About The Restaurant at Meadowood

900 Meadowood Lane
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

The Restaurant at Meadowood offers an elegant, but relaxed dining experience featuring the singular Napa Valley cuisine of Chef Christopher Kostow. The Restaurant features a three hundred thirty dollar Tasting Menu in the dining room and a five hundred dollar Counter Menu enjoyed at the Chef's Counter in the kitchen. Both menus are inclusive of service. A tailored wine and spirits pairing experience is also available to accompany the menus.

In addition, The Restaurant offers a fixed three course menu for ninety dollars that can be enjoyed exclusively at the bar. The Restaurant Rotunda features a snack menu for forty dollars, intended to be enjoyed with the celebrated cocktails of bartender Sam Levy. Given the nature of the set menus for each evening, we invite and encourage you to contact us once booked online to make us aware of any severe dietary restrictions several days in advance of your reservation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Silverado Trail

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-1205

Website:
http://www.therestaurantatmeadowood.com/

Parking Details:
The Restaurant offers complimentary valet services

Executive Chef:
Christopher Kostow

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, The Restaurant at Meadowood can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator : 8552836385

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Restaurant at Meadowood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Food
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Service
San Francisco Bay Area
10 More
Best Ambiance
San Francisco Bay Area
Special Occasion
San Francisco Bay Area
Californian
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
Wine Country
Best Food
Wine Country
Best Service
Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
Romantic
Wine Country
Special Occasion
Wine Country
Californian
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in St. Helena ›

special occasion (31)
fit for foodies (27)
romantic (27)
See All
notable wine list (21)
scenic view (12)
hot spot (4)
neighborhood gem (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
862 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The best meal and wine pairing I've ever ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The best meal and wine pairing I've ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A beautiful and unforgettable experience ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

A beautiful and unforgettable experience. Each dish was unique and artistically presented to us with incredible table service. The wine parings were amazing, perfectly paired and we loved the presentation of each wine. Overall, this restaurant was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals of my life.

Dined on May 14, 2016

One of the best meals of my life.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a wonderful experience.

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

The food is innovative and delicious. I think I had the best bottle of wine I've ever had, on suggestion of the wonderful sommelier. The service is casual but attentive and so friendly. It was a very busy night when I was there with a lot of culinary VIPs and they didn't miss a beat. Amazing place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Everything from the moment you take your first step onto the beautiful stone stairs to the last drop of coffee was phenomenal. Service was elegant and our captain even shined my glasses! Pure Hospitality from start to finish. The food kept us wanting just one more bite and was really a true representation of the beauty of spring in the Napa Valley. Thank you thank you!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the best michelin three stars in the us.

Dined on April 15, 2016

creativity, artisitic and impressive combination of ingredients freshly picked in the garden or selected from local market, makes it A wonderful experience in a late afternoon in napa. waiters n waitresses are professional. no more words, it is the best in the us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing - very personalized and ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Food was amazing - very personalized and exceptional

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An Experience

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Just an incredible experience combining inventive cuisine, attentive service, and beautiful wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bucket list experience

Dined on April 7, 2016

food, service, wine - exceptional every bit counted and was amazing kitchen is incredible $$$$$$ - be ready but wow

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The by far the best restaurant west of the Rockies

Dined on April 7, 2016

Chef Christopher Kostow is a master innovator while also very team oriented. He is very hands on day after day. I hope he never runs out of menu ideas.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

World class dining experience at Meadowood

Dined on April 7, 2016

We had a superb meal at Meadowood. The food, wine and service were all excellent. We’ve dined at 9 of the top 14 restaurants in the world, 33 of the Top 100 (according to one recent list), mostly Michelin ** and ***s in Spain, England, France and the USA. So we know what an exceptional dining experience feels like. I think Meadowood last week was competitive with our favorite restaurants on that list. Of the ten small courses there were no real “misses”, with several exquisite dishes. A couple of examples: finely chopped whelk meat stuffed into a small cooked onion, with a nasturtium-butter sauce. The contrast between the tastes and textures was wonderful, every item perfectly cooked and the blend greater than the sum of the parts. Then a head of roasted cabbage (each diner was served ¼ of the head) with black cod slices embedded between the leaves, finished with an oyster sauce. Terrific, probably my favorite dish of the evening (much better than my description makes it sound). Other dishes included a generous portion of caviar served with a nicely blanched asparagus spear and olive oil, a spring lamb dish, and a small slice of duck breast, all perfectly executed. Wine – I had the wine pairing, five pours for $225 + 20% tax ($270). Pretty expensive wine pairing, but a couple of really good aged wines you typically won’t get with a pairing. Two favorites were a 2007 Premier Cru white Burgundy from Meursault and a 1998 Napa Cab from Seavey. It was great to have a couple of aged wines of this quality and they went especially well with the paired dishes. In particular the Meursault was an eye-opener for me because I almost never get to try aged chardonnay and this one was terrific. The other wines were a 2013 Austrian Grüner Veltliner from Austria, a 2013 Pinot Noir from Sonoma and a Pineau des Charentes dessert wine from the Cognac region of France. I wasn’t familiar with the Pineau or GV varietals so it was good to expand my wine knowledge a bit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a wonderful tasting experience with ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

