About MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd.

207 San Jacinto Blvd., Ste. 200
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 10PM (Brunch: 10am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-10pm)
Monday – Friday: 11AM – 12AM (Lunch: 11am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-12am)
Saturday: 10AM – 12AM (Brunch: 10am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-12am)

Cross Street:
Third

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 904-0111

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/index.php

Entertainment:
Featuring a Texas-proud jukebox covering all your favorites - from Johnny Cash to ZZ Top to AC/DC. Perfect for our late-night "Reverse" Happy Hour!

Catering:
Click here for more information, http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/catering_private-dining/index.php

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available, as is street parking, garage parking, and surface parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Mason Rodgers

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Click here for information on upcoming events, http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/calendar-of-events/index.php

Restaurant Photos

Nacho Mama's Oysters - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Wine Dive Sliders - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Seared Scallops - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Shrimp & Grits - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Artichoke Gratin - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Red Romaine & Raspberry Salad - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Muffuletta Salad - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Lone Star Beer - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Fava Bean Hummus - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
fried chicken - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Roasted Oysters - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
MAX 'n Cheese - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Bone Marrow Popcorn - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Sliders - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Fries - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Famous Southern Fried Chicken - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Pan Borracho - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Sxsw - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Alligator Beignets - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Cheese Course - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Pulled Pork on Corn Cakes - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Wild Mushroom And Sweet Potato Hash - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Grilled Cheese Sandwich - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Truffled Mac & Cheese - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Mesquite-dusted Crispy Calamari With Spicy Southwest Sauce - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Max And Cheese - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Bison Sliders - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Stuffed Piquillo Peppers - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Crispy Pig Ears - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Pork Stuffed Piquillo Peppers - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Haute Dog - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
half and half - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Bone Marrow Popcor - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Fried Chicken Sliders - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Max's Famous Fried Chickem - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Okra - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Brownie a la mode - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Cheese Plate - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
fried egg sandwich - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Shrimp and Grits - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Burger - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Half & Half - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Fried Calamari - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Pickled Vegetables - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Pan Borracho ("drunk bread" - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
chili - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Bad Ass Chips - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Grapefruit Mimosa - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Southern Fried Chicken - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Mac and Cheese - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Max's Kobe Burger - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Salmon Crudo - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Cobia - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Blue Corn Pancakes - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Fried Chicken and Waffles - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Bread Pudding - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Stuffed Bone Marrow - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Rutherferd Rosè - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Beef - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Red Velvet Pancakes - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX
Spanish Vines Tempranillo - MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd., Austin, TX

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Austin’s most unique private event venue, The Underground ft. 3 event spaces. Close to 6,000 square feet of “wine cellar” environment, with original warehouse cement columns & exposed ducts–all accented with wine bottle candelabras, luxurious carpeting & beautiful art from local Austin artists.

MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.6

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (22)
Great for Brunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Casual (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Fun (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Romantic (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great Beer (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Authentic (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
954 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was seated instantly however the server ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Was seated instantly however the server was not actively engaged on a frequent basis. I asked for Tabasco and never got it and jalepeno grits were ordered as well in which we did not receive...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We came in for brunch. I have never eate ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We came in for brunch. I have never eaten here before and I have lived in Austin nearly a decade so I was pretty excited to see what the fuss was all about. We were sat promptly, but the waiter took almost 10 minutes to greet us. No big deal. It gave us time to figure out exactly what we wanted. So, we ordered our champagne selection for our mimosas and what we wanted to eat in one swoop. The waiter returned with our bubbles (nice guy, but seemed nervous) - he proceeded to open the bottle by removing the foil and then began to twist the cork off....without removing the surrounding cage. He struggled for a minute or so and then finally the cork blew off and champagne went everywhere. He laughed and then poured us our first glass. Again, not a big deal....but, really?

The food was pretty good. I had the hangover hash and my girlfriend had an omelette. She ordered grits as her side, but got potatoes instead. Still, not a big deal.

