Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 22 times today

Mazagan Restaurant

4.0
161 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Moroccan
Perfect For:
  • Bar Seating
  • Cozy
  • Fun
Nouvelle Moroccan cuisine offered in a casual setting. Menu is made up of a contemporary twist to Moroccan lamb, beef and poultry dishes, as well as, seafood familiar to the extensive coastline of Morocco. If you have a penchant for vegetarian dishes, those can also be found here in your choice of spinach, carrot, eggplant, and other dishes. A wide selection of brochette skewers are available off the open kebab grill. Desserts vary weekly from pastry puffs, cake, and almond-flavored pastries made by former pastry-chef and owner, Riyad Bouizar. Dining includes high tables, bar, booths and tables. Extensive bar and mixed drink offerings with television to keep you up-to-date on latest games. The hookah section is available after 9pm with various fruit-flavored tobaccos and smoke-controlled seating areas. Round out your dining experience with a Moroccan green tea with Moroccan herb mixtures designed by the owner.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Moroccan, Mediterranean, Global, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday to Wednesday : 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thursday : 11:30 am - 1:00 am
Friday - Saturday : 11:30 am - 2:00 am
Sunday : 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(703) 566-4173
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Riyad Bouizar
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Nouvelle Moroccan cuisine offered in a casual setting. Dining includes high tables, bar, booths and tables. Extensive bar and mixed drink offerings with television to keep you up-to-date on latest games.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Reda Bouizar: (877) 655-3353
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Moroccan cuisine as well as a selection of Mediterranean dishes are available off the menu for catered events. Special dishes can also be prepared.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Columbia Pike and Walter Reed
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Mazagan Restaurant is located on the "Main Street" of Arlington on the Corner of Columbia Pike and S Walter Reed. (One block east of Glebe Road). Parking can be found on the streets around the block as well as a Private parking lot behind the building. Public parking across the street is available underground in the Halstead Apartment Building.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 161 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.1
food
3.6
service
4.0
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
56% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

This was my second time back but it has been about year and a half. I loved Mazagan my first time there - the food was delicious and really dazzled the palate. This time around it appears the quality has declined. The food was not as good and lacked flavor which was unexpected given it's Moroccan. The service was unremarkable and average. I was quite disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We will definitely return. The food was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Excellent food, good service and frinks

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Meat was tough, service was slow & poor

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 15, 2018

First visit to Mazagan was Valentine's Day. Making a reservation was easy and seating was available when we arrived. We were seated in the lounge area, which is not smoky despite the presence of hookahs. The fixed price menu for Valentine's Day was overpriced for the selection and quality of food. We tried the mezze platter and found it to be great. Wine selection was good. Service was very slow but I attribute that in part to the fact that it was a special occasion evening and a bit busier than usual. The restaurant hosted a three piece jazz band whose music was a great compliment to the ambiance.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 3, 2018

While the manager was nice, the waiters were not qualified at all. Very slow service, they didnt explain the menu. They were not even able to open correctly a bottle of wine. Ended up with cork in my glass, and they never refilled our glasses.
Waiter will disappear until you start looking for them.
Food was just average, nothing special, and I ate moroccan in many other places, will give it a C.
And of course the prices were high for the qualify of food and service you get.
Very disappointing!
Also the place isn't maintained well.
Not recommending it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 15, 2018

Food was nothing special
Ambience not for everyone
Not on my must return list

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 15, 2018

Service is horribly slow and inattentive. We were there on a chilly evening and every time the door opened, we were blasted with cold air. Food is very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Omg so good. Tea and Bastilla is amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Great food and great service! Great place to take a date and have a great multi course meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

What a great way to ring in the new year! Having lived in Marrakech, we enjoyed the mint tea and delicious dishes. Although we do not live in DC, we hope to visit again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 2, 2017

The food was quite good, definitely worth going back and trying some other things. HOWEVER, I will not be going back on a Saturday night. It was packed, they had a jazz combo playing at Glenn Miller Orchestra-meets-
Iron Maiden volume, and as a consequence, our server only squeezed over to our table about every 20 or 30 minutes.

