Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Mateo

Spanish Heart / Southern Soul from the crew at Vin Rouge.

109 W Chapel Hill St
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 - 10:30 pm; Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 pm - 12:00 am; Saturday 5:00 pm - 12:00 am and Sunday 5:00 - 9:30.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 530-8700

Website:
http://www.mateotapas.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small lot beside our restaurant as well as street parking. There is also a large parking lot located behind Mateo on Ramseur St.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Kelly

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mateo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (104)
Good for a Date (73)
Creative Cuisine (68)
See All
Fit for Foodies (67)
Special Occasion (55)
Hot Spot (46)
Bar Seating (42)
Fun (42)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Worth the Drive (37)
Authentic (37)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Romantic (34)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Groups (28)
Tasting Menu (27)
Local Ingredients (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Casual (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Cozy (17)
Business Meals (12)
Modern Decor (12)
People Watching (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Family Style (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Seasonal (7)
Great Beer (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Healthy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Historic (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
1470 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 20 hours ago

The shrimp, potatoes, asparagus and banana pudding were all yummy. All were well-prepared and presented beautifully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Great service. Overall, one of our favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent daily menu of tapas, we tried several and all were great. The classic gin & tonic cocktail was substantial and very tasty. A little pricey but we really enjoyed our meal and the overall experience and it's an easy couple of block walk to DPAC.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, People Watching, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

My 3rd visit from Greensboro. Has been a go-to place in Durham. I like small plate restaurants and try them in most cities. Food is good quality. However, the seasoning is very bland - maybe it's the land of sweet tea, but gambas should be a party in your mouth. The bravas were ok- but no kick & I personally prefer a crisper outside vs potatoey texture.


Great service & I will be back knowing what to expect, tho I am looking for tapas diners & recommendations.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome! Completely packed on a Tuesday night two days after Easter. What's that tell you?

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

This was my second visit and it did not disappoint. The food is great as well as the service. If traveling to Durham, be sure to make a reservation prior to your arrival.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Every time I go, the food has been better than the previous. Amazing.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Mateo is an excellent, genuine tapas restaurant that happens to be located in Durham, NC. The food was excellent, the atmosphere lively. Great find.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had a wonderful evening at Mateo. The food was absolutely delicious. All the dishes were of refined taste, creative, and flavorful. Our server was great, very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. It made our special occasion quite memorable. Highly recommend!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 12, 2017

It was great over all, service was tight food amazing as expected from Matt.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Tapas, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 12, 2017

This was my third time to host an early evening meal with friends at Mateos. This location was very disappointing the service was very slow, the food was of poor quality, the food was not authentic Spanish fare. The food was poorly prepared and when we requested a change, we were told that is the way Mr. Kelly wanted it prepared.

Are wait person tried but seem caught between the perceptions of the owner and chef and the needs and desires of the client. I will not be returning to pay high prices for the owners arrogance and the poor quality of food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Bad food and bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Buyer beware - don't follow the sheep into this over priced under flavor rip off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fabulous as always. Wonderful tapas and drinks. Had a great time!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Gets better each visit. Outstanding food, super friendly staff. Makes us feel like FAMILY!
Suzanne our special server, friend; we adore her.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food and attentive service. Ordered crawfish and then realized that I don't know how to properly eat crawfish.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Timely seating. The service was friendly and attentive, but not over done. The food was top notch as always. Downstairs seating is preferred.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Complex flavors, perfect service, surprisingly good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Too loud. Service was excellent. Food was not as good as usual. Perhaps I ordered the wrong things.

This place is always rocking. Wish they could figure out a way to allow more privacy and less noise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Restaurant service was good and ambiance was nice. Server was attentive but could have done a better job at explaining specials and other items on the menu. The food was good-not exceptional but good. I'd give it a 3.5 out of 5. We ordered around 12 different items and maybe 2 were really memorable. We took my parents who were in town. Ambiance is great for a nice dinner. We had an early reservation on a Saturday night. Book early as it does get full. Great bar scene with a lot of people. Spanish wines and beers is a nice touch.

PS. There is an upstairs section that we were seated in. My mother had a few issues going up the stairs.

