About Matchbox Palm Springs

155 South Palm Canyon Drive
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Voted “Best Pizza in the Desert” 4 years running,
What makes a great pizza? It starts with a great oven! Ours is an authentic wood- fired masonry oven where the fire has burned constantly since the day we opened. Modern gas and electric ovens cannot produce the intense heat needed - over 700 degrees - to achieve the crispy, smoky crust that our oven provides. With dough made fresh daily in-house, our goal is to make the best pizza in the desert!
In the mood for something a little fancier? Our famous mini-burgers, Pan seared atlantic salmon, 16 oz grilled Rib Eye steak or matchbox fish and chips? Our chef's dishes are simply and classically prepared! You’ll find our appetizers and entrees well seasoned & hearty, never bland. The challenge? Build an interesting restaurant in an expansive second floor space that includes outdoor seating in historic Downtown Palm Springs! The matchbox experience takes place in an engaging atmosphere designed & custom-built.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 11:30am - 11:00pm
Sunday- 11:30am - 10:00pm
Happy Hour 4pm - 6:30pm everyday

Cross Street:
Taquitz Canyon / Arenas Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 778-6000

Website:
http://www.matchboxpalmsprings.com/

Catering:
matchbox was designed to offer a number of different choices in planning your event. Toast your guests with a delicious infused martini on our outside patio or spread out in our spacious and inviting dining room with communal tables and booth seating! Want more privacy? Not only is balcony seating available, but we are also two semi-private rooms from which to choose!

Our menu is equally divided into two parts, the first features incomparable thin crust pizza. The second, our bistro menu, consists of a wide selection of chef-driven entrées.

Parking Details:
There are many parking facilities in and around matchbox, the closest being the parking lot behind matchbox but if this is full then there are many others you can choose from just a short walk away, these may charge a nominal fee due to not being public parking.

Public Transit:
There is one transit stop 50 yards from our building on the main strip of Palm Canyon Drive, in down town Palm Springs.

Executive Chef:
Ignacio Zayas

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, matchbox is the perfect venue for your special gathering or celebration! Winner of the prestigious 2004 RAMMY Award for Best New Restaurant in Washington, DC, our second location in Downtown Palm Springs is an exciting restaurant with a decidedly hip and urban feel.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Estrada: 7607786000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From June 1st - the 10th Matchbox will be featuring our 3 course $24 per person Restaurant week menu. In addition to our restaurant week menu which can be viewed at www.palmspringsrestaurantweek.com we will also be offering our full pizza menu.

Matchbox was designed to offer a number of different choices in planning your event. Toast your guests with a delicious infused martini on our outside patio or spread out in our spacious and inviting dining room with communal tables and booth seating!

Restaurant Photos

Strawberry Cream Pie
Oven-Dried Tomato + Fresh Mozzarella
Blueberry Lemon Drop
Half And Half Pizza Fire + Smoke And Pizza Italian Salami
Simple Green Salad
Matchbox Mule (Cocktail)
Lost Coast Great White Beer
Arancini
Spicy Meatball Pizza
Moscow Mule
Fire & Smoke Pizza
Spinach Salad
Black Mission Fig Pizza
Sliders
Ahi Tempura Roll
Port Wipeout  Ipa
Pizza Roll
Hofbräu Dunkel
Fish & Chips
shrimp salad
Pesto Chicken Pizza
Sausage Pizza
Prosciutto & Fig Pizza
Bistro Burger
Calamari
Matchbox Meat Pizza
Grilled Halibut Special
Grilled Romaine Steak Salad
lemon tart
Bacon burger
Russian Mule
Spicy Ahi Tuna Tempura Roll
Cedar Plank Salmon
Risotto
Ephemere Apple Beer
Mini Bur

