About Matthew's Restaurant

2107 Hendricks Ave.
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Matthew's is one of Jacksonville's most distinctive gourmet restaurants.The refined atmosphere and innovative cuisine have made Matthew's one of North Florida's most awarded restaurants for nearly two decades. For the enjoyment of all our guests, appropriate dress for the dining room is Business Casual (no sneakers, shorts, t-shirts or tattered clothing).

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Alford Place

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 396-9922

Website:
http://www.matthewsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is complimentary

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Matthew's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Food
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
8 More
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Special Occasion
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Jacksonville
Best Food
Jacksonville
Best Service
Jacksonville
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville
Special Occasion
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Special Occasion (58)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Romantic (43)
See All
Notable Wine List (35)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Groups (10)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
988 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall experience is a first class rest ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall experience is a first class restaurant in the heart of Jacksonville.

The service was friendly and attentive.

The food as generally solid. Not inventive but good techniques were showcase.

The only two disappointing were the "risotto" which seen to be made not with arborio. And the other disappointment were the desserts were uninteresting.

When ever I come down to Jacksonville, I will be making a stop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Beautiful dining experience. Prices are ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful dining experience. Prices are a little high for those not familiar with fine dining. The food was incredible and the service spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, reasonably pr ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food, great service, reasonably priced, great restaurant! We've been going there for our Anniversary for the last 3 years and will be back next year.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was recommended to us from our daug ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was recommended to us from our daughter, and we were not disappointed. The menu selection was wonderful, but most of all the service was outstanding. The entire wait staff was knowledgeable and super friendly. We are planning on coming back at least monthly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dining at Matthews for my birthday has b ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Dining at Matthews for my birthday has become an annual tradition, I drive from Atlanta to Jacksonville to celebrate at Matthews. The food is always excellent, with lots of variety and creativity. Thanks again Matthews and our server Sara for another birthday filled with delectable cuisine and top notch service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were celebrating my birthday belatedl ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were celebrating my birthday belatedly and as always, our server made all the difference.

Food was great (which you can count on) and we enjoy being surprised by what souffle they are offering for dessert (vanilla bourbon this time) but Sarah is the reason we keep returning. She always makes us feel comfortable and special all at the same time and is completely engaging and relatable. We've been to our share of high end and stuffy establishments around the country (and globe for that matter) and this is one of the most important aspects of the dining experience for me. We love her and love dining at Matthews with her guiding us!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great, but it was very co ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Everything was great, but it was very cold in there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Tasting menu expertly guided by staff ru ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Tasting menu expertly guided by staff running like clockwork.

Inventive cocktail menu too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For our second visit to Matthew's we opt ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

For our second visit to Matthew's we opted for the tasting menu. I'm so glad we did.

The first course was steak tartare, the only item I was a bit nervous about as its not generally something I want. But it was great - enough meaty texture to make it palatable and the pickled onions were a great bright note.

Second course was scallops with compressed melon and blackberry gastrique. The only course I thought was wanting ever so slightly. I found it a touch salty and my husband would've preferred his scallops cook about 30 seconds longer. But the flavors were nice.

Third course: bucatini al carbonara with sous vide egg. Sublime.

Fourth course: I thought it couldn't get better at this point and I was happily wrong. Short rib braised with slightly Asian leanings - thought I noted coconut milk, cardamom and star anise but I could be wrong. Served with carrot purée and the only broccolini I I've ever liked.

Fifth course: manage (a nutty cheese) with pistachios, dried apricot and bee pollen. It worked and I enjoyed it.

Last of all, frozen key lime pie. A great tart note to end on. I even liked the meringue and I usually don't.

Got the wine pairings and they were all excellent. This was the best meal we've had in about five years.

Service from Cole was also superb. Our table wasn't where I would've picked but after about 5 minutes I no longer cared. Minor quibble in an overall wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We go to Matthews a couple of time a yea ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We go to Matthews a couple of time a year...almost always on our anniversary and we've never been disappointed in any aspect of the dining experience.

