About May Kitchen + Bar

May Kitchen + Bar brings a taste of Thailand to Vashon Island, WA. From the 150 year old dark teak paneling to the hand crafted iron work, the interior whisks you away to another, more relaxed place. Sit down and begin your meal by enjoying an original cocktail carefully crafted to bring out the most flavor from exotic ingredients. Then consider the food. You will have to come back, because you will need to try everything at least once. May Chaleoy is renowned for her ability to bring out a depth and complexity of flavor in all your favorite Thai dishes. May's attention to detail and dedication to the authenticity of her food is clear after your first bite. Come see for yourself.

17614 Vashon Hwy SW
Vashon, WA 98070
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday, Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bank Rd SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 408-7196

Website:
http://www.maykitchen.com/

Public Transit:
The nearest transit stop is Vashon Hwy SW and SW Bank Rd. We are just south of the stop on the east side of the street.

Executive Chef:
May Chaleoy

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout

Restaurant Photos

  • Gaeng Faak Thong - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
  • Phad Thai - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
  • Phad Metmamuanghimmaphan - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
  • Deconstructed Phad Thai - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
  • Phad Prik Khing - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
  • Goong choop bang taud - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
  • Papia Phak Sot (Spring Rolls) - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA

Report a photo problem

Gaeng Faak Thong - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
Phad Thai - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
Phad Metmamuanghimmaphan - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
Deconstructed Phad Thai - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
Phad Prik Khing - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
Goong choop bang taud - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA
Papia Phak Sot (Spring Rolls) - May Kitchen + Bar, Vashon, WA

May Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (45)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Authentic (42)
Spicy (36)
Bar Seating (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Worth the Drive (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Good Vegetarian Options (30)
Romantic (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Fun (24)
Cozy (24)
Family Style (21)
Casual (21)
Healthy (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
People Watching (5)
Business Meals (5)
Seasonal (5)
Live Music (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Vegan (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Historic (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always to best!! We live on Vashon and c ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Always to best!! We live on Vashon and consider May's our go-to dining experience for celebrations, out-of-town guests, and our own quiet dinners. The service is always gracious and timely! The food is exquisite......we have ever eaten every time we are there!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, , Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu is exceptional. Many of the dis ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

The menu is exceptional. Many of the dishes offered are not available at most Thai restaurants. Highly recommended the dining experience, and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Thai food in existence. Staff is ph ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best Thai food in existence. Staff is phenomenal. Best food on Vashon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Casual, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Healthy, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had heard good things about May's, so ex ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Had heard good things about May's, so expectations were high. I wasn't disappointed, to the contrary. Best Thai food I've ever had and drinks delish. Service was attentive, pleasant and personable. Loved the ambience and decor, definitely not the last time I've dined at May's!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

May's service and food are wonderful. L ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

May's service and food are wonderful. Love meeting friends there and dining on delicious and creatives dishes! The drinks are varied and creative. Thank you May's! We will be back, over and over.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was perfect! Always hard to de ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food was perfect! Always hard to decide - but fun when a group is willing to share tastes for ideas for next time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Family Style, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Green Curry was amazing. margarita was v ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Green Curry was amazing. margarita was very good not to sweet. pork skewers were a little tough. we will definitely be back I'm thinking yum neua next time. Thank you for a very nice dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Some of the best Thai food I've ever had ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Some of the best Thai food I've ever had. Lovely service, lively pianist, gorgeous decor. Delicious food. Perfect cocktails. 4.5 stars. It was a special evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Fun, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We frequent May's Kitchen for all our "s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We frequent May's Kitchen for all our "special" occasions such as wedding anniversaries, birthdays and the like. The ambiance and good food and friendly service is how we remember the experience every time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands-down the best Thai food I've ever ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Hands-down the best Thai food I've ever had! Excellent service and atmosphere.

Tags: Spicy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second visit after being blo ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is our second visit after being blown away our first time. Our second visit didn't disappoint.

What wonderful food and service. From the warm greeting from the hostess to a real pro waiter,

Caleb, we couldn't have been happier.

The attention to detail is remarkable. A wonderful experience that I highly recommend!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food at May's was excellen ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

As always the food at May's was excellent, and Karen was an excellent waitress, even though she had forgotten my name.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It always exceeds our expectations: I ta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It always exceeds our expectations: I take friends & family there when they visit and we regularly celebrate special events there. It is well known as THE best Thai restaurant in Seattle (even though it is located on Vashon Island). Look for the 2 elephants on the roof as there is no sign, but inside lies a magical Thai world of hospitality, fine food and service.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love May's - and it was very ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We always love May's - and it was very special to be able to celebrate a birthday there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been on my Vashon bucket list - fir ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

It's been on my Vashon bucket list - first time I had opportunity to fit in with its Wed-Sun schedule. Food was a unique twist on authentic Thai. Seated near piano player and front door so the noise level was too loud and busy for conversation. Excited to go again

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went to dinner with friends and family. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Went to dinner with friends and family. A few of the dishes were way too spicy even when asked to reduce the spices for the dish.

