About Menton

354 Congress
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Menton, Chef Barbara Lynch’s Fort Point fine dining restaurant, is the final concept to complete her Fort Point trifecta and joins neighbors Sportello and Drink. Located in FP3, the AIA award-winning luxury condominium complex, Menton radiates an understated elegance and offers several beautiful spaces to dine including the 60-seat dining room, a 12-seat Chef’s Table, and the 45-seat private dining room.
The restaurant, a glamorous expression of fine dining, was designed by Cheryl and Jeffrey Katz of C&J Katz and features a subtle palette of grays with touches of silver and black. The cuisine of Menton displays the talent for precision and visual artistry across two seasonal tasting menus and a la carte selections for dinner daily, and a more casual a la carte menu for lunch Monday - Friday.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Dining Room & The Gold Bar
Monday - Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm

DINNER
Dining Room
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30-10:00
Sunday - Monday: 5:30-9:00

The Gold Bar
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00-11:00
Sunday - Monday: 5:00-10:00

Cross Street:
A Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 737-0099

Website:
http://www.mentonboston.com/

Parking Details:
Menton offers valet parking beginning at 5:00pm every evening at a price of $18.00 per vehicle.

Public Transit:
South Station

Executive Chef:
Michele Carter

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Amuse Bouche - Menton, Boston, MA
Foie Gras Progression - Menton, Boston, MA
Chocolate Custard - Menton, Boston, MA
Duck Breast - Menton, Boston, MA
Gnocchi & Lamb - Menton, Boston, MA
Fish - Menton, Boston, MA
Cured Salmon & Baby Octopus - Menton, Boston, MA
Bluefin Tuna "Tree Of Life" - Menton, Boston, MA
Onion Macaron With Goat Cheese - Menton, Boston, MA
Kataifi Wrapped Langoustines with Peas, Pumpkin Seed Oill, and Pickled Rhubarb - Menton, Boston, MA
Beets salad - Honey/Truffle Mascarpone, Beet Guacamole, Roasted Golden Beets, Orange-Pernod Espuma - Menton, Boston, MA
Seared Foie Gras - Menton, Boston, MA
chocolate moelleux  - Menton, Boston, MA
Rhode Island fluke, royal white sturgeon caviar, beurre blanc, celery - Menton, Boston, MA
Jonah Crab Risotto - Menton, Boston, MA
Asparagus Gelee - Menton, Boston, MA
Channel Bass - Menton, Boston, MA
Carrot macarons, goat cheese, rosemary (canapes) - Menton, Boston, MA
Seared bay scallops, chili, yuzu, daikon - Menton, Boston, MA
Yellowfin tuna, fresh citrus, oolong tea, bottarga, chive - Menton, Boston, MA
Seared foie gras de canard, escargot, tarragon, porcini mushrooms - Menton, Boston, MA
Griggstown phesant breast, confit oyster in foie gras fat, pickled ramp, sourdough stuffing with bacon and cream, pheasant jus - Menton, Boston, MA
Rabbit loin and belly roulade, braised rabbit thigh, carrots, chanterelles, mustard, Époisses  - Menton, Boston, MA
Sticky carrot cake, toffee caramel center, Greek yogurt, carrot sorbet, date - Menton, Boston, MA
Chocolate ganache and crumble, pistachio, toffee, banana - Menton, Boston, MA
Mini macarons – lemon thyme, cacao nibs, pumpkin, pear - Menton, Boston, MA
Pre-dessert: coriander tea, black pepper sorbet, finger lime - Menton, Boston, MA
Vol-au-Vent, caramelized onions, pear (canapes) - Menton, Boston, MA
Pumpkin cardamom gougères (canapes) - Menton, Boston, MA
Honey sea salt croissant - Menton, Boston, MA
Kampachi crudo, blood orange, hazelnut, kumquat, frisée  - Menton, Boston, MA
Atlantic halibut, royal white sturgeon caviar (canapes) - Menton, Boston, MA
Columbia River Sturgeon - Menton, Boston, MA
Tuna Sashimi With White Sturgeon Caviar - Menton, Boston, MA
Kohlrabi velouté soup, apple, olive oil (canapés) - Menton, Boston, MA
Cranberry sourdough bread roll - Menton, Boston, MA
Mignardises, hiscus caramels, cranberry tart tropeziennes (cream puffs), peanut butter crunch truffles - Menton, Boston, MA
Macaroons - Menton, Boston, MA
Foie Gras plate w/ - Menton, Boston, MA
monkfish - Menton, Boston, MA
Chefs Tasting Menu  - Menton, Boston, MA
Lobster Tar Tar On Shrimp - Menton, Boston, MA
Eggplant Ravioli - Menton, Boston, MA
Black Truffle Ravioli - Menton, Boston, MA
