Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Maui Thai Bistro

Brilliantly innovative Thai cooking on the world's favorite island! Chef Prakong brings her artisan's skills to Maui Thai Bistro, a contemporary (and kitsch-free) Thai restaurant in South Maui. Brilliant lunch fare includes exotic tomyum fried rice, kao mun gai (chicken rice w tangy sauce), kiawe-smoked ribeye fried rice, drunken rice noodles, a truly authentic padthai, and much much more. Dinner features Prakong's artisanal homemade curries with a modern island twist, including to-die-for dishes as macnut short ribs panang, seared ahi choochee, pineapple kua curry, and plenty more.

2439 S Kihei Rd
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Thai, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Kamaole Beach Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 874-5605

Website:
http://www.mauithaibistro.com/

Catering:
We will cater food for parties upwards of 20 in support Maui's wedding planners.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking in Rainbow Mall and adjacent area lots.

Executive Chef:
Prakong Tongsod

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Takeout

Maui Thai Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.0

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Spicy (15)
Casual (15)
See All
Kid-friendly (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Authentic (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Healthy (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Family Style (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Vegan (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This place was overpriced for what you get, and way, way under-flavored. Drunken fish was the only decent thing, but I've had better Thai food in my small mountain town in California.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great food and service. A bit noisy due to the decor's hard surfaces, but we got accustomed to it. A very enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Wonderful food. The appetizers are a great deal during happy hour. Definitely try the kalau pork spring rolls!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great Thai food - and they offer "Thai spicy" to boot. Great meal... best fried rice on the island (from the pickiest friend ever), the chicken laab was fabulous, the crispy fish was really good, and the parang macnut curry with shoe rib so very good. The stay was fabulous and the kalua pig spring rolls pretty darn good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 3, 2017

BEST THAI FOOD IN MAUI. IF YOU LIKE SPICY FOOD, THIS IS THE PLACE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The dinner was gluten friendly. Server was attentive. Food was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I'm a vegetarian and there are foods that I love and cannot eat because beef stocks are used. Is it possible to use veggie stock? I love the ChooChee red curry but cannot eat it because of the beef stock 😱🤷‍♀️😢

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was very good and service was quick and efficient. Cheerful atmosphere- liked pthe colorful lighting and napkins. The open ceiling made it noisy at busiest time; ceiling tiles could really help the sound level. Was difficult for conversation, especially with elderly customers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food is just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Tremendous food, original Thai taste, my absolute favorite restaurant in Kihei

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Friendly staff; excellent food with extremely fresh vegetables!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Super yummy food. Ganasee was our waitress she did a great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Amazing food, Great Flavours. On the spicy side, but so good. Definitely a great visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We had THE best short ribs Massaman curry dish and shrimp pad thai. Everything was delicious. Service was great. Decor simple but colorful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Maui Thai has a nice menu with a creative twist on traditional Thai food. It was great food for a reasonable price. The service was great too.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This restaurant is awesome. Food was incredible and the service was outstanding. Our server Dan was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and professional. Go here, you'll love it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Second time there in 10 days. Both visits were great. Wonderful curries with your choice of spiciness. Good service with modern surroundings. Would highly recommend. We

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Awesome! I'll be back!

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Outstanding food, one of the best meals we had in Maui.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent Thai food at reasonable prices.m in a casual and comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is our favorite Thai restaurant on Maui. The food is always fresh and delicious. Happy hour is a good bargain, with lower prices on appetizers and some drinks. Portions are large, so you can always share a dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

One of the best Thai restaurants on Maui. my favorite.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Nice food and service was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was Amazing! I loved the look of the place also. Fast service and so many options on the menu. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Vegan, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My family and friends ate at the Maui Bistro twice. Given that we had a condo to prepare our own food and 3 children under 4 years of age, our repeat business was a compliment to the service and food quality. The sticky rice was perfect at both meals and the waitresses were very friendly amidst the busy environment. The local gelato desserts added a touch of Maui charm to the meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We sat in the bar. Great happy hour appetizer and great service from the bartender. Definitely will go again!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Fantastic food .... Just the perfect meal after a long flight :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Maui Thai Bistro was a terrific find! Great food, service and modern atmosphere.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Our server Patty was excellent. Started at Happy Hour with Mai Thai's. Very good! My wife hasd the Drunken Noodle Seafod Stir Fry. She enjoyed it very much but was a bit too much on the hot side for me. I had a Seafood Pad Thai, medium heat which Patty said was about a 3 out of five. Just the right amount of heat for me. We both enjoyed the meal and would recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Local fresh food, authentic tastes, at a good price . The place is Bright and clean. Everyone working wears a smile . Great takeout service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 4, 2017

As always, excellent food and terrific wait/bar staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great Thai food served quickly and efficiently. Good value. The drunken fish was super and just right. Pumpkin curry very smooth and tasty. It's in a strip mall and no ocean views so we could have been in suburban California but neverthelesss we enjoyed the change of pace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Very varied menu with options to choose level of spicing. While I am net a great fan of Thai food this was excellent. Friendly , attentive service. We considered it a real find for good value, quality dining in Kihei.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Excellent Thai restaurant. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Oursecond visit there in 3 days! Food and drinks were excellent. Our waitress 3 days ago was better than the guy who waited on us tonight

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Got the drunken stir fry shrimp. Was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We just randomly happened upon this place on our trip to Maui. We are big Thai food lovers and expected very little, but WOW, were we blown away by our experience. So much so that we can back a second time! The macadamia nut panang curry (with short rib) and eggplant curry (with chicken) were spectacular. Pork laab cake appetizer was really wonderful too. Cocktails took it to another level. I had the Tom Yum martini, which was a mix of my fave flavors (lemongrass ginger chile and shochu) and the Kafir Collins were both creative and spectacularly crafted. Ambiance is nice but not fancy - which was fine by us. Would rather have great food and drinks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Clean and cute. Great , pleasant and helpful staff.
Nice happy hour deals.
Great selectionn of good Thai food.
Was a return visit and hope to go again!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Maui Thai Bistro is on our regular rotation places to dine while in Maui. The fare is authentic and exceptionally good... and affordable too! This is a good spot. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The staff were friendly however the food was a bit dissapointing. A bit bland and un imaginative. Not sure I'd go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.