About Mavor's Restaurant and Bar

145 Richmond Street
Charlottetown, PE C0A1H0
View Larger Map

Mavor"s is the stylish restaurant and bar in Confederation Centre of the Arts in Charlottetown. Relax over lunch in the open-air garden, or enjoy pre-theatre dining in the modern atmosphere of our lounge You can even bring your laptop and enjoy our free wireless internet access!

Stop by Mavor's Bar for a specialty martini or savour our fine wines served by the glass – the only way to start or end your evening! We also offer a wide variety of wines by the glass and arguably the best martinis in town.


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:

Monday & Saturday 11am ~ midnight
Sunday ~ open select Sundays

Cross Street:
Queen Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 628-6107

Website:
http://www.mavors.ca/

Catering:
www.mavors.ca

Private Party Facilities:
Located in downtown Charlottetown, Confederation Centre of the Arts offers one of the largest convention and meeting facilities on Prince Edward Island. Within walking distance of hotels, shops and restaurants, the fully-accessible facility can easily accommodate any function, from an intimate reception for 25 to a themed banquet for 500.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Schipper : (902) 628-6136

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Mavor's Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (14)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Quiet Conversation (8)
Business Meals (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Cozy (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Romantic (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Authentic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One hundred percent excellent. I am sure ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One hundred percent excellent. I am sure that we had the best waiter of anyone.

Fraser Campbell

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, , Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for winter dine and wow, we were ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We came for winter dine and wow, we were blown away by the the quality of the prime rib. Your chef did an amazing job preparing the meal, everything was wonderful. Your wait staff did a wonderful job, serving and checking on our table to ensure that we were all taken care of.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had the Winterdine, a 3 course meal a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had the Winterdine, a 3 course meal at a set price. The app was a corn chowder which was excellent. The main featured blue dot prime rib which outstanding with roasted veg. Desert was a chocolate torte which was also very good. A good wine list with nice range (although they had sold out of a couple wines because they were so busy). Excellent meal. This is a favourite spot of ours.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A taste sensation on the 2017 Winterdine ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

A taste sensation on the 2017 Winterdine menu, Prince Edward Island Certified Beef dry aged Prime Rib. Spectacular taste.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our dining experience was wonderful! Per ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our dining experience was wonderful! Perfect evening for a girls night out.

Delicious food and great service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favourite place to eat and alwa ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always a favourite place to eat and always great service

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was advised by server that you had to ha ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Was advised by server that you had to have clams with the special pork chop item. Why?

However, was advised that there was no clams available with the seafood item and were to be replaced with mussels???

A little confusing!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

You really want to know?! First, no one ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 9, 2017

You really want to know?! First, no one answered my query re Meatless and GF offerings. I asked the question with my online reservation.

The room was cold. And isn't it about time those dour paintings were stored or hung somewhere else. About the paintings . . . at least two surnames were misspelled!! And it's theremust be someone still living who knows the name of that Flanagan fellow!?

My coffee cup had a chip on the rim. It was replaced immediately. The table was very wobbly. We fixed it ourselves. The fod was hmmmm - okay. The server was accommodating and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

The only issue I had was with the hostes ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The only issue I had was with the hostess, in that she was having a personal conversation with another staff member near the kitchen entrance and I waited about 5 minutes before she turned and realized I was standing there. I did speak to her on the matter and she apologized.

Tags: Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We ate at Mavors as part of New Years ce ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We ate at Mavors as part of New Years celebrations. It was cold out so after 2 hours of outside activities we went to Mavors half an hour before the reservation. This was not a problem and they were able to start the meal. The fixed menu was so diverse that anyone would have enjoyed the meal. All of the meats- beef tenderloin, duck and shrimp were perfectly cooked.

We plan on including dinner at Mavors as part of our next years celebration.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Corin (sp) was an attentive and friendly ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Corin (sp) was an attentive and friendly server. Food was great and "special" food requestservice were easily dealt with.

