Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Mazagan Restaurant

Nouvelle Moroccan cuisine offered in a casual setting. Menu is made up of a contemporary twist to Moroccan lamb, beef and poultry dishes, as well as, seafood familiar to the extensive coastline of Morocco. If you have a penchant for vegetarian dishes, those can also be found here in your choice of spinach, carrot, eggplant, and other dishes. A wide selection of brochette skewers are available off the open kebab grill. Desserts vary weekly from pastry puffs, cake, and almond-flavored pastries made by former pastry-chef and owner, Riyad Bouizar. Dining includes high tables, bar, booths and tables. Extensive bar and mixed drink offerings with television to keep you up-to-date on latest games. The hookah section is available after 9pm with various fruit-flavored tobaccos and smoke-controlled seating areas. Round out your dining experience with a Moroccan green tea with Moroccan herb mixtures designed by the owner.

2901 Columbia Pike
Arlington, VA 22204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Moroccan, Mediterranean, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Monday to Wednesday : 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thursday : 11:30 am - 1:00 am
Friday - Saturday : 11:30 am - 2:00 am
Sunday : 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Columbia Pike and Walter Reed

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 566-4173

Website:
http://www.mazaganrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Moroccan cuisine as well as a selection of Mediterranean dishes are available off the menu for catered events. Special dishes can also be prepared.

Parking Details:
Mazagan Restaurant is located on the "Main Street" of Arlington on the Corner of Columbia Pike and S Walter Reed. (One block east of Glebe Road). Parking can be found on the streets around the block as well as a Private parking lot behind the building. Public parking across the street is available underground in the Halstead Apartment Building.

