About McCrady's Tavern

2 Unity Alley
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

McCrady's Tavern is a lively, everyday gathering place and offers reimagined American Classics by Chef Brock.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm and Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm
Lunch: Wednesday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
East Bay & Broad

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0025 ext. 1

Parking Details:
2 parking garages within 1 1/2 blocks of McCrady's in either direction. Street parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Sean Brock

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would be happy to host your private event, please call Ashley Wood at 843.801.4299 or email her at: awood@ndgcharleston.com

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, McCrady's can accommodate all your special event needs.

McCrady's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (66)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Historic (58)
See All
Creative Cuisine (56)
Local Ingredients (51)
Special Occasion (46)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Romantic (41)
Authentic (38)
Bar Seating (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Cozy (32)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Worth the Drive (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Business Meals (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Fun (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Casual (19)
Comfort Food (17)
Seasonal (17)
Great Beer (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Outstanding Value (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Fireplace (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Healthy (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Scenic View (5)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Private Room (4)
Tapas (3)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wanted it to better than it was. Aside f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Wanted it to better than it was. Aside from the appetisers, which were outstanding, main courses were got, but nothing great. As tourists, were seated in way back facing a wall. Plus, very small wine pours. Next evening went to Raw, at a quarter the price, and can't say enough good things about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

The food and service was above and beyon ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service was above and beyond. Incredible apps (beef tartare, beet au poivre) and entrees (spaghetti chittari, mackerel feature) and great wine and beer selection. Cocktails were wonderful, as well. The cheesesteak was phenomenal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service! Excellent presentatio ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service!

Excellent presentation!

Excellent taste !

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good good good

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Good good good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Not nearly as nice as the previous versi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Not nearly as nice as the previous version of the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Probably the best meal we've had in Char ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Probably the best meal we've had in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing food, service, enviro ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely amazing food, service, environment and overall dining experience. Great job Sean Brock and team.

Tags: Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Casual, Healthy, , Romantic, Comfort Food, Authentic, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The escargot in bone marrow might be the ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The escargot in bone marrow might be the best thing I've ever eaten! From the appetizer to dessert it was 5 star!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was wonderful!!! Thought the men ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was wonderful!!! Thought the menu was a bit limited or many similar options. Need some gluten free!!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, terrific service, wonder ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Delicious food, terrific service, wonderful atmosphere

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great dinner date. Our server was ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Really great dinner date. Our server was robotic with his motions and knowledge but still had personality and a sense of humor. He knew the history and details of every single dish. The bar seemed pretty much unchanged during the switch over which is great because it is beautiful.

I think they nailed what they were going for with the style of food and presentation. It was like simple classic food my grandmother would make...after she watched food network for a while. Everything was simple, but elevated in a classy manor. Every aspect of the dishew had a purpose.

The music seemed a little out of place (pearl jam, rem, soundgarden)...I am definetly stretching to find something to criticize though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply fantastic. We had a table reserv ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Simply fantastic. We had a table reservation and sat at the bar while we waited. Were so comfortable that we decided to stay and dine there. Every bite from start to finish was sublime. The stuffed clams were the best we've ever had. We treated ourselves and got the caviar and tater tots, oh my, yum! We split everything and decided on the veal blanquette. Tender and the most delightful white sauce with crisp tender peas. We were getting full but couldn't resist trying the porterhouse pork chop! The most wonderful piece of pork ever to enter our mouths! We had only one night left in Charleston and wanted to return again for our final dinner but tried another famous dining spot. Was good but not the level of cooking that McCradys. Definitely one of those memorable meals.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at the tavern - had been to t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First time at the tavern - had been to the original McCrady's many times. We ate light - shared the dressed shrimp, a burger and bruleed ice cream. The shrimp was light and delicious. The burger was simply outstanding - one of the best we've ever had, anywhere.

Dessert felt like a nod to the old McCrady's where there was sometimes a sleight of hand and food was not always what it appeared. This dessert looked like creme brulee, but instead of a creamy custard, it was in fact very cold ice cream bruleed on top to resemble creme brulee. Always loved those twists at McCrady's, so it was fun to see some of that replicated here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place and a very good value for th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place and a very good value for the quality of the food. Can't wait to try the supper menu

(ate a peaceful, tasty Sunday brunch). Homemade Bloody Mary's are fit for a queen (or king).

