About MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave.

4720 Washington Ave., Ste. B
Houston, TX 77007
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model – you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town – and then take some home with you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 12AM (brunch 10am – 4pm, dinner 4:30pm – 12am)
Monday - Thursday: 11AM -12AM (brunch 11am - 3pm, dinner 4pm - 12am)
Friday & Saturday: 10AM – 2AM (brunch 10am – 3pm, dinner 4pm – 2am)



*Kitchen is closed Thursday - Saturday from 3-4PM. Sunday kitchen is closed from 4-4:30PM. Regular beer/wine service still available.

Cross Street:
Shepherd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 880-8737

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/index.php

Entertainment:
MAX’s Wine Dive features a jukebox with Texas-influenced classic rock and old favorites to help create the perfect atmosphere.

Catering:
Off-site and private event catering is available. click here for more information, http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/catering_private-dining/index.php. We love bringing the gourmet comfort food to you!

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet Parking Monday through Saturday nights and have both public and private lots available for all other days & times.

Public Transit:
Metro has stops in the area, and the Washington Wave jitney service makes stops at the Wine Dive as well.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We continuously have upcoming wine tastings and other related events! Check our website to see what is coming up next, http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/calendar-of-events/index.php

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Creme Brulee French Toast - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
MAX’s Famous Southern Fried Chicken - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Creme Brulee Battered French Toast - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Famous Fried Chicken - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Duck Taquitos - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Bread Pudding - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Foie Gras Meatballs - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Chicken Sliders - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Southern Fried Chicken - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
'Shroom Omelet - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Applewood-Smoked Bacon - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Home Fries - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Grapefruit Mimosa - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Chicken Breasts In Red Velvet Cake Batter - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
fried chicken - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
 Fried Chicken - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
fried egg sandwich - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Pink Grapefruit Mimosa - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Man-Mosa - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Watermelon Salad - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Chicken Fried Ribeye - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Fried Chicken Champagne Salad - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Mac and Cheese - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Eggs Benedict - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Jacks Cakes And Wings - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Steak And Eggs With Texas Toast & Grits - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Beef Belly Meatballs & Duck Fat Biscuits - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Roasted 'Shroom Omelet - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Cracklin' Chicken - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Little Cheese Basket - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Fried Chicken And Champagne - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Shrimp With Gnocci And Lemon Sauce - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
MAX 'n Cheese - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Caesar Salad - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Fried chicken w/ chipotle honey sauce - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
'A' Acacia - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Nacho Mama's Oysters - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Wings & Creme Brulee French Toast - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Eggs Max - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Cracklin Chicken Risotto - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
pomme frittes - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Banana Nutella Crepes - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Pulled Pork Stuffed Poblano Peppers - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Saffron Pickled Broccoli & Champagne Dressing - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Tangerine Crab Salad With Squid Ink Hollandaise - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Tiniest Pour Ever - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Crackled Chicken  - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Brothers Chili Fries - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Fried Chicken, Texas Toast, Mash Potatoes, Zucinni And Squash - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Apple Pie In A Glass - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Eggs, Bacon and Jalapeno Grits - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Texas "haute" Dog - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Mini Bison Sliders - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Apple Brown Betty with Vanilla Ice Cream - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Tomato Soup and Grilled Cheese - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Truffle Chips - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Red Velvet Tres Leches Cupcake - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Deep Fried Oysters - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Blondies - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Pulled Pork Sliders - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Max's Kobe Burger - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Roasted Bone Marrow - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Dr. Pepper Pork Belly - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Bone Marrow - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Cupcakes & Caviar - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Funnel Cake Fried Shrimp - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Max & Cheese - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Barbecue Pork Belly Nachos - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Turkey Meatball Sandwich - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Shack Burger - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

While Wine Dive Houston is a smaller-than-most restaurant and doesn’t have a private room, we can accommodate cocktail-style events. And on certain nights, portions of the dining area (or even the entire restaurant) can be dedicated to private events.

MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (39)
Good for a Date (33)
Casual (27)
See All
Great for Brunch (26)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Hot Spot (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Bar Seating (22)
Happy Hour (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Fun (20)
Late-night Find (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Cozy (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
People Watching (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Outstanding Value (8)
Authentic (8)
Romantic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Live Sports (5)
Tapas (5)
Live Music (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Business Meals (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fireplace (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My sister and I decided to eat at MAX's ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

My sister and I decided to eat at MAX's Wine Dive Houston on Washington Ave.

