About McCrady's Tavern

2 Unity Alley
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

McCrady's Tavern is a lively, everyday gathering place and offers reimagined American Classics by Chef Brock.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm and Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm
Lunch: Wednesday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
East Bay & Broad

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0025 ext. 1

Parking Details:
2 parking garages within 1 1/2 blocks of McCrady's in either direction. Street parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Sean Brock

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would be happy to host your private event, please call Ashley Wood at 843.801.4299 or email her at: awood@ndgcharleston.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Beet Dish - McCrady's Tavern, Charleston, SC
Beet Dish - McCrady's Tavern, Charleston, SC

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, McCrady's can accommodate all your special event needs.

McCrady's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Fit for Foodies (50)
Historic (47)
Special Occasion (45)
See All
Good for a Date (44)
Local Ingredients (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Romantic (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Authentic (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Bar Seating (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Cozy (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Casual (19)
Hot Spot (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Fun (16)
Seasonal (15)
Fireplace (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Business Meals (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Family Style (4)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
145 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Burger was excellent and Joe the mixolog ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Burger was excellent and Joe the mixologist was great and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service, we ordered a beer and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Terrible service, we ordered a beer and a glass of champagne when we first were seating, 20 minutes later we were still waiting. My soup was cold and had to be sent back. The crepes i ordered were unrecognizable....they were covered in some sort of cheese shell. It is a lovely space with terrible service and sub par food. The wait staff just stood around at the back of the restaurant polishing glasses rather than serving guests. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The dishes are beautifully presented, mo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

The dishes are beautifully presented, most tasted delicious but some have very light portion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The reputation of the restaurant made ou ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

The reputation of the restaurant made our expectations quite high for this visit. My wife was very pleased with her food choices but my entree was lacking. I would put it in the top twenty in Charleston but not in the top ten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very nice experience! The servers were v ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice experience! The servers were very knowledgeable about the food, and worked very well together to make it a great experience. You have to try the tavern burger! It literally melted in our mouths when cooked as suggested!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When you have entrees that are more suit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

When you have entrees that are more suited to be a part of a 5 course tasting menu but priced as entrees you have a kind of lose lose situation. One of us ordered the flounder with a confit of tomatoes and eggplant as an entree. The flounder came out as a tightly coiled circle that would fit into the size of your finger touching your thumb. In a white wine sauce on a white plate. The "confit" of tomatoes and eggplant was about 5 inches away. It was about 1/4 of an italian plum tomato outer pulp only with skin and underneath was maybe a tablespoon of confit eggplant. No other color whatsoever, not even a speck of green. Not only was the presentation the worst we have ever seen but we realized we were most probably in the wrong type of restaurant. The other of us ordered the spaghetti chibatti which was of substantial volume with 5 perfectly cooked shrimp. The problem was the pasta was a good minute or 2 shy of al dente and the sauce - which was good - was totally absorbed into the spaghetti before being even half way done and the pasta was still on the almost al dente side. It ended up way too dry. On the positive side we had a beef tartare which was quite good. The service was great but due to the presentation and the food we will not be back.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

The restaurant came as a recommendation ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The restaurant came as a recommendation from a friend, and my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was very good, and while we didn't drink a bottle of wine, the wine list looked substantial. We really liked the interior of the place, and the team that waited on us was really good as well. Our head waitress was a little unsure of the offerings in a couple of cases, and revealed things about the dishes after we had spent time discussing them with her (oh, by the way, this dish has this on it...is that OK?). That was a little frustrating, but the dishes were really good when they arrived. Desserts were superb, so make sure to try one when you visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The music was pretty bad. I asked if it ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The music was pretty bad. I asked if it could be changed but was told it was the chef's play list and it couldn't be changed or turned down. Food was mediocre. Service was fine but overall ambience was severely lacking. Good luck to them - it's a highly competitive out there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

