About Maui Thai Bistro

Brilliantly innovative Thai cooking on the world's favorite island! Chef Prakong brings her artisan's skills to Maui Thai Bistro, a contemporary (and kitsch-free) Thai restaurant in South Maui. Brilliant lunch fare includes exotic tomyum fried rice, kao mun gai (chicken rice w tangy sauce), kiawe-smoked ribeye fried rice, drunken rice noodles, a truly authentic padthai, and much much more. Dinner features Prakong's artisanal homemade curries with a modern island twist, including to-die-for dishes as macnut short ribs panang, seared ahi choochee, pineapple kua curry, and plenty more.

2439 S Kihei Rd
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Thai, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Kamaole Beach Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 874-5605

Website:
http://www.mauithaibistro.com/

Catering:
We will cater food for parties upwards of 20 in support Maui's wedding planners.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking in Rainbow Mall and adjacent area lots.

Executive Chef:
Prakong Tongsod

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Takeout

Maui Thai Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (10)
Spicy (8)
Good for Groups (7)
See All
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Authentic (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Organic (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined a day ago

Great service and restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is SO good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Great food. Green papaya salad was excellent. The macadamia nut curry with short rip mouth watering

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value1

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Food was excellent! Seems a little much to charge an extra 4$ for a cup of white rice - I have never been to a Thai resteraunt that had such a surcharge for a standard component.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 1, 2017

I've lived in Maui for 15 years, have eaten at many restaurants spanning the spectrum of price and cuisines and, in my opinion this is the best all-around restaurant on the island. Why? Combination of the most delicious Thai food I've ever had, including that which I've had in Thailand AND price. So many Maui restaurants are overpriced for what the food is and, I "get that" given the additional cost of running a business here. But, when I go out to eat I want 1) food that I don't and probably couldn't cook at home, 2) value for dollars spent, 3) friendly, efficient but not overbearing service, 4) creative and well made cocktails. Maui Thai Bistro fits perfectly. The menu has been expanded and has evolved since the restaurant first opened all to food lovers' benefit. There's no view. Who needs a view when the food is this good? The ambiance focuses you on the food and is casually comfortable. The staff and service is friendly and efficient and they don't pester you as so many servers in "high end" restaurants are trained to do. The spicing, flavors and textures are delicate, intriguing and, scrumptious. They easily accommodate to your desired level of "heat" in the spicing. I'm so grateful to have such a great restaurant close by here in South Maui. Sorry, no pictures...I was too busy savoring the food to take pictures.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2017

We had dinner here & happened to show up during happy hour. We took advantage of the two pupus for a reduced price. I’m thankful we didn’t pay full price for the summer roll, as they cut it up into bite sized pieces, which basically was one full roll.
We also shared the panang curry, which was very flavourful, however lacking in vegetables. There were peppers & brocolli pieces & potatoes, but not the quantity I’m used to. I sugggest less potatoes.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

The service was wonderful! Everything came out quick and lots of variety to choose from!
Yummy food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Went for first time great food good flavors will go back again took the servers recommend dishes they were good

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

We had to wait a very long time to get our food with no good reason for this. We were disappointed with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 23, 2017

I always enjoy coming here. Excellent Thai food and not as pricey as most others. Server was very friendly

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The service was nothing short of excellent. I would recommend them just for service alone. The ambience is nice, the place wasn't too loud for us. The tables were a little small because we ordered a lot of food. The drinks were ok, better than we expected considering the location but not a lot of variety and their well alcohols were horrible. Automatic upgrade to top shelf for us. Bummer that some of the items we asked about were not being served as they had run out of the ingredients. A major bummer was the dessert menu. 90% of the selection was Italian gelato..... and the only thing that looked good they weren't serving, again because of lack of ingredients. Food was better then average for Maui. I hope they make it, I would go back again just to try the items they didn't have the first time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food that we ordered was tasty, but there were some issues with our dining experience. We arrived fairly early, and the restaurant was already sold out of spring rolls, which we thought was rather strange. The waitress was difficult to understand, and when we asked questions, she kept pointing to the menu items on the computer tablet that she used to take our order. However, the font size on the menu items on her computer was difficult for us to read, but eventually we were able to place our order. On the plus side, the restaurant does give diners the option of ordering the spice level for the food; diners can choose mild, medium, or hot.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We were staying in Maui as part of our anniversary. The people that took care of the condo we were staying at recommended this restaurant and we are so thrilled that we tried it! We made a reservation at 5 that wasn’t completely necessary because it doesn’t get too busy until almost 7 PM. We were promptly seated and greeted by various employees. Our waitress was the best and had a lot of great recommendations for food and was extremely pleasant. The food was phenomenal. If you are ever on the fence for whether or not to get Thai food, if you are considering this place you MUST. We went at happy hour, which they have 2 different times for it and as expensive as everything seemed to be in Hawaii, this meal could easily have been $100 for just my husband and I. We were so pleased with the food and the service and the price that we were beyond happy to tip really well.

