About Maxwells

1380 9th St E
West Fargo, ND 58078
View Larger Map

Maxwells is no ordinary experience, offering a relaxed environment, adventurous cuisine and professional service ‘with a personality.’ Superior food, drink and celebration are permanent features. With the region’s largest collection of wines, a diverse selection of beers of the world, and premium beverages, Maxwells is an exciting blend of your imagination and our unique casual elegance.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, French American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar Hours:
Monday-Thursday 4:00pm -10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 4:00pm -11:00pm

Cross Street:
13th Avenue and 9th St. E

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 277-9463

Website:
http://www.maxwellsnd.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Wald

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available to host group dinners, corporate meetings, rehearsal dinners, holiday dinner events, anniversary celebrations or even cocktail receptions. Built-in audiovisual included with private dining rooms. Group dinner menus & bar packages available.

Private Party Contact:
Ramon Sosa: 701-277-9463x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Easter Brunch

March 27th - 10am - 2pm

Reservations only! 701-277-9463

Restaurant Photos

Bison Meatballs with Vermouth Cream Sauce, Crimini Mushrooms & Grilled Ciabatta Bread
Complimentary bread with whipped butter
Pulled Pork Sandwich
Oysters
Pan Roasted Prosciutto Wrapped Day Boat Scallops with Lobster-Red Curry Sauce
Surf & Turf: Saffron Baked Lobster Tail & Grilled Beef Tenderloin Wild Mushroom Risotto, Grilled Asparagus & Tempura Green Beans
Late night martini with espresso vodka
Baby Spinach with Pancetta-Balsamic Dressing, St. Andre Brie, Apples & Candied Nuts
Banana Chocolate Chip Bread Pudding with Rum Fosters Sauce & Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
Grilled Rack of Lamb with Rosemary & Garlic Candied Bacon Relish, Sweet Potato bacon hash
Blackened Walleye Fillet with mushroom risotto, Grilled Asparagus, Shrimp-Avocado Salsa and Lemon-White Wine Sauce
Veal Osso Bucco: Country Style Whipped Potatoes, Seasonal Vegetables and Red Wine Mushroom Sauce
Steamed Prince Edward Island Mussels White Wine in Saffron Broth, Roma Tomatoes, Toasted Pine Nuts & Grilled Bread
Surf And Turf
Cheese & Meat Plate
Cheese cake

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Thu - Sat 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Maxwells Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
North Dakota
Most Booked
Fargo
Best Restaurants in Fargo ›

special occasion (45)
romantic (33)
notable wine list (29)
See All
fit for foodies (25)
neighborhood gem (18)
good for groups (9)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
57 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Maxwell's on a fairly regular b ...

Dined 3 days ago

We visit Maxwell's on a fairly regular basis. Sometimes just for the excellent chef prepared cheese and meat tray and a glass of recommended wine. Other times it is just for dessert. This was an anniversary dinner with the family. The service and meals were excellent, as expected. Not the least expensive place to eat in town, but from knowledge of the staff, to the taste and plating of the food it is well worth the investment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fantastic and the presentat ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food was fantastic and the presentation inspired.I will gladly return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Right off of Food Network! Food was not ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Right off of Food Network! Food was not only delicious but beautiful to look at!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful unexpected pleasure! I had the ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful unexpected pleasure! I had the Salmon, husband the Elk! He was the winner!! It was fabulous!

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Way overpriced for what you get!!!!!!! ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Way overpriced for what you get!!!!!!! Good grief, $39 for mediocre grouper. Red Lobster does better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

food was great

Dined on May 20, 2016

food was great

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place it's always bit spendy b ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Love this place it's always bit spendy but it's totally worth it

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was great. I love hot food on a hot ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Food was great. I love hot food on a hot plate. The ooh was a little too dark for my taste, I like a little more light.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food! It was delicious and perfectly ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food! It was delicious and perfectly plated. I travel alot for work and this place is a diamond in the rough. I can confidently say that I had a better meal here than at the flemings I ate at the other week.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Met expectations

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a very enjoyable evening at Maxwell's. Food was delightful, service was good, and really no complaints. They do have a notable wine list. It would help if the servers knew more about the wines so he/she can answer simple questions. For Fargo, it is probably one of the best places to dine. Be better if they had table cloths on the table to add classiness to the place.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

I found this gem on open table and it was fantastic! Great food! Great service! Awesome atmosphere and hands on ownership! Highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

So good

Dined on April 20, 2016

Delicious every time. Sauces so good you will want to lick your plate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maxwell's

Dined on April 18, 2016

We were thrilled by our experience at Maxwell's. Celebrating our anniversary, we wanted something special. We certainly found that at Maxwell's. Not only was the food delicious, the wait staff was extremely well trained! We will definitely be going back to Maxwell's!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner out

Dined on April 16, 2016

Yum! Everything was delicious! Lavosh was best I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love to Dine

Dined on April 14, 2016

From appetizers to dessert, the experience and service were exactly what we were expecting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal and service

Dined on April 9, 2016

Enjoyed the fresh halibut. Both the wife and I very impressed with the meal, service and dining surroundings. One of Fargo's finest for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

very good restaurant

Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was great. we enjoyed our dinner. Service was good. Creative dishes with excellent taste and presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere. Service was g ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Service was great. We always go to Maxwell's for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Great experience as always! Order the me ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Great experience as always! Order the meatballs if you sit in the bar area...outstanding!

