Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Pasta da PulcinellaPasta da Pulcinella
(1776)
$$$$
Italian | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 30 times today
Lure - AtlantaLure - Atlanta
(1836)
$$$$
Seafood | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 49 times today
The FederalThe Federal
(172)
$$$$
Bistro | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 17 times today
Princi Italia - AtlantaPrinci Italia - Atlanta
(119)
$$$$
Italian | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 10 times today
TablaTabla
(315)
$$$$
Indian | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 19 times today
RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - AtlantaRA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Atlanta
(333)
$$$$
Sushi | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 18 times today
Ribalta ATLRibalta ATL
(134)
$$$$
Italian | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 2 times today
Saltwood – Charcuterie & BarSaltwood – Charcuterie & Bar
(104)
$$$$
Contemporary Southern | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 4 times today
Ri Ra Irish Pub - AtlantaRi Ra Irish Pub - Atlanta
(48)
$$$$
Irish | Midtown, Atlanta
South City Kitchen MidtownSouth City Kitchen Midtown
(4107)
$$$$
Southern | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 78 times today
STK - AtlantaSTK - Atlanta
(1397)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 53 times today
Oceanaire Seafood Room - AtlantaOceanaire Seafood Room - Atlanta
(2814)
$$$$
Seafood | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 25 times today
The Melting Pot - Midtown AtlantaThe Melting Pot - Midtown Atlanta
(1977)
$$$$
Fondue | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 34 times today
Einstein'sEinstein's
(1411)
$$$$
American | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 14 times today
Baraonda Ristorante & BarBaraonda Ristorante & Bar
(521)
$$$$
Italian | Midtown, Atlanta
Booked 13 times today

About MAX's Wine Dive Atlanta - 12th St. NE

MaxÕs Wine Dive Atlanta is a restaurant located in Georgia that specializes in Southern Ògourmet comfort food.Ó The American style restaurant also features a large selection of wine handpicked to be paired with the dishes.

The menu at MaxÕs Wine Dive Atlanta features a variety of appetizers, main dishes and sides. Appetizer options include fried lobster risotto, pulled pork stuffed piquillo peppers and chicken sliders. Main dishes at MaxÕs Wine Dive Atlanta include the restaurantÕs famous Southern fried chicken, Southern fried pork chop, pot roast and classic Salisbury steak. Diners at the restaurant are also given a variety of traditional Southern side items to choose from including collards, fries and grits.

77 12th St Ne
Suite 6B
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 11AM-11PM
Friday & Saturday: 11AM – 12AM
Brunch Saturday & Sunday: 11AM - 4PM
Lunch Monday - Friday: 11AM - 4PM

Cross Street:
Crescent Ave. NE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 249-0445

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/atlanta-12th-street/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street, and additional parking is located in the parking garage for building, which we will also validate. We will also have valet out in front of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
The nearest transit stop on Marta is the Midtown station and is 2 blocks from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Patric Bell Good

Private Party Facilities:
Love the food at MAX’s Wine Dive and planning a special event? Why not have the best of both? At your place or in ours, MAX’s Wine Dive can cater all kinds of private and corporate events.

Private Party Contact:
Events Team: (404) 249-0445

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Happy Hour, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Sort By:
S
117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 6, 2015

Now that the menu is totally focused on bar food, I will not return for a meal. Stopping by for a glass of wine is the only reason to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2015

no one approached us after we were shown to a table. I had to get up and go find someone. everything took forever, ordering, food to come out. it was miserable. they did comp our mimosas. we got there at 12:30 didn't leave until 2. they weren't crowded either

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 1, 2015

The staff meeting called in the dining room while our dinners sat on the stove should have been a clue. "Big changes" are coming we heard and were told. In the meantime, we were served tough overcooked chicken. Forget all the great reviews, the head chef has moved on and it shows. Stay away until they get their new act together!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 1, 2015

Kim our waitress was great! She offered great suggestions since it was out first time visiting Max's Wine Dive. Plan to visit again to try other items on the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 26, 2015

Provides validation and/or free parking in the adjoining parking deck- very helpful in crowded Midtown area. Very generous portions. The fried Egg sandwich is HUGE!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 25, 2015

The fried egg sandwich was delicious. The service was slower than I would have liked but I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 24, 2015

Southern fried chicken is outstanding, as is the pulled pork stuffed peppers.
Partner had a hamburger and thought that it was great.
Relaxed, fun place with excellent, friendly service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 19, 2015