We read the Opentable reviews about their Happy Hour and Fried Chicken plate.

We decided to split the Fried Chicken plate and a side order of macaroni and cheese. Even though the menu warns you that the Fried Chicken is made fresh it still took 35 minutes to receive our plate. It was worth the wait. The plate includes three pieces of Fired Chicken, collard greens and mash potatoes. If it wasn't for the long wait, I would have given the restaurant a higher rating. ENJOY!

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Casual, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything was outstanding with one exce ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was outstanding with one exception being the greens with the fried chicken. They tasted a little sour like they needed more time to develop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We made reservations, but still waited 4 ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

We made reservations, but still waited 40 minutes for our table. The food and service was wonderful, but they wait was not so much.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was great! I had the chicken an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great! I had the chicken and waffles which were so good. The eggs Benedict over chicken and biscuits were also very tasty. Can't wait to try more menu items!

From the outside I wasn't sure what to expect but they place was packed and I was still seated right away even though my reservations were still 45 minutes away.

Great find!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Fabulous atmosphere! We ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food! Fabulous atmosphere! We loved the mimosas and fried chicken!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valet parking, made a reservation and wa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Valet parking, made a reservation and was seated immediately upon arrival. Greeted warmly by host/owner and server. Limited menu for brunch however they are known for their fried chicken which was at the tip of the menu. Server was very knowledgeable about the menu and history behind Max's and was very attentive. The food was great, it was a little noisy, the atmosphere was nice!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's slightly crowded since the establis ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It's slightly crowded since the establishment is "cozy." Love the wings- waffles not my fave but it's a great stop in for a lazy Sunday. I recommend reservations though bc of the crowding.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Great birthday brunch! Wonderful food an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great birthday brunch! Wonderful food and very attentive wait staff.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place for dinner and brunch ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We love this place for dinner and brunch. Amazing food and wine list. The Max and Cheese is one of our favorites.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious brunch, didn't have to wait lo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious brunch, didn't have to wait long for the food to come out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I visited Max's twice previously and bot ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I visited Max's twice previously and both times had an excellent experience. This time not so much. The only time my server paid us any attention was when he recommended a $22 glass of wine (during happy hour no less). The rest of the evening he was a ghost. Also Max did not credit me my OpenTable points, so I had to follow up with OpenTable (twice) to get credited. I emailed Max (via his website) to inform him about this experience, but he did not reply. The entire experience from beginning to end was disappointing. I will not be visiting Max's Wine Dive Bar again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

My gf mentioned this restaurant so I sur ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My gf mentioned this restaurant so I surprised her and took her there for dinner. Food was fantastic, we both had the fried chicken. The wine selection is very extensive and if you don't know you're wines, like me, ask your host and they'll let you try some to find one you like. Place is awesome!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great but service was slow. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was great but service was slow. It wasn't the usual rush but it took a little too long for service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Was very loud. We had to sit at a high b ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Was very loud. We had to sit at a high bar table like we were sitting in an aisle with people walking on both sides of us.. Was very dark with no light above our table. It felt claustrophobic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

I had the fish and it was really good. M ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I had the fish and it was really good. My husband had the pork chop. He said it was a little dry but had a wonderful flavor. The portion sizes were very generous. The food and service was really good. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Max's doesn't disappoint. Great service ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Max's doesn't disappoint. Great service, good value, and you can't beat a bottle of champagne for your mimosas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is decent, nothing over the top suc ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food is decent, nothing over the top such as seafood, steak, etc. Fried chicken meal is what they are known for and it is good. I'd call this place upscale casual. It is very noisy, so don't plan on a lot of conversation.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Wow, my 1st visit and it won't be my las ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wow, my 1st visit and it won't be my last, great food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Cozy, Live Sports, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is well prepared, with large po ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food is well prepared, with large portion. And it is delicious. But don't like the guy who took us to our table. He refused to sit us closer to the windows. Even doe all those sit where empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I just absolutely love this place! Food ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I just absolutely love this place! Food is amazing! Tables are super close....but coming here ... you already know this

