About Maxwells

1380 9th St E
West Fargo, ND 58078
View Larger Map

Maxwells is no ordinary experience, offering a relaxed environment, adventurous cuisine and professional service ‘with a personality.’ Superior food, drink and celebration are permanent features. With the region’s largest collection of wines, a diverse selection of beers of the world, and premium beverages, Maxwells is an exciting blend of your imagination and our unique casual elegance.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, French American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar Hours:
Monday-Thursday 4:00pm -10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 4:00pm -11:00pm

Cross Street:
13th Avenue and 9th St. E

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(701) 277-9463

Website:
http://www.maxwellsnd.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Wald

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available to host group dinners, corporate meetings, rehearsal dinners, holiday dinner events, anniversary celebrations or even cocktail receptions. Built-in audiovisual included with private dining rooms. Group dinner menus & bar packages available.

Private Party Contact:
Ramon Sosa: 701-277-9463x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Easter Brunch

March 27th - 10am - 2pm

Reservations only! 701-277-9463

Restaurant Photos

Bison Meatballs with Vermouth Cream Sauce, Crimini Mushrooms & Grilled Ciabatta Bread
Complimentary bread with whipped butter
Pulled Pork Sandwich
Oysters
Surf & Turf: Saffron Baked Lobster Tail & Grilled Beef Tenderloin Wild Mushroom Risotto, Grilled Asparagus & Tempura Green Beans
Baby Spinach with Pancetta-Balsamic Dressing, St. Andre Brie, Apples & Candied Nuts
Pan Roasted Prosciutto Wrapped Day Boat Scallops with Lobster-Red Curry Sauce
Steamed Prince Edward Island Mussels White Wine in Saffron Broth, Roma Tomatoes, Toasted Pine Nuts & Grilled Bread
Blackened Walleye Fillet with mushroom risotto, Grilled Asparagus, Shrimp-Avocado Salsa and Lemon-White Wine Sauce
Veal Osso Bucco: Country Style Whipped Potatoes, Seasonal Vegetables and Red Wine Mushroom Sauce
Grilled Rack of Lamb with Rosemary & Garlic Candied Bacon Relish, Sweet Potato bacon hash
Banana Chocolate Chip Bread Pudding with Rum Fosters Sauce & Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
Late night martini with espresso vodka
Surf And Turf
Cheese & Meat Plate
Cheese cake

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Thu - Sat 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Maxwells Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
North Dakota
Most Booked
Fargo
Best Restaurants in Fargo ›

Special Occasion (29)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Romantic (17)
See All
Notable Wine List (17)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Groups (5)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
68 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Highly recommend Maxwells, the food, ser ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Highly recommend Maxwells, the food, service, ambiance was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience...fantastic fo ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Always a great experience...fantastic food, wine and atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had an amazing night. The food was in ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We had an amazing night. The food was incredible. Great wine. Our server was super!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the fish special, and it was outstan ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Had the fish special, and it was outstanding. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary, and the staff went out of their way to make us feel extra special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our fourth time dining at Maxwe ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This was our fourth time dining at Maxwells. Just when we thought we knew what to expect, they exceeded our expectations again. Wow!

They chef prepared such a delicious surf-and-turf of bison and lobster. The bison was wrapped in bacon to give it a slightly salty taste. It was magnificent. The scallop appetizers were amazing. For two hours the chef took our palates on a most exquisite culinary experience.

The ice cream and sorbet desserts are shareable between two people. Delicious.

Our server was knowledgeable, attentive, discrete and thorough - the consummate professional.

We highly recommend Maxwells for a special dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still a dependable, safe bet for quality ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Still a dependable, safe bet for quality dining in the Fargo area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was fabulous and the wait staff ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was fabulous and the wait staff was excellent! Will definitely come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maxwell's is always fantastic! Food and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Maxwell's is always fantastic! Food and service is always the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was gret,server,Ty, was very kn ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was gret,server,Ty, was very knowledgeable,professional and friendly.He added to the success of the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

nice selection of food, but in a strip m ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

