About McCrady's

2 Unity Alley
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

A dynamic amalgam of modern regional southern cuisine, with a focus on local ingredients, exceptional wines & unparalleled service are what you will find at McCrady's where Chef Sean Brock blends progressive American cuisine & modern culinary technique while giving respect to the highest quality & freshest ingredients. The comfortable, richly detailed & visually sensuous space is positioned in Charleston's first tavern built in 1771. This National Historic Landmark is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter District in downtown Charleston.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00pm-til; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Happy Hour: 5pm-6:30pm Monday - Thursday

Cross Street:
East Bay & Broad

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0025 ext. 1

Website:
http://www.mccradysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
2 parking garages within 1 1/2 blocks of McCrady's in either direction. Street parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Sean Brock

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would be happy to host your private event, please call Ashley Wood at 843.801.4299 or email her at: awood@ndgcharleston.com

Restaurant Photos

Pistachio Cake With Banana Ice Cream
Wreckfish
Pork Loin
Airmail Cocktail
crab
South Carolina Peach Tart, Peach Sorbet And Elderflower
Sprite Melon, Edisto Cucumber And Roof Top Flowers
Grassroots Chicken, Corn, Cherry, Chanterelle And Peanut
Cox Farms Beef Tartare, Goat Lady Gouda And Beef Tendons
Cosmopolitan

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, McCrady's can accommodate all your special event needs.

McCrady's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
South Carolina
Notable Wine List
South Carolina
Contemporary American
South Carolina
5 More
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
Notable Wine List
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

fit for foodies (228)
special occasion (213)
romantic (170)
See All
notable wine list (155)
neighborhood gem (67)
hot spot (29)
good for groups (27)
vibrant bar scene (19)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stupendous service, outstanding ambiance ...

Dined 3 days ago

Stupendous service, outstanding ambiance, best grouper I think I have ever had. One of the most overlooked superb restaurant in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Love McCrady's! We had the tasting menu ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Love McCrady's! We had the tasting menu. Service was a bit off - but would not let that stop you from going.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had to be in Charleston for a family ...

Dined 4 days ago

We had to be in Charleston for a family wedding, and we came two days early to take advantage of the city's reputation for New Southern dining. We had heard great things about Sean Brock, and this is one of his restaurants, a reincarnation of a 18th century saloon. The beautiful room blends historic and modern elements; the service was attentive, warm and friendly; and the cuisine was creative and delicious, using local purveyors and herbs from a roof garden. My husband really enjoyed the country ham, which he kindly let me sample - the best I've ever tasted. I had the crab cake with shrimps -also superb. My husband's entree was a pork loin on a pistachio purée. The pork was very tender and moist, cooked perfectly; the sauce was irresistible. My dish was roasted poussin with squash and other things. I'd love to repeat the experience, but the menu changes everyday, so I'll just have to try something else next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved everything about it. A friend rec ...

Dined 4 days ago

Loved everything about it. A friend recommended it and all 4 of us (two couples) rated it the best. We ate at three other highly rated restaurants nearby and this was our most memorable meal. Smaller, but interesting menu. Beautiful presentation. The salad of shredded snow peas, goat cheese and beet was delicious. One friend had the scallops over fava beans and loved it. We had the pork tenderloin over a bed of pistachio purée and leek and arugula on top. So delicious. Other friend had the swordfish and loved it. Bread was great, dessert of nectarine homemade ices cream over berries fabulous. Special ending treat of pieces of melt in your mouth chocolate and sugared blackberries...yumm. This place is really special and prices were comparable to the others...maybe a little less.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service,decor,food and plating ...

Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful service,decor,food and plating.i would highly recommend this as a wonderful experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. We had a great ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent. We had a great experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This continues as one of Charleston's fi ...

Dined 5 days ago

This continues as one of Charleston's finest restaurants. The creativity, service, and ambience combine to make this an establishment that would rate high in any city. I'm anxious to see what the changes will be, but have no doubt that this will continue to hold its place in a very competitive market.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was great. Need more wines by the ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was great. Need more wines by the glass-5 oz. Sip of wine (3 oz. serving) is a joke.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beyond delicious. We couldn't get into s ...

