Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.73mi
  3. Distance: 3.04mi
  4. Distance: 4.51mi

About May Kitchen + Bar

May Kitchen + Bar brings a taste of Thailand to Vashon Island, WA. From the 150 year old dark teak paneling to the hand crafted iron work, the interior whisks you away to another, more relaxed place. Sit down and begin your meal by enjoying an original cocktail carefully crafted to bring out the most flavor from exotic ingredients. Then consider the food. You will have to come back, because you will need to try everything at least once. May Chaleoy is renowned for her ability to bring out a depth and complexity of flavor in all your favorite Thai dishes. May's attention to detail and dedication to the authenticity of her food is clear after your first bite. Come see for yourself.

17614 Vashon Hwy SW
Vashon, WA 98070
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bank Rd SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 408-7196

Website:
http://www.maykitchen.com/

Public Transit:
The nearest transit stop is Vashon Hwy SW and SW Bank Rd. We are just south of the stop on the east side of the street.

Executive Chef:
May Chaleoy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout

May Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

Noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (46)
Special Occasion (44)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Spicy (32)
Bar Seating (29)
Good Vegetarian Options (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Cozy (24)
Casual (23)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Romantic (17)
Fun (16)
Healthy (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Live Music (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Vegan (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Business Meals (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort by
S
863 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 hours ago

Special friends in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

The attention to quality and authenticity permeates the menu. May is a master and the friendly, attentive, knowledgeable staff are a reflection of her overall commitment to providing her patrons the BEST dining experience possible. I go back again and again, yet each time find something new and interesting on the menu. LOVE May's!

Tags: Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed our birthday celebration very much. From the friendly welcome of staff to the champagne, appetizers, dinner and complinentary dessert the evening was one to remember. We enjoyed a local Palouse wine which rounded out the experience.
Service was exceptional, which allowed our guests to not stress about their ferry arrangements.
Thanks for the evening!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

May’s is an incredible dining experience. From fresh, flavor packed appetizers to savory, rich main courses we loved it all. Local beer and wine offered, as well as Thai options. The ambiance really transports you somewhere new for your meal.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

May's has been rated as among the best in the Pacific Northwest.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Fantastic! The table side service was what set the meal apart (not to mention the delicious food!!) Highly recommend.

Tags: Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food is delicious and reasonably priced. Drinks will set you back $$$

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Fabulous Thai in a beautiful rural town! The fired watercress is amazing and the Pad Thai is not to be missed. It's mixed table side to your specifications. Reservations are a must!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

The ambiance is very special and usually the food and service are excellent. On this occasion we were somewhat disappointed in terms of both.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 27, 2017

My daughter turned 16 and wanted to eat at Mays. What a treat! To her delight they surprised her with a delicious fried banana coconut (non-dairy) ice cream dessert. She's vegan, so the whole evening was extra-special to her, as it's not often easy to eat out. We love Mays Kitchen!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

We were giddy with every dish that was delivered to the table. Our group was made up largely of vegans and we had no difficulty finding an abundance of options; even a decadent dessert. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Vegan, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Amazing and authentic Thia cuisine, prepared by May herself. Cocktails were creative and delicious, and only Thia food friendly alcohol was on the menu so you can’t go wrong. Our server was outstanding, helpful with menu options and genuinely loved the food. We would come back to Seattle and take the ferry to Vashon just to eat at May’s! Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Live Music, Bar Seating, Spicy, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

I love this place. I've always loved Thai food but when I come in to Mays, I feel transported to Thailand itself. Everything about the restaurant is so unique and welcoming: the decor, the service, the food, the live piano, everything.. For those of you who don't travel much or can't afford to, go to Mays and you can cross Thailand off of your list. It's definitely worth a ferry ride!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

May's is a must-go if you are staying on Vashon, and totally worth the trip if just visiting for the day. The interior is cozy and beautifully decorated. The service when we were there was a little slow at first and it took a while for our drinks, but we didn't mind, they had just had a huge rush, the staff was very friendly and engaging, and the cocktails were FANTASTIC.
Food was delicious and very fresh, was served quickly and was beautifully presented. Note that the menu does not offer a level of stars for spiciness - if the menu says "spicy," they mean it. Definitely do not skip dessert!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Spicy, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

We've followed May since she came on the scene in Wallinford - and so pleased to see here succeed on Vashon. It's a bit of a challenge to think about coordinating our drive there but really not a big deal when experienced - and kind of romantic to take a boat to a wonderful dinner!

Food is delicious, service is outstanding and attentive, servers are informed and helpful but not pushy. We've taken to simply asking our server(s) to just bring us what the kitchen would like us to have for dinner. Much fun!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Disabled Access, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

May Kitchen serves absolutely extraordinary Thai food! Flavors are authentic and complex. It is an unexpected gem on Vashon Island and a terrific asset to our community. Even when the restaurant is quite crowded (which is most of the time), it is easy to carry on a conversation while dining because the noise level seems very low. This may be due in part to the lovely imported carved wood panels that line the walls and contribute to the unique ambiance. Servings are generous and prices are reasonable.
May does not disappoint!

