About MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd.

207 San Jacinto Blvd., Ste. 200
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 10PM (Brunch: 10am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-10pm)
Monday – Friday: 11AM – 12AM (Lunch: 11am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-12am)
Saturday: 10AM – 12AM (Brunch: 10am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-12am)

Cross Street:
Third

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 904-0111

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/index.php

Entertainment:
Featuring a Texas-proud jukebox covering all your favorites - from Johnny Cash to ZZ Top to AC/DC. Perfect for our late-night "Reverse" Happy Hour!

Catering:
Click here for more information, http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/catering_private-dining/index.php

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available, as is street parking, garage parking, and surface parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Mason Rodgers

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Click here for information on upcoming events, http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/calendar-of-events/index.php

Restaurant Photos

Nacho Mama's Oysters
Wine Dive Sliders
Seared Scallops
Shrimp & Grits
Artichoke Gratin
Red Romaine & Raspberry Salad
Muffuletta Salad
Lone Star Beer
Fava Bean Hummus
fried chicken
Roasted Oysters
MAX 'n Cheese
Bone Marrow Popcorn
Sliders
Fries
Famous Southern Fried Chicken
Pan Borracho
Sxsw
Alligator Beignets
Cheese Course
Pulled Pork on Corn Cakes
Wild Mushroom And Sweet Potato Hash
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Truffled Mac & Cheese
Mesquite-dusted Crispy Calamari With Spicy Southwest Sauce
Max And Cheese
Bison Sliders
Stuffed Piquillo Peppers
Crispy Pig Ears
Pork Stuffed Piquillo Peppers
Haute Dog
half and half
Bone Marrow Popcor
Fried Chicken Sliders
Max's Famous Fried Chickem
Okra
Brownie a la mode
Cheese Plate
fried egg sandwich
Shrimp and Grits
Burger
Half & Half
Fried Calamari
Pickled Vegetables
Pan Borracho ("drunk bread"
chili
Bad Ass Chips
Grapefruit Mimosa
Southern Fried Chicken
Mac and Cheese
Max's Kobe Burger
Salmon Crudo
Cobia
Blue Corn Pancakes
Fried Chicken and Waffles
Bread Pudding
Stuffed Bone Marrow
Rutherferd Rosè
Beef
Red Velvet Pancakes
Spanish Vines Tempranillo

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Austin’s most unique private event venue, The Underground ft. 3 event spaces. Close to 6,000 square feet of “wine cellar” environment, with original warehouse cement columns & exposed ducts–all accented with wine bottle candelabras, luxurious carpeting & beautiful art from local Austin artists.

MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Notable Wine List (31)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Groups (16)
See All
Hot Spot (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Romantic (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Casual (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
925 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Terrible hamburgers and barely tolerable ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Terrible hamburgers and barely tolerable shrimp and grits! Very disappointing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

On the positive side, the red snapper an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

On the positive side, the red snapper and chicken fried steak were both really nice. On the down side, the brussel sprouts were under cooked with no seasonings and the cocktails were really slow to arrive. We might not go back with so many other options to try in Austin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Server took a while to check back with u ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Server took a while to check back with us and did not ask if we wanted separate checks before handing us one. Food was good quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing service, great customer service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing service, great customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived fairly early before the lunch ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We arrived fairly early before the lunch crowd, but it still took 25 or so minutes to get our food. That's not optimal when you have a one-hour lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Some of the best Fried Chicken I've ever ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Some of the best Fried Chicken I've ever eaten. Nice and hot the way I like it.

Friendly and accommodating staff. Music was an ecletic jutebox mix and a little loud, but not really hindering conversation.

Very close to the Austin Convention Center, a short couple of minutes walk.

The only annoyance was a cloud of gnats, apparently their vector control needs to be adjusted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We made a reservation about 20 minutes b ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We made a reservation about 20 minutes before heading over because we didn't know how busy it'd be. When we walked in the door, a group of three was standing there obviously annoyed that they weren't being helped; they left about 2 minutes later to eat somewhere else as no hostess returned to seat them. We then stood there for almost 10 minutes before finding a man walking around and told him we had a reservation. He said that he thought reservations were over and asked us to wait. He came over about 5 minutes later and only said, "okay, I'll seat you." No apology for the wait or for being ignored.

