About Max's Bistro & Bar

1784 W. Bullard Ave.
Fresno, CA 93711
View Larger Map

Max’s is regarded as one of the finest restaurants in the Central Valley. Our rustic California Cuisine and Gallery setting features local artist Tomas Panzarino. Max’s has welcomed Fresno visitors and our local neighbors for over 10 years. We are dedicated to using fresh local produce along with our house made artisan breads to insure a quality and healthy dining experience. The same quality and freshness is found in all the cocktails from our bar. Premium liquors, hand squeezed juices and muddled berries create our exceptional and award winning martini’s. We look forward to your visit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 439-6900

Website:
http://www.maxsbistro.com/

Catering:
Delivery of catering menu items to your business or home.

Executive Chef:
Scott Sauer/ Big Sur California

Private Party Facilities:
Max's has two semi-private dining areas accommodating party sizes of 18 or 40. We can also accomodate buy-out parties of up to 160 guests. Contact us for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
J.J. Wettstead: 5598929969

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Trio - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA
  • Filet Black Truffle Butter Truffled Mac And Cheese - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA
  • Molten Chocolate Cake - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA
  • Max's Grilled Chicken Club Sandwhich  - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA
  • Grilled Cheese - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA

Report a photo problem

Duck Trio - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA
Filet Black Truffle Butter Truffled Mac And Cheese - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA
Molten Chocolate Cake - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA
Max's Grilled Chicken Club Sandwhich  - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA
Grilled Cheese - Max's Bistro & Bar, Fresno, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Max's Bistro & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Romantic (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Business Meals (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Cozy (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Private Room (6)
Casual (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
508 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I asked my daughter-in-law to join me fo ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 7 days ago

I asked my daughter-in-law to join me for lunch and she selected Max's which is both our favorite. Lindsy was our server and did an excellent job with our orders and refills of our drinks. We selected the Ahi special of the day along with the Ahi tostadas, both excellent and well prepared. We visited for over 2 hours and never felt any pressure to move along!

This is a first class restaurant who caters to their clientele, we will return!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined here several times and alwa ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have dined here several times and always enjoy the atmosphere. The food is exceptional and never disappointing. The staff are friendly and knowledgable and always make sure my experience is pleasant. I will be back again for sure!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food great service

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and Excellent service as alwa ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and Excellent service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our table wasn't ready when we got ther ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our table wasn't ready when we got there. 20 minute wait for it. Took an hour to get our bottle of wine. The food was just okay. Once I got my food, they wanted to box it up and rush me out! It was not the nice occasion we were looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Service and ambiance is always wonderful ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service and ambiance is always wonderful. Food is usually great, but our food experience this time was disappointing. The presentation was very nice but the meal ( Mushroom Risotto)lacked flavor, consistency, and texture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

New Year's Eve dinner with friends could ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve dinner with friends could not have been nicer. Max's goes the extra mile to make you feel very important and a valuable customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy to get a table on short notice. No ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Happy to get a table on short notice. Not the best table but the service and food were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed the evening - great food & servi ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Enjoyed the evening - great food & service! A little over the top as to noise level and limited parking, but both tolerable. Will visit Max's in the future.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Max's is always a good bet for good, hig ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Max's is always a good bet for good, higher-end meals. Went for an office Christmas party & even the pickiest eaters among us were satisfied!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were concerned bringing a guest since ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

we were concerned bringing a guest since we have had some bad meals and not back for awhile, in this case the food was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Max's continues to be my favorite local ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Max's continues to be my favorite local Bistro for lunch or dinner. Love the bright artwork and hip decor. The food is always creative and fresh. This time for lunch both of us had the Ahi Tostada's. Although they were small for an entre' portion the flavors were good and enticed us to have a dessert ( fruit pie, yum.)

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightfully serene atmosphere- exquisit ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Delightfully serene atmosphere- exquisite cuisine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Max's, we are always happy with ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We love Max's, we are always happy with the dining experience. The atmosphere is great, the food is always wonderful, always friendly service, Kelsey was our waitress this weekend and she is adorable. We love seeing JJ in the restaurant, greeting and visiting with his customers. So happy for him!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We use to love to go Max's. It was cons ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We use to love to go Max's. It was consistence. But, I don't know what happened. I had the Prawn (4) with Risotto at $30. The Risotto was uneatable. Very starchy and no flavor. When I asked to get at least some mashed potatoes to go with, I was served them cold. We had to ask to have our appetizer plates cleared, we had to ask for refills on water and there just wasn't consistent service to our table. We were very disappointed and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

It was our anniversary celebration & it ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 30, 2016

It was our anniversary celebration & it couldn't have been better! The food was exquisite and the presentation unique perfection! I love the way they seem to know exactly what we need & like!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I only gave it a 4 star due to the prici ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I only gave it a 4 star due to the pricing. Great food but just a little pricey, but very good!

