About Menton

354 Congress
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Menton, Chef Barbara Lynch’s Fort Point fine dining restaurant, is the final concept to complete her Fort Point trifecta and joins neighbors Sportello and Drink. Located in FP3, the AIA award-winning luxury condominium complex, Menton radiates an understated elegance and offers several beautiful spaces to dine including the 60-seat dining room, a 12-seat Chef’s Table, and the 45-seat private dining room.
The restaurant, a glamorous expression of fine dining, was designed by Cheryl and Jeffrey Katz of C&J Katz and features a subtle palette of grays with touches of silver and black. The cuisine of Menton displays the talent for precision and visual artistry across two seasonal tasting menus and a la carte selections for dinner daily, and a more casual a la carte menu for lunch Wednesday - Friday.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER
Dining Room
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30-10:00
Sunday - Monday: 5:30-9:00

The Gold Bar
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00-11:00
Sunday - Monday: 5:00-10:00

LUNCH
Dining Room & The Gold Bar
Wednesday - Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
A Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 737-0099

Website:
http://www.mentonboston.com/

Parking Details:
Menton offers valet parking beginning at 5:00pm every evening at a price of $18.00 per vehicle.

Public Transit:
South Station

Executive Chef:
Michele Carter

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Tue 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:45PM

Sat 11:30AM - 1:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Menton offers both a Private Dining Room accommodating up to 45 guests seated or 65 for a reception as well as a Chef’s Table, an intimate space with a dynamic view of the kitchen seating up to 12. Our Private Events Manager will assist you in creating a truly memorable and personalized event.

Menton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Boston
Best Restaurants in Fort Point Channel ›

special occasion (51)
fit for foodies (49)
romantic (36)
See All
notable wine list (35)
neighborhood gem (7)
good for groups (6)
hot spot (5)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Both the food and service were exception ...

Dined 5 days ago

Both the food and service were exceptional. An excellent place for a special occasion

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

Dined 5 days ago

We had the complete honor of dining at Menton Saturday evening. We relished our gluten free 6 course tasting menu. Each course was exquisite and served with the perfect wine pairing. The staff was professional and informative while warmly pampering us. We will be back. Thank you Menton!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Meh

Dined 7 days ago

We expected more from this Relais & Chateaux restaurant. Granted, having lunch at a fine restaurant is a bit of a risk. However, this was really disappointing for the price. Food presentation was uninspired and many dishes were oversalted. Can you imagine not finishing crab salad? Two of us couldn't, because it was just too salty. One of the dishes was supposed to have bottarga in it - needed a magnifying glass to find it. On the positive side, the service was impeccable and gracious & the cocktails superb. probably not enough to get me back when there are so many amazing restaurants in Boston.

food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was very good, as it was the wi ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was very good, as it was the wine selection. Service was not remarkable, as I would have expected. We had to call for a waiter a few times and waited more than usual to place our order.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Too expensive compared to quality

Dined on May 14, 2016

Impressive plating and so so dishes. The price ratio was way too high compared to the value. I would have rated this high if the price was lower. Good service. noisy atmosphere.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Menton

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was a delicious combination of favors and textures. The portions are small, but, as recommended by our very good waiter, we each ordered three things, which was ample. The ambiance is very pleasant and fairly quiet, although the noise level would obviously increase with a fuller restaurant. It is not inexpensive, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Took colleagues there for dinner. Great food - very creative and very delicious. The service was also fabulous. I chose Menton because of its great reputation for outstanding food, and it totally lived up to the reputation. If you want a great meal in Boston, Menton is the place to go!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michelin Star Worthy

Dined on May 6, 2016

Spectacular food, drinks and service. Incredibly elegant all around. Expensive, but worth the money if you are inclined to treat yourself....actually reasonable for comparable options in other cities. Worthy of a michelin star.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food, top service and wine list

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were thrilled with our recent dining experience at Menton's. The buttery seafood soup and oysters to start off with were amazing, and my duck dish main course was perhaps the best I have ever savored. In between were lots of delectable items, although portions were small. Wines we selected were as smooth as silk, as was the service. Highly recommended overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular service, great food, great cocktails.

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a great experience. It felt like the night was custom-tailored for us. Our waiter, Danny, was incredible. He was completely tuned into who we were personally and made recommendations accordingly. He elevated the experience to another level- he was like another guest at our table and we loved having him. That being said, the vibe was great. The food was super tasty and interesting. The pineapple sorbet desert could be the best desert I've ever had, and the cocktails were epic. Definitely a go-to for a special celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall fine dining, great Drinks, Good ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Overall fine dining, great Drinks, Good location, service good.

food4
ambience5
service5

A pleasant surprise. We went for the "in ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

A pleasant surprise. We went for the "into evolution" tasting menu and it delivered. Some of the dishes were while some blew our mind. Service was good. Better than No. 9 Park in my opinion.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was spectacular

