About Matchbox Palm Springs

155 South Palm Canyon Drive
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Voted “Best Pizza in the Desert” 4 years running,
What makes a great pizza? It starts with a great oven! Ours is an authentic wood- fired masonry oven where the fire has burned constantly since the day we opened. Modern gas and electric ovens cannot produce the intense heat needed - over 700 degrees - to achieve the crispy, smoky crust that our oven provides. With dough made fresh daily in-house, our goal is to make the best pizza in the desert!
In the mood for something a little fancier? Our famous mini-burgers, Pan seared atlantic salmon, 16 oz grilled Rib Eye steak or matchbox fish and chips? Our chef's dishes are simply and classically prepared! You’ll find our appetizers and entrees well seasoned & hearty, never bland. The challenge? Build an interesting restaurant in an expansive second floor space that includes outdoor seating in historic Downtown Palm Springs! The matchbox experience takes place in an engaging atmosphere designed & custom-built.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 11:30am - 11:00pm
Sunday- 11:30am - 10:00pm
Happy Hour 4pm - 6:30pm everyday

Cross Street:
Taquitz Canyon / Arenas Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 778-6000

Website:
http://www.matchboxpalmsprings.com/

Catering:
matchbox was designed to offer a number of different choices in planning your event. Toast your guests with a delicious infused martini on our outside patio or spread out in our spacious and inviting dining room with communal tables and booth seating! Want more privacy? Not only is balcony seating available, but we are also two semi-private rooms from which to choose!

Our menu is equally divided into two parts, the first features incomparable thin crust pizza. The second, our bistro menu, consists of a wide selection of chef-driven entrées.

Parking Details:
There are many parking facilities in and around matchbox, the closest being the parking lot behind matchbox but if this is full then there are many others you can choose from just a short walk away, these may charge a nominal fee due to not being public parking.

Public Transit:
There is one transit stop 50 yards from our building on the main strip of Palm Canyon Drive, in down town Palm Springs.

Executive Chef:
Ignacio Zayas

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, matchbox is the perfect venue for your special gathering or celebration! Winner of the prestigious 2004 RAMMY Award for Best New Restaurant in Washington, DC, our second location in Downtown Palm Springs is an exciting restaurant with a decidedly hip and urban feel.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Estrada: 7607786000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From June 1st - the 10th Matchbox will be featuring our 3 course $24 per person Restaurant week menu. In addition to our restaurant week menu which can be viewed at www.palmspringsrestaurantweek.com we will also be offering our full pizza menu.

Matchbox was designed to offer a number of different choices in planning your event. Toast your guests with a delicious infused martini on our outside patio or spread out in our spacious and inviting dining room with communal tables and booth seating!

Restaurant Photos

Strawberry Cream Pie
Oven-Dried Tomato + Fresh Mozzarella
Blueberry Lemon Drop
Arancini
Half And Half Pizza Fire + Smoke And Pizza Italian Salami
Matchbox Mule (Cocktail)
Simple Green Salad
Lost Coast Great White Beer
Spicy Meatball Pizza
Moscow Mule
Fire & Smoke Pizza
Spinach Salad
Black Mission Fig Pizza
Sliders
Ahi Tempura Roll
Port Wipeout  Ipa
Pizza Roll
Hofbräu Dunkel
shrimp salad
Fish & Chips
Pesto Chicken Pizza
Sausage Pizza
Prosciutto & Fig Pizza
Bistro Burger
Calamari
Matchbox Meat Pizza
Grilled Halibut Special
Grilled Romaine Steak Salad
lemon tart
Bacon burger
Cedar Plank Salmon
Spicy Ahi Tuna Tempura Roll
Russian Mule
Mini Bur
Risotto
Ephemere Apple Beer

