About MAX's Wine Dive San Antonio - East Basse Rd

340 E. Basse Rd., Ste. 101
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model – you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town – and then take some home with you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11AM-12AM (open for lunch & dinner)
Friday: 11AM - 1AM
Saturday: 10AM-1AM* (open for brunch & dinner)
Sunday: 10AM-10PM* (open for brunch & dinner)

*Kitchen closed Saturday and Sunday from 3-4PM. Regular beer/wine service still available.

Cross Street:
Jones-Maltzberger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 444-9547

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/

Entertainment:
Featuring a Texas-proud juke box covering all your favorites - from Johnny Cash to ZZ Top to AC/DC. Perfect for late-night "Reverse" Happy Hour!

Catering:
MAX's Wine Dive will offer catering for off-premise events, as well as for privately-booked corporate or personal events in our semi-private dining room.

Parking Details:
The Quarry Village features a large parking lot directly in front of the restaurant, as well as public visitor parking in the Artessa apartments’ parking garage.

Executive Chef:
Lionel “Butch” Blache

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We continuously have upcoming wine tastings and other related events! Check our website to see what is coming up next, http://www.maxswinedive.com/san-antonio/calendar-of-events/index.php

Restaurant Photos

Southern Fried Chicken
Chioppino
"Big Daddy's" Wings
Pork Belly
Calamari
Chicken And Dumpings
Famous Southern Fried Chicken
Half And Half Dessert
fried chicken
Cerdon Bugey And Cava
Truffle Chips
Nacho Mamma's Oyster
Lamb Kefta Gyro
Cheese Plate
Max's Kobe Burger
Hummus
Haute Dog
Fried Chicken Sliders
Deep Fried Pickles
Mushroom Salad
fried oysters
Chicken and Waffles
fried egg sandwich
Gyro
Half & Half
Bbq Pulled Pork Nachos
Chicken and Pancakes
Pan Borracho ("drunk bread"
The Ranch Hand Salad
Fried Egg Sandwich With Truffle Oil
Three Egg Sandwich
Wings And Pancakes
Kobe Burger
MAX 'n Cheese
Country Fried Chicken W Mashed Potatoe And Frites
Murphy-Goode Cabernet Sauvignon
Cheese Sampler
White Chocolate Banana's Foster Bread Pudding
Pan Borracho & Loco Huevos "Drunk Bread & Crazy Eggs"
Hand Ranch Salad
Pork Belly Eggrolls
Pan Barracho Y Loco Huevos
Eggs Max
Hangover Hash
Sagelands Riesling
Salmon & Avocado Ceviche
Chef's Special Chicken Salad
Oxtail & 4 Cheese Raviolis
Prosecco Mimosa Flight
Fried Pickles
Gluten Free Fried Chicken
Pulled Pork Stuffed Red Peppers
Syrah
Pot de Chocolat
"Big Daddy's " Wings
Stuffed Peppers
Boracho Bread
Max's Famous Fried Chicken And Pancakes
Nachos With Pulled Pork
Hamachi Tartar
Nacho Mama Fried Oysters
Hop Czar By Bridgeport Brewing
Tomato Soup and Grilled Cheese
Pork Chop

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Mon - Tue 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Wed - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MAX’s Wine Dive is one of Texas’s most highly acclaimed restaurant concepts and it is at your disposal for all your party planning and catering needs. Allow the team to create the perfect event for you and your company. With a wide variety of options, MAX’s Wine Dive takes all of the stress out!

MAX's Wine Dive San Antonio - East Basse Rd Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

great for brunch (35)
fit for foodies (33)
notable wine list (30)
See All
hot spot (22)
good for groups (19)
vibrant bar scene (18)
great for lunch (16)
great for outdoor dining (14)
special occasion (14)
neighborhood gem (14)
late-night find (13)
romantic (6)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I loved the food. I savored every bite a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

I loved the food. I savored every bite and cannot wait to eat there again. My only wish is that there were a few more kid items to chose from-- but my 4 year old daughter loved her red velvet pancake and scrambled eggs.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

host was a bit awkward and walked us to ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

host was a bit awkward and walked us to the bar to wait. Then multiple personnel approached us during our wait but weren't offering to serve us beverages. However, once seated for brunch, the meal was great. I wish we had been informed about the Texas Monthly write up on the burger and will be sure to try that next time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

After 15 minutes of being had to go ask ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

After 15 minutes of being had to go ask the manager for a waiter to come to our table. Although the restaurant wasn't busy, our server disappeared. The food was just ok. Typically, their food is great. Just wander if the have a new manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

First off, we went for brunch and the ho ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