We tried several top restaurants in Char ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We tried several top restaurants in Charleston and McCrady s, by far, was the best. Creative and sophisticated cuisine with first class ingredients. The server, Billy, with his passion and knowledge about the food, made our dining experience even better. A must in Charleston!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Historic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sean Brock periodically reinvents his re ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Sean Brock periodically reinvents his restaurants, and the "new" McCrady's Tavern iteration is a gem -- the food is imaginative and comforting, old-fashioned and modern. While there are a couple of clunkers -- the charcuterie plate -- really? -- you almost can't go wrong on the menu -- and the side dishes should be shared and are not to be missed. While it's not inexpensive, it is worth the price and shouldn't be relegated to special occasions only.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We'd visited the old McCrady's a couple ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We'd visited the old McCrady's a couple of times and were excited to try both the tavern and restaurant. McCrady's Tavern was outstanding, especially the beet aux poivre, escargot marrow bone, and veal blanquette. We matched everything with a couple of cocktails and wine for a great evening out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was wonderful. We really enjoyed ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Dinner was wonderful. We really enjoyed the unique hot tea service ate the end of the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, excellent service, wonderf ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Amazing food, excellent service, wonderful atmosphere! The "steak for two" special was so, so, so worth it. Creative and delicious cocktail menu, too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overstaffed and overpriced. The staff we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Overstaffed and overpriced. The staff were tripping over themselves to open the bathroom door, but no one had been in the bathroom to notice that one of the toilets had water flowing out the bottom onto the surrounding floor. My appetizer of Foie Gras and Chicken Liver Parfait was in a can, served on a pretty plate on a doily. I had imagined two kinds of livers layers in a pretty glass, not something that I might have fed the family pet. Sorry, while it was tasty, it was a disappointment. Most restaurants would have apologized and offered another dish or comped the item (I rarely complain and have eaten all over the world), but nothing was said or offered. We weren't impressed and won't be returning.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I really love this place. The switch fro ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I really love this place. The switch from the former McCrady's to the new McCrady's Tavern leaves no discernible change in quality or options. My wife had the burger and I had the veal; while both were good, I wish I had gotten the burger as well. Simple, but without a doubt the best burger I've ever had in my life. Our friends also thoroughly enjoyed their meals and loved the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent but the food w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The service was excellent but the food was not all great. The crab soup and napoleon for dessert were very good, but my $24 pasta dish tasted like something that I could make at home in about 10 minutes. I don't think we will return!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

McCrady's Tavern has undergone a transfo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

McCrady's Tavern has undergone a transformation since our last visit. The fine dining atmosphere has has been replaced by a more casual tavern setting and while this change may be in keeping with the historic building it diminishes the experience. The tablecloths and attentive service have been replaced by booths, two top tables and fewer wait staff. As society becomes more casual in work and in play I can understand the restaurant's strategic change, but their change puts McCrady's in competition with all the other casual restaurants in town. Personally we will take our memorable occasions elsewhere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great bar scene then delicious dinner fo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great bar scene then delicious dinner for my hus bands birthday. First time in Charleston for him and he's heard so much about Sean Brock. Sean definitely has an incredibly talented reputation and we both loved our meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Spicy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for lunch. The place was mostly ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We went for lunch. The place was mostly empty at 1:00 pm so the noise level was non existent. Our first course was beet poivre. It was good, but the plate with the sauce was whisked away before we were finished. Pasta dish was also good. We asked for bread to soak up the sauce and got a delicious salted brioche roll. I would definitely try it for dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We came in for my birthday. The service, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We came in for my birthday. The service, bar and food were all outstanding. I had the pork porterhouse which was like hog candy

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved this place. This was my favorit ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I loved this place. This was my favorite place i have eaten in my travels this year of eating in all Charleston restaurants. I will be taking my staff there for Xmas. LOVED IT.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food overall was very salty, even th ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The food overall was very salty, even the butter. The charcuterie plate had a very small slice of terrine which was overly salty and a crust that was inedible. Skinny slivers of salami and coppa. Pathetic. Main meal was a pasta that was so "al dente" that it felt like eating cardboard. No thought given to appearance either. A waste of money.

Tags: Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

My husband and I have eaten here a few t ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My husband and I have eaten here a few times. We are never dissapointed! We had Oysters Mcrady and Crispy Sweetbreads (a special that evening) for starters. My husband had the Pork Porterhouse and I had the Flounder. Everything was absolutely delicious! The Frozen Cream Brûlée for dessert was Wonderful! We are both fans of Sean Brock. He is an amazing chef. It really made our evening special when he walked by our table and we got to chat with him.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Just ok. Didn't live up to expectations ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Just ok. Didn't live up to expectations and a Brock restaurant. Victuals top notch! On a four day foodie tour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

The food and the service at this place w ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food and the service at this place were impeccable. We ordered starters of sweet breads and stuffed clams and they were both excellent. My husband ordered the pork chop sandwich and I ordered the veal - again, both excellent. This place had a great upscale kids menu so my kids ordered a patty melt and split it. My only complaint was that they were out of 90% of the bottles of red wine on the menu. Our waitress apologized profusely and we eventually found something we like, but my first 5 choices were all sold out! Hopefully this was just a busy weekend and that won't happen in the future because we definitely want to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

It was our first time at McCrady's Taver ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It was our first time at McCrady's Tavern. We went for brunch Sunday Nov. 12th. I had two appetizers: Blue Crab Bisque & Oysters McCrady. My date had the Dressed Shrimp appetizer and Crêpes Florentine as his entre. Everything was beyond delicious. Unlike any brunch we've had. It may be a little pricey but we can't wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I were visiting Charlesto ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband and I were visiting Charleston for a long weekend and wanted to try one of Sean Brock's well known establishments. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed with the experience. Expectations were high because we had read so many great reviews and articles in magazines. We were really looking forward to a great dining experience. The main disappointment was the roast chicken which so chewy and tough that I sent it back twice. The quality was questionable which is not what you would expect from this restaurant. My husband ordered the burger which he thought was average given the bap was soggy. It was such a shame as there are so many fabulous places in Charleston to eat. On a positive note, the manager was amazing and the ambience is lovely. I would not go back as there are other wonderful places in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

