Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Mazagan Restaurant

Nouvelle Moroccan cuisine offered in a casual setting. Menu is made up of a contemporary twist to Moroccan lamb, beef and poultry dishes, as well as, seafood familiar to the extensive coastline of Morocco. If you have a penchant for vegetarian dishes, those can also be found here in your choice of spinach, carrot, eggplant, and other dishes. A wide selection of brochette skewers are available off the open kebab grill. Desserts vary weekly from pastry puffs, cake, and almond-flavored pastries made by former pastry-chef and owner, Riyad Bouizar. Dining includes high tables, bar, booths and tables. Extensive bar and mixed drink offerings with television to keep you up-to-date on latest games. The hookah section is available after 9pm with various fruit-flavored tobaccos and smoke-controlled seating areas. Round out your dining experience with a Moroccan green tea with Moroccan herb mixtures designed by the owner.

2901 Columbia Pike
Arlington, VA 22204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Moroccan, Mediterranean, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Monday to Wednesday : 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thursday : 11:30 am - 1:00 am
Friday - Saturday : 11:30 am - 2:00 am
Sunday : 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Columbia Pike and Walter Reed

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 566-4173

Website:
http://www.mazaganrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Moroccan cuisine as well as a selection of Mediterranean dishes are available off the menu for catered events. Special dishes can also be prepared.

Parking Details:
Mazagan Restaurant is located on the "Main Street" of Arlington on the Corner of Columbia Pike and S Walter Reed. (One block east of Glebe Road). Parking can be found on the streets around the block as well as a Private parking lot behind the building. Public parking across the street is available underground in the Halstead Apartment Building.

Executive Chef:
Chef Riyad Bouizar

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Nouvelle Moroccan cuisine offered in a casual setting. Dining includes high tables, bar, booths and tables. Extensive bar and mixed drink offerings with television to keep you up-to-date on latest games.

Mazagan Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

Noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (8)
Good for a Date (5)
Live Music (5)
See All
Casual (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Romantic (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort by
S
147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Second time, just as charming. They were caught off guard by our request for the D.C. cocktail week menu, but quickly printed them. (Also had to redo the check at the end) food is great, ambiance is pleasant. Servers are friendly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

What a waste of time - we showed up at 7:30pm last Saturday for a dinner we had all been looking forward to. We were told that there was no table available and to wait at the bar. 20 mn later, we enquired and were told that there was still no table. I mentioned the fact that we had a reservation and was told that " its really not the way it works - where things are busy, you just have to wait?". So really, what is the point of making a reservation. We left. Not happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Loved it! So excited to find authentic Moroccan food close to home. The decor is lovely and music is modern though maybe a tad loud. The food is excellent—made me want to go back to Morocco immediately! My only disappointment was that they were out of tea the night I visited. How can you have Moroccan food without the tea experience?! I was encouraged to see such a wide range of patrons from all cultures and age groups. The jazz band that played Saturday night was really good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Healthy, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great ambience and amazing food with prompt knowledgeable service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had a very loud group next to us which was very annoying, we almost asked for another table, but then a Jazz band started and drowned them out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Went for an early dinner before a show at the draft house. The restaurant was not very busy. Only a couple of tables and a party in the glass room. Place had a musty smell of hookah. Not terrible but not pleasant. Service was surprisingly slow given how few customers were there. They were out of all but a couple of their white wines so I ordered a bottle of beer. My friend got an earl grey gin and tonic which was interesting and a little odd but not particularly good. For dinner we ordered the shrimp and chicken bastille. The shrimp was good and I enjoyed the bread and olives brought to the table. The bastille was just ok and I wouldn't order it again. Overall the experience was mediocre and I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We ate here during Metro Restaurant Week. Loved that we got a basket of dense bread to start. We enjoyed the combo of veggie appetizers (don't recall their Moroccan names, but which were spinach, eggplant and tomatoes and peppers)--they were wonderfully seasoned and tasted great on the pita we ordered extra. The bastilla (chicken in phyllo with almonds) was tasty, as were our entrees, Moroccan couscous with lamb and lots of veggies and beef tagine. Nice decor, not noisy--a nice dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

I'm usually much more generous with my stars but I found the service to be beyond lacking at this place. I don't know if it has to do with it being a Monday night or what. I picked this place because I enjoy trying new places during restaurant week and it's close to where I live. I had a reservation for 6pm. I walk in and there's no hostess. A server came over to seat me. He was very pleasant. I explicitly asked if the restaurant was participating in restaurant week because I knew it was because that's the reason I picked it. The server said they were not. I said, "Really??" and he said "yes" and "I'm sorry." I immediately took to twitter because I was annoyed.