When the check was dropped off, I noticed that the price of the champagne was a lot higher on the bill than the menu. I also noticed that there was a charge for the orange juice, even though the menu stated "You pick the bubbles, we provide the juice." I asked the waiter if he could review this because this is not what we selected. Upon his return he said it was his first brunch and apologized, but since he picked the wrong bottle and rang up the pricier one, that is the one we were asked to pay for. So I ended up paying for a more expensive bottle of champagne with an additional up-charge for orange juice.

We tipped him fine, 20%, but leaving this review is just as comical to write as I am sure it is to read. Please train the employees how to ring up orders, make modifications, and most of all...how to properly open champagne bottles.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The chicken fried steak and egg with gre ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The chicken fried steak and egg with green chili gravy is sooo good for breakfast. 20-30 years ago I could name 4 places with a really good CFS in Austin but because taste changes and all of our new ex patriots not from this time zone who seem to celebrate Trader Joes vegetable aisle and want their protein shipped in overnight from Patagonia because of some special coastal grass. Today I can now only name two restaurants and Max's is my favorite. Be bold and ask for the green tomatillo sauce for a touch of extra heat and spice.

The hangover hash is awesome and sometimes I celebrate with a nice bourbon and water - you know, hair of the dog if you had a little too much celebration. I see the shrimp and grits and I know it's good but Good Lord, the CFS just draws me in most Sunday mornings.

The staff is worth the trip - the staff is fun, passionate and such great people. The price is right for downtime, the people watching is always fun, and prepare to pay the valet.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have always loved Max's, but this tim ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have always loved Max's, but this time we were disappointed. We waited for close to 15 minutes before a server greeted us. They removed one of my favorite items off of the menu and it seemed to take forever for our food to arrive. The server who was supposed to wait on us was in the weeds so another server came to help. She was friendly, but we didn't see much of her. We still gave her a good tip because I remember my days waiting tables and how busy it could get. I'm just sad they removed their drunken bread. It was my favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We went for a quick / late dinner on a F ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We went for a quick / late dinner on a Friday evening. We were late for our reservation but they were very gracious when we called and rescheduled us so that our traffic delay was not a problem. The food was well prepared and pretty much what we expected, not exotic, but they don't try to sell exotic. There was a salad on the menu for those who don't want a lot of carbs. What I really liked was that when we talked to our server about wine, he listened well, and brought 3 bottles and a tasting glass to the table to allow us to choose the one that suited us best. All 3 were in line with what we asked for. The tasting and attention to our wine selection really sold me on this restaurant even if they only have one no-carb dish that I can eat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

The food is always magical. The staff is ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food is always magical. The staff is always super fun and helpful. Lastly you can NEVER go wrong with chicken and greens! Noms

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we have eaten here a number of times, bu ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 2, 2016

we have eaten here a number of times, but this may be the last one - the good- one of the best pot roasts I have ever had however two of us ordered it and both noted that the potatoes were under cooked almost raw , the chicken always good and was enjoyed. The new menu, so-so at best and pricey for what it is. The cheese plate we ordered was incredibly disappointing we are still wondering what some of the items were and why they were there. The service this past Wednesday on a fairly slow night was - slow and the waiter seemed to not really be paying attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The service was terrible, we ended up bu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The service was terrible, we ended up busing our on table to clear it. Had to ask repeatedly for some items. Food was only ok, some items were good, most just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I come here as often as I can be patient ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I come here as often as I can be patient... the food is always good but the service is always TERRIBLE! This last time, we were blatantly lied to when we asked to be moved to a different table so we weren't sat next to the door. There were about 10 other open tables and they said it was reserved for a baby shower - we questioned that. That baby shower showed up and it was only 8 people. They just lied to us until we pushed for a hi-top table to be away from the front door. The service makes me NEVER recommend this spot. Too bad because the food is good and the ambiance is great / if only the employees could be friendlier, happier, nicer and more positive- this place would be packed all the time! Just an FYI. Yes, super disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Took an hour for our food to come. Medio ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Took an hour for our food to come. Mediocre at best. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We had a 6:45 reservation. The drinks we ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a 6:45 reservation. The drinks were 20 minutes a part from each other. The service was very slow for a more than half empty restaurant. We ordered shrimp and grits and Salisbury steak. They were both good meals but it took so long to get 1 drink and the waiter forgot to order it. I would recommend the place but not if you have plans that are within an hour or so after dinner. Its too slow for that. More of a place to kill time.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Very disappointing! After looking at ov ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Very disappointing! After looking at overall reviews I expected this place to be great and looked forward to trying it. We got the fried chicken which is their signature dish and not only did it take about 45 minutes to make it was flabby and greasy. No crunch at all. Greens were overly salty, mashed potatoes seemed old. Even the drink my business partner had was bad. There were very few people in the restaurant on a Thursday night and Formula 1 weekend to boot! That may have been a sign. Staff seemed more interested in watching sports on TV instead of waiting on customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

