Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About McCrady's Tavern

McCrady's Tavern is a lively, everyday gathering place and offers reimagined American Classics by Chef Brock.

2 Unity Alley
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm and Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm
Lunch: Wednesday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
East Bay & Broad

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0025 ext. 1

Parking Details:
2 parking garages within 1 1/2 blocks of McCrady's in either direction. Street parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Sean Brock

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would be happy to host your private event, please call Ashley Wood at 843.801.4299 or email her at: awood@ndgcharleston.com

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, McCrady's can accommodate all your special event needs.

McCrady's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (70)
Creative Cuisine (68)
Good for a Date (68)
See All
Historic (62)
Local Ingredients (53)
Special Occasion (49)
Romantic (44)
Bar Seating (43)
Handcrafted Cocktails (42)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Cozy (40)
Authentic (39)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Hot Spot (26)
Notable Wine List (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Fun (25)
Business Meals (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Casual (22)
Great Beer (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Great for Brunch (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Seasonal (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Modern Decor (10)
Fireplace (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Late-night Find (7)
People Watching (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our second visit to McCradys since the tavern change. The food was unremarkable except for he oversize chunks of mediocre meat and except for the delicious Mac and cheese side. The service was perfunctory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had dined at McCrady's on two other occasions and had a fantastic experience but the changes they have made to the restaurant were not what we were expecting and the service and management were terrible at best

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food and service. Kari is an excellent waitress who is very knowledgeable and extremely helpful.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was our first visit to this restaurant and we will try to come back. The dinner was delicious and the service was lovely. We love low-country dining so this is a nice addition to our favorites.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We tried a variety of items on the menu, from specialty drinks, appetizers main courses and dessert. I was craving a hamburger... So I tried theirs and was not disappointed. I tried 2 specialty drinks and both were good.

The food was good as well as the aervice, but the prices were higher to make this a periodic stop versus a weekly one for dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Delicious. Get the escargot in bone marrow-even if you're not fond of either. Menu is inspired and exciting. Many dishes were rich but it's also what we ordered. Cocktails were very inventive and fun. Extensive high end beer list if you're into that.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was great, as well as the service! Now one of my new favorite restaurants in Charleston! I will go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was delicious. Cocktails were interesting and unusual. The service was impeccable

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

An experience so great we came back for cocktails later in the afternoon. Magnificent ambiance and food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I have a hearing impairment and specifically requested a quiet table with my reservation request. We were seated in the first row of tables by the bar. Waiter was very knowledgeable about menu and wines, but noise from the bar was very tough with my impairment. My husband is a huge Brock fan, so I know we will be back, so he can get his cookbooks autographed!!. Cobia collar was good, not great...a bit on the fishy side with very little spinach. But the presentation was lovely. .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I must admit, my expectations were extremely high considering the folks behind the restaurant. If this was another place in another city, my review would be a little different. But one should only have high expectations with the Charleston culinary scene and a mastermind chef such as Sean Brock. The atmosphere was excellent. They totally nailed the tavern feel. I most certainly will be entertaining customers at there great bar soon. Cocktail, wine, and beer selections were on point. Our server was very friendly and timely with all we asked of her. Her knowledge of the menu and how the items on it were prepared was impressive. All the servers seemed to work as a team very well which is something you don't see in a lot of places. The menu items were priced well as far as I'm concerned with portions being just right. We ordered as our 1st course the oysters McCrady. While good, it was missing the taste of what should have been the star of the dish, oysters. The oysters seemed to be hiding under all the ingredients on top of it which we could only tell by a slight bite of the small oyster. After the 6 small oysters were gone, our tavern burger with fries and the special trout with shrimp butter and a tavern salad arrived. The special trout dish was not good at all. Again the star of the dish was smothered in a sauce. The shrimp butter sauce completely took away from the trout. After digging through the sauce, we found the trout. Unfortunately it was equally disappointing. It had a real fishy taste...which the trout we eat and catch often doesn't have. The saving grace of the meal was the tavern burger. It is possibly the best burger I have ever had. It was cooked to perfection and masterfully assembled. The fries were big and not crispy at all. Not exactly what I expect as a companion for a burger. No doubt we will be back. Great service, great atmosphere, great bar. I think we may have caught the kitchen on an off night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had a great experience at McCrady's. Both the food and service were great. We went to Husk for before dinner cocktails and had the same great experience there and had some of the items at McCrady's recommended to us when we were at Husk. Great time!

