About MAX's Wine Dive Dallas - McKinney Ave.

3600 McKinney Ave., Ste. 100
Dallas, TX 75204
View Larger Map

At MAX's Wine Dive it's all about the EXPERIENCE.

We're passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model – you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town – and then take some home with you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday*: 10AM-10PM (brunch 10AM-3PM; dinner 4PM-10PM)
Monday-Thursday: 4PM-12AM
Friday*: 11AM-12AM (brunch 11AM-3PM; dinner 4PM-12AM)
Saturday*: 10AM-12AM (brunch 10AM-3PM; dinner 4PM-12AM)

*Kitchen closed from 3-4PM, regular beer/wine service still available.

Reservations for 8 or more for brunch must be made through the Event Coordinator, dkreetha@maxswinedive.com.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 559-3483

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/dallas/index.php

Catering:
Please email eventsdallas@maxswinedive.com for more information.

Parking Details:
In addition to valet, MAX's Wine Dive has access to a 4 level parking garage that directly connects to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
MAX's Wine Dive is directly in front of the Uptown Trolley (McKinney Ave), on the Dallas Transit bus stop (Lemmon & McKinney) and is walking distance (approx 2 blocks) from the Dallas Rapid Transit Authority.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Looking to host an event? Email eventsdallas@maxswinedive.com for more details on MAX’s Wine Dive private event spaces, or give us a call at 214-559-3483 to create the most talked-about event of the year (in a good way of course)!

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MAX's Wine Dive Dallas features a beautiful private event space which can seat 40-50 and accommodate 60+ standing guests, not to mention a fantastic patio that's perfect for an alfresco gathering.

MAX's Wine Dive Dallas - McKinney Ave. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Dallas - Fort Worth
Great for Brunch
Dallas
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

great for brunch (40)
notable wine list (29)
fit for foodies (22)
See All
good for groups (22)
hot spot (22)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for outdoor dining (16)
special occasion (15)
great for lunch (14)
vibrant bar scene (14)
late-night find (11)
romantic (9)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
723 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful selection of wine, service a ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

A wonderful selection of wine, service and the atmosphere is great! The food is delicious too!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Feedback

Dined on May 8, 2016

I had a wonderful time. I will definitely be going back again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our first time eating at Max's Wine Dive Dallas. We went out for a Mother's Day brunch and it was great! We had reservations and got seated right away. Our server was great and so was the food! I already asked my husband when can we come back for dinner so I can experience their full menu. It is now one of my new favorite spots!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went to Max's while they had a set brunch buffet and it was very good! We got there right at 10 so it had not been sitting out too long and of course included their famous chicken! Great price and great food! Would recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I Just love MAX wine dive. VERY good food!!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

I LOVE MAX wine dive. VERY GOOD and pleasant environment. I love chef Patricks GREENS..

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations

Dined on May 7, 2016

We've been before so we what expect however I called because I needed earlier reservation time and told there wasn't any open, but went to modify my reservation and changed to time I had just asked about. Then got there and there several opened seats which disappointed me. Made feel like guy that answered phone really didn't check.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Don't pass this up!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Max's Wine Dive has creative urban dishes that throwback to southern comfort classics. The wait staff is super fun and functional. They are known for wine, champagne, and fried chicken, but here are plenty of food & drink options to please every person in a large party, even my vegetarian wife! Great location and menu!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife's chicken salad, and my shrimp a ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife's chicken salad, and my shrimp and grits were great. I had to try their signature fried chicken, asked our waiter if they could prepare one breast to try. They did it, and comped it, which I didn't expect, but appreciated ver much!

food4
ambience3
service3

The servers were very nice but slow. Th ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

The servers were very nice but slow. The wine is overpriced with a small pour. The food was good, but not fantastic. It wasn't a bad experience, but not memorable either.

food1
ambience4
service3

I am not sure what changed about this pl ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

I am not sure what changed about this place besides the brunch menu, but there has definitely been a change here. The servers no longer seem happy and the food was miserable. Hope they can get this corrected because the competition is stiff in Dallas!

