About McEwen's on Monroe

120 Monroe Ave.
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

McEwen’s on Monroe is passionate. Passionate about food, passionate about wine, and passionate about creating a place you long to come back to again and again. An eclectic blend of styles with the largest emphasis on Southern food raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has enabled McEwen’s on Monroe to become one of Downtown’s most comfortable restaurants. Employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff always at the ready. In addition to the bar and dining room, our wine cellar is available for parties up to 20 people.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday and Saturday: 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM; Closed Sundays. Bar remains open (PM) 1 hour after dining room closes.

Cross Street:
2ND & MONROE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 527-7085

Website:
http://www.mcewensonmonroe.com/

Catering:
McEwen's On Monroe specializes in lunch catering. Call 901.527.7085 or see catering description at www.mcewensonmonroe.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking available Monday thru Saturday, 5:30 till close. Street and Public Garage parking available at all times.

Public Transit:
Main Street Trolley stop is less than half block from restaurant entrance. Trolley stop located at Monroe and Mid America Mall.

Executive Chef:
Keith Bambrick

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful wine cellar seats comfortably up to 20 people. Please see Cellar description at our website www.mcewensonmonroe.com or call the restaurant at 901.527.7085. For larger groups please call the restaurant for other options.

Private Party Contact:
Bert Smythe or John Littlefield: 9015277085

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call McEwen's On Monroe at 901.527.7085 to discuss any special request concerning rental of entire restaurant for Special Events.

Restaurant Photos

  • Ahi tuna
  • Grouper
  • Watermelon Salad
  • Seared Sea Scallops
  • Chocolate Love
  • Caesar Salad
  • Grilled Lamb Sirloin W Vanilla Bean Mashed Sweet Potatoes And Grilled Asparagus
  • pear tarte bourdaloue
  • Black Bean Soup
Ahi tuna
Grouper
Watermelon Salad
Seared Sea Scallops
Chocolate Love
Caesar Salad
Grilled Lamb Sirloin W Vanilla Bean Mashed Sweet Potatoes And Grilled Asparagus
pear tarte bourdaloue
Black Bean Soup

McEwen's on Monroe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Neighborhood Gem
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
1 More
Neighborhood Gem
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (32)
fit for foodies (31)
neighborhood gem (26)
See All
romantic (18)
notable wine list (15)
good for groups (10)
hot spot (7)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
820 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The atmosphere was great and the food wa ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The atmosphere was great and the food was wonderful. Definitely going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting selection of foods. The lob ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Interesting selection of foods. The lobster risotto was superb. Everyone at the dinner party practically licked their plate to get every drop! It gets crowded so definitely recommend reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been to McEwens several times, and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I've been to McEwens several times, and unfortunately I was disappointed a little this trip. The food was excellent, but I was not impressed with the service. We were seated quickly but then had to wait at least 5 minutes for a server to bring us water and another 10 minutes for him to come back and ask us if we wanted anything else to drink. We were also not given any small plates for the biscuits they brought out for the table. Overall, the food was still excellent, but the service made me wish we had chosen some other restaurant for our special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food as always ! Scallops and salm ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food as always ! Scallops and salmon were outstanding

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We selected McEwen's based on the Yelp r ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We selected McEwen's based on the Yelp reviews and that it listed McEwen's as one of the top 10 most romantic restaurants in Memphis. I will tell you that the romance part was mistaken. It was our 24th wedding anniversary and i made reservations and asked to be sat somewhere kind of private as i had also never been there before, but since it was rated so highly on romance I thought this was a normal request. Unfortunately, due to the small cramped seating area, we were stuck in a corner surround by large parties that were loud enough we couldn't hear the nice music playing. We did have a candle but it wasnt dim enough in restaurant to really notice. I will say the reason i still gave it a very good overall review is that my tenderloin was cooked perfectly and tasted great as did the banana creme pie. I was surprised there was no dinner salad and we received 2 small plain biscuits with no butter, maybe that is a trend I am not aware of. Our service was good as well, so that helped and we took advantage of the valet parking which was handy. Overall - the experience was good due to our entree and dessert, but as for a romantic evening out, I would suggest another place, or they need to reinvent the dining experience and sitting room here. Thanks!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Great place!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We always are appreciated of the attenti ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We always are appreciated of the attention to detail at McEwen's in the food and service. Never had a bad time or experience!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

They are trying hard to have a creative ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

They are trying hard to have a creative menu but dishes we had both fell short.

