About May Kitchen + Bar

17614 Vashon Hwy SW
Vashon, WA 98070
View Larger Map

May Kitchen + Bar brings a taste of Thailand to Vashon Island, WA. From the 150 year old dark teak paneling to the hand crafted iron work, the interior whisks you away to another, more relaxed place. Sit down and begin your meal by enjoying an original cocktail carefully crafted to bring out the most flavor from exotic ingredients. Then consider the food. You will have to come back, because you will need to try everything at least once. May Chaleoy is renowned for her ability to bring out a depth and complexity of flavor in all your favorite Thai dishes. May's attention to detail and dedication to the authenticity of her food is clear after your first bite. Come see for yourself.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bank Rd SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 408-7196

Website:
http://www.maykitchen.com/

Public Transit:
The nearest transit stop is Vashon Hwy SW and SW Bank Rd. We are just south of the stop on the east side of the street.

Executive Chef:
May Chaleoy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout

Restaurant Photos

  • Deconstructed Phad Thai
  • Phad Prik Khing
  • Goong choop bang taud
  • Papia Phak Sot (Spring Rolls)
Deconstructed Phad Thai
Phad Prik Khing
Goong choop bang taud
Papia Phak Sot (Spring Rolls)

May Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Ambiance
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Value
Seattle / Eastern Washington
8 More
Fit for Foodies
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Neighborhood Gem
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
South of Seattle
Best Food
South of Seattle
Best Service
South of Seattle
Best Ambiance
South of Seattle
Best Value
South of Seattle
Most Booked
South of Seattle
Best Restaurants in Vashon ›

fit for foodies (75)
special occasion (68)
neighborhood gem (68)
See All
romantic (37)
good for groups (27)
hot spot (26)
vibrant bar scene (14)
notable wine list (11)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (6)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
564 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I went here with a few friends for dinne ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I went here with a few friends for dinner. We had a great time and the meal was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great spot to get together w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food, great spot to get together with friends! Always consistent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent every time.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great prices, good food, always have leftovers, excellent service. Had chicken curry and phad thai. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at May Kitchen

Dined on June 9, 2016

Our friends' first time at May Kitchen. The cocktail list is very innovative - with spirits distilled on Vashon - I tried the cocktail made with local gin - awesome. Fried watercress and veg spring rolls still very tasty. Phad Thai was mouthwatering as was the eggplant dish. The ladies loved the chocolate lava cake for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and ambiance

Dined on June 3, 2016

Absolutely terrific. The menu is interesting and intriguing. The cocktails are out of this world! Inventive and gorgeous. We loved our meal. The whole flash fried trout with papaya salad was one of the most delicious thing I've had. Ever. Ambiance is fabulous. Service is warm and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Well worth the ferry ride, you won't be ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Well worth the ferry ride, you won't be disappointed. Best Thai food I've ever had,this was my second time the restaurant the waitstaff the food fabulous

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Destination Thai Restaurant

Dined on May 28, 2016

Three Seattle friends with whom we had been in a gourmet dinner group (for nearly 40 years) came over to Vashon Island after much prodding on our part to experience May Kitchen. After being shown to our table, Caleb, the maitre 'd/manager came over and greeted us warmly. When asked how we wanted to order, I said, "We want to be pampered." Be careful what you ask for! Our only specific requests were to have him choose wine pairings, and - my wife's favorite - one dish had to be their amazing Pad Thai. First out was a nice chilled bottle of Prosecco to start out the evening. Next up was a mixed appetizer platter with five different items, each with its own dipping sauce. Then came two different soups, one with a coconut milk base and one with a lemongrass broth...different levels of heat and both wonderful. These were followed with several entree items to try: wide noodles with egg, holy basil and beef, two Pad Thai's (one shrimp, one chicken) assembled at table with sprouts, lime, chili, ground peanuts and banana flowers (!). Just before our dessert of deep fried plantain bananas and coconut ice cream, Caleb brought us a sort of "digestif" of Amaretto with sparkling water and lime. Wine pairings with each course were excellent. May Kitchen fronts on the main street through town, about a half block south of the intersection, with no sign. Unless you happen to glance up at the top of the building and notice the two large carved elephants (one brown and one black, for some reason), it is easy to overlook. The windows are covered with mix and match ethnic print fabric panels, and when you go through the entry area, you arrive in another world. The walls and columns are built from a teak room that was disassembled in Thailand, shipped over and reassembled here. The place is full, and there is a lot of energy. You know you are in a special place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't wait to return to try more outst ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

