About MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave.

4720 Washington Ave., Ste. B
Houston, TX 77007
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model – you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town – and then take some home with you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 12AM (brunch 10am – 4pm, dinner 4:30pm – 12am)
Monday - Thursday: 11AM -12AM (brunch 11am - 3pm, dinner 4pm - 12am)
Friday & Saturday: 10AM – 2AM (brunch 10am – 3pm, dinner 4pm – 2am)
*Kitchen is closed Thursday - Saturday from 3-4PM. Sunday kitchen is closed from 4-4:30PM. Regular beer/wine service still available.

Cross Street:
Shepherd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 880-8737

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/index.php

Entertainment:
MAX’s Wine Dive features a jukebox with Texas-influenced classic rock and old favorites to help create the perfect atmosphere.

Catering:
Off-site and private event catering is available. click here for more information, http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/catering_private-dining/index.php. We love bringing the gourmet comfort food to you!

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet Parking Monday through Saturday nights and have both public and private lots available for all other days & times.

Public Transit:
Metro has stops in the area, and the Washington Wave jitney service makes stops at the Wine Dive as well.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We continuously have upcoming wine tastings and other related events! Check our website to see what is coming up next, http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/calendar-of-events/index.php

Restaurant Photos

MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave.
Creme Brulee French Toast
Duck Taquitos
Creme Brulee Battered French Toast
Famous Fried Chicken
MAX 'n Cheese
Bread Pudding
Foie Gras Meatballs
Chicken Sliders
Nacho Mama's Oysters
Southern Fried Chicken
'Shroom Omelet
Applewood-Smoked Bacon
Home Fries
Grapefruit Mimosa
Chicken Breasts In Red Velvet Cake Batter
fried chicken
 Fried Chicken
fried egg sandwich
Pink Grapefruit Mimosa
Man-Mosa
Watermelon Salad
Chicken Fried Ribeye
Mac and Cheese
Fried Chicken Champagne Salad
Eggs Benedict
Jacks Cakes And Wings
Steak And Eggs With Texas Toast & Grits
Beef Belly Meatballs & Duck Fat Biscuits
Roasted 'Shroom Omelet
Cracklin' Chicken
Little Cheese Basket
Fried Chicken And Champagne
Shrimp With Gnocci And Lemon Sauce
Caesar Salad
Fried chicken w/ chipotle honey sauce
'A' Acacia
Wings & Creme Brulee French Toast
Eggs Max
Cracklin Chicken Risotto
pomme frittes
Banana Nutella Crepes
Pulled Pork Stuffed Poblano Peppers
Saffron Pickled Broccoli & Champagne Dressing
Tangerine Crab Salad With Squid Ink Hollandaise
Tiniest Pour Ever
Crackled Chicken
Brothers Chili Fries
Apple Pie In A Glass
Fried Chicken, Texas Toast, Mash Potatoes, Zucinni And Squash
Eggs, Bacon and Jalapeno Grits
Texas "haute" Dog
Mini Bison Sliders
Apple Brown Betty with Vanilla Ice Cream
Tomato Soup and Grilled Cheese
Pulled Pork Sliders
Truffle Chips
Deep Fried Oysters
Red Velvet Tres Leches Cupcake
Blondies
Max's Kobe Burger
Cupcakes & Caviar
Roasted Bone Marrow
Dr. Pepper Pork Belly
Bone Marrow
Funnel Cake Fried Shrimp
Max & Cheese
Shack Burger
Turkey Meatball Sandwich
Barbecue Pork Belly Nachos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

While Wine Dive Houston is a smaller-than-most restaurant and doesn’t have a private room, we can accommodate cocktail-style events. And on certain nights, portions of the dining area (or even the entire restaurant) can be dedicated to private events.

MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Houston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Great for Brunch
Houston
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Best Restaurants in Heights / Washington ›

great for brunch (80)
fit for foodies (57)
notable wine list (51)
See All
hot spot (43)
great for lunch (33)
special occasion (24)
neighborhood gem (21)
late-night find (20)
romantic (19)
good for groups (19)
vibrant bar scene (17)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was nice just the flowers i t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was nice just the flowers i to be bigger for the price

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Husband had fried chicken and said it wa ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Husband had fried chicken and said it was really good. I had roasted snapper and really enjoyed it. Blueberry bread pudding was great too. The place is small, but it is a dive. And because the tables are so close, it's pretty loud. Will definitely be back though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Wasn't bad!! I loved the famous Chicken ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wasn't bad!! I loved the famous Chicken platter! Wine selection was good!😃

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food and service were outstanding, a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and service were outstanding, as was our server's recommendation of another bubbly that we had not tried.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been several time and love this p ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have been several time and love this place tremendously. Will be back very soon. The grits are the bomb. Lol

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Good service. We will defini ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food! Good service. We will definitely be back!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Max's Wine Dive is convenient for all of ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Max's Wine Dive is convenient for all of us that work downtown but live an hour away. Food is great, wine list is awesome, atmosphere is very relaxing.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed my visit at MAX's Wine ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I really enjoyed my visit at MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave.

The food was very good and the mimosas were good also. I will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The early reservation is great for Brunc ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The early reservation is great for Brunch at Max's. You still get the great food, atmosphere and 1/2 price champagne (featured bottles) without the loud noise. Best jalapeno cheese grits I've ever had!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Of course we had the fried chicken which ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Of course we had the fried chicken which was excellent...great drink specials during Happy Hour......tight seating but not imposing....

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I heard so much about this place, that I ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I heard so much about this place, that I couldn't wait to visit for myself. Do I decided to take my mother on a brunch date to kick off her birthday month celebration. The ambiance was okay except for the fact someone had a young child that keep screaming out loud. It took a while for our good to be served after our orders was placed but they compensated us for that. Overall my mother enjoyed her outing and she loves how her meal was plated. We will most definitely be returning....

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Average and overpriced fried chicken ,no ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Average and overpriced fried chicken ,nothing special . I have had better chicken at KFC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I've never had a bad experience here! Lo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I've never had a bad experience here! Love the food!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've dined here on several occasions. T ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I've dined here on several occasions. The service this evening was pretty bad. It won't keep me from going back, but I was disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

good valu, great wine list. frioendly st ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

good valu, great wine list. frioendly staff, good food

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Being in a middle table made it feel if ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Being in a middle table made it feel if we were in a heavy traffic zone. They did't seem to have the honey coating on the chicken that I remember having the last time I was here. At least it was't on the menu and it wasn't offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

As always just wonderful!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

As always just wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good and our waiter was nic ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was good and our waiter was nice. But it was hot and loud in there.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Food and drinks were great. Service was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and drinks were great. Service was terrible, I had to hunt down our waitress every time our table needed to order drinks, food and even to collect our tab (which took 20 minutes); I ended up going to the bar for drinks and a bottle of champagne because the waitress was taking SO long.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

My husband and I were excited to try it ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My husband and I were excited to try it - we had heard so many good things! We arrived early for our reservations and sat at the bar to get a drink. It took a good 10 minutes for someone to take out order. We were brought to our table a little bit before our reservation, but 15 minutes after we were seated we were yet to be acknowledged. It seemed like others around us were getting service, and the food we saw going by looked fantastic. However, we didn't even get the chance to even order - we left after 15 minutes of complete neglect. So disappointing, we likely won't try again. We wound up having a nice dinner elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Based on other reviews, my husband, daug ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Based on other reviews, my husband, daughter and I went to Max's for Father's Day. I was disappointed in the food - everything except the "creme brulee French toast" was very, very spicy. I made it a point to advise the server that I didn't want ANY hot spices on my green omelet (eggs, goat cheese and collard greens). There was still some, but edible. However, the french fries were so spicy I had to spit them out! When I complained to the waiter, he was as surprised as I - came back after talking to the cook to say that the recipe was changed the day before to add the hot spices. Shouldn't the wait staff be advised of recipe changes? My daughter loved the fried chicken but said I definitely wouldn't - the coating contained so much jalapeno that even she felt the heat. Husband's french toast was fried but he liked it. The noise level was so high with Led Zeppelin music that we could hardly hear each other. Not a place we would return to as a family (but daughter probably would for more chicken!).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Had a great time here with my boyfriend ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Had a great time here with my boyfriend for Sunday Brunch! Max's gluten allergy knowledge is superb and I appreciate the simplicity of ordering gluten free food and trusting that it will be taken care of appropriately. Never met a wine here that I didn't love!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The best gluten free fried chicken ever! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The best gluten free fried chicken ever!!! Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Brunch with siblings! Always l ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Excellent Brunch with siblings! Always look forward to coming and enjoying brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What an awesome concept. Wines were ple ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

