About McCrady's

2 Unity Alley
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

A dynamic amalgam of modern regional southern cuisine, with a focus on local ingredients, exceptional wines & unparalleled service are what you will find at McCrady's where Chef Sean Brock blends progressive American cuisine & modern culinary technique while giving respect to the highest quality & freshest ingredients. The comfortable, richly detailed & visually sensuous space is positioned in Charleston's first tavern built in 1771. This National Historic Landmark is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter District in downtown Charleston.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00pm-til; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Happy Hour: 5pm-6:30pm Monday - Thursday

Cross Street:
East Bay & Broad

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0025 ext. 1

Website:
http://www.mccradysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
2 parking garages within 1 1/2 blocks of McCrady's in either direction. Street parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Sean Brock

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would be happy to host your private event, please call Ashley Wood at 843.801.4299 or email her at: awood@ndgcharleston.com

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, McCrady's can accommodate all your special event needs.

McCrady's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
South Carolina
Contemporary American
South Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
4 More
Notable Wine List
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

fit for foodies (199)
special occasion (188)
romantic (148)
See All
notable wine list (146)
neighborhood gem (66)
good for groups (30)
hot spot (26)
vibrant bar scene (16)
late-night find (9)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
3119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch in every way. Delicious and cr ...

Dined 2 days ago

Top notch in every way. Delicious and creative food, exceptionally friendly and attentive service, and a Gorgeous historic setting. One of the top meals I've enjoyed in the last 5 years. Truly memorable.

food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful dinner...inventive and delicio ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful dinner...inventive and delicious food in a beautiful historic location.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal ever. Flavors were phenomenal. ...

Dined 3 days ago

Best meal ever. Flavors were phenomenal. Service was excellent. Ambiance was lovely. But the star of the evening was the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1

Marginal food, slow service. Past its pr ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Marginal food, slow service. Past its prime. Does not live up to expectations.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

AMAZING staff. Very friendly and knowled ...

Dined 6 days ago

AMAZING staff. Very friendly and knowledgeable. Food was good. I was not wowed, but appreciated the meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the tasting with my dad for his birt ...

Dined 6 days ago

Had the tasting with my dad for his birthday, we both thought it was fantastic. Thanks for the great time.

Tags: special occasions
food5
ambience5
service5

Still as wonderful as ever

Dined 6 days ago

Still as wonderful as ever

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good but not great.

Dined on May 17, 2016

Pretty good, but probably not worth the price. Service was great. The first course and the desert were excellent. The entree was OK, but limited in size and the steak was not quite done to the level requested. Although the overall experience was very good, we felt that for the price paid the experience could have been better. There are a number of restaurants that we feel are a bit better.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and food. Brown Derby C ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Amazing service and food. Brown Derby Cocktail was a great way to begin my experience. My server Matt was excellent he expertly guided through my experience and recommended some great wine pairings. Food was superb, timely and perfectly executed. Best dining experience in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Elegant food at a special occasion resta ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Elegant food at a special occasion restaurant. My husband and I enjoyed our dinner. I had grouper with butter beans and he had swordfish with tiny brussel sprouts. Both fish dishes were perfectly prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent! Can't wait to return!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Celebrated our wedding anniversary at McCradys. Relaxed atmosphere. Pleasant surroundings. Especially appreciate preservation of integrity of the original building. Our waiter was polite, knowledgable about menu and ingredients. Professional but not stuffy. Food was excellent- very fresh- Chef Sean Brock is a master at reinventing southern cuisine! Look forward to returning soon.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, outstanding service. Don ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent food, outstanding service. Don't miss this place!

food5
ambience4
service5

Always interesting, usually fabulous. On ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Always interesting, usually fabulous. One of my favorite places in Charleston for evening meals. Less hype, better food

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

McCrady's was recommended to us by my so ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

McCrady's was recommended to us by my son and daughter. We went for a special birthday dinner for a friend. The food was excellent, the sommelier was very helpful in choosing a great wine and the ambiance was pleasant. We never felt rushed and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Little stuffy and wait staff very uptigh ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Little stuffy and wait staff very uptight.

food5
ambience5
service5

Sophisticated but not pretentious. Moder ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Sophisticated but not pretentious. Modern-ized but satisfying. Loved it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Combo: Wedding Anniversary and Mother's Day

Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife, middle adult child and I had a wonderful evening this past Saturday night. Food was terrific, presentation cool and Matt a great server.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was impecable and our server Myers ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was impecable and our server Myers was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

One out the best meals I've eaten.

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

One out the best meals I've eaten.

food5
ambience5
service5

Simply wonderful. I had wreck fish for t ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Simply wonderful. I had wreck fish for the first time and it was divine! Unusual yet extremely edible food combos. Can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful meal. I would say it ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Always a wonderful meal. I would say it is the best in Charleston, but that would not be enough. It is one of the best restaurants ANYWHERE. Amazing service, food, wine list, and cocktails.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb dinner

Dined on May 5, 2016

McCrady's is a must if you're in Charleston. Every review we read prior to making the reservation - whether by hungry folks or food critics - is spot on. The menu, while not extensive because of its commitment to fresh, locally available ingredients, seemed a bit unusual. Our waiter was knowledgable, encouraging, and wonderful. Everything we ate, from appetizer through dessert and coffee, was truly exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ten corses of Heaven

Dined on May 3, 2016

One of the best meals in my life. We did a ten course tasting menu with wine pairing. Flavors were unexpected and explosive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant historical restaurant with great food

