Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi

About May Kitchen + Bar

May Kitchen + Bar brings a taste of Thailand to Vashon Island, WA. From the 150 year old dark teak paneling to the hand crafted iron work, the interior whisks you away to another, more relaxed place. Sit down and begin your meal by enjoying an original cocktail carefully crafted to bring out the most flavor from exotic ingredients. Then consider the food. You will have to come back, because you will need to try everything at least once. May Chaleoy is renowned for her ability to bring out a depth and complexity of flavor in all your favorite Thai dishes. May's attention to detail and dedication to the authenticity of her food is clear after your first bite. Come see for yourself.

17614 Vashon Hwy SW
Vashon, WA 98070
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bank Rd SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 408-7196

Website:
http://www.maykitchen.com/

Public Transit:
The nearest transit stop is Vashon Hwy SW and SW Bank Rd. We are just south of the stop on the east side of the street.

Executive Chef:
May Chaleoy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout

May Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (53)
Good for a Date (51)
Creative Cuisine (51)
See All
Fit for Foodies (49)
Special Occasion (48)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Good Vegetarian Options (41)
Worth the Drive (39)
Bar Seating (35)
Spicy (35)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Romantic (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Casual (25)
Family Style (23)
Healthy (22)
Cozy (20)
Fun (17)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Seasonal (7)
People Watching (6)
Live Music (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vegan (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Business Meals (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
741 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

We were recommended by a friend who hadn't been there but heard really good things and it lived up to it in every way!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a lovely meal, more special than the average Thai restaurant. Everything tasted very fresh and the curry was especially unique and memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 20, 2017

As always May Kitchen was outstanding . We have always had wonderful food and drinks

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

In our wander around Vashon we asked the locals where to eat and they were unanimous that May was the place, and that you needed a reservation. We did a late dinner and it was lovely. The food was spicy and delicious, service with a smile and even the drinks were outstanding. Highly recommended!

Tags: Spicy, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

What an incredible night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service is always great and food and drinks are very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Best Thai food I ever had - everything was amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Good food and presentation. Staff was friendly and informative but not very available.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Both our dishes had chicken as protein. We felt the portions of chicken were small. My kabocha/ chicken dish was quite heavy on the sauce. Including a small bowl of rice in the price of these entrees would make the cost more satisfying, adding to their value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great service and outstanding appetizers, main dish and drinks. Will be back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Healthy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The place is a gem! The food is heaven in my mouth! It fills your tummy and your soul. The staff is wonderful and accommodating, they are all warm and kind people. We were surprised by oragamy and mind blowing magic that evening, which made the experience all the more special. Oh and do yourself a favor and get the fried bananas, you will not regret it!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 2, 2017

As always the overall experience was out standing. Our favorite restaurant on or off the Island

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 27, 2017

I have yet to be disappointed in this gem across the bay. Well-worth the 20min ferry ride and quick run up the hill. The special appetizer of the night, little spare ribs with a vibrant and tangy red dipping sauce were a great treat. The green curry (a go-to in our group) was just as tasty as we remembered. From the fresh rolls to the coconut-fried banana dessert, we were on a high the whole time. Hold our table, we'll be back soon!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The best Thai restaurant I have been to. Amazing from the moment you enter the room. So much attention to detail, from the decor to the dishes they serve. The cocktails are unique and super tasty too, and the night we went there even was someone playing the piano which added to the warm and welcoming atmosphere of the place. The staff is by far the friendliest I have encountered in a very long time. A perfect location for a perfect meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We love our visits to May. Always a pleasure. The food is KILLER and very reasonably priced! We usually enjoy our server, Caleb, and his care and attention. New staff addition Abby was our server on this visit, she was charming, knowledgeable and caring. Top notch visit, as always. We love you, May Kitchen + Bar!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Dancing, Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent food, wonderful service and beautiful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I love love love may kitchen, my husband and I go as often as we can we have never been unhappy, the staff treat you like family, or better. You won't leave hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was a disappointing night. Date night for us on Valentine's day. Lights were turned down too low to read the menus or even find our seats. We ordered appetizers that never came. We ordered the two specials of the night for our entrees to share. Steak was really tough and hard to eat; and the trout was OK, but hard to see in the darkness. Dessert was a bust. Overall a disappointment for what we expected. This is our second poor meal at May's after a couple really delightful meals before then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

May's Kitchen is always perfectly exquisite. Food is "...a party in your mouth."
Valentine's Day: candle light, a long-stem rose, a delightful magician quietly roaming,
Perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Some of the best Thai food in the region. If you don't live on Vashon Island, it's worth the trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Exceptional Thai food as always! Great staff and venue....not to be missed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I wish I could give six stars for the service and the food!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Spicy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Yum. Feels like you are transported to a secret vacation land.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Best restaurant in the area. I have already enthusiastically recommended it to others.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great, as always. Delicious meal, warm atmosphere. Friendly staff. Very reasonable prices. Always have had a beautiful meal there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Thai food doesn't get any better than this. Don't feel like you need to venture away from the standard Pad Thai here. May's version of this classic raises the bar for this dish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

On this quiet January Sunday evening we enjoyed friendly attentive service, delicious food and a very relaxed and leisurely meal. The live piano music was a bonus!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This is my 4th time at Mays and it has consistently been incredible. We had a glorious time, loved the live piano player.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A meal at Mays never disappoints. So good from start to finish.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

we would have liked to have our cocktails before dinner arrived, maybe a couple more wine-by-the-glass options. but overall, great food and atmosphere

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Nice dinner with friends. No problem for wheelchair user. Very crowded. Reservations required. Had wait for food. Excellent food worth the wait!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always fabulous, delicious and caringly friendly!! Thanks May!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Beautiful decor, amazing food, excellent service. We came to celebrate and without the server or hostess knowing such, we were still treated wonderfully. Food is outstanding and flavorful. We had to change our reservation time and the hostess was really helpful to us. Thank you again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fabulous Thai cuisine tucked away on Vashon. The pad thai was mixed table side with an explanation of the flavors of the ingredients. Great idea and great taste! The short rib appetizer, coconut curry and pad thai dishes were sensational! Two thumbs up from this critic!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had a reservation for 7 but showed up with 8 and they accomodated immediately. The food was super tasty. They accomdated food allergies,with no problem. One of the best Thai places I've been too in WA. Our waiter and the supporting staff were on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Always to best!! We live on Vashon and consider May's our go-to dining experience for celebrations, out-of-town guests, and our own quiet dinners. The service is always gracious and timely! The food is exquisite......we have ever eaten every time we are there!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The menu is exceptional. Many of the dishes offered are not available at most Thai restaurants. Highly recommended the dining experience, and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best Thai food in existence. Staff is phenomenal. Best food on Vashon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Casual, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Healthy, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Had heard good things about May's, so expectations were high. I wasn't disappointed, to the contrary. Best Thai food I've ever had and drinks delish. Service was attentive, pleasant and personable. Loved the ambience and decor, definitely not the last time I've dined at May's!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

May's service and food are wonderful. Love meeting friends there and dining on delicious and creatives dishes! The drinks are varied and creative. Thank you May's! We will be back, over and over.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.