About Maximillians Grill & Wine Bar

Maximillians Grill & Wine Bar has been serving Cary & the Triangle for 25 years. Owned and operated by Will & Margie Hennessee, Maximillians offers global cuisine using locally sourced, seasonal ingredients. Offering over 15 wines by the glass in addition to an extensive bottle list, or enjoy one of our hand crafted cocktails or local draft beers. We hope you will join us, and if it is your first visit, it won't be your last! Cheers!

8314 Chapel Hill Rd
Cary, NC 27513-4051
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Fusion / Eclectic, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday 5:00 - 9:00 Friday - Saturaday 5:00 - 10:00

Cross Street:
Academy Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 465-2455

Website:
http://www.maximilliansgrill.com/

Catering:
Maximillians offers a variety of catering options based on your individual needs, from business to social we will assure your event to be a success.

Parking Details:
We offer a private parking lot for our guests.

Executive Chef:
Margie Hennessee

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Will or Margie Hennessee 919-465-2455 for information.

Maximillians Grill & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Creative Cuisine (12)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Casual (6)
Fun (6)
Romantic (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Cozy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I came here for NYE and loved it! (Especially the seasonal oysters) We came back this summer for a date night and again, was not disappointed. Drinks are great and seasonal!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Chef was wonderfully generous with an appetizer with brisket on polenta. Great app!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Max's has always been one of my favorites, but last time we went (probably around 2 years ago) we were really disappointed and I hadn't been back. We decided to go back this week for a date night, and it was amazing! They are back at the top of my list for date nights.
I had the duck, which was perfect, and a very large portion. My husband had the calamari which he said was the perfect texture and the brisket appetizer special which I snuck a bite of and it was spectacular!
It is nice to have somewhere this good in Cary!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Max's has been one of our favorites for many, many years. We are more than impressed by the subtle, (and some not so subtle), tweaks that the new ownership has come up with. There's more emphasis on local ingredients for sure. As always, the food was fabulous...four different entrees, each one excellent, as were the desserts we indulged in. We were a very happy crew!

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Experience was terffic, resturant was perfect, staff great, great, and food was outstanding delicious. Everyone was so friendly, we felt we had been there many times before and were part of a wonderful family resturant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great food; great service. Will go back again and will suggest to others

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

My wife and I picked Maximillian's for our anniversary, and I don't think we could have been happier. Great food, excellent and personable service, and fun.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food was great and the portions were large. The atmosphere does not match the quality of the food -- it seems more like a small neighborhood restaurant with no ambiance. It was too noisy for my taste.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We found this restaurant by chance thru a Google search. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but don't let that fool you. The menu is fantastic, with great options for everyone. Not your standard choices, but not so different that it will scare off the "non-foodies". I had the Grow a Pear cocktail, Korean BBQ sticky ribs appetizer, the Beef Filet with sauteed spinach stuffed portabello mushroom cap and sauteed green beans and carrots (dinner special), and coconut layer cake. Everything was delicious and the filet is the best I have ever had. Generous portions, reasonable prices, attentive staff and top-notch dishes...you need to head to Maximillian's tonight!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Delightful dining experience. Food was delicious. The entertainment added to the evening's enjoyment.

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 11, 2017

To survive 25 years as a fine-dining establishment in Cary, you have to be doing something right. But that doesn't mean being staid. Just the opposite in fact.

Maximillian's has always evolved while keeping its core values: globally influenced, locally sourced food bursting with flavor and textures in a comfortable, homey atmosphere. In just about a year and a half, Margie and Will Hennessee have put their own stamps on Max's, both from the culinary and hospitality angles.

While building on Michael Schiffer's foundation, Margie has found her own unique rhythm as a chef; the menu is continually sparkling with her creative approaches to clean dishes beautifully prepared with eye-popping surprises. A recent whole red-snapper, prepared Thai-style accompanied by an Asian pear, kohlrabi slaw was a revelation, each bite rewarding the diner with a kaleidoscope of flavors that never overwhelmed the delicate flesh of the fish. Just a few days before that there was a bouillabaisse featuring shrimp, scallops, clams and pan-seared amberjack finding a perfect home in an herbed shellfish broth. And a couple of weeks before that the Homage to the Pig featured a local blueberry chutney-style sauce that married North Carolina to Southeast Asia.

