About McEwens - Oxford

1110 Van Buren Avenue
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

McEwen's Oxford is passionate about food, wine, and you! We strive to create a place you long to come back to again and again. With an eclectic blend of styles, McEwen's Oxford emphasizes Southern food that is raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has McEwen's destined to become one of Oxford's most popular destinations. We boast on employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff that is always ready to serve our guests. In addition to the bar and dining room, a private room is available for parties up to 25 people.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South Lamar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 234-7003

Website:
http://mcewensoxford.com/

Executive Chef:
Dustin Little

Private Party Contact:
Lee Cauthen : 6622347003x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Wedge Salad
Salmon
Filet
Seared Tuna
Summer Salad
Pan-Seared Chilean Sea Bass
Crab Tomato
Duck Duck Duck
Crabmeat Napoleon
The Fall Salad

McEwens - Oxford Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Mississippi
Best Food
Mississippi
Best Value
Mississippi
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Mississippi
Most Booked
North Mississippi
Best Restaurants in Oxford ›

special occasion (49)
fit for foodies (42)
romantic (29)
See All
neighborhood gem (26)
great for lunch (26)
good for groups (25)
great for brunch (22)
notable wine list (18)
hot spot (16)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were at McEwen's for my husband's bir ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were at McEwen's for my husband's birthday dinner. It was a great meal and service. The food was excellent. I highly recommend the wild mushroom warm salad. Everyone loved their choices! McEwens's has a great ambience and works well for couples as well as groups. We will be back the next time we are in Oxford.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic. We were seated in t ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was fantastic. We were seated in the front window and it was FABULOUS except for the fact that it was very warm. Of course it was 95 degrees outside too! Any other time that would have been perfect!! Wait staff is great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had one of the best meals that I have ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had one of the best meals that I have had in recent times on Friday night July 22. From the excellent cosmo to start the night, to delicately fried oysters as my app, to an outstanding warm mushroom salad, to the delicious special redfish dish, it was a most memorable meal. And let us not forget the indescribably delicious dessert, a coconut creme pie. The service was very attentive. The only downside was that the a/c was having a bit of a problem that night, but they had fans blowing to try to help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful Brunch! We arrived a little ea ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful Brunch! We arrived a little early for our Reservation,and table was ready.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food! Excellent service provi ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Delicious food! Excellent service provided by an awesome waitress.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is absolutely fantastic... One of O ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food is absolutely fantastic... One of Oxford's finest.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the restaurant was very accommodating. S ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

the restaurant was very accommodating. Since it was a business lunch, they gave our group a table in a nook that was out of the way and quiet. Food was very good. Would definitely recommend for lunch or dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

McEwen's is always outstanding. Lee Cau ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

McEwen's is always outstanding. Lee Cauthen does an outstanding job, and the wait and kitchen staff are excellent. I would highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drinks were great. Service was ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food and drinks were great. Service was slow and waitress wasn't very friendly.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

One of the things that I love in a resta ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

One of the things that I love in a restaurant - besides great food, great service, a diverse wine list - is to be seated exactly at the time of the reservation. We checked in at the desk on time - and the host said, "Welcome, please follow me." That starts my dining experience off well - and all the other features were equally outstanding. It was a most pleasant experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Oxford. Good ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Oxford. Good food with nice atmosphere. The specials truly are special on many occasions. Excellent iceberg wedge. Grilled salmon is always good as are the filets.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our only concerns on past visits was the ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our only concerns on past visits was the lack of "low end" wine choices. The wine-by-the-glass menu has been expanded and several lower cost bottles have been added to the list. Now, there are selections for everyone.

Great meal in a very competitive restaurant environment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been to McEwans twice before this ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I had been to McEwans twice before this and found it very good. This time we had a very poor experience, including food which was heavily salted, and service which was at best adequate. I am not sure what changed in the past year, but it has certainly gone downhill.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great server.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Glad to have it in the area.

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Good menu-we all got something different and wanted to try one another's --and wish we could have ordered more.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

First time there. Very good. We had th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

First time there. Very good. We had the Tartar appetizer, Sea Bass and Shrimp pear salad. All outstanding. Service friendly, but a bit on the inattentive side.

