About The Restaurant at Meadowood

900 Meadowood Lane
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

The Restaurant at Meadowood offers an elegant, but relaxed dining experience featuring the singular Napa Valley cuisine of Chef Christopher Kostow. The Restaurant features a three hundred thirty dollar Tasting Menu in the dining room and a five hundred dollar Counter Menu enjoyed at the Chef's Counter in the kitchen. Both menus are inclusive of service. A tailored wine and spirits pairing experience is also available to accompany the menus.

In addition, The Restaurant offers a fixed three course menu for ninety dollars that can be enjoyed exclusively at the bar. The Restaurant Rotunda features a snack menu for forty dollars, intended to be enjoyed with the celebrated cocktails of bartender Sam Levy. Given the nature of the set menus for each evening, we invite and encourage you to contact us once booked online to make us aware of any severe dietary restrictions several days in advance of your reservation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Silverado Trail

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-1205

Website:
http://www.therestaurantatmeadowood.com/

Parking Details:
The Restaurant offers complimentary valet services

Executive Chef:
Christopher Kostow

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, The Restaurant at Meadowood can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator : 8552836385

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood
The Restaurant at Meadowood

The Restaurant at Meadowood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

66% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
Californian
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in St. Helena ›

Special Occasion (32)
Notable Wine List (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Romantic (23)
Scenic View (6)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Oh dear! I think being the second favou ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined 4 days ago

Oh dear! I think being the second favourite 3 Michelin starred restaurant in Napa Valley is taking its toll. It feels like they're trying too hard to be different and taking too many risks. For us those risks didn't pay off. The Amuse Bouche of a full sized okra flower, filled with oyster and caviar is recommended to be eaten in one bite. Unfortunately with a mouthful of petals the delicacies can barely be tasted. The smoked eel in beef tongue is good as long as you like eel, which my wife doesn't. It was followed by braised cucumber in rye bread, which wasn't my thing, but was my wife's. The Lamb's broth served through apparatus from a chemistry lab, was interesting, fun and tasty and the pasta spot prawn was fabulous. Then came uncooked gelatinous textured halibut, which my wife didn't enjoy and I couldn't finish. The beautifully cooked cod with miniature potatoes was excellent. There was also a dish covered in Grape-Mite, which to our taste was like Marmite. True to form, Nicki loved it, I hated it (sorry UK cultural reference). Desserts were good, but not particularly memorable. Having said all of that, the wine was the star at this meal. We started with a half bottle of Krug and moved on to a 2012 Pahlmeyer, which was the sommelier's suggestion, based on our preferences. It was fabulous and needs adding to our very favourites list. As for the restaurant, we're hoping for a change of approach (or chef) before our next stay at Meadowood. In the meantime, get a table at The French Laundry. A far better experience all round.

Tags: Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

A combination of the most flavorful , fr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

A combination of the most flavorful , freshest, delicate and creative food I've had at any restaurant worldwide.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been fortunate to dine many places ...

vip
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Have been fortunate to dine many places in the world. Keep in mind, while a fantastic experience, very $$$. $1,200 for two was quite the bill...Least expensive local Cabernet $180...terrific staff, tour of kitchen. Attention to every detail. Fun. And $$$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An amazing experience. The food was a wo ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

An amazing experience. The food was a work of art and the service was like the French Laundry of years past. They were kind and friendly as well. Even the little things like having our car out front before we walked out the door.

The wine list was vast so peruse through that on line before you go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is with solid execution at pret ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food is with solid execution at pretty high level, but I had high expectations for a Michelin 3 star, I feel I didn't get anything stunning, especially compared to the dinner we had at Benu the day before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our expectations were high for Meadowood ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Our expectations were high for Meadowood. With the recommendations and the price point we were expecting a French Laundry/Per Se experience. The service was top-tier. But we felt like the chef was trying way too hard to be out-of-the-ordinary (fresh water eel wrapped is calf's tongue; very fishy oyster in a local garden flour; sushi halibut with squeezed apple). The squab was very good, so was the lamb rib. It was good, not out of this world great, as we expected for a tab for two of $1,100.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Best meal of the year!!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Best meal of the year!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Restaurant at Meadowwood is probably ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The Restaurant at Meadowwood is probably the best restaurant that I have been to, and I spend a of effort in trying to good restaurants. Every aspect of the dining experience is handled with meticulous planning and execution. The wait staff are all superb, the sommelier, Ms Victoria, provides excellent advice and her selections for the wine pairings were brilliant.

The restaurant is expensive but worth it. Highest recommendation for anyone enjoys good food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & service if you can stom ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food & service if you can stomach the price tag.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service!!! Hats off to our ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent service!!! Hats off to our server Mikail (not positive on name). He went out of his way to make our terrible 3 hour drive up there better with his service and at the end the meal he offered us to enjoy the out door view. Although the sun was already down, but it was okay, it's thought that counts.

