About MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave.

4720 Washington Ave., Ste. B
Houston, TX 77007
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model – you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town – and then take some home with you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 12AM (brunch 10am – 4pm, dinner 4:30pm – 12am)
Monday - Thursday: 11AM -12AM (brunch 11am - 3pm, dinner 4pm - 12am)
Friday & Saturday: 10AM – 2AM (brunch 10am – 3pm, dinner 4pm – 2am)
*Kitchen is closed Thursday - Saturday from 3-4PM. Sunday kitchen is closed from 4-4:30PM. Regular beer/wine service still available.

Cross Street:
Shepherd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 880-8737

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/index.php

Entertainment:
MAX’s Wine Dive features a jukebox with Texas-influenced classic rock and old favorites to help create the perfect atmosphere.

Catering:
Off-site and private event catering is available. click here for more information, http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/catering_private-dining/index.php. We love bringing the gourmet comfort food to you!

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet Parking Monday through Saturday nights and have both public and private lots available for all other days & times.

Public Transit:
Metro has stops in the area, and the Washington Wave jitney service makes stops at the Wine Dive as well.

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We continuously have upcoming wine tastings and other related events! Check our website to see what is coming up next, http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/calendar-of-events/index.php

Restaurant Photos

MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave.
Creme Brulee French Toast
Duck Taquitos
MAX’s Famous Southern Fried Chicken
Creme Brulee Battered French Toast
Famous Fried Chicken
MAX 'n Cheese
Bread Pudding
Foie Gras Meatballs
Chicken Sliders
Southern Fried Chicken
'Shroom Omelet
Applewood-Smoked Bacon
Home Fries
Grapefruit Mimosa
Chicken Breasts In Red Velvet Cake Batter
fried chicken
 Fried Chicken
fried egg sandwich
Pink Grapefruit Mimosa
Man-Mosa
Watermelon Salad
Chicken Fried Ribeye
Fried Chicken Champagne Salad
Mac and Cheese
Eggs Benedict
Jacks Cakes And Wings
Steak And Eggs With Texas Toast & Grits
Beef Belly Meatballs & Duck Fat Biscuits
Roasted 'Shroom Omelet
Cracklin' Chicken
Little Cheese Basket
Fried Chicken And Champagne
Shrimp With Gnocci And Lemon Sauce
Caesar Salad
Fried chicken w/ chipotle honey sauce
'A' Acacia
Nacho Mama's Oysters
Wings & Creme Brulee French Toast
Eggs Max
Cracklin Chicken Risotto
pomme frittes
Banana Nutella Crepes
Pulled Pork Stuffed Poblano Peppers
Saffron Pickled Broccoli & Champagne Dressing
Tangerine Crab Salad With Squid Ink Hollandaise
Tiniest Pour Ever
Crackled Chicken
Brothers Chili Fries
Fried Chicken, Texas Toast, Mash Potatoes, Zucinni And Squash
Apple Pie In A Glass
Eggs, Bacon and Jalapeno Grits
Texas "haute" Dog
Mini Bison Sliders
Apple Brown Betty with Vanilla Ice Cream
Tomato Soup and Grilled Cheese
Truffle Chips
Red Velvet Tres Leches Cupcake
Deep Fried Oysters
Blondies
Pulled Pork Sliders
Max's Kobe Burger
Roasted Bone Marrow
Dr. Pepper Pork Belly
Bone Marrow
Cupcakes & Caviar
Funnel Cake Fried Shrimp
Max & Cheese
Barbecue Pork Belly Nachos
Turkey Meatball Sandwich
Shack Burger

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

While Wine Dive Houston is a smaller-than-most restaurant and doesn’t have a private room, we can accommodate cocktail-style events. And on certain nights, portions of the dining area (or even the entire restaurant) can be dedicated to private events.

MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Best Restaurants in Heights / Washington ›

Great for Brunch (81)
Notable Wine List (65)
Fit for Foodies (58)
See All
Hot Spot (51)
Great for Lunch (43)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Special Occasion (30)
Late-night Find (27)
Romantic (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1436 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter was great and also the lady t ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 2 days ago

Our waiter was great and also the lady that sat us to the table. She was a awesome in getting us a good table. We've been to Max's before. Overall, the food was good but the fried chicken was so salty and a little on the dried out side. I was surprised since that is what they are known for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

THE LOBSTER TAIL WAS EXTREMELY SALTY NOT ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

THE LOBSTER TAIL WAS EXTREMELY SALTY NOT JUST MINES EVERYONE AT MY TABLE HAD A SALTY LOBSTER TAIL

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Service always extremely slow. Our bread ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service always extremely slow. Our bread pudding was cold, as if it was straight out of a fridge. When we asked our waiter why it was cold, he said it shouldn't have been and he should have checked on us sooner. That's about it, not even a sorry. Not a great experience considering it was a $250 meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My husband and I love this place. We com ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My husband and I love this place. We come here often for dinner and brunch! Great mimosas!

