Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.
See affiliated restaurants ›
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

The Grill at MeadowoodThe Grill at Meadowood
(409)
$$$$
Californian | St. Helena, Wine Country
Booked 8 times today
ArchetypeArchetype
(1005)
$$$$
American | St. Helena, Wine Country
Booked 44 times today
MarketMarket
(1824)
$$$$
American | St. Helena, Wine Country
Booked 27 times today
Cindy's Backstreet KitchenCindy's Backstreet Kitchen
(2396)
$$$$
Californian | St. Helena, Wine Country
Booked 32 times today
Farmstead at Long Meadow RanchFarmstead at Long Meadow Ranch
(3169)
$$$$
American | St. Helena, Wine Country
Booked 115 times today
St. Helena BistroSt. Helena Bistro
(142)
$$$$
American | St. Helena, Wine Country
Booked 6 times today
Brasswood Bar + KitchenBrasswood Bar + Kitchen
(178)
$$$$
American | St. Helena, Wine Country
Booked 19 times today
Goose & GanderGoose & Gander
(1040)
$$$$
American | St. Helena, Wine Country
Booked 25 times today
Terra RestaurantTerra Restaurant
(338)
$$$$
Contemporary American | St. Helena, Wine Country
Booked 8 times today
Harvest TableHarvest Table
(356)
$$$$
Contemporary American | St. Helena, Wine Country
Booked 21 times today
PRESSPRESS
(1580)
$$$$
Steakhouse | St. Helena, Wine Country
Booked 36 times today
Auberge du SoleilAuberge du Soleil
(2666)
$$$$
French | Rutherford, Wine Country
Booked 54 times today
Gatehouse RestaurantGatehouse Restaurant
(24)
$$$$
Contemporary American | St. Helena, Wine Country
Booked 16 times today
Solbar - Solage CalistogaSolbar - Solage Calistoga
(1907)
$$$$
Californian | Calistoga, Wine Country
Booked 41 times today
EvangelineEvangeline
(266)
$$$$
French | Calistoga, Wine Country
Booked 9 times today

About The Restaurant at Meadowood

900 Meadowood Lane
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

The Restaurant at Meadowood offers an elegant, but relaxed dining experience featuring the singular Napa Valley cuisine of Chef Christopher Kostow. The Restaurant features a three hundred thirty dollar Tasting Menu in the dining room and a five hundred dollar Counter Menu enjoyed at the Chef's Counter in the kitchen. Both menus are inclusive of service. A tailored wine and spirits pairing experience is also available to accompany the menus.

In addition, The Restaurant offers a fixed three course menu for ninety dollars that can be enjoyed exclusively at the bar. The Restaurant Rotunda features a snack menu for forty dollars, intended to be enjoyed with the celebrated cocktails of bartender Sam Levy. Given the nature of the set menus for each evening, we invite and encourage you to contact us once booked online to make us aware of any severe dietary restrictions several days in advance of your reservation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Silverado Trail

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-1205

Website:
http://www.therestaurantatmeadowood.com/

Parking Details:
The Restaurant offers complimentary valet services

Executive Chef:
Christopher Kostow

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, The Restaurant at Meadowood can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator : (855) 283-6385

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Restaurant at Meadowood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Special Occasion (6)
See All
Romantic (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Fireplace (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Cozy (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
987 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I should preface this review with the fact that I'm actually not a picky person and really laid back and hardly ever complain. This is a 3-star Michelin restaurant, so we were expecting the best of the best. However, in one of our courses, they left the crab shell in the food (I left the shell for the waiter to see - they apologized profusely which was a nice gesture). On another occasion, they dripped some wine onto the placemat after pouring us some and didn't wipe it up until they were told about it. Normally this stuff doesn't bother us at all and I would normally just toss the shell to one side and wipe up the wine myself; But because we were at a 3-star Michelin restaurant, it somehow became magnified and unacceptable. The service (people) were fantastic though and super nice/cordial! The ambiance was magnificent (love the tree in the middle of the room)! Maybe my expectations were too high considering this was a 3-star, but I felt the food was probably on par with most 1-2 star Michelin restaurants and the service was on par with other 3-star restaurants I've been to. We went to another famous napa restaurant for lunch the next day (no stars for that one though it probably should get one) and they've never screwed up a meal I've had there before - which is why it's one of my favorites up there. After our meal at Meadowood, we were given a tour of the kitchen (in between the two reservation time slots when there was a little bit of downtime for the kitchen staff). There is a chef's table in the kitchen that seats 4, so if you make a reservation ahead of time, you can ask for it and see your food being prepared. I've heard it's quite an experience! The birthday cake and note from the restaurant were a nice touch at the end also! The table next to us had some pretty unorthodox requests and the restaurant aimed to please and were able to fulfill their requests. I was impressed with that!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

