About Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano

1970 Main St.
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

With its modern but classic Italian cuisine and emphasis on artisanal and contemporary Northern Italian style, Mediterraneo is often credited with being the first restaurant to bring authentic contemporary Italian cuisine to Sarasota when it first opened in 1996. Still under the same ownership, Mediterraneo has consistently been rated one of the top restaurants in Zagat. The restaurant has received numerous accolades including the acclaimed Insegna Del Ristorante Italiano awarded by The Minister of Agriculture & Commerce in Rome. With its highest honor, inducting the restaurant into its Accademia Italiana della Cucina "Fine Dining Hall of Fame." Mediterraneo has been rated as Best of the Best in Sarasota Magazine since the first year of opening.

So whether you're celebrating a special occasion or grabbing a quick bite to eat, at Mediterraneo you are always assured the best quality food accompanied by excellent service. All of it thoroughly Italian.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Daily: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
N. Washington Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 365-4122

Website:
http://www.mediterraneorest.com/

Parking Details:
Private garage parking behind restaurant

Private Party Facilities:
"Rossa" Room is available for private events. Contact us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Baroni: 9413654122x

Additional:
Counter Seating, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

Special Occasion (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Authentic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Business Meals (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Casual (5)
Family Style (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Private Room (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our friends visiting from U.K. Wanted To ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Our friends visiting from U.K. Wanted To eat good food, nice ambiance, elegant and not too noisy. My husband, myself and other friends had several good experiences at Méditerraneo. It was our choice, they loved it as much as we did.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Every time we stay in Sarasota we don't ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

Every time we stay in Sarasota we don't miss this excellent italian retaurant, a must if

You like the r e a l italian cuisine and italian ambiance. Don't hesitate but don't forget to

Reserve.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wait staff are very attentive, but n ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

The wait staff are very attentive, but not obtrusive. I ordered the Caprese salad, which was very good. They could add more basil on the salad. I know they would have provided it if I had asked for it. The Black Linguine with shrimp was excellent. Cooked aldente. The Reisling was perfect for the meal. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food. We had the duck which wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food. We had the duck which was fabulous. If you like crisp duck...this is your dish. The osso buco and pizza were also a hit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Absolutely loved this restaurant. A frie ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Absolutely loved this restaurant. A friend recommended it for our family to go to. We were absolutely blown away by the staff's attention to detail and outstanding service, not to mention the incredible food. Thanks for making our holiday get together so special!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent entrees. We had three differe ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent entrees. We had three different ones and everyone loved their food. Caesar salad was a little bland. It was a busy Saturday evening, but often our empty water glasses were overlooked unless we asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Always a favorite. Never disappoints. Fr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Always a favorite. Never disappoints. Freshest ingredients

Tags: La perle du quartier, Places au bar, Cuisine créative
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent as usual.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Usually have their gluten free pasta wit ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Usually have their gluten free pasta with spicy shrimp, but they did not have gf pasta last night. Disappointed '

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent meal with great drin ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We had an excellent meal with great drinks and good wine. I would recommend Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We wondered why we haven't visited this ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We wondered why we haven't visited this delicious restaurant before. Meditarraneo is simply wonderful. It is a relaxing atmosphere yet the waitstaff is right there to take care of you. We had their specials although the rest of their menu was great. They have a wood fired oven for pizza that we heard was excellent. We had a burrata special and it was delicious as well as the osso boco and my pasta with lobster and clams in a wine sauce. They also have one of our favorite desserts: profiteroles. We will just have to go back for more deliciousness.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our third visit and the first f ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was our third visit and the first for the friends that we had with us.

Everything was terrific and our friends loved their food.

We will be back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant in Sarasota! Have N ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Favorite restaurant in Sarasota! Have NEVER been disappointed and ALWAYS look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very good. I got one of the spe ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was very good. I got one of the specials for the night, fettuccini with scallops, shrimp and bacon in wine sauce with cherry tomatoes. The plate was beautiful and the taste was on point.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Terrific meal as always. love this place ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Terrific meal as always. love this place. Eat here every time we are in Sarasota

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, fresh product,profession ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very good food, fresh product,professional service

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of favofor years and years. Consist ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

One of favofor years and years.

Consistently good food, at incredibly fair prices.

Efforts to control the noise level is paying off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was clear that service for "regulars" ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

It was clear that service for "regulars" is much better than it was for the rest of us.

