About Matchbox Palm Springs

155 South Palm Canyon Drive
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Voted “Best Pizza in the Desert” 4 years running,
What makes a great pizza? It starts with a great oven! Ours is an authentic wood- fired masonry oven where the fire has burned constantly since the day we opened. Modern gas and electric ovens cannot produce the intense heat needed - over 700 degrees - to achieve the crispy, smoky crust that our oven provides. With dough made fresh daily in-house, our goal is to make the best pizza in the desert!
In the mood for something a little fancier? Our famous mini-burgers, Pan seared atlantic salmon, 16 oz grilled Rib Eye steak or matchbox fish and chips? Our chef's dishes are simply and classically prepared! You’ll find our appetizers and entrees well seasoned & hearty, never bland. The challenge? Build an interesting restaurant in an expansive second floor space that includes outdoor seating in historic Downtown Palm Springs! The matchbox experience takes place in an engaging atmosphere designed & custom-built.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 11:30am - 11:00pm
Sunday- 11:30am - 10:00pm
Happy Hour 4pm - 6:30pm everyday

Cross Street:
Taquitz Canyon / Arenas Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 778-6000

Website:
http://www.matchboxpalmsprings.com/

Catering:
matchbox was designed to offer a number of different choices in planning your event. Toast your guests with a delicious infused martini on our outside patio or spread out in our spacious and inviting dining room with communal tables and booth seating! Want more privacy? Not only is balcony seating available, but we are also two semi-private rooms from which to choose!

Our menu is equally divided into two parts, the first features incomparable thin crust pizza. The second, our bistro menu, consists of a wide selection of chef-driven entrées.

Parking Details:
There are many parking facilities in and around matchbox, the closest being the parking lot behind matchbox but if this is full then there are many others you can choose from just a short walk away, these may charge a nominal fee due to not being public parking.

Public Transit:
There is one transit stop 50 yards from our building on the main strip of Palm Canyon Drive, in down town Palm Springs.

Executive Chef:
Ignacio Zayas

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, matchbox is the perfect venue for your special gathering or celebration! Winner of the prestigious 2004 RAMMY Award for Best New Restaurant in Washington, DC, our second location in Downtown Palm Springs is an exciting restaurant with a decidedly hip and urban feel.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Estrada: 7607786000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From June 1st - the 10th Matchbox will be featuring our 3 course $24 per person Restaurant week menu. In addition to our restaurant week menu which can be viewed at www.palmspringsrestaurantweek.com we will also be offering our full pizza menu.

Matchbox was designed to offer a number of different choices in planning your event. Toast your guests with a delicious infused martini on our outside patio or spread out in our spacious and inviting dining room with communal tables and booth seating!

Restaurant Photos

Matchbox Palm Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

great for outdoor dining (70)
good for groups (56)
fit for foodies (39)
See All
neighborhood gem (38)
scenic view (37)
hot spot (32)
kid-friendly (29)
vibrant bar scene (25)
romantic (25)
great for lunch (24)
special occasion (23)
late-night find (12)
notable wine list (10)
great for brunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
709 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was conducive to every ki ...

Dined 3 days ago

The atmosphere was conducive to every kind of outing, be it romantic dinner, birthday, or just getting together with a bunch of your friends. Food was good.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Always a stop for us

Dined 4 days ago

We travel to the Palm Springs area 4 times a year and always have a meal at The Matchbox. Great good, good drinks and a balcony view are a must for us!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was great. Only complai ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Food and service was great. Only complaint, ordered a Mango martini drink and bartender (mistakenly) put Tabasco sauce in it! One sip and I almost choked.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Wow, Pizza good, but bread was amazing

Dined on May 8, 2016

We ate the pizza which was very good, but house garlic bread was out of this world!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Matchbox is one of our favorite places t ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Matchbox is one of our favorite places to dine. Service is always good, from THE hostess to the wait staff. Always nice to bring company.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was absolutely amazing.

