About Matta Donna

304 Myrtle Ave
Boonton, NJ 07005
View Larger Map

Matta Donna is an Italian restaurant and pizzeria in a casual yet elegant atmosphere featuring fresh salads, seafood, pasta dishes, steaks, pizzas and other unique offerings. Owner operated for 5 years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(973) 334-7138

Website:
http://www.mattadonna.com/index.html

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Parking Details:
Private lot is available, with additional parking on street.

Public Transit:
Restaurant is within walking distance of bus stops and train station.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Matta Donna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (4)
romantic (2)
special occasion (2)
See All
fit for foodies (1)
good for groups (1)
kid-friendly (1)
notable wine list (1)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
10 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Never happened to me before

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Reserved for 4 people for Saturday night. Received a call from the restaurant saying they didn't understand why "the system" allowed the reservation since they were closing on Saturday for Memorial Day. This didn't make any sense to me and left me scrambling to get a reservation on Thursday. (have eaten here once before, so I was required today to fill out review as if I had been there recently.)

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Pasta Love

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

My party had4 different pasta dishes and they were all delicious! We went in the early evening when the dinning room was empty which was nice to enjoy the quiet.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Will be back!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

This was our 2nd time to Matta Donna. We took another family with us and we all were very happy with our meals! We started with a few different salads, to which we all enjoyed very much! Dinner was Frutti Di Mare, Eggplant Rollatini, Filet Mignon, Rib Eye Steak, Penne Vodka, Pizza and faffadelle with vodka sauce. Everyone really like their meals! Service was a little on the slow side, but nothing major.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It's a nice restaurant. But food is just okay.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Excellent: Spaghetti Bolognese

Fair to poor: Chicken Murphy. Little flavor, watery sauce. No even slightly spicy.

Poor: Appetizer of friend mozzarella were tiny squares.

Bread was ice cold.

Ordered bottle of wine. Put on table with no ice bucket.

Server was very friendly. Staff very warm. Provided friendly atmosphere.

Might give it two stars out of four.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Matta Donna is a great local go to

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I love this restaurant. It's a local place that's easy and comfortable, whether alone or with a large group. Food is great and staff is very welcoming and professional. Matta Donna has the best pork chop around! Hands down!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great dinning experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

We met some friends for the first time at this restaurant, enjoyed the food, and atmosphere greatly. However the wait staff was young and new but efficient. When asked about food choices he was not knowledgeable.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Food was good, menu seemed quite limited ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2015

Food was good, menu seemed quite limited. For the overall experience, I thought it a bit overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

the restaurant was great with some unique choices.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

The fried Risotto balls were great and the fillet was outstanding. The owners mom makes all the deserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

group dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 9, 2014

Great food, great service, very accommodating to our group of five. Very reasonably priced and great atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Slow service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2014

this place is very nice but the service was very slow, I am thinking they were short handed, people were very pleasant and food was good great home made deserts.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.