About Max's on Broad

305 Brook Rd
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map


A new Belgian cuisine restaurant in downtown Richmond, Virginia.
Max’s on Broad serves food nonstop from 11 am until 10 pm daily, with a weekend brunch on Saturday and Sunday, 7 days a week. For Reservations Call : (804) 225-0400

FRESH SEAFOOD
STEAK FRITES
HORS D’OEUVRES
FRUITS DE MER
CRAFT COCKTAILS
FRENCH WINE
BELGIAN BEER

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian, French

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am - 11 pm
Sunday 10 am - 10pm.

Brunch served Saturday and Sunday until 3 pm. Full menu all day long, straight through until close.

Cross Street:
Adams and Broad Street and Brook Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 225-0400

Website:
http://www.maxsonbroad.com/

Parking Details:
We also offer complementary valet parking all day, everyday.

Free Parking during both lunch and dinner can be found at Joe's Auto, on Marshall Street between Adams and 1st Streets on the north side of the street. Please stay to the left side of the free standing building.
Parking can also be found at the south west corner of Grace st. & N. Adams.

Executive Chef:
Tim Clinton

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Max's on Broad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Special Occasion (116)
Fit for Foodies (107)
Neighborhood Gem (78)
See All
Good for Groups (64)
Romantic (57)
Great for Lunch (53)
Great for Brunch (49)
Hot Spot (38)
Notable Wine List (32)
Scenic View (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Late-night Find (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
885 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was amazing and the atmosphere was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was amazing and the atmosphere was fantastic. Definitely a great choice for more upscale dining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Service Is always great and everyone lov ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Service Is always great and everyone loves the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful experience. Russell ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always a wonderful experience.

Russell and the whole staff alway make you feel welcome and bend over backwards to ensure you enjoy yourself!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When I tell you this had to be one of th ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

When I tell you this had to be one of the worst experiences I've ever had at a restaurant. Our reservation was at 6:15. Our waiter took our drink orders and that was fine. He came back and we placed our orders. The salads and appetizers came quick and the bread was great. Then we sat and we sat and we sat. Finally at 7:45 we asked to speak to a manager. We told him that we had been waiting quite a long time for our food. He really didn't seem to care. Finally our food came after 8:00. My mussels and fries were cold. They did bring me new fries. My friend's steak was covered in sauce. She had to scrape most of it off. She asked for butter for her mashed potatoes. They were so cold that the butter never melted. My husband and a friend ordered the skirt steak and after about 20 minutes they were told that they were out of it. The whole meal was a total train wreck. Food was cold, service wasn't great and the manager didn't seem to care. Because I made a lot of noise about it (letting them know that a free dessert was not acceptable) they did comp our entrees. That was a nice thing to do but no one should be waiting for their food for 2 hours. I will never go back there unless they totally change their attitude. Sooooo not impressed. It's too bad because it's in a great location and it's quite beautiful, I have no problem telling others not to go back either😟. We didn't walk out of there until 8:45. This is totally unacceptable!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

We luckily found Max's within a short wa ...

vip
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We luckily found Max's within a short walk from our hotel. What a wonderful surprise. From the gracious hostess to the charming, helpful waitstaff, we loved everything. Great oysters, terrific carpaccio and a perfect cheese plate. And don't forget the signature drinks. We will return on our next visit to Richmond.

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was not that great, especially ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was not that great, especially for the price. A disapointment to us. I had roasted chicken thighs and my husband had the mussels. Neither were very good. We were moving our daughter in to VCU this weekend, and wanted to have a nice dinner with her. Fortunately, she enjoyed her meal. She had ceasar salad with chicken.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Max's on Broad is always a favorite for ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Max's on Broad is always a favorite for a romantic night out or to show off our city's fantastic fine dining scene to friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Max's on Broad never disappoints me! I c ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Max's on Broad never disappoints me! I can stop by for a quick sandwich or salad or take out of town guests to wow them about Richmond's foodie scene. In every case, I get delicious, inventive food in a classy, almost European atmosphere with friendly staff eager to make each occasion special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We requested a second floor table on Ope ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We requested a second floor table on Open Table three days out - When we arrived the second floor was booked with a party - no advance warning that we could not be seated on second floor. The food is so over priced we had a salad and left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

