About MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Fairview St.

214 Fairview St., Ste. 2
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE. We’re passionate about food and wine - just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model - you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town - and then take some home with you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 12AM
Monday: 11AM – 12AM
Tuesday – Thursday: 11AM – 12AM
Friday: 11AM – 2AM
Saturday: 10AM - 2AM

*Lunch served Tuesday - Friday, 11AM - 3PM
*Brunch served Friday – Sunday, 10AM – 3PM.
*Industry Brunch served Monday 11AM-3PM

Cross Street:
Taft St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-9200

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston-214-fairview-st/contact/

Catering:
Love the food at MAX’s Wine Dive and planning a special event? Why not have the best of both? MAX’s Wine Dive can cater all kinds of private and corporate events. Let our experienced staff do the work and create the perfect birthday, reunion, rehearsal dinner, graduation, wedding reception, corporate outing, happy hour, charity event…the list goes on and on! For more information, email us, infoHOU2@maxswinedive.com.

Executive Chef:
Shay Prigmore

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Love the food at MAX’s Wine Dive restaurant and wine bar and planning a special event? Why not have the best of both? We can cater all kinds of private and corporate events. Let our experienced staff do the work and create the perfect event!

MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Fairview St. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

great for brunch (51)
notable wine list (38)
fit for foodies (33)
See All
neighborhood gem (31)
hot spot (27)
special occasion (18)
great for lunch (18)
great for outdoor dining (15)
vibrant bar scene (14)
good for groups (14)
late-night find (8)
romantic (7)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service and food

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an excellent place to bring a lo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is an excellent place to bring a loved one or to just hang out with friends. My first time experience was great. I do wish that they would make a parking lot so everyone wouldn't have to park on the street. But everything else was awesome.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing brunch and great service!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing brunch and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can't beat the fact they offer glute ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

You can't beat the fact they offer gluten free fried chicken ...what an indulgence, thank you! And our waiter was fantastic. Very accommodating, personable and he knew his wine :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The cinnamon roll waffle was amazing, th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The cinnamon roll waffle was amazing, the crawfish benedict not so much. The red velvet pancakes were interesting but not over the moon. The food was good but not great. It's an okay place for brunch but we have other favorites we'll frequent. We're glad we tried it.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, great wine, great service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, great wine, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for Saturday brunch. Our hostess an ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Went for Saturday brunch. Our hostess and server were great. My chicken was a little softer than I like so 2 additional pieces were made and delivered by the Executive Chef. Even though it was only 2 little wings, the fact he personally delivered them and made sure they were to my liking was awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

For gluten free eating, the gluten free ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

For gluten free eating, the gluten free fried chicken is well worth it! Can't recommend it enough, it's that good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The service and food were spectacular!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service and food were spectacular!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The jalapeño buttermilk fried chicken wa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The jalapeño buttermilk fried chicken was very good. And I had the pomegranate mimosa which was good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a delicious brunch with amazing mim ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Such a delicious brunch with amazing mimosas! The staff were all friendly from the moment we arrived. The food came quickly and was great! I would definitely return for brunch, or even lunch or dinner! The cinnamon roll waffle was life changing.

Tags: great for brunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Max's always has great comfort food and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Max's always has great comfort food and delicious wine. This time, however, the place was FREEZING. Granted, it's Houston, and most places are freezing in the summer, but please direct the air vents away from my food!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

It was our first time at the Fairview lo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It was our first time at the Fairview location. Great service & great food!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken breast was a little dry, gri ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The chicken breast was a little dry, grits are amazing! Wonderful time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was cold and they couldn't get the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was cold and they couldn't get the right cheese on the burgher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I love Max's Wine Dive!! The food is uni ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I love Max's Wine Dive!! The food is unique and delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always order the Fried Lobster. It's a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I always order the Fried Lobster. It's amazing! I've also had it for brunch with the eggs and toast. It is a winner each and every time. Staff are really good with wine suggestions also.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Max's Wine Dive is one of my favorite restaurants! I freaking love the food and ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have no problem with paying for good q ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I have no problem with paying for good quality food. However, we spend about $100 for 3 tiny mediocre plates of food and 2 drinks. It was not filling at all and we ended up ordering a plate of fried chicken at the end. It took about 45 minutes for the chicken to come out, not the 25 minutes the waiter told us. Overall, I think this place was just OK, I don't think I would ever dine here again and would not recommend this place to friends in the visiting area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Had lobster risotto. Was just ok. Too mu ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Had lobster risotto. Was just ok. Too much cheese and not enough lobster. Won't order again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Aldo

