About McEwen's on Monroe

120 Monroe Ave.
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

McEwen’s on Monroe is passionate. Passionate about food, passionate about wine, and passionate about creating a place you long to come back to again and again. An eclectic blend of styles with the largest emphasis on Southern food raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has enabled McEwen’s on Monroe to become one of Downtown’s most comfortable restaurants. Employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff always at the ready. In addition to the bar and dining room, our wine cellar is available for parties up to 20 people.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday and Saturday: 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM; Closed Sundays. Bar remains open (PM) 1 hour after dining room closes.

Cross Street:
2ND & MONROE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 527-7085

Website:
http://www.mcewensonmonroe.com/

Catering:
McEwen's On Monroe specializes in lunch catering. Call 901.527.7085 or see catering description at www.mcewensonmonroe.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking available Monday thru Saturday, 5:30 till close. Street and Public Garage parking available at all times.

Public Transit:
Main Street Trolley stop is less than half block from restaurant entrance. Trolley stop located at Monroe and Mid America Mall.

Executive Chef:
Keith Bambrick

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful wine cellar seats comfortably up to 20 people. Please see Cellar description at our website www.mcewensonmonroe.com or call the restaurant at 901.527.7085. For larger groups please call the restaurant for other options.

Private Party Contact:
Bert Smythe or John Littlefield: 9015277085

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call McEwen's On Monroe at 901.527.7085 to discuss any special request concerning rental of entire restaurant for Special Events.

Restaurant Photos

McEwen's on Monroe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Notable Wine List
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
1 More
Notable Wine List
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (38)
special occasion (33)
neighborhood gem (26)
See All
romantic (25)
notable wine list (20)
good for groups (10)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
806 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service2

Food was amazing! With the exception of ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing! With the exception of the biscuits. They tasted store bought. I had the Osso Bucco and was on heaven. Best in Memphis hands down. My Mom's catfish came out cold which was disappointing. Service was splotchy as well. We watched guests get there food and leave before we got ours (we were only a party of four) and we had placed our orders before they were there.

food5
ambience4
service5

Food was outstanding. Vegetable plate wa ...

Dined 7 days ago

Food was outstanding. Vegetable plate was the best ever! The scallops were superb. This was one of our best meals in a long time - and this is from people who have dined in some of the top venues in the country. Highly recommended.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

McEwen's was a great place to eat before ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

McEwen's was a great place to eat before an Orpheum show. The menu has great variety. We were able to enjoy an excellent meal and made the show with time to spare!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice for a quiet dinner

Dined on May 13, 2016

Nice, artistic feel to the dining room. Separate bar area. Have a large assortment of appetizers and small plates in addition to regular entrees and the waitress encouraged my idea of a few appetizers instead of one main dish so I tried three. The BBQ shrimp and grits were very good, but I was thrown a bit by having shrimp and grits in a BBQ sauce. Also had scallops which were cooked perfectly. And a salad with warm goat cheese which was also very good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The beef tenderloin was incredible, as w ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The beef tenderloin was incredible, as was the service and dining experience!

food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Really Disappointing

Dined on May 8, 2016

Maybe it was an off night, but the food was awful, the noise was loud enough that we couldn't have a conversation, it was sharply overpriced, and did I mention that the food was awful? We'll never go back even though it came highly recommended... We dropped $140 and had much better food for $4 at a food truck earlier in the day. The service was okay and the managers offered to make up for the bad experience, but there is no excuse for gross chicken covered in heaps of cumin on a bisquick pancake, or a $30 ribeye that's over cooked, grissly, fatty, etc... I could go on, but it's unnecessary. I almost never review places, but this was a serious disappointment - especially when I look back at the bill.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

good food

Dined on May 6, 2016

We grazed on appetizers and enjoyed the variety. Excellent wines by the glass. Room is very noisy and in need of some repairs as looking up to broken ceiling tiles with black spot was not appealing.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Still a great place!

Dined on April 11, 2016

Excellent meal, would go here more often if I lived closer to downtown. I don't think I have ever been disappointed here. Had the oso buck this week and it was fantastic. I've been several times over the years and what's impressive is the have maintained high quality through different chefs.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

So good...

