About Max's on Broad

305 Brook Rd
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map


A new Belgian cuisine restaurant in downtown Richmond, Virginia.
Max’s on Broad serves food nonstop from 11 am until 10 pm daily, with a weekend brunch on Saturday and Sunday, 7 days a week. For Reservations Call : (804) 225-0400

FRESH SEAFOOD
STEAK FRITES
HORS D’OEUVRES
FRUITS DE MER
CRAFT COCKTAILS
FRENCH WINE
BELGIAN BEER

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am - 11 pm
Sunday 10 am - 10pm.

Brunch served Saturday and Sunday until 3 pm. Full menu all day long, straight through until close.

Cross Street:
Adams and Broad Street and Brook Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 225-0400

Website:
http://www.maxsonbroad.com/

Parking Details:
We also offer complementary valet parking all day, everyday.

Free Parking during both lunch and dinner can be found at Joe's Auto, on Marshall Street between Adams and 1st Streets on the north side of the street. Please stay to the left side of the free standing building.
Parking can also be found at the south west corner of Grace st. & N. Adams.

Executive Chef:
Tim Clinton

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
We are open for Father's Day brunch. Seats fill up fast so make your reservation today!

Max's on Broad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Virginia
Most Booked
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

special occasion (149)
fit for foodies (144)
neighborhood gem (115)
See All
romantic (96)
great for brunch (78)
good for groups (69)
hot spot (60)
great for lunch (55)
notable wine list (55)
scenic view (49)
vibrant bar scene (34)
late-night find (23)
kid-friendly (10)
great for outdoor dining (8)
Sort By:
Newest
813 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

Great lunch place.

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Great lunch place.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Returning customer, have eaten there a f ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Returning customer, have eaten there a few dozen times. We made it known that it was a 50th anniversary celebration and we brought a cake. Did not get a window seat (isin't a 50th anniversary deserving?). The wine service was extremely poor (was given white wine glasses for red and had to ask). Note, the table next to us had white wine poured in red glasses and red in white... At end of meal, was asked twice about dessert. Uh....maiterde knew about cake we brought and took it upon check-in. Had to ask about the cake in front of the friends we bought it for. Service has really gone down. Will wait awhile before returning.

food5
ambience4
service3

The hostess failed to send 4 people to s ...

Dined 6 days ago

The hostess failed to send 4 people to sit with the other 2 who arrived 5 minutes earlier. This caused a 20 minute delay.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Dinner was fabulous, the food and servic ...

Dined 6 days ago

Dinner was fabulous, the food and service were excellent. We love this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a great restaurant

Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant consistently pleases. The service is always good or better. The menu is fantastic - highly recommend the Waterzooi. It is amazing. The salads are awesome. We also love the bread and the only complaint I can find to say is that whenever we get the Waterzooi we want extra bread for dipping in the lobster cream sauce, but the server never seems to be able to bring it to us before we are almost finished with the meal. Strangely, this has happened to us on multiple occasions. If you don't mind spending some money, this restaurant is wonderful.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal!

Dined 7 days ago

The food here is excellent. The service was great. I would particularly recommend a table upstairs near the open windows on a warm day.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful experience! From the greeter ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful experience! From the greeter to the server, everything was superb. Everyone enjoyed their entrees. I had the tuna which was prepared perfectly. Others had crab cakes and loved them. We had "rock star" seating on the 2nd floor, overlooking Broad Street. Great evening. I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shortribs are Fab

Dined on May 19, 2016

Brought out of town guests to Max's. They loved the ambiance and food. Carpaccio, fois gra, short ribs all were divine. Accompanied by Pierre Jouet and the best Malbec I have ever had. Thank you, Max's on Broad. Another terrific evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've never been disappointed ! The serv ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

I've never been disappointed ! The service, food and setting is top notch

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

What a shame! We came here for our daugh ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

What a shame! We came here for our daughter's 15th birthday dinner on Monday. Our table was cramped and freezing cold and in the middle of a high traffic. For the most part our food was fine, everyone liked their dish except for the Tuna which was terrible. The thing that ruined our dinner and my daughter's birthday was the waiter. He could not have been more indifferent to our table. He was often missing and when he was at our table he was completely disengaged. Knowing this was a special occasion he did not even wish my daughter a happy birthday. I am really disgusted by the entire meal and so sad that his actions or lack there of ruined a special night.

food4
ambience4
service3

We were there over two hours but our ser ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were there over two hours but our server did at least acknowledge how busy he was.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great spot in RVA