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy the wine dive. The food is good ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I enjoy the wine dive. The food is good and they play quality music. My chicken was so flavorful, tender, and cooked perfection. It was noisy due to the crowd but the food made up for it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was incredibly slow even with be ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service was incredibly slow even with being a Saturday night. Appetizers took over 30 minutes to come out. Food was great but really felt like they lost or order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

We did the summer restaurant week menu. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We did the summer restaurant week menu. I had the stuffed peppers and Cesar salad to start, fried chicken and peaches and cream bread pudding. The wife had the Mac and cheese and house salad, fried chicken and rocky road brownie. We both shared bites off each dish and we both loved the food it was really good. The only complaint I have is the portion size of the desert was only two small bites. I'm sure that is only for the restaurant week menu and I hope so. I will be back for sure, but will try regular menu items this time. The fried chicken with greens and mashed potatoes was awesome. Probably would say the best fried chicken I have ever tasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The food was excellent, we ordered off t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was excellent, we ordered off the Houston Restaurant Week menu which was really good value. The service really let this place down, our server never once came back to our table after taking our order to check if we needed anything, not even a refill of our drinks. After asking 4 separate people and an hour later I managed to get a 2nd glass of wine. A table arrived next to us, just after we finished our starters. We proceeded to watch them order, eat their starters, mains & were receiving their dessert just as we received our mains (again after chasing several people). I would of gave service zero stars if I could.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Sat us down 15 min after reservation tim ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Sat us down 15 min after reservation time. A server never came. The table next to us was not helped either. We had to request from the hotness for a waiter this was during restaurant week and they were very busy. We waited 20 minutes. It continued to be slow. Dinner took 2.5 hours to finish. However a group of young 20-30's set on other side of us and were served immediately. Food was just ok and the noise level was crazy. We were almost yelling at each other. Nothing special about this place. Would not go back. Bathrooms were a dump.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Made reservations on OpenTable, showed u ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Made reservations on OpenTable, showed up and we were sat immediately-- they were not extremely busy but tables were full. The waiter was courteous, being that it was everyone's fist time he went over the menu items and Answered all questions. Food came out quickly and was DELICIOUS! My friends from Boston we're going crazy, it truly was tasty! Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken & french toast was awesome! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The chicken & french toast was awesome! Great place for brunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fun, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

What started off as decent turned to be ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

What started off as decent turned to be a total disaster. We were seated outside which wasn't a problem but our waiter took forever just to come and get our drink orders. At first we didn't mind since my friend and we're catching up. After about 10 minutes, when he did come he literally took our drink order and disappeared for another 10-15 minutes. He took our order but didn't come back again until the wrong food order showed up more than 30 minutes later and after we asked for the manager. He even said he thought it was weird when the table that arrived 20 minutes after us received their meal before us and it didn't look correct. But instead of coming to us after noticing the mistake he chose to hide. The manager was nice but after nearly an hour of bad service, inattentive staff and the wrong meal nothing could make up for the afternoon. I have also decided to contact the GM to file a formal complaint.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Always good and crowded

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always good and crowded

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had called the location to ask if a s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had called the location to ask if a special menu was available of weekends and was told yes...W arrived and it was not. We ate there anyway...Very crowded...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I've been to Max's on many occasions and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I've been to Max's on many occasions and thoroughly enjoyed it, however this experience was the worst ever! First, they completely forgot my chicken on my 'honey butter benedict', (brought my naked buscuits with eggs on top) and when they corrected my plate there was no honey butter, the gravy, biscuits and eggs were cold, and one of my biscuits was literally the size of a salad crouton. To top it all off, my companions steak was massively overcooked, and the jalapeño grits were completely gummy and flavorless as if they had used food from the previous day or something. I was very disappointed in the experience, especially since this was my friends first time at Max's and I boasted so highly about the quality and taste of the food here. Maybe it was just an off morning, but my friend has no desire to ever return due to the subpar meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

The meal was great. Space is limited. W ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The meal was great. Space is limited. We felt like were crowded. But overall the experience was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food and service as always. The HR ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food and service as always. The HRW menu is amazing this year and as a vegetarian, I was so excited to be able to join in on all 4 courses (minus the bacon of course).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed the Restaurant Week m ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I was disappointed the Restaurant Week menu was not served. That was my main purpose for visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Customer Service! Great unique tas ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great Customer Service! Great unique tasting food!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My meal was okay I have had better from ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My meal was okay I have had better from Max's. I had the Jack Cakes and wings. I did not like the corn in the cornbread