Dined on April 22, 2016

The service was spectacular

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Ambitious creative

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

high knowledgable and engaged server. food is great, but portions are tiny. need to order the full menu which is pricey. a special treat, best enjoyed with a generous expense account

food1
ambience4
service2

While we applaud the attempt to bring NY ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

While we applaud the attempt to bring NY/Paris-style fine dining to Boston, this was a "The Emperor Has No Clothes"-type of experience. With the exception of the presentation, the food was absolutely awful. We were expecting a delicious experience and instead got an unappetizing, desperate attempt to be creative, culminating in a fois gras hot dog, complete with a bun. It tasted like a hot dog. We paid extra to have different tasting menus yet the majority of our dishes were exactly the same. One of the many inexperienced wait staff we had acted miffed bc I changed my mind from wanting white wine to red (it had not been poured yet). For the price we paid, I could have asked him to stand on his head and would have expected him to do it with a smile! (It was $479 for 2 people, excluding tip). What a costly disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful

Dined on April 1, 2016

Everything was wonderful

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

special occasion type restautant

Dined on March 31, 2016

It was really good experience in terms of ambiance, service, quality of ingredients. The food is good but nothing out of this world. I don't remember anything specific from the menu. Good enough to spend $400 for two people for a special occasion, but not good enough to come back again any time soon to repeat the experience. I prefer their partner restaurant Number 9. Satisfying enough to not feel robbed because you can tell the restaurant tries to make sure you have a good experience. Try it once and move on.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Perfect Special Occasion Restaurant

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was metiticulously prepared - every bite was exceptional. The service was impeccable without being pretentious. The entire staff was knowledgeable and were happy to answer any question that we had. We were treated as special guests. We enjoyed the evening very much.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

"Meh"ton

Dined on March 26, 2016

A place like Menton should be an exceptional experience, especially for the price, but we found the entire experience just OK. Although there was nothing notably bad about the evening, it just didn't live up to expectations with a few of the servings plain and uninspiring. The wine parings were odd and we did not find that the selection complimented the food with a few exceptions. On the upside, the sweets were nicely done.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions
food4
ambience5
service4

Lovely dinner. Service was excellent. ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Lovely dinner. Service was excellent. Beautiful dining room. Apparently Menton is the darling of the Boston restaurant scene. It was quite good. Most amazing neal ever? No. Some of the dishes were just trying too hard to be inventive. I did one of the tasting menus and some of the dishes just didn't come together. Beautiful beef paired with horribly bitter orange. I didn't like. The table next to me also commented and the waiter just said they meant for it to be like that. Also the staff seemed offended that a single female diner dared to come to their restaurant. Oh well, glad I tried it. Will I be back? Probably not.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Splurge

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Food exquisite, service impeccable, even got a tour of the kitchen...very expensive but worth it for the occasional splurge!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

flawless service

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Probably the best service in Boston. Friendly yet formal. Very discreetly attentive. The menu is divide into two "styles" a la carte and 2 tasting menus. This may throw you off unless you know. All the portions on all the menus are tasting size. Food reminiscent of Le Bernardin NYC, foam and drama for some basically pretty simple things. The $150 wine sampling seemed like good value, excellent and rare wines a plenty... it's fun for an occasion. Very Boston in that it doesn't assume a attitude, it's just going about the business of fine dining.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

I won't be back

Dined on February 27, 2016

The ambiance was blah and unexciting. The food portions where ridiculously small and not that tasty. The tuna appetizer tasted like a chunk of tuna from a can, a dry one at that, and I had trouble finishing it as it was devoid of flavor. The butter soup was delicious, but you had to eat it with a teaspoon or else you would finish it in one slurp. The branzini was also tasty but the buckwheat cracker with the beet and I think it was cheese at the beginning of the meal cost the chef a lot of work for not much flavor. I almost laughed when I saw the Ille flotant. The champagne on the other hand was the best I've had in awhile. The ladies room was spotless and had a very pleasant scented candle burning. I think it was the prettiest room in the restaurant! Thank God for the cookies at the end of all this or I might have gone home still hungry.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is truly a special place.

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

An incredible meal. Service is top notch and food quality is superb. Do not go unless you are planning on the tasting menu - the key here is very small portions but a true tour of different tastes. We did the 6 course and they brought two extra dessert courses. Also, was a Friday during lent and they moved things around and created incredible "pescatarian" meals for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

We arrived at 6:00 PM for a 6:15 PM rese ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

We arrived at 6:00 PM for a 6:15 PM reservation. We were told we needed to wait until 6:15 to be seated, even though our table was ready and the restaurant was nearly empty at that time. By 6:10 I became annoyed that we were not seated at our empty table, and asked to be seated. I could understand if this were a "all-you-can eat $15.99" restaurant - but for $500 for 2 people, I expect better service. The food items ranged from very good to outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Boston's Best