food4
ambience5
service5

Great place- worth it!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great place- worth it!

food3
ambience4
service4
value1

review

Dined on March 19, 2016

The meal was very over priced & the potatoes were very strange. They turned around how mine & my husbands steaks were to be cooked. Mine was rare and his was well. 2 different cuts.

food5
ambience4
service5

The Day Boat Scallops as an appetizer ar ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The Day Boat Scallops as an appetizer are outstanding - not to be missed. Service was especially friendly and made us feel extra special since we were there to celebrate a birthday.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, the grouper I ordered was th ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Great food, the grouper I ordered was the best fish dinner I have had in a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maxwell's

Dined on March 1, 2016

Maxwell's is probably my favorite place in the Fargo area to eat. The food is always excellent and the service is always great. The atmosphere is one of the best in Fargo, always quiet and great ambiance. I would definitely recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

EXCELLENT as always!!!

Dined on February 27, 2016

This is by far and away one of our favorites! Exceptional service, fabulous food and great wine list!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food and wait staff. Would have li ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Great food and wait staff. Would have liked tablecloths and newer silverware to complement the $35-87 entrées. Cocktails were well made and wine list had some unique options.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and service!

Dined on February 25, 2016

Fantastic food and service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fargo find

Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent food and wine list with service to match. Surprisingly more expensive than I expected for the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

day late Valentines day dinner.

Dined on February 16, 2016

Good meal, good portions, expensive, had a $100.00 gift card and still did not cover meal and I ordered the cheapest meal (stuffed mushrooms) had a few drinks. Beautiful atmosphere, lots of business dinners going on and a few couples. Would go back but possibly try bar menu to save money.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date place

Dined on February 7, 2016

I've been waiting to dine at Maxwell's since many friends and family members rave about how fantastic the food is. I ordered the midwinter margarita which was yummy. The spinach salad was delicious. Elk was well seasoned and cooked to perfection and the roasted potatoes paired well. My husband ordered the strawberry mimosa sorbet which was refreshing! I ordered the limencello creme brule and was amazed. The service was friendly and helpful with suggestions. The ambience was fitting for date night. I definitely would like to return soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Your 87 dollar steak, good food, price i ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Your 87 dollar steak, good food, price is out ragious .

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent restaurant

Dined on December 6, 2015

I and my wife went to Maxwells, last Saturday. From outside the restaurant looked "closed", as many in Fargo do, we found. But once inside, the place looks very accommodating, comfortable and pleasant without being overdone. We ordered bacon wrapped scallops for appetizer. They were great. The sauce is so tasty. Before that we were served homemade bread which was very good. I had the Tenderloin while she had the Rib Eye. But were delicious. I had the cheesecake and she had the creme brulee. Hers was great, my cheesecake was not memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Dinner, but a little noisy.

Dined on December 5, 2015

Dinner was excellent and an excellent experience. It would have been an awesome experience with a little less noise. At times it was difficult to hear each other right across the table.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect timing. Excellent service. Ext ...

Dined on October 25, 2015

Perfect timing. Excellent service. Extraordinary food. They just never disappoint.... You seriously can't go wrong.

food5
ambience5
service5

They created their special for us under ...

Dined on October 19, 2015

They created their special for us under dietary requirements, and it was delicious!

food5
ambience4
service5

Waitress was very pleasant and friendly. ...

Dined on July 27, 2015

Waitress was very pleasant and friendly. Food was great!

food4
ambience4
service4

Nothing better in Fargo! Does not disap ...

Dined on September 20, 2014

Nothing better in Fargo! Does not disappoint

food5
ambience4
service5

A Fargo Find!

vip
Dined on August 2, 2014

Superb experience. Wonderful food. Friendly front desk and wait staff. Far more than I would have expected in Fargo.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely good & innovative menu

vip
Dined on April 15, 2014

I came to Fargo from New York City on a business trip and had found Maxwells on Open Table. The service was extremely good. The decor and art work are interesting but unobtrusive. The meal was superb. I started with prosciutto wrapped scallops topped with small pieces of lobster in a succulent mild, red curry. My second course was a medium rare elk in a pepper, cherry sauce. And I managed to spare a tiny bit of room to have the cappucino creme brulee. The chef is from North Dakota, and the restaurant is managed by a terribly charming Mexican, Ramon Sosa, originally from Cozumel who has a degree in tourism management. The ladies room was stylish with nice floral accents and some lovely French hand cream. Lots of nice details everywhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Date Night!

Dined on April 14, 2014

The hubby and I went for our 3 wedding anniversary. I made reservations on Open Table and asked to be seated in the bar because we like a more energetic atmosphere. The hostess was very polite and had a table reserved for us in the bar! Wait staff was excellent. Very knowledgeable and had great suggestions and pairings for us. Since it was a special occasion we were in no hurry and they did not rush us. We ordered one appetizer at a time with a bottle of wine before moving on to the main course. The staff was also great with the wine! The food met our Standards! Bacon wrapped scallops, Seared Ahi Tuna, Elk Steak and Lamb Chops all cooked perfect, and the Latte Creme Brule with an espresso cookie, a great finish!! We will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.