I can't wait to return to try more outstanding Thai dishes! The food was wonderful and the waiter was very clear with respect to what each dish would be and also recommended dishes that go together better than others. Very good choice of beers and wine. Treat yourself to dinner at May's!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was everything we had heard it was. ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

It was everything we had heard it was. The food had an unusual twist to Thai food

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappoints

Dined on May 23, 2016

It is always a treat to eat at May's Kitchen. Staff is warm, welcoming, attentive; ambiance is another world, food and drink are superb. So grateful that a place like this exists on our island! We always take home the sauces left from our entrees and build a next-day meal around them -- everything is *that good*.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

May Kitchen is always a fantastic dining ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

May Kitchen is always a fantastic dining experience! It never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food but little room

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food was great. We had a reservation for five and the only seating was for four max. It was cramped but overall it was a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They took great of us for our anniversar ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

They took great of us for our anniversary dinner. The interior is enchanting and the staff were really thoughtful and caring.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we go to May's it just gets b ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Every time we go to May's it just gets better and better! The waitstaff are like a finely oiled machine. They recommended a dish that wasn't even on the menu and it was superb!! We had an assortment of gelato ice creams for dessert. The ginger spice was amazing!! May's is awesome!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We were seated right away. The bussers a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were seated right away. The bussers and waiter were very attentive to our needs. The food is always outstanding. We each had the special of the evening and weren't disappointed. The amount of food is perfect, we take some home to eat the next day! The only disappointment was they were out of gift certificates, we had to make another trip to the restaurant to pick up the certificate.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The best Thai food ever! From cocktails ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The best Thai food ever! From cocktails to appetizers to entrees, all deliciously prepared and served with style. Even standard Thai dishes, like phad thai and fresh rolls, are elevated and unique. And ask your wait staff to pronounce the un-pronouncable name of the cashew entree for you!

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Best Thai food I've ever eaten

Dined on May 12, 2016

May's Kitchen is a Vashon staple. I hope it stays forever. We have yet to order a dish that was disappointing, and most are the best we've had. The curries are truly outstanding, the pad thai unique and mixed at your table, and the stir fries have great variety and incredible fresh vegetables. The bartender is also top notch, probably trained in Seattle, NY or some other city. My favorite is the Smokey Manhattan, which is smoked with a burnt cedar chip under the glass. Out of 4 trips, we had one night mediocre service where orders were incorrect or beverages didn't arrive, but on the whole that seems unusual. Whenever we're on Vashon we make it a point to stop here! Best to get reservations ahead of time because this place fills up!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Thai food anywhere

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food, the extensive wine list and service are the finest example of a dining experience anywhere, right here on Vashon Island. This place is a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Best food we have had there yet. However ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Best food we have had there yet. However seating is crowded.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch restaurant

Dined on May 2, 2016

Fabulous food, great service and ambiance. Serious next level Thai food. Even the presentation was beautiful. Sadly, my wife and I had to take turns scarfing our food in turns while we entertained our somewhat irritable and tired toddler. The owner or manager let us go into the kitchen and watch the cooking and the whole staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating. We had been trying to get over to this restaurant for 2 years and so glad we finally did. Next time, we will be sure to get a nanny!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite food and staff!

Dined on April 30, 2016

One of the best meals I have eaten. The staff was incredibly nice and super informative about all the food. This place has amazing food and a great atmosphere, very relaxing and down to earth. Everything down to the napkins which were hand sewn was impeccable. HIGHLY recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I crave this restaurant's food!

Dined on April 29, 2016

This restaurant has superb food. The tom ka soup is the best I have eaten. I have been to Thailand on two separate occasions and this soup is better than what I ate there. I could eat it every day of the week! I had the pad thai with prawns. This entree is assembled at your table and us a treat to watch. The diner is asked how spicy they want their pad thai and just the right amount of spice is added. Servings are generous so a "to go" box finishes off my meal each time I eat here. Yum, yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a wonderful place! As indicated, ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

This is a wonderful place! As indicated, I rate it tops on all parameters. Staff is very friendly, and the food is unlike any other Thai restaurant - in a class by itself.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical Evening

Dined on April 24, 2016

I celebrated my birthday at May Kitchen and Bar with my husband and another couple. From the beginning, we were impressed by the very personal service and attention we received. Everything we ordered was over the top in terms of flavor, freshness, and unique preparation. We especially enjoyed the watercress appetizer. It was light and crunchy with a wonderful dipping sauce. The server was attentive but allowed us to leisurely enjoy the meal. It all added up to a magical evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with friends

