About Maui Thai Bistro

2439 S Kihei Rd
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Brilliantly innovative Thai cooking on the world's favorite island! Chef Prakong brings her artisan's skills to Maui Thai Bistro, a contemporary (and kitsch-free) Thai restaurant in South Maui. Brilliant lunch fare includes exotic tomyum fried rice, kao mun gai (chicken rice w tangy sauce), kiawe-smoked ribeye fried rice, drunken rice noodles, a truly authentic padthai, and much much more. Dinner features Prakong's artisanal homemade curries with a modern island twist, including to-die-for dishes as macnut short ribs panang, seared ahi choochee, pineapple kua curry, and plenty more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Thai, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Kamaole Beach Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 874-5605

Website:
http://www.mauithaibistro.com/

Catering:
We will cater food for parties upwards of 20 in support Maui's wedding planners.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking in Rainbow Mall and adjacent area lots.

Executive Chef:
Prakong Tongsod

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout

Maui Thai Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Maui
Neighborhood Gem
Maui
Best Restaurants in Kihei ›

fit for foodies (13)
neighborhood gem (13)
good for groups (11)
See All
great for lunch (8)
kid-friendly (7)
special occasion (7)
hot spot (3)
romantic (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant is tucked in the back of ...

Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is tucked in the back of a strip shopping mall in Kihei, next door to the place that sells the cinnamon buns. It is actually in 2 rooms that join together--the dining room and then the bar area with more dining tables. Simply decorated, but nice. They have a good happy hour from 3-6. Mai tais are half off ($5 instead of $10) and they are delicious! They have a good bartender who knows what he is doing. Also a discount on wine and beer during happy hour. The appetizers are 2 for $14 during happy hour instead of $10 or so each. We had the turmeric potatoes (sort of like samosas), the fluted shrimp, and the chicken satay. Appetizer portions aren't that large, but everything is very fresh and beautifully presented. For entrees we had the pad thai with shrimp (comes with your voice of meat) and the eggplant with chicken. Both were delicious and very fresh. Portion size is larger with the entrees than with the appetizers. You must order rice separately--$3 for a larger bowl of rice that was more than enough for 2. Other reviewers have complained about the price of rice at this restaurant, but good quality jasmine rice is not cheap on Maui, so I didn't have a problem with the price. They only had one dessert--sticky rice with mango. It was so good! Our server said the chef reduced the coconut milk and sugar with the rice. The mango was in slices next to the scoop of coconut sticky rice--one of the best mangos I've ever had. Our server was very attentive and pleasant, and she gave us the kama aina discount without us asking--I didn't even realize they had a kama aina discount. We really enjoyed our meal at Maui Thai Bistro, and we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff very kind. food fabulous. no com ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Staff very kind. food fabulous. no complaints. I will come again soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The service is great... The food is wond ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

The service is great... The food is wonderful... I love the photo album they have to show anyone who is not familiar with Thai food... Definitely a plus!

food5
ambience5
service5

Maui Thai is my favorite restaurant! Sup ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Maui Thai is my favorite restaurant! Supan (I'm probably spelling her name wrong) is the best server, we love her!!!

food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Charge too much for rice

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food is good but the portion is small. This restaurant charged $3 for a bowl of rice which is excessive and very overprice. Rice is cheap and there is no skill for cooking rice except put it in the rice cooker. So, there is no reason to charge customers so much for a bowl of rice. I would not go back to the restaurant for that.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last dinner on Maui

Dined on May 24, 2016

We decided to try some Thai food for our last dinner on Maui, the place we were originally going to was closed on Monday's so we decided to give the Maui Thai Bistro a go. First let me say we were a party of 4 and I had never tried Thai food before, it took me a bit to find something on the menu that was a little adventurous but not completely out of my comfort zone... we started with mushroom spring rolls, calamari and shrimp toast, all 3 were delicious, for a main I ordered the Crispy Drunken Fish, and all I have to say is why did I wait so long to try Thai? There was a generous portion of panko breaded Mahi Mahi, over green beans in a drunken sauce that put just a little sweat on your lips, it was soooo good. My wifes pad Thai was also delicious...as a matter of fact there were no complaints at the table, my father picked up the check and said it was one of the more affordable meals we had on Maui. Also our waiter, I believe his name was Paco, was fantastic....so glad the other place was closed.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, good prices, good find

