Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About McEwen's on Monroe

McEwen’s on Monroe is passionate. Passionate about food, passionate about wine, and passionate about creating a place you long to come back to again and again. An eclectic blend of styles with the largest emphasis on Southern food raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has enabled McEwen’s on Monroe to become one of Downtown’s most comfortable restaurants. Employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff always at the ready. In addition to the bar and dining room, our wine cellar is available for parties up to 20 people.

120 Monroe Ave.
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday and Saturday: 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM; Closed Sundays. Bar remains open (PM) 1 hour after dining room closes.

Cross Street:
2ND & MONROE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 527-7085

Website:
http://www.mcewensonmonroe.com/

Catering:
McEwen's On Monroe specializes in lunch catering. Call 901.527.7085 or see catering description at www.mcewensonmonroe.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking available Monday thru Saturday, 5:30 till close. Street and Public Garage parking available at all times.

Public Transit:
Main Street Trolley stop is less than half block from restaurant entrance. Trolley stop located at Monroe and Mid America Mall.

Executive Chef:
Keith Bambrick

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful wine cellar seats comfortably up to 20 people. Please see Cellar description at our website www.mcewensonmonroe.com or call the restaurant at 901.527.7085. For larger groups please call the restaurant for other options.

Private Party Contact:
Bert Smythe or John Littlefield: (901) 527-7085

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call McEwen's On Monroe at 901.527.7085 to discuss any special request concerning rental of entire restaurant for Special Events.

McEwen's on Monroe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Good for Birthdays (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Business Meals (14)
Romantic (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Cozy (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Authentic (8)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Tapas (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
981 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Local products well prepared, with creativity. Started with intensely flavored watermelon salad, followed with earthy wild mushrooms, a juicy not fatty chicken thigh atop fabulous corn pudding, and finished with a grilled peach paired with a Dickel rye (great recommendation from our waiter).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Healthy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Going out to dinner was a last minute decision for us. We were able to get an early reservation. We chose to order fried green tomatoes appetizer. They were yummy. The special of the night was a halibut. It was fabulous as were the potatoes with which they were served. I can't think of a time when I was disappointed at McEwen's.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Service a bit slow, but joint was very busy. Not a big deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We were recommended McEwan's and we were hoping for more but a great spot none the least!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Every single dish was to die for!! The sweet potato crusted catfish was phenomenal. I would go back just for that! We enjoyed the ambiance as well. The service left a little to be desired. It was unclear who our actual waiter/ waitress was. Different people came at different times, and there was quite a long wait for the check. The food was so delicious though that I will happily overlook that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the service and the ambiance. Everything was first class which I appreciated. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food and service is always consistently very good. Thanks to McEwen's for always being there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Jacob was great! My friend ordered the watermelon salad, tomato/mozzarella salad, and tenderloin sliders from the small plates menu & the berry cobbler for dessert. I had the salmon entree and the banana cream pie with Carmel sauce. Food and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great food and service. Variety of small plates that were excellent. Fried Oysters, tomato mozzarella salad, shrimp & grits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Our appetizer, main course, and dessert were all outstanding in taste, quality, and quantity. The service was top notch. My only issue was the appetizer came out before our drinks not giving us an opportunity to relax prior to our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We were traveling and were only in Memphis for one night. The restaurant was our choice mainly based on walking distance from our hotel. From the moment we walked in and confirmed our reservation to the moment we left, we felt management and staff were happy to have our business. The menu was chock full of well-designed dishes and the preparation matched tastes and flavors beautifully!
The service was top-notch. We opted for cocktails versus wine and they were well built and tasty as well.

I wish I could bottle this place and the pride they have in their product. So few restaurants I visit have the concern for their patrons that we experienced at McEwen"s. If I get back to Memphis, I'll make an effort to revisit this fine restaurant!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Atmosphere and staff were great, but the entrees weren't great. Appetizers were wonderful, but my NY strip was mediocre and my partners salad wasn't anything special, but loved our waiter and host.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were in town visiting and a local bar tender reccommended your restaurant to us! I have to say that we had one of our top dining experiences EVER!!! Loved the food, the Vingette Pino was fabulous and our service (young dark haired guy- sorry I can't remember his name) was excellent!!! Hats off to your chef! We had the salmon and catfish!!! Can't wait to come back!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our Server Hannah was exceptional. She was the perfect tour guide during our dining experience. Every suggestion she made was mouthwatering. The food exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Disappointed! Bass well cooked, too much lemon juice. Green beans very undercooked. Mushroom salad very average. Memorable part of meal, app. Duck confetti enchiladas. Definitely not as good as it once was.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We celebrated a birthday with 12 friends in the wine cellar and everything about our evening was perfect.
They sat us immediately upon arriving, the service, drinks, meal and ambiance was second to none!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent as always! Amazing drink list and the food was phenomenal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Hidden gem downtown Memphis. Can't beat their wine selection and food quality. Many unique food options on the menu but bring your pocketbook!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

A very nice dining experience - highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Usually go when we are in town. Food was good but not exceptional like it usually is. Waiter was world class. I think it's time for a reboot of the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 29, 2017

If I could give McEwen's 10 stars, I would. We had a delicious meal with amazing service. I loved seeing the wait staff help each other out so effortlessly. That translates to a great customer experience

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were sat immediately for our 7:30 reservation on a Saturday night. I ordered a lemon drop martini (they do not have pomegranate liquor or juice) which is great. My husband had a glass of wine which came the same time and was nicely chilled. Upon ordering, the brought wonderful small biscuits. I wish they would have brought butter because a biscuit requires it. They did bring two odd small butter balls when we asked. But it was ice cold and with its round shape in a small bowl, it would roll around as you tried to cut it and then slide out of the bowl onto the table.

