About May Kitchen + Bar

17614 Vashon Hwy SW
Vashon, WA 98070
View Larger Map

May Kitchen + Bar brings a taste of Thailand to Vashon Island, WA. From the 150 year old dark teak paneling to the hand crafted iron work, the interior whisks you away to another, more relaxed place. Sit down and begin your meal by enjoying an original cocktail carefully crafted to bring out the most flavor from exotic ingredients. Then consider the food. You will have to come back, because you will need to try everything at least once. May Chaleoy is renowned for her ability to bring out a depth and complexity of flavor in all your favorite Thai dishes. May's attention to detail and dedication to the authenticity of her food is clear after your first bite. Come see for yourself.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bank Rd SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 408-7196

Website:
http://www.maykitchen.com/

Public Transit:
The nearest transit stop is Vashon Hwy SW and SW Bank Rd. We are just south of the stop on the east side of the street.

Executive Chef:
May Chaleoy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout

Restaurant Photos

  • Deconstructed Phad Thai
  • Phad Prik Khing
  • Goong choop bang taud
  • Papia Phak Sot (Spring Rolls)
Deconstructed Phad Thai
Phad Prik Khing
Goong choop bang taud
Papia Phak Sot (Spring Rolls)

May Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Food
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Value
Seattle / Eastern Washington
7 More
Best Overall
South of Seattle
Best Food
South of Seattle
Best Service
South of Seattle
Best Ambiance
South of Seattle
Best Value
South of Seattle
Special Occasion
South of Seattle
Most Booked
South of Seattle
Best Restaurants in Vashon ›

fit for foodies (85)
special occasion (74)
neighborhood gem (74)
See All
romantic (39)
good for groups (30)
hot spot (27)
vibrant bar scene (17)
notable wine list (14)
kid-friendly (11)
late-night find (6)
great for lunch (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
584 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food here is fantastic. I particula ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food here is fantastic. I particularly like all the appetizers and the watercress is super delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

If you're on Vashon you have to try this ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 3 days ago

If you're on Vashon you have to try this place. Their storefront has absolutely no markings or indication that there's a business of any kind inside, and yet, it was packed (I highly recommend reservations). So their business is entirely word-of-mouth and the word is unanimous (5 stars after ~500 reviews online).

I want to go back several times and sample more of the menu. Every plate that walked by caught our interest. My gf and I got an appetizer and THREE entrees to share, and I wish we could have tried another without bursting at the seams.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

May Kitchen is always impressive and nev ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 4 days ago

May Kitchen is always impressive and never disappoints. Beautiful atmosphere, friendly service and familiar faces with their staff, and to top it all off - the food is ridiculously good - best Thai food I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our drinks sat on the bar for several mi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our drinks sat on the bar for several minutes. Finally my husband went to get them. When the waitress discovered what happened all she said was "thank you". Many had rave reviews, however our appetizer and entrees were "ho-hum". We have had much better in Eugene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Ate at May's and it was phenomenal again ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

Ate at May's and it was phenomenal again. I eat there every month or so and it always is spot on! Best Thai food I've eaten outside of Thailand. Can't wait for the next time! Make sure you make reservations, it's always packed!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time I've eaten here, both were f ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Second time I've eaten here, both were fantastic. Both the food and service were amazing. i can't say enough about the flavoring of each dish. I have told lots of people that they need to go to Vashon Island to have the best Thai food I've had!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super slow service during festival weeke ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Super slow service during festival weekend. Not a normal experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The food at May's is outstanding. The c ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food at May's is outstanding. The cocktails are also outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always May Kitchen has wonderful food ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

As always May Kitchen has wonderful food and great ambiance

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was so impressed with the customer ser ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I was so impressed with the customer service. There was live piano. Everything was wonderful. Check it out!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing and scrumptious find on beaut ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

An amazing and scrumptious find on beautiful Vashon Island. Reservations must be made in advance, especially during the busy seasons. All of the entrees were delicious, and the Pad Thai was constructed right at the table on a banana leaf.

We had a little bit of difficulty finding the place since there was no sign at all, but the picture on the website helped, just look for the elephants:-)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mays was delicious. The restaurant was v ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Mays was delicious. The restaurant was very interesting and had a lively vibe with people celebrating all around us. Óur waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly. The wine by the glass was the only surprise, didn't know why so expensive, but they must have their reasons. Very enjoyable experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

May Kitchen is a unique gem on Vashon Is ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

May Kitchen is a unique gem on Vashon Island. The spices are creative and distinguished, but also highly palatable. Despite being very busy, the service was attentive without being invasive. They have a wide selection of wines and a full bar. To me, it's the best restaurant on Vashon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The best Thai food I've ever had statesi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The best Thai food I've ever had stateside. As a celiac, I felt very comfortable eating their gluten free options as their staff is highly trained on the subject. Already planning a return visit next week!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always. Looking forward to c ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fabulous as always. Looking forward to coming back ewhen next in town

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live in Vashon and have been at May's ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We live in Vashon and have been at May's several times. Every time we go we order one of our favorites and then always something new. We have never been disappointed. The service is excellent, except when the place is packed and then turns a bit slower. I don't think that it is a place for larger groups that tend to be noisy, because the place is small and then listening to the people you are with becomes almost impossible.

