About May Kitchen + Bar

17614 Vashon Hwy SW
Vashon, WA 98070
View Larger Map

May Kitchen + Bar brings a taste of Thailand to Vashon Island, WA. From the 150 year old dark teak paneling to the hand crafted iron work, the interior whisks you away to another, more relaxed place. Sit down and begin your meal by enjoying an original cocktail carefully crafted to bring out the most flavor from exotic ingredients. Then consider the food. You will have to come back, because you will need to try everything at least once. May Chaleoy is renowned for her ability to bring out a depth and complexity of flavor in all your favorite Thai dishes. May's attention to detail and dedication to the authenticity of her food is clear after your first bite. Come see for yourself.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bank Rd SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 408-7196

Website:
http://www.maykitchen.com/

Public Transit:
The nearest transit stop is Vashon Hwy SW and SW Bank Rd. We are just south of the stop on the east side of the street.

Executive Chef:
May Chaleoy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout

Restaurant Photos

  • Gaeng Faak Thong - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
  • Phad Thai - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
  • Phad Metmamuanghimmaphan - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
  • Deconstructed Phad Thai - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
  • Phad Prik Khing - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
  • Goong choop bang taud - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
  • Papia Phak Sot (Spring Rolls) - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
Gaeng Faak Thong - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
Phad Thai - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
Phad Metmamuanghimmaphan - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
Deconstructed Phad Thai - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
Phad Prik Khing - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
Goong choop bang taud - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
Papia Phak Sot (Spring Rolls) - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA

May Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Value
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Fit for Foodies
Seattle / Eastern Washington
7 More
Neighborhood Gem
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
South of Seattle
Best Food
South of Seattle
Best Service
South of Seattle
Best Ambiance
South of Seattle
Best Value
South of Seattle
Most Booked
South of Seattle
Best Restaurants in Vashon ›

Fit for Foodies (51)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Special Occasion (43)
See All
Authentic (37)
Good for a Date (35)
Worth the Drive (32)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Spicy (28)
Bar Seating (26)
Good Vegetarian Options (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Romantic (22)
Fun (22)
Cozy (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Casual (17)
Healthy (14)
Outstanding Value (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Family Style (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
People Watching (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Great Beer (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Business Meals (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Live Music (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vegan (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dancing (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
658 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always an absolutely delightful exper ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

As always an absolutely delightful experience. From the friendly, welcoming & knowledgable service right through to the last (of too many) forkfuls. Every dish thoughtful, delicious and satisfying. Beautiful cocktail pairings give May a special edge up. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this olace. Exciting, different a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Loved this olace. Exciting, different and apparently authentic Thai menu. Better than virtually oll of the Thai restaurants we've been to. Also fascinating cocktail menu including a number that sounded great even though we hadn't heard of some of the ingredients. We went for the Chile pepper infused Margaritas--spicy and good. The fried watercress appetizer was different and outstanding. Main courses were also excellent. As an added treat, we were treated to a personal magic show by their multitalented owner/host.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific food soothing atmosphere love k ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Terrific food soothing atmosphere love karen and the entire staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is got to be the best restaurant on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is got to be the best restaurant on Vashon Island and the best Thai restaurant I've been to (and I've eaten all over the world). The place is so popular that service can be a bit slow. But the food is terrific, especially the pad thai with tofu (our favorite everywhere). Other dishes are great. We've been there many times and will continue to go there. Tnx/RSE

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Wonderful food, generous portions, frien ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful food, generous portions, friendly staff, quick service. A great dinner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best restaurant on Vashon Isla ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Still the best restaurant on Vashon Island. A good place to hide and chill out and forget about Donald Trump for a while!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

as always, it was wonderful, the staff i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2016

as always, it was wonderful, the staff is great and the food is the best Thai I have ever had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I lived in Thailand for 6 months and I h ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I lived in Thailand for 6 months and I had the best green curry of my life at may kitchen

Tags: Late-night Find, Family Style, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinary and innovative Thai food. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Extraordinary and innovative Thai food.

