About McEwen's on Monroe

120 Monroe Ave.
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

McEwen’s on Monroe is passionate. Passionate about food, passionate about wine, and passionate about creating a place you long to come back to again and again. An eclectic blend of styles with the largest emphasis on Southern food raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has enabled McEwen’s on Monroe to become one of Downtown’s most comfortable restaurants. Employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff always at the ready. In addition to the bar and dining room, our wine cellar is available for parties up to 20 people.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday and Saturday: 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM; Closed Sundays. Bar remains open (PM) 1 hour after dining room closes.

Cross Street:
2ND & MONROE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 527-7085

Website:
http://www.mcewensonmonroe.com/

Catering:
McEwen's On Monroe specializes in lunch catering. Call 901.527.7085 or see catering description at www.mcewensonmonroe.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking available Monday thru Saturday, 5:30 till close. Street and Public Garage parking available at all times.

Public Transit:
Main Street Trolley stop is less than half block from restaurant entrance. Trolley stop located at Monroe and Mid America Mall.

Executive Chef:
Keith Bambrick

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful wine cellar seats comfortably up to 20 people. Please see Cellar description at our website www.mcewensonmonroe.com or call the restaurant at 901.527.7085. For larger groups please call the restaurant for other options.

Private Party Contact:
Bert Smythe or John Littlefield: 9015277085

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call McEwen's On Monroe at 901.527.7085 to discuss any special request concerning rental of entire restaurant for Special Events.

Restaurant Photos

  • Ahi tuna - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN
  • Grouper - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN
  • Watermelon Salad - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN
  • Seared Sea Scallops - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN
  • Caesar Salad - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN
  • Chocolate Love - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN
  • Grilled Lamb Sirloin W Vanilla Bean Mashed Sweet Potatoes And Grilled Asparagus - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN
  • Black Bean Soup - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN
  • pear tarte bourdaloue - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN
Ahi tuna - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN
Grouper - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN
Watermelon Salad - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN
Seared Sea Scallops - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN
Caesar Salad - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN
Chocolate Love - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN
Grilled Lamb Sirloin W Vanilla Bean Mashed Sweet Potatoes And Grilled Asparagus - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN
Black Bean Soup - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN
pear tarte bourdaloue - McEwen's on Monroe, Memphis, TN

McEwen's on Monroe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
American
Memphis
3 More
Best Food
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
American
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Casual (13)
See All
Cozy (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Authentic (9)
Romantic (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Tapas (2)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
859 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely southern restaurant. Laid back en ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 2 days ago

Lovely southern restaurant. Laid back environment wi th excellent food

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place to entertain clients! Amaz ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect place to entertain clients! Amazing food, great ambiance, wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious from start to finish!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Delicious from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had dinner here with my son. We had pre ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Had dinner here with my son. We had previously dined at their location in Oxford, MS. The food was outstanding. I had barrel fish with a crawfish sauce which was excellent and I am not a fish guy. We really enjoyed our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was horrible.... staff was more ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service was horrible.... staff was more interested in completing their pre close activities than serving the guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

This restaurant is a must if you are in ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This restaurant is a must if you are in Memphis. From start to finish we were thoroughly pleased. A definite recommend and return. Thank you McEwans for doing an outstanding job.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience. Love seeing M ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always a great experience. Love seeing Mark when we are there.

Had the RedFish special, fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are not in Memphis often, but wheneve ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We are not in Memphis often, but whenever we get there we HAVE to eat at McEwen's. Simply wonderful every time!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual. When I visit from out o ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great as usual. When I visit from out of state and stay downtown this is the place for me to go. Excellent and varied menu with very reasonable prices in a casual environment. Can't ask for anything more!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just perfect for us and our friends in M ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Just perfect for us and our friends in Memphis!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

we were in from Dallas for the weekend a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

we were in from Dallas for the weekend and really enjoyed our meal there - everything was solid from service to food and great desserts - nice wine list too (not too pricey) which I find the be both refreshing and much appreciated! Highly recommend it!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasant staff, great food and wine at r ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Pleasant staff, great food and wine at reasonable prices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First visit to Memphis. Recommended by T ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

First visit to Memphis. Recommended by Trip Adviser - great experience . Great waiter

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a delightful meal! Service was atte ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 8, 2016

What a delightful meal! Service was attentive without being intrusive, and food was outstanding. Charming environment. My wife's dietary restrictions were accommodated easily without lessening the meal. The chef even came to the table to be sure her needs were addressed in the kitchen. A real highlight of our weekend in Memphis.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both my wife and I enjoyed McCuan's. Goo ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Both my wife and I enjoyed McCuan's. Good food,nice atmoshere and great service. The waitress was so helpful to recommend just the right foods.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Disappointed, Took business clients hopi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Disappointed, Took business clients hoping to impress. Salads were served incorrectly and removed when none had been ordered. Entrees also served incorrectly. Refills on beverages had to be requested. Ambience was loud, crowded and grungy. Pricing would suggest that the customer is a priority to the wait staff and would receive highest quality service and attention. Missed it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

We found the restaurant on TripAdvisor a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We found the restaurant on TripAdvisor as we were driving into town. It's a good thing that we made a reservation because it was full when we arrived except for our table.