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

we went for houston restaurant weeks. g ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

we went for houston restaurant weeks. great appetizers. i did not like that they brought out the appetizers and salads at the same time. ultimately making the 4 course meal into a 3 course meal, probably to save time and turn more tables. i asked for my meal to be medium rare and it came out raw. i mean raw. it had grill marks but was completely raw underneath. they corrected this and the meal was good, but they essentially turned their 3 course meal into a 4 curse meal, thus not saving time and possibly not turning another table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The Houston Restaurant Week Menu was gre ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The Houston Restaurant Week Menu was great. The food and service was also spectacular.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always a pleasure! The only complaints t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Always a pleasure!

The only complaints the greens were not as good as before.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was not attentive. I had to a ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The waiter was not attentive. I had to ask for my meal. Then when the cornbread finally came out I was done eating. Ask for a to go container and that good a while. Looked up and she was standing talking with another co worker. I have been coming to Max's for a while I you guys used to have great service not sure what is happening. Also ask for the restaurant week menu only to be told you don't do it on weekends. That is not on the website so people need to know this

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Wait staff wasn't the friendliest. He di ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wait staff wasn't the friendliest. He didn't once smile.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

This restaurant is a very busy place! Es ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This restaurant is a very busy place! Especially at brunch. Make reservations! I had jake cakes and wings. They are pancakes with a cornbread taste with jalapeños in them. Loved them! My daughter substituted buttermilk pancakes. The servers seem to be very efficient, even as they had to weave around tight aisles and table corners with trays of food. And without incident!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was so-so to poor. One meal was del ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was so-so to poor. One meal was delivered to the wrong table. Mimosas were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

This was our first visit - and during Re ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was our first visit - and during Restaurant Week. I expected a more polished interior, the decor is very casual. Now I know. The food here was outstanding. I had the fried chicken and my husband had the pork chop. Both were delicious and rival our favorite southern food restaurant in Atlanta. The service was exceptionally good because we never had an empty water glass or wine glass for that matter.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Overpriced, food quality is sub par, par ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Overpriced, food quality is sub par, parking is terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Very over rated. We felt rushed all of ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very over rated. We felt rushed all of the time. First and second course were delivered at the same time. Noisy and greasy place. If you appreciated good food and good service, don't bother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Great value for restaurant week! The men ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great value for restaurant week! The menu was great except for the dessert! Great drinks and service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time eating at Max's Wine Dive and ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

First time eating at Max's Wine Dive and will not be our last! Amazing selection of wines. The fried chicken was amazing!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It's a dive, yet the food is creative an ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It's a dive, yet the food is creative and very wine friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Great start to HRW!!! I have been to Ma ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great start to HRW!!! I have been to Max's before, but this was the first time I ever experienced 4 courses there. I had the fried brie (amazing) and my friend had the max-n-cheese (w/ added bacon). Both were amazing! I could have just had those 2 dishes for dinner (with my wine) and been satisfied. I then had the Cesar salad, followed by the fried chicken & greens (YUM), but was too full to eat the dessert I got (peach bread pudding). I knew dessert was coming, but I just couldn't stop myself from eating the fried chicken. My husband ate the bread pudding the following day and said it was ok (he is from Louisiana, so that was a compliment from him). I love Max's Wine Dive and can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good. Everyone enjoy ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was really good. Everyone enjoyed the meal they ordered with the mimosas .. The service was extremely slow however .. We didn't even get our drink orders until 15-20mins later. So if the service was better would leave better review. The food was great though

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was good, but service was very slow ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was good, but service was very slow! It took a while to get our main course, and also to flag down our waiter even though the restaurant was very small. After finally asking for a to-go box, we saw our waiter stop by several tables, overhearing him making small talk and forgetting about us. Would not recommend if you need to eat in less than 90 minutes.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We had the best food and wonderful time ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had the best food and wonderful time celebrating our daughter's 24th birthday. It was during Restaurant Weeks so we ate a ton of awesome food! We had the Last Judgmemt Red and it was delish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was referred to me and now I ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This place was referred to me and now I would like refer to others. The meal my husband and I chose was Great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Honestly the service wasn't that great, ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Honestly the service wasn't that great, the mimosas were good but we can get better ones locally near us in kingwood and they are bottomless. The food was just ok, I was quite disappointed in my Benedict as the "biscuits" were hard and the size of a small cookie, I tasted NO honey butter at all. The hash was ok but somewhat bland. We will probably not come back as we just weren't all that impressed.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food in general was pretty good....desse ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food in general was pretty good....desserts we loved even more. Busy place, nice looks....would gladly return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.