It's a wonderful tasting experience with about 14 courses of exquisite presentation and good taste. The tasting menu varies according to season, adopting seasonal veggies and flowers to create the art for ur eyes and tongue.

food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome and creative menu and presentati ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Awesome and creative menu and presentation. Ingredients were fresh and best quality. Tried similar food and quality in New York , but this was the best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing dinner

Dined on March 18, 2016

Perfect dinner. Just what you would expect from a three star restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on March 9, 2016

My first 3* dining experience in years did not disappoint. The food was beautiful, innovative and yet simple. The flavors were truly amazing and yet not overdone. Ariel was professional and yet very sweet, which enhanced the overall experience. This restaurant is a true diamond and is an experience that should not be missed

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I expected more

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

We'd been to Meadowood seven years ago and were eager to return, especially after a glowing review in the SF Chronicle. We even brought the same wine - '85 Mouton. I was puzzled, though. The diner reviews I read were quite mixed. Now we understand why. The setting is everything you'd expect from a Michelin 3-star. But right from the beginning, something seemed off. First, you don't get a menu until the meal is over. It's a prix fixe meal, of course. Food just comes out. And the server explains the course as its served. Problem was, I couldn't hear what was being said . It was very noisy, with two parties well into their cups. Conversation was difficult. Portions are smallish as befits a multi-course meal but most of them were different for different's sake (e.g., onion stuffed with minced whelk in a nasturtium broth). We were shown a circular loaf of bread with a poussin inside surrounded by greens and told that the bird was cooked that way. The serving was just two small pieces. Others dishes were boring such as a 2" cylinder of smoked pork with little else. (We would later learn it was Mangalitsa.) The highlight was the wine service by Victoria, who treated our '85 with reverence. (Corkage $50). Overall though, the meal was more experiential than gastronomical. When you factor in the expense ($350 per) plus, plus, the evening was disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing! Beautiful, inventiv ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Beautiful, inventive, unpretentious food. We were blown away and will definitely return soon.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing and the service fro ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was amazing and the service from the staff made us feel like the most important people on the planet. Loved every moment of our experience there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A night to remember...

Dined on February 27, 2016

We chose to request a setting at the bar after I had read another review suggesting this location was more lively and casual. Indeed our evening was enchanting, sipping lovely cocktails, while visiting with the two bartenders. Our food journey began with eel smoked over Cabernet staves and 21 courses later completed with candied chocolate babka. Our evening was capped with a tour of the kitchen were we met a number of the people responsible for our food journey. Talent and friendliness. What a great combination.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing in every way

Dined on February 25, 2016

Meadowood raised the bar on dining experiences in every way. The food was a delight with simple yet innovative takes on so many dishes, the service was personalized, friendly and engaging, and the overall atmosphere was sumptuous and special. It's pricey, but worth every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

more like a modern art than food

Dined on February 17, 2016

like some review said, it's "Asia inspired". As an Asian, i even can find the original for every dish, and hmmm... I think I still like the original ones. No menu for ordering, because the whole dinner is designed like an dedicate adventure. Food, seems focus on the rural taste, however is a bit salty for almost every dish. Service is great, ambiance is great, great place for vacation stay.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Napa Valley Restaurant -- period.

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

We only had two nights to enjoy Napa. First night the French Laundry, second night the Restaurant at Meadowood. Both enjoy Michelin three stars status but Meadowood was head and shoulders above the other. The service was flawless, the food was truly delicious and exciting. Delicious speaks for itself while the exciting part was the presentation and the new ways the chief developed to enhance the taste and texture of each and every serving. Know that if you select Meadowood it will not disappoint and you will certainly want to return. We will.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Unique

vip
Dined on January 20, 2016

We have dined here on several occasions, and the imagination and preparation incorporated into each dish is truly outstanding. For a more lively and personalized experience, ask to be seated at the bar, instead of the main dining room.

