About Meddlesome Moth

1621 Oak Lawn Ave.
Dallas, TX 75207
View Larger Map

The Meddlesome Moth is Dallas’ most interesting full service restaurant, featuring an honest and flavorful chef driven menu, full service bar, and one of the finest selections of hand-crafted beers in the US. In addition to a changing selection of entrees, our small plates are robustly promoted to encourage sharing. We feature local seasonal menu items and offer fresh blackboard specials daily. Our patio area is spacious for dining al fresco, and reservations are encouraged. At 11pm The Moth transforms into one of Dallas' most comfortable bars and remains so until 2am, Thursday thru Saturday. Closing time is midnight otherwise.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday Dinner: 3:00pm - 10:00 pm.
Friday & Saturday: Kitchen open until midnight
Bar open until 2:00am Friday-Saturday, Monday - Thursday: Bar open til midnight
Sunday: Bar open until 10

Cross Street:
Hi Line

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 628-7900

Website:
http://www.mothinthe.net/

Catering:
Please call for special catering orders.

Parking Details:
On street parking, parking lot and complimentary valet service.

Executive Chef:
Richard Graff

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Meddlesome Moth has accommodations for parties of virtually any size. From small seated dinners in our semi-private room, to cocktail parties on the patio or a buy-out of the space for you and your guests, we endeavor to accommodate most requests. Please contact events@mothinthe.net for more information

Restaurant Photos

The Hungry Farmer
Hummus
Caesar Salad
Pan De Pita # Pita Bread
Pecan Pie
Pecan Brownie Pie
Carrot Ca
Moth Balls
Crispin Cider
Carrot Cake
Cider
Bangers and Mash
Seared Ahi Tuna Skewers
House-Brewed Iced Tea
Roasted Beet Salad
Bar
Rabbit Pot Pie
Banana Bread Beer
Crispy Skin
Crispy Duck Wings
Pale Ale Beer
Challah Bread French Toast
Tenfidy Imperial Stoit

Private Dining

Meddlesome Moth has accommodations for parties of virtually any size. Our semi-private room can seat up to 14 guests, or can be reserved for a standing, mingling event for up to 40 guests. We also have a large patio and beer garden which may be reserved for special events up to 100 guests

Meddlesome Moth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (89)
neighborhood gem (69)
good for groups (59)
See All
hot spot (54)
great for lunch (49)
vibrant bar scene (46)
great for brunch (44)
special occasion (35)
great for outdoor dining (34)
romantic (23)
late-night find (13)
notable wine list (6)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great. We will definitely be back ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

It was great. We will definitely be back. The service and the food were great.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Not a place for older people. Great ba ...

Dined 4 days ago

Not a place for older people. Great bar scene and good for those who prefer their I phone to conversation.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome beer selection. Food was good, s ...

Dined 4 days ago

Awesome beer selection. Food was good, service was good, friendly and attentive.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was terrific as usual! James ...

Dined 4 days ago

Everything was terrific as usual! James our server made it extra special. We dined outside in the partially air conditioned patio, it was extremely comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

This was my second visit to this restaur ...

Dined 4 days ago

This was my second visit to this restaurant and while the service was really good and the restaurant beautiful and eclectic, I really did not like the food. There was such odd choices and nothing on the menu, that a less adventurous diner could select. I would recommend adding some more "normal" menu items for those people that don't want to order bone marrow or goat cheese. I am not a picky eater - but found myself truly enjoying only the pita bread and drinks.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The only way to do this place is family ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The only way to do this place is family style. Everything was fantastic, but the ribs had a proble.; I think they changed the way they are made, tasted boiled...mushy is NOT fall off the bone, it's just mushy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I have been wanting to eat here for a wh ...

Dined 6 days ago

I have been wanting to eat here for a while now, so me and my buddy went here to get some grub. It is really loud, but the food is worth it. The servers are spread really thin, and the bar is very busy so you will be waiting bit for drinks or any extras.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3

We ordered a few share plates and a few ...

Dined 7 days ago

We ordered a few share plates and a few mains. The side plates came up very quickly but the mains took a little long, especially considering what we ordered. The food was delicious. I can't say enough about the "pig and fig." Amazing.. Melts in your mouth. The sweet potatoes were a bit strong on the nutmeg. Cocktails were great too!

food2
ambience5
service5

This place does not live up to the hype, ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This place does not live up to the hype, the food is average at best and wildly expensive. The ambience is good, and the drinks are great but the rest is just mediocre. The "shareable" plates are designed so that you order more than one per person which makes your bill expensive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner there, we always e ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a great dinner there, we always enjoy going to Meddlesome Moth.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

The best thing we had was the sweetbread ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The best thing we had was the sweetbread appetizer. It was tender and tasty and melted in your mouth.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

1st time Sunday Brunch and it was AMAZI ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

1st time Sunday Brunch and it was AMAZING! One of the BEST Bloody Marys! This time was a business lunch and I picked the restaurant. The others thanked me for picking it. Food was off the charts and our server was friendly and on top of it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Meddlesome Moth

Dined on June 7, 2016

Food was awesome as always, everything came out fast but took a while for waiters to come back but nothing awful. Overall very good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Beer Lovers Haven

Dined on June 6, 2016

Food was good but overpriced for what you got. Good beer list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice dinner before big event

