About MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd.

207 San Jacinto Blvd., Ste. 200
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model – you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town – and then take some home with you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 10PM (Brunch: 10am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-10pm)
Monday – Friday: 11AM – 12AM (Lunch: 11am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-12am)
Saturday: 10AM – 12AM (Brunch: 10am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-12am)

Cross Street:
Third

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 904-0111

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/index.php

Entertainment:
Featuring a Texas-proud jukebox covering all your favorites - from Johnny Cash to ZZ Top to AC/DC. Perfect for our late-night "Reverse" Happy Hour!

Catering:
Click here for more information, http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/catering_private-dining/index.php

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available, as is street parking, garage parking, and surface parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Mason Rodgers

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Click here for information on upcoming events, http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/calendar-of-events/index.php

Restaurant Photos

Nacho Mama's Oysters
Wine Dive Sliders
Seared Scallops
Shrimp & Grits
Artichoke Gratin
Red Romaine & Raspberry Salad
Muffuletta Salad
Lone Star Beer
Fava Bean Hummus
fried chicken
Roasted Oysters
MAX 'n Cheese
Bone Marrow Popcorn
Sliders
Fries
Famous Southern Fried Chicken
Pan Borracho
Sxsw
Alligator Beignets
Cheese Course
Pulled Pork on Corn Cakes
Wild Mushroom And Sweet Potato Hash
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Truffled Mac & Cheese
Mesquite-dusted Crispy Calamari With Spicy Southwest Sauce
Max And Cheese
Bison Sliders
Stuffed Piquillo Peppers
Crispy Pig Ears
Pork Stuffed Piquillo Peppers
Haute Dog
half and half
Bone Marrow Popcor
Fried Chicken Sliders
Max's Famous Fried Chickem
Okra
Brownie a la mode
Cheese Plate
fried egg sandwich
Shrimp and Grits
Burger
Half & Half
Fried Calamari
Pickled Vegetables
Pan Borracho ("drunk bread"
chili
Bad Ass Chips
Grapefruit Mimosa
Southern Fried Chicken
Mac and Cheese
Max's Kobe Burger
Salmon Crudo
Cobia
Blue Corn Pancakes
Fried Chicken and Waffles
Bread Pudding
Stuffed Bone Marrow
Rutherferd Rosè
Beef
Red Velvet Pancakes
Spanish Vines Tempranillo

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Austin’s most unique private event venue, The Underground ft. 3 event spaces. Close to 6,000 square feet of “wine cellar” environment, with original warehouse cement columns & exposed ducts–all accented with wine bottle candelabras, luxurious carpeting & beautiful art from local Austin artists.

MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Notable Wine List (38)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Hot Spot (23)
See All
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Brunch (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Romantic (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Kid-friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
911 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Jamie was our waitress and was awesome. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 4 days ago

Jamie was our waitress and was awesome. I take my kids in there for the Chicken and waffles. I like to take them (6 and 11) to good restaurants and half the time the service is horrible because its "kids" at the table. She was awesome, attentive and great with the kids. I wish they didnt change to "wings and waffles" which is a lot less chicken and seemed a little over cooked but Jamie also said we could do the Chicken Plate and sub a waffle for mashed potatoes. We did that for the other order and it was spot on. This is by far my kids favorite place to eat and we make it here about once a month. If you are around for a good time and brunch or dinner go see Jamie.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Started Badly Hostess rude made us wait ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Started Badly Hostess rude made us wait while she "Chatted" 12mins (really it timed it) with people that did not have a reservation...had to wave down someone else to seat us. Then food was 1:40hours to the table without even a "so sorry or offer to buy us a mimosa" ...once food arrived waiter was no where to be seen. Problem was rampent at multiple tables where we all stared at one another other. It was a Birthday Brunch and my friend's first time ...we asked for the check ...had to chase it down and then got a lame birthday piece of cake we didn't ask for nor did we get a choice and it was the final straw that made us miss the movie treat for her birthday ...all in all a rousing worst event ever. Thanks for ruining the surprise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The service was HORRIBLE! The food was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was HORRIBLE! The food was bland... I can not think of anything good here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Amazing food! We had brunch -- the panca ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing food! We had brunch -- the pancakes and the honey-butter biscuit with the fried chicken and jalepeno gravy were favorites, and the grits are NOT to be missed (I'm from the South and a bit of a grits expert and some of the best I've ever had). It's good that the food was so amazing because the service was absolutely terrible. We're all pretty young and not particularly picky about service // usually pretty laid back, and we were all REALLY put off by the service, which is saying a lot. We felt like they forgot about us several times -- it took almost 2 1/2 hours to get brunch, which no one had planned on. We constantly had to remind them for water or coffee refills, and it took almost thirty minutes for someone to even ask our order, and it didn't improve from there. We probably waited for our food for over 45 minutes. I would probably go back, but it definitely diminished what was a special occasion and a delicious meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