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I have lived in Charleston since 1993. This and FIG are the two best restaurants here, in my humble opinion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The ambience is fabulous; a perfect blend of historical architectural features and modern clean lines. The food was ok. I would definitely go back, but more likely for lunch than dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Very attentive service and distinctive food choices. Don't miss the ice cream brule. Even better than creme brule. All enjoyed in a unique and historic setting.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Sorry..just did not feel it...not impressed..I will give it a thumbs up for atmosphere.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

WOW! McCrady's Tavern is killing it. Started at the bar, had great interactions with the bar tenders. Really friendly and knowledgeable. The hostess team was great about checking up on us while our table was getting ready. I was with a group so we ordered a little bit of everything. The apps and entres are phenomenal- something that is rare. Go for the caviar and tater tots, totally worth it. The tartare on a puffed something might be my favorite bite in town. The entrees I couldn't help but hog were the veal, bucatini and patty melt. Our server was new but you'd never know it. He was attentive, great food & wine knowledge and happy to be there. The whole service team was really friendly and made us feel comfortable. Thank you for an incredible meal!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Disabled Access, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The ingredients are local and the preparation is inspired. As good a meal as I have had in quite some time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food was good, burger great, the chicken was tasty, fresh and moist . The crinkle fries were delicious but mac/cheese side bland. Dessert disappointing. We had to send back 2 different drinks. Someone got them wrong! Waitress twice blamed a trainee bartender during a busy weekend! Plus, she knew little about wine! It was a special birthday and the thin tiny tiny 1/2" by 1 1/2 chocolate piece on a pie that said a tiny Happy Birthday not even noticeable by 4 people! The waitress did not bring it someone else placed it on table no acknowledgement and we could not see the chocolate piece. Service disappointing for a highly recommended restaurant.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Standard steak house fare, nothing interesting on the menu except perhaps the $45 caviar appetizer. Had to send my pasta back due to poor cooking and didn't get any compensation or offer even of glass is vino!
Better places in Charleston.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food,good service,nice amenities,attitude needs to be toned down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch 3/5/17. Started with the Cinnamon bun, it was scrumptious. Interesting descriptions for burgers, quiche, crepes, hot brown also. Very hard to decide what to get as they all sounded so good. Well go back to try different selection. I got the quiche and friend got burger both excellent! Not a big drinker but the Bloody Mary was too amazing, don't pass it up! Service was very very good. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our second visit to McCrady's. My last was before they changed their restaurant concept. I was aware of a change, but was not expecting two different restaurants. With that being said, we had dinner at McCrady's Tavern. The food was great. Very fresh and exceptional attention to details. Bar style concept...giving the name "Tavern". The restaurant was a little loud and very full. Great location for a night out with friends. Overall we enjoyed the meal. Would return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Enjoyed every aspect of the experience here...fabulous food.. Ambiance .. Wonderful attentive wait staff.. Perfect evening . This is a must when you are in charleston

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The wife and I went for a simple dinner. I ordered the steak while my wife rebelled and went for the burger.The salad that arrived with the steak was my favorite part of my meal. Simple, elegant, delicious. Earthy tones of arugula and a garlicky sauce came together with enthusiasm. While I was pleased with, it did not overtake me. It's flavors were delicate and teased you with a soul, but ended up lacking the punch to take it the rest of the way home.
My wife's burger though... she is tiny and beautiful, and could not eat but a half of it. But she was vicious from the first bite. She cooed and smiled with every mouthful . The crinkle cut fries were perfectly crisp and soft inside. When she resigned from eating, she declared that it was the best burger that she has ever had. I could not believe my ears and was dared to have a bite of the burger she deemed as royal. I grabbed ahold of this hefty culinary invention and took a bite...
The resounding explosion from the top of my head being ejected and my brain packing its bags and moving in with the chef, was indeed cataclysmic.
This burger was inspiring. It was glorious and it made you say "Murica!" With every single bite. The cheese was most likely illegally imported from some wizard, and the meat was carved from a mythical beast that was slain by Hercules. The bread was made by fairies, who's only purpose is to ruin every other bun for you from now on.
The fries are definitely made of alien technology because it is impossible to have that amount of crispy and that amount of chewy in the same component. Somehow, these crinkle fries break and defy all forms of physics. Albert Einstein probably invented these.I have had many burgers in my life and this one has ranked #2 in my very long list of amazing burgers. And that alone is quite an accomplishment! Especially since it replaced a Waygu burger !

