About McCrady's Tavern

2 Unity Alley
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

McCrady's Tavern is a lively, everyday gathering place and offers reimagined American Classics by Chef Brock.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm and Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm
Lunch: Wednesday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
East Bay & Broad

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0025 ext. 1

Parking Details:
2 parking garages within 1 1/2 blocks of McCrady's in either direction. Street parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Sean Brock

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would be happy to host your private event, please call Ashley Wood at 843.801.4299 or email her at: awood@ndgcharleston.com

Restaurant Photos

  • McCrady's Tavern
McCrady's Tavern

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, McCrady's can accommodate all your special event needs.

McCrady's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

5.0

ambience

5.0

value

5.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
9 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Myers gave us outstanding service and th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Myers gave us outstanding service and the food was exceptional. A good time for my wife's 50th birthday!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food great service thoroughly ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food great service thoroughly enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been going now for years and again this ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Been going now for years and again this weekend, was distraught to see new layout (glorified Longhorns).

Obviously getting greedy !!

More people through the door I suppose.

Great food but so disappointed!!!

Not sure I'll be going back.

Should have stuck to your tried and tested formula!

In booths there is just not the atmosphere and I was not made to feel special like 20 times previously....so not a happy Englishman who sees his 2nd favorite restaurant in the world turn into this :(((

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

In July 2016, I read what Sean Brock sai ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

In July 2016, I read what Sean Brock said about rebooting the famous McCrady's into McCrady's Tavern. If I read it correctly, he wanted a vibrant experience where people would still count on creative, original, very high quality food with every attention to detail. Separately, he mentioned he wanted another secondary restaurant where he could take his craft wherever it led in a more intimate experience and drop the Fixed Price menu. It all sounded wonderful. The secondary restaurant is not yet open. And Chef Brock's talent is without question. But McCrady's Tavern has lots of work to do to make it a place I would frequent. The service was good and attentive. The appetizers are very creative although way past the Tavern monicker. The entrees were only above average at best. I had a tough pork chop and the staff only seemed to make slight note of it and absolutely nothing more. And I had a high tab for only 2 people. Will I follow Chef Brock, of course. Will I come back to the Tavern, I don't know. I absolutely loved the old McCrady's and the quality of that food. This is far from that even if you discount the change of genre. I'm going to need to see seriously good reviews to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

McCrady’s Tavern, Dinner. Thursday Augus ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

McCrady’s Tavern, Dinner. Thursday August 18, 2016

We went with two friends for dinner on Thursday night August 18. We were looking forward to trying the revamped and renovated McCrady’s Tavern. The changes seemed to open the dining area up with a view of the bar area but dividing up the dining area by having a row of booths on the opposite side of the bar area.

We asked our server several questions on the new menu (which had started the previous Friday night, so we were hoping all the kinks were worked out). We also asked if someone could come over and discuss wine options. It was well over 6-7 minutes before he came over to discuss some of the wine options (several were not on the published list of wines).

One reason it took so long to order was the menu options were limited – 2 of us got the Tavern Burger, which one of us liked and one preferred the Husk cheeseburger. It is suggested the menu be tweaked to have a few more selections for all three courses (appetizers, entrees, and desserts) to choose from.

Our server returned to take our order and seemed very unfamiliar with the menu when we asked several questions and keep referring to her spiral notepad (my wife ordered one of the dishes and when it was served it did not resemble the server’s description).

On the positive side, we all did enjoy the meal and the desserts. While we enjoyed the meal, it in my opinion did not equal the former menu of McCrady’s. In particular, the service from start to finish was way below cuisine and service standards.

So overall, I would give it about 2.2 stars out of 5, mainly because the server’s lack of knowledge of the menu and some of the time it took for her to check in on our dinner process over the evening and for the wine person to come to the table. Hopefully, we can chalk this up to the issues with starting up a revamp of the restaurant and will improve as they age.

Gary/Sharon Crossley

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Didn't have any main dishes. From the ap ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Didn't have any main dishes. From the appetizers the Tartar stake was the least interesting.

Absolutely loved the Crab Bisque ! The Lady cabbage and the Truffle butter mashed potatoes weary rich and delicious. Lost the marrow in the bone marrow dish?

We will be back for sure.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Loved the inside of the restaurant the m ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Loved the inside of the restaurant the minute we arrived. Beautiful Old Tavern style. The service very good and the food amazing. We had the Oysters McCrady and the Foie Gras and Liver Parfait for appetizers, both delicious! The Tavern steak with oysters and the

Pork Porterhouse were very good as well. We can't wait to go back again to try more dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was absolutely incredible. We loved o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was absolutely incredible. We loved our meals - both pasta dishes. The service was impeccable. We hope to go back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and atmosphere

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Amazing food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.