About Maui Thai Bistro

2439 S Kihei Rd
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Brilliantly innovative Thai cooking on the world's favorite island! Chef Prakong brings her artisan's skills to Maui Thai Bistro, a contemporary (and kitsch-free) Thai restaurant in South Maui. Brilliant lunch fare includes exotic tomyum fried rice, kao mun gai (chicken rice w tangy sauce), kiawe-smoked ribeye fried rice, drunken rice noodles, a truly authentic padthai, and much much more. Dinner features Prakong's artisanal homemade curries with a modern island twist, including to-die-for dishes as macnut short ribs panang, seared ahi choochee, pineapple kua curry, and plenty more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Thai, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Kamaole Beach Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 874-5605

Website:
http://www.mauithaibistro.com/

Catering:
We will cater food for parties upwards of 20 in support Maui's wedding planners.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking in Rainbow Mall and adjacent area lots.

Executive Chef:
Prakong Tongsod

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout

Maui Thai Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Maui
Neighborhood Gem
Maui
Best Restaurants in Kihei ›

neighborhood gem (17)
fit for foodies (14)
good for groups (10)
See All
great for lunch (9)
special occasion (7)
kid-friendly (5)
hot spot (2)
romantic (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
125 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of better and modern Thai restaurant ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

One of better and modern Thai restaurants in Maui. Their happy hour 4-6 is very nice. 2 for $14 appetizers and $5 mai tais, $1 off beer and wine. Love their green papaya salad and summer rolls for our happy hour appetizers. Delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

They have great food, a wonderful happy ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

They have great food, a wonderful happy hour with great specials. Good service and very clean. Always like to go when I'm in the area. Definitely recommend.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just keeps getting better and batter! G ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Just keeps getting better and batter! Great cocktails at a reasonable price. Loved the cucumber appetizers, green papaya salad and pumpkin curry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing and the food was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was amazing and the food was delicious we will definitely go again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is tucked in the back of ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This restaurant is tucked in the back of a strip shopping mall in Kihei, next door to the place that sells the cinnamon buns. It is actually in 2 rooms that join together--the dining room and then the bar area with more dining tables. Simply decorated, but nice. They have a good happy hour from 3-6. Mai tais are half off ($5 instead of $10) and they are delicious! They have a good bartender who knows what he is doing. Also a discount on wine and beer during happy hour. The appetizers are 2 for $14 during happy hour instead of $10 or so each. We had the turmeric potatoes (sort of like samosas), the fluted shrimp, and the chicken satay. Appetizer portions aren't that large, but everything is very fresh and beautifully presented. For entrees we had the pad thai with shrimp (comes with your voice of meat) and the eggplant with chicken. Both were delicious and very fresh. Portion size is larger with the entrees than with the appetizers. You must order rice separately--$3 for a larger bowl of rice that was more than enough for 2. Other reviewers have complained about the price of rice at this restaurant, but good quality jasmine rice is not cheap on Maui, so I didn't have a problem with the price. They only had one dessert--sticky rice with mango. It was so good! Our server said the chef reduced the coconut milk and sugar with the rice. The mango was in slices next to the scoop of coconut sticky rice--one of the best mangos I've ever had. Our server was very attentive and pleasant, and she gave us the kama aina discount without us asking--I didn't even realize they had a kama aina discount. We really enjoyed our meal at Maui Thai Bistro, and we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff very kind. food fabulous. no com ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Staff very kind. food fabulous. no complaints. I will come again soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service is great... The food is wond ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The service is great... The food is wonderful... I love the photo album they have to show anyone who is not familiar with Thai food... Definitely a plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Maui Thai is my favorite restaurant! Sup ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Maui Thai is my favorite restaurant! Supan (I'm probably spelling her name wrong) is the best server, we love her!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charge too much for rice

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food is good but the portion is small. This restaurant charged $3 for a bowl of rice which is excessive and very overprice. Rice is cheap and there is no skill for cooking rice except put it in the rice cooker. So, there is no reason to charge customers so much for a bowl of rice. I would not go back to the restaurant for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Last dinner on Maui

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We decided to try some Thai food for our last dinner on Maui, the place we were originally going to was closed on Monday's so we decided to give the Maui Thai Bistro a go. First let me say we were a party of 4 and I had never tried Thai food before, it took me a bit to find something on the menu that was a little adventurous but not completely out of my comfort zone... we started with mushroom spring rolls, calamari and shrimp toast, all 3 were delicious, for a main I ordered the Crispy Drunken Fish, and all I have to say is why did I wait so long to try Thai? There was a generous portion of panko breaded Mahi Mahi, over green beans in a drunken sauce that put just a little sweat on your lips, it was soooo good. My wifes pad Thai was also delicious...as a matter of fact there were no complaints at the table, my father picked up the check and said it was one of the more affordable meals we had on Maui. Also our waiter, I believe his name was Paco, was fantastic....so glad the other place was closed.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good prices, good find

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food here was really good - great flavors, fresh and you can ratchet the spice profile on dishes up or down.

My noodles came a little spicy (I asked for mild) and they replaced them immediately, no questions or balking. The medium spice curry I got was perfect, good heat, but not over the top.