There's a wine list that builds upon the owners' ability to uncover impressive values that one doesn't normally find on other lists. Confer with Will, because he'll point you to something you might not expect, like pairing that snapper with an acidic, but well-rounded Muller Thurgau at a very attractive price point.

The front of the house is run quietly and efficiently in Will's hands. It's just a pleasant place to be among people with whom you'd like to spend time. And, you get to enjoy a sensational meal in the bargain. That's what keeps me coming back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Spicy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Overall service was good. Food was good but not spectacular. Tables are a bit tight to walls. Response to some food issues was less than ideal. No discounted meals or dessert offered for the issues experienced.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere. Will always be one of my favorite local restaurants in Cary!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Had a super experience on Friday night. Voodoo tuna and the amberjack special were both out of this world. Not to mention the "Force of Nature" Zinfandel. One of the very best restaurants in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

These guys do a great job with service, food, atmosphere. The space is a little loud, but it also feels cozy and comfortable and everyone is very friendly. We went for our anniversary on Saturday and multiple people throughout the night wished us a happy anniversary - - the staff is all like family so they create a warm environment and make you feel welcome.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The menu and specials have really evolved under the new owners and there is always something good for everyone. We greatly appreciated the expert attention of staff and felt so fortunate to get a visit from Chef! One of the best in Cary for fine dining.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Everything was done very well. We had calamari and we both had the Voodoo Tuna. This is a deceptively filling and quite tasty dish, but quite spicy. Not for the timid. Service was quite good, with attentiveness without being a bother.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Went here on the recommendation of a friend. Food was fabulous and service was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Found out about Maximillian's while reading Cary Living magazine. It received great reviews so we decided to celebrate our adult daughter's birthday as she was flying in from Florida to celebrate one of her niece's birthdays!
We had a blast! Mady, our waitress, was a hoot and provided fantastic service! We met Will (owner) and Maggie ( owner and chef). Before the evening was over we felt like family. I don't know how our adult son who is a "Foodie" escaped this lil gem when he lived in Raleigh. We will definitely take him to "Maxi's" next time he is in town! And we will for sure request Mady when we make reservations on Open Table.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My wife and I both enjoyed our appetizers, entrees, ad dessert. There is a great wine list. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable, and very polite. We will go back!

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My wife & I have been dining at Maximillians since the original Maximillians opened across from South Hills in Cary over 25 years ago. Max's is our go to restaurant for special occasions and when we just want great food. In addition to items on the menu Max offers 4-5 specials. One of the specials was a pasta & seafood dish which was available with Mediterranean spices or available with Thai spices. The seafood consisted of sheepshead fish, shrimp, and clams. I ordered the Thai style which was flavored with ginger, other spices and 4 or 5 different chili peppers ranging from mildly hot to habanero hot. The sheepshead fish crispy and had a very delicate taste. The shrimp were huge and plentiful. I don't know what kind of clams were served but they were around around 1 1/2 in diameter and were tasty. The dish was amazing. There were 4 or 5 distinct levels of hotness and taste depending on what what exactly I sampled. I've eaten hot dishes before at other restaurants where the heat covers up the flavors. With this dish the heat seemed to highlight the other spices which is a good thing. This dish was a variation of the "Pasta From Hell" dish that was on previous Max's menus.

My wife ordered the same seafood dish with the Mediterranean spices. She loved it. I tried a small sample and enjoyed it. If they didn't offer the Thai spiced version I would have ordered this version.

We had gespacho soup as an appetizer prior to the meal. The soup was cool & very tasty.

There was enough food in our meals to fill us up & also allow for 2 filling lunches the next day.

