About Mavor's Restaurant and Bar

145 Richmond Street
Charlottetown, PE C0A1H0
View Larger Map

Mavor"s is the stylish restaurant and bar in Confederation Centre of the Arts in Charlottetown. Relax over lunch in the open-air garden, or enjoy pre-theatre dining in the modern atmosphere of our lounge You can even bring your laptop and enjoy our free wireless internet access!

Stop by Mavor's Bar for a specialty martini or savour our fine wines served by the glass – the only way to start or end your evening! We also offer a wide variety of wines by the glass and arguably the best martinis in town.


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:

Monday & Saturday 11am ~ midnight
Sunday ~ open select Sundays

Cross Street:
Queen Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 628-6107

Website:
http://www.mavors.ca/

Catering:
www.mavors.ca

Private Party Facilities:
Located in downtown Charlottetown, Confederation Centre of the Arts offers one of the largest convention and meeting facilities on Prince Edward Island. Within walking distance of hotels, shops and restaurants, the fully-accessible facility can easily accommodate any function, from an intimate reception for 25 to a themed banquet for 500.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Schipper : 9026286136x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Asian Salad
Best of Sea 2016
Pasta
Onion Rings
Veggie Burger
M-1
Porkuccino (Pulled Pork Sandwich)
Pork-Pourri
Chocolate Cheese Cake with Ice Cream
Grilled Tomato and Cheese Soup
Fish and Chips
Pad Thai Vermicelli
Crispy Baked Haddock

Mavor's Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic Canada
Best Service
Atlantic Canada
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
6 More
Best Value
Atlantic Canada
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic Canada
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Prince Edward Island
Best Restaurants in Charlottetown ›

Special Occasion (63)
Great for Lunch (46)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
See All
Fit for Foodies (44)
Good for Groups (40)
Romantic (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Great for Brunch (24)
Late-night Find (22)
Notable Wine List (18)
Kid-friendly (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Scenic View (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Sort By:
Newest
409 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My gluten free meal was absolutely fabul ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My gluten free meal was absolutely fabulous!. They took extra care with the preparation and checked to make sure everything was ok. I truly appreciate the attention to details.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely! We enjoyed the ambience and the ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely! We enjoyed the ambience and the atmosphere . Food was delicious . Nice variety on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Nice ambience, and not too loud. Average ...

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Nice ambience, and not too loud. Average service and pricing for an upscale restaurant, and not much for vegetarians, but overall, an nice spot for lunch or dinner if you are going to see a show at the Confederation centre!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Sadly our Mavor's experience was just "a ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Sadly our Mavor's experience was just "alright". My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and attending the evening performance. I chose Mavor's to ensure that we would be close by and at a restaurant accustomed to getting folks out in time to make the show. We were seated between the entrance and the bar so we were subject to the hustle and bustle of people being greeted and ice buckets being filled etc. The food and service was fine but in retrospect I wish that I had selected one of the other restaurants in the neighbourhood. We certainly did not have the experience that the photos and reviews led me to believe we might. My advice to prospective patrons would be to call and ensure that you get a table that suits you. Open table simply gives you a time slot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

This was a nice spot handy to the theatr ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was a nice spot handy to the theatre. Meal was very nice and the service was good. We enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We used it for dinner before the theatre ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We used it for dinner before the theatre . Perfect location ! Service was excellent?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love eating here but our birthdays we ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We love eating here but our birthdays were made very special by server Melanie I think it was,teacher from Bluefield,her name escapes me at the moment! She was efficient ,very good at her job and a lot of fun,she made our experience extra special. She even tried to get us into the show! Great special too ,scallops chorizo on penne. Great night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great! except service was quite slow co ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great! except service was quite slow considering it wasn't busy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Our reservation was for 6:00 - dropped b ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our reservation was for 6:00 - dropped by at 5:00 to see if we could reserve an outdoor table. No. If we wanted to be sure to get an outside seat, we had to dine immediately (although the patio was completely empty). So we did and then had more than an hour to kill between leaving the restaurant and going to the show in the same building. No local craft beer on the menu, only mass produced popular brands. VERY limited selection of PEI wines. Will not go back until they do a better job of supporting local producers. Service was 'average', food was great and prices were fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food and service ! A fantastic wa ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food and service ! A fantastic way to start an evening with friends before heading to the show.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent. We had a res ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The service was excellent. We had a reservation but weren't jazzed by our booth, so we were quickly and easily moved to a table with a view of the courtyard patio. The servers were very attentive and friendly. The scallops as a starter were delicious. My main (seared white fish) was overdone and the server insisted I order something else. They were busy so it took a bit for the kitchen to accommodate which was fine with me but the server automatically took an additional percentage off the bill.

