About Meddlesome Moth

1621 Oak Lawn Ave.
Dallas, TX 75207
View Larger Map

The Meddlesome Moth is Dallas’ most interesting full service restaurant, featuring an honest and flavorful chef driven menu, full service bar, and one of the finest selections of hand-crafted beers in the US. In addition to a changing selection of entrees, our small plates are robustly promoted to encourage sharing. We feature local seasonal menu items and offer fresh blackboard specials daily. Our patio area is spacious for dining al fresco, and reservations are encouraged. At 11pm The Moth transforms into one of Dallas' most comfortable bars and remains so until 2am, Thursday thru Saturday. Closing time is midnight otherwise.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday Dinner: 3:00pm - 10:00 pm.
Friday & Saturday: Kitchen open until midnight
Bar open until 2:00am Friday-Saturday, Monday - Thursday: Bar open til midnight
Sunday: Bar open until 10

Cross Street:
Hi Line

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 628-7900

Website:
http://www.mothinthe.net/

Catering:
Please call for special catering orders.

Parking Details:
On street parking, parking lot and complimentary valet service.

Executive Chef:
Richard Graff

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Meddlesome Moth has accommodations for parties of virtually any size. From small seated dinners in our semi-private room, to cocktail parties on the patio or a buy-out of the space for you and your guests, we endeavor to accommodate most requests. Please contact events@mothinthe.net for more information

Restaurant Photos

The Hungry Farmer
Hummus
Caesar Salad
Pan De Pita # Pita Bread
Pecan Pie
Pecan Brownie Pie
Carrot Ca
Moth Balls
Crispin Cider
Carrot Cake
Cider
Bangers and Mash
Seared Ahi Tuna Skewers
House-Brewed Iced Tea
Roasted Beet Salad
Bar
Rabbit Pot Pie
Banana Bread Beer
Crispy Duck Wings
Pale Ale Beer
Crispy Skin
Challah Bread French Toast
Tenfidy Imperial Stoit

Private Dining

Meddlesome Moth has accommodations for parties of virtually any size. Our semi-private room can seat up to 14 guests, or can be reserved for a standing, mingling event for up to 40 guests. We also have a large patio and beer garden which may be reserved for special events up to 100 guests

Meddlesome Moth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (86)
Neighborhood Gem (67)
Hot Spot (56)
See All
Good for Groups (55)
Vibrant Bar Scene (55)
Great for Lunch (49)
Great for Brunch (42)
Special Occasion (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Romantic (19)
Late-night Find (18)
Notable Wine List (7)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We dined here several times for brunch ( ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 2 days ago

We dined here several times for brunch (which is just wonderful), but this was our first time for a dinner hour meal. Wonderful assortment of unique daily specials, a menu that offers several shareable items (small- and large-plate), and many regional / seasonal late-summer picks. The service was friendly and offered several helpful tips. The surroundings are comfortable and interesting. A minor complaint is the music volume — fine for later on Saturday night, but too loud for 5:00 pm diners to converse. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We come from Australia and didn't know w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

We come from Australia and didn't know what to expect.. We were blown away...Wonderful food and great atmosphere. Brilliant service.

Tags: Great Beer, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was attentive and have great coc ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

Service was attentive and have great cocktail and good advice based on our tastes and preferences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entres were so tempting. It was dif ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The entres were so tempting. It was difficult to choose. We chose different entrees and all were amazing!! Will go back again for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Do not recommend MM for brunch. Limited ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Do not recommend MM for brunch. Limited menu. We tried 4 of the 10 items. The really tasty item, the Cinnamon Rolls, are served in a small skillet and if they had been served even slightly warm - would have gone from tasty to incredible. The only great thing about our MM experience was the service - it was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was terrific. We have been t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service was terrific. We have been to the moth before. We took a friend there for lunch on a rainy Saturday. Our server was outstanding. The lunch was very good; soup, sandwiches and salad. The décor is quite attractive and unusual. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The beer selection was, as always, excel ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The beer selection was, as always, excellent. The food plates were perfect and the service was great. Another great experience at the moth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food! Absolutely loved the bee ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food! Absolutely loved the beef on a stick, the guacamole & the shrimp & grits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a server that was mildly inattent ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a server that was mildly inattentive that turned passive-aggressive/majorly-inattentive when we pointed out half way through the meal that she served a bourbon instead of the ordered scotch and had forgotten an ordered soft drink. Sadly, it took us at least 10 minutes to catch her eye to bring this to her attention. It got worse from there. When it was time, it took us nearly 20 minutes to get the check and bring the meal to an end.