I'd be thrilled to find this quality in Seattle or Portland, but Vashon Island? Crazy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eaten here many times. The food is marve ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Eaten here many times. The food is marvelous. The service this time was a bit under par. Waiter seemed I'll prepared for the job. Couldn't hear him or understand him. Didn't relate the menu or options very well. Out of Thai ice tea and we were the first through the door upon opening. The piano music isn't appropriate. Makes it feel like just more noise. However, still the best Thai food in the Puget Sound area!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Waitress was a little slow on drinks and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Waitress was a little slow on drinks and forgot to put in one our dinner orders, but she took it off the tab and had a great personality. Food was FANTASTIC!! Have yet to experience anything 'mediocre' from May's!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Special Occasion, Spicy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Exceptional! We love that this caliber i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Exceptional! We love that this caliber if restaurant is on Vashon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a very special touch to your alread ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 3, 2016

What a very special touch to your already amazing offerings.

Thomas was such a surprise , a magical delight

thank you

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious as usual, and -- ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The food was delicious as usual, and -- as usual, we received kind, attentive service. I had mentioned in my reservation that it was my daughter's birthday, and they indeed gently celebrated her. We love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten there many times and it is ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We have eaten there many times and it is ALWAYS excellent, good food and warm and useful service

Tags: Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A meal at May's is consistently fabulous ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 27, 2016

A meal at May's is consistently fabulous. Delicious, generous and beautifully prepared meals. Yummy cocktails and robust wine/cider selections. The staff is always courteous, genuine and professional. And the ambience is time travel to a place of pleasure. We on Vashon are truly gifted with this unique and outstanding culinary delight.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Healthy, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a remarkable experience. Hidden fro ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2016

What a remarkable experience. Hidden from the street, you walk into a beautiful dining area.

The staff, from the hostess and everyone we encountered was charming and efficient.

And the food? Out of this world Thai. This is without a doubt the finest Thai dining experience I have ever had in the U.S. Unique and subtle dishes beautifully presented.

Can't say enough for this restaurant. We have already booked it for our next visit. Kudos!

Tags: Spicy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a local but I don't know of a bette ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I am a local but I don't know of a better Thai place. Everything is cooked fresh and great quality. Service is also great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, excellent food and service. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 20, 2016

As always, excellent food and service. This visit was with family, but I also like to go alone and have my dinner at the bar. Great spot for people-warching.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This restaurant is great the first sever ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 17, 2016

This restaurant is great the first several times but given that they do not feature specials or seasonal entries it gets old after repeated visits. There could be a better seating system especially because even with a reservation it takes awhile to be seated. Wine by the glass is overpriced and the amount of the pour is measured with what seems like obsessive precision. Big glass, small pour. Over the years, with their success, the portions seem smaller, the sauces seem more watery with less of each touted ingredient in each dish and more sauce. The wait staff seems like they are mostly yogi's looking for a night job--a little too mellow and laid back , but very Vashon Island.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Spicy, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

May Kitchen on Vashon Island, Washington ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

May Kitchen on Vashon Island, Washington is the best Thai restaurant I've been to in several years. The outside of the restaurant is nothing special but, when you open the door the Decour is authentic from Thailand and it makes you feel like you're actually in the country. The people who live on Vashon Island are very fortunate to have this five-star restaurant in their own backyard.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Spicy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

How could I say enough about how fabulou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

How could I say enough about how fabulous this little gem is?! Outstanding service, quality of food is extraordinary, lovely ambiance, everything just perfect...all this on a small, remote island!!! Could not have hoped for a better place to celebrate with our 7 person group!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Make a day of it and grab the ferry to V ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Make a day of it and grab the ferry to Vashon. Be sure you make reservations for dinner to insure a table at this unique and cozy establishment. Servers are knowledgeable, polite, and attentive without smothering you. For cocktails, I had the "hunt for the margarita" and my friend had the "spider oil" . Be sure to treat yourself - delicious! Phad Thai was served at the table, but all their offerings are beautifully presented. Lots of ummmms and ahhhhs. Although plenty full, don't miss creme bruele and coconut ice cream. Can't wait for another adventure!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

May kitchen is by far the best restauran ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 13, 2016

May kitchen is by far the best restaurant on the island, I have been there many times and the quality, quantity of the food is superb.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Spicy, Romantic, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and wonderful food. So ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great atmosphere and wonderful food. Sophisticated food combinations and interesting speciality cocktails for very memorable meals. Worth a reservation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Here's when I knew May's kitchen would b ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Here's when I knew May's kitchen would be great: when telling residents of vashon island that we were just visiting for the day, they told us to go to May's kitchen for dinner, unprovoked. Luckily we already had reservations for 10. One must order the pad thai there; they combine all the ingredients right in front of you. They killed it with the fried banana birthday dessert. And the service was fantastic. Would go back in a heart beat. highly recommend

