About Maximillian's Grille & Wine Bar

8314 Chapel Hill Rd
Cary, NC 27513-4051
View Larger Map

Maximillians Grill & Wine Bar has been serving Cary & the Triangle for 25 years. Owned and operated by Will & Margie Hennessee, Maximillians offers global cuisine using locally sourced, seasonal ingredients. Offering over 15 wines by the glass in addition to an extensive bottle list, or enjoy one of our hand crafted cocktails or local draft beers. We hope you will join us, and if it is your first visit, it won't be your last! Cheers!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Fusion / Eclectic, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday 5:00 - 9:00 Friday - Saturaday 5:00 - 10:00

Cross Street:
Academy Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 465-2455

Website:
http://www.maximilliansgrill.com/

Catering:
Maximillians offers a variety of catering options based on your individual needs, from business to social we will assure your event to be a success.

Parking Details:
We offer a private parking lot for our guests.

Executive Chef:
Margie Hennessee

Private Party Facilities:
Our spacious upstairs loft overlooks the restaurant with seating for up to 24, and standing cocktail parties for up to 35.

Private Party Contact:
Will or Margie Hennessee: 9194652455

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Will or Margie Hennessee 919-465-2455 for information.

Maximillian's Grille & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Notable Wine List
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Cary
7 More
Best Food
Cary
Best Service
Cary
Best Ambiance
Cary
Best Value
Cary
Fit for Foodies
Cary
Special Occasion
Cary
Most Booked
Cary
Best Restaurants in Cary ›

fit for foodies (38)
special occasion (27)
neighborhood gem (22)
See All
notable wine list (20)
romantic (16)
good for groups (14)
great for outdoor dining (5)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Still think it is the best restaurant in ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Still think it is the best restaurant in Cary. Food is superior

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been a fan of Maximillians almos ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have been a fan of Maximillians almost from the day it opened. We were pleased to experience a dinner with the new owners. It was delicious as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While it is set in a rather unassuming l ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

While it is set in a rather unassuming location, the food and service were excellent! Jessica was our server and we could no have asked for better!

The food was delicious and presented very well!

We will definitely look forward to going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service and overall experience was great ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service and overall experience was great. We thought food was a little pricey for what you got which is why it did not get an overall excellent. Service made the evening enjoyable!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Best meal we've had in ages! Margie and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Best meal we've had in ages! Margie and Will Hennessee have done a fabulous job with remodeling. Brighter. More light. Service was impeccable. Food outstanding! Who knew that Margie also wears the chef's hat??? Best voodoo tuna since 1996... Can't wait to go back and try the rest of the menu. We enjoyed fresh salads, ceviche, calamari, and the homemade gelato also. Had to take some home of course. They're even using recyclable take home containers now. Congratulations on the Hennessee Maxillians! Way to go!👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service. Great daily specials ...

 
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Fantastic service. Great daily specials. Traditional Maximilian's with Will and Margie's own touch. Thank you for a wonderful experience. We will definitely be back again very shortly to dine with you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual the food was amazing! Margie an ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

As usual the food was amazing! Margie and her team are very creative in the kitchen and everything ordered by our party of five was outstanding! Only two things that weren't great: the air conditioning was very chilly in the main dining room; and our server was very quirky, hovered, and cut into the middle of our conversations. I would also recommend that the server gets a drink order first and tells about an appetizer special only before schpealing every single special at the first visit to the table - too much on an initial approach and happened both times we have dined here. As a former restaurant GM, the small details of service can make the difference. The food and management are so amazing, though, that we will keep coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

This occasion was payback for dinner my ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This occasion was payback for dinner my neighbors made me. I don't cook and I knew Maximillians would be a treat for my hosts who are new to the area. It was all I'd hoped: food, wine, and service (Jessica) were outstanding. I had the oyster appetizer and the tile fish special entree and recommend both without hesitation. Based on my neighbors' rave review of the evening, I expect them to ask me to dinner again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Margie and Will are great hosts we had a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Margie and Will are great hosts we had a party of eight with kids and we're seated upstairs little less noisy in the loft area everything was great. Tremendous beer choices. I enjoy dark beer occasionally and the double barley vanilla was unique and my favorite. The Korean barbecue outstanding, Voodoo Tuna although a little on the hot side was perfectly done everyone enjoyed their meal. Kids were able to get a steak and cake. Chocolate x3 and carrot tops, but key lime was authentic and not to be overlooked. Great place in Cary.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was good, but service was questiona ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was good, but service was questionable. The waiter was great, but I was denied the special because another table (ordering after us) might want it (owner decision). This was early in the evening, so no excuse to be out of the special. The other table did take all three of the available seafood specials, and I had to pick something else. The owner never explained or offered anything!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Not as good as it used to be. There was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Not as good as it used to be. There was not even any music to offset all the noise they were making shoving tables and chairs around on the second floor. This went on for about 15 minutes. Also, not even a basket of bread! The pear salad, which I used to love, was much smaller and not as good. My husband had the pork chop which was largely bone and fat, hard to eat and he did not care for it. I had a Thai dish that was very flavorful and nicely prepared; the only bright spot of the evening.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

