Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 12 times today

McEwen's on Monroe

4.7
1099 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
McEwen’s on Monroe is passionate. Passionate about food, passionate about wine, and passionate about creating a place you long to come back to again and again. An eclectic blend of styles with the largest emphasis on Southern food raised to new and unusual heights. Lunch offers a wide array of excellent sandwiches, salads and business entrees, while dinner leans toward the more elaborate and inventive. Our commitment to a relaxed atmosphere and charming personality has enabled McEwen’s on Monroe to become one of Downtown’s most comfortable restaurants. Employing a knowledgeable and attentive staff always at the ready. In addition to the bar and dining room, our wine cellar is available for parties up to 20 people.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday and Saturday: 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM; Closed Sundays. Bar remains open (PM) 1 hour after dining room closes.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(901) 527-7085
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Keith Bambrick
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our beautiful wine cellar seats comfortably up to 20 people. Please see Cellar description at our website www.mcewensonmonroe.com or call the restaurant at 901.527.7085. For larger groups please call the restaurant for other options.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Bert Smythe or John Littlefield: (901) 527-7085
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
McEwen's On Monroe specializes in lunch catering. Call 901.527.7085 or see catering description at www.mcewensonmonroe.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
2ND & MONROE
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking available Monday thru Saturday, 5:30 till close. Street and Public Garage parking available at all times.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Main Street Trolley stop is less than half block from restaurant entrance. Trolley stop located at Monroe and Mid America Mall.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Please call McEwen's On Monroe at 901.527.7085 to discuss any special request concerning rental of entire restaurant for Special Events.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1099 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

McEwen's on Monroe hands down is one of the best if not the best all around restaurants in Memphis. When you are looking for a nice romantic spot, with exceptional food and superb customer service, look no further. This place will not disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Great food abs great cocktails!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Ate here on a Monday evening. Food was well cooked. All courses were very tasty and portion sizes good. Service was friendly and attentive. Easy to locate downtown.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The food was really exceptional. The waiter knew the menu and specials and made good recommendations based on what we told him. I haven't encountered that as often as I would like in Memphis. The service really stood out. Food was spot on.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Took a group of special St. Jude supporters -- from New York, New Jersey, DC , Virginia and Florida -- to dinner and they loved it. Two of the guests ran a restaurant for 40 years! Great food, festive atmosphere, good service. It was a little loud but I think that's part of the ambiance. We'll all be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We went out on date night with another couple. And I don’t think we left a drop of food on any plate! We chose a great wine, appetizers, entrees, and shared dessert. Great ambiance and great food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Great evening with dear friends. Food was wonderful as was service. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Excellent meal , we all loved it. Outside could do with a spruce up.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

As always...great food, service and drinks!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 16, 2018

It was my wife’s birthday no one acknowledged even though I left to notes at the time of reservation. My dinner came out cold hey replaced it food was good. My wife had the filet it was good too. We had the triple coconut cake it was good. Service was good until a table of 12 sat down we lost our waiter another picked up some of the slack. We still left here a 20% tip. Overall recommended disappointed they were not a little more attentive to the details.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Food was really lovely and a lovely ambiance in the restaurant loved it here would def return

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

This was a recommendation from a business partner and friend. Exceeded my expectations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

I live around the corner from McEwen's. Don't come here enough! Food is always great. Can get a bit loud at times but never an issue.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We hadn’t been to McEwen’s for more than a decade and were very pleased with the experience. Highly recommend for everyday dining or a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Excellent and Steady as always One of our favorites

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We had a good time and a great meal. The service was excellent. Our meal came out at the right time . Appetizer of fried oysters was fantastic. Then the wedge salad. It was very good. Then our entrees. The strip steak and grilled lamb. We enjoyed both. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

The food was fantastic and so were the drinks. Can’t complain about anything! It was a great experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Once again another great meal. An out of town business partner was coming into town and I knew exactly where we would go for dinner. Smoked salmon 👍🏻, salads👍🏻, small plates 👍🏻, and entrees👍🏻. It's all good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Nice atmosphere & good food. Wait staff was knowledgeable & attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Excellent food and service! Owner John McEwen is on site and actively managing floor, so you know it's well run. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Excellent food, great service. All in all a wonderful evening. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Food and service was excellent. But took 25 minutes to get our desserts. If we had been in hurry we would have had to cancel them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Food was excellent and service was as well. If in Memphis, will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

They were SO accommodating when I made a dumb scheduling mistake and we showed up a day early. Wonderful wonderful meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great pre-ballet meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

McEwan’s is one of my favorite places to eat in Memphis. Always a great meal, with great specials, superb service, and excellent drink menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We had a great evening with very friendly service and excellent dinner. I can really recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I'm a Texas girl and have never had greens that were better than my Mamaw's...until now. My Dad and I ordered the pork shoulder with cheddar cheese grits and greens and it was delicious! We tried 3 different desserts and all we're very good. The service was okay but good compared to the rest of the service that we've received in Memphis. The food was good and the drinks were good. I don't feel like we overpaid for our meal at all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

This is my second time choosing McEwens for a business meeting with clients and both times it’s been perfect!
The service is excellent and the food is delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

We were seated immediately even though we were about 10 minutes early for our reservation. We had the Caesar salad, sea bass, salmon, berry cobbler, and sorbet. Everything was good. We enjoyed our meal/evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Great restaurant and the food is absolutely delicious! The parking is non-existent, and I have no idea where it would be located. They provide valet service which we use when we don't use Uber to arrive!
For starters, the biscuits are so tender and delicious.
We had Caesar salad, Creole Spice Braised Pork Osso Buco with Stone Ground Cheddar Grits and Spicy Collard Greens. For dessert, we enjoyed the flour less chocolate cake with raspberry syrup drizzled around the cake for dessert.
We will definitely return more often!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

The staff were all super kind and offered suggestions. SUPER friendly and very accommodating for all dietary needs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Service and food were excellent! Would highly recommend this place to friends and family.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The dinner was ok. The caesar salad was not very good. Both one without the caesar dressing & the one with caesar dressing.
I had the fillet which just tasted like meat. The desserts were average. For the prices it was only fair.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We enjoyed each other for the first hour, when drinks and appetizers were brought. After that we began to worry if we'd make the show. We gave ourselves 2.5 hours and the first 1.5 elasped without entrees. With an hour remaining until curtain we expressed our concern to the waitress, who was vert receptive. The food arrived a little later and was spectacular, but the kitchen really needed to speed things up. There was really no excuse for this, especially since we were seated quite early at 5:30 pm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

haven't been here in 10 years - my own fault! Went to McEwan's in Oxford 3 weeks ago & reminded to go here in Memphis just a half-mile from where I live. Delicious meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Great food and creative menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

1st visit. Tried several things off the small plate menu. Very good! The sliders were amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Outstanding food in a casual atmosphere. Upscale dining for sure, but relaxed with terrific service!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28