About McEwens - Oxford

McEwen's Oxford is passionate about food, wine, and you! We strive to create a place you long to come back to again and again. With an eclectic blend of styles, McEwen's Oxford emphasizes Southern food that is raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has McEwen's destined to become one of Oxford's most popular destinations. We boast on employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff that is always ready to serve our guests. In addition to the bar and dining room, a private room is available for parties up to 25 people.

1110 Van Buren Avenue
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South Lamar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 234-7003

Website:
http://mcewensoxford.com/

Executive Chef:
Dustin Little

Private Party Contact:
Lee Cauthen : (662) 234-7003

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

McEwens - Oxford Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Business Meals (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Healthy (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
People Watching (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
Historic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

Great menu, wonderfully presented & delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Usually a great place but had AWFUL service!! Food still good. But burnt this time (first time ever!!) Had worst service of my life. Usually nice establishment though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 5 days ago

Food is always great out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

McEwen's provided us great food and great service as usual! We had a party of 6 that changed to 8 at the last minute. They didn't bat an eye, and made it a wonderful evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 6 days ago

great location and service. all the food was good - lobster mac and cheese and some really good -scallops with pasta!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is always phenomenal. I really really want to try the osso bucco but every time I see the sea bass, I can not pass it up. The drinks are fabulous but the service from the bar is a little in the slow side. But I will never visit Oxford and skip mcewens

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Authentic, Historic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Lovely Valentine's meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

McEwens is consistently good for food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

McEwen's Oxford was outstanding, relaxed, informal, and the food and service, excellent!

My wife had the salmon and I had the Tuna and beef tartare. Best salmon I have tasted! Tartare wonderfulI also had the duck gumbo, wonderful. Brandon our server was friendly, informative, and professional, nice young man. We had a bonus with dinner, sitting in the bar area we got to see Ole Miss come from 23 points down and beat Auburn! Hotty Toddy!! Don

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, People Watching, Historic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The atmosphere was very nice, on par or better than similar restaurants in town. The food was fantastic. The wife had the salmon (excellent) and I had the lamb, which was outstanding, though a bit messy right off the bone. Don't wear white, and maybe not on the first date. Mess aside, maybe one of the top five entrees I've ever eaten.

Wine list is nice and the custom cocktails are great.

McEwens is on the expensive side, but we'll definitely be back again in the near future.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our second visit to McEwens. We took some friends from out of town and they were very impressed with the food, service and ambiance. Great food, great service, equals a great restaurant. This is truly a great place to dine! Will be one of our favorite! Rack of lamb was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great experience! Food and service exceptional!! We had the special and it was very tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and service for brunch, lunch, and dinner!! Recommend to all!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Wonderful staff. I would highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent as usual. This is one of our Oxford favorites!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was over the top fabulous! I have never been disappointed here (except when I can't get in!) I had the sea bass. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ My guest had the fish special / triple fin. Also ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ We had cocktails. Good - but the bartender didn't want to make them like I requested (no simple syrup or ice 😎) The steak and toast app was phenomenal. Our waiter Tyler was helpful and pleasant. He was busy since it was the weekend but never made us feel rushed. I will eat at McEwens every chance I get.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 24, 2017

A group of five had a reservation and everything went really will. The food was good the restaurant was attractive. The service was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 24, 2017

McEwen's was recommended by my son who lives in Oxford. We had planned a special trip to Oxford for an event at the Gertrude Ford Theater, and an Ole Miss basketball game at the Pavilion, so we wanted a special place for dinner. There were 4 couples, and we had a wide range of food selections, and everyone was extremely pleased with the service, arrangements and mostly the food. We will definitely return when we are in Oxford, and will recommend to our friends.

Thanks McEwen staff for helping us have a very nice evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 22, 2017

it was a wonderful dining experience as always... food and service always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Always a wonderful place to eat. Food is excellent, service is superb, and the noise level is always quiet enough that it is comfortable to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Eaten at McEwens before - it didn't disappoint on this occasion either. Food was good and service was excellent also. Would certainly recommend it and hope to be in Oxford again soon so I can enjoy it again!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 31, 2016

ALWAYS perfect food, perfect service, perfect setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food , Great service! came for my sister's birthday, portions were very nice and we loved it all! Service was exceptional - we will be back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Gumbo roux was light today, unusually so. Otherwise a Bice lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great Sunday brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great waiter. The food was very good except for the beignets. They were not fully cooked on the inside. We thoroughly enjoyed everything else.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Qsunday brunch was great. Good choices. Courteous on arrival and great service.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The restaurant tries and has some positives but the food lacked a consistent quality (particularly the salad greens and shrimp) and therefore the overall experience disappointing. My instinct is that the restaurant failed to source fresh salad on Friday morning following the Thanksgiving holiday which greatly contributed to the disappointing quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great place to eat! Creative, original entrees. We enjoyed our time at McEwen's.