REALLY wished you served Guinness.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We come to the restaurant quite often an ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We come to the restaurant quite often and we usually enjoy ourselves and we are usually going to the theatre and always get seated quickly and get to the show in plenty of time without feeling rushed by the staff. We had a table booked for 5.30pm and was running late and rang the restaurant to let them know and a gentleman was very kind and said do not worry but on arriving we tried to order a drink first and were informed that we had to order everything at once as we were late and they had to make sure that we got to the theatre in time, we still had 1hr half and we told the lady that we were sorry and had rang someone and if we had to leave in the middle of dinner, no worries out fault due to the weather but it seemed a big issue with her and kept trying to rush us. It did not ruin out evening but will be going elsewhere from now on, found her rude and made to feel like we were totally in the wrong for being late, in the bad weather and thought I was being good for calling and we were only 15 minutes late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We reserved for 6 pm before the 730 show ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We reserved for 6 pm before the 730 show. Our food that was ordered at 615 showed up at 725. The show had started by the time we inhaled our meals and made our way inside the theatre. Disappointing. Waitress was friendly but it was apparent they didnt have enough wait staff on since her visits were few and far between. We were given 25% off our bill and dessert after the show which we decined. What we tasted of the food was good though. Good enough to perhaps try it again...if we have plenty of time to spare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was very ogood as usual . Server ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Food was very ogood as usual . Server was very helpful with suggestions when asked, a great smile and sense of humour. Unfortunately had to many tables to look after resulting in a 20 minute delay in getting The bill. We were not alone as there were at least 4. Tables in our area who were experiencing the same wait, once received it was a cake walk to pay. Thank you Mavor's for the experience, will be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service and excellent food! Wi ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Excellent service and excellent food! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Mavors was absolutely ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our experience at Mavors was absolutely out of this world. Our server, Melanie, was extremely knowledgeable in the history of the Brian Burke Paintings, with special consideration payed to the portrait above table #22. It was a pleasure to have her serve us. Thank you, Melanie

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Krysten was a great server - one of the ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Krysten was a great server - one of the best I've ever had. She was so welcoming, pleasant, and it was obvious she wanted us to enjoy our time together as a family as well as the food. I had booked a table of 3 but ended up with an extra guest and there was absolutely no hint of this being an inconvenience. She immediately said "no problem, we will make that work!" and set up another place setting very quickly. She was patient and helpful, almost felt like she was a friend of the family. Thanks so much, Krysten and all of the staff. The food was tasty too and water was kept filled by another server. :)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Made a reservation online for Friday Nov ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Made a reservation online for Friday November 11th, received a confirmation email for the reservation then arrived at Mavor's and it wasn't open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I always recommend Mavors. Fabulous spot ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I always recommend Mavors. Fabulous spot to eat. We had a few issues tonight but the staff handled them very well. Great atmosphere and wonderful spot to meet friends for a great meal and excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was good; however, service was slow ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was good; however, service was slow - many table who arrived after us were served their main meals before us. (Not sure what the hold up was, was not informed and did not bother to ask).

We booked an earlier time as we planned to attend a show that night - sure glad we did.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was great. Food was just average ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was great. Food was just average. Nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything was all very excellent. The w ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Everything was all very excellent. The waiter sure appears to love his job.

Fraser Campbell

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, , Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It was a great event. I can't say other ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 18, 2016

It was a great event. I can't say other than the food was good. The service was a little slow and no attention/service after dinner was placed in front of us; none until we were entirely finished eating. We weren't upset about that but it did seem a little unusual. Nevertheless, we will go again sometime although we really don't eat out much. The cost was $105. + tip of $10. (2 people). We really can't do that very often.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Mavor's is one of the gem's of Charlotte ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Mavor's is one of the gem's of Charlottetown! I love eating there.

