Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About McEwen's on Monroe

McEwen’s on Monroe is passionate. Passionate about food, passionate about wine, and passionate about creating a place you long to come back to again and again. An eclectic blend of styles with the largest emphasis on Southern food raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has enabled McEwen’s on Monroe to become one of Downtown’s most comfortable restaurants. Employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff always at the ready. In addition to the bar and dining room, our wine cellar is available for parties up to 20 people.

120 Monroe Ave.
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday and Saturday: 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM; Closed Sundays. Bar remains open (PM) 1 hour after dining room closes.

Cross Street:
2ND & MONROE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 527-7085

Website:
http://www.mcewensonmonroe.com/

Catering:
McEwen's On Monroe specializes in lunch catering. Call 901.527.7085 or see catering description at www.mcewensonmonroe.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking available Monday thru Saturday, 5:30 till close. Street and Public Garage parking available at all times.

Public Transit:
Main Street Trolley stop is less than half block from restaurant entrance. Trolley stop located at Monroe and Mid America Mall.

Executive Chef:
Keith Bambrick

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful wine cellar seats comfortably up to 20 people. Please see Cellar description at our website www.mcewensonmonroe.com or call the restaurant at 901.527.7085. For larger groups please call the restaurant for other options.

Private Party Contact:
Bert Smythe or John Littlefield: (901) 527-7085

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call McEwen's On Monroe at 901.527.7085 to discuss any special request concerning rental of entire restaurant for Special Events.

McEwen's on Monroe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Cozy (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Business Meals (11)
Romantic (11)
Casual (10)
Authentic (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Historic (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
955 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The service was a bit slow but the drinks were delicious. The red snapper special was dry, but overall it was yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We have made it our practice for many years to dine one night of our Memphis trips at McEwen's. The food was always innovative and delicious and the Old South building was great. The service was a bit spotty, but the staff seemed eager to please.

It seems that the restaurant has undergone an attitude change.

Our waitress was great but when we asked what the Chef was planning for the "Trust Me" Vegetarian plate tonight (my wife's historic favorite) we were told that chef refused to say. Basically just order it or not...whatever.

Our days of McEwen's being our priority eat place in Memphis are now over.

We're going to Flight!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Phenomenal food and service. A favorite that never fails to deliver!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 26, 2017

When we are in Memphis, we always eat at McEwens. It never disapoints!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Best meal I've had in Memphis in 2017!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Best meal we had while in Memphis! The menu offered plenty of options and the food was very good. We ordered a cheese plate and salad as an apps and both were generous and very tasty. My wife and I split the Red Grouper as an entree and it was incredible. We live in Flroida so our expectations of seafood are pretty high. We rarely order seafood while traveling away from coastal areas but decided to try McEwen's based on the menu description. We were not disappointed it was as good as any we've had anywhere. We ended the meal with the banana cream pie and while it was quite good it wasn't great and certainly not world famous! Our only criticism is that our apps were served well before our pre-dinner drinks. Other than that we were very pleased with everything about McEwen's and would return if we ever find ourselves in Memphis again.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Anniversary dinner. Exceptional service, electic and interesting menu. Fresh food. Would definitely eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Wonderful attentive staff. Very knowledgeable about food and wine pairings. Steak melted in my mouth... so juicy and tender. Great experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Remains as one of our favorites in Memphis. Creative and interesting flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The vegetable plate was disappointing. We have loved it in the past the Brussel sproutswere bitter and undercooked/hard. The broccoli was so overlooked, it was mushy. In the past the server told us what was on the plate. I had to use my phone flashlight to see what I was eating. The tomato with avocado was good but I left most of the other stuff.
My sons steak was good. Cauliflower app was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Met at McEwen's with some friends from out-of-town. Great food selection and Southern hospitality for the visitors. Never disappointing.

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Service was great. Wine selection was good. Appetizers were fantastic. However, our entrees when delivered were extremely salty (almost inedible) to the point we sent them back (I have never sent a dish back at a restaurant). Waitress was apologetic, the recook time was longer than expected. The entrees were just ok after the recook. They did offer us a free dessert in which we declined. Overall, it was a good experience but not to the point I would go back or recommend it to others. Expected a little more for the prices. 3 out of 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Memphis. Can't go wrong with any part of the menu. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Never had a bad meal. Our favorite go to place. Love sitting at bar tables.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food. Excellent service. Great drink selection.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Just a short walk from the Peabody Hotel, less than a block. Small and intimate. Service was great. Food was good, but not outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Overall we had a great dinner! We started with the duck enchiladas and they were amazing!! The biscuits were a pleasant surprise and very tasty! My entree was the sweet potato crusted catfish with macaroni and cheese and green beans. I ate every bite and it was excellent. My husband had the ribeye with au gratin potatoes and asparagus. His sides were extremely flavorful but he unfortunately had a not so great cut of meat. It was not bad enough to complain and send back but he was a little disappointed. Other than that though we really enjoyed our experience and would definitely recommend it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We stumbled upon McEwen's a couple years ago when we were in Memphis and make it a priority to eat there every time we're in town.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Always a delicious meal and excellent service at McEwens!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We often dine at McEwen's when we are attending events at The Orpheum. The valet parking is superb, with very friendly attendants. We always receive a warm greeting upon entering the restaurant and are seated quickly. The menu has something for everyone and we believe that the wait staff is one of the best in Memphis. They are always very efficient, but friendly and helpful at the same time. The experience is always a great one.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Qualits cooking with interesting flavour combinations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

