About MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd.

207 San Jacinto Blvd., Ste. 200
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model – you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town – and then take some home with you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 10PM (Brunch: 10am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-10pm)
Monday – Friday: 11AM – 12AM (Lunch: 11am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-12am)
Saturday: 10AM – 12AM (Brunch: 10am-3pm, Dinner: 3pm-12am)

Cross Street:
Third

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 904-0111

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/index.php

Entertainment:
Featuring a Texas-proud jukebox covering all your favorites - from Johnny Cash to ZZ Top to AC/DC. Perfect for our late-night "Reverse" Happy Hour!

Catering:
Click here for more information, http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/catering_private-dining/index.php

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available, as is street parking, garage parking, and surface parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Mason Rodgers

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Click here for information on upcoming events, http://www.maxswinedive.com/austin/calendar-of-events/index.php

Restaurant Photos

Nacho Mama's Oysters
Shrimp & Grits
Seared Scallops
Artichoke Gratin
Wine Dive Sliders
Red Romaine & Raspberry Salad
Muffuletta Salad
Lone Star Beer
Fava Bean Hummus
fried chicken
Roasted Oysters
MAX 'n Cheese
Bone Marrow Popcorn
Sliders
Fries
Famous Southern Fried Chicken
Pan Borracho
Sxsw
Alligator Beignets
Cheese Course
Pulled Pork on Corn Cakes
Wild Mushroom And Sweet Potato Hash
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Truffled Mac & Cheese
Mesquite-dusted Crispy Calamari With Spicy Southwest Sauce
Max And Cheese
Bison Sliders
Stuffed Piquillo Peppers
Crispy Pig Ears
Pork Stuffed Piquillo Peppers
Haute Dog
half and half
Bone Marrow Popcor
Fried Chicken Sliders
Max's Famous Fried Chickem
Okra
Brownie a la mode
Cheese Plate
fried egg sandwich
Shrimp and Grits
Burger
Half & Half
Fried Calamari
Pickled Vegetables
Pan Borracho ("drunk bread"
chili
Bad Ass Chips
Grapefruit Mimosa
Southern Fried Chicken
Mac and Cheese
Max's Kobe Burger
Salmon Crudo
Cobia
Blue Corn Pancakes
Fried Chicken and Waffles
Stuffed Bone Marrow
Bread Pudding
Rutherferd Rosè
Beef
Red Velvet Pancakes
Spanish Vines Tempranillo

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Austin’s most unique private event venue, The Underground ft. 3 event spaces. Close to 6,000 square feet of “wine cellar” environment, with original warehouse cement columns & exposed ducts–all accented with wine bottle candelabras, luxurious carpeting & beautiful art from local Austin artists.

MAX's Wine Dive Austin - San Jacinto Blvd. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

notable wine list (40)
fit for foodies (28)
great for brunch (21)
See All
good for groups (21)
hot spot (20)
special occasion (20)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for lunch (14)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (10)
romantic (10)
great for outdoor dining (9)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
895 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a lovely meal with a very knowledgea ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 5 days ago

