About Maui Thai Bistro

2439 S Kihei Rd
Kihei, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Brilliantly innovative Thai cooking on the world's favorite island! Chef Prakong brings her artisan's skills to Maui Thai Bistro, a contemporary (and kitsch-free) Thai restaurant in South Maui. Brilliant lunch fare includes exotic tomyum fried rice, kao mun gai (chicken rice w tangy sauce), kiawe-smoked ribeye fried rice, drunken rice noodles, a truly authentic padthai, and much much more. Dinner features Prakong's artisanal homemade curries with a modern island twist, including to-die-for dishes as macnut short ribs panang, seared ahi choochee, pineapple kua curry, and plenty more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Thai, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Kamaole Beach Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 874-5605

Website:
http://www.mauithaibistro.com/

Catering:
We will cater food for parties upwards of 20 in support Maui's wedding planners.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking in Rainbow Mall and adjacent area lots.

Executive Chef:
Prakong Tongsod

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Takeout

Maui Thai Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Maui
Best Value
Maui
Neighborhood Gem
Maui
Best Restaurants in Kihei ›

Fit for Foodies (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Groups (9)
See All
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Lunch (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Romantic (1)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Honestly we were looking for a true Thai ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 4 days ago

Honestly we were looking for a true Thai restaurant which we don't believe this to be as the menu lacked the selection of Thai food that most good Thai restaurants offer. Instead they kind of offer a more upscale food with fewer selections and we prefer the more traditional Thai restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love the decor but the food was off. Sal ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 7 days ago

Love the decor but the food was off. Salmon was hard. Don't order well done. Pad tai noodles were a little greasy and so were the spring rolls. Seemed not as fresh and healthy as I've had before.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Always great food! Service is always ex ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Always great food! Service is always excellent. Great place for afternoon happy hour and good food.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Thai food. Panang curry with short ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great Thai food. Panang curry with short ribs was phenomenal. Tried the tom yum and Tom kah martinis-considering giving up water to drink these for the rest of my life

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I had some of my best food here while di ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I had some of my best food here while dining in Maui. The service was incredible, the atmosphere very friendly and reasonably priced. It doesn't look like much from the outside but the food is authentic and tasty. Great meal!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Absolutely authentic Thai food, one of o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Absolutely authentic Thai food, one of our best meals in Kihei, went a second time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had such a great meal here - a highli ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had such a great meal here - a highlight of our trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Couple of hiccups, but food very good. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Couple of hiccups, but food very good. Ordered three appetizers, two of which we were informed, few minutes later, that they were out of. Was a little annoyed, but manager did come by and offer to pay for our opting for another choice. Nice gesture, though would have preferred original menu options.

Food came out quickly. We all had some type of noodle dish, which were all very good. Very good value, especially compared to other dining options on the island.

Decor not anything special. Gave kind of a more local feeling.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Entrees were tasty, but service was lack ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Entrees were tasty, but service was lackluster. Took 20 minutes from the time we sat down until our order was taken. Then we learned that they were out of their famous appetizer (at 7 on a Monday). Also if you want rice, you have to order that separately. Then it took nearly 30 minutes to get our entree. And they weren't even busy - lots of open tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

We are visiting from out of town, but th ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We are visiting from out of town, but this restaurant came highly recommended by some friends. We were not disappointed! Everything we put in our mouths was fantastic! We will be back on our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

First rate Thai restaurant. Something of ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

First rate Thai restaurant. Something of a hidden gem. Food, service, ambiance all first rate. A really great find.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was just OK. Good prices by Maui sta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It was just OK. Good prices by Maui standards. There was nothing wrong with the food but nothing was really tasty. Just your average Thai place...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Restaurant was a bit too bright, but foo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Restaurant was a bit too bright, but food was very good and presented well. Service was very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

One of better and modern Thai restaurant ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

One of better and modern Thai restaurants in Maui. Their happy hour 4-6 is very nice. 2 for $14 appetizers and $5 mai tais, $1 off beer and wine. Love their green papaya salad and summer rolls for our happy hour appetizers. Delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

They have great food, a wonderful happy ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

They have great food, a wonderful happy hour with great specials. Good service and very clean. Always like to go when I'm in the area. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just keeps getting better and batter! G ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Just keeps getting better and batter! Great cocktails at a reasonable price. Loved the cucumber appetizers, green papaya salad and pumpkin curry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing and the food was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was amazing and the food was delicious we will definitely go again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is tucked in the back of ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This restaurant is tucked in the back of a strip shopping mall in Kihei, next door to the place that sells the cinnamon buns. It is actually in 2 rooms that join together--the dining room and then the bar area with more dining tables. Simply decorated, but nice. They have a good happy hour from 3-6. Mai tais are half off ($5 instead of $10) and they are delicious! They have a good bartender who knows what he is doing. Also a discount on wine and beer during happy hour. The appetizers are 2 for $14 during happy hour instead of $10 or so each. We had the turmeric potatoes (sort of like samosas), the fluted shrimp, and the chicken satay. Appetizer portions aren't that large, but everything is very fresh and beautifully presented. For entrees we had the pad thai with shrimp (comes with your voice of meat) and the eggplant with chicken. Both were delicious and very fresh. Portion size is larger with the entrees than with the appetizers. You must order rice separately--$3 for a larger bowl of rice that was more than enough for 2. Other reviewers have complained about the price of rice at this restaurant, but good quality jasmine rice is not cheap on Maui, so I didn't have a problem with the price. They only had one dessert--sticky rice with mango. It was so good! Our server said the chef reduced the coconut milk and sugar with the rice. The mango was in slices next to the scoop of coconut sticky rice--one of the best mangos I've ever had. Our server was very attentive and pleasant, and she gave us the kama aina discount without us asking--I didn't even realize they had a kama aina discount. We really enjoyed our meal at Maui Thai Bistro, and we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff very kind. food fabulous. no com ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Staff very kind. food fabulous. no complaints. I will come again soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service is great... The food is wond ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The service is great... The food is wonderful... I love the photo album they have to show anyone who is not familiar with Thai food... Definitely a plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Maui Thai is my favorite restaurant! Sup ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Maui Thai is my favorite restaurant! Supan (I'm probably spelling her name wrong) is the best server, we love her!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charge too much for rice

