Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Matta Donna

4.2
32 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Perfect For:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for Groups
  • Fit for Foodies
Matta Donna is an Italian restaurant and pizzeria in a casual yet elegant atmosphere featuring fresh salads, seafood, pasta dishes, steaks, pizzas and other unique offerings. Owner operated for 5 years.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Pizzeria
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(973) 334-7138
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Off-site catering is available.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Main
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Private lot is available, with additional parking on street.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Restaurant is within walking distance of bus stops and train station.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 32 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.1
service
4.0
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Matta Donna is one of our favorite local restaurants that probably gets overlooked since some may feel it's just a pizza place. While it does have amazing pizza, it offers so much more. Their Specials are always fabulous as well.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 3, 2018

This was our first time at your restaurant. It was a while before we were greeted, even though the restaurant wasn't busy. The service was a little slow, but we were talking, so it wasn't too bad. My dish, citrus tagliatelle, was underwhelming. I don't know if we would come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Loved it! Great spot to go to with friends! We always have a blast and have never had a bad dish.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Cold pizza. Waitress trying to cover up mistake rather then apologize. The wrong wine. And just ok food. Won’t be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 28, 2017

Matta Donna has delicious food with a lovely presentation. Our young waiter was very attentive
and very thorough. The atmosphere was nice and quiet as it was a tuesday night. We will definitely be returning!! loved it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 7, 2017

The resturant first impression was great. We were seated next to the bar, the staff was so loud with the customers at the bar it made for an unpleasant dinner. The food for the value was not worth it. I had eggplant , it was tough. I might go back to sit at the bar and try pizza. But that is about it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Wait staff were friendly and attentive. Food was just average. Prices were reasonable. Not terrible, but all four in our party agreed we wouldn't go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 23, 2017

The menu is extensive and the food was very good. Would definitely go again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 22, 2017

Matts Donna is a great place to dine, the food is great and the people are friendly. I would definitely recommend this restaurant. A+rating

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 4, 2017

The restaurant was closed when we arrived for our confirmed reservation.
Unfortunately we could not and will not ever taste the food, view the decor, rate the service or expience the noise level.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 26, 2017

Overall was good. Chicken was dry but quiet night

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2017

The food at Matta is consistently good. I had the skirt steak the other night and it was grilled perfectly. so delicious. We always love their pizza, it is thin crust and the best around. The grilled asparagus brushetta is great. They will make any dish how you like it. Great find in the Montville, Boonton area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2017

We were a party of 9 and the service was amazing and staff super friendly! Food was typical Italian but good for the price. I would go back if in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2017

Matta Donna never disappoints. Gorgeous clubby-meets-classy craftsman style dining room and bar, fresh seafood, meats and vegetables and interesting pizzas, thin or regular crust. And hands down, the most attentive. team-oriented service in the Boonton area. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2017

Good food ,nice atmosphere ,friendly attentive staff. Fine deserts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2017

Really nice place. Service is wonderful & so is the food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2017

Good experience with food and wine every time we have visited. They are very accommodating in making changes in their menu items for special requests. Staff is very friendly. I would definitely recommend to others.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2016

The food has always been good and the service has improved to match it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent as always. crispy chicken is a great dish. It is very unique

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 26, 2016

Good Italian food, great pizzas, friendly service. Like that you don't have to shout to hear your dining partners. Nice place and we come back often

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 12, 2016

They honored the reservation which was important because I was with my handicapped mother.
The young lady, Alex, who waited on us was very sweet and efficient. She let us pace our meal and didn't rush us.

The food was delicious!

I would recommend this restaurant highly!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 17, 2016

Lovely. However, wish it had gluten free and vegan options on the menu or as specials. Really only need one or two. They happily made a vegan entree for us but it would be nice to have it available and not a special order. Great place

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 28, 2016

Reserved for 4 people for Saturday night. Received a call from the restaurant saying they didn't understand why "the system" allowed the reservation since they were closing on Saturday for Memorial Day. This didn't make any sense to me and left me scrambling to get a reservation on Thursday. (have eaten here once before, so I was required today to fill out review as if I had been there recently.)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2016

My party had4 different pasta dishes and they were all delicious! We went in the early evening when the dinning room was empty which was nice to enjoy the quiet.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 26, 2016

This was our 2nd time to Matta Donna. We took another family with us and we all were very happy with our meals! We started with a few different salads, to which we all enjoyed very much! Dinner was Frutti Di Mare, Eggplant Rollatini, Filet Mignon, Rib Eye Steak, Penne Vodka, Pizza and faffadelle with vodka sauce. Everyone really like their meals! Service was a little on the slow side, but nothing major.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 27, 2016

Excellent: Spaghetti Bolognese
Fair to poor: Chicken Murphy. Little flavor, watery sauce. No even slightly spicy.
Poor: Appetizer of friend mozzarella were tiny squares.
Bread was ice cold.
Ordered bottle of wine. Put on table with no ice bucket.
Server was very friendly. Staff very warm. Provided friendly atmosphere.
Might give it two stars out of four.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2015

I love this restaurant. It's a local place that's easy and comfortable, whether alone or with a large group. Food is great and staff is very welcoming and professional. Matta Donna has the best pork chop around! Hands down!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 20, 2015

We met some friends for the first time at this restaurant, enjoyed the food, and atmosphere greatly. However the wait staff was young and new but efficient. When asked about food choices he was not knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2015

Food was good, menu seemed quite limited. For the overall experience, I thought it a bit overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2015

The fried Risotto balls were great and the fillet was outstanding. The owners mom makes all the deserts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 8, 2014

Great food, great service, very accommodating to our group of five. Very reasonably priced and great atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 16, 2014

this place is very nice but the service was very slow, I am thinking they were short handed, people were very pleasant and food was good great home made deserts.

Report
Helpful