About Maximillian's Grille & Wine Bar

8314 Chapel Hill Rd
Cary, NC 27513-4051
View Larger Map

Maximillians Grill & Wine Bar has been serving Cary & the Triangle for 25 years. Owned and operated by Will & Margie Hennessee, Maximillians offers global cuisine using locally sourced, seasonal ingredients. Offering over 15 wines by the glass in addition to an extensive bottle list, or enjoy one of our hand crafted cocktails or local draft beers. We hope you will join us, and if it is your first visit, it won't be your last! Cheers!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Fusion / Eclectic, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday 5:00 - 9:00 Friday - Saturaday 5:00 - 10:00

Cross Street:
Academy Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 465-2455

Website:
http://www.maximilliansgrill.com/

Catering:
Maximillians offers a variety of catering options based on your individual needs, from business to social we will assure your event to be a success.

Parking Details:
We offer a private parking lot for our guests.

Executive Chef:
Margie Hennessee

Private Party Facilities:
Our spacious upstairs loft overlooks the restaurant with seating for up to 24, and standing cocktail parties for up to 35.

Private Party Contact:
Will or Margie Hennessee: 9194652455

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Will or Margie Hennessee 919-465-2455 for information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Maximillian's Grille & Wine Bar, Cary, NC
Maximillian's Grille & Wine Bar, Cary, NC

Maximillian's Grille & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Cary
Best Food
Cary
4 More
Best Service
Cary
Best Ambiance
Cary
Best Value
Cary
Most Booked
Cary
Best Restaurants in Cary ›

Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Spicy (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Romantic (8)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Casual (7)
Healthy (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Authentic (6)
Fun (5)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
211 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Margie and Will have done a terrific job ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Margie and Will have done a terrific job of keeping some of the old favorites while adding their own unique touches to Max's!!!!! Please go, you will love it!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is incredible. The owners ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food here is incredible. The owners are down to earth with the husband running the front of the house and the wife as the chef. Both are great!!

The food - WOW. The braised short ribs are the best I have ever had. The rich blend of starch and grains are some of the best and most creative we have had in a long time.

The waitstaff is friendly and attentive without being overbearing.

Keep up the great work, we will be back and have raved to all of our friends about Maximillian's!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Under the new ownership of Margie and Wi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Under the new ownership of Margie and Will Hennessee, Maximillian's has extended its formula for 25 years of success and passionate loyalty. Our meal started with an impeccably made Old Fashioned, every ingredient in the right proportion and just the right strength of Maker's Mark. The calimari appetizer is best of breed, lightly breaded, cleanly fried and perfectly complemented by a sweet and sour sauce.

The wine list is one of the best in the Triangle, with a wide selection from around the world and very low markup for a restaurant of this quality. Many great values to be found and selections you are unlikely to find anywhere else.

The salmon dish from the main menu, with fingerling potatoes and spinach sauteed with roasted garlic was finely executed. It was a generous piece of fish cooked with a slightly crunchy outer crust and a rare, luscious middle.

The tilefish special veered toward the Asian side of the flavor spectrum, with a light, Thai-like sauce amid black rice, snow peas and bok choy. The fish was done perfectly, pearly white on the outside and slightly translucent inside. I'd asked to have some heat in the sauce and that request was fulfilled perfectly, a 2.5 out of 4 stars of heat and flavor.

No dessert this time around, but they are always a pleasure, especially the gelato. The bartender, wait staff, kitchen people, and Will and Margie are always welcoming to returning customers, of which there are rightfully many, as well as people traveling in the area who know where to go to get a special meal and some nice companionship when doing a lonely job on the road. For those of us living nearby, Maximillian's feels like family, but one with people who can really cook and provide a homespun atmosphere that serves up hospitality without judgment.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Spicy, Hot Spot, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend Tina and I were in Cary fo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My girlfriend Tina and I were in Cary for work, and it just happened to be her bday, so I found Maximillian's on Open Table. Our experience was very positive. The specialty drinks were awesome, and the menu was fantastic. We had the Bone Marrow and Veal Ravioli to start and they were great. We shared a Caesar salad, which was done a little bit differently. The lettuce was grilled which gave it a nice but light smoky taste. For our entrée we shared the Korean Skirt Steak. The flavor of the meat was awesome, but we both felt the greens that accompanied it should have been sautéed and not cold. We did not order a Korean Steak Salad was our thought. For desert we got the Coconut Cake which was great. Our Server Chrissie was fantastic, as was Jason who also made sure we were taken care of.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

