About May Kitchen + Bar

17614 Vashon Hwy SW
Vashon, WA 98070
View Larger Map

May Kitchen + Bar brings a taste of Thailand to Vashon Island, WA. From the 150 year old dark teak paneling to the hand crafted iron work, the interior whisks you away to another, more relaxed place. Sit down and begin your meal by enjoying an original cocktail carefully crafted to bring out the most flavor from exotic ingredients. Then consider the food. You will have to come back, because you will need to try everything at least once. May Chaleoy is renowned for her ability to bring out a depth and complexity of flavor in all your favorite Thai dishes. May's attention to detail and dedication to the authenticity of her food is clear after your first bite. Come see for yourself.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bank Rd SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 408-7196

Website:
http://www.maykitchen.com/

Public Transit:
The nearest transit stop is Vashon Hwy SW and SW Bank Rd. We are just south of the stop on the east side of the street.

Executive Chef:
May Chaleoy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout

Restaurant Photos

  • Gaeng Faak Thong
  • Phad Thai
  • Phad Metmamuanghimmaphan
  • Deconstructed Phad Thai
  • Phad Prik Khing
  • Goong choop bang taud
  • Papia Phak Sot (Spring Rolls)
Gaeng Faak Thong
Phad Thai
Phad Metmamuanghimmaphan
Deconstructed Phad Thai
Phad Prik Khing
Goong choop bang taud
Papia Phak Sot (Spring Rolls)

May Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Food
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Value
Seattle / Eastern Washington
8 More
Fit for Foodies
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
South of Seattle
Best Food
South of Seattle
Best Service
South of Seattle
Best Ambiance
South of Seattle
Best Value
South of Seattle
Special Occasion
South of Seattle
Most Booked
South of Seattle
Best Restaurants in Vashon ›

Fit for Foodies (76)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
Special Occasion (65)
See All
Romantic (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Authentic (15)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fun (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Cozy (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Spicy (5)
Healthy (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great Beer (5)
People Watching (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Scenic View (2)
Live Music (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Dancing (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great ambience, service and food. The ap ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great ambience, service and food. The apps are so good here, especially the fresh spring rolls. The drinks are tasty and creative too. Love eating here.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Highly rated restaurant. We asked for t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Highly rated restaurant. We asked for the chef's choice, hoping for something special and unique since we are very familiar with cooking and eating Thai food. We received the simplest dishes, papaya salad, deep fried prawn, Pad Thai and a fried fish. It was unremarkable and we were disappointed. When we expressed our disappointment the very friendly server made no effort to remedy the situation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Definitely worth a visit. Food was well ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Definitely worth a visit. Food was well prepared, fresh, and portions were generous. The waitstaff were especially friendly, courteous and well informed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of if not THE best Thai rest ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This is one of if not THE best Thai restaurants in King County.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I want to think that this was an off day ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I want to think that this was an off day and actual Chef May was absent because if this is to pass off as proud, authentic Thai food then I know nothing... Besides the fact that our entrees were over salted or was drowning in cumin or that our jasmine rice came out undercooked. Not sure why service felt the need to keep saying "Your food will be out soon!" Every 10 minutes until 45 minutes later, we finally received our pad Thai. My family is too timid to say anything and we didn't want to make a scene sending everything back, though we still tipped at least 18%. Unfortunately we came all the way from North Seattle, excited to try May on Vashon, and let's just say those are two hours and $100+ I will never get back.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Fabulous experience! Really is the best ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fabulous experience! Really is the best Thai food. Service was stellar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely loved our experience at Ma ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We absolutely loved our experience at May's, I would make the trip back to Vashon just for a meal here. The specials were amazing and the table-side Pad Thai were so special. We also had great cocktails and the bill was very reasonable for the quality of food we got.

The ambiance was amazing and the service was so friendly. We left there glowing and happy :)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

May's Kitchen is my GoTo restaurant on V ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

May's Kitchen is my GoTo restaurant on Vashon when I have guests. It has a beautiful interior and the food is always delicious. This time we especially enjoyed Tom's magic tricks.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fabulous. Can't wait to come back ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Always fabulous. Can't wait to come

back to Vashon. May's is a must.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A restaurant always wanting to please fr ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

A restaurant always wanting to please from food to beverages to service. Best Thai restaurant in Seattle area hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and varied Thai Cuisine. Most ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent and varied Thai Cuisine. Most folks order a selection of appetizers and entrees and share family style. The Thai Curries are great and so is the Pad Thai in many varieties. The fresh spring rolls and the octopus appetizers are a spicy wonder.

The bar has good cocktails, micro brews and wine; sometimes slow delivery. Great waitstaff. Almost any dish can be made vegan by request.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant on the island, by far! O ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Best restaurant on the island, by far!

