About The Restaurant at Meadowood

900 Meadowood Lane
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

The Restaurant at Meadowood offers an elegant, but relaxed dining experience featuring the singular Napa Valley cuisine of Chef Christopher Kostow. The Restaurant features a three hundred thirty dollar Tasting Menu in the dining room and a five hundred dollar Counter Menu enjoyed at the Chef's Counter in the kitchen. Both menus are inclusive of service. A tailored wine and spirits pairing experience is also available to accompany the menus.

In addition, The Restaurant offers a fixed three course menu for ninety dollars that can be enjoyed exclusively at the bar. The Restaurant Rotunda features a snack menu for forty dollars, intended to be enjoyed with the celebrated cocktails of bartender Sam Levy. Given the nature of the set menus for each evening, we invite and encourage you to contact us once booked online to make us aware of any severe dietary restrictions several days in advance of your reservation.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Silverado Trail

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-1205

Website:
http://www.therestaurantatmeadowood.com/

Parking Details:
The Restaurant offers complimentary valet services

Executive Chef:
Christopher Kostow

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, The Restaurant at Meadowood can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator : 8552836385

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Meadowood Day - The Restaurant at Meadowood, St. Helena, CA
Meadowood Day - The Restaurant at Meadowood, St. Helena, CA
Meadowood Day - The Restaurant at Meadowood, St. Helena, CA
Meadowood Day - The Restaurant at Meadowood, St. Helena, CA
Meadowood Day - The Restaurant at Meadowood, St. Helena, CA
The Restaurant Sign  - The Restaurant at Meadowood, St. Helena, CA
The Restaurant at Meadowood, St. Helena, CA
The Restaurant at Meadowood, St. Helena, CA
Mw Pr - The Restaurant at Meadowood, St. Helena, CA
Meadowood Day - The Restaurant at Meadowood, St. Helena, CA
Meadowood Day - The Restaurant at Meadowood, St. Helena, CA

The Restaurant at Meadowood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in St. Helena ›

Notable Wine List (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Romantic (19)
Tasting Menu (17)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for a Date (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Cozy (5)
Fun (4)
Scenic View (4)
Organic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Authentic (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
939 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have eaten in some wonderful places a ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have eaten in some wonderful places all over the world.

Last night was the best paced, gastronomically exquisite experience we have ever had.

The portion size and timing was impeccable.

The service was indulgent but not fawning.

The atmosphere hushed and controlled in the very best way.

It was a perfect environment for adult family interaction.

And the food, oh the food...poetry on the palate.

What a truly memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal we've ever had Fantastic servi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Best meal we've ever had

Fantastic service

We have eaten in other 3-star restaurants and this place should cost a lot more than it does

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall great food but several dishes mi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Overall great food but several dishes missed the mark

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and setting. Sommelier wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great service and setting. Sommelier was fantastic and recommended good wines. Interesting menu but of the 12-13 courses only 1 or two stood out as "I gotta have that again." As the price was extremely high I thought the value was very low for food that was basically ok. This was not Saison or French Laundry quality food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

I've had food all around the world and I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I've had food all around the world and I can honestly say very few meals put a smile on my face. Pricey, yes. With that said, I'm planning my trip back to Napa already and will be dinning there again without question.

Service- friendly. Everyone has good to excellent knowledge of the menu. They work as a team!

SOM- easily had the best wine of my life. Very cool, knowledgeable individual.

Bartender- its his job to make the drinks. Nailed it. But conversation and making the guest feel welcome is apart of it as well. Solid intro to the establishment.

......now, how do I get a job there.... :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience at The Restaurant is phen ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The experience at The Restaurant is phenomenal from beginning to end. We pulled up and were welcomed by name as 2 staff members greeted us. One took our vehicle and the other guided us up the stairs. No valet ticket necessary as we found out later our car was waiting for us as we stepped out of the restaurant.

You enter a neo-rustic farmhouse style building with exposed beams and a beautiful sitting area. The dining room has a wall of windows overlooking beautiful grounds. There is a porch for enjoying drinks but we did not have a chance to visit.

The staff was very informative and never stiff, which I found to be very welcoming. Some of our experiences at highly rated restaurants can be stuffy and pretentious, this was anything but.

I decided to accompany my meal with the wine pairing and my wife (who was pregnant) was able to have a non-alcoholic cocktail pairing. The restaurant communicated with me prior to dining about my wife's dietary restrictions for pregnancy. Every dish that was altered for her mirrored my flavor profile but was a completely reimagined dish, not just a substitution.

