About Meddlesome Moth

1621 Oak Lawn Ave.
Dallas, TX 75207
View Larger Map

The Meddlesome Moth is Dallas’ most interesting full service restaurant, featuring an honest and flavorful chef driven menu, full service bar, and one of the finest selections of hand-crafted beers in the US. In addition to a changing selection of entrees, our small plates are robustly promoted to encourage sharing. We feature local seasonal menu items and offer fresh blackboard specials daily. Our patio area is spacious for dining al fresco, and reservations are encouraged. At 11pm The Moth transforms into one of Dallas' most comfortable bars and remains so until 2am, Thursday thru Saturday. Closing time is midnight otherwise.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday Dinner: 3:00pm - 10:00 pm.
Friday & Saturday: Kitchen open until midnight
Bar open until 2:00am Friday-Saturday, Monday - Thursday: Bar open til midnight
Sunday: Bar open until 10

Cross Street:
Hi Line

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 628-7900

Website:
http://www.mothinthe.net/

Catering:
Please call for special catering orders.

Parking Details:
On street parking, parking lot and complimentary valet service.

Executive Chef:
Richard Graff

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Meddlesome Moth has accommodations for parties of virtually any size. From small seated dinners in our semi-private room, to cocktail parties on the patio or a buy-out of the space for you and your guests, we endeavor to accommodate most requests. Please contact events@mothinthe.net for more information

Restaurant Photos

The Hungry Farmer
Hummus
Caesar Salad
Pan De Pita # Pita Bread
Pecan Pie
Pecan Brownie Pie
Carrot Ca
Moth Balls
Crispin Cider
Carrot Cake
Cider
Bangers and Mash
Seared Ahi Tuna Skewers
House-Brewed Iced Tea
Roasted Beet Salad
Bar
Rabbit Pot Pie
Banana Bread Beer
Crispy Skin
Crispy Duck Wings
Pale Ale Beer
Challah Bread French Toast
Tenfidy Imperial Stoit

Private Dining

Meddlesome Moth has accommodations for parties of virtually any size. Our semi-private room can seat up to 14 guests, or can be reserved for a standing, mingling event for up to 40 guests. We also have a large patio and beer garden which may be reserved for special events up to 100 guests

Meddlesome Moth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (93)
neighborhood gem (74)
good for groups (66)
See All
hot spot (57)
great for lunch (52)
vibrant bar scene (48)
great for brunch (41)
special occasion (40)
great for outdoor dining (37)
romantic (23)
late-night find (15)
notable wine list (7)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1402 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Celebrating a friend's birthday! Excell ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Celebrating a friend's birthday! Excellent brunch/lunch. Food and service equally good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and cocktails! Awesome selec ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and cocktails! Awesome selection of beer too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great creative menu and extensive craft ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great creative menu and extensive craft beers bring us here! We went as a party of three on a Tuesday at 7:45 to celebrate a birthday. Wow was it noisy and our waiter, Patrick made us feel rushed but others seemed to take their time. The beer server brought the wrong beer, which was obvious, but she left so fast we couldn't stop her. Go here for great food and beer but rushed service and lots of noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Great beer selection. Loved the Thai sty ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great beer selection. Loved the Thai style mussels.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We ordered a share plate of scallops for ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We ordered a share plate of scallops for 3. And there were only 3 scallops. Seemed skimpy.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding as always. Fun place for fri ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Outstanding as always. Fun place for friends and fellowship. I've enjoyed all of my meals here. Our server was precious. She was funny, prompt, cool, and we enjoyed her!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place but VERY noisy at lunch time ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great place but VERY noisy at lunch time. I could hardly hear my guest talking. If I wanted to meet someone for drinks this is a great place but not good if you want to discuss biz.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

MM has always been consistently strong, ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

MM has always been consistently strong, regardless of the menu items and beverages available. We were fortunate that we went early enough (pre-show) as there were few people. Food was great and so was the service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a very nice, long afternoon with ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

It was a very nice, long afternoon with friends. Our wait person, Emily as I recall, was very professional and personable. The food was high quality, delivered promptly and delicious. After we were finished, went to the bar for a drink with the excellent and personable Luis taking care of us. Absolutely will return.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there on the fourth of July room ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We were there on the fourth of July room was not crowded, so noise level difficult to tell, resturant was very cold, told the hostess she it was because we came in from the outside. We tried a few tables in different areas but still cold, when we left we told her it never warmed up ans she said yep its 69 degrees right were it should be. That would not be a reason not to come back just a heads up you may need a sweater.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Yummy food and drinks!! Loved everything ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Yummy food and drinks!! Loved everything we ordered-Appetizers, main course, drinks and desserts!! Our server was very attentive and helpful with choices and fun! Seems like an enjoyable place to work, that makes an enjoyable place to visit!! Nice atmosphere and celebration for our son and daughter-in-law's 3-year anniversary!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unimpressive food. Will not be back for ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Unimpressive food. Will not be back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Very nice - upscale pub style food. Inc ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very nice - upscale pub style food. Incredible beer selection, though I confess I'm not much into beer. Also nice wine and cocktails, however. Food is mostly done as "sharing" dishes - tapas style. We had hummus (excellent), a cheese and meat tray (good, but not awesome), bacon skewers (tasty, but on an oddly hard "funnel cake"), tuna skewers (spicy and well done), and an heirloom tomato salad that was a special (very fresh and flavorful). Service was good, waiter was attentive. A fun, upbeat place in a cool location (design district).

