About Match Eatery and Public House - Cascades

20393 Fraser Highway
Langley, BC V3A 7N2
View Larger Map

MATCH Eatery & Public House is a contemporary themed Pub offering a great sporting, and entertainment experience with the elements of comfort one might find in a British Pub. With energetic and attentive staff serving pub staples, with a local and gastro flare featuring Live Music, DJ’s and sporting events.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, British

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 530-2211

Website:
http://matchpub.com/

Executive Chef:
Vinay Racharla

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Match Eatery and Public House - Cascades Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Birthdays (5)
See All
Modern Decor (4)
Live Sports (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Casual (4)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fireplace (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Spicy (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
73 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

'Twas a nice place with interesting food ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

'Twas a nice place with interesting food--taste-wise and as far as presentation goes. The spicy Mac 'n' Cheese was not only actually spicy, but also tasty; also, serving delicious sliders with french fries that are inside shot glasses is a nice touch

Our server was not that great. She was friendly, but not very attentive; for example, after we started indulging in our delicious meals, she walked by a few times and did not ask us how everything was until I asked her for a refill.

Overall, I recommend this place, but it is definitely not my number one pick.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This restaurant was awesome, the food an ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This restaurant was awesome, the food and service was great, we have been here several times and have never had a bad meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The potato-leek soup was amazing and the Bibb lettuce salad was refreshing. The table was split on the monkfish – one person thought it was great, but another felt that the tastes didn't quite mesh. Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable."

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had never been to a Matches before. Bei ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Had never been to a Matches before. Being able to reserve a table was a great plus, given a group of us were arranging a get together. Prices good. We were going to casino after dinner anyway, so was most convenient. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Angelica our server was friendly and eff ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Angelica our server was friendly and efficient...almost surprising as she appeared incredibly busy yet we received everything in a timely manor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we first got there, our waitress wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

When we first got there, our waitress was rushing us to pick our appetizer and then came back like 5 minutes after asking if we are ready to order our mains. When I got my food, the burger was burnt, not hot, the bun was also burnt, and the fries weren't even hot. My boyfriends food was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

We go here for wings/beer close to once ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We go here for wings/beer close to once a week. Good Happy Hour Specials. NFL/NHL are always on. Fun atmosphere.

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I ordered chicken bites but ribs arrived ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 14, 2016

I ordered chicken bites but ribs arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was amazing!! Hayley and Ev ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service was amazing!! Hayley and Evan were great. It was nice to see all the servers involved in bringing food put when it came up. We did find some of the food a bit bland - in particular the coleslaw with the fish and chips. We ordered a fair amount of the Happy Hour appetizers so we got very good value on that

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value5

We really enjoyed ourselves and we had a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 22, 2016

We really enjoyed ourselves and we had a great evening, Daniel Wesley was awesome.

We are new to Langley and we will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed having dinner with before going ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Enjoyed having dinner with before going to see a show. Food and service was very good. I found the noise level was very loud for conversing, but overall enjoy dining there.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was very noisy. The portions were sma ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 11, 2016

It was very noisy. The portions were small and our table had the setting sun shine right in our eyes. We probably won't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We went for an early Anniversary dinner. ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2016

We went for an early Anniversary dinner. Seating at the covered outdoor proved to be a very pleasant experience, comfortable and warm. The service was very good. Waitress and staff were attentive, pleasant and unobtrusive, but on top of things.

The food was exceptional. We had the Nachos, Calamari and French Onion Soup. The Nachos and Calamari were unique. The Nachos were excellent with cheese throughout, not just thrown on top, and the chips had a tortilla under them which caught the cheese usually stuck to the plate. We have never seen that before and it is an excellent idea.

The Calamari was perfect. Lightly pan fried then coated with a great crust. I think they are the best Calamari I have ever encountered - tender and very tasty.

The soup was a good French Onion soup, but not the highlight.

An unexpected (complimentary) dessert arrived. A sweet Caramel cake on a plate upon which the staff had written "Happy Anniversary". This was the cap on an excellent dinner.

Thanks Match, we will certainly be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waitress was funny, personable and a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our waitress was funny, personable and attentive. Food was good and atmosphere enjoyed

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outdoor covered deck is the place to enj ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Outdoor covered deck is the place to enjoy this restaurant. The inside is very dark, as it is in the casino. My beef sliders were the best tasting beef I've ever had. My friends salmon burger was excellent as well. TVs on with sports but not noisy. Booths very comfy. Some occasional car noise, as the deck near the parking lot. You would not notice this, as there's shrubbery surrounding the deck. Really enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations (strongly recommende ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 16, 2016

We had reservations (strongly recommended) as we also had tickets for the Roy Orbison tribute performance in the casino.

