Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About McEwen's on Monroe

McEwen’s on Monroe is passionate. Passionate about food, passionate about wine, and passionate about creating a place you long to come back to again and again. An eclectic blend of styles with the largest emphasis on Southern food raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has enabled McEwen’s on Monroe to become one of Downtown’s most comfortable restaurants. Employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff always at the ready. In addition to the bar and dining room, our wine cellar is available for parties up to 20 people.

120 Monroe Ave.
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday and Saturday: 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM; Closed Sundays. Bar remains open (PM) 1 hour after dining room closes.

Cross Street:
2ND & MONROE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 527-7085

Website:
http://www.mcewensonmonroe.com/

Catering:
McEwen's On Monroe specializes in lunch catering. Call 901.527.7085 or see catering description at www.mcewensonmonroe.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking available Monday thru Saturday, 5:30 till close. Street and Public Garage parking available at all times.

Public Transit:
Main Street Trolley stop is less than half block from restaurant entrance. Trolley stop located at Monroe and Mid America Mall.

Executive Chef:
Keith Bambrick

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful wine cellar seats comfortably up to 20 people. Please see Cellar description at our website www.mcewensonmonroe.com or call the restaurant at 901.527.7085. For larger groups please call the restaurant for other options.

Private Party Contact:
Bert Smythe or John Littlefield: (901) 527-7085

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call McEwen's On Monroe at 901.527.7085 to discuss any special request concerning rental of entire restaurant for Special Events.

McEwen's on Monroe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Quiet Conversation (16)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Authentic (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Romantic (11)
Cozy (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Casual (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1000 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined a day ago

Picked this restaurant due to the ratings and customer comments. To make a sad meal review short, we did not experience either the service or food expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

Our meals were fabulous! As were the servers! Great place and will definitely return during our next trip.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Went to the restaurant on a Friday night and the service was very good. The meal we had was very tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Great menu selections and excellent meal....they waitstaff was very knowledgeable and gave honest recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Excellent food and service. Always great. Highly recommended

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Everything was great with the exception of not offering a specific selection for children

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Visiting Memphis, excellent service from Ashley . My daughter and I both had the salmon excellent with risotto. Caesar salad prior was plenty for 2 . My husband had the chicken and was very pleased . Wine list n cocktails were both well listed . Valet parking reasonable 8.00 . Doesn't look special outside but a gem inside.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Probably my favorite Memphis restaurant. Food is consistently great. Atmosphere is nice and cozy, but not too fancy.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

A little loud that night, but still my fav in Memphis

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Just happened upon this place while in Memphis for a couple of days. Within walking distance of our hotel (Madison), close to the riverfront, food was wonderfully prepared, and the staff was exceptional.

Stopped in Memphis post the Great Smoky Mountain Half Marathon, making our way back to OKC, with my wife and the in-laws. The food was wonderful and fit everyones dietary requirements (in-laws are vegetarians). The staff was accommodating, pleasant, and able to make great suggestions (I appreciate when the staff is as passionate about the food as the chef).

Great place, we will definitely go back if we ever visit Memphis again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great inventive of offerings and first rate service, also expert bartending

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

This restaurant was a last minute choice for us and exceeded all expectations! The rib-eye was the best I have ever had. The atmosphere was amazing! I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

