About Mavor's Restaurant and Bar

145 Richmond Street
Charlottetown, PE C0A1H0
View Larger Map

Mavor"s is the stylish restaurant and bar in Confederation Centre of the Arts in Charlottetown. Relax over lunch in the open-air garden, or enjoy pre-theatre dining in the modern atmosphere of our lounge You can even bring your laptop and enjoy our free wireless internet access!

Stop by Mavor's Bar for a specialty martini or savour our fine wines served by the glass – the only way to start or end your evening! We also offer a wide variety of wines by the glass and arguably the best martinis in town.


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:

Monday & Saturday 11am ~ midnight
Sunday ~ open select Sundays

Cross Street:
Queen Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 628-6107

Website:
http://www.mavors.ca/

Catering:
www.mavors.ca

Private Party Facilities:
Located in downtown Charlottetown, Confederation Centre of the Arts offers one of the largest convention and meeting facilities on Prince Edward Island. Within walking distance of hotels, shops and restaurants, the fully-accessible facility can easily accommodate any function, from an intimate reception for 25 to a themed banquet for 500.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Schipper : 9026286136x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Asian Salad
Best of Sea 2016
Pasta
Onion Rings
Veggie Burger
M-1
Porkuccino (Pulled Pork Sandwich)
Pork-Pourri
Chocolate Cheese Cake with Ice Cream
Grilled Tomato and Cheese Soup
Fish and Chips
Pad Thai Vermicelli
Crispy Baked Haddock

Mavor's Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
2 More
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Prince Edward Island
Best Restaurants in Charlottetown ›

Special Occasion (74)
Great for Outdoor Dining (52)
Great for Lunch (45)
See All
Fit for Foodies (42)
Good for Groups (40)
Romantic (35)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Great for Brunch (21)
Late-night Find (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Scenic View (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Casual (7)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had the lobster Mac and cheese and wh ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had the lobster Mac and cheese and while it was really good it needed to be hotter!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter was terrific - the food was ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Our waiter was terrific - the food was good & reasonable prices. atmosphere is relaxing . dining was a pleasure.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have had outstanding service and very ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We have had outstanding service and very good food each time we have gone here regardless of the occasion . Highly recommend Mavor's whether attending the theater or looking for a quite place to enjoy the occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The atmosphere, food and service are alw ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The atmosphere, food and service are always excellent. We love that we can go and chat with our friends in a warm friendly place.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very fine kitchen: superb scallops with ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very fine kitchen: superb scallops with an interesting tomato "jam" and lettuce; very fine lobster mac'n'cheese with an usually good salad as unadvertised accompaniment.

Very fine staff: helped me with local touring questions, stayed on top of each course and refill, entirely charming.

The room is decorated by large contemporary portraits that some (including me) would find discomfiting. They aren't ugly so much as quite specific--good for a gallery, but too arresting, even unnerving, to serve as "wallpaper" in a restaurant.

Piped-in music was an odd contemporary pop mix: I would prefer a softer mix either of regional musicians or of those who have appeared in the theatre.

Otherwise, though, very good and I'll return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

enjoyed our visit. good food , great ser ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

enjoyed our visit. good food , great service , lovely surroundings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

It's great that you can reserve a table ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It's great that you can reserve a table online, but you need a better reception service. Takes too long to get seated.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Three of our party had the seafood chowd ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Three of our party had the seafood chowder which was tasty but not outstanding.

Three of us had fish and chips which we all found to be very greasy. If you touched the fish oil oozed out of the coating on the fish. I think the oil must not have been hot enough when the fish was cooked because it just soaked up the oil. The fries were good, the pickle garnish and tarter sauce were good. Irish Coffee was also good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

The fish and chips were a little over do ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The fish and chips were a little over done and dry. I don't usually eat the tarter sauce but your was good. The service was a bit slow.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We chose the restaurant because of it's ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We chose the restaurant because of it's location as we were attending the Mama Mia Show.