But, overall would go to this restaurant again. Food, and ambiance is overall above average.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant. Nondescript on the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Nondescript on the outside but very nice inside. Great food.

Tags: , Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has always been a favorite restaura ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This has always been a favorite restaurant for special occasions. This past experience was mediocre at best. The dishes which we had enjoyed so much in the past, were oddly different. The waiter was seemingly inexperienced and inattentive; service was quite slow and the food arrived cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

The food is great but the staff is beyon ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food is great but the staff is beyond fantastic. Extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Have been going since they first opened and they have never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

May kithchen is the best Thai anywhere a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

May kithchen is the best Thai anywhere and it's on our little island!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding and consistently excellent. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Outstanding and consistently excellent. We've tried about all of the menu items and have not ever been disappointed. Reservations are a must and it is truly a great experience. Even allowing for the ferry ride, it's only 30 mins from West Seattle!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, , Live Music, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an awesome experience. The foo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This was an awesome experience. The food was amazing from presentation to flavor and portion size. Our server was exceptional. She was very knowlegable about the food, paced everything perfectly, and very pleasant. We will definitely return and recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I always enjoy ourselves ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 15, 2016

My daughter and I always enjoy ourselves at May's Kitchen. The service is excellent and the food wonderful.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent authentic Thai. Excellent ingr ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Excellent authentic Thai. Excellent ingredients and presentation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thai food at its best. Great flavors, k ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Thai food at its best. Great flavors, knowledgable staff, reasonable prices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always an absolutely delightful exper ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

As always an absolutely delightful experience. From the friendly, welcoming & knowledgable service right through to the last (of too many) forkfuls. Every dish thoughtful, delicious and satisfying. Beautiful cocktail pairings give May a special edge up. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this olace. Exciting, different a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Loved this olace. Exciting, different and apparently authentic Thai menu. Better than virtually oll of the Thai restaurants we've been to. Also fascinating cocktail menu including a number that sounded great even though we hadn't heard of some of the ingredients. We went for the Chile pepper infused Margaritas--spicy and good. The fried watercress appetizer was different and outstanding. Main courses were also excellent. As an added treat, we were treated to a personal magic show by their multitalented owner/host.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific food soothing atmosphere love k ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Terrific food soothing atmosphere love karen and the entire staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is got to be the best restaurant on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is got to be the best restaurant on Vashon Island and the best Thai restaurant I've been to (and I've eaten all over the world). The place is so popular that service can be a bit slow. But the food is terrific, especially the pad thai with tofu (our favorite everywhere). Other dishes are great. We've been there many times and will continue to go there. Tnx/RSE

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Wonderful food, generous portions, frien ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful food, generous portions, friendly staff, quick service. A great dinner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best restaurant on Vashon Isla ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Still the best restaurant on Vashon Island. A good place to hide and chill out and forget about Donald Trump for a while!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

as always, it was wonderful, the staff i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2016

as always, it was wonderful, the staff is great and the food is the best Thai I have ever had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I lived in Thailand for 6 months and I h ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I lived in Thailand for 6 months and I had the best green curry of my life at may kitchen

Tags: Late-night Find, Family Style, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinary and innovative Thai food. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Extraordinary and innovative Thai food.

I'd be thrilled to find this quality in Seattle or Portland, but Vashon Island? Crazy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eaten here many times. The food is marve ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Eaten here many times. The food is marvelous. The service this time was a bit under par. Waiter seemed I'll prepared for the job. Couldn't hear him or understand him. Didn't relate the menu or options very well. Out of Thai ice tea and we were the first through the door upon opening. The piano music isn't appropriate. Makes it feel like just more noise. However, still the best Thai food in the Puget Sound area!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Waitress was a little slow on drinks and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Waitress was a little slow on drinks and forgot to put in one our dinner orders, but she took it off the tab and had a great personality. Food was FANTASTIC!! Have yet to experience anything 'mediocre' from May's!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Special Occasion, Spicy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Exceptional! We love that this caliber i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Exceptional! We love that this caliber if restaurant is on Vashon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a very special touch to your alread ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 3, 2016

What a very special touch to your already amazing offerings.

Thomas was such a surprise , a magical delight

thank you

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious as usual, and -- ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The food was delicious as usual, and -- as usual, we received kind, attentive service. I had mentioned in my reservation that it was my daughter's birthday, and they indeed gently celebrated her. We love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten there many times and it is ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We have eaten there many times and it is ALWAYS excellent, good food and warm and useful service

Tags: Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.