About Mateo

109 W Chapel Hill St
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Spanish Heart / Southern Soul from the crew at Vin Rouge.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 - 10:30 pm; Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 pm - 12:00 am; Saturday 5:00 pm - 12:00 am and Sunday 5:00 - 9:30.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 530-8700

Website:
http://www.mateotapas.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small lot beside our restaurant as well as street parking. There is also a large parking lot located behind Mateo on Ramseur St.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Kelly

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
  - Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Mateo, Durham, NC
Huevos Diablos - Mateo, Durham, NC
Tapas - Mateo, Durham, NC
Calamari - Mateo, Durham, NC
Datil - Mateo, Durham, NC
Almejas Pequeñas - Mateo, Durham, NC
Boquerones - Mateo, Durham, NC
Bone Marrow With Braised Shortrib - Mateo, Durham, NC
Patatas Bravas - Mateo, Durham, NC
Morcilla - Mateo, Durham, NC
Iberico - Mateo, Durham, NC
Fideuá - Mateo, Durham, NC
Quesos Y Heuvos - Mateo, Durham, NC
Bistec - Mateo, Durham, NC
Tunabelly Toast - Mateo, Durham, NC
Clams - Mateo, Durham, NC
Desserts: Churros With Chocolate Sauce, Fig Bread Pudding,  Crema Catalan - Mateo, Durham, NC
Kale Salad - Mateo, Durham, NC
Jamon Sampler - Mateo, Durham, NC
Ensalada De Mariscos - Mateo, Durham, NC
Pollo A La Ajillo - Mateo, Durham, NC
Chicken Fried Chicken - Mateo, Durham, NC
Shrimp And Grits With Chorizo Sausage And Green Chile Cheese Grits   - Mateo, Durham, NC
Potato Nest With Chorizo, Chili And Egg - Mateo, Durham, NC
Pork Cheek Canneloni - Mateo, Durham, NC
Sour dough toast with fresh tomato spread - Mateo, Durham, NC
Tortilla Espanola - Mateo, Durham, NC
Beet Salad - Mateo, Durham, NC
Sweet Potato Cheesecake - Mateo, Durham, NC

Mateo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Durham
Best Food
Durham
5 More
Best Service
Durham
Best Ambiance
Durham
Best Value
Durham
Fit for Foodies
Durham
Most Booked
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

Fit for Foodies (86)
Tapas (79)
Hot Spot (62)
See All
Special Occasion (57)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Good for a Date (49)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Bar Seating (39)
Notable Wine List (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Good for Groups (33)
Fun (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Romantic (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Tasting Menu (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Authentic (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Late-night Find (17)
People Watching (17)
Cozy (16)
Casual (15)
Business Meals (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Quick Bite (6)
Great Beer (6)
Family Style (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (5)
Spicy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Private Room (3)
Historic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I always enjoy Mateo, but it is way too ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

I always enjoy Mateo, but it is way too noisy downstairs. The tortilla espanola was different this time-- not sure whether they are tinkering with the recipe. As always, the patatas bravas are a must have!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. We celebrat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and service. We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You really cant go wrong with anything. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

You really cant go wrong with anything. All dishes taste great. The crab rice stands out. We loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group chose all of the comfort food ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Our group chose all of the comfort food options, rather than the healthier options with salad and vegetables. Everything was delicious. I ordered patatas bravas (rich and perfect), ribs (rich and perfect) and the brussel sprouts (charred and delicious). I asked for the yogurt to be left off of the brussel sprouts, and they were still delicious. We also shared olives - oh, so good! We tried to discern the flavors in the olive sauce - maybe coriander? This is a good place for people who already know each other; it's loud enough that it's hard to carry on a conversation. Our waitress didn't know much about sherry - she said they were all good and about the same. Well, then why have 20 on the menu if they are all similar? I got a sherry I didn't love as much as I've loved some other sherries, but then, I don't know anything about sherry, either. Was hoping the staff would. In general, everyone loved their food! I'd go again, with people I already know well. We went on a Saturday night.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Durham was the middle-ground for a frien ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Durham was the middle-ground for a friend's weekend-friends from Charlotte and Greenville, NC. Mateo was a blast. Cool atmosphere, great drinks and wonderful tapas. I think the four of us split 10 tapas and loved them all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food. Bests: tomato bread with c ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Amazing food. Bests: tomato bread with cheese, deviled eggs!!!, and duck/rice dish.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Incredible food and ambience! A gem in t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Incredible food and ambience! A gem in the heart of Durham.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellently prepared, super-delicious ta ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellently prepared, super-delicious tapas. Memorable!

