About MAX's Wine Dive San Antonio - East Basse Rd

340 E. Basse Rd., Ste. 101
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model – you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town – and then take some home with you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11AM-12AM (open for lunch & dinner)
Friday: 11AM - 1AM
Saturday: 10AM-1AM* (open for brunch & dinner)
Sunday: 10AM-10PM* (open for brunch & dinner)

*Kitchen closed Saturday and Sunday from 3-4PM. Regular beer/wine service still available.

Cross Street:
Jones-Maltzberger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 444-9547

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/

Entertainment:
Featuring a Texas-proud juke box covering all your favorites - from Johnny Cash to ZZ Top to AC/DC. Perfect for late-night "Reverse" Happy Hour!

Catering:
MAX's Wine Dive will offer catering for off-premise events, as well as for privately-booked corporate or personal events in our semi-private dining room.

Parking Details:
The Quarry Village features a large parking lot directly in front of the restaurant, as well as public visitor parking in the Artessa apartments’ parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Lionel “Butch” Blache

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We continuously have upcoming wine tastings and other related events! Check our website to see what is coming up next, http://www.maxswinedive.com/san-antonio/calendar-of-events/index.php

Restaurant Photos

Southern Fried Chicken
Chioppino
"Big Daddy's" Wings
Pork Belly
Calamari
Chicken And Dumpings
Famous Southern Fried Chicken
Half And Half Dessert
fried chicken
Cerdon Bugey And Cava
Truffle Chips
Nacho Mamma's Oyster
Lamb Kefta Gyro
Cheese Plate
Max's Kobe Burger
Hummus
Haute Dog
Fried Chicken Sliders
Deep Fried Pickles
Mushroom Salad
fried oysters
Chicken and Waffles
fried egg sandwich
Gyro
Half & Half
Bbq Pulled Pork Nachos
Chicken and Pancakes
Pan Borracho ("drunk bread"
The Ranch Hand Salad
Fried Egg Sandwich With Truffle Oil
Three Egg Sandwich
Wings And Pancakes
Kobe Burger
MAX 'n Cheese
Country Fried Chicken W Mashed Potatoe And Frites
Murphy-Goode Cabernet Sauvignon
Cheese Sampler
White Chocolate Banana's Foster Bread Pudding
Pan Borracho & Loco Huevos "Drunk Bread & Crazy Eggs"
Hand Ranch Salad
Pork Belly Eggrolls
Pan Barracho Y Loco Huevos
Eggs Max
Hangover Hash
Sagelands Riesling
Salmon & Avocado Ceviche
Chef's Special Chicken Salad
Oxtail & 4 Cheese Raviolis
Prosecco Mimosa Flight
Fried Pickles
Gluten Free Fried Chicken
Pulled Pork Stuffed Red Peppers
Syrah
Pot de Chocolat
"Big Daddy's " Wings
Stuffed Peppers
Boracho Bread
Max's Famous Fried Chicken And Pancakes
Nachos With Pulled Pork
Hamachi Tartar
Nacho Mama Fried Oysters
Hop Czar By Bridgeport Brewing
Tomato Soup and Grilled Cheese
Pork Chop

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Mon - Tue 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Wed - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MAX’s Wine Dive is one of Texas’s most highly acclaimed restaurant concepts and it is at your disposal for all your party planning and catering needs. Allow the team to create the perfect event for you and your company. With a wide variety of options, MAX’s Wine Dive takes all of the stress out!

MAX's Wine Dive San Antonio - East Basse Rd Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Notable Wine List
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

great for brunch (39)
fit for foodies (35)
notable wine list (28)
See All
hot spot (26)
good for groups (24)
great for lunch (19)
neighborhood gem (18)
late-night find (16)
great for outdoor dining (16)
vibrant bar scene (14)
special occasion (14)
romantic (9)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
678 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place! The food is great & ...

Dined 6 days ago

We love this place! The food is great & it's just always a fun place to go. Just wish they'd put one out near the Alamo Ranch area. We'd be there more often.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved everything about Max's. The glu ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We loved everything about Max's. The gluten free options were great. The food options were varied and delicious. Service was great. Wonderful place for brunch, lunch, dinner, and late night.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

As usual the food at Max's was good whil ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

As usual the food at Max's was good while the service was only average to fair. I had made a reservation for a large group for a birthday party, I arrived about 15 minutes early and was ignored by the host who walked by me a few times while he was on the phone. When he finally greeted me he instructed me to wait at the bar until my reservation time (even though I could clearly see that our large table was available and he could see that I was carrying gifts and items to decorate the table with). As I was sitting at the bar not once did anyone (host, bar tender, server etc) ask me if I would like anything to drink, I was pretty much ignored until my reservation time. Once we were finally seated our server came by the table occasionally, but even though she was waiting on our large party of 15 she was waiting on other tables as well and there were a few times that I had to get up from my table and search her out to get service. Again, Max's has great food, but every time I go the service is just OK.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Great wine selection. Small plates are t ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great wine selection. Small plates are the way to go. Great friendly service!

food3
ambience3
service2

Food was ok. Though the restaurant barel ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was ok. Though the restaurant barely opened and was not busy, it took over an hour before we received our food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love the fried chicken which goes well w ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Love the fried chicken which goes well with a bottle of Moët, my wife and I haven't tried anything else because it's so good

food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Strobe light effect from ceiling fans

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Pretty good food. Fried Chicken was tasty. A little slow on the service. However, my big knock is that the ceiling fans are mounted right over canned lights. At night it creates an unsettling strobe light effect, which is annoying.

