About Meddlesome Moth

1621 Oak Lawn Ave.
Dallas, TX 75207
View Larger Map

The Meddlesome Moth is Dallas’ most interesting full service restaurant, featuring an honest and flavorful chef driven menu, full service bar, and one of the finest selections of hand-crafted beers in the US. In addition to a changing selection of entrees, our small plates are robustly promoted to encourage sharing. We feature local seasonal menu items and offer fresh blackboard specials daily. Our patio area is spacious for dining al fresco, and reservations are encouraged. At 11pm The Moth transforms into one of Dallas' most comfortable bars and remains so until 2am, Thursday thru Saturday. Closing time is midnight otherwise.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday Dinner: 3:00pm - 10:00 pm.
Friday & Saturday: Kitchen open until midnight
Bar open until 2:00am Friday-Saturday, Monday - Thursday: Bar open til midnight
Sunday: Bar open until 10

Cross Street:
Hi Line

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 628-7900

Website:
http://www.mothinthe.net/

Catering:
Please call for special catering orders.

Parking Details:
On street parking, parking lot and complimentary valet service.

Executive Chef:
Richard Graff

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Meddlesome Moth has accommodations for parties of virtually any size. From small seated dinners in our semi-private room, to cocktail parties on the patio or a buy-out of the space for you and your guests, we endeavor to accommodate most requests. Please contact events@mothinthe.net for more information

Restaurant Photos

The Hungry Farmer
Hummus
Caesar Salad
Pan De Pita # Pita Bread
Pecan Pie
Pecan Brownie Pie
Carrot Ca
Moth Balls
Crispin Cider
Carrot Cake
Cider
Bangers and Mash
Seared Ahi Tuna Skewers
House-Brewed Iced Tea
Roasted Beet Salad
Bar
Rabbit Pot Pie
Banana Bread Beer
Crispy Duck Wings
Pale Ale Beer
Crispy Skin
Challah Bread French Toast
Tenfidy Imperial Stoit

Private Dining

Meddlesome Moth has accommodations for parties of virtually any size. Our semi-private room can seat up to 14 guests, or can be reserved for a standing, mingling event for up to 40 guests. We also have a large patio and beer garden which may be reserved for special events up to 100 guests

Meddlesome Moth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (83)
Neighborhood Gem (65)
Hot Spot (53)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (52)
Good for Groups (52)
Great for Lunch (47)
Great for Brunch (44)
Special Occasion (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Romantic (19)
Late-night Find (19)
Great Beer (16)
Notable Wine List (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Fun (7)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Tapas (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Casual (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1451 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always, the food and service at Meddl ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 3 days ago

As always, the food and service at Meddlesome Moth was great for business lunch. The food was prepared well and served timely. We were seated promptly even though we came early than scheduled. The fish and chips were prepared well and were absolutely delicious. Would recommend Meddlesome Moth for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food failed to live up to similar dining ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food failed to live up to similar dining experiences in Chicago/NY. Price vs quality of food just wasn't there. Beer menu was solid & waiter was knowledgable. Good for drinks and a snack, looking for a solid dinner? Look elsewhere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I'm not sure why this restaurant is rate ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

I'm not sure why this restaurant is rated so highly.

The food was ok, but not spectacular - and the service was downright patchy (we had to ask for things more than once) - and the servers seemed overloaded - which is a surprise for a Monday night.

Very friendly though - and as the menu is quite interesting we'd give the place another try if we were in the area.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Tried this place for Brunch for the firs ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

Tried this place for Brunch for the first time. I will definitely be back! Very yummy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well done. It was an all around pleasant ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

Well done. It was an all around pleasant experience as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I have always enjoyed Meddlesome Moth bo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I have always enjoyed Meddlesome Moth both for the food and for the decor. Fills the perfect niche between casual and fine dining that makes it perfect for business groups and to impress out-of-towners. Craft cocktails and craft beers please everyone. Service is spot on. Can be somewhat pricey and some more affordable options on the menu would be appreciated, but if you've got the coin, you can't go wrong. Truly stands out in the Dallas dining scene.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Quick Bite, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun atmosphere with a multitude of bever ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Fun atmosphere with a multitude of beverage choices for the trendy millennial. Location in the Design District makes it perfect for gathering to conduct business during the apparel markets.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Second time eating here and it was as go ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Second time eating here and it was as good as remembered. Be sure to try the specials.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I dined here with a friend and we decide ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I dined here with a friend and we decided to just order the plates as opposed to individual entrees (we like to share).

