Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi

About May Kitchen + Bar

May Kitchen + Bar brings a taste of Thailand to Vashon Island, WA. From the 150 year old dark teak paneling to the hand crafted iron work, the interior whisks you away to another, more relaxed place. Sit down and begin your meal by enjoying an original cocktail carefully crafted to bring out the most flavor from exotic ingredients. Then consider the food. You will have to come back, because you will need to try everything at least once. May Chaleoy is renowned for her ability to bring out a depth and complexity of flavor in all your favorite Thai dishes. May's attention to detail and dedication to the authenticity of her food is clear after your first bite. Come see for yourself.

17614 Vashon Hwy SW
Vashon, WA 98070
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bank Rd SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 408-7196

Website:
http://www.maykitchen.com/

Public Transit:
The nearest transit stop is Vashon Hwy SW and SW Bank Rd. We are just south of the stop on the east side of the street.

Executive Chef:
May Chaleoy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout

May Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (50)
Special Occasion (44)
Worth the Drive (40)
See All
Good for a Date (39)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good Vegetarian Options (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Spicy (28)
Bar Seating (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Casual (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Cozy (19)
Romantic (18)
Fun (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Live Music (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Vegan (6)
People Watching (5)
Great Beer (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (3)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, an outstanding meal and excellent service. Have just booked it again for a party of 7 on the 6th of Oct.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome food and cocktails! Service was attentive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was wonderful. We ordered ice cream for desert and it took 20 min to get it. The waitperson apologized, but...how hard can it be to get 4 scoops of ice-cream? Apparently more difficult than we imagined. The 20 min is not an exaggeration .

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Whenever we have friends who visit Vashon Island, we take them to May Kitchen; and our friends never fail to thank us for providing them with an extraordinarily good dining experience.

Tags: Great Beer, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amazing Thai Food! Really good drinks, great vibe

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 14, 2017

great food and outstanding service. I enjoy taking visitors there for dinner.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Terrific food and ambience. Highly recommended for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

May Kitchen + Bar is A fantastic restaurant. We let our server choose all our entrees and appetizers for us, and we were treated to an assortment of amazing dishes we never would have chosen ourselves. First rate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Excellent as always! Food was fantastic, service was great, and the servers are super good-looking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Spicy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

ABSOLUTE BEST THAI FOOD EVER. Authentic setting with amazingly flavorful, fresh food. The layers of spice, heat, sweetness and tang were utterly perfect. There are not enough superlatives to describe how awesome this food is. It is worth a flight to Seattle and a ferry ride to Vashon!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Spicy, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Loved everything we had. We enjoyed the pianist they had playing all night, it was a real treat. Thank you for giving us excellent food as always.
-vashon locals

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Service was great, food was fantastic and the drinks were great. When we arrived there was a piano being played which added to the experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food and service were wonderful. It is too noisy for comfort or a meeting or date. There were three of us and we managed but it was a struggle. One friend said it was the best food he had had since he moved to the Pacific Northwest a few months ago. We were having a birthday celebration and they gave us a free dessert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Such an amazing dinner! Everything we ordered was delicious-my personal favorites were the fresh spring rolls and phad thai that they mix for you at your table. I was unsure of what wine to order with my meal and the bartender took the time to make recommendations based off of what I was going to order-I loved her suggestion! We were there for our anniversary and they even gave us a super yummy dessert to celebrate. My only negative is that after eating at May I am not sure I am going to be able to eat thai food at other restaurants.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2017

