Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About McEwen's on Monroe

McEwen’s on Monroe is passionate. Passionate about food, passionate about wine, and passionate about creating a place you long to come back to again and again. An eclectic blend of styles with the largest emphasis on Southern food raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has enabled McEwen’s on Monroe to become one of Downtown’s most comfortable restaurants. Employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff always at the ready. In addition to the bar and dining room, our wine cellar is available for parties up to 20 people.

120 Monroe Ave.
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday and Saturday: 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM; Closed Sundays. Bar remains open (PM) 1 hour after dining room closes.

Cross Street:
2ND & MONROE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 527-7085

Website:
http://www.mcewensonmonroe.com/

Catering:
McEwen's On Monroe specializes in lunch catering. Call 901.527.7085 or see catering description at www.mcewensonmonroe.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking available Monday thru Saturday, 5:30 till close. Street and Public Garage parking available at all times.

Public Transit:
Main Street Trolley stop is less than half block from restaurant entrance. Trolley stop located at Monroe and Mid America Mall.

Executive Chef:
Keith Bambrick

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful wine cellar seats comfortably up to 20 people. Please see Cellar description at our website www.mcewensonmonroe.com or call the restaurant at 901.527.7085. For larger groups please call the restaurant for other options.

Private Party Contact:
Bert Smythe or John Littlefield: (901) 527-7085

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call McEwen's On Monroe at 901.527.7085 to discuss any special request concerning rental of entire restaurant for Special Events.

McEwen's on Monroe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (20)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Cozy (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Romantic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Business Meals (11)
Casual (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Tapas (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Historic (3)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
935 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manchester)·Dined 6 days ago

Qualits cooking with interesting flavour combinations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

One of out favorite places. Never disappoints. Buttermilk fried oysters. Seared scallops. Salmon appetizer. Sorbets for dessert perfect.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

Great value for the outstanding well seasoned food!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Top notch staff, good food, won't break the bank. Was undecided between two wines on their list and the waiter brought out a taste of each before we decided. Nice touch. Would definitely return next time in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Chose McEwens based on ratings and comments from online reviews. Service was very good. Chef very flexible in choice of sides to accommodate our picky teenager. New York Strip ordered as medium well but, overcooked, no pink inside at all. Son did state despite dryness, was seasoned well and tasty. Hubby had barrelfish, which he found to be very delicious! I had crusted catfish which was good but, not memorable as other raters found. Turnip greens on side were delicious and a great option for travelers wanting to taste a true southern dish. The crème brulee was on point, delicious and did not disappoint. Seating near heater felt great for the first 10 minutes but, quickly became uncomfortable as the table was literally within 2 feet of this powerful wall heater. All said; would return. From reviewing other raters comments, I suspect the food can be exceptional but, appears as with all eateries, some inconsistency at times.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

First visit to McEwen's on Monroe and I loved it. I had the Chilean Seabass and it was by far, the best that I had ever eaten!! They were quite busy due to 2 concert events being in town and the dining room where we were seated was extremely loud. On my next visit I will ask to be seated somewhere a little more quiet. But, I am certainly going back to McEwen's on Monroe, as the food & service were truly wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We discovered McEwens last year when we were looking for some place to go for our anniversary. Normally, we go somewhere new to us every year, but we loved this place so much we had to go back for this years anniversary too. Don't get me wrong, it's great for any occasion. The prices are comparable to other restaurants in the area so lunch, dinner, date night....anytime is a good reason to go. The owners are hands on and extremely nice people.
T Daniel

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We were here recently for my fiance's birthday and is was fantastic. It's always been one of our favorite places to go for a drink and appetizers at the bar, but this dinner was excellent, and I can't wait to get back. We were given a great table by the window, and our server was attentive but never pushy. When my fiance couldn't read the menu, she produced readers for him. Which was great!

We had appetizers, salads and entrees and were all happy. Three of us ordered the special, which was sea bass with crawfish mashed potatoes and literally cleaned our plates. Very fresh and very well cooked.

For dessert, we all had a little something and I loved the banana cream pie. It was delicious - not over the top, just very good.

