Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

About McEwens - Oxford

McEwen's Oxford is passionate about food, wine, and you! We strive to create a place you long to come back to again and again. With an eclectic blend of styles, McEwen's Oxford emphasizes Southern food that is raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has McEwen's destined to become one of Oxford's most popular destinations. We boast on employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff that is always ready to serve our guests. In addition to the bar and dining room, a private room is available for parties up to 25 people.

1110 Van Buren Avenue
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South Lamar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 234-7003

Website:
http://mcewensoxford.com/

Executive Chef:
Dustin Little

Private Party Contact:
Lee Cauthen : (662) 234-7003

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

McEwens - Oxford Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Creative Cuisine (14)
Romantic (14)
Business Meals (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Casual (10)
Cozy (10)
Authentic (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
People Watching (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Fun (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 4 days ago

This night they were offering to substitute a ribeye for the New York strip. Best ribeye I have ever had!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Salmon is totally delicious; cannot be beat. Katie is super. Y'all r the best!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Nice but old decor. Steak doneness was an issue. 3 of 4 were over cooked. Would not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was really lovely and my husband and I's food was excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Casual, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fun, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I've eaten here before and would generally give it higher reviews than this visit. We visited for Sunday brunch, when it was busy but not slammed. Service was slow, my soup arrived with my entrée (with no apologies), and used dishes were not cleared to make room as entrees arrived. My wife's "medium rare" steak frites were well done. (Since they were sliced in the kitchen, it should have been obvious that they were not cooked correctly.) Not their best showing. I'll go back because I've experienced better there and assume this was an exception. Hopefully this is not a sign of how things are now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 3, 2017

One of our favorite spots to eat when in Oxford. Any time or any meal. Great food, great environment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Food is exceptional, cocktails are great and the service is superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Attentive, polite, and quick service. Appetizer, entrees, and drinks were tasty!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Have eaten there many times, always excellent food and service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Three friends met for lunch at McEwen's. We were celebrating a late birthday. Our waiter was very attentive and friendly. Our food was delicious and very filling. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and were the last of the lunch crowd to leave. No one rushed us or disturbed our gathering. We were very pleased with our dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal! Our server was attentive and patient with our menu questions. He was warm and friendly, and sincerely wanted us to have a great experience. The food was excellent; we were a table of five so had a real menu assortment, and everything was delicious. A special shout out for the drunken chicken and the crab cakes. We look forward to our next meal there!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Fabulous as always. McEwens never falls short of the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The menu is limited but creative and Southern-inspired. The food was pretty good and plated very nicely. No Cake Crab Cakes (dinner portion) was ok, could have used lots more spice and a more vibrant/spicy sauce, spicy tomato chutney on top was not spicy nor was it chutney, it was also cloyingly sweet. The Seared Pork Tenderloin, Drunk and Naked Chicken and the Redfish special were all very good. Service was lacking. The waiter didn't listen, nor did the woman serving the meals to the table - she gave everyone the wrong dishes and instead of correcting, she walked away. The waiter walked away while I was still ordering a glass of wine. I expect much more on the service end for the prices charged. I don't think I'd go back - too many other excellent restaurants in Oxford.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 17, 2017

School send off dinner for our daughter. Service & food were fabulous! Always our "go to" in Oxford.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Dinner for our daughter who is a incoming freshman at Ole Miss

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Arrived early for our reservation and discovered we were assigned the worst table in the house. (We know, as we have suffered through dinner at that table previously. )That's when the two young hostesses made the decision to be rude, indignant and borderline combative. They refused to seat us at open table and told us it would be 2+ hours to be seated in the open booth in front of us. So, the three of us, had dinner at table for two...in absence of rude employees, it would have been a nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 11, 2017

