Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Maui Thai Bistro

Brilliantly innovative Thai cooking on the world's favorite island! Chef Prakong brings her artisan's skills to Maui Thai Bistro, a contemporary (and kitsch-free) Thai restaurant in South Maui. Brilliant lunch fare includes exotic tomyum fried rice, kao mun gai (chicken rice w tangy sauce), kiawe-smoked ribeye fried rice, drunken rice noodles, a truly authentic padthai, and much much more. Dinner features Prakong's artisanal homemade curries with a modern island twist, including to-die-for dishes as macnut short ribs panang, seared ahi choochee, pineapple kua curry, and plenty more.

2439 S Kihei Rd
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Thai, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Kamaole Beach Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 874-5605

Website:
http://www.mauithaibistro.com/

Catering:
We will cater food for parties upwards of 20 in support Maui's wedding planners.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking in Rainbow Mall and adjacent area lots.

Executive Chef:
Prakong Tongsod

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Takeout

Maui Thai Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (26)
Casual (17)
Spicy (16)
See All
Family Style (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Healthy (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Fun (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Vegan (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Cozy (3)
Great Beer (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Romantic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
198 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent Thai restaurant. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Oursecond visit there in 3 days! Food and drinks were excellent. Our waitress 3 days ago was better than the guy who waited on us tonight

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Got the drunken stir fry shrimp. Was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We just randomly happened upon this place on our trip to Maui. We are big Thai food lovers and expected very little, but WOW, were we blown away by our experience. So much so that we can back a second time! The macadamia nut panang curry (with short rib) and eggplant curry (with chicken) were spectacular. Pork laab cake appetizer was really wonderful too. Cocktails took it to another level. I had the Tom Yum martini, which was a mix of my fave flavors (lemongrass ginger chile and shochu) and the Kafir Collins were both creative and spectacularly crafted. Ambiance is nice but not fancy - which was fine by us. Would rather have great food and drinks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Clean and cute. Great , pleasant and helpful staff.
Nice happy hour deals.
Great selectionn of good Thai food.
Was a return visit and hope to go again!

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Comfort Food, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Maui Thai Bistro is on our regular rotation places to dine while in Maui. The fare is authentic and exceptionally good... and affordable too! This is a good spot. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The staff were friendly however the food was a bit dissapointing. A bit bland and un imaginative. Not sure I'd go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great foods at reasonable prices. Great presentation. Very sweet server who pronounced the special as ramb curry. We all had a good laugh.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Service was excellent, food was delicious!! Can't wait to go back and try other dishes.

Tags: Family Style, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Not sure what happened , if they have a new cook or new owner, but this was not the same great food we had the last we were here, service was good but the food was really bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food was very mediocre
Not the flavor one expects from a Thai restaurant
Only the Soup was tasty...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 22, 2017

From my perspective, the best Thai food on Maui. Good curries and Pad Thai

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Really enjoyed the food and the service. I will definitely go back. Happy hour is not only for drinkers but happy hour on the pups...what a deal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Was in Kihea for 4 nights... went to Maui Thai 3 times. Loved it!! If you sit at the bar Corey was great. If you like Thai food this is a must do!!!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Thanks TripAdvisor for pointing us here. Great food and service. The ambiance was great as well. Definitely recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love the Maui Thai Bistro. Every time just delicious. Best Thai place on the island.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The macadamia nut curry with short ribs was outstanding! Also the ginger margarita was just supreme! Another awesome find from trip advisor.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Little hidden gem! Judging a book by its cover I might have likely skipped over this place, but thanks to lots of other reviewers, I thought we should give this place a chance. So glad we did because the food was outstanding. Feel like you can't go wrong with any of the entrees. My husband and I shared the Chicken Satay and Curry. Will definitely return for a visit next time on the island.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great overall. The macadamia paneng with short ribs was fantastic. Also try the lychee lemonade. Best Thai food we've had in a long time.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This is an excellent Thai restaurant!! Locals & tourists are thrilled!! Try the Panang curry Maui Maui!! Superb!! And our favorite Shrimp Fried rice; I won't get anywhere else!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great food and great service..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Tried chicken satay and crispy chicken as happy hour apps. Peanut sauce was excellent. For entrees, had penang curry with short ribs which was very good (short ribs made it unique) and pad thai which was just ok. Service was very good, friendly and attentive. We were there late (8:30 reservations) and last two dining. Will return for curry but not pad thai.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great authentic Thai food. Great service and good beer list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Was recommended by a friend. He didn't disappoint. Amazing Thai food on Maui. Will be back!!!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Returned for another meal at this well run restaurant. Service, food and Japanese beer were as usual excellent.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We have been here several different times, and it has been very satisfactory especially when looking for something lighter to eat.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Huge portions. Very authentic Thai food as verified by the two Thai people in our party. Honestly best Thai restaurant I've been to in Hawaii or on mainland.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great good and great price. Ambience appropriate. Friendly services. Will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were looking for a place to take a friend who is vegan. We really enjoyed the Tom Yum soup and the yellow curry. The flavors were amazing!! Thank you for having vegan options! We will definitely come back to enjoy more of this amazing food. Thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 27, 2017

It was our last night in Maui before returning to the mainland. We had tried several nice restaurants in the S. Kihei area and found this one through a friend who lives here. Loved our food (and we had a few special food restrictions that could have made dining difficult or diminished the quality of the fare for others who were not so restricted. The chef accommodated the one person and ALL of the dishes were enjoyed by all of those in our group.
A very nice meal at a not exorbitant price!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Vegan, Organic, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Found Maui Thai the last evening of our vacation--wish we had found it sooner! Quite a surprise given it's location in the back of a strip mall. We had 5:30 reservations, but we didn't really need them for eating that early. It can be a bit noisy, but for food and service of this quality its easy to ignore it. Our server was exceptional; her recommendations were spot-on. We'll be back and we'll recommend Maui Thai to all our friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 24, 2017

What a delightful surprise! Absolutely delicious Thai food in a cool setting. Wait staff was excellent. We are looking forward to returning for another great meal. Highly recommend the Drunken crispy fish!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We like this place. The Tom Kha was excellent but you need reservations or you're gonna wait

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Thank you. One of our favorites

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Disabled Access, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We ate there about a week ago and had the best experience. Everyone loved their food, the level of spice was just right. Tonight, was a bit more spicy. Even though we all ordered the same thing. A little inconsistent, but still great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good Thai food service and value.
Ambience is lacking since this is in a strip mall with views of the parking lot only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fabulous food! I loved the Pad Thai, Green Curry and the Shrimp toast!
Very friendly and efficient service:) I only wish that I lived in Maui so I could go more often!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our food was delicious! This is one of our favorite restraints in Kihei! We love bringing our friends to MauiThaiBistro. Our part size grew from 5 to 8 and the hostess had no problem accommodating us.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great place to eat out at if you want to get away from the typical American style Food and want some spice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service and tasty food! Would certainly go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.