Tags: late-night find
food3
ambience3
service3

More vegetarian friendly items please

Dined on June 1, 2016

More vegetarian friendly items please

food2
ambience4
service3
value3

I have been going to Max's for years.. I ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

I have been going to Max's for years.. Idk why the chef removed fried green tomatoes from menu.. I went w some girlfriends, promising a culinary treat and was quite embarrassed that out of the 5 dishes we ordered, only 2 were tasty. Some of the items we chose were not available. the wine bottles we purchased to enjoy during our dinner were avail for purchase to take home for half the price and we were charged regular price bc we drank them there. Disappointing and won't be going back. Sad and alarming at the same time.

food4
ambience4
service5

Really loved that they were doing a spec ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Really loved that they were doing a special recognition for veterans, active-duty military and first responders! Please keep the half baked cookie on your dessert menu permanently! Better than most things you have on there now

food4
ambience4
service3

I really like their local greens salad w ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

I really like their local greens salad with the addition of salmon. Unfortunately on this occasion we chose to eat outside and the service was rather sketchy. Also asked for no dressing on my salad and it came slathered in dressing. The waiter said he thought it was just all of oil which is why he brought it. So obviously he didn't know his product very well. Normally one of the places I really enjoy eating with better service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. This was the first ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a great time. This was the first time our 86 yr old mom had been to Max's so it was important that we had a good time set for her. Everything was perfect. Food was excellent. Our server (wish I could remember his name) was so accommodating to our every need. Only issue was that open table reservations couldn't adjust our reservation number but I did care the restaurant and they were very accommodating. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service3

It's not the same place it used to be, i ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

It's not the same place it used to be, it's lost its charm and average food.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service always wins my business.

Dined on May 15, 2016

I had wanted to take my wife to Max's for several months, however, we go out so infrequently, she really enjoys investing in the tried and true. On this particular evening though, the planets were aligned and all of our early evening errands and late night pick-up that book-ended our dining window made Max's a perfect location to try. We arrived and spent a little time searching for parking; we zigged when we should have zagged, and will know better next time. Once in the restaurant, we were promptly greeted by our server, Austin, and provided the wine menu. Reviewing the menu left me with several questions for Austin and he responded clearly and with a very good working knowledge of the selections. His comments and recommendations proved spot on upon our first tastes of our selections. Likewise, upon discovering this was our first visit to Max's, Austin provided us his insight to the menu items and his suggestions. We thoroughly enjoyed house salads with unique vinaigrette combinations, lavender/rose and honey/lime. Our main courses of fried chicken and squash risotto were very good! The chicken's juiciness was well sealed within the fried batter, and the batter was another unique winner. The portion sizes were large enough to take over a third of each meal home with us for lunch the next day.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great place with attentive sta ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a great place with attentive staff.

food4
ambience5
service5

Good food and service. Nice, laid back a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Good food and service. Nice, laid back atmosphere. We met friends there and had a great evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Happy

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a great time at Max's in San Antonio. The service was great and food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Pulled pork stuffed peppers were amazing ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Pulled pork stuffed peppers were amazing as always

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Service problem

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our appetizer was brought out along with our entree and when we told the manager she said "well just eat it with your entree" (ummm like we didn't know we could do that) then they had to check with the cook to see if it was ordered as an entree ( to make sure it wasn't OUR mistake) I find that quite rude! The only apology we got was from our server. I wish I had sent it back! I also found my brunch dish not prepared as well and a little less of a portion than the first time I ate there. Also they are no longer serving Prosecco at brunch another let down. This third visit was a disappointment

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service3

Food was better than expected. We had go ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was better than expected. We had gone for brunch before but the food was vastly improved. The service was good and atmosphere was nice. Will be going back again.

food4
ambience3
service5

We always get the wings and waffles and ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

We always get the wings and waffles and our girls get the cornflake covered French toast. Delicious.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Pleasantly surprised!