We walked into a warm welcome and the st ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We walked into a warm welcome and the staff was extremely attentive and sweet. The menu is exotic with some ambitious dishes. However, it strikes me that the kitchen may not be fully equipped to prepare such diverse offerings every night and this was evident in my meal choice (the duck) which was apparently a new menu item added that week. It was served cold on the inside which leads me to believe it was re-heated. I probably would have been none the wiser if they had crisped the skin and heated it through the center. We started with the shrimp which was drenched in sweet chili sauce, I could only eat two pieces before the flavor became too much. My husband ordered the fish special which was a whole fish prepared thai style. It was a total mission to eat and had not been adequately cleaned and deboned for restaurant preparation. While I want to support this local establishment, there is a lot of room for improvement especially at the current prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

New owners, menu, wine list...all for the better

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at Max's. Our first time there since Will and Margie took over. The menu is a little more refined and elegant than the original and the food is just as outstanding if not better. But they did keep a few familiar favorites. They've also worked very hard to make the wine list more interesting and varied. We were thrilled to see a selection of Fiddlehead wines, one of our favorite producers.

Will and Margie are gracious hosts, and Maximillian's feels as warm and inviting as ever. Please go check them out!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

It had been a while since my wife and I had eaten here. I did not realize that the owners had sold the business.

I was however happy to find out that they sold to people who had worked there for years and were dedicated to keeping up the level of service I was used to! I was still able to order from the old menu and though the flavor might have been a little different, it will be hard to find the quality anywhere else.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Maximilian 's has always had good food more on the Asian fusion side but several traditional plates too. Noise level is very high. They keep temperature very cool and uncomfortable. We chose to eat outside solving the overactive A/C problem as well as the noise problem. Much nicer there. Their voodoo tuna is legendary tho they tend to make it too hot-spicy. In the past I could only eat part of the dish as it was too spicy. The last two times I threaten the chefs and warn only 1/2 star out of 4 star heat and it's just right. Korean BBQ is delicious. Not spicy. The seasonal fish is variable. Ask your server.

There are plates and presentations unavailable at other Raleigh/Cary restaurants. I love it. Good quality. The pear salad is always a winner. The desserts are mostly nice cakes. I prefer the carrot cake. The wine list is much less extensive than with previous management tho sufficient. Service is good and they really care about your dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Business Group Dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I booked a table for 12 based on online reviews. I later learned from a few locals that Maximillian's comes highly recommended. We were not disappointed. the appetizers and entrees were excellent. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. Importantly the staff knew when to be present wnd when to stay away to allow us conversation and time to relax.

Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Better than before

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Delighted to find that Max's has reopened and is even better than before. Menu is a little more limited, but with some great specials - the soft-shell crab was outstanding. Scallops were also worth having again.

And desserts (grand marnier creme brulee and blood orange sorbet) were both delicious.

Noise level seems better than before, too.

We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great menu, excellent staff

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great menu, excellent staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose Maximillian's over other seafoo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We chose Maximillian's over other seafood and steak restaurants because of the price structure. The food was excellent and our server was very knowledgeable in the menu and the wine list. It was a great find and will definitely go back when back in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maximillian's is now in the capable hand ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Maximillian's is now in the capable hands of Will and Margie Hennessee, taking over from long-time owners (25 years) Michael and Gayle Schiffer. The new owners -- who spent most of 20 years in all capacities at Maximillian's -- have used Schiffer's renowned approach to fresh, local product combined with innovative flavor profiles as a launching point for their own deep exploration of culinary waters. The results should impress anyone committed to the enjoyment of great food in a convivial environment.

You'll feel welcomed here. The servers and bartenders are friendly and intelligent without any artifice or stuffiness. They are here to please you and make you comfortable. If you are a traveler who likes to hang out at the bar, you'll find good conversation, service and a nice drinks menu. When I travel to other cities, Maximillian's is the model for the kind of place I want to hang out.

The wine list is more extensive than in the past, with a wide range of selections that reflect the menu's global cuisine. They are priced right, with some of the lowest markups you'll find anywhere at a restaurant of this caliber.

I have my favorites -- the calamari, rib appetizer, any fish special, the scallops and risotto. A thai salad in this recent visit was swoon-worthy. There are no duds, so go for the gold. If you like heat, the Voodoo Tuna is bombastic. Every ingredient is best of breed -- fresh and beautifully prepared.

