About Maui Thai Bistro

2439 S Kihei Rd
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Brilliantly innovative Thai cooking on the world's favorite island! Chef Prakong brings her artisan's skills to Maui Thai Bistro, a contemporary (and kitsch-free) Thai restaurant in South Maui. Brilliant lunch fare includes exotic tomyum fried rice, kao mun gai (chicken rice w tangy sauce), kiawe-smoked ribeye fried rice, drunken rice noodles, a truly authentic padthai, and much much more. Dinner features Prakong's artisanal homemade curries with a modern island twist, including to-die-for dishes as macnut short ribs panang, seared ahi choochee, pineapple kua curry, and plenty more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Thai, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Kamaole Beach Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 874-5605

Website:
http://www.mauithaibistro.com/

Catering:
We will cater food for parties upwards of 20 in support Maui's wedding planners.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking in Rainbow Mall and adjacent area lots.

Executive Chef:
Prakong Tongsod

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Takeout

Maui Thai Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.0

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (19)
Spicy (14)
Casual (12)
See All
Creative Cuisine (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Healthy (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Family Style (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Business Meals (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Fun (3)
Organic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great Beer (2)
Romantic (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thanks TripAdvisor for pointing us here. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Thanks TripAdvisor for pointing us here. Great food and service. The ambiance was great as well. Definitely recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Maui Thai Bistro. Every time ju ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Love the Maui Thai Bistro. Every time just delicious. Best Thai place on the island.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The macadamia nut curry with short ribs ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The macadamia nut curry with short ribs was outstanding! Also the ginger margarita was just supreme! Another awesome find from trip advisor.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little hidden gem! Judging a book by it ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Little hidden gem! Judging a book by its cover I might have likely skipped over this place, but thanks to lots of other reviewers, I thought we should give this place a chance. So glad we did because the food was outstanding. Feel like you can't go wrong with any of the entrees. My husband and I shared the Chicken Satay and Curry. Will definitely return for a visit next time on the island.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great overall. The macadamia paneng wit ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great overall. The macadamia paneng with short ribs was fantastic. Also try the lychee lemonade. Best Thai food we've had in a long time.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This is an excellent Thai restaurant!! L ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This is an excellent Thai restaurant!! Locals & tourists are thrilled!! Try the Panang curry Maui Maui!! Superb!! And our favorite Shrimp Fried rice; I won't get anywhere else!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Healthy, , Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food and great service..

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great food and great service..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried chicken satay and crispy chicken a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Tried chicken satay and crispy chicken as happy hour apps. Peanut sauce was excellent. For entrees, had penang curry with short ribs which was very good (short ribs made it unique) and pad thai which was just ok. Service was very good, friendly and attentive. We were there late (8:30 reservations) and last two dining. Will return for curry but not pad thai.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great authentic Thai food. Great servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great authentic Thai food. Great service and good beer list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was recommended by a friend. He didn't d ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Was recommended by a friend. He didn't disappoint. Amazing Thai food on Maui. Will be back!!!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Returned for another meal at this well r ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Returned for another meal at this well run restaurant. Service, food and Japanese beer were as usual excellent.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been here several different time ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We have been here several different times, and it has been very satisfactory especially when looking for something lighter to eat.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Huge portions. Very authentic Thai food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Huge portions. Very authentic Thai food as verified by the two Thai people in our party. Honestly best Thai restaurant I've been to in Hawaii or on mainland.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great good and great price. Ambience app ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great good and great price. Ambience appropriate. Friendly services. Will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We were looking for a place to take a fr ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were looking for a place to take a friend who is vegan. We really enjoyed the Tom Yum soup and the yellow curry. The flavors were amazing!! Thank you for having vegan options! We will definitely come back to enjoy more of this amazing food. Thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our last night in Maui before ret ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 27, 2017

It was our last night in Maui before returning to the mainland. We had tried several nice restaurants in the S. Kihei area and found this one through a friend who lives here. Loved our food (and we had a few special food restrictions that could have made dining difficult or diminished the quality of the fare for others who were not so restricted. The chef accommodated the one person and ALL of the dishes were enjoyed by all of those in our group.

