About MAX's Wine Dive San Antonio - East Basse Rd

340 E. Basse Rd., Ste. 101
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model – you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town – and then take some home with you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11AM-12AM (open for lunch & dinner)
Friday: 11AM - 1AM
Saturday: 10AM-1AM* (open for brunch & dinner)
Sunday: 10AM-10PM* (open for brunch & dinner)

*Kitchen closed Saturday and Sunday from 3-4PM. Regular beer/wine service still available.

Cross Street:
Jones-Maltzberger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 444-9547

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/

Entertainment:
Featuring a Texas-proud juke box covering all your favorites - from Johnny Cash to ZZ Top to AC/DC. Perfect for late-night "Reverse" Happy Hour!

Catering:
MAX's Wine Dive will offer catering for off-premise events, as well as for privately-booked corporate or personal events in our semi-private dining room.

Parking Details:
The Quarry Village features a large parking lot directly in front of the restaurant, as well as public visitor parking in the Artessa apartments’ parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Lionel “Butch” Blache

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We continuously have upcoming wine tastings and other related events! Check our website to see what is coming up next, http://www.maxswinedive.com/san-antonio/calendar-of-events/index.php

Restaurant Photos

Southern Fried Chicken
Chioppino
"Big Daddy's" Wings
Pork Belly
Calamari
Chicken And Dumpings
Half And Half Dessert
fried chicken
Cerdon Bugey And Cava
Truffle Chips
Nacho Mamma's Oyster
Lamb Kefta Gyro
Cheese Plate
Max's Kobe Burger
Hummus
Haute Dog
Fried Chicken Sliders
Deep Fried Pickles
Mushroom Salad
fried oysters
Half & Half
fried egg sandwich
Chicken and Waffles
Gyro
Bbq Pulled Pork Nachos
Chicken and Pancakes
Fried Egg Sandwich With Truffle Oil
The Ranch Hand Salad
Three Egg Sandwich
Pan Borracho ("drunk bread"
Wings And Pancakes
Kobe Burger
MAX 'n Cheese
Country Fried Chicken W Mashed Potatoe And Frites
Cheese Sampler
Murphy-Goode Cabernet Sauvignon
Pan Borracho & Loco Huevos "Drunk Bread & Crazy Eggs"
White Chocolate Banana's Foster Bread Pudding
Hand Ranch Salad
Pork Belly Eggrolls
Famous Southern Fried Chicken
Pan Barracho Y Loco Huevos
Hangover Hash
Eggs Max
Sagelands Riesling
Chef's Special Chicken Salad
Salmon & Avocado Ceviche
Oxtail & 4 Cheese Raviolis
Prosecco Mimosa Flight
Fried Pickles
Pulled Pork Stuffed Red Peppers
Gluten Free Fried Chicken
Syrah
Pot de Chocolat
"Big Daddy's " Wings
Stuffed Peppers
Max's Famous Fried Chicken And Pancakes
Boracho Bread
Nachos With Pulled Pork
Hamachi Tartar
Nacho Mama Fried Oysters
Hop Czar By Bridgeport Brewing
Tomato Soup and Grilled Cheese
Pork Chop

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Mon - Tue 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Wed - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MAX’s Wine Dive is one of Texas’s most highly acclaimed restaurant concepts and it is at your disposal for all your party planning and catering needs. Allow the team to create the perfect event for you and your company. With a wide variety of options, MAX’s Wine Dive takes all of the stress out!

MAX's Wine Dive San Antonio - East Basse Rd Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Great for Brunch (34)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Notable Wine List (25)
See All
Good for Groups (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Special Occasion (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Late-night Find (8)
Romantic (7)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
707 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good. Watermelon mimosas were b ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was good. Watermelon mimosas were by far the best and most unique part. They were late to seat us. The food took quite a while and the server barely checked on us and never informed us on the status of our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The Food was really good but the service ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 3 days ago

The Food was really good but the service was lacking. We sat down and no one came to our table to bring water or take an initial drink order. By the time we were able to flag someone down for water, at least two other tables had been seated, offered water and ordered before we even were greeted by a server. And when we were able to finally get our waiter's attention she was not friendly or concerned that we had been overlooked which mad a bad situation much worse.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Terrific restaurant week menu. We all e ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