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Was looking forward to the new McCrady's ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Was looking forward to the new McCrady's experience as I hadn't dined with them since their renovation. Food and service was excellent and we really enjoyed the atmosphere. However, both the volume and selection of HARD rock and roll music (Led Zeppelin, The Who, Rolling Stones) was inappropriate for Sunday Brunch. I expect the sound system was still programmed for the previous night's full house and management graciously lowered the volume after a polite request. I would simply recommend more easy-listening selections for that time of day.

Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and so was our servic ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was excellent and so was our service. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Historic, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my parents here when they came to ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I took my parents here when they came to town for the weekend and it was truly an unforgettable experience. I would recommend this place to anyone and I will keep finding excuses to return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Average at best, charcuterie was a joke, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Average at best, charcuterie was a joke,too many people walking around doing nothing, bread terrible and cold, burger was decent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Grossly overrated! Based on most favora ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Grossly overrated! Based on most favorable experiences under the former owner, our dinner was most disappointing. After ordering starters, we were told they were not available only to be told a short time later that they actually were. Entree servings were skimpy, the presentation was unimpressive, and overall unsatisfactory. Two members of our party went elsewhere after dinner to eat! We will not be returning to McCrady's Tavern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

The bone marrow escargot is the best, mo ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The bone marrow escargot is the best, most memorable thing I ate in 2016! I have tried half the menu, and everything is consistently fantastic...including the service. Thanks Emily!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed the food and service at McCrad ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I enjoyed the food and service at McCradys. The bar was beautiful, the staff was knowledgeable and efficient. Our food was delicious but pricey for our family. It was a special occasion so I did not mind the cost. The price tag was worth the experience. I will go again when visiting Charleston.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have heard so much about this restaura ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I have heard so much about this restaurant, but I was very disappointed. We go to Charleston often and we always come home pleased with every restaurant we dine at. We always say, its hard to be unhappy with dinner in Charleston. I suppose there is first time for everything. This chef gets rave reviews from food critics but I can't understand why. The selection was bare minimum and the portions were ridiculously small.

The taste of the food was not exceptional at all. We dine at some really nice places most of the time and consider ourselves pretty savvy about food, so this is coming from a gourmet cook and well traveled person. Go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Very enjoyable - the steak was fantastic ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very enjoyable - the steak was fantastic, as was the broccoli/oxtail side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Why does a restaurant use Open Table, do ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Why does a restaurant use Open Table, does a reminder call the day of the reservation and then gives you the worst table in the place when you show up. We were well dress and plan our dinner a Thursday night to avoid all the rush that restaurants get for weekend dining. Ordered the baked oysters appetizer which were served without a seafood fork which was then presented as an after thought. Took at least 40 minutes to get their famous hamburger item which they are known for. Really, it doesn't take that long to grill a burger. Service was so-so. As a local, we have many fine restaurants to choose from and we won't be coming back here. Major disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Service was slow. Fish entrée portion ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Service was slow. Fish entrée portion was very small. Wine portions seemed skimpy. Overall a disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The renovation work done here is extensi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The renovation work done here is extensive and wonderful executed to product a warm and welcoming environment. We arrived at lunch on a week day and the place was, save a couple of booths, empty. We had been warned on other sites that the experience here would be uneven at best and overpriced. The onion soup was terrible..about 1 inch of liquid, not sure what it was with a egg yoke below and a large floating muffin? atop, it was disgusting (8$) a vegetarian dish order was so small and average it was beyond belief. My burger ordered pink was raw! The bill for these items, a beer and ice tea was just below $60. The head chef Sean Brock is said to have a very good reputation (Husk) if that is true those executing his menu are KILLING HIM. A bad day, the wrong item ordered, perhaps but this type of poor execution show up a more endemic problem. What resulted in the good rating here is beyond my understanding. Mr. Executive Chef pay attention to your Sous Chefs execution! The barkeep/waiter was an excellent fellow and the bar great looking and well stock so perhaps stop for a drink and move on to find a sure thing for lunch or dinner, this is NOT a sure thing.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

They have done a great job laying out th ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

They have done a great job laying out the new place, as it's roomy, welcoming, energetic, and rustic all at the same time. The food was phenomenal, and for sure the best I've ever had at a place with "tavern" in the name. While it's on the high end of prices for that type of establishment, it's a great deal when you look at the quality of the dishes and what you would pay for the same thing at other restaurants in town. Stuffed clams, tilefish, burger, oxtail/broccoli/cheese, and chocolate souffle were all things I want again ASAP. Our server was nice, but pretty slow and distracted on a night where maybe half the tables were occupied.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was good - service a little slow.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Food was good - service a little slow.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was our daughter's birthday. We made ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 6, 2017