A very nice meal at a not exorbitant price!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Vegan, Organic, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Local Ingredients, , Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Found Maui Thai the last evening of our ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Found Maui Thai the last evening of our vacation--wish we had found it sooner! Quite a surprise given it's location in the back of a strip mall. We had 5:30 reservations, but we didn't really need them for eating that early. It can be a bit noisy, but for food and service of this quality its easy to ignore it. Our server was exceptional; her recommendations were spot-on. We'll be back and we'll recommend Maui Thai to all our friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

What a delightful surprise! Absolutely ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 24, 2017

What a delightful surprise! Absolutely delicious Thai food in a cool setting. Wait staff was excellent. We are looking forward to returning for another great meal. Highly recommend the Drunken crispy fish!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like this place. The Tom Kha was exce ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We like this place. The Tom Kha was excellent but you need reservations or you're gonna wait

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you. One of our favorites

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Thank you. One of our favorites

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Disabled Access, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate there about a week ago and had th ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We ate there about a week ago and had the best experience. Everyone loved their food, the level of spice was just right. Tonight, was a bit more spicy. Even though we all ordered the same thing. A little inconsistent, but still great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good Thai food service and value. Ambien ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good Thai food service and value.

Ambience is lacking since this is in a strip mall with views of the parking lot only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Fabulous food! I loved the Pad Thai, Gr ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fabulous food! I loved the Pad Thai, Green Curry and the Shrimp toast!

Very friendly and efficient service:) I only wish that I lived in Maui so I could go more often!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our food was delicious! This is one of ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our food was delicious! This is one of our favorite restraints in Kihei! We love bringing our friends to MauiThaiBistro. Our part size grew from 5 to 8 and the hostess had no problem accommodating us.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to eat out at if you want to ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great place to eat out at if you want to get away from the typical American style Food and want some spice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great service and tasty food! Would cert ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service and tasty food! Would certainly go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Thai food I've ever had!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Best Thai food I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was delicious! I ordered the drunke ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was delicious! I ordered the drunken fish (medium,wasn't as hot as I was told. So if you like a kick go up to spicy),and my daughter ordered the pad Thai. We both enjoyed our meals. It was 7pm on Christmas night and service was pretty quick. I could tell some people were complaining about not getting their food as fast as they wanted... bigger problems in the world folks!!! Our waitress was sweet and extremely helpful. Wish I got her name but she was the only elf in there ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Had received this a recommendation from ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Had received this a recommendation from several people including locals. The food was quite good overall. Service unfortunately was poor. In all fairness, it was Christmas and they may have been understaffed, but we had to ask for menus, call the waiter over 4 separate times for various issues, and it took almost 2 hours. My father in law ate here a few days prior around 2 pm and raved about it. So, multiple dishes were quite good and it may have been an off night, but because of service I was a bit disappointed honestly (this was the universal group feel after several nights of stellar service at other establishments).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Bit slow service but good food .

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Bit slow service but good food .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great find in Maui while we were on vaca ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great find in Maui while we were on vacation. Food is great, service is great, prices are very reasonable. Only complaint is the time it took to get the order, but it was well worth it. We came back to dinner two days later...just called ahead our order and we were eating in < 5 mins!!!!👍😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been there many many times and it' ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We've been there many many times and it's been consistently great. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Organic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and great service

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My favorite Thai place on the Island of ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 12, 2016

My favorite Thai place on the Island of Maui. We've been coming here for years now and for this visit, I had started a Whole30 way of eating (no dairy, sugar, legume, grains or alcohol for 30 days) so I was a bit nervous how and what to order. As it turns out, there were a lot of options for me to chose from and the restaurant is more than happy to accommodate any dietary restrictions. The Pumpkin coconut curry with grilled chicken was the best curry I've had anywhere. And their green papaya salad was great as always. Just couldn't eat any rice with my dinner which was a bummer but still everything tasted fantastic.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to have a nice Thai food while in Kiehi, Maui.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very good and the service w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food was very good and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I was really pleased with the food quali ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I was really pleased with the food quality at Maui Thai. Probably one of the best Thai food experiences I have had. Had the house curry with Shrimp that was simply delightful. Had a group of 7 others that also felt the same way. The service was decent but could be improved.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food is always great

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food is always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The server we had, I believe her name wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The server we had, I believe her name was Soopapah, was AMAZING. Made the meal an experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

the best Thai food on Maui and in fact s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 15, 2016

the best Thai food on Maui and in fact some of the best anywhere. Creative dishes made with freshest ingredients. Meals always superb!

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quick service, delicious food

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Quick service, delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.