First off, we went for brunch and the hostess was able to sit us right away, which was awesome. I come here a lot and sometimes you have to wait for awhile to be seated. I guess that's the perks of reserving. :) I don't know what kind of music list they have but it was amazing. A bunch of wonderful favorites and both my girlfriend and I loved it to the point where we were Shazamming everything. The food was delicious. It didn't take a long time for it to come out but it was truly fresh and great. We had an amazing time and she would like to come back. Thanks guys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went specifically for the chicken and ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went specifically for the chicken and waffles because they were rated high on a list of the top ten places to get chicken and waffles in Texas. However, we are unaware that they don't serve it for dinner, only brunch and lunch... I'm just saying, if it's what you're known for, it should be served all day. Our waitress informed us that they can't make fresh waffles all day long, but from my perspective it's really not that difficult to pour a batter that you've made into a waffle iron, amiright? Anyway... The chicken and Mac and cheese was good my husband enjoyed his burger. It just wasn't what we were expecting. We'll have to wait and find out if their chicken and waffles can really beat the ones at 24 Diner in Austin. I hope they do, because it'd be nice to have a good place to get one of our favorite meals close to home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Awesome chicken fried steak today!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Awesome chicken fried steak today!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great customer service great food!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great customer service great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was to die for, service was first c ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was to die for, service was first class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fried chicken and champs is amazing!!

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Fried chicken and champs is amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A/C was out. Other than that, it was goo ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

A/C was out. Other than that, it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

This was a fun place to meetup with frie ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was a fun place to meetup with friends. The server appeared to be a bit frantic and although I was waiting for my two friends to arrive he didn't ask if I would like to order a beverage. I had to flag him down to do so. He then did the same thing to the next person to arrive. He didn't clear away dirty dishes either, which isn't a major issue but it takes up the needed space. All in all, it was a nice place to meet with some yummy food and drink choices. And the server wasn't terrible, maybe had an off day.

Tags: great for brunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We love this place! The food is great & ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love this place! The food is great & it's just always a fun place to go. Just wish they'd put one out near the Alamo Ranch area. We'd be there more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved everything about Max's. The glu ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We loved everything about Max's. The gluten free options were great. The food options were varied and delicious. Service was great. Wonderful place for brunch, lunch, dinner, and late night.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the food at Max's was good whil ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As usual the food at Max's was good while the service was only average to fair. I had made a reservation for a large group for a birthday party, I arrived about 15 minutes early and was ignored by the host who walked by me a few times while he was on the phone. When he finally greeted me he instructed me to wait at the bar until my reservation time (even though I could clearly see that our large table was available and he could see that I was carrying gifts and items to decorate the table with). As I was sitting at the bar not once did anyone (host, bar tender, server etc) ask me if I would like anything to drink, I was pretty much ignored until my reservation time. Once we were finally seated our server came by the table occasionally, but even though she was waiting on our large party of 15 she was waiting on other tables as well and there were a few times that I had to get up from my table and search her out to get service. Again, Max's has great food, but every time I go the service is just OK.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great wine selection. Small plates are t ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great wine selection. Small plates are the way to go. Great friendly service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was ok. Though the restaurant barel ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was ok. Though the restaurant barely opened and was not busy, it took over an hour before we received our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Love the fried chicken which goes well w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Love the fried chicken which goes well with a bottle of Moët, my wife and I haven't tried anything else because it's so good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Strobe light effect from ceiling fans

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Pretty good food.

Fried Chicken was tasty.

A little slow on the service.

However, my big knock is that the ceiling fans are mounted right over canned lights.

At night it creates an unsettling strobe light effect, which is annoying.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

More vegetarian friendly items please

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

More vegetarian friendly items please

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Disappointed this time...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

When we checked in 15 min early for our 9:30 reservation we told the young lady we had a reservation. She did not check us in from our Open Table reservation. Disappointment number 1. When we were seated, we were rushed to order due to the kitchen closing per the waiter, disappointment number 2. I specifically told him oysters fried hard, they were barely cooked, #3. Why accept reservations for 9:30 if you will rush customers to order. It was our wedding anniversary just wanted a late night date. My husband stated maybe we should not come anymore the service has really gone down to his liking from all the other times we have gone.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

I have been going to Max's for years.. I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I have been going to Max's for years.. Idk why the chef removed fried green tomatoes from menu.. I went w some girlfriends, promising a culinary treat and was quite embarrassed that out of the 5 dishes we ordered, only 2 were tasty. Some of the items we chose were not available. the wine bottles we purchased to enjoy during our dinner were avail for purchase to take home for half the price and we were charged regular price bc we drank them there. Disappointing and won't be going back. Sad and alarming at the same time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Really loved that they were doing a spec ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Really loved that they were doing a special recognition for veterans, active-duty military and first responders! Please keep the half baked cookie on your dessert menu permanently! Better than most things you have on there now

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I really like their local greens salad w ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

