About Max's Bistro & Bar

1784 W. Bullard Ave.
Fresno, CA 93711
View Larger Map

Max’s is regarded as one of the finest restaurants in the Central Valley. Our rustic California Cuisine and Gallery setting features local artist Tomas Panzarino. Max’s has welcomed Fresno visitors and our local neighbors for over 10 years. We are dedicated to using fresh local produce along with our house made artisan breads to insure a quality and healthy dining experience. The same quality and freshness is found in all the cocktails from our bar. Premium liquors, hand squeezed juices and muddled berries create our exceptional and award winning martini’s. We look forward to your visit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 439-6900

Website:
http://www.maxsbistro.com/

Catering:
Delivery of catering menu items to your business or home.

Executive Chef:
Scott Sauer/ Big Sur California

Private Party Facilities:
Max's has two semi-private dining areas accommodating party sizes of 18 or 40. We can also accomodate buy-out parties of up to 160 guests. Contact us for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
J.J. Wettstead: 5598929969

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat the special father in your life to a night great food and ambiance with us!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Max's Bistro & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Food
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Service
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
8 More
Best Ambiance
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Fit for Foodies
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Overall
Fresno
Best Service
Fresno
Best Ambiance
Fresno
Special Occasion
Fresno
Most Booked
Fresno
Best Restaurants in Fresno ›

special occasion (32)
fit for foodies (31)
good for groups (18)
See All
romantic (18)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for lunch (14)
notable wine list (14)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was delish....love t ...

Dined 6 days ago

As always, the food was delish....love the sweet potato fries, the halibut lunch special was cooked perfect. Our server did a great job of taking care of us. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service! Our food was phenomen ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Excellent service! Our food was phenomenal! Would definitely recommend to others!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never been disappointed with service, fo ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Never been disappointed with service, food or ambiance. Always leave with smile on my face.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service3

Food was disappointing, even with their ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was disappointing, even with their 'famous dishes.' Poor seasoning, improper cooking, and poor execution.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great anniversary dinner!

Dined on May 4, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Max's and had just a wonderful time. Food/service was wonderful. And then, unknown to us, our daughters picked up the tab. Our server was really knowledgeable and always there when we needed her. She made the night complete. Really knows her stuff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointing

Dined on April 25, 2016

We have been dining at Max's for years and it has been consistently delicious. Unfortunately, the last two times we have gone, the food has been over-cooked and tough. I didn't think gnocchi could be tough, but this was like sponge and the brick chicken was just that, a brick! Very disappointing and I hear similar stories from a few other friends.

food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Try the Meatloaf

Dined on April 24, 2016

Upon a recommendation of a trusted friend, I decided to have a special dinner with my wife. As visitors to Fresno, we found this amazing gem to be an awesome experience. I would recommend others to dine at Max's. What made the evening special was the attention to detail. There was plenty of specialty in the way we were treated as customers as well as the selection of entrees, appetizers, and specialty drinks. This place had charm in not only the decor but also in the food itself. Who else could make a meatloaf gourmet? Max's did... and with charisma and attitude - a rare find in a dining experience these days. Lastly, even the green beans were to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great evening at Max's! Awesome ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Another great evening at Max's! Awesome service and great food.

food5
ambience4
service5

Always good selection for everyone- fish ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Always good selection for everyone- fish, meat, salads,

food4
ambience5
service5

Love this place

Dined on March 22, 2016

Love this place

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Food

Dined on March 13, 2016

Always enjoy Maxs as the food is always good. Great place for bridal or baby showers. Staff works with you and are always helpful

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love to come here with my husband or whe ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Love to come here with my husband or whenever we have family in town. Max's is consistently good - both in the diversity of the tasty foods and awesome service. Great crew!

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Consistently Good

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

We first visited this place a few years ago (2013) when we moved to the area and our initial impression was really just eh... we thought the food, service and ambiance didn't quite match the price-point (granted we're spoiled coming from a bigger city) so we didn't return for a few years. We decided to give it another try considering it had been a few years since our last visit and we were not disappointed! Everything from our food to the service was outstanding and because of that one experience a few months ago, we've returned at least once a week if not more. Whatever changed...the menu was different from our first visit... keep it up

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I love it at Max's & find ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

My husband and I love it at Max's & find ourselves here weekly. The food is consistently delicious, service is awesome, and the overall experience is pleasant. They have the best pies!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

staff

Dined on February 21, 2016

Once again the service was EXCELLENT! They were efficient, friendly, and informative. I always enjoy my meal at Max's and the design of the restaurant allows me to converse with and enjoy my company as well.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always. Food is always fres ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Excellent as always. Food is always fresh and loaded with flavor

food5
ambience5
service5

Both friendly service and good food have ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Both friendly service and good food have a consistent experience.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Excellent food and a wonderful server made our Valentine's dinner a joy. We will definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a delicious meal and excellent se ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had a delicious meal and excellent service. Our server was very attentive to our needs. We didn't have to look for her because she was there. If it's available order the Rib-eye steak...best ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Valentines Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Service was great and food was remarkable. We were seated on time and taken care of without complaint. We especially liked the choices of food and the way it was presented. We have been making this our special place at Valentines Day for a few years now. Definitely will be back and always tell our friends what a great place this is in Fresno.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Exceptional

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent service from all staff, food was on point, fresh ingrediants, and an eclectic menu. I had the calamari steak w/bed of Risotto and greens. My guest has the NY steak with spinach mash potatoes and delicious bed of assorted Zucchinni/Squash.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good meal. The service and high ...

