About McEwens - Oxford

1110 Van Buren Avenue
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

McEwen's Oxford is passionate about food, wine, and you! We strive to create a place you long to come back to again and again. With an eclectic blend of styles, McEwen's Oxford emphasizes Southern food that is raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has McEwen's destined to become one of Oxford's most popular destinations. We boast on employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff that is always ready to serve our guests. In addition to the bar and dining room, a private room is available for parties up to 25 people.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South Lamar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 234-7003

Website:
http://mcewensoxford.com/

Executive Chef:
Dustin Little

Private Party Contact:
Lee Cauthen : 6622347003x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Wedge Salad
Crab Tomato
Filet
Pan-Seared Chilean Sea Bass
Summer Salad
Seared Tuna
Salmon
The Fall Salad
Crabmeat Napoleon
Duck Duck Duck

McEwens - Oxford Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Mississippi
Best Food
Mississippi
Best Value
Mississippi
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Mississippi
Most Booked
Mississippi
Most Booked
North Mississippi
Best Restaurants in Oxford ›

Special Occasion (36)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Romantic (21)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Brunch (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Kid-friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Business Meals (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (2)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always choose this restaurant at least o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Always choose this restaurant at least once during each Oxford stay. The grilled tuna salad is the best! Service and other food is also predictably really good. Nice wine list. Was especially loud on this game day weekend and a little slow--as expected. Enjoyed myself as usual. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and cocktails were awesome. We ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food and cocktails were awesome. We are here for lunch and loved the atmosphere. We had the shrimp and grits, the ahi tuna and the kids had the chicken sandwich. It was all delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely an Oxford favorite! Great foo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Definitely an Oxford favorite! Great food for a reasonable price right on the Square. Brunch is always wonderful, and the lunch and dinner menu is top notch too. Recommend for special occasions or just an everyday gathering.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

All 4 entrees were excellent, Waiter was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

All 4 entrees were excellent, Waiter was informative,made a great appetizer selection for the 4 of us to share. Decent wine selection.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We always enjoy dining at McEwen's! We h ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We always enjoy dining at McEwen's! We have never been disappointed and we have eaten there multitude of times! Love Lee Cauthen and his wonderful staff! Thank you for making my friends birthday so fabulous!

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Vegan, Family Style, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First trip to Oxford and McEwen's was re ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

First trip to Oxford and McEwen's was recommended by a friend. Atmosphere is great as well as service. I had the grilled salmon from the menu. It was fantastic. I would recommend this restaurant for a nice dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food & service have always been grea ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food & service have always been great! Love being able to use Open Table for the reservations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely the best higher end restauran ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Absolutely the best higher end restaurant in oxford. Outstanding fresh menu right on the sqaure

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seemed rushed by our wait staff .. Food ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Seemed rushed by our wait staff .. Food was great but just couldn't relax & take our time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dinner. Staff was very accommodati ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great dinner. Staff was very accommodating to our weird allergy issues and genuinely happy to help. We will be back ASAP!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome in Oxford- this was a send off d ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Awesome in Oxford- this was a send off dinner for my son to attend Ole Miss. We were pleasantly surprised by the overall experience of this restaurant. The food, service, and ambiance all exceeded our expectations. The duck gumbo was a definite hit appetizer. My wife raved about the sea bass and i enjoyed beef special with blue cheese crumbles.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best place in Oxford, and owner is a gre ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Best place in Oxford, and owner is a great guy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. Went here for dinner a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great experience. Went here for dinner after moving son into dorm. Had reservation and were seated quickly. Our waitress was very good and helpful. We had grp of 7. We all had different entrees and all were pleased. Lamb was great. NY strip was excellent as well as the salmon and scallops. Will def return .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After a long day of dorm move-in, McEwen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

