About Maximillian's Grille & Wine Bar

Maximillians Grill & Wine Bar has been serving Cary & the Triangle for 25 years. Owned and operated by Will & Margie Hennessee, Maximillians offers global cuisine using locally sourced, seasonal ingredients. Offering over 15 wines by the glass in addition to an extensive bottle list, or enjoy one of our hand crafted cocktails or local draft beers. We hope you will join us, and if it is your first visit, it won't be your last! Cheers!

8314 Chapel Hill Rd
Cary, NC 27513-4051
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Fusion / Eclectic, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday 5:00 - 9:00 Friday - Saturaday 5:00 - 10:00

Cross Street:
Academy Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 465-2455

Website:
http://www.maximilliansgrill.com/

Catering:
Maximillians offers a variety of catering options based on your individual needs, from business to social we will assure your event to be a success.

Parking Details:
We offer a private parking lot for our guests.

Executive Chef:
Margie Hennessee

Private Party Facilities:
Our spacious upstairs loft overlooks the restaurant with seating for up to 24, and standing cocktail parties for up to 35.

Private Party Contact:
Will or Margie Hennessee: (919) 465-2455

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Will or Margie Hennessee 919-465-2455 for information.

Maximillian's Grille & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (17)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Casual (8)
Romantic (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Healthy (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Spicy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
247 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food remains delicious and creative. Lots of flavor and freshness. Service was engaged and pleasant. Good wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. Outstanding veal chop and duck dishes. Good starters including pear and gorgonzola salad and potato and leak soup. Excellent prices on wine; markup is far less than other restaurants. Really not sure how they do it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were disappointed that it was under new ownership but we're optimistic that it would be equally good. My husband was disappointed with the small serving side of the Korean BBQ hidden under the slaw. The taste was excellent just small. My chicken dish was very good and adequate in size. Our biggest complaint was the coldness of the restaurant. The temperature had dropped outside, there evidently was no heat on and ceiling fans were on. We complained twice but got no response. I overheard the next table complain and then the heat came on.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We choose Maximilian's to celebrate the sale of our home. The service was superb, great nightly specials and an excellent wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Casual, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food is as good as ever; however, with the remodel, the ambiance is not as good as it use to be. I'd like it a little darker with candles on the table.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great calamari and interesting cocktails. We had an assortment of appetizers and dessert. Mexican pizza was so-so. Service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was excellent as always. Great for a date or special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Maximillians has excellent food and is always a great choice for a good dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Dinner at Max's was fantastic as always! It is my MUST go to restaurant when I am in the Triangle area. Margie, Will and the staff have done a marvelous job of revamping the menu with delicious entrees, and the wine list is superb with many price points. Margie and Will priced their wine so bottles are easily affordable. I had the rack of lamb, and it was grilled to perfection, and most satisfying. The cuisine is delightful and the plates are artistically prepared so that they are pleasant not only to the palate, but to the eye as well. The menu is varied so that anyone can find an entree that fits their desire. I highly recommend Maximillian's Grille, and no that it will not disappoint!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had the Veal Chop and it was fantastic. Vodo Tuna was very spicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great, unique food freshly prepared, and of the highest quality ingredients! Somewhat limited wines by the glass...would love to see a flight offered! Waiter very attentive, perhaps a bit chummy, but better than nowhere to be found 😉 Music not a great choice for Saturday night dining, and floor could use a warmer feel but overall, we've found our new "go to" place and cannot wait to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food at Maximillion's is still good but I do not believe it is as good as it had been in the past. Some dishes were excellent but others were not very exciting. The service was excellent. We did not order any alcohol so I cannot speak to that part of their offerings.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Will and Margie are continuing the excellent tradition of Max's but adding their own touch. New prix fixe option. Expanded wine list. Same great food and great wine prices. I had ribeye with succotash special, two colleagues had voodoo tuna. All great! Cannot wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We went to celebrate my husband's birthday. This was our first visit since new ownership. We were not disappointed! Food was excellent and so was service!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Dinner was amazing..Dessert wasn't great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

First visit, stuck with the basics but was pleasantly surprised by the little details. They did the basics very well, and I'm confident enough to get a little more adventurous next time. And there will be a next time. I'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

First time here since the new owners took over. The place is much brighter.

