About May Kitchen + Bar

17614 Vashon Hwy SW
Vashon, WA 98070
View Larger Map

May Kitchen + Bar brings a taste of Thailand to Vashon Island, WA. From the 150 year old dark teak paneling to the hand crafted iron work, the interior whisks you away to another, more relaxed place. Sit down and begin your meal by enjoying an original cocktail carefully crafted to bring out the most flavor from exotic ingredients. Then consider the food. You will have to come back, because you will need to try everything at least once. May Chaleoy is renowned for her ability to bring out a depth and complexity of flavor in all your favorite Thai dishes. May's attention to detail and dedication to the authenticity of her food is clear after your first bite. Come see for yourself.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bank Rd SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 408-7196

Website:
http://www.maykitchen.com/

Public Transit:
The nearest transit stop is Vashon Hwy SW and SW Bank Rd. We are just south of the stop on the east side of the street.

Executive Chef:
May Chaleoy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout

May Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (43)
Creative Cuisine (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (38)
Authentic (38)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Romantic (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Bar Seating (31)
Spicy (31)
Good Vegetarian Options (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Family Style (21)
Cozy (20)
Casual (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Fun (16)
Healthy (16)
Outstanding Value (13)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Seasonal (6)
Live Music (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Business Meals (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
724 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love love love may kitchen, my husband ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

I love love love may kitchen, my husband and I go as often as we can we have never been unhappy, the staff treat you like family, or better. You won't leave hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a disappointing night. Date nigh ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a disappointing night. Date night for us on Valentine's day. Lights were turned down too low to read the menus or even find our seats. We ordered appetizers that never came. We ordered the two specials of the night for our entrees to share. Steak was really tough and hard to eat; and the trout was OK, but hard to see in the darkness. Dessert was a bust. Overall a disappointment for what we expected. This is our second poor meal at May's after a couple really delightful meals before then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

May's Kitchen is always perfectly exquis ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

May's Kitchen is always perfectly exquisite. Food is "...a party in your mouth."

Valentine's Day: candle light, a long-stem rose, a delightful magician quietly roaming,

Perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best Thai food in the region ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Some of the best Thai food in the region. If you don't live on Vashon Island, it's worth the trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceptional Thai food as always! Great ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Exceptional Thai food as always! Great staff and venue....not to be missed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, , People Watching, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish I could give six stars for the se ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I wish I could give six stars for the service and the food!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Spicy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum. Feels like you are transported to ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Yum. Feels like you are transported to a secret vacation land.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in the area. I have alr ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Best restaurant in the area. I have already enthusiastically recommended it to others.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, as always. Delicious meal, warm a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great, as always. Delicious meal, warm atmosphere. Friendly staff. Very reasonable prices. Always have had a beautiful meal there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thai food doesn't get any better than th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Thai food doesn't get any better than this. Don't feel like you need to venture away from the standard Pad Thai here. May's version of this classic raises the bar for this dish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On this quiet January Sunday evening we ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

On this quiet January Sunday evening we enjoyed friendly attentive service, delicious food and a very relaxed and leisurely meal. The live piano music was a bonus!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my 4th time at Mays and it has c ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This is my 4th time at Mays and it has consistently been incredible. We had a glorious time, loved the live piano player.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A meal at Mays never disappoints. So go ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A meal at Mays never disappoints. So good from start to finish.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

we would have liked to have our cocktail ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

we would have liked to have our cocktails before dinner arrived, maybe a couple more wine-by-the-glass options. but overall, great food and atmosphere

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice dinner with friends. No problem for ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Nice dinner with friends. No problem for wheelchair user. Very crowded. Reservations required. Had wait for food. Excellent food worth the wait!

Tags: Worth the Drive, , Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always fabulous, delicious and caringly ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always fabulous, delicious and caringly friendly!! Thanks May!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful decor, amazing food, excellent ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Beautiful decor, amazing food, excellent service. We came to celebrate and without the server or hostess knowing such, we were still treated wonderfully. Food is outstanding and flavorful. We had to change our reservation time and the hostess was really helpful to us. Thank you again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Thai cuisine tucked away on Vas ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fabulous Thai cuisine tucked away on Vashon. The pad thai was mixed table side with an explanation of the flavors of the ingredients. Great idea and great taste! The short rib appetizer, coconut curry and pad thai dishes were sensational! Two thumbs up from this critic!