Had a lovely meal with a very knowledgeable waiter (Troy) - got to try to some great wines!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food as always was awesome as well a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food as always was awesome as well as the service. The music was way too loud though it felt like we were in a nightclub on a Sunday afternoon having brunch. We couldn't hear the rest of our group sitting across from us. We asked for the volume to be turned down but it never was. Other than that it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Went to brunch with my family, had the c ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went to brunch with my family, had the chicken and waffles and the blackberry French toast, both were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Somewhat expensive, but a great special ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Somewhat expensive, but a great special occasion venue.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had the fried chicken sliders, which ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had the fried chicken sliders, which were very tasty, and the truffled Mac and cheese, which was just ok. But, I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Late lunch and quiet, Fried chicken was ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Late lunch and quiet, Fried chicken was juicy and tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great fried chicken platter! Service was ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great fried chicken platter! Service was quick and food was great. Couldn't ask for anything more. Didn't try the wine but they did have local craft beers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food great but be warned, the Sunday we ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food great but be warned, the Sunday we were there the restaurant was serving brunch all day -- even at 7:00 pm. Had I known, I would have visited the restaurant another day.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Would like to see lighter fare on the lu ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Would like to see lighter fare on the lunch menu, if possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This is no "dive" bar; it's a dive into ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This is no "dive" bar; it's a dive into a Great wine selection! The food was superb! Went in a Sunday night & they were serving Brunch all day. We love having breakfast for dinner so that made us very happy. They even make GF FRIED chicken AND waffles! I was in heaven! Not many places go to that level of attention for GF diners. The fried chicken was moist --- I'm telling you, juicy moist! So fabulous I'm going to crave it long after I go home...we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came to MAX's for dinner before going ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We came to MAX's for dinner before going out for my bachelorette party. The wine and food were both fantastic. Everyone left extremely pleased. I don't live in Austin, but whenever I am back in town I will definitely put MAX's on my to-do list!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my first time ever to eat at Max ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This is my first time ever to eat at Max's and I was pleasantly. This food was awesome and the service was great! Will definitely come back and have recommend to all of my friends!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great southern food at a historical loca ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great southern food at a historical location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I did not know that they had all day bru ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I did not know that they had all day brunch, so I was unable to have the deveined eggs which is why I was there. My salad was good with broccoli and spinach? No other meal at the table looked good to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Super fast service, delicious food, flex ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Super fast service, delicious food, flexible about our change in reso time, and very friendly staff!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The gluten free chicken and waffles were ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The gluten free chicken and waffles were delicious! I'm still thinking about them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put, the macaroni was a let-down. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Simply put, the macaroni was a let-down. I truly thought it would be the highlight of the evening! I had the fried chicken and champagne salad and it did not strike me either. The service and atmosphere were impeccable, but I had huge hopes because of the restaurant's reputation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The taste of the waffle didn't correlate ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The taste of the waffle didn't correlate well with my chicken. My chicken was chewy and not hot, however, it was seasoned and tasted very good. I just couldn't eat it because it was chewy. It was my best friends birthday and she LOVES chicken and waffles, but was quite disappointed by the waffle. All in all, the atmosphere was great, but the food was a big disappointment. I feel I had wasted my money.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Love the food at Max's! Everything is al ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Love the food at Max's! Everything is always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great second visit

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This was my second visit to Max's and I am happy to say it was as good as my first visit. I started my meal with the excellent oyster appetizer (half order), complemented by a glass of Garreau Bordeaux Blanc that was recommended by my sever when I asked for a sauvignon blanc recommendation. Then I had the Max's Signature Burger, plus bacon, complemented by a glass of Mira Billa Rosso following tastings of three different wines offered by my server. My meal was excellent, my server did a nice job suggesting wines, and service was excellent. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great fried chicken and wine selection.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I had a very pleasant experience dining. They offer reasonable prices for wine. Dishes can be pricey if you choose. They also have dishes that are cheaper. Overall, the food was very good and the service was great. I would recommend to try.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The staff was helpful and very efficient. They were friendly and saw that I was served in a timely manner. Max's is a fun place for a casual meal.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A few changes could really make this place a star!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

While the sound level and some of our dishes were not what we wanted, we liked Max's and found the staff hospitable and our evening enjoyable.

I am old, but even my young niece and nephew felt the music was just too loud. It is a restaurant that seems to think making the place noisy will somehow bring a cool vibe, but they are wrong! It just seemed hectic.

We were seated promptly and our waiter, though busy, was friendly and attentive.

The food was good, but some of the dishes really needed an objective critique. The hummus appetizer was reasonably priced and tasty but the carrots were hard as a rock- a quick steam to soften them would allow them to still be used for dipping but not jarringly crunchy. The portabello mushroom entree was a single mushroom swimming in a quinoa grit type mixture that was too rich and really, just sorta gross. The ingredients for this should be re-configured so you don't feel like you're eating a bowl of cream with chunks of stuff in it.