Matchbox Palm Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

Good for Groups (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Scenic View (15)
Kid-friendly (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Romantic (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
752 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Matchbox Palm Springs appears to be a pl ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Matchbox Palm Springs appears to be a pleasant sandwich/pizza type restaurant. Unfortunately, the menu provided on OpenTable is NOT the menu for this restaurant. Instead, according to the staff there, is the menu for an entirely different Matchbox, not in Palm Springs and possible not in California. So, do not use the OpenTable-provided menu as a criterion. The staff there was friendly and the facilities OK, but don't pay any attention to my food ratings since we left and had dinner elsewhere. Not their fault and the place looked perfectly fine, but not what we wanted. Beware in this case. Never experienced this before over many years and dozens of restaurants using OpenTable. It's a mystery.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Great pizza. Location is terrific and p ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great pizza. Location is terrific and parking is easy. Ambiance is fine, lots of outdoor seating.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was promptly seated with a private patio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Was promptly seated with a private patio table. Courteous service. Very attentive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately we went to Matchbox specif ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Unfortunately we went to Matchbox specifically for Fish and Chips only to find out after we ordered... they were out! Also, there is a 16oz. PBR can listed on the beer menu... we were told, they don't carry that anymore. It would have been nice to know these things upfront. Food we had was very good. Great pizza!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great upstairs restaurant on the main dr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great upstairs restaurant on the main drag of Palm Canyon in downtown Palm Springs, with both indoor and outdoor dining. Balcony tables overlook the boulevard. Great American menu with meat and fish dishes, wonderful pizza, and a wide variety of salads and sandwiches. We shared a wedge salad, chicken pizza and divine calamari, all of which the restaurant split into separate plates for us in advance. Exceptionally gracious service. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pizza was amazing. Service was great

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Pizza was amazing. Service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took family for the first time. Everyone ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Took family for the first time. Everyone enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dinner menu was average but for the ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The dinner menu was average but for the price it should have been great! If you stick to pizza and drinks it will be a good time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Service and wait time for food was very ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Service and wait time for food was very poor. Pizza was good but salads and other items lacked flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

You will not get Open Table credits; the ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

You will not get Open Table credits; they will not give. Probably because of brand new ownership. Other changes occuring according to staff; many plan on leaving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

It was good. Love the Matchbox Meat Pizz ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

It was good. Love the Matchbox Meat Pizza. I can't believe I ate 2 lol

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't dare try to go here during a long ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Don't dare try to go here during a long weekend or holiday. We waited almost 2 hours to get our food. We should have just left, but we kept thinking, "well it's been this long, it shouldn't be much longer, right?" Waitress never checked up on us, we had to flag her down to get refills. I wondered if they forgot to put our orders in. Food was NOT worth that wait. It seems like the service industry in Palm Springs can't handle large/holiday crowds. Every where else we went, the service was terrible too. But Matchbox Palm Springs, we all agreed, was the WORST experience we have ever had at a dining establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

The service and ambiance was great! I or ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The service and ambiance was great! I ordered the chicken, and it was not at all what I expected. It was like a fancy version on Kentucky Fried chicken. Definitely will stick to ordering pizza, since it is the specialty for this place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

The appetizer was not to our liking and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The appetizer was not to our liking and after returning it we still were charged for it. The pizza was brunt black around edges but we tried to eat it. We were still charged for the entire meal. No I will never go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Excellebt Pizza. We sat outside on the ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellebt Pizza. We sat outside on the balcony. Great people watching on a good weather night.

I highly recommend Matchbox for Pizza. Far exceeded my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fun Place! Its located in a super great ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fun Place! Its located in a super great location above the heart of downtown palm springs and has tables on the balcony overlooking the action down below. The service was great. Started with calamari which was very tasty. I had salmon that had rice, sausage & tomatoes under it. Each component was bland by itself, but when eaten together it was uniquely good. The salmon was cooked perfectly. My husband had the pork chop & was underwhelmed. It was a bit dry & boring, but the brussel sprouts & cauliflower mash that came with it were good. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For some reason I was underwhelmed. The ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