I'd say the starters are more interesting and adventuruous while the mains are fairly typically prepared.

Nice evening out, nothing that blew me away except for the excellent service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Poor service, subpar food, small menu po ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Poor service, subpar food, small menu positive is it was close to teh theatre but there are lots of restaurants near by.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Overall our dining experience was good t ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Overall our dining experience was good to great. Our waiter was very efficient and attentive. I had eaten there previously and had the fish n chips and it was top notch (white flaky fish, not a lot of batter) I was extremely excited to have it again on this visit but was disappointed this time. The batter was a little bit greasy and the fish was not as good a cut this time. I did eat most of it. The appetizer was great, we had the white bean dip and I absolutely loved the beet honey butter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good food (lobster Mac&Cheese) grea ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very good food (lobster Mac&Cheese) great wine list but a terrible list of beers.

I would eat there again

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 7 of us this time and we all ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

There were 7 of us this time and we all enjoyed our meals from Sweet potato fries to Lobster Mac and Cheese and salads. The 7 of us were fully satisfied then we were off to see Glenda's Kitchen. After having the chowder there the girls decided that we would get chowder at Mavors along with our meals next time and that speaks for itself. We all loved our table, server, food and ambiance at noon. Thank you to Mavors for making it another successful meal with friends. By the way, 5 of the girls were from Germany (1) , Ontario(3) and New York(1).. Far reaches for Mavors.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the more delicious Mac and cheese ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I had the more delicious Mac and cheese ever.....it was tasty and a big portion for the price. I wish I had the receipe to make it for my grand daughters... A really great place to eat good good. Thank you

Lucille

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The maple cranberry butter was absolutel ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The maple cranberry butter was absolutely delicious. Our salads were refreshing on such a hot day and both quantity and quality were excellent. The restaurant was calm and peaceful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was really good but the waitres ...

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food was really good but the waitress did not write down our order,forgot my glass of wine,I had to ask twice for it by then my meal was almost done no apology.It was my husbands birthday and we told her but not even a "happy birthday" not impressed!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Staff service is very good. A dish was d ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Staff service is very good.

A dish was delicious.

Without the garbage of the outdoor corner, it would be better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food and service. Lovely patio and ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great food and service. Lovely patio and outdoor atmosphere. Interesting history and connection to the Confederation Centre and Charlottetown. Kid-friendly and great selection of food and drinks.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent place to eat and drink after t ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent place to eat and drink after the theater! The seafood chevche was very good as was the Pinot Griso! Would definitely go back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was good, the restaurant well a ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was good, the restaurant well appointed the service, left a bad taste in my mouth. Being disabled & walking with a walker was the problem. Our server took my walker away from our table. I walked in the restaurant with a sweater on my walker. When my walker was returned to me the sweater was missing. They placed the walker & sweater at the front cash in an open area for anyone to take it. The cash area was not always staffed. The walker itself is worth close to $600.00. The waiters denied seeing my sweater. I had to buy a poncho in the shop down the hall so I didn't freeze @ the theatre at the cost of $70.00. Not how I planned to spend our Anniversary. Not likely to return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

The service was outstanding from the ti ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The service was outstanding from the time we arrived& our request for a booth was met which we loved. Food great as always!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was very busy. We did wa ...

 
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The restaurant was very busy. We did wait a long time for our entrees but the server was very attentive and even though we didn't complain our bill was discounted by 10% because of the wait. We were very appreciative. The food was very tasty. My Caesar salad was delicious. I also had the Fish and Chips but did find the batter on the fish could have been cooked just a wee bit longer. My friend had the Lobster Mac 'n Cheese and a salad and said it was very good. Unfortunately we didn't have time for dessert.

