About McCrady's

2 Unity Alley
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

A dynamic amalgam of modern regional southern cuisine, with a focus on local ingredients, exceptional wines & unparalleled service are what you will find at McCrady's where Chef Sean Brock blends progressive American cuisine & modern culinary technique while giving respect to the highest quality & freshest ingredients. The comfortable, richly detailed & visually sensuous space is positioned in Charleston's first tavern built in 1771. This National Historic Landmark is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter District in downtown Charleston.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00pm-til; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Happy Hour: 5pm-6:30pm Monday - Thursday

Cross Street:
East Bay & Broad

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0025 ext. 1

Website:
http://www.mccradysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
2 parking garages within 1 1/2 blocks of McCrady's in either direction. Street parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Sean Brock

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would be happy to host your private event, please call Ashley Wood at 843.801.4299 or email her at: awood@ndgcharleston.com

Restaurant Photos

Pistachio Cake With Banana Ice Cream
Wreckfish
Pork Loin
Airmail Cocktail
crab
South Carolina Peach Tart, Peach Sorbet And Elderflower
Sprite Melon, Edisto Cucumber And Roof Top Flowers
Grassroots Chicken, Corn, Cherry, Chanterelle And Peanut
Cox Farms Beef Tartare, Goat Lady Gouda And Beef Tendons
Cosmopolitan

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, McCrady's can accommodate all your special event needs.

McCrady's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
South Carolina
Contemporary American
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
Charleston
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

fit for foodies (212)
special occasion (200)
romantic (159)
See All
notable wine list (140)
neighborhood gem (59)
good for groups (29)
hot spot (20)
vibrant bar scene (16)
late-night find (7)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
3200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A lovely meal with excellent service. De ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

A lovely meal with excellent service. Delicious cocktails. Unique menu. Consider adding some more vegetarian options. We hear they are updating the place soon so not sure what the new restaurant will be like.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing. It was a flavor experi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was amazing. It was a flavor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The meal at this level needs to be an EV ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

The meal at this level needs to be an EVENT, not just an excellent meal. In this regard, the McCrady's staff achieved the metric. Oh golly, did I just use the word, metric?

The challenge is that McCrady's senior management is going to screw with their current business model: " Wha' Happen..."? Someone misplace their collective marbles?

Have you ever heard of change for the worse?

Hope "they" don't destroy one of the true gems of the Charleston dinner scene. My two out-of-state guests were blown away by the exceptional total experience. Thank you!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

McCrady' was highly recommended by a fri ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

McCrady' was highly recommended by a friend and great reviews, a noted chef, etc. enjoyed our experience for all but the main course. We both ordered fish, a snapper and swordfish entree. Initially, we thought our entrees were okay but several bites into our meals and after our waiter asked how everything was, we both realized our fish was overcooked and dry. There was commotion at the next table about another entree so we decided to say nothing. Disappointing to say the least as our meal was expensive. We had read a recent review re poorly cooked fish but decided to take the risk. Would recommend but stay away from the fish!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding on every level. The server ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding on every level. The server even adjusted around my boyfriend and I's hand holding when we didn't notice him setting down new flatware.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been enjoying this restaurant fo ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have been enjoying this restaurant for many years and this was probably our least favorite experience. The menu the night we dined was in my opinion very simple with no effort to strive for the perfection of years past. The lack of creativity, lended itself to mediocrity and was not what we expected. With all the great places in Charleston McCrady's needs to up their game not rest on the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Our server, Matt, was attentive and thou ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our server, Matt, was attentive and thoughtful — he made great recommendations for food & drinks. We enjoyed the ambiance and food — McCrady's is the perfect spot for a creative, delicious, unforgettable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was in town for business so I was dini ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I was in town for business so I was dining solo. Even as a single diner, I had great service. The waitress even gave me a list of other great restaurants in town that are good for single diners. Now, on to the food. I had the mushroom stew with pine nuts. They pressure cook the pine nuts so that they are more like beans. The flavors just burst in your mouth. I also highly recommend the lamb chops. They were cooked perfectly and delicious. I was worried about the pistachio sauce that accompanied them, but it was a delightful complement. This place is great and I am looking forward to eating at their sister restaurant Husk in Nashville next week!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was terrible; restaurant was not ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Service was terrible; restaurant was not crowded but was extremely noisy. Took 15 minutes to get a drink - we left and ate elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Definitely a downgrade from the old McCr ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Definitely a downgrade from the old McCrady's - menu choices were not good; not enough of either the small plates or the large to pick from. Drinks were good, some nice concoctions you don't see everywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Have been wanting to visit McCradys (and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Have been wanting to visit McCradys (and Charleston) since I read about Sean Brock's approach, and it did not disappoint. Locally sourced, heritage breeds combined with outstanding preparation and service. Will go back, a superb experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time going to McCrad ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was our second time going to McCrady's and had a better meal the first time although this is still one of our top favorite restaurants in Charleston. The first time seem to have a slightly more extensive menu including chef's choice with a clean your pallet course. Our food the second time was good but not as memorable as the first time 6 months ago.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Horrible service. Will not be back again ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Horrible service. Will not be back again. The waiter was rude for no reason. We sat down and it was evident that he was having a bad day and taking it out on his tables. We just ordered dinner entrees so we could leave quickly. The food was pretty tasty, but his attitude ruined the whole experience. Dirty Martini was amazing, but he disappeared for awhile, then took my glass without asking if I would like a second, which I would have ordered. We eat at upscale restaurants several times a week, and have never seen such horrible service. Sad a waiter can ruin a restaurant. We will never be back based on this experience, nor recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