That said, we won't hold that experience the restaurant. The food is very good and, on prior occasions, the service has been stellar. We won't hesitate to return and would definitely recommend the Moth.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

My husband and I enjoyed a date night at ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a date night at Meddlesome Moth, and everything was wonderful as usual! I really liked the salmon special, and my husband loved his steak frites. We shared the bread pudding and it was absolutely divine. We only waited a few minutes to be seated, and our waiter was very friendly.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Group of 5. Server did not include scall ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Group of 5. Server did not include scallops as requested--prob due to noise level, which is understandable, however, the missing entree took Forever to arrive at table. Not okay. Server stopped twice to say, "the Chef is rushing your scallops." Yeah, right.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Everything we ate for brunch was Amazing ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything we ate for brunch was Amazing!!!! Everything! Our waiter Christian was very attentive and great personality. Everything he recommended was perfection! I will be gong again for sure!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such great food and ambiance

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Such great food and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

awesome experience, food was great servi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

awesome experience, food was great

service was excellent, love the shared menu

restaurant too noisy to visit with friends

an item that has bleu cheese on it should always state that on the menu!! one of the items did not and it was a dissappointment to those of us who dislike bleu cheese to find it as an ingredient

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our 34th anniversary! We had people yell ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our 34th anniversary! We had people yelling over our heads as bar seating was directly in back of us. Our cheese board was not described by the man who brought it, and not much more by our waitress when I asked her to tell us about the various charcuterie. Service was slow and I even received a desert I did not order ( the one she brought had nuts and my husband is allergic). My spouse asked me not to say anything so I didn't . I was very disappointed. We have been here 5 or 6 times and enjoyed ourselves, but food and service have deteriorated .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

This was our 2nd time here. Food was ver ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was our 2nd time here. Food was very good, they have a lot of shared plates. Our table was in front of the bar and it was very noisy. Other than that everything was good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This place was amazing, I would recommen ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This place was amazing, I would recommend cocktail attire, I felt a bit under dressed. Service is superb, worth the drive from Fort Worth.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Superb small plates. Snooty hostesses. L ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Superb small plates. Snooty hostesses. LOUD.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Restaurant was very cold, until they tur ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Restaurant was very cold, until they turned the a/c down. I have never been in a place so cold, and I like it cold.

Restaurant was somewhat loud, until they turned the music down a touch.

Food was good. Decor and ambiance were nice and interesting.

The highlight was the exceptional craft beer offerings.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Seafood was not fresh. Ahi tuna tasted ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Seafood was not fresh. Ahi tuna tasted extremely fishy. Most dishes were salty. Mussels were not cooked and we had to

Send it back. We were double charged on 2 items but only noticed 1 overcharge while we were there. Best dish was hummus and that was just ok. Did not try dessert so cannot comment. We were so excited to try this restaurant but were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

Great beer choices less wine the sweetbr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great beer choices less wine the sweetbreads were the best and ribeye nice and smoky

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We really enjoyed returning to Meddlesom ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We really enjoyed returning to Meddlesome Moth . We live in Ft. Worth and need a place close to Cedar Springs for a quick bite before filming a movie. Loved everything about our visit. Look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating a friend's birthday! Excell ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Celebrating a friend's birthday! Excellent brunch/lunch. Food and service equally good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and cocktails! Awesome selec ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food and cocktails! Awesome selection of beer too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great creative menu and extensive craft ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great creative menu and extensive craft beers bring us here! We went as a party of three on a Tuesday at 7:45 to celebrate a birthday. Wow was it noisy and our waiter, Patrick made us feel rushed but others seemed to take their time. The beer server brought the wrong beer, which was obvious, but she left so fast we couldn't stop her. Go here for great food and beer but rushed service and lots of noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Great beer selection. Loved the Thai sty ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great beer selection. Loved the Thai style mussels.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We ordered a share plate of scallops for ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We ordered a share plate of scallops for 3. And there were only 3 scallops. Seemed skimpy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding as always. Fun place for fri ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Outstanding as always. Fun place for friends and fellowship. I've enjoyed all of my meals here. Our server was precious. She was funny, prompt, cool, and we enjoyed her!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place but VERY noisy at lunch time ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great place but VERY noisy at lunch time. I could hardly hear my guest talking. If I wanted to meet someone for drinks this is a great place but not good if you want to discuss biz.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very hip place. Food was inventive and ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very hip place. Food was inventive and delicious. It's difficult to beat Houston dining, but Dallas impressed me with this place. Great service, didnt miss a beat. Go, you wont regret it. (unless you are just one of those people who doesnt like anything ;) )