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

This may well be THE best in Boston, but since I haven't been to every restaurant yet, I'll call it one of the best. We've eaten there twice in as many months, the first time having their Evolution tasting menu with wine pairings (which I recommend to get a good overview of their cuisine while having a great experience) and the second time ordering a la carte. Preparation, presentation, and service were all flawless in both cases. When ordering a la carte, you'll want to get three or four courses, as the portion sizes are quite small, and the resultant meal will be pricey, especially if you order a worthy wine accompaniment. But if it's in your budget, I'd highly recommend Menton for a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Worth a king's ransom

Dined on February 18, 2016

The dining experience at Menton is perfection, but be aware it comes at a price, a very high price. The room is beautiful, spare, elegant. The service is impeccable, friendly, helpful and never haughty. The food is unique, interesting, varied, delicious and beautifully presented. The portions are miniscule, hence the offering of 8 course tasting menus and an al la carte menu comprised of selections from the tasting menus. The bread and rolls are so good they deserve a tasting menu of their own. For a very special occasion Menton is a very special restaurant. You will be poorer, but you will not be sorry.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An excellent experience

Dined on February 17, 2016

Very creative cuisine and excellent service! The food was excellent. The service was outstanding. The wine by the glass selection is small but adequate,

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AMAZING

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

It was one of the best meal EVER... From the service to the glassware everything was absolutely perfect... The food was delicious and plenty of it.. Even the breads were to die for.... Just an overall great experience that comes at a price but well worth it! We even got a tour of the kitchen and saw that they have a chef's table that accommodates 12 overlooking the kitchen!! It was all just perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

2nd time we have eaten at the resrtaurant

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

Got the tasting menu and it is just too much food. I wish they would change it up a little and do entrees instead of the tasting menus.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great--as always!

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

We've never had a bad experience with Menton, but this evening was exceptionally good. The food was wonderful, and the restaurant made amazing accommodations for one of our party with a nut allergy. The pacing was perfect, and the elements all came together beautifully. But the best part of the evening was our server, John, who was a consummate professional. He was charming, funny, appropriately attentive, and knowledgeable. He played a major role in our experience. Be prepared to spend some money, but the cost is worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service and wonderful food

Dined on February 7, 2016

As expected, Menton was excellent both in its food (especially the bread service) and its extremely attentive service. They were also very accomodating of our party's dietary restrictions when we ordered the tasting menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Occasion

Dined on January 29, 2016

Menton is becoming the place we select for "special occasions"...special birthdays, anniversaries, and the like. Pricey but as they say you get what you pay for and in the case of Menton that comes with not only excellent food wonderfully presented BUT the overall experience from the moment you arrive is most comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Weird menu

Dined on January 29, 2016

I didn't realize even though I read the menu online before we went that they have totally changed to a menu of small plates either al a carte or in package of 6 or 8 courses. We ordered the 8 and it was way too much food. Each dish was delicious, well-prepared, etc., but we could no longer enjoy ourselves about 2/3 of the way through. I feel we should have been warned about the volume of food to be served. Also, the desserts were ordinary and not worth waiting for. Unless they change back to a regular menu, we won't go back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding presentation.

Dined on January 28, 2016

Each dish is more akin to an art installation. You pause to consider the artistry before you engage with the myriad tastes and flavors. What a lovely culinary experiencing. The wait staff were timely and good fun. All hail the Butter Soup!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Didn't meet my expectations

Dined on January 23, 2016

I am sad to note that I was definitely underwhelmed by the food. I'm not sure if I had set the bar too high in my head but I found the food to be ok and not worth the price tag. I've eaten at other restaurants with tasting menus and have always been wow'ed by them. I got an 8 course tasting menu and would have preferred a shorter menu with better execution. Again, perhaps I just expected too much - the food was good, better than most other places but for the prestige around this restaurant, I thought it fell short.

food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Lovely restaurant, very interesting dini ...

Dined on January 20, 2016

Lovely restaurant, very interesting dining experience. Extremely expensive, menu is somewhat confusing and was not well explained.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent place for special occasion wit ...

vip
Dined on January 14, 2016

Excellent place for special occasion with wish for lots of time- slow (almost too slow) dining with good conversation. One certainly does not feel rushed Food is very good, but at times a bit too fussy........

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

A Real Disappointment

vip
Dined on January 13, 2016

We have been to wonderful restaurants across the country and had heard great things about the tasting menu at Menton, so were eager to try it for ourselves. What a disappointment! Although the food was creative in concept, most of the dishes served just weren't that delicious. The food was overworked and surprisingly bland - we had to really try to figure out what we were tasting in some of the dishes. Given the exorbitant pricing, Menton was definitely not worth the effort.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining Adventure

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

Our second visit to Menton, this time we brought friends. Did not disappoint; from beginning to end. Food was excellent, wine was fantastic, service was excellent and the tour of the kitchen after dinner with introductions to the Chef was a memorable experience. Looking forward to the next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.