A wonderful neighborhood gem. Highly re ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A wonderful neighborhood gem. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been eating at Maximillians ever ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We have been eating at Maximillians ever since they opened their first restaurant across from South Hills around 25 years ago. We try to go there for our special occasion dinners. We went to Max's for my wife's 50 birthday and last Wednesday for her 70th. We shared a Pear salad which was very tasty. My wife ordered the salmon dish & I ordered the Pasta from Hell which isn't on the menu but they can usually make it. I selected 3.5 on the 1-4 heat scale. It was delicious. We ate early & it wasn't crowded. The original owner, Michael Schiffer, was there so we spent some time with him, the new owners, & a very friendly waitress. All in all a great meal and overall experience.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the entire dining experience at Maximilian's- food was innovative, prepared care and personalized to our taste and staff - including greeters, server and the Chef-owner were personable, attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and preparations. Loved the mango salad- delicious combination of flavors snd textures and generous. My husband had voodoo Tuna- he ate every bite - quite a feat as it packs a good does of heat- addictively so! The chef prepared a vegetarian plate for me which I had the chance to customize both in terms of food choice and preparation ( just enough spice and kick to keep it interesting but not overpowering- the black sticky rice was a wonderful base. My husband had the mile high coconut cake - he is still talking about it - again a generous portion although he managed to finish it all. Even the decaf coffee was very good- and I don't say that lightly! After moving to Chapel Hill fr CT we have been searching for dining a bit less Southern and more NY w respect to ingredients and preparation. Maximilian's fits that bill nicely in that it was clean, varied and had Asian infusion in best way possible as an option. We will return often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The server never told us about the speci ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The server never told us about the specials. We ordered a cocktail (vodka over ice with olives) that we had to ask about twice (we were told the bar was backed up, but the table next to us who were seated after us was served a martini before us... likely the order never went in). Other servers routinely went wooshing by our table in a near trot. The food was just fair but by no means special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

A must try! We gave them a 2nd chance a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A must try! We gave them a 2nd chance and we're so happy we did!

We enjoyed every morsel, from the Oysters to the Coconut cake! To think we would have missed the ambiance, the people, the staff and the food!! Delicious!

We will definitely be returning soon!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's a nice place - the food was quite g ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It's a nice place - the food was quite good - the server is related to the Chef I think...anyway, she was really knowledgeable on the menu - and fun (sweet personality). Overall, it was good...not blow your face out Phenom, but really good. I live in N.Raleigh and my girlfriend lives in Cary so it was close, but aside from that I likely would not make the trip based on just to go there for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Impeccable service and an amazing menu. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Impeccable service and an amazing menu. I would definitely go back! Everything was fresh and I could tell that care had gone into every detail. If apple pie is on the menu on the day that you go, TRY IT :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved having Mary as our server.

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Loved having Mary as our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great meal over our business ch ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We had a great meal over our business chat. Everyone liked the food and the wide selection of choices. They never fail to impress

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Spicy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been patrons of Maximillian's for ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We've been patrons of Maximillian's for 20 years and this is the first mediocre experience we've had. The food was overly salty and complex and cooled quickly. It just seemed like everything was overdone, too much salt, too much garlic, too much sauce. Like trying to hard...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was great and a good wine list, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was great and a good wine list, the service was fantastic. The power went out that evening and they didn't miss a beat.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Just a great place to go! Always have wo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Just a great place to go! Always have wonderful food, great service. Live the seasonable menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Maximillian's has " upped its game" sinc ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Maximillian's has " upped its game" since the last time we dined there a couple of years ago. The food was well presented and delicious, the menu selection was good and the service was attentive

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The restaurant is in an unusual center a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The restaurant is in an unusual center and the entrance is far from elegant. However, the dining room is comfortable and the food is creative and very good. The choices are much more varied than most restaurants. On the night we were there, a large party made the dining room noisy, but that is probably not always the case.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Would recommend as a place if conversati ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Would recommend as a place if conversation is not key to the meal. This is a noisy place. It did not help that they kept moving the speakers so they could be heard over the echoing voices. The food was fine. The bone marrow appetizer was a bit over salted. The fried oysters a bit over cooked and heavily breaded. The Staff were very helpful and attentive. The coconut cake was wonderful.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great atmosphere! More for adults than ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Great atmosphere! More for adults than children. I recommend this place for special occasions as my husband I were there for date night. It's a nice place to get dolled up and go eat.

