About Mavor's Restaurant and Bar

145 Richmond Street
Charlottetown, PE C0A1H0
View Larger Map

Mavor"s is the stylish restaurant and bar in Confederation Centre of the Arts in Charlottetown. Relax over lunch in the open-air garden, or enjoy pre-theatre dining in the modern atmosphere of our lounge You can even bring your laptop and enjoy our free wireless internet access!

Stop by Mavor's Bar for a specialty martini or savour our fine wines served by the glass – the only way to start or end your evening! We also offer a wide variety of wines by the glass and arguably the best martinis in town.


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Monday ~ Wednesday
11am ~ 9pm
Thursday 11am~ 11pm
Friday & Saturday 11am ~ midnight
Sunday ~ open select Sundays

Cross Street:
Queen Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 628-6107

Website:
http://www.mavors.ca/

Catering:
www.mavors.ca

Private Party Facilities:
Located in downtown Charlottetown, Confederation Centre of the Arts offers one of the largest convention and meeting facilities on Prince Edward Island. Within walking distance of hotels, shops and restaurants, the fully-accessible facility can easily accommodate any function, from an intimate reception for 25 to a themed banquet for 500.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Schipper : 9026286136x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • M-1
  • Porkuccino (Pulled Pork Sandwich)
  • Pork-Pourri
  • Chocolate Cheese Cake with Ice Cream
  • Grilled Tomato and Cheese Soup
  • Fish and Chips
  • Pad Thai Vermicelli
  • Crispy Baked Haddock
M-1
Porkuccino (Pulled Pork Sandwich)
Pork-Pourri
Chocolate Cheese Cake with Ice Cream
Grilled Tomato and Cheese Soup
Fish and Chips
Pad Thai Vermicelli
Crispy Baked Haddock

Mavor's Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic Canada
Best Service
Atlantic Canada
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
5 More
Best Value
Atlantic Canada
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic Canada
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Prince Edward Island
Best Restaurants in Charlottetown ›

special occasion (32)
great for lunch (30)
good for groups (27)
See All
fit for foodies (24)
neighborhood gem (17)
late-night find (15)
great for outdoor dining (13)
romantic (13)
great for brunch (11)
notable wine list (10)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
371 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice dinner, but service was slow. We wo ...

Dined 5 days ago

Nice dinner, but service was slow. We would consider again.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Warm welcome on arrival, good menu, goo ...

Dined 5 days ago

Warm welcome on arrival, good menu, good wine selection, dinner was very good, prices are reasonable, above all, our server was friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming. Restaurant is adjacent to the Confederation Centre of the Arts and 100% convenient if attending an event there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good and well presente ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was very good and well presented! Excelent service, our waitress was very friendly!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We had mac cheese with lobster, came out ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had mac cheese with lobster, came out just warm had to send back to get it hotter. Very little lobster in it otherwise it was good. Service was great.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable lunch before matinee at the Co ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Enjoyable lunch before matinee at the Confederation Arts Centre. Good value, friendly service

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Delicious as always--we're fans of Mavor ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Delicious as always--we're fans of Mavors and recommend it all the time :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had tickets at Confederation Center and ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Had tickets at Confederation Center and had lunch before the show. Food was very good, service was excellent. Prices were reasonable. I would've liked more choices.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Very disappointed in the amount of food ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Very disappointed in the amount of food I got for the price. I had the seafood in the tomato broth. Lots of shells to fill the bowl but very little food. It took at least 45 minutes to get our meal. I realize it was a show night but we had ordered early and still took very long to get our meal.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Food good as usual. Presentation attract ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Food good as usual. Presentation attractive. Waitress attentive. Service expedicious. Good place to go. Will go back soon to explore new menu!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and food!

