About Mazagan Restaurant

Nouvelle Moroccan cuisine offered in a casual setting. Menu is made up of a contemporary twist to Moroccan lamb, beef and poultry dishes, as well as, seafood familiar to the extensive coastline of Morocco. If you have a penchant for vegetarian dishes, those can also be found here in your choice of spinach, carrot, eggplant, and other dishes. A wide selection of brochette skewers are available off the open kebab grill. Desserts vary weekly from pastry puffs, cake, and almond-flavored pastries made by former pastry-chef and owner, Riyad Bouizar. Dining includes high tables, bar, booths and tables. Extensive bar and mixed drink offerings with television to keep you up-to-date on latest games. The hookah section is available after 9pm with various fruit-flavored tobaccos and smoke-controlled seating areas. Round out your dining experience with a Moroccan green tea with Moroccan herb mixtures designed by the owner.

2901 Columbia Pike
Arlington, VA 22204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Moroccan, Mediterranean, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Monday to Wednesday : 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thursday : 11:30 am - 1:00 am
Friday - Saturday : 11:30 am - 2:00 am
Sunday : 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Columbia Pike and Walter Reed

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 566-4173

Website:
http://www.mazaganrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Moroccan cuisine as well as a selection of Mediterranean dishes are available off the menu for catered events. Special dishes can also be prepared.

Parking Details:
Mazagan Restaurant is located on the "Main Street" of Arlington on the Corner of Columbia Pike and S Walter Reed. (One block east of Glebe Road). Parking can be found on the streets around the block as well as a Private parking lot behind the building. Public parking across the street is available underground in the Halstead Apartment Building.

Executive Chef:
Chef Riyad Bouizar

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mazagan Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (8)
Authentic (8)
Fun (6)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Romantic (2)
Fireplace (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Dancing (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was fine. The service was abysmal. The servers had friends coming in and out of the restaurant, and couldn't get a simple order correct. The server we had just acted annoyed every time she would come by, which was not often enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

I want to go again! There was live music and a belly dancer. Energetic atmosphere with people dancing, but still family friendly and intimate. The food was delicious and authentic. I want to try the hookah next time. My only complaints were that it was very loud, but that was because of the live music, and the staff was a little slow.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Modern Decor, Dancing, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Mazagan was amazing. Went there for my birthday and the waiters really took care of me. The food was fantastic and we could not have been happier!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

An interesting menu with a good variety of dishes to choose from. The fried calamari merit a special praise. Our main course consisted of lamb chops (excellent dish!), a shish kebab of boneless lamb (slightly overcooked for my taste), and a shank of lamb. The waitress was very attentive and cordial and the ambience was festive. I was kind of surprised to see an 18 percent tip added to the final bill even though there were only 3 people in my party. I usually leave 20 percent tip when dining out but did not in this case as, is my opinion, I should have been informed of the restaurant's policy to automatically add the 18 percent service charge (I presume it is the policy). In addition, the credit card slip presented to me did not list the tip as separate charge but, rather, as part of the total bill, thus creating the impression to an inattentive diner that the tip was not included in the total bill.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is always good at Mazagan. It is very noisy, however, as almost every restaurant is these days. I think the wait staff tends to push the alcohol a bit too much, but they are very prompt and attentive without being nuisances. It is an excellent choice for Moroccan cuisine.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 9, 2017

Our party of four enjoyed a well-paced evening that featured attentive and informed service as well as interesting and tasty cuisine. Sharing a selection of mezza, and, kabobs, and tagine was a perfect strategy. Many thanks to the owner & chef, Riyadh!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fun place, pleasant decor, good food

We had been wanting to try Mazagan for a long time, and finally went there because they advertised a Havana nights band -- that seemed an intriguing combination. When we arrived, our table was still occupied so our host offered a complementary glass of wine while we waited -- very professional, but a rare touch of excellent customer service. The restaurant was very busy, but we got bread and olive oil dip right away, and the entrees arrived in a timely manner. The food quality was good. The decor is modern with a touch of moroccan. Parking is challenging so be prepared to park a couple of blocks away and walk. Would definitely go to Mazagan again.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Mazagan has great food & drinks, and you can always depend on good atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful food with one problem. For a 5:00 pm reservation, they claimed to be out of one of the specials of the day: a lamb dish. How is that possible? Terribly noisy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

I had expected great food based on other reviews, but it was mediocre at best. Had the service not been so terrible, it might have saved the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was amazing and reasonably priced. I had the chicken bastilla, and my husband had the boneless lamb kabobs. We were seated in a corner by the window and bar. We saw the bartender mix up some cool drinks. Pleasantly surprised that there was a belly dancer and live guitarist. Really enjoyed our night out at Mazagan!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Spicy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Private Room, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Exotic food and people. If only we could find a parking spot!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food,good service,, lot's of fun.