The staff is fantastic and the food is always excellent. The only reason they don't get 5 out of 5 for value is because they are pretty pricey but, for a special occasion it's terrific

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was fantastic! I can see why ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was fantastic! I can see why Matthew's is one of the top 10 restaurants in Jacksonville.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I used to be a lot bigger on Mathew's. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I used to be a lot bigger on Mathew's. I've had some great meals there, but this last dinner was kind of a let down in the food department. The service was spot on as usual. Appetizers were banging and my wifes rissoto would have been perfect but for a little heavy handed truffle oil action. Then there was my entree. I got the tuna. It was seared well, which is about the only compliment I can offer. Tuna was served with a nothing sauce and a tomato tart, which was easily the worst thing ever prepared in Mathew's kitchen. Whoever put the puff pastry tomato tart on the menu should be fired, it tasted terrible and wouldn't have gone with the tuna in any case. Overall, it was a pleasent experience, but one bad dish can really ruin a meal

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

My niece was only here for a short while ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My niece was only here for a short while; on her way back to Haiti. She has been volunteering at the Children's Orphanage for the past couple of years and I wanted to treat her to a dinner she would remember. We had the Chef's Tasting Menu and it was fabulous! Holly said the one menu item she was most concerned with (scallops), was the most memorable - outstanding. Our waiter and the entire staff were amazing too. Thank you for helping make a lifetime memory for both of us.

Ann Sheffield/Avondale

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Matthew's is the best place in town. We ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Matthew's is the best place in town. We dine there for all of our special occasions. The food and service are excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A neighborhood gem and at the same time ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A neighborhood gem and at the same time excellent quality of food wine selection and service

As a recent transfer from Atlanta this is a special place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fixed price 6 course meal with wine pair ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fixed price 6 course meal with wine pairings is an amazing value given the extraordinary quality of the food and wine at Matthew's. Have done it twice now, and each time have been surprised.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Remains my favorite meal in Jacksonville ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Remains my favorite meal in Jacksonville. The chefs tasting menu never disappoints and wine pairings are really special.

They also sport best and most knowledgeable waitstaff in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food and service, as always. M ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food and service, as always. My server Sarah is great. I try to eat here whenever I'm in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cuisine was amazing and cocktails we ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The cuisine was amazing and cocktails were spot on.

Attentive and personalized service. Great ambiance and decor throughout the restaurant.

The staff were very thoughtful and kind, as the occasion was our wedding anniversary.

A few menu items were not available which was unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fantastic, wonderful experience. The f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Fantastic, wonderful experience. The food was excellent. The service over top.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

David our waiter did an outstanding job. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

David our waiter did an outstanding job. The food was delicious and appearance was inviting. This was a good dining experience for a romantic or special occasion.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Dropped $300 and still needed to stop at ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Dropped $300 and still needed to stop at McDonalds on way home because I was still hungry. Waiter talked me into ordering the special and then came back a short time later and said it was sold out...this place was not crowded at all. Afterwards ordered a $57 steak and that's all that came on my plate! Date ordered pasta, $21 and was very disappointed with portion size and had to order another meal! Me and my date could have eaten at Outback a half dozen times for what I spent at this dive, nowhere worth the $$$!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We've dined at Matthew's for many years ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We've dined at Matthew's for many years and have never been disappointed. Their very friendly wait staff is professional and knowledgeable of food preparations and wines. Their chefs create some wonderful entrees and desserts . We have also used their private room twice for large parties and they were fantastic. We highly recommend Matthew's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is expensive, but I doubt ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food here is expensive, but I doubt that you will find much better around anywhere in the city. The servers are very attentive and the chefs are very skilled and care about their creations. The Creamsicle desert was as beautiful as it was delectable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best foodie experience in Jacksonville.