The fried chicken and chicken fried steak were enjoyable and very hearty. The brussel sprouts - absolutely no criticism about them!

Our wine was reasonably priced also and delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Thank you for making our engagement special

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This past Thursday I proposed to my now fiance just moments before going to Max's Wine Dive. 3 years ago it was where we went on our first date, and I wanted to relive that magical moment. Earlier in the week when I made my reservation, I had requested the table we had on our first date. They had complied with no problem and were excited to be part of our special evening. We were greeted with champagne and couldn't have been nicer to us on our special day. As usual the food was amazing as we come here anyway to eat. But what was even nicer they said they actually remembered us. Thank you to the Staff, and management at Max's Wine Dive for making it such a special day for us.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a good place but puzzled by their ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

It was a good place but puzzled by their wine policy. It's a wine bar but would rather serve you wine that been open for 3 days than open a new bottle. 15 bucks for stale wine? Don't think so. If your drinking white than fine- but red- no one wants stale red wine. Food was good- tho chicken was dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The service was impeccable. Pilipe was a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The service was impeccable. Pilipe was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was fantastic. I had the scallops, a ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

It was fantastic. I had the scallops, and my husband had the fried chicken. Both were gluten free and great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was wonderful with a range of d ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was wonderful with a range of different items and reasonable prices. The wine and beer offerings were great. The weather was excellent for outside dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Julianne was amazing as a waitress! Supe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Julianne was amazing as a waitress! Super helpful and great menu advice upon request. We never waited for a refill. The food and specials were delicious!!! I'll be back the next time I'm in Austin!

Try the honey butter chicken biscuit for crunchy deliciousness that makes all other eggs Benedict sad and lonely. And I want to live deep inside a bowl of the sxsw.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique Menu, Good Wines, Fine Service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We like to say "Keep Austin Weird" and Max's wine dive fits right in! The unique menu offers choices of small and large plates so you can nibble or indulge while you savor delicious wines. The infamous mac and cheese with jalepeno and bacon is off-the-charts delicious - enjoy it with a Pinot Grigio!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Woah

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Was really surprised by the food. It Was beyond amazing. Great place to go with friends and love ones for a day or night out.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

ok food, poor service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Sat out on the nice patio and vibe and decor inside seemed contemporary. Food was pretty good, but service was poor. We had some crabby old man who when he wasn't ignoring us, was just generally unplesant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was good, service was bad.

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I've eaten at Max's many times. Normally, everything is great. Don't know what the issue was, but it took 40+ minutes for our food to get out. We could have asked our waitress about the delay, but she was no where to be found during that time, and didn't care at all when we brought the issue up. Also, one of my chicken breasts had been cooked so long that it was hard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Dining at Max's

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Early Saturday night dinner with friends before the show. The service was great . The waitstaff was very helpful in picking the wine for a group with different tastes. Large portion sizes and everyone was pleased with their dinner choices.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the selection was excellent and the service too

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

nice selection of food and appetizer. we just did a coupe of apps, salad and split an entrée. the service was outstanding!!!! nice wine selection and fair prices

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Max's is a great slice of Austin

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We had a family dinner at Max's thought the food was very good service was competent and the prices very reasonably. Their fried chicken sliders are outstanding as is the fired chicken dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Quick Lunch

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Had a quick lunch but was disappointed that shrimp and grits were not offered for lunch. Dining outside was a nice change of pace on a sunny day.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

For a GF gal, the fried chicken (GF) was a treat.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants while visiting Austin. The GF options were great, great wine selection, and the duck was the best I've ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place with good wine selection. Th ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Great place with good wine selection. The blue cheese butternut squash fondue with the warm bread and the Granny Smith apples is a Must Do with a great bottle of red wine!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Fried Egg Sandwich for Brunch. You will ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Fried Egg Sandwich for Brunch. You will love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.