About Meddlesome Moth

1621 Oak Lawn Ave.
Dallas, TX 75207
View Larger Map

The Meddlesome Moth is Dallas’ most interesting full service restaurant, featuring an honest and flavorful chef driven menu, full service bar, and one of the finest selections of hand-crafted beers in the US. In addition to a changing selection of entrees, our small plates are robustly promoted to encourage sharing. We feature local seasonal menu items and offer fresh blackboard specials daily. Our patio area is spacious for dining al fresco, and reservations are encouraged. At 11pm The Moth transforms into one of Dallas' most comfortable bars and remains so until 2am, Thursday thru Saturday. Closing time is midnight otherwise.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday Dinner: 3:00pm - 10:00 pm.
Friday & Saturday: Kitchen open until midnight
Bar open until 2:00am Friday-Saturday, Monday - Thursday: Bar open til midnight
Sunday: Bar open until 10

Cross Street:
Hi Line

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 628-7900

Website:
http://www.mothinthe.net/

Catering:
Please call for special catering orders.

Parking Details:
On street parking, parking lot and complimentary valet service.

Executive Chef:
Richard Graff

Private Party Facilities:
Meddlesome Moth has accommodations for parties of virtually any size. Our semi-private room can seat up to 14 guests, or can be reserved for a standing, mingling event for up to 40 guests. We also have a large patio and beer garden which may be reserved for special events up to 100 guests

Private Party Contact:
Courtney Love: 8449031377

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Meddlesome Moth has accommodations for parties of virtually any size. From small seated dinners in our semi-private room, to cocktail parties on the patio or a buy-out of the space for you and your guests, we endeavor to accommodate most requests. Please contact events@mothinthe.net for more information

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

The Hungry Farmer - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Hummus - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Caesar Salad - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Pan De Pita # Pita Bread - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Pecan Pie - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Pecan Brownie Pie - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Carrot Ca - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Moth Balls - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Crispin Cider - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Carrot Cake - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Cider - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Bangers and Mash - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Seared Ahi Tuna Skewers - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
House-Brewed Iced Tea - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Roasted Beet Salad - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Bar - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Rabbit Pot Pie - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Banana Bread Beer - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Crispy Duck Wings - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Pale Ale Beer - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Crispy Skin - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Challah Bread French Toast - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX
Tenfidy Imperial Stoit - Meddlesome Moth, Dallas, TX

Meddlesome Moth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (37)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Great Beer (35)
See All
Fit for Foodies (35)
Casual (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Fun (25)
Bar Seating (24)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Comfort Food (17)
People Watching (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Business Meals (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Authentic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Tapas (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Romantic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Family Style (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Cozy (5)
Spicy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Healthy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1591 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sunday brunch was great. We both had thr ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Sunday brunch was great. We both had three mother and it was so good! The peach mimosas were great to finish it all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch in Dallas! Try the Mother Ch ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Best brunch in Dallas! Try the Mother Child Reunion or the Whiskey Maple Donut; did I mention the beer selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience, from the french pr ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful experience, from the french press coffee to the food and great beer selection!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The catalán mussels are delicious! They ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The catalán mussels are delicious! They make some of the best fries in town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My first time to MM. really enjoyed food ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My first time to MM. really enjoyed food. Waygu tartar and pot pies were excellent. Our server Lacy was great. Nice vibe for family meal before a show.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress Lacy was attentive and prof ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our waitress Lacy was attentive and professional. Over all the experience was pleasant and the food was good

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The lamb giro was the worst and most exp ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The lamb giro was the worst and most expensive I've ever had. Dallas has some great restaurants. The Meddlesome Moth is not worth your time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Our lunch there was excellent. Although ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Our lunch there was excellent. Although it was a bit noisy when my daughter-in-law and I arrived, it became much more quiet after the lunch rush hour was over. The wait staff was attentive but unobtrusive, allowing us to talk without unnecessary interruption.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Chloe, was friendly, attenti ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Our server, Chloe, was friendly, attentive and knowledgeable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not sure what's going on with the Moth. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Not sure what's going on with the Moth. We met friends arriving at Love Field here on a Wednesday night (when they regularly tap a new keg) and It was less than half full. While some food options have been hit or miss in the past, it seems that the food quality has gone down even more. My husband ordered fish and chips (as he has before) and it's not as good. And the other three diners' meals were good, but not a wow. Worst item of all was the broccolini. I never knew you could ruin broccolini but, now I know. Best appetizer always was the zucchini chips, but they dropped it a long time ago. That said, the beer selection is till solid and the bar staff is still great. Table wait staff was just ok. We won't give up yet, but we hope Moth will step up the food quality.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great restaurant with a full menu. All ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great restaurant with a full menu. All of the menu items are good and the service is good. Fun restaurant for a business lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is my third time eating at Meddleso ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This is my third time eating at Meddlesome Moth. This time we tried several small plates, and everything was good. Service was great. Will definitely continue going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the Moth but our NYE left me flat ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love the Moth but our NYE left me flat. Our waiter constantly rushed us, even though we are on the final seating and would be there to the end.

