Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

About McEwens - Oxford

McEwen's Oxford is passionate about food, wine, and you! We strive to create a place you long to come back to again and again. With an eclectic blend of styles, McEwen's Oxford emphasizes Southern food that is raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has McEwen's destined to become one of Oxford's most popular destinations. We boast on employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff that is always ready to serve our guests. In addition to the bar and dining room, a private room is available for parties up to 25 people.

1110 Van Buren Avenue
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South Lamar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 234-7003

Website:
http://mcewensoxford.com/

Executive Chef:
Dustin Little

Private Party Contact:
Lee Cauthen : (662) 234-7003

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

McEwens - Oxford Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (43)
Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Romantic (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Great for Brunch (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Business Meals (17)
Cozy (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Casual (10)
People Watching (10)
Fun (10)
Authentic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Healthy (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Private Room (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Historic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
386 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was delish. Only negatives were weird things I'm sure the manager would have balked at like the bartender carrying a huge bag of garbage out between the tables eating! Sort of grossed us out!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We celebrated our son's graduation from Ole Miss and really enjoyed our meal. The Staff was accommodating and hospitable as we were running late for our reservation due to a fender bender. They took care of us and we still made it to the baseball game. Shrimp & grits, steak, catfish all amazing dishes.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Always fabulous! Never dissapoints! We dine here often and love it!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Had dinner at McEwen's last weekend. Have been for lunch before but this was our first dinner there. Food was exceptional and menu had more variety. Definitely will be back next time we are in Oxford! Try it, I think you will enjoy it.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Hospitality professionals here folks! Service was great. Friendly and welcoming. Salmon dish was spot on. Steaks were cooked to perfection. Defiantly recommend and will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I was there for a business dinner and the food was great. Our waitress was courteous and caring. However, I did not appreciate that despite the early reservation we were seated right in front of the main entrance. We really did not get to enjoy any of the good, dark ambience that others further inside enjoyed. It was too bright and busy. Since I was hosting dinner for a job candidate for the university, I wanted a quieter, more ambient environment and asked if we could get another table but were told that all was booked and we would have to be done within an hour. Also, the price is a bit high but this is common for the area.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Best piece of halibut I've ever had. Bubby's steak cooked perfectly and the mac and cheese...NOM!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 30, 2017

McEwens is always great, never had a bad meal and service is always perfect. Great for Sunday Brunch or diner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Menu was fixed. Had a very minimal selection with little to no appetizers. Food was cold when it came out (ordered the Steak benedict), service was very poor and blunt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great service... Reservation was held during a busy festival; we were seated promptly and on time. Our service was second to none, food was outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Loved the ambiance and service was excellent! All our dishes were excellent- sea bass, crab cakes, and filet. Especially loved that the crab cake was full of crab without tons of breading!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

What a great find in Oxford. Although a bit pricey, it was worth every penny. Our waitress was great, the ambiance was great, Love the decor,the food was super great. It was so nice to sit in a restaurant and not strain to hear our conversation. My husband and I both ordered the Sea Bass and it was done to perfection! Really delicious! Our son and his date had the Shrimp & Grits. They both agreed it was the best they have had in Oxford. Packed w/ flavor (a bit spicy).
Don't miss out on this wonderful restaurant. Our son had 3 more years and Ole Miss......We will be returning to McEwens!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had a fantastic waitress! She was very personable and efficient. The food was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Waitress was fabulous. Food was as good as always. Restaurant was extremely loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always good. Group of eight on a very busy weekend. Service was excellent.
Lamb chops, catfish, sea bass, shrimp and grits were excellent.
The duck app was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great menu with consistently delicious food and outstanding service! Always look forward to eating at McEwen's when in Oxford.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Had a great meal for Sunday brunch this past weekend. The food and the service is always great!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Starting with prompt seating for our reservation, on a Friday night, and being greeted by our friendly and attentive server, that immediately served the bottle of wine we had pre ordered! Excellent service and attention through out the dinner by our waitress.

