Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Maui Thai Bistro

Brilliantly innovative Thai cooking on the world's favorite island! Chef Prakong brings her artisan's skills to Maui Thai Bistro, a contemporary (and kitsch-free) Thai restaurant in South Maui. Brilliant lunch fare includes exotic tomyum fried rice, kao mun gai (chicken rice w tangy sauce), kiawe-smoked ribeye fried rice, drunken rice noodles, a truly authentic padthai, and much much more. Dinner features Prakong's artisanal homemade curries with a modern island twist, including to-die-for dishes as macnut short ribs panang, seared ahi choochee, pineapple kua curry, and plenty more.

2439 S Kihei Rd
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Thai, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Kamaole Beach Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 874-5605

Website:
http://www.mauithaibistro.com/

Catering:
We will cater food for parties upwards of 20 in support Maui's wedding planners.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking in Rainbow Mall and adjacent area lots.

Executive Chef:
Prakong Tongsod

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Takeout

Maui Thai Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (23)
Spicy (21)
Casual (19)
See All
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Family Style (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Healthy (7)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Vegan (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
217 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Super yummy food. Ganasee was our waitress she did a great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined 6 days ago

We had THE best short ribs Massaman curry dish and shrimp pad thai. Everything was delicious. Service was great. Decor simple but colorful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This restaurant is awesome. Food was incredible and the service was outstanding. Our server Dan was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and professional. Go here, you'll love it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Second time there in 10 days. Both visits were great. Wonderful curries with your choice of spiciness. Good service with modern surroundings. Would highly recommend. We

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Awesome! I'll be back!

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Outstanding food, one of the best meals we had in Maui.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent Thai food at reasonable prices.m in a casual and comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This is our favorite Thai restaurant on Maui. The food is always fresh and delicious. Happy hour is a good bargain, with lower prices on appetizers and some drinks. Portions are large, so you can always share a dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

One of the best Thai restaurants on Maui. my favorite.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The food was Amazing! I loved the look of the place also. Fast service and so many options on the menu. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Vegan, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family and friends ate at the Maui Bistro twice. Given that we had a condo to prepare our own food and 3 children under 4 years of age, our repeat business was a compliment to the service and food quality. The sticky rice was perfect at both meals and the waitresses were very friendly amidst the busy environment. The local gelato desserts added a touch of Maui charm to the meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We sat in the bar. Great happy hour appetizer and great service from the bartender. Definitely will go again!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fantastic food .... Just the perfect meal after a long flight :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Maui Thai Bistro was a terrific find! Great food, service and modern atmosphere.

Tags: Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our server Patty was excellent. Started at Happy Hour with Mai Thai's. Very good! My wife hasd the Drunken Noodle Seafod Stir Fry. She enjoyed it very much but was a bit too much on the hot side for me. I had a Seafood Pad Thai, medium heat which Patty said was about a 3 out of five. Just the right amount of heat for me. We both enjoyed the meal and would recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Spicy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Local fresh food, authentic tastes, at a good price . The place is Bright and clean. Everyone working wears a smile . Great takeout service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 5, 2017

As always, excellent food and terrific wait/bar staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great Thai food served quickly and efficiently. Good value. The drunken fish was super and just right. Pumpkin curry very smooth and tasty. It's in a strip mall and no ocean views so we could have been in suburban California but neverthelesss we enjoyed the change of pace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Very varied menu with options to choose level of spicing. While I am net a great fan of Thai food this was excellent. Friendly , attentive service. We considered it a real find for good value, quality dining in Kihei.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Excellent Thai restaurant. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Oursecond visit there in 3 days! Food and drinks were excellent. Our waitress 3 days ago was better than the guy who waited on us tonight

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Got the drunken stir fry shrimp. Was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We just randomly happened upon this place on our trip to Maui. We are big Thai food lovers and expected very little, but WOW, were we blown away by our experience. So much so that we can back a second time! The macadamia nut panang curry (with short rib) and eggplant curry (with chicken) were spectacular. Pork laab cake appetizer was really wonderful too. Cocktails took it to another level. I had the Tom Yum martini, which was a mix of my fave flavors (lemongrass ginger chile and shochu) and the Kafir Collins were both creative and spectacularly crafted. Ambiance is nice but not fancy - which was fine by us. Would rather have great food and drinks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Clean and cute. Great , pleasant and helpful staff.
Nice happy hour deals.
Great selectionn of good Thai food.
Was a return visit and hope to go again!

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Comfort Food, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Maui Thai Bistro is on our regular rotation places to dine while in Maui. The fare is authentic and exceptionally good... and affordable too! This is a good spot. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The staff were friendly however the food was a bit dissapointing. A bit bland and un imaginative. Not sure I'd go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great foods at reasonable prices. Great presentation. Very sweet server who pronounced the special as ramb curry. We all had a good laugh.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Service was excellent, food was delicious!! Can't wait to go back and try other dishes.

Tags: Family Style, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Not sure what happened , if they have a new cook or new owner, but this was not the same great food we had the last we were here, service was good but the food was really bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food was very mediocre
Not the flavor one expects from a Thai restaurant
Only the Soup was tasty...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 22, 2017

From my perspective, the best Thai food on Maui. Good curries and Pad Thai

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Really enjoyed the food and the service. I will definitely go back. Happy hour is not only for drinkers but happy hour on the pups...what a deal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Was in Kihea for 4 nights... went to Maui Thai 3 times. Loved it!! If you sit at the bar Corey was great. If you like Thai food this is a must do!!!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Thanks TripAdvisor for pointing us here. Great food and service. The ambiance was great as well. Definitely recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love the Maui Thai Bistro. Every time just delicious. Best Thai place on the island.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The macadamia nut curry with short ribs was outstanding! Also the ginger margarita was just supreme! Another awesome find from trip advisor.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Little hidden gem! Judging a book by its cover I might have likely skipped over this place, but thanks to lots of other reviewers, I thought we should give this place a chance. So glad we did because the food was outstanding. Feel like you can't go wrong with any of the entrees. My husband and I shared the Chicken Satay and Curry. Will definitely return for a visit next time on the island.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great overall. The macadamia paneng with short ribs was fantastic. Also try the lychee lemonade. Best Thai food we've had in a long time.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This is an excellent Thai restaurant!! Locals & tourists are thrilled!! Try the Panang curry Maui Maui!! Superb!! And our favorite Shrimp Fried rice; I won't get anywhere else!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great food and great service..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.