Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano

With its modern but classic Italian cuisine and emphasis on artisanal and contemporary Northern Italian style, Mediterraneo is often credited with being the first restaurant to bring authentic contemporary Italian cuisine to Sarasota when it first opened in 1996. Still under the same ownership, Mediterraneo has consistently been rated one of the top restaurants in Zagat. The restaurant has received numerous accolades including the acclaimed Insegna Del Ristorante Italiano awarded by The Minister of Agriculture & Commerce in Rome. With its highest honor, inducting the restaurant into its Accademia Italiana della Cucina "Fine Dining Hall of Fame." Mediterraneo has been rated as Best of the Best in Sarasota Magazine since the first year of opening.

So whether you're celebrating a special occasion or grabbing a quick bite to eat, at Mediterraneo you are always assured the best quality food accompanied by excellent service. All of it thoroughly Italian.

1970 Main St.
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Daily: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
N. Washington Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 365-4122

Website:
http://www.mediterraneorest.com/

Parking Details:
Private garage parking behind restaurant

Private Party Facilities:
"Rossa" Room is available for private events. Contact us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Baroni: (941) 365-4122

Additional:
Counter Seating, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Authentic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Business Meals (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Romantic (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Casual (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Cozy (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
618 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Mediterraneo is one of my favorite go-to Italian restaurants. It's hip and cool ... great ambiance. I have been there numerous times and the cuisine is always consistent. Order your favorite dish on Monday, Thursday or Saturday and it will always taste and be prepared the same. No mushy pasta and over cooked veggies here! Their fish dishes ... bronzino and trout are beyond description ... not your typical pasta/red sauce Italian restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Spicy, Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Overall experience was good but was rushed by the waiter to turn the table. Came by three times to see if we were ready to order in the first 15 minutes of being seated. Felt pressured the entire meal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 16, 2017

My date and I decided to eat at Mediterraneo Restaurant in downtown Sarasota two nights ago, and we were delighted with our choice. The staff and owners are friendly and make their guests feel at home. The wine list is quite good and the food is excellent. I had Spaghetti alla Grecio, and my date had Linguine al frutti di mare. We were both very pleased with our dishes. I'm happy to recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Lovely date-night post-movie haunt. Delectable salads and amazing pizza. Prosciutto artichoke combo is sublime. Love that, even in the bar dining, a couple of pieces of their bruschetta is complimentary. Transporting taste to start meal. Fabulous by-the-glass wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have lived in Umbria, Italy, but have been absent some time since then. First, looking at the menu, I felt immediately moved back in time to then. The food was exceptional. The service was invigorating. Our waiter seemed to know exactly when to show it. If you can't go home again, go to Mediteranneo.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Mediterraneo NEVER disappoints. The bartender makes a perfect Sidecar, the food is always perfection, they have a great wine list - even nice selections by the glass, the service friendly and beyond professional. There is always a see and be seen vibe. The nice thing about summer is you can almost always walk-in and get a table...My favorite Italian restaurant in Sarasota!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We dined at Mediterraneo for the first time and it certainly wont be our last. We kept saying that 'we need to try this place' for several years and we finally did. We had a lovely experience and meal. Contemporary chic décor and solid food preparation coupled with fine service guaranteed that we would return. Well made cocktails, a fine wine list, plus a list of grappas put the final touch on a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Out favorite Sarasota restaurant. Fresh, fresh food make from scratch

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great meal and service w/ friends from out of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Always pleasurable dining here. Excellent service and friendly staff. Sophisticated but not stuffy. Rxcellent italian food. Been around almost 20 years so they must be doing something right!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 26, 2017

I have eaten there many times over the years when, I am in Sarasota. But, I have not been there in over a year. I have always looked forward to eating in this establishment. I found the service rushed in and out In less than hour. (How do you cook a fresh meal and have you out in an hour or less?) my meal was over cooked and tasted like it was nuked instead freshly prepared. It was very a disappointing meal tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Although there are many pasta dishes on the menu, we opt for the piccata salmon and the tagiata manzo (steak) which were very good. Our server, Amy, was friendly and quick to respond to our needs. I ordered a side of penne pasta which was tasty, but not much value for the $8 cost. We had a hard time finding complementary parking nearby the restaurant on a Monday evening. Valet service would have been nice. Overall, good food & service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great service and excellent food. The food is consistently wonderful. I would highly recommend this restaurant and rate it excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We are so lucky to have a really polished, authentic Italian restaurant in our town. If you cannot find something to love on the menu, the specials are sure to capture your heart. We love to roll in before or after taking in a film across the street.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I was disappointed in the food. Nothing special. Don't need to go there again. Everyone was very nice. Not as good as it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Always perfect. I eat here often and they are consistently amazing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We had a fabulous dinner from the moment we were greeted by the host to the final bill. We were helped with a perfect wine selection from Italy and ordered fabulous caprese salad, bread with a delicious olive tapenade, authentic Italian dishes and a surprise desert for our anniversary. It is now a go to restaurant for us. You must try it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food, wine list and service.They have a real personal way of treating the customer. Very special.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent service during our visit. Food quality was very good and food selection was also very good. Definitely will be going back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Did not care for the flavor of food. Good service but ..... had pasta dish and was told afterwards not to order pasta at an Italian restaurant????

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Good food and service. Well prepared Italian food in a pleasant atmosphere. We will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My favorite. From being greeted on arrival to dessert. We love this place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Healthy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Always excellent service and fabulous food. Every dish we try is worth coming back for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Customers expect a cut above everything and get it. Casual excellence I would call it. Yes, unfortunately, some adults show up in shorts & flip flops , but most dress as grown ups and enjoy Italian selections that bring you back time and again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food and service were outstanding. Steve and Amy are very professional and the very best in wait service in Sarasota.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We love this restaurant however the meat courses are not the strong suit. Appetizers and pastas are exceptional. Excellent, professional servers!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Mediterraneo, despite it's prime location and 20 years of success had maintained and even improved the quality of it's food for as long as I can remember which I am guessing goes back over 15 years. They offer a great variety of pastas and other dishes with great fish, appetizers delicious salads and perfectly cooked and portioned pastas as well. Innovative flavors and friendly professional service. One of the owners is always there to greet you, which is a very nice and comfortable feeling.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Very good northern Italian restaurant. We have been coming for over 10 yrs. Food and service are first class. Remind me of dining in Milan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Been coming here for over 10 years. We are never disappointed. Excellent service excellent every time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The best Italian food in town, reasonably priced. Friendly inviting atmosphere, especially eating at the bar with bartender Eddie.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Love it. Always!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Consistent excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Took my dad here for his 81st birthday. He had his heart set on a dish that wasn't really on the menu. When I asked if they would prepare what he wanted, there was no hesitation to comply. They accommodated him beautifully. A lovely evening to remember!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fantastic food and wine...as always...the restaurant had a great crowd and atmosphere making it the perfect spot to celebrate. The small touches went a long way.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Absolutely hands down the best
All dishes expertly prepared. This place never disappoints

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Pre-Mothers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food as always. The duck was cooked perfect. My husband ordered the veal osso bucco special...it was fantastic!
We love eating here!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 11, 2017

No surprises! Another phenomenal dinner at Mediterraneo Ristorante...always a great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.