About MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Fairview St.

214 Fairview St., Ste. 2
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE. We’re passionate about food and wine - just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 12AM
Monday: 11AM – 12AM
Tuesday – Thursday: 11AM – 12AM
Friday: 11AM – 2AM
Saturday: 10AM - 2AM

*Lunch served Monday - Friday, 11AM - 3PM
*Brunch served Saturday – Sunday, 10AM – 3PM.

Cross Street:
Taft St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-9200

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston-214-fairview-st/contact/

Catering:
Love the food at MAX’s Wine Dive and planning a special event? Why not have the best of both? MAX’s Wine Dive can cater all kinds of private and corporate events. Let our experienced staff do the work and create the perfect birthday, reunion, rehearsal dinner, graduation, wedding reception, corporate outing, happy hour, charity event…the list goes on and on! For more information, email us, infoHOU2@maxswinedive.com.

Executive Chef:
Shay Prigmore

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Love the food at MAX’s Wine Dive restaurant and wine bar and planning a special event? Why not have the best of both? We can cater all kinds of private and corporate events. Let our experienced staff do the work and create the perfect event!

MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Fairview St. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (14)
Casual (12)
Comfort Food (12)
See All
Good for Groups (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Cozy (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Special Occasion (4)
People Watching (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Romantic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Authentic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
477 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was great!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I normally go to the Washington location ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I normally go to the Washington location but was talked into this one. I orders bacon that was undercooked. The bacon was translucent. I had scrambled eggs that were old, cold, and a dark yellow color. I ordered chicken and the grease was leaking in the plate. When I order French toast as a side item I was Given the French toast with the apple slice which is fine but that was not what I ordered and the menu for side items did not specify that it would be on my French toast. The waitress was aware that I was not happy with my food and only changed the French toast. I am not a confrontational individual so I simply paid for my meal and left but I will not be coming back to this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The fried chicken with mashed potatoes a ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The fried chicken with mashed potatoes and collard greens was awesome!

Tags: Cozy, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the bison burger and it was very g ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I had the bison burger and it was very good. The wife had the fish and chips and it was just ok. They had not dried the fish before frying and the batter fell off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had the fried chicken which was good a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I had the fried chicken which was good as well as the mashed potatos. I didn't care for the greens. I could not believe the resturant did not have patron nor pineapple juice! The group I was with enjoyed their food.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Max's changed their business model and t ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Max's changed their business model and their menus. It used to be one of my favorite brunch places, but with the changes in July 2015, we decided to find a new location. After six months, we decided to try it again and are now re-committing to finding a new go-to brunch spot.

If you weren't committed to the old menu, the dining room is still lively, and the service is friendly. All of the menus are now the same, so it doesn't matter which location you prefer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food, great soundtrack. Drinks we ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food, great soundtrack. Drinks were amazing. If you are lucky enough to get Jacob as your waiter, you will love the experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time visiting was much better ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our first time visiting was much better than the second visit as far as the food is concerned. Food tasted much more fresh and hot the first visit....the second not so much! The chicken was tough seeming to be day(s) old....just chewing and chewing! Our food was not hot either. Which was surprising being that we had an early reservation and it wasn't crowded. Our waitress was friendly as with our first visit. The music they play is the best. We will give it another shot.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, , Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food! Everything was delicious ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food! Everything was delicious. The waitstaff were friendly and attentive. We had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food with a good menu variety with ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food with a good menu variety without an overwhelming selection. Classic American items with a contemporary twist. Casual, comfortable setting but not grungy. Service is OK though our waiter was not familiar with basic bar drink requests and the beer selection was very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

My niece had been begging me to try the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My niece had been begging me to try the fried lobster which I always get and rave about. She was not disappointed. As always it was a good size portion and delicious!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Made a reservation for 7 at the Fairview ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Made a reservation for 7 at the Fairview location which I had not been to before. I was very pleased with the location, food and service. If you are looking for that relaxed, local and just darn good food, you can't go wrong with Max's Wine Dive!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Usually one of my favorite restaurants a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Usually one of my favorite restaurants and I wanted to introduce my brother to it. The service was not as good as previous visits. Waitress tried rushing us even though place was just half full. She got order wrong even after 2 reminders. Wife's meal arrived 10 minutes after everyone else. No compensation was offered. Ordered fried chicken and it was served in 5 minutes. So was obviously precooked this time. Greens were underseasoned and luke warm. Probably time to look for another favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

They forgot about our entree & had to as ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

