About MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Fairview St.

214 Fairview St., Ste. 2
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE. We’re passionate about food and wine - just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 12AM
Monday: 11AM – 12AM
Tuesday – Thursday: 11AM – 12AM
Friday: 11AM – 2AM
Saturday: 10AM - 2AM

*Lunch served Tuesday - Friday, 11AM - 3PM
*Brunch served Friday – Sunday, 10AM – 3PM.
*Industry Brunch served Monday, 11AM-3PM

Cross Street:
Taft St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-9200

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston-214-fairview-st/contact/

Catering:
Love the food at MAX’s Wine Dive and planning a special event? Why not have the best of both? MAX’s Wine Dive can cater all kinds of private and corporate events. Let our experienced staff do the work and create the perfect birthday, reunion, rehearsal dinner, graduation, wedding reception, corporate outing, happy hour, charity event…the list goes on and on! For more information, email us, infoHOU2@maxswinedive.com.

Executive Chef:
Shay Prigmore

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Love the food at MAX’s Wine Dive restaurant and wine bar and planning a special event? Why not have the best of both? We can cater all kinds of private and corporate events. Let our experienced staff do the work and create the perfect event!

MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Fairview St. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Houston
Great for Brunch
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

Great for Brunch (42)
Notable Wine List (33)
Fit for Foodies (28)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Hot Spot (21)
Great for Lunch (19)
Special Occasion (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Late-night Find (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Romantic (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (6)
Casual (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Cozy (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
423 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lousy. This place is not about meals or ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Lousy. This place is not about meals or gatherings but instead the focus is clearly on peddling as much alcohol as possible on a Sunday morning. The dining area is a generic open space with some high-tops and a wall of booths behind dark, sticky tables punctuated by fluorescent glimmers from two big-screen TVs.

We were so put off by the rude and dismissive host and inept service that we left after wasting 20 minutes there. This review is not about the food because we had the good sense to escape before making the mistake of ordering.

We had reservations at 10 AM, when the "restaurant" opened. Upon arriving on time, the host saw that we were two adults with a child (who was well-behaved with book in hand) and decided to seat us at a two-seater (with an extra chair), and the table was pushed against a wall about two feet from the host station. When we requested a booth instead (more than half were open) as we did not want one of us to be sitting in a path where people would walk and we did not want to be so cozy with the backsides of the three employees who huddled around the host station, the host acted like he could not be bothered with us (it was not busy) and someone else showed us to a booth. Ten minutes later, a server came and asked, with no hello or introduction, if she could get us mimosas. We ordered coffee. No one came to take our meal order. Other tables seated after us had their alcohol orders taken and served. Ten minutes later, before the coffee ever made it to us, we left.

We went to Urban Eats and had a lovely meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful experience, great wine, fantas ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful experience, great wine, fantastic value for happy hour. Great service. There is a bit of construction around the location and parking is valet and tight.... that would be the only downside. Hopefully to get better once construction is complete.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually good but a little disappointing ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Usually good but a little disappointing on the food this time. Fried chicken was pre made and overcooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was great! Server was distracted. W ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was great! Server was distracted. We were first table seated for the day, then 10 minutes later the next table was seated. They were served, they ate and they paid their bill before we received our food. We only received coffee/drink refills from the neighboring table server and when we received our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This is my second time in a row to go to ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This is my second time in a row to go to this Max's and be horribly disappointed by the service. I love the food and wanted to give it a second shot. It took at least 5-10 minutes for our waitress to come see us, and over 20 for us to get our water (and our waitress didn't even come around in that period of time to ask her about it, we had to grab a wandering busboy) when we finally got our food, I didn't have a spoon on my plate, and literally nobody came by to ask us about our food. The waitress came by towards the end of the meal and I was finally able to get a spoon. Mind you during this time period I watched our absent waitress talking for long periods of time at other tables, notice when wine glasses were full and refill them, and generally pay attention to those people without even sparing a passing glance towards my table.

It would be one thing if this wasn't the second time in a row. The first gone my order was lost and I didn't even get my food until everybody else was finished eating.

I'm not returning to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

My first time at this location. Food ver ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My first time at this location. Food very good. Service was slow. Be very careful eating on the patio in rainy weather. The groups outside got soaking wet with the down pours. The patio is not equipped to keep you dry or your food from getting ruined.

