About Matthew's Restaurant

2107 Hendricks Ave.
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Matthew's is one of Jacksonville's most distinctive gourmet restaurants.The refined atmosphere and innovative cuisine have made Matthew's one of North Florida's most awarded restaurants for nearly two decades. For the enjoyment of all our guests, appropriate dress for the dining room is Business Casual (no sneakers, shorts, t-shirts or tattered clothing).

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Alford Place

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 396-9922

Website:
http://www.matthewsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Matthew's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Special Occasion
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for a Date (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fun (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1020 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very disappointing experience. Limited ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Very disappointing experience. Limited menu. Had to ask for wine refill from our bottle and for utensils for our dessert. Trying too hard to be trendy with the menu, and the quality of the food suffers. We have been to Matthews many times and considered it to be our special occasion restaurant. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Simply the best restaurant in Jacksonvil ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Simply the best restaurant in Jacksonville. The cuisine is always creative, and the service impeccable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took a friend to Matthews for his firs ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I took a friend to Matthews for his first time. He was so looking forward to the steak.

It was twenty minutes before our meal arrived, not a problem, when my friends meal arrived, along with ours, the steak was cold.

Now the steak had to be done over while the three of us slowly eat.

My friend said that the steak was very good when it arrived the second time, maybe ten minutes later.

The wait staff was unhappy with what had happened and apologized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The grouper and Japanese Sea Bass were a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The grouper and Japanese Sea Bass were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great meal Francaise was great

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great meal

Francaise was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had dinner at Matthew's prior to head ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We had dinner at Matthew's prior to heading the Theater Jacksonville for a play we we were there very early -- at 5:30. Not surprisingly, there were only a few other people in the dining room and the service was outstanding as usual. We noticed that the prices had gone up in the past year, typical for many restaurants in the area. Almost all entrees exceed $30 and sides are extra. So, my husband and I each ordered a side as an appetizer. The portions of the roasted beets and the Asian green beans were generous and both were delicious. This was a good way to get our veggies since we ordered pasta as our entrees. Our waiter indicated that we could have an entree portion for $6 more but we opted for the menu portion so that there might be room for dessert. My husband's seafood pasta was outstanding, with several large shrimp and other pieces of seafood along with rigatoni -- a decent sized portion. My tortolloni (with duck) pasta was equally delicious but was a very paltry portion for $20 -- no matter how excellent the ingredients were. We split the sorbet/gelato trio for dessert choosing the Asian 5-spice gelato, the currant sorbet, and the grape sorbet. This was a light and refreshing note to end a very enjoyable meal.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Matthews is our favorite restaurant in J ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Matthews is our favorite restaurant in Jacksonville, but our experience this evening was not up to its usual high standards. Despite making reservations, it took a while to be greeted, sat, and then acknowledged. Our server was very gracious and gave us champagne for the wait, but the rest of the meal seemed rushed and not timed in the way we have come accustomed to at Matthews. The dinners were not split, the dishes came out on top of one another, and we were disappointed for the first time at this amazing restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Some of our party needed food prepared i ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Some of our party needed food prepared in a specific way which can't always be accommodated so is understandable. The server tried to communicate to the chef on what wouldn't be acceptable and came back to our table several times with "sorry the chef just realized you can't have that item either". In the end a mixed green salad was the only option on the menu she could have which was unfortunate.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Lovely dinner with friends. We each had ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Lovely dinner with friends. We each had a different appetizer (nice selection including pate, fois gras, steak tartar, etc) that were delicious and well-presented. Entrees were delicious and filling. Nice wine selection. Dessert souffle was okay -- probably would have been better had we not been rushed (hence the 4 vs 5 star on service).

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for my wife's birthday, because we ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Went for my wife's birthday, because we heard they had good lamb shank, though I wasn't excited about the other menu choices. Somehow, by 7:30pm on a slow night they were sold out of the lamb shank.

Waiter was pretentious, " I am Jason your main waiter ". Mainly meant one waiter with a helper for 8 tables, very little attention and an hour and a half before we got our main course.

Food was average, but the pork chop was excellent.