I love the windows and the view. The foo ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I love the windows and the view. The food is fabulous and the waitstaff is young, laid back and very attentive. The cocktails are great..and the seafood is amazing. The desserts are not to be missed but very rich. One of my favorites in downtown.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A pleasing atmosphere, solid menu, excel ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

A pleasing atmosphere, solid menu, excellent preparation, great service AND, they even park your car! What more could you ask?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time at Max's on Broad. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was our first time at Max's on Broad. It was our anniversary and I put that in the reservation and asked for a romantic table. I don't think they received the notice. Our table was fine, but not romantic at all. The service was very good but it missed some of the details you usually get at high end places. For example, we ordered a bottle of rose wine. It was not super expensive but $50+. They brought it to the table and poured our glasses,. but didn't put the rest of the bottle in anything to keep it cold. By the time we finished the bottle, it was not as cold as I would like it to have been. Just the little things that you expect when you spend $200 for a dinner for two. The food was fresh and tasty. The portions were about average. Not as large as some of the reviews I read suggested. We actually left after our entrees and went to another restaurant for after dinner drinks and dessert because we were not impressed with what we had received at Max's on Broad. I cancelled a reservation at Ruth's Chris, because I wanted to try something downtown and Max's had the best reviews. It was by no means a bad experience, I just won't cancel my reservation at Ruth's Chris again. There is a big gap between the two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Max's is our go-to place for a reliably ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Max's is our go-to place for a reliably good experience. Our recent visit when entertaining out-of -town friends did not disappoint.

We started our evening off with drinks in the Quirk hotel lobby and roof deck. It was a beautiful day and set the tone for impressing visitors.

We continued with dinner at Max's. We shared a plates of meat and cheese to start and found a lovely inexpensive bottle of wine from the extensive list.

Entrees included the short ribs, lobster pot pie and filet topped with crab. Everyone enjoyed their choices. Our server was efficient, friendly and knowledgeable.

The cuisine at Max's isn't on the cutting edge of richmond's culinary scene. But it's consistently good--a feat few restaurants achieve. The variety of the menu ensures something for everyone while staying true to the restaurant's identity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First visit. My lamb was wonderful my h ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

First visit. My lamb was wonderful my husband's fish was better. The bread was perfection with tomato dipping sauce. We were very pleased with our experience. Our waiter was attentive without hovering. We will definitely go to Max's again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were celebrating our an ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary. The half-price oysters were only available at the bar, which was disappointing. Why should it matter? We split the arugula and pear salad. It was quite good. My husband had the rack of lamb with the thinnest four chops that I've ever seen. It was over a broth with fava beans and tomatoes. He doesn't like fava beans but they would not substitute something else, so the dish was overall very disappointing. The lamb chops were tasty, but skimpy. I had the lobster pot pie. The flavor of the "filling" was good with nice chunks of lobster but it was not a pot pie. There was a soggy piece of dough on the bottom, the broth, vegetable and lobster filling was over top, and a tough rectangle of some type of dough laid on top. Another disappointment. Dessert was excellent. We had the apple streusel, which is worth the wait, and the flourless chocolate cake which is a chocoholic's delight. I've been there before and the food was better. It's like they're trying to be too neuveau and chic with the menu and missed the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Our experience at Max's on Broad was won ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our experience at Max's on Broad was wonderful. We went for a late dinner on a Sunday evening to celebrate a birthday. The waitstaff was attentive and helpful. We indulged in the cheese plate as a part of our meal and our server gave us a nice description of what was on the platter; they also brought us extra bread and dipping oil which was excellent. Both summer cocktails picked by our table were delightful - the framboise noire was spectacular. We had the Waterzooi (amberfish was the COTD), the gnocchi, and the duck. Everything was absolutely delicious! The only complaint was that the mashed potatoes served with the duck was ever so slightly beneath temperature but it was a minor complaint - the duck was ordered medium and cooked appropriately. The sauce in the Waterzooi was divine; take the server up on his offer for more bread to dip in it because you will want it! We ordered a creme brulee to share and we all enjoyed that as well. Overall, we had a wonderful meal, plan to keep Max's in mind for other occasions, and will recommend Max's to friends!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I made a special request and they were v ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I made a special request and they were very accommodating about it. My only complaint: THEY RAN OUT OF THE CREME BRULEE!!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were excellent! Waitre ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food and service were excellent! Waitress was very attentive. We had shrimp cocktail (cool presentation), steak frites with egg (HUGE steak, perfectly cooked) and duck breast (tender and yummy!).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed in the experience at Max's. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Disappointed in the experience at Max's. My wife and I went there to celebrate our anniversary. Food was good, but overpriced and not comparable to other restaurants in Richmond. It felt very touristy and rushed. The restaurant was busy and tables were poorly laid out, we felt in the way of the staff who were constantly running back and forth. It felt hectic and not at all relaxing. At one point a server ran into another server and spilled water on my wife. The place wasn't bad, but wasn't what we hoped for particularly for the price.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

