About Mateo

109 W Chapel Hill St
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Spanish Heart / Southern Soul from the crew at Vin Rouge.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 - 10:30 pm; Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 pm - 12:00 am; Saturday 5:00 pm - 12:00 am and Sunday 5:00 - 9:30.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 530-8700

Website:
http://www.mateotapas.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small lot beside our restaurant as well as street parking. There is also a large parking lot located behind Mateo on Ramseur St.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Kelly

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

  - Mateo, Durham, NC
Huevos Diablos - Mateo, Durham, NC
Tapas - Mateo, Durham, NC
Calamari - Mateo, Durham, NC
Datil - Mateo, Durham, NC
Almejas Pequeñas - Mateo, Durham, NC
Boquerones - Mateo, Durham, NC
Bone Marrow With Braised Shortrib - Mateo, Durham, NC
Patatas Bravas - Mateo, Durham, NC
Morcilla - Mateo, Durham, NC
Iberico - Mateo, Durham, NC
Fideuá - Mateo, Durham, NC
Quesos Y Heuvos - Mateo, Durham, NC
Bistec - Mateo, Durham, NC
Tunabelly Toast - Mateo, Durham, NC
Clams - Mateo, Durham, NC
Desserts: Churros With Chocolate Sauce, Fig Bread Pudding,  Crema Catalan - Mateo, Durham, NC
Kale Salad - Mateo, Durham, NC
Jamon Sampler - Mateo, Durham, NC
Ensalada De Mariscos - Mateo, Durham, NC
Pollo A La Ajillo - Mateo, Durham, NC
Chicken Fried Chicken - Mateo, Durham, NC
Shrimp And Grits With Chorizo Sausage And Green Chile Cheese Grits   - Mateo, Durham, NC
Potato Nest With Chorizo, Chili And Egg - Mateo, Durham, NC
Pork Cheek Canneloni - Mateo, Durham, NC
Sour dough toast with fresh tomato spread - Mateo, Durham, NC
Tortilla Espanola - Mateo, Durham, NC
Beet Salad - Mateo, Durham, NC
Sweet Potato Cheesecake - Mateo, Durham, NC

Mateo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (87)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Good for a Date (58)
See All
Creative Cuisine (55)
Special Occasion (47)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Worth the Drive (40)
Hot Spot (40)
Bar Seating (33)
Fun (33)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Romantic (31)
Authentic (30)
Local Ingredients (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Tasting Menu (24)
People Watching (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Cozy (16)
Casual (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Late-night Find (12)
Family Style (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Business Meals (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Great Beer (6)
Seasonal (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Private Room (3)
Spicy (3)
Historic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (0)
Sort By:
S
1369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were seated immediately in the upstai ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined a day ago

We were seated immediately in the upstairs dining room and given a brief history of the building on the way to our table! Our server was friendly and efficient and gave us two great recommendations for wine to pair with our dishes. The food was outstanding! We ordered the grilled whole head of broccoli, the Jamon-wrapped Medjool dates, The Gambas, and two dishes with crostini and homemade pimento cheese and homemade farmer's cheese, and all of it was fabulous and flavorful. Will definitely return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, People Watching, Tapas, Authentic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Flavor explosions! Be adventurous. Get r ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Flavor explosions! Be adventurous. Get recommendations. Still the best restaurant in Durham since they opened

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service! We always ha ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic food and service! We always have a lovely time at Mateo. Perfect wine recommendations, and I definitely recommend getting any features they have listed on the chalkboard!

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always heard Mateo's was good an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

I have always heard Mateo's was good and had not taken the opportunity to go there before because there are so many really good eating establishments in Durham. I have now moved Mateo's way up the list to a place on our regulars list!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Wonderful service by Sara w ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food. Wonderful service by Sara who made our meal a delight. Fast service and great food in a fun very busy atmosphere!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was great. Food was wonderful and w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

It was great. Food was wonderful and we will be back when we move to the triangle area.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were kept waiting about 25 minutes fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

We were kept waiting about 25 minutes for a 6:30 reservation made a week earlier. Otherwise, the staff is very good and helpful. The food is varied and interesting.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We waited more than 40 minutes after bei ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We waited more than 40 minutes after being seated without any service. It was insulting. The room was crowded and noisy. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

My favorite restaurant. Every dish is sp ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

My favorite restaurant. Every dish is spectacular.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great food - worth putting ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Consistently great food - worth putting up with noise level and occasional difficulty getting a server's attention

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, service and ambience. We ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambience. We will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly and informed wait staff; q ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Very friendly and informed wait staff; quick service; the food was fabulously flavorful and beautifully presented - we enjoyed each dish. The desserts (chocolate mousse and banana pudding) were incredible and complex, yet familiar and comforting. Only one small concern to register - the lighting is really so dim that our table and others around us all had to pull out our phones to light up the menus (due to the small print). Not a show stopper - we will be back!

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious food!

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have eaten at Mateos numerous times a ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We have eaten at Mateos numerous times and had a wonderful experience but things have changed. Portions are getting smaller and more expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The food was tremendous. Our waiter,Larr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was tremendous. Our waiter,Larry, was OUTSTANDING. His service and attention to detail was fabulous. Love the food, love the wine, love the waiter., love the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Small Plate selections and Beer li ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great Small Plate selections and Beer list...Overall a very nice time.

I imagine the place draws a big late night crowd...it was filling up as we were leaving at about 9:30. Great Fun for Foodies...

