About Maximillian's Grille & Wine Bar

Maximillians Grill & Wine Bar has been serving Cary & the Triangle for 25 years. Owned and operated by Will & Margie Hennessee, Maximillians offers global cuisine using locally sourced, seasonal ingredients. Offering over 15 wines by the glass in addition to an extensive bottle list, or enjoy one of our hand crafted cocktails or local draft beers. We hope you will join us, and if it is your first visit, it won't be your last! Cheers!

8314 Chapel Hill Rd
Cary, NC 27513-4051
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Fusion / Eclectic, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday 5:00 - 9:00 Friday - Saturaday 5:00 - 10:00

Cross Street:
Academy Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 465-2455

Website:
http://www.maximilliansgrill.com/

Catering:
Maximillians offers a variety of catering options based on your individual needs, from business to social we will assure your event to be a success.

Parking Details:
We offer a private parking lot for our guests.

Executive Chef:
Margie Hennessee

Private Party Facilities:
Our spacious upstairs loft overlooks the restaurant with seating for up to 24, and standing cocktail parties for up to 35.

Private Party Contact:
Will or Margie Hennessee: (919) 465-2455

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Will or Margie Hennessee 919-465-2455 for information.

Specials

SUMMER BAR FEATURES

Tuesdays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Specials

SUMMER BAR FEATURES

Tuesdays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details

Sip into Summer! Cocktail Tuesday - $5.00 House Cocktails Wine Wednesday - $5.00 House Wines BTG 25% off Bottles Draft Beer Thursday - $3.00 Local Draft Relax all Summer long with Maximillians Summer Bar Specials!. Excludes Tax and Tip. drink responsibly. designate a driver. don't drink & drive. eat. drink. local. Special valid Apr 25, 2017 - Aug 24, 2017 on Tuesdays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

Maximillian's Grille & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (5)
Romantic (5)
Business Meals (4)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Private Room (2)
Spicy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Cozy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I both enjoyed our appetizers, entrees, ad dessert. There is a great wine list. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable, and very polite. We will go back!

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My wife & I have been dining at Maximillians since the original Maximillians opened across from South Hills in Cary over 25 years ago. Max's is our go to restaurant for special occasions and when we just want great food. In addition to items on the menu Max offers 4-5 specials. One of the specials was a pasta & seafood dish which was available with Mediterranean spices or available with Thai spices. The seafood consisted of sheepshead fish, shrimp, and clams. I ordered the Thai style which was flavored with ginger, other spices and 4 or 5 different chili peppers ranging from mildly hot to habanero hot. The sheepshead fish crispy and had a very delicate taste. The shrimp were huge and plentiful. I don't know what kind of clams were served but they were around around 1 1/2 in diameter and were tasty. The dish was amazing. There were 4 or 5 distinct levels of hotness and taste depending on what what exactly I sampled. I've eaten hot dishes before at other restaurants where the heat covers up the flavors. With this dish the heat seemed to highlight the other spices which is a good thing. This dish was a variation of the "Pasta From Hell" dish that was on previous Max's menus.

My wife ordered the same seafood dish with the Mediterranean spices. She loved it. I tried a small sample and enjoyed it. If they didn't offer the Thai spiced version I would have ordered this version.

We had gespacho soup as an appetizer prior to the meal. The soup was cool & very tasty.

There was enough food in our meals to fill us up & also allow for 2 filling lunches the next day.

