HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

MAX's Wine Dive Atlanta - 12th St. NE

4.1
117 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Notable Wine List
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Great for Brunch

Similar Restaurants

About

MaxÕs Wine Dive Atlanta is a restaurant located in Georgia that specializes in Southern Ògourmet comfort food.Ó The American style restaurant also features a large selection of wine handpicked to be paired with the dishes.

The menu at MaxÕs Wine Dive Atlanta features a variety of appetizers, main dishes and sides. Appetizer options include fried lobster risotto, pulled pork stuffed piquillo peppers and chicken sliders. Main dishes at MaxÕs Wine Dive Atlanta include the restaurantÕs famous Southern fried chicken, Southern fried pork chop, pot roast and classic Salisbury steak. Diners at the restaurant are also given a variety of traditional Southern side items to choose from including collards, fries and grits.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday-Thursday: 11AM-11PM
Friday & Saturday: 11AM – 12AM
Brunch Saturday & Sunday: 11AM - 4PM
Lunch Monday - Friday: 11AM - 4PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(404) 249-0445
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Patric Bell Good
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Love the food at MAX’s Wine Dive and planning a special event? Why not have the best of both? At your place or in ours, MAX’s Wine Dive can cater all kinds of private and corporate events.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Events Team: (404) 249-0445
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Crescent Ave. NE
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available on the street, and additional parking is located in the parking garage for building, which we will also validate. We will also have valet out in front of our restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
The nearest transit stop on Marta is the Midtown station and is 2 blocks from the restaurant.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Happy Hour, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 117 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1  based on all time ratings
4.1
food
4.2
service
4.0
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipTimmidtowntim (Atlanta)
4.0  Dined on August 6, 2015

Now that the menu is totally focused on bar food, I will not return for a meal. Stopping by for a glass of wine is the only reason to go.

Report
Helpful
Leefa (Atlanta)
3.0  Dined on August 2, 2015

no one approached us after we were shown to a table. I had to get up and go find someone. everything took forever, ordering, food to come out. it was miserable. they did comp our mimosas. we got there at 12:30 didn't leave until 2. they weren't crowded either

Report
Helpful
AtlantaNewbie (Key West)
3.0  Dined on August 1, 2015

The staff meeting called in the dining room while our dinners sat on the stove should have been a clue. "Big changes" are coming we heard and were told. In the meantime, we were served tough overcooked chicken. Forget all the great reviews, the head chef has moved on and it shows. Stay away until they get their new act together!

Report
Helpful
JCee (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on August 1, 2015

Kim our waitress was great! She offered great suggestions since it was out first time visiting Max's Wine Dive. Plan to visit again to try other items on the menu.

Report
Helpful
BrunchLady (Atlanta)
3.0  Dined on July 26, 2015

Provides validation and/or free parking in the adjoining parking deck- very helpful in crowded Midtown area. Very generous portions. The fried Egg sandwich is HUGE!!!

Report
Helpful
Loves2Eat (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on July 25, 2015

The fried egg sandwich was delicious. The service was slower than I would have liked but I would return.

Report
Helpful
vipEdgarAllen (Atlanta)
4.0  Dined on July 24, 2015

Southern fried chicken is outstanding, as is the pulled pork stuffed peppers.
Partner had a hamburger and thought that it was great.
Relaxed, fun place with excellent, friendly service.

Report
Helpful
KelseyV (Atlanta)
4.0  Dined on July 19, 2015

I had been wanting to try Max's Wine Dive ever since I heard about it. I finally went this past weekend for brunch and was satisfied with my experience. I had the Fried Chicken plate. The chicken was to die for, but the potatoes and collard greens were average. I tried my boyfriend's French Toast, and it was outstanding. I would definitely order his dish again. I heard the Chicken & Waffles were delicious, as were the Crab Cakes Benedict. The restaurant was quite loud, too loud, even at 1:00 P.M. on a Sunday afternoon. I asked the waitress to turn down the volume, but I don't think it made much of a difference. I only recommend this restaurant for smaller groups, less than 6 people. Otherwise, you won't be able to hear each other. I'll definitely be coming back to try dinner.