What a great find! Even though I didn't ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

What a great find! Even though I didn't have wine, the house cocktails are great. We did have a reservation, and our table was ready when we arrived. Our server was prompt and friendly, checking on us regularly but not too often. The roasted red pepper hummus was nice and spicy, the fried chicken was delicious, as was the shrimp and grits. If only we had left room for dessert! There was a wide variety of people coming into the restaurant which added to the overall energy and ambience. I'm looking forward to my next trip to Austin!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every time I am in Austin Tx for a conve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Every time I am in Austin Tx for a convention I always enjoy a great meal at Max's!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wow! Wow! Triple Wow! Everyone in our pa ...

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wow! Wow! Triple Wow! Everyone in our party LOVED their food. Service from Brian was EXCELLENT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty busy lunch for Max's Wine Dive... ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Pretty busy lunch for Max's Wine Dive...waited over an hour to get our food..maybe they were short staffed? The food was good and so was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Business meeting lunch with friends/co-w ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Business meeting lunch with friends/co-workers. Food was good, table not so much near constantly opening door at entrance with 100 degree heat, though not the restaurants fault. Overall a fun place, and I will go back there again. Menu was a bit limited for lunch, am hopeful they have an expanded menu down the road.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Waited 20 minutes before asking hostess ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Waited 20 minutes before asking hostess for our waiter. Bison sliders had bread and butter pickles which that was all you could taste. Shrimp and grits was very bland. The chicken was over cooked and dry. Only saw the waiter to take our order and drop the check off. Very disappointed!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

I came here with my mom and grandma visi ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I came here with my mom and grandma visiting me in Austin. I thought this would be a great spot since they were staying at the Hyatt across the street. The waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable, I particularly wanted a fruity white wine and he suggested one that I loved! We got the mango and snapper ceviche, the burger, the macaroni and cheese with added lobster (SO WORTH IT!) and the bison sliders. Each item was delicious and I definitely recommend coming here!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love coming to Max's and are n ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We always love coming to Max's and are never short of awesome things to say about our experience. I have food allergies and our server (Julia) took special care to make sure everything I had was allergen-free. Great experience, 10/10 would recommend to a friend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive but not intrusive service. Foo ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Attentive but not intrusive service. Food quality and quantity were impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, the service and food was good. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Overall, the service and food was good. I had a view of the kitchen window watching the staff plate the meals which I actually preferred I hadn't. The person plating didn't have any gloves on and he forgot my friends bacon for her meal. The other most annoying thing is that parking on a sunday is insane so we valeted, however, although it is specific to Max's, the valet is not related so we went to pay and they accepted cash or you had to sit and download a valet parking app (which I did not have space for on my phone) and pay which included a service fee and they want you to tip. So overall, that was a little frustrating because a lot of places if you don't have cash you can pay indoors. Their food and drinks are good but I would say a little over-priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The wine selection is great and you can ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The wine selection is great and you can have a taste of nearly every part of the wine growing world. The food was a neat mix of gourmet bar food and southern comfort classics done well. I had the fish and chips and added on Mac and cheese. All great. Fish fried just right, good and crispy on the outside and tender and moist on the inside, doesn't need the malt unless you like that flavor. My wife had the fried chicken sliders with truffle fries. She loved it. There patio is great, with the only exception being that in the course of an hour, we where interrupted 4 times by people begging for money. It is also Austin and right downtown, so I guess it is to be expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Had a lovely meal with a very knowledgea ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had a lovely meal with a very knowledgeable waiter (Troy) - got to try to some great wines!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food as always was awesome as well a ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food as always was awesome as well as the service. The music was way too loud though it felt like we were in a nightclub on a Sunday afternoon having brunch. We couldn't hear the rest of our group sitting across from us. We asked for the volume to be turned down but it never was. Other than that it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Went to brunch with my family, had the c ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went to brunch with my family, had the chicken and waffles and the blackberry French toast, both were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Somewhat expensive, but a great special ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Somewhat expensive, but a great special occasion venue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had the fried chicken sliders, which ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had the fried chicken sliders, which were very tasty, and the truffled Mac and cheese, which was just ok. But, I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Late lunch and quiet, Fried chicken was ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Late lunch and quiet, Fried chicken was juicy and tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great fried chicken platter! Service was ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great fried chicken platter! Service was quick and food was great. Couldn't ask for anything more. Didn't try the wine but they did have local craft beers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food great but be warned, the Sunday we ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food great but be warned, the Sunday we were there the restaurant was serving brunch all day -- even at 7:00 pm. Had I known, I would have visited the restaurant another day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Would like to see lighter fare on the lu ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Would like to see lighter fare on the lunch menu, if possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This is no "dive" bar; it's a dive into ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This is no "dive" bar; it's a dive into a Great wine selection! The food was superb! Went in a Sunday night & they were serving Brunch all day. We love having breakfast for dinner so that made us very happy. They even make GF FRIED chicken AND waffles! I was in heaven! Not many places go to that level of attention for GF diners. The fried chicken was moist --- I'm telling you, juicy moist! So fabulous I'm going to crave it long after I go home...we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came to MAX's for dinner before going ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We came to MAX's for dinner before going out for my bachelorette party. The wine and food were both fantastic. Everyone left extremely pleased. I don't live in Austin, but whenever I am back in town I will definitely put MAX's on my to-do list!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my first time ever to eat at Max ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This is my first time ever to eat at Max's and I was pleasantly. This food was awesome and the service was great! Will definitely come back and have recommend to all of my friends!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great southern food at a historical loca ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great southern food at a historical location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I did not know that they had all day bru ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I did not know that they had all day brunch, so I was unable to have the deveined eggs which is why I was there. My salad was good with broccoli and spinach? No other meal at the table looked good to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Super fast service, delicious food, flex ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Super fast service, delicious food, flexible about our change in reso time, and very friendly staff!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The gluten free chicken and waffles were ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The gluten free chicken and waffles were delicious! I'm still thinking about them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put, the macaroni was a let-down. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Simply put, the macaroni was a let-down. I truly thought it would be the highlight of the evening! I had the fried chicken and champagne salad and it did not strike me either. The service and atmosphere were impeccable, but I had huge hopes because of the restaurant's reputation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The taste of the waffle didn't correlate ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The taste of the waffle didn't correlate well with my chicken. My chicken was chewy and not hot, however, it was seasoned and tasted very good. I just couldn't eat it because it was chewy. It was my best friends birthday and she LOVES chicken and waffles, but was quite disappointed by the waffle. All in all, the atmosphere was great, but the food was a big disappointment. I feel I had wasted my money.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Love the food at Max's! Everything is al ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Love the food at Max's! Everything is always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great second visit