Executive Chef:
Chef Riyad Bouizar

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mazagan Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (13)
Live Music (10)
Casual (8)
See All
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Fun (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Groups (3)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Cozy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Romantic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
130 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was good. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Atmosphere was great, great concept of having sheesha and food in the same place. It was a Friday so live music, good, loud but tolerable. Food was delicious. Service great. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This was my first time at Mazagan. Arrived during happy hour and had cocktails with 2 friends. A new server struggled with getting the correct head to liquid ratio on the beer, but he and we had a good laugh about it and another server came to his rescue. We asked whether we could take our drinks to the table (rather than pay at the bar), yes. I had Paprika Chicken kabobs, 1 friend had Beef Tagine & the other friend, Chicken M’kelli. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed his/her meal. Service was good (the aforementioned new server) and contrary to other posts, the service was prompt. The only hiccup came when we received the check. Our cocktails prices were all over the map - mine was charged at the happy hour price, but our beer drinker was charged full price, and the other cocktail was $1 higher than the happy hour price. We pointed out the discrepancy regarding the beer and the price was adjusted. I would definitely visit again. The happy hour prices were excellent and I would come back for noshes along with the drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Had a wonderful time at Mazagan. Went for dinner before seeing Pablo Rodriguez next door at Arlington Cinema and Drafthouse. Dinner and drinks were great! Returned after the show for more drinks, hookah and dancing. Awesome night!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Absolutely loved the food, the ambiance, and the music. Only disappointment was the Turkish coffee after dinner was too weak.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Tapas, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great place serving some real good Moroccan food. The food was really good and so were the cocktails. Interesting selection of cocktails. Everything is moderately priced. They have a hookah lounge section which is separated from the dining area by a transparent glass. We had a few issues though. Firstly, the service is really bad as noted by other reviewers. Our appetizers arrived promptly and so did our drinks but the entrees took forever 40+ minutes. Secondly, they had a weird rule where they serve hookah in the main dining area after 10pm. We were a big group with a baby so this was a problem. However, the restaurant staff requested the guests to wait until we leave so that's much appreciated. Lastly, we went on a saturday night when they had a live band who were playing amazing music but then they allowed some girl to sing and she was really bad and so loud that it made the whole experience unpleasant. Overall, I loved the food and drinks but they should really do something on their service and yeah keep the dining and hookah areas separated!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good. Nice food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was outstanding. Had the lamb caucus and the kafta meatballs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Mazagan was a wonderful authentic experience. The menu offers a wide variety of dishes including traditional tagines and entrees to delight the senses. I was very pleased with the anchovy appetizer. It was prepared using marinated anchovies not the canned salted anchovies we are used to finding on salads and pizza typically. The salad with Oranges was super fresh and had a citrus dressing that was perfectly balanced and not sweet and cloying. I ordered roasted lamb shoulder which was so tender it was falling off the bones. My spouse ordered a smothered and baked salmon dish which was cooked perfectly juicy and came in a succulent sauce with tender vegetables. We shared the limoncello cake and it was light and flavorful. The kitchen has a large glass window into the dining space so you can watch preparation, makes all of the food served, even the pastry and dessert offerings. I had Morrocan tea a beautiful blend of black and fresh mint leaves served in a silver pot on a tray with a glass cup, very fancy. My spouse chose the Turkish coffee and was delighted with the flavor and serving presentation. The service was excellent throughout the meal and the staff is very helpful in guiding your choices to assure that you have a great experience. I noted that this restaurant has a Hooka room that is completely closed off from the main dining space so that you do not smell any smoke being used there. We were very happy with our meal, service and the prices. I can recommend Mazagan for a lovely meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The problem is there was only one waiter on duty. He did the best he could under the circumstances. There was a large birthday party group that occupied most of his time. We arrived for a 1:15 reservation with an infant and a 10 yr old. It was after 3pm when we left the restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Went with a friend to see live music and it was a very enjoyable evening. Food great and nice crowd. We got there early so had little problem but parking in that area on busy weekend can be tricky.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food was fine. The service was abysmal. The servers had friends coming in and out of the restaurant, and couldn't get a simple order correct. The server we had just acted annoyed every time she would come by, which was not often enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I want to go again! There was live music and a belly dancer. Energetic atmosphere with people dancing, but still family friendly and intimate. The food was delicious and authentic. I want to try the hookah next time. My only complaints were that it was very loud, but that was because of the live music, and the staff was a little slow.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Modern Decor, Dancing, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Mazagan was amazing. Went there for my birthday and the waiters really took care of me. The food was fantastic and we could not have been happier!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

An interesting menu with a good variety of dishes to choose from. The fried calamari merit a special praise. Our main course consisted of lamb chops (excellent dish!), a shish kebab of boneless lamb (slightly overcooked for my taste), and a shank of lamb. The waitress was very attentive and cordial and the ambience was festive. I was kind of surprised to see an 18 percent tip added to the final bill even though there were only 3 people in my party. I usually leave 20 percent tip when dining out but did not in this case as, is my opinion, I should have been informed of the restaurant's policy to automatically add the 18 percent service charge (I presume it is the policy). In addition, the credit card slip presented to me did not list the tip as separate charge but, rather, as part of the total bill, thus creating the impression to an inattentive diner that the tip was not included in the total bill.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is always good at Mazagan. It is very noisy, however, as almost every restaurant is these days. I think the wait staff tends to push the alcohol a bit too much, but they are very prompt and attentive without being nuisances. It is an excellent choice for Moroccan cuisine.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Our party of four enjoyed a well-paced evening that featured attentive and informed service as well as interesting and tasty cuisine. Sharing a selection of mezza, and, kabobs, and tagine was a perfect strategy. Many thanks to the owner & chef, Riyadh!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fun place, pleasant decor, good food
We had been wanting to try Mazagan for a long time, and finally went there because they advertised a Havana nights band -- that seemed an intriguing combination. When we arrived, our table was still occupied so our host offered a complementary glass of wine while we waited -- very professional, but a rare touch of excellent customer service. The restaurant was very busy, but we got bread and olive oil dip right away, and the entrees arrived in a timely manner. The food quality was good. The decor is modern with a touch of moroccan. Parking is challenging so be prepared to park a couple of blocks away and walk. Would definitely go to Mazagan again.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Mazagan has great food & drinks, and you can always depend on good atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful food with one problem. For a 5:00 pm reservation, they claimed to be out of one of the specials of the day: a lamb dish. How is that possible? Terribly noisy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I had expected great food based on other reviews, but it was mediocre at best. Had the service not been so terrible, it might have saved the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was amazing and reasonably priced. I had the chicken bastilla, and my husband had the boneless lamb kabobs. We were seated in a corner by the window and bar. We saw the bartender mix up some cool drinks. Pleasantly surprised that there was a belly dancer and live guitarist. Really enjoyed our night out at Mazagan!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Spicy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Private Room, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Exotic food and people. If only we could find a parking spot!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food,good service,, lot's of fun.

