About Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano

1970 Main St.
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

With its modern but classic Italian cuisine and emphasis on artisanal and contemporary Northern Italian style, Mediterraneo is often credited with being the first restaurant to bring authentic contemporary Italian cuisine to Sarasota when it first opened in 1996. Still under the same ownership, Mediterraneo has consistently been rated one of the top restaurants in Zagat. The restaurant has received numerous accolades including the acclaimed Insegna Del Ristorante Italiano awarded by The Minister of Agriculture & Commerce in Rome. With its highest honor, inducting the restaurant into its Accademia Italiana della Cucina "Fine Dining Hall of Fame." Mediterraneo has been rated as Best of the Best in Sarasota Magazine since the first year of opening.

So whether you're celebrating a special occasion or grabbing a quick bite to eat, at Mediterraneo you are always assured the best quality food accompanied by excellent service. All of it thoroughly Italian.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Daily: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
N. Washington Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 365-4122

Website:
http://www.mediterraneorest.com/

Private Party Facilities:
"Rossa" Room is available for private events. Contact us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Baroni: 9413654122

Additional:
Counter Seating, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Service
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Value
Sarasota / Bradenton
1 More
Italian
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

Fit for Foodies (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
See All
Good for Groups (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Romantic (10)
Hot Spot (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
People Watching (2)
Fun (2)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Cozy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Business Meals (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
430 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have enjoyed Mediterraneo for several ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We have enjoyed Mediterraneo for several years the food and service are always top notch. The noise level is high, but that's pretty much the same anywhere that is popular. We love sitting in the bar, where the action is.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is always excellent and consistent. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Food is always excellent and consistent. Pasta dishes are nicely prepared and meat/fish dishes flavorful. One of our favorite Italian restaurants in Sarasota.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was the 4th time we've eaten here, an ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

It was the 4th time we've eaten here, and the first time I had ordered the gnocchi. To my disappointment, the red sauce tasted like it had been poured from a jar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was excellent. Nice atmospher ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Everything was excellent. Nice atmosphere, great service, and the food was fantastic. From beginning to end it was all perfect. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Mediterraneo. They have a comfortab ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Love Mediterraneo. They have a comfortable feel and I love the pizza and chicken Parmesan (and suggested meals by the waitstaff)

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there three times and have enjoyed ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Been there three times and have enjoyed food as well as service. When in Sarasota area will visit again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent and Steve is a great ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food was excellent and Steve is a great waiter . Very professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service outstanding

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Food and service outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Caprese w imported Italian salami, Caesa ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Caprese w imported Italian salami, Caesar salad, lamb Ossobuco w risotto, Black Angus beef with Gorgonzola sauce, fine Chianti, and now Affogato , and Lemoncello. Doesn't get any better than this, like being in Florencia, Venezia or Roma. Comfortable contemporary decor, extensive wine list, we ordered our favorite Chianti reasonably priced . Service was exceptional , wait staff worked together. All food selections were beautifully plated. This was an exceptional dining experience . Definitely on our list of favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service excellent, flavor of food delici ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service excellent, flavor of food delicious, lovely restaurant, but very noisy at the 7 pm

hour on a Friday evening. Everything else perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A wonderful Italian restaurant with vari ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

A wonderful Italian restaurant with various regions of Italy covered in the menu....we love the calamari, it is not fried but sautéed and served in a tomato garlic and basil sauce....very light and the reason we go there. Only disappointment this time...no calamari. Black linguine and shrimp made up for it and if you are a creme brûlée fan...best in town

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a great experience..we patronage ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always a great experience..we patronage Mediterraneo whenever we are in Sarasota

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We absolutely loved it! Lovely room, exc ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We absolutely loved it! Lovely room, excellent service and all of our meals were great, All of us had pasta so cannot speak to the fish or other entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Amy, was fantastic. Very pro ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our server Amy, was fantastic. Very professional and personable. Every aspect of our dining experience was pleasurable, enjoyable and memorable. The octopus appetizer, which was recommended was delicious. The Branzino with spinach and beans, excellent. The veal chop was cooked perfectly. The wine complimented our meal and my date. Topped the meal off with a nice version of Tiramisu and an espresso. Great service and food. Thank you Amy for making our celebration one to remember.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The servers were awesome, very kind and ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The servers were awesome, very kind and knowledgable. The food was fantastic! I had a $16 pizza that was wood~fired, with ham and artichokes, very tasty. The other three had pasta with mussels and lobster, they raved about it and almost wanted to lick their plates!

Nice place where they sweep your crumbs off the white tablecloths.

