About Maui Thai Bistro

2439 S Kihei Rd
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Brilliantly innovative Thai cooking on the world's favorite island! Chef Prakong brings her artisan's skills to Maui Thai Bistro, a contemporary (and kitsch-free) Thai restaurant in South Maui. Brilliant lunch fare includes exotic tomyum fried rice, kao mun gai (chicken rice w tangy sauce), kiawe-smoked ribeye fried rice, drunken rice noodles, a truly authentic padthai, and much much more. Dinner features Prakong's artisanal homemade curries with a modern island twist, including to-die-for dishes as macnut short ribs panang, seared ahi choochee, pineapple kua curry, and plenty more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Thai, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Kamaole Beach Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 874-5605

Website:
http://www.mauithaibistro.com/

Catering:
We will cater food for parties upwards of 20 in support Maui's wedding planners.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking in Rainbow Mall and adjacent area lots.

Executive Chef:
Prakong Tongsod

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Takeout

Maui Thai Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (10)
Authentic (9)
Spicy (9)
See All
Casual (8)
Healthy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Family Style (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Romantic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
165 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thank you. One of our favorites

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Thank you. One of our favorites

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Disabled Access, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate there about a week ago and had th ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

We ate there about a week ago and had the best experience. Everyone loved their food, the level of spice was just right. Tonight, was a bit more spicy. Even though we all ordered the same thing. A little inconsistent, but still great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good Thai food service and value. Ambien ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good Thai food service and value.

Ambience is lacking since this is in a strip mall with views of the parking lot only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Fabulous food! I loved the Pad Thai, Gr ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fabulous food! I loved the Pad Thai, Green Curry and the Shrimp toast!

Very friendly and efficient service:) I only wish that I lived in Maui so I could go more often!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our food was delicious! This is one of ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our food was delicious! This is one of our favorite restraints in Kihei! We love bringing our friends to MauiThaiBistro. Our part size grew from 5 to 8 and the hostess had no problem accommodating us.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to eat out at if you want to ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great place to eat out at if you want to get away from the typical American style Food and want some spice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great service and tasty food! Would cert ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service and tasty food! Would certainly go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Thai food I've ever had!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Best Thai food I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was delicious! I ordered the drunke ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was delicious! I ordered the drunken fish (medium,wasn't as hot as I was told. So if you like a kick go up to spicy),and my daughter ordered the pad Thai. We both enjoyed our meals. It was 7pm on Christmas night and service was pretty quick. I could tell some people were complaining about not getting their food as fast as they wanted... bigger problems in the world folks!!! Our waitress was sweet and extremely helpful. Wish I got her name but she was the only elf in there ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Had received this a recommendation from ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Had received this a recommendation from several people including locals. The food was quite good overall. Service unfortunately was poor. In all fairness, it was Christmas and they may have been understaffed, but we had to ask for menus, call the waiter over 4 separate times for various issues, and it took almost 2 hours. My father in law ate here a few days prior around 2 pm and raved about it. So, multiple dishes were quite good and it may have been an off night, but because of service I was a bit disappointed honestly (this was the universal group feel after several nights of stellar service at other establishments).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Bit slow service but good food .

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Bit slow service but good food .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great find in Maui while we were on vaca ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great find in Maui while we were on vacation. Food is great, service is great, prices are very reasonable. Only complaint is the time it took to get the order, but it was well worth it. We came back to dinner two days later...just called ahead our order and we were eating in < 5 mins!!!!👍😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been there many many times and it' ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We've been there many many times and it's been consistently great. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Organic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite Thai place on the Island of ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 12, 2016

My favorite Thai place on the Island of Maui. We've been coming here for years now and for this visit, I had started a Whole30 way of eating (no dairy, sugar, legume, grains or alcohol for 30 days) so I was a bit nervous how and what to order. As it turns out, there were a lot of options for me to chose from and the restaurant is more than happy to accommodate any dietary restrictions. The Pumpkin coconut curry with grilled chicken was the best curry I've had anywhere. And their green papaya salad was great as always. Just couldn't eat any rice with my dinner which was a bummer but still everything tasted fantastic.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to have a nice Thai food while in Kiehi, Maui.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and great service

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was very good and the service w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food was very good and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I was really pleased with the food quali ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I was really pleased with the food quality at Maui Thai. Probably one of the best Thai food experiences I have had. Had the house curry with Shrimp that was simply delightful. Had a group of 7 others that also felt the same way. The service was decent but could be improved.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food is always great

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food is always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The server we had, I believe her name wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The server we had, I believe her name was Soopapah, was AMAZING. Made the meal an experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

the best Thai food on Maui and in fact s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 15, 2016

the best Thai food on Maui and in fact some of the best anywhere. Creative dishes made with freshest ingredients. Meals always superb!

