About McEwens - Oxford

1110 Van Buren Avenue
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

McEwen's Oxford is passionate about food, wine, and you! We strive to create a place you long to come back to again and again. With an eclectic blend of styles, McEwen's Oxford emphasizes Southern food that is raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has McEwen's destined to become one of Oxford's most popular destinations. We boast on employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff that is always ready to serve our guests. In addition to the bar and dining room, a private room is available for parties up to 25 people.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South Lamar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 234-7003

Website:
http://mcewensoxford.com/

Executive Chef:
Dustin Little

Private Party Contact:
Lee Cauthen : 6622347003x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Wedge Salad - McEwens - Oxford, Oxford, MS
Crab Tomato - McEwens - Oxford, Oxford, MS
Filet - McEwens - Oxford, Oxford, MS
Pan-Seared Chilean Sea Bass - McEwens - Oxford, Oxford, MS
Summer Salad - McEwens - Oxford, Oxford, MS
Seared Tuna - McEwens - Oxford, Oxford, MS
Salmon - McEwens - Oxford, Oxford, MS
The Fall Salad - McEwens - Oxford, Oxford, MS
Crabmeat Napoleon  - McEwens - Oxford, Oxford, MS
Duck Duck Duck - McEwens - Oxford, Oxford, MS

McEwens - Oxford Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Mississippi
Best Food
Mississippi
Best Value
Mississippi
7 More
Most Booked
Mississippi
Best Overall
North Mississippi
Best Food
North Mississippi
Best Service
North Mississippi
Best Ambiance
North Mississippi
Best Value
North Mississippi
Most Booked
North Mississippi
Best Restaurants in Oxford ›

Special Occasion (28)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Business Meals (12)
Romantic (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Authentic (8)
Fun (7)
People Watching (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (5)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Cozy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food , Great service! came for my ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food , Great service! came for my sister's birthday, portions were very nice and we loved it all! Service was exceptional - we will be back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gumbo roux was light today, unusually so ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Gumbo roux was light today, unusually so. Otherwise a Bice lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Sunday brunch

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great Sunday brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great waiter. The food was very good exc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great waiter. The food was very good except for the beignets. They were not fully cooked on the inside. We thoroughly enjoyed everything else.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Qsunday brunch was great. Good choices. ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Qsunday brunch was great. Good choices. Courteous on arrival and great service.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant tries and has some positi ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The restaurant tries and has some positives but the food lacked a consistent quality (particularly the salad greens and shrimp) and therefore the overall experience disappointing. My instinct is that the restaurant failed to source fresh salad on Friday morning following the Thanksgiving holiday which greatly contributed to the disappointing quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Great place to eat! Creative, original ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great place to eat! Creative, original entrees. We enjoyed our time at McEwen's.

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed our dinner at McEw ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our dinner at McEwens. The service was excellent, drinks were good and the place itself is nice. When we first tasted our meals we were very pleased, but as the meal went on it seemed that the food was very salty.

We were seated immediately, the server brought us everything we asked for right away. She was also very friendly and helpful.

My wife had the rack of lamb and I had the special, Rainbow Trout covered in crab and toasted almonds. The trout and lamb were both cooked perfectly, they were also both too salty for our taste. I am person who really enjoys salty food, but by the end of my meal the saltiness was just too much.

Dessert was good. My wife had the creme brulee and I had the blackberry cheesecake. Both very good.

I would have given all five stars if the entrees had just been a bit more enjoyable.

I will certainly give McEwens another go, the service, ambiance and prices were all great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, the best restaurant in Oxford. ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Overall, the best restaurant in Oxford. The oysters, duck and filets are top notch. Friendly and efficient staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great brunch, menu was just prefect blen ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great brunch, menu was just prefect blend of items. Service was great. Price is reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Late meal. We ordered the Lamb Chops (ha ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Late meal. We ordered the Lamb Chops (had them before-delicious) but this time they weren't prepared as before I believe; Not as tasty, and a little rarer. Otherwise, everything was good. The place can be noisy but at that time of night it is winding down to a moderate clamor and then to quiet. It is a good choice for The Square.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Always delicious, great servers! Lovely ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always delicious, great servers! Lovely evening...my daughter had the scallops and says they are the bomb! My steak was just ok but has been excellent on other occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was Parent's Weekend for our student. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It was Parent's Weekend for our student. at Ole Miss. This was the perfect spot to treat her to a special meal. Loved it and will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner! Food and service were ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent dinner! Food and service were fabulous. Reservations were made the night before and they accommodated 6 last minute.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time in Oxford and eating at M ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Our first time in Oxford and eating at McEwens. Hopefully it won't be our last. Located on the historic and beautiful Oxford Square this place is a definite must for anyone visiting the city -- either as a fan of William Faulkner, Ole Miss football, or just good food. Here for the the Georgia Southern - Ole Miss football game. We may come back to Oxford just for the good eats at McEwens. My wife had the tapas fillet which was big enough for an entree and outstanding. I had the Chilean Sea Bass which was as good as any we have had anywhere including NYC, Philly, Baltimore, and DC. Our waitress, Cassie, was wonderful -- knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice lunch on Friday of a football ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very nice lunch on Friday of a football weekend in Oxford! Can't think of a better place to kick off a football werkend🏈