We waited about 10+ minutes after we wer ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We waited about 10+ minutes after we were seated until our server finally came over. She never apologized for the wait and didn't even get our drink order or tell us the specials. The restaurant is beautiful and a nice place. The food is good but small portions for the price your paying. My fiancé ordered the fish special, it came out raw and the server told us that's how it's normally cooked... found that to be unbelievable. I would give it another shot in hopes of receiving better service because the food was good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

The dining experience at McCrady's Taver ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The dining experience at McCrady's Tavern was excellent - the service, food, surroundings and overall vibe was very good to excellent (closer to excellent than to very good)! Beginning to end, the meal was executed effortlessly and without a flaw! I definitely will return and highly recommend it to others!

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we had was fabulous. Bigges ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything we had was fabulous. Biggest hits; Tavenr Burger with bernaisse, escargot bone marrow tower, calves head soup. Fairly pricy, especially the drinks. Will go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Lunch for two and a Sean Brock restauran ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Lunch for two and a Sean Brock restaurant has been on the list for awhile so we sauntered in at noon.

The interior of the restaurant is very well done. Something about gaslights that sets the mood.

We were seated quickly and our server was timely, friendly and helpful. The menu was an eclectic brunch mix which included quiche, crepes, salads and burgers.

We started with a pumpkin pastry and while not a big fan of pumpkin flavor, I really enjoyed it as the pastry had a nice sweet taste to balance the pumpkin filling. The Blue Crab bisque arrived next and it was enjoyed by one and the other didn't care for it.

Lunch was the burger and the fried pork sandwich. Both were really tasty although my nod goes to the pork sandwich. A great sandwich.

My only issue came after we finished as our server disappeared and I waited for the check. Not enough to put me completely off, just took the shine off the lunch.

After lunch, we opted to sit at the bar for a couple drinks. The bartender was fantastic. Had a great chat and he offered up some wine suggestions. Our first drink was a Bloody Mary and it was clearly on the spicy end of the spectrum. We moved to the cheese plate with a couple of glasses of suggested wine. The cheese plate was a nice combination of four cheeses and was a nice end to our visit.

Was an enjoyable experience but while we are likely to visit the bar again, we will probably give Husk a try for our next S. Brock experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Great lunch with help from the very know ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great lunch with help from the very knowledgeable staff. We are all looking forward to returning in the very near future.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent lamb sausage pasta, very good ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent lamb sausage pasta, very good calf's head soup and excellent foie gras and chicken liver mousse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the worst restaurant meal I hav ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This was the worst restaurant meal I have ever had. Our group was looking forward to this dinner since the restaurant received a terrific review this week. We are adventurous eaters and dine frequently in Charleston restaurants. The charcroute was minuscule. No bread was served with it. Deviled clams were good. We sent the marrow bone with escargot back to the kitchen. Flounder was inedible. No salt or seasoning sitting on a bed of cream. The burrata on the pasta had no creaminess whatsoever. The men enjoyed the fried pork sandwich. The apple napoleons had no apple that we could discern. 4 people, 2 bottles of wine, $254.00 before tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

This was our first experience in the new ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This was our first experience in the new Tavern, and I have to say we miss the former, more elegant restaurant. The food was good but a bit pricey for the casual atmosphere. We sat in the bar after dinner and enjoyed that atmosphere more than the dining room experience. Have to say thought that our server, Paige, was outstanding. Good wine too.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Such a beautiful restaurant and deliciou ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Such a beautiful restaurant and delicious food! Every thing on the menu looked amazing. We got the crab soup and the trout and loved it all!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our table along the wall could have bene ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Our table along the wall could have benefited from a few more inches of space between adjacent tables. Everything else was wonderful.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If it is in season, you MUST try the wre ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 7, 2016

If it is in season, you MUST try the wreck fish. It was prepared simply, letting the fish be the star of the show. Our waitress was knowledgable and friendly. A must stop in Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal at reasonable price. Sta ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful meal at reasonable price. Started with the beets, like a steak veggie. My honey had the escargot bone marrow also yummy. We sat next to an adorable couple who helped me chose the burger, best I've ever tasted. Sweetheart had steak and a side of oxtail and broccoli. Then we split an ice cream brulee awesome .

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All four of us thoroughly enjoyed our ap ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

All four of us thoroughly enjoyed our appetizers and meals. Hot roasted whole beets stuffed with blue cheese served with watercress was the bomb. Tagliatelle pasta with short ribs and butternut squash and oyster mushrooms to die for. Our server was fantastic and the atmosphere is second to none. Just go there!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.