Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi

About May Kitchen + Bar

May Kitchen + Bar brings a taste of Thailand to Vashon Island, WA. From the 150 year old dark teak paneling to the hand crafted iron work, the interior whisks you away to another, more relaxed place. Sit down and begin your meal by enjoying an original cocktail carefully crafted to bring out the most flavor from exotic ingredients. Then consider the food. You will have to come back, because you will need to try everything at least once. May Chaleoy is renowned for her ability to bring out a depth and complexity of flavor in all your favorite Thai dishes. May's attention to detail and dedication to the authenticity of her food is clear after your first bite. Come see for yourself.

17614 Vashon Hwy SW
Vashon, WA 98070
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bank Rd SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 408-7196

Website:
http://www.maykitchen.com/

Public Transit:
The nearest transit stop is Vashon Hwy SW and SW Bank Rd. We are just south of the stop on the east side of the street.

Executive Chef:
May Chaleoy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout

May Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (54)
Good for a Date (46)
Creative Cuisine (45)
See All
Fit for Foodies (44)
Special Occasion (43)
Bar Seating (40)
Good Vegetarian Options (39)
Worth the Drive (39)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Romantic (35)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Spicy (33)
Casual (24)
Healthy (23)
Fun (21)
Cozy (20)
Family Style (18)
Hot Spot (14)
Good for Groups (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
People Watching (7)
Business Meals (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vegan (5)
Live Music (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Dancing (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
775 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Always a pleasure to dine at May Kitchen and Bar. I can always count in the fine staff, food and ambience I expect and enjoy. Bringing friends that have never been is a treat for us both as they are amazed by the evening's dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Our favorite place to dine on Vashon, May has options for me (vegan) and my meat-loving husband. We go here once a month for a date night and couldn't be more thrilled about it. The people are spectacular, the presentation is amazing, and the food is like no Thai food you've ever had. Simply the best.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a great place to eat. We go there every chance we can.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The noise level was too loud but everyone had fun and the food is just delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Wonderful- authentic Thai food, the Best Restaurant on Vashon Island!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Just simply amazing! Details matter here and it shows. Definitely one of the best, nay the best dinning experience I've had since I moved here.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food, as usual. Pacing was slightly slow, but not to an annoying degree, and different from usual. One of the few restaurants these days, it seems, where you can actually converse with your partner (i.e. the background music is not overwhelming).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Trout dish exceptional as are the lettuce rolls . Caleb is an attentive charming waiter. Beautiful atmosphere. Live piano can be too loud if seated at nearby table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food took 20 minutes to arrive on the table. The food was heavily overpriced.
I asked for more rice and was given red rice that I didn't ask for since they had no white rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

May's never disappoints, food wise. A destination Thai experience you have to work at (ferries and all) but well worth it. Plan a little tour of lovely Vashon Island to make it a special outing.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Consistently good food and service. Caleb, the waiter is very friendly, knowledgeable and professional.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Mays never ceases to please and surprise. The Thai menu has both traditional and unique items prepared in authentic style and masterfully presented. The service personnel are friendly and professional. And Tom, the house magician, is nonintrusive and amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food is excellent! Authentic with amazing ingredients. I look forward to each visit knowing I will enjoy the flavors. Make your reservations many days or weeks ahead for standard dinner times. They book up quickly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Jake our server was excellent! His recommendations on food choices were exactly what we were looking for. The banana dessert is worth going back to the island just for dessert.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Vegan, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Everything we had here was fantastic. I wanted everything on the menu. If you can go with 4 or more people I recommend it...you'll get to try more food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I love it. Really wish they were open for lunch! You must make reservations in advance.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food is always DELICIOUS!! I love the fresh rolls and rarely do I go without ordering at least this dish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Great food selection. service is excellent. Calvin our waiter is one of the best.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was really something - way beyond normal thai routine. Service was extremely warm and helpful - only gave it four stars because we were seated 30 minutes after reservation and we had to bolt to a ferry we were planning to catch. Even then, they gave us a drink gratis. Worth a ferry ride and a stroll through Vashon. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Really fantastic dinner, second time in a row. The service, in particular, deserved getting called out: wait staff take their time with each table at each interaction, to make sure the experience is great, recommending meals, suggesting pairings, and generally ensuring a good time. There food is terrific as well, seeming--to an American who has never been to Thailand anyway--thoroughly authentic. And tasty!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great meal as always. You can count on the food tasting wonderful and fresh and the bar offers great new twist' on old favorites.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Good variety of selections on the menu. Perfectly spiced and good portions. Server was cheerful and helpful, made our evening exceptional. Restaurant is small and time low/moderate noise level is not distracting. We go there often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Always amazing! Thanks a million! Delicious food, great ambiance, and entertainment!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Our Server, Kalib, was wonderful and just attentive enough. He knew the menu and was able to suggest several favorites which turned out to be very good

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Came with friends who hadnt eaten here before. Initially had 9:30 pm reservation that we were able to move earlier to 7:45 pm which worked out great. Food was fantastic as usual with excellent service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful experience! Best Thai food in the Seattle area

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My husband and I came to Vashon Island for a getaway and all the locals encouraged us to try this place out. Boy are we glad we did!! Absolutely amazing Thai!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Waiter was very helpful in selecting a menu.
The ability to pronounce the foods!
Explanation of different dishes was helpful
We did not pay the bill so I can not judge the fairness of the prince.
Hauband enjoyed the beer

Tags: Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was fine. Overrated. Not much chicken in the Tom ka soup. Red curry was fine. Not any better than what I've had at other thai restaurants. All in all, overrated and I wouldn't return.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food is fabulous, waitstaff wonderful. A delicious evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This is the best Thai food I have ever had. Not only is it a sweet little spot with tasty food, but also the servers are sincere and helpful, and the locals clearly love this place. I find it's really worth the ferry ride from West Seattle or Tacoma, especially for a birthday or other special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Spicy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Family Style, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We've never had a bad meal here - everything is so fresh and wonderful. The staff is trained very well and always very friendly and knowledgeable about every item on the menu. Will ALWAYS recommend this restaurant to anyone we meet.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food, great service and I really like the space. The only complaint I have is that the high stool type seats were a little awkward and the cushions on them moved around so both my friend and I lost ours trying to get into the seats. They were also rickety and my friend almost fell backwards in hers. Once you get seated though, everything is really good.

Tags: Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We were recommended by a friend who hadn't been there but heard really good things and it lived up to it in every way!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We had a lovely meal, more special than the average Thai restaurant. Everything tasted very fresh and the curry was especially unique and memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 20, 2017

As always May Kitchen was outstanding . We have always had wonderful food and drinks

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

In our wander around Vashon we asked the locals where to eat and they were unanimous that May was the place, and that you needed a reservation. We did a late dinner and it was lovely. The food was spicy and delicious, service with a smile and even the drinks were outstanding. Highly recommended!

Tags: Spicy, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

What an incredible night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service is always great and food and drinks are very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The best, most elegant Thai restaurant in Seattle. A destination. Those of us on Vashon are very lucky to have May here.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.