Dined 6 days ago

Beyond delicious. We couldn't get into some of the more popular restaurants, so a friend recommended this one. Couldn't be happier that the others were booked. This place is amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have dined at McCrady's se ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

My wife and I have dined at McCrady's several times in the last few years when visiting Charleston, and it never disappoints. The food is just superb, and the creativity of the chef is amazing. We were in France last summer and had some amazing meals. McCrady's is as good as the top French restaurants in which we dined. It is also in a a charming location with tons of ambiance, and the service is always impeccable. It is a little "pricey," but as the ole saying goes, "You get what you pay for." If you're in Charleston, try this restaurant - you will not be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall loved McCrady's. Ambiance was fa ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Overall loved McCrady's. Ambiance was fantastic. Food was excellent but only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating was that the menu was VERY limited with only 6 appetizers and 6 entrees. It would have been great if there were a few more choices.a

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful treat to celebrate Fath ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

What a wonderful treat to celebrate Father's Day for my husband, our son, and his family! We were seated right away in a quiet corner. Our six-year-old granddaughter was made to feel very special. The food was exquisite and they were even able to accommodate the palates of a vegetarian and a child! The wine selection is excellent. Our waiter was amazing - great knowledge of the nuances of the dishes, engaging but not hovering. We love McCrady's - have had several delightful meals there, but this one with our family was extra special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Another Sean Brock masterpiece! The food ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Another Sean Brock masterpiece! The food was amazing. The service was not as stellar as it could have been but I believe it was only because our server was having an off night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a wonderful experience! McCrady's i ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

What a wonderful experience! McCrady's is a bit of a splurge, depending on how much one is used to spending, but every aspect is top notch and totally worth indulging for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was great and the service was o ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Our meal was great and the service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Had dinner here with my husband. I had t ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Had dinner here with my husband. I had the scallop with Meyer lemon and fava beans for a starter which was good but not great. Scallop perfectly cooked but fava beans not my favorite accompaniment. Had beef short rib which was delicious. Only criticism is that there was quite a bit of fat on the meat. My husband had the pork loin and loved it. Overall, would go with the tasting menu which this restaurant does very well. This is more of a special occasion place due to the pricing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful meal at McCrady's.. S ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at McCrady's.. Server was very knowledgeable and offered suggestions on pairings... 1st class restaurant...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Tremendous food and service. Highly reco ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Tremendous food and service. Highly recommended. Will definitely go again next time I am in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Interesting, unusual items. Great devi ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Interesting, unusual items. Great device, very pleasant and comfortable to be there and linger.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. We have eaten the ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent restaurant. We have eaten there a number of times. On this visit, the only flaw was our main waitress, who did a very mediocre job, well below their usual standard

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose the tasting menu and so glad we ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We chose the tasting menu and so glad we did . This was a true foodie experience and one you will not forget. Every course special and dynamic. Our favourite's included the bean salad, shrimp, swordfish and most of all the pork. The we counted as separately delicious. The wait staff was Michelin star amazing . I can see why it has won multiple James Beard award's

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An exceptional dining experience all the ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

An exceptional dining experience all the way around!! The highlight of our 30th anniversary trip to Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best culinary experience we've had. Ama ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Best culinary experience we've had. Amazing 7 course pairing. Thanks to Jodie!!!

food2
ambience4
service5
value1

The food was ok at best. The snow peas w ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was ok at best. The snow peas were horrible and really set a bad taste for the rest of the night. Half my party of 5 didn't like the apps or their mains. I would go to Husk, also by Sean Brock, and not here. It was expensive and not worth the money.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The swordfish was excellent, and the pot ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The swordfish was excellent, and the potatoes were fantastic. Ambiance is great at McCradys. I only give it a 4 star because of portion size. Otherwise, wonderful place and impeccable staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On our visit to Charleston, McCrady's wa ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

On our visit to Charleston, McCrady's was one of two reservations we made beforehand based on friend's suggestions and positive reviews, so we went in with very high expectations- which were exceeded! It is pricey, but you get such a great variety of flavor in all of the dishes that I believe it to be worth every penny. The menu rotates, so I won't go into too many specifics, but get ready to try combinations and options that you may have never considered. The food presentations are beautiful as well, without being gimmicky. Great experience overall, in fact, one of the best meals I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing, but the service wa ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was amazing, but the service was the best my husband and I have ever experienced. Each dish was described in detail as it was brought to the table. The server was very helpful and knowledgeable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous Entree