The 17$ stuffed squid appetizer was quite a rip. About the size of your thumb ( no hand size jokes ) and not as good as the stuffed squid on a stick street food we buy in Manila for a buck.

Beet sides were especially bad as they were chilled to near freezing temperature.

The free birthday desert was so small my wife was embarrassed to post it on Facebook.

We won't be back Matt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent dining experience from cocktai ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent dining experience from cocktails to food and wine. Nice menu selections and creativity. Great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

High on prices, not on taste. Like they ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 26, 2016

High on prices, not on taste. Like they are trying too hard to impress you with a big total bill, but not much better then any other middle of the road restaurant. If we remove the prices from the equation then the portion sizes need to be looked at. My desert was super tiny. For $11 I felt like I was left asking why not give me a full serving of desert. Yes, it was yummy, but was 4 bites big, smores left me wanting mores.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Matthews is a very professional and poli ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Matthews is a very professional and polished restaurant. Two members of our party had the duck and raved about it. Another had the "francaise du jour" which was grouper and was very pleased. I had the 21 day aged steak and found it fairly grisly, and not up to many other aged steaks I've had. The flavor was also not quite where I would have expected it. The service was excellent. I would certainly return, but would try something other than the steak.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service is great here. They earn a ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The service is great here. They earn a good tip. Attentive and timely. We appreciate the great service as much as the good food. Their appetizers and entrees are always delicious. Highly recommend the A5 Kobe!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I couldn't say enough great things about ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I couldn't say enough great things about this place. The wait staff was amazing, the food was delicious, and the entire experience was very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Matthews for the first time la ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I went to Matthews for the first time last Thursday right around 5pm. I am a manager in the hospitality industry and don't get to go out often - we work a lot. When we arrived business was slow, there was one other table in the bar area. I was very impressed with the host, he led us to the bar, gave us menus, told us Brian would be right with us, and poured us each a glass of water. We waited about 5 minutes for the bartender to come over. I assume this was Brian, however he never introduced himself. He awkwardly stood in front of us for a few minutes and then said "are you getting a drink?" He was not friendly or welcoming. We ordered a drink and a few bar bites. The food was awesome. We sat with basically empty drinks for awhile waiting for the bartender to notice. We watched him look at our empty glasses a few times while continuing on with his side work and then finally asked us if we wanted another. We did want another, but couldn't take his dismal service any longer, so we declined and asked for the check. As I mentioned before, we don't go out often due to our work load, so this was very disappointing and a missed opportunity for the restaurant. We took our business to Taverna (a 5 minute walk away) and had excellent service and enjoyed the rest of our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Pavil was an amazing server and sommelie ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Pavil was an amazing server and sommelier! So knowledgeable and made the chefs tasting even more enjoyable!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding. The escargot an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Service was outstanding. The escargot and Lamb shank I ordered were great. Only negative is the filet my wife ordered med rare came more medium and was not the tender steak you expect when you pay $35 for a few ounces of meat. Overall, very good and we will return on a future trip thru Jacksonville.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This is often the best restaurant in Jac ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This is often the best restaurant in Jacksonville but it varies up and down on both food and service. This was not my best meal there. It was still better than the average restaurant but could have been so much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were so very disappointed with Mathew ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We were so very disappointed with Mathews. Our service was absolutely the worst ever! My petite tenderloin ordered rare was medium at best . Our waiter destroyed my dessert soufflé upon presentation at the table by smashing it several times with a tablespoon and pouring all the cream on it turning it to mush. No one asked how our meals were and we won't be back.

Absolutely our worst dining experience that I can recall. Family was going the next nite and upon our review canceled and dined elsewhere. I really cannot believe our horrible experience happened at Mathews and no one cared!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Excellent experience. We were there cel ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Excellent experience. We were there celebrating our anniversary. Our server took great care of us & the food was delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Matthews every year for our ann ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We go to Matthews every year for our anniversary and believe it gets better and better every year. The service is top notch, the food is absolutely delicious and the waiters make sure your visit is special, they are attentive, knowledgeable and there only when you need them, absolutely outstanding experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, very inventive cuisin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent service, very inventive cuisine. The desserts are fantastic!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Flat out, one of the best restaurants in ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Flat out, one of the best restaurants in Jax. No wait!... Not just Jax but anywhere!