Lovely location, lovely spot.....except for our table. Don't think we would reserve online again, as you just end up with a table I don't think anyone would want and you don't know that until your seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Quite disappointed actually. We went to ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Quite disappointed actually. We went to lunch before Mama Mia and ordered salad and soup. The waitress mentioned bringing bread but it never showed and then when we ordered a certain dessert from the menu it was not available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was good but the restaurant dec ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was good but the restaurant decor is tired. The restaurant was empty yet they sat us in front of the waitress station and kitchen doors. I even asked for a quieter table but she just looked around and offered nothing away from the station. Someone came out to dry cutlery and kept throwing them in the gray cutlery holder. The clashing was very annoying and went on for ages then a waitress started noisily taking them out to wrap place settings. This should be done in the kitchen not the dining room. Plus the swinging doors are very noisy. Lastly, there was a loud private event in the bar. At some point the door was opened and children and adults spilled into the restaurant with drinks and sat at tables without ordering food. They were loud with kids running about and no regard for diners. The door to the bar remained open. All in all it was not a pleasant nor an enjoyable atmosphere. The silverware was the worst. I will not eat or recommend the restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

We were having dinner before the show so ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We were having dinner before the show so, the waitness knew that when we booked and she kept us on schedule so, we would be right on time... less stress for us ..

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome meal! Best in a very long time! ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Awesome meal! Best in a very long time! Great location for theatre goers.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great service and menu selection. It wa ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great service and menu selection. It was the 3rd time enjoying Mavor's and we will definitely be back next time when visiting Charlottetown.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mavor's is a great place to dine and cha ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Mavor's is a great place to dine and chat with tremendous historic value

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My gluten free meal was absolutely fabul ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My gluten free meal was absolutely fabulous!. They took extra care with the preparation and checked to make sure everything was ok. I truly appreciate the attention to details.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I took our 2 teen age grand ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My wife and I took our 2 teen age grand daughters for dinner prior to Mamma Mia.All was good except my wife's lobster mac and cheese had very little lobster in it. The server checked with the kitchen then told us the dish was supposed to contain 8 oz. of lobster,my wife had 1-2 oz. at most.the server was very understanding and deleted the dish from our bill. the other 3 entrees were very good.We would give them a second chance.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Lovely! We enjoyed the ambience and the ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Lovely! We enjoyed the ambience and the atmosphere . Food was delicious . Nice variety on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Nice ambience, and not too loud. Average ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Nice ambience, and not too loud. Average service and pricing for an upscale restaurant, and not much for vegetarians, but overall, an nice spot for lunch or dinner if you are going to see a show at the Confederation centre!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Sadly our Mavor's experience was just "a ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Sadly our Mavor's experience was just "alright". My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and attending the evening performance. I chose Mavor's to ensure that we would be close by and at a restaurant accustomed to getting folks out in time to make the show. We were seated between the entrance and the bar so we were subject to the hustle and bustle of people being greeted and ice buckets being filled etc. The food and service was fine but in retrospect I wish that I had selected one of the other restaurants in the neighbourhood. We certainly did not have the experience that the photos and reviews led me to believe we might. My advice to prospective patrons would be to call and ensure that you get a table that suits you. Open table simply gives you a time slot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

This was a nice spot handy to the theatr ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was a nice spot handy to the theatre. Meal was very nice and the service was good. We enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We used it for dinner before the theatre ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We used it for dinner before the theatre . Perfect location ! Service was excellent?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love eating here but our birthdays we ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We love eating here but our birthdays were made very special by server Melanie I think it was,teacher from Bluefield,her name escapes me at the moment! She was efficient ,very good at her job and a lot of fun,she made our experience extra special. She even tried to get us into the show! Great special too ,scallops chorizo on penne. Great night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great! except service was quite slow co ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great! except service was quite slow considering it wasn't busy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Our reservation was for 6:00 - dropped b ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our reservation was for 6:00 - dropped by at 5:00 to see if we could reserve an outdoor table. No. If we wanted to be sure to get an outside seat, we had to dine immediately (although the patio was completely empty). So we did and then had more than an hour to kill between leaving the restaurant and going to the show in the same building. No local craft beer on the menu, only mass produced popular brands. VERY limited selection of PEI wines. Will not go back until they do a better job of supporting local producers. Service was 'average', food was great and prices were fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food and service ! A fantastic wa ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food and service ! A fantastic way to start an evening with friends before heading to the show.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent. We had a res ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The service was excellent. We had a reservation but weren't jazzed by our booth, so we were quickly and easily moved to a table with a view of the courtyard patio. The servers were very attentive and friendly. The scallops as a starter were delicious. My main (seared white fish) was overdone and the server insisted I order something else. They were busy so it took a bit for the kitchen to accommodate which was fine with me but the server automatically took an additional percentage off the bill.