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

This was our first visit, and won't be o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This was our first visit, and won't be our last. The menu initially was confusing but our waitress was patient and walked us through it.

The food was excellent and unique.

We very much enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food. So many amazing and dif ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Wonderful food. So many amazing and different spices. We had the quail, duck, Brussel sprouts, shrimp and they were all awesome. Fun to go with a large group as it would enable you to taste more dishes

Tags: Comfort Food, Tapas, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Huevos Diablo are not to be missed. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The Huevos Diablo are not to be missed. Waitstaff is knowledgeable and friendly. It can be a little loud but the food more than makes up for it.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing service, great drinks and wonder ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Amazing service, great drinks and wonderfully delicious specials. Definitely coming back soon!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we first walked in, the hostess was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

When we first walked in, the hostess was clearly bored, and actually quite rude...

BUT the food and our waitress made up for all of that! OUTSTANDING meal and super helpful wait staff made the whole experience fantastic!

Our reservations were for 5:15 and we were in and out in plenty of time to make the short walk to DPAC for a 7:00 show.

Our favorites were the Roasted Brussel Sprouts and the Pato y Arroz, but the Jamon Sampler and the Oyster Special were also fantastic.

Make sure to let them make you a cappuccino before you leave.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very unique menu but so worth trying. Th ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very unique menu but so worth trying. This is a Spanish influenced restaurant with unusual food choices and small plates/ tapas. Our server was helpful in recommending different foods for us even though she wasn't the freindlist person that night but others were and we look forward to going back. Reservations recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This restaurant is always a winner. We g ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This restaurant is always a winner. We go for the traditional Spanish items (thought I'm sure the southern inspired ones are also amazing), and we are never disappointed. The pulpo is a highlight, as are the gambas. And of course, you can never go wrong with cheese and charcuterie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and staff were top notch. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The service and staff were top notch. I thought the food was

very good. We tried a wide variety of things including the cheese plate,

ribs, beef bone with marrow, potatoes, olives, nuts, and salad. Everything was

good. I would like to try the ribeye next time even though it takes an hour.

The draft beer selection was limited but I was able to find something

I enjoyed (double IPA).

I was glad to have been seated upstairs because it is much quieter and

had a nice cozy feel to it. If you like the action...sit downstairs. Just a personal

preference.

Overall, a very good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Packed downstairs, a wait to sit at the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Packed downstairs, a wait to sit at the bar. Great atmosphere. Bar staff aloof & too cool, condescending in fact. But the drinks and tapas selection eclipsed that. We ate upstairs which was quieter, but not as much fun as downstairs. We did however have super service. Oh, and all the tapas plates we had were wonderful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a fun restaurant with lots of ch ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This is a fun restaurant with lots of choices and interesting possibilities. The red sangria was particularly amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Been here every time I go to Durham and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Been here every time I go to Durham and esp DPAC shows. The best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Tapas, Molecular Gastronomy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our experience was superb, wonderful as ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our experience was superb, wonderful as usual. Highlights were the wagyu, fideao, chicken liver mousse, bone marrow, choc mousse and banana 'pudding' desserts. Service was perfect - dishes well timed, knowledgeable, helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Booked a reservation months in advance a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Booked a reservation months in advance and STILL had to wait 20 minutes for a table. Food is way overpriced, service was absolutely awful, and we left feeling hungry. Not worth the hype.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