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 13, 2017

I always enjoy this restaurant-the decor, food, service. It is at the top of my favorites.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Love the restaurant and food, but the music is usually too loud....difficulty conversing. When the music is too loud, people talk louder to be heard....it's an unending raising of the sound level.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2017

wonderful, amazing, again and again, we keep comming back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Spicy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Tldr: good food, terrible service. Not many options in Vashon, so would prob go again.
-Visited from out of town. Place was recommended by locals.
-We arrived early for our reservation to see if we could sit at the bar while waiting. Stood in the entryway for about 10 min& saw waitresses walk by many times but no one acknowledged us. Eventually we were checked in by what I think was a hostess (though I did see her taking glasses/drinks around on trays), were told that a table could be ready for us in 10 min,& were taken to a bench. We asked to sit at the bar while waiting (half the bar was empty), and hostess said she'd need to check with the bartender; I can't remember if she gave us an answer, but we ended up ordering cocktails at the bar and bringing them back to the bench since we weren't told that we could sit at the bar. Cocktails were good.
-We ordered "the spring rolls" and were brought summer rolls. The waitress said she had asked whether we wanted the spring rolls fresh (which apparently means not fried) and that we said yes; none of us remember that being asked. As far as we knew, spring rolls are spring rolls. Anyway, she brought a few spring rolls to help the situation which was a nice touch. Not sure whether she charged us for it. Both spring and summer rolls were good.
-Green curry with chicken was excellent; phad khee mao was good. In most restaurants I think it's standard practice that a few minutes after food arrives, someone checks to make sure you have everything you need. This didn't happen. So eventually I flagged our waitress while she passed by another table& asked for some water (the food is spicy and I ran out pretty early). A busboy brought water but our waitress didn't check on us a/b the food until a while later.
-At one point a child was banging around on the piano and no one intervened.
-Overall it seemed that no one really cared enough about the restaurant to be hustling or paying much attention to anything.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Some of the best Thai food I've had in ages, highly recommended!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Consistently fresh, authentic, and beautifully presented meals. Ambiance and servers are top notch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Casual, Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We found May Kitchen just after it first opened and love it. We dual residence on island and in Kirkland. We visit regularly and have introduced many of our family and friends who have all loved it and have added it to their list of favorites. Please don't change and thing as we all love it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2017

As always, an outstanding meal and excellent service. Have just booked it again for a party of 7 on the 6th of Oct.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Awesome food and cocktails! Service was attentive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 21, 2017

The food was wonderful. We ordered ice cream for desert and it took 20 min to get it. The waitperson apologized, but...how hard can it be to get 4 scoops of ice-cream? Apparently more difficult than we imagined. The 20 min is not an exaggeration .

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 21, 2017

There are a couple of dishes that my husband has had there that he didn't like. One was a tomato based dish that was unappealing and bland, the other was a mound of ground meat that was super spicy served with raw cabbage. The rest of the veggies were pretty much non existent. Most of the other dishes we've had there have been excellent, especially the curries.
The cocktails there are special too.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

I always enjoy the great food, lovely decor and exceptionally friendly staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Whenever we have friends who visit Vashon Island, we take them to May Kitchen; and our friends never fail to thank us for providing them with an extraordinarily good dining experience.

Tags: Great Beer, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amazing Thai Food! Really good drinks, great vibe

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 14, 2017

great food and outstanding service. I enjoy taking visitors there for dinner.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Terrific food and ambience. Highly recommended for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

May Kitchen + Bar is A fantastic restaurant. We let our server choose all our entrees and appetizers for us, and we were treated to an assortment of amazing dishes we never would have chosen ourselves. First rate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Excellent as always! Food was fantastic, service was great, and the servers are super good-looking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Spicy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

ABSOLUTE BEST THAI FOOD EVER. Authentic setting with amazingly flavorful, fresh food. The layers of spice, heat, sweetness and tang were utterly perfect. There are not enough superlatives to describe how awesome this food is. It is worth a flight to Seattle and a ferry ride to Vashon!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Spicy, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Loved everything we had. We enjoyed the pianist they had playing all night, it was a real treat. Thank you for giving us excellent food as always.
-vashon locals

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Service was great, food was fantastic and the drinks were great. When we arrived there was a piano being played which added to the experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food and service were wonderful. It is too noisy for comfort or a meeting or date. There were three of us and we managed but it was a struggle. One friend said it was the best food he had had since he moved to the Pacific Northwest a few months ago. We were having a birthday celebration and they gave us a free dessert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Such an amazing dinner! Everything we ordered was delicious-my personal favorites were the fresh spring rolls and phad thai that they mix for you at your table. I was unsure of what wine to order with my meal and the bartender took the time to make recommendations based off of what I was going to order-I loved her suggestion! We were there for our anniversary and they even gave us a super yummy dessert to celebrate. My only negative is that after eating at May I am not sure I am going to be able to eat thai food at other restaurants.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2017

So good. All the wait staff was pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable. The food is out of this world. A real class act for a small town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.