Lobster Tartare - Menton, Boston, MA
Vitello Marscapone - Menton, Boston, MA
Heirloom Tomatoes - Menton, Boston, MA
Goat Cheese Desert - Menton, Boston, MA
Cranberry Popsicles, Chocolate Rosemary Green Tea Cake Souflee - Menton, Boston, MA
Hearts Of Palm Salad - Menton, Boston, MA
Pistachio Ice Cream - Menton, Boston, MA
Fois gras - Menton, Boston, MA
Salmon And Cockles With Lovage - Menton, Boston, MA
Salmon - Menton, Boston, MA
Giannone Farm Poulet - Menton, Boston, MA
Duet Of Prime Beef - Menton, Boston, MA
Nova Scotia Lobster - Menton, Boston, MA
Torchon Of Foie Gras De Canard - Menton, Boston, MA
Halibut - Menton, Boston, MA
Pork - Menton, Boston, MA
Borsch - Menton, Boston, MA
Pea Green Panna Cotta - Menton, Boston, MA
Croissant - Menton, Boston, MA
Bread - Menton, Boston, MA
Cheese Acoompaniments - Menton, Boston, MA
Spiced Chocolate Cake - Menton, Boston, MA
Seared Foie Gras de Canard - Menton, Boston, MA
faca leaf agnolotti - Menton, Boston, MA
marcho farm veal - Menton, Boston, MA
Assorted Cheeses - Menton, Boston, MA
assiette of rabbit - Menton, Boston, MA
Fluke  - Menton, Boston, MA
tortellini - Menton, Boston, MA
French White Asparagus - Menton, Boston, MA
Black Pepper Cremeux - Menton, Boston, MA
Langoustine Crudo - Menton, Boston, MA
Rock Crab Salad - Menton, Boston, MA
Blue Fin Tuna - Menton, Boston, MA
Dark Chocolate Pave - Menton, Boston, MA
Assorted Macaroons - Menton, Boston, MA
goat cheese - Menton, Boston, MA
Apple Cider Doughnuts And Ice Cream - Menton, Boston, MA
White Alba Truffle Supplement Course - Menton, Boston, MA
Seared Foie Gras de Cabard with Pickled Cherries, Basil, and Burgundy Truffle  - Menton, Boston, MA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Ring in 2017 with an Italian, Big Night-themed evening.
We'll offer celebratory tasting menus in place of our daily menus:
5-7:30pm - 5 crs tasting menu, $225 & wine pairing, $125 or 8-10pm 9 crs tasting menu, $295 & wine pairing, $165. Cancellations after 12.26 subject to full charge of dinner.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Tue 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:45PM

Sat 11:30AM - 1:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Menton offers both a Private Dining Room accommodating up to 45 guests seated or 65 for a reception as well as a Chef’s Table, an intimate space with a dynamic view of the kitchen seating up to 12. Our Private Events Manager will assist you in creating a truly memorable and personalized event.

Menton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Boston / New England
Best Service
Boston
French
Boston
Best Restaurants in Fort Point Channel ›

Special Occasion (29)
Notable Wine List (24)
Romantic (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Tasting Menu (20)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Business Meals (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Cozy (5)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant was amazing! One of the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant was amazing! One of the best meals I've had in a long time. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hype has a price. Take that two ways. Th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Hype has a price. Take that two ways. The restaurant has to try hard to make it work. They can sometimes be justified in charging higher prices. Sadly with Menton it never came together.

The service is too friendly and they try hard to deliver a great atmosphere. However, the food was not awe inspiring. There is limited value in a dish, when for example a single ravioli costs over $25!

Thankfully, they have an extensive wine list but good values are hard to come by.

There are many excellent and great restaurants in Boston. Look elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Very attentive but unobtrusive service. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Very attentive but unobtrusive service. Had a tasting menu with wine pairing. Wonderful combinations of taste and texture.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

1- My dinner was on a weekday evening af ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 29, 2016

1- My dinner was on a weekday evening after 8- most of the dining room was empty.

