About Mateo

109 W Chapel Hill St
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Spanish Heart / Southern Soul from the crew at Vin Rouge.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 - 10:30 pm; Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 pm - 12:00 am; Saturday 5:00 pm - 12:00 am and Sunday 5:00 - 9:30.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 530-8700

Website:
http://www.mateotapas.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small lot beside our restaurant as well as street parking. There is also a large parking lot located behind Mateo on Ramseur St.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Kelly

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Mateo
Huevos Diablos
Calamari
Bone Marrow With Braised Shortrib
Almejas Pequeñas
Boquerones
Datil
Patatas Bravas
Morcilla
Iberico
Fideuá
Quesos Y Heuvos
Bistec
Tunabelly Toast
Sweet Potato Cheesecake
Clams
Desserts: Churros With Chocolate Sauce, Fig Bread Pudding,  Crema Catalan
Kale Salad
Jamon Sampler
Ensalada De Mariscos
Pollo A La Ajillo
Chicken Fried Chicken
Shrimp And Grits With Chorizo Sausage And Green Chile Cheese Grits
Potato Nest With Chorizo, Chili And Egg
Pork Cheek Canneloni
Sour dough toast with fresh tomato spread
Tortilla Espanola
Beet Salad

Mateo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Hot Spot
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
5 More
Best Overall
Durham
Best Food
Durham
Best Service
Durham
Fit for Foodies
Durham
Most Booked
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

Fit for Foodies (158)
Hot Spot (103)
Special Occasion (101)
See All
Notable Wine List (70)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Good for Groups (66)
Vibrant Bar Scene (53)
Romantic (52)
Tapas (24)
Late-night Find (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Fun (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Scenic View (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Casual (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Cozy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Spicy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Highly recommend! Great food..and varie ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 11 hours ago

Highly recommend! Great food..and variety of foods. Our waitress was amazing, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a delightful time celebrating our ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a delightful time celebrating our wedding anniversary at Mateo. Every single tapas we ordered was tasty, flavorful, delicious and memorable. We were also pleasantly surprised there is an upstairs section. We enjoyed the space and its ambience. We'll be back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, People Watching, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had seen great reviews of this restaur ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

I had seen great reviews of this restaurant in magazines over the past couple of years and we finally went. We LOVED, loved it!! All the selections we chose were fantastic - great in flavor, presentation and unique! I was also really glad to see that their glass of wine prices were super reasonable and were we still proper pours. I cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to celebrate our aniversary and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

We went to celebrate our aniversary and had a great experience, food was delicious and servise extraordinary. We will be back soon , we want to try everything intge menu!!!! We love so fay all that we try. For me the best was the morcilla.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was tasty but not exceptional. ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was tasty but not exceptional. The restaurant was too noisy to hear the waiter and to enjoy any kind of dinner conversation. The waiter did not explain the specials but referred us to a dimly lit board that was difficult to read and did not have the prices next to them.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Food has great flavor and most dishes ar ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food has great flavor and most dishes are worth the price. Incredible ambience. My only criticism is the level of salt and oil in the food. You don't necessarily notice it while eating but I always leave with some degree of indigestion.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

One of my favorite restaurants in the Tr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in the Triangle! Creative dishes, friendly service & lovely atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bartender made great recommendations to ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Bartender made great recommendations to me, first time in and dining alone, will return on a future business trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had the lunch special. Also the chic ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We had the lunch special. Also the chicken sandwich with a salad. Patatas bravas , cheese croquettes and tomato bread was the lunch special. Though you can pick two things from the menu and you get the tomato bread. Excellent lunch to share plus a great value.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pretty spectacular dishes. The okra with ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Pretty spectacular dishes. The okra with chorizo ranch was not fried, not pickled, and surprisingly delicious. Had never seen it prepared like that and now I want to try to make it at home. The State Bird (gin and tonic) was great also. Everything was delicious. Great job!

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved everything about the place except ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Loved everything about the place except it was too loud - energetic I can handle, but it was too loud for any conversation. Have heard this same complaint from friends as well ... Some softer surfaces in the restaurant could help dampen sound

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

This was our second time dinning at Mate ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was our second time dinning at Mateo. I made reservations several weeks in advanced only to be seated by the kitchen door. Not ideal. and there were open tables elsewhere they wouldn't seat us at. Our waiter was curt, not friendly & seemed to be bothered to accommodate us. Disappointing for sure... However the food was as delicious as our first visit. In future we'll request a table & pleasant wait staff if we are to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Mateo is always impressive.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Mateo is always impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Mateo but it is very loud, so if yo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Love Mateo but it is very loud, so if you want to have a good conversation you probably won't be able to hear across the table. That being said the food is always tasty.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food and service - make reserv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food and service - make reservations several days ahead - they are very busy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Really fun menu, with lots of interestin ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Really fun menu, with lots of interesting options. Everything was very, very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great service from the host stand, barst ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great service from the host stand, barstaff and front of house. Food was excellent! Recommend the duck rice (much better name on the menu)!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Romantic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mateo continues to be one of my requisit ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Mateo continues to be one of my requisite venues for special occasions. The food, service, and staff are all wonderful.