Will come back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food is awesome. Seriously great place. Service they are working on, but a place I would go back to because of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

We really loved our entrees (Kefta Tagine and Lamb Kabob) and the cocktails were good. However the vegetable side with the Kabob was super bland and the octopus appetizer was really strange. We have eaten octopus in multiple place and this was the weirdest texture we ever tasted. It was like there was fat or something. I've never prepared octopus, so not sure if it wasn't cleaned properly or what, but no bueno. We did eat it all, as we were trying to figure out what was going on with it. Was kind of a small portion as well.

Great location for going to an event at the Arlington Cinema Drafthouse and enjoyed the live music and the energetic older couple who got up to dance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Visited for the first time on a Saturday night. The food was delicious and authentic. Attentive, friendly service and good prices added to the enjoyment of the evening. It was nice to be in a restaurant that wasn't overwhelmingly noisy! Will go again.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

This place rocks! The food was spot on (I am a Moroccan who loves to cook). Love their live music nights. I'm already on my way there for the second time. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great food. Servers were off and on. Restaurant empty bug items like cocktails or extras sauce requests took a long time to complete. Often had to remind server a couple times. They were polite, but would have liked them to be more proactive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great service! We went for lunch! The food and service was great! Great value! Our waiter, Abdel, was very attentive! Good luck and we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We didn't actually get to eat as there was only one waiter and one chef. We waited 30 minutes for service and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We visited this restaurant during Restaurant Week and had a wonderful meal. I think the everyday prices are pretty similar to the 3-course meal for $35 offered during Restaurant Week. We had mussels, bisteeyah, kabobs, couscous, and two kinds of cake. Everything was delicious--even the bread that came with it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The decor, service and food were great. Bring your appetite because the portions are rather large.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food and wonderful service. The music was a little too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Outstanding kabobs and sides. Baklava was magnificent. Fair service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The ambiance is really nice. The food is great. The service top notch. Bastilla was my favorite (like sweeter)! I not about smoking areas. It has one for hookah.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Service here is expectional, great place to take a special someone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I ordered harira soup, which was fine but not exciting, a tad bland; bastille, which looked beautiful and had a great pastry construction, but the chicken stuff was boring, very bland; and finally a lamb with prunes tagine, in which the lamb was bony and fatty, to the point of being quite unappetizing.

Service was decent - they seemed a little overbooked/understaffed. Water wasn't refilled very quickly - had to ask, and even then it took a fair amount of time. My waitress was helpful and knowledgeable. Nice ambience, but I almost certainly won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Mazagan has a very friendly staff who helped us navigate our way through the menu. We LOVED the chicken bastille and the mixed grill (the lamb chops especially). Even the side dishes - saffron rice and chickpeas - had superb flavor. I wish the chicken tanginess had been served with the tangine lid - just looks kind of cool. We are DEFINITELY going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Glad to have another Moroccan restaurant in northern VA. Their speciality -- Bastilla (phyllo filled with chicken, crushed almonds, topped with powdered sugar and cinnamon) was very good. Easy to share or have as an entree. But the drinks were terrible! Do not order alcohol here. Expect service to be slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This is my third time visiting and this was my first bad experience. They forgot to bring our entrees we waited for at least 45 minutes, and it was not busy. When we finally received our food it was completely tasteless. Very disappointing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Good was bland. Service was terrible. Seemed extremely short staffed. Server didn't come back for 30 min after appetizers. Great ambiance but loud from the talking in close proximity. Nice place but not worth the money for the ok food and lack of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Thanks for ur app guys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Walking into Mazagan's chic-yet-comfortable dining room set the tone for a delightful meal. The food is the definition of savory. I rarely eat Moroccan dishes, but this experience tasting the kefta and egg tagine made me hungry for more. Don't miss the classic harira soup. Look forward to going back again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I love the relaxed feel of this place – liked the comfortable dining this place had and the decor was pretty as well. I definitely would return to try more dishes with my fiancé. Its pretty affordable and the service was great. It did kinda of get nosey towards 10pm but other than that it was amazing experience. My fiancé loved his birthday dessert that I had the waiter bring him as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My sister and I meet for lunch once a month and use the alphabet to choose a restaurant. This month's letter was "M" and I choose Moroccan and used open table to find such a place. We liked the restaurant . The decor was nice and we were the only people in the dining room, so it was quiet. The service was great and our selected entrees met our expectations. I would return and recommend it to others. One thing that needs to be fixed is the door. It was really hard to open and at first I thought the place was closed. No one in the restaurant came to assist me and I stood outside until I notice a sign which said that you should pull the door really hard to open it. I saw other potential patrons struggle with the door and walk away...probably thought it was closed too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Very Disappointed. Ordered 2 lamb couscous. The meat was fatty and mediocre; and the vegetables practically non existent. The server, a young eastern European lady, knew nothing about the food. I have eaten couscous here more then a dozen times; I knew the menu and the ingredients better then she did. Not only that, she was argumentative. Please get better staff or teach them well.

