pastor
Cauliflower Vegetable side dishes (Mexican Vegetarian)
BBQ Beef Braised Short Ribs Tacos (Mexican)
Guacamole and Chips Tortilla Chips
Calabacitas Tacos Mexican Food
Brussels Sprouts with Pork Belly (Mexican Vegetable)
Shrimp Ceviche
Fried Plantains (Mexican)
Tacos
Cocktail
Pulpo Al Pastor
Huevos Con Carnitas
Tacos De Huevo A La Mexicana Con Chorizo
Smoked Chicken Taco
Guacamole Pair, Tocino & Tradicional
Torrejas de Bollilo (Mexican French Toast Bread Dessert)
Carne Tacos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Mon - Wed 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:45PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 11:30PM

Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:45PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mercadito - River North Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Energetic

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago / Illinois
Mexican
Chicago
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

fit for foodies (110)
good for groups (109)
hot spot (96)
See All
vibrant bar scene (71)
special occasion (54)
great for lunch (41)
neighborhood gem (35)
late-night find (31)
romantic (21)
great for outdoor dining (17)
great for brunch (14)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (4)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2960 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Busy and very loud - not intimate. I cou ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined a day ago

Busy and very loud - not intimate. I couldn't hear the person across from Me! Music blasting and very crowded. Food was basic and portions were small. Not sure of the big hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Food was just ok.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We come here about once a month because ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

We come here about once a month because it is absolutely fantastic! The drinks are quite pricy, but definitely worth it. The Paloma Diabla gives me life and is the best drink I've ever had. The mahi-mahi tacos are delicious (but get an extra napkin because they are a bit messy!).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service and food were excellent!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service and food were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I absolutely love this place!! The food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

I absolutely love this place!! The food was a great! I had the shrimp tacos and the black beans and I was very impressed. Joseph and Olivia were so accommodating and so nice. I'll definitely make this a regular spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visited this restaurant for brunch dur ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I visited this restaurant for brunch during a recent trip to Chicago and it was fantastic. Our server was attentive and all of the food was delicious. Loved the low-key atmosphere and will definitely dine here again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat! The best tacos, very in ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always a treat! The best tacos, very inventive and interesting combinations for the tacos and they all not only work they are delicious! Margaritas and guacamole are kinda pricey but the 4-taco entree is a great deal and again, delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and we will defin ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was delicious and we will definitely return. It was very loud in the restaurant. Difficult to carry on conversations.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was fantastic. The best taco's ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was fantastic. The best taco's I've ever had. Went back a week after my first visit there. Margarita's were very good too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Have been to Mercadito many times but la ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Have been to Mercadito many times but last week, we had awful service from our waiter. It started off badly when my husband asked for a glass for his beer. When he forgot to bring the glass, we politely asked for a glass and he made a face as he walked away. Usually, we are asked if we want guac or salsa to start but he just dumped the drinks and walked away. He then ignored us until I caught his attention to order our food. He was totally obnoxious telling us the food would come out as it was made and he made me repeat our selections even though I spoke slowly and in spanish. I had never asked about how the food was served as we know how the restaurant works. He seemed so totally indifferent to our presence, never even asked if my husband wanted another beer, and ended up giving the table next to us the wrong bill. While we enjoy going to Mercadito as the food continues to be excellent, we may think twice if the service becomes a problem. We hope this visit was an aberration and not a sign of some slippage.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

I've been to Mercadito several times. Th ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I've been to Mercadito several times. The food and service are outstanding, and the tequila choices are as well. The restaurant is always quite loud, and this visit was particularly noisy as we were seated near a couple very loud groups. I'm sure I'll be back but hopefully on a day when the noise level doesn't get on my nerves as much as it did on this recent visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Reservation didn't mean anything. I got ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Reservation didn't mean anything. I got seated 30 minutes after my scheduled time.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were overall disappointed with this r ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were overall disappointed with this restaurant. Though the ambiance and drinks were good, our meal was disappointment. We ordered two different types of fish tacos. The snapper was undercooked and the swordfish was overcooked. If I spent more time in this neighborhood, I might give it another try for DRINKS ONLY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Great food good energy bit too loud for ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great food good energy bit too loud for business meeting over dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We love Mercadito for its food, but the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We love Mercadito for its food, but the noise level is really unnecessarily too high. It was fine when we arrived, but within a few minutes, the music was turned up, which makes people talk louder. This is not a bar, it is a restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is our staple place for tacos in Ri ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This is our staple place for tacos in River North. We avoid going to this restaurant in the evenings (especially on Thursdays and Fridays) as it gets very loud but it's relatively quiet on weekends for lunch. Tacos (especially estilo bajo, hongos, lobster and pastor) are fantastic. Botanas (small dishes to share) are also great. Margaritas and refrescos are also very nice and you could get smoke (i.e., mazcal to your drinks). Service could be slow sometimes especially on weekends but food arrives relatively quickly and is consistently great. Overall, it's a nice place to visit on weekends if you're after Mexican food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

