About Maximillians Grill & Wine Bar

Maximillians Grill & Wine Bar has been serving Cary & the Triangle since 1991. Owned and operated by Will & Margie Hennessee, Maximillians offers global cuisine using locally sourced, seasonal ingredients. Offering over 15 wines by the glass in addition to an extensive bottle list, or enjoy one of our hand crafted cocktails or local draft beers. We hope you will join us, and if it is your first visit, it won't be your last! Cheers!

8314 Chapel Hill Rd
Cary, NC 27513-4051
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Farm-to-table, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Wednesday - Thursday 5:00 - 9:00 Friday - Saturaday 5:00 - 10:00

Cross Street:
Academy Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 465-2455

Website:
http://www.maximilliansgrill.com/

Catering:
Maximillians offers a variety of catering options based on your individual needs, from business to social we will assure your event to be a success.

Parking Details:
We offer a private parking lot for our guests.

Executive Chef:
Margie Hennessee

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Will or Margie Hennessee 919-465-2455 for information.

Maximillians Grill & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Creative Cuisine (23)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Worth the Drive (13)
Authentic (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Romantic (11)
Business Meals (10)
Spicy (9)
Casual (9)
Cozy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (2)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort by
S
353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed our late Valentine's Day meal immensely. The farm-to-table meal was a treat and we paired it with a delicious St. Emilion Grand Cru. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I had Valentines reservations at Maximillians. This is our go-to spot for special occasions. We started out with the classic favorite the Grilled Caesar salad along with the appetizer special of the evening, the Tuna Poke. Both were delicious, we especially enjoyed the Tuna Poke which had diced apple & japaleno to season. It was refreshing! I had the Salmon entrée, and my husband opted for the Lobster special of the evening. Dinner was Divine!!
The staff provided great, friendly service.
Our only concern at the end of the meal was why don't we come here more often!!
We are not waiting for a special occasion any longer, and plan to frequent on a regular basis!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was phenomenal, not to mention the food. We were escorted to a private dining area upstairs, and enjoyed a nice quiet dinner for Valentine's Day. The staff worked well together and made sure we never wanted for anything. The wait staff was very patient and friendly, and was obviously very familiar with the menu. The food is pricey, but well worth it in taste and that everything comes straight from NC. 10/10, would recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Went here for a date night after reading the excellent reviews, and we were blown away! We had the scallops and filet and both were amazing! We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

As always, an outstanding meal for a great evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good food and the smoothest Valentine’s Day dining experience I’ve had at any restaurant. Warning: the Voodoo tuna is extremely spicy! Food was 4 1/2 stars, service was 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Maximillians is an amazing tucked away gem in Cary. Local owners, with great attention to detail for everything from customer service to their dishes. Their specials and menu changes quite often, and everything i have tried thus far has been nothing short of amazing. They also have a great wine list (including Coravin wines!) and delicious house cocktails. Every time we visit maximillians, we leave fat and happy ;). Thank you for all that you do for your customers- it does not go overlooked!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a wonderful Valentine’s dinner with my husband! The server was wonderful with recommendations from food choices to wine! It was our first time at Maximillians, but it won’t be our last !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

This is our first visit since the new owners started. It was wonderful, food was excellent, service excellent and it has a warm & eclectic atmosphere. The tuna was outstanding, we were told it is fresh every day and most of the food is routinely prepared fresh, rarely using frozen products. Whatever the method, it is working...It definitely is a “hidden neighborhood gem”. The staff also need a “shout out”, everyone was polite, respectful and accommodating. Our server, Shane, was exceptional. He is a natural working with customers. We had a marvelous evening and thank everyone at Maxmillians for the experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed our dinner here! The food had lots of flavors, and the service was very good. I would consider coming back here again when I want a meal that is low stress and relaxing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Korean barbecue appetizer was amazing! Good selection of wines. Variety of entrees please a variety of tastes. Service was attentive and helpful. Overall a great experience. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and staff. My wife and I have been coming here for over a decade and the new owners have kept the great food and environment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 9, 2018