Dined on June 3, 2016

From start to finish, our visit was lovely. Waiter wasn't around too much, but enough to keep our drinks filled and let us get through a conversation without a hundred interruptions! Summer menu is fantastic, and waiter's wine suggestion was a great pairing. Will definitely be back, haven't been dissatisfied with any visit here :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fit for foodies

Dined on June 1, 2016

The chef must be complimented ,the meal was Excellant. Presentation: Excellant Food: Excellant (amounts, left you not feeling hungry)

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 of us Red Hat girls attended Mavors fo ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

5 of us Red Hat girls attended Mavors for supper then onto Momma Mia. The food was absolutely delicious, best steak sandwich in town. The meal for each of was added a light hearted start for the evening. Fish and Chips for 3 and steak sandwich for 2 and each loved their meal. Thank you for the service, ambiance, (love the changes, both in restaurant and the menu), quality of food, multiple choices of food and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a great restaurant to meet with ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

This is a great restaurant to meet with a group...we come here to plan reunions...it's quiet, there are spots for different size groups. The service is non intrusive and well done. Menu has something for everyone plus tasty desserts. Only negative was tea that was cold. We will be back soon. The on line reservation system worked like a charm.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cecili our waitress was exceptional, fri ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Cecili our waitress was exceptional, friendly, helpful and very attentive and focused on her job, shows she cares, I hope you mention this to your Manager, great waitress, I do find all your staff very professional and helpful. thanks again

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and food were awesome as always. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Service and food were awesome as always...will definitely be back....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Poor eye appeal for my meal

Dined on April 21, 2016

I had the blackened haddock which tasted good. However it was placed on top of too many small potatoes and these potatoes were black as well! Not an attractive plate!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mavors

Dined on March 17, 2016

Restaurant was great, food was delicious. Lots of options to choose from, service and hosts were great/friendly and quick! Date was impressed with the gluten free options!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary.

Dined on March 17, 2016

We were disappointed that we were not placed at a more private table but we're in a high traffic area--and the restaurant was practically empty. It is not romantic to be in the main traffic aisle?

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Again an excellent experience, staff very friendly

Dined on February 26, 2016

Excellent food, friendly and helpful staff, nice atmosphere, very accommodating and god price will be back again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Disappointed

Dined on February 26, 2016

Took a friend out for birthday treat. Had apps and dessert. One of the desserts (sticky date pudding) was inedible. Dry and hard, could not even get my spoon through it. It was replaced with another that was an improvement but not enjoyed due to the experience with the initial dessert. In the interest of customer satisfaction the replacement dessert maybe should have been complimentary. I will not be returning.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mavor's has a pleasant atmosphere, good ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Mavor's has a pleasant atmosphere, good food, and superior service....

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Great night at Mavor's

Dined on February 17, 2016

Lovely night with staff members - great service and wonderful food. Half-price apps are a bonus. The only disappointment was that the date pudding was dry. We would still go back again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great meal. Will be back again for burge ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great meal. Will be back again for burger love,cant wait

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and experience was excellent. ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food and experience was excellent. I enjoyed the wine pairing with each course. That was a great touch. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Desert was good but dry

Dined on February 12, 2016

The pudding we had was dry not moist and it seemed like it was just heated in the microwave so we were not real happy with the desert. We ate it but we were not overly pleased with it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Certainly had better onprevious visits.

Dined on February 6, 2016

The waitress was great, The bruschetta app was only fair, overcooked and drowned in olive oil, The main dish quite good, desert was a real disappointment. Returned the sticky date pudding as it was so dry and was replaced with a very burnt Crème Brulee that had probably past it's shelf life.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner for two

Dined on January 23, 2016

The atmosphere was great. The server Rachel was friendly and efficient and did a wonderful job. All staff greeted us with a smile. Thanks for a lovely evening out! The only down side was the kitchen doors flapping when someone went through them.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every way

Dined on January 22, 2016

Excellent in every way, great host, great food, no complaints at all

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the atmosphere at Mavor's. Excell ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