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MM has always been consistently strong, ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

MM has always been consistently strong, regardless of the menu items and beverages available. We were fortunate that we went early enough (pre-show) as there were few people. Food was great and so was the service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a very nice, long afternoon with ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

It was a very nice, long afternoon with friends. Our wait person, Emily as I recall, was very professional and personable. The food was high quality, delivered promptly and delicious. After we were finished, went to the bar for a drink with the excellent and personable Luis taking care of us. Absolutely will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there on the fourth of July room ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We were there on the fourth of July room was not crowded, so noise level difficult to tell, resturant was very cold, told the hostess she it was because we came in from the outside. We tried a few tables in different areas but still cold, when we left we told her it never warmed up ans she said yep its 69 degrees right were it should be. That would not be a reason not to come back just a heads up you may need a sweater.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Yummy food and drinks!! Loved everything ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Yummy food and drinks!! Loved everything we ordered-Appetizers, main course, drinks and desserts!! Our server was very attentive and helpful with choices and fun! Seems like an enjoyable place to work, that makes an enjoyable place to visit!! Nice atmosphere and celebration for our son and daughter-in-law's 3-year anniversary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unimpressive food. Will not be back for ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Unimpressive food. Will not be back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Very nice - upscale pub style food. Inc ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very nice - upscale pub style food. Incredible beer selection, though I confess I'm not much into beer. Also nice wine and cocktails, however. Food is mostly done as "sharing" dishes - tapas style. We had hummus (excellent), a cheese and meat tray (good, but not awesome), bacon skewers (tasty, but on an oddly hard "funnel cake"), tuna skewers (spicy and well done), and an heirloom tomato salad that was a special (very fresh and flavorful). Service was good, waiter was attentive. A fun, upbeat place in a cool location (design district).

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food - smaller portions. But good q ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Good food - smaller portions. But good quality. I'd recommend it for adventurous foodies who love beer. Loads of beer choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We were looking for some place for food ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were looking for some place for food and drinks after the theatre and visited Meddlesome Moth on the recommendation of a friend. We were not disappointed! Everything was wonderful (we ate from the share with someone menu) - I highly recommend the Moth Balls! The servers were attentive without being intrusive, the ambiance was fun and just a bit funky, the food was outstanding, even the music selection was great! We left the restaurant already discussing when we will return. Looking forward to trying their brunch menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let me start by saying that Meddlesome M ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Let me start by saying that Meddlesome Moth is one of my favorite places. The chicken skin is amazing. The pork belly is amazing! I am never disappointed with any of the 8 to 10 dishes that we order. We stepped out of our routine on Saturday night and ordered the special of the night as the waiter insisted that it would be AMAZING. Steak with asparagus, truffle fries and chimichurri sauce. The truffle fries were PERFECT. The steak was under seasoned and appeared to have been baked in the oven. Zero sear. Zero salt. The sauce must have been there to cover up the bad steak but didn't make sense on the plate. I don't know if Cracker Barrel has steaks or not but I imagine their steak looking and tasting like pur overpriced $48 Meddlesome Moth steak. Don't order it. You'll be disappointed. As a matter of fact, they should take it off of the menu. Steaks are not what they're good at. Thank goodness we're going to Bob's this weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Definitely try the humus, exceptional! T ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Definitely try the humus, exceptional! The shrimp & grits were amazing as was the beer soaked & grilled brats! Good portions were large so be sure to share the appetizer! Great music/playlist in the background, just right noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.