About Meat Market Miami

6063 Isla Verde Avenue
Carolina, PR 00979
View Larger Map

A truly contemporary steakhouse, boasting a sophisticated ambiance sizzling with New York City style energy, a happening bar scene, and a savvy menu featuring prime cuts of beef, amazing fish, seafood and poultry dishes and a wide range of price points geared to draw both locals and visitors.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:30pm

Bar:
Cocktail Hour: Everyday from 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 11:30pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 12:30pm



Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 253-2007

Website:
http://www.meatmarketmiamipr.com/

Entertainment:
Meat Market is located inside one of the island’s most entertaining hotels, El San Juan Hotel & Casino. The hotel has a dazzling lobby with stunning bars and alluring people, live music, the legendary Club Tropicoro, the exciting Club Brava nightclub and an elegant casino that offers a wide range of options for locals and visitors to socialize.

Parking Details:
Situated across the street at Galeria Parking and Paseo San Juan Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Allen Lee

Private Party Facilities:
For groups of 14 or more people, there are two private dining rooms. Our experienced events team tailors the menu according to your needs and pays close attention to details to ensure the satisfaction of every guest.

Private Party Contact:
Dario: 7872532007x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Meat Market Miami Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in San Juan ›

special occasion (26)
romantic (22)
hot spot (14)
See All
notable wine list (14)
good for groups (12)
fit for foodies (12)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (7)
great for lunch (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
257 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic service and quite possibly the ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Fantastic service and quite possibly the best rib eye I've ever had. I could do without the techno music but that's the only negative. Overall an awesome experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome restaurant

Dined on May 30, 2016

Awesome restaurant

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meat Market Miami, tops in Puerto Rico.

Dined on May 30, 2016

Meat Market Miami is tops in Puerto Rico. It's location at El San Juan Hotel makes for a grand entrance on a romantic or special occasion for dinner. From the moment we were greeted by the hostess at the door, we knew we were in for a great experience. Our food server, Adriana, was above and beyond, that perfect balance between 100% professional and knowledgeable about their food and menu and 100% relaxed and pleasant about presenting it with no trace of stuffiness. The food itself, above and beyond. The foie gras appetizer, perfectly seared with guava, pistachios and fresh blackberries to compliment its natural flavors was perfection. Best steak on the Island, and though not inexpensive, you get every penny you pay for. I wish there were more MMM in PR to chose from, but for now, let's enjoy what we have!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Meat Market Miami - San Juan

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I were looking for a nice place to celebrate our wedding anniversary, so I took her there, I had never been there, but checking for high end steak house, I heard about this place. This place used to house the Palms Steak House. So the decoration is classy, with a modern environment, tables seem to be back to back, too close. The hostess was very nice, very energetic. The recommendations were on mark. food was very good. Price is kind of high but it was worth it. If you are looking for something different, but excellent steak menu. This is the place.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I visit Puerto Rico this spot ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Every time I visit Puerto Rico this spot is a must. Food is out of this world. Steak is like butter-worth every penny.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is a great way to start off a ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

This place is a great way to start off a trip in Puerto Rico. It is a bit tough to find by the pure address- just go inside the El San Juan hotel (formerly Waldorf). Our server also was very cordial and provided nice recs. Only downside was the bar closed at 1230am on a Thursday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Came for the happy hour. Drinks were good! I had the ceviche and lamb ribs which were both quite tasty. Restaurant had a nice, upscale feel to it. I would return.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Food. Great Service

Dined on May 6, 2016

I've eaten here twice now and I can say that the food is fantastic and the service is on point. They have a great Anejo Old Fashion cocktail that I would go back for alone. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great

Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent restaurant for meat, outstanding service, excellent Italian wine selection.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Girl's Night!

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Fantastic! The staff and food were wonderful! The hostess Sophie was so friendly and welcoming! I would definitely return.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant!

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

This beautiful restaurant is located inside the El San Juan hotel. It's a beautiful restaurant with amazing food! Staff is very friendly and sweet. Go at 5:30 for half price cocktails and apps at the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food and service.

Dined on April 2, 2016

I highly recommend the tuna tartare and the buffalo tenderloin. Both were spectacular as were the brussel sprouts. Do not miss them. One of the best meals I have ever had. Expect to pay for the great food and service as the prices are high.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb dining experience top not food to ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Superb dining experience top not food top notch service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

We had a wonderful evening! Excellent food and service!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Stake tenderness and truffle mashed pota ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Stake tenderness and truffle mashed potatoes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very relaxed feel of this place, modern ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Very relaxed feel of this place, modern decor. I definitely would return next time I'm in Puerto Rico. Great selection of appetizers. We had steak (of course) and fish, it was was amazing. Service was well-timed and friendly. I wish I could remember the name of the bottle of Malbec wine we had, it was very good and good price. We gad some young teens with us and they were able to order enjoy the menu as well. Don't miss the bone-morrow butter, its to die for!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding!!!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Meat Market Miami is in the El San Juan Hotel. Dynamite sleek atmosphere. We were a group of 10 so we were in a private dining room. The food and service were outstanding. Yes expensive but totally worth it. Everyone loved their appetizer, meal and sides. I personally do not eat red meat and there 3 fishes to choose from. Truly cannot say enough about this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was perfect!!