Highlights: smoked beef tongue (think the best hot dog you have ever had), cauliflower custard with osetra caviar, wagyu with a black garlic sauce. I don't want to give away everything but this meal blew away the French laundry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food was beyond excellent. V ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Service and food was beyond excellent. Very memorable and had a lovely time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and impeccable service in a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Amazing food and impeccable service in a gorgeous setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's really difficult to write a bad rev ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It's really difficult to write a bad review for any business. But this was the worst food we have ever had. The problem with a restaurant without a menu is that no one can tell the chef not to make them weird foods that taste fishy or strange. The waiters returned half of the plates back to the kitchen with our reasons why they were inedible. One lady at another table had to excuse herself because she complained so much to people at her own table about the bad food. Normally a restaurant would take items off of your bill and apologize if you didn't like them. Oh not here. We have eaten at Joel Robuchon, 3 Michelin Star restaurant in Las Vegas and everything there was delicious. In my opinion there is no room to experiment on people at this price point. For example, pouring snail juice out of its shell on top of a slice of chicken skin cake (at the table) is ferociously disgusting. Another favorite was a smoked Avocado paste with a little helpless green herb on top (that looks like a garnish). Well it turns out the herb is a rare herb that tastes like oysters. Even the sommelier said that people are devisive with that dish. For desert they bring you a 1 inch cube of eggplant and make eggplant flambé. How the heck do you put an eggplant in a desert. It was so gross. Yuck. Lastly, every dish fits on one tablespoon. So even if you like something there is only one bite of it. This is not a dinner. I'm sorry chef. You ruined our 5 year anniversary dinner and charged us ridiculous money for an experiment. Special occasions are ruined at restaurants like this. We will never get our anniversary night back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

One of the best meals of my life. Went ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 16, 2016

One of the best meals of my life. Went there for our anniversary and the level of detail, service, thoughtfulness, together with the outstanding food made what was a very pricey meal feel like a bargain.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the best experience at Meadowood. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had the best experience at Meadowood. The attention to detail is like no other. Perfect place to spend a night from our honeymoon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experie ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at Meadowood. The staff was very attentative and each dish was perfectly explained and any questions we had answered. The food was absolutely delicious and each course served at a nice pace. Great place for a special occasion or just a great fine dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, presentation and service ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent food, presentation and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing, and even better than ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Absolutely amazing, and even better than last time! If you are in Napa and looking to have that one meal that you will always remember, look no further!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining as theatre. Great restaurant. F ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Dining as theatre. Great restaurant. Food is thoughtful and beautiful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

El servicio y ambiente son extraordinari ...

 
 (México)·Dined on October 5, 2016

El servicio y ambiente son extraordinarios.

La coctelería muy buena. La selección de vinos es extraordinaria Sin embargo la comida no fue del todo de mi agrado. Hubieron platillos deliciosos e inolvidables pero también hubo otros que no nos gustaron nada.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is worth every one of it ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This restaurant is worth every one of its three Michelin stars. Unforgettable food and ambience. Gracious service. Intimate yet unstuffy dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

"We do not have the capacity to make an ...

 
 (Kent)·Dined on September 29, 2016

"We do not have the capacity to make an espresso", they do however have the capacity to charge $12 for a filter coffee. Meadowood restaurant served up 2 delightful courses alongside 3 of the worst dishes I have eaten. Starting with the positives; the smoked eel & beef tongue is one of the nicest things I have been served, simply stunning. There is a potato dish (I won't spoil the surprise) that was also lovely. The service is polite and attentive while being a little 'scripted' - you can hear the same introduction to each dish around the restaurant. It lacks that 'personal touch' you expect from a restaurant with 3 Michelin Stars. The negatives; the okra flower with caviar is simply the nastiest thing I have ever eaten, truly horrible but the cucumber in rye bread was a very close second. Why on earth you would serve something with as much water in it as a cucumber with rye bread is beyond me; soggy, hard to eat and unpleasant. The main course is a piece of lamb, well cooked but it sits alone on the plate. The main course deserves a little effort from the chef to present a dish worthy of the centre piece of the meal. If it had been served with the lamb broth that might have helped. This was no main event for a meal at this price. The dessert is supposed to be the culmination of the meal, leave on a high. Sweetened eggplant/aubergine and ice cream is not a pleasant way to end a meal. That you can sweeten an eggplant is no justification to do so, but to serve it as a final course on a $330 meal is a disgrace. It was a poorly thought through and executed dish (more soggy food). That I could not even get a decent espresso at the end of meal capped off a truly disappointing experience. I was driving so only a single glass of wine for me and 2 for my lovely wife, but the meal still came to c$900. Value for money is very poor. The food simply isn't up to the billing and there are a lot better restaurants with only a single star, let alone 3. Very very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