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

The food here was really good - great flavors, fresh and you can ratchet the spice profile on dishes up or down. My noodles came a little spicy (I asked for mild) and they replaced them immediately, no questions or balking. The medium spice curry I got was perfect, good heat, but not over the top. The restaurant is in a strip mall in the back, so it seems a little random, but it's got a lot of tables and it's clean, well-lit, and the service is quick and attentive. Prices are reasonable (for Maui) and I put this on my list of casual places to go back to in Kihei.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service. The short ri ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic food and service. The short rib Panang curry is awesome!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great hidden gem in Kihei! Food was amaz ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great hidden gem in Kihei! Food was amazing and served fast. On the other hand, AC was too high and our side of the restaurant seemed a little less comfortable than the otherside where it was more lounge-like (no crying kids). Would definitely go back! Sign up for their newsletter and get a great promo offer for your first visit!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on May 9, 2016

We love Maui Thai Bistro, great food, nice new bar! Our favorite Thai food on Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

pleasantly surprised

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

This is definitely a neighborhood gem. The food was outstanding, many selections and the happy hours options are not to be missed. It's nice to find a reasonably priced restaurant on the island that has great food. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the tom yum soup and drunken ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We enjoyed the tom yum soup and drunken noodles - both great! The yellow curry with halibut was outstanding!! Fresh and bright flavors - we'll be back for sure!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This place is awesome!

Dined on April 14, 2016

The food is FABULOUS. The setting is kind of ordinary, but you should definitely eat here now because they deserve a much better setting (although it's just fine as it is). Service is friendly and gracious and quick. The fish salad was super fresh tasting and my daughter's curry was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

food was good but portion size is small

Dined on March 31, 2016

food was good but boy, order up because portion is very small...and we are not big eaters!

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food. Excellent service. Del ...

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent service. Delicious drinks, too!

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good find!

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Surprised and happy to find great Thai food on Maui! It's definitely on our list for the next trip!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful Thai Food

Dined on March 2, 2016

Our family of 5 really enjoyed our dinner at Thai Bistro. It was our last night in Maui and we are all really picky when it comes to Thai food but let me just say, there was not a morsel left over - everything was spot on and exceeded our expectations. My two favorite dishes were the Pad Thai and the Panang Beef, both were so flavorful and just fantastic.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Yummy thai

Dined on February 23, 2016

Really delicious Thai food with just the right amount of heat. We had a hard time finding them in the back end of a strip shopping center but so glad we did!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best Thai restaurants that we ...

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

One of the best Thai restaurants that we have been to. Food was very fresh and delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maui Treat

Dined on February 15, 2016

Tasty delicious Thai food. Great service. Will be back soon.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Ok place. I haven't found a place in Mau ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Ok place. I haven't found a place in Maui that blows my socks yet and this is a pretty standard place for the island

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good authentic Thai food

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Locate and in the far back of a strip mall perpendicular to the road, this restaurant is a bit hard to find. The appetizers and main dished were excellent. The menu has many choices. There are even 7 different curries to select from. The Pad Thai was one of the best I've had. The service is attentive. We definitely will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite Thai restaurant on Maui, great food

Dined on January 24, 2016

Friendly service and consistent delicious dishes, can't miss this spot when you visit or live on Maui!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place!

Dined on January 21, 2016

Very kind wait staff. Excellent Food. Curry Short rib was out of this world!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

BEST THAI FOOD EVER!

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

Best Thai food I have ever had! We've been there 3 times: one lunch and 2 dinners. You'll not be disappointed. It is quite popular, so for a quieter experience go after 7.45pm for dinner and 1.30pm for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This place serves excellent Thai food. S ...