Will come back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food is awesome. Seriously great place. Service they are working on, but a place I would go back to because of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We really loved our entrees (Kefta Tagine and Lamb Kabob) and the cocktails were good. However the vegetable side with the Kabob was super bland and the octopus appetizer was really strange. We have eaten octopus in multiple place and this was the weirdest texture we ever tasted. It was like there was fat or something. I've never prepared octopus, so not sure if it wasn't cleaned properly or what, but no bueno. We did eat it all, as we were trying to figure out what was going on with it. Was kind of a small portion as well.

Great location for going to an event at the Arlington Cinema Drafthouse and enjoyed the live music and the energetic older couple who got up to dance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Visited for the first time on a Saturday night. The food was delicious and authentic. Attentive, friendly service and good prices added to the enjoyment of the evening. It was nice to be in a restaurant that wasn't overwhelmingly noisy! Will go again.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This place rocks! The food was spot on (I am a Moroccan who loves to cook). Love their live music nights. I'm already on my way there for the second time. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great food. Servers were off and on. Restaurant empty but items like cocktails or extras sauce requests took a long time to complete. Often had to remind server a couple times. They were polite, but distracted from the the service part of their job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great service! We went for lunch! The food and service was great! Great value! Our waiter, Abdel, was very attentive! Good luck and we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We didn't actually get to eat as there was only one waiter and one chef. We waited 30 minutes for service and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We visited this restaurant during Restaurant Week and had a wonderful meal. I think the everyday prices are pretty similar to the 3-course meal for $35 offered during Restaurant Week. We had mussels, bisteeyah, kabobs, couscous, and two kinds of cake. Everything was delicious--even the bread that came with it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The decor, service and food were great. Bring your appetite because the portions are rather large.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food and wonderful service. The music was a little too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Outstanding kabobs and sides. Baklava was magnificent. Fair service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The ambiance is really nice. The food is great. The service top notch. Bastilla was my favorite (like sweeter)! I not about smoking areas. It has one for hookah.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Service here is expectional, great place to take a special someone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2016

I ordered harira soup, which was fine but not exciting, a tad bland; bastille, which looked beautiful and had a great pastry construction, but the chicken stuff was boring, very bland; and finally a lamb with prunes tagine, in which the lamb was bony and fatty, to the point of being quite unappetizing.

Service was decent - they seemed a little overbooked/understaffed. Water wasn't refilled very quickly - had to ask, and even then it took a fair amount of time. My waitress was helpful and knowledgeable. Nice ambience, but I almost certainly won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Mazagan has a very friendly staff who helped us navigate our way through the menu. We LOVED the chicken bastille and the mixed grill (the lamb chops especially). Even the side dishes - saffron rice and chickpeas - had superb flavor. I wish the chicken tanginess had been served with the tangine lid - just looks kind of cool. We are DEFINITELY going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Glad to have another Moroccan restaurant in northern VA. Their speciality -- Bastilla (phyllo filled with chicken, crushed almonds, topped with powdered sugar and cinnamon) was very good. Easy to share or have as an entree. But the drinks were terrible! Do not order alcohol here. Expect service to be slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.