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quick service, delicious food

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Quick service, delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great and the service was on po ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food was great and the service was on point. The drinks was also the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife had the Guaytiao Pad See-Ew with ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

My wife had the Guaytiao Pad See-Ew with tofu...amazingly good. I had the choo chee curry with shrimp....good but not as good as the wife's. Really good Thai food. Highly recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

While the young lady serving our meals w ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 26, 2016

While the young lady serving our meals was lacking in hospitality, the food was excellent. Our waitperson did a great job, however.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food and service were excellent. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The food and service were excellent. This was my 1st time there while visiting Maui. We will be back again on our next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good authentic Thai food. Would def ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Very good authentic Thai food. Would definitely go again! Our server was great!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Honestly we were looking for a true Thai ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Honestly we were looking for a true Thai restaurant which we don't believe this to be as the menu lacked the selection of Thai food that most good Thai restaurants offer. Instead they kind of offer a more upscale food with fewer selections and we prefer the more traditional Thai restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love the decor but the food was off. Sal ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Love the decor but the food was off. Salmon was hard. Don't order well done. Pad tai noodles were a little greasy and so were the spring rolls. Seemed not as fresh and healthy as I've had before.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Always great food! Service is always ex ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Always great food! Service is always excellent. Great place for afternoon happy hour and good food.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Thai food. Panang curry with short ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great Thai food. Panang curry with short ribs was phenomenal. Tried the tom yum and Tom kah martinis-considering giving up water to drink these for the rest of my life

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I had some of my best food here while di ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2016

I had some of my best food here while dining in Maui. The service was incredible, the atmosphere very friendly and reasonably priced. It doesn't look like much from the outside but the food is authentic and tasty. Great meal!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Absolutely authentic Thai food, one of o ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Absolutely authentic Thai food, one of our best meals in Kihei, went a second time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had such a great meal here - a highli ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had such a great meal here - a highlight of our trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Couple of hiccups, but food very good. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Couple of hiccups, but food very good. Ordered three appetizers, two of which we were informed, few minutes later, that they were out of. Was a little annoyed, but manager did come by and offer to pay for our opting for another choice. Nice gesture, though would have preferred original menu options.

Food came out quickly. We all had some type of noodle dish, which were all very good. Very good value, especially compared to other dining options on the island.

Decor not anything special. Gave kind of a more local feeling.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Entrees were tasty, but service was lack ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Entrees were tasty, but service was lackluster. Took 20 minutes from the time we sat down until our order was taken. Then we learned that they were out of their famous appetizer (at 7 on a Monday). Also if you want rice, you have to order that separately. Then it took nearly 30 minutes to get our entree. And they weren't even busy - lots of open tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

We are visiting from out of town, but th ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 9, 2016

We are visiting from out of town, but this restaurant came highly recommended by some friends. We were not disappointed! Everything we put in our mouths was fantastic! We will be back on our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

First rate Thai restaurant. Something of ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2016

First rate Thai restaurant. Something of a hidden gem. Food, service, ambiance all first rate. A really great find.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was just OK. Good prices by Maui sta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2016

It was just OK. Good prices by Maui standards. There was nothing wrong with the food but nothing was really tasty. Just your average Thai place...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Restaurant was a bit too bright, but foo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Restaurant was a bit too bright, but food was very good and presented well. Service was very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

One of better and modern Thai restaurant ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 12, 2016

One of better and modern Thai restaurants in Maui. Their happy hour 4-6 is very nice. 2 for $14 appetizers and $5 mai tais, $1 off beer and wine. Love their green papaya salad and summer rolls for our happy hour appetizers. Delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.