McKwens salmon is the best in Memphis. Their On Board Martini was excellent. We had a wonderful meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Excellent service, great knowledge of their wine list.
Good was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I ordered the trust me vegetarian... I did not care for the sesame on it. Personal preference.... Appetizer perfect, salad perfect... My husband's food perfect.... Sorry to say but the sesame just left a weird taste and I wasn't a fan... That is the only "ding". We will be back it was great! Will recommend to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We had a fabulous night out. The atmosphere was perfect and the was amazing! This will not be our last visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Excellent restaurant with excellent (perfect) service. A gem in Memphis!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Classic neighbourhood restaurant. Well known to locals. Great consistent food. Both the fish and meat dishes are excellent. Homey atmosphere. Knowledgable bartenders. Would recommend to locals and first time visitors to Memphis.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Local products well prepared, with creativity. Started with intensely flavored watermelon salad, followed with earthy wild mushrooms, a juicy not fatty chicken thigh atop fabulous corn pudding, and finished with a grilled peach paired with a Dickel rye (great recommendation from our waiter).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Healthy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Going out to dinner was a last minute decision for us. We were able to get an early reservation. We chose to order fried green tomatoes appetizer. They were yummy. The special of the night was a halibut. It was fabulous as were the potatoes with which they were served. I can't think of a time when I was disappointed at McEwen's.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Service a bit slow, but joint was very busy. Not a big deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We were recommended McEwan's and we were hoping for more but a great spot none the least!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Every single dish was to die for!! The sweet potato crusted catfish was phenomenal. I would go back just for that! We enjoyed the ambiance as well. The service left a little to be desired. It was unclear who our actual waiter/ waitress was. Different people came at different times, and there was quite a long wait for the check. The food was so delicious though that I will happily overlook that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the service and the ambiance. Everything was first class which I appreciated. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food and service is always consistently very good. Thanks to McEwen's for always being there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Jacob was great! My friend ordered the watermelon salad, tomato/mozzarella salad, and tenderloin sliders from the small plates menu & the berry cobbler for dessert. I had the salmon entree and the banana cream pie with Carmel sauce. Food and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great food and service. Variety of small plates that were excellent. Fried Oysters, tomato mozzarella salad, shrimp & grits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Our appetizer, main course, and dessert were all outstanding in taste, quality, and quantity. The service was top notch. My only issue was the appetizer came out before our drinks not giving us an opportunity to relax prior to our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We were traveling and were only in Memphis for one night. The restaurant was our choice mainly based on walking distance from our hotel. From the moment we walked in and confirmed our reservation to the moment we left, we felt management and staff were happy to have our business. The menu was chock full of well-designed dishes and the preparation matched tastes and flavors beautifully!
The service was top-notch. We opted for cocktails versus wine and they were well built and tasty as well.

I wish I could bottle this place and the pride they have in their product. So few restaurants I visit have the concern for their patrons that we experienced at McEwen"s. If I get back to Memphis, I'll make an effort to revisit this fine restaurant!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Atmosphere and staff were great, but the entrees weren't great. Appetizers were wonderful, but my NY strip was mediocre and my partners salad wasn't anything special, but loved our waiter and host.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were in town visiting and a local bar tender reccommended your restaurant to us! I have to say that we had one of our top dining experiences EVER!!! Loved the food, the Vingette Pino was fabulous and our service (young dark haired guy- sorry I can't remember his name) was excellent!!! Hats off to your chef! We had the salmon and catfish!!! Can't wait to come back!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our Server Hannah was exceptional. She was the perfect tour guide during our dining experience. Every suggestion she made was mouthwatering. The food exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Disappointed! Bass well cooked, too much lemon juice. Green beans very undercooked. Mushroom salad very average. Memorable part of meal, app. Duck confetti enchiladas. Definitely not as good as it once was.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We celebrated a birthday with 12 friends in the wine cellar and everything about our evening was perfect.
They sat us immediately upon arriving, the service, drinks, meal and ambiance was second to none!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent as always! Amazing drink list and the food was phenomenal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Hidden gem downtown Memphis. Can't beat their wine selection and food quality. Many unique food options on the menu but bring your pocketbook!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

A very nice dining experience - highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Usually go when we are in town. Food was good but not exceptional like it usually is. Waiter was world class. I think it's time for a reboot of the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 29, 2017

If I could give McEwen's 10 stars, I would. We had a delicious meal with amazing service. I loved seeing the wait staff help each other out so effortlessly. That translates to a great customer experience

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were sat immediately for our 7:30 reservation on a Saturday night. I ordered a lemon drop martini (they do not have pomegranate liquor or juice) which is great. My husband had a glass of wine which came the same time and was nicely chilled. Upon ordering, the brought wonderful small biscuits. I wish they would have brought butter because a biscuit requires it. They did bring two odd small butter balls when we asked. But it was ice cold and with its round shape in a small bowl, it would roll around as you tried to cut it and then slide out of the bowl onto the table.

I had a pear salad with goat cheese which was skippy on both, but it tasted great. I had the ribeye with scalloped potatoes. This dish sang! It was the best meal in my 4 days in Memphis. The potatoes were aggressively seasoned which some may not like, but I did. My husband had the tenderloin with mashed potatoes and really enjoyed it. I had a chocolate desert with raspberry sauce which was just 'ok' and not particularly memorable. I would definitely return, even if it was to order the exact same meal again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.