The restaurant is in a strip mall in the back, so it seems a little random, but it's got a lot of tables and it's clean, well-lit, and the service is quick and attentive.

Prices are reasonable (for Maui) and I put this on my list of casual places to go back to in Kihei.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic food and service. The short ri ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic food and service. The short rib Panang curry is awesome!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great hidden gem in Kihei! Food was amaz ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great hidden gem in Kihei! Food was amazing and served fast. On the other hand, AC was too high and our side of the restaurant seemed a little less comfortable than the otherside where it was more lounge-like (no crying kids). Would definitely go back! Sign up for their newsletter and get a great promo offer for your first visit!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Food

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We love Maui Thai Bistro, great food, nice new bar! Our favorite Thai food on Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

pleasantly surprised

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is definitely a neighborhood gem. The food was outstanding, many selections and the happy hours options are not to be missed. It's nice to find a reasonably priced restaurant on the island that has great food. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the tom yum soup and drunken ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We enjoyed the tom yum soup and drunken noodles - both great! The yellow curry with halibut was outstanding!! Fresh and bright flavors - we'll be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is awesome!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

The food is FABULOUS. The setting is kind of ordinary, but you should definitely eat here now because they deserve a much better setting (although it's just fine as it is). Service is friendly and gracious and quick. The fish salad was super fresh tasting and my daughter's curry was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

food was good but portion size is small

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

food was good but boy, order up because portion is very small...and we are not big eaters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent food. Excellent service. Del ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Excellent food.

Excellent service.

Delicious drinks, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good find!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Surprised and happy to find great Thai food on Maui! It's definitely on our list for the next trip!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful Thai Food

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Our family of 5 really enjoyed our dinner at Thai Bistro. It was our last night in Maui and we are all really picky when it comes to Thai food but let me just say, there was not a morsel left over - everything was spot on and exceeded our expectations. My two favorite dishes were the Pad Thai and the Panang Beef, both were so flavorful and just fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Yummy thai

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Really delicious Thai food with just the right amount of heat. We had a hard time finding them in the back end of a strip shopping center but so glad we did!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

One of the best Thai restaurants that we ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

One of the best Thai restaurants that we have been to. Food was very fresh and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Maui Treat

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Tasty delicious Thai food. Great service. Will be back soon.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ok place. I haven't found a place in Mau ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Ok place. I haven't found a place in Maui that blows my socks yet and this is a pretty standard place for the island

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good authentic Thai food

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Locate and in the far back of a strip mall perpendicular to the road, this restaurant is a bit hard to find. The appetizers and main dished were excellent. The menu has many choices. There are even 7 different curries to select from. The Pad Thai was one of the best I've had. The service is attentive. We definitely will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our favorite Thai restaurant on Maui, great food

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Friendly service and consistent delicious dishes, can't miss this spot when you visit or live on Maui!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Very kind wait staff. Excellent Food. Curry Short rib was out of this world!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST THAI FOOD EVER!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Best Thai food I have ever had! We've been there 3 times: one lunch and 2 dinners.

You'll not be disappointed. It is quite popular, so for a quieter experience go after 7.45pm for dinner and 1.30pm for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This place serves excellent Thai food. S ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

This place serves excellent Thai food. Service was also superb.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good find

 
 (London)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

In a place where most of the restaurants serve either American, Hawaiian, seafood it was great to find some thing with a bit of spice.

Green curry was great .. massamum curry was little bland.

Tags: group bookings
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Kihei gem

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

We ate here two times during our recent visit to Maui. Both times food and service were great! Highly recommend the Penang red curry, tom yum story fry, and the sticky rice. Our waiter ( Paco according to our receipt) was great. Don't miss this little gem tucked away at the back of the Rainbow strip Mall- you will regret it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, a great choice

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Great Thai food and good service, location not ideal but every thing else well above average.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great value

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

This place is busy but they handle the crowd well. Service was excellent. The satay, curry, and eggplant basil were very good and had a nice variety of flavors. The pad Thai was just ok. We ordered two plates of the papaya salad. The spicy version was too spicy for most of us, but the mild one was very good. Even better is that it didn't cost an arm and a leg like many of the places in Maui serving food that is half as good. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great food and service every time! Our T ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Great food and service every time! Our Thai waitress is always the best!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Recommended by a bartender...and we agree!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 16, 2015

A chance recommendation by a hotel bartender about this great Thai restaurant led us to this small and somewhat hard-to-find tasty treat. I ordered a larb (shrimp salad) which was spicy, fresh, and tasty. My wife ordered the pad thai which she enjoyed immensely. Take a family or take a date...the food is great!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, great service, and reaso ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Excellent food, great service, and reasonably priced for a resort town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great selections , authentic and fresh

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

The choices are numerous and made with fresh local ingredients . Good service and reasonably priced . Mahalo for the happy hour prices offered before 6pm

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Panama curry was fantastic!

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on November 10, 2015

Panama curry was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food! Great service!

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

The best Thai Restaurant on Maui! I like to get the fresh summer rolls. They add avocado to them which is a nice touch. Everything is good. I especially like the Thai Basil Eggplant and the Coconut lemongrass soup! Yummm!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.