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food - smaller portions. But good q ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Good food - smaller portions. But good quality. I'd recommend it for adventurous foodies who love beer. Loads of beer choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We were looking for some place for food ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were looking for some place for food and drinks after the theatre and visited Meddlesome Moth on the recommendation of a friend. We were not disappointed! Everything was wonderful (we ate from the share with someone menu) - I highly recommend the Moth Balls! The servers were attentive without being intrusive, the ambiance was fun and just a bit funky, the food was outstanding, even the music selection was great! We left the restaurant already discussing when we will return. Looking forward to trying their brunch menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let me start by saying that Meddlesome M ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Let me start by saying that Meddlesome Moth is one of my favorite places. The chicken skin is amazing. The pork belly is amazing! I am never disappointed with any of the 8 to 10 dishes that we order. We stepped out of our routine on Saturday night and ordered the special of the night as the waiter insisted that it would be AMAZING. Steak with asparagus, truffle fries and chimichurri sauce. The truffle fries were PERFECT. The steak was under seasoned and appeared to have been baked in the oven. Zero sear. Zero salt. The sauce must have been there to cover up the bad steak but didn't make sense on the plate. I don't know if Cracker Barrel has steaks or not but I imagine their steak looking and tasting like pur overpriced $48 Meddlesome Moth steak. Don't order it. You'll be disappointed. As a matter of fact, they should take it off of the menu. Steaks are not what they're good at. Thank goodness we're going to Bob's this weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Definitely try the humus, exceptional! T ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Definitely try the humus, exceptional! The shrimp & grits were amazing as was the beer soaked & grilled brats! Good portions were large so be sure to share the appetizer! Great music/playlist in the background, just right noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

one waiter for about 60ppl made for a ni ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

one waiter for about 60ppl made for a nice and long dinner. half enjoyed that half wanted my cocktail to come faster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I was on a business trip to Dallas and m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I was on a business trip to Dallas and my co-worker found this restaurant online. We found the dishes interesting and our waitress was excellent and very knowledgeable of the menu!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was great. We will definitely be back ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

It was great. We will definitely be back. The service and the food were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a place for older people. Great ba ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Not a place for older people. Great bar scene and good for those who prefer their I phone to conversation.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Awesome beer selection. Food was good, s ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Awesome beer selection. Food was good, service was good, friendly and attentive.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was terrific as usual! James ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Everything was terrific as usual! James our server made it extra special.

We dined outside in the partially air conditioned patio, it was extremely comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second visit to this restaur ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This was my second visit to this restaurant and while the service was really good and the restaurant beautiful and eclectic, I really did not like the food. There was such odd choices and nothing on the menu, that a less adventurous diner could select.

I would recommend adding some more "normal" menu items for those people that don't want to order bone marrow or goat cheese. I am not a picky eater - but found myself truly enjoying only the pita bread and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

The only way to do this place is family ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The only way to do this place is family style. Everything was fantastic, but the ribs had a proble.; I think they changed the way they are made, tasted boiled...mushy is NOT fall off the bone, it's just mushy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been wanting to eat here for a wh ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I have been wanting to eat here for a while now, so me and my buddy went here to get some grub. It is really loud, but the food is worth it. The servers are spread really thin, and the bar is very busy so you will be waiting bit for drinks or any extras.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We ordered a few share plates and a few ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We ordered a few share plates and a few mains. The side plates came up very quickly but the mains took a little long, especially considering what we ordered.

The food was delicious. I can't say enough about the "pig and fig." Amazing.. Melts in your mouth. The sweet potatoes were a bit strong on the nutmeg. Cocktails were great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

This place does not live up to the hype, ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This place does not live up to the hype, the food is average at best and wildly expensive. The ambience is good, and the drinks are great but the rest is just mediocre. The "shareable" plates are designed so that you order more than one per person which makes your bill expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

We had a great dinner there, we always e ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a great dinner there, we always enjoy going to Meddlesome Moth.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best thing we had was the sweetbread ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The best thing we had was the sweetbread appetizer. It was tender and tasty and melted in your mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

1st time Sunday Brunch and it was AMAZI ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

1st time Sunday Brunch and it was AMAZING! One of the BEST Bloody Marys! This time was a business lunch and I picked the restaurant. The others thanked me for picking it. Food was off the charts and our server was friendly and on top of it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meddlesome Moth

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Food was awesome as always, everything came out fast but took a while for waiters to come back but nothing awful. Overall very good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Beer Lovers Haven

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Food was good but overpriced for what you got. Good beer list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Nice dinner before big event

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We've been before with groups and to visit the bar for a late drink. It's good for all of those things, but I was interested to see how it was for a night out with my wife before a fundraiser. Bottom line: Pretty great! They seated us at a two-person table by the window overlooking the outside courtyard (which I didn't know existed previously), but it's much lighter near the window. It's a good view of the whole restaurant without being so dark you fall asleep. Specialty beers on tap were great. We got several share plates, which were more than enough for a meal. Would have tried dessert, but we had to run. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was good. We shar ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our dining experience was good. We shared as a table an assortment of small plates. The only problem was with the "fishy-ness" of the mussels. The Thai broth was excellent, but the mussels were not good. We have found this to be the case throughout Dallas so it could be a supplier problem. I would not recommend this restaurant is someone is wanting to have conversation; it is far too loud, but all-in-all, we will go there again.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved this place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

A reaL gem. Great food and really great drinks. Highly recommended!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not impressed. The food was just o ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I was not impressed. The food was just okay. Service was not consistent and I don't know that I would ever go back. The menu is lacking. My husband had the rabbit pot pie and all you could taste was the herb in the sauce. Didn't know our waitress name until the check came.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

all good . Food was great

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

all good . Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I would visit again and again

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

They have a very eclectic menu. Tons of different choices that are intriguing and delicious at that! Extremely impressive selection of beers also!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service very inattentive

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Our server seem to forget about us a lot. No one seemed to notice that we didn't finish most of the dishes either -many stinkers. No one offered us refills on our drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.