About Max's on Broad

305 Brook Rd
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map


A new Belgian cuisine restaurant in downtown Richmond, Virginia.
Max’s on Broad serves food nonstop from 11 am until 10 pm daily, with a weekend brunch on Saturday and Sunday, 7 days a week. For Reservations Call : (804) 225-0400

FRESH SEAFOOD
STEAK FRITES
HORS D’OEUVRES
FRUITS DE MER
CRAFT COCKTAILS
FRENCH WINE
BELGIAN BEER

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian, French

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am - 11 pm
Sunday 10 am - 10pm.

Brunch served Saturday and Sunday until 3 pm. Full menu all day long, straight through until close.

Cross Street:
Adams and Broad Street and Brook Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 225-0400

Website:
http://www.maxsonbroad.com/

Parking Details:
We also offer complementary valet parking all day, everyday.

Free Parking during both lunch and dinner can be found at Joe's Auto, on Marshall Street between Adams and 1st Streets on the north side of the street. Please stay to the left side of the free standing building.
Parking can also be found at the south west corner of Grace st. & N. Adams.

Executive Chef:
Tim Clinton

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Open this Christmas Eve until late. Make your special holiday evening stress-free with dine in, delivery or home catering.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Come watch the ball drop with us! Open late w/ our full menu available for this special holiday. Complimentary bubbly at midnight w/ noisemakers, hats and more festive surprises.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Max's on Broad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Virginia
Most Booked
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Special Occasion (73)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
See All
Good for a Date (41)
Romantic (38)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Great for Brunch (34)
Good for Groups (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Cozy (20)
Scenic View (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Casual (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Business Meals (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Authentic (13)
People Watching (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Historic (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Fun (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Seasonal (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great Beer (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
977 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Main courses were late arriving and not ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Main courses were late arriving and not hot when delivered. Taste was OK but not in line with expectations or cost.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Don't get the Short Ribs. Muscles were ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Don't get the Short Ribs. Muscles weren't good. Salad was so-so. Very disappointing. Not very hip. Skewed to an older crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great dinner Wounderful evening and goo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great dinner

Wounderful evening and good value only one thing missing no leftover. But no clean up as well. I just might order a dinner to go to resolve the leftover issue. Over all great job thanks.

ThomC

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving 2:30pm~ we arrived and left ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving 2:30pm~ we arrived and left our car with the three valet's. They were most attentive and polite. We were immediately seated with all the right pleasantries. The waitress was forgetful, but probably due to the holiday rush. Love the menu, wine and drink list and the ambiance. If you don't eat bread, you must, we buy it from them to take to friends and neighbors. Love going in the summer when they can open the upstairs sliding windows. We highly recommend going to Max's and will return again, as always.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We enjoyed the Thanksgiving dinner. Desp ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoyed the Thanksgiving dinner. Despite how busy the restaurant was, the service and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went for Sunday Brunch. Ev ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I went for Sunday Brunch. Everything from the complimentary valet parking to the hostess, waiter, and food was excellent. Probably half a dozen staff greeted us on the way in as well as when were leaving they thanked us for coming! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed it again! Went for a great brunc ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Enjoyed it again! Went for a great brunch with our kids. It was plenty of food for them. The french toast was fantastic!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I was very excited to go to Max's with f ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I was very excited to go to Max's with friends and my french husband for the french-influenced menu. Unfortunately, I found it a little on the greasy and heavy side. Yes, the steak/frites and the duck breast aren't the lightest things on the menu, but the green beans were drenched in oil/butter. Price - taste - quality of food 3 out of 5 stars. It was all delicious but but nothing extraordinary. The upsides, we sat upstairs and had a lovely meal with our friends, we could actually hear each other. Wine was delicious, hearty size portions in dinner and deserts were good. The flourless chocolate cake was very rich.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food, attentive service.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food, attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the atmosphere, lots of wood and w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Loved the atmosphere, lots of wood and windows. Good service, very good food. We enjoyed our lunch a lot and would definitely go back

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Max's is a nice place. The food was goo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Max's is a nice place. The food was good, but the service not so much. Our waitress was great, but the kitchen and bar were slow. If you have the time to sit, then it is worth the time. If you are on a schedule, pick some place else!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our food was great. We went for brunch ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our food was great. We went for brunch recently to celebrate our anniversary. I would definitely go back and would like to return when the construction is finished in front of the restaurant. The view was not very pleasant but will be once the memorial is completed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The food and ambiance was fantastic. I ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food and ambiance was fantastic. I had the filet and it was cooked perfectly (medium rare). And the Moscow mule wasn't made with an overpowering flavor of ginger -- just how I like it. Highly recommend. The only downside is there is, literally, ONE stall for the men and women's restrooms. Oh, and they are only upstairs....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We met old friends in Richmond for lunch ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We met old friends in Richmond for lunch.... although it actually turned out to be a brunch menu. Not a problem but didn't expect brunch on Saturday.

Our reservation was on record and we were seated promptly at a nice table, upstairs. The decor of the old building is beautiful. The bar downstairs is a show piece. The beer and wine list is extensive and reasonably priced.

Service was absolutely excellent. Our server was courteous and very familiar with the menu and helpful with questions. The meal was served promptly.... and was still hot.

All items on the menu were interesting and the dishes we ordered were all excellent. I would recommend Max's to anyone! We had a "fun" time!

Tags: Cozy, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was very slow and we were not to ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was very slow and we were not told that there were specials. We realized that when a different waiter told the table next to us. It took 25 minutes to have a bottle of wine brought to the table. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

I was not impressed with Max's. We call ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I was not impressed with Max's. We called the restaurant to check on parking, stating I was from out of town and not familiar with the restaurant and area. Told we have Valet Parking, so thought no problem. After arriving and going around the block three times , there was major construction in front of the restaurant and no way to get close to it. After circling the restaurant we called the restaurant and they told us look for the orange umbrella on Adams, why didn't they tell us on the first call?