After being told no booths were available, we entered past a long line of non-reservation guest and were taken to an area where tables were crowded together.

Our table was right under a ceiling air conditioning vent, and Sharon was very cold. We asked if there was another table, and to our surprise we were taken to an unoccupied booth.

This is what we originally wanted and it was perfect.

Our waitress arrived quickly and was very friendly. Good wine list. Our meals arrived quickly and hot. Both were delicious. Prices very reasonable.

While we were there because of a casino event, we enjoyed "Match" enough to come back again for dining only. (but will insist on a booth)

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food but the service was so/so

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I had booked a reservation through Open Table for Mothers Day Brunch. I have never had any problems booking reservations through Open Table, but upon arrival to Match they notified us they lost our reservation. Thankfully I had a confirmation email and it wasn't busy so they were able to seat us.

The Staff were friendly and the food very tasty and reasonably priced. However, the service wasn't very good and it wasn't particularly busy (even for Mother's Day, only half the tables were occupied and it was just after Noon). It took 15 minutes for our drinks to come and nearly 50 minutes for our food, and our server brought our appetizer AND meals together. The appetizer had clearly been sitting under a heat lamp for awhile. He got our orders wrong (but we didn't complain) and we had to catch him as he took our empty drinks away so we could order another, or we feared we might not see him again. To be fair, I believe he was new, and we didn't want to make a fuss and ruin his day, but maybe Mother's Day wasn't the best day to have him take a section to himself. It could also have been the kitchen's fault as others were complaining about the speed of service as well.

I hate to give a bad review, and Match was a great atmosphere, very friendly front staff and hostesses, food was good and who doesn't love the location next to the casino, but I just wish service had been a little more speedier. We may be back just to give it another chance since we enjoy the casino and we really want to like the place.

More than one TV showing Keno would be great too!

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Mother's Day brunch

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my Mom here for brunch to celebrate Mother's Day. We were a group of 6 ranging from age 8-68. They had a great brunch menu, and were very accommodating. It was extremely reasonable, and almost unheard of value at 92.00 for all 6 of us including 4 mimosas, tax and tip! Great patio, too, covered so you are shaded with a breeze. Also convenient located at the casino, if you like that. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Too loud, alcoholic drinks too expensive ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Too loud, alcoholic drinks too expensive, no happy hour on weekends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Decent

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2016

Decent food. Some good happy hour prices on food and drink. Located inside casino so good if you like to gamble. Our experience would have been better if we weren't at the table (we reserved days ahead) next to the washroom entrance and where the staff like to congregate. I would go again now I know which table to reserve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

we enjoyed our time at the Match for the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2016

we enjoyed our time at the Match for the most part. Never did get the fries I ordered,and the bill was very mixed up but got it straightened out eventually . Do like the idea that you can make reservations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We were celebrating a 75th Birthday!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2016

There was 9 of us ladies celebrating a 75th birthday, each of us had something different, and everyone said the food was delicious, our waitress was very friendly, and did a great job, I'm on a diet so I had a salad with chicken breast, another had thin crust pizza, she said it was the best she ever had, another had a salmon burger, she said it was great, another had beef dip, she loved it, lettuce wraps were great, sandwiches were wonderful. The atmosphere was great! We had a lovely time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Friday Night Fun

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Friday night at Match Eatery is the beginning of a very enjoyable evening with friends. The waitress are friendly and helpful. The wine list offers a good variety of red & white. The atmosphere was alive and happening. The menu has something for every foodie and appetite size. Again recommendations by staff worked out well for us. Really nice that there was no pressure to eat & drink up so they could fill the table. After an enjoyable meal its off to the Lounge to listen to the band and dance our feet off.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 24, 2015

The first phone call should have been a clue that I may regret my experience. I called two weeks before my luncheon for a reservation. The woman took my name and number and said someone would call me back. No one called. So I booked a table for 10 on line.

The day of the luncheon- I received a phone call from The Match, 50 minutes prior our reservation, asking if my reservation for 20 was still on. I told the woman that I only booked for 10.

When our party arrived at our reserved tome, the table was not ready. They pulled three tables together while we waited right by the kitchen. The waitress was rude. She made mistakes with our order and was generally unpleasant throughout our meal. She completely forgot one order.

