Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

About McEwens - Oxford

McEwen's Oxford is passionate about food, wine, and you! We strive to create a place you long to come back to again and again. With an eclectic blend of styles, McEwen's Oxford emphasizes Southern food that is raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has McEwen's destined to become one of Oxford's most popular destinations. We boast on employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff that is always ready to serve our guests. In addition to the bar and dining room, a private room is available for parties up to 25 people.

1110 Van Buren Avenue
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South Lamar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 234-7003

Website:
http://mcewensoxford.com/

Executive Chef:
Dustin Little

Private Party Contact:
Lee Cauthen : (662) 234-7003

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

McEwens - Oxford Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Creative Cuisine (19)
Romantic (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Cozy (12)
Business Meals (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fun (10)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
People Watching (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Casual (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Private Room (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Historic (2)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined 2 days ago

We had been to McEwens in Oxford before so we knew the food was awesome- the ahi tuna salad is awesome, the salmon awesome....everything- I cannot wait to go back and have a future reservation. The awesome factor this trip was the service. Our waitress was great!!! She was so attentive and great disposition - and it was busy! I wish I had made a note of her name because she deserves a shout out! Not to be missed!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything from the ambiance, to the service, to the fabulous food! McEwen's is now our go to place in Oxford. Our server, Victoria, was absolutely wonderful!! The food was out of this world!

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our food was delicious, however our server was unprofessional. We waited awhile for our water and was told they were out of glasses due to not being prepared for a busy brunch crowd. She seemed stressed the whole time which made us uneasy.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were impressed with the menu before we made a reservation. The descriptions in the menu are accurate and the food features a lot of fresh ingredients and interesting combinations. It was amazing. We were there on a week night and the place was only half full so the noise level was down. Service was excellent and the wine list was solid and affordable. Great choice for a nice dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our first visit to McEwens and it won't be our last. Oxford has an abundance of very good places to eat, and McEwens is now at the top of my list. My wife had the sea bass and loved it, while I had the scallops over pasta and loved it as well. We tried the duo tartar appetizer and while it was very good, I think I'll try their oyster appetizer next time. Very nice wine list. As much as the food, I enjoyed the atmosphere. Quiet enough to carry on a conversation, but vibrant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our group of five enjoyed a great dinner at McEwens, and the management and staff did a wonderful job providing a private dining area in the back so we could deal with the business end of this business dinner while enjoying fine dining. Great service, innovative preparation of each dish, and delicious as usual!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 11, 2017

McEwen's in Oxford, Miss., has the quietest ambience of any restaurant in Oxford ... but it would be nice if it were even quieter. This feature alone ... the ambience ... separates McEwen's from all other Oxford restaurants. It's menu offers top quality food and drink at reasonable prices. The food is delivered promptly and hot. The filet mignon is excellent. Cloth table linens and napkins ... not paper napkins or towels ... grace the table. Two suggestions for improvement: (1) use higher quality knives, forks, and spoons, and (2) instruct waiters and waitresses not to refer to customers as "you guys" nor to greet them as "welcome guys." And the only proper responses to "thank you" are "you are welcome" or "it is my pleasure" ... certainly not "no problem."

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I highly recommend that when in Oxford, you make a
stop @ McEwens - Oxford ... amazing menu and everyone was extremely satisfied with their choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Loved our waitress!! I Wish we had been somewhere besides the first table, but so glad she was our waitress!! She was great!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Busy night and very hectic. Food was outstanding and location is great. Thanks.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I cannot issue a complaint about the service or the food at McKewens. I have found it to be consistently good and I believe getting better with time. The well worn and somewhat bare spots in the upholstery attest to the popularity of the restaurant and for some would be a criticism, but one could also just say this flaw provides character. I am so pleased that they have joined the open table website. It is a wonderful convenience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 26, 2017

At the top of our list of favorites in town! The sea bass is always excellent as was each dish ordered. Six of our party of eight had not dined at McEwen's. They will be back! And... James took great care of us. Thanks for a great night of good friends and good food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