2- The dining room looks like a pilgrim themed corporate board room. Horrid artwork that looked like it was bought from the Marriott next door. The restaurant overall was clean with nice bathrooms.

3- Service was good and efficient. Not as refined as other restaurants (albeit not in Boston) in the level that Menton posits itself as being a member.

4- Dishes came out cold, as the plates were not prewarmed. Bread was actually stale as it had been cut early in the evening.

5- The dishes are reminiscent of fine French cooking from over 15 years ago. This is a Disney approach to "fine French cooking". Sauces are full of butter and heavy. Most dishes were made sous vide and still came out dry. One feels like this is a caricature of a 1-2 star Michelin, which it is clearly not. Overall the cuisine has not evolved and is unimaginative. I am guessing that the restaurant caters to a business crowd that wants a specific expense account menu- and this is what is served. I went as a regular diner with a friend and felt I had entered the private catering hall of Goldman Sachs. In no way was there any arrogance or neglect from the staff, it was just boring and lifeless.

6- The wine list is predictable and exorbitantly priced. While many reviews note that there are bottles for less than $100, these are $15 dollar wines that are boring. A markup is of course necessary but 6x on mediocre wines is embarrassing. This however is present at all of the B. Lynch restaurants that astronomically mark up prices of wines and common products (e.g. oysters) that require little attention other than curating.

17- There are many more imaginative modern places to go to in Boston. Other than an expense account dinner to impress an unsophisticated client, there is little reason to venture here. Good thing is that Drink is located downstairs :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Overall the food was great. However for ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Overall the food was great. However for the price it was not

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Have been their twice before. First time ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Have been their twice before. First time was excellent in private room near kitchen for company function. Second time also very good with exceptional cheese cart, my favorite. This time food was good, but cheese cart was gone with very poor selection of cheeses. Try dexauve on mass avenue instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent French restaurant, with a dive ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent French restaurant, with a diverse selection of foods and a vast drinks and wine menu.

Tags: Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my girlfriend here for a "just be ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for a "just because" date. When you first arrive the valet was very polite, people with good manners always stick out to me it seems very rare in our society today. Walking in the atmosphere was very classy and romantic definitely a place you should have fun dressing up for. They have a large variety of wines one of which was $5,000 but don't let that scare you our meal for 2 actually only ran us about $90 which wasn't bad since I had seen people writing how they spent over $300 for 2 people. The waitstaff was the best I have ever experienced. They were the most polite and professional people and it really made for a great experience, there wasn't a second that my water wasn't filled, our food was brought out with barely any wait, or maybe it just seemed that way because the whole time we were waiting they were bringing us all sorts of appetizers from a complimentary bowl of their famous butter soup which was incredible, to different breads all of which were delicious I had to deny the third time they came with bread so I could have room for dinner. As for myself I got the Venison, I could go on and on but all I'm going to say was it was amazing, my girlfriend got the rabbit which was also delicious. The servings seem small at a first glance but they actually really fill you up, I was surprised at how full I was. We were both so full that we said no to dessert, but our waiter said we could not leave without a dessert so he brought us a chocolate mousse cake with a tangerine ice cream, and a pastry sampling plate all ON THE HOUSE! All around fantastic experience I absolutely recommend Menton to anyone who is either experienced with fine dining or someone who has never had the experience. Also gentlemen if your looking to impress your girlfriend, wife, etc.. this is the place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were over the top! ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food and service were over the top! One of the best fine dining experiences in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant and cozy ambience. Tasty food wi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Elegant and cozy ambience. Tasty food with exquisite presentation. Very good service and baby-friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything fine but for us with this pri ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Everything fine but for us with this price the food must be cooked with even more passion!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The Into Evolution tasting menu and matc ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The Into Evolution tasting menu and matching wines is an epic experience but I think it is verging on too much. Toward the end I was full and tired; I think there is one savory course too many. In our case the venison course was unimpressive, and could have easily been dropped. A minor quibble, compared to the first time I went, Menton now seems to serve up alternative offerings for certain courses, this saw the ladies getting one version of the course, and the gents getting another version. This seems to be an opportunity for the chef to show off, but the pasta course - with white truffles - ended up being 4 separate dishes. In my case I got a very simple tagliatelle with white truffles, whereas my companions got better looking dishes with rabbit (canneloni, ravioli), as advertised on the menu. I looked round the table and felt a little short changed; I would have preferred any of the other three takes on the pasta course, and an opportunity to pick one of those.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Superb tasting menu with interesting new ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Superb tasting menu with interesting new tastes while classical. Wine pairing was great and a good value and they had no problem with a second pour.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Definitely beyond expectation. Price is ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Definitely beyond expectation. Price is a bit costly, but it's worth every penny for a special occasion. I booked this place for my girlfriend's birthday. When confirming my reservation the restaurant asked me what is the occasion. When I got there, they greeted us by saying Happy Birthday to her, and even added a fine touch of a candle on the dessert menu later on. Very kind, very professional staff members. Food was obviously great, but not outlandishly innovative or anything like that. Decent quality food you would expect from a fancy restaurant like this place. Anyway, was a wonderful experience and would recommend to anyone looking for a place to celebrate special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, wine and service was spectacular! ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food, wine and service was spectacular! My only (slight) complain is that we were a party of 5 seated at a table meant for 8 . The over-sized table made conversation difficult and reduced the intimacy of our special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Took my wife here for our 2 year anniver ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Took my wife here for our 2 year anniversary. We did the tasting menu with wine pairings. Everything was excellent and the pairings were perfect. The entire staff were extremely attentive and genuine. We were even given a tour of the kitchen after our meal, just an amazing experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food and service