Dined on April 17, 2016

My neighbor and I have been trying different restaurants. She wanted a good martini and Matchbox came up on Yelp as the best Martini's near by. They were correct, the Lemon Blueberry was so amazing we had 2 of them. The apple salad was so delicious. I most definitely recommend the bread pudding, we actually fought over the last bite. The server could have been a little more attentive, as we wanted water and another drink and had to track her down for drinks and to check on our food as it took a little longer then it should have we think.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, cute spot.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Good food, cute spot.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal

Dined on April 13, 2016

We had a private balcony tablee which was wonderful. It was a quiet night. Service was excellent and food was very good. I recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Spot

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

A very pleasing dining experience. Loved the "private balcony" table above S Palm Canyon Dr. Cream of Crab soup was outstanding. Followed that with 3 hamburger sliders plus the onion rings. Great meal. Definitely a place we will return to on future trips to Palm Springs. Stacey was great. Spot on with her recommendations and very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3

Had to wait too long until waiter came a ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Had to wait too long until waiter came after being seated. One of the seats had a drip from light fixture illicitly water from mister. Calamari and arancini were excellent. Pork chop was dry.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A happy hour hit!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Hungry for some pizza pie on our way out of Palm Springs, we decided to try this locally recommended sensation. My only complaint is parking in the area can be a pain at certain hours, but the inconvenience was well worth it. We happened to hit happy hour when all the pies on the menu are $5-8. My kids split a 10" and my husband and I each got our own. Even with alcohol, our bill was barely over $35. Not to mention, the pizza was fantastic. Service was great and the decor was warm and welcoming.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very accommodating!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Matchbox was very accommodating with my reservation making my experience worth bragging about to my friends. Service was extremely friendly from each of the staff.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We will return!

Dined on March 25, 2016

The food was very good. We had pizzas and they were great! Even our oldest daughter who doesn't like pizza sauce, loved the piece she had. Our server was very attentive and kind. We look forward to our next trip to Palm Spring for more great food. Thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We were here twice on this visit to PS. ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

We were here twice on this visit to PS. We went early to enjoy outside patio eating and watching activities on street below. All was fantastic. Waitress was accommodating and friendly. The applies were wonderful and pizza great if you like thin crust. We do and did. Beer was served on cold glasses which I always appreciate. Fun restaurant, we will be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Was perfect for us. Two kids, 10 and 13, ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Was perfect for us. Two kids, 10 and 13, picky so pizza is always a good bet.

food5
ambience4
service5

Their happy hour menu is always our chea ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Their happy hour menu is always our cheapest meal on our holiday. The pizza is delish. Worth going even when it's not happy hour. In the perfect locale above the best part of the strip.

food3
ambience3
service4

The beet salad was delicious and beautif ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

The beet salad was delicious and beautifully plated, but the portion was not worth the cost. Pizza was good and service was efficient.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent

Dined on March 20, 2016

We had the pizza it was very tasty and the crust was just as we like it thin. We also had the beet salad what an interesting combination lived it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Dined here during a very busy convention ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Dined here during a very busy convention weekend. We had a reservation and we were seated quickly. Service was understandably slow given the crowds. Food was great but not revolutionary. It was very loud but we still had a great time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Pizza!!

Dined on March 18, 2016

Had a great meal at Matchbox Pizza. My wife and I along with my parents and out 11 year old son had a great meal. It was street fair night and we were on the balcony. The street was buzzing and the ambience was perfect. Food is great and would definitely recommend to visitors to the desert.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on March 7, 2016

Party of five, arrived at 5:00pm for an early dinner. Some ordered from Happy Hour menu and some from regular menu. Everyone had something different, everyone was very happy with the food, the presentation, and the service. Wait staff was abundant but not overbearing, checking on food and drink without interrupting our conversations. We have already recommended Matchbox to other guest at our hotel and they reported back to us of a similar experience. Very good value on top of everything else.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Dont loose your Reputation !