The wait staff, owners (Marge & Will), and other staff were very friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My husband and I decided to try someplace new for our anniversary so we picked Maximillion's Grill. It happened to be "Restaurant Week" so we decided to go with the prix fixe menu and both had the Wild Mushroom Ancini to start, which was very tasty. Hubby had the Korean BBQ Beef which was excellent - not too spicy, while I had the Pollo Avanti, which I loved. We had the layered coconut cake and key lime pie for dessert. Both were outrageous but the key lime might be one of the best we've ever had! Enjoyed an awesome bottle of Old Ghost Zinfandel by Klinkerbrick Vineyards which was fabulous. The portion size on this menu was perfect. It's been quite a while since we've thoroughly enjoyed a complete dinner out. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We had the special restaurant week deal, the appetizers were good but lacked decent flavor. Main course was good but the Korean BBQ plant have a lot of lettuce and basil on there and a small amount of rice, the meat was good and decent flavor. My wife had the shrimp pasta, the shrimp were excellent but the pasta was fair and the sauce was flavorless and way to much of it, seemed like a soup. Once our entree was served the level of service went down hill fast, ran out of drink(s), very slow to refill, very slow to bring the menu for desert and a very long time before the check came. Overall it's a decent place, not worth the money given the food and service we experienced.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We've been enjoying Maximillian's for many years in both it's current and former locations. The food is always excellent. Having said that, our dinner this week was the best ever; that is saying a lot, believe me. From start to finish, the food and drink were outstanding, and the service was flawless.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Long time customers. Food and service were great. We had Voodoo Tuna and Korean Beef, and started its the calamari.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I absolutely love Maximillians. Margie and Will are warm and welcoming the staff is great and the food amazing. The wine list offers good wines at every price point in addition they have yummy craft cocktails,I highly recommend the Left Bank. Wonderful service, wonderful food, wonderful drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Staff was great, food was excellent. Brandon was our server and did a great job explaining and making recommendations. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The atmosphere isn't quite up to the level of the food. I felt that overall it wasn't quite as good as expected based on recommendations and reviews I've heard previously. It was overall an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Food and service were incredible! A group of us celebrated a friends birthday. The two owners went out of their way to offer a personal touch, which made her birthday and our overall dining experience that much greater for everyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 2, 2017

What a great restaurant for our date! We have been dining at Max's for the past 10 years and we've never been disappointed. We had cocktails at the bar before dinner. Dry martini with blue cheese olives is my husband's favorite. I had a yummy glass of savingnon blanc & we shared the fried calamari. I had the scallops which were absolutely delicious & hub had the veal chop. We love coming here because Margie & Will always make us feel at home. Isn't that what it's all about? Love, love, love this place & all who make it special!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We ALWAYS enjoy Maximillian's. Have been doing so for over twenty years. Since taking over, Margie and Will have improved the interior/ambiance and the food is divine! We always look forward to the experience. My husband's out of town business vendors request Maximillian's on a regular basis. Shame on the woman who gave them a one star rating because she wasn't thoughtful enough to explain leaving her car overnight and into the next day. Looks like she certainly enjoyed everything else though... GO MARGIE!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We always have a fantastic meal, great drinks and wonderful service when we come here. Food is absolutely top notch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

An all around excellent evening. Food was delicious and prepared spot on. My mother has eaten duck all around the world and said it was the best she ever had. Voodoo Tuna rocks. The owners, Margie and Will, both took time to say hello. Out waiter knew the menu, was there when we needed him, and was never hovering. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 7, 2017

While in town for a wedding we found this gem. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable, the food was excellent and innovative, and the service people were always there but not intrusive. The chef even came out to talk to us about our meal after we had finished. We will definitely come back to this restaurant the next time we are in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We love this restaurant and brought another couple after attending the NC Art Museum. Our friends were very impressed with everything! The wine, food, and whole experience was perfect. We love Maximillian's and we will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

