About Match Eatery and Public House - Cascades

20393 Fraser Highway
Langley, BC V3A 7N2
View Larger Map

MATCH Eatery & Public House is a contemporary themed Pub offering a great sporting, and entertainment experience with the elements of comfort one might find in a British Pub. With energetic and attentive staff serving pub staples, with a local and gastro flare featuring Live Music, DJ’s and sporting events.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, British

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 530-2211

Website:
http://matchpub.com/

Executive Chef:
Vinay Racharla

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Match Eatery and Public House - Cascades Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Vancouver / British Columbia
Great for Lunch
Vancouver Suburbs
Outdoor Dining
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Langley ›

Good for Groups (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
See All
Great for Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
66 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I ordered chicken bites but ribs arrived ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I ordered chicken bites but ribs arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was amazing!! Hayley and Ev ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service was amazing!! Hayley and Evan were great. It was nice to see all the servers involved in bringing food put when it came up. We did find some of the food a bit bland - in particular the coleslaw with the fish and chips. We ordered a fair amount of the Happy Hour appetizers so we got very good value on that

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value5

We really enjoyed ourselves and we had a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We really enjoyed ourselves and we had a great evening, Daniel Wesley was awesome.

We are new to Langley and we will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed having dinner with before going ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Enjoyed having dinner with before going to see a show. Food and service was very good. I found the noise level was very loud for conversing, but overall enjoy dining there.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was very noisy. The portions were sma ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

It was very noisy. The portions were small and our table had the setting sun shine right in our eyes. We probably won't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We went for an early Anniversary dinner. ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We went for an early Anniversary dinner. Seating at the covered outdoor proved to be a very pleasant experience, comfortable and warm. The service was very good. Waitress and staff were attentive, pleasant and unobtrusive, but on top of things.

The food was exceptional. We had the Nachos, Calamari and French Onion Soup. The Nachos and Calamari were unique. The Nachos were excellent with cheese throughout, not just thrown on top, and the chips had a tortilla under them which caught the cheese usually stuck to the plate. We have never seen that before and it is an excellent idea.

The Calamari was perfect. Lightly pan fried then coated with a great crust. I think they are the best Calamari I have ever encountered - tender and very tasty.

The soup was a good French Onion soup, but not the highlight.

An unexpected (complimentary) dessert arrived. A sweet Caramel cake on a plate upon which the staff had written "Happy Anniversary". This was the cap on an excellent dinner.

Thanks Match, we will certainly be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waitress was funny, personable and a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our waitress was funny, personable and attentive. Food was good and atmosphere enjoyed

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outdoor covered deck is the place to enj ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Outdoor covered deck is the place to enjoy this restaurant. The inside is very dark, as it is in the casino. My beef sliders were the best tasting beef I've ever had. My friends salmon burger was excellent as well. TVs on with sports but not noisy. Booths very comfy. Some occasional car noise, as the deck near the parking lot. You would not notice this, as there's shrubbery surrounding the deck. Really enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations (strongly recommende ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

We had reservations (strongly recommended) as we also had tickets for the Roy Orbison tribute performance in the casino.

After being told no booths were available, we entered past a long line of non-reservation guest and were taken to an area where tables were crowded together.

Our table was right under a ceiling air conditioning vent, and Sharon was very cold. We asked if there was another table, and to our surprise we were taken to an unoccupied booth.

This is what we originally wanted and it was perfect.

Our waitress arrived quickly and was very friendly. Good wine list. Our meals arrived quickly and hot. Both were delicious. Prices very reasonable.

While we were there because of a casino event, we enjoyed "Match" enough to come back again for dining only. (but will insist on a booth)

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food but the service was so/so

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I had booked a reservation through Open Table for Mothers Day Brunch. I have never had any problems booking reservations through Open Table, but upon arrival to Match they notified us they lost our reservation. Thankfully I had a confirmation email and it wasn't busy so they were able to seat us.

The Staff were friendly and the food very tasty and reasonably priced. However, the service wasn't very good and it wasn't particularly busy (even for Mother's Day, only half the tables were occupied and it was just after Noon). It took 15 minutes for our drinks to come and nearly 50 minutes for our food, and our server brought our appetizer AND meals together. The appetizer had clearly been sitting under a heat lamp for awhile. He got our orders wrong (but we didn't complain) and we had to catch him as he took our empty drinks away so we could order another, or we feared we might not see him again. To be fair, I believe he was new, and we didn't want to make a fuss and ruin his day, but maybe Mother's Day wasn't the best day to have him take a section to himself. It could also have been the kitchen's fault as others were complaining about the speed of service as well.

I hate to give a bad review, and Match was a great atmosphere, very friendly front staff and hostesses, food was good and who doesn't love the location next to the casino, but I just wish service had been a little more speedier. We may be back just to give it another chance since we enjoy the casino and we really want to like the place.