Food was ok; but I've had much better in other Italian restaurants in SRQ

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had 2 cheese appetizers- a burata an ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had 2 cheese appetizers- a burata and a baked cheese both very tasty. We also had lamb shank, the lamb bucatini, Caesar salad and 2 pizzas. The wait staff was very good. We will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Eddie always does a great job at the bar

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Eddie always does a great job at the bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I do not live in Sarasota, so I relied s ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I do not live in Sarasota, so I relied strongly on the reviews of others to select this restaurant for a gathering of friends from around the country. One in our group was celebrating her birthday; at the end of the meal the staff treated her with a personalized tiramisu. Each in our party of 8 complimented the food and service. I would highly recommend this restaurant and feel the price/value relationship is appropriate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

On a scale of 1 to 10 food was 6. Bread ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 20, 2016

On a scale of 1 to 10 food was 6. Bread was poor and little packets of butter terrible. Free before dinner tomato and olive oil on crusty toast was excellent.

Dessert was excellent. Veal scalloping earl was Medicare. Also glass of wine was small among fit the money.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

A very warm and friendly restaurant, whe ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 13, 2016

A very warm and friendly restaurant, where you can get everything from pizza to top-rate Italian food. One section is more casual, the other with white tablecloths. Service in both is very good and efficient. On Main St, so it's in the heart of everything. I can see why it's easy to become a regular here.

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This is my wife and my favorite restaura ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 12, 2016

This is my wife and my favorite restaurant for the past 6 years we recommend to everyone

Tim and Toni Bixler

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite. The food is always outsta ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our favorite. The food is always outstanding. The salads are fresh and innovative. The most delicate lasagna pasta and veal dishes were thoroughly enjoyed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style, People Watching, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic !! We ate in the bar ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Food was fantastic !! We ate in the bar, it was loud but expected

Would definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Even with a last minute reservation, we ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Even with a last minute reservation, we got a table at our requested time. We had a variety of dishes from pastas to beef, and everything, including the calamari appetizer were very good. Our server was excellent without being intrusive. We will return soon!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Authentic fresh Italian with a terrific ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Authentic fresh Italian with a terrific wine list and great staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff were very accommodating and respon ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Staff were very accommodating and responded to our requests. Food was delicious as usual. We were celebrating a birthday and they provided a lovely birthday dessert. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Overpriced, uninspired food. I don't see ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Overpriced, uninspired food. I don't see any reason to eat here again. The Caesar salad was a few leaves of romaine, some commercial cubes of toasted bread, a very little dressing for $10. Ridiculous. The bread isn't very good either. I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We have enjoyed Mediterraneo for several ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We have enjoyed Mediterraneo for several years the food and service are always top notch. The noise level is high, but that's pretty much the same anywhere that is popular. We love sitting in the bar, where the action is.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is always excellent and consistent. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Food is always excellent and consistent. Pasta dishes are nicely prepared and meat/fish dishes flavorful. One of our favorite Italian restaurants in Sarasota.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was the 4th time we've eaten here, an ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 19, 2016

It was the 4th time we've eaten here, and the first time I had ordered the gnocchi. To my disappointment, the red sauce tasted like it had been poured from a jar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was excellent. Nice atmospher ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Everything was excellent. Nice atmosphere, great service, and the food was fantastic. From beginning to end it was all perfect. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Mediterraneo. They have a comfortab ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Love Mediterraneo. They have a comfortable feel and I love the pizza and chicken Parmesan (and suggested meals by the waitstaff)

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there three times and have enjoyed ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Been there three times and have enjoyed food as well as service. When in Sarasota area will visit again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent and Steve is a great ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food was excellent and Steve is a great waiter . Very professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service outstanding

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Food and service outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Caprese w imported Italian salami, Caesa ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Caprese w imported Italian salami, Caesar salad, lamb Ossobuco w risotto, Black Angus beef with Gorgonzola sauce, fine Chianti, and now Affogato , and Lemoncello. Doesn't get any better than this, like being in Florencia, Venezia or Roma. Comfortable contemporary decor, extensive wine list, we ordered our favorite Chianti reasonably priced . Service was exceptional , wait staff worked together. All food selections were beautifully plated. This was an exceptional dining experience . Definitely on our list of favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service excellent, flavor of food delici ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service excellent, flavor of food delicious, lovely restaurant, but very noisy at the 7 pm

hour on a Friday evening. Everything else perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.