About MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Fairview St.

214 Fairview St., Ste. 2
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE. We’re passionate about food and wine - just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 12AM
Monday: 11AM – 12AM
Tuesday – Thursday: 11AM – 12AM
Friday: 11AM – 2AM
Saturday: 10AM - 2AM

*Lunch served Tuesday - Friday, 11AM - 3PM
*Brunch served Friday – Sunday, 10AM – 3PM.
*Industry Brunch served Monday, 11AM-3PM

Cross Street:
Taft St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-9200

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston-214-fairview-st/contact/

Catering:
Love the food at MAX’s Wine Dive and planning a special event? Why not have the best of both? MAX’s Wine Dive can cater all kinds of private and corporate events. Let our experienced staff do the work and create the perfect birthday, reunion, rehearsal dinner, graduation, wedding reception, corporate outing, happy hour, charity event…the list goes on and on! For more information, email us, infoHOU2@maxswinedive.com.

Executive Chef:
Shay Prigmore

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:45PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Love the food at MAX’s Wine Dive restaurant and wine bar and planning a special event? Why not have the best of both? We can cater all kinds of private and corporate events. Let our experienced staff do the work and create the perfect event!

MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Fairview St. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

Great for Brunch (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
See All
Casual (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Fun (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Romantic (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Cozy (7)
People Watching (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The new menu changes at Fairview (wings ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The new menu changes at Fairview (wings and donuts) doesn't make it more appealing to choose Max's. By far one of our favorites. Removing the half-wall did open it up more but you lost something also by doing that. I think each location having it's own unique menu and style was a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Love brunch here!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Love brunch here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the customer serv ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food was great and the customer service was excellent. I would definitely recommend anyone to try them out if they'e never been and they like good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was great EXCEPT for the olde ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Everything was great EXCEPT for the older gentleman with NO SHIRT allowed to eat on the patio... And with a parrot!! I do believe the no shirt situation is a health code violation! When I inquired, I was told he's a regular! He walked through the restaurant with NO SHIRT! I really don't care who he is or how often he frequents the restaurant... THIS SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED!!! Oh... I had reservations for the patio but ate inside due to this 'situation'!! The food and service were both great!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Food was really good!!! Love the atmosph ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was really good!!! Love the atmosphere!!! Will definitely go back!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Max's is fantastic. We took advantage of ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Max's is fantastic. We took advantage of their 10th anniversary fried chicken and champagne specials. Major bang for our buck! That's what we order every time, but this time is was nearly half price!

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fried Chicken definitely good specially ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fried Chicken definitely good specially with the deal for the 10th anniversary. Special price on bubblies also helped. Server was great though the maître d was a little harried though pleasant enough. We were late for our reservation but they did accommodate us.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

French toast with strawberry is great. C ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

French toast with strawberry is great. Collard green which came with the fry chicken special can very well be replaced by chard, or other veg.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Timing of appetizer and entrée delivery ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Timing of appetizer and entrée delivery was out of sync. No attempt to coordinate. Food was okay, not outstanding like the last time I went here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food. Revieeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwwww sho ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food. Revieeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwwww should nit require comments

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and brunch were great. I had the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service and brunch were great. I had the honey butter Benedict, and my wife had the French toast. We both really liked our food. I've never been a big brunch kind of guy, but Max's Wine Dive has changed that.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I set at my table for 20 mins while the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I set at my table for 20 mins while the tables next to me got customer service and NOT ONCES did anyone speak to me and my guest not even to say one min or would you like some water nothing .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was great. There was an error in ou ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was great. There was an error in our meal and the waiter didn't fix it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Service was EXTREMElY slow. One of our o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was EXTREMElY slow. One of our orders wasn't correct and nothing was done to make it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Pork belly app was amazing. Truffle chip ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Pork belly app was amazing. Truffle chips were ok but sad the house made chips were not made fresh. Decent wine selection but expected a better variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The waiter was very knowledgeable and th ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The waiter was very knowledgeable and the food was delicious. Could have ordered less as the portions were quite large. Wine list is expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food in a great atmosphere! Recomm ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food in a great atmosphere! Recommend making reservations to prevent a lengthy wait.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

If you are looking for good southern coo ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 30, 2016

If you are looking for good southern cooking and a nice selection of wine - this is the place. The only problem I had was choosing what to eat. The entire menu is amazing and I want all of it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Toooooook forever to get are food. Don' ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Toooooook forever to get are food. Don't be in a hurry...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We had a lovely time here for our monthl ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We had a lovely time here for our monthly happy hour although due to some 'work interference' not all of our party was able to make it but we had a great time nonetheless. We love this location and the service is outstanding!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So disappointed with our brunch outing t ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 23, 2016

So disappointed with our brunch outing this time. It was not very crowded on our visit. We had reservations and were seated upon entering. Our waitress was good, but not great. My order came out cold. My fault for not saying something, but I didn't want to send it back because I would end up eating alone once it came back and everyone at the table had finished. My husband's entree was lukewarm. Again, it was not crowded and we sat near the kitchen. Seemed as though they were steady working on orders, but very disappointing to have cold food. We have dined here before and it was very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Fantastic food and service. One of the b ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Fantastic food and service. One of the best brunch spots in town!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started with the Fried Oyster apps--O ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We started with the Fried Oyster apps--Outstanding!! One of our party had the Lobster Pot Pie and the other, the Hamburger (upgraded to the bison burger). Excellent food! Excellent experience on the patio.

