Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Mateo

Spanish Heart / Southern Soul from the crew at Vin Rouge.

109 W Chapel Hill St
Durham, NC 27701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 - 10:30 pm; Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm and 5:00 pm - 12:00 am; Saturday 5:00 pm - 12:00 am and Sunday 5:00 - 9:30.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 530-8700

Website:
http://www.mateotapas.com/

Parking Details:
There is a small lot beside our restaurant as well as street parking. There is also a large parking lot located behind Mateo on Ramseur St.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Kelly

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mateo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (101)
Creative Cuisine (75)
Good for a Date (71)
See All
Fit for Foodies (69)
Special Occasion (54)
Hot Spot (48)
Fun (48)
Bar Seating (44)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Authentic (40)
Worth the Drive (35)
Romantic (34)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Good for Groups (31)
Local Ingredients (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Casual (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Tasting Menu (24)
Cozy (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Great for Lunch (12)
Business Meals (11)
Great Beer (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Happy Hour (10)
People Watching (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Family Style (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Seasonal (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Healthy (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Historic (6)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
 (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Poor service
Dishes oily
One terrific dish if 6
As one who loves Spanish tapas very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

As a first timer at Mateo I was highly impressed! The Spanish tapas style can't be beat and their long list of specials was well-worth a try.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and service, try more than 2 tapas you will not regret!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Mateo is always great. The food is consistently fantastic, as is the service. It's great for a group of friends, but only if you're ready to speak up at the table. This is a loud restaurant, even if you're lucky enough to get a table in the more sedate, but still lively, upstairs dining room. Food highlights are probably too plentiful to mention, but we always get more than one order of pan con tomate--so simple and so incredibly delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Birthdays x 2

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

We've eaten here on multiple occasions and have found it consistently very good.
This is actually the best Tapas restaurant we have ever frequented and we have
travelled extensively.
We can only give our highest recommendations to this establishment

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The good is so so considering the price they charge. We might be a bit biased since we need GF options and there r few of them to choose from. Not coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I've been to Mateo many times and have never been disappointed. The food is fantastic. There are always unique things on their specials board and I'm usually blown away. This time we had some kind of charred fern (didn't know you ate fern) and it was amazing. I'm a huge fan of small plates as it's such a great way to try lots of different dishes. Their pate is the best I've had in the area.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I actually looked on line and reserved online and also said that I would be on my lunch hour so I explained that I would get there by at least 12:15 and asked if I could have my order ready because I was on my lunch break so I wouldn't have alot of time. So again, I expected to get my food at least within the next 10 minutes after I got their but it took about 25 minutes and I had about 20 minutes to eat left. So that was pretty frustrating or annoying. Also, I ordered mixed greens and I expected them to be just that but it was just a bunch of lettuce maybe Romaine and I thought it was gonna be like lettuce, spinach, kale...mixed that's what I call mixed greens. So I needed some type of dressing that I asked for and added that and it was a little better. I ordered the Pollo Fritto and I liked it 90% and I will come again basically. Thanks

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Cozy, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This was our first visit to Mateo. Surprised to see that we were that there were only three tables taken when we were seated. Started off with a great bruschetta type dish. Drinks wee very good.

We ordered six tapas items. Calamari was good but very typical. Chicken croquettes were more like creamy tater tots. No sign of chicken. Pork ribs were tender but had a burnt flavor aftertaste Fried chicken was stuffed with a cheese that left a bitter aftertaste. Meatballs were way overdone and extraordinarily dry. I can't remember the sixth thing so it obviously was not memorable. Dessert fried dough and cappuccino were good

