About McNinch House

511 North Church St.
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

For the last 22 years, the ca. 1892 Queen Anne style home of Victorian-era Charlotte Mayor Sam McNinch has served as the McNinch House Restaurant. In this historic Fourth Ward home of chef/owner Ellen Davis, guests can expect to be treated like royalty during their multi-course culinary journey. Featuring Charlotte's most carefully constructed wine list, guests will select their entrees from the chef's choice menu, and professional service staff will take care of the rest. Recognized as Charlotte's Most Romantic Restaurant, The McNinch House Restaurant is the perfect place for your anniversary, birthday, special event, private corporate or executive dining. **ALL RESERVATIONS MUST INCLUDE A VALID EMAIL ADDRESS TO CONFIRM**



Dinner Only, Prix Fixe:

7 Courses-$109pp

5 Courses-$89pp

Chef's Tasting-$185pp

Chef's Table-$159pp

+ alcohol, tax, & gratuity (20% standard)

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only: Tuesday - Saturday evenings
Seatings every 30 minutes from 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 9th St. & 8th St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-6159

Website:
http://www.mcninchhouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking on our private property for up to 20 vehicles.

Executive Chef:
Juan Carlos Garcia

Private Party Facilities:
Private party accommodations are offered for groups up to 50. We welcome weddings, rehearsal dinners, corporate closing dinners, and medical education dinners, and will be happy to discuss your individual group's needs for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Corey Cochran: 704-332-6159x

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
In Celebration of Robert Mondavi's 50th Anniversary The McNinch House Restaurant is Hosting A Wine Tasting & Dinner
October 25th, 7pm
$125.00 pp Winery Prizes
Seating is Limited
Reservations: mcninchhouserestaurant.com or call: 704-332-6159

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

McNinch House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
5 More
Special Occasion
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (20)
Notable Wine List (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Worth the Drive (3)
Historic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Organic (2)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (2)
Business Meals (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
441 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very pricey, but worth the expense. The ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Very pricey, but worth the expense. The food was great, but the historical house made for an excellent setting. Allow enough time to experience all the courses. Great for very special occasions and for when you want to impress or treat someone special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding meal and service...........E ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Outstanding meal and service...........Extraordinarily expensive............!!!!!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a lovely dining experience and th ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a lovely dining experience and the food was wonderful. Sadly, however, my spouse contracted food poisoning from the experience. She had a beef tartar dish and we suspect that may have been the culprit. We phoned McNinch House the next day to relay our experience. Although we left a voicemail message and our number for a call back, the McNinch staff did not return our call. Given the significant expense of our dining experience combined with a very ill outcome, a brief return call of concern or goodwill would have been in order and appropriate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always excellent choice for special occa ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Always excellent choice for special occasions. Great food, presentation, and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I received a gift certificate to dine th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I received a gift certificate to dine there and my daughter and her husband came with me. It was very good, but only two other people were there, it is very expensive, but elegant. I probably won't ever go again but if was a nice experience. If was uncomfortable to me without other people there, especially since I heard I had to make my reservations far in advance because they are always so crowded. The service was excellent and the food was very good, but I suspect it would be more fun to go on a weekend when more people are there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Love this place! Celebrated our 39th An ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Love this place! Celebrated our 39th Anniversary! Wait staff was excellent! Looking forward to another special occasion!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Did the 5 course with wine pairings. Ple ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Did the 5 course with wine pairings. Plenty of food and the foie gras will blow you away. Service wasnt stuffy at all and they all worked as a team. Expensive but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent. The staff was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service was excellent. The staff was very friendly and informative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

McNinch House is a beautiful, quiet sett ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

