About Maximillian's Grille & Wine Bar

8314 Chapel Hill Rd
Cary, NC 27513-4051
View Larger Map

Maximillians Grill & Wine Bar has been serving Cary & the Triangle for 25 years. Owned and operated by Will & Margie Hennessee, Maximillians offers global cuisine using locally sourced, seasonal ingredients. Offering over 15 wines by the glass in addition to an extensive bottle list, or enjoy one of our hand crafted cocktails or local draft beers. We hope you will join us, and if it is your first visit, it won't be your last! Cheers!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Fusion / Eclectic, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday 5:00 - 9:00 Friday - Saturaday 5:00 - 10:00

Cross Street:
Academy Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 465-2455

Website:
http://www.maximilliansgrill.com/

Catering:
Maximillians offers a variety of catering options based on your individual needs, from business to social we will assure your event to be a success.

Parking Details:
We offer a private parking lot for our guests.

Executive Chef:
Margie Hennessee

Private Party Facilities:
Our spacious upstairs loft overlooks the restaurant with seating for up to 24, and standing cocktail parties for up to 35.

Private Party Contact:
Will or Margie Hennessee: 9194652455

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Will or Margie Hennessee 919-465-2455 for information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Maximillian's Grille & Wine Bar
Maximillian's Grille & Wine Bar

Maximillian's Grille & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Cary
Best Food
Cary
4 More
Best Service
Cary
Best Value
Cary
Neighborhood Gem
Cary
Most Booked
Cary
Best Restaurants in Cary ›

Fit for Foodies (25)
Special Occasion (20)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Romantic (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Spicy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great atmosphere! More for adults than ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great atmosphere! More for adults than children. I recommend this place for special occasions as my husband I were there for date night. It's a nice place to get dolled up and go eat.

Tags: Romantic, Spicy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy our meals at Maximillian ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 7 days ago

We always enjoy our meals at Maximillian's. It is under new ownership, but they have kept some of our old favorites, specifically the voodoo tuna, and the Korean beef BBQ. Slightly changed, but still good! Service was excellent, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I came back for the calamari, as it's ab ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I came back for the calamari, as it's absolutely the best I've ever had. I could eat it every week. Brought my relatives who were visiting from Houston and they enjoyed the calamari too, plus all the other food they ordered. We all cleaned our plates! It was a joy to dine there. Thanks a million Maximillian's!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The waitress, food and ambiance were awe ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The waitress, food and ambiance were awesome. I had the chicken and my boyfriend had salmon both dishes were awesome. The waitress was definitely attentive. This was my boyfriend's first eating experience there this was my fourth many years ago before. It did not disappoint and made me look like a rockstar. The only miss was possibly the key lime pie and that is a minor criticism. We will be back trust me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I LOVE Maximillians! My favorite restaur ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I LOVE Maximillians! My favorite restaurant. We had exceptional service from Mady. Our food was delicious and I love the ambiance. ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While our waiter, Jason was very kind an ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

While our waiter, Jason was very kind and friendly, he was simply way too chatty. He also did not seem to know the mixed drink menu - My date asked for an apple-tini and he said, "great no problem" and less than a minute later he said "oh we don't have much variety in the area of mixed drinks" but he did make a very suitable recommendation - a Lemon Drop. Which was wonderful. Also , we hesitated to ask him any specific questions about the appetizers or entrees because he was unable to provide a specific answer - he just kind of went on and on... (never actually answering the question - but it was fine- LOL!)

The food was outstanding - we loved our appetizers of calamari and tomato stuffed with crab meat and our entrees exceeded our expectations!! - Thank you

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I'm vegan and to have the chef come out ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I'm vegan and to have the chef come out and ask me questions to ensure I get a great meal was extremely impressive!!!! The meal was perfect and the experience was amazing! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mady made a memorable experience for our ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Mady made a memorable experience for our 21st and 27th anniversary! Thank you, Mady! We will be back. Five star restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will and Margie have managed to pull off ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Will and Margie have managed to pull off the difficult feat of carrying forward the tradition of an established restaurant's character and traditional menus. Having been a patron of Maximillian's since the mid 90's, my wife and I have had many a great meal by the former owners (Gale and Michael). I am very happy to write that Margie and Will are keeping to the playbook of their former employers and creating great food at reasonable prices. Thanks for a wonderful meal and look to be visiting again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one the best places I have ever ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

This is one the best places I have ever eaten at... phenomenal.