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Not what I expected - I expected more of ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Not what I expected - I expected more of an elegance. Yes they have a variety of wines to choose from but it is more of a Fried Chicken Dive than a wine dive. I had their Famous Southern Fried Chicken - this was a mediocre meal. Mashed potatoes were bland, they drowned the greens in vinegar & placed them on topped of the mashed potatoes and nicely placed 3 different cuts of chicken (1 leg, 1 thigh and 1 breast). Now the chicken wasn't bad but it wasn't a true home southern taste. Don't have high expectations on the look of the place or food, it is a bar with above average bar food that specializes in frying chicken.

food5
ambience3
service4
value2

winelover@45

Dined on April 3, 2016

I suggested the restaurant to a couple of friends. The comfort food is just that for me. Therefore I suggested the experience to my friends every chance I get.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fried chicken and champagne

Dined on March 27, 2016

Fried chicken, greens, and champagne were delicious. The macaroni and cheese gets a special mention as well. We enjoyed our meals and will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent place to take friends and fami ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent place to take friends and family

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine Dive

Dined on March 27, 2016

Really not what I would consider a "dive." It was very cute, inviting, wish we had been there for happy hour to get different choices on the menu. They are on the chalk board above the bar. That being said we enjoyed what we ordered and will go back again next chance we get.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was okay and the waitress was n ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was okay and the waitress was nice.

food3
ambience4
service2
value4

I have gone to many Max's and this one h ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

I have gone to many Max's and this one had the poorest of service. We waited 25 minutes before telling the hostess we had not met our waiter yet. The hostess then went to find our waiter with no luck so she stepped up to take our menu. After our food was ordered the waiter finally came to see if we needed anything.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good

Dined on March 18, 2016

As always - Max's had kind servers who brought excellent food - and the drinks are always on point. It is a personal go-to place for me, probably always will be

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

The food was good & so was the service

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

The food was good & so was the service

food4
ambience4
service4

We were a little apprehensive at first b ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

We were a little apprehensive at first but first great hospitality then " not your mamma's oysters " reeled us in for an amusing evening.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great spot for bruch!

Dined on March 6, 2016

The crem brule' french toast was awesome! However, i love it with strawberries. When they run out of strawberries, they replace them with blue berries, and they don't tell you. I'm not a fan of blueberries and I didn't care for that. Other than that, it was a pleasant experience.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience3
service3

Outstanding bar!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Outstanding bar!

food4
ambience4
service5

The chicken with mushroom risotto was fa ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

The chicken with mushroom risotto was fantastic and the wine flights were very reasonable.

food2
ambience2
service1
value3

Disappointed

Dined on February 28, 2016

Very disappointed with the service and the food. Not enough wait staff and drinks on cocktail menu were not that good, and beer choices were not any better. I'm not into all the IPA stuff..... Food was just ok. Probably won't be back. Thanks

food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Not recommended

Dined on February 27, 2016

Our waiter Tierra, was good but busy. She seemed to have taken on the task of waiting on every party in the building. I was not greeted upon entry to the restaurant, and the rest of the staff was sub par. The food was good, but extremely overpriced. No more Max's for me.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second Times a Charm!!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Had to come back withthin a weeks time to get the Southern Chicken Bendict yet again!! Loved it!! This time around I brought company and they enjoyed it as well!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for a great selection of wine ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Great spot for a great selection of wine and old fashioned southern fried chicken. Highly recommend. We will ever back soon.

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Max's is extremely dropping the ball her ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Max's is extremely dropping the ball here. I have went twice in two weeks period each time they where both out food items. Valentines Day they where out of gravy when indeed I invited two friends for the first time. Complete failure. The following a good friend wanted to go and they where out of WINGS!!! Really not this is bad. Complete Failure in the UPTOWN area.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

We sat at the bar and Charity helped us ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

We sat at the bar and Charity helped us with wine and champagne selections. She was AWESOME!! Our steak was perfect. A great spit for a date.

food3
ambience3
service5

The bartender who closed on Monday night ...

