About MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave.

4720 Washington Ave., Ste. B
Houston, TX 77007
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model – you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town – and then take some home with you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 12AM (brunch 10am – 4pm, dinner 4:30pm – 12am)
Monday - Thursday: 11AM -12AM (brunch 11am - 3pm, dinner 4pm - 12am)
Friday & Saturday: 10AM – 2AM (brunch 10am – 3pm, dinner 4pm – 2am)
*Kitchen is closed Thursday - Saturday from 3-4PM. Sunday kitchen is closed from 4-4:30PM. Regular beer/wine service still available.

Cross Street:
Shepherd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 880-8737

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/index.php

Entertainment:
MAX’s Wine Dive features a jukebox with Texas-influenced classic rock and old favorites to help create the perfect atmosphere.

Catering:
Off-site and private event catering is available. click here for more information, http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/catering_private-dining/index.php. We love bringing the gourmet comfort food to you!

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet Parking Monday through Saturday nights and have both public and private lots available for all other days & times.

Public Transit:
Metro has stops in the area, and the Washington Wave jitney service makes stops at the Wine Dive as well.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We continuously have upcoming wine tastings and other related events! Check our website to see what is coming up next, http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/calendar-of-events/index.php

Restaurant Photos

MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Creme Brulee French Toast - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
MAX’s Famous Southern Fried Chicken - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Creme Brulee Battered French Toast - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Famous Fried Chicken - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Duck Taquitos - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Bread Pudding - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Foie Gras Meatballs - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Chicken Sliders - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Southern Fried Chicken - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
'Shroom Omelet - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Applewood-Smoked Bacon - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Home Fries - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Grapefruit Mimosa - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Chicken Breasts In Red Velvet Cake Batter - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
fried chicken - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
 Fried Chicken - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
fried egg sandwich - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Pink Grapefruit Mimosa - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Man-Mosa - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Watermelon Salad - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Chicken Fried Ribeye - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Fried Chicken Champagne Salad - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Mac and Cheese - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Eggs Benedict - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Jacks Cakes And Wings - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Steak And Eggs With Texas Toast & Grits - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Beef Belly Meatballs & Duck Fat Biscuits - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Roasted 'Shroom Omelet - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Cracklin' Chicken - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Little Cheese Basket - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Fried Chicken And Champagne - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Shrimp With Gnocci And Lemon Sauce - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
MAX 'n Cheese - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Caesar Salad - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Fried chicken w/ chipotle honey sauce - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
'A' Acacia - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Nacho Mama's Oysters - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Wings & Creme Brulee French Toast - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Eggs Max - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Cracklin Chicken Risotto - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
pomme frittes - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Banana Nutella Crepes - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Pulled Pork Stuffed Poblano Peppers - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Saffron Pickled Broccoli & Champagne Dressing - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Tangerine Crab Salad With Squid Ink Hollandaise - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Tiniest Pour Ever - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Crackled Chicken  - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Brothers Chili Fries - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Fried Chicken, Texas Toast, Mash Potatoes, Zucinni And Squash - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Apple Pie In A Glass - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Eggs, Bacon and Jalapeno Grits - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Texas "haute" Dog - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Mini Bison Sliders - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Apple Brown Betty with Vanilla Ice Cream - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Tomato Soup and Grilled Cheese - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Truffle Chips - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Red Velvet Tres Leches Cupcake - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Deep Fried Oysters - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Blondies - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Pulled Pork Sliders - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Max's Kobe Burger - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Roasted Bone Marrow - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Dr. Pepper Pork Belly - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Bone Marrow - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Cupcakes & Caviar - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Funnel Cake Fried Shrimp - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Max & Cheese - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Barbecue Pork Belly Nachos - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Turkey Meatball Sandwich - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX
Shack Burger - MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave., Houston, TX

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

While Wine Dive Houston is a smaller-than-most restaurant and doesn’t have a private room, we can accommodate cocktail-style events. And on certain nights, portions of the dining area (or even the entire restaurant) can be dedicated to private events.

MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Best Restaurants in Heights / Washington ›

Great for Brunch (35)
Comfort Food (33)
Notable Wine List (30)
See All
Casual (27)
Great for Lunch (27)
Fun (25)
Hot Spot (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Happy Hour (18)
Late-night Find (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Groups (12)
People Watching (11)
Romantic (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Live Sports (4)
Seasonal (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Business Meals (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Historic (2)
Live Music (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
1502 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a fantastic brunch on Sunday. Th ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a fantastic brunch on Sunday. The service was great, the food delicious and the wine impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ashton was a good waiter and the manager ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Ashton was a good waiter and the manager Michael was very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food is delish - we split the mac & ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is delish - we split the mac & cheese and all got their famous fried chicken. I always forget about this place which is too bad because it is so close to me. Max's is back on my regular restaurant rotation now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

The service was fantastic and the food w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was fantastic and the food was exceptional. Great place for friends to catch up and enjoy a great meal.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place! My husband and I enjoyed o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place! My husband and I enjoyed our "date" here! The service was awesome! My cup never runneth dry, literally! The staff was so on it! Food was amazingly delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here a few times and enjoye ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We have been here a few times and enjoyed it. Although our server was excellent, we put the service only at fair because our entrees came out almost 15 minutes apart. The burger came out and then the chicken came out 10-15 minutes later so although we went there together, we ate pretty much separately. That would not ever be my choice. Also, I ordered my burger medium and it was definitely medium well, but to be fair, I did not complain about that. The place was not busy, but apparently they had an issue with the kitchen the night we decided to go. As we have been here before, I think this was out of the ordinary so I am sure I will try them again some time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Took my in-laws and brother in law here ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Took my in-laws and brother in law here when visiting for the first time. Great choice! Fried chicken was amazing, music selection and atmosphere were great, and service was fantastic. Will be coming back here for happy hours and date nights.

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it and so did my guy!!! I've been ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Loved it and so did my guy!!!

I've been wanting to go for sometime. The fried lobster was absolutely delish!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Casual, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maxs came Highly recommended to me by a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Maxs came Highly recommended to me by a few friends that Frequently dine there. I was in town for the wkend & decided to check it out for myself & I must say It lived up to the hype (lol). Great Atmosphere & the food was AWESOME ! I will most definitely be back again & SOON !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Casual, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it's their 10 year anniversary $10 fried ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

it's their 10 year anniversary $10 fried chicken. always good wine selection, menu is a bit limited so go for the fried chicken, shrimp and grits or the mac and cheese. Only complaint is I always seem to get a high top table since the booths are always "reserved", ended up sitting at the bar rather than being jostled by the people walking back and forth

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this place and plan to take my co ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I love this place and plan to take my companion next.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time visiting and I must say best ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First time visiting and I must say best brunch ever and the mimosas are to die for. Very busy on sundays so I advise you to either make a reservation or get there early. Everything about this place is amazing

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Casual, Family Style, Fun, Happy Hour, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is too small and the tables ar ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The place is too small and the tables are too close together. The waitress seemed to not care about our table. I took it as not wanting to serve us because we were non-white. She was very helpful to the whites that she serviced. Whenever we asked for something it seemed as if we were bothering her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

I made reservations for Sunday brunch. I ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I made reservations for Sunday brunch. I was seated immediately. The food was good and the mimosas were awesome. I'd recommend Max's to anyone.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Complimentary valet, nice and busy. Over ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Complimentary valet, nice and busy. Overall we didn't experience a longer than expected wait for good. Started with a cheeseboard, light on bread but nice accompaniments. Pot roast and Fried chicken were worth it. Not a place I'd get dessert- only two options plus a chef special. They are celebrating their 10 year anniversary (12/6/2016) so there are a few special items. Happy hour menu looks fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I had such a great experience here on my ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I had such a great experience here on my 21st birthday! My husband and I were amazed with the food, it was so delicious. It came out in a very timely manner and it was fresh and the dishes were unique but not too out-of-the-box. Great service too!

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Max's is consistent and serves quality f ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Max's is consistent and serves quality food with friendly service. Wine and fried chicken were very good. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first visit, and it certain ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 8, 2016

This was our first visit, and it certainly did not disappoint. The fried chicken was outstanding, we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Brunch with the girls

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Brunch with the girls

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Pleased! The seating is somewhat cr ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very Pleased! The seating is somewhat cramped but that also is the reason the ambiance is so great!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fireplace, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love Max's...from the food to the atmo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I love Max's...from the food to the atmosphere. I would recommend bringing a light sweater or something because it is pretty chilly. But other than that, one of my favorite brunch places

