About Menton

354 Congress
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Menton, Chef Barbara Lynch’s Fort Point fine dining restaurant, is the final concept to complete her Fort Point trifecta and joins neighbors Sportello and Drink. Located in FP3, the AIA award-winning luxury condominium complex, Menton radiates an understated elegance and offers several beautiful spaces to dine including the 60-seat dining room, a 12-seat Chef’s Table, and the 45-seat private dining room.
The restaurant, a glamorous expression of fine dining, was designed by Cheryl and Jeffrey Katz of C&J Katz and features a subtle palette of grays with touches of silver and black. The cuisine of Menton displays the talent for precision and visual artistry across two seasonal tasting menus and a la carte selections for dinner daily, and a more casual a la carte menu for lunch Wednesday - Friday.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER
Dining Room
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30-10:00
Sunday - Monday: 5:30-9:00

The Gold Bar
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00-11:00
Sunday - Monday: 5:00-10:00

LUNCH
Dining Room & The Gold Bar
Wednesday - Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
A Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 737-0099

Website:
http://www.mentonboston.com/

Parking Details:
Menton offers valet parking beginning at 5:00pm every evening at a price of $18.00 per vehicle.

Public Transit:
South Station

Executive Chef:
Michele Carter

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bluefin Tuna "Tree Of Life"
Chefs Tasting Menu
Kataifi Wrapped Langoustines with Peas, Pumpkin Seed Oill, and Pickled Rhubarb
Onion Macaron With Goat Cheese
Beets salad - Honey/Truffle Mascarpone, Beet Guacamole, Roasted Golden Beets, Orange-Pernod Espuma
Amuse Bouche
chocolate moelleux
Seared Foie Gras
Rhode Island fluke, royal white sturgeon caviar, beurre blanc, celery
Jonah Crab Risotto
Asparagus Gelee
Channel Bass
Seared foie gras de canard, escargot, tarragon, porcini mushrooms
Seared bay scallops, chili, yuzu, daikon
Chocolate ganache and crumble, pistachio, toffee, banana
Griggstown phesant breast, confit oyster in foie gras fat, pickled ramp, sourdough stuffing with bacon and cream, pheasant jus
Rabbit loin and belly roulade, braised rabbit thigh, carrots, chanterelles, mustard, Époisses
Yellowfin tuna, fresh citrus, oolong tea, bottarga, chive
Mini macarons – lemon thyme, cacao nibs, pumpkin, pear
Sticky carrot cake, toffee caramel center, Greek yogurt, carrot sorbet, date
Carrot macarons, goat cheese, rosemary (canapes)
Pumpkin cardamom gougères (canapes)
Kampachi crudo, blood orange, hazelnut, kumquat, frisée
Vol-au-Vent, caramelized onions, pear (canapes)
Pre-dessert: coriander tea, black pepper sorbet, finger lime
Honey sea salt croissant
Atlantic halibut, royal white sturgeon caviar (canapes)
Columbia River Sturgeon
Tuna Sashimi With White Sturgeon Caviar
Kohlrabi velouté soup, apple, olive oil (canapés)
Cranberry sourdough bread roll
Mignardises, hiscus caramels, cranberry tart tropeziennes (cream puffs), peanut butter crunch truffles
Macaroons
monkfish
Foie Gras plate w/
Lobster Tar Tar On Shrimp
Black Truffle Ravioli
Pistachio Ice Cream
Goat Cheese Desert
Lobster Tartare
Hearts Of Palm Salad
Fois gras
Heirloom Tomatoes
Vitello Marscapone
Eggplant Ravioli
Cranberry Popsicles, Chocolate Rosemary Green Tea Cake Souflee
Salmon And Cockles With Lovage
Salmon
Duet Of Prime Beef
Nova Scotia Lobster
Giannone Farm Poulet
Torchon Of Foie Gras De Canard
Halibut
Pork
Borsch
Pea Green Panna Cotta
Cheese Acoompaniments
marcho farm veal
Seared Foie Gras de Canard
Spiced Chocolate Cake
Bread
faca leaf agnolotti
Assorted Cheeses
Croissant
assiette of rabbit
Fluke
Black Pepper Cremeux
Dark Chocolate Pave
Blue Fin Tuna
Rock Crab Salad
Langoustine Crudo
French White Asparagus
tortellini
Assorted Macaroons
goat cheese
Apple Cider Doughnuts And Ice Cream
White Alba Truffle Supplement Course
Seared Foie Gras de Cabard with Pickled Cherries, Basil, and Burgundy Truffle

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Tue 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:45PM

Sat 11:30AM - 1:45PM

Private Dining

Menton offers both a Private Dining Room accommodating up to 45 guests seated or 65 for a reception as well as a Chef’s Table, an intimate space with a dynamic view of the kitchen seating up to 12. Our Private Events Manager will assist you in creating a truly memorable and personalized event.