It would be nice, given that in general it is full if it could be a bit cooler.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful Thai restaurant! Very origina ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Wonderful Thai restaurant! Very original and creative. The waitress was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at May is always great. The pro ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food at May is always great. The problem is that they are understaffed. Service was spotty. It wasn't the servers fault though, he was covering most of the restaurant. He just had too much to do. This is a problem for management. Management should appropriately staff the restaurant so that they can be attentive to diners.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

This has become a favorite place to take ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This has become a favorite place to take out of town guests that loves and appreciate great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always excellent. Specials and good dri ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Always excellent. Specials and good drinks make for a new experience every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went here with a few friends for dinne ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I went here with a few friends for dinner. We had a great time and the meal was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great spot to get together w ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food, great spot to get together with friends! Always consistent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent every time.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great prices, good food, always have leftovers, excellent service. Had chicken curry and phad thai. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at May Kitchen

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Our friends' first time at May Kitchen. The cocktail list is very innovative - with spirits distilled on Vashon - I tried the cocktail made with local gin - awesome. Fried watercress and veg spring rolls still very tasty. Phad Thai was mouthwatering as was the eggplant dish. The ladies loved the chocolate lava cake for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and ambiance

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Absolutely terrific. The menu is interesting and intriguing. The cocktails are out of this world! Inventive and gorgeous. We loved our meal. The whole flash fried trout with papaya salad was one of the most delicious thing I've had. Ever. Ambiance is fabulous. Service is warm and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well worth the ferry ride, you won't be ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Well worth the ferry ride, you won't be disappointed. Best Thai food I've ever had,this was my second time the restaurant the waitstaff the food fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Destination Thai Restaurant

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Three Seattle friends with whom we had been in a gourmet dinner group (for nearly 40 years) came over to Vashon Island after much prodding on our part to experience May Kitchen. After being shown to our table, Caleb, the maitre 'd/manager came over and greeted us warmly. When asked how we wanted to order, I said, "We want to be pampered." Be careful what you ask for! Our only specific requests were to have him choose wine pairings, and - my wife's favorite - one dish had to be their amazing Pad Thai. First out was a nice chilled bottle of Prosecco to start out the evening. Next up was a mixed appetizer platter with five different items, each with its own dipping sauce. Then came two different soups, one with a coconut milk base and one with a lemongrass broth...different levels of heat and both wonderful. These were followed with several entree items to try: wide noodles with egg, holy basil and beef, two Pad Thai's (one shrimp, one chicken) assembled at table with sprouts, lime, chili, ground peanuts and banana flowers (!). Just before our dessert of deep fried plantain bananas and coconut ice cream, Caleb brought us a sort of "digestif" of Amaretto with sparkling water and lime. Wine pairings with each course were excellent. May Kitchen fronts on the main street through town, about a half block south of the intersection, with no sign. Unless you happen to glance up at the top of the building and notice the two large carved elephants (one brown and one black, for some reason), it is easy to overlook. The windows are covered with mix and match ethnic print fabric panels, and when you go through the entry area, you arrive in another world. The walls and columns are built from a teak room that was disassembled in Thailand, shipped over and reassembled here. The place is full, and there is a lot of energy. You know you are in a special place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't wait to return to try more outst ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I can't wait to return to try more outstanding Thai dishes! The food was wonderful and the waiter was very clear with respect to what each dish would be and also recommended dishes that go together better than others. Very good choice of beers and wine. Treat yourself to dinner at May's!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was everything we had heard it was. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

It was everything we had heard it was. The food had an unusual twist to Thai food

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappoints

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

It is always a treat to eat at May's Kitchen. Staff is warm, welcoming, attentive; ambiance is another world, food and drink are superb. So grateful that a place like this exists on our island! We always take home the sauces left from our entrees and build a next-day meal around them -- everything is *that good*.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

May Kitchen is always a fantastic dining ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

May Kitchen is always a fantastic dining experience! It never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but little room

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

The food was great. We had a reservation for five and the only seating was for four max. It was cramped but overall it was a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

They took great of us for our anniversar ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

They took great of us for our anniversary dinner. The interior is enchanting and the staff were really thoughtful and caring.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we go to May's it just gets b ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Every time we go to May's it just gets better and better! The waitstaff are like a finely oiled machine. They recommended a dish that wasn't even on the menu and it was superb!! We had an assortment of gelato ice creams for dessert. The ginger spice was amazing!! May's is awesome!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated right away. The bussers a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We were seated right away. The bussers and waiter were very attentive to our needs. The food is always outstanding. We each had the special of the evening and weren't disappointed. The amount of food is perfect, we take some home to eat the next day! The only disappointment was they were out of gift certificates, we had to make another trip to the restaurant to pick up the certificate.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The best Thai food ever! From cocktails ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The best Thai food ever! From cocktails to appetizers to entrees, all deliciously prepared and served with style. Even standard Thai dishes, like phad thai and fresh rolls, are elevated and unique. And ask your wait staff to pronounce the un-pronouncable name of the cashew entree for you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Thai food I've ever eaten

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

May's Kitchen is a Vashon staple. I hope it stays forever. We have yet to order a dish that was disappointing, and most are the best we've had. The curries are truly outstanding, the pad thai unique and mixed at your table, and the stir fries have great variety and incredible fresh vegetables. The bartender is also top notch, probably trained in Seattle, NY or some other city. My favorite is the Smokey Manhattan, which is smoked with a burnt cedar chip under the glass. Out of 4 trips, we had one night mediocre service where orders were incorrect or beverages didn't arrive, but on the whole that seems unusual. Whenever we're on Vashon we make it a point to stop here! Best to get reservations ahead of time because this place fills up!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The best Thai food anywhere

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food, the extensive wine list and service are the finest example of a dining experience anywhere, right here on Vashon Island. This place is a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food we have had there yet. However ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Best food we have had there yet. However seating is crowded.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Top notch restaurant

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Fabulous food, great service and ambiance. Serious next level Thai food. Even the presentation was beautiful. Sadly, my wife and I had to take turns scarfing our food in turns while we entertained our somewhat irritable and tired toddler. The owner or manager let us go into the kitchen and watch the cooking and the whole staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating. We had been trying to get over to this restaurant for 2 years and so glad we finally did. Next time, we will be sure to get a nanny!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.