Tags: , Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We had a reservation for 7 but showed up ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had a reservation for 7 but showed up with 8 and they accomodated immediately. The food was super tasty. They accomdated food allergies,with no problem. One of the best Thai places I've been too in WA. Our waiter and the supporting staff were on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always to best!! We live on Vashon and c ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Always to best!! We live on Vashon and consider May's our go-to dining experience for celebrations, out-of-town guests, and our own quiet dinners. The service is always gracious and timely! The food is exquisite......we have ever eaten every time we are there!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, , Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu is exceptional. Many of the dis ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The menu is exceptional. Many of the dishes offered are not available at most Thai restaurants. Highly recommended the dining experience, and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Thai food in existence. Staff is ph ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best Thai food in existence. Staff is phenomenal. Best food on Vashon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Casual, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Healthy, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had heard good things about May's, so ex ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Had heard good things about May's, so expectations were high. I wasn't disappointed, to the contrary. Best Thai food I've ever had and drinks delish. Service was attentive, pleasant and personable. Loved the ambience and decor, definitely not the last time I've dined at May's!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

May's service and food are wonderful. L ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

May's service and food are wonderful. Love meeting friends there and dining on delicious and creatives dishes! The drinks are varied and creative. Thank you May's! We will be back, over and over.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was perfect! Always hard to de ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food was perfect! Always hard to decide - but fun when a group is willing to share tastes for ideas for next time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Family Style, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Green Curry was amazing. margarita was v ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Green Curry was amazing. margarita was very good not to sweet. pork skewers were a little tough. we will definitely be back I'm thinking yum neua next time. Thank you for a very nice dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Some of the best Thai food I've ever had ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Some of the best Thai food I've ever had. Lovely service, lively pianist, gorgeous decor. Delicious food. Perfect cocktails. 4.5 stars. It was a special evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Fun, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We frequent May's Kitchen for all our "s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We frequent May's Kitchen for all our "special" occasions such as wedding anniversaries, birthdays and the like. The ambiance and good food and friendly service is how we remember the experience every time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands-down the best Thai food I've ever ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Hands-down the best Thai food I've ever had! Excellent service and atmosphere.

Tags: Spicy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second visit after being blo ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is our second visit after being blown away our first time. Our second visit didn't disappoint.

What wonderful food and service. From the warm greeting from the hostess to a real pro waiter,

Caleb, we couldn't have been happier.

The attention to detail is remarkable. A wonderful experience that I highly recommend!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food at May's was excellen ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

As always the food at May's was excellent, and Karen was an excellent waitress, even though she had forgotten my name.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It always exceeds our expectations: I ta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It always exceeds our expectations: I take friends & family there when they visit and we regularly celebrate special events there. It is well known as THE best Thai restaurant in Seattle (even though it is located on Vashon Island). Look for the 2 elephants on the roof as there is no sign, but inside lies a magical Thai world of hospitality, fine food and service.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love May's - and it was very ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We always love May's - and it was very special to be able to celebrate a birthday there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been on my Vashon bucket list - fir ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

It's been on my Vashon bucket list - first time I had opportunity to fit in with its Wed-Sun schedule. Food was a unique twist on authentic Thai. Seated near piano player and front door so the noise level was too loud and busy for conversation. Excited to go again

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went to dinner with friends and family. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Went to dinner with friends and family. A few of the dishes were way too spicy even when asked to reduce the spices for the dish.

But, overall would go to this restaurant again. Food, and ambiance is overall above average.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant. Nondescript on the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Nondescript on the outside but very nice inside. Great food.

Tags: , Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has always been a favorite restaura ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This has always been a favorite restaurant for special occasions. This past experience was mediocre at best. The dishes which we had enjoyed so much in the past, were oddly different. The waiter was seemingly inexperienced and inattentive; service was quite slow and the food arrived cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

The food is great but the staff is beyon ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food is great but the staff is beyond fantastic. Extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Have been going since they first opened and they have never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

May kithchen is the best Thai anywhere a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

May kithchen is the best Thai anywhere and it's on our little island!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding and consistently excellent. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Outstanding and consistently excellent. We've tried about all of the menu items and have not ever been disappointed. Reservations are a must and it is truly a great experience. Even allowing for the ferry ride, it's only 30 mins from West Seattle!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, , Live Music, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.