Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About McCrady's Tavern

McCrady's Tavern is a lively, everyday gathering place and offers reimagined American Classics by Chef Brock.

2 Unity Alley
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm and Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm
Lunch: Wednesday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
East Bay & Broad

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0025 ext. 1

Parking Details:
2 parking garages within 1 1/2 blocks of McCrady's in either direction. Street parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Sean Brock

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would be happy to host your private event, please call Ashley Wood at 843.801.4299 or email her at: awood@ndgcharleston.com

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, McCrady's can accommodate all your special event needs.

McCrady's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (91)
Good for a Date (91)
Historic (86)
See All
Creative Cuisine (80)
Special Occasion (73)
Local Ingredients (61)
Handcrafted Cocktails (58)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Cozy (48)
Bar Seating (47)
Romantic (47)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Authentic (35)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Hot Spot (30)
Casual (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Notable Wine List (28)
Business Meals (27)
Comfort Food (27)
Great for Brunch (26)
Fun (21)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Great Beer (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Seasonal (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Good for Groups (13)
Fireplace (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
People Watching (5)
Healthy (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Scenic View (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (2)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
414 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Was in Charleston 5 years ago and could not get a reservation. Found out just a week or two ago that I would be in Charleston again this week and wanted to give it a try. While looking up suggestions of top restaurants in Charleston it was not in the top 10 anywhere but still wanted to try it. Was traveling with my sister and we wanted a cozy quiet restaurant where we could have a conversation without shouting over loud music. We loved it. The food was excellent, the waitress was knowledgeable and accommodating and the drinks were outstanding. It is tucked away in a side alley so it could be missed. I highly recommend dining here. And I definitely think it should be in the top 10 restaurants in Charleston

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was great. Food was really good and portions were a realistic size which was nice. We got appetizers and entrees and were not uncomfortably full. Definitely try Thomas jeffersons mac and cheese!!! Wine list is great and they help you choose. Definitely worth a trip in!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Burger was great! Dessert was great! Soup was very different tasting. Not sure I liked it. Music was a little loud, but understand they are going for a hot spot/tavern feel. I honestly preferred the restaurant before the makeover to a tavern, but would still go back.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and great ambiance. McCrady's did a fabulous job renovating this space into a beautiful bar and eating area.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

This is NOT the McCrady's that I remember. I felt silly in my suit when a few feet away was a guy in shorts and a t-shirt. If you go for the food, try the tasting menu at McCrady's Restaurant. The tavern is just a bar with better than average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Really like how they transformed the interior space and menu. Lovely authentic tavern! Great ambiance! Terrific food! Will definitely go back! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent and served in timely manner. Very nice and attentive wait staff.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We spent our anniversary there this evening, and it was a big letdown. Wanted to try something different. For the last few birthdays/anniversaries, we've either gone to Grill 225 or Hall's. I've heard such great things about McCrady's, but it wasn't even in the same league.

The restaurant was slow, and it took over an hour to get our entrees. A table was sat next to us after we ordered that paid their bill and left before we got our food. As much as we were hoping it would be worth the wait, it turned out mediocre at best. I think our order was either lost or forgotten, and our food was thrown together as quickly as possible.

Our server was excellent though. She was the only saving grace for tonight. I might go back and get a burger at the bar, but I'd never chance another special occasion here. For what it's worth we had the escargot and a chopped salad as starters, a pasta special, and a trout special. $150 would have been reasonable if the food was good. Unfortunately, it wasn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lovely service, fabulous food, great ambiance. Quite pricy.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a wonderful experience for brunch. We had zucchini bread as an app and had the chopped salad and the trout for our entrees. Everything tasted amazing. We will go back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very disappointing and expensive for what it is. Nothing we ordered was particularly well prepared. Overcooked fish special and bland fried veal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Been here 3 times and I love it. Beautiful setting and great staff as always. Very knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was outstanding, I've always wanted to eat at one of Sean Brock's restaurants and it did not disappoint. The staff was so friendly. They also had an excellent tea selection!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We went here for dinner on the last night of our honeymoon and we're nothing but please the food was AMAZING the wait staff knowledgeable and extremely professional. Totally worth the money to spend plus the chocolate pie is to die for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Fantastic! Simply perfect, beautiful/tasty food, cozy, lovely service (Shelly), loved the creative pieces used for appetizer/foix gras-liver parfait so delicious! Honeymoon visit to Charleston and we loved this restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Outstanding food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Absolutely loved the food , ambiance & service. A must in Chairman, SC

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Zack was great, food fabulous, DRINKS taste!
We Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Birthday brunch celebration. The staff is wonderful and quite knowledgeable about the menu choices.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very pretty inside ... looks very colonial and well aged. Portions were a little small but we had a great server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The place not only was visually attractive but the history of it was really interesting. Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Friend's reunion

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had fantastic service from our server Billy. Beautiful room with a cozy and relaxed atmosphere. Our food was excellent and the brunch menu while small had many interesting choices. Great beer and cocktail menu as well.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner at McCradys Tavern. The service and the food were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was excellent, the place charing and the service exceptional. We had a lovely evening out and enjoyed our dinner. I had the pork which was amazing just would have liked a side to be included since I couldn't eat the onions due to an allergy. Having a milk allergy limits many items on the menu but the staff was helpful in trying to recommend appropriate dishes. The best meal we had on our 10 day vacation. Next time in Charleston we will do dinner again here.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Recent birthday trip to Charleston with my daughter. This was one of the restaurants we wanted to eat at and it did not disappoint. The service was fantastic and we had the bone marrow and pate appetizers with salads. This was my favorite restaurant of our stay!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 3, 2017

McCrady's Tavern was our overall favorite dining experience in the Charleston area. The food was delicious as well as creative, the ambiance was beautiful, and the service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Our second time at McCrady's and we were just as impressed as the first time. The service, the food, the surroundings, all together make a great dining experience. Be prepared to try some "new" things at this restaurant, very innovative menu! We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It had a relaxed feeling and the cozy booth made conversation easy. The old historic building was a gem. Service was attentive and the fish dishes we selected were outstanding.

Our daughter had been to McCradys before the conversion to the new McCradys Tavern. She said it was as charming as it had been before and any concern she had with the name change to Mc Cradys Tavern was soon lost.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We took a walking tour of Charleston and our guide recommended this restaurant. It was exactly what we were looking for, good food, good service and a comfortable atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Fantastic, historic tavern; one of our best evenings in Charleston. We weren't able to get a reservation at McCrady's and thought we were settling for less by having to book at the Tavern. We could not have been more wrong! Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food and environment. Went there with a group for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Everything at this establishment is TOP NOTCH!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Thank you McCrady's Tavern for a wonderful experience‼️

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was great here. Every part of the dining experience felt carefully intentional from the presentation of the food to the perfectly fried black garlic boneless chicken wings and seared steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wife's birthday

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great food in a comfortable setting. Chose to eat at the bar and service was good.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Cannot wait to come back again. Amazing food.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food was excellent, the service was somewhat distracted and the atmosphere was cramped and loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.