Dined on March 6, 2016

Ive been going there for years... they have changed some of the things on the menu like the fish and chips. Before large pieces and on a large bed of hot fries ..fish drizzled with balsamic reduction and served with coleslaw. NOW its is served with half the fries, no balsamic dressing, smaller plate, smaller fish portion, and coleslaw that had no mayo in it it was basically dry cabbage. I hope they read this , i was told its the way they do it now... i hope not ! I would recommend this place ...really! Its just restaurants week menus and sometimes its there demise!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday reservation

Dined on March 4, 2016

Our dinner, service and atmosphere was wonderful. Fig pizza and the Bloody Mary burger were the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Vanessa was our server and she was the h ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Vanessa was our server and she was the highlight. Super friendly, efficient and just energetic. Being 5 months pregnant she was just awesome. Food was great too. Try the calamari. It comes with jalapeño jelly which was unexpected but great. Loved the pizza too.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

although we arrived at our reservation t ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

although we arrived at our reservation time (designated to get a spot with the outside views) an outdoor table was unavailable. After the waiter spilled a glass of water almost on top of our guests we were quickly moved to an outdoor setting! The food was fabulous and an excellent value for the dollar!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always consistent. Good food Quiet at ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Always consistent. Good food Quiet atmosphere and great service. Thanks!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pear salad and Q pizza, our favorite.

Dined on March 3, 2016

A nice bottle of the house chard, the service is always spot on.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun place to meet

Dined on March 3, 2016

This was our second time at matchbox. Staff was great in getting us balcony seating we requested,after a short wait . Good food, great night out with old friends. Waitress was excellent !

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fun Saturday Night

Dined on February 28, 2016

We wanted to experience the Saturday night scene in downtown Pal Springs and Matchbox fit that bill. The food was quite good -- excellent pizzas, delicious burger and mouth-watering fries. The drinks were generous. Our waiter, Errol, was delightful. It was noisy -- certainly not a place for an intimate dinner -- but fun.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

If you go to matchbox you have to have t ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

If you go to matchbox you have to have the pizza. If you like thin crust pizza you will love the pizza at matchbox.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Place

Dined on February 27, 2016

This was a great place for our first night in Palm Springs. The location is perfect and the pizza is divine. I love their thin crust!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Anniversary In Palm Springs

Dined on February 26, 2016

My wife found this restaurant on line after searching for a dinner spot for our anniversary . She requested an outside balcony and was told that if it was available we would get it. It was and we did!!! We were there on a Thursday when they close a couple of blocks for the Thursday night market. It's a great spot to people watch while dining. Definitely recommend this place

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the ambiance and service

Dined on February 21, 2016

I loved the ambiance and service, we went for my cousins bday and enjoyed the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Decent Food, Decent Prices, Good Ambianc ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

Decent Food, Decent Prices, Good Ambiance, Neat Place.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Private Balcony Dining

Dined on February 16, 2016

Found this restaurant on open table. It said that you cannot request a patio or private balcony. When we got there and checked in the hostess told us that they already reserved us a private balcony because we booked on open table. It was romantic and beautiful. The staff was attentive and friendly and the food was great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Matchbox - missed the strike

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

We had a lovely table sitting outside on the corner of the restaurant. Unfortunately the wait staff did not bring the caesar salad before our pizza so we asked that it be cancelled. Shortly there after they tried to deliver it in a to go box which would have been great but as visitors this doesn't work well. When we received our bill the salad was on the receipt. We had to bring this to the attention of the waitress who appeared surprised (clearly not engaged) and it was returned with the manager apologizing and giving us a $8 credit against the bill. Overall the food quality, warmth, and presentation was very good. I'd give it another try.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent pizza and other items, wine/beer too

Dined on February 16, 2016

We hadn't been to Matchbox for a couple of years for no reason other than visiting other places. Returning there we found the food even better than before, with excellent pizza choices (prosciutto and fig was fantastic), cooked to perfection. Other items our party ordered were excellent, too. The beer and wine list, while not enormous, had great, high quality choices. The servers were very friendly, quick and not overbearing, and on a busy night, at that.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding as always

Dined on February 15, 2016

We dine at Matchbox at least 4 times a year when we are in town from the East Coast. The food is always wonderful, the ambience of Downtown Palm Springs is exciting and we think they have one of the best crème brulee' around.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

romantic balconey

Dined on February 15, 2016

The balconey table was over the top romantic for Valentines Day. Food excellent and service friendly and engaging. Great find for our first trip to Palm Speings.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Though we had a reservation and arrived ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Though we had a reservation and arrived on time, we were asked to wait with walkins. Hostess wouldn't take our name! Another hostess saved the day and showed us to a table

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.