The wait staff, owners (Marge & Will), and other staff were very friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My husband and I decided to try someplace new for our anniversary so we picked Maximillion's Grill. It happened to be "Restaurant Week" so we decided to go with the prix fixe menu and both had the Wild Mushroom Ancini to start, which was very tasty. Hubby had the Korean BBQ Beef which was excellent - not too spicy, while I had the Pollo Avanti, which I loved. We had the layered coconut cake and key lime pie for dessert. Both were outrageous but the key lime might be one of the best we've ever had! Enjoyed an awesome bottle of Old Ghost Zinfandel by Klinkerbrick Vineyards which was fabulous. The portion size on this menu was perfect. It's been quite a while since we've thoroughly enjoyed a complete dinner out. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We had the special restaurant week deal, the appetizers were good but lacked decent flavor. Main course was good but the Korean BBQ plant have a lot of lettuce and basil on there and a small amount of rice, the meat was good and decent flavor. My wife had the shrimp pasta, the shrimp were excellent but the pasta was fair and the sauce was flavorless and way to much of it, seemed like a soup. Once our entree was served the level of service went down hill fast, ran out of drink(s), very slow to refill, very slow to bring the menu for desert and a very long time before the check came. Overall it's a decent place, not worth the money given the food and service we experienced.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We've been enjoying Maximillian's for many years in both it's current and former locations. The food is always excellent. Having said that, our dinner this week was the best ever; that is saying a lot, believe me. From start to finish, the food and drink were outstanding, and the service was flawless.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Long time customers. Food and service were great. We had Voodoo Tuna and Korean Beef, and started its the calamari.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I absolutely love Maximillians. Margie and Will are warm and welcoming the staff is great and the food amazing. The wine list offers good wines at every price point in addition they have yummy craft cocktails,I highly recommend the Left Bank. Wonderful service, wonderful food, wonderful drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Staff was great, food was excellent. Brandon was our server and did a great job explaining and making recommendations. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The atmosphere isn't quite up to the level of the food. I felt that overall it wasn't quite as good as expected based on recommendations and reviews I've heard previously. It was overall an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Food and service were incredible! A group of us celebrated a friends birthday. The two owners went out of their way to offer a personal touch, which made her birthday and our overall dining experience that much greater for everyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 2, 2017

What a great restaurant for our date! We have been dining at Max's for the past 10 years and we've never been disappointed. We had cocktails at the bar before dinner. Dry martini with blue cheese olives is my husband's favorite. I had a yummy glass of savingnon blanc & we shared the fried calamari. I had the scallops which were absolutely delicious & hub had the veal chop. We love coming here because Margie & Will always make us feel at home. Isn't that what it's all about? Love, love, love this place & all who make it special!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We ALWAYS enjoy Maximillian's. Have been doing so for over twenty years. Since taking over, Margie and Will have improved the interior/ambiance and the food is divine! We always look forward to the experience. My husband's out of town business vendors request Maximillian's on a regular basis. Shame on the woman who gave them a one star rating because she wasn't thoughtful enough to explain leaving her car overnight and into the next day. Looks like she certainly enjoyed everything else though... GO MARGIE!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We always have a fantastic meal, great drinks and wonderful service when we come here. Food is absolutely top notch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

An all around excellent evening. Food was delicious and prepared spot on. My mother has eaten duck all around the world and said it was the best she ever had. Voodoo Tuna rocks. The owners, Margie and Will, both took time to say hello. Out waiter knew the menu, was there when we needed him, and was never hovering. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 7, 2017

While in town for a wedding we found this gem. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable, the food was excellent and innovative, and the service people were always there but not intrusive. The chef even came out to talk to us about our meal after we had finished. We will definitely come back to this restaurant the next time we are in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We love this restaurant and brought another couple after attending the NC Art Museum. Our friends were very impressed with everything! The wine, food, and whole experience was perfect. We love Maximillian's and we will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

My husband and I had dinner at Maximillian's Grille and Wine Bar this week and it was a wonderful experience. We are pesco-vegan and usually have difficulty in restaurants adjusting the food to get rid of meat and dairy.
Although the menu at Maximillian's did not look like it worked well for us, we had a secret ally, the chef/owner Margie Hennessee. Margie made us a delicious pesco-vegan version of exactly what we wanted. She is terrific and we felt very well cared for at Maximillian's.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Outstanding, as always. everyone goes out of their way to make sure everything is spot on...both the service and , it goes without saying the food.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual, Tapas, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Mady was fantastic and the food was very good! We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was phenomenal. Service was outstanding. The only negative: live music was overbearing in volume. Could not hold a conversation at our table-will definitely return, justnot on a music night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.