About Mercadito - River North

108 W. Kinzie
Chicago, IL 60610
View Larger Map

Mexican food with authentic flavors. Lobster, Shrimp, Fish, Steak, Chicken, and Pork TACOS!! Craft Cocktails that will blow your mind!!! Ample sized banquets accommodate large parties while smaller white quartzite tables and the soft wood floor and ceiling keep the atmosphere cozy. Exquisite details include rope screens separating banquettes, handmade pyramid-shaped copper lights illuminating the bar, and unique graffiti-style murals dressing the dining rooms. A massive bar area and lounge lets guests relax while taking in the stylish and upscale environment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday 11:00am-3:00pm & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Friday: 5:00pm- 2:00am: Saturday: 5:00pm - 3:00am

Cross Street:
Kinzie between N Clark and N La Salle

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 329-9555

Website:
http://www.mercaditorestaurants.com/chicago/

Catering:
MH-Catering: website: www.mh-catering.com
Call: 312.361.3299

Our team's knowledge is grounded in their experience as consumers and connoisseurs, and then improved through decades of restaurant and industry experience. We strive to create a remarkable and unique experience by perfectly detailing every aspect of your catering and event needs. It is important to us that every guest has an exceptional experience and is provided with extraordinary service.

Parking Details:
Valet parking daily

Public Transit:
Merchandise Mart stops Purple and Brown Line and 156 Bus LaSalle.

Executive Chef:
Patricio Sandoval

Private Party Facilities:
Plan your next birthday, office party, or event at Mercadito. For parties of seven or more we offer a range of tasting menus and open bar options to fit any budget and palate. We are happy to help you plan a memorable event that will exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Wohlfeill: 3123299555x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties of seven or more we offer a range of tasting menus and open bar options to fit any budget and palate. We are happy to help you plan your event. Contact: events@mercaditorestaurants.com

Restaurant Photos

Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Mercadito - River North
Shrimp Tacos
Lobster Tacos
Estilo Baja
Guacamole Trio
Pancita Tacos
Baha Fish Tacos
Paloma Diabla
Green Rice
Carne Asada Tacos
Tacos De Cameron
Spicechata (vanilla, horchata, morita chile) and chocolate (chocolate, horchata) Mexican milkshakes
Cajun spice marinated fish taco, cabbage slaw, tartar sauce, corn tortilla
Cobb salad, romaine lettuce, corn, red cabbage, hard boiled egg, jicama, chickpeas, black beans, tomatillo pico de gallo, queso fresco vinaigrette
Mahi Mahi Fried Fish Tacos (Mexican)
Flan
Corn Masa Quesadilla
Steak Tacos
Dizzy Oaxacan
Smokey Pablo
Queso Fundido
Carnitas De Pescado
Torrejas De Bolillo
Salsas
Elote
Little Market - Margarita
Queso Fundido With Wild Mushrooms
Fried Plantains With Jalapeno-Ginger Sauce
carnitas tacos
Guacamole
Al Pastor Taco
Margarita
Tacos Langosta
BNGTM: Big Nose Goes To Mexico
Tacos With Soy-Glazed Zucchini, Cheese
Cafexata Cocktail
Missionary Reposition Cocktail
Pepino el Pyu
Mexican Tacos with Chicharron (Pork Rinds) and Huitlacoche Wild Mushrooms - Brunch/Breakfast
Strawberry Margarita
Margarita Tradicional
Guacamole Taster
Huevos Ahogados Mexican Breakfast Brunch Poached Eggs Benedict on Cornbread
Mahi Mahi Fish Seafood Ceviche with Plantains Chips
Shrimp Tacos with Avocado (Mexican)
Pan Mexicano French Toast - Mexican Breakfast Brunch
Pineapple Cachaca Fruit Edible Cocktail
El Pirata
Mini Quesadillas
Arroz Y Frijoles
Chips, Guacamole, Salsa
Veggie Tacos
Los Hermanos, Dizzy Oaxacan, Trad Margarita
Estrellados y Tampiquena
Torta Carnitas de Puerco
Bay Scallops Ceviche with Watermelon
Manchego Cheese Breakfast Brunch Pancakes with Cinnamon Butter
Chocomole Hot Chocolate Tequila Drinks with Corn Tortilla Chips
Mexican Pork Cheek Tacos
Guacamole and Chips
Mango Guacamole
Tres Viejos
Pollo
Mahi Mahi Tacos
Ceviche
Estilo Baja (mahi-mahi) Tacos
Ceviche Callo
The Little Market
Goat Milk Flan
Tacos al Pastor
Guacamole and Chips Tortilla Chips
Calabacitas Tacos Mexican Food
Fried Plantains (Mexican)
Shrimp Ceviche
Brussels Sprouts with Pork Belly (Mexican Vegetable)
Cauliflower Vegetable side dishes (Mexican Vegetarian)
BBQ Beef Braised Short Ribs Tacos (Mexican)
Cocktail
Tacos
Pulpo Al Pastor
Tacos De Huevo A La Mexicana Con Chorizo
Huevos Con Carnitas
Smoked Chicken Taco
Guacamole Pair, Tocino & Tradicional
Torrejas de Bollilo (Mexican French Toast Bread Dessert)
Carne Tacos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Mon - Wed 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:45PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 11:30PM

Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:45PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mercadito - River North Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Energetic

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago / Illinois
Mexican
Chicago
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

Fit for Foodies (122)
Good for Groups (118)
Hot Spot (107)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (86)
Special Occasion (63)
Great for Lunch (47)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Late-night Find (36)
Romantic (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Great for Brunch (20)
Kid-friendly (6)
Scenic View (6)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sort By:
Newest
3024 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chloe was amazing, what great service. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

Chloe was amazing, what great service. Not only is the food amazing but the energy is infectious. My favorite restaurant in Chicago!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress was not very attentive. We felt ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Waitress was not very attentive. We felt the busboys deserved the tip more as we saw them more and they did most of the work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We enjoyed the menu options; the variati ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed the menu options; the variations on various tacos was great and we liked that there were vegetarian options and lighter non-heavy fare. Our service was slow even though there were only a few patrons in the place. Having a casual attitude is nice, but casual movement between tables is a death knell for the people being served.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Its always a good experience. The Barte ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Its always a good experience. The Bartenders Men and Women have great attitudes and make you feel welcomed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great, albeit a bit overpriced. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great, albeit a bit overpriced. Service was nonexistent for 15-20 minutes and couldn't even get someone's attention to help. Seemed rushed. 4 star restaurant but service took away a star. Probably won't be back but definitely glad I went.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Food and service were great! They don't ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food and service were great! They don't offer sangria which was too bad but they had a ton of other yummy drinks. It's a tad dark and very loud, so no music. We used our phone flash light to read the menus and spoke up to talk to each other but this didn't stop us from enjoying our night out at Mercadito.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Loudest restaurant I have ever visited. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

Loudest restaurant I have ever visited. Brought wrong drinks but not really surprised because it was impossible to hear. Basic guacamole and chips very good. Left before dinner-just too loud if you want to hold conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Service was a little slow, but the food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Service was a little slow, but the food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing food & drinks! Our waiter was ve ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing food & drinks! Our waiter was very energetic and his suggestions were delicious. I highly recommend this for anyone who loves Mexican food and/or a good drink! If it's busy, it does get very loud, so it may not be the best environment if you plan on hearing every word your dinner date says.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food here is outstanding. The four ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food here is outstanding. The four of us each got different taco meals and shared them all. Everybody thoroughly enjoy each taco favor. We have the sword fish, fried mahi mahi, shrimp, and chicken. Each one tasted better than the next if that is possible. We also had the three different types of salsa platter and it was amazing. Traditional, Mango, and I think the Ramps. One of our group had never had salsa believe it or not and he loved all three. The food is fabulous but the pricing reflect this great taste. The prices were definitely on the high end.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very loud space. Hard to have a conversa ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very loud space. Hard to have a conversation. Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