Food was fresh. Flavors were excellent. Dishes were innovative and portions were a perfect size. Highly recommend and would definitely go back next time we are in town.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had very good food and excellent serv ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had very good food and excellent service. We appreciate the timely yet unobtrusive attention from the entire staff.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Drive over 120 miles and always eat here ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Drive over 120 miles and always eat here. The food was tasty and a Malbec at $5.50 a glass (big pour) was a bargain. We got reseated quickly because we initially sat near a rowdy and rude table of patrons. Oh well. I would have given the 5-stars but the scallops were gritty and tough. Speaking of grits -- McEwen's has wonderful grits and small biscuits! Definitely will return and I recommend visitors to Memphis give this small and friendly place a try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and great service, both locat ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food and great service, both locations are always consistent with there quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed mcewens. We have eaten ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Really enjoyed mcewens. We have eaten there before, about 10 years ago. Food quality is exceptional! My wife loved her grouper, and I had aosso bucolic of pork with outstanding southern sides, like greens, potatoes, and it was delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Food was good, and there were plenty of ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was good, and there were plenty of choices for vegetarians. Our server was excellent, knowledgeable and patient.

Our table for 6 was too small and we were cramped, so that was not ideal

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The food and service were sensational. I ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The food and service were sensational. I couldn't stop raving about the food when I went to work the next day. Our service were so professional and friendly. Great to finally find a quality restaurant in Memphis!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Organic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great restaurant in downtown Memphis. Wo ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great restaurant in downtown Memphis. Would definitely recommend the restaurant, and look forward to going back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, a little noisy, but ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was excellent, a little noisy, but the food makes up for it.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The waiters was so nice and knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The waiters was so nice and knowledgeable about all of the dishes and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and service impeccabl ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was excellent and service impeccable. We always enjoy dining at McEwen's.

The noise level in the dining room was a higher than I prefer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food, service, wine list and ambiance wa ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food, service, wine list and ambiance was terrific. Will return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This is just a great place, have been go ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 23, 2016

This is just a great place, have been going here for years and still excellent. Best items for me on current menu are lamb steak and osso bucco. But I've had many types of fish here as well, never disappointed. Its a nice older building, service typically prompt and excellent as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant has the best fried oyste ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant has the best fried oysters I have eaten. Perfect place for a date or a get together with friends. There are so many things on the menu I want to try which is not normally the case with me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there with a group of 9 during a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We went there with a group of 9 during a vacation stay. We had made reservations under two names but when we got to the restaurant they placed us at a large table in the bar area so we could all sit together. The server was friendly, knowledgeable and patient. The food was excellent. I had the SeaBass for the main course which was cooked to perfection with a delicious sear. It was served with a Risotto and spinach that individually were plain and maybe even under seasoned, but when mixed was wonderful. Everyone in our group loved there meals, I don't think there was a complaint from anyone. Even the 11 year old picky eater liked her meal and the home made biscuits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food and great service. Ambien ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Delicious food and great service. Ambience was relaxing. Nice wine list and an easy walk from the trolleystop . only criticism was the table was so tiny,it was a challenge to handle your place settings. Overall, though, a great dining experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for dinner and had a great ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We went there for dinner and had a great experience. They accommodated a change in plans.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My friends and I love this restaurant. I ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 4, 2016

My friends and I love this restaurant. It's our go to for our birthday celebrations. Thanks again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service & ambience outstanding. A ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food, service & ambience outstanding. A little loud but place was full.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I forgot take a picture of my meal. I ha ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I forgot take a picture of my meal. I had the Braised Pork Buco & it was delicious. It was a large piece of meat& the spicey greens were very very tasty. I will definitely be going back. All of my friends loved their meal. Service was great & server very attentive

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, there were 3 of us an ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was good, there were 3 of us and we shared the cheese plate and had three entrees for $97. It was a business dinner. I will return. I ordered the sweet potato crusted catfish that was okay. It was not cooked done enough for me, but I like my fish well done. The overall rating was very good. Service was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. I was taking some o ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was excellent. I was taking some out of town guests out for a business dinner. The guests were into wine and they enjoyed the bottle of Itallian wine that we got.

Been coming to McKewens since 2002 - love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The atmosphere was great and the food wa ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The atmosphere was great and the food was wonderful. Definitely going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting selection of foods. The lob ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Interesting selection of foods. The lobster risotto was superb. Everyone at the dinner party practically licked their plate to get every drop! It gets crowded so definitely recommend reservations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.