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our dinner at McEwens. The service was excellent, drinks were good and the place itself is nice. When we first tasted our meals we were very pleased, but as the meal went on it seemed that the food was very salty.

We were seated immediately, the server brought us everything we asked for right away. She was also very friendly and helpful.

My wife had the rack of lamb and I had the special, Rainbow Trout covered in crab and toasted almonds. The trout and lamb were both cooked perfectly, they were also both too salty for our taste. I am person who really enjoys salty food, but by the end of my meal the saltiness was just too much.

Dessert was good. My wife had the creme brulee and I had the blackberry cheesecake. Both very good.

I would have given all five stars if the entrees had just been a bit more enjoyable.

I will certainly give McEwens another go, the service, ambiance and prices were all great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Overall, the best restaurant in Oxford. The oysters, duck and filets are top notch. Friendly and efficient staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great brunch, menu was just prefect blend of items. Service was great. Price is reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Late meal. We ordered the Lamb Chops (had them before-delicious) but this time they weren't prepared as before I believe; Not as tasty, and a little rarer. Otherwise, everything was good. The place can be noisy but at that time of night it is winding down to a moderate clamor and then to quiet. It is a good choice for The Square.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always delicious, great servers! Lovely evening...my daughter had the scallops and says they are the bomb! My steak was just ok but has been excellent on other occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It was Parent's Weekend for our student. at Ole Miss. This was the perfect spot to treat her to a special meal. Loved it and will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent dinner! Food and service were fabulous. Reservations were made the night before and they accommodated 6 last minute.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Our first time in Oxford and eating at McEwens. Hopefully it won't be our last. Located on the historic and beautiful Oxford Square this place is a definite must for anyone visiting the city -- either as a fan of William Faulkner, Ole Miss football, or just good food. Here for the the Georgia Southern - Ole Miss football game. We may come back to Oxford just for the good eats at McEwens. My wife had the tapas fillet which was big enough for an entree and outstanding. I had the Chilean Sea Bass which was as good as any we have had anywhere including NYC, Philly, Baltimore, and DC. Our waitress, Cassie, was wonderful -- knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very nice lunch on Friday of a football weekend in Oxford! Can't think of a better place to kick off a football werkend🏈

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Love McEwens! One of our very favorite places to eat in Oxford!! Delicious food! Fun atmosphere! A true Oxford experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We came for my wife's birthday! It was a fun-filled occasion with delicious food, a very personable server and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Consistently good food and service. We have tried just about everything on the lunch menu but love the daily Farmer's Plate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing! I especially loved the beignets with chocolate sauce. We had great service, and the prices can't be beat for the quality and amount of food served. I highly recommend.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Aidan deserves a raise or at the very least a vacation ...every request was filled quickly and accurately.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 19, 2016

First time customer. Really enjoyed the atmosphere, menu items, quality and plating of the food. Excellent, helpful service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We have had three special occasion dinners at McEwen's. 95 birthday party for 30 guest. Mother's Day brunch and 73rd Birthday. For special events in your life it is the place to be in Oxford,Mississippi.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The service was really bad. The waiter who served our table was very difficult to find. It took 20 minutes for us to get him come over to the table to order my FIRST drink. It took us 45 minutes to wait for the brunch to be served and obviously the waiter forgot about our shared appetizer - the beignet. Since we couldn't find our waiter, we asked another waiter and he said he would go to check with the kitchen but he never came back. After another 40 minutes when we almost finished our brunch, our waiter appeared saying that they were out of beignet. He informed us about the unavailability and then left quickly, without making any apology. I have been hearing from people in the town that McEwens had problem of discrimination against non-Caucasians and I am now wondering if what I experienced there was a case of that. Worst experience ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Duck enchiladas were fantastic! Sent back my obviously precooked steak with over cooked sides.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I believe McEwans has a new chef since my last visit. The food wasn't quite up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Flawless dining experience. Table was ready when we arrived. Service was prompt and food delicious. Enjoyed the Oyster appetizer and an off-the-menu Redfish entree along with the Duck Gumbo. The person who recommends McEwen's to you has done you a special favor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had a great evening with friends. The dinners were excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.