Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

Maxwells

4.8
247 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Maxwells is no ordinary experience, offering a relaxed environment, adventurous cuisine and professional service ‘with a personality.’ Superior food, drink and celebration are permanent features. With the region’s largest collection of wines, a diverse selection of beers of the world, and premium beverages, Maxwells is an exciting blend of your imagination and our unique casual elegance.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, American, French American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner Service:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar Hours:
Monday-Thursday 4:00pm -10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 4:00pm -11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(701) 277-9463
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mike Wald
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Private dining rooms are available to host group dinners, corporate meetings, rehearsal dinners, holiday dinner events, anniversary celebrations or even cocktail receptions. Built-in audiovisual included with private dining rooms. Group dinner menus & bar packages available.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Ramon Sosa: (701) 277-9463
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
13th Avenue and 9th St. E
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Easter Brunch

March 27th - 10am - 2pm

Reservations only! 701-277-9463
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 247 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.9
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Amazing, a must experience kind of place! Never disappoints!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Great food and service as always. I would highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The steak and lobster were excellent. The bacon wrapping the steak was over cooked. The beer cheese soup lacked texture I added bread chunks to it to improve the thickness. All in all a good atmosphere with some slight culinary tweeks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

This special occasion demanded a restaurant that could deliver. The food had an exceptional presentation. It was very tasty. I had the salmon. Others had steak and lobster and ribeye. The service was attentive without being obtrusive. We spent 2 1/2 hours with our party of seven. I will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Excellent Food. Wide range of things to pick from from start to finish. Food is tops.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

This has been my son’s favorite restaurant while attending NDSU! We’ve always enjoyed dining here when visiting him in Fargo and we were excited to celebrate his doctoral commencement at Maxwell’s! Thanks so much!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Love this place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

This was close to one of the best, if not the best dining experiences my husband and I have ever had. The prices were a bit much, but for a special occasion it was worth it. The service was tremendous, and the attention to detail was much appreciated. Our waiter knew what he was doing, his customer service and attentiveness was awesome.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The service was great and the sea bass was outstanding. Fantastic experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The food is excellent!!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 25, 2018

I’m sure some of the food is great, but the beef tip steak was so so.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Always fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We have dined at Maxwell's numerous times and the food and drinks have always been excellent. We look forward to coming again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

My husband and I went for our anniversary and we were very impressed. This is the perfect date spot! The food was amazing, the staff was awesome and I would highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The menu is the reason to visit Maxwell’s! Amazing appetizers like the flat bread and cheese tray are with the trip alone. I wish I could say I’ve tried several entrees, but truth be told, I’m stuck on the surf and turf! Amazing bacon wrapped bison with lobster claws on a bed of mushroom risotto and asparagus! My favorite bar far!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Great food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Maxwells is great. The food was very delicious and our waiter was outstanding. I can just recommend Maxwells. I will eat at Maxwells again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Wonderful, as always! It is on the pricey side, but we left completely stuffed and the food was superb.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Maxwell's was okay. Nothing special. I ordered the filet, it was way overcooked. My wife ordered the lamb chops and said they were good. just

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Ramone did an amazing job letting us know he was going to take good care of us & he did just that. The restaurant was extremely busy but he made sure we had a seat & we would be waited on with great service. I had the halibut special. It was fabulous. My husband ordered the Hereford tenderloin& he said he would definitely order it again. No complaints from us & we will definitely be back soon

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Maxwells never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Excellent - both food quality and presentation - Waite staff are well trained, responsive, and efficient. Very good wine selection. Nice atmosphere for a quiet dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Service from our waitress Kaci was excellent.Next visit a I will request her as our server.Food was also very good.Everyone loved Maxwell's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Business dinner. Excellent choice. Great food !!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Everything was delightful. Allison was a great server. I gave the noise level a moderate only because we were very close to a large table. To be expected, really.

Maxwell's is quite intimate regardless, and would be a wonderful place to take the wife or girlfriend.

Bill

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The elk tenderloin is outstanding and I would highly recommend it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Everything is as advertised. We will definitely be going back next time we are in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Great service

Great food and presentation

Value was good

Had elk and lamb, both very good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

You would never expect an amazing place like this to be in a strip mall.. All in all it was amazing. And do yourself a favor and order the creme brulee

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Maxwell's is amazing! It is not inexpensive, but when we want to treat ourselves, this is our first choice. The chef is just remarkable. This is better food than we have had anywhere else in town. Very creative combinations and absolutely delicious and perfectly prepared. They have a nice wine list. Also, they take reservations, which is a huge plus. Be prepared for a large check, but it will be a meal that you won't soon forget.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

We have eaten at Maxwells a handful of times. Our food has always been great except for the last visit. My pork tenderloin was quite dry and tough to chew.
Also, I think it needs to be disclosed that the unique salad bowls are made of cheese. After eating some of it, we asked the waitress what it was. She told us Parmesan cheese. Both of us have bad milk allergies...so that didn’t go over well. Suffered sinus issues the next couple of days.
Overall a wonderful restaurant and great place to celebrate a special event. We will continue to dine here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

The food was spectacular as always. Fairly expensive for the area, but I would say its the best food in Fargo. Our server was phenomenal! I have been in the industry for most of my life, I appreciate great service as much as great food. I am yet to have anything other than a great experience at Maxwells!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Maxwell's service and food are outstanding! Very creative dishes with the servers knowing exactly how to describe them!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

One of the best restaurants in Fargo-Moorhead. The Swordfish was exceptional!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Very quiet, warm, cozy setting with great service and wonderful entrees! Would definitely recommend trying it out!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

We had great service and fantastic food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Awesome food and atmosphere. One of our go-to spots in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Excellent as always, from greeting to good bye! Knowledgeable, courteous staff, excellent cuisine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Wonderful service! Amazing food!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Always a great experience. Food, service, ambience. Our fav special place to go. Love the wine selection too.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7

Tweets by Maxwells