This wasn't our first visit and we came ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This wasn't our first visit and we came to celebrate a birthday as we had positive experiences before. We understand from our server that they will be renovating in August. This will probably address our primary concern which was that the a/c didn't circulate well in this area. With extremely hot weather in July, a cooler environment was needed. There were empty tables for two in other areas of the restaurant but no offer made to move tables and we didn't ask. Our server was very attentive and the food was delicious. The entrée was served at room temperature but that wasn't a deal breaker as it tasted great. ("This area" referenced above was the alcove. The site wouldn't let me insert that. I would have had to delete everything that came after it.)

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I made a reservation for 845 pm. My date ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I made a reservation for 845 pm. My date and I arrived at 745 pm. The hostess said our table is not ready. Walking in I saw several open tables. So we sat at the bar and ate stale popcorn. Yes stale. Couples came in and were seated with what appeared to be no reservations. Then at 844 we were seated. The food was ok. The scallops were very good but for 8.50 each they better be. I was given a 100 dollar gift card. With a great tip our bill was 137 dollars. I felt guilty for spending 37 of my own money. I will say we had one of the best waitresses ever. I forget her name but she has been there for about 2 months she said. She was very courteous and professional. Funny too. She made the night tolerable. Thanks for reading.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

A wonderful dining experience. Artfully ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

A wonderful dining experience. Artfully prepared food and awesome service. Great wine list! Save room for dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was one of the finest meals we have ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was one of the finest meals we have eaten. We were visiting from NYC where we are used to great food. We were expecting good food but not fine food. The atmosphere, service, menu and presentation were impeccable. I am still thinking about the short rib and mushroom stew appetizer! it was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere is delightful and the food is ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Atmosphere is delightful and the food is wonderful - would recommend to anyone who wants a great dining experience

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten here for 10 years,. Highly re ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Have eaten here for 10 years,. Highly recommend for fine dining, high quality, lower volume meals. Sean Brock rolled out a commemorative menu on the night we dined. He came to our table to chat about the changes coming. I am excited about what is next. He is really talented and this restaurant captures his skill more than Husk. The new concept will be for serious foodies. Count me in!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good, But Didn't Live Up to Our Expectat ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Good, But Didn't Live Up to Our Expectations

We were a table of two, reservations made weeks prior to the actual dining date. We were seated in the bar area which we were told by our server was soon going to be demolished. Although the area was pretty, it was extremely dark. The rest of the restaurant was much brighter...wish we had been seated there. Request that if you wish to see what you are eating and with whom you are dining.

While our server was very well versed on the menu and explained her favorites to us quite well, we didn't really appreciate the sigh we received when we asked about other menu items. Also, we brought a rare bottle of wine with us to the restaurant. While we appreciated the manager agreeing to chill it for us briefly at the beginning of the meal before it was opened, we did not appreciate the server insisting on keeping the bottle at the bar instead of at the table like the other two tables beside us did. The wine should have been decanted at the table and stayed within our view the entire time...neither of which happened.