***More than one TV showing Keno would be great too!***

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Mother's Day brunch

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my Mom here for brunch to celebrate Mother's Day. We were a group of 6 ranging from age 8-68. They had a great brunch menu, and were very accommodating. It was extremely reasonable, and almost unheard of value at 92.00 for all 6 of us including 4 mimosas, tax and tip! Great patio, too, covered so you are shaded with a breeze. Also convenient located at the casino, if you like that. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Too loud, alcoholic drinks too expensive ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Too loud, alcoholic drinks too expensive, no happy hour on weekends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Decent

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Decent food. Some good happy hour prices on food and drink. Located inside casino so good if you like to gamble. Our experience would have been better if we weren't at the table (we reserved days ahead) next to the washroom entrance and where the staff like to congregate. I would go again now I know which table to reserve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

we enjoyed our time at the Match for the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

we enjoyed our time at the Match for the most part. Never did get the fries I ordered,and the bill was very mixed up but got it straightened out eventually . Do like the idea that you can make reservations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We were celebrating a 75th Birthday!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

There was 9 of us ladies celebrating a 75th birthday, each of us had something different, and everyone said the food was delicious, our waitress was very friendly, and did a great job, I'm on a diet so I had a salad with chicken breast, another had thin crust pizza, she said it was the best she ever had, another had a salmon burger, she said it was great, another had beef dip, she loved it, lettuce wraps were great, sandwiches were wonderful. The atmosphere was great! We had a lovely time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Friday Night Fun

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Friday night at Match Eatery is the beginning of a very enjoyable evening with friends. The waitress are friendly and helpful. The wine list offers a good variety of red & white. The atmosphere was alive and happening. The menu has something for every foodie and appetite size. Again recommendations by staff worked out well for us. Really nice that there was no pressure to eat & drink up so they could fill the table. After an enjoyable meal its off to the Lounge to listen to the band and dance our feet off.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 24, 2015

The first phone call should have been a clue that I may regret my experience. I called two weeks before my luncheon for a reservation. The woman took my name and number and said someone would call me back. No one called. So I booked a table for 10 on line.

The day of the luncheon- I received a phone call from The Match, 50 minutes prior our reservation, asking if my reservation for 20 was still on. I told the woman that I only booked for 10.

When our party arrived at our reserved tome, the table was not ready. They pulled three tables together while we waited right by the kitchen. The waitress was rude. She made mistakes with our order and was generally unpleasant throughout our meal. She completely forgot one order.

It was a very disappointing lunch out for our party and we will not be returning.

Not only has The Match lost any return of our party of 10, within one hour I told 4 other people who asked how poor our lunch was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

First time

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 19, 2015

Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Food was great. restaurant nice and clean. Only complaint was that it was VERY loud. That said I would recommend it to friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Food is good and outside patio is excell ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

Food is good and outside patio is excellent in Langley

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good food!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Wife and I went with a 2 for 1 dinner coupon the casino sent us. My salmon dinner was EXCELLENT. Better than I expected at a pub-like place. Enjoyed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Good!!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

Sechuan wings were amazing! Super busy due to the power all over Langley being out and a windstorm all day but still had a great night!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The waitress was AMAZING she made us hav ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 12, 2015

The waitress was AMAZING she made us have a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

going here to celebrate my 24th birthday ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 31, 2015

going here to celebrate my 24th birthday was awesome! it was crazy hot out though so we almost melted on the patio but that's alright, we did request it. just would have been nice to have been put at a table in the shade. food was was great, everyone

loved it (the Brie! yum!) & the drinks are good but crazy pricey..

would still return especially for happy hour!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food, energetic scene and good prices!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 24, 2015

Overall, we had a great time! We were there to take in the Elvis Elite show, so we arrived early for snacvks and beverages and went back after the show for nightcaps. Food and drinks were consistent, but the service was not. Our 2nd server (after 10 pm) made us feel like we were bothering her by being there versus our earlier experience of feeling welcome and appreciated by the hostess Amber and our server Lindsay, they were both AMAZING!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Best patio around

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 13, 2015

This is a great place to go and sit out on the patio. The food is really good and always have good specials.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fast service and good food. Friendly an ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 5, 2015

Fast service and good food. Friendly and professional staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Happy Hour

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 2, 2015

A great Happy Hour with good food, drinks and cost. Beats a lot of competitors Happy Hour events in food, beverage and cost. There is an inside and outside patio. I like the ambiance and great service. It is very active with the Casino attached. Unless travelling, I typically, do not get excited about Happy Hours, but I have been back twice in two weeks. Each time coming with different people. As I chat with others about Match Eatery, I am surprised how many people have heard good things but not gone yet. I would certainly, try their off Happy Hour menu, as well, it looks good and priced competitively. I recommend Match Eatery for the food, service and Happy Hour.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Beautiful afternoon at Match