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 25, 2016

excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice wine list, although it was lac ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very nice wine list, although it was lacking any Beaujolais (which is the best value for quality ratio at a fine dining spot). Solid on the Piedmont wines - we ordered a nebbiolo from Vallana and it paired perfectly with the meal. Went A la carte instead of tasting menu and each course was refined and delicious. A little pricey (especially the wine list), but worth it for a splurge meal. Would go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I found plastic in my dish !!! At a Rela ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 17, 2016

I found plastic in my dish !!! At a Relais Châteaux ! Without any compensation or discount.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Food was good, but the amount of time we ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was good, but the amount of time we waited to be seated was unacceptable. There's no excuse for waiting more than 15 minutes to be seated for a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

This was not the special experience I ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was not the special experience I had anticipated. I chose it because friends were coming from quite a distance, but I would not do so again. We waited 20 minutes or more for our table, the restaurant was very noisy and the portions were unacceptably small. I would say that my wine choice was confirmed by the waiter and his recommendation was spot on!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great experience. Had a lovely evening o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great experience. Had a lovely evening out to celebrate our anniversary. Food is creative and delicious. Service was perfect - not obtrusive at all, but always there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A fabulous lunch (including some of the ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 12, 2016

A fabulous lunch (including some of the best oysters ever!) and equally awesome server. Single cow butter. Butter by Babette.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only one word to describe Menton, specta ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Only one word to describe Menton, spectacular. That applies to atmosphere and food. In terms of waitstaff, I would need to think if a word that exceeds spectacular.

Exceptional all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To celebrate our anniversary, my husband ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

To celebrate our anniversary, my husband and I chose to spend it with Menton. The service and atmosphere were top-notch making this one of the more unique dining experiences we've had in Boston. We went with the a la carte option and I chose the autumn squash, monkfish & shrimp and tagliatelle. I greatly enjoyed all of the options - especially the autumn squash! The tagliatelle was a little on the heavy side for me, so I wasn't able to finish it. In lieu of dessert, I had an excellent cappuccino- however the staff surprised us with a complimentary dessert plate for our anniversary - a very nice touch indeed! The staff paid excellent attention to detail, was very professional, and provided a personal touch without being too overbearing. We look forward to our next return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Used to be my favorite spot in Boston bu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Used to be my favorite spot in Boston but it seems like the service and food have taken a definite turn downwards. Service was spotty, food just good not great and no recognition of me as a relatively loyal customer. No greeting except "have you dined with us before"?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Absolut tolles Essen. Gourmet Niveau! Se ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Absolut tolles Essen. Gourmet Niveau! Sehr zu empfehlen!

