Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About McCrady's Tavern

McCrady's Tavern is a lively, everyday gathering place and offers reimagined American Classics by Chef Brock.

2 Unity Alley
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm and Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
East Bay & Broad

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0025 ext. 1

Parking Details:
2 parking garages within 1 1/2 blocks of McCrady's in either direction. Street parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Sean Brock

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would be happy to host your private event, please call Ashley Wood at 843.801.4299 or email her at: awood@ndgcharleston.com

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, McCrady's can accommodate all your special event needs.

McCrady's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (87)
Good for a Date (84)
Special Occasion (78)
See All
Creative Cuisine (74)
Local Ingredients (60)
Handcrafted Cocktails (55)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Romantic (47)
Historic (43)
Authentic (43)
Cozy (43)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Bar Seating (37)
Notable Wine List (32)
Worth the Drive (31)
Comfort Food (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Hot Spot (26)
Casual (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Business Meals (24)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Seasonal (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Great Beer (16)
Fun (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Tasting Menu (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Healthy (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fireplace (5)
People Watching (5)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (2)
Live Music (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
 (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Waterfront (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
517 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrating Sunday at
McCrady's Tavern on Unity ALLEY off East Bay. BEST BRUNCH I've ever had!!! Atmosphere Britainesque, food absolutely cooked and seasoned to perfection, unparalleled service! One of best Bloody Mary's in town; Dick had GREAT dark local beer on tap. We were lucky to find street parking on State St. at head of Alley or we probably parked in Cumberland St garage--short walk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Dinner was great. Simon and the wait staff were very attentive. The Tavern Flat Iron steak was perfect medium rare and my wife enjoyed the snapper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was amazing but the service was exceptional!!! Our server was so knowledgeable about all the food and gave great suggestions on parings. Very friendly and personable. We could tell he wanted our experience to be great. We would recommend highly. Look forward to coming back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

It was 90+ degrees outside and it seemed about 80 inside. When we asked if the air conditioning could be made cooler we were told it was because of the fire place? Seemed odd. The food and wine were sensational

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We were looking forward to trying out the "new" McCrady's and I have to say it was pretty disappointing. I probably had the worst dirty martini ever made to begin our night and the restaurant was terribly hot--I started feeling overheated it was so uncomfortable. It's definitely lively and our friends really enjoyed the soundtrack (a little off-putting if you had been to McCrady's before). The food was just OK. Not many seafood selections which is always disappointing when you live in Charleston. The beef tartar was very good, but the entrees were not great. Not sure we will try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Pretentious service but very effective. Appetizer portion of lobster risotto when converted to entry was 2X in cost. End product was not of high quality. Portion sizes were puny at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Nice atmosphere but food was below average for Charleston. Our first subpar meal. Service was friendly but went without a drink for 15 minutes once entrees arrived. Had hoped for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Food was fantastic, caviar and tater tots were amazing. But service was painfully slow. We would have had more drinks, and we were not able to enjoy wine with our dinner because of the slow service. So we had just one drink before dinner, and then almost finished our food before our glass of wine arrived. Very slow for a Wednesday night, or for any night.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Outstanding food, attentive service, fair priced, we will visit more often

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Our meal was outstanding. The tavern provides a very comfortable atmosphere and is a great spot for a couple as well as a larger party. We will be back when we visit Charleston again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very good food. Everything was fresh, creative and delicious. I thought the price is a little above the value, but we enjoyed the meal, and we would return. The facility is outstanding, also!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Our experience was marred by the fact that the air conditioning was not working and it was unbearably hot where we were seated. Service was very slow and some in our group almost fainted from a lack of water and the heat. The food we were able to eat was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The portions weren't huge but were well sized and were creatively crafted! Delicious food, high quality service, and a foodie spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food, staff, drinks and restaurant itself was amazing! However, it was very noisy. My fiancé and I are used to a quieter setting for the money we spent.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This is a go to favorite...love the food, atmosphere and location.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The ambiance of this magnificent historic setting was authentic and the waiter was well versed in the history of the architecture and the McCrady story. The food was well prepared and tasty. Unfortunately the food service was terribly slow. We waited thirty minutes between appetizer /salad and our main course. When we inquired with the manager she became defensive. I finally stood and walked around the dining room to see that not a single table had food. Clearly a problem in the kitchen. The manager should have owned up to it. We won't be back.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Wonderful restaurant with a great vibe. Although the address is street facing, the entrance is down an alley which was a fun "twist". Steaks were superb. Ordered the beet side and it was fabulous. Creative cocktails; wonderful wine and to-die-for dessert. Upon exiting the restaurant we continued down the alleyway and found quaint houses and gardens. We will return on our next trip to Charleston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 13, 2017

They ruined it. This used to be very elegant dining. Now it's a weird setting with loud, odd music. The food was excellent. The service was excellent. It was just weird. I miss the old place and ambiance. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great tasting food. Word to management. On a quiet night and fish of day is suggested to customers, don't come out 20 minutes later and tell three of us there is none left. That is poor operational management.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great experience. Amazing historical building. Cocktails, chopped salad, pasta, mac and cheese, and fries were all fantastic (and not as simple as they may sound)! The flat iron steak (ordered medium... came out medium rare/rare...sent back... came out medium rare/rare again... so I ate it) was just okay. Even if cooked to my liking, it could have used a little more flavor. Overall, a great meal. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My favorite and one of the best restaurants in the south east. A must for any one visiting Charleston.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for a Date, Authentic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Wonderful! Start to finish could not have been a better meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Best meal we have enjoyed in a long time , service was exceptional and the food was delicious !!!!

