About Matthew's Restaurant

2107 Hendricks Ave.
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Matthew's is one of Jacksonville's most distinctive gourmet restaurants.The refined atmosphere and innovative cuisine have made Matthew's one of North Florida's most awarded restaurants for nearly two decades. For the enjoyment of all our guests, appropriate dress for the dining room is Business Casual (no sneakers, shorts, t-shirts or tattered clothing).

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Alford Place

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 396-9922

Website:
http://www.matthewsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Matthew's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Food
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
10 More
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Notable Wine List
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Special Occasion
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Jacksonville
Best Food
Jacksonville
Best Service
Jacksonville
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville
Romantic
Jacksonville
Special Occasion
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

special occasion (53)
fit for foodies (45)
romantic (39)
See All
notable wine list (29)
neighborhood gem (24)
good for groups (8)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
975 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My niece was only here for a short while ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

My niece was only here for a short while; on her way back to Haiti. She has been volunteering at the Children's Orphanage for the past couple of years and I wanted to treat her to a dinner she would remember. We had the Chef's Tasting Menu and it was fabulous! Holly said the one menu item she was most concerned with (scallops), was the most memorable - outstanding. Our waiter and the entire staff were amazing too. Thank you for helping make a lifetime memory for both of us.

Ann Sheffield/Avondale

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Matthew's is the best place in town. We ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Matthew's is the best place in town. We dine there for all of our special occasions. The food and service are excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A neighborhood gem and at the same time ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A neighborhood gem and at the same time excellent quality of food wine selection and service

As a recent transfer from Atlanta this is a special place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fixed price 6 course meal with wine pair ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fixed price 6 course meal with wine pairings is an amazing value given the extraordinary quality of the food and wine at Matthew's. Have done it twice now, and each time have been surprised.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Remains my favorite meal in Jacksonville ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Remains my favorite meal in Jacksonville. The chefs tasting menu never disappoints and wine pairings are really special.

They also sport best and most knowledgeable waitstaff in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food and service, as always. M ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food and service, as always. My server Sarah is great. I try to eat here whenever I'm in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cuisine was amazing and cocktails we ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The cuisine was amazing and cocktails were spot on.

Attentive and personalized service. Great ambiance and decor throughout the restaurant.

The staff were very thoughtful and kind, as the occasion was our wedding anniversary.

A few menu items were not available which was unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fantastic, wonderful experience. The f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Fantastic, wonderful experience. The food was excellent. The service over top.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

David our waiter did an outstanding job. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

David our waiter did an outstanding job. The food was delicious and appearance was inviting. This was a good dining experience for a romantic or special occasion.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Dropped $300 and still needed to stop at ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Dropped $300 and still needed to stop at McDonalds on way home because I was still hungry. Waiter talked me into ordering the special and then came back a short time later and said it was sold out...this place was not crowded at all. Afterwards ordered a $57 steak and that's all that came on my plate! Date ordered pasta, $21 and was very disappointed with portion size and had to order another meal! Me and my date could have eaten at Outback a half dozen times for what I spent at this dive, nowhere worth the $$$!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We've dined at Matthew's for many years ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We've dined at Matthew's for many years and have never been disappointed. Their very friendly wait staff is professional and knowledgeable of food preparations and wines. Their chefs create some wonderful entrees and desserts . We have also used their private room twice for large parties and they were fantastic. We highly recommend Matthew's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is expensive, but I doubt ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food here is expensive, but I doubt that you will find much better around anywhere in the city. The servers are very attentive and the chefs are very skilled and care about their creations. The Creamsicle desert was as beautiful as it was delectable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best foodie experience in Jacksonville.

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Best foodie experience in Jacksonville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The tenderloin steak with the sautéed sh ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The tenderloin steak with the sautéed shallots was incredible. We had them add some mushrooms, which weren't on the menu and the were very accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there for an anniversary dinner. ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We were there for an anniversary dinner. From the beginning we felt welcomed. The service was very good. My wife's cod and my rack of lamb were outstanding.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Food was delicio ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was delicious and innovative. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating Fathers Day (early) ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We were celebrating Fathers Day (early) and are sorry we chose Matthew's. The only hit of the evening were the scallops which were perfectly cooked. The amuse-bouche was a two-bite piece of cheese, the 5 spice overwhelmed the overcooked duck and the fish was boring with too much curry in the sauce. The wine pairing was overpriced with no memorable wine choices. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Expensive...you get what you pay for tho ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Expensive...you get what you pay for though. Definitely the place to go for a special occasion. Service is impeccable, food is wonderful, wine fantastic. Nice ambiance--a bit crowded (other tables, people too close) but not really loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Keep going back because it gets better everytime

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We have been to Matthews at least ten times. Pretty much everytime we have a special occasion or feel like being treated we pick Matthews. The staff has a knack for recognizing what kind of night you want to have: fancy or casual, fine dining to the 9's or top of the line service with casual feel. We finally got the guts to try the chef's tasting menu with the wine pairings and it was well worth it! Looking forward to our next special occasion with Jason and the rest of the waitstaff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jason the Somm

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Jason, our service partner and Somm extraordinaire, made the entire evening for us. Matthew's has a reputation for being formal, which I am not. Jason matched my style and exceeded my expectations. This delightful young man deserves high accolades. A true service professional with humility and integrity.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and romantic

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The restaurant is really nice and the food is delicious. I will caution you though the entree plates are rather pricey, over $30 for a dish with no sides. However, your meal will be outstanding and you will be pleased. I would suggest the Main Diver Scallops with parsnip & apple puree, and smoked bacon apple compote. If you enjoy scallops and bacon, you will need to try this dish. There are only 4 scallops to a plate, but the flavor is outstanding and the scallops were not tough. They have an extensive wine list that will meet your taste desire. My suggestion would be the melon mule in the copper mug. I know this is not a "wine", but the melon mule is delicious. The flavor will make you order another one right after you finish the first one : )

The only draw back was the noise level, but it was tolerable. I think it had to do with one or two parties that were there when my wife and I arrived.

