Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 28 times today

May Kitchen + Bar

4.6
938 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Thai
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Authentic
May Kitchen + Bar brings a taste of Thailand to Vashon Island, WA. From the 150 year old dark teak paneling to the hand crafted iron work, the interior whisks you away to another, more relaxed place. Sit down and begin your meal by enjoying an original cocktail carefully crafted to bring out the most flavor from exotic ingredients. Then consider the food. You will have to come back, because you will need to try everything at least once. May Chaleoy is renowned for her ability to bring out a depth and complexity of flavor in all your favorite Thai dishes. May's attention to detail and dedication to the authenticity of her food is clear after your first bite. Come see for yourself.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Thai
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner

Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(206) 408-7196
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
May Chaleoy
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Bank Rd SW
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
The nearest transit stop is Vashon Hwy SW and SW Bank Rd. We are just south of the stop on the east side of the street.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout
What 938 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.4
service
4.6
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

The servers knew what they were doing and the menu, the food was very good and the ambience was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

This was the single most impressive restaurant outing we have ever experienced! Felt like we were in Thailand! The food was the most authentic Thai we have ever eaten!! Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Truly EXCELLENT and authentic Thai food. Friendly staff. Fair pricing. Parking can be difficult but not a serious problem. Get a reservation before you go. GREAT food, good drink, good people.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Excellent food, particularly starting with the deep fried watercress w/dipping sauce. Dipping sauce just the right amount of warm. Made reservations for 6:30 p.m. and it was already quite full. Service could have been better. Very nice servers, but the menus were left on the table along with stacked dishes from the starter dish for quite a while. Needed to ask for them to be removed. However, the Pad Thai presentation was done in a very knowledgeable and friendly way by the server so that was nice. All in all, it was a great meal, but the service was lacking for all the servers that seemed to be there. This will not keep me from returning in the future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Incredible and authentic Thai food, some of the best I have ever eaten. The presentation was wonderful and the dishes nicely explained. Both our wait persons were very well informed about the menu and extremely personable.
The atmosphere is warm with wood paneling, very cozy but dimly lit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Outstanding in every way. I’ve been probably 40 Thai restaurants and this one is the best. It’s worth the ferry ride and the fare.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

The Phad Thai was delicious. I didn’t have any, but the people who ate the whole trout pronounced it “Divine”. The service/staff were friendly and attentive without being obtrusive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Great food and story of interiors.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Great food and wonderful service! I will go again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Always excellent- our favorite “go to”.
Our favorite is the watercress and coconut appetizer; spring rolls and I always go with the pineapple rice with shrimp.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Getaway weekend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

This place never fails to impress. Best Thai food this side of Thailand. Not kidding!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Note: This reviews is based on the service received at this restaurant alone.

We planned a special mother's day excursion to Vashon Island that included a dinner at May Kitchen and Bar. I made a reservation weeks in advance based on friends' recommendation about their wonderful food. Knowing how popular it is, I made a reservation on Opentable to request a table for two adults and a high chair for my toddler daughter. We arrive at the restaurant promptly at 5pm. There was a line out the door already. The seating process was slow. By the time we moved to the front of the line, it was already close to 5:15pm. We stood there for another minute or two. The hostess was staring at the computer and didn't bother to acknowledge us. Finally, after checking in, the server led us to a tall two-top and said she would grab us a high chair. The tall two-top is bar height so needless to say it's not safe for a toddler. We asked the hostess if we could have a different table and noticed a regular two-top that's empty. She said it would take her 5 minutes to check if it's available. We sat on a bench by the bar and waited. Another minute or two passed and we saw them sit a couple down at that table. The hostess then came back and told us there was nothing available. It befuddled us that they had just given the regular two-top away to someone who could easily sit at the tall two-top.

Needless to say we were disappointed and our Mother's day visit on Vashon didn't end on a positive note because of that. The food at May's is probably wonderful but we wouldn't know because we didn't even get a chance to try.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Beef salad and pad Thai were great!!! Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

This is a 4 star restaurant with some of the best Tai food creations. We are a regular customer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

I swear by this place! The food is to die for. I recommend May's all the time ❤️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Awesome food! Awesome service. Thanks Keegan!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Overall, food was very nice. One or two dishes were a bit off (overcooked). The service was horrendously slow; nearly an hour to get entrees with no check ins from the wait staff, who all seemed to be in high school and very inexperienced. It was hard to get the check to leave.
We love the room and menu but service needs a tune up

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Amazing!!!!! Great atmosphere, service and food. Celebrated my boyfriends birthday and we enjoyed it so very much. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Took my girlfriend for dinner with my husband at home! Had yummy drinks and fantastic food. Saw friends and they bought us a drink great local spot! Fantastic atmosphere! Feels like you were actually in Thailand .

