About MAX's Wine Dive Dallas - McKinney Ave.

3600 McKinney Ave., Ste. 100
Dallas, TX 75204
View Larger Map

At MAX's Wine Dive it's all about the EXPERIENCE.

We're passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model – you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town – and then take some home with you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday*: 10AM-10PM (brunch 10AM-3PM; dinner 4PM-10PM)
Monday-Thursday: 4PM-12AM
Friday*: 11AM-12AM (brunch 11AM-3PM; dinner 4PM-12AM)
Saturday*: 10AM-12AM (brunch 10AM-3PM; dinner 4PM-12AM)

*Kitchen closed from 3-4PM, regular beverage service still available.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 559-3483

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/dallas/index.php

Catering:
Please email eventsdallas@maxswinedive.com for more information.

Parking Details:
In addition to valet, MAX's Wine Dive has access to a 4 level parking garage that directly connects to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
MAX's Wine Dive is directly in front of the Uptown Trolley (McKinney Ave), on the Dallas Transit bus stop (Lemmon & McKinney) and is walking distance (approx 2 blocks) from the Dallas Rapid Transit Authority.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Looking to host an event? Email eventsdallas@maxswinedive.com for more details on MAX’s Wine Dive private event spaces, or give us a call at 214-559-3483 to create the most talked-about event of the year (in a good way of course)!

Restaurant Photos

fried chicken
Chicken Fried Brussel Sprouts
The Tony Romo
Fried Chicken, Grilled Lobster Tale,greens,potatoes
Fried Chicken and Waffles
Max ‘N Cheese ~ Cavatappi Pasta In A Cream Sauce With Fresh Provolone, Brie, White Cheddar, Gruyere 12 Month Aged Cheddar, Goat Cheese, Cotija, Cream Cheese And Parmigiano-Reggiano
Pork Stuffed Piquillo Peppers
MAX 'n Cheese
MAX’s Famous Southern Fried Chicken
Chandon Etoile Champagne
Creme Brulee French Toast
Chicken and Waffles
Half & Half (Brownie And Bread Pudding)
The Soup
Crab Apple Omelet
Stuffed Texas Quail
egg sandwich
Sweet Corn And Bacon Fettuccine
Max's Famous Southern Fried Chicken
Chanterelle Bolognese
Fava Bean Hummus And Wonton Chips
Eggs Any Style
Lox And Beets
Red Velvet Pancakes
Cheesecake
s'mores
fried egg sandwich
Vanilla Ice Cream With Alexander Sherry
Shrimp and Grits
Texas Hot Hot Dog
Cheese Plate
Fried Wings
Beef Belly Burger
Chedder Grits
Fries
Chicken Fingers With Chipoltle Honey
Drunk Bread
Nacho Mama's Oysters
Peanut Butter & Jelly Eggrolls
The Fried Egg Sandwich
The Texas "Haute" Dog
Saddle Ranch Pinot Nior
Amici Cabernet Sauvignon
Cinnamon Rolls
Kids Waffle
Southern Fried Chicken
The Big Ass Brownie
Homemade Potato Chips
Bison Sliders
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Hangover Pot Pie
hmmm
Pork Chop
Hamburger
Fried Egg Sandwhich
Mac and Cheese
Short Rib Hash
Mimosa
Grapefruit Juice
Champagne
half and half
Pig And Fig
Rose
Fried Chicken Sliders
Wine
Fried Chicken Picnic
A Dallas-only menu item: chicken-fried steak and waffles @maxsdallas.
Huckleberry Shortbread

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MAX's Wine Dive Dallas features a beautiful private event space which can seat 40-50 and accommodate 60+ standing guests, not to mention a fantastic patio that's perfect for an alfresco gathering.

MAX's Wine Dive Dallas - McKinney Ave. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Great for Brunch (44)
Good for Groups (38)
Fit for Foodies (29)
See All
Notable Wine List (27)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Late-night Find (13)
Romantic (13)
Kid-friendly (9)
Scenic View (4)
Sort By:
Newest
768 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Kevin was our bartender/server for the n ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 3 days ago

Kevin was our bartender/server for the night and he did a great job with food and wine pairing for the night. We were pleased with everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We dined during dinner for Restaurant We ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

We dined during dinner for Restaurant Week. We food was excellent as we had a variety of salads, the fried chicken and chicken fried ribeye for entrees. The food was seasoned well and my hats off to the chef.

Unfortuately, the service was NOT good at all. There was a party next to us with the same about of people as we had. We ordered before them and they received their food before us and all at one time, meaning they got their appetizer at one time. When they finished the appetizer, their server immediately cleared their plates. Servers then brought out their entrees at one time and the plates were cleared as soon as they finished the meal. When we finally recieved our appetizers, we were not served all together and my aunt stated that her appetizer was cold. The waiter did not clear any of our plates in a timely manner nor did she clear the empty wine glasses that were on the table. This was even after we ordered more wine with empty glasses and empty plates on the table. My aunt asked for lemons but she forgot to bring them to the table so I asked one of the other servers for lemons. He brought limes instead which was not a big deal at all because at least he brought them immediately. When our server saw that he bought limes, she admonished him for bringing limes instead of lemons. She may have been joking but I didn't think it was called for.