Dined on April 8, 2016

So good we had to go back a second time. Awesome mini plates. Rib eye was one of the best steaks I've had.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Food was fine, but it wasn't very crowde ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Food was fine, but it wasn't very crowded on a Thursday night and we were seated and paid in 35 minutes. We had barely finished our appetizer and salad before the meal was in front of us. I still had my cocktail in front of me. A nicer restaurant should be able to pace the meal better whether it's crowded or sparse. Felt more like a fast casual restaurant that cost a lot more.

food5
ambience5
service5

Arrived early - was seated and served - ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Arrived early - was seated and served - arrived at our concert early as a result!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gluten free options, GREAT food, & Super Service

Dined on March 31, 2016

My husband and I eat gluten free. Although they do not have a gluten free menu, the server was very knowledgeable about gluten free options and they were fantastic. My husband had the rib-eye steak and I had the fish special. Both were FANTASTIC!! I want to go back to have the rib-eye steak myself. Julie the manager was very friendly and had tons of interesting stories of different celebrities eating in the restaurant. On any given NBA game night you might get lucky and catch a glimpse of the San Antonio Spurs or Pop! They do catering too and do a great job. Make reservations, because the place is a little small, but definitely worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2

Server was not real polite. It took a w ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Server was not real polite. It took a while to get salad and appetizers. When we ask about receiving them she wasn't apologetic or anything. She never really came to check to see how our food was either. Another server did fill our drinks for us. Food was ok but not as good as it has been in the past.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

50th Anniversary

Dined on March 22, 2016

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at McEwen's on Monroe and it was everything we knew it would be and more. Our friends tried to get us to go to other new, fufu places, but we have always loved the food, service , and atmosphere at McEwens, and our expectations were exceeded. This place is the total package for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the lamb and beef tenderloin and ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

We had the lamb and beef tenderloin and it was perfect. Not a morsel left on our plates. Perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Best Down Town

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

McEwen's has become the best destination for dining on fine food in an informal atmosphere for Downtown Memphis. The food is always good, and the rotation of at least the small plates, with featured soup and entrees daily, is appreciated in a city where so many restaurants choose not to alter the menu for years.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a great time! The food was delici ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

We had a great time! The food was delicious!! It is an elegant casual atmosphere. The service was excellent. The only downside was that there was a large party in the main room who were quite rowdy and loud. It did kind of take away from the ambiance, but the overall experience was still wonderful.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not quite the same

Dined on March 9, 2016

We enjoyed this restaurant about five years ago. We returned this time for the sole reason of once again experiencing the fried oyster appetizer. Unfortunately the preparation was entirely different. The oysters were smaller, overly breaded and overlooked. Very disappointing. The rest of the meal was fine, and the service was great, but we may not make the effort next time through town.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem

Dined on March 8, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary. We are always trying places we have never been before and did not know what to expect. We were very happy with our choice. The food was wonderful, she had the Catfish and I had the Osso Buco. The portions are very filling and prices very reasonable. The service was great and we even spent some time talking to one of the owners. Everyone was very nice and we could not have been happier. My wife declared it as one of her favorites and that we needed to go there more often. We will definitely be back and soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place. The osso bucco with chees ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

A great place. The osso bucco with cheesy grits and spicy collards was delicious. A funky space with a great soundtrack, heavy on vintage soul. When we mentioned we were heading to New Orleans, the owner pulled up a chair and gave us a half-dozen restaurant suggestions. Can't say enough about this casual gem. Bonus -- we stayed at the Residence Inn right next door.

food5
ambience5
service4

The Pork with the cheese grits and colla ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

The Pork with the cheese grits and collard greens was incredible! Highly recommend it!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Charming

Dined on February 9, 2016

McEwen's on Monroe is a very charming, cozy ( we sat by the 'heater fireplace' on a very cold night), yet modern neighborhood gem. The menu selection was a perfect variety. I enjoyed the braised Kobe beef short ribs appetizer that was bursting with flavor. The service was excellent all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice

Dined on February 6, 2016

McEwen's is a very quaint place and very ideal for late dinners. The staff is very friendly and the food was good. Portions are generous and the staff is very attentive. I would go there with a group as well as on a date, but the romantic feel is perfectly suited for a couple. I would definitely come back .

Tags: romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on January 24, 2016

I took my wife for a spur of the moment weekend night out and was very impressed. They have a great bar selection and the food and staff were wonderful. Pricing was low in my opinion for the amount of food and quality of service. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable

Dined on January 16, 2016

I had the Grilled Sea Bass. My wife had the Beef Tenderloin. We split a piece of coconut cake. It was all delicious. The cake had a very light frosting that was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MemphisGEM

Dined on January 16, 2016

My favorite restaurant in downtown Memphis. Menu for everyone in your group. My favorite is the mushroom beet salad. Having been going for 4 years with i in the group each time.Make reservations early.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

talk about dropping the ball on new years eve

Dined on January 1, 2016

I have been here many times, and it's usually great. Unfortunately they really dropped the ball on New Year's Eve. After sitting at our table for 30 minutes we finally had to go to the hostess and ask if we could have someone take our order. The food did not come out together. Everyone was done with their second course before I even got mine. Nobody ever apologized or acknowledged there was an issue. I'm not sure what was going on. They seem to have had enough servers. They were just very unorganized. The bill for the dinner and 2 glasses of wine was 115 dollars. I would expect decent service for the price. For the record, the food was good.