It was a very disappointing lunch out for our party and we will not be returning.

Not only has The Match lost any return of our party of 10, within one hour I told 4 other people who asked how poor our lunch was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

First time

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2015

Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Food was great. restaurant nice and clean. Only complaint was that it was VERY loud. That said I would recommend it to friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Food is good and outside patio is excell ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2015

Food is good and outside patio is excellent in Langley

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good food!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2015

Wife and I went with a 2 for 1 dinner coupon the casino sent us. My salmon dinner was EXCELLENT. Better than I expected at a pub-like place. Enjoyed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Good!!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 30, 2015

Sechuan wings were amazing! Super busy due to the power all over Langley being out and a windstorm all day but still had a great night!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The waitress was AMAZING she made us hav ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 12, 2015

The waitress was AMAZING she made us have a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

going here to celebrate my 24th birthday ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 31, 2015

going here to celebrate my 24th birthday was awesome! it was crazy hot out though so we almost melted on the patio but that's alright, we did request it. just would have been nice to have been put at a table in the shade. food was was great, everyone

loved it (the Brie! yum!) & the drinks are good but crazy pricey..

would still return especially for happy hour!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food, energetic scene and good prices!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 24, 2015

Overall, we had a great time! We were there to take in the Elvis Elite show, so we arrived early for snacvks and beverages and went back after the show for nightcaps. Food and drinks were consistent, but the service was not. Our 2nd server (after 10 pm) made us feel like we were bothering her by being there versus our earlier experience of feeling welcome and appreciated by the hostess Amber and our server Lindsay, they were both AMAZING!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Best patio around

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 13, 2015

This is a great place to go and sit out on the patio. The food is really good and always have good specials.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fast service and good food. Friendly an ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 5, 2015

Fast service and good food. Friendly and professional staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Happy Hour

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 2, 2015

A great Happy Hour with good food, drinks and cost. Beats a lot of competitors Happy Hour events in food, beverage and cost. There is an inside and outside patio. I like the ambiance and great service. It is very active with the Casino attached. Unless travelling, I typically, do not get excited about Happy Hours, but I have been back twice in two weeks. Each time coming with different people. As I chat with others about Match Eatery, I am surprised how many people have heard good things but not gone yet. I would certainly, try their off Happy Hour menu, as well, it looks good and priced competitively. I recommend Match Eatery for the food, service and Happy Hour.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Beautiful afternoon at Match

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 19, 2015

I had the privilege of dinning at Match on a Sunny Sunday afternoon. The weather was great so we were able to eat outside on the covered patio. We came in the late afternoon so it was fairly quite. Service and food were very good and quite reasonable. It would be interesting to stop back there in the evening time to see how the ambiance changes. Looking forward to eating here again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good service, fresh food

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 7, 2015

The service was excellent. We were greeted promptly, and sat immediately. Staff were very pleasant and professional. Menu for lunch was varied, with a plethora of options. Salad greens were very fresh. The presentation was very nice. The outdoor patio looked inviting, with a fireplace. Indoor seating was a choice of tables and booths. Pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The stuffed chicken was very tasty!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 17, 2015

The stuffed chicken was very tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We had great service from our waitress J ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 13, 2015

We had great service from our waitress Jennifer, food was good,wine was priced good before 6 pm

They accommodated us to a better table as some of us can not sit on the high chairs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

patio opens too late

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 7, 2015

I have two small complaints. One is that the patio opens way too late we went last Saturday and the weather was gorgeous we got there at 330 and I had made a reso online asking for the patio but I was told the patio didn't open til 5. Thought it was weird since that's the part of a nice day you want the patio open for. We watched them turn away groups of sun goers. The other is just that happy hour no longer includes appies.

The server was great. And when we finally did get outside we loved the atmosphere out there.

One more quick side note...If you are going to change something on the menu please let your guests know. Your wings now come with sesame seeds on them which they didn't before and I'm fatally allergic to them.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Mediocre

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 31, 2015

Our reservation was for 7:15PM. We arrived at 7:10PM and waited 30 minutes to be seated. Extremely loud and dark. My dish was good, but the others in our party didn't enjoy theirs as much. Don't order the nachos, just trust me. The server put a plate on the nachos that were left before asking the entire table if they were finished. We were sharing several appies.

The Washrooms were confusing and lacked the privacy I want when using the ladies room.

Chances of us going back........slim to none.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.