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

We had a good meal all around. But my entree was fabulous, seriously one of the best I've ever had! And we got to look at the Jennifer Smith night Charleston rooftop painting as we ate. The artwork matches the food! What could be better!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Intensely flavorful

Dined on June 8, 2016

Too many decisions? Then just surrender to the tasting menu and get the chef's pick of today's best dishes. Without inquiring he sampled all the items we were eyeing. The kitchen has a talent for zeroing in on and intensifying the flavor of each ingredient. Our waiter was creative with wine, informative about the remarkable history of the building and perfectly attentive during the meal. On our next visit to Charleston, we want to try a late evening in the bar. The arched booths invite me for a drink and a bite, cozied up to my sweetheart.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Fantastic food and service. Everything w ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Everything was great and I highly recommend. They have AC issues and was having a tough time cooling off the nigh we were there. Probably will not go back in summer but will when we are there in fall and winter

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Not what we expected

Dined on June 7, 2016

The atmosphere is great and the service was attentive but a bit stiff. The menu is limited and the portions are small for the price. One appetizer was delicious, the other fair. One entre was good, the other bland. I do not mind spending $$ for great food, but it was not great. Not up to the hype!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Ambiance, Food, and Service

Dined on June 6, 2016

McCrady's is in a beautiful part of Charleston and looks amazing. The service was excellent and the food was even better. This is one of the best restaurants I have ever been to.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was amazing and the wine list- ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was amazing and the wine list- my goodness! The sommelier was incredibly knowledgable and helpful. The only issue was it took almost twenty minutes to get the check back after we gave our card, which seemed strange since a) we were finished and b) there were so few of us in the restaurant at the time.

food5
ambience5
service5

This was probably the best meal I have e ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

This was probably the best meal I have ever had. From the ambiance to the service to the food. Awesome

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My dinner here was one of the best meals ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

My dinner here was one of the best meals I've had in months. Every course was inventive and gastronomically interesting without being "over the top." Portions were appropriate. Service was essentially perfect - friendly but not cloying, present when needed and not when not. Tables are well spaced apart so that one can converse at reasonable volume. (Once there are enough folks in the dining room, however, the restaurant might turn off the canned music - my one complaint about the evening). Not cheap but still a good value given the quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

More about the Art than the food

Dined on June 5, 2016

McCrady's was pretentious. The chef was more interested in presenting each very small plate of food as a a piece of art rather than making sure the food was great tasting! Also, it didn't seem like they had enough wait staff for the evening we dined. We even had difficulty finding someone to bring us more bread. There are plenty of good places to dine in Charleston so I wouldn't go back to McCrady's.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Destination

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Just had dinner at McGrady's...the special Steak DelMonico and sides...in a town where all the dining choices are exceptional, McGrady's still stands out! Helpful servers, lovely dining room, interesting wine list by the bottle and by the glass and a menu full of interesting culinary twists. What more could you want?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Beautiful setting ...meal

Dined on June 3, 2016

We looked forward to our dinner at McGradys with anticipation of Sean Brock's reputation for local ingredients and love of meat...we found the food fine but nothing jumped out as creative or even as an with an interesting twist on classic Southern cuisine... The restaurant is beautiful, set in old brick tavern with beautiful art...

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded expectations

Dined on June 3, 2016

On my first trip to Charleston, I wanted to enjoy the vibrant food scene there. McCrady's did not disappoint. The venue is charming and intimate. The wait staff was welcoming and attentive without being intrusive. The wine cellar is impressive. I ordered the tasting menu with the wine pairing. The food was creative and Garth, the sommelier, was spot on with the wine pairings. This restaurant will not fit the bill for everyone, but if you are adventurous and enjoy unique food and great wine this place is for you. I could not have been more pleased with the whole experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Far below expectations!

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

The food was OK but far from the top tier restaurants in Charleston. They do not, or at least did not, have a Maitre di on duty and it showed. The server was slow to take drink orders and then they did not arrive at the table for 25 minutes. (I had to get up and ask the Sommelier to finally get drinks delivered.) McCradys is clearly resting on their laurels.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.