Meanwhile, my friend and I were there and had both heard good things so we figured we'd make the best of it. I ordered a cava and she ordered a brut champagne. We both got what tasted like apple cider so that was an additional annoyance. Thankfully, we were both satisfed with our meals. We had the taste of Morocco and mussels tagine starters (both good) and then the couscous and lamb shank for entrees. The lamb had way too many carmelized onions and the Moroccan couscous could've used a dash of salt but both were piping hot and tasty. The portion sizes are also very generous.

The restaurant wasn't busy at all but the server just didn't seem to be very attentive. I finished my cava (cider) at the start of my entree and he didn't come back over to ask if I wanted another drink until the end of the meal. When we were leaving, the hostess must've been on her phone or something because she didn't even look up to acknowledge our presence or departure and the hostess stand is literally right next to the door.

Someone from the restaurant tweeted me after my dinner and said the restaurant was participating and had the nerve to ask me to correct my tweet. The customer service and the marketing/PR need work. If I go back, it'll be carryout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Although the food is not very authentic Morrocan, the place was nice and service was great. We had visited Casablanca, Marrakech, Tangier, and many other cities and longed for traditional food cooked the traditional way. We were disappointed that the lamb tangine and couscous did not have the traditional sauces nor served with the lids on top. The food was good, but not exceptional. The shrimp appeitizer was excellent however. We used the bread to eat up all the extra spicy sauce. Wine was well priced. We had standard Malbec-usually a good value. The mint tea was good as was the desert. The real gem at this place was the live music. Reminded me of Radio Tarife- the music you hear in the South of Spain near Algeciras or Estepona. You will like the decor and the hookah bar in back was packed with young college types. I saw the owners sitting at the bar for a while- would have been nice if they walked the dining room. Anyway, a nice place for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Second time I have been and the service is horrible. I asked for a nice booth. They sat me and then said someone else had it and moved me. I had made reservations and they did that. I was appalled and it wasn't even that busy. And then it took forever for a server and I hated it. Too expensive and not worth it. Especially when the service was poor.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I was there once and I went back two weeks later for the food, music and friendliness.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We showed up at the door and were turned away because they closed the restaurant for a private event unannounced. So if actually having your reservation is an expectation on your date, you may want to just go to the Thai restaurant around the block--they were gracious, received us without a reservation, and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Nice Moroccan food. The music was a nice addition.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Very attractive interior, a nice modern twist on classic Moroccan. We were there early on a Saturday so didn't experience a full buzzing crowd. Service was solid, nothing remarkable, nothing to complain about. On this first visit the food was a bit disappointing, mainly lacking in the flavors and spices. The harira soup was notably bland. Highlight was the bastilla appetizer and the french fries. But the menu was very enticing -- and a main reason we'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The live music at Mazagan is top-notch!!!! That alone makes me want to come back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

At times the service was slow but the food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was good. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Atmosphere was great, great concept of having sheesha and food in the same place. It was a Friday so live music, good, loud but tolerable. Food was delicious. Service great. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This was my first time at Mazagan. Arrived during happy hour and had cocktails with 2 friends. A new server struggled with getting the correct head to liquid ratio on the beer, but he and we had a good laugh about it and another server came to his rescue. We asked whether we could take our drinks to the table (rather than pay at the bar), yes. I had Paprika Chicken kabobs, 1 friend had Beef Tagine & the other friend, Chicken M’kelli. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed his/her meal. Service was good (the aforementioned new server) and contrary to other posts, the service was prompt. The only hiccup came when we received the check. Our cocktails prices were all over the map - mine was charged at the happy hour price, but our beer drinker was charged full price, and the other cocktail was $1 higher than the happy hour price. We pointed out the discrepancy regarding the beer and the price was adjusted. I would definitely visit again. The happy hour prices were excellent and I would come back for noshes along with the drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Had a wonderful time at Mazagan. Went for dinner before seeing Pablo Rodriguez next door at Arlington Cinema and Drafthouse. Dinner and drinks were great! Returned after the show for more drinks, hookah and dancing. Awesome night!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was interesting and excellent but the recorded music was
so loud we had difficulty conversing. Then, about halfway through our
meal, a group of musicians began setting up their sound system and
testing it for later in the evening. The combination of all that superimposed on the already too loud house music made conversation impossible so we paid our bill and went to another restaurant for dessert and coffee and conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Absolutely loved the food, the ambiance, and the music. Only disappointment was the Turkish coffee after dinner was too weak.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Tapas, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great place serving some real good Moroccan food. The food was really good and so were the cocktails. Interesting selection of cocktails. Everything is moderately priced. They have a hookah lounge section which is separated from the dining area by a transparent glass. We had a few issues though. Firstly, the service is really bad as noted by other reviewers. Our appetizers arrived promptly and so did our drinks but the entrees took forever 40+ minutes. Secondly, they had a weird rule where they serve hookah in the main dining area after 10pm. We were a big group with a baby so this was a problem. However, the restaurant staff requested the guests to wait until we leave so that's much appreciated. Lastly, we went on a saturday night when they had a live band who were playing amazing music but then they allowed some girl to sing and she was really bad and so loud that it made the whole experience unpleasant. Overall, I loved the food and drinks but they should really do something on their service and yeah keep the dining and hookah areas separated!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good. Nice food and service