If you go here, which I don't recommend, stay away from the seafood. The filet was ok but the tartare appetizer & no cake crab cake were awful. The wine list & service were good. Just skip this overpriced wanna be restaurant altogether.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Attentive, friendly service. Excellent preparation of my generous portion of pork loin and my companion's fish. Very good speciality cocktails. Did not try a dessert, but they looked delicious. The only disappointment --the vegetables served on each dish. I had "roasted brussel sprouts" on my plate that were barely warm, much less roasted. My companion had "sautéed spinach" that was tough and stringy. Sooo..if you overlook the sad preparation of the side vegetables.....the food was fantastic. This restaurant is very close to the Lyric Theatre and I would highly recommend it for a pre-performance dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent service and excellent food. We will be back soon!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I highly recommend the sea bass! It is by far my favorite dish! Don't forget to save room for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We love going to McEEwens😍 The food is always exceptional and the service is the in Oxford. The Chilean Sea Bass is to die for!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

McEwens has become a regular stop on my dining circuit. Great food and ambience make for a lovely dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Very nice dinner. We went here to use a gift card we received.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Our waiter James was OUTSTANDING. I have travelled around the world and eaten at many different rerstaurants. The Chilen Sea Bass at McEwen's in Oxford, MS was one of the most DELICIOUS meals I have ever eaten! Keep up the good work. I look forward to my next meal at McEwen's on the square.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We always enjoy the Sunday Brunch. Great selections of food from the filet eggs benedict, to the chicken and waffles to the Burger. The beignets are a must either as an appetizer or a dessert. Taylor did a great job taking care of us and she was very friendly and professional. I highly recommend adding McEwens to your list of top Oxford restaurants.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food is outstanding. By far the very best restaurant in Oxford.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Outstanding restaurant, go there on every trip to Oxford! Lee Cauthen does an amazing job plus the entire staff is very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We always are very satisfied with our visits to McEwens....very dependable with excellent food

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our experience at McEwen's was delicious! The food was amazing and more than adequate portion sizes. Excellent wine options too!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This was one fantastic experience! Everything was just perfect. About the best 5 star I could ever rate the appitizers were great. Especially the oysters. And the salad was local home grown tomatoes caprise. I had the fish special ... two others had the steaks. And the catfish entree was unbeatable. Drinks were good too. Since this was a birthday celebration. The deserts were on the house. Very nice touch! This is a no brainer for fine dining in Oxford

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Menu has changed some. Unfortunately lamb dish no longer offered. Had been my favorite and one of the reason I chose restaurant to entertain 6 friends . Too bad really liked it.
We had six in our party. I would say 3 of the six meals looked good and enjoyed very much so. Two of them were the filets. One was the sea bass. The duck gumbo was good. The toast and steak appetizer was not good. It had been changed since last time there with friends. Meat tough, some I couldn't swallow. Wedge salad was just ok. The other two meals the people who had them, one a trout special (looked like salmon), the other salmon. People who had them as entrees said they were good, but I noticed they did not eat them all, one just kinda pushed the food around. The appetizers, buttermilk fried oysters and ahi tuna, steak tartare, were not great.......ok at best. Total meal and drinks came to $374 which included tip. I will try somewhere else next time. Young man who was our waiter was very good and his service was excellent. Hostess, etc. were fine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The sea bass was the best I've ever had, followed by a s'mores flavored creme brûlée. Outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This is one of my favorite places for Brunch. I do not know what was wrong Sunday but the grits were so hot(spicy) that I could not eat them. My friends were also complaining about the spice in them.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Friendly staff and delicious food! Search bass was incredible. We highly recommend the sweet tea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Joined a good friend for dinner. Service was excellent as was the food. The special was great as was everything else including dessert. Great atmosphere. Quiet, making it easy to visit and enjoy the evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food selections were fantastic. We all enjoyed every bite from the salad to the entrée and one of the most luscious desserts we had ever tasted. We will definitely keep McEwens in mind for future special occasions when we want entrée options that are way above the average local offerings.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Good food; service was slower than I expected as the restaurant was almost empty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Has become my favorite restaurant in Oxford. Great selection of food and everything so delicious. I have eaten weekly lunch, Sunday Brunch, and evening. On this occasion, I had the special - Red Snapper. Could not have been better. Our out-of-town friend had Duck and enjoyed it also. Great atmosphere. Good ambiance for conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great restaurant...would strongly suggest this place to anyone!! Great food and drinks

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I celebrated a family event at McEwens and I chose this place for the great food. McEwens did not disappoint. The food is fantastic, including the banana cream pie--yum!

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.