I had been wanting to try Max's Wine Dive ever since I heard about it. I finally went this past weekend for brunch and was satisfied with my experience. I had the Fried Chicken plate. The chicken was to die for, but the potatoes and collard greens were average. I tried my boyfriend's French Toast, and it was outstanding. I would definitely order his dish again. I heard the Chicken & Waffles were delicious, as were the Crab Cakes Benedict. The restaurant was quite loud, too loud, even at 1:00 P.M. on a Sunday afternoon. I asked the waitress to turn down the volume, but I don't think it made much of a difference. I only recommend this restaurant for smaller groups, less than 6 people. Otherwise, you won't be able to hear each other. I'll definitely be coming back to try dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2015

My friend first brought me to this restaurant for lunch and I loved it so much that I brought my other friend for dinner. This restaurant is known for their amazing chicken and they are not lying. It's really yummy! My favorite to order on the menu is their chicken and champagne salad! My second favorite is to order their friend chicken. My friend ordered the fried egg sandwich and he loved his as well. This will now be my go to place. The only bad thing about this place is the parking but thank goodness they validate! If you decide to go please be sure to ask for Kendall as your waiter!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 3, 2015

This one is definitely a must visit. The food was great! Fried chicken wings had the best crust and the crab cakes were excellent!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2015

My friends and I frequent Max's, even when the lobster is out of season. This was our first time for brunch and it was just as fabulous!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 27, 2015

We came here at the beginning to my bachelorette party the other day. I wish I would have read that they only do brunch during the time we went though. Food options are a bit limited if you don't eat eggs or bread during this time. However, I got the gluten free fried chicken and it tasted just like "normal" fried chicken! Would definitely come back...just not during brunch hours!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 26, 2015

Had a coupon for lunch. However, the few people that were in there along with us may have experienced the long wait for getting waited on, the delivery of the food and the check. There was one wait staff so I don't recommend this place for lunch if you have an hour. It took us 1.5 hours and we went up and retrieved our bill and paid it while she was standing at the register.

The place is new, the food was good. They need to work out the kinks if they want to serve a lunch crowd. Once they do that, I would recommend dining there for lunch. Wine for dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 20, 2015

The fried chicken was the BEST I've had being in Atlanta for 15 years. I am thrilled to have found this place through Scoutmob. Spreading the word on this awesome new place through FB and Twitter!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 19, 2015

Food was awesome! I along with friends really enjoyed the service and the delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 13, 2015

If you LOVE succulent fried chicken paired with a few glasses of wine, look no further! This place is absolutely one of my favorites (after only 1 visit). The food was amazing, the service was top notch, and the grapefruit mimosas I had were affordable! I highly recommend the fried chicken (obviously) but I'm certain almost anything they prepare will be well worth it! Parking was also validated for 2 hours (which is a plus in Midtown).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 7, 2015

Had a great Sunday brunch with fine food, wine and we were able to bring our lap dog to sit in the outside area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 5, 2015

Their fried chicken, fish and chips, brussel sprouts, and drunken bread are all excellent.
The waiter was very attentive professional and knew the menu well including wines. The chef visited our table also and was very personable and knowledgeable. We have been there several times always very consistent food quality and service. Me chael and Patric are great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 2, 2015

What is their identity? It's not a dive and it's not a wine bar. The decor, atmosphere and food concept is a complete jumbled mess of different styles/themes. And the service was terrible and the food was slow. And their lunch rush was just a few tables.

I will say that the fried chicken was stellar. But my whole table was so overwhelmed with confusion that it turned us off from the restaurant.

My recommendation, start over. Build a menu and theme around the fried chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 29, 2015

Mac-n-Cheese and Fried Chicken were among the very best I've ever had. Neither my wife nor I were impressed with the gator dogs.

Portion sizes were big. You'll need a box.

Outdoor seating is fantastic early evening as it is completely shaded by the building. This makes outdoor dining pleasant even on a warm Atlanta evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 16, 2015

We went for brunch. Though we had reservations it took us an hour to be seated and our waiter was a little snippy, like he had a hard time finding that professional line. Granted, a lady at the table was rude, threatening his tip and what not, i would have loved to see him handle it more diplomatically. He just talked to much and forgot some food, given that we had been waiting a while, I would have like to have seen him turn the experience around. Food was a solid middle, good 3/5. The red velvet pancakes were memorable but too sweet to have as a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 16, 2015

Max's usually hits the spot however this particular Saturday things were very off. We waited over 10 mins for water another hour for food to be served and constant reminders from our group getting up to check to see what was going on. The manager never came over even after we requested attention. The upside to this is the server was empathic and we could tell there was friction going on in the kitchen. He did supply complimentry drinks. It would have been nice to have been acknowledged by the manager.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2015

We shared sliders, mac and cheese, fried chicken and more and every single thing we ordered was delicious! My favorite was the fried chicken.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 10, 2015

The food and ambiance was great. Our server was not very good though. She was not attentive and disappeared for a while. She also was not willing to check into our special request.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 2, 2015