Menton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Boston / New England
Best Service
Boston
Notable Wine List
Boston
2 More
Special Occasion
Boston
French
Boston
Best Restaurants in Fort Point Channel ›

special occasion (66)
fit for foodies (64)
notable wine list (49)
See All
romantic (44)
neighborhood gem (12)
hot spot (6)
good for groups (5)
great for lunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We did the evolution testing menu. It w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

We did the evolution testing menu. It was truly a rememberal evening. It was a fun gourmet adventure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tasting menu was amazing: course aft ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

The tasting menu was amazing: course after course of fascinating flavors and textures. The fois gras hot dog with blueberry/walnut ketchup and popcorn mustard, the lamb, clams 3 ways and deconstructed bouillabaisse were just some of the highlights. All the dessert courses were superb. The service was perfect - attentive without being invasive. Jonathan was a great captain and made sure we had everything we needed. Dale was awesome and explained all the dishes perfectly. He was very personable and fun (great job!). The chef came out with the black truffle and was very personable as well. I love this type of amazing food experience. I certainly hope to go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Most amazing meal I have ever had. All ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Most amazing meal I have ever had. All time favorite restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous tasting meal here with ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a fabulous tasting meal here with an incredible wine pairing. Truly spectacular. The only reason I'm not giving the restaurant a perfect score is because we were seated more than 30 minutes late and did not place our orders until almost an hour passed the reservation time. Though to their credit they comped out glasses of wine we had while waiting at the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful tasting menu, phenomenal wine ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful tasting menu, phenomenal wine list. Definitely will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A perfect experience in every way!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

A perfect experience in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was exceptional, food was except ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service was exceptional, food was exceptional, tasting menu is always a great choice. We travel to Boston to eat at Menton (though I think they pronounce it wrong.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the second Barbara Lynch restau ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was the second Barbara Lynch restaurant we've been to. Not much we can add to other outstanding reviews, but I'd like to commend the young man (22!) who was acting as Captain and Somm. The restaurant was not crowded and I always like to chat with the staff. We talked about what was required to survive in the high-end restaurant business today, and one of the things was training. This "kid" was from Columbia, and had been aiming for a restaurant career since he was about 12 years old. It was clear from the get-go that Ms. Lynch put a high emphasis on staff training, remarkably so, and he described the training program at Menton, which was both deep and broad. He was a bit surprised that we knew where the name of the restaurant came from, and expanded on our knowledge with a touch of history. We talked about the deplorable trend toward "lively" atmospheres, even in high end places, with interior design that made it almost impossible to have a conversation due to the high decibel background noise.

Perhaps this didn't matter because the clientele had nothing substantive to say.

The menu was limited, but the execution was superb. Alas, my days of drinking a bottle of wine for lunch are over, but the BTG selection was fine, and appropriate to the meals.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite, as always. The ever-changing ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Exquisite, as always. The ever-changing menu and wine list provide variety even for those who are lucky enough to dine here frequently.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely wonderful meal and perfect fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Absolutely wonderful meal and perfect for a special occasion. Our party of 7 enjoyed each dish and all aspects of this dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My expectations for dinner at Menton wer ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My expectations for dinner at Menton were high, and they were exceeded. From the moment we walked in to celebrate our anniversary, we were treated as special guests. A complimentary glass of Paul Roget champagne started an incredible tasting menu experience. Service was superb, wines excellent. Nothing could have been better. The highest of the high end.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding, servers were fr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was outstanding, servers were friendly and helpful. Food was delicious and the unique styles and presentation kept it from being the meal you expected when you walked in the door

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is where you go if someone else is ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This is where you go if someone else is paying the bill. The food is ridiculously expensive or maybe it's just that the servings are ridiculously small. Be warned, when the entree is described as "scallop with. . ." they do mean ONE scallop, and not even a big one.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Not worth it. If you like gourmet food, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Not worth it. If you like gourmet food, go to Montreal. The restaurants there will put Menton to shame

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food at Menton is superb. That said, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food at Menton is superb. That said, you should expect modest portions, in the French minimalist manner, and expensive prices.

Unfortunately, the ambience does not match the quality of the food. The dining areas are stylistically cold. The service was generally excellent, but the pacing of the meal was erratic. And, on the Saturday evening we ate there, there were a number of small children, who were somewhat disruptive.

So we would certainly recommend Menton for the quality of the food, but not necessarily for the overall dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

It was our engagement dinner celebration ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It was our engagement dinner celebration. We chose the tasting menu with the wine pairing. We got complimentary drinks and food and they really made it a special occasion to be remembered. The service was flawless and everyone was great. We had a nice window seat and the food was rich and delicious. The frois grois hot dog was amazing. Thanks again for making it even more of a special day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I found Menton through the Popular tab h ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I found Menton through the Popular tab here on Open Table. I added a note to the reservation that it was our 15th anniversary. I was hoping it would be a great new find, and I wasn't disappointed. The food was amazing. The halibut was the best fish dish I've ever had. We were given a pour of champagne at the beginning of the meal for our anniversary, and we were later brought out a plate of small bite desserts with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate on the plate. From the food to the service to the wine to the special treatment they showed us, Menton helped make our day even more special. I highly recommend it as a special occasion splurge, or even just a nice night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience. The food was beyond, ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great Experience. The food was beyond, but the experience was made most special by the team of great professionals serving us. Very knowledgeable and polished. The chef appreciated his customers by saying hi and offering a tour of a very busy kitchen. The "butter" soup is a must. We highly recommend the tasting menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant. The tasting menu ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic restaurant. The tasting menu and wine pairings were amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We had the 6-course tasting menu. The fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had the 6-course tasting menu. The food is exceptional, especially the fois gras, it was cooked perfectly.