What can I say? This was hands down the ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 29, 2016

What can I say? This was hands down the finest dining experience we have ever had (and we have dined at some great restaurants over the years) It was as if the staff could read our minds when it came to anticipating our needs. Everything down to the slightest detail was PERFECT, but then that would be expected from a Michelin 3 star establishment. We dined at The Restaurant for our first anniversary, so it was an extra special event. We were not disappointed. We had the 10 course prix fixe tasting menu. Many of the items were grown on site and the ingredients were selected with great care. Favorites included the fermented, potatoes with caviar, the halibut sushi with squash juice, eel wrapped with braised beef tongue and nori, and the lamb shank. The desert course included a delicious day lilly sorbet and a play on bananas Foster using eggplant in place of banana and miso for the salt in salted caramel. Bravo!

Our sommelier, Matthew was very helpful with picking wine selections to go with our meal. Also kudos to Eric and Micah as well as the other staff whose names we did not catch, but who went out of their way to make our evening special. All of the staff were very knowledgeable when it came to what was prepared and served. Again, it was all of this and the little details that earn a restaurant the coveted 3 Michelin stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Secret location, Modern interior decorat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Secret location, Modern interior decoration, Nice service, Creative menu, Impressive dish presentation, and very neat kitchen.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Organic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Victoria is an outstanding and quite kno ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Victoria is an outstanding and quite knowledgable master som...Chef and his team a well oiled team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food in stunning location. Worth ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Amazing food in stunning location. Worthy of the name "The Restaurant!"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner was a food concert that hit e ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Our dinner was a food concert that hit every note perfectly. I would not have changed one thing about the entire experience. Pure perfection!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience and the food was very w ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great experience and the food was very well presented. It was a little too progressive for our tastes however. Service was excellent and the grounds were beautiful. We'd go back but not to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing! If you get the chanc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Absolutely amazing! If you get the chance to eat here do it. The food was extraordinary as well as the service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service as befitting a Michelin st ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great service as befitting a Michelin star restaurant. My inherent issue with many of these places that serve tasting menu only items is while the food is often creative, they are often missing the "yummy" factor. The Restaurant at Meadowood is an exception. The meal is well thought out. Very creative, beautiful and more importantly very tasty. However, the effort they sometimes put into certain ingredients are not necessarily worth the payoff(a pluot that was prepared using multiple steps basically tasted like a dried smoked pluot). The amount of food is enough to keep you filled without being too excessive or hungry. The wine is pricey especially by the glass. The beer and cocktail selection is much more affordable. This a special event place with amazing and creative food. More importantly, the food is "yummy". Definitely recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't say enough good things. Excellent ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Can't say enough good things. Excellent food. Beyond excellent service. Meal of a lifetime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding staff and dining experience! ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Outstanding staff and dining experience! From a special prepared menu for our celebrations of three birthdays and myself being cancer free to the wine paring for this amazing preparation of culinary delights!!! Thank you all for making this an A+ memory!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dining was an amazing experience! Great ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Dining was an amazing experience! Great food served with wonderful wine pairing at a leisurely pace. Each dish was thoroughly explained and all our questions were answered. One of our party was allergic to gluten and the staff did a wonderful job accommodating her.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had great expectations and an even gre ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I had great expectations and an even greater disappointment; I have been at a whole range of Michelin rated restaurants in the US, Europe and in Japan so I have certain expectations and was looking for an exceptional experience in taste, presentation and service regardless of the price. Unfortunately, The Restaurant at Meadowood did not meet any of my criteria. The menu on September 10th started with okra flower oyster, okra seed caviar, which come in a nice presentation however it has tasted as plain oyster, the next course of eel smoked over cabernet staves beef tongue has an overpowering smoky, fishy taste. The braised cucumber rye dried albacore was just plain bad, think about a piece of soft cucumber in a sticky somewhat sweet rye bread and you will get the idea. The fermented potato caviar nasturtium was interesting. This was followed by a roasted gwen (no idea what this means) avocado walnut oil; this represented a pureed avocado with a very distinct fishy taste. The next dish, sunflower pasta spot prawn chanterelle was actually delicious, with a good combination of flavors. Unfortunately the following halibut with fermented squash was a piece of limp fish with no taste and texture at all. The cod cherry tomato bouillabaisse was a strange combination of small pieces of fish in a tomato soup with cherry tomato, not very appetizing. The coal seared squab with fig mustard was actually very good, nicely presented with a great combinations of flavors of the meat, figs, etc. The lamb broth was a clear liquid with the taste of lamb; this was followed with a lamb chop with plum, the meat was not really tender and half of it was just plain fat.