The food was presented beautifully as always but everything was bland. The desserts were inedible.

As a previous restaurant owner, I understand the hoopla that is NYE, but flavor cannot be sacrificed.

The timing of the service was fine, although we had to tell our waiter several times not to rush us. Said in very polite terms.

I will absolutely be back as nowhere in Dallas can you get such succulent mussels. The Thai ones are slap someone amazing. I will skip the special menu nights though.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Okay, I love this place... the beer sele ...

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Okay, I love this place... the beer selection is unmatched, the apps are often very good... Recommend Moth Balls and Fried Chicken Skins. However, I guess they are not set up for a fixed menu New Year's Eve. We had the 7 o'clock seating and were seated immediately. Ordered a martini (full bar) and a brown ale... Our waiter, Christian, was helpful and his service is about what you would expect on a New Year's event. Then the food... It all Just. Plain. Sucked. Apps... Salad... Soup... Entrees... pretty much all equally, bad food. We'll try again on a regular night, or just drinks and an app. Good luck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Our favorite in Dallas and keep coming b ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our favorite in Dallas and keep coming back to it every chance we get. Why? It has the best beer selection I have ever seen anywhere in the world, changes daily, craft, domestic, international, meads, and waiters are knowledgeable too. Food: small plates that are always delicious, right size, and pairs ever so well with the brews. Staff: dining out is about being served right - professional, knowledgeable staff who aim to please. If there is just time for one meal in Dallas: pick Meddlesome Moth!

Tags: , Great for Lunch, Tapas, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eyeballed this place for months before p ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Eyeballed this place for months before pulling the trigger. Should've done it long ago! Very cool vibe with outstandingly delicious shared plates (a la mode tapas) and warm, helpful and particularly knowledgeable service from Chris and Tyler. Great beers plus other beverages available.

Caprese salad, duck wings to Die For and nice spicy BBQ ribs...

We've been back twice in just over a week and will return again soon. Excellent!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fun, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Casual, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the Ambience, the Wait Staff, the F ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Love the Ambience, the Wait Staff, the Food & the Atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my fiance's 31st birthday on ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Celebrated my fiance's 31st birthday on Wednesday after Christmas. We have frequented the restaurant before, as my fiance loves the selection of craft beer on tap. Our server, Matt, took great care of us. He suggested great menu items and offered tastings of a few different kinds of beer on tap. We split (2) share plates for dinner - beef tartare and pig & fig - finished off with Chocolate Pignoli for dessert. All were decadently delicious! For first-timers, there is parking on site. Seating is available first come, first serve at the bar. We'll be back!

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I go out to eat so much, it ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My wife and I go out to eat so much, it takes a lot to earn a "Wow,' but Moth earned one last night. One of the more creative sets of dishes we have had in several years that included everything we tried-soup, salad, Thai mussels, sweetbreads, wine and several great/unusual draft beers. Coupled with great service, we will go out of our way to go back.

Tags: Spicy, Late-night Find, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

F Steak tartare needed more spices. Was ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

F

Steak tartare needed more spices. Was a little bland. The quail egg on top was cute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ate here on Christmas. Very extensive be ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Ate here on Christmas. Very extensive beer selection, it was my first time trying some and the bartender was very knowledgeable and recommended a great stout that I will most certainly try again. The shrimp and grits is delicious, nice ambiance, I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A hipster heaven with beards and tattoos ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

A hipster heaven with beards and tattoos apparently a requirement for the wait staff. Very noisy when there's more than a dozen people in but the service is quick and, for Dallas, it isn't very pricey.

The vodka-pickled shrimp are interesting but a bit of a mess. Lots of onions, olives and assorted other bits and pieces in the glass along with the four shrimp but, taste wise, not really worth the effort. Just bitter-tasting shrimp.

The steak frites brought a good steak, cooked as ordered and very tasty but as for the 'frites', all I can say is, "Oh dear. How sad!". A limp, oily mess of brownish potato taking up half the plate. I did notice that the customer next to me asked for his to be replaced and got them replaced with the same kind of mess.