My husband and I had dinner at Maximillian's Grille and Wine Bar this week and it was a wonderful experience. We are pesco-vegan and usually have difficulty in restaurants adjusting the food to get rid of meat and dairy.
Although the menu at Maximillian's did not look like it worked well for us, we had a secret ally, the chef/owner Margie Hennessee. Margie made us a delicious pesco-vegan version of exactly what we wanted. She is terrific and we felt very well cared for at Maximillian's.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Outstanding, as always. everyone goes out of their way to make sure everything is spot on...both the service and , it goes without saying the food.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual, Tapas, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Mady was fantastic and the food was very good! We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was phenomenal. Service was outstanding. The only negative: live music was overbearing in volume. Could not hold a conversation at our table-will definitely return, justnot on a music night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food remains delicious and creative. Lots of flavor and freshness. Service was engaged and pleasant. Good wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent food and service. Outstanding veal chop and duck dishes. Good starters including pear and gorgonzola salad and potato and leak soup. Excellent prices on wine; markup is far less than other restaurants. Really not sure how they do it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We were disappointed that it was under new ownership but we're optimistic that it would be equally good. My husband was disappointed with the small serving side of the Korean BBQ hidden under the slaw. The taste was excellent just small. My chicken dish was very good and adequate in size. Our biggest complaint was the coldness of the restaurant. The temperature had dropped outside, there evidently was no heat on and ceiling fans were on. We complained twice but got no response. I overheard the next table complain and then the heat came on.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We choose Maximilian's to celebrate the sale of our home. The service was superb, great nightly specials and an excellent wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food is as good as ever; however, with the remodel, the ambiance is not as good as it use to be. I'd like it a little darker with candles on the table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great calamari and interesting cocktails. We had an assortment of appetizers and dessert. Mexican pizza was so-so. Service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was excellent as always. Great for a date or special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Maximillians has excellent food and is always a great choice for a good dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Dinner at Max's was fantastic as always! It is my MUST go to restaurant when I am in the Triangle area. Margie, Will and the staff have done a marvelous job of revamping the menu with delicious entrees, and the wine list is superb with many price points. Margie and Will priced their wine so bottles are easily affordable. I had the rack of lamb, and it was grilled to perfection, and most satisfying. The cuisine is delightful and the plates are artistically prepared so that they are pleasant not only to the palate, but to the eye as well. The menu is varied so that anyone can find an entree that fits their desire. I highly recommend Maximillian's Grille, and no that it will not disappoint!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had the Veal Chop and it was fantastic. Vodo Tuna was very spicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great, unique food freshly prepared, and of the highest quality ingredients! Somewhat limited wines by the glass...would love to see a flight offered! Waiter very attentive, perhaps a bit chummy, but better than nowhere to be found 😉 Music not a great choice for Saturday night dining, and floor could use a warmer feel but overall, we've found our new "go to" place and cannot wait to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food at Maximillion's is still good but I do not believe it is as good as it had been in the past. Some dishes were excellent but others were not very exciting. The service was excellent. We did not order any alcohol so I cannot speak to that part of their offerings.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Will and Margie are continuing the excellent tradition of Max's but adding their own touch. New prix fixe option. Expanded wine list. Same great food and great wine prices. I had ribeye with succotash special, two colleagues had voodoo tuna. All great! Cannot wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We went to celebrate my husband's birthday. This was our first visit since new ownership. We were not disappointed! Food was excellent and so was service!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Dinner was amazing..Dessert wasn't great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

First visit, stuck with the basics but was pleasantly surprised by the little details. They did the basics very well, and I'm confident enough to get a little more adventurous next time. And there will be a next time. I'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

First time here since the new owners took over. The place is much brighter.

The menu is more varied with addition of soup and salads. Still wish they would put salt and pepper on the table.

My filet was perfectly cooked. The potato gratin with creamed spinach was very good. My wife's special salad was good but had a very small amount of goat cheese in relation to the description.

We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a very large group and the experience was a good one for all. Our servers were attentive and everyone's food arrived at the same time, impressive for a party of 11. Many of us took part in the Triangle Restaurant Week menu and it was delicious. As a vegetarian I was pleased with my options. The only challenge was having a table upstairs when the bathrooms were located downstairs but that was not a huge deal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everything was fantastic my only complaint would be the flourless chocolate torte was dry/over cooked and not super chocolate tasting

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.