They need to repair seats in booths as they were ragged and needed replacing. Not enough wait staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great menu, wonderfully presented & delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Usually a great place but had AWFUL service!! Food still good. But burnt this time (first time ever!!) Had worst service of my life. Usually nice establishment though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food is always great out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

McEwen's provided us great food and great service as usual! We had a party of 6 that changed to 8 at the last minute. They didn't bat an eye, and made it a wonderful evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 18, 2017

great location and service. all the food was good - lobster mac and cheese and some really good -scallops with pasta!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food is always phenomenal. I really really want to try the osso bucco but every time I see the sea bass, I can not pass it up. The drinks are fabulous but the service from the bar is a little in the slow side. But I will never visit Oxford and skip mcewens

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Authentic, Historic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Lovely Valentine's meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

McEwens is consistently good for food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

McEwen's Oxford was outstanding, relaxed, informal, and the food and service, excellent!
My wife had the salmon and I had the Tuna and beef tartare. Best salmon I have tasted! Tartare wonderfulI also had the duck gumbo, wonderful. Brandon our server was friendly, informative, and professional, nice young man. We had a bonus with dinner, sitting in the bar area we got to see Ole Miss come from 23 points down and beat Auburn! Hotty Toddy!! Don

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, People Watching, Historic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The atmosphere was very nice, on par or better than similar restaurants in town. The food was fantastic. The wife had the salmon (excellent) and I had the lamb, which was outstanding, though a bit messy right off the bone. Don't wear white, and maybe not on the first date. Mess aside, maybe one of the top five entrees I've ever eaten.

Wine list is nice and the custom cocktails are great.

McEwens is on the expensive side, but we'll definitely be back again in the near future.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our second visit to McEwens. We took some friends from out of town and they were very impressed with the food, service and ambiance. Great food, great service, equals a great restaurant. This is truly a great place to dine! Will be one of our favorite! Rack of lamb was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great experience! Food and service exceptional!! We had the special and it was very tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and service for brunch, lunch, and dinner!! Recommend to all!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Wonderful staff. I would highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent as usual. This is one of our Oxford favorites!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was over the top fabulous! I have never been disappointed here (except when I can't get in!) I had the sea bass. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ My guest had the fish special / triple fin. Also ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ We had cocktails. Good - but the bartender didn't want to make them like I requested (no simple syrup or ice 😎) The steak and toast app was phenomenal. Our waiter Tyler was helpful and pleasant. He was busy since it was the weekend but never made us feel rushed. I will eat at McEwens every chance I get.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 24, 2017

A group of five had a reservation and everything went really will. The food was good the restaurant was attractive. The service was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 24, 2017

McEwen's was recommended by my son who lives in Oxford. We had planned a special trip to Oxford for an event at the Gertrude Ford Theater, and an Ole Miss basketball game at the Pavilion, so we wanted a special place for dinner. There were 4 couples, and we had a wide range of food selections, and everyone was extremely pleased with the service, arrangements and mostly the food. We will definitely return when we are in Oxford, and will recommend to our friends.

Thanks McEwen staff for helping us have a very nice evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 22, 2017

it was a wonderful dining experience as always... food and service always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Always a wonderful place to eat. Food is excellent, service is superb, and the noise level is always quiet enough that it is comfortable to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Eaten at McEwens before - it didn't disappoint on this occasion either. Food was good and service was excellent also. Would certainly recommend it and hope to be in Oxford again soon so I can enjoy it again!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 31, 2016

ALWAYS perfect food, perfect service, perfect setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food , Great service! came for my sister's birthday, portions were very nice and we loved it all! Service was exceptional - we will be back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Gumbo roux was light today, unusually so. Otherwise a Bice lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great Sunday brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great waiter. The food was very good except for the beignets. They were not fully cooked on the inside. We thoroughly enjoyed everything else.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Qsunday brunch was great. Good choices. Courteous on arrival and great service.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.