We had not been to Maximillians in 10+ years. What took us so long? It was wonderful! From the polenta Gorgonzola appetizer to the spicy Voodoo tuna steaks with mahogany fire noodles to the HUGE piece of luscious coconut cake, everything was delicious and nicely presented. Our server Katelyn (sorry if I'm misspelling this) was excellent with just the right mix of familiarity and professionalism. She made a great wine recommendation and was fun and knowledgeable. Great experience and highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 9, 2018

They have great specials, always something different. Try the calamari it's the best I've tasted here in NC. The service is excellent very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2018

Wonderful food as usual. I had the voodoo tuna with shrimp and pasta. Spicy (as I requested), perfectly charred rare, great flavor. I live in San Francisco, so I do not get to visit Max's more than once or twice a year now, but whenever I get back to the Triangle, I make it a point to have a meal there. Will and Margie are great, carrying on the tradition from Michael and Gayle, but with their own touch. Cannot wait until my next trip.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Every time we come here, we say, why don't we come here more often? The food is fabulous and service is excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 3, 2018

The staff is very nice and attentive. The venue itself is a little cramped but cozy. We were seated upstairs at a deuce.

Our server Shane was very nice and knew the drink and dinner menus very well. We ordered the calamari and the bread plate for appetizers. Both were very good.

For dinner we ordered the voodoo of the day (yellow fin tuna) and the pasta d’ florie. Both were okay, but were a little short on flavor.

The d’ florie was a little bland , and the voodoo was a tad too spicy. The drinks, service and atmosphere were great.

Everything we ate was fit for consumption, but we expected more flavor, based on the reviews. We will give them another try.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2018

the food was very tasty and the flavors unique but portions were small and my wifes salmon was under done. Our friends had steak which he liked alot and his wife had Tuna voodoo style. It was too spicy and over powered the dish.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 2, 2018

We had a 5:15 reservation for our first dinner out since having a baby. The waitress was very quick to give us water refills and ask if we had any questions when we sat down. We ordered a bottle of wine and two appetizers which also came quickly. The “flu shot” soup was amazing and my husband really enjoyed his salad. We ordered our entrees soon after finishing our appetizers and it took a good 45 minutes for the food to come out. There was no explanation from the waitress and no apology. I will say my husbands duck confit was a large portion and he loved it. My pasta lacked much flavor but was nice and light. Maybe I just didn’t order the right thing. Want to go back and try the diver scallops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 1, 2018

It just keeps getting better...everything was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 31, 2018

As always, an outstanding evening at Max’s to celebrate my husband’s birthday. We started out with the calamari and bread plate - both delicious. For entrees we had Voodoo Tuna (3 of us), the filet and bread pudding special (that was AMAZING), and the Chicken. Everyone raved about their dinners!

The service (Mady) was exceptional - friendly, engaging, helpful, but not at all intrusive. Just perfect.

Love, love, love Max’s!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 31, 2018

We have been to Maximillian's twice recently. I was blown away but he amazing food and personality of the place. The owners (husband and wife) were there both times and both went above and beyond to ensure our visit was a magical one. IT WAS
Here's to many happy returns.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Our group of 4 diners each thought their meal was very good to excellent. The scallops were perfectly prepared and the risotto that came with them was excellent. The salmon served to two of us was also very good. The only knock against that dish was the side of potatoes, which were on the dry side. The desserts (apple cobbler, chocolate creme brulee, and a coconut cake) were also very good. The service was good, but a bit slow toward the end because our waitperson was overworked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Our server Mady was very friendly and helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Our waiter was great although very soft spoken and a bit hard to hear. This was our first experience dining during Restaurant Week. The food Korean BBQ Beef was delicious, the Clams and the Catch of the Day was good. The Chicken was a bit bland. Overall we had a delightful family dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Food was better than average, especially the salads and desserts. The dining area would benefit from improvements to reduce sound levels, as it was difficult to carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2018

