Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Maui Thai Bistro

4.3
317 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Thai
Perfect For:
  • Casual
  • Good for a Date
  • Neighborhood Gem
Brilliantly innovative Thai cooking on the world's favorite island! Chef Prakong brings her artisan's skills to Maui Thai Bistro, a contemporary (and kitsch-free) Thai restaurant in South Maui. Brilliant lunch fare includes exotic tomyum fried rice, kao mun gai (chicken rice w tangy sauce), kiawe-smoked ribeye fried rice, drunken rice noodles, a truly authentic padthai, and much much more. Dinner features Prakong's artisanal homemade curries with a modern island twist, including to-die-for dishes as macnut short ribs panang, seared ahi choochee, pineapple kua curry, and plenty more.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Thai, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 874-5605
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Prakong Tongsod
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We will cater food for parties upwards of 20 in support Maui's wedding planners.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Kamaole Beach Park
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty of free parking in Rainbow Mall and adjacent area lots.
Additional
BYO Liquor, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Takeout
What 317 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.2
service
3.9
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

have to have a reservation , great food , very nice service , kind of loud music

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Maui Thai Bistro was a good find. Very reasonable cost and very good food! I enjoyed the service, very nice people and quick! If you like Thai food then try it out for sure.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Panang beef curry dish was our favorite. The sauce was so good over rice. Seafood Pad see-ew was just okay not too flavorful. We didn’t like the pad Thai; it tasted like tomato sauce and noodles. The cocktail and mocktail drink selection were great especially the mojitos.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Everything on the menu is outstanding and the service is top notch!! My favorite place on Maui.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Ate on the way to the airport. Might not have been the best idea. Food was great but Looking for Tums at 2:30 a.m. not good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Nice Thai restaurant. A bit cold temperature and kind of noisy, but overall good food and moderate price for Maui.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The food was really excellent. Exactly what I had in mind.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Food was great. Be sure to try one of the unique, handmaid cocktails! We love them!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

The spring and summer rolls were fantastic! The coconut soup was what I got and I’ve never had that before so for the first time having it, was outstanding! Great place to eat, go there if you get a chance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

I love the Pepper Blossom drink. Tried tbe chicken Pad Thai, was very good. Friend got the eggplant dish, all who tasted said it was what they would vet next time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Delicious food consistently . Very pleasant server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

This is solid choice for a great dinner.!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 13, 2018

It was ok. Not the best Thai I have had.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Great selections, preparation and quality. It's become a must do for me when I'm on Maui.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We very much enjoyed our dinner at Maui Bistro. The papaya salad and panaang curry short ribs are delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Fantastic Thai meal. The turmeric potatoes from the appetizer menu were outstanding. Delicious Curries and Pad Thai as well.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Food was good , service was good but the only thing that turned me off was being misled on happy hour drinks . On there website and in restaurant two different prices . I noticed this discrepancy and mentioned to manager and did nothing or gave reasons why. Won’t be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The whole dining experience and the food was outstanding. Fresh ingredients. The bartender even snipped off fresh mint out of herb garden for our mojitos.
All I can say is we will definitely be back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

A hidden gem at Rainbow Mall with great food and service. Ask for Paco; excellent service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Dinner was rushed by waitress....Dinner check was delivered before requested in 40 minutes after reservation time..I told her to slow it down but she wouldn't...I had to ask her for the dessert menu after she presented me the check..CLUELESS....The place was just half-full?I have been here to this restaurant multiple times it's been a favorite of mine ,but I'm not going to rushed...This is just rude...I told the front man about this and he said he'd never heard this before....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Very good casual dining with excellent service and authentic, tasty Thai food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Best meal I had on the island . Food was amazing and fast

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

GREAT food! Lovely surroundings - clean, comfortable - the best!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Food was horrible and flavorless. Nothing like any authentic Thai I’ve ever had before and the strawberry mojito nasty. Service was very poor. Never came back to table after food delivered. We were only table at 4pm and took over 10 min for someone to even approach our table. Had to ask for check as they didn’t seem concerned about the experience we were having tonight

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

We so much enjoyed the fried rice which we got as a takeout go-with for a meal in the condo that we went back for lunch on our last day in Maui. The shiitake spring rolls and Pad Thai were excellent. We look forward to dinner when we return next year. We have tried other Thai restaurants in the Kihei area, and this is by far the best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Very good Thai excellent bright fresh flavors. Pineapple curry used fresh pineapple.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

We made a same day reservation and walked in for a two course dinner. We enjoyed two house cocktails. Every bite on each plate was delicious.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 4, 2018

Soup Tom Ka very tasty other dishes average.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Service was amazing. All food was delicious and cocktails were unique.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 1, 2018

This was a surprise, never had a bad meal there before. Not sure if there is anew chef but the dishes lacked any flavour this time around and were disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2018

Had the coconut milk based soup which was excellent! Pork salad, beef Stirfry very tasty. Was disappointed with the pad Thai as tasted like sauce was tomato based.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

This is one of our favorite places to eat in Kihei. The food never disappoints and the service is great.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2018

We have eaten here once each year for the past several years as we vacationed on Maui. This would be the first time that the food has disappointed. The Tom Kha soup was excellent but it was downhill from there - summer rolls were room temperature and the dipping sauce for them was “three alarm” and the green curry with chicken had none of the refined blending of flavors that we have so enjoyed in the past. Saturday night and not very crowded; something has changed.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 17, 2018

Awful. The service was poor. Entree arrived before appetizer and drinks arrived last. Lighting over tables in the front room is glaring. Will never return, even though the papaya salad was very good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 16, 2018

Ordered cocktails which never came, even though I asked twice about when they were coming. Food was flavorful, especially the short rib curry.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2018

Have dined here many times and never been disappointed. Great authentic Thai food at a great price. Great Happy Hour Pu-pu's too. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2018

Great food served your way(heat) but tasty none the less. Nice casual environment and great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

We LOVE Thai food and are often disappointed, so we rarely try new places. But we’ve not had Thai on the islands and decided to give it a try. We were NOT disappointed❣️ This place is legit Thai and everything was delicious! EVERYTHING! Pad See Yew, Pumpkin curry, Panang curry, fried rice and a house speciality cucumber pupu. Delish❣️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 8, 2018

great place for good food ---not much else to say in a tourist town like kehei its nice to see really good places to eat

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 7, 2018

I really like this place. I love they’re sticky rice, beef salad. Service is excellent.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8