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This was my second visit to Max's and I am happy to say it was as good as my first visit. I started my meal with the excellent oyster appetizer (half order), complemented by a glass of Garreau Bordeaux Blanc that was recommended by my sever when I asked for a sauvignon blanc recommendation. Then I had the Max's Signature Burger, plus bacon, complemented by a glass of Mira Billa Rosso following tastings of three different wines offered by my server. My meal was excellent, my server did a nice job suggesting wines, and service was excellent. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great fried chicken and wine selection.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I had a very pleasant experience dining. They offer reasonable prices for wine. Dishes can be pricey if you choose. They also have dishes that are cheaper. Overall, the food was very good and the service was great. I would recommend to try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The staff was helpful and very efficient. They were friendly and saw that I was served in a timely manner. Max's is a fun place for a casual meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A few changes could really make this place a star!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

While the sound level and some of our dishes were not what we wanted, we liked Max's and found the staff hospitable and our evening enjoyable.

I am old, but even my young niece and nephew felt the music was just too loud. It is a restaurant that seems to think making the place noisy will somehow bring a cool vibe, but they are wrong! It just seemed hectic.

We were seated promptly and our waiter, though busy, was friendly and attentive.

The food was good, but some of the dishes really needed an objective critique. The hummus appetizer was reasonably priced and tasty but the carrots were hard as a rock- a quick steam to soften them would allow them to still be used for dipping but not jarringly crunchy. The portabello mushroom entree was a single mushroom swimming in a quinoa grit type mixture that was too rich and really, just sorta gross. The ingredients for this should be re-configured so you don't feel like you're eating a bowl of cream with chunks of stuff in it.

The fried chicken and chicken fried steak were enjoyable and very hearty. The brussel sprouts - absolutely no criticism about them!

Our wine was reasonably priced also and delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Thank you for making our engagement special

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This past Thursday I proposed to my now fiance just moments before going to Max's Wine Dive. 3 years ago it was where we went on our first date, and I wanted to relive that magical moment. Earlier in the week when I made my reservation, I had requested the table we had on our first date. They had complied with no problem and were excited to be part of our special evening. We were greeted with champagne and couldn't have been nicer to us on our special day. As usual the food was amazing as we come here anyway to eat. But what was even nicer they said they actually remembered us. Thank you to the Staff, and management at Max's Wine Dive for making it such a special day for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a good place but puzzled by their ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

It was a good place but puzzled by their wine policy. It's a wine bar but would rather serve you wine that been open for 3 days than open a new bottle. 15 bucks for stale wine? Don't think so. If your drinking white than fine- but red- no one wants stale red wine. Food was good- tho chicken was dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.