Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

About McEwens - Oxford

McEwen's Oxford is passionate about food, wine, and you! We strive to create a place you long to come back to again and again. With an eclectic blend of styles, McEwen's Oxford emphasizes Southern food that is raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has McEwen's destined to become one of Oxford's most popular destinations. We boast on employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff that is always ready to serve our guests. In addition to the bar and dining room, a private room is available for parties up to 25 people.

1110 Van Buren Avenue
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South Lamar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 234-7003

Website:
http://mcewensoxford.com/

Executive Chef:
Dustin Little

Private Party Contact:
Lee Cauthen : (662) 234-7003

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

McEwens - Oxford Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Cozy (16)
Romantic (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Business Meals (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
People Watching (8)
Fun (7)
Casual (7)
Authentic (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
402 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This was one fantastic experience! Everything was just perfect. About the best 5 star I could ever rate the appitizers were great. Especially the oysters. And the salad was local home grown tomatoes caprise. I had the fish special ... two others had the steaks. And the catfish entree was unbeatable. Drinks were good too. Since this was a birthday celebration. The deserts were on the house. Very nice touch! This is a no brainer for fine dining in Oxford

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Menu has changed some. Unfortunately lamb dish no longer offered. Had been my favorite and one of the reason I chose restaurant to entertain 6 friends . Too bad really liked it.
We had six in our party. I would say 3 of the six meals looked good and enjoyed very much so. Two of them were the filets. One was the sea bass. The duck gumbo was good. The toast and steak appetizer was not good. It had been changed since last time there with friends. Meat tough, some I couldn't swallow. Wedge salad was just ok. The other two meals the people who had them, one a trout special (looked like salmon), the other salmon. People who had them as entrees said they were good, but I noticed they did not eat them all, one just kinda pushed the food around. The appetizers, buttermilk fried oysters and ahi tuna, steak tartare, were not great.......ok at best. Total meal and drinks came to $374 which included tip. I will try somewhere else next time. Young man who was our waiter was very good and his service was excellent. Hostess, etc. were fine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The sea bass was the best I've ever had, followed by a s'mores flavored creme brûlée. Outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This is one of my favorite places for Brunch. I do not know what was wrong Sunday but the grits were so hot(spicy) that I could not eat them. My friends were also complaining about the spice in them.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Friendly staff and delicious food! Search bass was incredible. We highly recommend the sweet tea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Joined a good friend for dinner. Service was excellent as was the food. The special was great as was everything else including dessert. Great atmosphere. Quiet, making it easy to visit and enjoy the evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food selections were fantastic. We all enjoyed every bite from the salad to the entrée and one of the most luscious desserts we had ever tasted. We will definitely keep McEwens in mind for future special occasions when we want entrée options that are way above the average local offerings.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Good food; service was slower than I expected as the restaurant was almost empty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Has become my favorite restaurant in Oxford. Great selection of food and everything so delicious. I have eaten weekly lunch, Sunday Brunch, and evening. On this occasion, I had the special - Red Snapper. Could not have been better. Our out-of-town friend had Duck and enjoyed it also. Great atmosphere. Good ambiance for conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great restaurant...would strongly suggest this place to anyone!! Great food and drinks

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I celebrated a family event at McEwens and I chose this place for the great food. McEwens did not disappoint. The food is fantastic, including the banana cream pie--yum!

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We are never disappointed by our dining experience at McEwens. Excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 1, 2017

My go to spot for a business lunch. The food is top notch and the menu and specials always present options for everyone. Service is very professional.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Great food! Good server! Selected dessert not available