For some reason I was underwhelmed. The setting was nice and we had a view of the street below. The service was very friendly, professional and attentive. What was lacking was the food, it was just pedestrian at best. The pear/Apple salad lacked pears and apples, and the chicken was dry...tasting like it was nuked right before it came out. My dinner companion was equally underwhelmed with the pizza. Maybe it was just a bad night in the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very crowded and noisy place. Best suite ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very crowded and noisy place. Best suited for the college crowd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Great place! Service was top notch, and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great place! Service was top notch, and the food was incredible. Will definitely be back and soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very slow took us 1 1/2 hrs ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service was very slow took us 1 1/2 hrs to get food and an order was wrong on top of that

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Fun restaurant with a good vibe. The pi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fun restaurant with a good vibe. The pizzas are very good. I especially like the fire and smoke pizza. For the most part, well worth the price. The single exception is the meatball appetizer which, while it tastes good, is not worth $14..

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The burger and fries are better at Ruby' ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The burger and fries are better at Ruby's across the courtyard, and the full size salad portion is skimpy for the price. Overall, not a good value and we won't return. Very sorry to report this because our server and the manager obviously cared to try to give us a good experience. They get an 'A' for effort but the food preppers and quantity policy makers at Corporate get a 'C' at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Delicious pizza with crisp, thin crust. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Delicious pizza with crisp, thin crust. We were pleased to find that Happy Hour prices included our pizzas, as well as our tasty house margaritas! Service was prompt and friendly, and our food came to table very quickly. Entire staff was welcoming, polite, and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server was great ......

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server was great ......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place always delivers great food an ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This place always delivers great food and service. We ordered salads and pizza, I think this is the best pizza in the valley.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a late reservation for my boyfriend' ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Had a late reservation for my boyfriend's birthday. Our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. The food was sublime. Cannot wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks, pizza, and calamari were great. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Drinks, pizza, and calamari were great. Burger came out waaay overcooked, came out well done when asked for medium. As soon as we told our server, she took it and had a new one made. Inconvenient, but handled well. It would've been nice if they had bread or chips or something to munch on while we waited for our apps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The tomatoes on the pizza were gross. Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The tomatoes on the pizza were gross. They were too big and seems like they were out of a can. Veggie pizza was much better than the tomato/mozzarella. The bread appetizer was the best part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Not a good experience at all. They were ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Not a good experience at all. They were out of a lot of items on the menu, the food took over 40 minutes to arrive, and ironically was cold when we did receive it. All of the tables around us had the same problem, and no one seemed very happy. The staff was fairly apologetic and did seem to care, but I don't think we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We really enjoyed our dinner at Matchbox ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Matchbox. The food and service were excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was great, location was great! Our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was great, location was great! Our server was very slow and inattentive, but other than her, we had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

I love Matchbox, unfortunately, when we ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I love Matchbox, unfortunately, when we arrived and were given seats at the bar as requested,

(NBA finals were on TV), we were not advised that the air conditioner in bar area was not working, and it was only 122 in Palm Springs on Sunday- however in just over an hour, the A/C

was fixed and working.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value5

Always a few a dining experience at Matc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Always a few a dining experience at Matchbox Palm Springs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great happy hour, great pizza, gr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always great happy hour, great pizza, great burgers. A must visit when we are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had reservations and seated immediate ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had reservations and seated immediately. The table was inside a doorway which felt like being a greeter with exeryone walking by. We were impressed that they found is a nice booth so we could enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

4 moms of young children out on the town ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

4 moms of young children out on the town. Bread + herb butter was to die for, very accommodating with special drink requests, meals also fantastic. Easy to talk but still fun and energetic. Server was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great cocktails and beers to choose from ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great cocktails and beers to choose from. Excellent pizza's with variety of flavor profiles. Decor is unique and fitting for the ambiance of this foodie spot. Be expected to spend a little extra $$ for the experience; worth the extra couple bucks for the nice quality of foods and services.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food! We should have chosen an in ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great food! We should have chosen an indoor table...too hot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great again

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Another great dining evening. Our favorite spot downtown. Our server Tony is the best ever.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Frankly, one of our worst dining experiences for a long time.

Everything was marinated in pepper. The starter, pizza(s). Starters looked liked they were bought in, then covered in a marinated tomato sauce.

We all felt a little rough after, as a result.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.