About Maui Thai Bistro

2439 S Kihei Rd
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Brilliantly innovative Thai cooking on the world's favorite island! Chef Prakong brings her artisan's skills to Maui Thai Bistro, a contemporary (and kitsch-free) Thai restaurant in South Maui. Brilliant lunch fare includes exotic tomyum fried rice, kao mun gai (chicken rice w tangy sauce), kiawe-smoked ribeye fried rice, drunken rice noodles, a truly authentic padthai, and much much more. Dinner features Prakong's artisanal homemade curries with a modern island twist, including to-die-for dishes as macnut short ribs panang, seared ahi choochee, pineapple kua curry, and plenty more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Thai, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Kamaole Beach Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 874-5605

Website:
http://www.mauithaibistro.com/

Catering:
We will cater food for parties upwards of 20 in support Maui's wedding planners.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking in Rainbow Mall and adjacent area lots.

Executive Chef:
Prakong Tongsod

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Takeout

Maui Thai Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.0

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Hawaii
Best Food
Maui
Best Value
Maui
Best Restaurants in Kihei ›

Spicy (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
See All
Casual (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Authentic (5)
Healthy (5)
Family Style (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Business Meals (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Cozy (1)
Romantic (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was really pleased with the food quali ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

I was really pleased with the food quality at Maui Thai. Probably one of the best Thai food experiences I have had. Had the house curry with Shrimp that was simply delightful. Had a group of 7 others that also felt the same way. The service was decent but could be improved.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food is always great

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food is always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The server we had, I believe her name wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The server we had, I believe her name was Soopapah, was AMAZING. Made the meal an experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

the best Thai food on Maui and in fact s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 15, 2016

the best Thai food on Maui and in fact some of the best anywhere. Creative dishes made with freshest ingredients. Meals always superb!

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quick service, delicious food

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Quick service, delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great and the service was on po ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food was great and the service was on point. The drinks was also the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife had the Guaytiao Pad See-Ew with ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

My wife had the Guaytiao Pad See-Ew with tofu...amazingly good. I had the choo chee curry with shrimp....good but not as good as the wife's. Really good Thai food. Highly recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

While the young lady serving our meals w ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 26, 2016

While the young lady serving our meals was lacking in hospitality, the food was excellent. Our waitperson did a great job, however.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food and service were excellent. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The food and service were excellent. This was my 1st time there while visiting Maui. We will be back again on our next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good authentic Thai food. Would def ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Very good authentic Thai food. Would definitely go again! Our server was great!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Honestly we were looking for a true Thai ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Honestly we were looking for a true Thai restaurant which we don't believe this to be as the menu lacked the selection of Thai food that most good Thai restaurants offer. Instead they kind of offer a more upscale food with fewer selections and we prefer the more traditional Thai restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love the decor but the food was off. Sal ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Love the decor but the food was off. Salmon was hard. Don't order well done. Pad tai noodles were a little greasy and so were the spring rolls. Seemed not as fresh and healthy as I've had before.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Always great food! Service is always ex ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Always great food! Service is always excellent. Great place for afternoon happy hour and good food.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Thai food. Panang curry with short ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great Thai food. Panang curry with short ribs was phenomenal. Tried the tom yum and Tom kah martinis-considering giving up water to drink these for the rest of my life

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I had some of my best food here while di ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2016

I had some of my best food here while dining in Maui. The service was incredible, the atmosphere very friendly and reasonably priced. It doesn't look like much from the outside but the food is authentic and tasty. Great meal!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Absolutely authentic Thai food, one of o ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Absolutely authentic Thai food, one of our best meals in Kihei, went a second time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had such a great meal here - a highli ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had such a great meal here - a highlight of our trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Couple of hiccups, but food very good. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Couple of hiccups, but food very good. Ordered three appetizers, two of which we were informed, few minutes later, that they were out of. Was a little annoyed, but manager did come by and offer to pay for our opting for another choice. Nice gesture, though would have preferred original menu options.

Food came out quickly. We all had some type of noodle dish, which were all very good. Very good value, especially compared to other dining options on the island.

Decor not anything special. Gave kind of a more local feeling.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Entrees were tasty, but service was lack ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Entrees were tasty, but service was lackluster. Took 20 minutes from the time we sat down until our order was taken. Then we learned that they were out of their famous appetizer (at 7 on a Monday). Also if you want rice, you have to order that separately. Then it took nearly 30 minutes to get our entree. And they weren't even busy - lots of open tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

We are visiting from out of town, but th ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 9, 2016

We are visiting from out of town, but this restaurant came highly recommended by some friends. We were not disappointed! Everything we put in our mouths was fantastic! We will be back on our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

First rate Thai restaurant. Something of ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2016

First rate Thai restaurant. Something of a hidden gem. Food, service, ambiance all first rate. A really great find.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was just OK. Good prices by Maui sta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2016

It was just OK. Good prices by Maui standards. There was nothing wrong with the food but nothing was really tasty. Just your average Thai place...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Restaurant was a bit too bright, but foo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Restaurant was a bit too bright, but food was very good and presented well. Service was very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

One of better and modern Thai restaurant ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 12, 2016