Sorry guys this was a flop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious! The dishes were flavorful and unique. It was quite a pleasant experience. The fire drink was quite tasty as well! The mussels tagine, kefta and mozzarella bastilla, and kefta kebob were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on March 25, 2016

It was a overall good experience. Mazagan has really good Moroccan food, but -1 Moroccan hospitality. Server didn't ask for even once how the food was.

As a experience server I believe server should make sure that guests are happy and ask if they need anything.

Noise level is too loud. While talking to my partner I could hear other people being loud because music was little loud for the size of the restaurant.

I'd give another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
·Dined on March 18, 2016

I have been here twice, for lunch and dinner. Great dining experience both times. Lounge in the back is great and relaxing for hookah. I was a little irritated when they made us move off the couches for a larger party, but overall nice staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on March 13, 2016

service was great and it complimented the great food and hookah we ordered. smoothest hookah I've had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Resturant/hostess did not honor seating request made for reservations made for guest with crutches, but hostess was a bit helpful. Two basic kabob orders took 1 hour and 22 minutes and 15 minutes for waiter to take drink order in a half empty resturant. Food was lukewarm and basic taste with the exception of the kabobs. Waiter gave us cake for the long food wait but used his bare hands to put it in a box to go. We trashed the cake as soon as we left. Will not be returning. Stylish resturant with poor food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Our server Abdeljabber made the evening memorable. He was very kind and thoughtful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on March 2, 2016

This is the best Moroccan restaurant in the DC area. Authentic food prepared perfectly. The sauces were just right -- sampled 6 of them and the specialty items transported you to Morocco. And they had a nice selection of scotch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 24, 2016

We wanted something different and we got what we wanted. We loved the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We ordered within 15 minutes of sitting down, but for some reason it took over an hour for our appetizers to arrive. Our food eventually came about 90 minutes after we ordered it. The restaurant was about 1/2 full. Both the kitchen and the floor appeared to be well staffed (at least as far as warm bodies go).

The food is amazing, but the dining experience was really painful. Our waiter smiled & was nice when we could talk with him, but he avoided stopping at our table throughout the experience. We only got our food after we flagged down another waitress and asked her if she could find our food.

Carry-out would be a good option for Mazagan... but don't waste your time sitting down & expecting any kind of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Overall pretty good Moroccan.The food portions are quite large so its best to order one less entree and add more mezze plates if you're hungry. Service is fair but needs to be more attentive even during a slow evening. It'll be good if the wait staff could explain and give recommendations to what to order. This can help with the portion control and especially if someone is unfamiliar with the cuisine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food if always remarkable, the service is great and the drinks are amazing. There is something for everyone (vegan, vegetarians and meat eaters)! On Fridays they have belly dancers which are fantastic and keep us coming back. It's also nice the hookah area is closed off in glass - keeping the whole in there but still allowing for a open feeling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Service was very accommodating, almost doting. He let us try wines, offered other options. Checked on us often. The food was delicious, and the portions were generous. We took home portions from each course because we wanted room to try the next.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The bastilla appetizer, lamb shank and limoncello cake (from the restaurant week menu) were delicious and portions were generous. The kebab special was disappointing with overcooked meat and uninspired mezze. The cocktail I ordered - some punch with ginger- tasted medicinal and like from a packaged mixer vs freshly made.

We were seated at a corner table by the window which was freezing and I think our location resulted in our otherwise friendly waiter periodically forgetting about us.

And due to the recent blizzard, it was hard to find parking. The lot behind was full and there was little on street parking due to snow.

Finally and most frustrating, it was really hard to have a conversation due to the general noise level and then impossible once the belly dancers started, accompanied by loud music. That said, both were very attractive and talented dancers. Still not what I would consider a great date night experience, but could be ok if not interested in conversation...

I appreciated that the hookah bar was in a separate enclosed room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Service was very slow. As for the food, All of us in our party left most of it on our plates. Definitely not a good investment of food $$$. One exception desserts were good. Our conclusion they bought them. How this restaurant could be rated at 4.3 on Opentable is unbelievable to me. Should have checked Yelp before making reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.