Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 5/24
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 19 times today

Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano

4.6
830 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Authentic
  • Special Occasion
  • Pre/post Theatre
With its modern but classic Italian cuisine and emphasis on artisanal and contemporary Northern Italian style, Mediterraneo is often credited with being the first restaurant to bring authentic contemporary Italian cuisine to Sarasota when it first opened in 1996. Still under the same ownership, Mediterraneo has consistently been rated one of the top restaurants in Zagat. The restaurant has received numerous accolades including the acclaimed Insegna Del Ristorante Italiano awarded by The Minister of Agriculture & Commerce in Rome. With its highest honor, inducting the restaurant into its Accademia Italiana della Cucina "Fine Dining Hall of Fame." Mediterraneo has been rated as Best of the Best in Sarasota Magazine since the first year of opening.

So whether you're celebrating a special occasion or grabbing a quick bite to eat, at Mediterraneo you are always assured the best quality food accompanied by excellent service. All of it thoroughly Italian.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch:

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Daily: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(941) 365-4122
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
"Rossa" Room is available for private events. Contact us for more information.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Daniel Baroni: (941) 365-4122
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
N. Washington Blvd
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Private garage parking behind restaurant
Additional
Counter Seating, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room
What 830 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

What a delight to find the restaurant humming with activity on a rainy Sunday evening. That tells you something about a place, being packed on an off night. Despite the crowd we were seated promptly and our server Amy made sure we were well cared for all night. We came hungry - risotto, veal, shrimp, chicken, and scallop dishes were ordered and they were all great. I think we have a new favorite Italian restaurant in Sarasota.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Food and service are excellent.....can be a little noisy, though.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Love this restaurant. We get well-prepared and presented food consistently. Just wish there was a way to make it less noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Mediterraneo provides first-class service with knowledgeable staff and a delicious dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Busy place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Very great food and service. Authentic Italian. Perfect place to spend our Mother’s day!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Amy is a terrific, very professional server who loves her job. She made our first visit really memorable. She knows the menu and guided us first -timers beautifully. Every dish was outstanding. We felt welcome and sated in an authentic Italian way. Grazia. Highly recommended. You can’t go wrong.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

we have been patrons at the restaurant for over 21 years and we never fail to enjoy the delicious
cuisine and the warm hospitality of the hosts. It is a restaurant we enjoy with our friends who appreciate excellent Italian cuisine and welcoming managers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Always a great meal here. The fish tonight had an apricot and almond wine reduction that was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We were a party of 8; 4 were first-timers. Excellent attentive service, excellent and generous meals, as always. All 8 of us will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

My husband and I eat out a lot. Mediterraneo is our first choice/go to place. We feel like special guests and adore Amy, our favorite server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Amazing service as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Amy was awesome. The specials were so amazing it was hard to decide which ones to go with. The staff feel like family and welcomed us so warmly. Loved every minute and every morsel!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Top five of my favorite dining restaurants. Food and service is always superb!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Great food and service by Amey and Stevd

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

By far our favorite Italian restaurant in Sarasota. The food is just delicious. And now that it isn't season, you can actually get a table!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

One of our favorites in Sarasota. Have been coming to this restaurant for at least 15 years! Always accommodating and the owners are wonderful. Food is plentiful and they always throw in a little extra something to eat! Everyone we take to this restaurant says it's their favorite!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

had a great dinner at mediterraneo. the service was great even on a busy night. the food was al prepared as requested. would definately return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The food was very good. Unfortunately, the menu is totally a la cart which becomes quite costly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Service was superb. We always like a restaurant that has linen napkins and tablecloths. We loved the salads, but were less impressed with the entrees. But, overall, very good and very convenient location.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The food was excellent but the service so rushed. There was not s second to relax over our drinks. The salad came immediately as did the second course. I fret like they could not get us out fast enough.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The food and service are always excellent!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

This very loud, chaotic restaurant served up great Italian food. The server had a lot of people to attend to, but managed well. We enjoyed the lasagna with bechemel, penne with chicken, peas, and mushrooms, and chicken parm. Full bar and pricey wine list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Ernesto (our waiter) was just outstanding. Made the evening great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 19, 2018

The food was good but the service was slow. Its a noisy place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Busy bustling authentic Italian restaurant. Abundant portions of good southern Italian cooking. Noisy but fun atmosphere unless you go to the back room

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

The best Italian food in Sarasota. Steve and Amy are tremendous wait staff.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 17, 2018

We arrived at the time of our reservation with a nice bottle of red wine from our cellar. The waiter greeted us and the left to retrieve two wine glasses. Had he mentioned the $35.00 corkage charge, I probably would have taken a closer look at the wine list. No mention of a corkage charge more than double the amount usually charged is not acceptable. I usually tip the waiter on the food AND corkage charge, not this time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Loved everything! Will be back when back in Sarasota. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Awesome! Everything out of the pizza oven especially great. Good wine choices.. overall one of our faves in Sarasota

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Love this restaurant - Wish they had a bigger bar. That's the only negative. Food and service is fabulous

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Amazing food. Attentive service and very nice. An incredible value for the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Amazing experience! We visit this place every time we go to Sarasota :)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Went with family and friends. Overall , nice selection and decent value . Good but not great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The food was very good. Everything came hot and served at the same time

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We were there for a friend's 50th birthday dinner and the food and service was fantastic! We would definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Wonderful experience. Food excellent as usual. Calamari appetizer was delicious. Enjoyed the meal and attentive service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

This is our favorite restaurant in Sarasota! We have been coming here since 1999! The food is always good and we love the service. Never a dissapoinment!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

We had out if town guest and had theatre tickets and wanted to treat them to a special dinner-Mediterraneo was a GREAT choice!! It is aleays one of our favorites!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Just Fantastic. Great real Italian food, great service, friendly hosts. The Cotolleta was sensational as well as the pasta. In fact, it was so good we returned the following day.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
21