HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

The Restaurant at Meadowood

4.6
996 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion (1516)
  • Fit for Foodies (1446)
  • Romantic (1228)

Similar Restaurants

About

The Restaurant at Meadowood offers an elegant, but relaxed dining experience featuring the singular Napa Valley cuisine of Chef Christopher Kostow. The Restaurant features a three hundred thirty dollar Tasting Menu in the dining room and a five hundred dollar Counter Menu enjoyed at the Chef's Counter in the kitchen. Both menus are inclusive of service. A tailored wine and spirits pairing experience is also available to accompany the menus.

In addition, The Restaurant offers a fixed three course menu for ninety dollars that can be enjoyed exclusively at the bar. The Restaurant Rotunda features a snack menu for forty dollars, intended to be enjoyed with the celebrated cocktails of bartender Sam Levy. Given the nature of the set menus for each evening, we invite and encourage you to contact us once booked online to make us aware of any severe dietary restrictions several days in advance of your reservation.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30PM - 9:30PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(707) 967-1205
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Jacket Preferred
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Christopher Kostow
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Silverado Trail
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The Restaurant offers complimentary valet services
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 996 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.6  based on all time ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on July 10, 2017

This is not just a meal but an amazing experience. Each course is well thought out and creative, the service is impeccable, and I am looking forward to returning.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
1.0  Dined on April 26, 2017

I want to warn you all, my fellow fine diners, about my experience at Meadowood. I urge you all to look elsewhere for your culinary needs or risk the same problems I had during my visit and subsequent communications with management.

My wife and I went to dinner with our friends and all of us disliked EVERY COURSE of food. It was over $1400 for the four of us without any alcohol, this is simply unacceptable. We frequent Michelin starred restaurants and understand how great food tastes [we had been at the French Laundry the night before which was tremendous - as any establishment with THREE Michelin stars should be]. The fact that none of us liked any of the numerous courses of food is hard for us to believe. We left the restaurant in shock that we all felt the same way.

I had my travel concierge reach out to the restaurant’s management. Meadowood’s assistant director, Chitra Samanta, told him that my group was intoxicated and argued with each other outside. Instead of addressing the bad food, they went after us personally. After some simple questions from my concierge, Chitra admitted that her staff said we had not had any alcohol with our meal, that they had not addressed the alleged intoxication with us, and that we had not made any staff or restaurant guests uncomfortable.

At this point, I called Chitra and spoke with her myself. I calmly relayed our disappointment. She agreed to speak with the head chef and restaurant director. A few hours later I received an email [not even a phone call] stating that they were not going to do anything about our negative experience. Instead, the email insituated that our palettes were not up to par with their food!! Unbelievable!

It is clear to me that Meadowood cares more about keeping our money than doing ANYTHING to resolve this situation. They insulted our characters with baseless claims of intoxication and poor behavior, which are totally false. FOOD LOVERS BEWARE! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY AT MEADOWOOD!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 17, 2017

The best service experience we've ever had... can't say enough about the staff, food, and overall experience.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Portland)
5.0  Dined on February 17, 2017

Totally impressed by their attention to details and service. The food was pretty creative and delectable. I give it five stars.

Report
Helpful
ohdannyboy (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on January 14, 2017

I should preface this review with the fact that I'm actually not a picky person and really laid back and hardly ever complain. This is a 3-star Michelin restaurant, so we were expecting the best of the best. However, in one of our courses, they left the crab shell in the food (I left the shell for the waiter to see - they apologized profusely which was a nice gesture). On another occasion, they dripped some wine onto the placemat after pouring us some and didn't wipe it up until they were told about it. Normally this stuff doesn't bother us at all and I would normally just toss the shell to one side and wipe up the wine myself; But because we were at a 3-star Michelin restaurant, it somehow became magnified and unacceptable. The service (people) were fantastic though and super nice/cordial! The ambiance was magnificent (love the tree in the middle of the room)! Maybe my expectations were too high considering this was a 3-star, but I felt the food was probably on par with most 1-2 star Michelin restaurants and the service was on par with other 3-star restaurants I've been to. We went to another famous napa restaurant for lunch the next day (no stars for that one though it probably should get one) and they've never screwed up a meal I've had there before - which is why it's one of my favorites up there. After our meal at Meadowood, we were given a tour of the kitchen (in between the two reservation time slots when there was a little bit of downtime for the kitchen staff). There is a chef's table in the kitchen that seats 4, so if you make a reservation ahead of time, you can ask for it and see your food being prepared. I've heard it's quite an experience! The birthday cake and note from the restaurant were a nice touch at the end also! The table next to us had some pretty unorthodox requests and the restaurant aimed to please and were able to fulfill their requests. I was impressed with that!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on January 14, 2017

For the price we paid, food lacked of flavor while the presentations were simple. Some of the dishes were salty. Luckily, the service is impeccable! Too expensive for the quality of food it serves. Disappointing to say the least! Meeting the Executive Chef Christopher Kostow and touring the kitchen were the highlights of our dinner. It's hard to imagine it earned 3 Michelin Stars which was the sole reason why we dined here.

Report
Helpful
Cajungirl (Las Vegas)
5.0  Dined on January 6, 2017

Beautiful and elegant room. The service was impeccable and the people friendly when appropriate. Not every dish was wonderful but overall a great experience.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on January 4, 2017

Un souper mémorable!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2016

Dining at The Restaurant at Meadowood is a culinary experience. The attention to detail in all that they do creates a memorable experience; from greeting us by name, to spending time with us to know what we enjoy to drink, and eat was very personalized. Each course was served with a description of it and stunningly plated. The food was perfection! The dining area must be expertly insulated because we were able to have a conversation among ourselves without hearing others. And not one patron took out their phone to snap pictures or to talk on it.
I highly recommend dining here at least once in a life time, because chance are you will want to come back.