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

My husband and I went with another coupl ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My husband and I went with another couple for Sunday brunch. Made reservations in advance. Valet parked, was seated right away, and our waitress was totally on top of it. The watermelon mimosa was outstanding and worth the upcharge. The food was all outstanding. Husband didn't like jalapenos in the grits but otherwise we loved the food. In the future would not pay 7.50 for a side of french toast. I split the honey fried chicken biscuit special with my friend, and that was a perfect portion. Waitress was a little slow to get our checks out at the end; we didn't see her for about 15 minutes and then we asked for checks. The gentlemen refilling water and clearing plates were on top of it. The manager even stopped by to say hello. Very very loud music, had to shout at each other, but it was fun, mostly. I would definitely go back, but not take my parents, for example, because that music is like walking into a loud bar on Friday night. Definitely fun and not a sleepy brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Casual, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I brought friends from out of town and t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I brought friends from out of town and they loved it. Met with another friend and it was just as good as the first time! Will definitely be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is awesome with great food, g ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This place is awesome with great food, great service, great atmosphere, and the music was awesome as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed my food but I don't lik ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I really enjoyed my food but I don't like the seating arrangements.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely delicious, as always!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Absolutely delicious, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed myself.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Really enjoyed myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food it was truly amazing my 1 ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent food it was truly amazing my 1st time coming here I couldn't believe how nice the place was and how great the service was as well. Won't be my last time visiting my friend was amaze and impress how did know about this place two thumbs up

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Max's was easy to find and even though p ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Max's was easy to find and even though parking is crowded, I found a spot quickly. The food was excellent and came out quicker than I expected. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Really had a great date night. The chees ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Really had a great date night. The cheese board was on point. And my girlfriend being gluten-free, the GF-free fried chicken and fish and chips were amazing. Highly recommend. The waiter was very pleasant and had great banter. Will be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place and the fried chicken i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Loved this place and the fried chicken is some of the best in Houston. Wine coul be a little bit cheaper per glass but the service is excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I am always impressed by the food, servi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I am always impressed by the food, service and ambiance!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Historic, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vegan, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Max's Wine Dive a good 20 t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I've been to Max's Wine Dive a good 20 times over the last 4 years. This was the first time I was less than impressed. Maybe they were having an off day, but I was far disappointed with my brunch, as well as my friend's. It may be a while before I return.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I ordered my favorite Jake Cakes and the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I ordered my favorite Jake Cakes and the pancakes were not hot. I was almost about to endure my luke warm food, but adding syrup to cold pancakes was not going to work for me.

The wait staff was very happy to give me a new and hot stack. After a short wait for the new stack, they were SCRUMPTIOUS!!!!!!

A few minutes later, I saw another customer complaining about the same problem. Obviously the timing of the of hot pancakes to hot chicken wings was completely off.

Why aren't the plates kept hot? Why don't you try serving HOT SYRUP? Either or both would help disguise not-so-hot pancakes!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

The Fried Egg Sandwich is always a favor ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The Fried Egg Sandwich is always a favorite of mine. The French Toast was very good as well.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time visitor. The food was great - ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

First time visitor. The food was great - eclectic choices. Staff helpful in sizing up the size of the sharing plates which helped in our selection. Shrimp and grits wonderful! Egg sandwich was unbelievably large. Fresh avocado a nice accompaniment. Good wine selection. Able to take away so don't worry about ordering a full bottle! Noisy but you can carry on a conversation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Upon arrival I informed the Hostess that ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Upon arrival I informed the Hostess that I had 715pm reservations made via Open Table. She looked in the system and stated " that we didn't have reservations but could sit at the bar". Not a fan of bar eating but due to the fact that we drove 45 minutes to the restaurant I gave it a try. Due to having iternet problems I wasn't able to retrieve my emails. Shortly after our food arrived I was able to retrieve my email and brought it to the attention of the Hostess. Still in doubt about me having a reservations the Hostess did a little prying and found my reservations. She indicated that someone cancelled it. Not sure who that someone was. Despite the initial problem, the food was good and our Bartender was AWESOME!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice spot for date night. Music was off ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Nice spot for date night. Music was off the hook nice selection and food and wine was unbelievable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

forget about talking to anyone at your t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

forget about talking to anyone at your table

take asprin for the head ache when you leave

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Thank you so much for your consistency o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Thank you so much for your consistency of service and quality. Everytime we have suggested Maxx's to our friends they also are very pleased. Great job !

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.