energetic vibe, great selection of wine ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

energetic vibe, great selection of wine and fun atmosphere with better than average food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

It was hard to say that I really loved t ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It was hard to say that I really loved this place but I can't find anything in particularly that I didn't like about it. The waiter wasn't great. Wine was good as well as the food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I took one hour to receive our food afte ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I took one hour to receive our food after we placed the order. Some of the food was cold and had to be sent back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Service was atrocious, apps were great, ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Service was atrocious, apps were great, most of the meals were good. Used to be a good spot- would not recommend it any longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Just a quick stop before heading to a co ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Just a quick stop before heading to a concert at the Moody. Great apps and drinks. Great bartender too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time at Max's Wine Dive, the w ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our first time at Max's Wine Dive, the wine was reasonably priced. The Fried Oysters were a must have! And get the chicken tenders added to something (anything!), the seasoning alone makes it worth the added cost!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Went there for Brunch early Saturday aft ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Went there for Brunch early Saturday afternoon. The food was outstanding. The downside was that it took a very long time to get our food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Ehhh... it's not bad. But on a Friday ni ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Ehhh... it's not bad. But on a Friday night, it was super loud, and the place wasn't even at capacity. The food/drinks were pretty good, and we appreciate the gluten "friendly" options, but the waiter seemed largely indifferent. At times, it was difficult to carry a conversation with the noise, but depending on what kind of date you're in the mood for, might be a good spot. The prices were slightly high, but about what you'd expect in the pricey downtown dining district.

I remain disappointed that Open Table gift certificates have such limited options; there's lots of great options in town, but this was one of the only ones on the list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great bartender who made it a great expe ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great bartender who made it a great experience. Menu limited as was ambience. Wine list interesting. I would recommend for a drink after work but not for dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

After being a big Max's Wine Dive fan fo ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 1, 2016

After being a big Max's Wine Dive fan for a number of years, I'm no longer thrilled with it. Maybe it's just the Austin location, but the past two visits have been way less than great. Last time the waiter was completely awful - some of the worst customer service I've encountered. Luckily, the manager tried to resolve the issue and asked us to return in the future. This Sunday, we did. It'll be the last time.

Brunch was just average. The famous "chicken and waffles" are no longer listed on the menu - it's been replaced by Wings and Waffles. You can still order the chicken and waffles though. My guest did. Portion is huge: 3 chicken breasts and a big waffle. One of the breasts was undercooked, but it didn't really matter since the other two were more than enough for two people.

I ordered strawberry French toast. It was supposed to come as an appetizer but didn't. The waiter decided I'd like it with strawberries on the side, despite not actually ordering it that way - but it was fine...until I realized that the bread wasn't fully cooked. Soggy bread/raw egg mix in the middle of the entree was gross. I sent it back. It returned cooked but with no strawberries at all - just two pieces of bread and a side of syrup. I had a few bites of it, but my guest was finished eating and I'd had a few bites of chicken/waffle so I didn't bother eating the rest of boring "meal."