Dined on May 15, 2016

Max's is very good, great atmosphere, friendly staff and good food. Really liked the calamari just wish it came with marinara sauce, too! The valet parking is great since it's pretty impossible to find parking downtown. This is a great spot in RVA to celebrate with your friends or your better half!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3

It might cost a bit more than your avera ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

It might cost a bit more than your average restaurant, but it seemed well worth it. I ordered the 8-hour Belgian beer braised short ribs (long name had to look it up), and they were excellent. I'll come back for more in the future.

food5
ambience5
service5

Alway great food and service

Dined on May 14, 2016

Alway great food and service

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vcu graduation dinner

Dined on May 14, 2016

experience exceeded expectations. would highly recommend. server was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The Lobster Pot Pie was outstanding! An ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The Lobster Pot Pie was outstanding! And of course, the bread pudding was fabulous. Service was perfect. As always, it was a lovely evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with a friend

Dined on May 13, 2016

Good food, good service and great atmosphere! Wasn't too crowded for a Friday lunch.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Exceptional, great menu with huge taste ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Exceptional, great menu with huge tastes and dishes. Fantastic atmosphere, panoramic view of urban area. Serious variety. Makes for a remarkable experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Wait Staff

Dined on May 8, 2016

We loved our waitress! She was amazing, kind, friendly, charmig, and professional!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun Night!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had heard good things about Max's on Broad, and we were not disappointed. Convenient valet parking, nice greeting, interesting decor. Things started off with the friendly bartender making me a fantastic Margarita. Our server was efficient, knowledgeable, attentive, and very cordial. And the food was terrific; there were so many good choices on the menu, we had a hard time making up our minds.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Great

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We almost always eat at Max's when we see a play at the November Theatre. This particular night had a lot going on: 2 plays a block away, Lion King, prom and a Saturday night before Mother's Day. They were packed. They handled it like the pros they are.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

Dined on May 5, 2016

Richmond has a number of really nice restaurants where you can count on the quality of the food and the service...Max is one of them. We had a six-party family gathering and everyone was favorably impressed with the food and the service. We recommend Max to anyone whose looking for a nice evening meal!!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Max's on Broad

Dined on May 5, 2016

We were celebrating my Wife's birthday. We expected a good meal based on the reviews. They surpassed all of our expectations with food quality and service! Definitely a special occasion destination.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food and great location

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

The staff is lovely and the food is amazing...great to watch the weather out the big picture window.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food with similarly good servi ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very good food with similarly good service. Our server was very attentive, made good recommendations and was just generally pleasant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Gem on Brook

Dined on April 30, 2016

This is a great spot to have dinner on a Friday night after a long work week. They offer valet at no additional cost, food tastes fresh, and the wait staff is courteous without being sugary sweet. We ordered the lamb and rockfish as our main entrées. Then topped it off with bread pudding and sorbet/gelato for dessert. Loved it all and it was delivered by Matt. Matt was an attentive and knowledgeable waiter. Thumbs Up to Max’s. Peay Family

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

TJS Reiew

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was fantastic. My wife an I both had fish. We'll be back. However, we were seated at a very compact table in a very busy section of the restaurant. It was hard for us to remain comfortable and maintain a conversation with all of the nearby activities.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful date nite

Dined on April 27, 2016

I took my wife for her birthday. The waiter was friendly and attentive. The food was excellent and the wine and beer selections were wide and very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Charming bistro with OK food.

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Lovely restaurant with charming Southern hospitality, large open windows, and decent food. The menu looks impressive, but our choices were just OK. The smoked salmon crepe, which was recommended by our nice server, came with crispy, dry edges probably from sitting under a heating lamp too long, and the fries—for a Belgian restaurant—were forgettable. The mini muffins that come complimentary were the best part of the meal. Good craft beer selection. All of the staff is just a pleasure.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service2

The food was great, but took over an hou ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was great, but took over an hour and they weren't even that busy. Was difficult since we had two small children. I think the waiter must have been newer and chalk most of the delays to him unfortunately. Will probably try it again, but a little disappointed the first go around.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun, upbeat restaurant.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our waiter was very knowledgeable and attentive. Food is always fresh and attractively presented. Mornay sauce is to die for. Eggs Benedict Florentine is a favorite of mine. Omelets and waffle dishes are superb! Fun and eclectic décor with pretty street view upstairs on triangle street. Close to November Theatre.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