One of out favorite places. Never disappoints. Buttermilk fried oysters. Seared scallops. Salmon appetizer. Sorbets for dessert perfect.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great value for the outstanding well seasoned food!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Top notch staff, good food, won't break the bank. Was undecided between two wines on their list and the waiter brought out a taste of each before we decided. Nice touch. Would definitely return next time in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Chose McEwens based on ratings and comments from online reviews. Service was very good. Chef very flexible in choice of sides to accommodate our picky teenager. New York Strip ordered as medium well but, overcooked, no pink inside at all. Son did state despite dryness, was seasoned well and tasty. Hubby had barrelfish, which he found to be very delicious! I had crusted catfish which was good but, not memorable as other raters found. Turnip greens on side were delicious and a great option for travelers wanting to taste a true southern dish. The crème brulee was on point, delicious and did not disappoint. Seating near heater felt great for the first 10 minutes but, quickly became uncomfortable as the table was literally within 2 feet of this powerful wall heater. All said; would return. From reviewing other raters comments, I suspect the food can be exceptional but, appears as with all eateries, some inconsistency at times.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

First visit to McEwen's on Monroe and I loved it. I had the Chilean Seabass and it was by far, the best that I had ever eaten!! They were quite busy due to 2 concert events being in town and the dining room where we were seated was extremely loud. On my next visit I will ask to be seated somewhere a little more quiet. But, I am certainly going back to McEwen's on Monroe, as the food & service were truly wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We discovered McEwens last year when we were looking for some place to go for our anniversary. Normally, we go somewhere new to us every year, but we loved this place so much we had to go back for this years anniversary too. Don't get me wrong, it's great for any occasion. The prices are comparable to other restaurants in the area so lunch, dinner, date night....anytime is a good reason to go. The owners are hands on and extremely nice people.
T Daniel

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We were here recently for my fiance's birthday and is was fantastic. It's always been one of our favorite places to go for a drink and appetizers at the bar, but this dinner was excellent, and I can't wait to get back. We were given a great table by the window, and our server was attentive but never pushy. When my fiance couldn't read the menu, she produced readers for him. Which was great!

We had appetizers, salads and entrees and were all happy. Three of us ordered the special, which was sea bass with crawfish mashed potatoes and literally cleaned our plates. Very fresh and very well cooked.

For dessert, we all had a little something and I loved the banana cream pie. It was delicious - not over the top, just very good.

McEwen's is a place I take friends from NY and other cities known for food, and it never fails to impress. They also do some great vegetarian plats for friends who don't eat meat/fish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Casual, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Terrific service and really tasty food. We'll be back I'm sure and recommend McEwens to friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I went to McEwan's for my anniversary dinner with my wife. It's hard to beat valet parking at the front door. The food was excellent and the service was very good. We had a wonderful time and it was a satisfying experience. The only negative I can say is that they had the heat turned up a little too much for my liking. But it was perfect for my wife.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Server was very rude and short, we had a later reservation and we understand they wanted to go home but it's still not an excuse to be rude. Food was tasty though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant. We went on Valentine's Day, and it did not disappoint!! We ate in the wine cellar, and it was great. The service was fantastic and the food was amazing. Their scallops are the best in Memphis! I can't wait until we go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Historic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful experience dining in the wine cellar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food quality was good. The fish we ordered was cooked perfectly. The atmosphere is a 60's bar. Tables are close together and you are part of your neighbor's conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always an excellent place to dine. Good food and service

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday and thoroughly enjoyed everything that we ordered. We both had several different options on the menu that we wanted... so we definitely need to go back to try everything else. The waitress was very nice, and the ambiance was very classy. The entrees and appetizers were all very creative. My personal favorite was the beef tenderloin slider with caramelized onions and pimento cheese. Fabulous!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentines dinner. Our favorite restaurant in the Mis-South.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went to McEwens on a busy weekend and was surprised the service was excellent and the food was great! I have eaten there several times and have never been disappointed! I have eaten at the bar for a quick run in with no reservation and it was also a pleasant experience! One of Memphis's best eateries for sure!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing selection of whiskey and bourbon! Some dates back to George Washington. Great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our meal was outstanding. The service great. I don't think they could have been more accommodating had they wanted to. The food was beautifully presented, very tasty and of ample portions. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.