About Max's Bistro & Bar

1784 W. Bullard Ave.
Fresno, CA 93711
View Larger Map

Max’s is regarded as one of the finest restaurants in the Central Valley. Our rustic California Cuisine and Gallery setting features local artist Tomas Panzarino. Max’s has welcomed Fresno visitors and our local neighbors for over 10 years. We are dedicated to using fresh local produce along with our house made artisan breads to insure a quality and healthy dining experience. The same quality and freshness is found in all the cocktails from our bar. Premium liquors, hand squeezed juices and muddled berries create our exceptional and award winning martini’s. We look forward to your visit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 439-6900

Website:
http://www.maxsbistro.com/

Catering:
Delivery of catering menu items to your business or home.

Executive Chef:
Scott Sauer/ Big Sur California

Private Party Facilities:
Max's has two semi-private dining areas accommodating party sizes of 18 or 40. We can also accomodate buy-out parties of up to 160 guests. Contact us for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
J.J. Wettstead: 5598929969

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Trio
  • Filet Black Truffle Butter Truffled Mac And Cheese
  • Molten Chocolate Cake
  • Max's Grilled Chicken Club Sandwhich
  • Grilled Cheese
Duck Trio
Filet Black Truffle Butter Truffled Mac And Cheese
Molten Chocolate Cake
Max's Grilled Chicken Club Sandwhich
Grilled Cheese

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Max's Bistro & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Food
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Service
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
5 More
Best Ambiance
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Fit for Foodies
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno
Best Restaurants in Fresno ›

fit for foodies (31)
special occasion (30)
neighborhood gem (21)
See All
good for groups (19)
great for lunch (15)
notable wine list (14)
romantic (12)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
436 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A lovely lunch, however, when I made the ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

A lovely lunch, however, when I made the reservation I noted that it was for a birthday ... I expected a complimentary desert for the birthday girl. Not the case! Disappointed 🙁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We were in Fresno overnight before headi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were in Fresno overnight before heading up to Kings Canyon National Park. I was looking for a high quality restaurant and we sure found it in Max's! My partner had the superfood salad and it was delicious! I had the salmon salad which also was very good. Our server was very friendly and attentive. The art work is very interesting and unique. All in all, we enjoyed eating there and would definitely go back next time we're in Fresno.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a nice comfortable place to hav ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This was a nice comfortable place to have food and conversation. They were accomodating to our gluten-free needs and the food was delicious. The sweet potato fries were addicting. Our server was friendly and knowledgable but not hovering. We had a nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've eaten at Max's and have never been ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've eaten at Max's and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Server was super friendly and helpful (I ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Server was super friendly and helpful (I can always narrow things down to two, but then need some help deciding!), drinks were delish, the food very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been going to Max's since it opened ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Have been going to Max's since it opened...never disappointed! Max's always comes to mind when considering eating out at a nice place.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined there many times and have ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have dined there many times and have never been disappointed. The management is changing, with the long-time general manager (who ran it so well) now the owner - so we are assured of a continual good food, service, and ambience. There are many good restaurants in this area and Max's is one of its jewels.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Food was very good. I wou ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great service. Food was very good. I would go back. Neat art pieces.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delish. I am gluten intolerant. I found ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Delish. I am gluten intolerant. I found alot of good choices for me to eat. Love the sweet potato fries!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to dine!

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Our salads (spinach & berry) were exceptional! Our service was attentive and seamless. The GM, J.J. was a graceful host. I am thoroughly impressed with the whole experience and will certainly return!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was delish....love t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

As always, the food was delish....love the sweet potato fries, the halibut lunch special was cooked perfect. Our server did a great job of taking care of us. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service! Our food was phenomen ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Excellent service! Our food was phenomenal! Would definitely recommend to others!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never been disappointed with service, fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Never been disappointed with service, food or ambiance. Always leave with smile on my face.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was disappointing, even with their ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was disappointing, even with their 'famous dishes.' Poor seasoning, improper cooking, and poor execution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Great anniversary dinner!

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Max's and had just a wonderful time. Food/service was wonderful. And then, unknown to us, our daughters picked up the tab.