Tags: Seasonal, Spicy, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service from Mady and the food ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Wonderful service from Mady and the food was excellent for a 70th birthday gathering. Would highly recommend for off the beaten path gem!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each course we had was outstanding: shri ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Each course we had was outstanding: shrimp ceviche, grilled caesar and voodoo tuna. The noodles under the tuna were exquisite. The new owners are doing a great job!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellant. The chairs were ver ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Food was excellant. The chairs were very uncomfortable. Padding is needed on the seats.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food under new ownership. Woul ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food under new ownership. Would definitely recommend for quality dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Maximilian's has reopened Under New Mana ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Maximilian's has reopened Under New Management and they're doing an excellent job. They limited their menu but kept the quality High. The wait staff was excellent and have very good knowledge of the wine selection. They eat calamari and shrimp ceviche appetizers were excellent. And of course the dessert selection was very good. They still remain one of my favorite restaurants in the Cary Area. Two thumbs-up👍👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Such a find...truly the best Cary has to ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Such a find...truly the best Cary has to offer! I am a true foodie and for all my fellow lovers of exceptional food, this restaurant will not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were happy to have the pleasure of di ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were happy to have the pleasure of dining at Maximilian's. The service , drinks and food were great. The decor was a bit sparse.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Still think it is the best restaurant in ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Still think it is the best restaurant in Cary. Food is superior

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been a fan of Maximillians almos ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have been a fan of Maximillians almost from the day it opened. We were pleased to experience a dinner with the new owners. It was delicious as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While it is set in a rather unassuming l ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

While it is set in a rather unassuming location, the food and service were excellent! Jessica was our server and we could no have asked for better!

The food was delicious and presented very well!

We will definitely look forward to going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was wonderful, our waitress ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The service was wonderful, our waitress was attentive without being intrusive. The food was very good, but we did miss some of the old favorites. I hope they bring back the Pasta from Hell.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Service and overall experience was great ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service and overall experience was great. We thought food was a little pricey for what you got which is why it did not get an overall excellent. Service made the evening enjoyable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Best meal we've had in ages! Margie and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Best meal we've had in ages! Margie and Will Hennessee have done a fabulous job with remodeling. Brighter. More light. Service was impeccable. Food outstanding! Who knew that Margie also wears the chef's hat??? Best voodoo tuna since 1996... Can't wait to go back and try the rest of the menu. We enjoyed fresh salads, ceviche, calamari, and the homemade gelato also. Had to take some home of course. They're even using recyclable take home containers now. Congratulations on the Hennessee Maxillians! Way to go!👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service. Great daily specials ...

 
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Fantastic service. Great daily specials. Traditional Maximilian's with Will and Margie's own touch. Thank you for a wonderful experience. We will definitely be back again very shortly to dine with you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual the food was amazing! Margie an ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

As usual the food was amazing! Margie and her team are very creative in the kitchen and everything ordered by our party of five was outstanding! Only two things that weren't great: the air conditioning was very chilly in the main dining room; and our server was very quirky, hovered, and cut into the middle of our conversations. I would also recommend that the server gets a drink order first and tells about an appetizer special only before schpealing every single special at the first visit to the table - too much on an initial approach and happened both times we have dined here. As a former restaurant GM, the small details of service can make the difference. The food and management are so amazing, though, that we will keep coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

This occasion was payback for dinner my ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This occasion was payback for dinner my neighbors made me. I don't cook and I knew Maximillians would be a treat for my hosts who are new to the area. It was all I'd hoped: food, wine, and service (Jessica) were outstanding. I had the oyster appetizer and the tile fish special entree and recommend both without hesitation. Based on my neighbors' rave review of the evening, I expect them to ask me to dinner again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Margie and Will are great hosts we had a ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Margie and Will are great hosts we had a party of eight with kids and we're seated upstairs little less noisy in the loft area everything was great. Tremendous beer choices. I enjoy dark beer occasionally and the double barley vanilla was unique and my favorite. The Korean barbecue outstanding, Voodoo Tuna although a little on the hot side was perfectly done everyone enjoyed their meal. Kids were able to get a steak and cake. Chocolate x3 and carrot tops, but key lime was authentic and not to be overlooked. Great place in Cary.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was good, but service was questiona ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was good, but service was questionable. The waiter was great, but I was denied the special because another table (ordering after us) might want it (owner decision). This was early in the evening, so no excuse to be out of the special. The other table did take all three of the available seafood specials, and I had to pick something else. The owner never explained or offered anything!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Not as good as it used to be. There was ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Not as good as it used to be. There was not even any music to offset all the noise they were making shoving tables and chairs around on the second floor. This went on for about 15 minutes. Also, not even a basket of bread! The pear salad, which I used to love, was much smaller and not as good. My husband had the pork chop which was largely bone and fat, hard to eat and he did not care for it. I had a Thai dish that was very flavorful and nicely prepared; the only bright spot of the evening.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

