Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Mateo

Spanish Heart / Southern Soul from the crew at Vin Rouge.

109 W Chapel Hill St
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 - 10:30 pm; Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 pm - 12:00 am; Saturday 5:00 pm - 12:00 am and Sunday 5:00 - 9:30.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 530-8700

Website:
http://www.mateotapas.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small lot beside our restaurant as well as street parking. There is also a large parking lot located behind Mateo on Ramseur St.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Kelly

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mateo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (92)
Fit for Foodies (65)
Good for a Date (60)
See All
Creative Cuisine (57)
Pre/post Theatre (43)
Bar Seating (42)
Special Occasion (41)
Fun (40)
Worth the Drive (38)
Hot Spot (33)
Authentic (32)
Romantic (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Casual (26)
Tasting Menu (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Local Ingredients (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
People Watching (17)
Happy Hour (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Cozy (10)
Business Meals (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Quick Bite (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Seasonal (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Great Beer (4)
Spicy (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Live Music (1)
Sort by
S
1671 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

FANTASTIC! We have made it a regular pre-concert stop when we attend events at DPAC. Love this place! It's fun and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy, Organic, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

When we want a place we can count on for a special occasion, Mateo is one of our top Durham choices. Consistently excellent food, interesting and creative specials, tasty beverage options.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We loved all our dishes and they had many gluten free options to choose from! Food was delicious, only downside is that it can get pretty loud making it hard to have a conversation.

Tags: Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Inventive food in a charming location, but if cost is a consideration, you’d better look elsewhere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

I've been coming to Mateo for years, and I was a bit disappointed in the food this time, mainly because most of it was room temperature (except for the sauteed pea shoots, which were delicious). The people and the wine were lovely, as always. This is an expensive place to have dinner, though, and the food definitely needs to be exceptional (and hot!) for me to keep coming back. I hope we were just there on an off-night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 15, 2017

We ordered:
~ medjool dates w/goat cheese and country ham - addictive.
~ Also the pork ribs, espelette pepper jelly and they were pretty unexciting.
~ Additionally ordered the NC littleneck clams, sherry, garlic, boiled peanuts, and ham - they were very good..
~ Dessert was the Banana Pudding - we should have made this our main course!

Highly recommend the Avinyo Cava (Rosado) - Excellent!!

My 2nd time here and in-spite of the great in-the-paper / magazine write up's, there are better places to dine.
Service at the bar was very good.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Mateo’s is fantastic! They have a great wine list, interesting specials and staples that will keep you coming back. The flavor combinations are awesome and they have very traditional tapas, where other “tapas” style restaurants just offer a lot of heavy appetizers.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 11, 2017

the food was amazing and the service was excellent. My only issue the menu is on brown paper which made it difficult to read in the low lighting.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Excellent Tapas restaurant with good service. Food quite good.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Wonderfully inventive menu! We liked their practice of bringing out the food when it was ready — always hot. Tasty & a superb treat for foodies!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Great selection of Spanish tapas dishes, well prepared and delicious.

The bone marrow and pigtails I had we're very good.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

We decided to follow the YELP recommendations while in the area for a concert... we were not disappointed....

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Great selection of food and Rioja. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Sat for twenty minutes at our table before anyone even took a drink order. Ordered our food at that time because we knew the kitchen would be backed up. After another twenty minutes of not getting anything, we asked our server if he could check on our food. He did and one of our orders did finally appear.

I do not blame the server, as he was clearly overwhelmed, and had been sat too many tables at once, and was doing the best he could. I blame the management for not supporting their staff, and placing them in such a difficult situation. Unfortunately the servers are the one's who are impacted the most economically when lack of staffing makes it impossible for them to provide adequate service.

Although most of food was still tasty, the portions are smaller and of poorer quality than when the restaurant was new.

Frankly after twenty minutes of no one waiting on us, I was ready to leave, but we had been given a gift certificate from a friend that we wanted to use. They gave me the gift certificate because they knew that Mateo was my favorite restaurant. Needless to say, that is no longer the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Good Food. Good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

While the dishes we ate were quite creative and delicious, the atmosphere was terrible. The tables are tiny and you are continually worried about knocking something off. The noise level was unbelievable. We absolutely could not have a conversation.

When we first arrived, there was some confusion about who was to wait on us apparently and it took a long time to get any service. After that it was fine as far as the service

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 31, 2017

The food here is good, and the service is prompt as small plates are delivered in a stream of regularity. However, somehow this wasn’t as splendid as in past visits. While it had been awhile since our last visit, the thing we missed most were the churros and thick chocolate sauce. Donut holes and thin chocolate sauce are not the same. Good and interesting foods here, but in the past we’d always considered this place stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2017

I love this restaurant for the food!

However we are considering not returning for special occasion meals becajse of the issue with tables so close together. This last visit, the proximity was just too close. We felt uncomfortable with the table next to us. They actually were listening to our conversation.