Overall, the chicken was just as great as the other locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

One of the best places for Sunday Brunch ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of the best places for Sunday Brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As usual, I went for the friend chicken. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

As usual, I went for the friend chicken. I honestly think it is the best around. During Houston Restaurant week, it is a great deal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

First off go there and they tell me the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

First off go there and they tell me the kitchen is closed

The waitress never came to check on us refill drinks or even pack up my food that I didn't eat

They weren't busy nobody including management checked on anyone they just talked among themselves

The food wasn't good the collard greens were bitter even I know to add sugar to them duh

I will never ever support this restaurant or any of their rest. Hope they get closed down soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Food was great and fast service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was great and fast service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

THEY TOOK THE WAFFLE DONUT OFF THE MENU ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

THEY TOOK THE WAFFLE DONUT OFF THE MENU AND I HAVE NO MORE REASON TO LIVE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Max's is one of my husbands favorite res ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Max's is one of my husbands favorite restaurants. We usually go to the Washington location, but that location had no available reservations at the time we wanted. Booked the fairview location. Arrived and were immediately seated. Took a little while to order drinks, but it was busy, so it was not a big deal. The guests we brought orders salads and my husband and I both ordered the sliders. I got a side of max and cheese and my husband got fries. About 20 minutes later the sliders came out. With no sides. We were told the salads would be right out. Five minutes later we asked where the sides we ordered were and where the rest of the food was. We were told it would be about another 5 minutes. So by the time the rest of the food got to the table, the sliders were cold. Not to mention the Mac and cheese had separated so it was very greasy. We will definitely think twice about eating there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Very good experience. Fried chicken and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very good experience. Fried chicken and three egg fried sandwich were amazing!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

So disappointed. Went there for HRW bec ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

So disappointed. Went there for HRW because the four course menu looked amazing. Their four courses was a joke. The salad was basically something that came out of a salad bag, wilted lettuce and the portion size was the size of your palm. The mac and cheese was barely edible. The cheese was so sharp and had a bitter after taste. I had the fried chicken as a main course and I've honestly had better fried chicken from popeyes. One of my chicken pieces was not even fully cooked. The rocky road brownie for dessert was dry and tasted like something they just warmed up in a microwave. This restaurant is not HRW caliber. Plus the place was freezing cold. I felt like we were in an ice box. Would not recommend at all. The only good thing was the server was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Great waitress who loved her job and was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great waitress who loved her job and was fun to talk with. She was knowledgeable about the food. We had fried chicken which was great, the hash with the short ribs was tender. The egg sandwich is huge and a good one to share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was a little slow. But the food ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was a little slow. But the food was good. We went for Houston Restaurant and we all tried something different. I had the burger and it was very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Not crowded but service was very slow. L ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Not crowded but service was very slow. Loud people came in we had to move tables. Took so long to get our food we had to get it to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

They had on the website that they were p ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

They had on the website that they were participating in Houston Restaurant week 2016 , I called they said they were but 30 min later when I arrived they said they were not doing restaurant weeks menus and that was why I went to that location. Disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was great as always! My friend and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was great as always! My friend and I made reservations via Opentable and when we arrived we ended up waiting an additional 20-30 minutes past our scheduled time and the only seats available were at the bar. Since it was just two of us we didn't mind waiting or sitting at the bar. I would just recommend that if you plan on stopping by for Sunday brunch and have a reservation be prepared to still wait.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was awesome (fried chicken), se ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was awesome (fried chicken), service very good (Jenny), food came in a timely manner. The manager brought our food out & then brought some things we needed right away. He came back & checked in on us later in the meal. Only negatives to us were the music was really loud & felt a bit crammed in.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Food came out cold and the music was pla ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food came out cold and the music was playing very loud and was overcrowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Our waitress was Tori, even though we ha ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our waitress was Tori, even though we had help from numerous other servers. The food was Outstanding! It is a bit loud in there so if you are looking for a quiet night out this would not be the place on a Saturday night. But if you are looking for wonderful food like you have never seen before, friendly staff ready to assist you in any way, and a great wine list then this is your spot! I hear their brunch is great to...I am going to have to take a stab at it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The Hangover Mash was amazing. Pricing o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Hangover Mash was amazing. Pricing on pitchers mimosas is very reasonable. The service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Max's delivers on its food and service. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Max's delivers on its food and service. The restaurant week's menu has many good staples for Max's fans. I was disappointed that we weren't seated until 30 minutes after our reservation time and thought it took a long time between ordering and our food arriving at the table.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had heard great things about Max's Win ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I had heard great things about Max's Wine Dive and decided to go for my birthday. I had a party of six including my infant and little sister. Overall, it was a good outing, but it felt cramped at times. Seating is very close together with not much arm room.. And we found ourselves trying no to talk to loud so that we wouldn't interfere with the couple next to us. It definitely isn't a spot for children, but they are welcomed. My favorite dish was the Max N Cheese with bacon.. And the fried lobster tail. I would definitely go back but only with a few people.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Jaymie was our waiter and recognized me ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Jaymie was our waiter and recognized me from my last visit. This time it was great service and very smooth compared to the previous visit that had multiple people waiting on us and having to ask for refills, condiments, etc.