I think this is an Ok place with a nice ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I think this is an Ok place with a nice atmosphere, food was good but a bit pricey, portions were small. I would say just an average place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This place was so incredibly LOUD we end ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This place was so incredibly LOUD we ended up leaving after appetizers. We couldn't stand it another second. The tables are also so close to one another they actually have to slide out the table so you can sit down, then they slide the table back in, so forget about having a conversation. Or going to the restroom. You're basically having dinner with the strangers on either side of you, all of whom are screaming at one another because nobody can hear anything. It's so awkward the people next to us mentioned it when we sat down. The food was so-so. We had the lobster ceviche which was bright and tasty, but the dorado ceviche was really fishy. The guacamole was great, but the tacos were forgettable. The service was good, but the noise and the overcrowded dining room are deal breakers. We will definitely NOT be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Awesome all around! Will def be going ba ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Awesome all around! Will def be going back! Drinks were delicious

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drink were outstanding. The ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food and drink were outstanding. The ambiance was great, lots of energy and vibe. We tried seven different dishes, split them between us. All the dished were tasty. The margaritas were very tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The prices aren't justified by the quali ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The prices aren't justified by the quality or the quantity. I've had much better Mexican food for a fraction of the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We would definitely go back again.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was not my first time there. The fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was not my first time there. The food is great as well as the drinks. The price is expected for the location at $120 for 2 taco orders and 3 drinks total not including tip. The worst part of the experience was having to sit literally elbow to elbow with the other tables. And even worse was all of us in that section having to physically pull out a table and interrupt everyone to get out and use the washroom. I can tell exactly what each table next to us was talking about and I'm sure they also heard every word we said since we had to yell over the loud music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Wow! Drinks here are pronominal, but th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Wow! Drinks here are pronominal, but that just prepared us for the wonderful food. The lobster tacos were incredible. I recommend them.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had the mango guacamole with a trio o ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had the mango guacamole with a trio of salsas, my favorite being the habanerno. Dinner was fantastic! I had the lobster tacos that were full of meat and buttery. My husband had the steak tacos. The meat was so tender! Music was awesome, if you like dance music! Full of energy! Hands down, best in Chi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster tacos were great!!! Great place ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Lobster tacos were great!!! Great place for girls night!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved their tacos! I got the carne, poll ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Loved their tacos! I got the carne, pollo, shrimp, and fried fish tacos. It was pretty loud. They had Spanish music going and at about 9:30 they switched it to popular hits on the radio. The table was pretty small hard to fit all the food on but otherwise great food and great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I have been to this resturant many times ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have been to this resturant many times. The last few times, staff has tried to clear dishes before we were done eating. also the table then smelled over cleaner. This really ruins the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Everything we ordered was delicious - ma ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious - margaritas, guacamole, ceviche, tacos. I definitely recommend this place but it was a little loud/hard to hear.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It took a little too long for our serve ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

It took a little too long for our serve to come to us initially. After that the food was excellent, the margaritas were very good and it wasn't terribly expensive. Had a very good time.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was really yummy, we loved ever ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was really yummy, we loved everything we ordered. The margaritas were just so so, expected better. Our waiter was terrible, I saw him standing and talking to another server for 5 minutes while we waited to be greeted or give drink orders. Only came by twice after that. Asked us how good was 10 minutes after it arrived. I have waited tables before and know when a server is busy and when they just don't care. It was definitely the latter. However, the server filling water was great, never was without a drink. He worked much harder that our waiter.

While the good was very good, with so many great restaurants in Chicago you could definitely find another place where the service and food quality are good. We'll go elsewhere next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Where are my 1000 points???????!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Where are my 1000 points???????!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was fresh and tasty and the margari ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Food was fresh and tasty and the margaritas are hand made and divine!

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We went for brunch on fathers day>>>got ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for brunch on fathers day>>>got there just at opening so there was no crowd>>>>even when we left at 12:15 the place was only 20% fill if that. The brunch menu is quite limited>>>some of the items aren't even Mexican. I think this was just a bad choice for brunch, but thats all the time we had and i had been wanting to try this place. The food it self was good but nothing memorable>>>one thing that stood out is the the guac and the buritos i had were VERY salty...luckily i like salt, but most people would most likely object. The place has an interesting decor, but for me i'd like to have that a nice side to good food. Our meal was right at $100 with 3 drinks,2 appetizers, and 2 entrees>>>>>this is some what a small plates place>>>so you can run up a tab very quickly as is the gimick of most small places resturants!

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was nothing out of the ordinary...d ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was nothing out of the ordinary...device was less than desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Waited 15 minutes beyond our reservation ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Waited 15 minutes beyond our reservation time for a table. The food was good. They do excellent guacamole. Lobster ceviche had large pieces of lobster, very fresh tasting. Lobster tacos were delicious. Red snapper tacos had a more fishy taste, would not order again especially with so many other interesting options on the menu. Fun & unique cocktail selection. Service is as expected for price point and ambiance. This place is high energy, don't go expecting an intimate conversation. Also, seating is very crowded together.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Server made excellent recommendations fo ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Server made excellent recommendations for drinks and food...and made specific suggestions for the child we had dining with us. Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love the food and drinks, it was a bit l ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Love the food and drinks, it was a bit loud....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loud, fast-paced dining environment. Th ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Loud, fast-paced dining environment. The menu is loaded with small plate options for sharing among a group of friends. We were underwhelmed by the ice cream scoop serving of guacamole. Active bar scene even after the waiting tables were seated.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was loud but a great night with great ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

It was loud but a great night with great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.