Tags: Romantisch, Biologisch angebaut
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is excellent and ambiance is modern ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Food is excellent and ambiance is modern, only two dishes really stoodout, the butter soup and the fresh pasta, everything else was okay. The bread was served cold, which for a French restaurant at this price is dissappointing. The sommelier was very knowledgable and accommodated our allergies which was nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious! Costly but worth it. A deligh ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Delicious! Costly but worth it. A delight. The food was superb, and the service matched. We celebrated our 25th anniversary with lunch, and were more than satisfied with everything.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went for our 20th weddi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My husband and I went for our 20th wedding anniversary. As a special treat we splurged for the Chef Tasting menu with wine pairing, even though it was $300 per person. For that much money we expected to be blown away, however we were decidedly underwhelmed. The first course was the best course: Butter Soup. But it was literally delivered in a thimble-sized bowl. The swordfish was tough and not amazing. The rabbit ravioli was over salted and worst of all the MÉNAGE À FOIE GRAS included a "fun" hotdog complete with homemade special mustard, homemade special ketchup, and an onion compote of some kind. It looked and tasted like a hotdog on a roll. It was a very delicious hotdog, but not something I wanted to see playfully included as part of my very expensive meal. Our server was lovely and very attentive and extremely knowledgeable about wine. However it was disappointing that a menu with that pricing structure would be anything but sublime. At the price the expectation is high. Every small bite must amaze. Some did, but a few did not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

I booked Menton for a client dinner. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2016

I booked Menton for a client dinner. The staff rushed us through our meal like a fast bullet train. We were forced to go to another restaurant for drinks to finish our conversation. The restaurant was not very busy, with a few empty tables. It was a very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing food and service. Delicious fla ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Amazing food and service. Delicious flavors and varied choices. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the larger (into evolution) tastin ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I had the larger (into evolution) tasting menu, and what I can say is the food was splendid, but strangely not memorable. There were no misses (except perhaps the foie gras hotdog that tasted just like a hotdog), but there also was no real eyebrow raising "I never would have thought of that" moments. I'll likely go back, but I will probably go with their smaller "chef's choice with your input" tasting menu that may offer a bit more creativity.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

A feast for the senses! I truly felt li ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

A feast for the senses! I truly felt like the dining experience at Menton was luxury in small bites, which is what flavorful cooking essentially boils down to. It was pure delight to try dishes I've never heard of (butter soup? No really, try it - it is rich without being overwhelming). Staff were knowledgeable particular on the wines. It will be a splurge but treating yourself to the 8-course tasting menu should be on your bucket list. You will leave full, but not comatose, and with a feeling of not being just satiated but immensely satisfied. Without question a special occasion destination - milestone birthday, engagement, anniversary, major life accomplishment/celebration - truly a memorable experience! Menton not only delivers, it serves with grace and elegance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a birthday dinner for my wife. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 7, 2016

This was a birthday dinner for my wife. The service and kitchen tour were terrific.

My wife enjoyed her meal but I found to much salt for my taste in each course.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The 8 course tasting menu is beautiful f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The 8 course tasting menu is beautiful from start to finish - sometimes a lot of food - but creative dishes with beautiful presentation. The service is top notch. The butter soup will keep you up at night - dreaming of it's wonderfulness.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I was very excited to be dining at Mento ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I was very excited to be dining at Menton during my first trip to Boston. The ambiance, service, and decor were just as I expected them to be, but the food did not impress me. The food was good as a $300 meal should be, but just not impressive.

For example, I had an $80 five course meal a few days prior to Menton and the creativity of the chef blew me away.

You will have an enjoyable experience without a doubt, but will you wake up the next morning and think about that meal? Probably not.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This French restaurant in Boston is, qui ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This French restaurant in Boston is, quite simply, exemplary. The service was tremendous, food exquisite and the wine list perfect. Visited for our wedding anniversary and I don't know how it could have been any better. Yes, it is pricey but the quality is very high so the cost is reasonable and justified. The service was impeccable - I don't think my glass was ever less than half full before it was topped off again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant with excellent service ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Lovely restaurant with excellent service and steep prices. Ingredients were very fresh yet we found some dishes disappointingly lacking in flavor. Portion size was tiny for the price. We will probably not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous all around, after my first expe ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Fabulous all around, after my first experience I can safely say Menton is now tops my list of favorites in Boston (tied or closely behind No 9 Park, another Barbara Lynch find).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.