On the plus side, again, the food was good and the service was friendly enough...the owner was there, clearly trying to please customers with the experience....that's gotta count for something. Just not a calm, quiet place for date night (on a Saturday)!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 2, 2017

The service was very slow, the food was ok, and the door to the hooka bar was open so the dining room smelled of smoke. We won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 15, 2017

Second time, just as charming. They were caught off guard by our request for the D.C. cocktail week menu, but quickly printed them. (Also had to redo the check at the end) food is great, ambiance is pleasant. Servers are friendly.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 4, 2017

What a waste of time - we showed up at 7:30pm last Saturday for a dinner we had all been looking forward to. We were told that there was no table available and to wait at the bar. 20 mn later, we enquired and were told that there was still no table. I mentioned the fact that we had a reservation and was told that " its really not the way it works - where things are busy, you just have to wait?". So really, what is the point of making a reservation. We left. Not happy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Loved it! So excited to find authentic Moroccan food close to home. The decor is lovely and music is modern though maybe a tad loud. The food is excellent—made me want to go back to Morocco immediately! My only disappointment was that they were out of tea the night I visited. How can you have Moroccan food without the tea experience?! I was encouraged to see such a wide range of patrons from all cultures and age groups. The jazz band that played Saturday night was really good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Great ambience and amazing food with prompt knowledgeable service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 9, 2017

We had a very loud group next to us which was very annoying, we almost asked for another table, but then a Jazz band started and drowned them out.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 1, 2017

Went for an early dinner before a show at the draft house. The restaurant was not very busy. Only a couple of tables and a party in the glass room. Place had a musty smell of hookah. Not terrible but not pleasant. Service was surprisingly slow given how few customers were there. They were out of all but a couple of their white wines so I ordered a bottle of beer. My friend got an earl grey gin and tonic which was interesting and a little odd but not particularly good. For dinner we ordered the shrimp and chicken bastille. The shrimp was good and I enjoyed the bread and olives brought to the table. The bastille was just ok and I wouldn't order it again. Overall the experience was mediocre and I won't be returning.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 16, 2017

We ate here during Metro Restaurant Week. Loved that we got a basket of dense bread to start. We enjoyed the combo of veggie appetizers (don't recall their Moroccan names, but which were spinach, eggplant and tomatoes and peppers)--they were wonderfully seasoned and tasted great on the pita we ordered extra. The bastilla (chicken in phyllo with almonds) was tasty, as were our entrees, Moroccan couscous with lamb and lots of veggies and beef tagine. Nice decor, not noisy--a nice dining experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 14, 2017

I'm usually much more generous with my stars but I found the service to be beyond lacking at this place. I don't know if it has to do with it being a Monday night or what. I picked this place because I enjoy trying new places during restaurant week and it's close to where I live. I had a reservation for 6pm. I walk in and there's no hostess. A server came over to seat me. He was very pleasant. I explicitly asked if the restaurant was participating in restaurant week because I knew it was because that's the reason I picked it. The server said they were not. I said, "Really??" and he said "yes" and "I'm sorry." I immediately took to twitter because I was annoyed.

Meanwhile, my friend and I were there and had both heard good things so we figured we'd make the best of it. I ordered a cava and she ordered a brut champagne. We both got what tasted like apple cider so that was an additional annoyance. Thankfully, we were both satisfed with our meals. We had the taste of Morocco and mussels tagine starters (both good) and then the couscous and lamb shank for entrees. The lamb had way too many carmelized onions and the Moroccan couscous could've used a dash of salt but both were piping hot and tasty. The portion sizes are also very generous.

The restaurant wasn't busy at all but the server just didn't seem to be very attentive. I finished my cava (cider) at the start of my entree and he didn't come back over to ask if I wanted another drink until the end of the meal. When we were leaving, the hostess must've been on her phone or something because she didn't even look up to acknowledge our presence or departure and the hostess stand is literally right next to the door.

Someone from the restaurant tweeted me after my dinner and said the restaurant was participating and had the nerve to ask me to correct my tweet. The customer service and the marketing/PR need work. If I go back, it'll be carryout.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 11, 2017

Although the food is not very authentic Morrocan, the place was nice and service was great. We had visited Casablanca, Marrakech, Tangier, and many other cities and longed for traditional food cooked the traditional way. We were disappointed that the lamb tangine and couscous did not have the traditional sauces nor served with the lids on top. The food was good, but not exceptional. The shrimp appeitizer was excellent however. We used the bread to eat up all the extra spicy sauce. Wine was well priced. We had standard Malbec-usually a good value. The mint tea was good as was the desert. The real gem at this place was the live music. Reminded me of Radio Tarife- the music you hear in the South of Spain near Algeciras or Estepona. You will like the decor and the hookah bar in back was packed with young college types. I saw the owners sitting at the bar for a while- would have been nice if they walked the dining room. Anyway, a nice place for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 29, 2017

Second time I have been and the service is horrible. I asked for a nice booth. They sat me and then said someone else had it and moved me. I had made reservations and they did that. I was appalled and it wasn't even that busy. And then it took forever for a server and I hated it. Too expensive and not worth it. Especially when the service was poor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 7, 2017

I was there once and I went back two weeks later for the food, music and friendliness.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 25, 2017

We showed up at the door and were turned away because they closed the restaurant for a private event unannounced. So if actually having your reservation is an expectation on your date, you may want to just go to the Thai restaurant around the block--they were gracious, received us without a reservation, and the food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2017