Love the atmosphere at Mavor's. Excellent Service and food

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lunch with the girls

Dined on January 16, 2016

Great table...Burger was amazing as well as the specials we tried. Love that it's our once a month time to meet, the staff are great for letting us take our time to talk and at 1:00pm the rush is mostly over so we never feel hurried. Staff is always fabulous and never intrusive. They are very well informed and know the menu and the ingredients for those of us with specialized menu requirements and are great at making suggestions for both food and beverages. Heads up...If you haven't tried the in house ice tea your really missing out, as well as the awesome wines.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty food served by efficient, friendly ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

Tasty food served by efficient, friendly staff to us at our comfortable and private table

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice evening

Dined on December 18, 2015

We were seated immediately when we arrived at the restaurant. It was busy as there was a show playing at the Confederation Centre. Our waitress asked us immediately if we were attending the show as there would have been time constraints. It so happened we were heading elsewhere but did appreciate the question. Our waitress was friendly and efficient. Our food came fairly quickly and was hot and tasty. I had the ribs and my husband had the haddock. Hot biscuits with molasses butter served while we were waiting were delicious! Would definitely go back! Perfect choice anytime...whether you are attending a performance or just want a nice place to eat.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

See my review (MBviano) on Trip Advisor.

Dined on December 15, 2015

Feel free to copy what you want; they don't pay me.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoy the lunch menu, and especially t ...

Dined on December 14, 2015

I enjoy the lunch menu, and especially the bacon wrapped scallops and the salads. If I am having a business meeting I prefer the booths- bar area, for privacy and low noise level. With the many choices for lunch in Charlottetown.....Mavors is my all time favorite. Happy Holidays!!!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Mabors Restaurant

Dined on December 5, 2015

We were attending a show at the Homburg Theatre and decided to have Dinner at Mavors prior to the performance. We booked a seating online which proved to be very easy and the restaurant honored our request upon arrival. Our waitress who was a young lady greeted us warmly and was very attentive throughout the entire meal. The restaurant has a very pleasant ambience and the food special was actually better than we had anticipated. All in all our experience at Mavors was one we will remember and we would not hesitate in recommending it to our friends

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5

Latest Experience

Dined on December 5, 2015

We have dined here many times both as a couple and with friends. The atmosphere is always relaxed and the service outstanding. We have our favorite table which thanks to OpenTable we managed to have 95% of our visits. We have always suggested when deciding where to eat " Mavor's because of the atmosphere, service and quality of the meal chosen . This last time, dining with friends on December 5th, we were disappointed with the Entree, the turkey was dry, tough and definitely over cooked. The desert , bread pudding, made up for our disappointment. Will we go back, yes, because the previous 25+ times has been a great experience to start our evening, whatever the occasion was.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

Very Disappointed

Dined on December 5, 2015

Poor table, poor service, poor food & poor Mavors, for losing a good customer. Mavors' loss is Sims' (and my) gain, though. So, it's not all bad. Yes, I should have said something, & I usually do. But you know what? I don't want to spend my evening having to start out by asking for a table other than the worst in the house, & for having to keep on at the waitress all evening for the service that she now EXPECTS 20% tips for. Being a former waitress myself, I am particularly sympathetic to the hard work of waiting on tables. That's why I always tip generously. I wonder if the waitress thought I was just a stingy single woman out for dinner, or if she realised the low tip was a reflection of her poor service...even at that I still tipped her 8%.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

The many times I have been to Mavors, it ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

The many times I have been to Mavors, it has never disappointed, either in service or food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3

Nice atmosphere, ok menu, good service

Dined on November 4, 2015

Atmosphere was nice, service was friendly, menu is small but was able to find something. The food took over 50 minutes to arrive, the drinks are pricy but the food was good when it finally arrived oh and the biscuits was awesome as an appetizer.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience5
service5

I love Mavors

Dined on October 17, 2015

Porktoberfest sandwich was a little greasy and needs a more substantial bread or bun. 6 of 8 of us ordered it and all said the same. But we love Mavors and your lobster bacon spinach dip rocks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.