Tags: special occasions, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

gorgeous presentation of rare food and service

Dined on January 7, 2016

The staff attended us impeccably. A team of waders an expert's service each course, and attentively watched to see when we were finished, so that they could sweep away what we had just eaten and bring us the next one. There was no menu, each individual plate was thoroughly explained to us, and the presentation was incredible. After dinner, they presented a menu to us that was hand written about everything we had eaten that evening, which was about 12 to 15 courses. This was folded over and sealed with a wax stamp logo, and was very impressive. I would highly recommend this restaurant for anyone who wants an incredible dining experience with painstakingly prepared food, and extensive wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was good but only a few dishes ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

The food was good but only a few dishes were exceptional. For a three star, there were other restaurants without the three star that I would say beat this place in terms of complexity of flavors and creativity. The service itself was spectacular if not a bit robotic and cold. Although most dishes seemed Asian inspired, having grown up with Asian food, a lot of it seemed mediocre. If anyone wants to try a three star restaurant once, this is not one I would recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

totally great our server Ariel was the BEST...

Dined on December 31, 2015

the Somm needs to be more friendly and communicate like the rest of the staff totally great our server Ariel was the BEST... the whole staff was wonderful

Tags: romantic, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unforgettable Evening

Dined on December 31, 2015

We celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary here. The service was impeccable! Everyone we encountered went above and beyond to make this a superb dining experience. While the price point means this is not a spot for everyone, for those whom we know wouldn't mind spending a lot to get a lot, we would highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing. Loved the ambiance, menu, & ser ...

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Amazing. Loved the ambiance, menu, & service.

food5
ambience5
service5

We got to visit the kitchen!!

Dined on December 30, 2015

We got to visit the kitchen!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dining experience! Food was del ...

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Amazing dining experience! Food was delicious, creative and innovative. Service was impeccable. We would definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding dnner

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

everything was terrific, the food service , ambiance the variety of dishes, it was a terrific evening

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Service not what we would expect

Dined on December 23, 2015

We enjoyed our dining experience however there were a couple of things that did not impress us for a restaurant of this caliber. First although we were seated immediately we were not greeted for at least 10 minutes. We also felt hurried during our entire meal, the courses came so quickly that we hardly had a chance to take a breath in between. The most disturbing thing though was when my plate was cleared before my husband had even finished his course - the staff actually tried to take the plate while he was still eating.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

So creative that taste was forgotten

Dined on December 22, 2015

Having three Michelin stars and living up to it are, apparently, two different things. A visit to The Restaurant at Meadowood a couple of years was truly amazing. Both the food and service were wonderful. As my Christmas gift this year my husband made reservations for us on Monday, Dec. 1st. I completely understand that the Chef attempts to make creative dishes that surprise your palate. However, I defy anyone to tell me that this menu was even tasteful. The best course was the amuse bouche - crackers with a yummy sauce - the excitement ended there. I have never had "whelk" before and never will again. It needs to go back inside it's shell and remain there. The chicken baked in bread was a completely boring dish. I was so hungry at one point I asked if the sauce served with the appetizers could be brought back out so I could dip my bread into it. Our server indicated she had to check with "chef" and came back and sheepishly said the "chef" said "no". I was shocked, since I was paying over $700 for a meal and the chef says "no" to a dollop of topping! If he was concerned about ruining my palate, no fear, that had already been accomplished. Finally the "sorbet" tasted like raw dough and defy anyone to taste it and think it would taste edible. I have been regaling all of our friends by reading them the menu and providing my "color" commentary. We shall not be back. I provide this review in the "spirit" of constructive feedback and hope the restaurant will use it accordingly.

food5
ambience5
service5

Worthy of 3 Michelin Stars

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

The restaurant itself is beautiful, and both the food and service are top notch. My husband and I agreed that the meal we had here was better than French Laundry about half way through the tasting menu. It's definitely worth the splurge for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Really?

Dined on November 15, 2015

Now don't get me wrong they go above and beyond at this restaurant. The service was exceptional and the food was really good. However, I have been to "fine" restaurants all over the world and I can't ever remember being price gauged. We didn't even have a glass of wine and the bill was $300 per person. I am all for celebration and splurging on special occassions but even after 12 courses I don't think that the price tag was warranted.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Most incredible dining experjence

Dined on November 13, 2015

From the moment we arrived, everything and everyone was perfect. The drinks, ambiance, staff, and food of course was perfect! My favorite was at the end when they invited us to go back into the sparkling clean kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dining experience

Dined on November 5, 2015

The service was exceptional, the food fabulous - the mix of flavours and textures cleverly orchestrated to deliver a wonderful meal. The portion sizes just right so that at the end of the meal you felt well fed but not bloated from a crazy mix of flavours.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

What more could you want?

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

Incredible food, amazing wine, unbeatable setting and design. Best of all, the staff. Like friends from another life. All and all, it was like eating in a flawlessly curated art installation for dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food in san fran

Dined on October 30, 2015

Been to saison such a rip off and disappontment. Meadowood is a must food and everything are exceptional

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Easily the best dining experience of my ...

vip
Dined on October 29, 2015

Easily the best dining experience of my life. I will look forward to my return to Napa to eat here again. So special.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.