About Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano

1970 Main St.
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

With its modern but classic Italian cuisine and emphasis on artisanal and contemporary Northern Italian style, Mediterraneo is often credited with being the first restaurant to bring authentic contemporary Italian cuisine to Sarasota when it first opened in 1996. Still under the same ownership, Mediterraneo has consistently been rated one of the top restaurants in Zagat. The restaurant has received numerous accolades including the acclaimed Insegna Del Ristorante Italiano awarded by The Minister of Agriculture & Commerce in Rome. With its highest honor, inducting the restaurant into its Accademia Italiana della Cucina "Fine Dining Hall of Fame." Mediterraneo has been rated as Best of the Best in Sarasota Magazine since the first year of opening.

So whether you're celebrating a special occasion or grabbing a quick bite to eat, at Mediterraneo you are always assured the best quality food accompanied by excellent service. All of it thoroughly Italian.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Daily: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
N. Washington Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 365-4122

Website:
http://www.mediterraneorest.com/

Parking Details:
Private garage parking behind restaurant

Private Party Facilities:
"Rossa" Room is available for private events. Contact us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Baroni: (941) 365-4122

Additional:
Counter Seating, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (31)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Wood Oven (21)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Romantic (13)
Casual (13)
Fun (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Modern Decor (9)
People Watching (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Family Style (4)
Cozy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined a day ago

Chef prepared a special dish for us. Outstanding food and service. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Food is wonderful and especially love the black ink pasta. But sadly, on a Thursday night at 8 pm, we had to get check, skipping dessert, because a table of 8 seated next to us was impossibly loud. This was on top of a a restaurant-wide very loud volume; so we informed the waiter we had to leave because of the noise level. We had even requested a quiet table in the back , but there was no escape

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Delectable paper-thin-crust pizza. Loud, a lot of regulars in here. Food came out almost too quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Waiter had too many tables to handle. Appropriately apologized

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Other 4. Guests enjoyed their dinner. Mine was trulynot good and it was the special shrimp and risotto never writtenabad review before. Eatenthere many times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic food. We are from NYC and have regular access to great Italian food...3 out of 4 people in our group experienced "best ever" versions for each of our respective dishes at this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food is reliably good here and always enjoy my selection from the wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food , fair prices, and authentic Italian cuisine. One of the best Sarasota has to offer.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

When there for Valentine Day. Only disappointment was the limited menu and the addition of extra tables that made it very crowded. Wait staff and customers had a hard time navigating the floor. I had the lobster & clams pasta special and my wife had their lasagna, we enjoyed them both. Food here is always excellent. Nothing on the limited appetizer or desert lists appealed to us had they had their regular menu we would have shared their excellent caprese and Profiteroles.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love this place! The food and service are always outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have dined at Mediterraneo for years and still love the food and ambiance!

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were there for Valentine's Day and I wish we had known in advance that there was a special menu., as The regular menu was not available. Although the food was good , We all couldn't get the dishes We went there for and we felt rushed. We were a party of 6 and seated right away at 7:00 and we were finished by 8:15! Whew! It was very noisy too. We will probably go back again, but not on a 'special' night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

very good, all 4 people loved their dinner (4 ladies)

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Only problem is the noise level during season-otherwise wonderful

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We are regular diners at Mediterraneo. We were a group of five and unlike many restaurants they did not just add a chair to a table for four. They gave us a round table that could have accommodated six. Also unlike many restaurants Mediterraneo works hard to muffle the noise, with carpeted floors and sound deadening materials on the walls and ceiling. That said it is still pretty loud. The service was excellent as was the food. We are heading back there tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Consistently, one of the best Italian restaurants in Sarasota.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We were extremely pleased with our dining experience. The food was first rate, the service was exceptional, and the ambiance is charming.

It was recommended by the owner's wife, a world class tennis pro, and we were so delighted it turned out to be such a good choice.q

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

A good choice for Italian in downtown Sarasota

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had a delicious dinner with excellent service. The staff was very friendly and we will definitely return. We ordered salad and the individual pizzas and enjoyed both very much.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Whenever we are in the vicinity, we have to dine at Mediterraneo. We hadn't been back for several years but the food was every bit as good as we remembered. Any possibility of opening other restaurants?? Naples?

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Consistently high-quality-food, great service , Nice ambience, but I can get loud as the restaurant fills up. We were there in a Monday night it was full.

Outstanding: The Osso Bucco the shrimp with white bean starter and the Fussili with chicken in Alfredo sauce.

The only disappointment was The Panna Cotta dessert . It was stiff instead of "jiggly" from too much gelatin and missing the vanilla bean flavour. Needs some reworking !

