About Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano

1970 Main St.
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

With its modern but classic Italian cuisine and emphasis on artisanal and contemporary Northern Italian style, Mediterraneo is often credited with being the first restaurant to bring authentic contemporary Italian cuisine to Sarasota when it first opened in 1996. Still under the same ownership, Mediterraneo has consistently been rated one of the top restaurants in Zagat. The restaurant has received numerous accolades including the acclaimed Insegna Del Ristorante Italiano awarded by The Minister of Agriculture & Commerce in Rome. With its highest honor, inducting the restaurant into its Accademia Italiana della Cucina "Fine Dining Hall of Fame." Mediterraneo has been rated as Best of the Best in Sarasota Magazine since the first year of opening.

So whether you're celebrating a special occasion or grabbing a quick bite to eat, at Mediterraneo you are always assured the best quality food accompanied by excellent service. All of it thoroughly Italian.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Daily: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
N. Washington Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 365-4122

Website:
http://www.mediterraneorest.com/

Private Party Facilities:
"Rossa" Room is available for private events. Contact us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Baroni: 9413654122

Additional:
Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area

Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

fit for foodies (81)
neighborhood gem (61)
special occasion (44)
See All
hot spot (42)
notable wine list (40)
good for groups (39)
romantic (23)
vibrant bar scene (23)
great for outdoor dining (18)
late-night find (14)
great for lunch (12)
kid-friendly (11)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Osso Bucco ever!!! This is our numb ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Best Osso Bucco ever!!! This is our number 1 favorite restaurant. And the best eggplant appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Mediterraneo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was our first time at Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano. It was a wonderful experience. Being from The Netherlands and having dining experiences in Italy many times, we were so happy that the food, the wine, the ambiance and the service was as good and even better. The Manager was very welcoming and offered us a typical Italian Limoncello after our dinner. It was awesome. We are definitely going back in August and will recommend this to our friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Eat anything out of the brick oven!

Dined on May 11, 2016

Eat anything out of the brick oven!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This place was known in the past as a mu ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

This place was known in the past as a must see when visiting Sarasota, often frequented by celebrities. Today, that may happen during special events such as the Sarasota Movie Festival, but even without those of fame and fortune this establishment is worth going to the east end of downtown Sarasota for. Also, none of the usual parking issues with the large parking garage right across Main Street.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day dinner for 2

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent meal. My only complaint is my calamari appetizer was served too hot. She had a spinach salad that was delicious. She also had sautéed Branzino. Excellent!! I had pasta c roasted vegetables. Also great. We had a flourless chocolate cake that was incredible. Also the coffee was great. Server was fantastic!!! Can't recall her name. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mediterraneo restaurant

Dined on May 6, 2016

We enjoyed the shrimp diablo quite well. Nice prepared and an excellent taste. Restaurant is quite noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Doesn't disappoint!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

A very consistent , very awesome restaurant! I had the special ravioli, rabbit and pork cheek in a butter sage sauce! Some of the best pasta I've ever put in my mouth! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and the service is outstanding...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Definitely have dinner here! Great food and the service is outstanding...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Clean and modern look and delicious food ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Clean and modern look and delicious food. A Sarasota favorite.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect....from the food ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Everything was perfect....from the food to our amazing servers, Steve and Amy.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great when slow

Dined on April 15, 2016

As usual the food, service and ambiance is great when not busy - an absolute favourite. Avoid when full - they can't handle the crowds they accept reservations for.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Jackie C

Dined on April 12, 2016

Always a great meal with outstanding service and a pleasant atmosphere

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Black linguine!!!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

I daydream about their black linguine with shrimp. Always excellent. In fact if that was all they offered I would still highly recommend it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good

Dined on April 10, 2016

We have come to rely on Mediterraneo for very good food and attentive service. It's also nice to be welcomed like long-lost relatives, when we arrive.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night at Mediterraneo in Sarasota Fl

Dined on April 8, 2016

What a great night out with business associates and wives. This was my second chance in 2 months to have dinner at Mediterraneos and could not pass up the chance. Food is incredible and atmosphere ideal.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

THAT'S ITALIAN!!!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Loved the food especially the homemade linguine with rich red sauce and my husband loved the smooth rich taste of Oso Bucca. The service was impeccable with good timing for each course but when the restaurant is crowded can get noisy. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Italian hot spot

Dined on April 1, 2016

Really pretty restaurant, modern with a cool wine room. It was pretty busy the night we went, but we had resos so we sat immediately on the patio. Host greeted us with a warm smile. Server was nice and accomodating. Appetizers came out quickly. But our dinner felt a little rushed. Server explained that it was because of a private party. (Although we asked him at the beginning to take his time we were in no hurry, he should have let the party food go first). But the food was delicious and hot...desserts were fabulous. Make a special note that the wine list was pretty extensive . Although we dos not have pizza the brick oven pizzas looked amazing.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The chicken parm is excellent

Dined on March 29, 2016

The chicken parm is excellent

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

We always make this restaurant a must when we visit Sarasota. The food is excellent and the service is always great. We celebrated a special birthday this time and the birthday girl loved her special evening. They presented her with a candle in a beautifully decorated and delicious slice of Tiramisu!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Welcoming Energetic and Exceptional