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

We've been before with groups and to visit the bar for a late drink. It's good for all of those things, but I was interested to see how it was for a night out with my wife before a fundraiser. Bottom line: Pretty great! They seated us at a two-person table by the window overlooking the outside courtyard (which I didn't know existed previously), but it's much lighter near the window. It's a good view of the whole restaurant without being so dark you fall asleep. Specialty beers on tap were great. We got several share plates, which were more than enough for a meal. Would have tried dessert, but we had to run. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our dining experience was good. We shar ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our dining experience was good. We shared as a table an assortment of small plates. The only problem was with the "fishy-ness" of the mussels. The Thai broth was excellent, but the mussels were not good. We have found this to be the case throughout Dallas so it could be a supplier problem. I would not recommend this restaurant is someone is wanting to have conversation; it is far too loud, but all-in-all, we will go there again.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place

Dined on May 29, 2016

A reaL gem. Great food and really great drinks. Highly recommended!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2

I was not impressed. The food was just o ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

I was not impressed. The food was just okay. Service was not consistent and I don't know that I would ever go back. The menu is lacking. My husband had the rabbit pot pie and all you could taste was the herb in the sauce. Didn't know our waitress name until the check came.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would visit again and again

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

They have a very eclectic menu. Tons of different choices that are intriguing and delicious at that! Extremely impressive selection of beers also!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Service very inattentive

Dined on May 16, 2016

Our server seem to forget about us a lot. No one seemed to notice that we didn't finish most of the dishes either -many stinkers. No one offered us refills on our drinks.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Social Gathering

Dined on May 15, 2016

A good place for friends to gather, enjoy the beer selection along with some appetizers. Can socialize either in air-conditioning comfort or relax in the outdoor area enjoying the evening. A large selection of beers for enjoying the evening.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've enjoyed brunch, lunch and dinner se ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I've enjoyed brunch, lunch and dinner several times, but this was a date with a newbie to MM. The service, from greeting to departure, was outstanding. Everybody here has a smile on their face and a "what can I do to make this a memorable experience?" mentality on display. With reservations we were seated early at a prominent table with a view of the entire place. Drinks were offered promptly and were whisked over quickly. After discussing our options, our waitress offered suggestions and confirmed our selections. We chose three shared plates which were all yummy and one of the dessert specials. The newbie said he definitely wanted to add MM to his list of regular places. It will remain on my shortlist as well!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This spot was recommended by a friend. W ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This spot was recommended by a friend. We had drinks in the bar. Service was a bit slow. Went back for dinner and the service was wonderful! The food was excellent as well. Great portions for sharing. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Satisfied

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food and atmosphere were very nice. Our server was terrific. Beer was a bit overpriced but everything else was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

So So

Dined on May 9, 2016

It's a cool, fun spot but our service was spotty at best. In all fairness, our waiter was juggling tables outside and in. There wasn't enough of him to go around. While I respect the originality of the menu I wasn't as crazy about the food as I thought I'd be - at least not for the price. But then I don't eat meat so my choice of entree was salad or shrimp and grits. The walnut salad was fab but the shrimp and grits seemed oily. If there's a next time, I'll order the crab salad for an entree. Sorry to say it, but the cherry cobbler tasted like Pop Tart ala mode. Boo hoo. I was really looking forward to that particular little splurge.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Unique food selections with explosion of flavor

Dined on May 5, 2016

Wonderful selection of food items to share that are unique and festival of flavor. The beer selection is always changing. When crowded the service falls quickly, but recovers when the crowed thin out.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent ambiance. Enjoyed the food and ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Excellent ambiance. Enjoyed the food and service too!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, love the share plates. G ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent food, love the share plates. Great service experience in the Beer Garden lady Sunday.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food and atmosphere!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Limited Menu Options

Dined on April 29, 2016

Restaurant is best for those interested in sharing plates. Our server was extremely friendly. The cocktails were good especially the Manhattan but the rest of the food was overpriced.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Meddlesome Moth

Dined on April 24, 2016

Energetic crowd for a Sunday morning, so would recommend reservations. Great food, but our server was a bit delinquent. Still would go back and try again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for brunch!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great for brunch!

food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Enjoyed the patio at Meddlesome Moth

Dined on April 24, 2016

Met up with friends of ours for dinner. It was a beautiful Spring evening, and we enjoyed the patio, food and atmosphere. My only complaint is that the service was extremely slow. We finally had to go back to the hostess and ask who are server was. Once we finally got a server, it took another 20 minutes just to get our 1st round of drinks.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, highly recommend it! Ambian ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great place, highly recommend it! Ambiance, food and service were exemplary!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy

Dined on April 21, 2016

The food on this visit was particularly outstanding, best we have had at the Moth :) Service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

First time here. Great beer list. Good s ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

First time here. Great beer list. Good selection of plates to try. We had mussels, very nice Caesar salad and fish and chips. Service were friendly and efficient - got us out in time for our show.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Must try for brunch in Dallas!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Loved this place! Decor, food, drinks and service were great! I highly recommend the Whiskey Donut Sandwich! Only thing is that it's a little pricey. Go try it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Quality food and kind, patient and exper ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Quality food and kind, patient and expert service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For Craft Beer and Craft Food lovers

Dined on April 16, 2016

If you love great craft beers and craft food this is the place to go.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greatest day of my life, made even better.

Dined on April 16, 2016

I brought my girlfriend here to propose, and the experience could not have been better. The food was delicious, and our server was amazing. He was apparently aware of the proposal even though he was away from the table when it happened, and then brought us a glass of champagne to celebrate. The scallops were cooked to perfection, and bigger than any I have ever seen before. The pork was both crisp and juicy, and the rabbit pot pie was neither thick nor runny. The atmosphere lends itself to both casual and formal dress, and the stained-glass panels add a bit of artistic flare. I will definitely return here often.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.