The food here is wonderful! Definitely a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food here is wonderful! Definitely an option for everyone - many vegetarian options. The cocktails are great, there's a pretty comprehensive wine list as well. Service is good, however it's so loud in the restaurant that it can be a bit hard to hear/speak with the staff. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Not sure if noise was the factor, but ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Not sure if noise was the factor, but the waiter asked like we irritated him with questions about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Servers bringing out our food were atten ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Servers bringing out our food were attentive but waitress taking our order was never to be found. If you are dining with kids and this is not the place for you either. Food was only ok.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Second time here and the food was just a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Second time here and the food was just as delicious as the first time! Service wasn't the best. There was 6 of us, 2 people's food came out, waited 10 minutes for 3 more people's food, then was still missing an entree, that didn't come out until we were ALL finished eating and we sought out waitress to see where it was.. Waitress never came to table to see how food was or if there was anything she could get, (like our missing food) only had one drink/cocktail, no refills or new drinks. the bus boys were great as they at least cleared table and were on top of filling water glasses.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The food at the restaurant is out of thi ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food at the restaurant is out of this world but it's such an unpleasant dining experience because it's so loud- you leave with a headache. You can't hear anyone at your table- it's so loud you can't even order properly. The service was horrible... I don't even think we had a server- just had to stop random people working to help us. Food came out all out of order and at wrong times. When it did come out, it was delicious! Unfortunate situation- restaurant would be perfect if they had better staff, and noise control.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

The food was terrific. But as the crowd ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was terrific. But as the crowd grew and the conversational noise became much louder, management somehow decided that the music needed to be even louder. I'll never understand that kind of thinking. No one was there for the background music. This was at 7:00pm for pre-theatre dining. I'd hate to think what it would be like at 8:00 or 9:00. But again, the food was terrific.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

alwaysa pleasure to go to mercadito, the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

alwaysa pleasure to go to mercadito, the food and drinks are always so delicious and the staff is amazing..... thank you for the birthday treat as well

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food but way too noisy

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Delicious food but way too noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We were crammed in a row! Next to a dinn ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were crammed in a row! Next to a dinner party. It was SO loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Was very happy with the food and service ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Was very happy with the food and service! The crab stuffed avocado salad was delicious. Steak tender and cooked to perfection. Probably the BEST Brussels sprouts I've ever had and the truffle Mac & Cheese was to die for! We sat in the lower level. Much more quite than up stairs dinning. Highly recommend for romantic or special occasions. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud, loud and really loud. Food was go ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Loud, loud and really loud. Food was good. The tacos were innovative. The guacamole was good but for the price I would have liked to have more than a 1/4 cup.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

All of the tacos are delicious. They tas ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

All of the tacos are delicious. They taste great with their margariat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great original cocktail choices. Tasty t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great original cocktail choices. Tasty tacos and phenom dessert. No brainer for a solid dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tables are packed like sardines! There i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Tables are packed like sardines! There is not much space to get comfortable at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We came for light dinner and drinks. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We came for light dinner and drinks. The server was clearly overly busy and we waited to be seen at the table for a while. He was also very critical that we hadn't ordered enough food. He also told me that "every woman who ordered that drink didn't like it" and wouldn't believe that I liked whisky /he asked me twice. It was uncomfortable. We enjoyed the lobster ceviche but the experience overall was not worth the pricing and rude service. They also cleared the table so aggressively when we were done and finishing a conversation that they moved our water glasses one by one to wash the table. It was awkward and seemed like they wanted us to get up even though it wasn't that busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

I was actually rather excited about eati ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I was actually rather excited about eating at Mercadito despite the reviews I'd read indicating that the service is slow. Actually, the service is atrocious. On the good side, the food was incredible. The menu has a nice assortment of small plates and the drinks menu has a good variety of offerings. The lobster tacos and the shrimp tacos were aces, if you're looking for a recommendation.

