About Mavor's Restaurant and Bar

145 Richmond Street
Charlottetown, PE C0A1H0
View Larger Map

Mavor"s is the stylish restaurant and bar in Confederation Centre of the Arts in Charlottetown. Relax over lunch in the open-air garden, or enjoy pre-theatre dining in the modern atmosphere of our lounge You can even bring your laptop and enjoy our free wireless internet access!

Stop by Mavor's Bar for a specialty martini or savour our fine wines served by the glass – the only way to start or end your evening! We also offer a wide variety of wines by the glass and arguably the best martinis in town.


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:

Monday & Saturday 11am ~ midnight
Sunday ~ open select Sundays

Cross Street:
Queen Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 628-6107

Website:
http://www.mavors.ca/

Catering:
www.mavors.ca

Private Party Facilities:
Located in downtown Charlottetown, Confederation Centre of the Arts offers one of the largest convention and meeting facilities on Prince Edward Island. Within walking distance of hotels, shops and restaurants, the fully-accessible facility can easily accommodate any function, from an intimate reception for 25 to a themed banquet for 500.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Schipper : 9026286136x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Asian Salad - Mavor's Restaurant and Bar, Charlottetown, PE
Best of Sea 2016 - Mavor's Restaurant and Bar, Charlottetown, PE
Pasta - Mavor's Restaurant and Bar, Charlottetown, PE
Onion Rings - Mavor's Restaurant and Bar, Charlottetown, PE
Veggie Burger - Mavor's Restaurant and Bar, Charlottetown, PE
M-1 - Mavor's Restaurant and Bar, Charlottetown, PE
Porkuccino (Pulled Pork Sandwich) - Mavor's Restaurant and Bar, Charlottetown, PE
Pork-Pourri - Mavor's Restaurant and Bar, Charlottetown, PE
Chocolate Cheese Cake with Ice Cream - Mavor's Restaurant and Bar, Charlottetown, PE
Grilled Tomato and Cheese Soup - Mavor's Restaurant and Bar, Charlottetown, PE
Fish and Chips - Mavor's Restaurant and Bar, Charlottetown, PE
Pad Thai Vermicelli - Mavor's Restaurant and Bar, Charlottetown, PE
Crispy Baked Haddock - Mavor's Restaurant and Bar, Charlottetown, PE

Mavor's Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Best Restaurants in Charlottetown ›

Special Occasion (27)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Romantic (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Business Meals (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Casual (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
People Watching (2)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
441 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service and excellent food! Wi ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Excellent service and excellent food! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Mavors was absolutely ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our experience at Mavors was absolutely out of this world. Our server, Melanie, was extremely knowledgeable in the history of the Brian Burke Paintings, with special consideration payed to the portrait above table #22. It was a pleasure to have her serve us. Thank you, Melanie

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Krysten was a great server - one of the ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Krysten was a great server - one of the best I've ever had. She was so welcoming, pleasant, and it was obvious she wanted us to enjoy our time together as a family as well as the food. I had booked a table of 3 but ended up with an extra guest and there was absolutely no hint of this being an inconvenience. She immediately said "no problem, we will make that work!" and set up another place setting very quickly. She was patient and helpful, almost felt like she was a friend of the family. Thanks so much, Krysten and all of the staff. The food was tasty too and water was kept filled by another server. :)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Made a reservation online for Friday Nov ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Made a reservation online for Friday November 11th, received a confirmation email for the reservation then arrived at Mavor's and it wasn't open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I always recommend Mavors. Fabulous spot ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I always recommend Mavors. Fabulous spot to eat. We had a few issues tonight but the staff handled them very well. Great atmosphere and wonderful spot to meet friends for a great meal and excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was good; however, service was slow ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was good; however, service was slow - many table who arrived after us were served their main meals before us. (Not sure what the hold up was, was not informed and did not bother to ask).

We booked an earlier time as we planned to attend a show that night - sure glad we did.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was great. Food was just average ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was great. Food was just average. Nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything was all very excellent. The w ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Everything was all very excellent. The waiter sure appears to love his job.

