About McNinch House

511 North Church St.
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

For the last 22 years, the ca. 1892 Queen Anne style home of Victorian-era Charlotte Mayor Sam McNinch has served as the McNinch House Restaurant. In this historic Fourth Ward home of chef/owner Ellen Davis, guests can expect to be treated like royalty during their multi-course culinary journey. Featuring Charlotte's most carefully constructed wine list, guests will select their entrees from the chef's choice menu, and professional service staff will take care of the rest. Recognized as Charlotte's Most Romantic Restaurant, The McNinch House Restaurant is the perfect place for your anniversary, birthday, special event, private corporate or executive dining. **ALL RESERVATIONS MUST INCLUDE A VALID EMAIL ADDRESS TO CONFIRM**



Dinner Only, Prix Fixe:

7 Courses-$99pp

5 Courses-$79pp

Chef's Tasting-$175pp

Chef's Table-$149pp

+ alcohol, tax, & gratuity (20% standard)

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only: Tuesday - Saturday evenings
Seatings every 30 minutes from 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 9th St. & 8th St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-6159

Website:
http://www.mcninchhouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking on our private property for up to 20 vehicles.

Executive Chef:
Juan Carlos Garcia

Private Party Facilities:
Private party accommodations are offered for groups up to 50. We welcome weddings, rehearsal dinners, corporate closing dinners, and medical education dinners, and will be happy to discuss your individual group's needs for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Corey Cochran: 704-332-6159x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

McNinch House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte
3 More
Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

special occasion (24)
romantic (20)
fit for foodies (15)
See All
notable wine list (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
424 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, the wine pairings and the serv ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food, the wine pairings and the service was impeccable. So happy we ate there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although it is on the expensive side we ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Although it is on the expensive side we thought it was a wonderful dining experience. The ambiance was quiet and elegant. The service was impeccable. The wine selection and selection advice from the sommelier was superb and well matched to our food. We will be back

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Bucket Lister

Dined on April 9, 2016

You've got to cross this one off your list. Everything was very good, but nothing was excellent. It was a nice novelty meal but now that we've been there and done that, I doubt we'll be back.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food with excellent service

Dined on March 30, 2016

I was told that the McNinch House had some of the best food in Charlotte. They did not disappoint. While fairly pricey, it was quite the experience. The staff was amazing and the ambience was great. Would definitely recommend if interested in fine dining.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the duck and my wife had the salmo ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

I had the duck and my wife had the salmon. Both were outstanding. I recommend doing the wine pairing. It is well worth it.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful Experience

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

We finally got to try this wonderful restaurant. Truly a spot that must be tried at least once. We had the 5 course, and it was wonderfully plated and all dishes were very good. Portions are good, and even though this is the smallest Prix Fixe on the menu. you won't leave hungry. My only negative is that they add a 20% gratuity automatically to the bill, regardless of the size of your party (we were 4).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A truly memorable dining experience. The ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

A truly memorable dining experience. The fixed price 5 course meal was one of the best we have had in Charlotte or anywhere. The service was impeccable and the ambiance lovely. Definitely a restaurant for any special occasion.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

It was disappointing; expectations too high?

Dined on March 6, 2016

This was our second visit to the McNinch House, and our anniversary. We waited 20 minutes to have our drink order taken and I had to go talk to someone to get served. We sat next to other couples who were clearly waiting to be served as well, so seeing anxious faces didn't exactly improve the ambiance. There was "valet parking" but silly really as it was just a driveway that led to the back parking lot; I'm glad we didn't do that as I saw people waiting for their car when they could have just walked 20 feet and retrieved it themselves. Overall, I can't remember anybody checking in on us throughout the night other than to deliver the food or ask if I'd like more wine halfway through the night; the tip was automatically included in the bill at 20% - I would have given less (which is atypical for me).

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Birthday Present

Dined on March 5, 2016

We first visited McNinch House on a food tour by Feast and were impressed so we made a reservation for my birthday dinner. What a great choice! We were seated early so the dining room wasn't full. We got more time with the wait staff and Wesley, the wine steward. We chose to have the wine pairing with our meal. That was the right decision because we got to try great new wines. The food was wonderful. We loved the she crab soup. My husband was inspired to try making it at home! Both the lamb and duck entrees were delicious and beautifully presented. The lemon meringue desert was a perfect end to the meal. If you want a very special meal in an elegant atmosphere, McNinch House is just the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service, classic tasting menu ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent service, classic tasting menu and thoughtful wine pairings make this the quintessential romantic dining spot it has been and continues to be!

