About The Restaurant at Meadowood

900 Meadowood Lane
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

The Restaurant at Meadowood offers an elegant, but relaxed dining experience featuring the singular Napa Valley cuisine of Chef Christopher Kostow. The Restaurant features a three hundred thirty dollar Tasting Menu in the dining room and a five hundred dollar Counter Menu enjoyed at the Chef's Counter in the kitchen. Both menus are inclusive of service. A tailored wine and spirits pairing experience is also available to accompany the menus.

In addition, The Restaurant offers a fixed three course menu for ninety dollars that can be enjoyed exclusively at the bar. The Restaurant Rotunda features a snack menu for forty dollars, intended to be enjoyed with the celebrated cocktails of bartender Sam Levy. Given the nature of the set menus for each evening, we invite and encourage you to contact us once booked online to make us aware of any severe dietary restrictions several days in advance of your reservation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Silverado Trail

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-1205

Website:
http://www.therestaurantatmeadowood.com/

Parking Details:
The Restaurant offers complimentary valet services

Executive Chef:
Christopher Kostow

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, The Restaurant at Meadowood can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator : 8552836385

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood

The Restaurant at Meadowood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Ambiance
San Francisco Bay Area
Californian
San Francisco Bay Area
5 More
Best Overall
Wine Country
Best Food
Wine Country
Best Service
Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
Californian
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in St. Helena ›

special occasion (37)
fit for foodies (31)
romantic (28)
See All
notable wine list (25)
scenic view (13)
neighborhood gem (2)
hot spot (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
880 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely amazing dinning experience. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Absolutely amazing dinning experience. From the drinks to the food it was simply spectacular.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing. Amazing service. Amazi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Simply amazing. Amazing service. Amazing wine. Amazingly amazing food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family went for dinner. Everyone enj ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our family went for dinner. Everyone enjoyed the experience! Excellent view and ambiance. Outstanding food. Excellent service !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food presentation was elevated. Flavors ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food presentation was elevated. Flavors were interesting/creative but not always pleasant (e.g. lamb broth). Portions were minuscule. Service - although highly touted in other reviews, was not great.

To be honest - I have had much more delicious, creative 'foodie' type meals before. Overall, I was underwhelmed and accordingly dissapoiinted at the paying the huge bill for such a dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I'm so sorry to say, if it wasn't for ou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I'm so sorry to say, if it wasn't for our server, we would have left. She was very knowledgable and courteous. We basically found the valet inattentive and the hostess cold and unwelcoming; The bartender was as bad as the valet, preoccupied and inattentive, as well, which all together alienated us. Food was good but ambiance was cold, dark, and not a happy place.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Truly a bucket list experience. We took ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Truly a bucket list experience. We took the opportunity to dine as the chef's table.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Rip-off! Nothing was outstanding to warr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Rip-off! Nothing was outstanding to warrant a 3* Michelin!

Something needs to change.

They don't even have an expression machine !!!

This was a mediocre experience after so much expectation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Top restaurant. I do not remember better ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Top restaurant. I do not remember better service. Degustation was quite good, excellent Martini andrés wine. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not a fish lover so my husband wound up ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Not a fish lover so my husband wound up eating most of my tastings. I would have preferred a beef dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Sadly The Restaurant at Meadowood was no ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Sadly The Restaurant at Meadowood was not a very good experience for us. The food was reasonably good and the dining room itself was very nice, the lack of a substantially filling meal for the price is just not on (Benu and The French Laundry really showed them up on the generosity of 3 star food). The biggest disappointment however was the cheese course, hard and cold; straight from the fridge! After no less than 4 waiters told us/lied to us that that was how it should be served the manager told us the cheese should never have left the kitchen. No apology, no attempt to rectify an escalating situation. We simply felt pretty ignored! Add an inept sommelier in to the equation and it wasn't a great meal, especially as we had flown from Australia to celebrate my mother's 60th birthday. Meadowood I was so excited to eat at your restaurant but I'm afraid that I can't recommend it to anyone based on the experience that we had.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Most disappointing dinner in the last 9 ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Most disappointing dinner in the last 9 months of our culinary tours through Europe (Paris, San Sebastián, Girona), Lima, Peru, Chicago, and SF Bay Area. It was shockingly bad. 3 courses were over salted and 2 were just plainly not delicious. Only 1 dessert course which consisted of a scoop of ice cream and 3 marzipan dipped in dark currant...that's it! Neither memorable nor fitting of a 3 Star Michelin restaurant compare with at least 10+ restaurants of the same ratings in the last 9 months. We assumed that the executive chef was out of town at the Aspen Food and Wine classic thus the epic failure. Unfortunately, we discovered his presence when we took the kitchen tour which we agreed to out of politeness. We would not recommend this restaurant in the Bay Area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

Very expensive .. Pretentious..not worth ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Very expensive .. Pretentious..not worth the $1,000+ price tag. Portions were very small and only two or three were really exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food is incredible. A once in the l ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food is incredible. A once in the lifetime experience that was expensive but worth every penny. I was there for my 50th birthday. They made the experience special. Highly recomnemded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Huge Disappointment

 
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Awkward beginning with a walk into a bar area but no one to greet you...we wandered into a restroom alcove and a private dining area before walking into the dining room...no host or stand to direct you...