Service was so-so and the waiter seemed sluggish and tired. Rough Saturday night?

Overall, it was average. Coupled with my last visit, Max's is below average. Don't bother to have brunch here. Try Seersucker or Moonshine instead.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was amazing, but took a looooon ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was amazing, but took a looooong time to come out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Our server was very lackadaisical & coul ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Our server was very lackadaisical & could never be found. It was frustrating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Fried chicken is awesome !!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Fried chicken is awesome !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience from the valet parking, h ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The experience from the valet parking, hostess, service and food was welcoming, professional and delicious . Would recommend this Resturant to friends and associates visiting the Austin area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Terrible hamburgers and barely tolerable ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Terrible hamburgers and barely tolerable shrimp and grits! Very disappointing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

On the positive side, the red snapper an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

On the positive side, the red snapper and chicken fried steak were both really nice. On the down side, the brussel sprouts were under cooked with no seasonings and the cocktails were really slow to arrive. We might not go back with so many other options to try in Austin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Server took a while to check back with u ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Server took a while to check back with us and did not ask if we wanted separate checks before handing us one. Food was good quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing service, great customer service

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing service, great customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived fairly early before the lunch ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We arrived fairly early before the lunch crowd, but it still took 25 or so minutes to get our food. That's not optimal when you have a one-hour lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Some of the best Fried Chicken I've ever ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Some of the best Fried Chicken I've ever eaten. Nice and hot the way I like it.

Friendly and accommodating staff. Music was an ecletic jutebox mix and a little loud, but not really hindering conversation.

Very close to the Austin Convention Center, a short couple of minutes walk.

The only annoyance was a cloud of gnats, apparently their vector control needs to be adjusted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We made a reservation about 20 minutes b ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We made a reservation about 20 minutes before heading over because we didn't know how busy it'd be. When we walked in the door, a group of three was standing there obviously annoyed that they weren't being helped; they left about 2 minutes later to eat somewhere else as no hostess returned to seat them. We then stood there for almost 10 minutes before finding a man walking around and told him we had a reservation. He said that he thought reservations were over and asked us to wait. He came over about 5 minutes later and only said, "okay, I'll seat you." No apology for the wait or for being ignored.

The server was nice and thanked us 10 times for waiting but after she brought us water she never returned so I could order that glass of wine I'd wanted. The sandwich was great but the chips were soft. Overall very disappointing time at MAX's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Love this place but totally fell flat on ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Love this place but totally fell flat on Labor Day. Regular menu (not brunch) and service was awful. They either didn't anticipate for a crowd (Shame on them - day after a huge home UT football game AND a major holiday. ). Food was meh. No menu accommodations for little kids proved rough, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

We had a 12:15 reservation and were seat ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a 12:15 reservation and were seated close to that time. Ordered quickly but our food didn't arrive until 1:15 which seemed excessive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We sat outside, which was great because ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We sat outside, which was great because we were able to hear each other – but on the other hand, our server may have forgotten about us a few times because we were out of the way. It took FOREVER for us to get our food, even though the restaurant wasn't very busy. When we got our food, it was pretty good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

The Food is great! The Service is a litt ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The Food is great! The Service is a little slow, even though it wasn't packed. I think it depends on the server because we've also been when it was packed and the service was not slow at all!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The service is amazing. We even got an ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The service is amazing. We even got an impromptu tour of the underground

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere. The food was very good ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great atmosphere. The food was very good. I had a grilled portobello plate which was pleasantly better than I expected. Although the server was very pleasant they lack in attentiveness. Attention to the minor details would have made the experience really exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Went for a weekday lunch and had one of ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Went for a weekday lunch and had one of the best burgers I've tasted in a restaurant. Adele, our server was terrific. Friendly, courteous and spot on! The only negative is that there is no valet parking in the daytime and the street parking is tough.

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.