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Mixed Results At Dinner

Dined on February 28, 2016

My wife and I recently had dinner at McNinch House with mixed results. The service was flawless, and the wine selections for each course were truly outstanding. It was the food that varied from superb (the amuse bouche, the soups, my duck, my dessert) to disappointing: the crab cakes were tasteless due to crab that was too finely shredded and too much filler; my wife's grouper was dry and overcooked (they did comp the bubbly to compensate somewhat); my wife's dessert of coconut flan had no flavor. Overall, however, it is overpriced for the food. If the total bill had been ~ $200, we'd go back. But at $380, it was just not worth it. One can do just as well at Barrington's, The Gallery, or some other Charlotte restaurants for much less.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Not a return !

Dined on February 27, 2016

Too expensive! No wine or other beverage. No coffee. Tab was $206 ! Sorbet is NOT a course! 20% auto tip is presumptuous! Service was a little slow. The filet.. much better at Del Friscos and Ruth's. Valet parking...not really! Not a return............ Ted Wlodarczak

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Service shines above food

Dined on February 21, 2016

The service is excellent, but the food did not quite live up to the hype. My wife and I both had the grouper which is a bit rubbery and quite small. The crab cakes and she crab soup were outstanding, but that was about it. We went in knowing it would be expensive and walked out knowing we could have done better elsewhere with that kind of money. Our bill was over $300 and we weren't even getting into good wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charlotte Jewel

Dined on February 21, 2016

Though we no longer live in Charlotte, we come back to McNinch House every year to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mcninch House

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was high quality and presented with flair. All the courses were paired with a wine selected by the sommelier. His choices complimented perfectly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Restaurant was freezing cold

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went here for our Valentines dinner. The house was nice, we were seated in front room surrounded by windows and it was freezing. You cold feel the draft coming in. We could not take off our coats. The food was good, but we could not really savor the meal. We got the 7 course option, but rushed thru it. At the end of our meal, finally someone said the heat was not working. I understand problems, just expected someone to have acknowledge the fact and tried to make it better. Expected more with a $300 dinner for 2.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great spot for a special occasion!

Dined on February 14, 2016

My brought my fiancee here for our "Valen-versary" (yes, both coincide, cheesy I know). The service and food was, if not the best, then in the top three I've experienced. I noted the "Value" as three stars only because it doesn't take a ton to get myself and my fiancee full, but we were easily able to clear our plates (did the five course deal) and I definitely had room for more. Whether I happened to be extra hungry that day or I'm just that use to oversize restaurant portions, $250 is a hefty tag to pay and not be full. Be that as it may, the food was ridiculous and it wasn't as though I was starving afterward. Also, I rated "Ambience" as three stars. Personally, the old, refuse-to-update-at-all style just generally isn't my thing, so I'm a little biased. I get that it's a historic house and all, but it seems little things could be done to improve the aesthetics without necessarily taking away from the history. All in all, awesome dinner and would recommend (go for the filet mignon, you won't regret it)!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on January 31, 2016

The experience from the time you arrive until you leave is excellent. Everyone is very friendly and attentive to all of your needs. We will be returning.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience

Dined on January 31, 2016

I love the relaxed atmosphere of the McNinch House, Excellent food, Excellent wine and wonderful friends to celebrate my birthday with. We started at 7p and celebrated until 11P. We had a wonderful evening catching up, the service was as always impecable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service2

The location. It was a bit sketchy. Not ...

Dined on January 15, 2016

The location. It was a bit sketchy. Not your typical restaurant, and the parking was teribble. The drive way extremely reduced, and the parking lot was basically a back yard made out rocks.

food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Disappointed

Dined on January 1, 2016

I just don't understand why this restaurant is highly rated. The food was bland and uninspired. Hint: sorbet is not a course.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Southern Charm

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

Wow formal southern elegance isn't dead, it lives at the McNinch house. The food is definitely worth going for but the service is the cherry on the sundae! I know 5 stars are a high distinction, this isn't perfect but it's closer to 5 stars than 4!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on December 24, 2015

We were celebrating 2015 and this was a great place. The 7 course dinner was more then we could eat. The waiters kept our wine glasses full all night

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Gem

Dined on December 20, 2015

Recently ate here on our anniversary. It was more than a dinner out, it was an experience. It was a perfect location to celebrate with your loved one.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The McNinch House should be on your bucket list.