nice selection of food, but in a strip mall and very expensive for the location and type of food. I ate there first week in July, 2016. Would not recommend this unless you really don't care how much you spend (40-80 for an entree and menu is ala carte). Dress should be upscale, but it is not, t-shirts, blue jeans, and I think that was on one of the owners or managers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We visit Maxwell's on a fairly regular b ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We visit Maxwell's on a fairly regular basis. Sometimes just for the excellent chef prepared cheese and meat tray and a glass of recommended wine. Other times it is just for dessert. This was an anniversary dinner with the family. The service and meals were excellent, as expected. Not the least expensive place to eat in town, but from knowledge of the staff, to the taste and plating of the food it is well worth the investment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic and the presentat ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was fantastic and the presentation inspired.I will gladly return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Right off of Food Network! Food was not ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Right off of Food Network! Food was not only delicious but beautiful to look at!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful unexpected pleasure! I had the ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful unexpected pleasure! I had the Salmon, husband the Elk! He was the winner!! It was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Way overpriced for what you get!!!!!!! ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Way overpriced for what you get!!!!!!! Good grief, $39 for mediocre grouper. Red Lobster does better.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

food was great

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place it's always bit spendy b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Love this place it's always bit spendy but it's totally worth it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great. I love hot food on a hot ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Food was great. I love hot food on a hot plate. The ooh was a little too dark for my taste, I like a little more light.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food! It was delicious and perfectly ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

The food! It was delicious and perfectly plated. I travel alot for work and this place is a diamond in the rough. I can confidently say that I had a better meal here than at the flemings I ate at the other week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Met expectations

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a very enjoyable evening at Maxwell's. Food was delightful, service was good, and really no complaints. They do have a notable wine list. It would help if the servers knew more about the wines so he/she can answer simple questions.

For Fargo, it is probably one of the best places to dine. Be better if they had table cloths on the table to add classiness to the place.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

I found this gem on open table and it was fantastic! Great food! Great service! Awesome atmosphere and hands on ownership! Highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So good

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Delicious every time. Sauces so good you will want to lick your plate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Maxwell's

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

We were thrilled by our experience at Maxwell's. Celebrating our anniversary, we wanted something special. We certainly found that at Maxwell's. Not only was the food delicious, the wait staff was extremely well trained! We will definitely be going back to Maxwell's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner out

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Yum! Everything was delicious! Lavosh was best I have ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love to Dine

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

From appetizers to dessert, the experience and service were exactly what we were expecting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and service

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Enjoyed the fresh halibut. Both the wife and I very impressed with the meal, service and dining surroundings. One of Fargo's finest for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

very good restaurant

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was great. we enjoyed our dinner. Service was good. Creative dishes with excellent taste and presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere. Service was g ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Service was great. We always go to Maxwell's for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience as always! Order the me ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Great experience as always! Order the meatballs if you sit in the bar area...outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great place- worth it!

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great place- worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

review

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The meal was very over priced & the potatoes were very strange. They turned around how mine & my husbands steaks were to be cooked. Mine was rare and his was well. 2 different cuts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

The Day Boat Scallops as an appetizer ar ...

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The Day Boat Scallops as an appetizer are outstanding - not to be missed. Service was especially friendly and made us feel extra special since we were there to celebrate a birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, the grouper I ordered was th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Great food, the grouper I ordered was the best fish dinner I have had in a long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Maxwell's

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Maxwell's is probably my favorite place in the Fargo area to eat. The food is always excellent and the service is always great. The atmosphere is one of the best in Fargo, always quiet and great ambiance. I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT as always!!!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

This is by far and away one of our favorites! Exceptional service, fabulous food and great wine list!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and wait staff. Would have li ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Great food and wait staff. Would have liked tablecloths and newer silverware to complement the $35-87 entrées. Cocktails were well made and wine list had some unique options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Fantastic food and service!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Fantastic food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fargo find

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent food and wine list with service to match. Surprisingly more expensive than I expected for the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

day late Valentines day dinner.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Good meal, good portions, expensive, had a $100.00 gift card and still did not cover meal and I ordered the cheapest meal (stuffed mushrooms) had a few drinks. Beautiful atmosphere, lots of business dinners going on and a few couples. Would go back but possibly try bar menu to save money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great date place

 
 (North Dakota)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

I've been waiting to dine at Maxwell's since many friends and family members rave about how fantastic the food is. I ordered the midwinter margarita which was yummy. The spinach salad was delicious. Elk was well seasoned and cooked to perfection and the roasted potatoes paired well. My husband ordered the strawberry mimosa sorbet which was refreshing! I ordered the limencello creme brule and was amazed. The service was friendly and helpful with suggestions. The ambience was fitting for date night. I definitely would like to return soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.