For the price we paid, food lacked of flavor while the presentations were simple. Some of the dishes were salty. Luckily, the service is impeccable! Too expensive for the quality of food it serves. Disappointing to say the least! Meeting the Executive Chef Christopher Kostow and touring the kitchen were the highlights of our dinner. It's hard to imagine it earned 3 Michelin Stars which was the sole reason why we dined here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Beautiful and elegant room. The service was impeccable and the people friendly when appropriate. Not every dish was wonderful but overall a great experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Un souper mémorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dining at The Restaurant at Meadowood is a culinary experience. The attention to detail in all that they do creates a memorable experience; from greeting us by name, to spending time with us to know what we enjoy to drink, and eat was very personalized. Each course was served with a description of it and stunningly plated. The food was perfection! The dining area must be expertly insulated because we were able to have a conversation among ourselves without hearing others. And not one patron took out their phone to snap pictures or to talk on it.

I highly recommend dining here at least once in a life time, because chance are you will want to come back.

Tags: Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service and the food is good. Friends had told us portions would be large, but it was lighter than expected. Service was friendly and answered our random questions. All and all a good night. Visiting the kitchen was an unexpected perk!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The tasting menu was incredible. One of the most beautiful restaurant settings, with a warm and welcoming reception area and cozy dining room. Service was excellent. Highly recommended for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary, and it was nothing short of exceptional. The food and service were the best we've ever encountered. Granted, it can be intimidating to have a 12-course meal served to you and you have no clue what is coming. Open your mind! Every bit that entered our mouths was amazing. All of our servers took great joy in presenting our courses, answering every question we had to offer, and never pressuring us to order additional beverages. It was, and probably will be, the most expensive meal we will ever eat, but one we will never forget. I feel sorry for those that did not experience the same meal that we did, but do not let the negative reviews sway your desire to attend this magnificent restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Finally snagging a reservation three months in advance, we made it to Meadowood over the holidays. It’s an elegant, romantic restaurant, finely appointed and quiet, set in the Meadowood resort and far from the maddening crowd of the Napa Valley. We had the early seating, which was fine since it was already dark when we arrived. The menu is a set menu of 12-13 mini courses, each inventive, creative and wonderful in its own right. Many feature ingredients from the garden on site. The sunchoke beignet, braised leek wrappred in rye with dried albacore, the cauliflower custard and wagyu beef were the particular standouts. Wine pairings are $250, for four glasses. We decided to take advantage of the excellent wine list, spending roughly what we would for the pairings. The service is impeccable, as befits a Michelin 3 star restaurant, and the evening ends with a visit to the kitchen. It is to date the most expensive meal we have ever had and we’ve eaten in a lot of places all over the world. As such, it will be saved for very special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

For these restaurants, I have three main metrics:

1) Does the service feel comfortable, well paced, and friendly?

2) Food taste

3) Do I feel good at the end of the meal (coming back to "well paced")

The service was very good, but felt inauthentic with the exception of Matt the Sommelier (who we had a comfortable and friendly interaction with because we'd previously met at another restaurant). It seemed like the staff was not at ease and possibly uncomfortable with their work environment.

I was disappointed with the two of the three main courses. The fish was phenomenal, but there was a chicken/sturgeon dish that tasted like boiled chicken, I did not finish it. The Waygu beef was extremely fatty. I understand it is a very fatty type of meat, but it was pure fat. Perhaps my taste isn't adventurous enough, but overall, I left the meal unsatisfied.

The wine pairing was two glasses of white and two glasses of red. The benefit of this is that I didn't want to die the morning after, but I would have liked a glass of sparkling with the oyster course (had I known the first glass wouldn't come until the 4th course, I would have ordered one - this is a pacing issue that the server could have helped me avoid). Also it was unfortunate that the dessert wine isn't included as the wine pairing cost is on the higher end.

To date, Quince is still my favorite, with Manresa and French Laundry as a close second and third. The main benefit to Meadowood is the gorgeous hotel property on premise, making a very comfortable post dinner commute, otherwise, I see no reason to return.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Although this was the most expensive meal I have ever had, it was completely worth it. This was a culinary experience I will never forget. Phenomenal!