The food made up for the bad service. I would recommend going again but ask for a different waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value5

The Fried Chicken has me looking around ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Fried Chicken has me looking around to see if my Big mama is in their kitchen!!! The food is great and so is the service. You cant go wrong with this place.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We made a reservation and was told when ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

We made a reservation and was told when we got there that we couldn't have the patio which was open. They said they were expecting a big party later out there. The party eventually came and there were still 2 open tables. It was too loud inside and the food was not good. Also, for it being a wine bar....the food served on the menu really doesn't go with wine.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Big party was there that the staff was n ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Big party was there that the staff was not prepared for, so our meal took about three hours. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Food was very good...when we finally rec ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was very good...when we finally received it. Service was as bad as it gets. No communication that the kitchen was behind until late into the meal. Failure to deliver an entire course to us! Failure to comp us for that course until reminded multiple times. Non apologetic waiters and managers. No one was rude, just clueless.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

I ordered the bacon egg sandwich and the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I ordered the bacon egg sandwich and the first time it came out with no bacon. For a $15 sandwich, I sent it back to get my bacon. The toast tasted like it was grilled on a dirty flat top- that old grease taste. The home fries, velvet pancake and fruit was good but I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

There was a hair in my dad's coffee and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

There was a hair in my dad's coffee and my mom's chicken was raw. They were nice to try to make up for it but it was embarrassing bringing my parents here for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

The place itself is great location and r ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The place itself is great location and really cute inside. BUT the happy hour menu listed online is NOT the happy hour they serve. I was expecting different food and different prices .

The shrimp is AWESOME though.

If u need a quite place. This is it. Only 3 other couples there at 5pm with us.

Slow wait staff...,. Our waiter was also the bartender 🙄

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Went here last Saturday for my bday dinn ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went here last Saturday for my bday dinner good food and nice service great atmosphere loved our waiters

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got their famous fried chicken (along w/ ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Got their famous fried chicken (along w/ buffalo sliders, truffle fries). Definitely curbed my fried chicken craving for a while. Very friendly service and attentive staff. Would go back again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a disastrous meal that we didn' ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was a disastrous meal that we didn't even try to finish. Not typical of Max's which leads me to wonder if the staff/management has changed. I brought an out of town friend for brunch and was embarrassed after bragging on how great this was going to be. We sent food back and had to make multiple requests to two different servers and it was still all wrong. And to top it off no manager ever came to see why we sent food back or if we were okay. I was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Server got my order wrong & the ketchup ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Server got my order wrong & the ketchup bottle exploded on my white blouse (it was my birthday dinner to top it off)! The manager gave us a small credit on our bill, but that did not even cover a fraction of the cost of my top or even apologize for the ketchup incident! Not going back, that's for sure!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Good all around experience but the table ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Good all around experience but the tables need to be leveled and fixed permanently. Big detractor to have to jiggle the sugar packets and matchbook covers to keep drinks from spilling.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

MAX's is my go-to restaurant whenever I' ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

MAX's is my go-to restaurant whenever I'm visiting Dallas.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Didn't stay due for food due to lack of ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Didn't stay due for food due to lack of service. Before this visit, I've enjoyed all earlier visits at DFW and Austin locations of Max's, but I'm not sure I'll return to this restaurant.

I booked a Saturday 2pm reservation in hopes for a long afternoon eating and enjoying drinks and company. We showed up right on time. After 15 minutes with just menus and water, no one came by to take orders and I was getting upset.

Right at the 15 minute mark, someone asked "if we had been helped." We said "no" and he walked away, spoke to the host, and returned saying "he would bring something."

Shortly after this we walked out when as it had been almost 20 minutes and even when someone was aware, no orders were taken. Walking out the door, the host gave us a "sorry guys" and nothing else. We walked down McKinney and had a great experience eating elsewhere.

Not sure what the drop-off in service was, but it didn't seem like we were the only ones being ignored. An upsetting drop-off from a restaurant with great food and a great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

Once my party arrived, we had 3 more peo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Once my party arrived, we had 3 more people than expected. The host accommodated us to a bigger table in the back of the restaurant. From then it literally took an hour to get our food order taken. The manager came out and introduced himself but when we expressed that we had been waiting for quite some time, be advised that the waiter, John, would be out momentarily. Once John came out. He only took drink orders and refilled mimosas. When I asked him personally if he could take the table's order he said hold on and that he would be right back. In a sarcastic way. When he did come back about 10 minutes later. He took the food orders which took about 10-15 minutes for out party of 12. It took another 45 min to an hour to get the food. The food was great!! That's the reason I chose to have my birthday dinner there in the first place. But the wait staff in general was rude, short, asked us to hold on several times and asked us not to "get mad" at them because the brunch menu is new and the kitchen staff got "confused". The service was horrible.... There was also an issue with overcharging one of my guests for several side dishes. I wouldn't go back to this location, ever.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

