About Meddlesome Moth

1621 Oak Lawn Ave.
Dallas, TX 75207
View Larger Map

The Meddlesome Moth is Dallas’ most interesting full service restaurant, featuring an honest and flavorful chef driven menu, full service bar, and one of the finest selections of hand-crafted beers in the US. In addition to a changing selection of entrees, our small plates are robustly promoted to encourage sharing. We feature local seasonal menu items and offer fresh blackboard specials daily. Our patio area is spacious for dining al fresco, and reservations are encouraged. At 11pm The Moth transforms into one of Dallas' most comfortable bars and remains so until 2am, Thursday thru Saturday. Closing time is midnight otherwise.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday Dinner: 3:00pm - 10:00 pm.
Friday & Saturday: Kitchen open until midnight
Bar open until 2:00am Friday-Saturday, Monday - Thursday: Bar open til midnight
Sunday: Bar open until 10

Cross Street:
Hi Line

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 628-7900

Website:
http://www.mothinthe.net/

Catering:
Please call for special catering orders.

Parking Details:
On street parking, parking lot and complimentary valet service.

Executive Chef:
Richard Graff

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Meddlesome Moth has accommodations for parties of virtually any size. From small seated dinners in our semi-private room, to cocktail parties on the patio or a buy-out of the space for you and your guests, we endeavor to accommodate most requests. Please contact events@mothinthe.net for more information

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Meddlesome Moth has accommodations for parties of virtually any size. Our semi-private room can seat up to 14 guests, or can be reserved for a standing, mingling event for up to 40 guests. We also have a large patio and beer garden which may be reserved for special events up to 100 guests

Meddlesome Moth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (106)
neighborhood gem (74)
good for groups (67)
See All
hot spot (64)
special occasion (51)
great for lunch (50)
vibrant bar scene (49)
great for brunch (47)
great for outdoor dining (38)
romantic (29)
late-night find (19)
notable wine list (12)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1361 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Service very inattentive

Dined on May 16, 2016

Our server seem to forget about us a lot. No one seemed to notice that we didn't finish most of the dishes either -many stinkers. No one offered us refills on our drinks.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Social Gathering

Dined on May 15, 2016

A good place for friends to gather, enjoy the beer selection along with some appetizers. Can socialize either in air-conditioning comfort or relax in the outdoor area enjoying the evening. A large selection of beers for enjoying the evening.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've enjoyed brunch, lunch and dinner se ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I've enjoyed brunch, lunch and dinner several times, but this was a date with a newbie to MM. The service, from greeting to departure, was outstanding. Everybody here has a smile on their face and a "what can I do to make this a memorable experience?" mentality on display. With reservations we were seated early at a prominent table with a view of the entire place. Drinks were offered promptly and were whisked over quickly. After discussing our options, our waitress offered suggestions and confirmed our selections. We chose three shared plates which were all yummy and one of the dessert specials. The newbie said he definitely wanted to add MM to his list of regular places. It will remain on my shortlist as well!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This spot was recommended by a friend. W ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This spot was recommended by a friend. We had drinks in the bar. Service was a bit slow. Went back for dinner and the service was wonderful! The food was excellent as well. Great portions for sharing. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Satisfied

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food and atmosphere were very nice. Our server was terrific. Beer was a bit overpriced but everything else was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

So So

Dined on May 9, 2016

It's a cool, fun spot but our service was spotty at best. In all fairness, our waiter was juggling tables outside and in. There wasn't enough of him to go around. While I respect the originality of the menu I wasn't as crazy about the food as I thought I'd be - at least not for the price. But then I don't eat meat so my choice of entree was salad or shrimp and grits. The walnut salad was fab but the shrimp and grits seemed oily. If there's a next time, I'll order the crab salad for an entree. Sorry to say it, but the cherry cobbler tasted like Pop Tart ala mode. Boo hoo. I was really looking forward to that particular little splurge.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Unique food selections with explosion of flavor

Dined on May 5, 2016

Wonderful selection of food items to share that are unique and festival of flavor. The beer selection is always changing. When crowded the service falls quickly, but recovers when the crowed thin out.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent ambiance. Enjoyed the food and ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Excellent ambiance. Enjoyed the food and service too!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, love the share plates. G ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent food, love the share plates. Great service experience in the Beer Garden lady Sunday.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food and atmosphere!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Limited Menu Options

Dined on April 29, 2016

Restaurant is best for those interested in sharing plates. Our server was extremely friendly. The cocktails were good especially the Manhattan but the rest of the food was overpriced.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Meddlesome Moth

Dined on April 24, 2016

Energetic crowd for a Sunday morning, so would recommend reservations. Great food, but our server was a bit delinquent. Still would go back and try again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for brunch!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great for brunch!

food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Enjoyed the patio at Meddlesome Moth

Dined on April 24, 2016

Met up with friends of ours for dinner. It was a beautiful Spring evening, and we enjoyed the patio, food and atmosphere. My only complaint is that the service was extremely slow. We finally had to go back to the hostess and ask who are server was. Once we finally got a server, it took another 20 minutes just to get our 1st round of drinks.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, highly recommend it! Ambian ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great place, highly recommend it! Ambiance, food and service were exemplary!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy

Dined on April 21, 2016

The food on this visit was particularly outstanding, best we have had at the Moth :) Service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

First time here. Great beer list. Good s ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

First time here. Great beer list. Good selection of plates to try. We had mussels, very nice Caesar salad and fish and chips. Service were friendly and efficient - got us out in time for our show.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Must try for brunch in Dallas!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Loved this place! Decor, food, drinks and service were great! I highly recommend the Whiskey Donut Sandwich! Only thing is that it's a little pricey. Go try it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Quality food and kind, patient and exper ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Quality food and kind, patient and expert service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For Craft Beer and Craft Food lovers

Dined on April 16, 2016

If you love great craft beers and craft food this is the place to go.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greatest day of my life, made even better.