The menu is more varied with addition of soup and salads. Still wish they would put salt and pepper on the table.

My filet was perfectly cooked. The potato gratin with creamed spinach was very good. My wife's special salad was good but had a very small amount of goat cheese in relation to the description.

We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a very large group and the experience was a good one for all. Our servers were attentive and everyone's food arrived at the same time, impressive for a party of 11. Many of us took part in the Triangle Restaurant Week menu and it was delicious. As a vegetarian I was pleased with my options. The only challenge was having a table upstairs when the bathrooms were located downstairs but that was not a huge deal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everything was fantastic my only complaint would be the flourless chocolate torte was dry/over cooked and not super chocolate tasting

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We enjoyed the shortribs and coconut cake and both were wonderful.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Fantastic food...Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food was in need of seasoning. Dessert was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Outstanding as always. Food and service are impeccable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 24, 2017

pleasant atmosphere although tables were placed close together. Somewhat noisy. Wait staff and service excellent.
Not the best value as we felt prices were a bit high for what we got; delicious bread was not included with dinner. Wine pours 5 oz and priced a little higher than what we are use to paying although the white wine from Italy we ordered was excellent and we each got another glass. Should have ordered a bottle. My salmon (generous serving size) was delicious but the pork chop entree disappointing as it was quite chewy, hence the lower rating for food. Too full for dessert although the coconut cake looked awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I was a little concerned because people were talking about how the new owners were struggling a little at first, but no worries. The food was excellent as was the service (thanks, Jason!). I had a nicely done Cosmo for a cocktail. I then had their salmon for dinner. Salmon pan seared with a shallot mustard sauce. Roasted fingerling potatoes were also delicious. My friend had the Korean BBQ skirt steak with sticky rice. He gave me a bite and it was to die for. We ate every single bite, so we were too full for any desserts. I'll definitely go back again, which is great because I always loved Maximillian's in the past.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our occasion was New Year's Eve. We formerly dined at Maximmillians on a regular basis, but not as much in the last year and a half. We do think that the new owners are trying hard, but not quite making the mark of the former owners. We had a reservation for New Year's Eve for several days and the restaurant called in the afternoon to confirm. When we arrived, we were seated, but apparently they forgot us since we sat for close to 15 minutes before we were offered water. Other patrons came, were seated and had attention from a waiter before they realized we were still sitting. When the management finally realized that we had been overlooked, the waiter was very engaged, trying to make up for the oversight. We were short a table setting, for which I had to ask when the first course was served. We still think that even though there were lots of people moving around the restaurant and it was not full, there still seemed to be something a little off with regard to each next step. The food was very good, especially the daily salad. The lobster bisque, the daily special soup, was not especially hot, and not the WoW we were both expecting. Our main courses were very good. We will return again for sure, since we want this restaurant to succeed, both for sentimental reasons and because we love to dine out at nice restaurants.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a great experience!! Service was great from the moment we walked in and the food was outstanding! My husband and I can't stop talking about our dinner!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went new years eve. Food was excellent! Service was professional.

