About Matthew's Restaurant

2107 Hendricks Ave.
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Matthew's is one of Jacksonville's most distinctive gourmet restaurants.The refined atmosphere and innovative cuisine have made Matthew's one of North Florida's most awarded restaurants for nearly two decades. For the enjoyment of all our guests, appropriate dress for the dining room is Business Casual (no sneakers, shorts, t-shirts or tattered clothing).

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Alford Place

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 396-9922

Website:
http://www.matthewsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Matthew's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Food
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
12 More
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Notable Wine List
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Special Occasion
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Jacksonville
Best Food
Jacksonville
Best Service
Jacksonville
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Best Value
Jacksonville
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville
Romantic
Jacksonville
Special Occasion
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Special Occasion (55)
Romantic (42)
Fit for Foodies (40)
See All
Notable Wine List (36)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Groups (12)
Hot Spot (8)
Open Kitchen (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Authentic (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Cozy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1001 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were so very disappointed with Mathew ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were so very disappointed with Mathews. Our service was absolutely the worst ever! My petite tenderloin ordered rare was medium at best . Our waiter destroyed my dessert soufflé upon presentation at the table by smashing it several times with a tablespoon and pouring all the cream on it turning it to mush. No one asked how our meals were and we won't be back.

Absolutely our worst dining experience that I can recall. Family was going the next nite and upon our review canceled and dined elsewhere. I really cannot believe our horrible experience happened at Mathews and no one cared!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Excellent experience. We were there cel ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent experience. We were there celebrating our anniversary. Our server took great care of us & the food was delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Matthews every year for our ann ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 6 days ago

We go to Matthews every year for our anniversary and believe it gets better and better every year. The service is top notch, the food is absolutely delicious and the waiters make sure your visit is special, they are attentive, knowledgeable and there only when you need them, absolutely outstanding experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, very inventive cuisin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent service, very inventive cuisine. The desserts are fantastic!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Flat out, one of the best restaurants in ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Flat out, one of the best restaurants in Jax. No wait!... Not just Jax but anywhere!

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal and service at Matthew' ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Outstanding meal and service at Matthew's. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is fantastic and the meals we or ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service is fantastic and the meals we ordered were very good

Relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service and absolutely amazi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Outstanding service and absolutely amazing food. The chef always amazes us with creative and delicious options for our dietary needs.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was a lot of fun, great service, and foo ...

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Was a lot of fun, great service, and food was incredible.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an excellent experience at this f ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Always an excellent experience at this fine restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The host at the front door took nearly 5 ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The host at the front door took nearly 5 minutes to return to the front to welcome us. Also, the bartender and other wait staff that were near or walked by, didn't bother to say anything or update us on the whereabouts of the host.

However, once we got to our table, everything was terrific and the overall experience was recovered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Let me start by saying that I LOVEMatthe ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Let me start by saying that I LOVEMatthews. I've been dining there for years. I've taken cooking classes with Matthew. It's my "go to" special occasion place. That said, I have really high expectations given their price point. We went this time to celebrate our anniversary. Apparently, the dress code has significantly relaxed. I don't expect suits, but when they post "business casual", I expect it to be a "dress up" kind of place, more than regular jeans. In years past, we were greeted with champagne and congratulations. This time, only congratulations from the hostess who seated us. We ordered the 5 course chef's tasting menu with wine pairings. In my opinion, this means, "bring your A game". The game they brought was a B- while each course was plated beautifully and described by our waiter, the meat course (steak) was served VERY well done, a huge disappointment. The dessert was uninspired. It didn't taste bad - a berry mousse with lady fingers, I just would have thought they would choose something more amazing. Usually there is a sommelier to present the wine pairings and discuss wine likes/dislikes with us, this time none. Our waiter was courteous, but not very attentive. Just not a lot of "love" overall. I'm not saying I wouldn't go back, but for a $300 dinner, Matthews won't be my "automatic" special occasion choice next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Mathews is a great place for business di ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Mathews is a great place for business dinner's as well as a night out on the town

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall experience is a first class rest ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Overall experience is a first class restaurant in the heart of Jacksonville.

The service was friendly and attentive.

The food as generally solid. Not inventive but good techniques were showcase.

The only two disappointing were the "risotto" which seen to be made not with arborio. And the other disappointment were the desserts were uninteresting.

When ever I come down to Jacksonville, I will be making a stop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Beautiful dining experience. Prices are ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Beautiful dining experience. Prices are a little high for those not familiar with fine dining. The food was incredible and the service spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, reasonably pr ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food, great service, reasonably priced, great restaurant! We've been going there for our Anniversary for the last 3 years and will be back next year.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was recommended to us from our daug ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was recommended to us from our daughter, and we were not disappointed. The menu selection was wonderful, but most of all the service was outstanding. The entire wait staff was knowledgeable and super friendly. We are planning on coming back at least monthly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dining at Matthews for my birthday has b ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Dining at Matthews for my birthday has become an annual tradition, I drive from Atlanta to Jacksonville to celebrate at Matthews. The food is always excellent, with lots of variety and creativity. Thanks again Matthews and our server Sara for another birthday filled with delectable cuisine and top notch service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were celebrating my birthday belatedl ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were celebrating my birthday belatedly and as always, our server made all the difference.

Food was great (which you can count on) and we enjoy being surprised by what souffle they are offering for dessert (vanilla bourbon this time) but Sarah is the reason we keep returning. She always makes us feel comfortable and special all at the same time and is completely engaging and relatable. We've been to our share of high end and stuffy establishments around the country (and globe for that matter) and this is one of the most important aspects of the dining experience for me. We love her and love dining at Matthews with her guiding us!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great, but it was very co ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Everything was great, but it was very cold in there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Tasting menu expertly guided by staff ru ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Tasting menu expertly guided by staff running like clockwork.