When I found out Max's Wine Dive was a chain restaurant and my friend wanted to heard there for brunch I was skeptical. I instantly, thought it would be like a "better Ihop" and I wasn't going to be pleased. I was 100% wrong. The food was fresh, tasty, well seasoned. There were even rotating specials. It is great to bring parents who want something "different" but aren't adventurous foodies.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2015

This is regarding the visit on 4/30/15. I really enjoy Max's. This was the second time I had been there. Everything was great UNTIL we were charged for a glass of wine each that we did not request. We were teasing the server about free refills on wine. When he came back, he had two glasses of wine. We figured they were on the house since we didn't request them. When we saw we were charged $11 each for the wine, I asked him if we had ordered it. He said no, but he thought we wanted it. We paid for the wine, but we should not have been charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 19, 2015

Great menu and food carefully prepared and nicely presented. Had to try a few appetizers just because they were so tempting. Good stuff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2015

Reviews were high but we were disappointed. We went for brunch. For starters, it's not recommended for kids. We went with our baby and requested a high chair in the reservations and were given a high top table? They did make adjustments at our request when a table became available. The food took about 45 minutes to come out. Red velvet pancakes were average and the egg sandwich was good but messy and a little greasy. The mac n cheese was good, but not your traditional taste. There's no difference between the $3 and the $10 mimosa in flavor so go for the $3. Overall it was okay but not worth going back. The staff and the manager were very nice though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2015

My chicken biscuit was served with plastic on the chicken. The biscuit was a bit too thick for me, and it was served with gravy on top which I did not ask for. My first mimosa also came out warm, versus the second one came out cold. My server addressed the issue with the chicken and brought out fresh biscuits minus plastic attached.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2015

My absolute favorite brunch spot. Very cozy and intimate. Doesn't matter if you bring family, friends, or a date. This is a great place. I have also had dinner here and it's just as amazing. I definitely recommend this place to foodies. The staff are very professional and friendly. I would recommend to make reservations. A true gem. My favorite is the red velvet pancakes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2015

This was my third coming here, but first time trying the red velvet pancakes. I expected the pancakes to be a bit thicker like the creame brulee french toast, but it was on the thin side. They tasted okay...I've had better at other restaurants, but there's room for improvement for them to get better. And of course, the fried chicken was soooooo good!!! I'll for sure keep coming back for that!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 12, 2015

I was totally surprised and wasn't sure what to expect. The food!!!! OH MY! Creme Brûlée French toast sooooo good. And mimosas for $3...Brunch was amazing. The service was excellent and every employee smiled and greeted you. I loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 12, 2015

Food was very enjoyable. Drink service, having water refilled was very slow.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 11, 2015

The hoecakes & wings and collard greens are delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 5, 2015

The omelet was tasty if you like watered down sauce as your only accompaniment.. Not another thing on the plate......
Very disappointed as the Max's in Ft. Worth was a favorite. We went there several times a month. Don't think we will go back to this one any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 28, 2015

Pros: Service was great. Food was great.

Cons: Went with a group of four. Oddly we were seated at a high top table when the restaurant was only 1/4 full (we had early reservations and it filled up nicely later on) and there were plenty of larger four person tables available. Not a huge deal but with a sharable style appetizer menu, the table ended up being a little cramped. Also, I ordered a sandwich from the "large plate" section. Thinking it was a regular size sandwich and chips I also ordered with my entrée Max-N-Cheese, way to much food for one person. Waiter commented at end when I barely touched the mac-n-cheese that he wondered why I ordered both, would have been nice to be warned.

Will visit again next time I'm in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 28, 2015

This place is a hidden gem but has some of the best food in Midtown plus a great wine selection. The Blended Burger is one of the best burgers I've ever had, no lie. And I would never have expected to find it here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2015

I invited a large group of family and friends to join me for brunch while I was in town for a last minute visit to Atlanta. I made reservations with no problem at all. Everyone loved their food selections! Our server was great (very welcoming and he offered great menu suggestions)! I will definitely visit again :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 21, 2015

I do like Max's wine dive but I only come here occasionally because it is overpriced. The food is good, I heard they have a new chef and he changes up the menu with seasonal favorite. My favorite is the grilled cheese and tomato soup but it's a $15 grilled cheese sandwich. I think calling it a dive bar is misleading considering you're hard pressed to find a glass of wine under $12. I would come here a lot more if it were truly a neighborhood dive bar and not so overpriced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 15, 2015

I can't really comment on much other than brunch which was fantastic. The server was very friendly and helpful. Started with the sweet potato doughnuts - very tasty and fun. The crème brulee French toast was fantastic and the fried chicken and biscuit was yummy. The chicken was very crispy and juicy. I do have to say they are scrimpy on their syrup. They just gave you a small cup of it, really not enough for a syrup lover, but the server graciously offered to get us more.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.