I'd say the starters are more interesting and adventuruous while the mains are fairly typically prepared.

Nice evening out, nothing that blew me away except for the excellent service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Poor service, subpar food, small menu po ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Poor service, subpar food, small menu positive is it was close to teh theatre but there are lots of restaurants near by.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Overall our dining experience was good t ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Overall our dining experience was good to great. Our waiter was very efficient and attentive. I had eaten there previously and had the fish n chips and it was top notch (white flaky fish, not a lot of batter) I was extremely excited to have it again on this visit but was disappointed this time. The batter was a little bit greasy and the fish was not as good a cut this time. I did eat most of it. The appetizer was great, we had the white bean dip and I absolutely loved the beet honey butter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good food (lobster Mac&Cheese) grea ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very good food (lobster Mac&Cheese) great wine list but a terrible list of beers.

I would eat there again

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 7 of us this time and we all ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

There were 7 of us this time and we all enjoyed our meals from Sweet potato fries to Lobster Mac and Cheese and salads. The 7 of us were fully satisfied then we were off to see Glenda's Kitchen. After having the chowder there the girls decided that we would get chowder at Mavors along with our meals next time and that speaks for itself. We all loved our table, server, food and ambiance at noon. Thank you to Mavors for making it another successful meal with friends. By the way, 5 of the girls were from Germany (1) , Ontario(3) and New York(1).. Far reaches for Mavors.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the more delicious Mac and cheese ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I had the more delicious Mac and cheese ever.....it was tasty and a big portion for the price. I wish I had the receipe to make it for my grand daughters... A really great place to eat good good. Thank you

Lucille

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The maple cranberry butter was absolutel ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The maple cranberry butter was absolutely delicious. Our salads were refreshing on such a hot day and both quantity and quality were excellent. The restaurant was calm and peaceful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was really good but the waitres ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food was really good but the waitress did not write down our order,forgot my glass of wine,I had to ask twice for it by then my meal was almost done no apology.It was my husbands birthday and we told her but not even a "happy birthday" not impressed!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Staff service is very good. A dish was d ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Staff service is very good.

A dish was delicious.

Without the garbage of the outdoor corner, it would be better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food and service. Lovely patio and ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great food and service. Lovely patio and outdoor atmosphere. Interesting history and connection to the Confederation Centre and Charlottetown. Kid-friendly and great selection of food and drinks.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent place to eat and drink after t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent place to eat and drink after the theater! The seafood chevche was very good as was the Pinot Griso! Would definitely go back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was good, the restaurant well a ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was good, the restaurant well appointed the service, left a bad taste in my mouth. Being disabled & walking with a walker was the problem. Our server took my walker away from our table. I walked in the restaurant with a sweater on my walker. When my walker was returned to me the sweater was missing. They placed the walker & sweater at the front cash in an open area for anyone to take it. The cash area was not always staffed. The walker itself is worth close to $600.00. The waiters denied seeing my sweater. I had to buy a poncho in the shop down the hall so I didn't freeze @ the theatre at the cost of $70.00. Not how I planned to spend our Anniversary. Not likely to return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

The service was outstanding from the ti ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The service was outstanding from the time we arrived& our request for a booth was met which we loved. Food great as always!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.