Tags: Tapas, , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 30, 2017

we recently went with a group of 6 for lunch on a weekday. Service was great, and food also quite good. the egg, ribs were fabulous and the other tapas were quite good.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Mateo's is our favorite tapas restaurant! We live about two hours away, but it's our go-to place whenever we get the chance to visit Durham, particularly for seeing shows at DPAC. The food is amazing --creative and delicious. Love the ambiance -- chic, celebratory, vibrant. The service is always outstanding with attentive staff who have great information to recommend a wine or describe the specials. Definitely try the Huevos Diablo and Chicken Croquettas!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Still a favorite in Durham. It's worth the drive to be impressed by the service and unique plates.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Casual, Tapas, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Superb service! Amazing food! Cocktails to die for! All around wonderful experience. We will return often!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Fantastic food and a lively yet relaxed atmosphere. Easy to understand menu, if you are new to tapas. Every dish was exquisite and the drinks were perfect. Highly recommended!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fun, Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent Spanish wine list.
Excellent service and staff generally.
One of Durham's gems.
BUT .. gets very noisy quickly, when full.
And BUT .. really not so good at all now for vegetarians. Vege tapas choices poor/limited.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food is really spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great food and service....only wish the drinks would have come out faster. Ordered drinks first, first round came out after appetizers. Placed second drink order with entrees, drinks arrived just in time for dessert. Otherwise great food and definitely plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The food and service was amazing! I always enjoy sharing the experience with friends.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I have been to Mateo twice now and each time it exceeds my expectations. The service was outstanding both times but our server this past visit, Sarah was just amazing- hip, sweet and attentive but not intrusive. Took a rough morning and made my day with a little extra added kindness and caring. Food was great- chicken croquettes and chicken liver pate are awesome.Will come back every time I'm in Durham. This restaurant tops the list of places to eat in NC for a reason!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food at Mateo was, as always, excellent. We dined upstairs, which gave us a larger table and substantially reduced background noise. The service was excellent, present but not hovering. And the food! Don't miss the Brussel sprouts, even if you think you hate them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 20, 2017

My husband got sick we think from sauce with calamari

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Mateo is fun to try. But it's so loud that talking with fellow diners is extremely difficult. Also the waitress forgot part of our order and did not check back on us for a very long while.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food and service. Mateo did not disappoint and is an excellent special occasion restaurant. Our waiter was patient and willing to answer in detail all of our questions.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We've been here three times, and have had the server choose for us each time. The food is fantastic, the atmosphere is festive, and price is consistent with other restaurants in the area. It's our favorite place to go before the theatre!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I have been to Mateo's many times. A great place for a date as it is tapas style and the plates are always changing and provide good talking points! The decor is extremely unique - somewhat of a clash between traditional and modern. Very fun lighting as well. They always have a very diverse and long list of specials so you will always have something new to choose from.

Prices are very reasonable for a nice night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very good Tapas Caliente - Calamares, Feature Pollo Croquetas, Patatas Bravas and Brussel Sprouts were excellent, Pollo Frito and the Pork and Shrimp Albondigas just pretty good. Service was outstanding - knowledgeable, warm and attentive, even on a busy Saturday night. I personally don't think the Sangria benefited from putting Cheerwine in it, but I respect the devotion to the NC-Spain fusion approach. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very good menu selections, outstanding wine list, great service. Make a reservation as this is a popular and busy spot.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Booked this for my husband's birthday as we'd never tried it before and it got great reviews. The booking process was perfect and the system generated reminder worked well. I called into the restaurant to let them know that it was my husband's birthday and they returned my call acknowledging that they received the message. Saturday night was packed and I was glad we had requested a table upstairs, where it's a little quieter. Fun variety of tapas and a fairly extensive wine menu. Our server was attentive and prompt with suggestions and everything we tried was good - with our favorite being the dish with the bomba rice and duck. The only disappointing note was that when they brought the dessert to the table, we had ordered two, they had stuck a candle in one of them and that was it. No mention of "Happy Birthday," or comment of that nature. They just set it on the table without a word and left.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The waiter was helpful with info about the food (which we needed). The amount of food on each plate was nice for a group of four to get a good taste. The drinks were great even for the one coffee drinker. Lovely experience. We will definitely return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.