As for food wise. Looks good, but far from good ! I can go to Gary Danko 3 times with the price I paid here and I bet all 3 times will not be upsetting as this place did. Towards the end of the meal my wife and I was hoping for something solid to fill us up. We also asked to box a small little piece of cheese for our dog and was turned down. Instead bought us another 2 pieces of grilled toast, that finally filled us up. How sad, we had to depend on bread to fill us up on a $1k meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

We wanted to try a 3-star Michelin resta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We wanted to try a 3-star Michelin restaurant during our trip to the West Coast and The Restaurant at Meadowood was an amazing experience! Special attention is paid to every detail - from the outstanding fresh-from-the-garden courses to the helpful waiters and elegant yet warm ambiance. Everything is tailor-made. As you would expect, the experience comes with a spicy price... But would highly recommend for special occasions (or to make the night itself a special occasion)!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The tasting menu turned out to be a bunc ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The tasting menu turned out to be a bunch of uncreative, uninspired American dishes, completely lacking in presentation. To add injury to insult, 90% of the courses required that we use our hands, and yet they never offered us anything wet to wipe/clean our hands. The service was really spotty. Just as one example, one waiter misinformed us that we had our last course, when in fact there were 3 more to go. How is that possible when there's only one tasting menu being served? Wine glasses should never be empty before they were refilled. For a 3-michelin star restaurant, I expected much better service.

The place only has 14-16 tables and was mostly empty when we arrived. It took the somm a good 10 minutes to approach our table, long after the amuse bouche had been served. Even then, it was only because I was getting agitated and forcefully asked for her. She arrived at our table with an attitude, and proceeded to give us an uninspired explanation of what would go well with the tasting menu (which was kept secret from us). Since we only wanted one bottle, I simply asked her whether a red or white would go better with the food. She gave me a non-answer and then recommended either a coastal Chardonnay or a local Pinot Noir, which is actually not what I asked her. She should have just described the attributes that would work rather than pinpoint a varietal from a specific region.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The ten course tasting menu was an extra ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The ten course tasting menu was an extraordinary evening! Beautiful dining room in a gorgeous location, impeccable service, wonderful, innovative food made with fresh, seasonal ingredients, many from their own garden. And a 2000+ bottle wine list with options for every budget.

Expensive, but well worth it for this once-in-a-lifetime dining experience. I would not be surprised to see The Restaurant at Meadowood knock The French Laundry from their longstanding perch at the "top" of the Napa Valley restaurant scene in the very near future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once seated (after waiting 10 minutes pa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Once seated (after waiting 10 minutes past our 9 pm Rez) we waited almost 15 minutes until someone acknowledged us.....very awkward. So many wasted opportunities to make guests feel "welcomed" upon their arrival especially if asked to wait until server/table is available. Definitely won't return nor recommend. We absolutely loved our previous night's dinner @ Atelier Crenn (SF) & the proceeding night at The French Laundry....both amazing!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely amazing dinning experience. ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Absolutely amazing dinning experience. From the drinks to the food it was simply spectacular.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing. Amazing service. Amazi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Simply amazing. Amazing service. Amazing wine. Amazingly amazing food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family went for dinner. Everyone enj ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our family went for dinner. Everyone enjoyed the experience! Excellent view and ambiance. Outstanding food. Excellent service !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food presentation was elevated. Flavors ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food presentation was elevated. Flavors were interesting/creative but not always pleasant (e.g. lamb broth). Portions were minuscule. Service - although highly touted in other reviews, was not great.

To be honest - I have had much more delicious, creative 'foodie' type meals before. Overall, I was underwhelmed and accordingly dissapoiinted at the paying the huge bill for such a dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I'm so sorry to say, if it wasn't for ou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I'm so sorry to say, if it wasn't for our server, we would have left. She was very knowledgable and courteous. We basically found the valet inattentive and the hostess cold and unwelcoming; The bartender was as bad as the valet, preoccupied and inattentive, as well, which all together alienated us. Food was good but ambiance was cold, dark, and not a happy place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Truly a bucket list experience. We took ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Truly a bucket list experience. We took the opportunity to dine as the chef's table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Rip-off! Nothing was outstanding to warr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Rip-off! Nothing was outstanding to warrant a 3* Michelin!

Something needs to change.

They don't even have an expression machine !!!

This was a mediocre experience after so much expectation.

3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Top restaurant. I do not remember better ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Top restaurant. I do not remember better service. Degustation was quite good, excellent Martini andrés wine. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not a fish lover so my husband wound up ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Not a fish lover so my husband wound up eating most of my tastings. I would have preferred a beef dish.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Sadly The Restaurant at Meadowood was no ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Sadly The Restaurant at Meadowood was not a very good experience for us. The food was reasonably good and the dining room itself was very nice, the lack of a substantially filling meal for the price is just not on (Benu and The French Laundry really showed them up on the generosity of 3 star food). The biggest disappointment however was the cheese course, hard and cold; straight from the fridge! After no less than 4 waiters told us/lied to us that that was how it should be served the manager told us the cheese should never have left the kitchen. No apology, no attempt to rectify an escalating situation. We simply felt pretty ignored! Add an inept sommelier in to the equation and it wasn't a great meal, especially as we had flown from Australia to celebrate my mother's 60th birthday. Meadowood I was so excited to eat at your restaurant but I'm afraid that I can't recommend it to anyone based on the experience that we had.