Will return as always!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Just a first rate restaurant. Great food, fresh, tasty and authentic. Friendly staff...they remember you!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Fabulous as always. We visit when we are in longboat key

Food great and waiters very friendly

Highly recommend

Tags: Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Service was a little rushed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Post-movie must. Fresh, fresh, fresh. Excellent quality. Fab wine list. Lovely unobtrusive service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Quality Italian restaurant. The food is very well prepared

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Seems impossible, but this place gets better every time. Our favorite restaurant in sarasota.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Veal marsala very blend and dry. The pizza's are very slim with ingredience but high $ price.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My first time at Mediterraneo, and it was great! House made ravioli was especially good, as was the tiramisu. Excellent service. Terrific for a before movie dinner (Hollywood 20 is across the street).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have enjoyed Mediterraneo for years and it's a continuing favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Another great meal Mediterraneo. Good service, great wine list and authentic food served hot. Simple things executed very well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was excellent but our table location couldn't be worse. One table for 2 just opposite the noisy bar. The noise level got louder as our dinner was served. The mat're d stood inches away and was very animated. I felt we were given such a unpleasant table because we were two women. The food was great but we couldn't talk to each other unless we shouted. I would definitely return many times if I could be guaranteed a quieter table. It was especially disappointing because it was my friend's birthday and I had hoped for a special evening.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

love the food!

HATED how noisy the restaurant was......

go early to avoid the noise...

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We experienced the best service from any restaurant staff in years! Working as a team, they were knowledgeable, professional, and efficient, while still being personable. Every item ordered was delicious. The staff answered all questions about the menu and met any special needs without question. We enjoyed socializing with our friends over an excellent meal, interacting with pleasant staff who were attentive yet not obtrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

A constant when dining in downtown Sarasota, Fl. Easy to get reservation even in busy season.

Staff makes you feel welcome. Service excellent. Food always delicious. A must either for appetizer or entrée is their wood fired oven pizza.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Excellent, perfectly al dente pasta. A little heavy on the salt but delicious nonetheless.

Service was perfect - not hovering but always checking in.

Very enjoyable experience and will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were greeted immediately when we walked in, and were seated at a nice corner table. Our dinner was excellent -- salads and pasta dishes. It's our first time back this season, and we will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Always a favorite, just returned from up north. A nice welcome home.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

entrees, veal chop parmesan and veal marsala were terrible. bad quality meat.

salads big and fresh but undressed. too much to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Walked into the door at the time of reservation. Was not greeted or acknowledged - practically knocked over by noisy patrons. The place looked chaotic and unusually busy. They may serve great food but we never tasted it. We left and walked down the street for a pleasant dinner at a competitor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was really good. However, the "special" pasta did not have all the ingredients described. Our waiter ( and the one at the table next to us) said the dish had scallops, when they meant shallots. Also, they said the dish had arugula, but it didn't. When we pointed it out to waiter, he was super awkward. Didn't apologize. He didn't know what to say. After that, he barely came back to the table and the service went downhill. That was the opposite of what should have happened. Very weird!.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Mediterraneo is an outstanding Italian restaurant! Our server was great, she handled our party of 10 with ease and professsionalism! Everyone enjoyed their meals and wines! Thank you!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Continues to be the best in class. Always excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Considering how busy they were on New Years Eve, the service and the food were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful time

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was amazing! Waiter wonderful! We were 7 people and we ordered several pastas to share and pizzas. Each one was better than the next.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Quite noisy busy restaurant with spotty service and nice but not inspired food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Mediterraneo was once our favorite Sarasota restaurant. No more!! We were disappointed for the second time in a row. I had the black linguini with shrimp, which was still excellent, but

my wife's seafood was disappointing,and my two sons' ravioli was outright disgusting. They

were assured that the sauce would be a "light ragu with a little bit of cream to give it body".

It not only contained four different cheeses, but it was laced with a white creamy sauce that

made it inedible. If anyone had ever come by to inquire, we would have returned the 2 dishes.

The service was mediocre - when we finished our appetizers, the empty plates sat in front of us for 15 minutes before they were removed, along with our silverware. When the entrees arrived, they came without hardware, so we had to sit and stare at them for a few minutes, until we got a busboy's attention.

Mediterraneo has been renovated very nicely, BUT they obviously added tables to

generate more $$. This resulted in the tables being almost on top of each other, making conversation difficult, and creating an obstacle course for the waiters and for anyone who got up to use the restroom. Sad !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Outdoor dining is a disappointment-- very loud and unscenic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Ate here on Christmas Day. Nice ambiance, great food, and excellent service! We were very pleased.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.