About McEwen's on Monroe

120 Monroe Ave.
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

McEwen’s on Monroe is passionate. Passionate about food, passionate about wine, and passionate about creating a place you long to come back to again and again. An eclectic blend of styles with the largest emphasis on Southern food raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has enabled McEwen’s on Monroe to become one of Downtown’s most comfortable restaurants. Employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff always at the ready. In addition to the bar and dining room, our wine cellar is available for parties up to 20 people.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday and Saturday: 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM; Closed Sundays. Bar remains open (PM) 1 hour after dining room closes.

Cross Street:
2ND & MONROE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 527-7085

Website:
http://www.mcewensonmonroe.com/

Catering:
McEwen's On Monroe specializes in lunch catering. Call 901.527.7085 or see catering description at www.mcewensonmonroe.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking available Monday thru Saturday, 5:30 till close. Street and Public Garage parking available at all times.

Public Transit:
Main Street Trolley stop is less than half block from restaurant entrance. Trolley stop located at Monroe and Mid America Mall.

Executive Chef:
Keith Bambrick

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful wine cellar seats comfortably up to 20 people. Please see Cellar description at our website www.mcewensonmonroe.com or call the restaurant at 901.527.7085. For larger groups please call the restaurant for other options.

Private Party Contact:
Bert Smythe or John Littlefield: (901) 527-7085

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call McEwen's On Monroe at 901.527.7085 to discuss any special request concerning rental of entire restaurant for Special Events.

McEwen's on Monroe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
See All
Cozy (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Casual (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Romantic (10)
Authentic (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Historic (4)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
924 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Server was very rude and short, we had a ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Server was very rude and short, we had a later reservation and we understand they wanted to go home but it's still not an excuse to be rude. Food was tasty though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

This is my favorite restaurant. We went ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

This is my favorite restaurant. We went on Valentine's Day, and it did not disappoint!! We ate in the wine cellar, and it was great. The service was fantastic and the food was amazing. Their scallops are the best in Memphis! I can't wait until we go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Historic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience dining in the wine ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful experience dining in the wine cellar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food quality was good. The fish we order ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Food quality was good. The fish we ordered was cooked perfectly. The atmosphere is a 60's bar. Tables are close together and you are part of your neighbor's conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Always an excellent place to dine. Good ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Always an excellent place to dine. Good food and service

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Valentines dinner. Our favorite restaura ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentines dinner. Our favorite restaurant in the Mis-South.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to McEwens on a busy weekend and wa ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went to McEwens on a busy weekend and was surprised the service was excellent and the food was great! I have eaten there several times and have never been disappointed! I have eaten at the bar for a quick run in with no reservation and it was also a pleasant experience! One of Memphis's best eateries for sure!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing selection of whiskey and bourbon ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing selection of whiskey and bourbon! Some dates back to George Washington. Great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our meal was outstanding. The service gr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our meal was outstanding. The service great. I don't think they could have been more accommodating had they wanted to. The food was beautifully presented, very tasty and of ample portions. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I chose McEwen's for our ann ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My wife and I chose McEwen's for our anniversary and were not disappointed. She had her favorite sweet potato encrusted catfish and I tried the New York strip for the first time. The steak went down in history as one of the top 3 steaks I have ever had. Our waiter suggested the strawberry cobbler for desert. It was a unique twist on an old favorite. I look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always! The fried oysters w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Delicious as always! The fried oysters were melt-in-your-mouth!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was good as usual!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Everything was good as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Exceptional. Manager attentive, food ex ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Exceptional. Manager attentive, food excellent and a selection of whiskies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was the perfect evening shared with t ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was the perfect evening shared with the perfect person. So accommodating and the food was divine. Would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was marvelous. Probably the be ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was marvelous. Probably the best meal I had on a three week vacation in Memphis, New Orleans and Chicago.

