Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.61mi
  3. Distance: 1.71mi
  4. Distance: 1.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.61mi
  3. Distance: 1.71mi
  4. Distance: 1.72mi

About Maxwells

Maxwells is no ordinary experience, offering a relaxed environment, adventurous cuisine and professional service ‘with a personality.’ Superior food, drink and celebration are permanent features. With the region’s largest collection of wines, a diverse selection of beers of the world, and premium beverages, Maxwells is an exciting blend of your imagination and our unique casual elegance.

1380 9th St E
West Fargo, ND 58078
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, French American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar Hours:
Monday-Thursday 4:00pm -10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 4:00pm -11:00pm

Cross Street:
13th Avenue and 9th St. E

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 277-9463

Website:
http://www.maxwellsnd.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Wald

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available to host group dinners, corporate meetings, rehearsal dinners, holiday dinner events, anniversary celebrations or even cocktail receptions. Built-in audiovisual included with private dining rooms. Group dinner menus & bar packages available.

Private Party Contact:
Ramon Sosa: (701) 277-9463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Easter Brunch

March 27th - 10am - 2pm

Reservations only! 701-277-9463

Maxwells Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Romantic (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice atmosphere and food presentation was beautiful. However, once again, our proteins were overcooked and dry. The desert they brought to make up for the dry fish was very dry. I'm sorry to say this was their last chance. I'm disappointed because of the wonderful ambience and it's so close to home.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 13, 2017

It should be noted that Maxwells is a place of special occasions. It is not a place most people would go for a casual meal. Most main courses fall within the high 30 to 40 dollar range. That being said, for special occasions, it is well worth the visit.
We were at Maxwells for our anniversary. We shared their crab-cake and scallop appetizers. Both were very good, but of the two I recommend the crab-cake. For our main course, we had their fish of the day, which was swordfish. We were both very pleased. It was the best we had ever had. For desert we shared their banana bread pudding with rum sauce. It was good, but in all honesty, we enjoyed the appetizers and main course more. Service was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Excellent food.Interesting and different choices.Service was superb.It was busy though so things took awhile.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Prices are not for just everyday dining though...save it for a special occasion. Our only "complaint" would be the air conditioning was set so low it was close to being uncomfortable. Thankful I brought a sweater.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was fabulous and the service was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The meal was superb ! The service was great and the ambience was perfect for an anniversary date.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The food is absolutely incredible. The most challenging aspect is choosing from many great entrees. Great wine selection and fabulous home made desserts and ice cream. Top notch service. Maxwell's is a real gem as good as any restaurant in New York, london or Paris. It is a must try.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Overrated. Not sure what happened here. I love their brunch, but their dinner menu was less than impressive. Overpriced (note the prices are not listed on the website) and underseasoned. We ordered two apps, two burgers, two salads, and a dessert. This was a birthday celebration and stated that in our reservations on-line. At other casual fine dining places we have gone to in the past, they make a bigger deal of the occasion -- that you chose to spend your birthday at their restaurant. However, the hostess and the waitstaff said nothing. The apps --
Sarsparilla-Apricot BBQ Baby Back Ribs had overcooked ribs (with what tasted like a store-bought sauce), overly mayonaised slaw, and a nice little cobbler on the side and the Ahi Tuna Tataki (overcooked) -- were disappointing. We ordered the Hearts of Romaine salad, which was a dollar cheaper than the other two (perhaps we should've gone with the other two) was bland in a very stale cheese bread bowl. From the bar menu, we each ordered the burgers. They were fine. The sweet potato fries were underseasoned and undercooked however. On a brighter side, the Duck Egg Creme Brulee was delicious. Overall, an extremely disappointing experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Once again Maxwells failed to disappoint. Good food in a pleasant relaxed attmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We have enjoyed several meals and special occasions at Maxwell's. We have never been disappointed in the cuisine, wine list or the service. This evening was no different. We had friends visiting from Minneapolis so we thought that Maxwell's was the place to take them. Again we had stellar service and excellent entrée's. The wine recommended by our waiter was right on with the variety of entrées. We look forward to an enjoyable evening each time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Maxwell's is among the better restaurants in Fargo. Some things are great. Others only fair. Like many Fargo restaurants there's an emphasis on "more is better" but the result is often not better. It is just more. An $87 steak should never be smothered in a sauce and floating on stuff. Particularly if it is just a lot of an ordinary sauce. But, I'm not sure there's much completion and I find myself there almost every monthly trip to Fargo.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Jeff at the bar was great and the host, super accommodating