Our server Karen is a find.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This may be the best Thai food I have ev ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This may be the best Thai food I have ever had. Everyone at our table had something different and raved about their selection. Amazing to find this on Vashon Island. Worth the ferry ride!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

May's Mitchen & Bar might have ruined me ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

May's Mitchen & Bar might have ruined me forever. I see Thai food differently now- will I ever be able to eat anyone else's Pad Thai? Or must I move to Vashon Island just to be near that Green Curry? Trekking to May's from Seattle was well worth it. Every part of the experience was a treat for the senses. The visuals: the carved wood paneling, brocade curtains, rosewood and gold flatware, and coconut rice bowls created a sense of enchantment and expectation that something special was about to happen- and it did. The food was exquisitely presented and delicious. We had light as a feather spring rolls topped with crispy coconut and sizzled onion, a rich and exotically spiced green curry on red jasmine rice, perfect citrusy/hot pork me krob, and the not-to-be-missed Pad Thai - tossed at the table with tamarind, cane sugar, chili, chopped peanut, and banana flower. Yes, this is not your usual Thai food restaurant. Go! You too may be ruined for life.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are looking for a traditional tak ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

If you are looking for a traditional take on Thai, this is not it. It seems everything on the menu had similar names as other restaurants but were spiced differently. It was different but delicious. Flavors never experienced before. Delicious. Loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A foodies dream--thank you! Super frien ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A foodies dream--thank you! Super friendly, knowledgeable staff and excellent food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant, amazing food, exce ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, amazing food, exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were first rate. The p ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food and service were first rate. The place is really noisy though, kind of hard to have a conversation without shouting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Exceptional, authentic Thai food - not y ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Exceptional, authentic Thai food - not your standard take out joint! Great staff & excellent ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Per usual, the food is great and service ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Per usual, the food is great and service is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very authentic, noisy slow service very ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very authentic, noisy slow service very popular to locals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Love the food! It's the biggest draw. D ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love the food! It's the biggest draw. Difficult to get a table without a reservation several days ahead of time. Table service was okay but it took way too long to receive bar orders. Nearly finished with meal before receiving drink order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Reliably excellent food and service.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Reliably excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing as always! Not fair that this ge ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Amazing as always! Not fair that this gem is all ours on this little island. But I'm not complaining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Very slow bar service. Very nice waitr ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Very slow bar service. Very nice waitress but did not like the piano. Spring rolls were

very ordinary and the pork skewers were tough and hard to eat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value4

Best restaurant on Vashon. Superior ser ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Best restaurant on Vashon. Superior service and food. Not the too sweet Thai food cooked in many Thai restaurants-steps beyond. The walls are imported from a Thai home and add to the atmosphere. Fun to share with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time visit to May Kit ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was our first time visit to May Kitchen, and we were really impressed! Our waiter (Caleb) was extremely friendly, up-beat and helpful! His menu suggestions were spot-on! He was great! All six of us were of the same opinion, that the food was wonderful! My wife and I do not eat out very often, but we will definitely be back to May Kitchen and Bar to try some of the other wonderful entrees! Thank you for a very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow service but very nice staff, too no ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Slow service but very nice staff, too noisy but wonderful food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We love the food and drinks. Only one c ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We love the food and drinks. Only one complaint-- not enough spice on the shrimp dish. This was our 3rd visit - we ferry over from Southworth. It woud be nice to have a 4 p.m. service. Loved the dish with pineapple and cashews and will be over again to try more and probably family servings - we did some sharing. Thanks for asking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it! We were visiting from Flori ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We loved it! We were visiting from Florida and decided to take a ferry over to have some Thai Food and May Kitchen was rated very high so it was a fun foodie road trip!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always!!! We come here everyt ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Awesome as always!!! We come here everytime we are on island - just too good to pass up!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food here is fantastic. I particula ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food here is fantastic. I particularly like all the appetizers and the watercress is super delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

If you're on Vashon you have to try this ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

If you're on Vashon you have to try this place. Their storefront has absolutely no markings or indication that there's a business of any kind inside, and yet, it was packed (I highly recommend reservations). So their business is entirely word-of-mouth and the word is unanimous (5 stars after ~500 reviews online).

I want to go back several times and sample more of the menu. Every plate that walked by caught our interest. My gf and I got an appetizer and THREE entrees to share, and I wish we could have tried another without bursting at the seams.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Came here on a usual Friday night at 7. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Came here on a usual Friday night at 7. Reservations is highly recommended on weekends. We specified for the bar. EVERYONE is incredibly welcoming and accommodating. Then the food is just as good as the staff. The chicken wings are crazy delicious especially! Thank you May and May's staff for a wonderful birthday on Vashon island!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

May Kitchen is always impressive and nev ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

May Kitchen is always impressive and never disappoints. Beautiful atmosphere, friendly service and familiar faces with their staff, and to top it all off - the food is ridiculously good - best Thai food I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our drinks sat on the bar for several mi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our drinks sat on the bar for several minutes. Finally my husband went to get them. When the waitress discovered what happened all she said was "thank you". Many had rave reviews, however our appetizer and entrees were "ho-hum". We have had much better in Eugene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Ate at May's and it was phenomenal again ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Ate at May's and it was phenomenal again. I eat there every month or so and it always is spot on! Best Thai food I've eaten outside of Thailand. Can't wait for the next time! Make sure you make reservations, it's always packed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

May Kitchen produces stand-out Thai food ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

May Kitchen produces stand-out Thai food, using fresh ingredients and authentic recipes and presentation. This is the Thai meal you have dreamed of, but rarely found! The gaeng faak thong, kabocha squash in turmeric and cardamom yellow curry, was stellar - the mix of flavor notes and textures forming a beautiful tapestry of deliciousness, with no one flavor note (or heat) overwhelming the others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Second time I've eaten here, both were f ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Second time I've eaten here, both were fantastic. Both the food and service were amazing. i can't say enough about the flavoring of each dish. I have told lots of people that they need to go to Vashon Island to have the best Thai food I've had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super slow service during festival weeke ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Super slow service during festival weekend. Not a normal experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.