Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Mateo

Spanish Heart / Southern Soul from the crew at Vin Rouge.

109 W Chapel Hill St
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 - 10:30 pm; Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 pm - 12:00 am; Saturday 5:00 pm - 12:00 am and Sunday 5:00 - 9:30.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 530-8700

Website:
http://www.mateotapas.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small lot beside our restaurant as well as street parking. There is also a large parking lot located behind Mateo on Ramseur St.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Kelly

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mateo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (88)
Fit for Foodies (73)
Creative Cuisine (63)
See All
Good for a Date (57)
Fun (45)
Bar Seating (44)
Hot Spot (42)
Special Occasion (41)
Authentic (40)
Worth the Drive (38)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Notable Wine List (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Romantic (32)
Casual (29)
Local Ingredients (29)
Tasting Menu (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
People Watching (16)
Cozy (15)
Late-night Find (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Seasonal (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Business Meals (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great Beer (4)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Spicy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

It was a birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

Had several dishes. Service was great, prices higher than one would expect for tapas. Tapas were very good. Had a gin and tonic drink that was excellent. My niece re ommended and we were glad we went. Will return when back in the area.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Ok, in short, this place is incredible! The most imaginative and delicious food in the area. So much to choose from, you'll want to go with a large group so you can get a taste of everything. Great service too. Make a reservation well in advance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

First time eating upstairs and we loved it. Very cool atmosphere. Also first time getting dessert and it did not disappoint. Banana pudding was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Totally awesome experience (as per usual) at Mateo! We celebrated our anniversary here and couldn't have been more pleased. Our server was great and had some spot on recommendations - the cobia crudo special was fantastic!! Seriously, I wanted another for dessert. Also, the bone marrow is just sublime - melt in your mouth perfection. Everything was spaced out nicely and we never lacked for something to nibble on. My gin & tonic was delicious & the whole atmosphere was exactly what we like for a date night. We were seated upstairs which is considerably more quite than down but we've sat at the bar a few times before too and love the lively atmosphere. All in all, one of our favorite places in the triangle and we would recommend Mateo to anyone.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food and ambiance was fantastic. Loved the croquettes (other whose known as "Chicken crack balls". You have to order at least 2 of those. Also loved the Marrow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

A fantastic tapas restaurant with a unique panoply of flavors. Everything was prepared perfectly. The servers were considerate and knowledgeable about their rich menu. A fun atmosphere, albeit a bit tight and loud. It was a bit pricey.

We ordered 5 tapas and 2 glasses of wine- $125

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

We've been to Mateo many time, its fantastic every time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great food, great place! Giselle our server was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great service. They were out of the special they never took off the board. Although all of the plates we had were good, nothing blew our minds. Drinks were good. It's always on the "best of" lists so I'm glad I've crossed it off the list and am no longer curious. I doubt that I'll go back though.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Had a reservation for four on Sunday night. When we arrived we were given a high top table in the bar area. When we asked if we could wait for a table we were told no. Approximately 10 mins later a table for four opened. We asked to be seated at a regular table but it was given to people who came later. Food was decent but the service...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Delicious, different menu. High quality ingredients and competent and friendly staff. Overall a great experience! Will go again soon!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Too loud!!! Even upstairs.

Awesome food and service, just way too much noise. Good value too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I love everything about this place. Food, ambiance, service--its all great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

I lived in Spain for many years and Mateo always helps me feed my Spanish food cravings. The tapas are incredible. Great wine selection. I highly recommend

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Lackluster meal. We had high hopes for Mateo but really felt let down. The food was fresh and well presented but fell flat when it came to flavor. It was, well, rather boring. We had about 6 dishes and all were forgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food. arrived quickly and really enjoyed everything we ordered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had been wanting to try Mateo for the past year and finally got around to it. Had I read recent reviews before making a reservation, I would have gone elsewhere.

While the staff is friendly and welcoming, the noise level is extremely high and the kitchen is ridiculously slow. If you are over 40 or have any hearing issues, conversation will be difficult without shouting.

The noise would have been tolerable if the kitchen was organized enough to send more than one dish at a time to our table of 4. We were not sharing and we got to take turns watching each other eat.

In addition to the food coming out one plate at a time, some of the dishes contained almost nothing. The chicken croquets that were on special probably had about 1 tablespoon of chicken between all of them.

I understand the concept of tapas being small plates... But I found the food to be extremely overpriced and mediocre. We left hungry and disappointed.

