About McEwen's on Monroe

120 Monroe Ave.
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

McEwen’s on Monroe is passionate. Passionate about food, passionate about wine, and passionate about creating a place you long to come back to again and again. An eclectic blend of styles with the largest emphasis on Southern food raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has enabled McEwen’s on Monroe to become one of Downtown’s most comfortable restaurants. Employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff always at the ready. In addition to the bar and dining room, our wine cellar is available for parties up to 20 people.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday and Saturday: 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM; Closed Sundays. Bar remains open (PM) 1 hour after dining room closes.

Cross Street:
2ND & MONROE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 527-7085

Website:
http://www.mcewensonmonroe.com/

Catering:
McEwen's On Monroe specializes in lunch catering. Call 901.527.7085 or see catering description at www.mcewensonmonroe.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking available Monday thru Saturday, 5:30 till close. Street and Public Garage parking available at all times.

Public Transit:
Main Street Trolley stop is less than half block from restaurant entrance. Trolley stop located at Monroe and Mid America Mall.

Executive Chef:
Keith Bambrick

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful wine cellar seats comfortably up to 20 people. Please see Cellar description at our website www.mcewensonmonroe.com or call the restaurant at 901.527.7085. For larger groups please call the restaurant for other options.

Private Party Contact:
Bert Smythe or John Littlefield: 9015277085

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call McEwen's On Monroe at 901.527.7085 to discuss any special request concerning rental of entire restaurant for Special Events.

Restaurant Photos

  • Ahi tuna
  • Grouper
  • Watermelon Salad
  • Seared Sea Scallops
  • Caesar Salad
  • Chocolate Love
  • Grilled Lamb Sirloin W Vanilla Bean Mashed Sweet Potatoes And Grilled Asparagus
  • Black Bean Soup
  • pear tarte bourdaloue
Ahi tuna
Grouper
Watermelon Salad
Seared Sea Scallops
Caesar Salad
Chocolate Love
Grilled Lamb Sirloin W Vanilla Bean Mashed Sweet Potatoes And Grilled Asparagus
Black Bean Soup
pear tarte bourdaloue

McEwen's on Monroe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Memphis
American
Memphis
Neighborhood Gem
Memphis
1 More
American
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (33)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Romantic (24)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Casual (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Business Meals (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
843 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Disappointed, Took business clients hopi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Disappointed, Took business clients hoping to impress. Salads were served incorrectly and removed when none had been ordered. Entrees also served incorrectly. Refills on beverages had to be requested. Ambience was loud, crowded and grungy. Pricing would suggest that the customer is a priority to the wait staff and would receive highest quality service and attention. Missed it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

We found the restaurant on TripAdvisor a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We found the restaurant on TripAdvisor as we were driving into town. It's a good thing that we made a reservation because it was full when we arrived except for our table.

Food was fresh. Flavors were excellent. Dishes were innovative and portions were a perfect size. Highly recommend and would definitely go back next time we are in town.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had very good food and excellent serv ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had very good food and excellent service. We appreciate the timely yet unobtrusive attention from the entire staff.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Drive over 120 miles and always eat here ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Drive over 120 miles and always eat here. The food was tasty and a Malbec at $5.50 a glass (big pour) was a bargain. We got reseated quickly because we initially sat near a rowdy and rude table of patrons. Oh well. I would have given the 5-stars but the scallops were gritty and tough. Speaking of grits -- McEwen's has wonderful grits and small biscuits! Definitely will return and I recommend visitors to Memphis give this small and friendly place a try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and great service, both locat ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food and great service, both locations are always consistent with there quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed mcewens. We have eaten ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Really enjoyed mcewens. We have eaten there before, about 10 years ago. Food quality is exceptional! My wife loved her grouper, and I had aosso bucolic of pork with outstanding southern sides, like greens, potatoes, and it was delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Food was good, and there were plenty of ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was good, and there were plenty of choices for vegetarians. Our server was excellent, knowledgeable and patient.

Our table for 6 was too small and we were cramped, so that was not ideal

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The food and service were sensational. I ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The food and service were sensational. I couldn't stop raving about the food when I went to work the next day. Our service were so professional and friendly. Great to finally find a quality restaurant in Memphis!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Organic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great restaurant in downtown Memphis. Wo ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great restaurant in downtown Memphis. Would definitely recommend the restaurant, and look forward to going back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, a little noisy, but ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was excellent, a little noisy, but the food makes up for it.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The waiters was so nice and knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The waiters was so nice and knowledgeable about all of the dishes and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and service impeccabl ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was excellent and service impeccable. We always enjoy dining at McEwen's.

The noise level in the dining room was a higher than I prefer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food, service, wine list and ambiance wa ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food, service, wine list and ambiance was terrific. Will return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This is just a great place, have been go ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

This is just a great place, have been going here for years and still excellent. Best items for me on current menu are lamb steak and osso bucco. But I've had many types of fish here as well, never disappointed. Its a nice older building, service typically prompt and excellent as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant has the best fried oyste ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant has the best fried oysters I have eaten. Perfect place for a date or a get together with friends. There are so many things on the menu I want to try which is not normally the case with me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there with a group of 9 during a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We went there with a group of 9 during a vacation stay. We had made reservations under two names but when we got to the restaurant they placed us at a large table in the bar area so we could all sit together. The server was friendly, knowledgeable and patient. The food was excellent. I had the SeaBass for the main course which was cooked to perfection with a delicious sear. It was served with a Risotto and spinach that individually were plain and maybe even under seasoned, but when mixed was wonderful. Everyone in our group loved there meals, I don't think there was a complaint from anyone. Even the 11 year old picky eater liked her meal and the home made biscuits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food and great service. Ambien ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Delicious food and great service. Ambience was relaxing. Nice wine list and an easy walk from the trolleystop . only criticism was the table was so tiny,it was a challenge to handle your place settings. Overall, though, a great dining experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for dinner and had a great ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We went there for dinner and had a great experience. They accommodated a change in plans.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My friends and I love this restaurant. I ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

