Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Mateo

Spanish Heart / Southern Soul from the crew at Vin Rouge.

109 W Chapel Hill St
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 - 10:30 pm; Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 pm - 12:00 am; Saturday 5:00 pm - 12:00 am and Sunday 5:00 - 9:30.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 530-8700

Website:
http://www.mateotapas.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small lot beside our restaurant as well as street parking. There is also a large parking lot located behind Mateo on Ramseur St.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Kelly

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mateo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (97)
Fit for Foodies (67)
Creative Cuisine (66)
See All
Good for a Date (65)
Special Occasion (50)
Hot Spot (39)
Bar Seating (38)
Fun (36)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Worth the Drive (36)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Authentic (34)
Romantic (30)
Good for Groups (29)
Tasting Menu (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Local Ingredients (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Casual (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Modern Decor (13)
Cozy (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
People Watching (12)
Family Style (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Business Meals (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Great Beer (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Organic (3)
Spicy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Historic (3)
Private Room (3)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (0)
Sort By:
S
1438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

I have been to Mateo twice now and each time it exceeds my expectations. The service was outstanding both times but our server this past visit, Sarah was just amazing- hip, sweet and attentive but not intrusive. Took a rough morning and made my day with a little extra added kindness and caring. Food was great- chicken croquettes and chicken liver pate are awesome.Will come back every time I'm in Durham. This restaurant tops the list of places to eat in NC for a reason!

Tags: Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

The food at Mateo was, as always, excellent. We dined upstairs, which gave us a larger table and substantially reduced background noise. The service was excellent, present but not hovering. And the food! Don't miss the Brussel sprouts, even if you think you hate them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Mateo is fun to try. But it's so loud that talking with fellow diners is extremely difficult. Also the waitress forgot part of our order and did not check back on us for a very long while.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and service. Mateo did not disappoint and is an excellent special occasion restaurant. Our waiter was patient and willing to answer in detail all of our questions.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We've been here three times, and have had the server choose for us each time. The food is fantastic, the atmosphere is festive, and price is consistent with other restaurants in the area. It's our favorite place to go before the theatre!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very good Tapas Caliente - Calamares, Feature Pollo Croquetas, Patatas Bravas and Brussel Sprouts were excellent, Pollo Frito and the Pork and Shrimp Albondigas just pretty good. Service was outstanding - knowledgeable, warm and attentive, even on a busy Saturday night. I personally don't think the Sangria benefited from putting Cheerwine in it, but I respect the devotion to the NC-Spain fusion approach. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very good menu selections, outstanding wine list, great service. Make a reservation as this is a popular and busy spot.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Booked this for my husband's birthday as we'd never tried it before and it got great reviews. The booking process was perfect and the system generated reminder worked well. I called into the restaurant to let them know that it was my husband's birthday and they returned my call acknowledging that they received the message. Saturday night was packed and I was glad we had requested a table upstairs, where it's a little quieter. Fun variety of tapas and a fairly extensive wine menu. Our server was attentive and prompt with suggestions and everything we tried was good - with our favorite being the dish with the bomba rice and duck. The only disappointing note was that when they brought the dessert to the table, we had ordered two, they had stuck a candle in one of them and that was it. No mention of "Happy Birthday," or comment of that nature. They just set it on the table without a word and left.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The waiter was helpful with info about the food (which we needed). The amount of food on each plate was nice for a group of four to get a good taste. The drinks were great even for the one coffee drinker. Lovely experience. We will definitely return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent food and service! The pate was especially amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I was so excited to try Mateo. I can say I was a bit underwhelmed. The food was OK, a bit too Salty, and overdone.
The drinks were really good, but I will have to try it again, when someone convinces me.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The food was good, not great and the plates were either a wee bit small or a wee bit too pricey. Loved the wine list and atmosphere.
I'll go again.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went here because of all the positive reviews on yelp. Some of the dishes were amazing some were good at best. For the price, size and quality of food I wasn't as excited as those folks from yelp. Very hip place went after 9pm. Felt neglected by wait staff and would have ordered more and drank more had they been O

Tags: Tapas, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Enjoyed some dishes more than others but overall a great experience with knowledgeable staff and delicious cocktails.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I went on friday with my parents and we absolutely love everything! We ordered Pulpo, Gambas, Pato, and Sangria! Delicious! We recommend to reserve with more than a week before!

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

It was a delicious good lovely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

My first time here. Menu can be overwhelming but our server was helpful. Large wine list and if not familiar with wine lingo ask for help. Descriptions are good and bottle we got was good. All food was good some was outstanding. House cheese was fantastic on the bread they served with it.

Great place to try for something different.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Mateo has awesome food and drinks. Perfect for getting together with friends. It's great to be able to order and share tapas instead of having to order a big meal, and the handcrafted drinks cannot be beat.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Mateo's was awesome as usual! Such a great selection of things I would never prepare for myself, which is always nice. A great gluten free selection too!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Outstanding food, and fun to try different things and share. In particular, the pate and the gambas are out of this world; but I've never had a single bite that wasn't fabulous here.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The food and the service were excellent. The ambiance was eclectic, casual and entertaining. The tables were a little close. Its a little distracting for conversations, especially private ones. Even getting in and out seemed slightly uncomfortable. But a definite must try!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Tapas, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

As always Mateo was outstanding. The venison carpaccio was devine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Mateo has been a "hot" restaurant ever since it opened. There's a reason - it's great! We had a group of 6 so tried quite a variety of the tapas plates. Best? The smoked swordfish special (you hope they have it - wow!). Must have? The dates and the patatas bravas and the queso frito. Nothing we had was short of absolutely delicious. The wine list, all Spanish, is great, and so was the wait staff. Very highly recommended! Make a reservation (but you are at Open Table, aren't you?)

