About Max's on Broad


A new Belgian cuisine restaurant in downtown Richmond, Virginia.
Max’s on Broad serves food nonstop from 11 am until 10 pm daily, with a weekend brunch on Saturday and Sunday, 7 days a week. For Reservations Call : (804) 225-0400

FRESH SEAFOOD
STEAK FRITES
HORS D’OEUVRES
FRUITS DE MER
CRAFT COCKTAILS
FRENCH WINE
BELGIAN BEER

305 Brook Rd
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian, French

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am - 11 pm
Sunday 10 am - 10pm.

Brunch served Saturday and Sunday until 3 pm. Full menu all day long, straight through until close.

Cross Street:
Adams and Broad Street and Brook Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 225-0400

Website:
http://www.maxsonbroad.com/

Parking Details:
We also offer complementary valet parking all day, everyday.

Free Parking during both lunch and dinner can be found at Joe's Auto, on Marshall Street between Adams and 1st Streets on the north side of the street. Please stay to the left side of the free standing building.
Parking can also be found at the south west corner of Grace st. & N. Adams.

Executive Chef:
Tim Clinton

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Max's on Broad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Good for a Date (53)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (41)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Romantic (38)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Great for Brunch (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Cozy (30)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Casual (21)
Business Meals (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Authentic (17)
Fun (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
People Watching (14)
Seasonal (14)
Scenic View (13)
Historic (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Great Beer (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1051 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food at Max's is well prepared, crea ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

The food at Max's is well prepared, creative and fairly consistent. The quality is above average for the metro area and is solidly good; a hit-or-miss now and then is acceptable in my book! The ambiance is a mix of urban cool and perhaps an upscale/classical European bistro. Quite nice - and return worthy.

The service, although not bad, but not up to the level of the food preparation. All staff are polite, attentive and well spoken. The breakdown is in the training and performance standards and expectations of the management. The staff appear to be too busy; therefore the time between their table-side "appearances" is quite lengthy. There is neither training nor encouragement for the staff to change or replace silverware between courses nor to clear the table from crumbs, spills or other messes.

Bring up the service and Max's will earn closer to a solid 4/5 star rating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Excellent experience! Looking forward t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent experience! Looking forward to returing soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall I will give it 4 stars; 1 for a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall I will give it 4 stars; 1 for ambiance, 1 for service, 1 for the starters, and 1 for my meal (braised short ribs) - my wife's meal was no star. She ordered the Lobster Pot Pie, which sounds great and in your mind it tastes great, however it comes to you more as a lobster bisque with a piece of puff pastry on the side. The flavor was good, however the consistency of a soup made using a fork a challenge, and the lobster was something one would except from Red Lobster, not a high end restaurant (there was one piece of claw meat and two other smaller pieces, hardly worth $28). All in all it was ok, I may try it again, but with the growing number of good establishments in RVA it may be a while.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great atmosphere, but not overly impress ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Great atmosphere, but not overly impressed by the food. It was good food, just not great. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic Belgian cuisine, beer & wine l ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Fantastic Belgian cuisine, beer & wine list, fine whiskeys, ports, cordials and desserts

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Consistently on the mark with very good ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Consistently on the mark with very good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our first trip to Max's. Brunch on New Y ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our first trip to Max's. Brunch on New Year's Day. The food was great and they had the best coffee I've had in a long time. Very professional wait staff and the manager was extremely friendly. We will return soon to try dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

New Year's Day brunch.....food was outst ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Day brunch.....food was outstanding and service was OK except for long wait for dessert and coffee. Tables are very close and noise level was high. Decor reminds one of a European cafe......just disliked the steep stairs to main dining area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Great brunch menu. Everyone in our part ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great brunch menu. Everyone in our party had great food and the prices are very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for New Years and overall, had a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for New Years and overall, had a blast! The service was on point, the drinks were fantastic, and the ambience was idyllic. The food was less than stellar- I would suggest more gravy for the poutine and more liquid for the french onion soup (just my 2 cents). I've been going to Max's since they opened and until service goes south, I'll more than likely continue my patronage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

I reserved a table 6 weeks prior to NYE. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I reserved a table 6 weeks prior to NYE. We had to wait 15 min after arrival for my table, which I could live with since it's a very busy nite for good restaurants. But we were (finally) seated - next to the bathroom which had a nonstop line the entire dinner. The server basically ignored us the entire evening. Really soured my experience here, a shame as the food was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

Fantastic! Have already recommended it! ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic! Have already recommended it!! Service was great. (Franklin). And Liz was extremely pleasant and very accommodating when the table area got very cool! Dining experience and food was well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is always good! The staf ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This restaurant is always good! The staff is friendly and very accommodating. My husband and I went for New Year's at 6:30p and it was packed. It felt as if they stuffed seating any and everywhere they could to accommodate as many people which made it a lot less intimate for a special occasion. The food is consistent and I would definitely go back but just not for an intimate date night...