I would recommend Mavor's as a great place to dine in Charlottetown.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My sister and I were attending the eveni ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My sister and I were attending the evening show Mama Mia and decided to include supper but unfortunately I left it to late to reserve a later reservation. Decided to take the 4 pm supper reservation and enjoyed our supper. Done to perfection...Lovely evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to eat. I tell everyone ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Wonderful place to eat. I tell everyone .The service was great .It was a special find Thanks Kathy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere and food was wonderful. Hoste ...

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Atmosphere and food was wonderful. Hostess was great. Restaurant was very busy so server did her job but did not go beyond. Did not take our drink order. We ordered drinks when our food order was taken. Food arrived quickly and was delicious. Huge servings. Would def. go back and maybe eat outside next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Mavor's is an excellent choice to dine f ...

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Mavor's is an excellent choice to dine for anyone planning to attend a show at the Centre or the Mack, due to its central location. The service is exceptional, the menu is varied and the food is good and tastefully arranged. Its proximity to Victoria Row and other shops makes it a great spot for lunch as well. The only negative is the lack of convenient parking in the downtown area.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant is well located and seating a ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Restaurant is well located and seating areas provide nice privacy and quiet atmosphere. Fish and chips are excellent and highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a wonderful dinner just before we we ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner just before we went to watch Anne of Green Gables. The food was scrumptious. I am so sorry I did not get our waitress's name. She was such a wonderful lady. We chatted about how we were exploring PEI and she recommended the Greenwich Duneland Trail to us. We checked it out and it was gorgeous. It was a fantastic family night. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining experience was excellent. Me ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The dining experience was excellent. Menu selections pleased everyone.

Service was great……..will b back again soon :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience from start to ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had a great experience from start to finish. Had planned on going to Victoria row after show for desert n drinks but didn't fr we would find a better spot. So the courtyard it was. Glad we stayed after show great waitress. Kudos

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent experience. My siste ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had an excellent experience. My sister and I enjoyed a most delicious steak dinner and we had an excellent waitress! She was very friendly and very helpful with choosing a wine and meal. It was very clean and a great atmosphere. We were going to see Momma Mia and it was an excellent spot to dine before the show. I'm sure I'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experie ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience from the moment we walked in until we were on our way to see Mama Mia. The hostess and server were professional and very pleasant and the food was excellent. All round a great experience. Will certainly come again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The meno 'looks' great but the execution ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The meno 'looks' great but the execution is 'meh', not horrible but not great. I probably wouldn't go back as there are lots of restaurants in the area that the food is great. Convenient for dinner before a show at confed center. The service was friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We had a table by the window overlooking ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had a table by the window overlooking the courtyard which was very well kept although a high traffic area it felt quiet and intimate. Our waitress was totally on as when I dropped a fork she was there with another before I straightened up from pick it up. Friendly staff as we had other staff checking with us to see if we needed anything and how everything was.

Great experience! Will be back and try the late night next week menu Steak sandwich was great and filling as well and all at a reasonable price:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect pre-show spot to dine al fre ...

 
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The perfect pre-show spot to dine al fresco, especially on a hot night. Breezy patio, great food and efficient friendly service and ample menu choice. A great meal in relaxing and oasis-like surroundings.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As Queen of the Royal Rascals Red Hat So ...

 
·Dined on June 29, 2016

As Queen of the Royal Rascals Red Hat Society Chapter, hosted a luncheon for a visiting Queen from an Ontario Red Hat Chapter, myself and my chapterettes fully enjoyed our wine choices, our meals were fantastic and we bragged about the PEI flavors of food, and our guest was very pleased with her meal and her whole Island experience. She had not been here in Charlottetown for 20 yrs. and couldn't believe how far advanced we had come in our culinary delights. Our group wanted their photo taken together and our server was very generous and offered to take our picture, we were overjoyed. The server went far beyond her duties. She was courteous, knowledgeable, energetic and very pleasant. This is not our first time at Mavors and it won't be our last. We like to take our guests there, it is a great PEI flavor and hospitality event each time. Thank you for the new menu, great staff and wonderful ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice dinner, but service was slow. We wo ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Nice dinner, but service was slow. We would consider again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Warm welcome on arrival, good menu, goo ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Warm welcome on arrival, good menu, good wine selection, dinner was very good, prices are reasonable, above all, our server was friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming. Restaurant is adjacent to the Confederation Centre of the Arts and 100% convenient if attending an event there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.