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

This is the highest rating restaurant on the island. I read raving reviews and came to be wowed. The dishes are on the higher end of price point but it’s fine for us if it was made with care and done properly. We were disappointed. We ordered pad ke mow and it was extremely salty. So salty we have to eat with rice. There were not vegetables in the noddles as they were typically made. We also were disappointed with the chicken lard. It was dry (because they use ground chicken instead of chopped chicken thighs) and sour (too much lime juice) with not enough herbs and spices to tone down the citrusy taste. Lard was typically served with lettuce and we got a chunk of cabbage. We ordered an appetizer and never came. The service was friendly but slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

May Kitchen & Bar is very good. If you like Thai, and are on island or going to Vashon,
WA., make reservations for dinner. You won't be sorry.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The food was good but the waiter took forever to get our orders. It was loud but this is the first time I’ve experienced this place being too loud to comfortably carry on a conversation. The waiter was unhelpful and kind of rude/impatient when we were trying to sort out vegetarian and vegan options so I wouldn’t recommend this place if you have special dietary requirements. I love the ambiance and the food is good though on the pricey side.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

May's has the best Thai food in the Puget Sound area!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Until I get my charge card bill I will not be sure but I think I added incorrectly and did not leave a very big tip. My apologies and I will definitely make up for it the next time I come in. Thank you for having such delicious food and such great surroundings. Your staff is fabulous.

Thank You,

Cheryl

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Once again, May Kitchen outdid itself! Our group appetizers, several entrees, and the banana/ice cream dessert. Our waitress was fabulous. May Kitchen never lets us down, without doubt they continue to offer one of the best dining experiences in the northwest!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

I love this place, both ambiance and cuisine. Looking from the outside you have no idea that you will be walking into a tiny jewel. I have visited multiple times and the only issue that I have is that the last couple of visits the sauces have been excessively salty to the point that I had to remove rings when I got home because my hands were swelling. Not sure why this has been an issue lately, perhaps a change in chefs? Overall however, one of my favorite mini escapes right in my own backyard!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Always a great dinner. We will return here often, and highly recommend to others.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Great food - fun dining experience

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Service staff seemed inexperienced though pleasant.
Noise level is an issue with so many hard reflective surfaces.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

This is some of the most incredible Thai food I've ever had. The Phad Thai presentation is incredible! Make a reservation early, you don't want to miss out on this experience and it gets BUSY!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

I love the food and try something different every time. The welcome and service are wonderful. May's gets booked up so not good for last minute dining. And the noise level makes it trying for groups and people with hearing loss.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Great food as always, but twice now the service has been lacking. While the servers are available and friendly, they’ve messed up our pretty simple orders twice now. On one visit food came out very spread out one dish at a time, and two entire meals were forgotten, though they did bring one out later and when we said it was too late for the second forgotten one they brought it to go for free. This most recent time they brought out a pad Thai with chicken when tofu was ordered, they then realized their mistake and replaced it but after the vegetarian person who had ordered it had eaten some.
Both of these things make me somewhat hesitant about my next visit, which is a shame because in the past the service has been fantastic and the food is always great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

too noisy, but the food is great. We like the appetizers as well as the main courses. Green curry is our favorite.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We arrived and were seated easily thanks to the reservation, however, it took about 15 - 20 min for the waiter to come over initially to say hi and get us water. This would be understandable if it was very busy, but it was almost 8 pm and about half full that night. We ordered an appetizer and drinks, then proceeded to wait another 10 - 15 min! The appetizer was even served before the drinks! That was a pretty long wait even for May's, which is notorious for slow service.

We had a delicious meal and the service was fine for the rest of the dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

To get the best Thai in Seattle, you have to take a ferry to Vashon Island. The one an only REAL May's. Don't be confused by the Wallingford May's. NOT the real May's (only on Vashon Island).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

So proud of this fantastic restaurant on our small island. Best Thai food ever!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We enjoyed the whole experience. The trout fishing is a must!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Excellent, as always at Mays!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Poor service on our last visit, cup of water was not refilled the entire time we ate.

Food was good, lacked some of the veggies we had in the past for the same dishes. Ended up being about 1.75 meals for us with the amount of leftovers. We had two entree’s, a alcoholic beverage, and a starter for around $75 after tip.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
24