A lovely restaurant - the bartender was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A lovely restaurant - the bartender was welcoming as we waited a few minutes for our table. He was knowledgeable about his wine and specialty drinks - even customized a drink for my daughter-in-law.

Our server was wonderful and excellently prepared to explain the food. She was a big help in deciding what to choose.

My only complaint, is not really a complaint as a food preference - the menu was a bit limited for those who are allergic to all seafood. But, other than that - our meal and experience was very memorable.

We will be back and I will recommend to my friends.

Thank your a wonderful evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply amazing.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Simply amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A nice relaxed meal. Great service with ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A nice relaxed meal. Great service with very attentive staff who rotated through and supported each other. All nicely presented. Food was excellent with a special highlight of retired plates so the last forkful was still hot, just as it should but is so often not. A big seller for me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We joined another couple here for brunc ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We joined another couple here for brunch before a matinee at Va Rep Theater. We each thought the food was fantastic. Our waiter was great - it was my birthday so he made a drink recommendation - something like Sunrise Solstice - it was beautiful with a flower in the glass and excellent combination of ingredients. We definitely will come back. Love that they have valet parking - that makes it convenient since I so seldom parallel park it takes me forever!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I chose Max on Broad to celebrate our d ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I chose Max on Broad to celebrate our daughter's 46th birthday. She is in the food and wine business and lives in California and is used to fine dining. Max on Broad did not disappoint my expectations of being special place. Our dinner was delicious and service was very professional. The restaurant even surprised her with a delicious slice of chocolate pie, complete with a birthday candle. A nice extra touch. I highly recommend Max on Broad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally we love Max's. We were heading ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Normally we love Max's. We were heading home from a weekend at the beach on Monday 7/25th and decided to have a nice dinner. Our host and servers were great, but the drinks and entrees were less than expected. I ordered an Arnold Palmer with vodka....it was served to me 3/4's full and not a taste of vodka. The server was sharp though....she topped it off with iced tea and I had a nice tall cool drink.

Monday night.....should know better to not have "fresh fish" on a Monday. Clearly they did not get a fish delivery that day. The rockfish while not bad was just not good and at $32.00 or so I expect greater than just ehh. I had the chicken thighs in capers/olives....just a tasteless entree. Our bacon wrapped scallops were fabulous and we should have stopped there.

