About Matthew's Restaurant

2107 Hendricks Ave.
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Matthew's is one of Jacksonville's most distinctive gourmet restaurants.The refined atmosphere and innovative cuisine have made Matthew's one of North Florida's most awarded restaurants for nearly two decades. For the enjoyment of all our guests, appropriate dress for the dining room is Business Casual (no sneakers, shorts, t-shirts or tattered clothing).

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Alford Place

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 396-9922

Website:
http://www.matthewsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Grab your sweetie and join us at Matthew's for Valentine's Day! Chef will prepare a unique, 4-course menu with options for each course ($90), plus a 5-course Adventure Tasting Menu ($110 or $150 with wine pairings). Vegan & GF options available.

Reservations 4:30-10:30pm.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Matthew's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Romantic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Business Meals (8)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic atmosphere. Brian at the bar ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic atmosphere. Brian at the bar made the best Mexican Mule. Our waiter, Nick was attentive but courteous because we were on a date. The food was excellent. Best escargot! KC strip was perfectly cooked. Lamb fell off the bone. Mac and cheese was to die for.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service always top notch at Mat ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service always top notch at Matthews. One of the best dining experiences in North Florida.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and the food was fresh ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent service and the food was fresh and seasoned .

Birthday celebration with a creative birthday dessert.

Looking forward to another great dining experience at Matthew's soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome date night

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Awesome date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an excellent meal, excellent serv ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always an excellent meal, excellent service and outstanding overall experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Modern Decor, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, service and ambiance were outstand ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food, service and ambiance were outstanding. Would highly recommend Matthews for any special occasion. My wife, a vegetarian, was extremely pleased with the dish prepared for her by the chef.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! Looking forward to heading b ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent! Looking forward to heading back next time we are in town. Delicious!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Dancing, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, , Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a pre-symphony dinner with thre ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This was a pre-symphony dinner with three friends. One guest was visiting from out-of-town and we had hoped to treat her to a very special meal. Unfortunately we experienced Matthew's biggest problem--it is inconsistent. On my last visit a couple of months ago the meal was wonderful with great service. This visit both the food and the service were missing. This was the kind of visit that keeps me away from Matthew's for an extended period. Usually when I return food and service are again superior but why is there so much inconsistency?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent Restaurant all around. We went ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent Restaurant all around. We went on New Year's Eve so it was loud which I'm sure isn't always the case. Highly recommend and I can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our NYE experience was amazing! Food was ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our NYE experience was amazing! Food was phenomenal and service was perfect! We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a NYE date with the wife. Anot ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was a NYE date with the wife. Another impeccable experience at Matthew's - service, food, and dining room ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was as good as I expected. Well worth ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was as good as I expected. Well worth every dime. I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A truly fine restaurant in the Jacksonvi ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

A truly fine restaurant in the Jacksonville area. I don't think there is one better. Excellent wine list also.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter seemed to be inexperienced. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our waiter seemed to be inexperienced. He did everything properly however awkwardly. Our waiter reciting each dish as it is presented requires that he knows each dish rote. He didn't. Frankly, I wouldn't care if it wasn't done at all but, if he's going to do it he'd better do it like an expert.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It's been a 50/50 shot when we have been ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It's been a 50/50 shot when we have been to Matthews. The intent is there and the service staff is always polite but something seems to be amiss. The food is a little too over-complicated and loses its appeal and they have a tendency to do special limited menus frequently for holidays which always stinks because if you have a favorite you can be sure it won't be on the menu.

