About Matthew's Restaurant

2107 Hendricks Ave.
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Matthew's is one of Jacksonville's most distinctive gourmet restaurants.The refined atmosphere and innovative cuisine have made Matthew's one of North Florida's most awarded restaurants for nearly two decades. For the enjoyment of all our guests, appropriate dress for the dining room is Business Casual (no sneakers, shorts, t-shirts or tattered clothing).

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Alford Place

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 396-9922

Website:
http://www.matthewsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Matthew's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Jacksonville
Best Food
Jacksonville
5 More
Best Service
Jacksonville
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville
Romantic
Jacksonville
Special Occasion
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

special occasion (51)
fit for foodies (43)
romantic (34)
See All
notable wine list (26)
neighborhood gem (25)
hot spot (5)
good for groups (4)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
962 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Best foodie experience in Jacksonville.

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Best foodie experience in Jacksonville.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there for an anniversary dinner. ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

We were there for an anniversary dinner. From the beginning we felt welcomed. The service was very good. My wife's cod and my rack of lamb were outstanding.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Food was delicio ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was delicious and innovative. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We were celebrating Fathers Day (early) ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We were celebrating Fathers Day (early) and are sorry we chose Matthew's. The only hit of the evening were the scallops which were perfectly cooked. The amuse-bouche was a two-bite piece of cheese, the 5 spice overwhelmed the overcooked duck and the fish was boring with too much curry in the sauce. The wine pairing was overpriced with no memorable wine choices. We will not return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expensive...you get what you pay for tho ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Expensive...you get what you pay for though. Definitely the place to go for a special occasion. Service is impeccable, food is wonderful, wine fantastic. Nice ambiance--a bit crowded (other tables, people too close) but not really loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keep going back because it gets better everytime

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

We have been to Matthews at least ten times. Pretty much everytime we have a special occasion or feel like being treated we pick Matthews. The staff has a knack for recognizing what kind of night you want to have: fancy or casual, fine dining to the 9's or top of the line service with casual feel. We finally got the guts to try the chef's tasting menu with the wine pairings and it was well worth it! Looking forward to our next special occasion with Jason and the rest of the waitstaff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Jason the Somm

Dined on June 5, 2016

Jason, our service partner and Somm extraordinaire, made the entire evening for us. Matthew's has a reputation for being formal, which I am not. Jason matched my style and exceeded my expectations. This delightful young man deserves high accolades. A true service professional with humility and integrity.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and romantic

Dined on June 1, 2016

The restaurant is really nice and the food is delicious. I will caution you though the entree plates are rather pricey, over $30 for a dish with no sides. However, your meal will be outstanding and you will be pleased. I would suggest the Main Diver Scallops with parsnip & apple puree, and smoked bacon apple compote. If you enjoy scallops and bacon, you will need to try this dish. There are only 4 scallops to a plate, but the flavor is outstanding and the scallops were not tough. They have an extensive wine list that will meet your taste desire. My suggestion would be the melon mule in the copper mug. I know this is not a "wine", but the melon mule is delicious. The flavor will make you order another one right after you finish the first one : ) The only draw back was the noise level, but it was tolerable. I think it had to do with one or two parties that were there when my wife and I arrived. Overall, I would recommend Matthew's Restaurant and make sure to get the scallops!! Enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been wanting to go:

Dined on May 28, 2016

We've wanted to go for years but never made the effort. Big mistake. The food is exceptional , the service refined, and the decor lovely. It appeals to all ages in a refined manner. You can actually talk to your dinner companion without shouting as is the case in so many other restaurants Reservations a must on the weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Being from Louisiana, we really enjoy cu ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Being from Louisiana, we really enjoy cuisine. Matthews has a wonderful variety with creative flavors. They even present 3 custom salts to pair with your food: Ginger salt, a smoked salt, and truffle salt. The truffle salt was the table favorite. The bread choice of 6 types was coupled with a sweet cream butter with pink salt and extra virgin olive oil. We chose the Chef's Adventure which was 6 courses of tasting portions that changes depending on when you go; it was a fantastic choice. Our group of 4 have varying tastes and ages (28-73), and we all were beyond pleased with our meal. Presentation was lovely, only to be topped by the taste and superb service - Sarah the maitre D' was beyond expectations. We had adult beverages - French Pear Martini, Pain Killer, and Midnight Kiss were custom cocktails as well as some glasses of wine. The ambiance was romantic but not stuffy. I ended the night engaged to my beautiful fiancé, and this was a special place to share the moment. When returning to Jacksonville, I will seek Matthews out.