Dined on December 20, 2015

We celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary here and everything was excellent from the food to the ambiance to the wine pairings.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

McNinch House

Dined on December 18, 2015

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our anniversary in a very special way. We had a wonderful experience at the McNinch House. All of the staff provided phenomenal service. The wine and food was spectacular. We look forward to coming again and would certainly recommend the McNinch House to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to the McNinch House to celebra ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

We went to the McNinch House to celebrate Christmas in Dec 2015 the Saturday night before a Panthers game. We absolutely loved the food, service and the Festive Christmas atmosphere. The building had a lot of character. The price of the meal was expensive, but the food, wine, atmosphere and service were definitely worth it. Guy Ashby and I will be back to celebrate one day soon!

food5
ambience5
service5

As always, a truly elegant dining experi ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

As always, a truly elegant dining experience. Corey and the staff had everything set perfectly for us and the food was superb. The Christmas decorations and soft Christmas music combined for a very nice holiday atmosphere. Wes' wine pairings were just right as an accompaniment to the dishes. We have been regulars for years and of course will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Ultimate dining experience. Went for my ...

Dined on December 5, 2015

Ultimate dining experience. Went for my wife's birthday and ordered the Five course with the wine pairing. Enjoyed succulent treats such as prosciutto wrapped quail, she crab soup, lamb, salmon, duck. Wine was beautifully presented and plentiful. Service was great! Plenty of time to relax, talk, and enjoy!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The Best of Charlotte

Dined on November 28, 2015

We had a party of 4. We were celebrating the purchase of my son's first home. The McNinch House experience was perfect from the personalized greeting when we arrived to the family friendly environment. The McNinch restaurant is an old home where you feel like you are visiting your wealthy grandparents. It should be noted that grandma (the owner) lives upstairs in the house and occasionally interacts with customers (family) in the early evening. The waiters were friendly, attentive and helpful. We started with a glass of champagne and did a wine pairing for our dinner; Wes, the sommelier, was knowledgeable and informative about the wines and their vineyards. The wines were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the appetizers (crab cakes), she-crab soup, pear-salad and deserts. The filet mignon entre was better than the salmon. Overall, it was a wonderful dinner. We were there for 2 1/2 hours. McNinch is a charming, romantic restaurant which is ideal for special occasions. It is expensive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

will go again

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

Pricey, but worth it. I would expect this level of food, service and ambience for this type of highly rated restaurant. Great for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Anniversary Celebration!

Dined on November 22, 2015

This was our first visit to the McNinch house, but it won't be the last. We had noticed it while looking at a neighboring condo, and were intrigued. We ended up going to celebrate our 29th anniversary. From the moment we arrived, we were impressed with all aspects of this gem of a restaurant. I highly recommend it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

Medicore...at best.

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

I found the service to be mediocre, but even more disappointing was the food. The tasting menu was unimpressive and overly priced for the level of sophistication.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent venue beautifully decorated fo ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

Excellent venue beautifully decorated for the holidays!

food3
ambience5
service3

Not worth the money

Dined on November 13, 2015

Good place but overpriced. The historic house was awesome but the food's quality and quantity doesn't match the price. Crab cakes was the only food that stood out as exceptional and worth the money. Wine pairing is a must. Wes does a great job with choosing good wines but careful as wines are marked up 3 times the market price. Overall a good experience but not good enough at $250 a person.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Our evening

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

Overall great! Couple if minor points: To go box never given Chair card not given after promised

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Outdated

Dined on October 31, 2015

The food and service were excellent. The ambiance was lacking in that I felt the place needed updating and it was a bit drab. Also, it was very expensive for the amount of food and wine we received.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service and ambiance

Dined on October 25, 2015

We were in Charlotte visiting and wanted to go to a nice dinner to celebrate our anniversary. The McNinch House is great for a romantic dinner and the food is very good although not as good as other restaurants of similar price. The service and atmosphere was bar none.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Neat local place

Dined on October 24, 2015

The history of the building is cool. Service was very attentive. Food was excellent and creative. Serving that many courses takes a while so know that going in. Check this place out!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a special night

Dined on October 17, 2015

We had an amazing time, just relaxing on the porch swing before dinner on a perfect fall evening. It was a wonderful evening alone with the most special person, and we were treated like the only people dinning that night. The selections were great, the food was simple, yet outstanding, which was good as I am very basic in my selections and my wife likes the finer selections. The service was amazing, there when something was needed but not hanging over you. You could spend an hour just looking at how the different rooms are decorated, it is very classy and makes you feel like your at home. Having lived in Charlotte for over 12 years, I always heard about how expensive it was, it is no more than any first class place you will go and I have never felt so comfortable at a fine dinning restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.