Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About McCrady's Tavern

McCrady's Tavern is a lively, everyday gathering place and offers reimagined American Classics by Chef Brock.

2 Unity Alley
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm and Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
East Bay & Broad

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0025 ext. 1

Parking Details:
2 parking garages within 1 1/2 blocks of McCrady's in either direction. Street parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Sean Brock

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would be happy to host your private event, please call Ashley Wood at 843.801.4299 or email her at: awood@ndgcharleston.com

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, McCrady's can accommodate all your special event needs.

McCrady's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (74)
Creative Cuisine (72)
Special Occasion (66)
See All
Good for a Date (65)
Local Ingredients (59)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Romantic (45)
Handcrafted Cocktails (44)
Authentic (40)
Cozy (37)
Notable Wine List (37)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Bar Seating (31)
Worth the Drive (27)
Business Meals (26)
Comfort Food (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Casual (23)
Fun (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Seasonal (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Great Beer (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Healthy (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
People Watching (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
583 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first visit after the remodeling. We actually thought the seating was better, with more privacy. We found the menu to be simple but creative, and our dishes were very tasty. Wine choices are excellent. Service was really good.

There is a little more bar feeling overall, which was fine as far as dining because of wall dividers and boothes, except that the music noise level intruded sometimes.

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We dined at McCradys this past Monday night and we were very surprised by our experience. I love salt, but my soup, and both of our entrees were so overly salted they were almost inedible. Both tables beside us sent something back. Both the cuts of meat we had chicken and pork were poor quality. The chicken had a lot of gristle and the skin was soggy. The pork was a little under done, and the amount of fat on it was too much. The servers were very good and were by far the best aspect of the experience. I hope the food situation can be corrected because the menu looks good just doesn't taste good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

I've found u can never go wrong at McCradys.
Every thing is always lovely.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

McCrady's Tavern is listed with Charleston's top romantic restaurants and it could be if it weren't for the bar music being as loud as it was. This distracted from the ambience of the restaurant and event being celebrated. The staff were exceptional and were on the mark in refilling water glasses, promptly removing empty plates in preparation for each course without hovering, or making us feel rushed. The food was not disappointing either but satiated the palate. The location was charming, tucked away down Unity Alley. I highly recommend McCrady's Tavern and would have give them fives across the board if it had not been for the loudness of the music at the bar, which was distracting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

2 pork orders as entrees. both very tasty, but one almost all fat. manager comes by after dinner and says> "So how was everything?Great huh!" So always a problem when someone answers their own question. When we showed him the plate with the fat he says. " oh I am sorry but you know it happens sometimes. " We understand it happens but really at those prices it should not and their should be more of a sincere apology. He said have some dessert and Ill get it for you. On the check however he did not, Did not pick up tab for alcohol, salad or nothing. Again we were not looking for any discount at all but at least be sincere in your apology. And of coarse we understand not every cut of meat will be great but again be honest and sincere. After that also service was cold. And we went out of our way to say service was great, even that meat was very flavorful. Just simply that meat was extremely fatty which we showed him. So in summary, be sincere in wanting to know how meal was and learn to take constructive criticism to improve

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

McCrady's never disappoints! Our food and service we're both flawless and the attention to detail and creative use of local ingredients make it an updated gem and a local favorite since....the 1800's or so!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was excellent but our service was only average for a resturant of that quality. They had the music turned up so loud at the bar I couldnt hear my companions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

A Charleston classic - never disappoints. The pork porterhouse is one of my favorite dishes in town.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 7, 2017

McCradys is a fabulous restaurant with excellent quisine and service. Also it has an old rich feel. Strongly recommend this restaurant if you are visiting Charleston. Also suggest that you make reservations
Tim Carnell
Dallas, TX

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Don't miss this gem in an alley just off East Bay Street. Beautiful cavernous interior, great ambiance. The bar scene is excellent - with attentive and accommodating service. The restaurant service and food certainly did not disappoint - Foie Gras and Chicken Liver Parfait, Risotto Special, Filet Mignon - all perfect - paired with a superlative Ridge Zin. We had a very memorable evening and we look forward to an encore.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2017

They re-did the restaurant and menu and it was a great improvement. The menu is awesome and the service was terrific. I will be there again and highly recommend it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Entrees are done very well. The Roasted Chicken and Prime Rib Eye are wonderful. Sides are a la carte and ok. Unfortunately, the close table proximity for parties of two, general loudness/busyness of the atmosphere and price point make it a mixed bag experience that takes away from the overall enjoyment of the visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We have loved this place for years and it didn't disappoint despite changing a bit from our last visit . Portions were larger and everything amazing !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We came here for a special treat as we are both fans of low country cuisine and have been to McGradys (in this location) and Husk before. Both of these restaurant and FIG were full so we gave McGradys Tavern a shot. It's in a great spot and service was good although not as friendly other restaurants in this state.