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful and delicious food! But prices ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Beautiful and delicious food! But prices were pretty high. I would only come here maybe on special occasions no more than once or twice a year. Staff very friendly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding

Dined on May 13, 2016

Food and Service were outstanding. Will be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always opt for the tasting menu with win ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Always opt for the tasting menu with wine paring!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Matthew's is the Best!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Never been disappointed dining here; this place is top shelf across the board.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Happy Mother's day

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

This was Matthew's first ever Mother's Day brunch, so we couldn't miss it. Normally closed on Sundays and never open except for dinner, both we and the staff had some trouble adjusting: "Good evening" and "how are you tonight" and "good night" when our reservation was at 11 am. Food and service were, as usual, impeccable: escargot (I think it is prepared differently every time we visit), crab cake, sea bass , and shrimp and grits, accompanied by a bottle of Veuve Cliquot. It doesn't get any better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and great service.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Fantastic food and great service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Predictably fantastic

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Excellent service, food and ambience. This is one of our favorite Jacksonville spots.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Post-Show Dinner

Dined on April 23, 2016

A great dinner at Matthew's topped off a fun afternoon attending the matinee performance of Motown the Musical. It was my friend's first time at Matthew's and it was wonderful watching her delight in each course. As usual, the service was impeccable and our dinners were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wait staff was VERY knowledgeable. Wait ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Wait staff was VERY knowledgeable. Waiter made several excellent suggestions and his assistant picked an excellent scotch when they didn't have my first choice. Did much research as we are from out of town and we were very pleased. A great place to spend our 38th wedding anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four Diamonds

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

On a business trip to Jacksonville, Matthews was recommended. I dined alone and was treated very well. The service, food, wine list, and ambiance was top drawer and really pleasant. The Duck was great and the Port was excellent. I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best night out

Dined on April 15, 2016

Myhusband and I wentforouranniversary. We mentioned it to thehostessandeveryonefromourserver tothechefcameoutto wishusahappy anniversary. The food was amazing theservicewasamazingandourwaiter (server?) Nathanwasawesomeat suggestionmenufavorites. Withouthishelp wewouldhavebeen lostentirely

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Very dissapointing...

Dined on April 15, 2016

I ordered the Francaise of the Night based on the servers recommendation. It tasted awful and I could not eat more than two bites. For $32 I would have expected much more. I was given a free dessert, but was still charged for a meal that was inedible. Because they did not make up for it appropriately, I will not go back, and I will tell whoever will listen not to bother going there. Very disappointing, as this was my 5 year wedding anniversary. Side note, the soufflé of the evening was delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great date place

Dined on March 25, 2016

Had a fabulous duck breast dinner cooked perfectly rare. David, our waiter, was very attentive and accomodating. A great evening out overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great all-around experience. To ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Always a great all-around experience. Tonight was no exception. Want something surprising? How about Corn Flake Gelato for desert?

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing Chefs Tasting Menu

Dined on March 14, 2016

It's an automatic for my wife and I to go with the chefs tasting menu. It's always way a fun culinary adventure. The wait staff are the most knowledgable in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Simple a very fine restaurant

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Matthews is an outstanding place, nothing close anywhere in the Jax area, as far as I know. Creative preparations with quality ingredients. Excellent service. We go there a few times a year when in the Jacksonville area. Always pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

One of the best dinners I've ever had.

Dined on March 12, 2016

Matthew's was on a level above most of my favorite restaurants. I ordered escargot, expecting them to be on a dimpled plate. Instead, it came as a wonderful stew. They have Kobe beef at $19 per ounce!! I passed on that and had beef tenderloin; which was delicious and was only about $37. They have a few Bordeaux on the wine list; which is not on the list at most restaurants I visit. Atmosphere is formal - art work on the walls is modern, furniture is modern, tables are covered with real tablecloths in white. Crowd was 40s & 50s. Dress would be "casual resort."