Tags: , Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great menu selections, even small plates ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great menu selections, even small plates which were awesome . Definitely a must try!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son and I dined here before a Grizzli ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My son and I dined here before a Grizzlies game. Service was prompt and the food was outstanding as is the case every time I go to McEwen's. I had the goat cheese salad and the scallop entree. My son had a Caesar salad and the fish special which was fresh Gulf grouper with a tomatillo sauce. The food was excellently prepared and served hot. I highly recommend McEwen's on Madison in Memphis.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Greedy experience all around!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Greedy experience all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing as always with many unique meals ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Amazing as always with many unique meals to choose from and awesome wine and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As someone born and raised in Memphis, f ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

As someone born and raised in Memphis, for me to come bCk home for a business trip and reintroduce myself to McEwen's was special. This is a quaint place with character, perfect place for an intimate dinner or an important business engagement.

The food quality was exactly how I remember it, outstanding! Personnel know their menus and wine list and are friendly and helpful. Don't miss out on this wonderful place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We love McEwen's. It's our go to every ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We love McEwen's. It's our go to every time we get to Memphis. Never had a bad meal there ever. Will keep coming back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely southern restaurant. Laid back en ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Lovely southern restaurant. Laid back environment wi th excellent food

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place to entertain clients! Amaz ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Perfect place to entertain clients! Amazing food, great ambiance, wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious from start to finish!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Delicious from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had dinner here with my son. We had pre ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Had dinner here with my son. We had previously dined at their location in Oxford, MS. The food was outstanding. I had barrel fish with a crawfish sauce which was excellent and I am not a fish guy. We really enjoyed our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was horrible.... staff was more ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service was horrible.... staff was more interested in completing their pre close activities than serving the guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

This restaurant is a must if you are in ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This restaurant is a must if you are in Memphis. From start to finish we were thoroughly pleased. A definite recommend and return. Thank you McEwans for doing an outstanding job.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience. Love seeing M ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always a great experience. Love seeing Mark when we are there.

Had the RedFish special, fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are not in Memphis often, but wheneve ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We are not in Memphis often, but whenever we get there we HAVE to eat at McEwen's. Simply wonderful every time!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual. When I visit from out o ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great as usual. When I visit from out of state and stay downtown this is the place for me to go. Excellent and varied menu with very reasonable prices in a casual environment. Can't ask for anything more!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just perfect for us and our friends in M ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Just perfect for us and our friends in Memphis!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

we were in from Dallas for the weekend a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

we were in from Dallas for the weekend and really enjoyed our meal there - everything was solid from service to food and great desserts - nice wine list too (not too pricey) which I find the be both refreshing and much appreciated! Highly recommend it!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasant staff, great food and wine at r ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Pleasant staff, great food and wine at reasonable prices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First visit to Memphis. Recommended by T ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

First visit to Memphis. Recommended by Trip Adviser - great experience . Great waiter

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great food

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

What a delightful meal! Service was atte ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 8, 2016

What a delightful meal! Service was attentive without being intrusive, and food was outstanding. Charming environment. My wife's dietary restrictions were accommodated easily without lessening the meal. The chef even came to the table to be sure her needs were addressed in the kitchen. A real highlight of our weekend in Memphis.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both my wife and I enjoyed McCuan's. Goo ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Both my wife and I enjoyed McCuan's. Good food,nice atmoshere and great service. The waitress was so helpful to recommend just the right foods.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, , Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Disappointed, Took business clients hopi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Disappointed, Took business clients hoping to impress. Salads were served incorrectly and removed when none had been ordered. Entrees also served incorrectly. Refills on beverages had to be requested. Ambience was loud, crowded and grungy. Pricing would suggest that the customer is a priority to the wait staff and would receive highest quality service and attention. Missed it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

We found the restaurant on TripAdvisor a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We found the restaurant on TripAdvisor as we were driving into town. It's a good thing that we made a reservation because it was full when we arrived except for our table.

Food was fresh. Flavors were excellent. Dishes were innovative and portions were a perfect size. Highly recommend and would definitely go back next time we are in town.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had very good food and excellent serv ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had very good food and excellent service. We appreciate the timely yet unobtrusive attention from the entire staff.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.