We walked into a warm welcome and the st ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We walked into a warm welcome and the staff was extremely attentive and sweet. The menu is exotic with some ambitious dishes. However, it strikes me that the kitchen may not be fully equipped to prepare such diverse offerings every night and this was evident in my meal choice (the duck) which was apparently a new menu item added that week. It was served cold on the inside which leads me to believe it was re-heated. I probably would have been none the wiser if they had crisped the skin and heated it through the center. We started with the shrimp which was drenched in sweet chili sauce, I could only eat two pieces before the flavor became too much. My husband ordered the fish special which was a whole fish prepared thai style. It was a total mission to eat and had not been adequately cleaned and deboned for restaurant preparation. While I want to support this local establishment, there is a lot of room for improvement especially at the current prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

New owners, menu, wine list...all for the better

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at Max's. Our first time there since Will and Margie took over. The menu is a little more refined and elegant than the original and the food is just as outstanding if not better. But they did keep a few familiar favorites. They've also worked very hard to make the wine list more interesting and varied. We were thrilled to see a selection of Fiddlehead wines, one of our favorite producers.

Will and Margie are gracious hosts, and Maximillian's feels as warm and inviting as ever. Please go check them out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

It had been a while since my wife and I had eaten here. I did not realize that the owners had sold the business.

I was however happy to find out that they sold to people who had worked there for years and were dedicated to keeping up the level of service I was used to! I was still able to order from the old menu and though the flavor might have been a little different, it will be hard to find the quality anywhere else.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Maximilian 's has always had good food more on the Asian fusion side but several traditional plates too. Noise level is very high. They keep temperature very cool and uncomfortable. We chose to eat outside solving the overactive A/C problem as well as the noise problem. Much nicer there. Their voodoo tuna is legendary tho they tend to make it too hot-spicy. In the past I could only eat part of the dish as it was too spicy. The last two times I threaten the chefs and warn only 1/2 star out of 4 star heat and it's just right. Korean BBQ is delicious. Not spicy. The seasonal fish is variable. Ask your server.

There are plates and presentations unavailable at other Raleigh/Cary restaurants. I love it. Good quality. The pear salad is always a winner. The desserts are mostly nice cakes. I prefer the carrot cake. The wine list is much less extensive than with previous management tho sufficient. Service is good and they really care about your dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Business Group Dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I booked a table for 12 based on online reviews. I later learned from a few locals that Maximillian's comes highly recommended. We were not disappointed. the appetizers and entrees were excellent. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. Importantly the staff knew when to be present wnd when to stay away to allow us conversation and time to relax.

Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Better than before

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Delighted to find that Max's has reopened and is even better than before. Menu is a little more limited, but with some great specials - the soft-shell crab was outstanding. Scallops were also worth having again.

And desserts (grand marnier creme brulee and blood orange sorbet) were both delicious.

Noise level seems better than before, too.

We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great menu, excellent staff

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great menu, excellent staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose Maximillian's over other seafoo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We chose Maximillian's over other seafood and steak restaurants because of the price structure. The food was excellent and our server was very knowledgeable in the menu and the wine list. It was a great find and will definitely go back when back in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maximillian's is now in the capable hand ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Maximillian's is now in the capable hands of Will and Margie Hennessee, taking over from long-time owners (25 years) Michael and Gayle Schiffer. The new owners -- who spent most of 20 years in all capacities at Maximillian's -- have used Schiffer's renowned approach to fresh, local product combined with innovative flavor profiles as a launching point for their own deep exploration of culinary waters. The results should impress anyone committed to the enjoyment of great food in a convivial environment.

You'll feel welcomed here. The servers and bartenders are friendly and intelligent without any artifice or stuffiness. They are here to please you and make you comfortable. If you are a traveler who likes to hang out at the bar, you'll find good conversation, service and a nice drinks menu. When I travel to other cities, Maximillian's is the model for the kind of place I want to hang out.

The wine list is more extensive than in the past, with a wide range of selections that reflect the menu's global cuisine. They are priced right, with some of the lowest markups you'll find anywhere at a restaurant of this caliber.

I have my favorites -- the calamari, rib appetizer, any fish special, the scallops and risotto. A thai salad in this recent visit was swoon-worthy. There are no duds, so go for the gold. If you like heat, the Voodoo Tuna is bombastic. Every ingredient is best of breed -- fresh and beautifully prepared.

If you're anything like me when it comes to great food, you'll become a regular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is the best tasting food that I ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The food is the best tasting food that I've had in years! It is excellent!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't been to Maximillian's since the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I hadn't been to Maximillian's since their new ownership and 'facelift'. It was REALLY good. The menu had some regular items from before like the Grilled Caesar (Phenomenal), Calamari and Voodoo Tuna. I liked that they had added new items but also had many specials to offer. I had the swordfish over couscous which was to die for delish. My hubby had salmon w/spinach and fingerling potatoes. I was uncertain which wine to choose and the kind waitress brought me a taste so I could decide. The only thing I didn't like was that I was sitting near the stairs, and kept getting bumped every time someone walked past. But next time I will just ask for different seating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.