Tags: Romantic, Spicy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy our meals at Maximillian ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We always enjoy our meals at Maximillian's. It is under new ownership, but they have kept some of our old favorites, specifically the voodoo tuna, and the Korean beef BBQ. Slightly changed, but still good! Service was excellent, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I came back for the calamari, as it's ab ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I came back for the calamari, as it's absolutely the best I've ever had. I could eat it every week. Brought my relatives who were visiting from Houston and they enjoyed the calamari too, plus all the other food they ordered. We all cleaned our plates! It was a joy to dine there. Thanks a million Maximillian's!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The waitress, food and ambiance were awe ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The waitress, food and ambiance were awesome. I had the chicken and my boyfriend had salmon both dishes were awesome. The waitress was definitely attentive. This was my boyfriend's first eating experience there this was my fourth many years ago before. It did not disappoint and made me look like a rockstar. The only miss was possibly the key lime pie and that is a minor criticism. We will be back trust me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I LOVE Maximillians! My favorite restaur ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I LOVE Maximillians! My favorite restaurant. We had exceptional service from Mady. Our food was delicious and I love the ambiance. ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While our waiter, Jason was very kind an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2016

While our waiter, Jason was very kind and friendly, he was simply way too chatty. He also did not seem to know the mixed drink menu - My date asked for an apple-tini and he said, "great no problem" and less than a minute later he said "oh we don't have much variety in the area of mixed drinks" but he did make a very suitable recommendation - a Lemon Drop. Which was wonderful. Also , we hesitated to ask him any specific questions about the appetizers or entrees because he was unable to provide a specific answer - he just kind of went on and on... (never actually answering the question - but it was fine- LOL!)

The food was outstanding - we loved our appetizers of calamari and tomato stuffed with crab meat and our entrees exceeded our expectations!! - Thank you

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I'm vegan and to have the chef come out ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 7, 2016

I'm vegan and to have the chef come out and ask me questions to ensure I get a great meal was extremely impressive!!!! The meal was perfect and the experience was amazing! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mady made a memorable experience for our ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Mady made a memorable experience for our 21st and 27th anniversary! Thank you, Mady! We will be back. Five star restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will and Margie have managed to pull off ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Will and Margie have managed to pull off the difficult feat of carrying forward the tradition of an established restaurant's character and traditional menus. Having been a patron of Maximillian's since the mid 90's, my wife and I have had many a great meal by the former owners (Gale and Michael). I am very happy to write that Margie and Will are keeping to the playbook of their former employers and creating great food at reasonable prices. Thanks for a wonderful meal and look to be visiting again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one the best places I have ever ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2016

This is one the best places I have ever eaten at... phenomenal.

Tags: Seasonal, Spicy, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service from Mady and the food ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Wonderful service from Mady and the food was excellent for a 70th birthday gathering. Would highly recommend for off the beaten path gem!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each course we had was outstanding: shri ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Each course we had was outstanding: shrimp ceviche, grilled caesar and voodoo tuna. The noodles under the tuna were exquisite. The new owners are doing a great job!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellant. The chairs were ver ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Food was excellant. The chairs were very uncomfortable. Padding is needed on the seats.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food under new ownership. Woul ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food under new ownership. Would definitely recommend for quality dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Maximilian's has reopened Under New Mana ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Maximilian's has reopened Under New Management and they're doing an excellent job. They limited their menu but kept the quality High. The wait staff was excellent and have very good knowledge of the wine selection. They eat calamari and shrimp ceviche appetizers were excellent. And of course the dessert selection was very good. They still remain one of my favorite restaurants in the Cary Area. Two thumbs-up👍👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Such a find...truly the best Cary has to ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Such a find...truly the best Cary has to offer! I am a true foodie and for all my fellow lovers of exceptional food, this restaurant will not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were happy to have the pleasure of di ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were happy to have the pleasure of dining at Maximilian's. The service , drinks and food were great. The decor was a bit sparse.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Still think it is the best restaurant in ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Still think it is the best restaurant in Cary. Food is superior

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been a fan of Maximillians almos ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have been a fan of Maximillians almost from the day it opened. We were pleased to experience a dinner with the new owners. It was delicious as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While it is set in a rather unassuming l ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 16, 2016

While it is set in a rather unassuming location, the food and service were excellent! Jessica was our server and we could no have asked for better!

The food was delicious and presented very well!

We will definitely look forward to going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was wonderful, our waitress ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 13, 2016

The service was wonderful, our waitress was attentive without being intrusive. The food was very good, but we did miss some of the old favorites. I hope they bring back the Pasta from Hell.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.