Prices are reasonable for a clean, quiet environment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceptional service. Amazing food. S ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Exceptional service. Amazing food. Sarah was incredibly gracious in making sure that every detail of our special night was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I recommend the duck breast with a side ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I recommend the duck breast with a side of green beans and a glass of Chenin Blanc. For dessert, splurge on the soufflé of the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our expectations were high. Unfortunatel ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our expectations were high. Unfortunately they were not met. The service was excellent. The food was unique, but not great. My wife chose the Maine scallops and I had the gray grouper francaise. Her scallops were cold. My grouper had a strong fish taste that is not commonly present in a grouper preparation. If the food had been more to our liking the price would have been in the ball park. In this case I do not feel we received a good value.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place for drinks. Unique cocktails ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great place for drinks. Unique cocktails, however, I think they could do better at promoting drinks or making custom drinks. Food great but pricey! Atmosphere wonderful and good parking options for the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Very disappointing experience. Limited ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very disappointing experience. Limited menu. Had to ask for wine refill from our bottle and for utensils for our dessert. Trying too hard to be trendy with the menu, and the quality of the food suffers. We have been to Matthews many times and considered it to be our special occasion restaurant. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Simply the best restaurant in Jacksonvil ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Simply the best restaurant in Jacksonville. The cuisine is always creative, and the service impeccable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took a friend to Matthews for his firs ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I took a friend to Matthews for his first time. He was so looking forward to the steak.

It was twenty minutes before our meal arrived, not a problem, when my friends meal arrived, along with ours, the steak was cold.

Now the steak had to be done over while the three of us slowly eat.

My friend said that the steak was very good when it arrived the second time, maybe ten minutes later.

The wait staff was unhappy with what had happened and apologized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The grouper and Japanese Sea Bass were a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The grouper and Japanese Sea Bass were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great meal Francaise was great

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great meal

Francaise was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had dinner at Matthew's prior to head ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We had dinner at Matthew's prior to heading the Theater Jacksonville for a play we we were there very early -- at 5:30. Not surprisingly, there were only a few other people in the dining room and the service was outstanding as usual. We noticed that the prices had gone up in the past year, typical for many restaurants in the area. Almost all entrees exceed $30 and sides are extra. So, my husband and I each ordered a side as an appetizer. The portions of the roasted beets and the Asian green beans were generous and both were delicious. This was a good way to get our veggies since we ordered pasta as our entrees. Our waiter indicated that we could have an entree portion for $6 more but we opted for the menu portion so that there might be room for dessert. My husband's seafood pasta was outstanding, with several large shrimp and other pieces of seafood along with rigatoni -- a decent sized portion. My tortolloni (with duck) pasta was equally delicious but was a very paltry portion for $20 -- no matter how excellent the ingredients were. We split the sorbet/gelato trio for dessert choosing the Asian 5-spice gelato, the currant sorbet, and the grape sorbet. This was a light and refreshing note to end a very enjoyable meal.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Matthews is our favorite restaurant in J ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Matthews is our favorite restaurant in Jacksonville, but our experience this evening was not up to its usual high standards. Despite making reservations, it took a while to be greeted, sat, and then acknowledged. Our server was very gracious and gave us champagne for the wait, but the rest of the meal seemed rushed and not timed in the way we have come accustomed to at Matthews. The dinners were not split, the dishes came out on top of one another, and we were disappointed for the first time at this amazing restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Some of our party needed food prepared i ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Some of our party needed food prepared in a specific way which can't always be accommodated so is understandable. The server tried to communicate to the chef on what wouldn't be acceptable and came back to our table several times with "sorry the chef just realized you can't have that item either". In the end a mixed green salad was the only option on the menu she could have which was unfortunate.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Lovely dinner with friends. We each had ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Lovely dinner with friends. We each had a different appetizer (nice selection including pate, fois gras, steak tartar, etc) that were delicious and well-presented. Entrees were delicious and filling. Nice wine selection. Dessert souffle was okay -- probably would have been better had we not been rushed (hence the 4 vs 5 star on service).

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always look forward to Matthews visits. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Always look forward to Matthews visits. One of three places in town that serve seared Foie Gras and the presentation is the best. little to no deviation since 2001, and it still works. (a classic when pared with an older sauterne) on top of that the serving size has been quite generous the last two times we have gone, and I like that...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for my wife's birthday, because we ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Went for my wife's birthday, because we heard they had good lamb shank, though I wasn't excited about the other menu choices. Somehow, by 7:30pm on a slow night they were sold out of the lamb shank.