After a long day of dorm move-in, McEwens was just what was needed! The tartare appetizer was incredible, as was the tuna roll. My filet was great and everyone enjoyed their meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We ate there on a Tuesday night. We were ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We ate there on a Tuesday night. We were in town to drop off our freshman at Ole Miss. The menu is varied and the price point is very reasonable. The atmosphere is great. We had the tartare duo for our appetizer and the beef tenderloin filet for our entrees. The wine list is very good and provides many options. It is not a John Currance establishment, but it is a very nice option while in Oxford. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best food in Oxford -best sh ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Some of the best food in Oxford -best shrimp and grits. The service is fabulous. We have never had a bad experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the third or fourth time and eve ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is the third or fourth time and everytime the food's execution has been very high. the taste excellent. I would have to say that this is better than City Grocery, in taste, cooking quality and atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Great meal and exceptional service. The ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great meal and exceptional service. The desert was so good. Too good in fact.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The bar area next to the seating area wa ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The bar area next to the seating area was extremely noisy. We had to wait 25 minutes to get our own beverages. Our waiter was more interested in selling a bottle of wine to the next table than waiting on us. The food was excellent--shrimp and grits and beef tenderloin. However, there was not enough lighting to see the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We had a group of 8 adults plus 4 toddle ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a group of 8 adults plus 4 toddlers/infants and McEwens was totally accommodating. We had a room in the back so that the adults wouldn't have to fret about our youngsters disrupting other customers- plus the space was roomy for the young children to stir about while the adults truly enjoyed cocktails and delicious brunch offerings. The wait staff were ON THE BALL. It was a perfect birthday celebration brunch - thanks to the McEwen staff and their superb food and drink!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious & Creative. Certainly lived up ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Delicious & Creative. Certainly lived up to our expectations. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved It!! We had the Chilean Sea Bass, ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Loved It!! We had the Chilean Sea Bass, Scallops with Cheese Grits and a Seafood Pasta special and we loved them all! We would definitely recommend McEwen's and plan to return when back in Oxford!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The sea bass was best I have ever had. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The sea bass was best I have ever had. My son loved his filet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My husband and I first enjoyed lunch the ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My husband and I first enjoyed lunch there for my birthday. Since that, we have been to Sunday brunch several times. Most recently, we celebrated our 33rd wedding anniversary at McEwen's Oxford, MS. Every time was wonderful! Great decor, service and food! Plan to eat there again very soon! Go... If you haven't been.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were at McEwen's for my husband's bir ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were at McEwen's for my husband's birthday dinner. It was a great meal and service. The food was excellent. I highly recommend the wild mushroom warm salad. Everyone loved their choices! McEwens's has a great ambience and works well for couples as well as groups. We will be back the next time we are in Oxford.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic. We were seated in t ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was fantastic. We were seated in the front window and it was FABULOUS except for the fact that it was very warm. Of course it was 95 degrees outside too! Any other time that would have been perfect!! Wait staff is great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had one of the best meals that I have ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I had one of the best meals that I have had in recent times on Friday night July 22. From the excellent cosmo to start the night, to delicately fried oysters as my app, to an outstanding warm mushroom salad, to the delicious special redfish dish, it was a most memorable meal. And let us not forget the indescribably delicious dessert, a coconut creme pie. The service was very attentive. The only downside was that the a/c was having a bit of a problem that night, but they had fans blowing to try to help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful Brunch! We arrived a little ea ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful Brunch! We arrived a little early for our Reservation,and table was ready.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food! Excellent service provi ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Delicious food! Excellent service provided by an awesome waitress.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is absolutely fantastic... One of O ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food is absolutely fantastic... One of Oxford's finest.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the restaurant was very accommodating. S ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

the restaurant was very accommodating. Since it was a business lunch, they gave our group a table in a nook that was out of the way and quiet. Food was very good. Would definitely recommend for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

McEwen's is always outstanding. Lee Cau ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

McEwen's is always outstanding. Lee Cauthen does an outstanding job, and the wait and kitchen staff are excellent. I would highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drinks were great. Service was ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food and drinks were great. Service was slow and waitress wasn't very friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

One of the things that I love in a resta ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

One of the things that I love in a restaurant - besides great food, great service, a diverse wine list - is to be seated exactly at the time of the reservation. We checked in at the desk on time - and the host said, "Welcome, please follow me." That starts my dining experience off well - and all the other features were equally outstanding. It was a most pleasant experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Oxford. Good ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Oxford. Good food with nice atmosphere. The specials truly are special on many occasions. Excellent iceberg wedge. Grilled salmon is always good as are the filets.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our only concerns on past visits was the ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our only concerns on past visits was the lack of "low end" wine choices. The wine-by-the-glass menu has been expanded and several lower cost bottles have been added to the list. Now, there are selections for everyone.

Great meal in a very competitive restaurant environment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been to McEwans twice before this ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I had been to McEwans twice before this and found it very good. This time we had a very poor experience, including food which was heavily salted, and service which was at best adequate. I am not sure what changed in the past year, but it has certainly gone downhill.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great server.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Glad to have it in the area.

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Good menu-we all got something different and wanted to try one another's --and wish we could have ordered more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

First time there. Very good. We had th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

First time there. Very good. We had the Tartar appetizer, Sea Bass and Shrimp pear salad. All outstanding. Service friendly, but a bit on the inattentive side.

Would absolutely try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.