Terrific restaurant week menu. We all enjoyed everything we ordered.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I think due to major crowd the kitchen w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I think due to major crowd the kitchen was rushing. Waffles overcooked and batter wasn't it's best. Wings were good. Lil disappointed as it was the kids back to school brunch.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Max's Wine Dive is a brunch destination ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Max's Wine Dive is a brunch destination highly recommend

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was poor. I had the omelet a ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service was poor. I had the omelet and asked for onions and jalapeños. Didn't get it. We both waited for 4 minutes after receiving our food to get silverware. One of the wait staff didn't seem to have one iota of concern when we asked for mustard and ketchup for my friends burger. I eat at Max's 3 x month in Austin so this level service was not anticipated and disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

As always, the food at Max's was superb! ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

As always, the food at Max's was superb! It was very noisy and the light with a ceiling fan in front of it was like a strobe light on the menu and table, but it wasn't too much of a bother. They were very busy and the food took a little longer than usual but the waitress was very apologetic and offered free dessert without us even asking to be compensated. Service was great, food was fantastic, atmosphere could have been better. It's a little too dark for my taste, and I was seated next to a table full of tiny, sleepy, fussy children, but that has no bearing on the restaurant's ability to serve great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Fried chicken is the absolute best!

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fried chicken is the absolute best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was literally SOAKED with oil (ranc ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was literally SOAKED with oil (rancid oil)... Inedible. They didn't have my reservation, and we were ignored for the most part. This place USED to be good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Only the food stood out. Waited over 40 ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Only the food stood out. Waited over 40 minutes for our food at lunch. Restaurant only moderately full. No host at stand. Had to seat outselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Best place in San Antonio to go to!!! Th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Best place in San Antonio to go to!!! They've never let me down.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had a so-so experience with the seating. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Had a so-so experience with the seating. If they take reservations they should be prepared and not try to shove you into a smaller table than your party or into a corner next to the kitchen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The fried chicken and fried egg sandwich ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The fried chicken and fried egg sandwich never disappoint. It is a fun and lively atmosphere with mimosas that flow. One of my favorite casual brunch spots!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Hangover hash is a must! The menu had ch ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Hangover hash is a must! The menu had changed in the last two weeks but I'm so glad they kept this dish (with a slight change in the ingredients but still amazing)!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the food. I savored every bite a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I loved the food. I savored every bite and cannot wait to eat there again. My only wish is that there were a few more kid items to chose from-- but my 4 year old daughter loved her red velvet pancake and scrambled eggs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

host was a bit awkward and walked us to ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

host was a bit awkward and walked us to the bar to wait. Then multiple personnel approached us during our wait but weren't offering to serve us beverages. However, once seated for brunch, the meal was great. I wish we had been informed about the Texas Monthly write up on the burger and will be sure to try that next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

After 15 minutes of being had to go ask ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

After 15 minutes of being had to go ask the manager for a waiter to come to our table. Although the restaurant wasn't busy, our server disappeared. The food was just ok. Typically, their food is great. Just wander if the have a new manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

First off, we went for brunch and the ho ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

First off, we went for brunch and the hostess was able to sit us right away, which was awesome. I come here a lot and sometimes you have to wait for awhile to be seated. I guess that's the perks of reserving. :) I don't know what kind of music list they have but it was amazing. A bunch of wonderful favorites and both my girlfriend and I loved it to the point where we were Shazamming everything. The food was delicious. It didn't take a long time for it to come out but it was truly fresh and great. We had an amazing time and she would like to come back. Thanks guys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went specifically for the chicken and ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went specifically for the chicken and waffles because they were rated high on a list of the top ten places to get chicken and waffles in Texas. However, we are unaware that they don't serve it for dinner, only brunch and lunch... I'm just saying, if it's what you're known for, it should be served all day. Our waitress informed us that they can't make fresh waffles all day long, but from my perspective it's really not that difficult to pour a batter that you've made into a waffle iron, amiright? Anyway... The chicken and Mac and cheese was good my husband enjoyed his burger. It just wasn't what we were expecting. We'll have to wait and find out if their chicken and waffles can really beat the ones at 24 Diner in Austin. I hope they do, because it'd be nice to have a good place to get one of our favorite meals close to home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Awesome chicken fried steak today!

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Awesome chicken fried steak today!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great customer service great food!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great customer service great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was to die for, service was first c ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was to die for, service was first class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fried chicken and champs is amazing!!