OK experience, but will give it another chance

Dined on April 23, 2016

We selected this restaurant during Restaurant Week because we wanted to try out a few items from the menu. Unfortunately, when we arrived, the menu was different. The waitress gave us one excuse, the manager another. We wanted to try the beef carpaccio, not the beet carpaccio. Huge difference!! We also wanted mussels that was on the published menu, but not on the one that we were offered. The manager was nice to offer us a pot of mussels to make up for our disappointment. Once they arrived, they were excellent. The warm brie, was room temperature. The soup was good. The beef wellington was cold, dried and tasteless. They brought us another one, and it was warm, but still dried and tasteless. They took it off the bill. The pork osso bucco was outstanding. Both the chocolate mousse and the brioche bread pudding were very good. Service was ok. The waitress was professional, but could have been a bit more attentive. They were very busy. While the food was not the greatest, we applaud the 2 managers that came to our table to make things right. There were some issues, they were acknowledge, taken care off, and we left happy. We loved sitting upstairs as they had the windows open. Very nice building and the decorations matched perfectly. All the other restaurants that we tried during restaurant week had only one menu. This restaurant also offered their regular menu. I surely hope that the Food Bank got their contribution for every meal served, as they are a big driver of the increased business. We will likely come back and try out the mussels.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable

Dined on April 23, 2016

A great menu and lovely surroundings in upstairs dining room. Windows were open and city life going on below was charming.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for pre theater dinner

Dined on April 23, 2016

My date experienced Max's for the first time and was extremely impressed with the ambiance, food and attentiveness (without any "pushiness") of the staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing Service & Delicious Food!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Best service we've had in a long time! A friend of ours recommended Max's as we do not live in Richmond, and we wanted a spot to celebrate our 5th anniversary. When we arrived, it was packed (we found out later it was Restaurant Week), but the manager/hostesses took GREAT care of us, apologized for our wait and bought us Prosecco to celebrate the occasion. Our waitress was AMAZING!!...and the food was absolutely DELICIOUS (we had Filet Oscar & Ribeye)- down to the fresh baked bread and red pepper dipping sauce. I give this place two thumbs up, and we will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

reservations? really?

Dined on April 22, 2016

This is not the first time we been to Max's on Broad...but I can tell you it may be my last. We had reservations at 7:45 and did not get seated until 8:45. I can understand if it were call ahead seating but there is a reason i made a reservation for starters. Then we get seated near the bar and the noise from conversations of others was ridiculously loud. Overall, a very poor experience...one that i would expect from a lower value type of restaurant chain...not something like a restaurant of Max's caliber.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food but long wait, even with a reservation!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Max's is very good but we had a reservation and had to wait an additional 25 minutes for our table. It was raining that night and it was very crowded. Not very pleased to have to wait after having taken the time to make a reservation 4 days earlier.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Restaurant Week Win

Dined on April 22, 2016

Some girlfriends and myself made a reservation for Max's during restaurant week, so I will preface by stating that my experience during restaurant week was far different that previous experiences. We had a 7:30 reservation, but had to wait 30 minutes to be seated because of how busy the restaurant was. They offered us a table right at the entrance, literally in the midst of all the madness (it didn't help that it was raining outside). We asked to be seated elsewhere, due to the fact that as the hostess motioned to the table we could sit at a man was sitting on the ledge of the table because there was no space for him to even stand elsewhere because of how crowded the downstairs were. Flashforward 15-20 minutes and we were ushered upstairs to a 4 top. I couldn't have been more pleased with the table we were seated at, and for whatever reason the menu I had looked at was different than the actual RW menu (the actual RW menu was way better). We all ordered steak frites and the steak was cooked perfectly. I had ordered the "warm brie" as an appetizer; however, the brie was not warmed, but I didn't mind so much as I love brie in any form, and dessert was amazing. Our service was so/so. I definitely wanted to give our waitress the benefit of the doubt, because I understand the "headache" that RW can cause; however, there were a few different situations where she seemed flippant to our requests or questions. All in all, I really love Max's - even on RW. I would definitely recommend this location to any of my friends/family who were looking for a good dinner downtown.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

OK

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had a reservation and still had a lengthy wait with no explanation given. Food was good, some items lacking which we had to point out. The food was brought without the items they were out of. I think if the service was better we would have had a much different experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great food for a fair price. Quality food was amazing, had the Duck and Lamb. Would get both again. My only complaint would be that we reserved a table for 2 a couple weeks in advance and our location was sub par. We were placed next to a balcony right next to the main "waiter highway" if you will. I couldn't count how many times my elbow hit a waiter or waitress. This didn't bother me much, but was frustrating to have a nice meal planned out for a date and this be the location. Not sure if i could have recommended a seating location, Will try to do that next time we go. Worth a second trip, maybe just a week night where it less crowded.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.