As far as the food, it was a little on the cold side, but again very good! Over all a very nice evening. Will be returning very soon. Thank You Max's.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I brought my high school athletes for a ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I brought my high school athletes for a pre race meal. They have diverse diets so we needed variety in the menu. It was perfect and delicious. Everyone got what they needed and exclaimed how delicious it was. And our waitress was adorable. She treated my teenage athletes with respect and genuine kindness. We all walked away happy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly people, nice surroundings, easy ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Friendly people, nice surroundings, easy parking, and wonderful food.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, wonderful food and service. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

As always, wonderful food and service. Many gluten free options!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply Excellent. Great Food, Great Win ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Simply Excellent. Great Food, Great Wine, Great Service. Will definitely visit again soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and presentation!

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Delicious food and presentation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had the pan seared salmon salad. It w ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We had the pan seared salmon salad. It was excellent. Salmon was cooked to perfection. Service was friendly and first class as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at Max's. I had the new York ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 31, 2016

First time at Max's. I had the new York steak special and it was one of the best steaks I have ever had. Definitely recommend the steak. Other people to my table had salmon halibut and prawns and all said were excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was great but unfortunately 2 of ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was great but unfortunately 2 of the 4 meals were great the other just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food and service as always

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent food and service as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went to celebrate for an evening with ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I went to celebrate for an evening with my girlfriend and the service was better than we have had in a long while. Food is very good and every dish was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I thought our server was so wonderful an ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I thought our server was so wonderful and attentive. She was so friendly and was really a joy to have. However, for as great the service was I wish the food was equally as good. I personally had the sesame ahi and was pretty disappointed. The strips were incredibly thin and the ahi was so unbelievably flavorless. I pretty much had a flavor of sesame and no taste of fish. The cous cous was exactly the same. My partner ordered a red meat entre and his dish has wilted, over buttered and over-peppered asparagus. I just expected the quality of the food to be so much better and was surprisingly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

We were in the area only for one day. Ma ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We were in the area only for one day. Max's was surprisingly good. We would seek it out again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Best bread in town. Excellent food, gre ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Best bread in town. Excellent food, great staff and good atmosphere. Had the open face shrimp and crab sandwich which was amazing but most of it is in a to-go bag because the appetizers and fresh bread were too good to pass up. Oh well, great leftovers!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server I was great!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Server I was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

As always, Max's was a great meal. The q ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

As always, Max's was a great meal. The quality of food is always outstanding. The staff is friendly and ready to assist when needed. Try the burger if you want to treat yourself. Desserts are to die for as well.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the art work. Excellent Steak with ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Loved the art work. Excellent Steak with a good presentation.

Missed on my martini. A little too dirty. Very good wine selection as well.

Loved our little waitress. Very entertaining and seemed to really enjoy what she was doing.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a very nice evening with frie ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We enjoyed a very nice evening with friends from out of town who hadn't been to Max's. They were completely satisfied and we enjoyed our meals. As a regular at Max's, I'm very sorry they took the scallops off the menu. A personal favorite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the server wa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food was delicious and the server was very friendly and efficient

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Have been eating at Max's since they fir ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Have been eating at Max's since they first opened...never disappointed and will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Outstanding , love Max's , We try ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Always Outstanding , love Max's , We try to get there at least once a week !!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there to celebrate my brother's ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were there to celebrate my brother's birthday. The special, halibut, was prepared well, with partnering kale and some kind of scalloped potato. Beautiful presented. Our server, Ellie, was warm, welcoming, shared specials as well as her favorites with us. She was delightful, outgoing, and fun. Only drawback was the volume of conversation around us - and we were in a "quiet" corner.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Server tried way too hard to sell us a $ ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Server tried way too hard to sell us a $95 bottle of wine in stead of the $55 bottle I'd ordered,. Was really unprofessional; like something you would get a Chili's rather than a very nice local restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.