Tags: Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved it.....so great every single time. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Loved it.....so great every single time. My friends and I like to come here all the time....so yummy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mateo is one of our favorite places to e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Mateo is one of our favorite places to eat in Durham. The atmosphere is great and the food is fantastic. I have recommended Mateo to friends and will continue to do so.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve dinner out!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve dinner out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Only wished they advertised portion size ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Only wished they advertised portion size, until I realized it's a tasting environment, encouraging you to order multiple menu items. The waiter(who was the bomb dignity) leaves the menu with you once you order and you may find it puzzling until you get your dish and find yourself reaching for the menu to order more. It was a little cramped but that wasn't the worst of course.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food could have been better. Too many po ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food could have been better. Too many pork/ham dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a great time! It was a little har ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a great time! It was a little hard to judge the sizes of each item before they came out, we thought we'd need to order more tapas but wound up not even finishing the few we ordered. We'd recommend ordering a few at a time! My drink was great! My date ordered the Pepino (cocktail) and it might have been the saltiest cocktail we've ever had without a salted rim. Food was wonderful and the dining experience and ambiance we both fantastic.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Mateo 4 times before and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been to Mateo 4 times before and thought the food was great. However, this last trip was a huge letdown. The food was not good. They changed there Tortilla española recipe. It was not good. There was too much egg and not enough potato. The egg was still runny. Everything we ordered was just blah. It's a shame because this used to be our go to spot.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Mateo's is one of my favorite restaurant ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Mateo's is one of my favorite restaurants! Always, always, always A+++++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were upstairs which was considerably ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were upstairs which was considerably less congested and allowed for some conversation. Food was average, with small potions which allowed a lot of variety. Sharing is key to a meal here. The food was well prepared but not particularly savory. Our server was very attentive and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Great Job !! Each dish was well prepared ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great Job !! Each dish was well prepared including the vegetables. Our server also did a nice job recommending a wine pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Kudos for creativity and service. Best ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Kudos for creativity and service. Best table for small groups is in front window since the restaurant is pretty noisy. Try Anchovies on kettle cut potato chips

Tags: Tapas, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been here before. It's not fanta ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We have been here before. It's not fantastic but it is worth trying. Pace of experience was better than the food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

After hearing so many wonderful things, ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

After hearing so many wonderful things, I really wanted to love this place. We went for our anniversary on a Tuesday night. I'm not sure if we ordered poorly or if the featured items were just trying too hard. I adore marrow bones, but these had very little marrow. These had tons of add ons that took away from the simple goodness of what little narrow there was. The service was very slow (took 25 minutes to get a wine/drink list), but the wine I had was fantastic. The place is really cool and the ambiance is fun, but sadly it missed the mark for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

My family, daughters 29 and 26, just LOV ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My family, daughters 29 and 26, just LOVED our Christmas Eve dining experience at Mateo! We heard great things about this place and we were not disappointed. The whole evening was filled with great atmosphere (we ate upstairs next to the Christmas tree), excellent service and spectacular food choices!! We just loved the décor and atmosphere, staff was excellent, and we couldn't have been more pleased. We'll be back soon for sure.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as usual, waitress was great. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent as usual, waitress was great. We had a variety of plates and each one was delicious, every time we go we are never disappointed. We had a person in our group with Celiac disease and the waitress was well informed about what was safe to eat and we had no issues.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was the friendliest I have s ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The service was the friendliest I have seen in a long time, especially for a place that has a bit of a hipster vibe. We loved every dish--the chorizo deviled eggs were to die for as was the farmer's cheese with hot pepper jelly. Loved this place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I found the food to be very overpriced a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I found the food to be very overpriced and a bit pretentious. I really didn't think the food was that great. My husband's mixed drink was also outrageously expensive. Not my cup of tea and I doubt we'll return, although I did appreciate the wait staff - they did an excellent job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Loved everything about this place! I'll ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Loved everything about this place! I'll be dreaming about that date appetizer until my next visit.

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome, awesome, awesome food. Tapas is ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Awesome, awesome, awesome food. Tapas is tops. Everything good. Fish insane. Meat tender and tasty. Vegetables also great. Really good food. Alton Brown (food network star), declared it was the best tapas in the country! ... In Durham!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Casual, Hot Spot, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Remarkable food! Service a little slow t ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Remarkable food! Service a little slow to start, but they were very busy. Once the dishes started coming, things were paced very nicely. Best Tapas we have enjoyed since Spain!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Love this place! Food was delectably del ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Love this place! Food was delectably delicious as always. It's always noisy and crowded, which is consistently my sole complaint. We got the dates + goat cheese, cheese + pepper jelly bread plate, gambas, chicken croquettas, all of which were mouth-watering delicious. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

we went for dinner but the oyster apps w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

we went for dinner but the oyster apps were so good we ate oysters all night. it was fun.

we enjoyed the martinis, as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our first time at tapas and we ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This was our first time at tapas and we loved it. They walked us through the menu and the gin cocktails were perfectly crafted

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Can't say enough about this place. I've ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Can't say enough about this place. I've been perhaps 10 times in the last two years and it's always so good. I'd say the biggest thing I've noticed is the staff turnover is very low. To me that means a lot. It means it's a good gig in more ways than one! l've seen the same bartenders and many of the servers again and again over the last two years. Great atmosphere, great food and drinks... try a sherry tasting flight. Or ask them to make a "Rye Malvado." It's not always on the cocktail menu, but it's the Spanish cousin of the Manhattan and probably the best drink I've ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Comfort Food, Organic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Authentic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Tapas, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.