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

We always enjoy the Chef's Tasting Menu ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

We always enjoy the Chef's Tasting Menu with wine pairings. It is a great opportunity to try new dishes and wines we would never choose. I was a little skeptical about the sweetbreads course at first, but went ahead and tried it anyway. It was wonderful, and not what I expected at all! So thank you for stretching our palates!

food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Somehow always disappoints

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

We have eaten here on several occasions since its opening. In spite of all the hype, we have yet to have a flawless or even satisfactory experience here. Usually it is service-snobby or disinterested or neglectful-forgotten wine, forgotten appetizers ,forgotten desserts or ambient noise. This time started out more promising with a pleasant waiter , an adaptable menu-we are pescetarians. The appetizers came quickly. However we moved to the next table because the air conditioning was blowing strongly on us. When our main courses did not arrive 45 min after appetizers and 30 min after our waiter assured us the food would be right out , I was perturbed. Turns out the kitchen threw away our ticket when we moved tables. We had a 5:30 reservation, no main dishes at 7:10 and a show at 8:00. Food finally arrived and we gobbled it down-it was excellent- but I would have preferred to savor the food rather than gobble it. I know that these things can happen, but we always have had some snafu in the 7-8 times we have eaten here. There are certainly other kitchens in the city that are equally as proficient and provide service that is consistently excellent. I guess we'll give Matthews another vacation and try it again in a year or so- or maybe not.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service Delicious food

Dined on February 20, 2016

Delicious is the one word that comes to mind when speaking of the food at the Matthews; Outstanding is the word I think of when speaking of the service. These are two things I look for and I'm never disappointed when I dine at this restaurant. I usually get the scallops but tried something different, the salmon was to die for and I even sampled my sisters prime rib and it melted in my mouth. I am truly pleased with my experience each and every time I dine there and I highly recommend this to anyone I speak to.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic evening

Dined on February 18, 2016

This was our third visit to matthew's and we weren't disappointed. The sevice was perfect. Every detail was addressed. The food was fantastic, and was very happy they seasonally change the menu. We will surely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Dicey and Pricey

Dined on February 15, 2016

Our two main courses--the fish Francaise and the Veal Scallopini--were both very disappointing. The veal was over salted and tough. The fish was old. For some reason, our server had to comment on our wine choice by saying, "Well, its consistent." Yes, consistency is something this restaurant needs to learn, because if I am going there and paying in the mid $30 for food, I want it to be good AND consistent if I am ever to return. It once was the best restaurant in Jacksonville. Now I would say it is not even in the top 10.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Retired Evecutive

Dined on February 15, 2016

Dining at Matthews is always a "Special" occasion. There is never a time that I have been disappointed. You don't have to ever worry about the service as it is always excellent. The Menus are seasonally adapted and you can expect several pleasant surprises! Their staff is highly seasoned and can specialize their creations.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Jason provides some of the best service, ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Jason provides some of the best service, which adds a fine point on top of the meal. He has excellent knowledge of the menu and wines. Ryan was attentive, polite, and helpful. Sara was not our waitress but took the time to engage us and was very pleasant. Chef Alexander and his kitchen had a brilliant tasting menu paired with wine. It was rich and indulgent just like Valentine's Day. Well worth the bill every time. Looking forward to the next trip, hopefully sitting at the chefs table to see the kitchen in action.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Day 2016

Dined on February 14, 2016

My date and I enjoyed the whole experience. A little pricey but worth every bit for special occasion. Will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Good but a tad bit over priced

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I went for Valentine's Day. It was awesome however I was a little disappointed that they boxed us in to one menu, I really don't do desert or starters but I was forced to order one. My suggestion would be to give customers the option to order from the special menu or have an option from the regular menu which to piece together whatever items they'd like to eat. I also didn't like the private room, I'd much rather sit in the dining area which is a lot more snazzy and exciting. Loved Mathew's but it could use some work. I will definitely go back for happy hour.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service4
value1

Bait and Switch

Dined on February 13, 2016

Booked thorough OpenTable. Clicked the menu button before setting the reservation. Entrees are expensive, but what I expected for a special occasion (Valentines). Upon arrival, found the menu to be fixed and over double our expectations. I felt like a victim of bait and switch and also a victim of gouging.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Not impress at all

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was just ok, honestly nothing to write home about. They should post on their website that there is a pre-set menu for valentines ($89 per person). The service was good, but felt that we were on the clock. A four course dinner with drinks in less than an hour is a bit too fast. My girlfriend still feels guilty about the suggestion of going here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Matthews was AMAZING!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We had the best meal since coming to Jacksonville at Matthew's! The food was impeccable and our server Nick was completely on point. I see ourselves dining here again as soon as possible!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant for special occasions

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Matthew's is the best restaurant in Jacksonville for special occasions. The service is far and away the best and the guest experience is top notch. Overall the value is well worth the price paid.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.