Dined on April 23, 2016

We were visiting Vashon Island for the weekend with friends and were told about May's by some locals. We made reservations and hoped the experience lived up to the hype. We were not disappointed. On first glance, we were intrigued by the decor. Classic "don't judge a book by the cover". The outside of the restaurant doesn't begin to represent the treasure inside. We were told May brought, from Thailand, each beautiful board covering the walls in her restaurant. The wood is dark, rich and detailed. It gave off a feeling of warmth. We were greeted by our waiter who was more than happy to share May's story with us. Since our reservations (a must have) were at 5:00, when they opened, he had his hands full with the influx of patrons but we never felt rushed by him. We ordered a delicious bottle of wine from a local winery called Palouse which prompted us to visit their tasting room the next day. The guys ordered a "May"Tai and a smoked martini both of which we were told were delicious. We shared the crispy prawns with a tai chili dip and the lightly breaded greens that came with a coconut dipping sauce. Fantastic play on textures. For dinner we decided to eat family style. We enjoyed the Pad Tai which was semi prepared table side, a chicken and vegetable dish in sweet and sour sauce and a beef and potato dish served in a tasty gravy ( it was one if the specials of the night). Everything was tremendous and there was nothing left on our plates. We had no room for dessert. When our waiter came by near the end of our night, we asked if we could meet May. We were told she was very shy and would not come out. We were allowed to visit her in the kitchen which was such a treat. We gushed over her food and took a group picture with her. Such a fun evening. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Something went wrong

Dined on April 22, 2016

I've loved this place, but something has happened. The quality of ingredients tasted like the source was yesterday costco, and the fresh spiciness I was looking forward to seemed watered down and sweetened. Maybe there is a new chef in training. If so, s/he needs some support.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

yum!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Everything was delicious. My husband and I have now been to May's 4 times. Each time it is a treat. Love the phad see-yew with mushrooms (I have no idea how to spell it!) and the watercress appetizer is so special. My husband loved the green papaya salad. And a half order of the banana with coconut ice cream was perfect to share (there were 4 of us). Our guests really enjoyed their meals as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Thai food in the northwest! Servic ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Best Thai food in the northwest! Service was great! We having dined at May Kitchen many times, and have never been disappointed about anything....,other than not living on Vashon so we eat st May's more often!

food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Food is always outstanding

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food is probably the best Thai food on the west coast. Service was extremely slow.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service - fantastic Phad Thai and ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great service - fantastic Phad Thai and fresh rolls.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Thai Food in WA!

Dined on March 20, 2016

May's Thai restaurant on Vashon is by far, hands down, the best Thai food we've had. Ever

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual, the experience was top notch.

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food is well presented and delicious. Service was great in spite of them being short a worker that night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good, pleasant service

Dined on March 12, 2016

Although a bit heavy on the fish sauce, the food was good, and the wait staff pleasant. We will return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, Exotic, Magica

Dined on March 10, 2016

I took a friend out to thank her for an act of remarkable generosity. May Kitchen was like a taste of Paradise, truly a fine reward. With a relaxing May Thai drink, the visit of a magician to carry us into Wonderland, and a delicious meal with exquisite fried banana/toasted coconut dessert, we were utterly transported. Please convey heartfelt thanks to Caleb and to Tom the magician.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Great Food, Slow Service.

Dined on March 3, 2016

My friend and I arrived at 6:45. We waited over a half hour before we were served wine. Then our order was taken and lost. Tow hours later, we had no food. Our server apologized and made our bottle of wine on the house. It was clear that there wasn't enough staff to handle thee crowd. The staff all seemed to be working hard. As always, the food was excellent- best on the island.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as usual

Dined on February 28, 2016

May's is reliably delicious with wonderful atmosphere and distinct service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on February 25, 2016

May restaurant is fantastic! The decor is gorgeous. Service is great.The waitpersons are extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of the food, which is some of the best ever. Thanks to this place, we Vashon Islanders don't have to leave the island for great food. Not just great Thai food, but great food overall. I would definitely recommend May restaurant to anyone, as a matter of fact, I have!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Yum!

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Our third trip to May's and our second time with the same great server. Excellent service, delicious dishes, and a great place to bring a guest!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice for Valentines

Dined on February 15, 2016

Went here for Valentines dinner. I had the egg plant dish, which was awesome as usual. My wife had the special yellow curry, also very tasty!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's all true

Dined on February 15, 2016

All the great reviews are true. May is terrific. As islanders, we're spoiled. If you're on the mainland, hop the ferry to Vashon for dinner. You'll be glad you did.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.