Tags: , Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recently went to Mavor's with my daughte ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Recently went to Mavor's with my daughter for a pre-theatre dinner. The menu was new, and had a great assortment of options. We were happy with our choices - very flavourful, although my daughter's meal came without the side which was promised on the menu. The service, however, was lovely - our server was friendly and efficient. The food was a bit delayed in coming out of the kitchen, which meant that we didn't have time for dessert, but overall, we had a very pleasant dining experience. Would certainly recommend, and will no doubt go back. There are a couple more items on the new menu that I'd like to try!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Cozy, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

New menu, which is more expensive than o ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 14, 2016

New menu, which is more expensive than old one. Many new items to choose from. Our server was very slow, forgot to bring bread. Brought drinks after we were finished eating. Not the service we have been used to in the past.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The brunch special was a small portion, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The brunch special was a small portion, but for $10 it was fine. Coffee was light. Friendly service, but not genuine ("tired of tourists"). No brunch drinks like mimosas or ceasars on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Not so good this time, alas. Scallops ca ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Not so good this time, alas. Scallops came out only warm, not hot. Mac and cheese was not cheesy--almost as if the chef was running out (table mates ordered the same dish and reported the same problem). Caesar salad rather heavily sauced. So still generally tasty, with attentive service and quiet ambience, but not as good as previously.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We had the lobster Mac and cheese and wh ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We had the lobster Mac and cheese and while it was really good it needed to be hotter!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter was terrific - the food was ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Our waiter was terrific - the food was good & reasonable prices. atmosphere is relaxing . dining was a pleasure.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have had outstanding service and very ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 20, 2016

We have had outstanding service and very good food each time we have gone here regardless of the occasion . Highly recommend Mavor's whether attending the theater or looking for a quite place to enjoy the occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The atmosphere, food and service are alw ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The atmosphere, food and service are always excellent. We love that we can go and chat with our friends in a warm friendly place.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very fine kitchen: superb scallops with ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very fine kitchen: superb scallops with an interesting tomato "jam" and lettuce; very fine lobster mac'n'cheese with an usually good salad as unadvertised accompaniment.

Very fine staff: helped me with local touring questions, stayed on top of each course and refill, entirely charming.

The room is decorated by large contemporary portraits that some (including me) would find discomfiting. They aren't ugly so much as quite specific--good for a gallery, but too arresting, even unnerving, to serve as "wallpaper" in a restaurant.

Piped-in music was an odd contemporary pop mix: I would prefer a softer mix either of regional musicians or of those who have appeared in the theatre.

Otherwise, though, very good and I'll return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

enjoyed our visit. good food , great ser ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 7, 2016

enjoyed our visit. good food , great service , lovely surroundings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

It's great that you can reserve a table ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 3, 2016

It's great that you can reserve a table online, but you need a better reception service. Takes too long to get seated.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Three of our party had the seafood chowd ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Three of our party had the seafood chowder which was tasty but not outstanding.

Three of us had fish and chips which we all found to be very greasy. If you touched the fish oil oozed out of the coating on the fish. I think the oil must not have been hot enough when the fish was cooked because it just soaked up the oil. The fries were good, the pickle garnish and tarter sauce were good. Irish Coffee was also good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

The fish and chips were a little over do ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The fish and chips were a little over done and dry. I don't usually eat the tarter sauce but your was good. The service was a bit slow.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We chose the restaurant because of it's ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We chose the restaurant because of it's location as we were attending the Mama Mia Show.

Lovely location, lovely spot.....except for our table. Don't think we would reserve online again, as you just end up with a table I don't think anyone would want and you don't know that until your seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Quite disappointed actually. We went to ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Quite disappointed actually. We went to lunch before Mama Mia and ordered salad and soup. The waitress mentioned bringing bread but it never showed and then when we ordered a certain dessert from the menu it was not available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was good but the restaurant dec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was good but the restaurant decor is tired. The restaurant was empty yet they sat us in front of the waitress station and kitchen doors. I even asked for a quieter table but she just looked around and offered nothing away from the station. Someone came out to dry cutlery and kept throwing them in the gray cutlery holder. The clashing was very annoying and went on for ages then a waitress started noisily taking them out to wrap place settings. This should be done in the kitchen not the dining room. Plus the swinging doors are very noisy. Lastly, there was a loud private event in the bar. At some point the door was opened and children and adults spilled into the restaurant with drinks and sat at tables without ordering food. They were loud with kids running about and no regard for diners. The door to the bar remained open. All in all it was not a pleasant nor an enjoyable atmosphere. The silverware was the worst. I will not eat or recommend the restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.