About Mavor's Restaurant and Bar

145 Richmond Street
Charlottetown, PE C0A1H0
View Larger Map

Mavor"s is the stylish restaurant and bar in Confederation Centre of the Arts in Charlottetown. Relax over lunch in the open-air garden, or enjoy pre-theatre dining in the modern atmosphere of our lounge You can even bring your laptop and enjoy our free wireless internet access!

Stop by Mavor's Bar for a specialty martini or savour our fine wines served by the glass – the only way to start or end your evening! We also offer a wide variety of wines by the glass and arguably the best martinis in town.


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Monday ~ Wednesday
11am ~ 9pm
Thursday 11am~ 11pm
Friday & Saturday 11am ~ midnight
Sunday ~ open select Sundays

Cross Street:
Queen Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 628-6107

Website:
http://www.mavors.ca/

Catering:
www.mavors.ca

Private Party Facilities:
Located in downtown Charlottetown, Confederation Centre of the Arts offers one of the largest convention and meeting facilities on Prince Edward Island. Within walking distance of hotels, shops and restaurants, the fully-accessible facility can easily accommodate any function, from an intimate reception for 25 to a themed banquet for 500.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Schipper : 9026286136x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Mavor's Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Atlantic Canada
Best Value
Atlantic Canada
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic Canada
3 More
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Prince Edward Island
Best Restaurants in Charlottetown ›

special occasion (34)
fit for foodies (25)
great for lunch (25)
See All
good for groups (23)
late-night find (20)
neighborhood gem (19)
romantic (19)
notable wine list (14)
great for outdoor dining (13)
vibrant bar scene (5)
scenic view (5)
hot spot (5)
great for brunch (5)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cecili our waitress was exceptional, fri ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Cecili our waitress was exceptional, friendly, helpful and very attentive and focused on her job, shows she cares, I hope you mention this to your Manager, great waitress, I do find all your staff very professional and helpful. thanks again

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and food were awesome as always. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Service and food were awesome as always...will definitely be back....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Poor eye appeal for my meal

Dined on April 21, 2016

I had the blackened haddock which tasted good. However it was placed on top of too many small potatoes and these potatoes were black as well! Not an attractive plate!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mavors

Dined on March 17, 2016

Restaurant was great, food was delicious. Lots of options to choose from, service and hosts were great/friendly and quick! Date was impressed with the gluten free options!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary.

Dined on March 17, 2016

We were disappointed that we were not placed at a more private table but we're in a high traffic area--and the restaurant was practically empty. It is not romantic to be in the main traffic aisle?

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Again an excellent experience, staff very friendly

Dined on February 26, 2016

Excellent food, friendly and helpful staff, nice atmosphere, very accommodating and god price will be back again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Disappointed

Dined on February 26, 2016

Took a friend out for birthday treat. Had apps and dessert. One of the desserts (sticky date pudding) was inedible. Dry and hard, could not even get my spoon through it. It was replaced with another that was an improvement but not enjoyed due to the experience with the initial dessert. In the interest of customer satisfaction the replacement dessert maybe should have been complimentary. I will not be returning.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mavor's has a pleasant atmosphere, good ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Mavor's has a pleasant atmosphere, good food, and superior service....

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Great night at Mavor's

Dined on February 17, 2016

Lovely night with staff members - great service and wonderful food. Half-price apps are a bonus. The only disappointment was that the date pudding was dry. We would still go back again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great meal. Will be back again for burge ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great meal. Will be back again for burger love,cant wait

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and experience was excellent. ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food and experience was excellent. I enjoyed the wine pairing with each course. That was a great touch. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Desert was good but dry

Dined on February 12, 2016

The pudding we had was dry not moist and it seemed like it was just heated in the microwave so we were not real happy with the desert. We ate it but we were not overly pleased with it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Certainly had better onprevious visits.