The server was nice and thanked us 10 times for waiting but after she brought us water she never returned so I could order that glass of wine I'd wanted. The sandwich was great but the chips were soft. Overall very disappointing time at MAX's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Love this place but totally fell flat on ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Love this place but totally fell flat on Labor Day. Regular menu (not brunch) and service was awful. They either didn't anticipate for a crowd (Shame on them - day after a huge home UT football game AND a major holiday. ). Food was meh. No menu accommodations for little kids proved rough, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

We had a 12:15 reservation and were seat ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a 12:15 reservation and were seated close to that time. Ordered quickly but our food didn't arrive until 1:15 which seemed excessive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We sat outside, which was great because ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We sat outside, which was great because we were able to hear each other – but on the other hand, our server may have forgotten about us a few times because we were out of the way. It took FOREVER for us to get our food, even though the restaurant wasn't very busy. When we got our food, it was pretty good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

The Food is great! The Service is a litt ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The Food is great! The Service is a little slow, even though it wasn't packed. I think it depends on the server because we've also been when it was packed and the service was not slow at all!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The service is amazing. We even got an ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The service is amazing. We even got an impromptu tour of the underground

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere. The food was very good ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great atmosphere. The food was very good. I had a grilled portobello plate which was pleasantly better than I expected. Although the server was very pleasant they lack in attentiveness. Attention to the minor details would have made the experience really exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Went for a weekday lunch and had one of ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Went for a weekday lunch and had one of the best burgers I've tasted in a restaurant. Adele, our server was terrific. Friendly, courteous and spot on! The only negative is that there is no valet parking in the daytime and the street parking is tough.

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Jamie was our waitress and was awesome. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Jamie was our waitress and was awesome. I take my kids in there for the Chicken and waffles. I like to take them (6 and 11) to good restaurants and half the time the service is horrible because its "kids" at the table. She was awesome, attentive and great with the kids. I wish they didnt change to "wings and waffles" which is a lot less chicken and seemed a little over cooked but Jamie also said we could do the Chicken Plate and sub a waffle for mashed potatoes. We did that for the other order and it was spot on. This is by far my kids favorite place to eat and we make it here about once a month. If you are around for a good time and brunch or dinner go see Jamie.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Started Badly Hostess rude made us wait ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Started Badly Hostess rude made us wait while she "Chatted" 12mins (really it timed it) with people that did not have a reservation...had to wave down someone else to seat us. Then food was 1:40hours to the table without even a "so sorry or offer to buy us a mimosa" ...once food arrived waiter was no where to be seen. Problem was rampent at multiple tables where we all stared at one another other. It was a Birthday Brunch and my friend's first time ...we asked for the check ...had to chase it down and then got a lame birthday piece of cake we didn't ask for nor did we get a choice and it was the final straw that made us miss the movie treat for her birthday ...all in all a rousing worst event ever. Thanks for ruining the surprise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The service was HORRIBLE! The food was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was HORRIBLE! The food was bland... I can not think of anything good here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Amazing food! We had brunch -- the panca ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing food! We had brunch -- the pancakes and the honey-butter biscuit with the fried chicken and jalepeno gravy were favorites, and the grits are NOT to be missed (I'm from the South and a bit of a grits expert and some of the best I've ever had). It's good that the food was so amazing because the service was absolutely terrible. We're all pretty young and not particularly picky about service // usually pretty laid back, and we were all REALLY put off by the service, which is saying a lot. We felt like they forgot about us several times -- it took almost 2 1/2 hours to get brunch, which no one had planned on. We constantly had to remind them for water or coffee refills, and it took almost thirty minutes for someone to even ask our order, and it didn't improve from there. We probably waited for our food for over 45 minutes. I would probably go back, but it definitely diminished what was a special occasion and a delicious meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

What a great find! Even though I didn't ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

What a great find! Even though I didn't have wine, the house cocktails are great. We did have a reservation, and our table was ready when we arrived. Our server was prompt and friendly, checking on us regularly but not too often. The roasted red pepper hummus was nice and spicy, the fried chicken was delicious, as was the shrimp and grits. If only we had left room for dessert! There was a wide variety of people coming into the restaurant which added to the overall energy and ambience. I'm looking forward to my next trip to Austin!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every time I am in Austin Tx for a conve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Every time I am in Austin Tx for a convention I always enjoy a great meal at Max's!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wow! Wow! Triple Wow! Everyone in our pa ...