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The monk fish special was outstanding! Great service and food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great appetizers and food choices! The service is always friendly and knowledgeable, one of my family's favorite Fargo restaurants!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Delicious meal with outstanding service! The surf and turf was amazing - never experienced bison cooked so well before! Ty was also provided the best service. was a great culinary experience!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Maxwell's always is a good choice for a special occasion and very good food. Did not let us down for our anniversary date.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 31, 2017

love the neighborhood feel of this place
their fish is phenomenal and the service always 5 stars

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal. My single and only complaint is my waiter never once offered a refill on my beverage, it was nothing fancy being Cherry Coke, my date received a refill on her water. Just seemed slightly peculiar. I didn't particularly care if it costed extra, just kinda wanted more drink. I would definitely recommend the elk steak.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Would return to eat here again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Authentic, Business Meals, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Found the food to be not as good as our last visit 6 months ago. Service was good and I enjoy the atmosphere,

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We celebrated our 48th anniversary and found the service excellent. Atmosphere is perfect and the complimentary desert was very good. The kitchen was perfect and the menu is very interesting. We highly recommend the flatbread appetizer!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food is always amazing and never disappoints. My steak was so delicious. I cannot wait to go back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I have eaten here several times in the last year and as always, excellent food and service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was absolutely outstanding. What a remarkable chef they have. It is spendy. We had a $30 bottle of wine. With that, our check for two people was $125. But the food was absolutely extraordinary. We noticed, although we were in a booth and the place was not crowded, it is a little bit noisy. Lots of hard surfaces and the pitch of the ceiling seem to bounce the sound down to the diners. But the place was beautiful, the service was exceptional. This was a special occasion, and we will definitely go there for our next special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Loved the scallop appetizer! The rib appetizer was another favorite. The Amish chicken entree was fabulous and I would order it again! The New Zealand lamb entree lacked flavor and was disappointing for the price. Overall an excellent restaurant and I would definitely return for a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant. The food and service are amazing!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food and drinks, wonderful service! We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My food was pretty bad. I had the surf n turf. The lobster was dry and chewy, and the bison sirloin was fatty and stringy. My wife's food was good though. We were also seated at a table near the bathrooms and he kitchen so people buzzed by us constantly.
Mike

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Maxwell's is easily my favorite restaurant in the Fargo/Moorhead/West Fargo area. Food is always top notch and the service is spectacular.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very disappointed in food. Expected better for the price.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 16, 2017

It was an excellent fine dining experience composed of good food choices paired with the right ambience, efficient and courteous service and delectable options.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is hands down the best restaurant in Fargo. Staff is friendly, welcoming, and highly professional. Food is outstanding. It's obvious that great care goes into every menu item and every plate. Eat here! You'll be glad you did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here the other night. I had the Sea Bass and my wife had the pasta. Exceptional flavor and great service. Server requested a great Merlot. Very good food, we will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 9, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service. Have been there multiple times for business occasions and will continue that trend in the future.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Excellence, tasty and relaxing....

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Top notch service, delicious food and a stellar wine list.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 4, 2017

After reviewing the menu online and hearing great things from friends, we decided to go to Maxwell's for our 1 year anniversary dinner. It absolutely did not disappoint! The atmosphere is great (we were sat next to the cellar facing the kitchen) and the service was attentive without being overbearing. Our server, Tyler, was helpful with menu selections and made sure everything was to our liking. Thank you for an amazing experience!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We could hear alot going on in the kitchen. We love Maxwells!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 29, 2017

One of our absolute favorite places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Best dining experience in Fargo! Great Food , Service and Ambiance!. Their high standards have remained the same over the years.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.