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have eaten in some wonderful places all over the world.

Last night was the best paced, gastronomically exquisite experience we have ever had.

The portion size and timing was impeccable.

The service was indulgent but not fawning.

The atmosphere hushed and controlled in the very best way.

It was a perfect environment for adult family interaction.

And the food, oh the food...poetry on the palate.

What a truly memorable evening.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Best meal we've ever had

Fantastic service

We have eaten in other 3-star restaurants and this place should cost a lot more than it does

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Overall great food but several dishes missed the mark

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great service and setting. Sommelier was fantastic and recommended good wines. Interesting menu but of the 12-13 courses only 1 or two stood out as "I gotta have that again." As the price was extremely high I thought the value was very low for food that was basically ok. This was not Saison or French Laundry quality food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Just underwhelming, far more enjoyable food at 1

Stars. Service as expected, wonderful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I've had food all around the world and I can honestly say very few meals put a smile on my face. Pricey, yes. With that said, I'm planning my trip back to Napa already and will be dinning there again without question.

Service- friendly. Everyone has good to excellent knowledge of the menu. They work as a team!

SOM- easily had the best wine of my life. Very cool, knowledgeable individual.

Bartender- its his job to make the drinks. Nailed it. But conversation and making the guest feel welcome is apart of it as well. Solid intro to the establishment.

......now, how do I get a job there.... :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The experience at The Restaurant is phenomenal from beginning to end. We pulled up and were welcomed by name as 2 staff members greeted us. One took our vehicle and the other guided us up the stairs. No valet ticket necessary as we found out later our car was waiting for us as we stepped out of the restaurant.

You enter a neo-rustic farmhouse style building with exposed beams and a beautiful sitting area. The dining room has a wall of windows overlooking beautiful grounds. There is a porch for enjoying drinks but we did not have a chance to visit.

The staff was very informative and never stiff, which I found to be very welcoming. Some of our experiences at highly rated restaurants can be stuffy and pretentious, this was anything but.

I decided to accompany my meal with the wine pairing and my wife (who was pregnant) was able to have a non-alcoholic cocktail pairing. The restaurant communicated with me prior to dining about my wife's dietary restrictions for pregnancy. Every dish that was altered for her mirrored my flavor profile but was a completely reimagined dish, not just a substitution.

Highlights: smoked beef tongue (think the best hot dog you have ever had), cauliflower custard with osetra caviar, wagyu with a black garlic sauce. I don't want to give away everything but this meal blew away the French laundry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Service and food was beyond excellent. Very memorable and had a lovely time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Amazing food and impeccable service in a gorgeous setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It's really difficult to write a bad review for any business. But this was the worst food we have ever had. The problem with a restaurant without a menu is that no one can tell the chef not to make them weird foods that taste fishy or strange. The waiters returned half of the plates back to the kitchen with our reasons why they were inedible. One lady at another table had to excuse herself because she complained so much to people at her own table about the bad food. Normally a restaurant would take items off of your bill and apologize if you didn't like them. Oh not here. We have eaten at Joel Robuchon, 3 Michelin Star restaurant in Las Vegas and everything there was delicious. In my opinion there is no room to experiment on people at this price point. For example, pouring snail juice out of its shell on top of a slice of chicken skin cake (at the table) is ferociously disgusting. Another favorite was a smoked Avocado paste with a little helpless green herb on top (that looks like a garnish). Well it turns out the herb is a rare herb that tastes like oysters. Even the sommelier said that people are devisive with that dish. For desert they bring you a 1 inch cube of eggplant and make eggplant flambé. How the heck do you put an eggplant in a desert. It was so gross. Yuck. Lastly, every dish fits on one tablespoon. So even if you like something there is only one bite of it. This is not a dinner. I'm sorry chef. You ruined our 5 year anniversary dinner and charged us ridiculous money for an experiment. Special occasions are ruined at restaurants like this. We will never get our anniversary night back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 16, 2016

One of the best meals of my life. Went there for our anniversary and the level of detail, service, thoughtfulness, together with the outstanding food made what was a very pricey meal feel like a bargain.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had the best experience at Meadowood. The attention to detail is like no other. Perfect place to spend a night from our honeymoon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at Meadowood. The staff was very attentative and each dish was perfectly explained and any questions we had answered. The food was absolutely delicious and each course served at a nice pace. Great place for a special occasion or just a great fine dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent food, presentation and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Absolutely amazing, and even better than last time! If you are in Napa and looking to have that one meal that you will always remember, look no further!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Dining as theatre. Great restaurant. Food is thoughtful and beautiful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (México)·Dined on October 5, 2016

El servicio y ambiente son extraordinarios.