Fraser Campbell

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It was a great event. I can't say other ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 18, 2016

It was a great event. I can't say other than the food was good. The service was a little slow and no attention/service after dinner was placed in front of us; none until we were entirely finished eating. We weren't upset about that but it did seem a little unusual. Nevertheless, we will go again sometime although we really don't eat out much. The cost was $105. + tip of $10. (2 people). We really can't do that very often.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Mavor's is one of the gem's of Charlotte ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Mavor's is one of the gem's of Charlottetown! I love eating there.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recently went to Mavor's with my daughte ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Recently went to Mavor's with my daughter for a pre-theatre dinner. The menu was new, and had a great assortment of options. We were happy with our choices - very flavourful, although my daughter's meal came without the side which was promised on the menu. The service, however, was lovely - our server was friendly and efficient. The food was a bit delayed in coming out of the kitchen, which meant that we didn't have time for dessert, but overall, we had a very pleasant dining experience. Would certainly recommend, and will no doubt go back. There are a couple more items on the new menu that I'd like to try!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Cozy, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

New menu, which is more expensive than o ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 14, 2016

New menu, which is more expensive than old one. Many new items to choose from. Our server was very slow, forgot to bring bread. Brought drinks after we were finished eating. Not the service we have been used to in the past.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The brunch special was a small portion, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The brunch special was a small portion, but for $10 it was fine. Coffee was light. Friendly service, but not genuine ("tired of tourists"). No brunch drinks like mimosas or ceasars on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Not so good this time, alas. Scallops ca ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Not so good this time, alas. Scallops came out only warm, not hot. Mac and cheese was not cheesy--almost as if the chef was running out (table mates ordered the same dish and reported the same problem). Caesar salad rather heavily sauced. So still generally tasty, with attentive service and quiet ambience, but not as good as previously.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We had the lobster Mac and cheese and wh ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We had the lobster Mac and cheese and while it was really good it needed to be hotter!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter was terrific - the food was ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Our waiter was terrific - the food was good & reasonable prices. atmosphere is relaxing . dining was a pleasure.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have had outstanding service and very ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 20, 2016

We have had outstanding service and very good food each time we have gone here regardless of the occasion . Highly recommend Mavor's whether attending the theater or looking for a quite place to enjoy the occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The atmosphere, food and service are alw ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The atmosphere, food and service are always excellent. We love that we can go and chat with our friends in a warm friendly place.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very fine kitchen: superb scallops with ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very fine kitchen: superb scallops with an interesting tomato "jam" and lettuce; very fine lobster mac'n'cheese with an usually good salad as unadvertised accompaniment.

Very fine staff: helped me with local touring questions, stayed on top of each course and refill, entirely charming.

The room is decorated by large contemporary portraits that some (including me) would find discomfiting. They aren't ugly so much as quite specific--good for a gallery, but too arresting, even unnerving, to serve as "wallpaper" in a restaurant.

Piped-in music was an odd contemporary pop mix: I would prefer a softer mix either of regional musicians or of those who have appeared in the theatre.

Otherwise, though, very good and I'll return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

enjoyed our visit. good food , great ser ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 7, 2016

enjoyed our visit. good food , great service , lovely surroundings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

It's great that you can reserve a table ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 3, 2016

It's great that you can reserve a table online, but you need a better reception service. Takes too long to get seated.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Three of our party had the seafood chowd ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Three of our party had the seafood chowder which was tasty but not outstanding.

Three of us had fish and chips which we all found to be very greasy. If you touched the fish oil oozed out of the coating on the fish. I think the oil must not have been hot enough when the fish was cooked because it just soaked up the oil. The fries were good, the pickle garnish and tarter sauce were good. Irish Coffee was also good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

The fish and chips were a little over do ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The fish and chips were a little over done and dry. I don't usually eat the tarter sauce but your was good. The service was a bit slow.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We chose the restaurant because of it's ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We chose the restaurant because of it's location as we were attending the Mama Mia Show.