Waiter was pretentious, " I am Jason your main waiter ". Mainly meant one waiter with a helper for 8 tables, very little attention and an hour and a half before we got our main course.

Food was average, but the pork chop was excellent.

The 17$ stuffed squid appetizer was quite a rip. About the size of your thumb ( no hand size jokes ) and not as good as the stuffed squid on a stick street food we buy in Manila for a buck.

Beet sides were especially bad as they were chilled to near freezing temperature.

The free birthday desert was so small my wife was embarrassed to post it on Facebook.

We won't be back Matt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent dining experience from cocktai ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent dining experience from cocktails to food and wine. Nice menu selections and creativity. Great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

High on prices, not on taste. Like they ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 26, 2016

High on prices, not on taste. Like they are trying too hard to impress you with a big total bill, but not much better then any other middle of the road restaurant. If we remove the prices from the equation then the portion sizes need to be looked at. My desert was super tiny. For $11 I felt like I was left asking why not give me a full serving of desert. Yes, it was yummy, but was 4 bites big, smores left me wanting mores.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Matthews is a very professional and poli ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Matthews is a very professional and polished restaurant. Two members of our party had the duck and raved about it. Another had the "francaise du jour" which was grouper and was very pleased. I had the 21 day aged steak and found it fairly grisly, and not up to many other aged steaks I've had. The flavor was also not quite where I would have expected it. The service was excellent. I would certainly return, but would try something other than the steak.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service is great here. They earn a ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The service is great here. They earn a good tip. Attentive and timely. We appreciate the great service as much as the good food. Their appetizers and entrees are always delicious. Highly recommend the A5 Kobe!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I couldn't say enough great things about ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I couldn't say enough great things about this place. The wait staff was amazing, the food was delicious, and the entire experience was very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Matthews for the first time la ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I went to Matthews for the first time last Thursday right around 5pm. I am a manager in the hospitality industry and don't get to go out often - we work a lot. When we arrived business was slow, there was one other table in the bar area. I was very impressed with the host, he led us to the bar, gave us menus, told us Brian would be right with us, and poured us each a glass of water. We waited about 5 minutes for the bartender to come over. I assume this was Brian, however he never introduced himself. He awkwardly stood in front of us for a few minutes and then said "are you getting a drink?" He was not friendly or welcoming. We ordered a drink and a few bar bites. The food was awesome. We sat with basically empty drinks for awhile waiting for the bartender to notice. We watched him look at our empty glasses a few times while continuing on with his side work and then finally asked us if we wanted another. We did want another, but couldn't take his dismal service any longer, so we declined and asked for the check. As I mentioned before, we don't go out often due to our work load, so this was very disappointing and a missed opportunity for the restaurant. We took our business to Taverna (a 5 minute walk away) and had excellent service and enjoyed the rest of our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Pavil was an amazing server and sommelie ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Pavil was an amazing server and sommelier! So knowledgeable and made the chefs tasting even more enjoyable!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding. The escargot an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Service was outstanding. The escargot and Lamb shank I ordered were great. Only negative is the filet my wife ordered med rare came more medium and was not the tender steak you expect when you pay $35 for a few ounces of meat. Overall, very good and we will return on a future trip thru Jacksonville.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This is often the best restaurant in Jac ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This is often the best restaurant in Jacksonville but it varies up and down on both food and service. This was not my best meal there. It was still better than the average restaurant but could have been so much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were so very disappointed with Mathew ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We were so very disappointed with Mathews. Our service was absolutely the worst ever! My petite tenderloin ordered rare was medium at best . Our waiter destroyed my dessert soufflé upon presentation at the table by smashing it several times with a tablespoon and pouring all the cream on it turning it to mush. No one asked how our meals were and we won't be back.

Absolutely our worst dining experience that I can recall. Family was going the next nite and upon our review canceled and dined elsewhere. I really cannot believe our horrible experience happened at Mathews and no one cared!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.