It was our daughter's birthday. We made reservations and told them it was her birthday and she was glutton intolerant. When we got there, the wait staff didn't seem to know either. We ordered cocktails and appetizers. Then we ordered a bottle of wine. After our waiter brought the wine, we were ignored. After 20 minutes, I got up to find him and told him we were ready to order entrees. He took our orders and he topped off our wine and we waited and waited. After about 25 minutes our entrees came. We were saving our white wine to have with our entrees but by now it was warm. He told us that if we didn't order both the appetizers and the entrees together it took a lot longer to prepare the entrees. I wondered why he didn't tell us this earlier. I also wondered why he poured wine when he knew it would be 25 minutes before the food would be ready. I asked him to take our picture and he did and we told him it was her birthday. He asked if we wanted to order a desert for her. We said no. Most all restaurants offer something on a birthday even a cupcake with a candle. My wife pasta was the worse she has had. It had no flavor at all. Big dish but just pasta, tomato sauce and a couple of tomatoes. Our waiter never came by to ask about our orders. The other two entrees were fish which were pretty good but small pieces. We have eaten at all Sean Brocks restaurants and this was the worst by far. We are not likely to return.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Great service, recommendations and food/ ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service, recommendations and food/beverage

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was innovative and delicious, espec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was innovative and delicious, especially the spaghetti chitterra. Bread served with the meal was exceptional. Our waiter was very friendly, professional and helpful, and there was hardly any waiting for our entrees. Just a fabulous dining out experience for myself, my son and daughter!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. We were a little ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food was excellent. We were a little disappointed with how long we waited between our first course and our entrees. The waiter was very attentive continuing to fill our water and offer more bread but clearly the kitchen was running behind. Prices were a bit higher than expected considering it now is slated as a more casual Tavern type place. Wine pours were very small for $15 per glass price!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

McCrady's has changed a lot since I was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

McCrady's has changed a lot since I was last there. Some of the music was okay, but I don't want to listen to Led Zeppelin when I'm eating in a nice restaurant. The playlist needs to be changed or pipe it into the bar.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

The waiter was condescending and every i ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The waiter was condescending and every item was his personal favorite??? How can that be?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Delicious cuisine, responsibly sourced a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Delicious cuisine, responsibly sourced and historically inflected. We had a fantastic time, service was crisp yet casual. Escargot stuffed bone marrow is RIDICULOUS!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Visited at the suggestion of a friend. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Visited at the suggestion of a friend. Was seated at a comfortable table however way too close to a particularly loud table. Ordered a steak medium well and was served a very rare piece of meat. Although the restaurant has a great interior, there was no ambiance. I would not visit in the future.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This was a wonderful experience all arou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was a wonderful experience all around. Starting with being welcomed by our hostess, Katie . She gave us a tour of the building & it was fascinating !!! The gentleman who served us was extremely knowledgeable.

I regret I do not remember his name but he said he studied organic chemistry and should receive accolades

For his service! None of this should shadow our meal.

My husband & I have eaten at some of the finest restaurants all over the country and McCrady's is one

Of the most inventive and delicious...

This restaurant is a must when in Charleston!

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

McCradys tavern is a beautiful space wit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

McCradys tavern is a beautiful space with great ambiance, however, the food and service were just OK. It wasn't bad, however, it left much to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We did an update on open table to add an ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We did an update on open table to add an extra person, but open table failed to update. We ended up eating at the bar and we were treated like celebrities. The bartenders were awesome and the service was amazing. The food even better. Mcgradys is the bomb!!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been awhile since I was at McCrady' ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

It's been awhile since I was at McCrady's Tavern. We we're early and were seated right away at the banquette. My wife's cosmo was spot on and their version of Manhattan with Benedictine was delightful. Being in a tavern m wife ordered the burger. She loved it. Cooked to her liking of medium. I got to share in her fries, which were to die for. I was disappointed in the steamed sea bass. The meal was warmish and not every piece was cooked the same. Some were soft rather then firm.

I did mention texture of fish to waitress and her response was "it's steamed". To my palate, steamed fish should be as firm as properly baked or fried fish. I'll go back but I'll order the burger.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.