Dined on March 28, 2016

Mediterraneo has seamless service , excellent cuisine in a lively bustling setting - just like at a big Italian family's home with a touch of class. Exceptional and highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and Service

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Loved this restaurant, great food and service was very fast. Waiter gave us a lemoncello on the house to celebrate Easter. Noise level was really loud, but, overall a great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food, lovely attentive service ev ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Great food, lovely attentive service even when busy but oh the noise. Not the place for a romantic dinner or a business function but nonetheless a great meal. Lots of choices, nice specials and comprehensive and varied wine list that will satisfy any budget

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

menu

Dined on March 26, 2016

I would like to see more fish options and dishes. The salmon was fantastic, but three little slices was not enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was great. The food is always ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

Our server was great. The food is always good and tonight was no exception

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience!! So vibrant ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Always a great experience!! So vibrant and GREAT food, great service!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent place for northern Italian cui ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent place for northern Italian cuisine. Food is fresh and 1st class. It is our favored dining place in Saraaota. It is better than most Italian restaurants in Waahington DC. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very Good The Service was great & the f ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Very Good The Service was great & the food was better!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Consistently very good

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

We have dined here many times. The food is very well prepared and tasty ( burrata, Bronzino, chicken saltimbocca ) the service ( Amy ) was excellent. Also have a very good wine selection. The restaurant is somewhat noisy (would recommend not sitting in bar area ) but all in all, a very enjoyable meal

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Perfectly adequate Sarasota Italian

Dined on March 17, 2016

Food generally good. I was there early (5:30) and the tomato which accompanied the bufala mozzarella was clearly straight out of the fridge. Not brilliant overall but certainly acceptable

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Downtown Gem

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

We always head to Mediterranean Ristorante Italiano after seeing a movie or gong to The Comedy Club and are never disappointed. There were four of us and we were seated right away. Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable on the specials and everything else. The pizzas are the best but the pastas are also great. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Tasty but noisy

Dined on March 14, 2016

An excellent restaurant, with well prepared Italian specialities, excellent service and an extensive wine list. Our dining experience on a Saturday night was good but because of the crowded restaurant and noise level, it was not five stars, but four. On a less noisy evening perhaps it would rate five stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Used to be better

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Been here on numerous occasions (we are all locals) and had a bad experience with a surly waiter. The food was good, atmosphere nice, but wow - someone needs to train the staff not to be so snarky.

food3
ambience2
service4
value4

One and done

Dined on March 9, 2016

Food was better than usual Sarasota fair, but nothing to make you want to go back. Lighting was too bright and the ceiling is so low, the sound has nowhere to go so their is a kind of "din". Service was very good, although sparkling water should not be served in tumbler/water glass as your hand warms it. If you pass the restaurant ,it's worth going in as the food will not let you down( save for the risotto, a bland plate of blah), but it's not a destination . Cassariano in Venice, beats it hands down. Again, service did not lack for attentiveness or hospitality.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excentiisimo!

Dined on March 5, 2016

Dinner is always excelent at this restaurant Freshly made pasta with savory sauces; oversized veal chop milanesa is our favorite Pricey wine list but great choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Food

Dined on March 4, 2016

We have been to this restaurant a number of times and we're happy to bring newbies with us this time. They thoroughly enjoyed the food as did we. Our server, Kathy, was excellent. The only downfall to a great dining experience is the noise level inside the restaurant. If the noise could be abated somehow, it would be perfect.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mediterraneo lived up to everyone's expectations!

Dined on March 4, 2016

Our reservation was for 6:30 and we were promptly seated by a very gracious Maitre'D who gave us a choice of tables. I brought visiting relatives that evening and all were impressed. The service was prompt, friendly and efficient. Cannot say enough about the quality of food. I highly recommend paying a visit to this upscale restaurant. Well worth every penny!

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Noise has become a problem

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Great restaurant, great food and service. But the noise level has become a real problem. At 2 recent dinners, 4 tops, it was very hard to talk and to be heard. We ended up feeling hoarse from trying to be heard. I have a decibel meter on my phone and both occasions topped 85 decibel -- right below where regular sustained exposure may cause permanent damage. (I love the way the site labels noise as energetic -- no it is too loud). When I mentioned it to management, I was told it was because the restaurant was full. Ah, ok, isn't it what the management wants? And then add baffling.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second visit and tops our list of area faces!

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Our second visit was better even than our first. Abundance of choices whether you want to eat large or small...exceptional service and great desserts. Looking forward t our return meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Long time traditional Italian dining des ...

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

Long time traditional Italian dining destination. Never disappointed with food, service and ambience. Always enjoyable.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food but...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Thoroughly enjoy dining here but don't plan on visiting for a romantic date - the noise level is beyond what I would call "energetic" it was downright loud... and we were a party of 6 women who had a difficult time being heard across the table from one another, if one could imagine that! ;-) Service was terrific! Great to sit up at the bar if there are just 2 of you.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.