Report
Helpful
Rozi (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on July 9, 2015

My friend first brought me to this restaurant for lunch and I loved it so much that I brought my other friend for dinner. This restaurant is known for their amazing chicken and they are not lying. It's really yummy! My favorite to order on the menu is their chicken and champagne salad! My second favorite is to order their friend chicken. My friend ordered the fried egg sandwich and he loved his as well. This will now be my go to place. The only bad thing about this place is the parking but thank goodness they validate! If you decide to go please be sure to ask for Kendall as your waiter!

Report
Helpful
Naladenyse (Atlanta)
4.0  Dined on July 3, 2015

This one is definitely a must visit. The food was great! Fried chicken wings had the best crust and the crab cakes were excellent!!!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on June 28, 2015

My friends and I frequent Max's, even when the lobster is out of season. This was our first time for brunch and it was just as fabulous!

Report
Helpful
vipTiffany (Charlotte)
4.0  Dined on June 27, 2015

We came here at the beginning to my bachelorette party the other day. I wish I would have read that they only do brunch during the time we went though. Food options are a bit limited if you don't eat eggs or bread during this time. However, I got the gluten free fried chicken and it tasted just like "normal" fried chicken! Would definitely come back...just not during brunch hours!

Report
Helpful
GTOGirl (Atlanta)
4.0  Dined on June 26, 2015

Had a coupon for lunch. However, the few people that were in there along with us may have experienced the long wait for getting waited on, the delivery of the food and the check. There was one wait staff so I don't recommend this place for lunch if you have an hour. It took us 1.5 hours and we went up and retrieved our bill and paid it while she was standing at the register.

The place is new, the food was good. They need to work out the kinks if they want to serve a lunch crowd. Once they do that, I would recommend dining there for lunch. Wine for dinner.

Report
Helpful
vipShar (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on June 20, 2015

The fried chicken was the BEST I've had being in Atlanta for 15 years. I am thrilled to have found this place through Scoutmob. Spreading the word on this awesome new place through FB and Twitter!

Report
Helpful
CraziChic (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on June 19, 2015

Food was awesome! I along with friends really enjoyed the service and the delicious food.

Report
Helpful
viprestaurantfanatic (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on June 13, 2015

If you LOVE succulent fried chicken paired with a few glasses of wine, look no further! This place is absolutely one of my favorites (after only 1 visit). The food was amazing, the service was top notch, and the grapefruit mimosas I had were affordable! I highly recommend the fried chicken (obviously) but I'm certain almost anything they prepare will be well worth it! Parking was also validated for 2 hours (which is a plus in Midtown).

Report
Helpful
vipJohnnyV (New Orleans)
4.0  Dined on June 7, 2015

Had a great Sunday brunch with fine food, wine and we were able to bring our lap dog to sit in the outside area.

Report
Helpful
vipNewMidtownRes (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on June 5, 2015

Their fried chicken, fish and chips, brussel sprouts, and drunken bread are all excellent.
The waiter was very attentive professional and knew the menu well including wines. The chef visited our table also and was very personable and knowledgeable. We have been there several times always very consistent food quality and service. Me chael and Patric are great.

Report
Helpful
AtlantaPerson (Atlanta)
2.0  Dined on June 2, 2015

What is their identity? It's not a dive and it's not a wine bar. The decor, atmosphere and food concept is a complete jumbled mess of different styles/themes. And the service was terrible and the food was slow. And their lunch rush was just a few tables.

I will say that the fried chicken was stellar. But my whole table was so overwhelmed with confusion that it turned us off from the restaurant.

My recommendation, start over. Build a menu and theme around the fried chicken.

Report
Helpful
Brodieman (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on May 29, 2015

Mac-n-Cheese and Fried Chicken were among the very best I've ever had. Neither my wife nor I were impressed with the gator dogs.

Portion sizes were big. You'll need a box.

Outdoor seating is fantastic early evening as it is completely shaded by the building. This makes outdoor dining pleasant even on a warm Atlanta evening.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6