Table was way too close to a delightful and enthusiastic young couple next to us.

Service in the dining room was spot on but the food was not..

A lamb broth was horrible and left an unpleasant after taste

An avocado soup that inexplicably had avocado oil and olive oils added in quantities that made it greasy

A duck that was tough and hard to cut through....if it was great product it was terrible technique...it was the single worst duck we have ever had....

There was a nicely done cheese course and a nice preparation of abalone...2 courses out of 10 is not really acceptable...

Though we did not ask, we have the sense that Chef may not have been there but it is not an excuse for a mediocre experience at this level

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

good!very good

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

good!very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best meal and wine pairing I've ever ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The best meal and wine pairing I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

This was, by far, the best restaurant we have ever been to. Each course was exquisite, thought-provoking, and delicious. Some of the courses, such as the smoked cod between cabbage leaves, were completely original. It was also the most expensive by a long shot, but as a special occasion event, and based on the quality of the food and the service, I can't say it wasn't worth it. The wine pairings were perfect and I would recommend them. The wine list is among the best we have ever seen and they have amazing wines by the glass--my husband had a glass of Hermitage white (!) while we were waiting for our table--but it was great to see what they recommended for each course and they were all great. Some were really unexpected, such as Pinot Noir with the above-mentioned cod, but all were spot on. Do go here if you can manage it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Meadowood

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Beautiful location. From the moment we arrived at Meadowood, the service was exemplary. The staff were warm & welcoming & extremely attentive.

The service staff & sommelier were knowledgeable & helpful. We had the tasting menu with wine pairing. Every dish was beautifully plated & delicious. The food was exciting to the palate & very innovative. The wine pairing was spot on with each dish. The chef coming out to talk to us made it extra special & a visit to the kitchen was just the icing on the cake. We loved every moment of our dinner at Meadowood. It was a magical, most enjoyable evening thanks to the fabulous food & warm, welcoming staff. This is definitely a place to celebrate special occasions.

Many thanks to the staff at Meadowood.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful and unforgettable experience ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A beautiful and unforgettable experience. Each dish was unique and artistically presented to us with incredible table service. The wine parings were amazing, perfectly paired and we loved the presentation of each wine. Overall, this restaurant was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best meals of my life.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

One of the best meals of my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, a wonderful experience.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The food is innovative and delicious. I think I had the best bottle of wine I've ever had, on suggestion of the wonderful sommelier. The service is casual but attentive and so friendly. It was a very busy night when I was there with a lot of culinary VIPs and they didn't miss a beat. Amazing place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Everything from the moment you take your first step onto the beautiful stone stairs to the last drop of coffee was phenomenal. Service was elegant and our captain even shined my glasses! Pure Hospitality from start to finish. The food kept us wanting just one more bite and was really a true representation of the beauty of spring in the Napa Valley. Thank you thank you!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the best michelin three stars in the us.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

creativity, artisitic and impressive combination of ingredients freshly picked in the garden or selected from local market, makes it A wonderful experience in a late afternoon in napa. waiters n waitresses are professional. no more words, it is the best in the us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing - very personalized and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Food was amazing - very personalized and exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

An Experience

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Just an incredible experience combining inventive cuisine, attentive service, and beautiful wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A bucket list experience

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

food, service, wine - exceptional

every bit counted and was amazing

kitchen is incredible

$$$$$$ - be ready but wow

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The by far the best restaurant west of the Rockies

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Chef Christopher Kostow is a master innovator while also very team oriented. He is very hands on day after day. I hope he never runs out of menu ideas.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

World class dining experience at Meadowood

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

We had a superb meal at Meadowood. The food, wine and service were all excellent.

We’ve dined at 9 of the top 14 restaurants in the world, 33 of the Top 100 (according to one recent list), mostly Michelin ** and ***s in Spain, England, France and the USA. So we know what an exceptional dining experience feels like.

I think Meadowood last week was competitive with our favorite restaurants on that list.

Of the ten small courses there were no real “misses”, with several exquisite dishes. A couple of examples: finely chopped whelk meat stuffed into a small cooked onion, with a nasturtium-butter sauce. The contrast between the tastes and textures was wonderful, every item perfectly cooked and the blend greater than the sum of the parts.