Chef is incredible artesian; as all of the starters and main courses were amazingly delectable and done with a flair. Highly recommended! Looking forward to our next visit to McEwens!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

ALWAYS get the steak and tuna tartare!! Great food , great service ... always . I don't go to oxford without eating there ! I make me reservations months in advance . They are also extremely accommodating with " tweaks" to the reservation time or numbers!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 22, 2017

it's nice to be able to make a reservation and have relaxed dining. we had a really good server as well

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Oxford and they take reservations which is a rareity in this town. Located on the square, it is lively and bustling with consistently good food and a fun bar.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 14, 2017

McEwen's is one of my Oxford favorites but my last visit's service was disappointing. Our food was delicious and I still recommend McEwen's as one of Oxford's best but with competition as it is in Oxford, service can make the difference in better and best.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service was slow. Waiter was nice but we kept having to ask for things like refills etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We love McEwen's in Memphis and we're not disappointed in the Oxford experience. Contemporary setting with an energetic vibe with the same great service and food. Thanks, Oxford!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Best food in Oxford in my opinion. Consistently top notch. It is a creative and imaginative menu. Waiter (James) was super. Hostesses were the only slight negative with kind of an attitude.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Victoria, our server, was fantastic. Food was delicious and portions are generous.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Good menu and food is consistently delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great service & a WONDERFUL meal. The "Grove ina glass" cocktail was tasty!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great meal at what i believe is one of the most underrated places in oxford. The food was great and the cocktails were awesome. I would choose McEwens over City Grocery any day. Never disappointed when I leave. From the time you walk in the door to the time you leave it is a top notch experience

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Absolutely LOVED the food and cocktail offerings. They were very busy with a large party in the "back". Too busy for the chef to answer if my selection could be made dairy free according to the server. Although this was disappointing, all worked out well and my dinner was dairy free and delicious. I had requested we be seated in the quietest area possible because my 75 mother was with us and doesn't do well in a loud atmosphere. I was so impressed the manager saw my request on the Open Table form and called me the next day to discuss seating options that all worked out great! We had a window table in the front of the restaurant that felt special, provided great people watching opportunities and my mom did great! It was a great evening and we raved about the food all weekend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food was great. Very comfortable and atmosphere was exceptional. Loved it. We shall return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Wonderful service, great food and atmosphere. McEwen’s is perfect for a date or special occasion. One of my favorite places on the square.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was not our first visit to McEwen's and definitely won't be our last. The four of us split the tartare duo for an appetizer and it was a great portion for an app. We each ordered seafood and were all exceptionally pleased with our meals. A must in Oxford MS.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food. Great atmosphere. Great service. If you are in Oxford, go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Tapas, Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 31, 2017

McEwen's is consistently outstanding. We have our favorite dishes, but look forward to hearing the special entrees as well as the creme brûlée flavor. Always a treat to visit with owner also!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 29, 2017

My favorite in a town of eclectic, excellent, and awarded restaurants!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Organic, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We had been to McEwens in Oxford before so we knew the food was awesome- the ahi tuna salad is awesome, the salmon awesome....everything- I cannot wait to go back and have a future reservation. The awesome factor this trip was the service. Our waitress was great!!! She was so attentive and great disposition - and it was busy! I wish I had made a note of her name because she deserves a shout out! Not to be missed!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Have eaten here many times and will continue to do so because of great location , ambiance and usually good food . Just a bad night here. I asked server ( Chelsea, I think, )repeatedly if the Jumbo Crab Cake had lump crab meat . She assured me it did. It did NOT. But , worse, our dinner companion ordered a filet. She brought her salmon. saw her mistake , took the plate and returned with the filet as the rest of the party was taking their final bites. no explanation. Just left her to wait and wonder. To the management's credit, they did give our friend a "to go " bag with steak and did not charge. But still a disappointing experience.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Everything from the ambiance, to the service, to the fabulous food! McEwen's is now our go to place in Oxford. Our server, Victoria, was absolutely wonderful!! The food was out of this world!

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our food was delicious, however our server was unprofessional. We waited awhile for our water and was told they were out of glasses due to not being prepared for a busy brunch crowd. She seemed stressed the whole time which made us uneasy.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.