They forgot about our entree & had to ask about it. It was cold & had the wrong side. We would have sent it back but had another place to be. They did bring the correct side which was hot. Our drinks were comp'ed without asking. I was a bit disappointed because I love Max's food & it would have been so much more enjoyable had it been hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Our server was fantastic, food was great ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our server was fantastic, food was great and speedy and a very pleasant atmosphere and experience for my Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a different Max's location than ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This is a different Max's location than the Washington St. venue we'd been to previously. Both are pretty much the same. My wife had the lobster pot pie and I had the fried chicken. Both were pretty good for comfort food. The service was credible, but the atmosphere is typical bar. We arrived on time for our reservation and checked in, but someone reported us to Open Table as a no show. It took a couple of days with Open Table for them to override Max's incorrect input and give us the 1000 points that had been promised. Max's needs to train people better - although it could be something more devious like trying to avoid the points. That may put us off going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We came for happy hour and ended up stay ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We came for happy hour and ended up staying for dinner with the Fried Chicken Anniversary special. We had a lovely server named Rachel and just an overall wonderful time.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Max wine dive is a very nice place it's ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Max wine dive is a very nice place it's just that I tried to order like 3 things on the menu and the server kept saying they was out. Are they didn't have something to use to make something. It was just a big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

One of our favourite spots in Houston. G ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

One of our favourite spots in Houston. Great fried chicken and wine! Staff is very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted a nice place for dinner after ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We wanted a nice place for dinner after a day outing and found it here. Small nice place for a dinner after an active day. The Christmas Music was loud which made it hard for a conversation. Food was good. Seems a larger group's order was entered before ours and it took a it longer for our order. Service was very good and attnetive otherwise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We LOVE Max's and our waitress was great ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We LOVE Max's and our waitress was great! She took care of our large party and everything was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the lobster pot pie. It has a phenom ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Had the lobster pot pie. It has a phenomenal taste but the veggies in the filling are a little too al dente. Otherwise, great place! We're still regulars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Love brunch here!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Love brunch here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The new menu changes at Fairview (wings ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The new menu changes at Fairview (wings and donuts) doesn't make it more appealing to choose Max's. By far one of our favorites. Removing the half-wall did open it up more but you lost something also by doing that. I think each location having it's own unique menu and style was a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The food was great and the customer serv ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food was great and the customer service was excellent. I would definitely recommend anyone to try them out if they'e never been and they like good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was great EXCEPT for the olde ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Everything was great EXCEPT for the older gentleman with NO SHIRT allowed to eat on the patio... And with a parrot!! I do believe the no shirt situation is a health code violation! When I inquired, I was told he's a regular! He walked through the restaurant with NO SHIRT! I really don't care who he is or how often he frequents the restaurant... THIS SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED!!! Oh... I had reservations for the patio but ate inside due to this 'situation'!! The food and service were both great!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Food was really good!!! Love the atmosph ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was really good!!! Love the atmosphere!!! Will definitely go back!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Max's is fantastic. We took advantage of ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Max's is fantastic. We took advantage of their 10th anniversary fried chicken and champagne specials. Major bang for our buck! That's what we order every time, but this time is was nearly half price!

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fried Chicken definitely good specially ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fried Chicken definitely good specially with the deal for the 10th anniversary. Special price on bubblies also helped. Server was great though the maître d was a little harried though pleasant enough. We were late for our reservation but they did accommodate us.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

French toast with strawberry is great. C ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

French toast with strawberry is great. Collard green which came with the fry chicken special can very well be replaced by chard, or other veg.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Timing of appetizer and entrée delivery ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Timing of appetizer and entrée delivery was out of sync. No attempt to coordinate. Food was okay, not outstanding like the last time I went here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food. Revieeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwwww sho ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food. Revieeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwwww should nit require comments

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and brunch were great. I had the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service and brunch were great. I had the honey butter Benedict, and my wife had the French toast. We both really liked our food. I've never been a big brunch kind of guy, but Max's Wine Dive has changed that.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I set at my table for 20 mins while the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I set at my table for 20 mins while the tables next to me got customer service and NOT ONCES did anyone speak to me and my guest not even to say one min or would you like some water nothing .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was EXTREMElY slow. One of our o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was EXTREMElY slow. One of our orders wasn't correct and nothing was done to make it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Food was great. There was an error in ou ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was great. There was an error in our meal and the waiter didn't fix it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Pork belly app was amazing. Truffle chip ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Pork belly app was amazing. Truffle chips were ok but sad the house made chips were not made fresh. Decent wine selection but expected a better variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The waiter was very knowledgeable and th ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The waiter was very knowledgeable and the food was delicious. Could have ordered less as the portions were quite large. Wine list is expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food in a great atmosphere! Recomm ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food in a great atmosphere! Recommend making reservations to prevent a lengthy wait.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

If you are looking for good southern coo ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 30, 2016

If you are looking for good southern cooking and a nice selection of wine - this is the place. The only problem I had was choosing what to eat. The entire menu is amazing and I want all of it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.