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We took a friend of ours for an early Ne ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We took a friend of ours for an early New Year's Eve dinner. Other then being a little noisy, the entire evening was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

New Year's Eve

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Friendly staff and complimentary valet p ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Friendly staff and complimentary valet parking set this charming establishment apart from the pack. The food and cocktails were excellent. The bread was fantastic. Good bread, good drinks, and hassle-free parking in the city...who could ask for more?

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very impressed with the decor/ambience. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very impressed with the decor/ambience. The location is outstanding for "play going"

Look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious, the ambiance was rom ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was delicious, the ambiance was romantic, great service, excellent menu options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was friendly, attentive, per ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The service was friendly, attentive, personable, and all of the food and cocktails were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to celebrate your birthday! ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great place to celebrate your birthday! Our server was attentive and friendly. We had a great time!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit. French inspired, great foi ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Second visit. French inspired, great foie gras , soup du jour. my husband had mahi mahi with lobster sauce and crab topping- outstanding flavor and texture. Good reasonably priced wines. Wait staff was only negative- surly but efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

First time here and it did not disappoin ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

First time here and it did not disappoint, everything was awesome!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My second visit to Max's which confirmed ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My second visit to Max's which confirmed my first impression of OK not great. The service was spotty which our waitress disappearing at times for too long. The food was disappointing lobster pot pie had very little lobster mostly vegetables and gravy. The short ribs were OK not much to them when the bone was removed but tasted good. Brussels sprouts were bland and undercooked. My guest had the tenderloin and said it was good and cooked perfect medium rare. With al the restaurant options in Richmond we will not be returning for a mediocre meal and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Service was great

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place! The food was EXCELLENT!!! ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great place! The food was EXCELLENT!!! Definitely going back.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Max's always delivers. The oysters are f ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Max's always delivers. The oysters are fresh and delicious. Variety of wine choices. Foie grais is amazing. Perfect business lunch spot too.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience at Max's was really. Ice. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our experience at Max's was really. Ice. Our server was knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the menu. He recommended the escargot appetizer, which we had never had before. It was so good, as was the putine. The wine list is extensive. The atmosphere was perfect for a date night. Overall, we had exactly the special experience we had hoped for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Initially it was a bit difficult due to ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Initially it was a bit difficult due to noise and our table location, but after speaking with the manager they put us at a great table. The server was charming and the food, as always, was excellent. Great recovery and overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Used to have great tomato topping for th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Used to have great tomato topping for their bread. Dont understand why they stopped that. Steak was tough and frites were cold, sparse, and soft. Sad to see a place I so loved change this way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great food and service once again.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great food and service once again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Would recommend to everyone. Waitress wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Would recommend to everyone. Waitress was great and food awesome

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

After waiting for a table for 25 minutes ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

After waiting for a table for 25 minutes, we left just before 7pm... after informing the staff person in charge we couldn't wait any longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The restaurant was packed on Christmas E ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The restaurant was packed on Christmas Eve, but it had no negative impact on the food or service. Food was very delicious and the service was excellent! So glad we went there to enjoy a wonderful meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a reservation at 6:15. Finally at ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a reservation at 6:15. Finally at our table by 6:50. The food was excellent. The veal jus was delicious on the short ribs. My husband had the lobster pot pie and my sister in law got the oysters. Sil never got her salad.

It was Christmas Eve so I think it was just too busy for good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value4

Christmas Eve brunch

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Skip the entrees and order the pretzel.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Skip the entrees and order the pretzel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We loved Max's - our waiter Benjamin was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We loved Max's - our waiter Benjamin was divine & the fish sticks were the best. Wink wink.😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Max's is always a reliable pick for any ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Max's is always a reliable pick for any occasion. This time one of our meals was a bit off (beef was dry) but the server and manager were very accommodating and removed it from the bill. You can't bat 100% all the time so they handled it very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is great in this place! Our fav ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food is great in this place! Our favorite restaurant in Richmond. Great wine and cocktail selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant for entertaining visito ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great restaurant for entertaining visitors! Nice eclectic menu. Great beers both local & European! Service was stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.