About McCrady's Tavern

2 Unity Alley
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

McCrady's Tavern is a lively, everyday gathering place and offers reimagined American Classics by Chef Brock.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm and Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm
Lunch: Wednesday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
East Bay & Broad

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0025 ext. 1

Parking Details:
2 parking garages within 1 1/2 blocks of McCrady's in either direction. Street parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Sean Brock

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would be happy to host your private event, please call Ashley Wood at 843.801.4299 or email her at: awood@ndgcharleston.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Beet Dish - McCrady's Tavern, Charleston, SC

Report a photo problem

Beet Dish - McCrady's Tavern, Charleston, SC

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, McCrady's can accommodate all your special event needs.

McCrady's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (57)
Good for a Date (54)
Historic (52)
See All
Local Ingredients (47)
Special Occasion (45)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Romantic (37)
Authentic (36)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Bar Seating (30)
Cozy (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Casual (20)
Hot Spot (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Business Meals (16)
Seasonal (15)
Fun (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Great Beer (11)
Fireplace (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
People Watching (4)
Private Room (4)
Tapas (3)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of Charleston's must go places. Mor ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

One of Charleston's must go places. More relaxed than some but still at the top of the heap with regard to quality and service. Not for the feint of wallet.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible value during restaurant week. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Incredible value during restaurant week. The variety, quality, and authenticity of the food is amazing. One of the best meals I've had in Charleston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. We loved t ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding food and service. We loved the new McCrady's tavern and will be back. Well done Sean Brock and team!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had lunch on Sunday, first time to dine ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

had lunch on Sunday, first time to dine there. Service was excellent, food delicious and desert was out of this world. Highly Recommend. Can't wait to eat there again

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. As always. Highly recommend ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent. As always. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience! Love the character and ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience! Love the character and ambiance of the dining room, fantastic and attentive service, and the food was delicious. Highly recommend the burger!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Went out with friends after my wife ran ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Went out with friends after my wife ran the Charleston Marathon. Great food and ambiance! Vibrant but not loud. Will definitely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great Beer, Romantic, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is restaurant week. The place was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

This is restaurant week. The place was crowded, but the service was smooth and the food came quickly and all tasted great. The only comment I have is that for the four of us, if we pay the regular price for the items, it would come to just a few dollars more than the prix fix for restaurant week, something like 7%. What's the incentive to go at restaurant week?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Remember that this is not the same place ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Remember that this is not the same place as McGrady's. Nonetheless, it was a very good brunch (on weekends they don't do lunch). Great beer selection. Hit all the right notes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Once again, McCrady's succeeds. Excellen ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Once again, McCrady's succeeds. Excellent food, great service and a comfortable environment. Highly recommend the Foie Gras & Chicken Liver app. If you want a fantastic server request Chelsey. She was friendly, attentive, pantient with our indecisiveness and very knowledgeable. She actually taught us a few things!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been here a couple times and wil ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been here a couple times and will go again, but they were having a bad night I guess... the food was cold and dinner took an inordinate amount of time. Really bad experience but we think unusual for them. It is worth going to..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Loved the ambience. Food was very good. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved the ambience. Food was very good. Only complaint would be how very slow the kitchen was.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The rap music in the background was anno ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

The rap music in the background was annoying and not appropriate for the lovely historic setting.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was excellent; I had fish (wreckfis ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was excellent; I had fish (wreckfish) and wife and two friends had steak. Salads were excellent, too. It was restaurant week so we had a wonderful chocolate dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I decided to try McCrady ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

My daughter and I decided to try McCrady's during Restaurant Week. I have always wanted to go there but when it came to choosing a restaurant for various occasions I would always forget about it. After eating there I will definitely remember it now and would recommend it to any of my friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite. If the veal blanquette is ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Our favorite. If the veal blanquette is on the menu, highly consider it.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very underwhelmed. Slow service early on ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Very underwhelmed. Slow service early on a Monday night - they were not busy. The food was really disappointing. The vegetable entree was tiny! The chicken was pretty bland. Disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

really great food....... I had the HOt B ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

really great food....... I had the HOt Brown and it was great. My wife had an omelette and a decedent chocolate soufflé for desert. We will go back again.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

good food, good service, good location, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