It is so much better upstairs but that room was closed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We have been here twice and loved it! Highly recommend! I have food allergies, and they have been very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Great ambience and gathering place. A little noisy towards the end of the evening- 8:30 and after. Highly recommend for gathering and after work functions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

My friend and I had been to Mateo once before, so we were excited to try it again. I made a reservation a week in advance and we arrived early and sat at the bar and had wine and an appetizer until it was time for our seating. There were plenty of nice tables available, but unfortunately we were seated at the table closest to the kitchen, where right next to us bus people were wheeling out crates of clean dishes, glassware, etc. This was noisy and uncomfortable and made it a bit hard for us to hear each other and our server. The service and the food, on the other hand, were simply wonderful. Not sure why you'd give someone who took the time to make a reservation the worst seat in the house! It kind of colored my experience :-(

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Been here a few times now - food is always amazing. Server this time was very slow.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 24, 2017

This was my second visit to Mateo and it didn't disappoint! It is a great downtown Durham restaurant with a local vibe. My favorite tapas were the dates, chorizo, butter beans, and shrimp gambas. Excellent wine selection, too!

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

I'll start by saying that I never ever leave restaurant reviews. It was mine and my husbands first time visiting Durham. We asked around about good places to eat and Mateos was recommended to us. After checking out their menu online we decided to go ahead and make a reservation. The food was amazing, probably the best meal I have had in months. The waitress was very knowledgeable about the dinner and the wine menu. We had a lovely experience and are looking forward to eating there again in the future.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Amazing! We decided to dine here before seeing the Little Mermaid at DPAC. Service was top notch, wine was spot on with the food. I will return here very shortly!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Sat a family of four all the way in the back underneath the kitchen window at 5:30pm while more than 5 tables in the main dining area sat open. Am Asian American. Left bad taste in all our mouths for the duration of our dinner.

Waitress was not incredibly friendly either.

Above all, food is incredibly overpriced for the portion size. This restaurant would not a second visit by me, in any city, because of this mismatch in price / value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2017

This restaurant specializes in small plates and we had several that were tasty. I strongly recommend the Brussels sprout and the chicken croquettes (a special).

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

We were impressed with the selection, particularly the specials, and everything we tried was super tasty!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

Had another enjoyable dinner. especially liked the brushetta

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Ten out of ten every time. Great service and ambiance. The food is fantastic, order what the waiter recommends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Excellent food and service. Noise level is pretty high when the place is full, but enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great food, atmosphere & service. The host was particularly brilliant she is a great asset to the restauraunt

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Extremely slow service. Was sat 40 minutes after reservations. An additional 30 minutes to receive any food at table even though people that arrived after us and sat down after us had food well ahead of us.

Food is always great though.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellent service despite being busy. Unique dishes that could be made to accommodate dairy and gluten free requirements. This is always appreciated in a popular/busy restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was outstanding, but they do recommend 2-3 tapas per person at your table otherwise you get about 3 bites of food total and that got very expensive very quickly, so be prepared!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 13, 2017

We had 6 of us and we were fortunate to score a table at the front window, slightly apart from the noisy main floor. The brisket and the deviled egg were probably our two favorites of quite a number of dishes we shared. In general, the meat dishes were better than the vegetarian ones. Wine list is a bit pricey but our white wine (recommended by the server) was delightful.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Mateo was great. Service was impeccable, food was yummy, and cocktails were tasty.

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The selections were creative and done very well. Wine list was adequate. Service was a little slower than you would expect in a restaurant of this quality. We enjoyed the evening and will recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This was our third visit to Mateos. Each time we have visited we have had to "lower the bar" but we wanted to give it one more try. Sadly, we were disappointed and will not return. Basically, the food was not up to par with what our foursome had hoped for. The small plates which included chicken, pork and vegetables were all overcooked. Even the pate was off the mark. I wonder how that can happen? My sincere wish is that Mateos improves on ALL the foods and drinks that go out to each and every patron.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The worst restaurant I’ve been in a very long time. The food was so bad, we were so disappointed. We ordered a few tapas to start, or so we thought, but they were so bad we ended our experience with just the few we ordered. Aceitunas (olives) were marinated in tomatoes and orange peels, distasteful. Fried eggplant, were just ok, but were just that, fried. No salt no spice nothing. Chicharones (pork skin chip) were left on the plate, yuck, iberico (Spanish ham) came with what we thought was an olive oil marinade on top, but it was just the ham’s fat which was warm- hence melting fat - hardly any meat, so left this greasy yuck on the plate as well.
The only good food was the marrow. But this one dish did not make up for the rest. We will never go back nor recommend this place. The waitress, even though everything was left on the plates, never questioned anything (she was super busy with a table of 15 behind us), and actually “hope we liked it”!
We left hungry with a bad taste in our mouths!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.