McNinch House is a beautiful, quiet setting for a romantic evening. The service is fantastic, not stuffy or stodgy, but attentive, friendly, and providing just the right balance of "I'm here to serve you" and "I know when to disappear". The food was, as expected, top notch. We chose the "five course" meal. From the lump crab cakes starter, to the peach ice cream (homemade from South Carolina peaches), each course was wonderful. It was a great way to spend our 33rd anniversary. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best word to describe our experience ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The best word to describe our experience was amusing. Or maybe pretentious. In either case, we laughed our way through the cat food reminiscent beginning through the greens that should have been left in the weedbed and all the way to the pudding-like desert. In between was sea bass that had the taste of a tablespoon of Morton's salt and an average and undercooked filet. Otherwise a perfect first anniversary celebration. And all of it for under $300. Who would've thunk it possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Very romantic!!! Perfect for a special n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very romantic!!! Perfect for a special night out with someone you love!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience. Food was fantas ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great dining experience. Food was fantastic. The wine Stewart was knowledgeable and picked perfect wine pairings. Very pricey but nice for that special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Expensive but you get what you pay for. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Expensive but you get what you pay for. And the food was worth it. The chef came out too. The serving team did a great job pairing wines with each course. Looking forward to next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal though it was somewhat pr ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent meal though it was somewhat pricey. Would recommend if it was for a very special occasion (ours was a 42nd wedding anniversary)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have enjoyed dining at the McNinch house ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Have enjoyed dining at the McNinch house for many years. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the experience was exactly as pr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Overall the experience was exactly as promised from previous reviewers. It was a very romantic setting for an anniversary celebration. Food and service were very good. Highlights included the wine pairings for the 6 course tasting menu and the duck breast course. My second favorite was the peach salad. Great use of seasonal ingredients in the menu. One other thing - tasting menu portions were sized appropriately, which is a plus as many think a tasting is a full size portion. The Chef at McNinch House knows how to entertain! I even got a rose at the end of dinner :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food, the wine pairings and the serv ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food, the wine pairings and the service was impeccable. So happy we ate there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although it is on the expensive side we ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Although it is on the expensive side we thought it was a wonderful dining experience. The ambiance was quiet and elegant. The service was impeccable. The wine selection and selection advice from the sommelier was superb and well matched to our food. We will be back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I absolutely love this pl ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My husband and I absolutely love this place, when we go we feel like we are the only people there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bucket Lister

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

You've got to cross this one off your list. Everything was very good, but nothing was excellent. It was a nice novelty meal but now that we've been there and done that, I doubt we'll be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Amazing food with excellent service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

I was told that the McNinch House had some of the best food in Charlotte. They did not disappoint. While fairly pricey, it was quite the experience. The staff was amazing and the ambience was great. Would definitely recommend if interested in fine dining.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the duck and my wife had the salmo ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I had the duck and my wife had the salmon. Both were outstanding. I recommend doing the wine pairing. It is well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Experience

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

We finally got to try this wonderful restaurant. Truly a spot that must be tried at least once. We had the 5 course, and it was wonderfully plated and all dishes were very good. Portions are good, and even though this is the smallest Prix Fixe on the menu. you won't leave hungry.

My only negative is that they add a 20% gratuity automatically to the bill, regardless of the size of your party (we were 4).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A truly memorable dining experience. The ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

A truly memorable dining experience. The fixed price 5 course meal was one of the best we have had in Charlotte or anywhere. The service was impeccable and the ambiance lovely. Definitely a restaurant for any special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was disappointing; expectations too high?

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

This was our second visit to the McNinch House, and our anniversary. We waited 20 minutes to have our drink order taken and I had to go talk to someone to get served. We sat next to other couples who were clearly waiting to be served as well, so seeing anxious faces didn't exactly improve the ambiance. There was "valet parking" but silly really as it was just a driveway that led to the back parking lot; I'm glad we didn't do that as I saw people waiting for their car when they could have just walked 20 feet and retrieved it themselves. Overall, I can't remember anybody checking in on us throughout the night other than to deliver the food or ask if I'd like more wine halfway through the night; the tip was automatically included in the bill at 20% - I would have given less (which is atypical for me).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Wonderful Birthday Present

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We first visited McNinch House on a food tour by Feast and were impressed so we made a reservation for my birthday dinner. What a great choice! We were seated early so the dining room wasn't full. We got more time with the wait staff and Wesley, the wine steward. We chose to have the wine pairing with our meal. That was the right decision because we got to try great new wines. The food was wonderful. We loved the she crab soup. My husband was inspired to try making it at home! Both the lamb and duck entrees were delicious and beautifully presented. The lemon meringue desert was a perfect end to the meal. If you want a very special meal in an elegant atmosphere, McNinch House is just the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, classic tasting menu ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent service, classic tasting menu and thoughtful wine pairings make this the quintessential romantic dining spot it has been and continues to be!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Mixed Results At Dinner