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

I had the privilege of dinning at Match on a Sunny Sunday afternoon. The weather was great so we were able to eat outside on the covered patio. We came in the late afternoon so it was fairly quite. Service and food were very good and quite reasonable. It would be interesting to stop back there in the evening time to see how the ambiance changes. Looking forward to eating here again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good service, fresh food

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 7, 2015

The service was excellent. We were greeted promptly, and sat immediately. Staff were very pleasant and professional. Menu for lunch was varied, with a plethora of options. Salad greens were very fresh. The presentation was very nice. The outdoor patio looked inviting, with a fireplace. Indoor seating was a choice of tables and booths. Pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The stuffed chicken was very tasty!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 17, 2015

The stuffed chicken was very tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We had great service from our waitress J ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 13, 2015

We had great service from our waitress Jennifer, food was good,wine was priced good before 6 pm

They accommodated us to a better table as some of us can not sit on the high chairs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

patio opens too late

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 7, 2015

I have two small complaints. One is that the patio opens way too late we went last Saturday and the weather was gorgeous we got there at 330 and I had made a reso online asking for the patio but I was told the patio didn't open til 5. Thought it was weird since that's the part of a nice day you want the patio open for. We watched them turn away groups of sun goers. The other is just that happy hour no longer includes appies.

The server was great. And when we finally did get outside we loved the atmosphere out there.

One more quick side note...If you are going to change something on the menu please let your guests know. Your wings now come with sesame seeds on them which they didn't before and I'm fatally allergic to them.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Mediocre

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 31, 2015

Our reservation was for 7:15PM. We arrived at 7:10PM and waited 30 minutes to be seated. Extremely loud and dark. My dish was good, but the others in our party didn't enjoy theirs as much. Don't order the nachos, just trust me. The server put a plate on the nachos that were left before asking the entire table if they were finished. We were sharing several appies.

The Washrooms were confusing and lacked the privacy I want when using the ladies room.

Chances of us going back........slim to none.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

The food was great! Service lacked.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 31, 2015

In fairness there was 9 of us, but 40 mins to get a drink, was a little long. We had a round of shots, asked for salt. (Tequila shots) waited 20 mins, and server brought us pepper. There were a few follies like that, and we started ordering 2 drinks at once, in hopes that they would last long enough until the server returned.

It was busy, and we would come again - perhaps on busy nights you might get a couple of extra servers?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Go here if you've got a lot of time to kill

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 23, 2015

The restaurant wasn't part busy, but it still took the server about 15 minutes to acknowledge us. She the. Just asked us if we were ready to order without even asking how we were doing. We didn't get the dine out menus and then had to wait again for those and once they were delivered the server disappeared again. She finally took our drink order and we then had to wait a really long time for drinks. The food was okay, not bad, but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Great NFL Gameday

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 18, 2015

Took forever to get our first beer but the girl working as hostess stepped it up and after that service was great. Think the whole place filled five minute before kickoff so it was understandable. Great spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Not impressed with the service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 4, 2015

A reservation was made through open table for Saturday January 3, 2015. We called half an hour before our set time to confirm. When we showed up we were told they were full and would not be able to accommodate our reservation. The hostess and a man (possibly a manager) advised us that they were not expecting to be as busy as they were but there was a UFC fight and they had had a bunch of walk ins from the casino. Ok but why would they not have held our table for us?? The hostess was apologetic and was trying to problem solve, but the manager did not really seem to care at all and was basically telling us we would need to go elsewhere. Given it was a Saturday night at 7:45 other establishments would likely be full.

Thankfully the hostess was able to come up with a plan and brought a table in from the patio for us and as soon as we were seated a table opened up for us.

Overall the atmosphere, food and drinks were good, but the service, other than the hostess, was not good. Our server was alright, but it took awhile for her to bring us our drinks and refill our waters.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Christmas Day Dinner

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on December 26, 2014

It was the only restaurant open on Christmas Day, but it turned out to be a wonderful dinner. Food and service was the best you could want. It is a public house and is connected with the casino, but we were able to sit at tables away from that noise, in an area that had Christmas music playing. Food alone is worth a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

A little let down

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on December 21, 2014

This restaurant has a great vibe and the food was really good. The biggest disappointment for me was in my opinion the make or break for any business, "service". The waitresses were very nice if you were fortunate enough to see one.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Great experience

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on November 24, 2014

My husband and I came to match eatery with some friends. We got seated right away. The server was really friendly and knowledgeable. I accidentally order the wrong drink. She had it remade with no hesitation even though I ordered it wrong. The food was great. Good portions and served hot. My one friend raved that it was the best beef dip he had. Over all a great experience. I would definitely come again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.