Food average. Putting sweet mango sauce on steak didn't work well and was overpowering. Fish special was average.

Waitress not knowledgeable and service average.

For the money go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

one word: fabulous. need to add 40 more ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

one word: fabulous. need to add 40 more characters...delicious, one of our best restaurants in town, always perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great, but it ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food and service were great, but it was too warm and a little too crowded.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered the lamb. My meat was luke war ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I ordered the lamb. My meat was luke warm at best when it reached the table. On top of that, it was a sinewy piece of meat. The mashed potatoes were coyingly sweet with way too much vanilla that was over-powering. The only good thing on the plate were the asparagus. Our waitress was rude and acted irritated To be there. Dessert wasn't any better. There are so many other restaurants in the city. This place desperately needs to be renovated.

Do yourself a favor and eat somewhere else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Best restaurant in Memphis?

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

A gem of a restaurant. The food is really good. Can be loud when full. Recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a group of seven for a business d ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We had a group of seven for a business dinner, and we were given the opportunity to have dinner privately in the wine cellar, which worked out extremely well , and the service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing! With the exception of ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Food was amazing! With the exception of the biscuits. They tasted store bought. I had the Osso Bucco and was on heaven. Best in Memphis hands down. My Mom's catfish came out cold which was disappointing. Service was splotchy as well. We watched guests get there food and leave before we got ours (we were only a party of four) and we had placed our orders before they were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Food was outstanding. Vegetable plate wa ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was outstanding. Vegetable plate was the best ever! The scallops were superb. This was one of our best meals in a long time - and this is from people who have dined in some of the top venues in the country. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

McEwen's was a great place to eat before ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

McEwen's was a great place to eat before an Orpheum show. The menu has great variety. We were able to enjoy an excellent meal and made the show with time to spare!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice for a quiet dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Nice, artistic feel to the dining room. Separate bar area. Have a large assortment of appetizers and small plates in addition to regular entrees and the waitress encouraged my idea of a few appetizers instead of one main dish so I tried three. The BBQ shrimp and grits were very good, but I was thrown a bit by having shrimp and grits in a BBQ sauce. Also had scallops which were cooked perfectly. And a salad with warm goat cheese which was also very good.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The beef tenderloin was incredible, as w ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The beef tenderloin was incredible, as was the service and dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really Disappointing

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Maybe it was an off night, but the food was awful, the noise was loud enough that we couldn't have a conversation, it was sharply overpriced, and did I mention that the food was awful? We'll never go back even though it came highly recommended... We dropped $140 and had much better food for $4 at a food truck earlier in the day. The service was okay and the managers offered to make up for the bad experience, but there is no excuse for gross chicken covered in heaps of cumin on a bisquick pancake, or a $30 ribeye that's over cooked, grissly, fatty, etc... I could go on, but it's unnecessary. I almost never review places, but this was a serious disappointment - especially when I look back at the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

good food

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We grazed on appetizers and enjoyed the variety. Excellent wines by the glass. Room is very noisy and in need of some repairs as looking up to broken ceiling tiles with black spot was not appealing.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Still a great place!

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Excellent meal, would go here more often if I lived closer to downtown. I don't think I have ever been disappointed here. Had the oso buck this week and it was fantastic. I've been several times over the years and what's impressive is the have maintained high quality through different chefs.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

So good...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

So good we had to go back a second time.

Awesome mini plates. Rib eye was one of the best steaks I've had.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was fine, but it wasn't very crowde ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Food was fine, but it wasn't very crowded on a Thursday night and we were seated and paid in 35 minutes. We had barely finished our appetizer and salad before the meal was in front of us. I still had my cocktail in front of me. A nicer restaurant should be able to pace the meal better whether it's crowded or sparse. Felt more like a fast casual restaurant that cost a lot more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Arrived early - was seated and served - ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Arrived early - was seated and served - arrived at our concert early as a result!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gluten free options, GREAT food, & Super Service