All in all, not a memorable dinner and we probably will not return

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This place is absolutely delicious!! My girlfriend and I have come here twice for our anniversaries and have yet to find a dish that isn't fantastic! The bacon wrapped dates are by far the best I've EVER had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The food was great as usual. Our server, Larry was fantastic! He was super attentive and very friendly. Thanks for a great lunch!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Mateos still remains my favorite place to dine Durham. The food is delicious and authentic and they offer a good spread of wines and vermouths from Spain. The specials on the board are always a fun treat. Great spot for date night or a quick late night snack at the bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Can't go wrong here. Excellent meal. Will go back at first opportunity.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Two phrases: small portions, very expensive price. They have some pretty good tapas but considering the price, this place is a 'no' for me. I don't really recommend it either.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We ate at Mateo for lunch for the first time. The food was excellent. The calamari, anchovies, ribs, deviled eggs, ham board, salad, calamari were all unique, very well prepared and well seasoned. I would return for the originality alone. Service was ok. My only concerns were dirty plates upon arriving, dirty windows, messy bathroom and dumpster smells when the back door opened. I know this sounds awful, but really we enjoyed Mateo and feel that it just needs a little extra attention to details.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Probably my favorite restaurant in Durham
Make sure to go for dinner rather than lunch, as they serve the bone marrow and duck only for dinner. You don't want to miss these.
Service is fast, and the waiters are always professional, helpful and friendly.
I said it already, but it really is my favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We went for dinner before going to DPAC for a show. I told our server that I didn't eat meat, but did eat seafood. She made several suggestions, one being the rice & beans special with mussels so we ordered it. When I tasted it, it was quite salty and I soon discovered why - it was loaded with finely cubed ham. When we told our server about this, her comment was a not very sincere "sorry, they must have changed the way they prepare it." Thank goodness I'm not allergic and it's a preference. I certainly would have expected a manager to come apologize, a reduction in our bill or at the very least a very sincere apology. We won't be going back or recommending this restaurant.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It had been a while but this was maybe my sixth visit, and it did not disappoint. Each plate was perfect, with distinct flavors, textures, and presentation. It's tempting for a restaurant that has been open few years to fall into a rhythm and coast. I saw no signs of coasting on my last visit, and I look forward to my next.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Mateos was fantastic. Service was supreme and food was outstanding. We thoroughly enjoyed it

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fantastic food and ambience. Good service. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I've written before about Mateo's excellent food. It's still excellent, but have you noticed how efficient the place is? The system flow in this restaurant is extraordinarily good, it's consistent and well-run. Our server was Gavin -- he's good -- he knew everything about everything on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great Tapas. Go upstairs to have wonderful food without the din.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Mateo never disappoints. Went for lunch and their menu was perfect. Had a version of an omelette was drizzled with aoli and potatoes.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tapas, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Amazing food!!! The service was outstanding, the waiter was such a great guy and had great recommendations. Fun and vibrant atmosphere. All around fantastic, 15/10 for sure!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 2, 2017

A bit of a mixed bag. A delightful setting, with generally attentive service. The pork ribs with pepper jelly were outstanding-- we could have eaten several orders. The other dishes were less impressive. Fried potatoes with "spicy tomato purée" were very reminiscent of French fries with ketchup. Albondigas were in a delicious broth, but the meatballs themselves were unremarkable. Angel hair dish was very tasty, except for the crawfish tails that were surprisingly fishy. Deviled eggs with chorizo were tasty, but we wished the sausage had more spice. And the asparagus special was a bit burned, with an overly large dose of bagna cauda that made it salty,heavy, and greasy. The fried bread dessert was good, with a Mexican-style chocolate sauce that was not too sweet. Overall, the meal was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

By far one of the overall best restaurants in Durham. Knowledgeable staff and prompt service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (London)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Took 30 minutes from when we walked in to be asked for our drink order... Restaurant was very busy and service couldn't keep up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Maybe needed more stars- took too long to get drinks- or more drinks. When you have to wait more than 15 min for a glass of wine, you are messing with the tempo of the meal

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Still the best restaurant in Durham. That's really saying something now, with so much fierce competition for the title in town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

OK...so here goes. Excellent Food, Delicious and Unique Cocktails, Fantastic Waiter and Amazing Wine List. We actually live two hours away and we will be re-visiting this wonderful restaurant Mothers Day Weekend. Enjoy everyone!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for a Date, Historic, Fun, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Casual, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Fantastic food, perfectly cooked, well thought out, very enjoyable night

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Celebrate administrative professionals Day

Tags: Organic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The shrimp, potatoes, asparagus and banana pudding were all yummy. All were well-prepared and presented beautifully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fabulous food in a very cute venue. Felt like we were in NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great place and varied Tapas menu. Great wine list. Noise level Hugh but mostly young crowd on a Friday night. Obviously a local favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great food. Great service. Overall, one of our favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent daily menu of tapas, we tried several and all were great. The classic gin & tonic cocktail was substantial and very tasty. A little pricey but we really enjoyed our meal and the overall experience and it's an easy couple of block walk to DPAC.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, People Watching, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

My 3rd visit from Greensboro. Has been a go-to place in Durham. I like small plate restaurants and try them in most cities. Food is good quality. However, the seasoning is very bland - maybe it's the land of sweet tea, but gambas should be a party in your mouth. The bravas were ok- but no kick & I personally prefer a crisper outside vs potatoey texture.


Great service & I will be back knowing what to expect, tho I am looking for tapas diners & recommendations.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.