Still, the culinary whoopsies aside, it's a fun place to hang out. The bar seating's very comfortable and the bar service is spot-on. A good place for the wittily-named-cocktail crowd.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

In the past we've enjoyed some really ni ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

In the past we've enjoyed some really nice meals here, but this year, some of the dishes were disappointing -- either bland or not good. A bummer, since it was Christmas Eve.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Went for lunch and ended up with delicio ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went for lunch and ended up with delicious brunch items, including a carafe of mimosas.

Sticky buns and French toast was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very expensive for tapas. Not much food ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very expensive for tapas. Not much food for the cost

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This was our third time visiting this re ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This was our third time visiting this restaurant. It hasn't disappointed. The sharing plates are a great way to experience a variety of foods / combinations. The Beer selection is great. If you can't find a Beer you want, you are too picky. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a very enjoyable dinner here. A nice ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had a very enjoyable dinner here. A nice wine list started us off. Had one of thier signature stick meats appetizers to start. It was ahi tuna, perfectly rare, with nice spicy jalapeños on top, avacado, and a sweet Asian sauce. Five very good size pieces. Both of us ordered the steak frites for entree. Ordered it medium rare, one was perfect,one was raw inside. To thier credit, they immediately made me a brand new one, and it was perfect! Kudos to them for that. All in all a very nice time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We're a brunch group & we picked this re ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We're a brunch group & we picked this restaurant based on their brunch menu online. However, when we got there they only had 3 brunch items to offer...apparently the menu had changed...food, service & ambience good but didn't meet our intentions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

My hubby & I were seated at a tiny 2 top ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My hubby & I were seated at a tiny 2 top next to a pole. A huge 15 top (or so) was right behind us. Between their server bumping my chair & the pole right in the way, it was uncomfortable. And very noisy.

When we were being seated I asked about moving but our hostess/ server laughed & said "you won't disturb them"... cause that's what I was worried about..

Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

The waitress was very sweet but the two ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The waitress was very sweet but the two women working the hostess stand were in no way friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This restaurant has outstanding food, se ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This restaurant has outstanding food, service & ambiance. I can't wait to return. If you are looking for something very unique, a special dinner out, then this is the place to go!! I am looking forward to the next dining out there.My friend whom owns a Bed & Breakfast/Bakery highly recommended the Meddlesome Moth , she knows the best restaurants in Dallas. I am so glad she did. I will return!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome first time experience from start ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Awesome first time experience from start to finish! We showed up earlier than our reservation and the host was on the ball and got us seated sooner than we expected on a busy Friday night. Started out in the cool bar with appetizers and drinks and ended up with Chloe our fabulous server! She has awesome product knowledge and attended to our every need. Loved her fun personality and will definitely request her when we go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service as always. Food was great ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great service as always. Food was great and came quickly. In and out in less than an hour

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for fun food and drinks. Lo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great place for fun food and drinks. Lots and lots of beer choices, with flights available for tasting. Food is very interesting and the wait staff is good at describing dishes and making recommendations. Outdoor patio good for warmer months. Did I mention the beer selection is big?

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The art was beautiful. They had such cre ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The art was beautiful. They had such creative cocktails and an amazing beer selection. I've been looking for an outstanding brunch place since I've moved to Dallas. I believe I've finally found it! The food was incredible and the prices were very reasonable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, but service was off. Server ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food, but service was off. Server would talk to much, interrupt our conversation flow, then disappear without bringing the things we asked him for. Several reminders later we would get things, but honestly this restaurant needs up their game to get the service on par with the food/ambiance/price point. I think the waiter fancied himself an up and coming comedian, when really we are just looking for prompt service.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

All six of us thoroughly enjoyed our lun ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 2, 2016

All six of us thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. I had the shrimp and grits which were delicious! The service was very nice-just the right amount of friendly. It was a bit noisy but was easier to converse once the lunch crowd decreased.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience, best general ma ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Great dining experience, best general manager in the biz!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the mother and baby reunion which ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had the mother and baby reunion which was delish, the burger is always good, and a maple doughnut breakfast sandwich which I believe was good, since the no one else got to taste it. The moth also has a great bar with large beer selection it does not disappoint, and is reasonable for the quality. It can be a little loud and a reso is highly recommended..

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good potential but poor service. Service ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Good potential but poor service. Service well-meaning but very slow. Also, the booths underneath the stained glass windows need overhead lighting; too dark there. Also, the arched overhead architecture funnels noise from the rest of the restaurant into the booths.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.