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Last Minute Menu Change Notification

Dined on December 31, 2015

Overall, I had a very good experience dining at McEwens. The MAIN issue I had that blessed my experience was the menu. I booked the NYE reservations weeks in advance and was notified on the 30th that the menu would not be the standard menu. If I had known this in advance, I would not have made the reservation. It was not only NYE, but my boyfriend's birthday and he has a favorite dish that he loves there. I made the reservation so that he could have his favorite. The four courses were nice, but that was not what would have been preferred. Because I wasn't notified until the 30th, there was no way I could get reservations anywhere else the day before NYE. I just wish this modified menu would have been communicated earlier.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Food and service were very good. First ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

Food and service were very good. First time visit for myself. Celebrating birthday.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Effortless Satisfaction

Dined on December 24, 2015

This place takes care of it all. All 6 of us were very satisfied with our meals. Waitstaff was knowledgeable. The service was helpful without being intrusive. The atmosphere allowed for conversation. We just sat back and enjoyed.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fogot how good this place is

vip
Dined on December 18, 2015

We came here this week after months of forgetting how good this is. Had a quick dinner before a concert and returned for an after dinner drink. What a relaxed high quality restaurant. Will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dining experience

Dined on December 16, 2015

The food was fantastic and in my opinion among the best in Memphis area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Small Front; Big Place

vip
Dined on December 9, 2015

A most nice little niche dinner in downtown. Rustic in appearance, dark wood, tin ceiling, intimate tables and dining room but most progressive in selection and preparation. Many "small" plates from appetizers to small entrees allows one to take advantage of a good selection and variety of items. All items enjoyed (Short rib Sliders, duck enchiladas, shrimp & grits) were well prepared and presented by a courteous, attentive and informative staff. (I eliminated down to 2-3 options and asked recommendations. She was SPOT ON! Sorry, don't remember her name.) The coconut cake was superb! Just moist enough without being gooey; a light coconut flavor and texture and most ample. I usually hesitate with cakes, I don't like them refrigerated. Took the server's rec and went for it. Good, good choice. Not too far from the beaten path of arenas, parks and theater. Will definitely return to try some other dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3

Great Food

Dined on December 6, 2015

We had a great meal --- The scallops and the Osso Bucco were wonderful. The service is good but slow. The drinks were well poured. The Creme Brûlée was delicious----The Banana Cream Pie okay. We had a great meal but another waiter would have helped the service( our waiter was covering most of the tables in the dining area).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Nice Restaurant

Dined on December 6, 2015

This would have been a much nicer experience if the group at the table next to ours hadn't been so loud. The food was nice, although I found the sauce for the fillet a little sweet (but, of course, that is just a matter of taste). The service was very good - the waiter friendly and attentive. This was a recommendation from a friend who travels often to Memphis and we would eat here again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wow, what an evening!

Dined on November 27, 2015

Visiting Memphis to meet family in the region and saw the menu for McEwen's. The written word didn't do it justice. Phenomenal food, well presented with an excellent wait staff. Great wines and a bonus treat was the rare spirit selection, try the great bourbons!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious!

vip
Dined on November 24, 2015

The food was absolutely delicious! I ate so much.... fried oysters to start, then the molasses braised cabbage, the squash crusted catfish, white wine and the banana cream pie. It was all so good! The wait staff was so friendly and fast. Wonderful dining experience and would love to go back next time I'm in town.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Adequate Food Great Service

Dined on November 22, 2015

Rated as Fit for Foodies by some, I disagree. The wild mushroom salad was devoid of mushroom taste - disappointing. The smoked salmon appetizer tasted good, but it could have been purchased from Costco, opened and plated - nothing really special. The beef and tuna tartare was very good. The wine list was very good. Overall, however, we were disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for Business Function

vip
Dined on November 20, 2015

I had dinner with a group of 10 business associates. The restaurant accommodated our group perfectly. The food was excellent with a varied menu and good wine list. The restaurant offers just the right amount of "southern" fusion without being too far out of the lines on either side. It offered spot on, high quality, well executed food and service. The table next to us included a young couple. He proposed during dinner. It seemed like the right place for that as well. I guess you could say the restaurant meets both intimate and corporate expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2

It was just okay

Dined on November 20, 2015

The food was good but would have been great if everything wasn't served on crostini. I do not want to eat with my fingers. Knife and Fork!! Sad to pay good money to eat nice food on a cracker. A fresh homemade thinly slice baguette would have made a great improvement. It was also sad to see the servers in blue jeans and tennis shoes when we were dressed up. Probably wont be back :( Nothing special and service was blahh

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.