Nice choices of wine by the glass. The r ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Nice choices of wine by the glass. The roast chicken was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Your fried chicken and fixings are alway ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Your fried chicken and fixings are always good. But I fell in love with your bloody mary. I had it the first day you offered it for brunch and it was the best I ever had. It kept living up to this everytime I came in, even when you put the salt on the side of the glass(who does that?). But last time I came in it tasted like V8 juice and this time it wasn't a whole lot better even after I let the waitress know I wasn't happy with it last time. Come on Max you can do better than this!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Chicken & Waffles are fantastic!!! Grea ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Chicken & Waffles are fantastic!!! Great place for brunch! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Sunday brunch -- excellent food, s ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great Sunday brunch -- excellent food, superb attentive service (waitress was Henna). This was our first visit, and we'll definitely be coming back for lunch or dinner, and probably Sunday brunch again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the chicken sliders and mac an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I ordered the chicken sliders and mac and cheese - both were delicious! I tried my friends mashed potatoes and greens and they were both good as well. I had the white peach sangria that was really good and strong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Birthday Dinner! My family recent ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great Birthday Dinner!

My family recently celebrated my wife's birthday with movie night and dinner afterwards. Within a block from the Magnolia Theater in Uptown Dallas, we found this gem. On my OpenTable reservation, I told the restaurant that we were celebrating my wife's birthday. So, upon arrival, my wife was treated to a complimentary glass of champagne. Nice touch! The wine here is priced extremely reasonably - I treated myself to a flight of three premium reds for a mere $25 - a nice Caymus cab was the star of the flight. Our waiter was very helpful with the wine selection, and even brought free tasters to help us choose. I would characterize the food as "upscale comfort food," and refined takes on the classics is what Max's does best. For dinner, we shared a homey, gooey, delicious bowl of Mac and Cheese (I literally licked the bowl, but blamed it on the wine), an order of Rice Krispy covered fried shrimp (as good as it sounds), and chicken sliders slathered with honey. For starters, we split a summer-fresh watermelon salad. We were too full for dessert, but the waiter still brought my wife a birthday ice cream sundae. This was our second time dining here, but won't be the last!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, it was quite busy and a part ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, it was quite busy and a part of my order was left off. Still not a problem, i will always go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The brunch menu was ok, but the Champagn ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The brunch menu was ok, but the Champagne selection was extremely poor. They were showing 2 reasonable priced bottles of champagne and with our party of 8, we ordered 2 bottles. They ended up with only one of our selection, and when we tried to go to the next level, they didn't have that either. So the option was Wycliff for $28. Which is some cheap champagne. Otherwise the next level was $50. Which to me if you have printed menus and are showing a selection of champagne, you should have it in stock.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

One of the best experiences I've had at ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

One of the best experiences I've had at Max's! The food was hot, fast and fresh. Delicious of course. Our waitress was welcoming and made sure that we were taken care of and comfortable at all times. Just a great dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The main disappointment of the night was ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The main disappointment of the night was they were out of oysters so I was unable to order the Nacho Mama's Oysters which are usually an extremely tasty appetizer. Aside from that I had a great experience although the fact that they do not serve hard alcohol is a very unfortunate. For the first time we ordered the 1lb ribeye and asked for it to be cooked medium rare. This is a $40 steak so I'm standards were very high and I was expecting perfection and what we got was indeed a perfectly cooked steak with some pretty tasty mashed potatoes. This is the 2nd best steak I've ever had in a restaurant and the #1 steak on my list was $70 at Nick & Sam's Steakhouse. I will be thinking about that wonderful steak for weeks. lol

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good, but service was slow. Th ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was good, but service was slow. The slow service was the reason that I stopped going several years back and I thought I would try it again, and the service had not improved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was great plus they were having ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was great plus they were having a great 4th of July holiday special where you got two fried chicken plates for the price of one!! It was advertised on their FaceBook page.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TOOK MY GIRLFRIENDS, FOR BRUNCH THEY HAD ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

TOOK MY GIRLFRIENDS, FOR BRUNCH THEY HAD A BLAST! I SCORED COOL POINTS FOR EATING AT A COOL NEW PLACE. #CHICKENANDWAFFLES.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My experience was awesome as always! Fo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My experience was awesome as always! Food, service and ambiance was excellent. I brought my family visiting from NJ and they absolutely loved it. They said there needs to be a Max's Wine Dive in Hoboken NJ!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique and delightful!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Unique and delightful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gluten-free fried chicken! So good!!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Gluten-free fried chicken! So good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great time! The fried chicken w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a great time! The fried chicken was delectable as usual and the service was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot!! Went here for Father's Day ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great spot!! Went here for Father's Day brunch. Food was awesome!!! Love their fried chicken here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the buffet it was wonderful food ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I love the buffet it was wonderful food and it all was very hot and fresh

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was average at best. Fried chick ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was average at best. Fried chicken and collared greens were very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food,the brunchis the best in Dall ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food,the brunchis the best in Dallas,

The mimosas are pretty good too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The fried chicken was really good and a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The fried chicken was really good and a large portion. Everyone enjoyed their meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fried chicken is wonderful!

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Fried chicken is wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.