Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano

With its modern but classic Italian cuisine and emphasis on artisanal and contemporary Northern Italian style, Mediterraneo is often credited with being the first restaurant to bring authentic contemporary Italian cuisine to Sarasota when it first opened in 1996. Still under the same ownership, Mediterraneo has consistently been rated one of the top restaurants in Zagat. The restaurant has received numerous accolades including the acclaimed Insegna Del Ristorante Italiano awarded by The Minister of Agriculture & Commerce in Rome. With its highest honor, inducting the restaurant into its Accademia Italiana della Cucina "Fine Dining Hall of Fame." Mediterraneo has been rated as Best of the Best in Sarasota Magazine since the first year of opening.

So whether you're celebrating a special occasion or grabbing a quick bite to eat, at Mediterraneo you are always assured the best quality food accompanied by excellent service. All of it thoroughly Italian.

1970 Main St.
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Daily: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
N. Washington Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 365-4122

Website:
http://www.mediterraneorest.com/

Parking Details:
Private garage parking behind restaurant

Private Party Facilities:
"Rossa" Room is available for private events. Contact us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Baroni: (941) 365-4122

Additional:
Counter Seating, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (28)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Business Meals (18)
Casual (17)
Romantic (16)
Wood Oven (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Fun (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
People Watching (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Cozy (4)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Always excellent service and fabulous food. Every dish we try is worth coming back for.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Customers expect a cut above everything and get it. Casual excellence I would call it. Yes, unfortunately, some adults show up in shorts & flip flops , but most dress as grown ups and enjoy Italian selections that bring you back time and again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food and service were outstanding. Steve and Amy are very professional and the very best in wait service in Sarasota.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We love this restaurant however the meat courses are not the strong suit. Appetizers and pastas are exceptional. Excellent, professional servers!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Mediterraneo, despite it's prime location and 20 years of success had maintained and even improved the quality of it's food for as long as I can remember which I am guessing goes back over 15 years. They offer a great variety of pastas and other dishes with great fish, appetizers delicious salads and perfectly cooked and portioned pastas as well. Innovative flavors and friendly professional service. One of the owners is always there to greet you, which is a very nice and comfortable feeling.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Very good northern Italian restaurant. We have been coming for over 10 yrs. Food and service are first class. Remind me of dining in Milan.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Been coming here for over 10 years. We are never disappointed. Excellent service excellent every time

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Consistent excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Took my dad here for his 81st birthday. He had his heart set on a dish that wasn't really on the menu. When I asked if they would prepare what he wanted, there was no hesitation to comply. They accommodated him beautifully. A lovely evening to remember!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fantastic food and wine...as always...the restaurant had a great crowd and atmosphere making it the perfect spot to celebrate. The small touches went a long way.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Absolutely hands down the best
All dishes expertly prepared. This place never disappoints

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food as always. The duck was cooked perfect. My husband ordered the veal osso bucco special...it was fantastic!
We love eating here!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 11, 2017

No surprises! Another phenomenal dinner at Mediterraneo Ristorante...always a great experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was just OK. service was less than average, Drinks were expensive! most likely would not return!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Delicious food and superb service, consistently

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Enjoyed everything about this place. The staff, the ambience, and the food was impeccable. I would highly recommend this place if you want to enjoy the taste of Italy!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Came highly recommended. We found it to be just OK. Was disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We hadn't eat here in awhile and now are wondering why. Service was great and the food fantastic

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great food. Great staff

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The food was ery good
I had the swordfish and it was amazing
Friends had the pizza and felt the pizza was soggy and not very tasty

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We are pretty spoiled when we go for Italian food as we live in Chicago; however, a fellow traveler recommended this place to us and it did not disappoint! The food was delicious, the staff was friendly and we had a fun night with fellow diners around us. A great way to top off our vacation in Sarasota!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Casual, Family Style, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Sarasota has many great Italian restaurants, but Mediterraneo, should be at the top of your "go to spots". From the warm family greeting, even if your first visit, to the incredible food and service you feel like you could be in Florence or Rome. The homemade pasta and incredible sauces won't disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Food was very good. Large portions. Enough for lunch the next day. Kids enjoyed as well as adults. We would go back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Bellissimo! Week in Sarasota and our 3rd visit. Consistent great experience. The best!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

This is our favorite Italian restaurant!! Love the food and the service is very good. My wife's favorite dish is the Veal Marcella and she almost orders it every time we go. We always bring our family when they are in town and they love it!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Have been a fan of this restaurant for 15+ years. Always great Italian food. Daily special are innovative and constantly changing. Nice wine list plus a great bar tender named, Eddie.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We've been going here for 16 years. This place is great! Across the board excellence.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Seven people all enjoyed their dinners and we enjoyed our evening!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Always a dependable selection for dinner. This is one of our favorite Italian restaurants in Sarasota. Great mains, pastas, appetizers and pizzas! You won't be disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We have been here 2 times in the last month taking 2 different friends and they both loved it. Service is great waiters are very friendly and very helpful with the menu and the food is great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I loved everything about this restaurant except the noise level! I could not hear my dinner companions at all . . .and I am not even 60 yet! I even think I heard bass music coming through the wall . . . something not sure what. I was kind of disappointed only because this restaurant came highly recommended . . . to dine outside. But the humidity is in full swing here in FLA and we opted out of dining Al Fresco. I wish the side seating had a bit more ambiance like vineyard grape walls enveloping the dining patio? I might have suffered the humidity if it looked more inviting. But I would still return . . . for the excellent meal and service! I would just make sure I sit in the front cozy section of this restaurant if it's too hot outside! Sure seemed quieter for sure.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 1, 2017

All of our food was excellent. The only issue was there was no scallops.
Overall great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The best Italian restaurant in Sarasota . Amy and Steve are the best.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We have been dining with you for quite some time. However this time the food was disappointing. Linguini with clams-too much butter , clams too small! Tropical salad- mounds of arugula, very little avocado and hearts of palm. Parmigiana sliced too thick, dry. Sent our dessert back. Profiteroles had almost no filling. Management handled it well, removed charge from bill. Water tastes funky. Purchased Pelligrino! The rest of our party loved their meals! Hope things improve because we really enjoy your restaurant!!! Oh yes, service great as usual!! Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Fresh ingredients & well prepared dishes. Worth the visit.
Service was attentive & friendly.
Restaurant sits in Sarasota downtown Main Street, offering real outdoor ambience & shops further along.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

I guess for Florida italian foodthis is it, but not for a new yorker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Mediterraneo is always a must visit during our yearly vacation to Sarasota. We've been going for 12+ years. Always has good daily specials, vast menu to suit everyone and a nice wine list. This time around I felt a little rushed with our appetizers coming out before the bread and complimentary bruschetta. Our main course was delivered to our table about one minute after the appetizer plates were picked up. And same went with dessert and coffee. I just felt a little rushed. Also this time it was loud but that changes with the clientel each visit. Overall , a nice place to dine.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Authentic Italian and fun atmosphere. A bit loud for conversations but the food was fabulous!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This is the fifth time I have been to the restaurant, and I have been very pleased each time, with the food, service, wine list, and value.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.