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Fried chicken and champs is amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A/C was out. Other than that, it was goo ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

A/C was out. Other than that, it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

This was a fun place to meetup with frie ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was a fun place to meetup with friends. The server appeared to be a bit frantic and although I was waiting for my two friends to arrive he didn't ask if I would like to order a beverage. I had to flag him down to do so. He then did the same thing to the next person to arrive. He didn't clear away dirty dishes either, which isn't a major issue but it takes up the needed space. All in all, it was a nice place to meet with some yummy food and drink choices. And the server wasn't terrible, maybe had an off day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We love this place! The food is great & ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love this place! The food is great & it's just always a fun place to go. Just wish they'd put one out near the Alamo Ranch area. We'd be there more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved everything about Max's. The glu ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We loved everything about Max's. The gluten free options were great. The food options were varied and delicious. Service was great. Wonderful place for brunch, lunch, dinner, and late night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the food at Max's was good whil ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As usual the food at Max's was good while the service was only average to fair. I had made a reservation for a large group for a birthday party, I arrived about 15 minutes early and was ignored by the host who walked by me a few times while he was on the phone. When he finally greeted me he instructed me to wait at the bar until my reservation time (even though I could clearly see that our large table was available and he could see that I was carrying gifts and items to decorate the table with). As I was sitting at the bar not once did anyone (host, bar tender, server etc) ask me if I would like anything to drink, I was pretty much ignored until my reservation time. Once we were finally seated our server came by the table occasionally, but even though she was waiting on our large party of 15 she was waiting on other tables as well and there were a few times that I had to get up from my table and search her out to get service. Again, Max's has great food, but every time I go the service is just OK.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great wine selection. Small plates are t ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great wine selection. Small plates are the way to go. Great friendly service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was ok. Though the restaurant barel ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was ok. Though the restaurant barely opened and was not busy, it took over an hour before we received our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Love the fried chicken which goes well w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Love the fried chicken which goes well with a bottle of Moët, my wife and I haven't tried anything else because it's so good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Strobe light effect from ceiling fans

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Pretty good food.

Fried Chicken was tasty.

A little slow on the service.

However, my big knock is that the ceiling fans are mounted right over canned lights.

At night it creates an unsettling strobe light effect, which is annoying.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Best fried chicken ever. I had heartburn ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Best fried chicken ever. I had heartburn for a week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

More vegetarian friendly items please

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

More vegetarian friendly items please

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Disappointed this time...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

When we checked in 15 min early for our 9:30 reservation we told the young lady we had a reservation. She did not check us in from our Open Table reservation. Disappointment number 1. When we were seated, we were rushed to order due to the kitchen closing per the waiter, disappointment number 2. I specifically told him oysters fried hard, they were barely cooked, #3. Why accept reservations for 9:30 if you will rush customers to order. It was our wedding anniversary just wanted a late night date. My husband stated maybe we should not come anymore the service has really gone down to his liking from all the other times we have gone.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

I have been going to Max's for years.. I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I have been going to Max's for years.. Idk why the chef removed fried green tomatoes from menu.. I went w some girlfriends, promising a culinary treat and was quite embarrassed that out of the 5 dishes we ordered, only 2 were tasty. Some of the items we chose were not available. the wine bottles we purchased to enjoy during our dinner were avail for purchase to take home for half the price and we were charged regular price bc we drank them there. Disappointing and won't be going back. Sad and alarming at the same time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Really loved that they were doing a spec ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Really loved that they were doing a special recognition for veterans, active-duty military and first responders! Please keep the half baked cookie on your dessert menu permanently! Better than most things you have on there now

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I really like their local greens salad w ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

I really like their local greens salad with the addition of salmon. Unfortunately on this occasion we chose to eat outside and the service was rather sketchy. Also asked for no dressing on my salad and it came slathered in dressing. The waiter said he thought it was just all of oil which is why he brought it. So obviously he didn't know his product very well. Normally one of the places I really enjoy eating with better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We had a great time. This was the first ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a great time. This was the first time our 86 yr old mom had been to Max's so it was important that we had a good time set for her. Everything was perfect. Food was excellent. Our server (wish I could remember his name) was so accommodating to our every need. Only issue was that open table reservations couldn't adjust our reservation number but I did care the restaurant and they were very accommodating. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome brunch spot!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Awesome brunch spot!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.