Dined on March 10, 2016

We spent a week at the El San Juan resort where the Meat Market Miami was located. We saved this restaurant for our special occasion dinner - 25th wedding anniversary, and it was delightful! The sea bass was outstanding and we thoroughly enjoyed the lobster mac & cheese! My husband's steak was done to perfection, and that is high praise for the master grillman!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal I've had in 3. years.

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Best meal I've had in 3. years.

food5
ambience5
service5

Braised short-ribs over lobster risotto ...

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

Braised short-ribs over lobster risotto for my wife, ribeye and lobster mashed potatoes for me. Food was amazing, drinks were good and service was impeccable. Prices were on the high side but it worth every cent!

food5
ambience4
service4

Absolutely wonderful, very pricey but wo ...

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

Absolutely wonderful, very pricey but worth it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the Best in San Juan!

Dined on February 27, 2016

From the moment you enter Meat Market Miami you feel in paradise! the service is superb! everything we tries was exquisite! Great ambiance!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Good but not great for this high a price level

Dined on February 23, 2016

Title sums it up. Quite good, but I guess I expected excellent at this high a cost level. The environment is hip contemporary and the service was good but again not great. For this price point, I would try elsewhere though.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hidden gem

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

This was a pleasant surprise inside the Hilton hotel in San Juan. The restaurant decor was contemporary and comfortable. The food was delicious with pleasant and knowledgeable service. We enjoyed our experience tremendously.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Plenty of children dining here.

Dined on February 16, 2016

If you like dining with eight to ten year olds you will be very comfortable here. Not sure they fit with a $300 dinner and a $120 bottle of wine but they have a whine of their own. There was a time you could count on any restaurant at ESJ to be top notch. Not so much anymore.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

really delicious meal with excellent service

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

We had a great time! Loved our private table and attentive service. Food was pricey but less than Mortons and better!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Not worth the price tag

Dined on February 15, 2016

Simply put, It was just ok. I ordered the N.Y. Half order medium well steak with added on lobster tail. The steak was prepared at more of a medium and lacked substantial flavor. The lobster tail was very overcooked with no flavor at all. I sent the lobster tail back in which the waiter was very accommodating, but even the second lobster tail that came wasn't all that great. My friend ordered the crab cakes which she also stated weren't anything spectacular. We shared a order of asparagus and lobster mac & cheese and both of those were great. To make up for the lobster, the manager gave us a complimentary dessert. Overall, the food was mediocre. Our bill came to $175 and it was not worth it at all. The best part of the entire meal were the drinks.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4

Meat quality has gone down. It seems it ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Meat quality has gone down. It seems it is happening in every PR steakhouse for some reason. It is probably that they are using the same local beef distributor trying to cut costs. Nowhere near USA mainland steakhouses beef quality. It is sad to say.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food

Dined on February 15, 2016

A must try is the Wagyu beef ribeye. It can be sheared by a couple who are not big eaters and the meat is top quality. Also try the lobster and short rib risotto. Great for a surf and turf!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was excellent. The drinks were ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was excellent. The drinks were perfect. Both waiters were very attentive. The only issue is when the hostess went to seat us. The table wasn't ready which wasn't a problem we waited at the bar. The table was set quickly, however she didn't come back to seat us for 10 minutes. I had to ask to be seated. Other than that, it was a beautiful restaurant. Great lively atmosphere. The steak was delicious as well as the side dishes.

food5
ambience3
service5

My server was amazing and very attentive ...

Dined on February 10, 2016

My server was amazing and very attentive!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Highly recommend.

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Probably the best rib eye steak I have had in years. Great service and great food. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

saturday nigt in san juan

Dined on January 16, 2016

from the seating at the table to the wine and food and service the best

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was outstanding!

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

We area a group of nine foodies who love to dine all over the country. We spend a lot of time in Charleston SC which has a well deserved reputation for it's AMAZING food options so we are very spoiled with high expectations. Meat Market Miami rivaled our favorite Steakhouse, Halls, as their food was outstanding, as was the service. Highly Recommend!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Tomahawk ribeye

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

The Tomahawk ribeye did not live up to its expectations, as this was our second trip to Meat Market Miami in San Juan and right away I wanted tomahawk as it was superb the first time. This past experience it didn't taste any better than an avg ribeye you would get at a regular steakhouse. Save the big bucks and get something else.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

great to experience

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

as expected,great food and wine, amazing atmosphere,very visually appealing!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wow! What a Steak!!!!

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

One of the best steaks I've ever eaten. That includes Del Frisco, Uncle Jacks, Ben Bensons and all the obligatory houses in Chicago. Service to rival Emerils and a beautiful modern décor. Don't go if you are on a budget, but if you appreciate the finest food, service and wine then get a reservation!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on December 25, 2015

What a find. The drinks were great and so was the food. We especially loved the tuna tartare, ceviche, cedar paper salmon and the porterhouse. The sides (truffled mashed potatoes, mushrooms) were delicious as well. Dessert (key lime cheesecake and chocolate lava cake) did not disappoint either. We will definitely come back here the next time we are in San Juan!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Ambience

Dined on December 17, 2015

The place was impeccable. The waiters were very nice and always looking up for our needs. Ivan was brilliant. He recommended the best entrees and main plates. We will definitely come back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Not up to my expectations

Dined on December 16, 2015

The escargo was good, my sea bass was not up to the price, the desert was very good. All in all I thought the price did not reflect the quality of the meal

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.