What an awesome concept. Wines were plentiful and wide range of pricing by the glass and bottle. Unique menu, but something for everyone. Tried the fried chicken and it was excellent. Oyster nachos rocked....would go back in a heartbeat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and service!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've always had an awesome experience! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I've always had an awesome experience! Your fried chicken is the BEST.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome dinner, food outathisworld! Great service.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We are not quite regulars but have dined at MAX's several times. Chris and Asher was charming attentive and very professional. We were celebrating two birthdays and had a great time. Shrimp and grits, moules and lobster mac 'n cheese were fabulous. We're heading back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Solid food and service. Fair wine prices

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Solid food and service. Fair wine prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Why did they change the Creme Brulee French Toast?

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I come here for the Creme' Brulee battered french toast and they've changed the main ingredient "the bread" to that of dennys or ihop. I'm sure the other foods are great, but they have lost my girlfriend and I with this change. They "had" the best brunch in town, but now they are comparable to all the rest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

So Much More Than a Dive

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Small, close, even to the cusp of cramped, and STILL, if it were smaller, we'd line up for the soundtrack, the ambience and, especially, the food! Max's Wine Dive on Washington is superb in many facets. An extensive wine list with many hidden gems and ALL at very reasonable, even cheap in some instances, prices.

Chris, our server, was knowledgeable about the menu, gave excellent recommendations, and has mastered the concept of "attentive without being intrusive." All in all, a fine dining experience. So fine, the "dive" seemed expansive by the time we left.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Environment

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Love the food and the wine selection, fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Love the food and the wine selection, for me, the music was way too loud. It was difficult to hear each other and we were a table of four.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Dine here if you want to scream at your companions

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food is really good, fried chicken was outstanding. However the noise level is more than I could stand. We were practically screaming across the table. The music was good, but way too loud. It isn't necessary. We have been before and the place was packed, this past Saturday night reservations were available at every hour. We would like to go back but won't, it was loud the last time we went as well. This time we decided while the food was good, its not worth screaming at each other all evening. Positive note, the service was good.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

Wine and Dine

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Possibly the best fried chicken and mac n cheese that I have ever eaten! Great wine selection. Great service. I love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to brunch here this past weekend ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We went to brunch here this past weekend and were very impressed! We both had the chicken wings with the cornbread pancakes and thought the chicken was absolutely delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

LOVE MAX's Wine Dive.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We have been to Max's for brunch 3 times and it has been delicious every time. The only disappointment this past weekend was that we found out they modified their Creme Brulee French Toast. It's the same recipe but the toast used is now half the width of the former without any modification to the pricing. They said it was to get a more even absorption of the batter with the bread. To be honest, I miss the former recipe and didn't leave as satisfied as I was previously. Sad to say that I won't be ordering this in the future but would still go back to try another dish.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A quick bite

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

It was a great Friday evening after work venue. The food was great as usual.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Max's is one of my favorite spots. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Max's is one of my favorite spots. The wine list is 200+ wines deep plus they have an unusual beer list as well. The food is always excellent with the fried chicken being my favourite with the fried green tomato BLT in close second.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Liked it. Portions a little small but good.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Like the restaurant. Great pick for Mothers Day. Great music but a little loud!

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.