Nice Moroccan food. The music was a nice addition.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 3, 2017

Very attractive interior, a nice modern twist on classic Moroccan. We were there early on a Saturday so didn't experience a full buzzing crowd. Service was solid, nothing remarkable, nothing to complain about. On this first visit the food was a bit disappointing, mainly lacking in the flavors and spices. The harira soup was notably bland. Highlight was the bastilla appetizer and the french fries. But the menu was very enticing -- and a main reason we'll return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2017

The live music at Mazagan is top-notch!!!! That alone makes me want to come back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2017

At times the service was slow but the food was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was good. Service was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2017

Atmosphere was great, great concept of having sheesha and food in the same place. It was a Friday so live music, good, loud but tolerable. Food was delicious. Service great. Will go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2017

This was my first time at Mazagan. Arrived during happy hour and had cocktails with 2 friends. A new server struggled with getting the correct head to liquid ratio on the beer, but he and we had a good laugh about it and another server came to his rescue. We asked whether we could take our drinks to the table (rather than pay at the bar), yes. I had Paprika Chicken kabobs, 1 friend had Beef Tagine & the other friend, Chicken M’kelli. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed his/her meal. Service was good (the aforementioned new server) and contrary to other posts, the service was prompt. The only hiccup came when we received the check. Our cocktails prices were all over the map - mine was charged at the happy hour price, but our beer drinker was charged full price, and the other cocktail was $1 higher than the happy hour price. We pointed out the discrepancy regarding the beer and the price was adjusted. I would definitely visit again. The happy hour prices were excellent and I would come back for noshes along with the drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2017

Had a wonderful time at Mazagan. Went for dinner before seeing Pablo Rodriguez next door at Arlington Cinema and Drafthouse. Dinner and drinks were great! Returned after the show for more drinks, hookah and dancing. Awesome night!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was interesting and excellent but the recorded music was
so loud we had difficulty conversing. Then, about halfway through our
meal, a group of musicians began setting up their sound system and
testing it for later in the evening. The combination of all that superimposed on the already too loud house music made conversation impossible so we paid our bill and went to another restaurant for dessert and coffee and conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2017

Absolutely loved the food, the ambiance, and the music. Only disappointment was the Turkish coffee after dinner was too weak.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2017

Great place serving some real good Moroccan food. The food was really good and so were the cocktails. Interesting selection of cocktails. Everything is moderately priced. They have a hookah lounge section which is separated from the dining area by a transparent glass. We had a few issues though. Firstly, the service is really bad as noted by other reviewers. Our appetizers arrived promptly and so did our drinks but the entrees took forever 40+ minutes. Secondly, they had a weird rule where they serve hookah in the main dining area after 10pm. We were a big group with a baby so this was a problem. However, the restaurant staff requested the guests to wait until we leave so that's much appreciated. Lastly, we went on a saturday night when they had a live band who were playing amazing music but then they allowed some girl to sing and she was really bad and so loud that it made the whole experience unpleasant. Overall, I loved the food and drinks but they should really do something on their service and yeah keep the dining and hookah areas separated!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2017

Good. Nice food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2017

This was outstanding. Had the lamb caucus and the kafta meatballs.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2017

Mazagan was a wonderful authentic experience. The menu offers a wide variety of dishes including traditional tagines and entrees to delight the senses. I was very pleased with the anchovy appetizer. It was prepared using marinated anchovies not the canned salted anchovies we are used to finding on salads and pizza typically. The salad with Oranges was super fresh and had a citrus dressing that was perfectly balanced and not sweet and cloying. I ordered roasted lamb shoulder which was so tender it was falling off the bones. My spouse ordered a smothered and baked salmon dish which was cooked perfectly juicy and came in a succulent sauce with tender vegetables. We shared the limoncello cake and it was light and flavorful. The kitchen has a large glass window into the dining space so you can watch preparation, makes all of the food served, even the pastry and dessert offerings. I had Morrocan tea a beautiful blend of black and fresh mint leaves served in a silver pot on a tray with a glass cup, very fancy. My spouse chose the Turkish coffee and was delighted with the flavor and serving presentation. The service was excellent throughout the meal and the staff is very helpful in guiding your choices to assure that you have a great experience. I noted that this restaurant has a Hooka room that is completely closed off from the main dining space so that you do not smell any smoke being used there. We were very happy with our meal, service and the prices. I can recommend Mazagan for a lovely meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 5, 2017

The problem is there was only one waiter on duty. He did the best he could under the circumstances. There was a large birthday party group that occupied most of his time. We arrived for a 1:15 reservation with an infant and a 10 yr old. It was after 3pm when we left the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5