We have not been since the new ownership. We chose to use the Triangle Restaurant Week menu. The Grilled Caesar Salad was not very grilled and a bit short on the tasty dressing. The Smoked Gouda Arincini was excellent. The Korean BBQ Beef was great with just a touch of heat while the Pollo Avanti was OK. The desserts were very good. Maximillians has always had very good, interesting food and wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2018

I like to be surprised with delicious food. I wasn’t impressed. The apple skin in the apple cobbler was pretty tuff too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2018

This is a chef/owner establishment. Jackpot! Greeted and seated by the chef's husband. The food was wonderful (due to Restaurant Week we tried items we might not normally order) the service was great. The owner and hostess both stopped to see how we were doing. we had a lovely dinning experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Tapas, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Will & Margie have continued to make Maximillian’s our favorite local restaurant and we always enjoy ourselves there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 24, 2018

Everything was perfection from start to finish. My partner always complains when we go out and he loves everything! We’re definitely going back. I strongly suggest anything on the menu with the word “voodoo” in the title if you like a little kick. From cocktails to deserts you can go wrong!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 23, 2018

Will and Margie have maintained the unique dining of the original Maximillians while enhancing the service and overall dining experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2018

We went to Maximillian's for date night before going to the theater.

This restaurant prepares everything on-site and made to order.

We ordered a nice bottle of cab (Rutherford Reserve) to start us off. Shared the duo of dips - distinct flavors (individually) that were well melded from occasionally overpowering ingredients. We could tell that the chefs prepare food in house and with clear intention. One of the dips was mediterranean while the other was east/south Asian influenced.

For entrées I ordered osso bucco (marrow in) and my date the duck confit (crispy skin on). We shared both, happily! They were served with tasty sides and a great turn around for a "made to order" restaurant.

During our meal used dishes/flatware were removed at an appropriate pace, our water glasses were never left empty and we had three individuals (including our server) attending to us and our happiness, even with several other tables seated.

Our server was Caitlin. She is thoughtful, knowledgeable and charming - the perfect blend of southern charm and fine dining for a Town of Cary night out.

We have already recommended Maximillian's to members of the troupe we saw perform and friends who live in Cary proper. We look forward to exploring the menu in future visits.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 19, 2018

It has been a while, but the food was as delicious and as attractively presented as ever. The scallops and the veal chop got especially high ratings. The dishes are thoughtfully constructed, with the sides given proper attention to complement the protein. Our server was friendly and informative. While bustling, the noise level was moderate so that our party of four could have a pleasant conversation without shouting- no small thing these days. Portions are ample. We were all too full for dessert, but the dessert choices sounded great. We left saying that we needed to return much sooner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Our evening was great, food was wonderful and when something was a little too spicy (even after being WARNED it was spicy) the chef and our waitress worked very hard to help us out! Recommendations were great, lovely place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Absolutely amazing last meal of 2017!! The food & service were amazing & the live music was awesome!! We’ll definitely return for dinner again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Very good food. Service was good as well. A little slow just because we had a big party and it was busy but overall a nice job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Maximillians is one of my favorite local restaurants. In particular, the calamari is to die for—I order it every time I go. It’s the best I’ve ever had and friends agree.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2017

I went to Maximillian's many years ago, shortly after it first opened. At that time it was truly a WOW experience. New/modern decor, creative and spicy cuisine. I've been back several times since then to now. Unfortunately, my most recent visit made me feel the restaurant needed some significant updating. While the food is still generally good, the menu needs some updating. The decor is now appearing old and tired. It was decent dining experience, but the "WOW" has left in my opinion. Since it was only about half full at prime time on a Friday, it may be that others also feed the restaurant has declined. I do hope the owners decide to give the place a facelift, as it would be sad to see this former "hot spot" close it's doors.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2017

The menu promises that the chef can concoct limitless vegetarian options, and she delivered! The entrees were, as requested, spicy and filled with impeccably fresh veggies. The udon noodles and voodoo sauce were memorable, as was the sweet potato soup with baby greens and lime drizzle.

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.