Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi

About May Kitchen + Bar

May Kitchen + Bar brings a taste of Thailand to Vashon Island, WA. From the 150 year old dark teak paneling to the hand crafted iron work, the interior whisks you away to another, more relaxed place. Sit down and begin your meal by enjoying an original cocktail carefully crafted to bring out the most flavor from exotic ingredients. Then consider the food. You will have to come back, because you will need to try everything at least once. May Chaleoy is renowned for her ability to bring out a depth and complexity of flavor in all your favorite Thai dishes. May's attention to detail and dedication to the authenticity of her food is clear after your first bite. Come see for yourself.

17614 Vashon Hwy SW
Vashon, WA 98070
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bank Rd SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 408-7196

Website:
http://www.maykitchen.com/

Public Transit:
The nearest transit stop is Vashon Hwy SW and SW Bank Rd. We are just south of the stop on the east side of the street.

Executive Chef:
May Chaleoy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout

May Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (52)
Worth the Drive (35)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Good Vegetarian Options (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for a Date (30)
Bar Seating (29)
Spicy (28)
Romantic (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Casual (22)
Fun (22)
Cozy (17)
Healthy (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Family Style (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
People Watching (7)
Vegan (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Business Meals (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Live Music (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
803 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous food!
Loved most the veg rolls with tamarind sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service!! I love this place!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

May Kitchen has always been great, but the meals just seem to be getting better and better over the years. A true classic.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

As always, every dish exciting, every bite exquisite. Waitstaff helpful yet not intrusive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2017

As always, May's Kitchen was fabulous. Cannot think of a better Thai place in the Seattle area

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was exceptional. The service was well intentioned but inexperienced so slow and lacking attention to detail - pretty much every interaction resulted in a problem. There didn't appear to be a manager on site to give feedback to or to train the young staff. Fortunately the food was amazing and more than made up for it. Would definitely try them again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Authentic, Spicy, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Everything was marvelous: servers, food, drinks, reasonable prices, cutlery, dishes, and decor. Just go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 7, 2017

A nice meal with the staff outshining the food or ambiance. Fun tea service. Very nice pad see uw. No R in Larb. Got it ladies

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Very slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Delicious food, served with a smile. The piano was great but could hardly hear it. It is very noisy when the restaurant is crowded. Made a reservation and it was ready when we arrived. We took the advice of our daughter who had eaten there before -- she said "we had to go," and she was right!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Service needs a little work, table behind us was told the specials and would have been something we might have ordered. Waiter though was great other than that!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We've been many times. Love May's. Love Caleb, our favorite server ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This place is definitely worth going to. And make a reservation much in advance!!! I accidentally messed up my reservation by making it for one less person... I felt mortified. The hostess was super nice and made it work for us! Our server was excellent. Knew the menu well, so we trusted his suggestions and got mussaman curry, a mushroom dish, and the fried trout. Everything was fantastic. We loved it and ate it all... Which was a shame because the dessert menu looked amazing too. Also... We payed less than 20 bucks a person and had more than enough food. If we had used self control there would have been some nice leftovers for the next day.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Spicy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Outstanding food... Beautifully and authentically prepared... Delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The food is amazing and the staff really know how to describe what you are going to get. I'm always amazed they have such great skills in pronouncing the dishes.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Always love the food and service in this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 23, 2017

There were five of us, first time for two. We shared five entries and two appetizers. Food was, as usual, excellent. Service was prompt and courteous. It can be a noisy place when full, but at our visit was tolerable. If you want your choice of seating times on weekends make your reservation 2-3 weeks in advance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Always amazing service, fantastic good and great ambience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Beyond fabulous food and service!
My only suggestion.... it can get a bit stuffy inside on warm evenings; fans or open door could help..?

Tags: Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The food was tasty, worth the price. Service was great & the ambience is nice. Great spot to go with friends or any group of people.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Spicy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Every visit is more special than the last! Such a treat to bring guests from out of town to this amazing destination.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2017

First time one year ago was part of a day on Vashon celebrating my wife's birthday, and we loved the dinner. This time was part of a day on Vashon with younger son and daughter in law visiting from the East Coast. Later this month, will be part of a day on Vashon with older son and daughter in law visiting from the East Coast. By now, you get the picture: May's is a must part of any visit to Vashon because the Thai food is terrific!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Amazing food and setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Food is consistently delicious!
Our server was friendly and knowledgeable and the wait time for our appetizers and dinner were perfectly timed.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Amazing! Highly recommend this authentic Thai restaurant, especially the green curry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I was worried that the hype of May's was going to lessen my experience but it only enhanced it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 1, 2017

best restaurant on Vashon Island. Food and service is always great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at May Kitchen and Bar. I can always count in the fine staff, food and ambience I expect and enjoy. Bringing friends that have never been is a treat for us both as they are amazed by the evening's dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Our favorite place to dine on Vashon, May has options for me (vegan) and my meat-loving husband. We go here once a month for a date night and couldn't be more thrilled about it. The people are spectacular, the presentation is amazing, and the food is like no Thai food you've ever had. Simply the best.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This is a great place to eat. We go there every chance we can.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The noise level was too loud but everyone had fun and the food is just delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful- authentic Thai food, the Best Restaurant on Vashon Island!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food at Mays is outstanding. it compares favorably with the best Thai restaurants that I ate at while in Thailand and is probably the best there is in the Seattle King County area. Fortunately I live on Vashon Island and can dine at Mays when I want to and when space is available. Reservations are a good idea.. Even if I didn't live nearby I would hop on the ferry to dine at Mays.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Just simply amazing! Details matter here and it shows. Definitely one of the best, nay the best dinning experience I've had since I moved here.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food, as usual. Pacing was slightly slow, but not to an annoying degree, and different from usual. One of the few restaurants these days, it seems, where you can actually converse with your partner (i.e. the background music is not overwhelming).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Trout dish exceptional as are the lettuce rolls . Caleb is an attentive charming waiter. Beautiful atmosphere. Live piano can be too loud if seated at nearby table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food took 20 minutes to arrive on the table. The food was heavily overpriced.
I asked for more rice and was given red rice that I didn't ask for since they had no white rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

May's never disappoints, food wise. A destination Thai experience you have to work at (ferries and all) but well worth it. Plan a little tour of lovely Vashon Island to make it a special outing.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Consistently good food and service. Caleb, the waiter is very friendly, knowledgeable and professional.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Mays never ceases to please and surprise. The Thai menu has both traditional and unique items prepared in authentic style and masterfully presented. The service personnel are friendly and professional. And Tom, the house magician, is nonintrusive and amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.