Dined on February 10, 2016

Always a good meal. The service and high quality of food is what keeps us coming back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite, as you expect it to be...

Dined on January 30, 2016

I have come to rely on Max's for excellent food, a great wine list, and the best service in town. I have never been disappointed there!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat!

Dined on January 26, 2016

My husband and I met a friend that was in town for business.......at Max's Bistro for dinner. We got there early and set at the bar for a drink while waiting. The bar service was friendly and good. We were taken to our table by very friendly staff and the service was great, prompt and also friendly. The food was awesome, their buttermilk fried chicken and the grilled mahi-mahi was outstanding. It's a neat place with a good atmosphere. I would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food

Dined on January 25, 2016

I have dined here many times, but I think our party agreed this was the best meal we've had here. My scallops were perfectly cooked and the components of th dish were all flavorful and in harmony. My mother enjoyed her fish special and dessert and my husband said the meat loaf was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They always make a great martini!

Dined on January 10, 2016

The food and service is always great. That is why we are here so often! The menu was just recently updated...which is a must for such a neighborhood gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

Salmon was less than ideal. The side veg ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Salmon was less than ideal. The side vegetables were overcooked.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As usual

Dined on December 18, 2015

As usual the food was good. The office staff especially enjoyed the potato/sweet potato/eggplant/fries appetizer. I had the superfood salad, and that was enough for me. Others had the sturgeon and it was good, I had a bite. Then the girls fought over the last two brules. I had the bread pudding, and it was yummy. Thanks everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Sweet Potato Fries!

Dined on December 15, 2015

I am not a fan of any kind of fries but the Sweet Potato Fries with the aioli sauce were delicious! I am actually craving them now and considering the drive to the other side of town to get them. The customer service is great and I really loved the artwork that was hung throughout. Great ambiance!

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience5
service5

Very Nice!

Dined on December 5, 2015

It was our first visit and we were pleasantly surprised by the décor and setting... Beautifully painted and decorated with colorful art work. Ordered the Max Burger and it was huge and delicious came with Sweet Potato Fries . My husband ordered the special Fish and Chips... The fish as on the greasy side and only came with 2 pieces, fries and cup of soup for $25, which was on the pricey side for what he got. The service was great and the experience was lovely. Will definitely go back and try other things on the menu.... Appetizer Ahi was delicious as was the tomato bisque. Was disappointed we had never bothered to try this little Bistro before. Worth the experience.... Felt like a little gem you find out of town and wish you had at home... Nice find in Fresno!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service4

Disappointed

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

We had not been to Max"s in several years and were looking forward to a great meal. The food was tasteless and boring.

food5
ambience5
service5

I was out looking for a good place to ea ...

Dined on October 12, 2015

I was out looking for a good place to eat, I read the reviews and went with this place. The food was amazing, and the service waS great.

food4
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was amazing! Delicious meal ...

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

Our waitress was amazing! Delicious meal!

food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you for a great lunch for my stepd ...

Dined on October 6, 2015

Thank you for a great lunch for my stepdaughters birthday!!

food4
ambience3
service4

Great food, service, drinks. VERY noisy interior”

vip
Dined on October 4, 2015

Had a wonderful experience with the food the drinks the desserts. Had a hard time conversing across the table due to the lack of sound control in the restaurant in general. The food and wine selection is outstanding ! . C&H

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

Great service but questionable food

Dined on September 22, 2015

Took my SO here for her birthday. Had called the night before with simple instructions for a happy birthday surprise with dessert. The restaurant failed to deliver the day of. The food also wasn't that great. We had ordered the New York strip and Oppa fish special. The steak was very tough and mealy in texture (possibly not USDA prime grade or they bought it frozen and stored for longer than recommended) and the fish was dry (Oppa is generally a very fatty fish but our fish was surprisingly dry). The staff was very friendly, but it's unfortunate that their food seemed not up to par for the price.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Lunch review

Dined on September 18, 2015

Excellent service, mango iced tea very diluted, sweet potato fries very good. burger is delicious. Very friendly atmosphere and relaxed.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as usual

Dined on September 13, 2015

In typical Max's fashion, everything was excellent. Especially enjoyed the creme brûlée with Lynnie B's caramels!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Birthday

Dined on September 13, 2015

Started out the evening with a bottle of wine we brought (they have a $15 corking fee), and their amazing eggplant fries with sriacha aioli. Hubby had the Max Burger, perfectly cooked, and filling. I had the special starter, a Maryland Blue Crab cake with slaw, and also their delicious beet salad. For dessert, I had the salted caramel creme brulee that had a candle and "Happy birthday" chocolate message, and homemade salted caramel candy. Everything was incredible! I would recommend again, and again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Date lunch

Dined on September 11, 2015

Max's is always a "go to" dining establishment in Fresno. We come here often My wife and I both had the day off and wanted to spend some time together. Lunch and a movie.. The waitress was great. Lunch options always four star. Both of us had a salad. I chose the salmon . It was cooked to perfection. One thing off.. My wife wanted dessert and ordered the creme brûlée. The waitress took our order. After a few minutes she returned stating they were out of the creme brûlée and most all of the other desserts !! Ok...what do you have? Ice cream.. That's it. Friday at 1 pm and none of their signature desserts were available. Very odd !!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.