About Max's Bistro & Bar

1784 W. Bullard Ave.
Fresno, CA 93711
View Larger Map

Max’s is regarded as one of the finest restaurants in the Central Valley. Our rustic California Cuisine and Gallery setting features local artist Tomas Panzarino. Max’s has welcomed Fresno visitors and our local neighbors for over 10 years. We are dedicated to using fresh local produce along with our house made artisan breads to insure a quality and healthy dining experience. The same quality and freshness is found in all the cocktails from our bar. Premium liquors, hand squeezed juices and muddled berries create our exceptional and award winning martini’s. We look forward to your visit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 439-6900

Website:
http://www.maxsbistro.com/

Catering:
Delivery of catering menu items to your business or home.

Executive Chef:
Scott Sauer/ Big Sur California

Private Party Facilities:
Max's has two semi-private dining areas accommodating party sizes of 18 or 40. We can also accomodate buy-out parties of up to 160 guests. Contact us for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
J.J. Wettstead: 5598929969

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Trio
  • Filet Black Truffle Butter Truffled Mac And Cheese
  • Molten Chocolate Cake
  • Max's Grilled Chicken Club Sandwhich
  • Grilled Cheese
Duck Trio
Filet Black Truffle Butter Truffled Mac And Cheese
Molten Chocolate Cake
Max's Grilled Chicken Club Sandwhich
Grilled Cheese

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Max's Bistro & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Food
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Service
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
7 More
Best Ambiance
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Fit for Foodies
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Romantic
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Special Occasion
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno
Best Restaurants in Fresno ›

Special Occasion (23)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
See All
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Romantic (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Healthy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Cozy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (2)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Spicy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious and the server wa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food was delicious and the server was very friendly and efficient

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Have been eating at Max's since they fir ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Have been eating at Max's since they first opened...never disappointed and will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Outstanding , love Max's , We try ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Always Outstanding , love Max's , We try to get there at least once a week !!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there to celebrate my brother's ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were there to celebrate my brother's birthday. The special, halibut, was prepared well, with partnering kale and some kind of scalloped potato. Beautiful presented. Our server, Ellie, was warm, welcoming, shared specials as well as her favorites with us. She was delightful, outgoing, and fun. Only drawback was the volume of conversation around us - and we were in a "quiet" corner.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Server tried way too hard to sell us a $ ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Server tried way too hard to sell us a $95 bottle of wine in stead of the $55 bottle I'd ordered,. Was really unprofessional; like something you would get a Chili's rather than a very nice local restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent as aleays

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent as aleays

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing time. Chelsea was our ser ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Had an amazing time. Chelsea was our server. Food was great and recommend for everyone. A hidden gem in our area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Delightful Birthday celebration! Fabulou ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Delightful Birthday celebration! Fabulous specials!

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan, Bar Seating, Tapas, Fun, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have found Max's to be an excellent g ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have found Max's to be an excellent gem! No matter what server we are treated like royalty every time we walk in the door. The food is superb I need to watch my diet and this place makes that so comfortable! Favorite is the kale Caesar salad😍

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although, quite pricey, we all enjoyed o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Although, quite pricey, we all enjoyed our entrees: halibut, brick chicken, steak,spicy penne, very much! Our server was extraordinary-so personable and efficient.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

They have an excellent variety of unique ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

They have an excellent variety of unique entrées and they are different daily. We enjoy the quality of the cuisine they're not only delicious but there are choices are quite healthy!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Max's! Ahi Tostadas, 3 buckets of ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Love Max's! Ahi Tostadas, 3 buckets of fries sampler simply the best in town. Good choices in wine by the bottle but be prepared to pay$$$. Always something different at Max's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A lovely lunch, however, when I made the ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

