Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano

With its modern but classic Italian cuisine and emphasis on artisanal and contemporary Northern Italian style, Mediterraneo is often credited with being the first restaurant to bring authentic contemporary Italian cuisine to Sarasota when it first opened in 1996. Still under the same ownership, Mediterraneo has consistently been rated one of the top restaurants in Zagat. The restaurant has received numerous accolades including the acclaimed Insegna Del Ristorante Italiano awarded by The Minister of Agriculture & Commerce in Rome. With its highest honor, inducting the restaurant into its Accademia Italiana della Cucina "Fine Dining Hall of Fame." Mediterraneo has been rated as Best of the Best in Sarasota Magazine since the first year of opening.

So whether you're celebrating a special occasion or grabbing a quick bite to eat, at Mediterraneo you are always assured the best quality food accompanied by excellent service. All of it thoroughly Italian.

1970 Main St.
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Daily: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
N. Washington Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 365-4122

Website:
http://www.mediterraneorest.com/

Parking Details:
Private garage parking behind restaurant

Private Party Facilities:
"Rossa" Room is available for private events. Contact us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Baroni: (941) 365-4122

Additional:
Counter Seating, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (42)
Wood Oven (28)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Casual (25)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Fun (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Romantic (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Business Meals (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Bar Seating (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Cozy (8)
People Watching (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Family Style (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
573 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

We hadn't eat here in awhile and now are wondering why. Service was great and the food fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was ery good
I had the swordfish and it was amazing
Friends had the pizza and felt the pizza was soggy and not very tasty

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We are pretty spoiled when we go for Italian food as we live in Chicago; however, a fellow traveler recommended this place to us and it did not disappoint! The food was delicious, the staff was friendly and we had a fun night with fellow diners around us. A great way to top off our vacation in Sarasota!

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Casual, Family Style, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Sarasota has many great Italian restaurants, but Mediterraneo, should be at the top of your "go to spots". From the warm family greeting, even if your first visit, to the incredible food and service you feel like you could be in Florence or Rome. The homemade pasta and incredible sauces won't disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Food was very good. Large portions. Enough for lunch the next day. Kids enjoyed as well as adults. We would go back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Bellissimo! Week in Sarasota and our 3rd visit. Consistent great experience. The best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

This is our favorite Italian restaurant!! Love the food and the service is very good. My wife's favorite dish is the Veal Marcella and she almost orders it every time we go. We always bring our family when they are in town and they love it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Have been a fan of this restaurant for 15+ years. Always great Italian food. Daily special are innovative and constantly changing. Nice wine list plus a great bar tender named, Eddie.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We've been going here for 16 years. This place is great! Across the board excellence.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Seven people all enjoyed their dinners and we enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Always a dependable selection for dinner. This is one of our favorite Italian restaurants in Sarasota. Great mains, pastas, appetizers and pizzas! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We have been here 2 times in the last month taking 2 different friends and they both loved it. Service is great waiters are very friendly and very helpful with the menu and the food is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I loved everything about this restaurant except the noise level! I could not hear my dinner companions at all . . .and I am not even 60 yet! I even think I heard bass music coming through the wall . . . something not sure what. I was kind of disappointed only because this restaurant came highly recommended . . . to dine outside. But the humidity is in full swing here in FLA and we opted out of dining Al Fresco. I wish the side seating had a bit more ambiance like vineyard grape walls enveloping the dining patio? I might have suffered the humidity if it looked more inviting. But I would still return . . . for the excellent meal and service! I would just make sure I sit in the front cozy section of this restaurant if it's too hot outside! Sure seemed quieter for sure.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 1, 2017

All of our food was excellent. The only issue was there was no scallops.
Overall great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The best Italian restaurant in Sarasota . Amy and Steve are the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We have been dining with you for quite some time. However this time the food was disappointing. Linguini with clams-too much butter , clams too small! Tropical salad- mounds of arugula, very little avocado and hearts of palm. Parmigiana sliced too thick, dry. Sent our dessert back. Profiteroles had almost no filling. Management handled it well, removed charge from bill. Water tastes funky. Purchased Pelligrino! The rest of our party loved their meals! Hope things improve because we really enjoy your restaurant!!! Oh yes, service great as usual!! Thank you!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Fresh ingredients & well prepared dishes. Worth the visit.
Service was attentive & friendly.
Restaurant sits in Sarasota downtown Main Street, offering real outdoor ambience & shops further along.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