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Felt like the restaurant was trying to b ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Felt like the restaurant was trying to be upscale but was falling apart. A server spent 5-10 minutes hammering the bench seat back together next to our table. We were essentially in a construction zone. Understaffed. Dark. Loud. Just not a welcoming experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Great food, good service will be back!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food, good service will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was fine. Seating is very limi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was fine. Seating is very limited and it was so cold where we were sitting. It was my second time visiting, but not sure if I will return. Waitstaff was nice and attentive.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Met friends for my birthday lunch. The f ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Met friends for my birthday lunch. The food was good but here is my one comment on the oyster appetizer - consider serving a little of the sauce on the side. It's a tight fit so it was a little uncomfortable opening gifts and everyone is sitting there looking. So, I would not have a b'day lunch there again. Other than that, we all enjoyed it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Do not order the mac and cheese. Big dis ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Do not order the mac and cheese. Big disappointment! Fried chicken was great. Mimosas were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My girlfriends and I had an excellent ti ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My girlfriends and I had an excellent time at Max's. The food and drink were great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing delicious food as always!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Amazing delicious food as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time at the Houston l ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was our first time at the Houston location as we loved the San Antonio restaurant. This time however, our experience was not great. We were seated right away but the only table they had was a high table in the middle of the main aisle of the restaurant. After tight weaving through the other patrons, we were seated. Our waiter stopped by after we had been sitting there for about 10 minutes. We had a question and of course he decided to offer to come back to "give us a few". We after way more than a few I spot him at the bar helping other customers and never made his way back to our table. After about 25 minutes total without even getting appetizer and drink order placed, we walked out. I hate it because the food we had in San Antonio was really, really good. I will consider going back during lunch time in hopes of more staff and fewer patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food, wine, atmosphere and service were ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food, wine, atmosphere and service were all great. Only negative feedback was the air conditioning was blasting in December - granted it was warmer than average the night we were there but the ladies in our group were all cold. We asked if we could move or if they could do anything about the temperature and we were told no to both.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Oysters & Fried chicken were fabulous, b ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Oysters & Fried chicken were fabulous, but the burger was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

If you are like me and like all of your ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

If you are like me and like all of your food to be full of flavor Max'a Wine Dive's breakfast/brunch is the place for you! I had the green eggs and ham which is a chimichurri mixture into the scrambled eggs along with two large ham steaks and out of this world jalapeño cheese grits!!! I asked for some jelly for my gorgeous homemade biscuit and of course it was also out of this world. It was a homemade apple jam with a little kick to it with fresh crunchy apples in a very thick jam mixture which was again out of this world! My daughter had the shrimp tacos with a mango jelly and it was pretty good but not nearly as flavorful as the green eggs and ham. This is my new favorite brunch spot in Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was excellent and the wait staf ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was excellent and the wait staff was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful date, amazing food, and a bott ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Beautiful date, amazing food, and a bottle of Paraduxx. That's living!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place don't miss out . I can't wai ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great place don't miss out . I can't wait to get back

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great customer service and the food choi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great customer service and the food choices were amazing. The waiter was awesome and very attentive and offered great suggestions.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed my visit so much I went back t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I enjoyed my visit so much I went back the next week with another friend. The fried chicken, mashed potatoes, collard greens, and Texas toast WAS THE BEST. We tried there sliders, Very good as well. The Moscato was very good also. The atmosphere there was very energetic. The staff was very attentive. I overly enjoyed myself.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This used to be one of my favorite place ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This used to be one of my favorite places to eat but the food quality has continued to go downhill the last few times I've visited. I usually get the staples, Mac and cheese and fried chicken, when I visit. The Mac and cheese had gotten worse over time but this visit it was horrible - watery noodles on top of gritty flavorless cheese sauce. I got a fried chicken breast this time which was also small with very little breading. My friend had the same thoughts about her meal. She also ordered bread pudding to go and upon opening it at home was disappointed to find it was burned. The service has also gotten pretty poor. The last 3 visits (all with different waiters) it was very hard to get wine refills or grab our bill, and I can't say any of them seemed at all pleased to be working. I'm very disappointed because this place used to be my go to for Mac and cheese, but after these past few visits I feel like I'm just wasting my money so I don't think I'll be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Waiter was nice and accommodating but th ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Waiter was nice and accommodating but the music was way too loud. We asked for it to be turned down 3 times. The women's bathroom smelled like a sewage pipe was exposed. The bench seating was uncomfortable as it felt like pleather over wood.

Not a good experience and my guest was displeased as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

We had a fantastic brunch on Sunday. Th ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had a fantastic brunch on Sunday. The service was great, the food delicious and the wine impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ashton was a good waiter and the manager ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Ashton was a good waiter and the manager Michael was very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.