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was outstanding. Had the lamb caucus and the kafta meatballs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Mazagan was a wonderful authentic experience. The menu offers a wide variety of dishes including traditional tagines and entrees to delight the senses. I was very pleased with the anchovy appetizer. It was prepared using marinated anchovies not the canned salted anchovies we are used to finding on salads and pizza typically. The salad with Oranges was super fresh and had a citrus dressing that was perfectly balanced and not sweet and cloying. I ordered roasted lamb shoulder which was so tender it was falling off the bones. My spouse ordered a smothered and baked salmon dish which was cooked perfectly juicy and came in a succulent sauce with tender vegetables. We shared the limoncello cake and it was light and flavorful. The kitchen has a large glass window into the dining space so you can watch preparation, makes all of the food served, even the pastry and dessert offerings. I had Morrocan tea a beautiful blend of black and fresh mint leaves served in a silver pot on a tray with a glass cup, very fancy. My spouse chose the Turkish coffee and was delighted with the flavor and serving presentation. The service was excellent throughout the meal and the staff is very helpful in guiding your choices to assure that you have a great experience. I noted that this restaurant has a Hooka room that is completely closed off from the main dining space so that you do not smell any smoke being used there. We were very happy with our meal, service and the prices. I can recommend Mazagan for a lovely meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The problem is there was only one waiter on duty. He did the best he could under the circumstances. There was a large birthday party group that occupied most of his time. We arrived for a 1:15 reservation with an infant and a 10 yr old. It was after 3pm when we left the restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Went with a friend to see live music and it was a very enjoyable evening. Food great and nice crowd. We got there early so had little problem but parking in that area on busy weekend can be tricky.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was fine. The service was abysmal. The servers had friends coming in and out of the restaurant, and couldn't get a simple order correct. The server we had just acted annoyed every time she would come by, which was not often enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I want to go again! There was live music and a belly dancer. Energetic atmosphere with people dancing, but still family friendly and intimate. The food was delicious and authentic. I want to try the hookah next time. My only complaints were that it was very loud, but that was because of the live music, and the staff was a little slow.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Mazagan was amazing. Went there for my birthday and the waiters really took care of me. The food was fantastic and we could not have been happier!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

An interesting menu with a good variety of dishes to choose from. The fried calamari merit a special praise. Our main course consisted of lamb chops (excellent dish!), a shish kebab of boneless lamb (slightly overcooked for my taste), and a shank of lamb. The waitress was very attentive and cordial and the ambience was festive. I was kind of surprised to see an 18 percent tip added to the final bill even though there were only 3 people in my party. I usually leave 20 percent tip when dining out but did not in this case as, is my opinion, I should have been informed of the restaurant's policy to automatically add the 18 percent service charge (I presume it is the policy). In addition, the credit card slip presented to me did not list the tip as separate charge but, rather, as part of the total bill, thus creating the impression to an inattentive diner that the tip was not included in the total bill.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is always good at Mazagan. It is very noisy, however, as almost every restaurant is these days. I think the wait staff tends to push the alcohol a bit too much, but they are very prompt and attentive without being nuisances. It is an excellent choice for Moroccan cuisine.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Our party of four enjoyed a well-paced evening that featured attentive and informed service as well as interesting and tasty cuisine. Sharing a selection of mezza, and, kabobs, and tagine was a perfect strategy. Many thanks to the owner & chef, Riyadh!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fun place, pleasant decor, good food
We had been wanting to try Mazagan for a long time, and finally went there because they advertised a Havana nights band -- that seemed an intriguing combination. When we arrived, our table was still occupied so our host offered a complementary glass of wine while we waited -- very professional, but a rare touch of excellent customer service. The restaurant was very busy, but we got bread and olive oil dip right away, and the entrees arrived in a timely manner. The food quality was good. The decor is modern with a touch of moroccan. Parking is challenging so be prepared to park a couple of blocks away and walk. Would definitely go to Mazagan again.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Mazagan has great food & drinks, and you can always depend on good atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful food with one problem. For a 5:00 pm reservation, they claimed to be out of one of the specials of the day: a lamb dish. How is that possible? Terribly noisy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I had expected great food based on other reviews, but it was mediocre at best. Had the service not been so terrible, it might have saved the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was amazing and reasonably priced. I had the chicken bastilla, and my husband had the boneless lamb kabobs. We were seated in a corner by the window and bar. We saw the bartender mix up some cool drinks. Pleasantly surprised that there was a belly dancer and live guitarist. Really enjoyed our night out at Mazagan!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Spicy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Exotic food and people. If only we could find a parking spot!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.