Overall, I would recommend Matthew's Restaurant and make sure to get the scallops!!

Enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Been wanting to go:

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We've wanted to go for years but never made the effort. Big mistake. The food is exceptional , the service refined, and the decor lovely. It appeals to all ages in a refined manner. You can actually talk to your dinner companion without shouting as is the case in so many other restaurants Reservations a must on the weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being from Louisiana, we really enjoy cu ...

 
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Being from Louisiana, we really enjoy cuisine. Matthews has a wonderful variety with creative flavors. They even present 3 custom salts to pair with your food: Ginger salt, a smoked salt, and truffle salt. The truffle salt was the table favorite. The bread choice of 6 types was coupled with a sweet cream butter with pink salt and extra virgin olive oil. We chose the Chef's Adventure which was 6 courses of tasting portions that changes depending on when you go; it was a fantastic choice. Our group of 4 have varying tastes and ages (28-73), and we all were beyond pleased with our meal. Presentation was lovely, only to be topped by the taste and superb service - Sarah the maitre D' was beyond expectations. We had adult beverages - French Pear Martini, Pain Killer, and Midnight Kiss were custom cocktails as well as some glasses of wine. The ambiance was romantic but not stuffy. I ended the night engaged to my beautiful fiancé, and this was a special place to share the moment. When returning to Jacksonville, I will seek Matthews out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful and delicious food! But prices ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Beautiful and delicious food! But prices were pretty high. I would only come here maybe on special occasions no more than once or twice a year. Staff very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food and Service were outstanding. Will be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always opt for the tasting menu with win ...

 
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Always opt for the tasting menu with wine paring!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Matthew's is the Best!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Never been disappointed dining here; this place is top shelf across the board.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Mother's day

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was Matthew's first ever Mother's Day brunch, so we couldn't miss it.

Normally closed on Sundays and never open except for dinner, both we and the staff had some trouble adjusting: "Good evening" and "how are you tonight" and "good night" when our reservation was at 11 am. Food and service were, as usual, impeccable: escargot (I think it is prepared differently every time we visit), crab cake, sea bass , and shrimp and grits, accompanied by a bottle of Veuve Cliquot. It doesn't get any better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Fantastic food and great service.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Fantastic food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Predictably fantastic

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Excellent service, food and ambience. This is one of our favorite Jacksonville spots.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Post-Show Dinner

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

A great dinner at Matthew's topped off a fun afternoon attending the matinee performance of Motown the Musical. It was my friend's first time at Matthew's and it was wonderful watching her delight in each course. As usual, the service was impeccable and our dinners were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was VERY knowledgeable. Wait ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Wait staff was VERY knowledgeable. Waiter made several excellent suggestions and his assistant picked an excellent scotch when they didn't have my first choice. Did much research as we are from out of town and we were very pleased. A great place to spend our 38th wedding anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Four Diamonds

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

On a business trip to Jacksonville, Matthews was recommended. I dined alone and was treated very well. The service, food, wine list, and ambiance was top drawer and really pleasant. The Duck was great and the Port was excellent. I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best night out

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Myhusband and I wentforouranniversary. We mentioned it to thehostessandeveryonefromourserver tothechefcameoutto wishusahappy anniversary. The food was amazing theservicewasamazingandourwaiter (server?) Nathanwasawesomeat suggestionmenufavorites. Withouthishelp wewouldhavebeen lostentirely

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very dissapointing...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

I ordered the Francaise of the Night based on the servers recommendation. It tasted awful and I could not eat more than two bites. For $32 I would have expected much more. I was given a free dessert, but was still charged for a meal that was inedible. Because they did not make up for it appropriately, I will not go back, and I will tell whoever will listen not to bother going there. Very disappointing, as this was my 5 year wedding anniversary.

Side note, the soufflé of the evening was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Great date place

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Had a fabulous duck breast dinner cooked perfectly rare. David, our waiter, was very attentive and accomodating. A great evening out overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great all-around experience. To ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Always a great all-around experience. Tonight was no exception. Want something surprising? How about Corn Flake Gelato for desert?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Chefs Tasting Menu

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

It's an automatic for my wife and I to go with the chefs tasting menu. It's always way a fun culinary adventure. The wait staff are the most knowledgable in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Simple a very fine restaurant

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Matthews is an outstanding place, nothing close anywhere in the Jax area, as far as I know. Creative preparations with quality ingredients. Excellent service. We go there a few times a year when in the Jacksonville area. Always pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best dinners I've ever had.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Matthew's was on a level above most of my favorite restaurants. I ordered escargot, expecting them to be on a dimpled plate. Instead, it came as a wonderful stew. They have Kobe beef at $19 per ounce!! I passed on that and had beef tenderloin; which was delicious and was only about $37. They have a few Bordeaux on the wine list; which is not on the list at most restaurants I visit.

Atmosphere is formal - art work on the walls is modern, furniture is modern, tables are covered with real tablecloths in white. Crowd was 40s & 50s. Dress would be "casual resort."

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.