Our server was really knowledgeable and always there when we needed her. She made the night complete. Really knows her stuff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Disappointing

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We have been dining at Max's for years and it has been consistently delicious. Unfortunately, the last two times we have gone, the food has been over-cooked and tough. I didn't think gnocchi could be tough, but this was like sponge and the brick chicken was just that, a brick! Very disappointing and I hear similar stories from a few other friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Try the Meatloaf

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Upon a recommendation of a trusted friend, I decided to have a special dinner with my wife. As visitors to Fresno, we found this amazing gem to be an awesome experience. I would recommend others to dine at Max's. What made the evening special was the attention to detail. There was plenty of specialty in the way we were treated as customers as well as the selection of entrees, appetizers, and specialty drinks. This place had charm in not only the decor but also in the food itself. Who else could make a meatloaf gourmet? Max's did... and with charisma and attitude - a rare find in a dining experience these days. Lastly, even the green beans were to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Another great evening at Max's! Awesome ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Another great evening at Max's! Awesome service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good selection for everyone- fish ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Always good selection for everyone- fish, meat, salads,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love this place

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Food

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Always enjoy Maxs as the food is always good. Great place for bridal or baby showers. Staff works with you and are always helpful

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love to come here with my husband or whe ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Love to come here with my husband or whenever we have family in town. Max's is consistently good - both in the diversity of the tasty foods and awesome service. Great crew!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently Good

vip
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

We first visited this place a few years ago (2013) when we moved to the area and our initial impression was really just eh... we thought the food, service and ambiance didn't quite match the price-point (granted we're spoiled coming from a bigger city) so we didn't return for a few years. We decided to give it another try considering it had been a few years since our last visit and we were not disappointed! Everything from our food to the service was outstanding and because of that one experience a few months ago, we've returned at least once a week if not more. Whatever changed...the menu was different from our first visit... keep it up

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

My husband and I love it at Max's & find ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

My husband and I love it at Max's & find ourselves here weekly. The food is consistently delicious, service is awesome, and the overall experience is pleasant.

They have the best pies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

staff

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Once again the service was EXCELLENT! They were efficient, friendly, and informative. I always enjoy my meal at Max's and the design of the restaurant allows me to converse with and enjoy my company as well.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. Food is always fres ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Excellent as always. Food is always fresh and loaded with flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Both friendly service and good food have ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Both friendly service and good food have a consistent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Dinner

vip
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Excellent food and a wonderful server made our Valentine's dinner a joy. We will definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a delicious meal and excellent se ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We had a delicious meal and excellent service. Our server was very attentive to our needs. We didn't have to look for her because she was there. If it's available order the Rib-eye steak...best ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Valentines Dinner

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Service was great and food was remarkable. We were seated on time and taken care of without complaint. We especially liked the choices of food and the way it was presented. We have been making this our special place at Valentines Day for a few years now. Definitely will be back and always tell our friends what a great place this is in Fresno.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Exceptional

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent service from all staff, food was on point, fresh ingrediants, and an eclectic menu. I had the calamari steak w/bed of Risotto and greens. My guest has the NY steak with spinach mash potatoes and delicious bed of assorted Zucchinni/Squash.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good meal. The service and high ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Always a good meal. The service and high quality of food is what keeps us coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite, as you expect it to be...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

I have come to rely on Max's for excellent food, a great wine list, and the best service in town. I have never been disappointed there!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

My husband and I met a friend that was in town for business.......at Max's Bistro for dinner. We got there early and set at the bar for a drink while waiting. The bar service was friendly and good. We were taken to our table by very friendly staff and the service was great, prompt and also friendly. The food was awesome, their buttermilk fried chicken and the grilled mahi-mahi was outstanding. It's a neat place with a good atmosphere. I would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

I have dined here many times, but I think our party agreed this was the best meal we've had here. My scallops were perfectly cooked and the components of th dish were all flavorful and in harmony. My mother enjoyed her fish special and dessert and my husband said the meat loaf was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They always make a great martini!

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

The food and service is always great. That is why we are here so often!

The menu was just recently updated...which is a must for such a neighborhood gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Salmon was less than ideal. The side veg ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Salmon was less than ideal. The side vegetables were overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

As usual

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

As usual the food was good. The office staff especially enjoyed the potato/sweet potato/eggplant/fries appetizer. I had the superfood salad, and that was enough for me.

Others had the sturgeon and it was good, I had a bite. Then the girls fought over the last two brules. I had the bread pudding, and it was yummy. Thanks everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved the Sweet Potato Fries!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

I am not a fan of any kind of fries but the Sweet Potato Fries with the aioli sauce were delicious! I am actually craving them now and considering the drive to the other side of town to get them. The customer service is great and I really loved the artwork that was hung throughout. Great ambiance!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Nice!

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

It was our first visit and we were pleasantly surprised by the décor and setting... Beautifully painted and decorated with colorful art work. Ordered the Max Burger and it was huge and delicious came with Sweet Potato Fries . My husband ordered the special Fish and Chips... The fish as on the greasy side and only came with 2 pieces, fries and cup of soup for $25, which was on the pricey side for what he got. The service was great and the experience was lovely. Will definitely go back and try other things on the menu.... Appetizer Ahi was delicious as was the tomato bisque. Was disappointed we had never bothered to try this little Bistro before. Worth the experience.... Felt like a little gem you find out of town and wish you had at home... Nice find in Fresno!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.