About Max's on Broad

305 Brook Rd
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map


A new Belgian cuisine restaurant in downtown Richmond, Virginia.
Max’s on Broad serves food nonstop from 11 am until 10 pm daily, with a weekend brunch on Saturday and Sunday, 7 days a week. For Reservations Call : (804) 225-0400

FRESH SEAFOOD
STEAK FRITES
HORS D’OEUVRES
FRUITS DE MER
CRAFT COCKTAILS
FRENCH WINE
BELGIAN BEER

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am - 11 pm
Sunday 10 am - 10pm.

Brunch served Saturday and Sunday until 3 pm. Full menu all day long, straight through until close.

Cross Street:
Adams and Broad Street and Brook Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 225-0400

Website:
http://www.maxsonbroad.com/

Parking Details:
We also offer complementary valet parking all day, everyday.

Free Parking during both lunch and dinner can be found at Joe's Auto, on Marshall Street between Adams and 1st Streets on the north side of the street. Please stay to the left side of the free standing building.
Parking can also be found at the south west corner of Grace st. & N. Adams.

Executive Chef:
Tim Clinton

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Max's on Broad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

special occasion (136)
fit for foodies (130)
neighborhood gem (91)
See All
romantic (72)
good for groups (70)
great for lunch (59)
great for brunch (59)
hot spot (44)
scenic view (44)
notable wine list (36)
vibrant bar scene (23)
late-night find (15)
kid-friendly (9)
great for outdoor dining (7)
Sort By:
Newest
860 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My and I went for lunch on Monday becau ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 6 days ago

My and I went for lunch on Monday because of several positive past experiences. We were quite disappointed this time. The staff are friendly and the setting is attractive. My wife had mussels with frites, a past favorite, and I experimented with the croque maitresse also with fries. Each of us had a glass of their less expensive chardonnay (the one recommended was a pricey $13.50) which we had pretty much finished by time the food arrived although the restaurant was almost empty. The main problem that both dishes and the fries were so much salted that any flavor in the actual ingredients was lost and not at all enjoyable. It made us wonder whether the regular chef was away and a substitute did not taste his own effort. It also seemed that some items (octopus?) had disappeared from the menu. We ordered a third glass of wine to share which arrived after we had finished eating and were about to ask for the check when it finally appeared. We might give them one more chance in the hope that this was a passing glitch, but it did feel as if things weren't what they used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Our dinners were excellent with all four ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our dinners were excellent with all four of us ordering different entrees (mussels, lamb shank, grouper, and lobster pot pie) although the latter was reported to have had minimal lobster chunks. Unfortunately the service was so slow that we were not able to order dessert as we had theatre tickets for Virginia Rep. It seemed that we dropped from our waitress's radar as we had to remind her about several requests for items such as an extra wine glass.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food and service were outstanding. Cont ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. Continues to maintain the high quality in service and food we've come to expect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, great food....but wow WHERE ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great place, great food....but wow WHERE ARE THE BOOTHS?? I miss that!! They were comfortable and great for watching the weather out of the upstairs windows...Food was great. The waitstaff was great.

Fabulous oysters and pearls, great bread and the carpaccio was great.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Loved the food!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Loved the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The hostess was helpful finding me a tab ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The hostess was helpful finding me a table near an outlet so I could charge my phone. The food was very good, the staff was very friendly and professional. I also appreciated the valet parking.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We tried the restaurant for business lun ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We tried the restaurant for business lunch. We sat upstairs and found it easy to talk and be heard. The food was very good. Will definitely return to this charming place in the evening to try more of their menu and what looks like a great bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great as always!!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second dinner at Max's, and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was our second dinner at Max's, and we wondered if it would be a good as the first time, which we thought was great! The whole experience was outstanding in very way, including our waitress, Hannah. A little pricey, but well worth it for such great food, atmosphere, and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Walking from convention center, the neig ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Walking from convention center, the neighborhood is not attractive. Most stores are closed for business. It was a relief when we reach the restaurant. The restaurant is charming. Service and food is great. Would come again but not by foot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

fabulous from start to finish! Waiter wa ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

fabulous from start to finish! Waiter was prompt but not bothersome, food was amazing from appetizer to entree the dessert We'll be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had appetizers and salads before goin ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had appetizers and salads before going to the theater nearby. So convenient! The oysters and cheese plate were wonderful. Fruit and chutney accompanied a good assortment of cheeses. The Bibb lettuce salad was full of chunky lettuce and blue cheese. The best was the light, airy, and crusty bread. I wanted to take home a loaf!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were told Max's was awesome, so we tr ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were told Max's was awesome, so we trekked down to the city and were prepared to be impressed. For $150 with only 2 glasses of wine, you'd expected the food to be stellar. Alas, it was not so. My entree was cold when they set it down and everything was solid, but not awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great first time visit. Good meals for t ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great first time visit. Good meals for three of the four of us. The fourth's was just not the right temp, and should have gone back. Our server had a bit of trouble with mixing up wine for our table and another. But, we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Was looking for a perfect spot for a bus ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Was looking for a perfect spot for a business meal with new business partners. Was looking for something smart and interesting, with good food at an appropriate price point - not crazy expensive and not "cheap". I had not been to Max's on Broad. Read lots of reviews.