Then a head of roasted cabbage (each diner was served ¼ of the head) with black cod slices embedded between the leaves, finished with an oyster sauce. Terrific, probably my favorite dish of the evening (much better than my description makes it sound).

Other dishes included a generous portion of caviar served with a nicely blanched asparagus spear and olive oil, a spring lamb dish, and a small slice of duck breast, all perfectly executed.

Wine – I had the wine pairing, five pours for $225 + 20% tax ($270). Pretty expensive wine pairing, but a couple of really good aged wines you typically won’t get with a pairing. Two favorites were a 2007 Premier Cru white Burgundy from Meursault and a 1998 Napa Cab from Seavey. It was great to have a couple of aged wines of this quality and they went especially well with the paired dishes. In particular the Meursault was an eye-opener for me because I almost never get to try aged chardonnay and this one was terrific.

The other wines were a 2013 Austrian Grüner Veltliner from Austria, a 2013 Pinot Noir from Sonoma and a Pineau des Charentes dessert wine from the Cognac region of France. I wasn’t familiar with the Pineau or GV varietals so it was good to expand my wine knowledge a bit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a wonderful tasting experience with ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

It's a wonderful tasting experience with about 14 courses of exquisite presentation and good taste. The tasting menu varies according to season, adopting seasonal veggies and flowers to create the art for ur eyes and tongue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome and creative menu and presentati ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Awesome and creative menu and presentation. Ingredients were fresh and best quality. Tried similar food and quality in New York , but this was the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Perfect dinner. Just what you would expect from a three star restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

My first 3* dining experience in years did not disappoint. The food was beautiful, innovative and yet simple. The flavors were truly amazing and yet not overdone. Ariel was professional and yet very sweet, which enhanced the overall experience. This restaurant is a true diamond and is an experience that should not be missed

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I expected more

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

We'd been to Meadowood seven years ago and were eager to return, especially after a glowing review in the SF Chronicle. We even brought the same wine - '85 Mouton. I was puzzled, though. The diner reviews I read were quite mixed. Now we understand why.

The setting is everything you'd expect from a Michelin 3-star. But right from the beginning, something seemed off. First, you don't get a menu until the meal is over. It's a prix fixe meal, of course. Food just comes out. And the server explains the course as its served. Problem was, I couldn't hear what was being said . It was very noisy, with two parties well into their cups. Conversation was difficult.

Portions are smallish as befits a multi-course meal but most of them were different for different's sake (e.g., onion stuffed with minced whelk in a nasturtium broth). We were shown a circular loaf of bread with a poussin inside surrounded by greens and told that the bird was cooked that way. The serving was just two small pieces. Others dishes were boring such as a 2" cylinder of smoked pork with little else. (We would later learn it was Mangalitsa.) The highlight was the wine service by Victoria, who treated our '85 with reverence. (Corkage $50).

Overall though, the meal was more experiential than gastronomical. When you factor in the expense ($350 per) plus, plus, the evening was disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely amazing! Beautiful, inventiv ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Beautiful, inventive, unpretentious food. We were blown away and will definitely return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing and the service fro ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was amazing and the service from the staff made us feel like the most important people on the planet. Loved every moment of our experience there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A night to remember...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We chose to request a setting at the bar after I had read another review suggesting this location was more lively and casual. Indeed our evening was enchanting, sipping lovely cocktails, while visiting with the two bartenders. Our food journey began with eel smoked over Cabernet staves and 21 courses later completed with candied chocolate babka. Our evening was capped with a tour of the kitchen were we met a number of the people responsible for our food journey. Talent and friendliness. What a great combination.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing in every way

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Meadowood raised the bar on dining experiences in every way. The food was a delight with simple yet innovative takes on so many dishes, the service was personalized, friendly and engaging, and the overall atmosphere was sumptuous and special. It's pricey, but worth every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

more like a modern art than food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

like some review said, it's "Asia inspired". As an Asian, i even can find the original for every dish, and hmmm... I think I still like the original ones. No menu for ordering, because the whole dinner is designed like an dedicate adventure. Food, seems focus on the rural taste, however is a bit salty for almost every dish. Service is great, ambiance is great, great place for vacation stay.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The Napa Valley Restaurant -- period.

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

We only had two nights to enjoy Napa. First night the French Laundry, second night the Restaurant at Meadowood. Both enjoy Michelin three stars status but Meadowood was head and shoulders above the other. The service was flawless, the food was truly delicious and exciting. Delicious speaks for itself while the exciting part was the presentation and the new ways the chief developed to enhance the taste and texture of each and every serving. Know that if you select Meadowood it will not disappoint and you will certainly want to return. We will.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

We have dined here on several occasions, and the imagination and preparation incorporated into each dish is truly outstanding. For a more lively and personalized experience, ask to be seated at the bar, instead of the main dining room.

Tags: special occasions, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.