good food, good service, good location, fine spot off the alley

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Fun, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We came for restaurant week. The music w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We came for restaurant week. The music was classic rock and was a little loud, but still good tunes. The entrees weren't quite as flavorful as other times we've visited or other Sean Brock restaurants we've tried. The service was absolute perfection. Our server was very knowledgeable and the timing of the meal was great. My only criticism of the service is that we didn't even notice the specials board until the end of our meal and our server never mentioned them. We likely would have ordered one of the specials if we'd seen them before we ordered our dishes. The beer list was fantastic, as was the wine list. Overall, it was an excellent meal and experience and we will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I came with a date during Charleston res ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I came with a date during Charleston restaurant week and our experience was truly unforgettable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, Great Beer, Romantic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, , Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent, warm unpretentious service, w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent, warm unpretentious service, wonderful takes on classic dishes, And all very fairly priced. Casual dress in private booth environment. All around great experience and will return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, , Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eclectic samples and very good service. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Eclectic samples and very good service. Great for couples' date night or romantic evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our party of 5 had a wonderful evening a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our party of 5 had a wonderful evening and delicious food! Everyone loved their meal! They have an impressive wine list. Service was excellent. We look forward to going back soon!

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food! Great value, creativity ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Fantastic food! Great value, creativity and flavors.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I haven't had service and food like that ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I haven't had service and food like that in a while. We will most certainly be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sean Brock is a culinary genius. His lob ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Sean Brock is a culinary genius. His lobster dish was exquisite. We're coming back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Louis, our waiter, was very knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Louis, our waiter, was very knowledgeable and attentive. He made good recommendations. The food and decor are outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, , Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess had some attitude and -- des ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The hostess had some attitude and -- despite our reservation -- seated two other couples ahead of us. The floor was dirty inside the front door. The bottle of wine came way after the food was delivered. The shrimp appetizer was very good and very small. The "dark brown egg" entree was clumps of dry/hard bread amidst cheese and meat -- this close to being inedible. No value for the high prices; no need to go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We were here for Sunday brunch which is ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were here for Sunday brunch which is a creative menu but certainly not for every taste. Famous chef, famous locale, inventive menu of local ingredients. This is definitely not a menu for children, or anyone on a low calorie diet. That said we had a lovely meal of burgers and quiche and fabulous desserts. We ordered all four that were on the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The patty melt was incredible!!!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The patty melt was incredible!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing burger, but life-changing beet a ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Amazing burger, but life-changing beet au poivre for lunch. I don't like beets but this was seriously the best thing on the menu. Incredible. Thanks for a great meal again. We ate dinner here two years ago and came back with a group for lunch this year. Great food and amazing service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent experience with superb food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

An excellent experience with superb food! McCrady's Tavern should be on everyone's list of must-eat restaurants in Charleston.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Historic, , Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A culinary delight and terrific experien ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 28, 2016

A culinary delight and terrific experience! The appetizers and desserts were the best on this trip to Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Melissa the Manager was exceptional!!!!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Melissa the Manager was exceptional!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our experience at McCr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We really enjoyed our experience at McCradys. Our one complaint was that we told the waiter it was my birthday. It would have been nice to receive something a little extra to honor it. Most restaurants send a dessert or scoop of ice cream. Other than that, the food was delicious, the environment was nice and the service was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

It was a bit of a challenge to find MT, ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was a bit of a challenge to find MT, but we were rewarded with a delicious evening. Forget the entrees, and work your way through the appetizers. A cheese tray was followed by crab bisque, escargot, shrimp, and McCrady's oysters. No hurry and selections were timed appropriately. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The dining there used to be a great expe ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The dining there used to be a great experience when they explained where the food came from and gave a history of the wine selected for each food but they do not do that anymore. It is just get you in and out as fast as possible and not very formal or interesting anymore. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointing Christmas Eve lunch with v ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Disappointing Christmas Eve lunch with visiting family. Menu was extremely limited and primarily breakfast items. Servers very polite and professional but food took a LONG time to come out which did not make sense because the restaurant was nearly empty. Food was very good. Prices high, even for Charleston. Bill for 5 people without alcohol was $150.

You can do better with many great restaurants within 2 blocks.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

If you have 15 menu items you cannot be ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 23, 2016

If you have 15 menu items you cannot be incapable of serving 4 of them on the Friday before Christmas. How is a James Beard restaurant unable to make French Fries? How do you serve a steak frites without fries? Tavern burger without fries?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.