I find the service a bit condescending, snobbish. Overall, the menu lacked the harmony of flavors and at some point it was just plain bad. For a really exceptional dinner experience I would recommend the French Laundry in Napa, the 11 Madison Park, Jean George, Daniel in New York, and endless places in Europe or Japan.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Just outstanding....no other way to desc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Just outstanding....no other way to describe it! It was our first trip to Napa wine country and we were anxious to try this much talked about restaurant. Luckily we secured a reservation....tho it was a bit later than we had hoped for (as we had flown in early that morning and had scheduled a balloon ride requiring a 5 am wake up the next day). We were a bit exhausted as the time arrived for dinner, but, we rallied and did not regret it for one moment. I had a "pescatarian" tasting menu while my husband had a regular version....I was totally impressed with the ability to tailor the menus to to our dietary preferences (e.g. we both had okra blossoms, but his had an oyster in it while mine had something vegetarian)....but, more than anything, each and every one of the 12- 15 courses were outstanding, just outstanding! Food was not only interesting, but lovely to look at, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious! Yes, I would totally recommend and go back again!!! A tour of the kitchen was offered and completed the lovely evening!

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best meal of my entire life! Everything ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Best meal of my entire life! Everything came straight from the local on-site garden and was extremely fresh. Service was 5 Star all the way. This experience will be tough to top!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely over priced for what you get. ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Extremely over priced for what you get. We went for a special occasion and nothing special was done. The lack of a menu provided a "mystery"meal which gives you no options for things instead of raw fish. The food was under seasoned and the staff was pretentious. The drinks were amazing as was the wine! I think the French laundry is a much better choice if you're going to spend $900 on a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

We dined at the bar for the three course ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We dined at the bar for the three course tasting menu. Sam provided such warm and attentive service we could not have been happier. Honestly, having dined in the dining room and bar, there is no difference in service or quality of food. So memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience , amazing wine list, wo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great experience , amazing wine list, world class service...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best dining experience of all time

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Best dining experience of all time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of two Michelin 3 star restaurants i ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 2, 2016

One of two Michelin 3 star restaurants in Napa and well worth a visit. The restaurant is unashamedly about fine dining. It's for serious foodies. it scores high in my US experience because the focus is on producing delicious food. There is the - sadly standard guff about every last ingredient - but hte chef does not forget that he has to tempt the palate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The restaurant was impressive, but not r ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The restaurant was impressive, but not relative to the cost. We had a better meal elsewhere on our trip. The service was good, but not great. It was a fun experience, but I'm unlikely to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

We have dined here before, for our anni ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We have dined here before, for our anniversary, and we previously had a wonderful experience. In the past, we both did the wine pairing with the food and the choices of wine were fantastic and it seemed that every course had a different wine. The food was artistic, eclectic ,and delicious. A good value for your money since the wine pairing was about $125.00 per person and it seemed like they kept pouring if you wanted it.

This time our food was equally as artistic and delicious and everything is served with explanation and good . The only problem was at the beginning when we sat there for a good 10 minutes before we were asked if we wanted a drink. Finally someone came and we were asked about drinks. I decided not to do the wine pairing and I aske for some wine. My husband decided to do the wine pairing. When I received a drink my husband was not served anything to drink even through the first amuse bouchée. . I felt bad since I had a drink and he didn't. Finally with the next course my husband got some wine. All in all the food was fantastic but the wine pairing was a disappointment. The charge was $200.00 per person and it was limited to 4 wines glasses. My husband looked up the wines he was served and they were fairly inexpensive wines which did not translate to $50.00 a glass

We both love the food but we would think twice about doing the wine pairing again. The 10 minute wait at the beginning was probably not per usual, but everyone should get the attention needed when paying such high prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was wonderful. We felt that ev ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The food was wonderful. We felt that every dish was a mini master piece. The only two things that we would change would be the amount of noise and the casual dress of people really down grades the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.