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Also was amazing! Thank you I cannot wait to come back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a fantastic experience. We'll be ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

It was a fantastic experience. We'll be back! Awesome brunch spot and great deals on wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time at Max's and it ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This was our first time at Max's and it was a truly great experience. From the moment we walked in, staff were friendly and high energy. The wine list was great and the menu offered lots of choices. Our server made excellent recommendations and the service was top notch. All around great experience and well worth the money.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The happy hour wine list is great. Our s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The happy hour wine list is great. Our server was not aware of their Memorial Day special but we ordered anyway. When our server return and said he now knew of the special, he fail to place our food order. When we asked about our order (30 mins later) and found out, we just asked for our bill and left.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The food wasn't that great and the red v ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The food wasn't that great and the red velvet pancakes are pre cooked, not made fresh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Go to Washington Location

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Washington location is MUCH better. Even the food portions and quality is better at Washington. The service was mediocre at this location. Will stick with the Washington location from now.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Super great service!!!! Our waitress was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Super great service!!!! Our waitress was fun and got our complicated orders right the FIRST TIME she was awesome!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance but the food was okay, it ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great ambiance but the food was okay, it was warm and not hot. The chicken fried steak was not really to my liking but i did enjoy the frenxh toast and I could go dor a grapefruit mimosa!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great spot to eat and then hit up boheme ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great spot to eat and then hit up boheme right across the street. Had the lobster risotto and it was delicious! Second time here and didn't fail to impress again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great comfort food! Great Vibe! Perfect ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great comfort food! Great Vibe! Perfect for a relaxed Sunday lunch & the Fried chicken is yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Max's Wine Dive was quite delightful. Th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Max's Wine Dive was quite delightful. The food was very good. The fried chicken, greens, mac-n-cheese and the mimosas were fabulous!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The chef's special was excellent and ser ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The chef's special was excellent and served on a TV tray. Jaymie our server was excellent and helped us select a nice wine to go with the specials. As usual for many restaurants these days it was a bit loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and ambiance on patio was per ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and ambiance on patio was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress was very slow. She brought part ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Waitress was very slow. She brought partial meals. By the time our whole meals came, everything was cold. She was not apologetic, just dismissed our concerns. Very disappointed because it's my wife's favorite spot and it was a total bust this time. Hopefully it was a one deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Great food. We were the only couple ther ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Great food. We were the only couple there for lunch for about the first 20 minutes, service wasn't that great for being the only people there. We had to ask server for silverware after our food arrived and there was a mixup with one order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Outstanding chicken !and we loved the wi ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Outstanding chicken !and we loved the wine selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This is my second time at Max's Dive- once at each location. This review is about my most recent visit at Fairview. The food was great. My friend had chicken, greens and mash potatoes; I had the shrimp and grits - and a piece of chicken a-la carte. We shared the s'mores bread pudding- it was amazing. Literally, there was one bite left and we both were silently contemplating who we take it. Finally, our very nice waiter -Jamie- saw it..and urged us to try to shared the tiny morsel and we did!

It's was a great time of fellowship and food.. I'm So looking forward to brunch

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

It was my first time at this location. I ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

It was my first time at this location. I love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative menu, good wine list, and excel ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Creative menu, good wine list, and excellent service makes this a good spot. Only downside was that they are frequently out of wine selections.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Wing and mac were superb. Ask for the ch ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Wing and mac were superb. Ask for the chipotle honey to drizzle on the wings. Two thumbs up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.