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time trying out Max's & the mac n ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

First time trying out Max's & the mac n cheese with grilled lobster was delicious, in addition to a refreshing grapefruit cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fried Chicken (Gluten-free) was outstand ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Fried Chicken (Gluten-free) was outstanding as always! We enjoyed a couple mimosas each in addition to the chicken. Service was very solid. This is our favorite Max's Wine Dive location by far.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The wine selection was great & had a hug ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The wine selection was great & had a huge variety. The food - (bison burgers) were deliscous.

The best part was our enthusiastic server Betsy!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was very helpful and super ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our waitress was very helpful and super friendly. This was the first Sunday in a long time the restaurant wasn't too crowded. The food (especially their famous grits) was delicious. We will definitely be coming back for brunch again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I have gone here a couple ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My husband and I have gone here a couple times for brunch. It's a great atmosphere with good food. Crowded but not in an annoying way. We make a reservation about a half hour before so we know we will get a table instead of bar seating.

I ordered the fried egg sandwich and it was HUGE. It is definitely large enough to split or share, it is also very tasty!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lousy. This place is not about meals or ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Lousy. This place is not about meals or gatherings but instead the focus is clearly on peddling as much alcohol as possible on a Sunday morning. The dining area is a generic open space with some high-tops and a wall of booths behind dark, sticky tables punctuated by fluorescent glimmers from two big-screen TVs.

We were so put off by the rude and dismissive host and inept service that we left after wasting 20 minutes there. This review is not about the food because we had the good sense to escape before making the mistake of ordering.

We had reservations at 10 AM, when the "restaurant" opened. Upon arriving on time, the host saw that we were two adults with a child (who was well-behaved with book in hand) and decided to seat us at a two-seater (with an extra chair), and the table was pushed against a wall about two feet from the host station. When we requested a booth instead (more than half were open) as we did not want one of us to be sitting in a path where people would walk and we did not want to be so cozy with the backsides of the three employees who huddled around the host station, the host acted like he could not be bothered with us (it was not busy) and someone else showed us to a booth. Ten minutes later, a server came and asked, with no hello or introduction, if she could get us mimosas. We ordered coffee. No one came to take our meal order. Other tables seated after us had their alcohol orders taken and served. Ten minutes later, before the coffee ever made it to us, we left.

We went to Urban Eats and had a lovely meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful experience, great wine, fantas ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful experience, great wine, fantastic value for happy hour. Great service. There is a bit of construction around the location and parking is valet and tight.... that would be the only downside. Hopefully to get better once construction is complete.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually good but a little disappointing ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Usually good but a little disappointing on the food this time. Fried chicken was pre made and overcooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was great! Server was distracted. W ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was great! Server was distracted. We were first table seated for the day, then 10 minutes later the next table was seated. They were served, they ate and they paid their bill before we received our food. We only received coffee/drink refills from the neighboring table server and when we received our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This is my second time in a row to go to ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 5, 2016

This is my second time in a row to go to this Max's and be horribly disappointed by the service. I love the food and wanted to give it a second shot. It took at least 5-10 minutes for our waitress to come see us, and over 20 for us to get our water (and our waitress didn't even come around in that period of time to ask her about it, we had to grab a wandering busboy) when we finally got our food, I didn't have a spoon on my plate, and literally nobody came by to ask us about our food. The waitress came by towards the end of the meal and I was finally able to get a spoon. Mind you during this time period I watched our absent waitress talking for long periods of time at other tables, notice when wine glasses were full and refill them, and generally pay attention to those people without even sparing a passing glance towards my table.

It would be one thing if this wasn't the second time in a row. The first gone my order was lost and I didn't even get my food until everybody else was finished eating.

I'm not returning to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

My first time at this location. Food ver ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

My first time at this location. Food very good. Service was slow. Be very careful eating on the patio in rainy weather. The groups outside got soaking wet with the down pours. The patio is not equipped to keep you dry or your food from getting ruined.

Overall, the chicken was just as great as the other locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

One of the best places for Sunday Brunch ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of the best places for Sunday Brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As usual, I went for the friend chicken. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2016

As usual, I went for the friend chicken. I honestly think it is the best around. During Houston Restaurant week, it is a great deal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

First off go there and they tell me the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

First off go there and they tell me the kitchen is closed

The waitress never came to check on us refill drinks or even pack up my food that I didn't eat

They weren't busy nobody including management checked on anyone they just talked among themselves

The food wasn't good the collard greens were bitter even I know to add sugar to them duh

I will never ever support this restaurant or any of their rest. Hope they get closed down soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Food was great and fast service

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was great and fast service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

THEY TOOK THE WAFFLE DONUT OFF THE MENU ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 28, 2016

THEY TOOK THE WAFFLE DONUT OFF THE MENU AND I HAVE NO MORE REASON TO LIVE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Max's is one of my husbands favorite res ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Max's is one of my husbands favorite restaurants. We usually go to the Washington location, but that location had no available reservations at the time we wanted. Booked the fairview location. Arrived and were immediately seated. Took a little while to order drinks, but it was busy, so it was not a big deal. The guests we brought orders salads and my husband and I both ordered the sliders. I got a side of max and cheese and my husband got fries. About 20 minutes later the sliders came out. With no sides. We were told the salads would be right out. Five minutes later we asked where the sides we ordered were and where the rest of the food was. We were told it would be about another 5 minutes. So by the time the rest of the food got to the table, the sliders were cold. Not to mention the Mac and cheese had separated so it was very greasy. We will definitely think twice about eating there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.