So good. All the wait staff was pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable. The food is out of this world. A real class act for a small town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Food is awesome. Staff is incredibly friendly. We hopped a ferry just to visit this place and it was so worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Living nearby, I've been to May's Kitchen dozens of times and the food never disappoints. The Seattle area has a lot of Thai restaurants and none come close to being as good as May's. It's a great atmosphere, too. My only gripe is that the waiting area is tiny and even with reservations we often have to wait 10-15 minutes to be seated. Small gripe, but one I hope they can address because everything else about the place is top-flight!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We have always loved May Kitchen and have enthusiastically recommended it. It's not an easy evening from Seattle as it requiring a Ferry ride and all that entails.
This past Saturday was our second visit this Summer. We had a 7:45 reservation for four and were seated immediately. We were given water, & 10 minutes later a server came and said she'd be back. Another 10 min passed before she returned and apologized for the delay. She took our cocktail & app. order. 15 min. later two apps. were served, 1 that we hadn't ordered. There was another apology & delay before the other two apps. we'd ordered arrived, along w: complimentary salad rolls (nice gesture). We were finally served our cocktails at 8:30, 45 min after sitting down. Frustrating as 2 people behind bar were not hustling. The food & drinks were AMAZING, but the service continued to be spotty, if pleasant. The restaurant was not crowded, yet because the service was so bad we weren't all able to enjoy a 2nd cocktail, and none got to have desert because the service was so half assed, that after being seated for 2:15 min we barely made a 10:15 ferry.
On the previous visit this summer we were excited to bring two friends whom hadn't been Before. We made reservations well in advance for a Saturday evening, and took the ferry over from Fauntleroy. When we arrived we were informed that there would be no cocktails available as the bartender was at a wedding. ??? There was no apology nor was there any attempt to contact us beforehand.
May needs a professional restaurant manager asap. No matter how delicious the food is (and it's truly special) we won't be back or recommending May anytime soon. There are too many excellent restaurants in Seattle to tolerate the nonsense we experienced on these 2 visits.
I mentioned our experience to two other friends today, and was surprised to learn that these evenings we're not aberrations.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Healthy, Fun, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We always like the atmosphere, food, and presentation at May.
However, they need a second bartender. You can often wait a long time for a drink...long after your food has arrived.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Some of the best Thai food I've had outside of Thailand in a beautifully decorated location. A bit out of the way, but highly recommended and worth the trip.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Casual, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Loved the food at May Kitchen and bar. The food was inventive and delicious. We love Thai food and were sad we only had the chance to eat at Mays for one night on our vacation. We would have gone back again. Make sure to make a reservation!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

We heard a lot about May's. Sometimes places don't live up to the hype. May's went way beyond the hype. So amazing!! Took Thai food to a whole new level. Thank you for a most enjoyable dining experience. Loved the piano music too. We are from WS NC. Worth the trip! Love Vashon

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

We love May Kitchen and the service and food don't disappoint. We enjoyed trying a few new items while savoring old favorites. The staff is awesome and attentive. Yum!

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Casual, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 17, 2017

As always, May Kitchen provided us with a wonderful meal, which was enjoyed by our five guests from England.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 14, 2017

May Kitchen + Bar never disappoints. Every dish has a different intriguing taste. That old standard Phad Thai is unlike the usual one finds in Thai restaurants and the table side prep is fun...use all the spice. Start with one of May's excellent drinks...as individual as the food. Wish I could discover her secrets!
Rich Wiley

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 14, 2017

I reserved a table when an aquaintance told me this was a number one Thai restaurant in Seattle. Delicious!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

good food, good service, unusual outside which makes you think it is closed=you would never think there is a restaurant there. the server was very knowledgeable, attentive and pleasant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fabulous, as usual. My out of town guests were impressed, and one had lived in Thailand. We love May!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Wonderful and delicious! Wait staff kind and helpful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

My wife and I were really looking forward to dining here. The logistics all seemed suitable for a Thai restaurant. There was live piano music which we enjoyed, it fit the atmosphere and era that the furnishings and decor portrayed. Appetizer was fresh and flavorful (I believe we had the vegetable spring rolls). The entrees were a disappointment. I ordered the Pad Thai, my wife ordered some kind of rice dish. I have had Pad Thai many times at mulptiple Thai restaurants and have never been ultimately disappointed that I ordered it, though some were better than others. This plate of Pad Thai had an odd smell to it, it reminded me of a wet dog. I don't think anything was wrong with it, the smell, which affected the taste, was not very appetizing. The other unappetizing part was the "presentation" of the Pad Thai dish. The host touched and crumbled my food with his bare hands then mixed it into the noodles - a simple explanation of the dish would have been good enough. My wife's dish was okay. The rice was pretty dry and not as flavorful as she was hoping, but maybe that is how it is meant to be(?) The desert was delicious. We had deep fried banana and coconut ice cream. I would recommend visiting here for an appetizer and desert.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This place is incredible!!! Truly a hidden gem. Some of the best Thai food I have ever had outside of Thailand. I can not recommend it enough!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

This is a fantastic restaurant located off the Main Street on Vashon. It is perfect for dinners out and special occasions. The food is delicious. May blends flavors and textures for a unique taste experience. It is also vegan and vegetarian friendly. The wait staff are knowledgeable about the dishes and friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 28, 2017

May Kitchen is consistently fabulous. I've been a number of times and the food and experience is always exceptional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Our experience in dining at May Kitchen was wonderful in every way. Our service was fantastic, the food was amazing and Tom and May make you feel like you are part of the family. Can't wait till our next visit!
Joe & Elizabeth Zeleniak

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Fabulous food!
Loved most the veg rolls with tamarind sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Excellent food and service!! I love this place!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 19, 2017

May Kitchen has always been great, but the meals just seem to be getting better and better over the years. A true classic.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2017

As always, every dish exciting, every bite exquisite. Waitstaff helpful yet not intrusive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2017

As always, May's Kitchen was fabulous. Cannot think of a better Thai place in the Seattle area

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.