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love McEwens! One of our very favorite p ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Love McEwens! One of our very favorite places to eat in Oxford!! Delicious food! Fun atmosphere! A true Oxford experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We came for my wife's birthday! It was a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We came for my wife's birthday! It was a fun-filled occasion with delicious food, a very personable server and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food and service. We h ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Consistently good food and service. We have tried just about everything on the lunch menu but love the daily Farmer's Plate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was absolutely amazing! I espec ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing! I especially loved the beignets with chocolate sauce. We had great service, and the prices can't be beat for the quality and amount of food served. I highly recommend.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Aidan deserves a raise or at the very le ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Aidan deserves a raise or at the very least a vacation ...every request was filled quickly and accurately.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

First time customer. Really enjoyed the ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 19, 2016

First time customer. Really enjoyed the atmosphere, menu items, quality and plating of the food. Excellent, helpful service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have had three special occasion dinne ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We have had three special occasion dinners at McEwen's. 95 birthday party for 30 guest. Mother's Day brunch and 73rd Birthday. For special events in your life it is the place to be in Oxford,Mississippi.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was really bad. The waiter w ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The service was really bad. The waiter who served our table was very difficult to find. It took 20 minutes for us to get him come over to the table to order my FIRST drink. It took us 45 minutes to wait for the brunch to be served and obviously the waiter forgot about our shared appetizer - the beignet. Since we couldn't find our waiter, we asked another waiter and he said he would go to check with the kitchen but he never came back. After another 40 minutes when we almost finished our brunch, our waiter appeared saying that they were out of beignet. He informed us about the unavailability and then left quickly, without making any apology. I have been hearing from people in the town that McEwens had problem of discrimination against non-Caucasians and I am now wondering if what I experienced there was a case of that. Worst experience ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Duck enchiladas were fantastic! Sent bac ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Duck enchiladas were fantastic! Sent back my obviously precooked steak with over cooked sides.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I believe McEwans has a new chef since m ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I believe McEwans has a new chef since my last visit. The food wasn't quite up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Flawless dining experience. Table was re ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Flawless dining experience. Table was ready when we arrived. Service was prompt and food delicious. Enjoyed the Oyster appetizer and an off-the-menu Redfish entree along with the Duck Gumbo. The person who recommends McEwen's to you has done you a special favor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great evening with friends. Th ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had a great evening with friends. The dinners were excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crab cake was really fishy - had to send ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Crab cake was really fishy - had to send it back. Other food was fine but not really unique.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

A must have when in Oxford! Everything ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 1, 2016

A must have when in Oxford! Everything was amazing from the atmosphere to the service to the food. I fully recommend without hesitation.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always choose this restaurant at least o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Always choose this restaurant at least once during each Oxford stay. The grilled tuna salad is the best! Service and other food is also predictably really good. Nice wine list. Was especially loud on this game day weekend and a little slow--as expected. Enjoyed myself as usual. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and cocktails were awesome. We ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food and cocktails were awesome. We are here for lunch and loved the atmosphere. We had the shrimp and grits, the ahi tuna and the kids had the chicken sandwich. It was all delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely an Oxford favorite! Great foo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Definitely an Oxford favorite! Great food for a reasonable price right on the Square. Brunch is always wonderful, and the lunch and dinner menu is top notch too. Recommend for special occasions or just an everyday gathering.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

All 4 entrees were excellent, Waiter was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2016

All 4 entrees were excellent, Waiter was informative,made a great appetizer selection for the 4 of us to share. Decent wine selection.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We always enjoy dining at McEwen's! We h ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We always enjoy dining at McEwen's! We have never been disappointed and we have eaten there multitude of times! Love Lee Cauthen and his wonderful staff! Thank you for making my friends birthday so fabulous!

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Vegan, Family Style, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First trip to Oxford and McEwen's was re ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 1, 2016

First trip to Oxford and McEwen's was recommended by a friend. Atmosphere is great as well as service. I had the grilled salmon from the menu. It was fantastic. I would recommend this restaurant for a nice dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food & service have always been grea ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food & service have always been great! Love being able to use Open Table for the reservations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely the best higher end restauran ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Absolutely the best higher end restaurant in oxford. Outstanding fresh menu right on the sqaure

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seemed rushed by our wait staff .. Food ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Seemed rushed by our wait staff .. Food was great but just couldn't relax & take our time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dinner. Staff was very accommodati ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great dinner. Staff was very accommodating to our weird allergy issues and genuinely happy to help. We will be back ASAP!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.