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

The bartender who closed on Monday night was super helpful and accommodating. We came in kind of late and she never made us feel like "those people" who come in right before the kitchen closes and stays after. The bar back/support staff that was there was also kind and helpful. One piece of chicken was undercooked but everything else was great and we plan to come back on another night to enjoy the scene more. Thanks, Monday crew!

food5
ambience3
service2

Max n cheese and jalapeño cornbread was ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Max n cheese and jalapeño cornbread was delicious

food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Fantastic Food!!

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was outstanding!! The only thing I did not like was two of the cooks only had one glove on and he kept touching his nose then serving with the same hand (Unloved hand)!! Didn't notice until my food was brought out!! Guess it had a little extra love!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service5
value2

Not what it use to be

Dined on February 13, 2016

Me and my boyfriend use to come here for special occasion. We use to love the food and knew they had a great menu, half off bottle of champagne on Friday's and an awesome bread pudding. We went here for valentines and were very disappointed. Apparently there was a chef change and they had no specials and only 4 entree items. Thank god they still had bread pudding otherwise we would have left. The waiter was great! Food was not what it use to be, there was nothing on the walls, the bar was empty. We won't be coming back unless the menu changes to decent dinner options.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Disappointing

Dined on February 13, 2016

I first went to this resturant in 2013 and I was impressed by the scence, food, service, and concept. I havent been back to this resturant since 2013 so I thought it would be nice to try it again with some friends that recently moved to Dallas. Unfortantly, that was a big mistake. The waiter was overwhelmed. It took almost 15 mintues for us to be greeted by our waiter and a similar long time to receive our food. We ordered wine by the glass and I basically received a sip of wine for $10. We ordered the calimari appertizer and there was no calimari in it. We had a plate of fried batter, jalopenos, and lemons. The dinner was good, but it seemed that they narrowed their menu and raised their prices since 2013. I can understanding the price increases but the narrow selection of choices wasnt very appealing. For $35 to $50 person, I expect more. Wont be going back to this place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fried chicken

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

This was one of the best meals we have ever had. The fried chicken was incredible. The staff was very friendly. You could tell they enjoyed working there. We will definitely be back for more.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not Just a Place for Brunch!

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

We had a party of 5 visit Max's for dinner this past Friday night. Although we have been for brunch several times, we had not visited for an evening meal. We will be back! The restaurant had several specials for the evening which were outstanding. My daughter had the scallops with mushroom risotto, which I believe was the best dish anyone had. The scallops were cooked to perfection, and the mushroom risotto was fabulous! Two of us had a roasted chicken dish with the mushroom risotto. Again, the risotto was divine. The chicken was good - just not as good as the scallops! My son had a fillet which had a rich flavor. My husband had the fried chicken, a staple of their brunch menu. The wine flights are always fun, and my daughter found a new favorite in the one she tried. Our waitress was a joy. A great experience overall!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2

Food is good... Service wasn't the best.

Dined on February 6, 2016

Food is good... Service wasn't the best.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch spot - love the chicken & w ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Great brunch spot - love the chicken & waffles!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on January 30, 2016

I absolutely love this place. Visited this past weekend and brought my friends that were visiting from New York and they loved it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Used to be great, no more

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

I don't know what happened to this place but it was dead at 7:30 On both Friday and Saturday nights. We didn't go in on Saturday we just looked inside because we were in the neighborhood. The woman bar tender was very rude and the cocktails were pretty bad. One was too watered down and the other was way too strong. Pre-fried chicken pieces were sitting in the fryer baskets for the 45 minutes that we were there ready to be fried again once ordered, which was gross and something we only expected to see in fast food places. The whole experience was boring and very sad. This place used to be very crowded and fun with good food!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.