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 9, 2017

All food was excellent. We had a variety of curries and fish. All were excellent. For those of us who don't usually have spicy food, the mild versions were at the top end of our taste. We had the spring rolls and summer rolls for pupus, both were excellent. Service was very personable and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We went there not knowing what the restaurant would be like and were pleasantly surprised. The food could be as spicy as wanted or not spicy at all. Everything we had was flavored very well using a "1" in the spice selection. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. She even had a tablet with pictures of the various dishes just to confirm that is what we wanted to order.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 29, 2017

You can pick your protien and your curry, as well as the amount of spice (heat) you want. They also will make suggestions for best combinations. They also have 3 kinds of rice that you can pick from to add to your dish. This restaurant may not appear from the outside to be much, but when you are inside it is noticably clean and comfortable to dine in. The staff is also very excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Our server was great sorry I can't remember his name. A manager came by to ask how everything was I told her this is always the best Thai food on Maui. I eat there once sometimes twice a week whether I go in or take out. love it

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Decent food ; not alot of vegetarian options as advertised but still decent ; waiter was alittle slow
but very friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised - service was excellent- all menu questions were compentently answered (including spice levels), the portions of the main (pumpkin curry (for me) and drunken noodles) were generous, and it was delicious. If you're craving Thai go here. Yum

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Awesome food, prices, great appetizers on happy hour menu, extensive cocktail list, modern atmosphere. Highly recommend!

Tags: Spicy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Great small place with excellent Thai food. Great service and plenty to share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 26, 2017

This place is a real gem hidden in the back of a strip mall in Kihei town. Its location does not bespeak its quality which is quite good. Terrific tapas, 2 happy hours, delightful entrees and attentive & caring service make this place a must on your Maui dining list.

Tags: Tapas, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This place was overpriced for what you get, and way, way under-flavored. Drunken fish was the only decent thing, but I've had better Thai food in my small mountain town in California.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great food and service. A bit noisy due to the decor's hard surfaces, but we got accustomed to it. A very enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Wonderful food. The appetizers are a great deal during happy hour. Definitely try the kalau pork spring rolls!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great Thai food - and they offer "Thai spicy" to boot. Great meal... best fried rice on the island (from the pickiest friend ever), the chicken laab was fabulous, the crispy fish was really good, and the parang macnut curry with shoe rib so very good. The stay was fabulous and the kalua pig spring rolls pretty darn good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2017

BEST THAI FOOD IN MAUI. IF YOU LIKE SPICY FOOD, THIS IS THE PLACE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The dinner was gluten friendly. Server was attentive. Food was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I'm a vegetarian and there are foods that I love and cannot eat because beef stocks are used. Is it possible to use veggie stock? I love the ChooChee red curry but cannot eat it because of the beef stock 😱🤷‍♀️😢

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was very good and service was quick and efficient. Cheerful atmosphere- liked pthe colorful lighting and napkins. The open ceiling made it noisy at busiest time; ceiling tiles could really help the sound level. Was difficult for conversation, especially with elderly customers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food is just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Tremendous food, original Thai taste, my absolute favorite restaurant in Kihei

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Friendly staff; excellent food with extremely fresh vegetables!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Super yummy food. Ganasee was our waitress she did a great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Amazing food, Great Flavours. On the spicy side, but so good. Definitely a great visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We had THE best short ribs Massaman curry dish and shrimp pad thai. Everything was delicious. Service was great. Decor simple but colorful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Maui Thai has a nice menu with a creative twist on traditional Thai food. It was great food for a reasonable price. The service was great too.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This restaurant is awesome. Food was incredible and the service was outstanding. Our server Dan was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and professional. Go here, you'll love it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Second time there in 10 days. Both visits were great. Wonderful curries with your choice of spiciness. Good service with modern surroundings. Would highly recommend. We

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Awesome! I'll be back!

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.