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Best foodie experience in Jacksonville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The tenderloin steak with the sautéed sh ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The tenderloin steak with the sautéed shallots was incredible. We had them add some mushrooms, which weren't on the menu and the were very accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there for an anniversary dinner. ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We were there for an anniversary dinner. From the beginning we felt welcomed. The service was very good. My wife's cod and my rack of lamb were outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Food was delicio ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was delicious and innovative. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating Fathers Day (early) ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We were celebrating Fathers Day (early) and are sorry we chose Matthew's. The only hit of the evening were the scallops which were perfectly cooked. The amuse-bouche was a two-bite piece of cheese, the 5 spice overwhelmed the overcooked duck and the fish was boring with too much curry in the sauce. The wine pairing was overpriced with no memorable wine choices. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Expensive...you get what you pay for tho ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Expensive...you get what you pay for though. Definitely the place to go for a special occasion. Service is impeccable, food is wonderful, wine fantastic. Nice ambiance--a bit crowded (other tables, people too close) but not really loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Keep going back because it gets better everytime

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We have been to Matthews at least ten times. Pretty much everytime we have a special occasion or feel like being treated we pick Matthews. The staff has a knack for recognizing what kind of night you want to have: fancy or casual, fine dining to the 9's or top of the line service with casual feel. We finally got the guts to try the chef's tasting menu with the wine pairings and it was well worth it! Looking forward to our next special occasion with Jason and the rest of the waitstaff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jason the Somm

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Jason, our service partner and Somm extraordinaire, made the entire evening for us. Matthew's has a reputation for being formal, which I am not. Jason matched my style and exceeded my expectations. This delightful young man deserves high accolades. A true service professional with humility and integrity.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and romantic

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The restaurant is really nice and the food is delicious. I will caution you though the entree plates are rather pricey, over $30 for a dish with no sides. However, your meal will be outstanding and you will be pleased. I would suggest the Main Diver Scallops with parsnip & apple puree, and smoked bacon apple compote. If you enjoy scallops and bacon, you will need to try this dish. There are only 4 scallops to a plate, but the flavor is outstanding and the scallops were not tough. They have an extensive wine list that will meet your taste desire. My suggestion would be the melon mule in the copper mug. I know this is not a "wine", but the melon mule is delicious. The flavor will make you order another one right after you finish the first one : )

The only draw back was the noise level, but it was tolerable. I think it had to do with one or two parties that were there when my wife and I arrived.

Overall, I would recommend Matthew's Restaurant and make sure to get the scallops!!

Enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Been wanting to go:

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We've wanted to go for years but never made the effort. Big mistake. The food is exceptional , the service refined, and the decor lovely. It appeals to all ages in a refined manner. You can actually talk to your dinner companion without shouting as is the case in so many other restaurants Reservations a must on the weekend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being from Louisiana, we really enjoy cu ...

 
 (Shreveport)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Being from Louisiana, we really enjoy cuisine. Matthews has a wonderful variety with creative flavors. They even present 3 custom salts to pair with your food: Ginger salt, a smoked salt, and truffle salt. The truffle salt was the table favorite. The bread choice of 6 types was coupled with a sweet cream butter with pink salt and extra virgin olive oil. We chose the Chef's Adventure which was 6 courses of tasting portions that changes depending on when you go; it was a fantastic choice. Our group of 4 have varying tastes and ages (28-73), and we all were beyond pleased with our meal. Presentation was lovely, only to be topped by the taste and superb service - Sarah the maitre D' was beyond expectations. We had adult beverages - French Pear Martini, Pain Killer, and Midnight Kiss were custom cocktails as well as some glasses of wine. The ambiance was romantic but not stuffy. I ended the night engaged to my beautiful fiancé, and this was a special place to share the moment. When returning to Jacksonville, I will seek Matthews out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful and delicious food! But prices ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Beautiful and delicious food! But prices were pretty high. I would only come here maybe on special occasions no more than once or twice a year. Staff very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food and Service were outstanding. Will be going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always opt for the tasting menu with win ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Always opt for the tasting menu with wine paring!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Matthew's is the Best!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Never been disappointed dining here; this place is top shelf across the board.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Mother's day

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was Matthew's first ever Mother's Day brunch, so we couldn't miss it.

Normally closed on Sundays and never open except for dinner, both we and the staff had some trouble adjusting: "Good evening" and "how are you tonight" and "good night" when our reservation was at 11 am. Food and service were, as usual, impeccable: escargot (I think it is prepared differently every time we visit), crab cake, sea bass , and shrimp and grits, accompanied by a bottle of Veuve Cliquot. It doesn't get any better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.