The food was very good, inventive, nicely presented. It did seem to have been a little over salted but it was still very good, and that opinion is just our preference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great take on food. It was delicious! ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great take on food. It was delicious! Service was great as well. Our waitress knew what she was talking about.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is here is outstanding, well th ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food is here is outstanding, well thought out, creative and a pleasure to experience. I highly recommend it and you will be so glad that you booked a table at this wonderful restaurant. Extensive wine list that pairs well with the food. This is the best meal I have had in a long, long time at a restaurant. My hat is off to the chef for delicious creativity. Don't miss this one.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FOOD IS GREAT, BUT PORTION SIZES MAKE IT ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

FOOD IS GREAT, BUT PORTION SIZES MAKE IT FELL OVERPRICED

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Fantasic experience - from food to servi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Fantasic experience - from food to service to ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stupendous service, outstanding ambiance ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Stupendous service, outstanding ambiance, best grouper I think I have ever had. One of the most overlooked superb restaurant in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love McCrady's! We had the tasting menu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Love McCrady's! We had the tasting menu. Service was a bit off - but would not let that stop you from going.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We had to be in Charleston for a family ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had to be in Charleston for a family wedding, and we came two days early to take advantage of the city's reputation for New Southern dining. We had heard great things about Sean Brock, and this is one of his restaurants, a reincarnation of a 18th century saloon. The beautiful room blends historic and modern elements; the service was attentive, warm and friendly; and the cuisine was creative and delicious, using local purveyors and herbs from a roof garden. My husband really enjoyed the country ham, which he kindly let me sample - the best I've ever tasted. I had the crab cake with shrimps -also superb. My husband's entree was a pork loin on a pistachio purée. The pork was very tender and moist, cooked perfectly; the sauce was irresistible. My dish was roasted poussin with squash and other things. I'd love to repeat the experience, but the menu changes everyday, so I'll just have to try something else next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved everything about it. A friend rec ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Loved everything about it. A friend recommended it and all 4 of us (two couples) rated it the best. We ate at three other highly rated restaurants nearby and this was our most memorable meal. Smaller, but interesting menu. Beautiful presentation. The salad of shredded snow peas, goat cheese and beet was delicious. One friend had the scallops over fava beans and loved it. We had the pork tenderloin over a bed of pistachio purée and leek and arugula on top. So delicious. Other friend had the swordfish and loved it. Bread was great, dessert of nectarine homemade ices cream over berries fabulous. Special ending treat of pieces of melt in your mouth chocolate and sugared blackberries...yumm. This place is really special and prices were comparable to the others...maybe a little less.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service,decor,food and plating ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful service,decor,food and plating.i would highly recommend this as a wonderful experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. We had a great ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was excellent. We had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This continues as one of Charleston's fi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This continues as one of Charleston's finest restaurants. The creativity, service, and ambience combine to make this an establishment that would rate high in any city. I'm anxious to see what the changes will be, but have no doubt that this will continue to hold its place in a very competitive market.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great. Need more wines by the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was great. Need more wines by the glass-5 oz. Sip of wine (3 oz. serving) is a joke.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Beyond delicious. We couldn't get into s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Beyond delicious. We couldn't get into some of the more popular restaurants, so a friend recommended this one. Couldn't be happier that the others were booked. This place is amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have dined at McCrady's se ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

My wife and I have dined at McCrady's several times in the last few years when visiting Charleston, and it never disappoints. The food is just superb, and the creativity of the chef is amazing. We were in France last summer and had some amazing meals. McCrady's is as good as the top French restaurants in which we dined. It is also in a a charming location with tons of ambiance, and the service is always impeccable. It is a little "pricey," but as the ole saying goes, "You get what you pay for." If you're in Charleston, try this restaurant - you will not be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall loved McCrady's. Ambiance was fa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Overall loved McCrady's. Ambiance was fantastic. Food was excellent but only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating was that the menu was VERY limited with only 6 appetizers and 6 entrees. It would have been great if there were a few more choices.a

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What a wonderful treat to celebrate Fath ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

What a wonderful treat to celebrate Father's Day for my husband, our son, and his family! We were seated right away in a quiet corner. Our six-year-old granddaughter was made to feel very special. The food was exquisite and they were even able to accommodate the palates of a vegetarian and a child! The wine selection is excellent. Our waiter was amazing - great knowledge of the nuances of the dishes, engaging but not hovering. We love McCrady's - have had several delightful meals there, but this one with our family was extra special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place in Charleston; and I h ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My favorite place in Charleston; and I have been everywhere. LOVE!!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Sean Brock masterpiece! The food ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Another Sean Brock masterpiece! The food was amazing. The service was not as stellar as it could have been but I believe it was only because our server was having an off night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

What a wonderful experience! McCrady's i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

What a wonderful experience! McCrady's is a bit of a splurge, depending on how much one is used to spending, but every aspect is top notch and totally worth indulging for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meal was great and the service was o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our meal was great and the service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.