Dined on February 6, 2016

The waitress was great, The bruschetta app was only fair, overcooked and drowned in olive oil, The main dish quite good, desert was a real disappointment. Returned the sticky date pudding as it was so dry and was replaced with a very burnt Crème Brulee that had probably past it's shelf life.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner for two

Dined on January 23, 2016

The atmosphere was great. The server Rachel was friendly and efficient and did a wonderful job. All staff greeted us with a smile. Thanks for a lovely evening out! The only down side was the kitchen doors flapping when someone went through them.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every way

Dined on January 22, 2016

Excellent in every way, great host, great food, no complaints at all

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the atmosphere at Mavor's. Excell ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

Love the atmosphere at Mavor's. Excellent Service and food

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lunch with the girls

Dined on January 16, 2016

Great table...Burger was amazing as well as the specials we tried. Love that it's our once a month time to meet, the staff are great for letting us take our time to talk and at 1:00pm the rush is mostly over so we never feel hurried. Staff is always fabulous and never intrusive. They are very well informed and know the menu and the ingredients for those of us with specialized menu requirements and are great at making suggestions for both food and beverages. Heads up...If you haven't tried the in house ice tea your really missing out, as well as the awesome wines.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty food served by efficient, friendly ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

Tasty food served by efficient, friendly staff to us at our comfortable and private table

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice evening

Dined on December 18, 2015

We were seated immediately when we arrived at the restaurant. It was busy as there was a show playing at the Confederation Centre. Our waitress asked us immediately if we were attending the show as there would have been time constraints. It so happened we were heading elsewhere but did appreciate the question. Our waitress was friendly and efficient. Our food came fairly quickly and was hot and tasty. I had the ribs and my husband had the haddock. Hot biscuits with molasses butter served while we were waiting were delicious! Would definitely go back! Perfect choice anytime...whether you are attending a performance or just want a nice place to eat.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

See my review (MBviano) on Trip Advisor.

Dined on December 15, 2015

Feel free to copy what you want; they don't pay me.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoy the lunch menu, and especially t ...

Dined on December 14, 2015

I enjoy the lunch menu, and especially the bacon wrapped scallops and the salads. If I am having a business meeting I prefer the booths- bar area, for privacy and low noise level. With the many choices for lunch in Charlottetown.....Mavors is my all time favorite. Happy Holidays!!!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Mabors Restaurant

Dined on December 5, 2015

We were attending a show at the Homburg Theatre and decided to have Dinner at Mavors prior to the performance. We booked a seating online which proved to be very easy and the restaurant honored our request upon arrival. Our waitress who was a young lady greeted us warmly and was very attentive throughout the entire meal. The restaurant has a very pleasant ambience and the food special was actually better than we had anticipated. All in all our experience at Mavors was one we will remember and we would not hesitate in recommending it to our friends

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5

Latest Experience

Dined on December 5, 2015

We have dined here many times both as a couple and with friends. The atmosphere is always relaxed and the service outstanding. We have our favorite table which thanks to OpenTable we managed to have 95% of our visits. We have always suggested when deciding where to eat " Mavor's because of the atmosphere, service and quality of the meal chosen . This last time, dining with friends on December 5th, we were disappointed with the Entree, the turkey was dry, tough and definitely over cooked. The desert , bread pudding, made up for our disappointment. Will we go back, yes, because the previous 25+ times has been a great experience to start our evening, whatever the occasion was.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

Very Disappointed

Dined on December 5, 2015

Poor table, poor service, poor food & poor Mavors, for losing a good customer. Mavors' loss is Sims' (and my) gain, though. So, it's not all bad. Yes, I should have said something, & I usually do. But you know what? I don't want to spend my evening having to start out by asking for a table other than the worst in the house, & for having to keep on at the waitress all evening for the service that she now EXPECTS 20% tips for. Being a former waitress myself, I am particularly sympathetic to the hard work of waiting on tables. That's why I always tip generously. I wonder if the waitress thought I was just a stingy single woman out for dinner, or if she realised the low tip was a reflection of her poor service...even at that I still tipped her 8%.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

The many times I have been to Mavors, it ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

The many times I have been to Mavors, it has never disappointed, either in service or food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3

Nice atmosphere, ok menu, good service

Dined on November 4, 2015

Atmosphere was nice, service was friendly, menu is small but was able to find something. The food took over 50 minutes to arrive, the drinks are pricy but the food was good when it finally arrived oh and the biscuits was awesome as an appetizer.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience5
service5

I love Mavors

Dined on October 17, 2015

Porktoberfest sandwich was a little greasy and needs a more substantial bread or bun. 6 of 8 of us ordered it and all said the same. But we love Mavors and your lobster bacon spinach dip rocks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service2