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wow! Wow! Triple Wow! Everyone in our party LOVED their food. Service from Brian was EXCELLENT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty busy lunch for Max's Wine Dive... ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Pretty busy lunch for Max's Wine Dive...waited over an hour to get our food..maybe they were short staffed? The food was good and so was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Business meeting lunch with friends/co-w ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Business meeting lunch with friends/co-workers. Food was good, table not so much near constantly opening door at entrance with 100 degree heat, though not the restaurants fault. Overall a fun place, and I will go back there again. Menu was a bit limited for lunch, am hopeful they have an expanded menu down the road.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Waited 20 minutes before asking hostess ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Waited 20 minutes before asking hostess for our waiter. Bison sliders had bread and butter pickles which that was all you could taste. Shrimp and grits was very bland. The chicken was over cooked and dry. Only saw the waiter to take our order and drop the check off. Very disappointed!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

I came here with my mom and grandma visi ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I came here with my mom and grandma visiting me in Austin. I thought this would be a great spot since they were staying at the Hyatt across the street. The waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable, I particularly wanted a fruity white wine and he suggested one that I loved! We got the mango and snapper ceviche, the burger, the macaroni and cheese with added lobster (SO WORTH IT!) and the bison sliders. Each item was delicious and I definitely recommend coming here!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love coming to Max's and are n ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We always love coming to Max's and are never short of awesome things to say about our experience. I have food allergies and our server (Julia) took special care to make sure everything I had was allergen-free. Great experience, 10/10 would recommend to a friend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive but not intrusive service. Foo ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Attentive but not intrusive service. Food quality and quantity were impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, the service and food was good. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Overall, the service and food was good. I had a view of the kitchen window watching the staff plate the meals which I actually preferred I hadn't. The person plating didn't have any gloves on and he forgot my friends bacon for her meal. The other most annoying thing is that parking on a sunday is insane so we valeted, however, although it is specific to Max's, the valet is not related so we went to pay and they accepted cash or you had to sit and download a valet parking app (which I did not have space for on my phone) and pay which included a service fee and they want you to tip. So overall, that was a little frustrating because a lot of places if you don't have cash you can pay indoors. Their food and drinks are good but I would say a little over-priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The wine selection is great and you can ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The wine selection is great and you can have a taste of nearly every part of the wine growing world. The food was a neat mix of gourmet bar food and southern comfort classics done well. I had the fish and chips and added on Mac and cheese. All great. Fish fried just right, good and crispy on the outside and tender and moist on the inside, doesn't need the malt unless you like that flavor. My wife had the fried chicken sliders with truffle fries. She loved it. There patio is great, with the only exception being that in the course of an hour, we where interrupted 4 times by people begging for money. It is also Austin and right downtown, so I guess it is to be expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Had a lovely meal with a very knowledgea ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had a lovely meal with a very knowledgeable waiter (Troy) - got to try to some great wines!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food as always was awesome as well a ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food as always was awesome as well as the service. The music was way too loud though it felt like we were in a nightclub on a Sunday afternoon having brunch. We couldn't hear the rest of our group sitting across from us. We asked for the volume to be turned down but it never was. Other than that it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Went to brunch with my family, had the c ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went to brunch with my family, had the chicken and waffles and the blackberry French toast, both were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Somewhat expensive, but a great special ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Somewhat expensive, but a great special occasion venue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had the fried chicken sliders, which ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had the fried chicken sliders, which were very tasty, and the truffled Mac and cheese, which was just ok. But, I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Late lunch and quiet, Fried chicken was ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Late lunch and quiet, Fried chicken was juicy and tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great fried chicken platter! Service was ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great fried chicken platter! Service was quick and food was great. Couldn't ask for anything more. Didn't try the wine but they did have local craft beers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food great but be warned, the Sunday we ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food great but be warned, the Sunday we were there the restaurant was serving brunch all day -- even at 7:00 pm. Had I known, I would have visited the restaurant another day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Would like to see lighter fare on the lu ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Would like to see lighter fare on the lunch menu, if possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This is no "dive" bar; it's a dive into ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This is no "dive" bar; it's a dive into a Great wine selection! The food was superb! Went in a Sunday night & they were serving Brunch all day. We love having breakfast for dinner so that made us very happy. They even make GF FRIED chicken AND waffles! I was in heaven! Not many places go to that level of attention for GF diners. The fried chicken was moist --- I'm telling you, juicy moist! So fabulous I'm going to crave it long after I go home...we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came to MAX's for dinner before going ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We came to MAX's for dinner before going out for my bachelorette party. The wine and food were both fantastic. Everyone left extremely pleased. I don't live in Austin, but whenever I am back in town I will definitely put MAX's on my to-do list!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.