La coctelería muy buena. La selección de vinos es extraordinaria Sin embargo la comida no fue del todo de mi agrado. Hubieron platillos deliciosos e inolvidables pero también hubo otros que no nos gustaron nada.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This restaurant is worth every one of its three Michelin stars. Unforgettable food and ambience. Gracious service. Intimate yet unstuffy dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kent)·Dined on September 29, 2016

"We do not have the capacity to make an espresso", they do however have the capacity to charge $12 for a filter coffee. Meadowood restaurant served up 2 delightful courses alongside 3 of the worst dishes I have eaten. Starting with the positives; the smoked eel & beef tongue is one of the nicest things I have been served, simply stunning. There is a potato dish (I won't spoil the surprise) that was also lovely. The service is polite and attentive while being a little 'scripted' - you can hear the same introduction to each dish around the restaurant. It lacks that 'personal touch' you expect from a restaurant with 3 Michelin Stars. The negatives; the okra flower with caviar is simply the nastiest thing I have ever eaten, truly horrible but the cucumber in rye bread was a very close second. Why on earth you would serve something with as much water in it as a cucumber with rye bread is beyond me; soggy, hard to eat and unpleasant. The main course is a piece of lamb, well cooked but it sits alone on the plate. The main course deserves a little effort from the chef to present a dish worthy of the centre piece of the meal. If it had been served with the lamb broth that might have helped. This was no main event for a meal at this price. The dessert is supposed to be the culmination of the meal, leave on a high. Sweetened eggplant/aubergine and ice cream is not a pleasant way to end a meal. That you can sweeten an eggplant is no justification to do so, but to serve it as a final course on a $330 meal is a disgrace. It was a poorly thought through and executed dish (more soggy food). That I could not even get a decent espresso at the end of meal capped off a truly disappointing experience. I was driving so only a single glass of wine for me and 2 for my lovely wife, but the meal still came to c$900. Value for money is very poor. The food simply isn't up to the billing and there are a lot better restaurants with only a single star, let alone 3. Very very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 29, 2016

What can I say? This was hands down the finest dining experience we have ever had (and we have dined at some great restaurants over the years) It was as if the staff could read our minds when it came to anticipating our needs. Everything down to the slightest detail was PERFECT, but then that would be expected from a Michelin 3 star establishment. We dined at The Restaurant for our first anniversary, so it was an extra special event. We were not disappointed. We had the 10 course prix fixe tasting menu. Many of the items were grown on site and the ingredients were selected with great care. Favorites included the fermented, potatoes with caviar, the halibut sushi with squash juice, eel wrapped with braised beef tongue and nori, and the lamb shank. The desert course included a delicious day lilly sorbet and a play on bananas Foster using eggplant in place of banana and miso for the salt in salted caramel. Bravo!