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal staff, exceptional food, grea ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Phenomenal staff, exceptional food, great atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All of the decore from the walls to the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

All of the decore from the walls to the railings from the front door through the kitchen were imported from Thailand. If you're lucky May may take you on a tour herself. The service is outstanding and second only to the amazing menu and what may be the best Tai in the Seattle area. The drink menu has recently been upgraded with a selection of unique and delicious hand crafted choices. I highly recommend the spicy margarita - perhaps the best I've ever had. If you don't live on the island it's well worth the scenic ferry ride from Seattle for an evening getaway where you may for a minute forget you are in the Northwest.

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to May at least four times no ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We've been to May at least four times now, and each time it feels like the food gets better but the staffing gets worse. Servers are courteous but there is NO reason it should take 15 minutes to get acknowledged and get water (not exaggerating), 25 minutes to get our first drinks from the time of being seated (our reservation was after 7p), and feel constantly handed off without one consistent point of contact. The hostess had a tough time keeping the front door shut (making our food cool quickly once it was served, since we were near the door). We had a "main" server, another kind fellow who brought the pad Thai with a long spiel that makes the food cold in its duration, a young teen expo/busser, and another fellow who was first to our table to offer a magic trick - this is newer to the restaurant and it felt very gimmicky and outside of the dining experience. I feel like the restaurant is either chronically under-staffed or just not thoroughly trained in service. For example, if we want water, don't ask if we want more once the first glass runs out. Always keep that sucker full! When our forks are at 4 o'clock, and the food is nearly or all eaten, that is a good indicator that it's time to take the plates. Staffing and service aside, the food is phenomenal. Love the fried watercress, the curries, the pad Thai, the satay and the tropical cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Closing of winters Tale at seattle shake ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Closing of winters Tale at seattle shakes which starred our son and our grandson had cameo role so all six of us went to mays. Love this wonderful place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

May's is an outstanding restaurant that ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2016

May's is an outstanding restaurant that just happens to be at home, on Vashon! The food is beautifully presented, beautifully conceived and always surprising. I was upset when we sat for 30 minutes without service to finally discover that our ticket had been "lost". I know this happens, but no sir, not to me! This was a special dinner with friends departing on a long journey. After flagging down a server, we did get apologetic service, but it took the shine off of the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Once again we brought a guest who hadn't ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Once again we brought a guest who hadn't experienced May Kitchen, and once again everything was incredible. From being greeted our hostess, great service from Our waiter Caleb, to the best Thai food around, May Kitchen is consistent.....consistently amazing. If you haven't been there, go. If you have, bring someone who hasn't!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, per usual. Took another group of ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great, per usual. Took another group of friends to May's to introduce them, and they were impressed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I totally resent the waitstaff standing ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I totally resent the waitstaff standing at the table when guests are deep in discussion. Some things are private. They seem to think their desire to engage/interupt is more important than the diners desires/needs. All they need to do to ensure good service is to briefly approach the table...if they are ignored, they should be considerate enough to back away and leave people to their discussion. Stop by periodically, but don't expect acknowledgement if the diner finds himself trying to carry on a conversation without interruption.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Fantastic food the best Thai restaurant ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fantastic food the best Thai restaurant I have ever been to. Amazing great vibr

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been wondering about this restau ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We have been wondering about this restaurant for quite some time but have always felt a bit uncomfortable opening the doors. The front is heavily draped so it is a bit intimidating opening the door BUT we made a reservation so felt good to step on in and we are very glad we did! the food and atmosphere is wonderful. We will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love May. I've been a number of times ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We love May. I've been a number of times and am always impressed by how good the food is. Favorite dishes include Larb, Phad Kee Mao, Tom Ka Gai.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going here since they first ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I have been going here since they first opened, I think it's gone downhill and don't plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great ambience, service and food. The ap ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great ambience, service and food. The apps are so good here, especially the fresh spring rolls. The drinks are tasty and creative too. Love eating here.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Highly rated restaurant. We asked for t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Highly rated restaurant. We asked for the chef's choice, hoping for something special and unique since we are very familiar with cooking and eating Thai food. We received the simplest dishes, papaya salad, deep fried prawn, Pad Thai and a fried fish. It was unremarkable and we were disappointed. When we expressed our disappointment the very friendly server made no effort to remedy the situation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.