If you want to experience a fun, trendy place, go to Mateo. Do not go if you are starving. Expect to spend over $100 for 2 people with minimal food and two drinks a piece. I would not recommend Mateo if you are in a hurry to get to a show at DPAC as it is likely that half of your party will have gotten no food by the time you need to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent food and service. It's not cheap, but it's the worth the cost. The main course was great, but the desert was resplendent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I had made an error in making the reservation for two, not three, an error I did not know to be mine. Despite it being their busiest evening of the week - 100+ reservations that evening alone- the staff graciously accommodated our needs. Our server was excellent-never intrusive yet always pouring, checking in, removing dishes. Food - fantastic. We have yet to have a poorly prepared dish. I think we will always ask to be seated upstairs as the noise level was much lower than in the ground level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food, service excellent. Not my first visit and the food was superb as usual Lovely vintage space complete with a tin ceiling and other hard surfaces....which means the noise level is high even in regular circumstances. Management needs to monitor the young bartenders tendency to raise the sound system. It may work for the bar but not the diners, particularly on a Sunday night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Slightly disappointed with the "shrimp and grits" experience, which included about 4 shrimp and some type of relish for $16. I felt the marrow's braised beef was a bit overdone and tough, but it still tasted great. Other items were very good.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I was very disappointed have been several times with much better service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (County Durham)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great food! Our server gave us excellent recommendations. We sat upstairs which was quieter than downstairs but still a great ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Loved Mateo! We shared the potatoes, fried rice, clams, marlow, fried chicken and deviled eggs. Everything was delicious. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 16, 2017

I'm crazy about this place. Everything food wise was impeccable. My date and I both had Martinis that were less than, but probably should have went with beer or wine with such an extensive list. Will continue to dine in and talk this place up!

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Good food, wine, knowledgeable servers, we won't hesitate to return.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 15, 2017

My wife and I had a lovely experience at Mateo! While we had a tough time finding someone to take a drink order at the bar (which was due to an understaffed bar, not the bartender's character), eventually we were waited on and really enjoyed the inventive cocktails on the menu. Later, we were seated and had a bunch of fun picking from the Tapas menu; I liked that they had some traditional Tapas options and my wife liked that there were some surprises. We were comfortably full after 2 drinks each and 6 tapas between the two of us. The ambiance is great, even if everybody is a little smushed together!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great place, I have been there many times and is one of my favorites

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Mateo never disappoints! Great cocktails, excellent food, attentive service make an evening here always special. This time the evening special of green pea sprouts was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had a 5 adult group. Many entrees ordered; ordered a few twice. Great service. Entree timing to table perfect. Dined upstairs; less noisy. Fantastic entrees and desserts. Waiter gave great recommendations - spot on!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

As always, Mateo offers spectacular food, a vibrant ambiance and the best selection of Spanish wines and sherries in the Triangle.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We ate upstairs and the noise level was considerably lower than downstairs. Awesome.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Excellent as always! Don't change a thing........................ No need to demand 50 characters

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Rather undewhelming. The food largely lacked flavor and was overpriced for the amount that was served.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Second time here. This time the food was just as great as the first time, though we tried all new things. The morcilla sausage and corn pudding was one of the best things I've ever eaten. The pork rinds (I'm struggling to spell the Spanish name) were a showstopper. They're huge and crackle as you eat them. I plan on going back, having a few beers and munching on some chicharrones at the bar.
Service was lacking. Even with a reservation we were shown to the bar to wait for a table. We were seated about ten minutes after our reservation, and then sat at the table for a little more than five minutes before being spoken to. A few minutes after that we finally received water and spoke to our server for the night. After asking if we had been there, she said she wouldn't explain the specials. (We ended up ordering an Asian inspired dish by accident because of this, still good, but we wanted Spanish flavors). We saw her twice more after ordering our first round.
Upstairs was spacious and quiet compared to the tiny and loud downstairs dining room. Perfect for conversation.
Definitely will be back, maybe one day I'll receive more than just okay service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

From start to finish this was one of the best dining experiences we've ever had. Small plate service is a particular favorite of ours anyway, but this was just outstanding. Each dish was carefully thought out and and beautifully plated on stoneware that only added to the composition of the dish. Each bite was pleasantly surprising, the flavors were unique with depth and developed beautifully as you ate. John, our server, was hands down the best service we've had to date. I don't know what to say about him to do him justice, you'll have to check him out for yourself. Overall the whole experience was a delight from the food to the ambiance, just like Mateo's sister restaurant Mother and Sons. If there were more stars to give they both would get them. Matt Kelly knows how to create a space and food that together makes for a dining experience you won't soon forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fantastic Food and fabulous service. We dined last Saturday evening and it was well worth the 25 minute wait. The service was impeccable. The menu had something for every ones palate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I am torn over MAteo. The mixed drink and beer selction quality is only so so. On the other hand, the wine list is great. The food is the same. Some items are fantastic and others are very mediocre. Amounts vary from generous, to ridiculously small. That being said, I always enjoy going back.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.