Dined on April 16, 2016

I brought my girlfriend here to propose, and the experience could not have been better. The food was delicious, and our server was amazing. He was apparently aware of the proposal even though he was away from the table when it happened, and then brought us a glass of champagne to celebrate. The scallops were cooked to perfection, and bigger than any I have ever seen before. The pork was both crisp and juicy, and the rabbit pot pie was neither thick nor runny. The atmosphere lends itself to both casual and formal dress, and the stained-glass panels add a bit of artistic flare. I will definitely return here often.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Fantastic cocktails and phenemonal food. ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Fantastic cocktails and phenemonal food. Loved the stained glass panels of music legends. A great experience all the way around. So good returned two days later

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Decent food slow service

Dined on April 14, 2016

Food was decent. nothing awesome. great beer list. Would be better if the wait staff was faster in getting the great beer too you. Seems like you shouldnt have 1 server for multiple tables of 5 or more. Bad management choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service4

Very loud. Food good and interesting but ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Very loud. Food good and interesting but small portions for the price

food5
ambience4
service5

Chicken salad sandwhcih is awesome

Dined on April 7, 2016

Chicken salad sandwhcih is awesome

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my favorite restaurant in Dallas

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

the moth never disappoints. always consistent food, drink and service--all wonderful!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let me start by saying our waiter, Tyler ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Let me start by saying our waiter, Tyler was awesome! The ambiance was perfect. And the food was amazing! We had no complaints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good but not great

Dined on April 3, 2016

We have been to "The Moth" many times. The number of beers on tap is amazing. This was our youngest son's 21st birthday. Gotta get a "flight" Our waitress was new so she knew very little about anything. Very attentive and very nice, she had to go and ask someone for info when asked. The Moth Balls were as good as ever, but the rest of the food was below par, including the mussels which were dry, with no broth to dip your bread in. It's a fun place to go with friends and beer drinkers to try new finds. Our previous visits have all been better than this one. Will certainly go there again. Always give a second chance.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleased

Dined on April 2, 2016

We were very pleased with not only the service, but the food was oh so scrumptious!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service but meal was disappointing

Dined on April 1, 2016

My husband and I came here for a special occasion dinner and have eaten here many times. While our server was excellent and did great a job explaining specials and giving suggestions on different items, we were disappointed with our main courses. We both ordered a steak medium rare. The veggies (including mushrooms flown in that day and baby carrots) were great, but the steaks were unevenly cooked. Parts were completely well done. Overall, the flavors were good but we know we have had much better meals here. Maybe we had high expectations, but I think next time we will stick with tried-and-true menu items.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food and service. Tends to be a bi ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Great food and service. Tends to be a bit loud but that's the price to pay for an establishment that brims with patrons constantly. I dine here regularly because the food and service are always on point.

food3
ambience2
service2

We got a reservation for Easter brunch. ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We got a reservation for Easter brunch. However, was not told that Easter brunch ended at 3pm and our res was for 3:30. They say us outside and at times we thought they forgot we were even there. Empty drinks and etc. food just ok. Server was polite but not really paying much attention.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great food but service this time around was SLOW.

Dined on March 25, 2016

I've been to Meddlesome Moth at least half a dozen times or more. Usually service is good to excellent. This time we had reservations at 6 pm so this was before the night time crowd appeared. It took us 3 hours to finish dining! Granted, we were talking and could have wrapped up in 2 hours with less chatter. But we sat there for a long time for our drinks to even come and we finally had to flag down our waitress after waiting for 30 min simply to take our orders. We all placed our individual orders and she brought out 1-2 at a time without much attention to who ordered what. My friend who is a vegetarian got all of her orders out before any of my dishes came. I ordered a salmon dish as my main course and it was the last item to arrive and everyone had finished eating their plates. I understand that many of the dishes are for sharing but that does not mean everyone will be sharing their food. So I would suggest that the wait staff ask about this before making the assumption. Food is really good so I have no complaints about this. Also this time around, the bacon lollipops (which are my favorite), were HALF the size of what they usually are. I hope that this is not going to be the norm. That was very disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner is served on shared plates, but y ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Dinner is served on shared plates, but you can also order traditional individual plates. Every dish we ordered was delicious. Love the stained glass at the end of the dining room, especially "The King!" Great tap beer selection!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Healthy and straightforward

Dined on March 23, 2016

As the title says, the food is simple, straightforward and delicious. The service was acceptable and the prices for lunch are extraordinarily reasonable for the area. Add the free valet parking, this was a great lunch value.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Lively, great beer selection and food

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

This was my second visit to this great spot in Dallas. Excellent food quality with extraordinary service. Highly recommend sitting at the bar as the professionals know every detail of the many beers on tap and make good food recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always amazing!! The service ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

The food is always amazing!! The service is unremarkable.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great brunch spot

Dined on March 20, 2016

Friendly but sometimes delayed service. Our party was able to converse but not without talking at top volume. Of course, food was excellent. Every dish was beautiful and quickly devoured.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration

Dined on March 20, 2016

My wife treated me to an awesome meal experience with great atmosphere. Wine selection was good and the meal was exceptional. Plan on coming back when my sister comes to town next week.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a great time.

Dined on March 20, 2016

Always a great time.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.