Our reservation was at 6 and we were glad because when we left shortly after 7, it was getting crowded and VERY NOISY! We will be back, thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mediterraneo is the go-to for Italian di ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Mediterraneo is the go-to for Italian dining. Menu fair is consistent and always has a nice presentation. Their dinner specials are inventive and always delicious. Their wood burning oven pizza is the best in town. Wine list is extensive with some excellent vintages. Always a fun place to gather and an excellent restaurant !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the seafood spaghetti special. ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I ordered the seafood spaghetti special. Definitely worth the price of admission. Nothing is ever average. The food reminds me of the great Italian cuisine you would find in the big cities, but better. Their quality is amazing. Not to mention you get seated and served very quickly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated our 20th anniversary with ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We celebrated our 20th anniversary with dinner at Mediterraneo. Our hotel concierge had recommended the restaurant but did not assist with reservations; rather, we made the reservation ourselves through open table. I mention this because that reservation was the only place where I mentioned that the meal was in celebration of our 20th anniversary. I simply asked for a nice table in that regard. To my very pleasant surprise the host and wait staff made a big (but appropriate) deal about our milestone. The service was excellent and the food superb. There was a great deal of TLC throughout our meal and the desert involved the best chocolate mousse either of us ever had tasted. Mediterraneo is in a convenient location, with both street and garage parking, so it was easy for folks like us (from out of town) to get to and from. We definitely would recommend Mediterraneo as they went out of their way to make customers feel like customers.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was fabulous. Great food, gr ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Everything was fabulous. Great food, great atmosphere and excellent service - thank you, Amy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Mediterraneo. I especially love ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We love Mediterraneo. I especially love the hand made 4 cheese pizza. Now I have my girlfriend hooked on it. My husband always orders some type of veal. The pasta is great, homemade so in my opinion there is no way you can go wrong. If you have trouble with the wine list Ernesto will lead you to a wonderful bottle based on your "description" of what you like. We usually go more off season. During season be prepared for a wait or to even be turned away.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great service and food was excell ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had great service and food was excellent. I also just felt that it was a great value!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Medditerraneo for numero ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have been to Medditerraneo for numerous dinners. We left disappointed in the food quality, (for the price) pushy, rushed service, and very noisy atmosphere. This was the first choice to take friends when visiting. It not top on our list at this point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

we've eaten at Mediterraneo many times a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

we've eaten at Mediterraneo many times and we've always had a great meal. we've always been very happy with the service, food and wine. great place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food is amazing! Our wait ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

As always, the food is amazing! Our waitress, Amy, was really great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very loud in the front room, hard to hav ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very loud in the front room, hard to have a conversation.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

A wonderful Italian local in downtown Sa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A wonderful Italian local in downtown Sarasota . Menu and service are excellent - going back again tonight !!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very loud to the point where carrying on ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very loud to the point where carrying on a conversation was very difficult.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We have been looking for a Italian rest ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have been looking for a Italian restaurant that compared to metro NYC standards. Well

Mediterraneo surpasses what we were looking for. We started with the Amy's our server recommendations for appetizers eggplant tower and smoked mozzarella wrapped in prosciutto on baked radicchio . Both were the best dishes we have never eaten anywhere in the world.

Amy is a real asset to the establishment she makes everyone feel like a regular . She knows the menu and what dishes enhance your dining experience .We both had pasta as a main course excellent as well. It was our anniversary the dinner was capped off the a chocolate Napoleon complements of Mediterrano ! we were so full it was boxed to go home .

We have added Mediterraneo to the top of the list when we crave Italian fare .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything very good

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Everything very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful experience and food. I had req ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wonderful experience and food. I had requested a table in a quiet section as we were meeting 3 other couples for the first time and wanted to be able to chat. Every request was fulfilled. Lovely services

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always great food and a pleasant dining ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always great food and a pleasant dining experience with attentive staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice restaurant. Hoped for a bit more o ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Nice restaurant. Hoped for a bit more out of our experience. It was absolutely adequate, but not excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Been coming here for years - always a go ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Been coming here for years - always a good meal and good service. Highly recommend! Best Italian food in Sarasota.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent food and service! Highl ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always excellent food and service! Highly recommend lasagna bolognese, delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great meal. The duck was the juic ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

What a great meal. The duck was the juiciest piece of duck I have ever had. My husband had the lamb shank and risotto...it was delicious!!

Will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were in Sarasota celebrating our anni ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We were in Sarasota celebrating our anniversary over the weekend. This was a jewel of a restaurant for authentic Italian food. Wish we had one in Naples, FL.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

BEST Italian

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have enjoyed dining here whenever we are in town. The food is the best Italian in Sarasota.

Service is always excellent. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place continues to be one of our fa ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This place continues to be one of our favorite restaurants in Sarasota. It's a little loud but quite lively seems to be the place to be. It is always good and service is always great thanks again for another great meal and good evening

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pizza below average. Too noisy for a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Pizza below average. Too noisy for a pricey place. Online menus do not have prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Best Osso Bucco ever!!! This is our numb ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Best Osso Bucco ever!!! This is our number 1 favorite restaurant. And the best eggplant appetizer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.