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food is good but the portion is small. This restaurant charged $3 for a bowl of rice which is excessive and very overprice. Rice is cheap and there is no skill for cooking rice except put it in the rice cooker. So, there is no reason to charge customers so much for a bowl of rice. I would not go back to the restaurant for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Last dinner on Maui

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We decided to try some Thai food for our last dinner on Maui, the place we were originally going to was closed on Monday's so we decided to give the Maui Thai Bistro a go. First let me say we were a party of 4 and I had never tried Thai food before, it took me a bit to find something on the menu that was a little adventurous but not completely out of my comfort zone... we started with mushroom spring rolls, calamari and shrimp toast, all 3 were delicious, for a main I ordered the Crispy Drunken Fish, and all I have to say is why did I wait so long to try Thai? There was a generous portion of panko breaded Mahi Mahi, over green beans in a drunken sauce that put just a little sweat on your lips, it was soooo good. My wifes pad Thai was also delicious...as a matter of fact there were no complaints at the table, my father picked up the check and said it was one of the more affordable meals we had on Maui. Also our waiter, I believe his name was Paco, was fantastic....so glad the other place was closed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good prices, good find

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food here was really good - great flavors, fresh and you can ratchet the spice profile on dishes up or down.

My noodles came a little spicy (I asked for mild) and they replaced them immediately, no questions or balking. The medium spice curry I got was perfect, good heat, but not over the top.

The restaurant is in a strip mall in the back, so it seems a little random, but it's got a lot of tables and it's clean, well-lit, and the service is quick and attentive.

Prices are reasonable (for Maui) and I put this on my list of casual places to go back to in Kihei.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic food and service. The short ri ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic food and service. The short rib Panang curry is awesome!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great hidden gem in Kihei! Food was amaz ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great hidden gem in Kihei! Food was amazing and served fast. On the other hand, AC was too high and our side of the restaurant seemed a little less comfortable than the otherside where it was more lounge-like (no crying kids). Would definitely go back! Sign up for their newsletter and get a great promo offer for your first visit!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Food

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We love Maui Thai Bistro, great food, nice new bar! Our favorite Thai food on Maui.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

pleasantly surprised

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is definitely a neighborhood gem. The food was outstanding, many selections and the happy hours options are not to be missed. It's nice to find a reasonably priced restaurant on the island that has great food. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the tom yum soup and drunken ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We enjoyed the tom yum soup and drunken noodles - both great! The yellow curry with halibut was outstanding!! Fresh and bright flavors - we'll be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is awesome!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

The food is FABULOUS. The setting is kind of ordinary, but you should definitely eat here now because they deserve a much better setting (although it's just fine as it is). Service is friendly and gracious and quick. The fish salad was super fresh tasting and my daughter's curry was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

food was good but portion size is small

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

food was good but boy, order up because portion is very small...and we are not big eaters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent food. Excellent service. Del ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Excellent food.

Excellent service.

Delicious drinks, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good find!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Surprised and happy to find great Thai food on Maui! It's definitely on our list for the next trip!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful Thai Food

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Our family of 5 really enjoyed our dinner at Thai Bistro. It was our last night in Maui and we are all really picky when it comes to Thai food but let me just say, there was not a morsel left over - everything was spot on and exceeded our expectations. My two favorite dishes were the Pad Thai and the Panang Beef, both were so flavorful and just fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Yummy thai

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Really delicious Thai food with just the right amount of heat. We had a hard time finding them in the back end of a strip shopping center but so glad we did!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

One of the best Thai restaurants that we ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

One of the best Thai restaurants that we have been to. Food was very fresh and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Maui Treat

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Tasty delicious Thai food. Great service. Will be back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ok place. I haven't found a place in Mau ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Ok place. I haven't found a place in Maui that blows my socks yet and this is a pretty standard place for the island

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good authentic Thai food

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Locate and in the far back of a strip mall perpendicular to the road, this restaurant is a bit hard to find. The appetizers and main dished were excellent. The menu has many choices. There are even 7 different curries to select from. The Pad Thai was one of the best I've had. The service is attentive. We definitely will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our favorite Thai restaurant on Maui, great food

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Friendly service and consistent delicious dishes, can't miss this spot when you visit or live on Maui!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.