Exceeded my expectations by a mile. The corner is super interesting from a "neighborhood" perspective. The decor is gorgeous - "very Richmond." Reminded me of the first time I set foot in the Tobacco Company twenty years ago. Lots of iron, and exposed brick, warm wood and high ceilings. But a fresher, more modern more intimate take on the old Richmond look.

The food was fabulous. Two guests had the lobster pot pie and it was brilliant. Licked their plates. I had the Salad Nicoise, and it was perfect.

Service was impeccable. Attentive, prompt, warm and engaging.

LOVED IT. Will plan to return many times and recommend often!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and the service was o ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was excellent and the service was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place! Definitely recommend i ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Loved this place! Definitely recommend it to anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I go to Max's on Broad every time I atte ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I go to Max's on Broad every time I attend a play at the Va. Rep. Theatre. Their valet parking is such a convenience and I'm so glad that service is offered to theatre goers. The food and service at Max's is always excellent. It's a friendly, welcoming place to dine.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Belgian beer selection was impressiv ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The Belgian beer selection was impressive, and the mussels and pear and arugula salad were delicious. The ambiance was great, and our server was very attentive. Prices were a little high, but the food was good. I would go again for a special occasion or to try the less expensive lunch menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I thought the food was OK. I was there f ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I thought the food was OK. I was there for lunch and got the steak and frites. Frites were good and the steak I would say was about average or less than average.

Ordered a $70 bottle of wine and the server filled up my colleagues wine glass full and I said should I have a taste first? The server commented "Oh its good!" if you want to you can taste some.

Great atmosphere though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We took my husband's sister and husband ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We took my husband's sister and husband so they could see for themselves what all the fuss was about. We had a delicious meal - we all got one of the specials. For the appetizer, we ordered the mussels in a delicious wine sauce. After that we all ordered one of the specials. My sister-in-law and my husband both thought the salad came with the entree by the way the waitress phrased the question, "Would you like this salad or that salad with your entree?"

All in all we had a wonderful time, the waitress was attentive without hovering, and we didn't even notice the group of 20+ that came right after us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a nice restaurant with good food ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It was a nice restaurant with good food and service, but quite overpriced. If you don't mind paying too much, it's a good place to go. For the price I paid, I expected more food.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Went to Max's for our 19th wedding anniv ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Went to Max's for our 19th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful meal and excellent service. All the staff was great ! We will be going back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great. Only complaint is they di ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It was great. Only complaint is they did not accommodate our requests made when reserving.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Eat at Max's frequently for its good foo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Eat at Max's frequently for its good food and friendly service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat before catching a sho ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great place to eat before catching a show at Theater IV...even allowed us to valet park our car for the show.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Belgian and French tinged continen ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great Belgian and French tinged continental food. Highly recommend pre theater or just for a great group dinner

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Highly recommend this restaurant. Food w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Highly recommend this restaurant. Food was outstanding, from appetizer to bread to desert. Service was great and free valet parking is a nice touch. Will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good, service and atmosphere were really ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Good, service and atmosphere were really good. It seems to be very well managed and organized. Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was great and delicious! The ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Everything was great and delicious! The bread, escargo and local oysters with pearls were just perfect to start with. And the seared scallops and filet mignon outsanding. The service too! We enjoyed the atmosphere as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dinner and great ambience

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Delicious dinner and great ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch. They're menu has been u ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for brunch. They're menu has been updated but they didn't update it online. My daughter was looking forward to trying the chicken and waffles but they've discontinued.

My husbands salmon Benedict was cold. I had scrambled eggs and pancakes and that was fine.

Service was ok. Our waitress was a bit scatter brained but not bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Great brunch spot that also fills up qui ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great brunch spot that also fills up quickly, so be sure to make reservations. The service is outstanding. The ambiance is relaxing and pleasant with an upscale feel. The menu provides a range of options and everything is delicious. I would highly recommend the waffles!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was wonderful at Max's. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our experience was wonderful at Max's. The service was top shelf, with a waiter and staff who were prompt, professional, knowledgeable of the menu and fun. The food was delicious and the presentation was excellent. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic and the decor was enj ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was fantastic and the decor was enjoyable. One of the best steaks I have had in a while and the desserts were amazing... Service was prompt but not pushy. Would highly recommend this place. In my opinion, the food was much closer to what you eat in France than some other "French" restaurant in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Lovely meal! We really loved the Oysters ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Lovely meal! We really loved the Oysters Rockefeller!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the chef is fantastic but the service is ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

the chef is fantastic but the service is so lacking. we sat upstairs and there appeared to be someone in charge of the upstairs walking around checking with a few tables but not ours. we had used plates and drinks glasses on our table the entire meal until we finally asked if she could take the plates away. we ordered dessert which she stated would be 10 minutes it was more like 20 then it wasn't even warm any longer. If our main dishes wouldn't have been so fantastic and well prepared I would have asked for the manager.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Beautiful restaurant, delicious food, en ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, delicious food, enjoyable experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable service and food. Good va ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Very enjoyable service and food. Good value. Went on Sunday evening and was active and we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the dinner again! The food was ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Enjoyed the dinner again! The food was good and the service was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.