Our sommelier, Matthew was very helpful with picking wine selections to go with our meal. Also kudos to Eric and Micah as well as the other staff whose names we did not catch, but who went out of their way to make our evening special. All of the staff were very knowledgeable when it came to what was prepared and served. Again, it was all of this and the little details that earn a restaurant the coveted 3 Michelin stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Secret location, Modern interior decoration, Nice service, Creative menu, Impressive dish presentation, and very neat kitchen.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Organic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Victoria is an outstanding and quite knowledgable master som...Chef and his team a well oiled team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Amazing food in stunning location. Worthy of the name "The Restaurant!"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Our dinner was a food concert that hit every note perfectly. I would not have changed one thing about the entire experience. Pure perfection!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great experience and the food was very well presented. It was a little too progressive for our tastes however. Service was excellent and the grounds were beautiful. We'd go back but not to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Absolutely amazing! If you get the chance to eat here do it. The food was extraordinary as well as the service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great service as befitting a Michelin star restaurant. My inherent issue with many of these places that serve tasting menu only items is while the food is often creative, they are often missing the "yummy" factor. The Restaurant at Meadowood is an exception. The meal is well thought out. Very creative, beautiful and more importantly very tasty. However, the effort they sometimes put into certain ingredients are not necessarily worth the payoff(a pluot that was prepared using multiple steps basically tasted like a dried smoked pluot). The amount of food is enough to keep you filled without being too excessive or hungry. The wine is pricey especially by the glass. The beer and cocktail selection is much more affordable. This a special event place with amazing and creative food. More importantly, the food is "yummy". Definitely recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Can't say enough good things. Excellent food. Beyond excellent service. Meal of a lifetime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Outstanding staff and dining experience! From a special prepared menu for our celebrations of three birthdays and myself being cancer free to the wine paring for this amazing preparation of culinary delights!!! Thank you all for making this an A+ memory!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Dining was an amazing experience! Great food served with wonderful wine pairing at a leisurely pace. Each dish was thoroughly explained and all our questions were answered. One of our party was allergic to gluten and the staff did a wonderful job accommodating her.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I had great expectations and an even greater disappointment; I have been at a whole range of Michelin rated restaurants in the US, Europe and in Japan so I have certain expectations and was looking for an exceptional experience in taste, presentation and service regardless of the price. Unfortunately, The Restaurant at Meadowood did not meet any of my criteria. The menu on September 10th started with okra flower oyster, okra seed caviar, which come in a nice presentation however it has tasted as plain oyster, the next course of eel smoked over cabernet staves beef tongue has an overpowering smoky, fishy taste. The braised cucumber rye dried albacore was just plain bad, think about a piece of soft cucumber in a sticky somewhat sweet rye bread and you will get the idea. The fermented potato caviar nasturtium was interesting. This was followed by a roasted gwen (no idea what this means) avocado walnut oil; this represented a pureed avocado with a very distinct fishy taste. The next dish, sunflower pasta spot prawn chanterelle was actually delicious, with a good combination of flavors. Unfortunately the following halibut with fermented squash was a piece of limp fish with no taste and texture at all. The cod cherry tomato bouillabaisse was a strange combination of small pieces of fish in a tomato soup with cherry tomato, not very appetizing. The coal seared squab with fig mustard was actually very good, nicely presented with a great combinations of flavors of the meat, figs, etc. The lamb broth was a clear liquid with the taste of lamb; this was followed with a lamb chop with plum, the meat was not really tender and half of it was just plain fat.

I find the service a bit condescending, snobbish. Overall, the menu lacked the harmony of flavors and at some point it was just plain bad. For a really exceptional dinner experience I would recommend the French Laundry in Napa, the 11 Madison Park, Jean George, Daniel in New York, and endless places in Europe or Japan.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Just outstanding....no other way to describe it! It was our first trip to Napa wine country and we were anxious to try this much talked about restaurant. Luckily we secured a reservation....tho it was a bit later than we had hoped for (as we had flown in early that morning and had scheduled a balloon ride requiring a 5 am wake up the next day). We were a bit exhausted as the time arrived for dinner, but, we rallied and did not regret it for one moment. I had a "pescatarian" tasting menu while my husband had a regular version....I was totally impressed with the ability to tailor the menus to to our dietary preferences (e.g. we both had okra blossoms, but his had an oyster in it while mine had something vegetarian)....but, more than anything, each and every one of the 12- 15 courses were outstanding, just outstanding! Food was not only interesting, but lovely to look at, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious! Yes, I would totally recommend and go back again!!! A tour of the kitchen was offered and completed the lovely evening!

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Best meal of my entire life! Everything came straight from the local on-site garden and was extremely fresh. Service was 5 Star all the way. This experience will be tough to top!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Extremely over priced for what you get. We went for a special occasion and nothing special was done. The lack of a menu provided a "mystery"meal which gives you no options for things instead of raw fish. The food was under seasoned and the staff was pretentious. The drinks were amazing as was the wine! I think the French laundry is a much better choice if you're going to spend $900 on a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We dined at the bar for the three course tasting menu. Sam provided such warm and attentive service we could not have been happier. Honestly, having dined in the dining room and bar, there is no difference in service or quality of food. So memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great experience , amazing wine list, world class service...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Best dining experience of all time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on September 2, 2016

One of two Michelin 3 star restaurants in Napa and well worth a visit. The restaurant is unashamedly about fine dining. It's for serious foodies. it scores high in my US experience because the focus is on producing delicious food. There is the - sadly standard guff about every last ingredient - but hte chef does not forget that he has to tempt the palate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The restaurant was impressive, but not relative to the cost. We had a better meal elsewhere on our trip. The service was good, but not great. It was a fun experience, but I'm unlikely to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.