I really like their local greens salad with the addition of salmon. Unfortunately on this occasion we chose to eat outside and the service was rather sketchy. Also asked for no dressing on my salad and it came slathered in dressing. The waiter said he thought it was just all of oil which is why he brought it. So obviously he didn't know his product very well. Normally one of the places I really enjoy eating with better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We had a great time. This was the first ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a great time. This was the first time our 86 yr old mom had been to Max's so it was important that we had a good time set for her. Everything was perfect. Food was excellent. Our server (wish I could remember his name) was so accommodating to our every need. Only issue was that open table reservations couldn't adjust our reservation number but I did care the restaurant and they were very accommodating. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome brunch spot!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Awesome brunch spot!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's not the same place it used to be, i ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

It's not the same place it used to be, it's lost its charm and average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great service always wins my business.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I had wanted to take my wife to Max's for several months, however, we go out so infrequently, she really enjoys investing in the tried and true. On this particular evening though, the planets were aligned and all of our early evening errands and late night pick-up that book-ended our dining window made Max's a perfect location to try.

We arrived and spent a little time searching for parking; we zigged when we should have zagged, and will know better next time. Once in the restaurant, we were promptly greeted by our server, Austin, and provided the wine menu. Reviewing the menu left me with several questions for Austin and he responded clearly and with a very good working knowledge of the selections. His comments and recommendations proved spot on upon our first tastes of our selections. Likewise, upon discovering this was our first visit to Max's, Austin provided us his insight to the menu items and his suggestions. We thoroughly enjoyed house salads with unique vinaigrette combinations, lavender/rose and honey/lime. Our main courses of fried chicken and squash risotto were very good! The chicken's juiciness was well sealed within the fried batter, and the batter was another unique winner. The portion sizes were large enough to take over a third of each meal home with us for lunch the next day.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is a great place with attentive sta ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a great place with attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and service. Nice, laid back a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Good food and service. Nice, laid back atmosphere. We met friends there and had a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very Happy

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a great time at Max's in San Antonio. The service was great and food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pulled pork stuffed peppers were amazing ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Pulled pork stuffed peppers were amazing as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Service problem

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Our appetizer was brought out along with our entree and when we told the manager she said "well just eat it with your entree" (ummm like we didn't know we could do that) then they had to check with the cook to see if it was ordered as an entree ( to make sure it wasn't OUR mistake) I find that quite rude! The only apology we got was from our server. I wish I had sent it back! I also found my brunch dish not prepared as well and a little less of a portion than the first time I ate there. Also they are no longer serving Prosecco at brunch another let down. This third visit was a disappointment

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was better than expected. We had go ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was better than expected. We had gone for brunch before but the food was vastly improved. The service was good and atmosphere was nice. Will be going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We always get the wings and waffles and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We always get the wings and waffles and our girls get the cornflake covered French toast. Delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Pleasantly surprised!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

My date and I ordered wine and appetizers; Chicken wings and onion rings. The waitress was prompt and courteous. Our food arrived promptly and it was hot and prepared well. The buttermilk coating on the wings were unique to my taste buds. The ambiance was really nice and casual, moderate noise and crowd was mostly professionals. Overall a good experience and I would visit again.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was an excellent experience food , ve ...

 
 (Guadalajara)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

It was an excellent experience food , very good service, friendly place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service very slow

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for brunch on Easter - so granted, it was busy, but not THAT busy. The wait for our food was a good 30 minutes, and the service was generally very slow. My husband's waffle was delivered cold, and it took forever to get our check. I won't be going back any time soon.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

So Fun and Delicious!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Took my mother and sister to Easter Brunch at Max's. Good thing we had a reservation, people were being turned away or had to eat outdoors and it was a warm day. We started with the Max N Cheese...delicious, so glad we split it four ways, very rich. Mother had the Frito Pie Omelet and loved it, just the right amount of food. Sister and husband each had the Signature Blend Burger with chili, cheese and bacon. It was a good burger, not the best chili cheese burger they have had. I had the Fried Egg Sandwich, it was fine. I really messed up by not ordering the Famous Fried Chicken and Waffles. I will have to go back and try this item. Max's has a nice extensive menu with lots to try. Will definitely go back and try different items on the menu!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service at brunch leaves a lot to be des ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Service at brunch leaves a lot to be desired

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

I ordered the Mac n cheese which was awe ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

I ordered the Mac n cheese which was awesome. My friend ordered a Caesar salad, that hardly had any dressing on it. When she asked for extra dressing, the server brought her the premixed separated version which did not work well. Then my friend order the chicken with pecan jus and the dish came out lukewarm at best. The chicken was hot but all of her sides were cold. The manager (Michelle) came over and apologized, got her fresh food and comped our meal for the inconvenience that it caused. I have never had bad food before here so I guess it was an off night. I do appreciate the manager accommodating us to rectify the issue though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.