About May Kitchen + Bar

17614 Vashon Hwy SW
Vashon, WA 98070
View Larger Map

May Kitchen + Bar brings a taste of Thailand to Vashon Island, WA. From the 150 year old dark teak paneling to the hand crafted iron work, the interior whisks you away to another, more relaxed place. Sit down and begin your meal by enjoying an original cocktail carefully crafted to bring out the most flavor from exotic ingredients. Then consider the food. You will have to come back, because you will need to try everything at least once. May Chaleoy is renowned for her ability to bring out a depth and complexity of flavor in all your favorite Thai dishes. May's attention to detail and dedication to the authenticity of her food is clear after your first bite. Come see for yourself.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bank Rd SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 408-7196

Website:
http://www.maykitchen.com/

Public Transit:
The nearest transit stop is Vashon Hwy SW and SW Bank Rd. We are just south of the stop on the east side of the street.

Executive Chef:
May Chaleoy

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout

Restaurant Photos

  • Gaeng Faak Thong
  • Phad Thai
  • Phad Metmamuanghimmaphan
  • Deconstructed Phad Thai
  • Phad Prik Khing
  • Goong choop bang taud
  • Papia Phak Sot (Spring Rolls)
Gaeng Faak Thong
Phad Thai
Phad Metmamuanghimmaphan
Deconstructed Phad Thai
Phad Prik Khing
Goong choop bang taud
Papia Phak Sot (Spring Rolls)

May Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Food
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Ambiance
Seattle / Eastern Washington
8 More
Best Value
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
South of Seattle
Best Food
South of Seattle
Best Service
South of Seattle
Best Ambiance
South of Seattle
Best Value
South of Seattle
Special Occasion
South of Seattle
Most Booked
South of Seattle
Best Restaurants in Vashon ›

Fit for Foodies (86)
Special Occasion (74)
Neighborhood Gem (72)
See All
Romantic (39)
Hot Spot (30)
Good for Groups (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Notable Wine List (13)
Kid-friendly (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Lunch (3)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

May's Mitchen & Bar might have ruined me ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

May's Mitchen & Bar might have ruined me forever. I see Thai food differently now- will I ever be able to eat anyone else's Pad Thai? Or must I move to Vashon Island just to be near that Green Curry? Trekking to May's from Seattle was well worth it. Every part of the experience was a treat for the senses. The visuals: the carved wood paneling, brocade curtains, rosewood and gold flatware, and coconut rice bowls created a sense of enchantment and expectation that something special was about to happen- and it did. The food was exquisitely presented and delicious. We had light as a feather spring rolls topped with crispy coconut and sizzled onion, a rich and exotically spiced green curry on red jasmine rice, perfect citrusy/hot pork me krob, and the not-to-be-missed Pad Thai - tossed at the table with tamarind, cane sugar, chili, chopped peanut, and banana flower. Yes, this is not your usual Thai food restaurant. Go! You too may be ruined for life.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are looking for a traditional tak ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

If you are looking for a traditional take on Thai, this is not it. It seems everything on the menu had similar names as other restaurants but were spiced differently. It was different but delicious. Flavors never experienced before. Delicious. Loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A foodies dream--thank you! Super frien ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

A foodies dream--thank you! Super friendly, knowledgeable staff and excellent food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant, amazing food, exce ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, amazing food, exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were first rate. The p ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food and service were first rate. The place is really noisy though, kind of hard to have a conversation without shouting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Exceptional, authentic Thai food - not y ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Exceptional, authentic Thai food - not your standard take out joint! Great staff & excellent ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Per usual, the food is great and service ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Per usual, the food is great and service is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very authentic, noisy slow service very ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very authentic, noisy slow service very popular to locals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Love the food! It's the biggest draw. D ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love the food! It's the biggest draw. Difficult to get a table without a reservation several days ahead of time. Table service was okay but it took way too long to receive bar orders. Nearly finished with meal before receiving drink order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Reliably excellent food and service.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Reliably excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing as always! Not fair that this ge ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Amazing as always! Not fair that this gem is all ours on this little island. But I'm not complaining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Very slow bar service. Very nice waitr ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Very slow bar service. Very nice waitress but did not like the piano. Spring rolls were

very ordinary and the pork skewers were tough and hard to eat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value4

Best restaurant on Vashon. Superior ser ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Best restaurant on Vashon. Superior service and food. Not the too sweet Thai food cooked in many Thai restaurants-steps beyond. The walls are imported from a Thai home and add to the atmosphere. Fun to share with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time visit to May Kit ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was our first time visit to May Kitchen, and we were really impressed! Our waiter (Caleb) was extremely friendly, up-beat and helpful! His menu suggestions were spot-on! He was great! All six of us were of the same opinion, that the food was wonderful! My wife and I do not eat out very often, but we will definitely be back to May Kitchen and Bar to try some of the other wonderful entrees! Thank you for a very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow service but very nice staff, too no ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Slow service but very nice staff, too noisy but wonderful food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We love the food and drinks. Only one c ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We love the food and drinks. Only one complaint-- not enough spice on the shrimp dish. This was our 3rd visit - we ferry over from Southworth. It woud be nice to have a 4 p.m. service. Loved the dish with pineapple and cashews and will be over again to try more and probably family servings - we did some sharing. Thanks for asking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it! We were visiting from Flori ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We loved it! We were visiting from Florida and decided to take a ferry over to have some Thai Food and May Kitchen was rated very high so it was a fun foodie road trip!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always!!! We come here everyt ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Awesome as always!!! We come here everytime we are on island - just too good to pass up!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food here is fantastic. I particula ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food here is fantastic. I particularly like all the appetizers and the watercress is super delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