McEwen's is a place I take friends from NY and other cities known for food, and it never fails to impress. They also do some great vegetarian plats for friends who don't eat meat/fish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Casual, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Terrific service and really tasty food. We'll be back I'm sure and recommend McEwens to friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I went to McEwan's for my anniversary dinner with my wife. It's hard to beat valet parking at the front door. The food was excellent and the service was very good. We had a wonderful time and it was a satisfying experience. The only negative I can say is that they had the heat turned up a little too much for my liking. But it was perfect for my wife.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Server was very rude and short, we had a later reservation and we understand they wanted to go home but it's still not an excuse to be rude. Food was tasty though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant. We went on Valentine's Day, and it did not disappoint!! We ate in the wine cellar, and it was great. The service was fantastic and the food was amazing. Their scallops are the best in Memphis! I can't wait until we go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Historic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful experience dining in the wine cellar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food quality was good. The fish we ordered was cooked perfectly. The atmosphere is a 60's bar. Tables are close together and you are part of your neighbor's conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always an excellent place to dine. Good food and service

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday and thoroughly enjoyed everything that we ordered. We both had several different options on the menu that we wanted... so we definitely need to go back to try everything else. The waitress was very nice, and the ambiance was very classy. The entrees and appetizers were all very creative. My personal favorite was the beef tenderloin slider with caramelized onions and pimento cheese. Fabulous!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentines dinner. Our favorite restaurant in the Mis-South.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went to McEwens on a busy weekend and was surprised the service was excellent and the food was great! I have eaten there several times and have never been disappointed! I have eaten at the bar for a quick run in with no reservation and it was also a pleasant experience! One of Memphis's best eateries for sure!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing selection of whiskey and bourbon! Some dates back to George Washington. Great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our meal was outstanding. The service great. I don't think they could have been more accommodating had they wanted to. The food was beautifully presented, very tasty and of ample portions. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My wife and I chose McEwen's for our anniversary and were not disappointed. She had her favorite sweet potato encrusted catfish and I tried the New York strip for the first time. The steak went down in history as one of the top 3 steaks I have ever had. Our waiter suggested the strawberry cobbler for desert. It was a unique twist on an old favorite. I look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Delicious as always! The fried oysters were melt-in-your-mouth!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Everything was good as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Exceptional. Manager attentive, food excellent and a selection of whiskies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was the perfect evening shared with the perfect person. So accommodating and the food was divine. Would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was marvelous. Probably the best meal I had on a three week vacation in Memphis, New Orleans and Chicago.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great menu selections, even small plates which were awesome . Definitely a must try!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My son and I dined here before a Grizzlies game. Service was prompt and the food was outstanding as is the case every time I go to McEwen's. I had the goat cheese salad and the scallop entree. My son had a Caesar salad and the fish special which was fresh Gulf grouper with a tomatillo sauce. The food was excellently prepared and served hot. I highly recommend McEwen's on Madison in Memphis.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Greedy experience all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Amazing as always with many unique meals to choose from and awesome wine and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

As someone born and raised in Memphis, for me to come bCk home for a business trip and reintroduce myself to McEwen's was special. This is a quaint place with character, perfect place for an intimate dinner or an important business engagement.

The food quality was exactly how I remember it, outstanding! Personnel know their menus and wine list and are friendly and helpful. Don't miss out on this wonderful place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We love McEwen's. It's our go to every time we get to Memphis. Never had a bad meal there ever. Will keep coming back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Lovely southern restaurant. Laid back environment wi th excellent food

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Perfect place to entertain clients! Amazing food, great ambiance, wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Delicious from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Had dinner here with my son. We had previously dined at their location in Oxford, MS. The food was outstanding. I had barrel fish with a crawfish sauce which was excellent and I am not a fish guy. We really enjoyed our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service was horrible.... staff was more interested in completing their pre close activities than serving the guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This restaurant is a must if you are in Memphis. From start to finish we were thoroughly pleased. A definite recommend and return. Thank you McEwans for doing an outstanding job.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always a great experience. Love seeing Mark when we are there.
Had the RedFish special, fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We are not in Memphis often, but whenever we get there we HAVE to eat at McEwen's. Simply wonderful every time!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.