Dined on January 9, 2016

This place serves excellent Thai food. Service was also superb.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good find

Dined on January 8, 2016

In a place where most of the restaurants serve either American, Hawaiian, seafood it was great to find some thing with a bit of spice. Green curry was great .. massamum curry was little bland.

Tags: group bookings
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Kihei gem

Dined on January 6, 2016

We ate here two times during our recent visit to Maui. Both times food and service were great! Highly recommend the Penang red curry, tom yum story fry, and the sticky rice. Our waiter ( Paco according to our receipt) was great. Don't miss this little gem tucked away at the back of the Rainbow strip Mall- you will regret it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Excellent food, a great choice

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

Great Thai food and good service, location not ideal but every thing else well above average.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Great value

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

This place is busy but they handle the crowd well. Service was excellent. The satay, curry, and eggplant basil were very good and had a nice variety of flavors. The pad Thai was just ok. We ordered two plates of the papaya salad. The spicy version was too spicy for most of us, but the mild one was very good. Even better is that it didn't cost an arm and a leg like many of the places in Maui serving food that is half as good. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service every time! Our T ...

Dined on December 11, 2015

Great food and service every time! Our Thai waitress is always the best!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Recommended by a bartender...and we agree!

Dined on November 16, 2015

A chance recommendation by a hotel bartender about this great Thai restaurant led us to this small and somewhat hard-to-find tasty treat. I ordered a larb (shrimp salad) which was spicy, fresh, and tasty. My wife ordered the pad thai which she enjoyed immensely. Take a family or take a date...the food is great!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, great service, and reaso ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

Excellent food, great service, and reasonably priced for a resort town!

food4
ambience3
service4

Great selections , authentic and fresh

Dined on November 13, 2015

The choices are numerous and made with fresh local ingredients . Good service and reasonably priced . Mahalo for the happy hour prices offered before 6pm

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Panama curry was fantastic!

vip
Dined on November 10, 2015

Panama curry was fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food! Great service!

vip
Dined on October 31, 2015

The best Thai Restaurant on Maui! I like to get the fresh summer rolls. They add avocado to them which is a nice touch. Everything is good. I especially like the Thai Basil Eggplant and the Coconut lemongrass soup! Yummm!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Thai One On In Kihei

Dined on October 22, 2015

The other evening I had the pleasure of joining a couple of my friends, and have dinner at the Maui Thai Bistro. I read some great reviews so I was excited to try Maui Thai Bistro. I we were greeted with a warm welcome from the staff. Our waitress was knowledgeable about the different dishes on the menu. I go more for a mild flavor, so she recommended how I should order. I ordered the Kalua pork spring roll, for an appetizer and it was delicious. For my main course I ordered eggplant with chicken in a medley of stir fried vegetables, with steam rice on the side. My dinner was delicious. One of my friends ordered a shrimp stir fry, and enjoyed his meal. The other party ordered the cashew chicken and also enjoyed his meal. The only disappointment was when we ordered an order of the fried rice. It was good, however we feel that it was over priced. As far as the rest of the dinner the food and presentation was excellent. I do plan to visit Maui Thai Bistro in the near future.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing. Service was great.

Dined on September 6, 2015

Food was amazing. Service was great. A tad pricey, but the menu reflected local availability and tastes.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

Thai Restaurant New Style

Dined on August 28, 2015

I invited friends with whom I had dinner there a few years ago and didn't realize until we were there that the owner and layout of the Restaurant (now called Bistro, but still showing the "Maui Thai Restaurant" sign) had changed. We much preferred the previous setting and ambiance (there wasn't much of it to speak of that evening). It is basically a Bistro, read basic chairs and table, no table cloth that I can remember and pretty noisy without the old style decorations of the previous restaurant. No air conditioning. The menu was varied and food was excellent, but handling of wine was approximate (my glass was brought empty and the waitress just plopped the content of a flask in the glass at the table). Times change.

food4
ambience2
service4

Wonderful discovery

Dined on August 24, 2015

Best Thai tastes ever, wonderfully imaginative. Order curry anything, wherever it shows up on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.