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

My husband and I eat gluten free. Although they do not have a gluten free menu, the server was very knowledgeable about gluten free options and they were fantastic. My husband had the rib-eye steak and I had the fish special. Both were FANTASTIC!! I want to go back to have the rib-eye steak myself. Julie the manager was very friendly and had tons of interesting stories of different celebrities eating in the restaurant. On any given NBA game night you might get lucky and catch a glimpse of the San Antonio Spurs or Pop! They do catering too and do a great job. Make reservations, because the place is a little small, but definitely worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was not real polite. It took a w ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Server was not real polite. It took a while to get salad and appetizers. When we ask about receiving them she wasn't apologetic or anything. She never really came to check to see how our food was either. Another server did fill our drinks for us. Food was ok but not as good as it has been in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

50th Anniversary

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at McEwen's on Monroe and it was everything we knew it would be and more. Our friends tried to get us to go to other new, fufu places, but we have always loved the food, service , and atmosphere at McEwens, and our expectations were exceeded. This place is the total package for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the lamb and beef tenderloin and ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

We had the lamb and beef tenderloin and it was perfect. Not a morsel left on our plates. Perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Down Town

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

McEwen's has become the best destination for dining on fine food in an informal atmosphere for Downtown Memphis. The food is always good, and the rotation of at least the small plates, with featured soup and entrees daily, is appreciated in a city where so many restaurants choose not to alter the menu for years.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a great time! The food was delici ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We had a great time! The food was delicious!! It is an elegant casual atmosphere. The service was excellent. The only downside was that there was a large party in the main room who were quite rowdy and loud. It did kind of take away from the ambiance, but the overall experience was still wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not quite the same

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

We enjoyed this restaurant about five years ago. We returned this time for the sole reason of once again experiencing the fried oyster appetizer. Unfortunately the preparation was entirely different. The oysters were smaller, overly breaded and overlooked. Very disappointing. The rest of the meal was fine, and the service was great, but we may not make the effort next time through town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hidden Gem

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary. We are always trying places we have never been before and did not know what to expect. We were very happy with our choice. The food was wonderful, she had the Catfish and I had the Osso Buco. The portions are very filling and prices very reasonable. The service was great and we even spent some time talking to one of the owners. Everyone was very nice and we could not have been happier. My wife declared it as one of her favorites and that we needed to go there more often. We will definitely be back and soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dark, noisy, but very good food & service!

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

dark, noisy, but very good food & service!

Our first reaction to McEwen’s was definitely mixed. The restaurant has a mix of business people, couples, and small groups. It’s somewhat dark, but there are small lights at each table, and it’s somewhat noisy. However, McEwens’s is a popular place, and it’s easy to see why - the food is excellent!

We were served some small flakey biscuits as we perused the menu, and thenI started my meal with the buttermilk fried oysters, and my wife started hers with the ver distinctive Tennessee purple hull pea hummus. Then I had the sea scallops, she had the wild salmon, and we shared cheese grits, green beans, her risotto, and grilled asparagus. We complemented our meal with an Adelsheim Pinot Gris.

Our meals were excellent, and we had great service!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A great place. The osso bucco with chees ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

A great place. The osso bucco with cheesy grits and spicy collards was delicious. A funky space with a great soundtrack, heavy on vintage soul. When we mentioned we were heading to New Orleans, the owner pulled up a chair and gave us a half-dozen restaurant suggestions. Can't say enough about this casual gem. Bonus -- we stayed at the Residence Inn right next door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Pork with the cheese grits and colla ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

The Pork with the cheese grits and collard greens was incredible! Highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Charming

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

McEwen's on Monroe is a very charming, cozy ( we sat by the 'heater fireplace' on a very cold night), yet modern neighborhood gem. The menu selection was a perfect variety. I enjoyed the braised Kobe beef short ribs appetizer that was bursting with flavor. The service was excellent all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

McEwen's is a very quaint place and very ideal for late dinners. The staff is very friendly and the food was good. Portions are generous and the staff is very attentive. I would go there with a group as well as on a date, but the romantic feel is perfectly suited for a couple. I would definitely come back .

Tags: romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

I took my wife for a spur of the moment weekend night out and was very impressed. They have a great bar selection and the food and staff were wonderful. Pricing was low in my opinion for the amount of food and quality of service. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

I had the Grilled Sea Bass. My wife had the Beef Tenderloin. We split a piece of coconut cake. It was all delicious. The cake had a very light frosting that was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MemphisGEM

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

My favorite restaurant in downtown Memphis. Menu for everyone in your group. My favorite is the mushroom beet salad. Having been going for 4 years with i in the group each time.Make reservations early.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.