This time I was struck by the high noise level, almost at a distracting level, which I would not say is "energetic" but almost a turn off for conversing (we had a table of 6 people).

I look forward to returning, likely not at peak dinner time with a party of 6.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just a wonderful experience. Wonderful g ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Just a wonderful experience. Wonderful gluten free options. Carolina Fried Rice dish may have been one of the most delicious foods ever eaten. Thank you!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everything the great but the seating was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

everything the great but the seating was extremely uncomfortable. We would have stayed longer and order more bottles of wine and dessert if it was a comfortable place to sit and enjoy ourselves. For the service, prices, ambiance, and quality of food, I would have expected more than the flimsy uncomfortable seating.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was the first trip to Mateo for my ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was the first trip to Mateo for my wife and I and it will not be our last. Mateo is a treat and the dishes were fantastic. Hats off to the chef!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a good place to eat, would not say ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It is a good place to eat, would not say is real spanish cusine but is good

Tags: Late-night Find, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Mateo is a wonderful place, highly recom ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Mateo is a wonderful place, highly recommended. The food is expensive, so it is probably best for special occasions, but everything we had was delicious and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Romantic, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mateo seems to have experienced a mild d ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Mateo seems to have experienced a mild decline in flavor quality--maybe just an off night. Some of the dishes lacked balance. Examples of such dishes are the charred octopus, and a foie gras special they offered. Service was outstanding. I'm not holding this night against Mateo. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Consistently innovative farm to table me ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Consistently innovative farm to table menu. Never disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Spicy, Paleo Friendly, Tapas, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service, great food and reasonably ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great service, great food and reasonably priced for our party of six. Great bar drinks. What's not to love about this gem?!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Super place invective menu would like a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Super place invective menu would like a few more vegetarian options

Tags: Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience. Food was deli ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We had a great experience. Food was delicious, good size portions , attentive service, and reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mateo's is my favorite Italian returant! ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Mateo's is my favorite Italian returant! The food is authentic and absolutely incredible. I have had many entrees there over the years, and each is to die for!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Nice ambiance. Service is a bit spotty. ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Nice ambiance. Service is a bit spotty. We have been to other Tapas restaurants around the country. Food was good, but the Tapas selection was a bit disappointing and not the usual traditional tapas. We got into a nice conversation with the couple sitting next to us and ended up having a great time! It is a good restaurant but not our first choice for Tapas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Mateo was recommended to us by friends w ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Mateo was recommended to us by friends who live in the area. It did not disappoint. We had several different small plates, the deviled eggs, the tomato salad, the octopus, the chicken croquettes, one of the mixed seafood items, and the small cheese plate. The only plate to disappoint us was the chicken croquettes and we live in south Florida where the croquettes are hard to beat. We loved their drink menu as well. The sweet tea sangria was perfect for a summer evening in N.C. Our waitress was lovely and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The bone marrow is delicious. Do bullit ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The bone marrow is delicious. Do bullit whiskey luge

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food, ambiance and service are alway ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food, ambiance and service are always stellar. The flavors are consistently rich and complex, yet balanced. This is a high-value dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere is great. Server was a bit we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Atmosphere is great. Server was a bit weird and food was just so-so. Had Stanbury tonight and THAT is where it's at food wise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

My husband and I love this restaurant an ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My husband and I love this restaurant and often sit at the bar to enjoy a drink and order food but we made a reservation so that we could dine at a table here for the 1st time. Our server was incredible and made the most delicious wine recommendation that I had 2 glasses when I had originally planned on one. We love the food and every time we go we order 4 - 6 small plates to share which we did this time. The atmosphere was energetic as usual which we love. The only thing I would change would be the barstools and high table stools as they are not the most comfortable seats.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality and uniqueness of the food w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The quality and uniqueness of the food was astounding. My date and I went in with high expectations and the service, ambiance and food blew away those expectations. In a perfect world, I'd eat at Mateo a few times a week. Unbelievable!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wide variety of interesting and delici ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A wide variety of interesting and delicious tapas are served by attentive servers. The only negative was the high noise level which made talking across the table more challenging than necessary.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorite restaurants in Durham ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Durham. It serves excellent food in an unassuming but charming manner with waitstaff that are attentive, knowledgeable, and nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Some of the most inventive dishes in the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Some of the most inventive dishes in the Triangle.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

First time here, came for family birthda ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First time here, came for family birthday celebration for ages 18, 26, and 84. Great service, fab food and everyone managed to find something they liked. It was a bit of a stretch for the 84yo, but all in all a good time. Only issue was the noise level was a bit much, making it difficult to hear the waitress.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.