Dined on April 1, 2016

My date and I ordered wine and appetizers; Chicken wings and onion rings. The waitress was prompt and courteous. Our food arrived promptly and it was hot and prepared well. The buttermilk coating on the wings were unique to my taste buds. The ambiance was really nice and casual, moderate noise and crowd was mostly professionals. Overall a good experience and I would visit again.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an excellent experience food , ve ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

It was an excellent experience food , very good service, friendly place

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Service very slow

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for brunch on Easter - so granted, it was busy, but not THAT busy. The wait for our food was a good 30 minutes, and the service was generally very slow. My husband's waffle was delivered cold, and it took forever to get our check. I won't be going back any time soon.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So Fun and Delicious!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Took my mother and sister to Easter Brunch at Max's. Good thing we had a reservation, people were being turned away or had to eat outdoors and it was a warm day. We started with the Max N Cheese...delicious, so glad we split it four ways, very rich. Mother had the Frito Pie Omelet and loved it, just the right amount of food. Sister and husband each had the Signature Blend Burger with chili, cheese and bacon. It was a good burger, not the best chili cheese burger they have had. I had the Fried Egg Sandwich, it was fine. I really messed up by not ordering the Famous Fried Chicken and Waffles. I will have to go back and try this item. Max's has a nice extensive menu with lots to try. Will definitely go back and try different items on the menu!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3

Service at brunch leaves a lot to be des ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Service at brunch leaves a lot to be desired

food3
ambience5
service5

I ordered the Mac n cheese which was awe ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

I ordered the Mac n cheese which was awesome. My friend ordered a Caesar salad, that hardly had any dressing on it. When she asked for extra dressing, the server brought her the premixed separated version which did not work well. Then my friend order the chicken with pecan jus and the dish came out lukewarm at best. The chicken was hot but all of her sides were cold. The manager (Michelle) came over and apologized, got her fresh food and comped our meal for the inconvenience that it caused. I have never had bad food before here so I guess it was an off night. I do appreciate the manager accommodating us to rectify the issue though.

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Really nice atmosp. 4 date. Food been better b4.

Dined on March 15, 2016

The food was good, although it has been better before. I liked that there are gluten free options, though I probably like the unhealthy ones more! :) the dining atmosphere was great, and not too loud. Staff was friendly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wings and Waffles

Dined on March 13, 2016

Their Wings and Waffles are great! They now have Fired chicken strips that are easier to eat than wings! Grapefruit mimosas are excellent too!!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect Brunch spot - limited healthy options

Dined on March 13, 2016

Perfect for Sunday brunch! $5 Mimosas - can't go wrong. Food is killer, service great with accommodating servers, everyone is super friendly! Only downside is that there are limited healthy options for brunch, so not really the place for someone on a diet.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved!

Dined on March 13, 2016

They were incredibly busy when our party of five first arrived, so service was a little slow. Fortunately, they didn't take too long to get into good rhythm and become very attentive. Also, the food is always amazing

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seasonal menu. Classic fishes reimagined.

Dined on March 4, 2016

Jalapeño fried chicken is the best. Changing menu keeps it interesting. Noelle is a great server.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Must Have Been an "OFF" Brunch Day

Dined on February 28, 2016

My husband and I live in Austin, but the Max's Wine Dive here is too difficult to get to, parking-wise. When we are in San Antonio, we like to go to brunch at Max's, and we've always loved it. We brought two friends with us that had never been here before. My husband ordered the Drunken Bread, which has always been so delicious. We kept thinking it just had no flavor other than egg and cheese. It wasn't until we were finished that the four of us realized it didn't have any prosciutto in it at all. That's the flavor that was missing. We hadn't seen any in the mixture either. I had the Ranch Hand Salad, which was very good, but realized on the way home that it had no avocado in it, as mentioned on the menu. On another note, we felt like our server was very disinterested in us. He didn't not engage in conversation at all. This was NOT a typical experience at this Max's Wine Dive. I truly hope that it was just a "fluke", and not the way of the future. On a positive note, our friends that were visiting Max's for the first time, really enjoyed their meals.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was top notch! You can tell the ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was top notch! You can tell the food was prepared by a chef and not a cook. Excellent service. The staff was very polite and attentive!

food1
ambience4
service2
value1

The food was terrible and overpriced. Don't go

Dined on February 15, 2016

The restaurant is upscale so I expect more. The food was bland and WAY overpriced for such mediocre flavor. Also, the waitress made us feel like it was such a chore to bring us our drinks, or anything for that matter. Save your money. Don't go. Awful

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, slow service

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went for Valentine's Day brunch and the service was SO SLOW! We waited an hour to get food and they really weren't that busy. We have been other times when it was far busier and had much better service. Our waiter was awesome but the kitchen was slow. Once we got our food though it was DELICIOUS!!!! Worth the wait in the end.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1

We always go for brunch and have a good ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We always go for brunch and have a good experience but we went for dinner tonight and had horrible service and my food arrived cold. Guess we'll stick to the brunch service.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great

Dined on February 13, 2016

The service was great

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Not so impressed

Dined on February 11, 2016

I was really looking forward to their "famous" fried chicken. It was flavorful and moist, however a bit on the salty side, the mashed potatoes were delicious. I did not care for the collard greens due to their sweetness (would not want that side dish again). I was also disappointed in that I ordered and extra thigh and in stead got an extra leg. In addition, the price on the online menu says $3.00 for an extra chicken piece, but I was charged $5 for the extra leg. (that's pretty pricey for a chicken leg). The waitress was great. The place was a little too dark for my comfort. I would probably not return again.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Sunday brunch

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

I had the chicken and waffles and the dish was delicious!! Only complaint...my cup of coffee was on "E" for about ten minutes.

Tags: great for brunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.