If you're on Vashon you have to try this ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

If you're on Vashon you have to try this place. Their storefront has absolutely no markings or indication that there's a business of any kind inside, and yet, it was packed (I highly recommend reservations). So their business is entirely word-of-mouth and the word is unanimous (5 stars after ~500 reviews online).

I want to go back several times and sample more of the menu. Every plate that walked by caught our interest. My gf and I got an appetizer and THREE entrees to share, and I wish we could have tried another without bursting at the seams.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Came here on a usual Friday night at 7. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Came here on a usual Friday night at 7. Reservations is highly recommended on weekends. We specified for the bar. EVERYONE is incredibly welcoming and accommodating. Then the food is just as good as the staff. The chicken wings are crazy delicious especially! Thank you May and May's staff for a wonderful birthday on Vashon island!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

May Kitchen is always impressive and nev ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

May Kitchen is always impressive and never disappoints. Beautiful atmosphere, friendly service and familiar faces with their staff, and to top it all off - the food is ridiculously good - best Thai food I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our drinks sat on the bar for several mi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our drinks sat on the bar for several minutes. Finally my husband went to get them. When the waitress discovered what happened all she said was "thank you". Many had rave reviews, however our appetizer and entrees were "ho-hum". We have had much better in Eugene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Ate at May's and it was phenomenal again ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Ate at May's and it was phenomenal again. I eat there every month or so and it always is spot on! Best Thai food I've eaten outside of Thailand. Can't wait for the next time! Make sure you make reservations, it's always packed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

May Kitchen produces stand-out Thai food ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

May Kitchen produces stand-out Thai food, using fresh ingredients and authentic recipes and presentation. This is the Thai meal you have dreamed of, but rarely found! The gaeng faak thong, kabocha squash in turmeric and cardamom yellow curry, was stellar - the mix of flavor notes and textures forming a beautiful tapestry of deliciousness, with no one flavor note (or heat) overwhelming the others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Second time I've eaten here, both were f ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Second time I've eaten here, both were fantastic. Both the food and service were amazing. i can't say enough about the flavoring of each dish. I have told lots of people that they need to go to Vashon Island to have the best Thai food I've had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super slow service during festival weeke ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Super slow service during festival weekend. Not a normal experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The food at May's is outstanding. The c ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food at May's is outstanding. The cocktails are also outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always May Kitchen has wonderful food ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

As always May Kitchen has wonderful food and great ambiance

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was so impressed with the customer ser ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I was so impressed with the customer service. There was live piano. Everything was wonderful. Check it out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Thai food we've ever eaten... we of ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best Thai food we've ever eaten... we often take the ferry to Vashon just for this restaurant. Pad Thai prepared and served at your table is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing and scrumptious find on beaut ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

An amazing and scrumptious find on beautiful Vashon Island. Reservations must be made in advance, especially during the busy seasons. All of the entrees were delicious, and the Pad Thai was constructed right at the table on a banana leaf.

We had a little bit of difficulty finding the place since there was no sign at all, but the picture on the website helped, just look for the elephants:-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mays was delicious. The restaurant was v ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Mays was delicious. The restaurant was very interesting and had a lively vibe with people celebrating all around us. Óur waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly. The wine by the glass was the only surprise, didn't know why so expensive, but they must have their reasons. Very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

May Kitchen is a unique gem on Vashon Is ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

May Kitchen is a unique gem on Vashon Island. The spices are creative and distinguished, but also highly palatable. Despite being very busy, the service was attentive without being invasive. They have a wide selection of wines and a full bar. To me, it's the best restaurant on Vashon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The best Thai food I've ever had statesi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The best Thai food I've ever had stateside. As a celiac, I felt very comfortable eating their gluten free options as their staff is highly trained on the subject. Already planning a return visit next week!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always. Looking forward to c ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fabulous as always. Looking forward to coming back ewhen next in town

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live in Vashon and have been at May's ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We live in Vashon and have been at May's several times. Every time we go we order one of our favorites and then always something new. We have never been disappointed. The service is excellent, except when the place is packed and then turns a bit slower. I don't think that it is a place for larger groups that tend to be noisy, because the place is small and then listening to the people you are with becomes almost impossible.

It would be nice, given that in general it is full if it could be a bit cooler.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful Thai restaurant! Very origina ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Wonderful Thai restaurant! Very original and creative. The waitress was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at May is always great. The pro ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food at May is always great. The problem is that they are understaffed. Service was spotty. It wasn't the servers fault though, he was covering most of the restaurant. He just had too much to do. This is a problem for management. Management should appropriately staff the restaurant so that they can be attentive to diners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

This has become a favorite place to take ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This has become a favorite place to take out of town guests that loves and appreciate great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.