Well played McCrady's, well played.. you are evil, you are cruel, and I will definitely be back for more punishment

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Had been there is the past and decor service and food was much better. Very old wine list needs to be updated . Wine so old could not drink. They do not have vintage on list . They nicely replaced our choice with something acceptable. It is more like a pub not fine dining at all.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

You head down a cute alley and come upon a lovely entry. The staff is friendly and professional. The room is fabulous with a gorgeous bar. OK, the house music is a bit odd...incongruous for the setting...but the food is just a total knockout! Try the veal and do not miss the Ladies Cabbage, an odd but spectacular side. Our best meal, anywhere, in a long time...

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our new favorite place! This place is the absolute best!! We've been everywhere in Charleston and nothing beats this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wasn't sure what to expect since I have read and heard different reviews but everything was outstanding! Would definitely go back . Excellent wait staff. We had the Oysters McCrady and Escargot Stuffed Marrow Bone, Grilled Bread and Parsley. Both wonderful! All our entrees were terrific as well as the sides. Tavern Burger came with the best fries ever! .Also had one of the specials for the night, a pasta dish which was very light but full of flavor. Shared the Chocolate Silk Pie and it was so decadent that we couldn't finish it and brought it home. Looking forward to eating there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Totally disappointing for me although my husband did like his presentation of Oysters McCrady. i had the caviar which was mainly sour cream and chives drowning a bit of caviar and greasy potato nuggets. We each had a glass of no-name champagne which was a tiny pour for the price. The noise level was ridiculous. Maybe fine for college age but not for older folks. Would never go again and would never recommend to anyone who cared about good food.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Was alright. Burger at little jacks or rarebit is much better. Decor is a little disneyfied. Fries were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great alternative to their main restaurant, which is a $125 pp tasting menu. Food and drinks were great, a great menu with Southern roots. Building was an old one with history in downtown Charleston, a real treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Somewhat disappointed in overall quality that I had experienced previously. I was looking forward to my revisit and was expecting outstanding and unique dinner selections. The food was good, but not outstanding. The bar was by far the more innovative area.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was incredible!! Fried Green Tomatoes were fabulous! Highly recommend the Tavern Salad! Particularly impressed with Michael's knowledge of the wine list! He was very helpful and unpretentious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Hadn't been to this gem in 20 yrs, so we were really looking forward to it. Our waiter was on in that he knew his menu and what to order. Hubby ordered the veal dish, which waiter said was his fave, but it was just ok. I ordered fresh trout and asked that it not be steamed but to sautee in butter, which the chef agreed. Upon tasting it, the fish had chemical taste. I softly took the waiter aside to tell him not to take it off the bill, but to have the chef taste it to understand the dish was awful. I had only three bites. He came back to say the chef thought it tasted fine. The h well. The sides were the very tasty thing. A Ladies cabbage and a mac and cheese Thomas Jefferson style. Those two plus beef tartare on onion crisps were the only positive

Tags: Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Our waiter was very polite and knowledgeable with the menu to ensure an amazing atmosphere. The food was remarkable and unforgettable. I would highly recommend and dine here again. 'A Pie called Macaroni' is hands down the best version of Mac and Cheese. Period. Thank you for helping provide a memorable anniversary meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Outstanding. Will be back. Excellent food and service!!!

Tags: Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Both standard menu items and specials of the day were top notch in terms of flavor and presentation. The service was as good as it gets and along with the outstanding food were the equal of what one hopes for in the most formal upscale settings. Assume from this experience that the chel serving the main restaurant is over-seeing the creative specials served in the "tavern" as well as the quality of the fixed menu oyster and clam appetizers that we had. If not, someone junior in the kitchen has mastered their trade.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

It was a memorable meal with fantastic, creative food choices. The Escargot Stuffed Marrow Bone, with Grilled Bread and Parsley was delicious. The oysters were perfectly prepared and very fresh. For entrees, we had the Trout special with potatoes, capers and a wine sauce and the Grilled Pork Porterhouse with Melted Onions, Herb Salad and Sauce Robert. I ordered the pork medium to medium rare and it was outstanding! Never have I had better! The highlight of these meals was the shared side of "Ladies Cabbage". It was a delight and we enjoyed hearing about its historic story. The Charleston tavern itself is historically interesting which made the evening even more special. Wait staff was excellent - ask for Gabrielle!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wanted it to better than it was. Aside from the appetisers, which were outstanding, main courses were got, but nothing great. As tourists, were seated in way back facing a wall. Plus, very small wine pours. Next evening went to Raw, at a quarter the price, and can't say enough good things about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.