About Maxwells

1380 9th St E
West Fargo, ND 58078
View Larger Map

Maxwells is no ordinary experience, offering a relaxed environment, adventurous cuisine and professional service ‘with a personality.’ Superior food, drink and celebration are permanent features. With the region’s largest collection of wines, a diverse selection of beers of the world, and premium beverages, Maxwells is an exciting blend of your imagination and our unique casual elegance.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, French American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar Hours:
Monday-Thursday 4:00pm -10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 4:00pm -11:00pm

Cross Street:
13th Avenue and 9th St. E

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 277-9463

Website:
http://www.maxwellsnd.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Wald

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available to host group dinners, corporate meetings, rehearsal dinners, holiday dinner events, anniversary celebrations or even cocktail receptions. Built-in audiovisual included with private dining rooms. Group dinner menus & bar packages available.

Private Party Contact:
Ramon Sosa: (701) 277-9463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Easter Brunch

March 27th - 10am - 2pm

Reservations only! 701-277-9463

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Thu - Sat 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Maxwells Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
See All
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Romantic (13)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Cozy (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fireplace (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (1)
Fun (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was an excellent fine dining experien ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined 4 days ago

It was an excellent fine dining experience composed of good food choices paired with the right ambience, efficient and courteous service and delectable options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is hands down the best restaurant i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

This is hands down the best restaurant in Fargo. Staff is friendly, welcoming, and highly professional. Food is outstanding. It's obvious that great care goes into every menu item and every plate. Eat here! You'll be glad you did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had dinner here the other ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I had dinner here the other night. I had the Sea Bass and my wife had the pasta. Exceptional flavor and great service. Server requested a great Merlot. Very good food, we will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and excellent service. H ...

 
·Dined on February 9, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service. Have been there multiple times for business occasions and will continue that trend in the future.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellence, tasty and relaxing....

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Excellence, tasty and relaxing....

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch service, delicious food and a ...

vip
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Top notch service, delicious food and a stellar wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

After reviewing the menu online and hear ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 4, 2017

After reviewing the menu online and hearing great things from friends, we decided to go to Maxwell's for our 1 year anniversary dinner. It absolutely did not disappoint! The atmosphere is great (we were sat next to the cellar facing the kitchen) and the service was attentive without being overbearing. Our server, Tyler, was helpful with menu selections and made sure everything was to our liking. Thank you for an amazing experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We could hear alot going on in the kitch ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We could hear alot going on in the kitchen. We love Maxwells!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our absolute favorite places!

vip
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 29, 2017

One of our absolute favorite places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining experience in Fargo! Great F ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Best dining experience in Fargo! Great Food , Service and Ambiance!. Their high standards have remained the same over the years.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Waiter was very kno ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was excellent. Waiter was very knowledgeable of food and wine pairings. Fun and relaxed environment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top two restaurants in FM. Reserve. Eat. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Top two restaurants in FM. Reserve. Eat. Repeat. Truly wonderful dining event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience is beautiful, the staff is ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The ambience is beautiful, the staff is outstanding, the food is exquisite and it is an overall fancy, special experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit often and wanted to share the e ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We visit often and wanted to share the experience with our family from Chicago. From the artesian cheese to the port with desert all was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an excellent experience with well ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always an excellent experience with well-trained staff and wonderful cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had great service, great food and always ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Had great service, great food and always enjoy the ola as a whole!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great swordfish. Good wine selection. As ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great swordfish. Good wine selection. As always service was excellent. Presentation awesome. Enjoyable evening for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I loved our meal (chicken ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My husband and I loved our meal (chicken), but my mom didn't like hers (goose) so that was disappointing. The restaurant was cold so needed a sweater or coat. The cheese platter didn't have much cheese. Overall, we like going there and will most likely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

An Exceptional Dining Experience! Kudos ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 15, 2016

An Exceptional Dining Experience! Kudos to the chef(s), and our assistant Tyler was the Very best! We'll be back again soon.

Tags: Healthy, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat.. Outstanding service ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great place to eat.. Outstanding service.. Great food..