Sorry to say with so many other choices in our great city we probably will not be back for a while.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

My and I went for lunch on Monday becau ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

My and I went for lunch on Monday because of several positive past experiences. We were quite disappointed this time. The staff are friendly and the setting is attractive. My wife had mussels with frites, a past favorite, and I experimented with the croque maitresse also with fries. Each of us had a glass of their less expensive chardonnay (the one recommended was a pricey $13.50) which we had pretty much finished by time the food arrived although the restaurant was almost empty. The main problem that both dishes and the fries were so much salted that any flavor in the actual ingredients was lost and not at all enjoyable. It made us wonder whether the regular chef was away and a substitute did not taste his own effort. It also seemed that some items (octopus?) had disappeared from the menu. We ordered a third glass of wine to share which arrived after we had finished eating and were about to ask for the check when it finally appeared. We might give them one more chance in the hope that this was a passing glitch, but it did feel as if things weren't what they used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Our dinners were excellent with all four ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our dinners were excellent with all four of us ordering different entrees (mussels, lamb shank, grouper, and lobster pot pie) although the latter was reported to have had minimal lobster chunks. Unfortunately the service was so slow that we were not able to order dessert as we had theatre tickets for Virginia Rep. It seemed that we dropped from our waitress's radar as we had to remind her about several requests for items such as an extra wine glass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food and service were outstanding. Cont ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. Continues to maintain the high quality in service and food we've come to expect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, great food....but wow WHERE ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great place, great food....but wow WHERE ARE THE BOOTHS?? I miss that!! They were comfortable and great for watching the weather out of the upstairs windows...Food was great. The waitstaff was great.

Fabulous oysters and pearls, great bread and the carpaccio was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Loved the food!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Loved the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The hostess was helpful finding me a tab ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The hostess was helpful finding me a table near an outlet so I could charge my phone. The food was very good, the staff was very friendly and professional. I also appreciated the valet parking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We tried the restaurant for business lun ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We tried the restaurant for business lunch. We sat upstairs and found it easy to talk and be heard. The food was very good. Will definitely return to this charming place in the evening to try more of their menu and what looks like a great bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great as always!!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second dinner at Max's, and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was our second dinner at Max's, and we wondered if it would be a good as the first time, which we thought was great! The whole experience was outstanding in very way, including our waitress, Hannah. A little pricey, but well worth it for such great food, atmosphere, and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Walking from convention center, the neig ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Walking from convention center, the neighborhood is not attractive. Most stores are closed for business. It was a relief when we reach the restaurant. The restaurant is charming. Service and food is great. Would come again but not by foot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

fabulous from start to finish! Waiter wa ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

fabulous from start to finish! Waiter was prompt but not bothersome, food was amazing from appetizer to entree the dessert We'll be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had appetizers and salads before goin ...

vip
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had appetizers and salads before going to the theater nearby. So convenient! The oysters and cheese plate were wonderful. Fruit and chutney accompanied a good assortment of cheeses. The Bibb lettuce salad was full of chunky lettuce and blue cheese. The best was the light, airy, and crusty bread. I wanted to take home a loaf!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were told Max's was awesome, so we tr ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were told Max's was awesome, so we trekked down to the city and were prepared to be impressed. For $150 with only 2 glasses of wine, you'd expected the food to be stellar. Alas, it was not so. My entree was cold when they set it down and everything was solid, but not awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great first time visit. Good meals for t ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great first time visit. Good meals for three of the four of us. The fourth's was just not the right temp, and should have gone back. Our server had a bit of trouble with mixing up wine for our table and another. But, we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Was looking for a perfect spot for a bus ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Was looking for a perfect spot for a business meal with new business partners. Was looking for something smart and interesting, with good food at an appropriate price point - not crazy expensive and not "cheap". I had not been to Max's on Broad. Read lots of reviews.

Exceeded my expectations by a mile. The corner is super interesting from a "neighborhood" perspective. The decor is gorgeous - "very Richmond." Reminded me of the first time I set foot in the Tobacco Company twenty years ago. Lots of iron, and exposed brick, warm wood and high ceilings. But a fresher, more modern more intimate take on the old Richmond look.

The food was fabulous. Two guests had the lobster pot pie and it was brilliant. Licked their plates. I had the Salad Nicoise, and it was perfect.

Service was impeccable. Attentive, prompt, warm and engaging.

LOVED IT. Will plan to return many times and recommend often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.