About Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano

With its modern but classic Italian cuisine and emphasis on artisanal and contemporary Northern Italian style, Mediterraneo is often credited with being the first restaurant to bring authentic contemporary Italian cuisine to Sarasota when it first opened in 1996. Still under the same ownership, Mediterraneo has consistently been rated one of the top restaurants in Zagat. The restaurant has received numerous accolades including the acclaimed Insegna Del Ristorante Italiano awarded by The Minister of Agriculture & Commerce in Rome. With its highest honor, inducting the restaurant into its Accademia Italiana della Cucina "Fine Dining Hall of Fame." Mediterraneo has been rated as Best of the Best in Sarasota Magazine since the first year of opening.

So whether you're celebrating a special occasion or grabbing a quick bite to eat, at Mediterraneo you are always assured the best quality food accompanied by excellent service. All of it thoroughly Italian.

1970 Main St.
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Daily: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
N. Washington Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 365-4122

Website:
http://www.mediterraneorest.com/

Parking Details:
Private garage parking behind restaurant

Private Party Facilities:
"Rossa" Room is available for private events. Contact us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Baroni: (941) 365-4122

Additional:
Counter Seating, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Authentic (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Romantic (7)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Family Style (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
503 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Veal marsala very blend and dry. The piz ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Veal marsala very blend and dry. The pizza's are very slim with ingredience but high $ price.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

My first time at Mediterraneo, and it wa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

My first time at Mediterraneo, and it was great! House made ravioli was especially good, as was the tiramisu. Excellent service. Terrific for a before movie dinner (Hollywood 20 is across the street).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have enjoyed Mediterraneo for years a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We have enjoyed Mediterraneo for years and it's a continuing favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Another great meal Mediterraneo. Good se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Another great meal Mediterraneo. Good service, great wine list and authentic food served hot. Simple things executed very well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent but our table loc ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was excellent but our table location couldn't be worse. One table for 2 just opposite the noisy bar. The noise level got louder as our dinner was served. The mat're d stood inches away and was very animated. I felt we were given such a unpleasant table because we were two women. The food was great but we couldn't talk to each other unless we shouted. I would definitely return many times if I could be guaranteed a quieter table. It was especially disappointing because it was my friend's birthday and I had hoped for a special evening.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

love the food! HATED how noisy the resta ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

love the food!

HATED how noisy the restaurant was......

go early to avoid the noise...

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We experienced the best service from any ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We experienced the best service from any restaurant staff in years! Working as a team, they were knowledgeable, professional, and efficient, while still being personable. Every item ordered was delicious. The staff answered all questions about the menu and met any special needs without question. We enjoyed socializing with our friends over an excellent meal, interacting with pleasant staff who were attentive yet not obtrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, perfectly al dente pasta. A ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Excellent, perfectly al dente pasta. A little heavy on the salt but delicious nonetheless.

Service was perfect - not hovering but always checking in.

Very enjoyable experience and will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were greeted immediately when we walk ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were greeted immediately when we walked in, and were seated at a nice corner table. Our dinner was excellent -- salads and pasta dishes. It's our first time back this season, and we will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Always a favorite, just returned from up ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Always a favorite, just returned from up north. A nice welcome home.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

entrees, veal chop parmesan and veal mar ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

entrees, veal chop parmesan and veal marsala were terrible. bad quality meat.

salads big and fresh but undressed. too much to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Walked into the door at the time of rese ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Walked into the door at the time of reservation. Was not greeted or acknowledged - practically knocked over by noisy patrons. The place looked chaotic and unusually busy. They may serve great food but we never tasted it. We left and walked down the street for a pleasant dinner at a competitor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was really good. However, the "spec ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was really good. However, the "special" pasta did not have all the ingredients described. Our waiter ( and the one at the table next to us) said the dish had scallops, when they meant shallots. Also, they said the dish had arugula, but it didn't. When we pointed it out to waiter, he was super awkward. Didn't apologize. He didn't know what to say. After that, he barely came back to the table and the service went downhill. That was the opposite of what should have happened. Very weird!.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Mediterraneo is an outstanding Italian r ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Mediterraneo is an outstanding Italian restaurant! Our server was great, she handled our party of 10 with ease and professsionalism! Everyone enjoyed their meals and wines! Thank you!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Continues to be the best in class. Alwa ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Continues to be the best in class. Always excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Considering how busy they were on New Ye ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Considering how busy they were on New Years Eve, the service and the food were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful time

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! Waiter wonderful! We w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was amazing! Waiter wonderful! We were 7 people and we ordered several pastas to share and pizzas. Each one was better than the next.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite noisy busy restaurant with spotty ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Quite noisy busy restaurant with spotty service and nice but not inspired food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Mediterraneo was once our favorite Saras ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Mediterraneo was once our favorite Sarasota restaurant. No more!! We were disappointed for the second time in a row. I had the black linguini with shrimp, which was still excellent, but

my wife's seafood was disappointing,and my two sons' ravioli was outright disgusting. They

were assured that the sauce would be a "light ragu with a little bit of cream to give it body".

