About Max's Bistro & Bar

1784 W. Bullard Ave.
Fresno, CA 93711
View Larger Map

Max’s is regarded as one of the finest restaurants in the Central Valley. Our rustic California Cuisine and Gallery setting features local artist Tomas Panzarino. Max’s has welcomed Fresno visitors and our local neighbors for over 10 years. We are dedicated to using fresh local produce along with our house made artisan breads to insure a quality and healthy dining experience. The same quality and freshness is found in all the cocktails from our bar. Premium liquors, hand squeezed juices and muddled berries create our exceptional and award winning martini’s. We look forward to your visit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 439-6900

Website:
http://www.maxsbistro.com/

Catering:
Delivery of catering menu items to your business or home.

Executive Chef:
Scott Sauer/ Big Sur California

Private Party Facilities:
Max's has two semi-private dining areas accommodating party sizes of 18 or 40. We can also accomodate buy-out parties of up to 160 guests. Contact us for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
J.J. Wettstead: 5598929969

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Trio - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA
  • Filet Black Truffle Butter Truffled Mac And Cheese - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA
  • Molten Chocolate Cake - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA
  • Max's Grilled Chicken Club Sandwhich  - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA
  • Grilled Cheese - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA
Duck Trio - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA
Filet Black Truffle Butter Truffled Mac And Cheese - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA
Molten Chocolate Cake - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA
Max's Grilled Chicken Club Sandwhich  - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA
Grilled Cheese - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Max's Bistro & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Food
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Service
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
4 More
Best Ambiance
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Special Occasion
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno
Best Restaurants in Fresno ›

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Business Meals (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Healthy (7)
Casual (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Private Room (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vegan (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
468 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was our anniversary celebration & it ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 5 days ago

It was our anniversary celebration & it couldn't have been better! The food was exquisite and the presentation unique perfection! I love the way they seem to know exactly what we need & like!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I only gave it a 4 star due to the prici ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 6 days ago

I only gave it a 4 star due to the pricing. Great food but just a little pricey, but very good!

As far as the food, it was a little on the cold side, but again very good! Over all a very nice evening. Will be returning very soon. Thank You Max's.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I brought my high school athletes for a ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I brought my high school athletes for a pre race meal. They have diverse diets so we needed variety in the menu. It was perfect and delicious. Everyone got what they needed and exclaimed how delicious it was. And our waitress was adorable. She treated my teenage athletes with respect and genuine kindness. We all walked away happy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly people, nice surroundings, easy ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Friendly people, nice surroundings, easy parking, and wonderful food.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, wonderful food and service. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

As always, wonderful food and service. Many gluten free options!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply Excellent. Great Food, Great Win ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Simply Excellent. Great Food, Great Wine, Great Service. Will definitely visit again soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and presentation!

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Delicious food and presentation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had the pan seared salmon salad. It w ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We had the pan seared salmon salad. It was excellent. Salmon was cooked to perfection. Service was friendly and first class as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at Max's. I had the new York ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 31, 2016

First time at Max's. I had the new York steak special and it was one of the best steaks I have ever had. Definitely recommend the steak. Other people to my table had salmon halibut and prawns and all said were excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was great but unfortunately 2 of ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was great but unfortunately 2 of the 4 meals were great the other just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food and service as always

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent food and service as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went to celebrate for an evening with ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I went to celebrate for an evening with my girlfriend and the service was better than we have had in a long while. Food is very good and every dish was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I thought our server was so wonderful an ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I thought our server was so wonderful and attentive. She was so friendly and was really a joy to have. However, for as great the service was I wish the food was equally as good. I personally had the sesame ahi and was pretty disappointed. The strips were incredibly thin and the ahi was so unbelievably flavorless. I pretty much had a flavor of sesame and no taste of fish. The cous cous was exactly the same. My partner ordered a red meat entre and his dish has wilted, over buttered and over-peppered asparagus. I just expected the quality of the food to be so much better and was surprisingly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

We were in the area only for one day. Ma ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We were in the area only for one day. Max's was surprisingly good. We would seek it out again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Best bread in town. Excellent food, gre ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Best bread in town. Excellent food, great staff and good atmosphere. Had the open face shrimp and crab sandwich which was amazing but most of it is in a to-go bag because the appetizers and fresh bread were too good to pass up. Oh well, great leftovers!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server I was great!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Server I was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

As always, Max's was a great meal. The q ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

As always, Max's was a great meal. The quality of food is always outstanding. The staff is friendly and ready to assist when needed. Try the burger if you want to treat yourself. Desserts are to die for as well.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the art work. Excellent Steak with ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Loved the art work. Excellent Steak with a good presentation.