The service was exceptional. Drinks were filled all the time. The head waiter was very friendly and professional. The food were delivered in a dramatic manner, like a show.

Ambience is quiet.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my partner here to celebrate his ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I took my partner here to celebrate his birthday, and I can say we were not disappointed. Last year, I had taken him to No. 9 Park, where my partner is now the executive pastry chef. Chef Barbara amazed us again, the service and food were exceptional, there were no complaints at all. My partner and I can easily say this was one of the best meals we have ever experienced. My partner and I will definitely come back to share another special occasion at Menton.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was wonde full food and service with ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

It was wonde full food and service with new slants on food which is what we love

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The dinner was outstanding in every resp ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The dinner was outstanding in every respect. We did the a la carte menu which was varied so that there were items that would appeal to any taste. The service was prompt without being rushed and our waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful without being pushy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food with delightful tastes. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Very good food with delightful tastes. Had the 8 course tasting menu with wine pairing. Three and a half hours of enjoyment. Very expensive but worth it for a special treat. Minimal decor; the attention is on the wine and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Five start dining all around

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

From the sophisticated, understated decor to the staff, dining at Menton is as near to perfect as it can get (and VERY pricey). For that special occasion, it is well worth it. The experience is as much of a feast for the eyes as it is for the pallette. The team members work well together and offer a perfect balance of professionalism and friendliness. The flavors are ones that you wouldn't think of putting together, and they work.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was exceptional. I just sat ba ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was exceptional. I just sat back and enjoyed the chef and his staff's hard work. No menu needed. Even the wine pairing was perfect h

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff were great, the food was fanta ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The staff were great, the food was fantastic and the wine splendid, we had a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both the food and service were exception ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Both the food and service were exceptional. An excellent place for a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfection

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had the complete honor of dining at Menton Saturday evening.

We relished our gluten free 6 course tasting menu. Each course was exquisite and served with the perfect wine pairing.

The staff was professional and informative while warmly pampering us.

We will be back.

Thank you Menton!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meh

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We expected more from this Relais & Chateaux restaurant. Granted, having lunch at a fine restaurant is a bit of a risk. However, this was really disappointing for the price. Food presentation was uninspired and many dishes were oversalted. Can you imagine not finishing crab salad? Two of us couldn't, because it was just too salty. One of the dishes was supposed to have bottarga in it - needed a magnifying glass to find it.

On the positive side, the service was impeccable and gracious & the cocktails superb. probably not enough to get me back when there are so many amazing restaurants in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was very good, as it was the wi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was very good, as it was the wine selection. Service was not remarkable, as I would have expected. We had to call for a waiter a few times and waited more than usual to place our order.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Too expensive compared to quality

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Impressive plating and so so dishes. The price ratio was way too high compared to the value. I would have rated this high if the price was lower. Good service. noisy atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Menton

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was a delicious combination of favors and textures. The portions are small, but, as recommended by our very good waiter, we each ordered three things, which was ample. The ambiance is very pleasant and fairly quiet, although the noise level would obviously increase with a fuller restaurant. It is not inexpensive, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Took colleagues there for dinner. Great food - very creative and very delicious. The service was also fabulous. I chose Menton because of its great reputation for outstanding food, and it totally lived up to the reputation. If you want a great meal in Boston, Menton is the place to go!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michelin Star Worthy

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Spectacular food, drinks and service. Incredibly elegant all around. Expensive, but worth the money if you are inclined to treat yourself....actually reasonable for comparable options in other cities. Worthy of a michelin star.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, top service and wine list

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We were thrilled with our recent dining experience at Menton's. The buttery seafood soup and oysters to start off with were amazing, and my duck dish main course was perhaps the best I have ever savored. In between were lots of delectable items, although portions were small. Wines we selected were as smooth as silk, as was the service. Highly recommended overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Spectacular service, great food, great cocktails.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a great experience. It felt like the night was custom-tailored for us. Our waiter, Danny, was incredible. He was completely tuned into who we were personally and made recommendations accordingly. He elevated the experience to another level- he was like another guest at our table and we loved having him. That being said, the vibe was great. The food was super tasty and interesting. The pineapple sorbet desert could be the best desert I've ever had, and the cocktails were epic. Definitely a go-to for a special celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall fine dining, great Drinks, Good ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Overall fine dining, great Drinks,

Good location, service good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A pleasant surprise. We went for the "in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

A pleasant surprise. We went for the "into evolution" tasting menu and it delivered. Some of the dishes were while some blew our mind. Service was good. Better than No. 9 Park in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The service was spectacular

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The service was spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.