The food was Ok, not great, definitely not worth the effort and then to disappoint me again I went outside and found my car valet park on the street and UNLOCKED!!!!! Never Again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I was disappointed that the oyster/potat ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I was disappointed that the oyster/potato/bacon/onion appetizer had been removed from the menu...; in fact, I went for that item, in particular....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

Love this restaurant, especially on pret ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Love this restaurant, especially on pretty days when the weather is warm enough to open the windows on the second floor!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Max's never disappoints. From appetizers ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Max's never disappoints. From appetizers and wine/beer list to main courses and dessert, everything is top-notch.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat on the first floor, which is quie ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We sat on the first floor, which is quieter than upstairs. I was pleased we could get served quickly as we were a bit rushed to get to the ballet. It took a few minutes for a server to come to our table, but once she did and we told her our time frame she was terrific - brought the check with our meals before we asked for that! Definitely will return when we have more time to relax and enjoy. The scrambled eggs with salmon and goat cheese were wonderful. The side of potatoes were crispy and not the least bit greasy.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome place ! The staff was attentiv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Awesome place ! The staff was attentive and food delicious!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Max's has a solid menu, with plenty of o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Max's has a solid menu, with plenty of options to suit a variety of tastes, without being overwhelming. Our entrees included the roast duck breasts and rack of lamb. Both were nicely prepared and well proportioned in terms of the overall plate. Cocktails were good and did not seem any more expensive than what is typical. Wine list is good, again without being overbearing. If there is any downside, it is the number of tables...a lot. This translates into a lot of wait staff and high traffic. Also, thought our waitress was not as well versed on the menu as would be expected.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I decided to take my Mom to Max's while ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I decided to take my Mom to Max's while she was in town. We had one of the best dining experiences I've ever had in the city. The food was excellent, and the service truly commendable. I would absolutely recommend the Waterzooi, and if at all possible, ask to be seated upstairs.

Do take the time to have a dinner at Max's. A reservation at 5:00 on Saturday worked very well for us. The restaurant was quiet before the dinner rush and we got out with plenty of time to go see a movie before the evening was over.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were both amazing. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food and service were both amazing. Loved the warm muffins they brought out before the food was served and our waiter even gave us extra to go. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Max's is our go-to place for ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 4, 2016

As always, Max's is our go-to place for "date nights".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great place for a great dinner. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Always a great place for a great dinner. Good food, Good wine and great service!

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and excellent service. W ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. Would recommend to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I took my parents to Max's without even ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I took my parents to Max's without even knowing it was restaurant week, and we were pleasantly surprised by the Prix Fixe menu. We all enjoyed our food and thought the space was beautifully decorated with wonderful ambience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious food (as expected), and attent ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Delicious food (as expected), and attentive and professional waiter. But the noise level continues to be a big problem. At times, I could not hear what my friend was saying! They need to look into better soundproofing or space tables a bit farther apart, or even raise their prices to discourage loud and boisterous customers. But perhaps "loud and boisterous" is what they're aiming for ...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our first time at Max's. Servic ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our first time at Max's. Service was outstanding, atmosphere very comfortable, food well prepared and hearty, and our wine was excellent. We were very pleased.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Felt like we were back in Paris. Super ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Felt like we were back in Paris. Super lunch and excellent wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made a reservation so we wouldn't hav ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We made a reservation so we wouldn't have to wait an absorbent amount of time, but that didn't help us. Food was okay. Loud restaurant and crowded in the front area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food served was creative and excelle ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food served was creative and excellent. The service was attentive and superior. Portions were filling.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went here for our anniversary, were s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We went here for our anniversary, were seated upstairs next to the windows so had a wonderful view. The food was just amazing, highly recommend the Pork Osso Bucco, was absolutely amazing, and so was my husband's salmon. Our server left a little to be desired, dessert took almost 30 minutes to get to us and it was a part of the restaurant week menu so something must have gone wrong (or got forgotten) since other tables were getting theirs as we waited. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We enjoyed Max's on Broad and will go ba ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We enjoyed Max's on Broad and will go back. However, the vegetable pave was very disappointing and I would not order it again. The atmosphere is lovely and our service was good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely delightful!!! Restaurant wee ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Absolutely delightful!!! Restaurant week, so they were extremely busy; however, service was wonderful. Food was terrific. My entree was slightly varied, due to food allergy, and was still terrific. The waiter even added veges to my dish since it looked so "drab." Plus a bit of freshly grated cheese-how could I possibly complain. It was great!

Will definitely return for a quiet dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sincerely disappointed in what promised ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Sincerely disappointed in what promised to be an outstanding dining experience--- starting with service which was well below par; food that may have been delicious if they hadn't run out -- yes, they ran out of one of the three major entries offered on this third day of restaurant week-- wow; who mismanages the essentials so poorly... then; as we reluctantly selected an entree that we felt was a reasonable substitute, we were then amazed to discover an upcharge for the entree. Service was disappointing... almost 20 minutes to deliver a clean fork; open the wine and rude reaching to fill water and clear dishes.... we won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We were there for restaurant week food w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We were there for restaurant week food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We went for restaurant week & had a love ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We went for restaurant week & had a lovely dinner. The service is excellent & even while filled to capacity the food was delivered hot & well prepared.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Was there for Restauarant Week but will ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Was there for Restauarant Week but will definitely go back. Lobster pot pie was outstanding.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.