Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Mateo

Spanish Heart / Southern Soul from the crew at Vin Rouge.

109 W Chapel Hill St
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 - 10:30 pm; Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 pm - 12:00 am; Saturday 5:00 pm - 12:00 am and Sunday 5:00 - 9:30.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 530-8700

Website:
http://www.mateotapas.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small lot beside our restaurant as well as street parking. There is also a large parking lot located behind Mateo on Ramseur St.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Kelly

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mateo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (95)
Fit for Foodies (72)
Creative Cuisine (70)
See All
Good for a Date (63)
Fun (49)
Hot Spot (46)
Special Occasion (46)
Authentic (42)
Romantic (39)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Bar Seating (37)
Worth the Drive (34)
Local Ingredients (32)
Notable Wine List (30)
Casual (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Tasting Menu (26)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Cozy (20)
People Watching (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Quick Bite (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Great Beer (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Business Meals (9)
Seasonal (9)
Healthy (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Organic (6)
Family Style (5)
Historic (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Scenic View (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vegan (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
1558 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Good
Pretty good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

We always enjoy our dining experience at Mateo. We want to try new taste sensations and this restaurant provides that. There are also some must have favorites on the menu as well.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Splendid helpful service great selection of wine,tapas, and ham. Highly recommend

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Always excellent service, food, and ambiance! Again and again I am blown away by the overall experience at Mateo.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great experience. First time in Durham and we had great meals all around. Excellent server (John) really made the experience even nicer. Smart, personable, helpful.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We love Mateo! The food and service are fantastic!! It has become one of our favorite restaurants in Durham!!!

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Pan con tomate, Bread was burnt. Pulpo portion too small for $15, Molleja overcooked and just a simple salad thrown on top. not impressive...I think the Chef is new. When I visited last year it was great...

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 2, 2017

As usual the food was outstanding. It was louder than I remembered to the point of being unpleasant.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Eat here. Eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The tapas are interesting, not completely authentic as some have at least one ingredient that changes the direction of the dish. Some are also over priced for the portion. However desserts are fantastic and better than the other tapas place in town. It's noisy because it's a large place that gets crowed; over all worth the visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

A really good friendly vibe with a selection of interesting dishes. Fun to share and try a bunch of different dishes. The pate was especially good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food and service! We're treated like royalty. Thank you Mateos!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I had heard good things about Mateo so we stopped on our way back from Mebane. The food was amazing! It's tapas style, so you only get a bite or two of each dish, but almost everything we had was so good! I definitely recommend the huevo diablo and the datil. The service was amazing and the atmosphere was very laid back when we went (5pm on a Thursday evening). I definitely recomment!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 27, 2017

GREAT experience. Second time going. Amazing service and food for a good price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent meal and service with great friends! They never disappoint!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Outstanding choices! There were so many that sounded good, it was hard for us to decide. We went with a couple of the specials and a couple of regular menu items. Everything tasted fabulous! The service was impeccable. There was a thunderstorm and the power went out while we were there. The people in the kitchen continued to complete orders using their cell phone flashlights. They offered everyone a glass of cava while we waited for the power to come back on. Would certainly go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Wide variety of well prepared dishes at quite reasonable prices. It's a younger hip crowd and the volume goes up a lot when restaurant is full. It's fun and different than your everyday dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Only two good dishes out of 10 or 11 ordered by our party of four. Food overly salty and fusion of flavors did not succeed. Service indifferent and poor value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Outstanding food, service and atmosphere for a fun night out

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Authentic, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food. Wonderful experience. Just a little pricey when you have several on your tab with big appetites!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Casual, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Duck rice is so good but very heavy. Expect to sit close to other tables, which takes away from an intimate experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I chose Mateo only because my sons name, Matteo. We spent fathers day weekend together in Raleigh. I've never had Tapas before and didn't know what to expect. My sons are 7 & 8 and foodies like me. Always looking to try different cuisine and love experiencing something new together this was a great choice! Sharing different plates with one another and having that bonding experience is something I'll never forget. Food was off the chart delicious! Very satisfied and will return when I'm in town again!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Whoa. I've wanted to go to Mateo for a long time and, finally, for an anniversary celebration got there. Perhaps if it had been an early anniversary, we could have swung with the loudness of the place, but as we are oldsters, we found it WAY TOO LOUD.
The food was good. I particularly liked the beet salad and pate. I enjoyed the steak as well, but my husband thought it was a bit overpriced for the size. The fried chicken was a disappointment. As for drinks, our old fashioneds were delicious and strong.
While there seemed to be plenty of "servers," there was only one waiter for the second floor dining room and he was BUSY.
Mateo is certainly a hot and hip spot, so a negative review will merely be a blip on its screen, but considering its vaulted reputation, I felt let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Had a chance to stop and have dinner with my college age daughter. After her recent trip to Spain she has become very fond of Spanish cuisine. She loves the Durham area, and this is her favorite place to go. We enjoyed our dinner, and our table was ready within minutes of our reservation. We will go again-