Good job and keep it up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Maggie was excellent. She was fun and pl ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Maggie was excellent. She was fun and played back with my husband's rhetoric.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second time we have been to ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is the second time we have been to MAX's Wine Dive. The food (fried chicken) was delicious as always! However... with a name to include "wine dive" I would hope their house wine would be better. We unfortunately ordered a full carafe of the house red for the table, it was VERY cheap quality. The moment I drank a sip of it I started getting pretty bad heartburn (happens when I drink cheap wine) which lasted for the rest of the evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We went there for Houston Restaurant Wee ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went there for Houston Restaurant Week, celebrating my birthday. Interesting appetizers. Salad was good. Main course was uninspired, nothing I couldn't have made at home, better. Like too many places in Houston and elsewhere, too loud. I would have loved to have carried on a conversation at a normal tone of voice. May appeal to people with a desire to try their wine menu but we won't be back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was wonderful. Our server was attentive and made excellent recommendations. Overall, I was very happy with the evening at Max's.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We visited Max's Wine Dive for Houston R ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We visited Max's Wine Dive for Houston Restaurant Weeks. The food choices were excellent and our waiter, Jamie, was very knowledgeable about every detail and gave good recommendations for food and wine choices. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit. I ordered the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was my second visit. I ordered the B.Y.O. Omelette with greens and tomatoes only. There weren't any greens in my omelette when I received it. Also, it took a long time for our food to come out. It was only 3 of us, and we 2 omelettes and French toast between us which shouldn't have taken that long. There was a leak in the roof over our table as well. The food tasted good, however.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Very good place to dine with friends, fa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very good place to dine with friends, family or romantic date.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We didn't see our waiter/waitress after ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We didn't see our waiter/waitress after we were seated for about 30min

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Heard about the 'best fried chicken' so ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Heard about the 'best fried chicken' so decided to try it out. 4 of us went, 3 ordered fried chicken, and 1 ordered pork chop, and shared. The fried chicken was disappointing - the skin was tough. The meat was tender, but if not for the skin, why eat fried chicken? The pork chop was fine, nothing spectacular. The collard greens with the fried chicken was too salty for my taste as well. Brownie was a little dry, but the bread pudding was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We came to celebrate a birthday at lunch ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We came to celebrate a birthday at lunch looking forward to HRW menu. When we arrived, host said they did not use the HRW menu on Mondays, we were very disappointed but stayed and ate anyway since meeting at 12:15 would be hard to change last minute for getting back to office on time. Menu was brunch oriented and food was fine, just not what we expected. We shared a peach bread pudding dessert and it was yummy. Service was good. I will be back to get HRW menu sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food was subpar, mostly fried food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was subpar, mostly fried food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

I have been here a few times before for ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I have been here a few times before for dinner or happy hour and always loved it. I tried it for Sunday brunch and unfortunately did not have the same experience. The

Tables are extremely close together making it difficult to pass someone else to get to your table(I already knew this). The food came out so quickly that I felt rushed. I think it was probably prepped in advance because it wasn't as hot as it should be for the length of time it was produced in - Luke warm. There are many other excellent brunch places in the city, so keep looking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

The food was very delicious. I ordered a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was very delicious. I ordered a watermelon mimosa, short on volume, but I did get a buzz and thats what I was looking for. Very tasty drink. The food, delicious, but it did not agree with me. Not sure the cause, but I had to relieve myself at the restaurant (nice bathroom) immediately after finishing my food. I'd be willing to give it another try based on the taste. Not terrible for my first visit

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our favorite brunch spot while in town. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our favorite brunch spot while in town. The wings and waffles is our favorite! The french toast is great also. The atmosphere is vibrant and full of life. The service is prompt and pleasant. We were in and out in an hour for Sunday Brunch before catching a flight home.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.