I had a pear salad with goat cheese which was skippy on both, but it tasted great. I had the ribeye with scalloped potatoes. This dish sang! It was the best meal in my 4 days in Memphis. The potatoes were aggressively seasoned which some may not like, but I did. My husband had the tenderloin with mashed potatoes and really enjoyed it. I had a chocolate desert with raspberry sauce which was just 'ok' and not particularly memorable. I would definitely return, even if it was to order the exact same meal again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Wonderful evening with great food. The main dining room was VERY loud when we arrived but there was a large party in there. We asked to be moved and were accomodated. the atmosphere is nice but not pretentious. I appreciated that they have a variety of small plates to choose from as well as the main entrees. We all ordered something different; short-rib pasta, seabass with risotto; seared rib-eye and the special of halibut with lima bean succotash. Everything was fresh and delicious and unique from your standard offerings. Definitely one of our favorite places and we will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We eat here almost every time we have business in Memphis. It is a simple, brief walk from the Madison Hotel. Food is always delicious, it was a little slower on service than usual and a little louder than usual, but nothing that would deter me from returning or encouraging others to go. It always tickles me though, they have these great hot biscuits they bring out and the last two visits they didn't bring butter? It just seems like hot biscuits demand butter too! They bring it right away when we ask. We will be back, maybe go at 6:00 instead of 6:30 for a quieter atmosphere, it fills up fast after 6:30 which is just a positive sign that it's a great spot with good food. This was on a Wednesday night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We love McEwens and it hit the mark as usual again. Our 30th Anniversary dinner was exceptional with both food and drink. Started with some Prossecco and the awesome warm mushroom salad. Service as always was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was a wonderful experience. We were in town for the weekend celebrating anniversaries with friends. Our meal was outstanding and made to order! Very good!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The service was a bit slow but the drinks were delicious. The red snapper special was dry, but overall it was yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We have made it our practice for many years to dine one night of our Memphis trips at McEwen's. The food was always innovative and delicious and the Old South building was great. The service was a bit spotty, but the staff seemed eager to please.

It seems that the restaurant has undergone an attitude change.

Our waitress was great but when we asked what the Chef was planning for the "Trust Me" Vegetarian plate tonight (my wife's historic favorite) we were told that chef refused to say. Basically just order it or not...whatever.

Our days of McEwen's being our priority eat place in Memphis are now over.

We're going to Flight!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Phenomenal food and service. A favorite that never fails to deliver!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 25, 2017

When we are in Memphis, we always eat at McEwens. It never disapoints!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Best meal I've had in Memphis in 2017!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Best meal we had while in Memphis! The menu offered plenty of options and the food was very good. We ordered a cheese plate and salad as an apps and both were generous and very tasty. My wife and I split the Red Grouper as an entree and it was incredible. We live in Flroida so our expectations of seafood are pretty high. We rarely order seafood while traveling away from coastal areas but decided to try McEwen's based on the menu description. We were not disappointed it was as good as any we've had anywhere. We ended the meal with the banana cream pie and while it was quite good it wasn't great and certainly not world famous! Our only criticism is that our apps were served well before our pre-dinner drinks. Other than that we were very pleased with everything about McEwen's and would return if we ever find ourselves in Memphis again.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Anniversary dinner. Exceptional service, electic and interesting menu. Fresh food. Would definitely eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Wonderful attentive staff. Very knowledgeable about food and wine pairings. Steak melted in my mouth... so juicy and tender. Great experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Remains as one of our favorites in Memphis. Creative and interesting flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The vegetable plate was disappointing. We have loved it in the past the Brussel sproutswere bitter and undercooked/hard. The broccoli was so overlooked, it was mushy. In the past the server told us what was on the plate. I had to use my phone flashlight to see what I was eating. The tomato with avocado was good but I left most of the other stuff.
My sons steak was good. Cauliflower app was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Met at McEwen's with some friends from out-of-town. Great food selection and Southern hospitality for the visitors. Never disappointing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Service was great. Wine selection was good. Appetizers were fantastic. However, our entrees when delivered were extremely salty (almost inedible) to the point we sent them back (I have never sent a dish back at a restaurant). Waitress was apologetic, the recook time was longer than expected. The entrees were just ok after the recook. They did offer us a free dessert in which we declined. Overall, it was a good experience but not to the point I would go back or recommend it to others. Expected a little more for the prices. 3 out of 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Memphis. Can't go wrong with any part of the menu. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Never had a bad meal. Our favorite go to place. Love sitting at bar tables.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.