Tags: Notable Wine List
3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Most disappointing dinner in the last 9 ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Most disappointing dinner in the last 9 months of our culinary tours through Europe (Paris, San Sebastián, Girona), Lima, Peru, Chicago, and SF Bay Area. It was shockingly bad. 3 courses were over salted and 2 were just plainly not delicious. Only 1 dessert course which consisted of a scoop of ice cream and 3 marzipan dipped in dark currant...that's it! Neither memorable nor fitting of a 3 Star Michelin restaurant compare with at least 10+ restaurants of the same ratings in the last 9 months. We assumed that the executive chef was out of town at the Aspen Food and Wine classic thus the epic failure. Unfortunately, we discovered his presence when we took the kitchen tour which we agreed to out of politeness. We would not recommend this restaurant in the Bay Area.

3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

Very expensive .. Pretentious..not worth ...

vip
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Very expensive .. Pretentious..not worth the $1,000+ price tag. Portions were very small and only two or three were really exceptional.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food is incredible. A once in the l ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food is incredible. A once in the lifetime experience that was expensive but worth every penny. I was there for my 50th birthday. They made the experience special. Highly recomnemded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Huge Disappointment

vip
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Awkward beginning with a walk into a bar area but no one to greet you...we wandered into a restroom alcove and a private dining area before walking into the dining room...no host or stand to direct you...

Table was way too close to a delightful and enthusiastic young couple next to us.

Service in the dining room was spot on but the food was not..

A lamb broth was horrible and left an unpleasant after taste

An avocado soup that inexplicably had avocado oil and olive oils added in quantities that made it greasy

A duck that was tough and hard to cut through....if it was great product it was terrible technique...it was the single worst duck we have ever had....

There was a nicely done cheese course and a nice preparation of abalone...2 courses out of 10 is not really acceptable...

Though we did not ask, we have the sense that Chef may not have been there but it is not an excuse for a mediocre experience at this level

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

good!very good

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

good!very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best meal and wine pairing I've ever ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The best meal and wine pairing I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

This was, by far, the best restaurant we have ever been to. Each course was exquisite, thought-provoking, and delicious. Some of the courses, such as the smoked cod between cabbage leaves, were completely original. It was also the most expensive by a long shot, but as a special occasion event, and based on the quality of the food and the service, I can't say it wasn't worth it. The wine pairings were perfect and I would recommend them. The wine list is among the best we have ever seen and they have amazing wines by the glass--my husband had a glass of Hermitage white (!) while we were waiting for our table--but it was great to see what they recommended for each course and they were all great. Some were really unexpected, such as Pinot Noir with the above-mentioned cod, but all were spot on. Do go here if you can manage it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Meadowood

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Beautiful location. From the moment we arrived at Meadowood, the service was exemplary. The staff were warm & welcoming & extremely attentive.

The service staff & sommelier were knowledgeable & helpful. We had the tasting menu with wine pairing. Every dish was beautifully plated & delicious. The food was exciting to the palate & very innovative. The wine pairing was spot on with each dish. The chef coming out to talk to us made it extra special & a visit to the kitchen was just the icing on the cake. We loved every moment of our dinner at Meadowood. It was a magical, most enjoyable evening thanks to the fabulous food & warm, welcoming staff. This is definitely a place to celebrate special occasions.

Many thanks to the staff at Meadowood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful and unforgettable experience ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A beautiful and unforgettable experience. Each dish was unique and artistically presented to us with incredible table service. The wine parings were amazing, perfectly paired and we loved the presentation of each wine. Overall, this restaurant was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best meals of my life.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

One of the best meals of my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, a wonderful experience.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The food is innovative and delicious. I think I had the best bottle of wine I've ever had, on suggestion of the wonderful sommelier. The service is casual but attentive and so friendly. It was a very busy night when I was there with a lot of culinary VIPs and they didn't miss a beat. Amazing place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Everything from the moment you take your first step onto the beautiful stone stairs to the last drop of coffee was phenomenal. Service was elegant and our captain even shined my glasses! Pure Hospitality from start to finish. The food kept us wanting just one more bite and was really a true representation of the beauty of spring in the Napa Valley. Thank you thank you!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the best michelin three stars in the us.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

creativity, artisitic and impressive combination of ingredients freshly picked in the garden or selected from local market, makes it A wonderful experience in a late afternoon in napa. waiters n waitresses are professional. no more words, it is the best in the us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing - very personalized and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Food was amazing - very personalized and exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

An Experience

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Just an incredible experience combining inventive cuisine, attentive service, and beautiful wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A bucket list experience

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

food, service, wine - exceptional

every bit counted and was amazing

kitchen is incredible

$$$$$$ - be ready but wow

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.