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always a great meal at Mateo. Server was excellent, really good with a 10 year old, didn't talk down to her and didn't ignore her.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It has become our out of town get together place post DPAC Broadway shows .
On each and every return visit, it gets better. Great food, friendly and helpful staff just to list it's greatest attributes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Tapas, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Wonderful, authentic cuisine in a lively atmosphere. The small plates (tapas) format allows you to taste a wide variety of food. Some of the dishes like the roasted Brussel sprouts w/ lemon curd, shrimp in wine sauce and oyster mushrooms in truffle butter were fantastic. But be forewarned, portion sizes are tapas (small plates) so with wine, feeding a table of four adds up. We left with a $200 bill (+ 20% tip). However, we had 2 hours of great food, conversation and they have a solid and interesting wine list.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Authentic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The good - We had 6 dishes and 3 of them were so good that they will go on our mental list of the best food we've had. The best thing about Mateo is the food, and it did not disappoint. With that being said, the food is also the only good thing about Mateo. Which brings me to...

The bad - Our server was terrible. After being seated with our menus for 10 minutes, he came to pour us some water and told us to look at the board for the specials and then started to leave. We told him that we'd like to oder some food and he just shrugged and said, "okay". That set the tome for the meal. Every time we finished a dish, he would collect the empty plate and then leave. We would have to wave him over and tell him that we wanted to order another dish. Given that the dishes are so very small that some of them are only four bites of food, it should be obvious that we want to order another one when we finish. But no, during the entire meal he never once asked if we wanted to order anything. Six dishes and we had to call him over and ask to order every time. He also told us nothing about the specials, the menu, the drink menu, nothing.

So yes, the 3 amazing dishes we had were amazing, but the other three we had were just okay and the service was so poor that we will not be back. Given the amazing food scene in the Triangle, you can find just as good food at other places where you don't have to put up with terrible service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was great (lots of selection) but, they brought us two things we didn't order. One they took back and put on another table (yikes!), and the other we started eating thinking it was a dish we ordered. Thankfully they didn't charge us for that one. The waiter (Larry) was great, funny guy. Prices were too high, luckily we had a gift certificate (found out later that's normal for tapas). Finally, the noise level was too high (music too loud) I had to lean across the table to hear what my husband was saying.

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I loved the swordfish. The sweet potato hand pie was off the charts!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Atmosphere and food were excellent. The dishes were delicious and entertaining. A couple of the small plates were not quite as good as others, The waitress not as communicative as she could have been about describing the food. Since the dishes are complex, it would have helped to understand a little more about what we were ordering.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Came to Mateo to celebrate a Birthday all the way from Raleigh. Had a great time and it was completely worth our 30+ min drive. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful with the menu. We look forward to coming back soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Always enjoy Mateo. I have been to Spain 7 times. Food is authentic but often with a twist such as the warm Tortilla Espanol. Look forward to returning.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Disabled Access, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I've now had two meals at Mateo and nothing about the second outing tainted my initial opinion - this is a wonderful restaurant. The menu is fun to explore and the wait staff was very knowledgeable during both visits. The food is stellar and eclectic. Foodies will flock here for some time to come. Highly recommend trying the nightly specials.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We waited for over and hour for a o Karol once we were seated. We asked where it was and there didn't seem to be any emergency.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wonderful as always! We sat upstairs and I much preferred that experience, quieter with a lovely ambiance. Highly recommend the ensalada marisco and the chicken croquettes -- always incredible.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Best Tapas food in Triangle Area , My Favourite Restaurant in Durham ..

Tags: Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Love the food. books up quickly, so make a reservation. but it is noisy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

A really fun place to eat and the food is delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Service was very poor. Our server was not exactly friendly and agreeable to begin with, but when we told her my wife had an onion allergy she made us feel like more of an imposition than a welcome customer. Only visited the take maybe 6-7 times in the almost 2 hours we were there. I know they had food and drink runners, but that's to allow servers to give their tables more attention not less. No one asked how anything was. The food was decent, but definitely sub par from what I was expecting, given price and reputation. We ordered about 8 different items, and a common theme was that they had good intentions but either did not think it through or it was poorly executed. All minor details, like wiping the edge of a plate, covering the entire plate of otherwise delicious venison carpaccio with a pool of overly bitter olive oil instead of using less or a higher grade olive oil, stating that their food is perfectly seasoned through a lack of salt and pepper shakers on the tables, then getting food that is lacking in any salt (not under salted, but entire lack of). Not placing a listed accompaniment to a dish on a plate, putting a hot espresso drink in a glass instead of ceramic cup making it difficult for someone with kitchen hands to hold due to the heat of the glass. I honestly don't remember it all. I'm not trying to sound snooty or picky, I'm a chef of 20 years and hate picky reviews myself, but it was little details where a restaurant up for a James beard award, and where I'm spending over a hundred dollars on dinner for two, should not drop the ball.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a great meal at Mateo on 2/15 prior to seeing a show at DPAC. The food was outstanding. We shared small plates that consisted of dates stuffed with goat cheese and wrapped in bacon, roasted brussel sprouts, beet salad, bomba rice with duck, and the spare ribs in pepper jelly. All were fantastic with our favorite being the bomba rice. The restaurant is very popular, so reservations are a must unless you want to take a chance of snagging a spot at the bar. The night we were there, the bar was full when we arrived at 6:30. Service was excellent and our server helped us with a couple of selections. The only negative to Mateo is that the noise level is extremely loud. It took us a while to adjust to the high level of noise so that we could carry on a conversation. Other than that, this place rocks!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.