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was delish. Only negatives were weird things I'm sure the manager would have balked at like the bartender carrying a huge bag of garbage out between the tables eating! Sort of grossed us out!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We celebrated our son's graduation from Ole Miss and really enjoyed our meal. The Staff was accommodating and hospitable as we were running late for our reservation due to a fender bender. They took care of us and we still made it to the baseball game. Shrimp & grits, steak, catfish all amazing dishes.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Always fabulous! Never dissapoints! We dine here often and love it!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had dinner at McEwen's last weekend. Have been for lunch before but this was our first dinner there. Food was exceptional and menu had more variety. Definitely will be back next time we are in Oxford! Try it, I think you will enjoy it.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Hospitality professionals here folks! Service was great. Friendly and welcoming. Salmon dish was spot on. Steaks were cooked to perfection. Defiantly recommend and will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I was there for a business dinner and the food was great. Our waitress was courteous and caring. However, I did not appreciate that despite the early reservation we were seated right in front of the main entrance. We really did not get to enjoy any of the good, dark ambience that others further inside enjoyed. It was too bright and busy. Since I was hosting dinner for a job candidate for the university, I wanted a quieter, more ambient environment and asked if we could get another table but were told that all was booked and we would have to be done within an hour. Also, the price is a bit high but this is common for the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Best piece of halibut I've ever had. Bubby's steak cooked perfectly and the mac and cheese...NOM!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 30, 2017

McEwens is always great, never had a bad meal and service is always perfect. Great for Sunday Brunch or diner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Menu was fixed. Had a very minimal selection with little to no appetizers. Food was cold when it came out (ordered the Steak benedict), service was very poor and blunt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great service... Reservation was held during a busy festival; we were seated promptly and on time. Our service was second to none, food was outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Loved the ambiance and service was excellent! All our dishes were excellent- sea bass, crab cakes, and filet. Especially loved that the crab cake was full of crab without tons of breading!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

What a great find in Oxford. Although a bit pricey, it was worth every penny. Our waitress was great, the ambiance was great, Love the decor,the food was super great. It was so nice to sit in a restaurant and not strain to hear our conversation. My husband and I both ordered the Sea Bass and it was done to perfection! Really delicious! Our son and his date had the Shrimp & Grits. They both agreed it was the best they have had in Oxford. Packed w/ flavor (a bit spicy).
Don't miss out on this wonderful restaurant. Our son had 3 more years and Ole Miss......We will be returning to McEwens!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had a fantastic waitress! She was very personable and efficient. The food was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Waitress was fabulous. Food was as good as always. Restaurant was extremely loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Always good. Group of eight on a very busy weekend. Service was excellent.
Lamb chops, catfish, sea bass, shrimp and grits were excellent.
The duck app was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great menu with consistently delicious food and outstanding service! Always look forward to eating at McEwen's when in Oxford.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Had a great meal for Sunday brunch this past weekend. The food and the service is always great!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Starting with prompt seating for our reservation, on a Friday night, and being greeted by our friendly and attentive server, that immediately served the bottle of wine we had pre ordered! Excellent service and attention through out the dinner by our waitress.

Chef is incredible artesian; as all of the starters and main courses were amazingly delectable and done with a flair. Highly recommended! Looking forward to our next visit to McEwens!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

ALWAYS get the steak and tuna tartare!! Great food , great service ... always . I don't go to oxford without eating there ! I make me reservations months in advance . They are also extremely accommodating with " tweaks" to the reservation time or numbers!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 22, 2017

it's nice to be able to make a reservation and have relaxed dining. we had a really good server as well

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Oxford and they take reservations which is a rareity in this town. Located on the square, it is lively and bustling with consistently good food and a fun bar.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 13, 2017

McEwen's is one of my Oxford favorites but my last visit's service was disappointing. Our food was delicious and I still recommend McEwen's as one of Oxford's best but with competition as it is in Oxford, service can make the difference in better and best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service was slow. Waiter was nice but we kept having to ask for things like refills etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We love McEwen's in Memphis and we're not disappointed in the Oxford experience. Contemporary setting with an energetic vibe with the same great service and food. Thanks, Oxford!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Best food in Oxford in my opinion. Consistently top notch. It is a creative and imaginative menu. Waiter (James) was super. Hostesses were the only slight negative with kind of an attitude.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Victoria, our server, was fantastic. Food was delicious and portions are generous.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.