Matchbox Palm Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

great for outdoor dining (36)
good for groups (32)
hot spot (22)
See All
fit for foodies (20)
neighborhood gem (20)
scenic view (19)
kid-friendly (17)
special occasion (17)
great for lunch (15)
romantic (14)
vibrant bar scene (12)
notable wine list (7)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The burger and fries are better at Ruby' ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The burger and fries are better at Ruby's across the courtyard, and the full size salad portion is skimpy for the price. Overall, not a good value and we won't return. Very sorry to report this because our server and the manager obviously cared to try to give us a good experience. They get an 'A' for effort but the food preppers and quantity policy makers at Corporate get a 'C' at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Delicious pizza with crisp, thin crust. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Delicious pizza with crisp, thin crust. We were pleased to find that Happy Hour prices included our pizzas, as well as our tasty house margaritas! Service was prompt and friendly, and our food came to table very quickly. Entire staff was welcoming, polite, and helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server was great ......

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server was great ......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place always delivers great food an ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This place always delivers great food and service. We ordered salads and pizza, I think this is the best pizza in the valley.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a late reservation for my boyfriend' ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Had a late reservation for my boyfriend's birthday. Our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. The food was sublime. Cannot wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks, pizza, and calamari were great. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Drinks, pizza, and calamari were great. Burger came out waaay overcooked, came out well done when asked for medium. As soon as we told our server, she took it and had a new one made. Inconvenient, but handled well. It would've been nice if they had bread or chips or something to munch on while we waited for our apps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The tomatoes on the pizza were gross. Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The tomatoes on the pizza were gross. They were too big and seems like they were out of a can. Veggie pizza was much better than the tomato/mozzarella. The bread appetizer was the best part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Not a good experience at all. They were ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Not a good experience at all. They were out of a lot of items on the menu, the food took over 40 minutes to arrive, and ironically was cold when we did receive it. All of the tables around us had the same problem, and no one seemed very happy. The staff was fairly apologetic and did seem to care, but I don't think we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We really enjoyed our dinner at Matchbox ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Matchbox. The food and service were excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was great, location was great! Our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was great, location was great! Our server was very slow and inattentive, but other than her, we had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

I love Matchbox, unfortunately, when we ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I love Matchbox, unfortunately, when we arrived and were given seats at the bar as requested,

(NBA finals were on TV), we were not advised that the air conditioner in bar area was not working, and it was only 122 in Palm Springs on Sunday- however in just over an hour, the A/C

was fixed and working.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value5

Always a few a dining experience at Matc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Always a few a dining experience at Matchbox Palm Springs.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great happy hour, great pizza, gr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always great happy hour, great pizza, great burgers. A must visit when we are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had reservations and seated immediate ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had reservations and seated immediately. The table was inside a doorway which felt like being a greeter with exeryone walking by. We were impressed that they found is a nice booth so we could enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

4 moms of young children out on the town ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

4 moms of young children out on the town. Bread + herb butter was to die for, very accommodating with special drink requests, meals also fantastic. Easy to talk but still fun and energetic. Server was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great cocktails and beers to choose from ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great cocktails and beers to choose from. Excellent pizza's with variety of flavor profiles. Decor is unique and fitting for the ambiance of this foodie spot. Be expected to spend a little extra $$ for the experience; worth the extra couple bucks for the nice quality of foods and services.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food! We should have chosen an in ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great food! We should have chosen an indoor table...too hot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great again

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Another great dining evening. Our favorite spot downtown. Our server Tony is the best ever.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Frankly, one of our worst dining experiences for a long time.

Everything was marinated in pepper. The starter, pizza(s). Starters looked liked they were bought in, then covered in a marinated tomato sauce.

We all felt a little rough after, as a result.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Did not disappoint !

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We went for our sons birthday. They gave us a great table on the balcony! The view of downtown Palm Springs was amazing. Especially the people watching. The food and drinks were delicious !! The pizza will not disappoint. We also had the kale salad with the seared ahi tuna. We loved it. The wait staff was beyond great. We had an awesome server, funny, attentive and polite. It made for a perfect dinner. Thanks Matchbox, we will be back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a wonderful find in Downtown Pa ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This was a wonderful find in Downtown Palm Springs! The staff was friendly and helpful, the food very good and the wine list perfect. I can't wait to share this spot with friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous evening... The apple and pear s ...