This was our second time eating at Mateo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our second time eating at Mateo, and it was fantastic yet again. The tapas style menu gives diners the opportunity to try multiple items. We loved the Spanish ham sampler plate again this year. New items that we tried this year included brussel sprouts and a roasted broccoli special. They also have a very nice wine list with some excellent wines by the glass. Service was perfect as well. The restaurant was very busy on a Friday night, so the noise levels were a bit high. We highly recommend Mateo for an entertaining and delicious dining experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious. We went for lunch, will go ba ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Delicious. We went for lunch, will go back for dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was a little disappointed in this spot ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I was a little disappointed in this spot considering how mobbed it is every night. Even though we were taken up to the second floor it was ridiculously loud. Once ordered food came quickly and was good but not great. I loved the wine list. If you are a cocktail person you will find this section a little light.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Overall excellent. Great sangria, great ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Overall excellent. Great sangria, great tapas, great desserts.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service for a date night! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food and service for a date night! The chicken croquetas were amazing.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lively menu with ample and varied daily ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Lively menu with ample and varied daily specials, extensive Spanish wine and sherry options, attentive and knowledgeable service, outstanding special dinner just before the Tower of Power Concert at the Carolina Theater. Definitely plan to return as often as possible!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here several times before ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We have eaten here several times before and always enjoy the food and experience. We recently brought some friends from out of town here for dinner, and they were blown away! Everything we had was delicious, and our server was very knowledgable and helpful. We were seated upstairs, which had a better noise level. All in all, a wonderful evening! And we will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere. Reservations ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Reservations are recommended. The Fried rice was great and the banana pudding!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We love Mateo. This is one of our favor ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We love Mateo. This is one of our favorite places in Durham. The service and food are great! The menu has recently changed so we were able to try things we had never had before. The BBQ Croquetas did not disappoint. The Ox Hock was also amazing. One of the "specials" was Pimento Cheese and yeast rolls. The pimento cheese had more kick than I am accustom, but was good. The yeast rolls that came with it were so delicious. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service, the waitress had a ver ...

 
 (México)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Terrible service, the waitress had a very bad attitude.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

As two seniors who often end up bringing ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

As two seniors who often end up bringing half our meals home, it was wonderful to be able to chose a few unique dishes to really enjoy without having them warmed up later. The pate was especially delicious. The ambiance was lovely.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Parking is troublesome, so get a reserva ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Parking is troublesome, so get a reservation and arrive early. The food was adequate, nothing spectacular, but nothing horrible either.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Mateo's food never disappoints! It has ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Mateo's food never disappoints! It has been a while since we ate there and were pleased to find new or somewhat changed/improved items on the menu. We like to order dishes to share, so the $20 fois gras special proved to be inadequate as it was only a small slab of fois gras (thin slice less than 3 sq in); but it, like everything else, was delicious. Our party of four ordered:

Aceitunas

Huevo Diablo

Albondigas

Cola de Buey

Tortilla

Polpo

Paté

Cod fritter

Fois Gras

and other stuff

A special treat this time was a window table which is quieter than tables in the main part of the dining room. Similarly, a table in front of the kitchen window is also slightly calmer.

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined to celebrate husband's birthday. C ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Dined to celebrate husband's birthday. Cool hangout space with unique menu items. Only 2-3 vegetarian choices, good for pork eaters. Had to wait for a long time to get a table in spite of making reservation since the place was so busy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food but loud thumping music that ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food but loud thumping music that was a downer.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Outstanding food & service. We tried at ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Outstanding food & service. We tried at least 12 different plates and everyone was notable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great environment, excellent and friendl ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great environment, excellent and friendly service. Requested a table away from the kitchen and next to the window, and that is exactly what we got, my girlfriend and I thought we had the best sits in the restaurant (second floor by the window). We were able to talk with not much noise or interruptions. Definitely worth the price. The clams were a bit over powering in my personal opinion so that dish was my least favorite. Overall I am very satisfied with Mateo in Durham.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. We loved s ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Outstanding food and service. We loved sitting upstairs where it was a little quieter. Excellent all the way around.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we heard a lot good things about Mateo s ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

we heard a lot good things about Mateo so finally decided to give it a try. the ambient is good. service is good. Food is good as well but not the kind to blow your mind off. maybe we had too much of high expectation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.