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I paid 10 dollars for an egg and four green beans. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service was horrendous. Took almost an hour to get one bacalao croquette and it was inedibly burned. Fideua was soupy and not even room temperature and the smoked trout was rubbery. Mateo used to be good but has been in a downward slide since 2015 or so, basically ever since Matt Kelly 1) started to focus more on his Italian and Deli endeavors and 2) figured out that he could put crap out on a plate and Durham is so trendy that folks with no taste whatsoever would eat it up. Shame that this place used to be so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Durham has many great restaurants & Mateo is no exception - in my opinion it's the best of them. Great food, great service, the room is amazing... I could go on or you could just make a reservation!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Combination of great food, extremely caring service with such fun ambiance. Already on top of my list whenever I return to Durham!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Lovely place with a funky vibe...exposed brick, the prerequisite chalkboard with specials du jour, servers with tattoos and menus without the last zero on prices. Hits all the right notes without being sarcastic.

It's not a 1st date place in the sense that there are plate mixos that can create hundreds of variations. (What do you want? I don't know; what do you want?) What can be a cute series of miscommunication can quickly spiral into a match of shouting and pointing on par with a Moral Monday at the capitol.

Having meaning conversation was nearly impossible. I thought this might be the case which is why I had reservations @ 8:45. It just got louder as the evening went on though.

Six plates and 4 adult beverages w/ tip set me back $150. If you're cool with having a tasty dinner without having a lot of conversation, this is your place.

And when it comes to parking, may god be with you on your quest.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Pre theatre dinner with my teen grand daughter. Service was very good and friendly. The small plates were exceptionally small and that was disappointing. However, the desserts we shared were good. I thought it was pricey for what you got.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Service was quite slow and didn't manage the pacing of the meal very well. Gluten-free options quite limited and not labeled on the menu. I'm over the hype about this place. Some of the food is really good but the overall experience is not.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great Food, Good Service, Our waiter was spot on with his suggestions of things to try.
Small Plates with diverse choices. Great Value .

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Amazing!!! The best place in Durham hands down. Love to come for birthdays and special occasions--never disappointing! The sangria and chicken croquettes are on point, although so is everything I have ever had there so Mateo all the way :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food is so plain and got both of us sick! You want spend same amount for similar cuisine, go to Counting House or Death&Taxes in Raleigh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Waited 45 minutes to be seated even though we had a reservation. We had 2 servers who both kept forgetting to come to the table. This wasn't shift change so I don't know why we had 2 servers. It took 15 minutes to have someone coming to our table. After another 20 minutes we finally get our drinks. It takes another 15 minutes to have someone take our order. Food comes out. This is when both of our servers all of a sudden change from neglecting our table to constantly checking up, interrupting conversation and being, well, very annoying.

Aside from that, food was fine, nothing amazing, but it wasn't bad.

It was loud AF in there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I loved all of the seafood options on the menu. Each dish was splendid, and if I weren't so full, I would have ordered more. I have never been disappointed at the food or service at Mateo.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Fun to try lots of interesting things. Great service. Expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The food is very good but it is so loud that you literally cannot hear the person sitting right across from you. my husband and I sat on the same side of the table and we still had to talk right into each other's ear,and this was on an ordinary Tuesday night. in addition to terrible acoustics for some reason they feel the need to play the music very loudly, which doesn't help. A very different experience if you sit upstairs but they don't open that unless it's really crowded .

Tags: Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I really enjoyed my time at Mateo's, it was my very first time here, great environment, cocktails, wine and tapas. Server was good but, seems like bartender was having a bad night

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Our Second Visit Was a Big Success. We got to sit downstairs among all the buzz this time. Last time we were ushered up a long flight of stairs to a quiet but uninteresting room. Stay downstairs! We ordered 4 Tapas each and shared. What wonderful flavors each dish had. I loved my choices best. I had the following dishes: Rib eye steak tapas, ribs tapas, charred octopus tapas and the butter lettuce salad. All delicious. I had to take the steak home - 4 tapas maybe too much but I got to enjoy it the next day for lunch so nothing lost. My husband had the fried calamari, the chicken croquets, and the shrimp. We shared the salad which was very generous as were the tapas dishes. The service was outstanding, our waitress was very helpful and pleasant. We are looking forward to going back to Mateo's soon.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.