It not only contained four different cheeses, but it was laced with a white creamy sauce that

made it inedible. If anyone had ever come by to inquire, we would have returned the 2 dishes.

The service was mediocre - when we finished our appetizers, the empty plates sat in front of us for 15 minutes before they were removed, along with our silverware. When the entrees arrived, they came without hardware, so we had to sit and stare at them for a few minutes, until we got a busboy's attention.

Mediterraneo has been renovated very nicely, BUT they obviously added tables to

generate more $$. This resulted in the tables being almost on top of each other, making conversation difficult, and creating an obstacle course for the waiters and for anyone who got up to use the restroom. Sad !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Outdoor dining is a disappointment-- ver ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Outdoor dining is a disappointment-- very loud and unscenic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Ate here on Christmas Day. Nice ambiance ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Ate here on Christmas Day. Nice ambiance, great food, and excellent service! We were very pleased.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sliced black Angus steak with gorgon ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The sliced black Angus steak with gorgonzola cheese sauce and roasted potatoes was tasty, but many of the steak slices were too tough.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful waiters, host, very friendly a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful waiters, host, very friendly and accommodating, very warm. Best Pizza ever! All food was delicious- we even went back a day later because was so good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything is always Awesome!!

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Everything is always Awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible food, horrible food, horrible f ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Horrible food, horrible food, horrible food, horrible food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Everything was wonderful. It may have be ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Everything was wonderful. It may have been a bit noisy since it appeared there were several families having dinner.

The waitress was outstanding. Anticipated our every need. The food was excellent.

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our 2nd visit in 2 weeks. They ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This was our 2nd visit in 2 weeks. They had our table ready and waiting, service was timely, the specials intriguing, the house wine yummy, and the food delicious. We will surely be back ... often.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This is one of our very favorite Italian ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This is one of our very favorite Italian restaurants, not just in Sarasota but elsewhere in the U.S. The staff is warm and friendly and the food is always delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was awesome as always. Never Had a bad m ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Was awesome as always. Never Had a bad meal here.

Would recommend to others.. anytime is a good time to go.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great atmosphere ! Everyone ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere ! Everyone enjoyed their meal. Several tried the seafood special and raved about it; prawns and pasta...who could complain about that ? One tried the margharita pizza and loved it. I tried the lasagna, a make-or-break entrée for me, and it was meaty with tender pasta and a delicious flavor. Perfectly cooked ! The Mediterraneo is a fun place for a small group to meet and converse because, unlike many restaurants today, the carpet/textural walls and ceilings absorbed much of the ambient noise and let the five of us enjoy our conversations ! It combines elegance and quality dining with a casual (read: Florida) flair. I think our waiter was a bit new, but he was friendly and helpful; not sure of how to answer several of our questions about the specials, but we all made light of it. The greeter was charming, and the wait staff were friendly and wished us " bon appetite", even the gentleman serving the water. Of course, walking around the neighborhood on a warm December evening when the rest of the country is snow-bound, letting the Sarasota breezes blow through your hair, is quite a treat. When we returned to our car, we all agreed that it was a great choice and in the past, as well as that night, did not disappoint.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The table was ready right away, no wait. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The table was ready right away, no wait. The food was delicious, we had a pizza as an appetizer which was perfect. We went with the shrimp fra diavolo whic was super.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our friends visiting from U.K. Wanted To ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our friends visiting from U.K. Wanted To eat good food, nice ambiance, elegant and not too noisy. My husband, myself and other friends had several good experiences at Méditerraneo. It was our choice, they loved it as much as we did.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Every time we stay in Sarasota we don't ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Every time we stay in Sarasota we don't miss this excellent italian retaurant, a must if

You like the r e a l italian cuisine and italian ambiance. Don't hesitate but don't forget to

Reserve.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wait staff are very attentive, but n ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The wait staff are very attentive, but not obtrusive. I ordered the Caprese salad, which was very good. They could add more basil on the salad. I know they would have provided it if I had asked for it. The Black Linguine with shrimp was excellent. Cooked aldente. The Reisling was perfect for the meal. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food. We had the duck which wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food. We had the duck which was fabulous. If you like crisp duck...this is your dish. The osso buco and pizza were also a hit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Absolutely loved this restaurant. A frie ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Absolutely loved this restaurant. A friend recommended it for our family to go to. We were absolutely blown away by the staff's attention to detail and outstanding service, not to mention the incredible food. Thanks for making our holiday get together so special!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent entrees. We had three differe ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent entrees. We had three different ones and everyone loved their food. Caesar salad was a little bland. It was a busy Saturday evening, but often our empty water glasses were overlooked unless we asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Always a favorite. Never disappoints. Fr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Always a favorite. Never disappoints. Freshest ingredients

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent as usual.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.