We ordered the Crispy Duck Wings, Catalan Mussels, Collard Greens and the Brocollini.

I thought everything was really flavorful - not too spicy. We both agreed that the Catalan Mussels with the Spanish chorizo was excellent. The "Crispy Duck Wings" were also excellent but they were not wings so much as they were drumsticks - still delicious!

I loved both the Brocollini and the Collard Greens, although my friend felt the collard greens had a little of a "sweet" taste she wasn't wild about (she did finish them though).

Service was really excellent - very friendly and attentive staff - Kudos to them especially since the place was packed.

Highly recommend - although - a pretty lively spot - so if you're hoping to have a quiet dinner - wrong place for it (at least on the Wednesday night we went there).

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great food and service and venue ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Always great food and service and venue has wonderful ambiance - highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicken on the Cobb salad was overcooked ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Chicken on the Cobb salad was overcooked and tough. Egg was over-boiled and dry. Music was too loud to have a conversation (they did eventually turn it down). Second bad experience with MM lately. It used to be much better...not sure what's changed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Food is excellent, great experience, ser ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food is excellent, great experience, service was fantastic!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Historic, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Food! Everything we tried was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Fantastic Food! Everything we tried was delicious and very unique offerings!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

55 th. B-Day CELEBRATION FOR MY SISTER.. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

55 th. B-Day CELEBRATION FOR MY SISTER....EVERYTHING WAS OUTSTANDING1! 3:00 reservations for slow period was spot-on! Six of us had so much fun with the shared plates & we had quite afew! Lovely time had by All

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for weekend brunch based on the ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We went for weekend brunch based on the f I'll brunch menu posted on Opentable as well as the restaurant website. Imagine our surprise when we were given lunch menus because they no longer offer the full brunch menu on weekends. Why would Opentable and the restaurant website still show the full brunch menu as available? Very misleading. Also, restaurant not very busy but our food was cold and French fries were old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I've reviewed the MM several times since ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I've reviewed the MM several times since we dine there about 4-5 times a year. Taking this opportunity to call about the fantastic tofu dish. It's got amazing flavors and its mixed with veggies that have great crunch. Take a risk!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy the shrimp grits with jalap ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Always enjoy the shrimp grits with jalapeno gravy, the Caesar salad and the cucumber/cream cheese sandwich. French press coffee is great, too! Would love for you all to add some more vegetarian options.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Private Room, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice late night spot. Great beer choices ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Nice late night spot. Great beer choices. Ribs were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

fantastic & eclectic draft beer selectio ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

fantastic & eclectic draft beer selection & a fun menu of "farm to table" style small plates.

get the tuna on a stick (like ahi lollipops) for an appetizer to share.

perfect location for pre-post games @ AAC (Mavs/Stars).

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Fun, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has become one of my fav ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

This restaurant has become one of my favorites for the atmosphere and the food. Beautiful stained glass panels highlight the ceiling and bring an eclectic feel. If you're a fan of mussels, the Thai-Curry are some of the best I've ever had. The "Flight of the Moth" craft brew sampler is a must have. If you want one of the best waiters then ask for Blake. You will be treated like royalty!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Tapas, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it. Can't wait to go back