 
 (Yorkshire)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Fabulous evening... The apple and pear salad was excellent as was the pizza, however what really made it was the balcony view over downtown Palm Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was conducive to every ki ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The atmosphere was conducive to every kind of outing, be it romantic dinner, birthday, or just getting together with a bunch of your friends. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a stop for us

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We travel to the Palm Springs area 4 times a year and always have a meal at The Matchbox. Great good, good drinks and a balcony view are a must for us!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Food and service was great. Only complai ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Food and service was great. Only complaint, ordered a Mango martini drink and bartender (mistakenly) put Tabasco sauce in it! One sip and I almost choked.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wow, Pizza good, but bread was amazing

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We ate the pizza which was very good, but house garlic bread was out of this world!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Matchbox is one of our favorite places t ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Matchbox is one of our favorite places to dine. Service is always good, from THE hostess to the wait staff. Always nice to bring company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely amazing.

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My neighbor and I have been trying different restaurants. She wanted a good martini and Matchbox came up on Yelp as the best Martini's near by. They were correct, the Lemon Blueberry was so amazing we had 2 of them. The apple salad was so delicious. I most definitely recommend the bread pudding, we actually fought over the last bite. The server could have been a little more attentive, as we wanted water and another drink and had to track her down for drinks and to check on our food as it took a little longer then it should have we think.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food, cute spot.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Good food, cute spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

We had a private balcony tablee which was wonderful. It was a quiet night. Service was excellent and food was very good. I recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Spot

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

A very pleasing dining experience. Loved the "private balcony" table above S Palm Canyon Dr. Cream of Crab soup was outstanding. Followed that with 3 hamburger sliders plus the onion rings. Great meal. Definitely a place we will return to on future trips to Palm Springs. Stacey was great. Spot on with her recommendations and very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to wait too long until waiter came a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Had to wait too long until waiter came after being seated. One of the seats had a drip from light fixture illicitly water from mister.

Calamari and arancini were excellent. Pork chop was dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

A happy hour hit!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Hungry for some pizza pie on our way out of Palm Springs, we decided to try this locally recommended sensation. My only complaint is parking in the area can be a pain at certain hours, but the inconvenience was well worth it. We happened to hit happy hour when all the pies on the menu are $5-8. My kids split a 10" and my husband and I each got our own. Even with alcohol, our bill was barely over $35. Not to mention, the pizza was fantastic. Service was great and the decor was warm and welcoming.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very accommodating!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Matchbox was very accommodating with my reservation making my experience worth bragging about to my friends. Service was extremely friendly from each of the staff.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We will return!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The food was very good. We had pizzas and they were great! Even our oldest daughter who doesn't like pizza sauce, loved the piece she had. Our server was very attentive and kind. We look forward to our next trip to Palm Spring for more great food. Thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were here twice on this visit to PS. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

We were here twice on this visit to PS. We went early to enjoy outside patio eating and watching activities on street below. All was fantastic. Waitress was accommodating and friendly. The applies were wonderful and pizza great if you like thin crust. We do and did.

Beer was served on cold glasses which I always appreciate. Fun restaurant, we will be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Was perfect for us. Two kids, 10 and 13, ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Was perfect for us. Two kids, 10 and 13, picky so pizza is always a good bet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Their happy hour menu is always our chea ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Their happy hour menu is always our cheapest meal on our holiday. The pizza is delish. Worth going even when it's not happy hour. In the perfect locale above the best part of the strip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The beet salad was delicious and beautif ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The beet salad was delicious and beautifully plated, but the portion was not worth the cost. Pizza was good and service was efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

excellent

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We had the pizza it was very tasty and the crust was just as we like it thin. We also had the beet salad what an interesting combination lived it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.