If you're anything like me when it comes to great food, you'll become a regular.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is the best tasting food that I ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The food is the best tasting food that I've had in years! It is excellent!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't been to Maximillian's since the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I hadn't been to Maximillian's since their new ownership and 'facelift'. It was REALLY good. The menu had some regular items from before like the Grilled Caesar (Phenomenal), Calamari and Voodoo Tuna. I liked that they had added new items but also had many specials to offer. I had the swordfish over couscous which was to die for delish. My hubby had salmon w/spinach and fingerling potatoes. I was uncertain which wine to choose and the kind waitress brought me a taste so I could decide. The only thing I didn't like was that I was sitting near the stairs, and kept getting bumped every time someone walked past. But next time I will just ask for different seating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent! New menu ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food and service was excellent! New menu selections brought by the new owners were amazing. Thrilled to see the Korean bbq still on the menu. Very happy to have Maximillians back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outdoor seating is available and was our ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Outdoor seating is available and was our choice. Just so you know, It sits between the parking lot and restaurant front. Not much ambiance, but it was a beautiful evening to sit outdoors. #nocomplaintshere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Fantastic food, delightful wine & cockta ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic food, delightful wine & cocktail list. Some old entrees, some new ones. The boneless short rib with parsnip puree was fabulous! We love the new owners.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The new Maximillians is better than ever ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The new Maximillians is better than ever! They have many of the old standards like Voodoo Tuna but there is still a bouquet of inventive specials. Loved the soft-shell crab.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Let down

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Somewhat disappointing. We were celebrating the a graduation. The menu wasn't as varied and imaginative as we remembered from the past. Some selections were quite good, others not. For example, the grilled veggies with the filet mignon were very chewy. We felt rushed out, in fact, was told we couldn't have coffee refills as the machine was already being cleaned. Not classy.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Maximillians great food great service

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Maximillians is a wonderful restaurant the food and the service were outstanding. We were a group of 8 and every one of us loved our meal. In addition to the great food,service and atmosphere we give kudos to the owners for offering great wines at fair prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So glad we decided to dine here! Our ser ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

So glad we decided to dine here! Our service and food was outstanding. We got the sticky ribs as an appetizer which I HIGHLY recommend! Husband got a fish special and I got the Korean pork. Both were amazing! For dessert we split a slice of carrot cake with vanilla gelato! We can not wait to return!

Wish the ambiance of the patio was a little better... But not sure what could be done to do that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Food is awesome, I like those chefs that ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Food is awesome, I like those chefs that take some risks, and this was the case. Tried the Calamari, the Tuna and the Pork, everything was fantastic! I also enjoyed the service, and the good Malbec.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Glad to see this long-time favorite reopened.

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Food and service were great. The chef made a special dish for the vegetarian in our group. They still have a special way with fish, but steak was also very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Korean BBQ Pork

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

This was my first time back to Maximillion's after it reopened, and they food was great for both my date and I. The thrilla vanilla porter was very tasty. I ordere the korean BBQ pork tenderloin and it was probably the best piece of pork I have ever eaten. The dish was very well flavored and accompanied by bolder flavors in the salad with mint, basil, and cilantro. My date enjoyed the pollo avanti. I would also recommend the carrot cake for dessert. We were glad to come back and try this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Still amazing!!! The food, service, and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Still amazing!!! The food, service, and the updated ambiance is amazing!Maxi's is my favorite restaurant.n

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The calamari was the best that I have ev ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The calamari was the best that I have ever had! Wonderful meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed our food selections! Deli ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Really enjoyed our food selections! Deliciously creative food and a very great staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

have had great food here for over 20 years

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

thank you and look forward to new owners continuing tradition of great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Thai spices on the mean which was differ ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Thai spices on the mean which was different but good. The reason I gave a poor review is a lot of the menu wasn't available due to as the waiter stated last minute changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Our anniversary dinner

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Booked this restaurant for our anniversary. It was a great choice. A bit pricey and small. However, it was a great choice. The time we reserved was perfect because it wasn't crowded. Nice atmosphere, the food was really good, cocktails were strong, and we had a great time. Highly recommended! !!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food specials were delicious and our ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

The food specials were delicious and our server, Jason, was enthusiastic and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

End of an era?

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

We had dined many times in the adjoining former Pizza Kitchen, but this was our first trip to the main restaurant. The food offerings were interesting: several fish entrees, veal, beef, etc. All were well and interestingly prepared. Our waiter was outstanding: attentive but unobtrusive, well-informed and congenial. We understand the restaurant has been sold and will be closed for a time in January 2016. We will be interested to see what changes the new owners bring. Hopefully it will retain its quality and ambiance!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.