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal and service at Matthew' ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Outstanding meal and service at Matthew's. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is fantastic and the meals we or ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service is fantastic and the meals we ordered were very good

Relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service and absolutely amazi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Outstanding service and absolutely amazing food. The chef always amazes us with creative and delicious options for our dietary needs.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was a lot of fun, great service, and foo ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Was a lot of fun, great service, and food was incredible.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an excellent experience at this f ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Always an excellent experience at this fine restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The host at the front door took nearly 5 ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The host at the front door took nearly 5 minutes to return to the front to welcome us. Also, the bartender and other wait staff that were near or walked by, didn't bother to say anything or update us on the whereabouts of the host.

However, once we got to our table, everything was terrific and the overall experience was recovered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Let me start by saying that I LOVEMatthe ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Let me start by saying that I LOVEMatthews. I've been dining there for years. I've taken cooking classes with Matthew. It's my "go to" special occasion place. That said, I have really high expectations given their price point. We went this time to celebrate our anniversary. Apparently, the dress code has significantly relaxed. I don't expect suits, but when they post "business casual", I expect it to be a "dress up" kind of place, more than regular jeans. In years past, we were greeted with champagne and congratulations. This time, only congratulations from the hostess who seated us. We ordered the 5 course chef's tasting menu with wine pairings. In my opinion, this means, "bring your A game". The game they brought was a B- while each course was plated beautifully and described by our waiter, the meat course (steak) was served VERY well done, a huge disappointment. The dessert was uninspired. It didn't taste bad - a berry mousse with lady fingers, I just would have thought they would choose something more amazing. Usually there is a sommelier to present the wine pairings and discuss wine likes/dislikes with us, this time none. Our waiter was courteous, but not very attentive. Just not a lot of "love" overall. I'm not saying I wouldn't go back, but for a $300 dinner, Matthews won't be my "automatic" special occasion choice next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Mathews is a great place for business di ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Mathews is a great place for business dinner's as well as a night out on the town

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall experience is a first class rest ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Overall experience is a first class restaurant in the heart of Jacksonville.

The service was friendly and attentive.

The food as generally solid. Not inventive but good techniques were showcase.

The only two disappointing were the "risotto" which seen to be made not with arborio. And the other disappointment were the desserts were uninteresting.

When ever I come down to Jacksonville, I will be making a stop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Beautiful dining experience. Prices are ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Beautiful dining experience. Prices are a little high for those not familiar with fine dining. The food was incredible and the service spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, reasonably pr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food, great service, reasonably priced, great restaurant! We've been going there for our Anniversary for the last 3 years and will be back next year.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was recommended to us from our daug ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was recommended to us from our daughter, and we were not disappointed. The menu selection was wonderful, but most of all the service was outstanding. The entire wait staff was knowledgeable and super friendly. We are planning on coming back at least monthly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dining at Matthews for my birthday has b ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Dining at Matthews for my birthday has become an annual tradition, I drive from Atlanta to Jacksonville to celebrate at Matthews. The food is always excellent, with lots of variety and creativity. Thanks again Matthews and our server Sara for another birthday filled with delectable cuisine and top notch service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were celebrating my birthday belatedl ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were celebrating my birthday belatedly and as always, our server made all the difference.

Food was great (which you can count on) and we enjoy being surprised by what souffle they are offering for dessert (vanilla bourbon this time) but Sarah is the reason we keep returning. She always makes us feel comfortable and special all at the same time and is completely engaging and relatable. We've been to our share of high end and stuffy establishments around the country (and globe for that matter) and this is one of the most important aspects of the dining experience for me. We love her and love dining at Matthews with her guiding us!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great, but it was very co ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Everything was great, but it was very cold in there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Tasting menu expertly guided by staff ru ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Tasting menu expertly guided by staff running like clockwork.

Inventive cocktail menu too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.