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Loved it. Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here many times with both fr ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I have been here many times with both friends and clients. It never disappoints. However, on this visit my daughter and I were a party of two with many larger parties near us. We felt a bit ignored until I made a joke out of it with our waiter.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Simply great experience. Great food and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Simply great experience. Great food and really good atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here several times for brunch ( ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We dined here several times for brunch (which is just wonderful), but this was our first time for a dinner hour meal. Wonderful assortment of unique daily specials, a menu that offers several shareable items (small- and large-plate), and many regional / seasonal late-summer picks. The service was friendly and offered several helpful tips. The surroundings are comfortable and interesting. A minor complaint is the music volume — fine for later on Saturday night, but too loud for 5:00 pm diners to converse. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We arrived before the place opened, and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We arrived before the place opened, and were second in line. We were still asked if we had reservations. My thoughts were, "Why the joint is empty!" It stayed half full throughout our dining experience. The workers in the kitchen were the best, because they granted some requests. The greeter and server had forced smiles and lacked real people skills.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We come from Australia and didn't know w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We come from Australia and didn't know what to expect.. We were blown away...Wonderful food and great atmosphere. Brilliant service.

Tags: Great Beer, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was attentive and have great coc ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service was attentive and have great cocktail and good advice based on our tastes and preferences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entres were so tempting. It was dif ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The entres were so tempting. It was difficult to choose. We chose different entrees and all were amazing!! Will go back again for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Do not recommend MM for brunch. Limited ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Do not recommend MM for brunch. Limited menu. We tried 4 of the 10 items. The really tasty item, the Cinnamon Rolls, are served in a small skillet and if they had been served even slightly warm - would have gone from tasty to incredible. The only great thing about our MM experience was the service - it was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding brunch!!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Outstanding brunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The service was terrific. We have been t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service was terrific. We have been to the moth before. We took a friend there for lunch on a rainy Saturday. Our server was outstanding. The lunch was very good; soup, sandwiches and salad. The décor is quite attractive and unusual. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The beer selection was, as always, excel ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The beer selection was, as always, excellent. The food plates were perfect and the service was great. Another great experience at the moth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food! Absolutely loved the bee ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food! Absolutely loved the beef on a stick, the guacamole & the shrimp & grits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a server that was mildly inattent ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a server that was mildly inattentive that turned passive-aggressive/majorly-inattentive when we pointed out half way through the meal that she served a bourbon instead of the ordered scotch and had forgotten an ordered soft drink. Sadly, it took us at least 10 minutes to catch her eye to bring this to her attention. It got worse from there. When it was time, it took us nearly 20 minutes to get the check and bring the meal to an end.

That said, we won't hold that experience the restaurant. The food is very good and, on prior occasions, the service has been stellar. We won't hesitate to return and would definitely recommend the Moth.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

My husband and I enjoyed a date night at ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a date night at Meddlesome Moth, and everything was wonderful as usual! I really liked the salmon special, and my husband loved his steak frites. We shared the bread pudding and it was absolutely divine. We only waited a few minutes to be seated, and our waiter was very friendly.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Group of 5. Server did not include scall ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Group of 5. Server did not include scallops as requested--prob due to noise level, which is understandable, however, the missing entree took Forever to arrive at table. Not okay. Server stopped twice to say, "the Chef is rushing your scallops." Yeah, right.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Everything we ate for brunch was Amazing ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything we ate for brunch was Amazing!!!! Everything! Our waiter Christian was very attentive and great personality. Everything he recommended was perfection! I will be gong again for sure!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such great food and ambiance

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Such great food and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

awesome experience, food was great servi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

awesome experience, food was great

service was excellent, love the shared menu

restaurant too noisy to visit with friends

an item that has bleu cheese on it should always state that on the menu!! one of the items did not and it was a dissappointment to those of us who dislike bleu cheese to find it as an ingredient

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our 34th anniversary! We had people yell ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our 34th anniversary! We had people yelling over our heads as bar seating was directly in back of us. Our cheese board was not described by the man who brought it, and not much more by our waitress when I asked her to tell us about the various charcuterie. Service was slow and I even received a desert I did not order ( the one she brought had nuts and my husband is allergic). My spouse asked me not to say anything so I didn't . I was very disappointed. We have been here 5 or 6 times and enjoyed ourselves, but food and service have deteriorated .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.