I guess for Florida italian foodthis is it, but not for a new yorker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Mediterraneo is always a must visit during our yearly vacation to Sarasota. We've been going for 12+ years. Always has good daily specials, vast menu to suit everyone and a nice wine list. This time around I felt a little rushed with our appetizers coming out before the bread and complimentary bruschetta. Our main course was delivered to our table about one minute after the appetizer plates were picked up. And same went with dessert and coffee. I just felt a little rushed. Also this time it was loud but that changes with the clientel each visit. Overall , a nice place to dine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Authentic Italian and fun atmosphere. A bit loud for conversations but the food was fabulous!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This is the fifth time I have been to the restaurant, and I have been very pleased each time, with the food, service, wine list, and value.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Superb!!! The eggplant appetizer is the bomb! Our server Tamas was fantastic!! And Mediterraneo is our favorite restaurant in Sarasota.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We went on a Friday night and it was packed and very noisy but the food was outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

There were many things we liked about Mediterraneo. We had an early reservation so our seating choices were open, choosing one of the banquets against the wall. Even when the restaurant quickly filled up, our group could hear each other without a problem. The servers were very attentive. The veal marsala was not as tender as I would have liked, but overall the food was very tasty and served while it was still very hot. Everyone's meal was delicious and came at the same time. It's just across the street from the movie theater, so it's a great choice for pre or post movie date.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It was Friday night and the restaurant was busy, but we were seated at our table right on time. Management and servers were all friendly and efficient. The four of us ordered different entrees, and each person said that their dish was delicious. I started with the minestrone (not great), but the Lamb Osso Buco was outstanding. All of our food was served hot, and everyone's meal came out at the same time.

We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Our second time here after the movie. Food and service were both excellent. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Very pleasant restaurant with good food and good service. The risotto special was well prepared and very tasty.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food every time we go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We made a 7:30pm reservation for this past Sat night (3/4/17) through OpenTable. I wish I could review the food but our reservation was never honored or even acknowledged. When we arrived at 7:30pm the restaurant was jammed. We went to tell the host we had arrived but he barely acknowledged us and never asked about our reservation or anyone else's. As tables became available he picked people from the waiting line with no regard to reservations. A group of 3 women with 7pm reservations waited over an hour to be seated. We waited 35 min because the host kept asking us not to leave saying it would only be 10 min until we were seated. After 40 min we left. Although we have eaten here before and enjoyed the food, we will not go back again. I could see our reservation on the restaurant's computer but the host NEVER went near it. What is the point of making a reservation if the host doesn't honor it????

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 4, 2017

very well established restaurant with consistently good food

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 4, 2017

excellent food and the wait staff was very professional and friendly. Our reservations were done with Open table and all went as planned. Food was hot, timely and tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Had an early dinner prior to going to the Van Wezel. The restaurant filled very quickly starting at 6 pm. Great food and service but a bit noisy with a full house. Would definitely return and recommend to others. Prices in line with other downtown restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Food was good. Service was very good. Good location if you want to go the the movies!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We have tried this place several times. Sometimes good food, sometimes good service but not consistently enough to keep going back. Too bad because it's near the house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

excellent
aà2345678909876543212345678909876543212345

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner, great location, would definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Chef prepared a special dish for us. Outstanding food and service. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food is wonderful and especially love the black ink pasta. But sadly, on a Thursday night at 8 pm, we had to get check, skipping dessert, because a table of 8 seated next to us was impossibly loud. This was on top of a a restaurant-wide very loud volume; so we informed the waiter we had to leave because of the noise level. We had even requested a quiet table in the back , but there was no escape

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

On 2/23/2017 my wife and I had dinner at this restaurant and where very disappointed with our meals.My wife ordered Veal Milanese which was not crispy but soggy from the tomatoes and greens poured over it.I had pasta with meat sauce which was bland and over cooked .Our waiter was more interested with the regulars and did not return to our table for over 30 minutes only to ask if we wanted coffee . I realize that kitchens have off nights but to botch two fairly simple meals is inexcusable .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Good food and service in a great environment. Their wood burning pizzas are delicious and authentic. Pair a pizza with a glass of wine from their nice wine selection and you'll have a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Wood Oven, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.