We were seated promptly for our reservation but the hostess was neither welcoming nor did she have a smile. After we were seated we waited 14-minutes (count 'em, 14) for our server to approach our table. So we drank water for 14-minutes and watched the bar tender polish glasses and prep the bar. Also during this 14-minutes, we watched another server approach another table to take their order and deliver their chips. We watched the hostess eating at another table (we arrived just at opening so there were tons of empty tables--I don't begrudge her a meal.) Anyway, sometimes a wait happens but when it does I kind of expect something along the lines of "I'm sorry for the delay, thanks for your patience." When our server arrived, she said none of that and offered little other than a canned recitation explaining some aspects of the menu. The same menu that I'd spent most of the last 14-minutes reading...

The bus person was the only one who cared that we were there, so props to him. Short version of this review: If you want good food and truly don't care about the service, then try Mercadito. The chef and kitchen staff clearly know what they're doing. If you want the full experience including decent service, don't. Just don't. It's exhaustively frustrating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

We had a group of 7 and they were very a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a group of 7 and they were very accommodating. We really enjoyed their party package where everyone got to sample a variety of salsas, ceviches, sides, tacos and dessert. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been here three times, and haven't ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I've been here three times, and haven't had a bad dish yet. It's energetic without being overly loud. The service is outstanding. The food is delicious. It's a great mix of small items and larger items, so it's easy to please a group who wants to share or people who want their own entrees. The drinks are expertly made. It's not cheap, but it's also not outlandish. One of my faves in Chicago!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was really mediocre. Trying too har ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was really mediocre. Trying too hard. I didn't finish mine. Also, at night it turns into a club - beware if you're trying to have a conversation. Overall it's fine, but definitely nothing special. Foodies will be happier elsewhere.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

good food and drinks, little pricey aka ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

good food and drinks, little pricey aka 12$margaritas

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went with my fiancee for our anniversary ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Went with my fiancee for our anniversary, and we were disappointed. Great cocktails helped salvage the night, but overly cramped seating (we had to physically move our table in order for my fiancee to be able to get out) and lackluster tacos made me ultimately regret the decision. Her shrimp tacos were overly sauced; my pork and cabbage tacos were surprisingly bland. I'd recommend coming here in a larger group (or hungrier), where you can order more food and share around.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding food, each bite had a variet ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Outstanding food, each bite had a variety of flavors and textures. This place is living proof that you can't judge a book by its cover. From the outside, its hard to locate from the street, with signage that is probably an 18 inch square. Inside the atmosphere and bar scene are first rate and the menu is a foodie delight.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious as usual & servic ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was delicious as usual & service was perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a Tuesday at 6pm. They had a "Tac ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

It was a Tuesday at 6pm. They had a "Taco Tuesday" special until 7p that the waiter failed to mention, although we all ordered full price tacos. We only noted this AFTER we paid, reading on signage in ladies room. Very disappointing. However food was very tasty. Highly recommend the shrimp tacos!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We stopped in while in Chicago on vacati ...

vip
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We stopped in while in Chicago on vacation with a craving for finer Mexican food, and we definitely got it. We really wanted to try the lobster ceviche, which they were out of, but that was the only less-than-awesome thing about the meal. The guacamole was great (we got the mango variety), and the enchiladas were amazing. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Mexican food; good simple spot for ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great Mexican food; good simple spot for a business lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, great tacos and drinks but a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food, great tacos and drinks but a bit loud. Service was good, a little pricey but based on location, its expected.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had my friend's bachelorette dinner h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had my friend's bachelorette dinner here. It definitely got energized and in a great mood. We all had a different taco for dinner and all loved them. We ordered the blackened swordfish tacos, shrimp tacos, and chicken tacos. Service was very attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat. Every time we're in ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great place to eat. Every time we're in Chicago we have a dinner here. Food is amazing, great vibrant atmosphere friendly and helpful staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.