Missed on my martini. A little too dirty. Very good wine selection as well.

Loved our little waitress. Very entertaining and seemed to really enjoy what she was doing.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a very nice evening with frie ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We enjoyed a very nice evening with friends from out of town who hadn't been to Max's. They were completely satisfied and we enjoyed our meals. As a regular at Max's, I'm very sorry they took the scallops off the menu. A personal favorite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the server wa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food was delicious and the server was very friendly and efficient

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Have been eating at Max's since they fir ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Have been eating at Max's since they first opened...never disappointed and will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Outstanding , love Max's , We try ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Always Outstanding , love Max's , We try to get there at least once a week !!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there to celebrate my brother's ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were there to celebrate my brother's birthday. The special, halibut, was prepared well, with partnering kale and some kind of scalloped potato. Beautiful presented. Our server, Ellie, was warm, welcoming, shared specials as well as her favorites with us. She was delightful, outgoing, and fun. Only drawback was the volume of conversation around us - and we were in a "quiet" corner.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Server tried way too hard to sell us a $ ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Server tried way too hard to sell us a $95 bottle of wine in stead of the $55 bottle I'd ordered,. Was really unprofessional; like something you would get a Chili's rather than a very nice local restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent as aleays

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent as aleays

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing time. Chelsea was our ser ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Had an amazing time. Chelsea was our server. Food was great and recommend for everyone. A hidden gem in our area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Delightful Birthday celebration! Fabulou ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Delightful Birthday celebration! Fabulous specials!

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan, Bar Seating, Tapas, Fun, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have found Max's to be an excellent g ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have found Max's to be an excellent gem! No matter what server we are treated like royalty every time we walk in the door. The food is superb I need to watch my diet and this place makes that so comfortable! Favorite is the kale Caesar salad😍

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although, quite pricey, we all enjoyed o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Although, quite pricey, we all enjoyed our entrees: halibut, brick chicken, steak,spicy penne, very much! Our server was extraordinary-so personable and efficient.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

They have an excellent variety of unique ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 7, 2016

They have an excellent variety of unique entrées and they are different daily. We enjoy the quality of the cuisine they're not only delicious but there are choices are quite healthy!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Max's! Ahi Tostadas, 3 buckets of ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Love Max's! Ahi Tostadas, 3 buckets of fries sampler simply the best in town. Good choices in wine by the bottle but be prepared to pay$$$. Always something different at Max's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A lovely lunch, however, when I made the ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 20, 2016

A lovely lunch, however, when I made the reservation I noted that it was for a birthday ... I expected a complimentary desert for the birthday girl. Not the case! Disappointed 🙁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We were in Fresno overnight before headi ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were in Fresno overnight before heading up to Kings Canyon National Park. I was looking for a high quality restaurant and we sure found it in Max's! My partner had the superfood salad and it was delicious! I had the salmon salad which also was very good. Our server was very friendly and attentive. The art work is very interesting and unique. All in all, we enjoyed eating there and would definitely go back next time we're in Fresno.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a nice comfortable place to hav ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 19, 2016

This was a nice comfortable place to have food and conversation. They were accomodating to our gluten-free needs and the food was delicious. The sweet potato fries were addicting. Our server was friendly and knowledgable but not hovering. We had a nice evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've eaten at Max's and have never been ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've eaten at Max's and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Server was super friendly and helpful (I ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Server was super friendly and helpful (I can always narrow things down to two, but then need some help deciding!), drinks were delish, the food very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been going to Max's since it opened ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Have been going to Max's since it opened...never disappointed! Max's always comes to mind when considering eating out at a nice place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined there many times and have ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have dined there many times and have never been disappointed. The management is changing, with the long-time general manager (who ran it so well) now the owner - so we are assured of a continual good food, service, and ambience. There are many good restaurants in this area and Max's is one of its jewels.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Food was very good. I wou ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great service. Food was very good. I would go back. Neat art pieces.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.