Lovely location, lovely spot.....except for our table. Don't think we would reserve online again, as you just end up with a table I don't think anyone would want and you don't know that until your seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Quite disappointed actually. We went to ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Quite disappointed actually. We went to lunch before Mama Mia and ordered salad and soup. The waitress mentioned bringing bread but it never showed and then when we ordered a certain dessert from the menu it was not available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was good but the restaurant dec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was good but the restaurant decor is tired. The restaurant was empty yet they sat us in front of the waitress station and kitchen doors. I even asked for a quieter table but she just looked around and offered nothing away from the station. Someone came out to dry cutlery and kept throwing them in the gray cutlery holder. The clashing was very annoying and went on for ages then a waitress started noisily taking them out to wrap place settings. This should be done in the kitchen not the dining room. Plus the swinging doors are very noisy. Lastly, there was a loud private event in the bar. At some point the door was opened and children and adults spilled into the restaurant with drinks and sat at tables without ordering food. They were loud with kids running about and no regard for diners. The door to the bar remained open. All in all it was not a pleasant nor an enjoyable atmosphere. The silverware was the worst. I will not eat or recommend the restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

We were having dinner before the show so ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We were having dinner before the show so, the waitness knew that when we booked and she kept us on schedule so, we would be right on time... less stress for us ..

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome meal! Best in a very long time! ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Awesome meal! Best in a very long time! Great location for theatre goers.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great service and menu selection. It wa ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great service and menu selection. It was the 3rd time enjoying Mavor's and we will definitely be back next time when visiting Charlottetown.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mavor's is a great place to dine and cha ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Mavor's is a great place to dine and chat with tremendous historic value

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My gluten free meal was absolutely fabul ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 19, 2016

My gluten free meal was absolutely fabulous!. They took extra care with the preparation and checked to make sure everything was ok. I truly appreciate the attention to details.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I took our 2 teen age grand ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 19, 2016

My wife and I took our 2 teen age grand daughters for dinner prior to Mamma Mia.All was good except my wife's lobster mac and cheese had very little lobster in it. The server checked with the kitchen then told us the dish was supposed to contain 8 oz. of lobster,my wife had 1-2 oz. at most.the server was very understanding and deleted the dish from our bill. the other 3 entrees were very good.We would give them a second chance.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Lovely! We enjoyed the ambience and the ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Lovely! We enjoyed the ambience and the atmosphere . Food was delicious . Nice variety on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Nice ambience, and not too loud. Average ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Nice ambience, and not too loud. Average service and pricing for an upscale restaurant, and not much for vegetarians, but overall, an nice spot for lunch or dinner if you are going to see a show at the Confederation centre!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Sadly our Mavor's experience was just "a ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Sadly our Mavor's experience was just "alright". My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and attending the evening performance. I chose Mavor's to ensure that we would be close by and at a restaurant accustomed to getting folks out in time to make the show. We were seated between the entrance and the bar so we were subject to the hustle and bustle of people being greeted and ice buckets being filled etc. The food and service was fine but in retrospect I wish that I had selected one of the other restaurants in the neighbourhood. We certainly did not have the experience that the photos and reviews led me to believe we might. My advice to prospective patrons would be to call and ensure that you get a table that suits you. Open table simply gives you a time slot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

This was a nice spot handy to the theatr ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was a nice spot handy to the theatre. Meal was very nice and the service was good. We enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We used it for dinner before the theatre ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We used it for dinner before the theatre . Perfect location ! Service was excellent?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love eating here but our birthdays we ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We love eating here but our birthdays were made very special by server Melanie I think it was,teacher from Bluefield,her name escapes me at the moment! She was efficient ,very good at her job and a lot of fun,she made our experience extra special. She even tried to get us into the show! Great special too ,scallops chorizo on penne. Great night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great! except service was quite slow co ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great! except service was quite slow considering it wasn't busy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Our reservation was for 6:00 - dropped b ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our reservation was for 6:00 - dropped by at 5:00 to see if we could reserve an outdoor table. No. If we wanted to be sure to get an outside seat, we had to dine immediately (although the patio was completely empty). So we did and then had more than an hour to kill between leaving the restaurant and going to the show in the same building. No local craft beer on the menu, only mass produced popular brands. VERY limited selection of PEI wines. Will not go back until they do a better job of supporting local producers. Service was 'average', food was great and prices were fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.