Inventive cocktail menu too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For our second visit to Matthew's we opt ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

For our second visit to Matthew's we opted for the tasting menu. I'm so glad we did.

The first course was steak tartare, the only item I was a bit nervous about as its not generally something I want. But it was great - enough meaty texture to make it palatable and the pickled onions were a great bright note.

Second course was scallops with compressed melon and blackberry gastrique. The only course I thought was wanting ever so slightly. I found it a touch salty and my husband would've preferred his scallops cook about 30 seconds longer. But the flavors were nice.

Third course: bucatini al carbonara with sous vide egg. Sublime.

Fourth course: I thought it couldn't get better at this point and I was happily wrong. Short rib braised with slightly Asian leanings - thought I noted coconut milk, cardamom and star anise but I could be wrong. Served with carrot purée and the only broccolini I I've ever liked.

Fifth course: manage (a nutty cheese) with pistachios, dried apricot and bee pollen. It worked and I enjoyed it.

Last of all, frozen key lime pie. A great tart note to end on. I even liked the meringue and I usually don't.

Got the wine pairings and they were all excellent. This was the best meal we've had in about five years.

Service from Cole was also superb. Our table wasn't where I would've picked but after about 5 minutes I no longer cared. Minor quibble in an overall wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We go to Matthews a couple of time a yea ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We go to Matthews a couple of time a year...almost always on our anniversary and we've never been disappointed in any aspect of the dining experience.

The staff is fantastic and the food is always excellent. The only reason they don't get 5 out of 5 for value is because they are pretty pricey but, for a special occasion it's terrific

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was fantastic! I can see why ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was fantastic! I can see why Matthew's is one of the top 10 restaurants in Jacksonville.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I used to be a lot bigger on Mathew's. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I used to be a lot bigger on Mathew's. I've had some great meals there, but this last dinner was kind of a let down in the food department. The service was spot on as usual. Appetizers were banging and my wifes rissoto would have been perfect but for a little heavy handed truffle oil action. Then there was my entree. I got the tuna. It was seared well, which is about the only compliment I can offer. Tuna was served with a nothing sauce and a tomato tart, which was easily the worst thing ever prepared in Mathew's kitchen. Whoever put the puff pastry tomato tart on the menu should be fired, it tasted terrible and wouldn't have gone with the tuna in any case. Overall, it was a pleasent experience, but one bad dish can really ruin a meal

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

My niece was only here for a short while ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My niece was only here for a short while; on her way back to Haiti. She has been volunteering at the Children's Orphanage for the past couple of years and I wanted to treat her to a dinner she would remember. We had the Chef's Tasting Menu and it was fabulous! Holly said the one menu item she was most concerned with (scallops), was the most memorable - outstanding. Our waiter and the entire staff were amazing too. Thank you for helping make a lifetime memory for both of us.

Ann Sheffield/Avondale

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Matthew's is the best place in town. We ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Matthew's is the best place in town. We dine there for all of our special occasions. The food and service are excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A neighborhood gem and at the same time ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A neighborhood gem and at the same time excellent quality of food wine selection and service

As a recent transfer from Atlanta this is a special place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fixed price 6 course meal with wine pair ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fixed price 6 course meal with wine pairings is an amazing value given the extraordinary quality of the food and wine at Matthew's. Have done it twice now, and each time have been surprised.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Remains my favorite meal in Jacksonville ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Remains my favorite meal in Jacksonville. The chefs tasting menu never disappoints and wine pairings are really special.

They also sport best and most knowledgeable waitstaff in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food and service, as always. M ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food and service, as always. My server Sarah is great. I try to eat here whenever I'm in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cuisine was amazing and cocktails we ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The cuisine was amazing and cocktails were spot on.

Attentive and personalized service. Great ambiance and decor throughout the restaurant.

The staff were very thoughtful and kind, as the occasion was our wedding anniversary.

A few menu items were not available which was unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fantastic, wonderful experience. The f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Fantastic, wonderful experience. The food was excellent. The service over top.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

David our waiter did an outstanding job. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

David our waiter did an outstanding job. The food was delicious and appearance was inviting. This was a good dining experience for a romantic or special occasion.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Dropped $300 and still needed to stop at ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Dropped $300 and still needed to stop at McDonalds on way home because I was still hungry. Waiter talked me into ordering the special and then came back a short time later and said it was sold out...this place was not crowded at all. Afterwards ordered a $57 steak and that's all that came on my plate! Date ordered pasta, $21 and was very disappointed with portion size and had to order another meal! Me and my date could have eaten at Outback a half dozen times for what I spent at this dive, nowhere worth the $$$!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We've dined at Matthew's for many years ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We've dined at Matthew's for many years and have never been disappointed. Their very friendly wait staff is professional and knowledgeable of food preparations and wines. Their chefs create some wonderful entrees and desserts . We have also used their private room twice for large parties and they were fantastic. We highly recommend Matthew's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is expensive, but I doubt ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food here is expensive, but I doubt that you will find much better around anywhere in the city. The servers are very attentive and the chefs are very skilled and care about their creations. The Creamsicle desert was as beautiful as it was delectable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best foodie experience in Jacksonville.

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Best foodie experience in Jacksonville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The tenderloin steak with the sautéed sh ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The tenderloin steak with the sautéed shallots was incredible. We had them add some mushrooms, which weren't on the menu and the were very accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there for an anniversary dinner. ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We were there for an anniversary dinner. From the beginning we felt welcomed. The service was very good. My wife's cod and my rack of lamb were outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.