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is outstanding and the food ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The service is outstanding and the food is is excellent. We have never been disappointed with either.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my girlfriend out for her birthday, ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Took my girlfriend out for her birthday, and had a great time. My only complaint would be that it took very long between finishing our appetizer and getting our entrees. This was my 4th or 5th visit to Maxwell's and I look forward to many more visits!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Average food...horrible service!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Average food...horrible service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Incredible food from a top notch staff. ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Incredible food from a top notch staff. I have been going for years and their menu continues to impress me. The owners are deticated and determined to be be the best.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Smaller dining space than we expected. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Smaller dining space than we expected. Seated at a table in the back. Very loud group seated next to us half way through our meal. Changed the ambience for the night. Our waiter was very good, although had to be reminded more than once that my wife was gluten-free. Day Boat Sea Scallop appetizer was fantastic. Our salads were very good. I ordered the Wagyu Beef Ribeye because it was a very special occasion. Very disappointing and incredibly overpriced. We might try it again--not sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great as always!

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall experience was good but we h ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The overall experience was good but we had higher expectations. The ambiance was excellent as well as the service. We especially liked the presentation of the food and the behavior of the waiter who served us. The waiting time was reasonable and the waiter provided all necessary information. The quality of the food (meat and fish) was great while the taste of the food was quite bland and lack savory . The portion of the entree was adequate but the price was to high for the serving size. We will definitely recommend this restaurant to our friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Maxwells was Fantastic! I pass by it alm ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Maxwells was Fantastic! I pass by it almost everyday and never thought much about trying it. I went online to find reviews on fine dining to take my girlfriend out eat. A place that we haven't tried. Maxwells popled up with fantastic reviews. Note it is more spendy than go to "fine dining" restraunts but their food menu is full of flavor and delicious. Atmosphere is romantic for a date or calm and casual for a night of fine dining and chatting. By far the best place we have been to in the Fargo/Moorhead area.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Maxwells. Great little spo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 23, 2016

First time at Maxwells. Great little spot for a nice dinner with friends over a good glass of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our evening very much the foo ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We enjoyed our evening very much the food was very good and our waiter was the best very friendly and helpful. Will recommend this place to our caniadian friends it was worth the weekend drive from Manitoba.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was great, the food was wond ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The service was great, the food was wonderful and always a great selection! We had 8 in our party and Maxwells set us up in a good spot!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really enjoyed our dinner. From the coc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Really enjoyed our dinner. From the cocktail to the coffee. The cheese board was perfect. I had the ribeye with roast baby red potatoes. Meat was done just right. The atmosphere was comfortable; not too dark.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent meal to celebrate my father's ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Excellent meal to celebrate my father's birthday. The bar service was outstanding, and the bartender crafted the best Manhattans we've had anywhere. Stellar lamb chops! Stellar meal, drinks, atmosphere and service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the Beer for Breast Dinner th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We enjoyed the Beer for Breast Dinner this last weekend. The pairings were great and the food was outstanding. Our last two trips to Maxwell's reminds me that we need to go there more often! I am never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and food were excellent! The wi ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Service and food were excellent! The wine list is amazing. Would highly recommend Maxwells!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We didn't know what to expect when booki ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We didn't know what to expect when booking this restaurant. We did read good reviews so thought we should try it. We live in Regina, SK, Canada and were driving down for a concert. We were so amazed with your restaurant, the food was fantastic! I had the swordfish which was outstanding and my husband had the beef tenderloin which was also fantastic! I would definitely recommend your restaurant to everyone. The service was excellent as well. We are so glad we tried your establishment! Wish we lived closer by!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a pleasant find in Fargo. Grea ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 10, 2016

This was a pleasant find in Fargo. Great food and creative presentation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent choice for dinner. We have be ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent choice for dinner. We have been here several times and have never been disappointed. The food, wine and service were all great. Highly recommend when you are in the Fargo area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience-our waiter was very ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Excellent experience-our waiter was very good and very patient. Food and wine were excellent-great experience-highly recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were fine, but the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food and service were fine, but the noise level was very unpleasant. Perhaps this varies in different areas of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.