Dined on May 3, 2016

We had a wonderful experience dining at McCrady's - the food was delicious, the ambiance was lovely and our waiter treated us like we were the only ones there. Our waiter shared with us the historical portion of the restaurant and let us look around some. There were other places that had been recommended to us for our visit to Charleston, but I'm so thankful we chose McCrady's. I would recommend it to friends for a nice evening for two and I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Food choices limited but very good. Port ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food choices limited but very good. Portions a bit small so if no app, even I would have not been full. Some servers routinely asked if you desired another slice of bread, others automatically gave you one of each. I had to request a 2nd and called over the bread server. The waiter brought a perfect glass of wine. I would try another restaurant if ever in Charleston again. Overall good.

food4
ambience4
service4

The menu was so limited to fish Very lit ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The menu was so limited to fish Very little seafood option

food5
ambience5
service5

We have made an annual pilgrimage to McC ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We have made an annual pilgrimage to McCrady's to celebrate our anniversary for the last 7 years (skipping two years in between for the birth of our children). Chef Brock and his team never disappoint. Entering the historical brick warehouse from Unity Alley makes you feel like you are in on a secret. The staff is inviting and warm and they are incredibly well trained. The ambuanve is great but the food is the star of the show. Oh, the food! Always fresh and mostly local. The evolving menu is a pleasant surprise every time opt for the tasting menu with wine pairing and get ready for one of the most memorable meals of your life! Your server will even give a copy of the menu for your scrap book!

food5
ambience5
service5

Beyond our expectations...chef's tasting ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Beyond our expectations...chef's tasting menu paired with wine...very well done. Presentation, pace and taste...fabulous!

food5
ambience5
service5

Very delicious food and experience. The ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Very delicious food and experience. The wait staff was attentive, and happily answered all questions. Perfect for a anniversary dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a cozy, special place. The chose th ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Such a cozy, special place. The chose the chef's tasting menu and experienced it "blind", waiting to review the printed menu until the end. Such an adventure! Our server did a great job of pacing the menu and recommending wine pairings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Nice Evening

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food was very good. I liked my wife's selections better than mine (hence the less than 5 stars for food), but both dinners were tasty, attractive and well presented. Service was excellent, although we were given only one small slice of bread (very good, but only one slice?) before dinner and no one offered us more. Servers explained each dish before we ordered and again when food arrived at our table. Timing of course serving was good. Portions were small-ish, but with appetizer, main and dessert we were filled and satisfied. We did not have wine due to wife's surgery scheduled for the next day, but a perusal of the wine list (along with beer/cocktail list) showed them to be very extensive and varied. Overall good experience, but probably not a place we would frequent regularly... maybe for special occasions. As we are from out-of-town, there are many other fine restaurants we have not yet tried, but we would certainly recommend McCrady's to anyone who asked. BTW... we have also eaten at Chef Brock's Husk and found it slightly better in our opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasting menu does not disappoint!

Dined on April 26, 2016

We did the chef's tasting menu with wine pairings. It was springtime and everything felt fresh and seasonal. It was delicious!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Great build-up but disappointing.

Dined on April 24, 2016

The building has amazing history and the setting is beautiful and interesting. The service was excellent but we were underwhelmed by the food, particularly when considering the prices. It was good but not amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

upclass dining in chaleston, SC

Dined on April 23, 2016

good, central locatio, great food, friendly staff and lovely interior. can recommend it!

Tags: child friendly, fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

must place to have a meal

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We made reservations when we found out our cruise ship stopped in Charleston on my 78th birthday. It was great, the restaurant, the food, the wine and the service, we recommend everyone going to Charleston should make it a must stop for a meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Bob Woods is a ham whisperer.

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Bob Woods is a ham whisperer.

food5
ambience2
service4
value4

I was hoping for more.

Dined on April 20, 2016

I asked the hostess SEVERAL times before I reserved seats if dress attire was required. She told me yes and that it was upscale and dress attire was necessary. I don't ever get to go to anything expensive so when I pay top dollar, I want top dollar treatment. when I arrived, I saw half the men in very unsightly everyday clothing, which brings down the elegance and the table placing was awkward and I faced a wall the whole night. I wanted the waitress to bring us some bread in a basket but she placed one small piece on my plate (which is elegant but I was starving). The wine was terribly overpriced for what kind of a feeling I was getting. I've never complained about a place before in my entire life. I just graduated from a grad program and was very displeased with my experience. $300 later for 3 people and it could have been fixed from the get if attire were demanded to remain business attire. I will say, though, the service was quite amazing. Waitress and waiter were both very kind.

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

💰

Dined on April 20, 2016

My only critique was that the food and wine prices were dear, although probably not out of the range for high end places here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Different experience

Dined on April 19, 2016

We read some reviews about small portion size. I would have to say if you order an appetizer, salad, entre and dessert it is adequate along with the bread. If you are expecting big plates of food you will be disappointed. Food is very creative in appearance and flavoring. My spouse was not thrilled with her courses, mine were great. So it depends on your tastes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Service at McCrady's

Dined on April 19, 2016

The seven course Chef's tasting menu was extraordinary. Our server asked if there were any allergies or dislikes he should know about. I explained my intense dislike of uncooked onions. When he brought a dish out that included pickled onions, he very thoughtfully put the onions in a small bowl. So you can sample them, he said, and add them if you like. I loved the pickling and the crunch, but couldn't get past the onion taste. I apologize, but I have always disliked onions and deeply appreciated the gesture. It was all perfect, and we really enjoyed the meal!

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.