Would absolutely try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful food and presentation! Great s ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Wonderful food and presentation! Great service and atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

McEwen's has been one of my favorite pla ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

McEwen's has been one of my favorite places over the past four years that I have attended Ole Miss. As I graduated this past weekend, they were very helpful with being seated at my favorite table at the window to watch all the people pass by. They have so many great items that it would take me forever to list my favorites, but my absolute favorite is the goat cheese salad. It's something so unique that is definitely not found many places. If you are even considering it, I would absolutely go with McEwens over any other restaurant in Oxford.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Book early it can fill up on game weeke ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Book early it can fill up on game weekends and graduation weekends. Our waitress went absolutely above and beyond.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Mother's Day Brunch

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

McEwen's was perfect to celebrate Mother's Day. Even with a packed restaurant, the service was attentive and the timing for appetizers, drinks, entree was spot on -- they were prepared. The hostess staff greeted us immediately and were very pleasant.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best place to eat in Oxford! The sea bas ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Best place to eat in Oxford! The sea bass was cooked to perfection and beautifully seasoned & the peach cheese cake was to die for! Can't wait to go back! Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything i have had here, so fsr has a ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything i have had here, so fsr has always been terrific. Usually go to lunch because it is more affordable and the portions are perfect. (Enough to be comfortably) just dinner for the first time. Everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tuna & Steak Tartar was the BOMB!

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Where do I begin?? Food was outstanding! Love the atmosphere and the lighting. It was a bit noisy but the food was the best. Great place to celebrate our youngest's 19th birthday. Our waiter was ok - could have been more attentive. We will definitely be back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My daughter will be a freshman at Ole Mi ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My daughter will be a freshman at Ole Miss in the fall. This was a great intro to Oxford food! Looking forward to Many more dinners!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

McEwens in Oxford

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Dined at McEwens on a Thursday evening. Were seated promptly. The food and service were excellent and I would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

McEwens is an Oxford Gem!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We especially loved the Fried Buttermilk Oyster appetizer (so tender and delicious)and the Seared Duck. Lovely service. Definitely recommend McEwens Oxford.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. Will be returning!

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

This review is based on my second visit to McEwen's. The first visit was a lunch visit with my office team. The food was great, the service exceptional, and the atmosphere was perfect. The second visit was a business dinner with the director and CEO of my company as well as a co-worker and client representative. I must say the second visit was as equally exceptional as the first. The atmosphere in this restaurant is amazing. This is a place where you can talk business and still be casual. It's not so stuffy that you feel uncomfortable. I consider myself a foodie, and I love this place! I will be returning...with friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch! They have some perfect spe ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great Brunch! They have some perfect specialty cocktails "The Blind Jim Ivy" and a few others if you want to start with something different. The duck gumbo is fabulous! We also had the Steak eggs Benedict and Banana Creme pie for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was delightful!

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Server was delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Stars Lined Up!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Everything was perfect at McEwens. Cocktails were well crafted & unique. The chef was introducing new appetizers & they were terrific. We conveyed that they must be mainstays on the menu. Yum! Entrees were superb. Server Meg was a delight & great on recommendations.

The stars definitely lined up! We couldn't have asked for more.

Carol...Athens, GA

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. Best rack of lam ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The food was excellent. Best rack of lamb on the planet. Service very attentive without being overbearing. Only downside was the noise generated by patrons conversations. But overall easily the best restaurant meal in Oxford.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

It is my favorite restaurant in Oxford.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

It is always good, always. The staff was very accommodating in putting a group of 10 of us together for Parent's weekend. Try to pork tenderloin, some of the best I have had. You cannot go wrong with McEwens!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The wait staff, food, and service is alw ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The wait staff, food, and service is always excellent. I would recommend this restaurant to all visiting or residing in the Oxford area for any occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at Mcquen's restaurant and it w ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We dined at Mcquen's restaurant and it was superb. The food, the wine, the ambiance - all were five star. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant on an "off" night...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

We took out of town guests on a Wednesday night to McEwen's. This is a great restaurant but this night started with a waiter who seemed to have little experience in a fine dining setting. We ordered drinks and appetizers to start and it took him the second try to get these orders right. He did not seem to have knowledge of the drink menu offerings. Two of us ordered the Sea Bass on the dinner menu...it was a beautiful presentation but you could only eat around the outside of the fish..the middle was like a piece of rubber. We ordered desserts and they were spot on delicious. However, we never got our coffee we ordered with the dessert. We love McEwen's and this is the first bad experience we have had. We will go back and we will recommend it to friends. Everyone can have an off night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Easter brunch was outstanding and very r ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter brunch was outstanding and very reasonably priced. McEwens is clearly the best restaurant in Oxford.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were very pleased with everything.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

The ambiance was serene, the staff was very accommodating and the food was magnificent. We went for our 11th anniversary and were very pleased. The scallops were amazing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restaurant in Oxford

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Outstanding dining establishment. Menu had many choices, but not overwhelming. Food was delicious (I had the Shrimp & Grits-great), desert was really good (ginger creme breaulet (sp?)). Great service, attentive and friendly. Highly recommend for a group of friends or family or that special person. I'll be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, as good as any in Oxford ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Excellent food, as good as any in Oxford.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food always.

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Great food always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.