One of better and modern Thai restaurants in Maui. Their happy hour 4-6 is very nice. 2 for $14 appetizers and $5 mai tais, $1 off beer and wine. Love their green papaya salad and summer rolls for our happy hour appetizers. Delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

They have great food, a wonderful happy ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 28, 2016

They have great food, a wonderful happy hour with great specials. Good service and very clean. Always like to go when I'm in the area. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just keeps getting better and batter! G ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Just keeps getting better and batter! Great cocktails at a reasonable price. Loved the cucumber appetizers, green papaya salad and pumpkin curry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing and the food was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was amazing and the food was delicious we will definitely go again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is tucked in the back of ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 22, 2016

This restaurant is tucked in the back of a strip shopping mall in Kihei, next door to the place that sells the cinnamon buns. It is actually in 2 rooms that join together--the dining room and then the bar area with more dining tables. Simply decorated, but nice. They have a good happy hour from 3-6. Mai tais are half off ($5 instead of $10) and they are delicious! They have a good bartender who knows what he is doing. Also a discount on wine and beer during happy hour. The appetizers are 2 for $14 during happy hour instead of $10 or so each. We had the turmeric potatoes (sort of like samosas), the fluted shrimp, and the chicken satay. Appetizer portions aren't that large, but everything is very fresh and beautifully presented. For entrees we had the pad thai with shrimp (comes with your voice of meat) and the eggplant with chicken. Both were delicious and very fresh. Portion size is larger with the entrees than with the appetizers. You must order rice separately--$3 for a larger bowl of rice that was more than enough for 2. Other reviewers have complained about the price of rice at this restaurant, but good quality jasmine rice is not cheap on Maui, so I didn't have a problem with the price. They only had one dessert--sticky rice with mango. It was so good! Our server said the chef reduced the coconut milk and sugar with the rice. The mango was in slices next to the scoop of coconut sticky rice--one of the best mangos I've ever had. Our server was very attentive and pleasant, and she gave us the kama aina discount without us asking--I didn't even realize they had a kama aina discount. We really enjoyed our meal at Maui Thai Bistro, and we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff very kind. food fabulous. no com ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Staff very kind. food fabulous. no complaints. I will come again soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service is great... The food is wond ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 9, 2016

The service is great... The food is wonderful... I love the photo album they have to show anyone who is not familiar with Thai food... Definitely a plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Maui Thai is my favorite restaurant! Sup ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Maui Thai is my favorite restaurant! Supan (I'm probably spelling her name wrong) is the best server, we love her!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charge too much for rice

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food is good but the portion is small. This restaurant charged $3 for a bowl of rice which is excessive and very overprice. Rice is cheap and there is no skill for cooking rice except put it in the rice cooker. So, there is no reason to charge customers so much for a bowl of rice. I would not go back to the restaurant for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Last dinner on Maui

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 24, 2016

We decided to try some Thai food for our last dinner on Maui, the place we were originally going to was closed on Monday's so we decided to give the Maui Thai Bistro a go. First let me say we were a party of 4 and I had never tried Thai food before, it took me a bit to find something on the menu that was a little adventurous but not completely out of my comfort zone... we started with mushroom spring rolls, calamari and shrimp toast, all 3 were delicious, for a main I ordered the Crispy Drunken Fish, and all I have to say is why did I wait so long to try Thai? There was a generous portion of panko breaded Mahi Mahi, over green beans in a drunken sauce that put just a little sweat on your lips, it was soooo good. My wifes pad Thai was also delicious...as a matter of fact there were no complaints at the table, my father picked up the check and said it was one of the more affordable meals we had on Maui. Also our waiter, I believe his name was Paco, was fantastic....so glad the other place was closed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good prices, good find

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food here was really good - great flavors, fresh and you can ratchet the spice profile on dishes up or down.

My noodles came a little spicy (I asked for mild) and they replaced them immediately, no questions or balking. The medium spice curry I got was perfect, good heat, but not over the top.

The restaurant is in a strip mall in the back, so it seems a little random, but it's got a lot of tables and it's clean, well-lit, and the service is quick and attentive.

Prices are reasonable (for Maui) and I put this on my list of casual places to go back to in Kihei.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic food and service. The short ri ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic food and service. The short rib Panang curry is awesome!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great hidden gem in Kihei! Food was amaz ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great hidden gem in Kihei! Food was amazing and served fast. On the other hand, AC was too high and our side of the restaurant seemed a little less comfortable than the otherside where it was more lounge-like (no crying kids). Would definitely go back! Sign up for their newsletter and get a great promo offer for your first visit!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Food

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 9, 2016

We love Maui Thai Bistro, great food, nice new bar! Our favorite Thai food on Maui.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

pleasantly surprised

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is definitely a neighborhood gem. The food was outstanding, many selections and the happy hours options are not to be missed. It's nice to find a reasonably priced restaurant on the island that has great food. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the tom yum soup and drunken ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2016

We enjoyed the tom yum soup and drunken noodles - both great! The yellow curry with halibut was outstanding!! Fresh and bright flavors - we'll be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is awesome!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2016

The food is FABULOUS. The setting is kind of ordinary, but you should definitely eat here now because they deserve a much better setting (although it's just fine as it is). Service is friendly and gracious and quick. The fish salad was super fresh tasting and my daughter's curry was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.