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

My wife and I recently had dinner at McNinch House with mixed results. The service was flawless, and the wine selections for each course were truly outstanding. It was the food that varied from superb (the amuse bouche, the soups, my duck, my dessert) to disappointing: the crab cakes were tasteless due to crab that was too finely shredded and too much filler; my wife's grouper was dry and overcooked (they did comp the bubbly to compensate somewhat); my wife's dessert of coconut flan had no flavor. Overall, however, it is overpriced for the food. If the total bill had been ~ $200, we'd go back. But at $380, it was just not worth it. One can do just as well at Barrington's, The Gallery, or some other Charlotte restaurants for much less.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Not a return !

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Too expensive! No wine or other beverage. No coffee. Tab was $206 ! Sorbet is NOT a course! 20% auto tip is presumptuous! Service was a little slow. The filet.. much better at Del Friscos and Ruth's. Valet parking...not really! Not a return............

Ted Wlodarczak

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Service shines above food

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The service is excellent, but the food did not quite live up to the hype. My wife and I both had the grouper which is a bit rubbery and quite small. The crab cakes and she crab soup were outstanding, but that was about it. We went in knowing it would be expensive and walked out knowing we could have done better elsewhere with that kind of money. Our bill was over $300 and we weren't even getting into good wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Charlotte Jewel

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Though we no longer live in Charlotte, we come back to McNinch House every year to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mcninch House

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was high quality and presented with flair. All the courses were paired with a wine selected by the sommelier. His choices complimented perfectly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was freezing cold

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went here for our Valentines dinner. The house was nice, we were seated in front room surrounded by windows and it was freezing. You cold feel the draft coming in. We could not take off our coats. The food was good, but we could not really savor the meal. We got the 7 course option, but rushed thru it. At the end of our meal, finally someone said the heat was not working. I understand problems, just expected someone to have acknowledge the fact and tried to make it better. Expected more with a $300 dinner for 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Great spot for a special occasion!

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My brought my fiancee here for our "Valen-versary" (yes, both coincide, cheesy I know). The service and food was, if not the best, then in the top three I've experienced. I noted the "Value" as three stars only because it doesn't take a ton to get myself and my fiancee full, but we were easily able to clear our plates (did the five course deal) and I definitely had room for more. Whether I happened to be extra hungry that day or I'm just that use to oversize restaurant portions, $250 is a hefty tag to pay and not be full. Be that as it may, the food was ridiculous and it wasn't as though I was starving afterward. Also, I rated "Ambience" as three stars. Personally, the old, refuse-to-update-at-all style just generally isn't my thing, so I'm a little biased. I get that it's a historic house and all, but it seems little things could be done to improve the aesthetics without necessarily taking away from the history. All in all, awesome dinner and would recommend (go for the filet mignon, you won't regret it)!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Awesome

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

The experience from the time you arrive until you leave is excellent. Everyone is very friendly and attentive to all of your needs. We will be returning.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

I love the relaxed atmosphere of the McNinch House, Excellent food, Excellent wine and wonderful friends to celebrate my birthday with. We started at 7p and celebrated until 11P. We had a wonderful evening catching up, the service was as always impecable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location. It was a bit sketchy. Not ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

The location. It was a bit sketchy. Not your typical restaurant, and the parking was teribble. The drive way extremely reduced, and the parking lot was basically a back yard made out rocks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Disappointed

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I just don't understand why this restaurant is highly rated. The food was bland and uninspired. Hint: sorbet is not a course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Southern Charm

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Wow formal southern elegance isn't dead, it lives at the McNinch house. The food is definitely worth going for but the service is the cherry on the sundae! I know 5 stars are a high distinction, this isn't perfect but it's closer to 5 stars than 4!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

We were celebrating 2015 and this was a great place. The 7 course dinner was more then we could eat. The waiters kept our wine glasses full all night

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.