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was fantastic, oysters and salad (with 14 ingredients) for an appetizer, pasta and gnocchi for main course. Also had 2 handcrafted cocktails.
We will go again when we visit Charleston

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We expected above average creativity and quality meals. What we experienced was neither. On the plus side, the atmosphere is great and service was very good.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Billy was a great server, food was great, wine was spot on. We will be back again and again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The reincarnation of the famed Mccradys may just be its best act yet. Sean Brock & Sam Jett have thoughtfully prepared a vibe on the menu here that could be in any city in the world but thank our lucky stars it's here in Charleston.

This place is special. There should be lines out the door every day that this place is open. Truly amazing experience every single visit.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food, great service. The portions were on the small side, but the quality was outstanding. The music was great and not overly loud. The prices were high, but that was expected and certainly in line with the quality of the food.
We had our tenth anniversary and wanted to go somewhere special. We were not disappointed. The staff went out of its way to make the whole experience as pleasant as possible. This included an explanation of what to expect. The wine, a 2014 Antonin, was good. she had the oysters McCrady, which were excellent (although one oyster still had some shell in it) I had the scallops which were superb (only two though) The main menu consisted out of a Flatiron steak for her. Again, outstanding taste and texture although only two strips of steak. I had the Trout. Excellently prepared. As a side we had the Tavern Fries, which were good but not exceptional. As a desert we chose the Rice pudding. Outstanding, but very different than expected. It was not sweet at all but more tangy with a crispy layer on top of it. So, if you are in for outstanding food, this is the place. If you want low prices and big portions, not so much ;-)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Amazing place!!! Great food and awesome atmosphere!!!! Will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The Chopped Salad was probably one of the best I've had. I would also say that the Pork Chop was the best pork dish I've ever had. The mash potatoes is a must have side. The service is spot on.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Nice ambience with a lot of history. The food was excellent. You could definitely see Sean Brock's influence on the menu. I had the flat iron steak and my Pops had the veal, both were outstanding and the Mac and Cheese was definitely a guilty pleasure worth ordering. Overall it was a great place to finish a beautiful day in Charleston.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

One of the best meals of our lifetime. The tavern is special! Thank you Sean Brock. We will never forget this dining experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Organic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Excellent service and amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 3, 2017

You really can't find a better place! Everything was spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Amazing. Simply amazing. I cannot express this enough.

Booked a reservation for my girlfriend's birthday this past 7/2/17 and ALL expectations were met! Flew from DC to enjoy the weather and hospitality of Charleston and feel the vibes, and McCrady's definitely shared some southern hospitality! THE FOOD AND SERVICE WERE PHENOMENAL!!! Very courteous, patient, and accommodating FOH staff, and the food raised such a high bar.

Make a reservation or come in early. Thank me later.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This was the worst dining experience we have had recently. The service was incredibly slow. It was 30 minutes before we got our appetizers and by one hour at forty minutes, we still had not received our entrees. Our appetizers were okay. Please do not order the Oysters McCrady; it tasted like velveeta cheese with extremely small chunks of ham. The oyster on the half shell had shell fragments, but the chowder was okay. The order of champagne came in a wine glass and was flat. The second glass also came in a wine glass and was flatter. We finally walked out after being told several times that our entrees were coming out and twenty minutes later, no entrees. The manager was very apologetic, but there is absolutely no excuse for a Sean Brock restaurant to operate this way. Five thumbs down!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This was our first time dining at McCrady's Tavern. Beautiful restaurant in a charming Alley. Brunch was spectacular! The oyster soup and blueberry scones were to die for. Everything we ordered was delicious. Staff was friendly and very attentive. Can't wait to go back. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food choices were varied and everything we ate was excellent. Our waiter provided excellent suggestions for our dinner.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Friends from Houston Tx came for a mutual friend' wedding. It was my friend's wife's birthday and they picked McCrearys from the website. I live on Johns Island. My friends steak was over cooked so he sent it back to the kitchen and did not want another due to slowing up the meal for everyone else. The food for the rest of us was nothing exceptional. Overall we did not enjoy and my friend was so disappointed in his wife's birthday meal. With all the restaurants in Charleston we will not be going back or recommending to friends .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 30, 2017

AWESOME bar experience this past Friday. Enjoyed a happy hour gathering with a best friend. Enjoyed several cocktails, an appetizer and the happy hour burger. SO VERY GOOD. We will be back. The Tavern approach to this long standing Charleston institution is much appreciated--the atmosphere and food are high end yet recognizable and comfortable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.