A lovely lunch, however, when I made the reservation I noted that it was for a birthday ... I expected a complimentary desert for the birthday girl. Not the case! Disappointed 🙁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We were in Fresno overnight before headi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were in Fresno overnight before heading up to Kings Canyon National Park. I was looking for a high quality restaurant and we sure found it in Max's! My partner had the superfood salad and it was delicious! I had the salmon salad which also was very good. Our server was very friendly and attentive. The art work is very interesting and unique. All in all, we enjoyed eating there and would definitely go back next time we're in Fresno.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a nice comfortable place to hav ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This was a nice comfortable place to have food and conversation. They were accomodating to our gluten-free needs and the food was delicious. The sweet potato fries were addicting. Our server was friendly and knowledgable but not hovering. We had a nice evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've eaten at Max's and have never been ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've eaten at Max's and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Server was super friendly and helpful (I ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Server was super friendly and helpful (I can always narrow things down to two, but then need some help deciding!), drinks were delish, the food very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been going to Max's since it opened ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Have been going to Max's since it opened...never disappointed! Max's always comes to mind when considering eating out at a nice place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined there many times and have ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have dined there many times and have never been disappointed. The management is changing, with the long-time general manager (who ran it so well) now the owner - so we are assured of a continual good food, service, and ambience. There are many good restaurants in this area and Max's is one of its jewels.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Food was very good. I wou ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great service. Food was very good. I would go back. Neat art pieces.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delish. I am gluten intolerant. I found ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Delish. I am gluten intolerant. I found alot of good choices for me to eat. Love the sweet potato fries!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to dine!

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Our salads (spinach & berry) were exceptional! Our service was attentive and seamless. The GM, J.J. was a graceful host. I am thoroughly impressed with the whole experience and will certainly return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was delish....love t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

As always, the food was delish....love the sweet potato fries, the halibut lunch special was cooked perfect. Our server did a great job of taking care of us. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service! Our food was phenomen ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Excellent service! Our food was phenomenal! Would definitely recommend to others!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never been disappointed with service, fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Never been disappointed with service, food or ambiance. Always leave with smile on my face.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was disappointing, even with their ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was disappointing, even with their 'famous dishes.' Poor seasoning, improper cooking, and poor execution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Great anniversary dinner!

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Max's and had just a wonderful time. Food/service was wonderful. And then, unknown to us, our daughters picked up the tab.

Our server was really knowledgeable and always there when we needed her. She made the night complete. Really knows her stuff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Disappointing

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We have been dining at Max's for years and it has been consistently delicious. Unfortunately, the last two times we have gone, the food has been over-cooked and tough. I didn't think gnocchi could be tough, but this was like sponge and the brick chicken was just that, a brick! Very disappointing and I hear similar stories from a few other friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Try the Meatloaf

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Upon a recommendation of a trusted friend, I decided to have a special dinner with my wife. As visitors to Fresno, we found this amazing gem to be an awesome experience. I would recommend others to dine at Max's. What made the evening special was the attention to detail. There was plenty of specialty in the way we were treated as customers as well as the selection of entrees, appetizers, and specialty drinks. This place had charm in not only the decor but also in the food itself. Who else could make a meatloaf gourmet? Max's did... and with charisma and attitude - a rare find in a dining experience these days. Lastly, even the green beans were to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Another great evening at Max's! Awesome ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Another great evening at Max's! Awesome service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good selection for everyone- fish ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Always good selection for everyone- fish, meat, salads,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love this place

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Food

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Always enjoy Maxs as the food is always good. Great place for bridal or baby showers. Staff works with you and are always helpful

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love to come here with my husband or whe ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Love to come here with my husband or whenever we have family in town. Max's is consistently good - both in the diversity of the tasty foods and awesome service. Great crew!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently Good

vip
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

We first visited this place a few years ago (2013) when we moved to the area and our initial impression was really just eh... we thought the food, service and ambiance didn't quite match the price-point (granted we're spoiled coming from a bigger city) so we didn't return for a few years. We decided to give it another try considering it had been a few years since our last visit and we were not disappointed! Everything from our food to the service was outstanding and because of that one experience a few months ago, we've returned at least once a week if not more. Whatever changed...the menu was different from our first visit... keep it up

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

My husband and I love it at Max's & find ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

My husband and I love it at Max's & find ourselves here weekly. The food is consistently delicious, service is awesome, and the overall experience is pleasant.

They have the best pies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

staff

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Once again the service was EXCELLENT! They were efficient, friendly, and informative. I always enjoy my meal at Max's and the design of the restaurant allows me to converse with and enjoy my company as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. Food is always fres ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Excellent as always. Food is always fresh and loaded with flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Both friendly service and good food have ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Both friendly service and good food have a consistent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.