The food however was a real disappointment - over salted and over cooked and a shrimp pasta dish that was completely unseasoned and the shrimp were inedible. A shrimp appetizer was very tasty but the oysters were tasteless. Overall there are many better restaurants in Charleston and the rest of the state that give good value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Fresh, house-made Bloody Mary was the best we've ever had. Brunch menu was interesting and thoughtful. Excellent service and food. Nice, visually engaging historic space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Best Flat Iron Steak I have ever had! The Fresh pasta and shrimp (local) were incredible. Second time we have been here and will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

What an amazing gem in Charleston! My wife and I enjoyed brunch there and, not kidding, probably had the best omelet of my life. Absolutely delicious... and a fresh french press coffee. I highly recommend it for foodies!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Very cool place, real sense of history! Very, very friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Overall, very excellent service and food! Very attentive and friendly staff. There was one minor thing wrong with our table (wasn't an issue for us) and the staff and management both checked on us to ensure we were okay/see if we wanted to move (we didn't). Then, they gave us lovely desserts on the house! Really top notch service on top of top notch food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Staff was extremely friendly and the steaks were tender. Compliments to the Chef! Great wine choices, too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Really good. Smart changes to the room and menu. Interesting and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

This is a great spot !!
Most delicious food and fantastic history of the space the restaurant is in!
Highly recommend it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Second visit to McCradys, eight years apart, and pleased to see that it hasn't changed! Still a gem! Great, knowledgeable staff, high quality food, nice selections. I had the pork chop and it was the best pork I've ever had! Most seating is in private booths, so the four of us could enjoy a wonderful meal without being aware of anyone around us. Can't wait to get back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Organic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I had the flank steak and it was very tender and tasty. The puree'd potatoes were out of this world. The atmosphere was inviting and felt like old Charleston. Service was great. I ordered a glass of cabernet (the one with "Franc" in the name) and it was great. My friend and I ordered coffee after dinner, and believe it or not, I think it was the best coffee I have ever had! I will definitely return and may pop in to have a drink at their bar, which looked very appealing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

It was okay. I wasn't blown away by the food. Macaroni pie was very salty. The shrimp cocktail was very good. Flat iron steak very good, just a small portion. The mixed drinks good. My main issue was that the restaurant has a personality conflict. Based on the menu and setting I was expecting upscale atmosphere. However, they play rock music. That's fine if you want to be a "Tavern", then be upbeat and serve more comfort, simple fare. But trying to blend fancy dining with that atmosphere is too jarring for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Good menu, several daily selection, locally sourced, great ambience in a historical building. Top notch service and kitchen

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The very best meal we've had in many years! It was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 24, 2017

I had been to this same exact restaurant 2 years ago and thought it one of my top three ever dining experiences. Not so this time, it was just a regular restaurant. Before, everything ordered was brought to you and the ingredients explained. I thought it was extraordinary. Now it is a restaurant just like all others, order, deliver, eat, leave. Sorry it changed. I won't be back

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Service was awful. I was surprised due to all of this restaurants awards however my drink was spilled and then cleaned up (with half of its original contents) and the service was extremely slow and our food was not brought out as ordered. Overall the food was good however the overall experience was disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food preparation was creative and outstanding. Everything we ordered was well prepared and tasted very good. The waitress was professional and answered all our questions. The ambience was good however, where we were seated it was a bit noisy due to excessive wait staff traffic.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Everything was fantastic! Service was friendly and quick, food was amazing! My one small complaint is there was about a 15 min gap between our 2nd and 3rd round of food so we ended up being too full to enjoy the entrees. Enjoyed our experience here more than Husk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2017

McCrady's Tavern was wonderful. The historic building offers a little bit of Charleston culture and great food. They have an extensive wine list that's a bit pricey but very good choices. The menu is very nice and the food is delicious. The wait staff was terrific. Our server was not only professional, he was very knowledgeable and shared the history of the Tavern. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Birthday dinner for friend, no offers of an app, dessert or drink to celebrate. We had the scallops. 2 of nime were full of grit. Didnt each the last one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Food was very salty - especially the beet appetizer. I thought the food was meh, nothing to write home about. I guess I was expecting great things, especially the escargot in the bone marrow. Neither of the flavors stood out. I was expecting to be wowed based on the reviews. I wouldn't go out of my way for the restaurant, but if you happen to be in the area and there's no waiting, go for it. The cocktails were superb though. Very different and tasty.

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent food but small portions. Our entrees were appetizer sized and the quiche, although tasted great, was a somewhat odd presentation with a barely cooked yoke only on top of an individual quiche.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Terrific chopped salad, and excellent service. Wish had time to try more food and drinks. The cheese selections looked very interesting with a local emphasis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food and value were ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 18, 2017

A historic pub experience with high end food and service. Wonderful mixologist bar tender. Great location in historic French Quarter near the waterfront.

Tags: Great Beer, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food and service very good. Wine list too expensive.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Wonderful meal. Great staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.