Only drawback was that they charged us for a 2nd loaf of bread because "the kitchen only does bread as an appetizer". Pretty weak there. That said, we've been before and will go again. Great spot if you want a nice dinner out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is the first time my wife and I have been to Maximilian since the new ownership and I must say it did not disappoint. Although there was a special menu for New Years Eve, th appetizer and entrees provider many options. The toughest part was deciding what to get. My wife got the Vodoo Tuna and I had the scallops. Both dishes were fabulous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I am somewhat obliged to write a review for our second visit. Our first visit (about two months ago) was not positive (mostly based on service) and I mentioned as much in a prior review. After that first visit, the owner called me within a week. She apologized about the experience, notified me that our entire check would be refunded and invited us back. So we went back this past week. It was a different experience the second time around (we did not identify ourselves as the prior reviewers). Although it was a slower night, the service was terrific and very friendly. Our positive second experience combined with the sincerity of the owners call after our first visit have turned us into believers. Everyone has an off night once in a while. Clearly that was the case in our first visit. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We have been eating at Maximillians for more than 25 years. Margie and Wil have continued the tradition of great food, outstanding service and good wine. Having traveled the world, we always come home to Maximillians as one of our favorite spots. This is a special place and definitely a "don't miss"

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is probably the fourth time that we've dined here. This particular visit was less than our expectations. Maybe it's just us....the first visit was spectacular....and downhill from there. I doubt we'll go back. I'm sure there are other great places to dine in the area...(we live out of town). For those who have never visited, I would say GO.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Everything was great, especially our server, Mady, who was warm and friendly, and extremely efficient without being intrusive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

A neighborhood favorite. Always original food, homey feel, friendly staff and great service! A must visit.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was awesome. Generous portions. The steak was so tender and cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

First time eating there with new owners. Had a few issues but they where corrected with no issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Margie and Will have done a terrific job of keeping some of the old favorites while adding their own unique touches to Max's!!!!! Please go, you will love it!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food here is incredible. The owners are down to earth with the husband running the front of the house and the wife as the chef. Both are great!!

The food - WOW. The braised short ribs are the best I have ever had. The rich blend of starch and grains are some of the best and most creative we have had in a long time.

The waitstaff is friendly and attentive without being overbearing.

Keep up the great work, we will be back and have raved to all of our friends about Maximillian's!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Under the new ownership of Margie and Will Hennessee, Maximillian's has extended its formula for 25 years of success and passionate loyalty. Our meal started with an impeccably made Old Fashioned, every ingredient in the right proportion and just the right strength of Maker's Mark. The calimari appetizer is best of breed, lightly breaded, cleanly fried and perfectly complemented by a sweet and sour sauce.

The wine list is one of the best in the Triangle, with a wide selection from around the world and very low markup for a restaurant of this quality. Many great values to be found and selections you are unlikely to find anywhere else.

The salmon dish from the main menu, with fingerling potatoes and spinach sauteed with roasted garlic was finely executed. It was a generous piece of fish cooked with a slightly crunchy outer crust and a rare, luscious middle.

The tilefish special veered toward the Asian side of the flavor spectrum, with a light, Thai-like sauce amid black rice, snow peas and bok choy. The fish was done perfectly, pearly white on the outside and slightly translucent inside. I'd asked to have some heat in the sauce and that request was fulfilled perfectly, a 2.5 out of 4 stars of heat and flavor.

No dessert this time around, but they are always a pleasure, especially the gelato. The bartender, wait staff, kitchen people, and Will and Margie are always welcoming to returning customers, of which there are rightfully many, as well as people traveling in the area who know where to go to get a special meal and some nice companionship when doing a lonely job on the road. For those of us living nearby, Maximillian's feels like family, but one with people who can really cook and provide a homespun atmosphere that serves up hospitality without judgment.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Spicy, Hot Spot, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My girlfriend Tina and I were in Cary for work, and it just happened to be her bday, so I found Maximillian's on Open Table. Our experience was very positive. The specialty drinks were awesome, and the menu was fantastic. We had the Bone Marrow and Veal Ravioli to start and they were great. We shared a Caesar salad, which was done a little bit differently. The lettuce was grilled which gave it a nice but light smoky taste. For our entrée we shared the Korean Skirt Steak. The flavor of the meat was awesome, but we both felt the greens that accompanied it should have been sautéed and not cold. We did not order a Korean Steak Salad was our thought. For desert we got the Coconut Cake which was great. Our Server Chrissie was fantastic, as was Jason who also made sure we were taken care of.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.