Report
Helpful
RainC (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2016

The service and the food is good. Friends had told us portions would be large, but it was lighter than expected. Service was friendly and answered our random questions. All and all a good night. Visiting the kitchen was an unexpected perk!

Report
Helpful
vipOutforfood (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary, and it was nothing short of exceptional. The food and service were the best we've ever encountered. Granted, it can be intimidating to have a 12-course meal served to you and you have no clue what is coming. Open your mind! Every bit that entered our mouths was amazing. All of our servers took great joy in presenting our courses, answering every question we had to offer, and never pressuring us to order additional beverages. It was, and probably will be, the most expensive meal we will ever eat, but one we will never forget. I feel sorry for those that did not experience the same meal that we did, but do not let the negative reviews sway your desire to attend this magnificent restaurant.

Report
Helpful
SarahFrances (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2016

The tasting menu was incredible. One of the most beautiful restaurant settings, with a warm and welcoming reception area and cozy dining room. Service was excellent. Highly recommended for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
vipcnalsc (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on December 29, 2016

Finally snagging a reservation three months in advance, we made it to Meadowood over the holidays. It’s an elegant, romantic restaurant, finely appointed and quiet, set in the Meadowood resort and far from the maddening crowd of the Napa Valley. We had the early seating, which was fine since it was already dark when we arrived. The menu is a set menu of 12-13 mini courses, each inventive, creative and wonderful in its own right. Many feature ingredients from the garden on site. The sunchoke beignet, braised leek wrappred in rye with dried albacore, the cauliflower custard and wagyu beef were the particular standouts. Wine pairings are $250, for four glasses. We decided to take advantage of the excellent wine list, spending roughly what we would for the pairings. The service is impeccable, as befits a Michelin 3 star restaurant, and the evening ends with a visit to the kitchen. It is to date the most expensive meal we have ever had and we’ve eaten in a lot of places all over the world. As such, it will be saved for very special occasions.

Report
Helpful
Thallo (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on December 22, 2016

Planned a trip to Meadowood with high hopes after hearing repeatedly that it has recently surpassed the French Laundry as the new king of California fine dining. Unfortunately ,when all said and done, disappointment is probably what best describes the meal. It's not that the food wasn't good, of course course it was, or that the wine wasn't high quality, it was as well, it is that with the price tag, press, and accolades, dinner was a victim of the expectations that preceded it. At a restaurant striving to be one of the best in the world I expect more than "good". It is possible I caught them on an off day, but Meadowood clearly lacked the "wow" factor its contemporaries at Alinea, Saison, Quince, or even Jean George have. The ingredients were fancy, expensive, tasty, but not elevated in any significant way. Yes keeping it simple can be good, and it is always important to let the quality of ingredient speak for itself, but at this class of cuisine a certain amount of creativity and elevation is necessary. There wasn't a stand-out course in the entire evening, nothing that left me craving more or that I would consider memorable.

The food not withstanding, the wine pairing was the biggest let down. With only 4 pairings for the meal, most glasses were meant to be paired with 2 dishes. Very straight forward, borderline boring, local, over priced, and uninspiring. Again focusing far too hard on simple without enough effort on exceptional. Almost felt like they were forcing the wine of friends in the area regardless of the actual quality, or they just really wan't you to order a bottle from the spectacular wine list separately.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
2.0  Dined on December 16, 2016

For these restaurants, I have three main metrics:

1) Does the service feel comfortable, well paced, and friendly?
2) Food taste
3) Do I feel good at the end of the meal (coming back to "well paced")

The service was very good, but felt inauthentic with the exception of Matt the Sommelier (who we had a comfortable and friendly interaction with because we'd previously met at another restaurant). It seemed like the staff was not at ease and possibly uncomfortable with their work environment.

I was disappointed with the two of the three main courses. The fish was phenomenal, but there was a chicken/sturgeon dish that tasted like boiled chicken, I did not finish it. The Waygu beef was extremely fatty. I understand it is a very fatty type of meat, but it was pure fat. Perhaps my taste isn't adventurous enough, but overall, I left the meal unsatisfied.

The wine pairing was two glasses of white and two glasses of red. The benefit of this is that I didn't want to die the morning after, but I would have liked a glass of sparkling with the oyster course (had I known the first glass wouldn't come until the 4th course, I would have ordered one - this is a pacing issue that the server could have helped me avoid). Also it was unfortunate that the dessert wine isn't included as the wine pairing cost is on the higher end.

To date, Quince is still my favorite, with Manresa and French Laundry as a close second and third. The main benefit to Meadowood is the gorgeous hotel property on premise, making a very comfortable post dinner commute, otherwise, I see no reason to return.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on December 8, 2016

Although this was the most expensive meal I have ever had, it was completely worth it. This was a culinary experience I will never forget. Phenomenal!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Orange County)
5.0  Dined on December 1, 2016

One of the best culinary experiences that you will ever have.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on November 26, 2016

Have a wonderful dinner after proposal

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Nashville)
5.0  Dined on November 23, 2016

We have eaten in some wonderful places all over the world.
Last night was the best paced, gastronomically exquisite experience we have ever had.
The portion size and timing was impeccable.
The service was indulgent but not fawning.
The atmosphere hushed and controlled in the very best way.
It was a perfect environment for adult family interaction.
And the food, oh the food...poetry on the palate.
What a truly memorable evening.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
5.0  Dined on November 15, 2016

Best meal we've ever had
Fantastic service
We have eaten in other 3-star restaurants and this place should cost a lot more than it does

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
50