Bad visit

Dined on October 16, 2015

Mavors is a date night favorite for my wife and I. ..or at least it was. This time we suffered from very slow service and very medicare food once it arrived. The majority of our food had the appearance of sitting under a heat lamp for an extended period of time. Seafood chowder had solidified on top. The cheese on my burger and wife's fries with the works had hardened. Caesar salads were served warm. All five of our party ordered off the appetizer and pub menu and the wat was exorbitant. We were all very disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3

Birthday Night Out

Dined on October 2, 2015

Appetizers and Main Course were excellent. The Seafood Pasta was to die for. We also had three women with birthdays at our table and they all got their desserts for free. Thanks Mavors!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4

OK

Dined on September 22, 2015

This is such a convenient dining room for us to frequent when we attend the theater. The staff have always been pleasant and taken care of our basic requirements. When I asked each guest what they thought of their meal, each said, "it was ok" This was true of our last two meals also. When we first dined there, the comments were, "delicious!" Cream brûlée is very good. All other desert choices seem to be from frozen. The mousse in the chocolate cake was solid when served to one guest. Our server took it back and offered an alternative but it was graciously refused. This lead us to discuss considering trying some nearby quality Restraunts on our next outing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the food, service was outstanding!

Dined on September 21, 2015

Great restaurant! Wonderful place to have a relaxing meal before heading out for the night to a show or other events. The food was absolutely wonderful. The service was outstanding. I will tell anyone who is visiting the region to make sure they stop by and have a meal there!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner on Sat night!

Dined on September 18, 2015

I have booked our table for four people and another friend showed up but the staff were quick to turn around our table for five... Geat Job Team Mavor's!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great 'Before Theatre' Meal

Dined on September 17, 2015

We found booking Mavore's online very convenient. We liked the idea that proceeds go to help the work of the Centre. We were greeted by a friendly hostess and shown to our table. We chose indoors so we could have a regular height table. We were pleased that the 'Matinee' or luncheon menu is available all day. We both chose the lobster club with roasted potatoes. We enjoyed this selection very much. the potatoes were perfectly done and well seasoned. The sandwiches had nice sized chunks of lobster and tasty bacon with a tasty creamy mayo style dressing. Our server was very friendly and chatted knowledgeably with us about the restaurant season and the upcoming winter show 'Alladin'. We throughly enjoyed the experience as well as being conveniently on site before the performance. No stress!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

great place to meet friends!

Dined on September 15, 2015

Great place to meet before a show in the theatre, great staff and atmosphere. Highly recommend stopping in!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Mavors In Charlottetown

Dined on August 24, 2015

We had great food at Mavors on our recent visit to Charlottetown PEI. The scallops, crab cakes and creme brûlée were our favourites. The restaurant is also beautiful and convenient to the theatre.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3

Good place before going to the theatre

Dined on August 24, 2015

We booked Mavor's from home before coming to PEI for a few days. It was great to know that we had a convenient place to have our meal before we went to the play. We were al pleased with our meals and even more impressed with the decadent desserts. Great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3

Not up to expectations

Dined on August 22, 2015

Made reservations based on recommendation from the theatre. When we arrived, there was confusion about our table (we were seated twice). Our waitress did not write down our order, and thus brought out the wrong appetizer (she corrected this mistake). When I ordered the ribeye special, she neglected to inquire regarding desired doneness. She had to return to the table for this information. We noted that this waitress was very friendly and making conversation with the two tables on either side of us. We received no such treatment. As for the food, my wife ordered a Southwest Chicken Pizza. The sauce? Catsup!! That's southwest?? My ribeye was a very poor cut of meat and very poorly trimmed. It was very sinewy and way too much hard gristle. The (only) highlight was the lobster, bacon and spinach dip. Truly delicious.

Tags: late-night find
food2
ambience2
service2

Disappointing.

Dined on August 20, 2015

I had been to Mavor's before and enjoyed it. We selected it for its proximity to the theatre and based on past experiences. This time we were stuffed in a back corner, the food was bland and presentation mediocre, as was the service. Good cocktail list and a nice courtyard for drinks. Otherwise, will not be rushing back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on August 15, 2015

Great food, excellent service and an all over excellent experience....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Play and supper

Dined on July 30, 2015

My daughter and I were celebrating our birthdays early, so we decided to have supper before taking in the play Alice through the Looking Glass. The whole evening was a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.