My friends and I love this restaurant. It's our go to for our birthday celebrations. Thanks again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service & ambience outstanding. A ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food, service & ambience outstanding. A little loud but place was full.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I forgot take a picture of my meal. I ha ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I forgot take a picture of my meal. I had the Braised Pork Buco & it was delicious. It was a large piece of meat& the spicey greens were very very tasty. I will definitely be going back. All of my friends loved their meal. Service was great & server very attentive

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, there were 3 of us an ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was good, there were 3 of us and we shared the cheese plate and had three entrees for $97. It was a business dinner. I will return. I ordered the sweet potato crusted catfish that was okay. It was not cooked done enough for me, but I like my fish well done. The overall rating was very good. Service was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. I was taking some o ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was excellent. I was taking some out of town guests out for a business dinner. The guests were into wine and they enjoyed the bottle of Itallian wine that we got.

Been coming to McKewens since 2002 - love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The atmosphere was great and the food wa ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The atmosphere was great and the food was wonderful. Definitely going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting selection of foods. The lob ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Interesting selection of foods. The lobster risotto was superb. Everyone at the dinner party practically licked their plate to get every drop! It gets crowded so definitely recommend reservations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been to McEwens several times, and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I've been to McEwens several times, and unfortunately I was disappointed a little this trip. The food was excellent, but I was not impressed with the service. We were seated quickly but then had to wait at least 5 minutes for a server to bring us water and another 10 minutes for him to come back and ask us if we wanted anything else to drink. We were also not given any small plates for the biscuits they brought out for the table. Overall, the food was still excellent, but the service made me wish we had chosen some other restaurant for our special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food as always ! Scallops and salm ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food as always ! Scallops and salmon were outstanding

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We selected McEwen's based on the Yelp r ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We selected McEwen's based on the Yelp reviews and that it listed McEwen's as one of the top 10 most romantic restaurants in Memphis. I will tell you that the romance part was mistaken. It was our 24th wedding anniversary and i made reservations and asked to be sat somewhere kind of private as i had also never been there before, but since it was rated so highly on romance I thought this was a normal request. Unfortunately, due to the small cramped seating area, we were stuck in a corner surround by large parties that were loud enough we couldn't hear the nice music playing. We did have a candle but it wasnt dim enough in restaurant to really notice. I will say the reason i still gave it a very good overall review is that my tenderloin was cooked perfectly and tasted great as did the banana creme pie. I was surprised there was no dinner salad and we received 2 small plain biscuits with no butter, maybe that is a trend I am not aware of. Our service was good as well, so that helped and we took advantage of the valet parking which was handy. Overall - the experience was good due to our entree and dessert, but as for a romantic evening out, I would suggest another place, or they need to reinvent the dining experience and sitting room here. Thanks!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Great place!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We always are appreciated of the attenti ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We always are appreciated of the attention to detail at McEwen's in the food and service. Never had a bad time or experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

They are trying hard to have a creative ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

They are trying hard to have a creative menu but dishes we had both fell short.

Food average. Putting sweet mango sauce on steak didn't work well and was overpowering. Fish special was average.

Waitress not knowledgeable and service average.

For the money go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

one word: fabulous. need to add 40 more ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

one word: fabulous. need to add 40 more characters...delicious, one of our best restaurants in town, always perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great, but it ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food and service were great, but it was too warm and a little too crowded.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered the lamb. My meat was luke war ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I ordered the lamb. My meat was luke warm at best when it reached the table. On top of that, it was a sinewy piece of meat. The mashed potatoes were coyingly sweet with way too much vanilla that was over-powering. The only good thing on the plate were the asparagus. Our waitress was rude and acted irritated To be there. Dessert wasn't any better. There are so many other restaurants in the city. This place desperately needs to be renovated.

Do yourself a favor and eat somewhere else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Best restaurant in Memphis?

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

A gem of a restaurant. The food is really good. Can be loud when full. Recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a group of seven for a business d ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We had a group of seven for a business dinner, and we were given the opportunity to have dinner privately in the wine cellar, which worked out extremely well , and the service was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing! With the exception of ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Food was amazing! With the exception of the biscuits. They tasted store bought. I had the Osso Bucco and was on heaven. Best in Memphis hands down. My Mom's catfish came out cold which was disappointing. Service was splotchy as well. We watched guests get there food and leave before we got ours (we were only a party of four) and we had placed our orders before they were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Food was outstanding. Vegetable plate wa ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was outstanding. Vegetable plate was the best ever! The scallops were superb. This was one of our best meals in a long time - and this is from people who have dined in some of the top venues in the country. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

McEwen's was a great place to eat before ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

McEwen's was a great place to eat before an Orpheum show. The menu has great variety. We were able to enjoy an excellent meal and made the show with time to spare!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice for a quiet dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Nice, artistic feel to the dining room. Separate bar area. Have a large assortment of appetizers and small plates in addition to regular entrees and the waitress encouraged my idea of a few appetizers instead of one main dish so I tried three. The BBQ shrimp and grits were very good, but I was thrown a bit by having shrimp and grits in a BBQ sauce. Also had scallops which were cooked perfectly. And a salad with warm goat cheese which was also very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.