About Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert

73405 El Paseo Dr. #120
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lupine Lane

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 776-6777

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Tajchman

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Greene : 7607766777x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Celebrate Christmas Eve at Mastro's. Join us for our classic menu featuring premium steaks, fresh seafood, hand-crafted cocktails, and world-class wine.

Open 4pm - 10pm. Reserve your table today!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Gather friends and family for the perfect Christmas meal at Mastro's. Indulge in premium steaks, fresh seafood, hand-crafted cocktails, and world-class wine.

Open for dinner at 5pm on Christmas Day. Reserve your table now!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
1 More
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Desert ›

Special Occasion (44)
Notable Wine List (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Romantic (29)
Live Music (29)
Good for a Date (24)
Bar Seating (20)
Fun (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Private Room (8)
Cozy (7)
People Watching (6)
Authentic (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Dancing (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service from start to finish, to m ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service from start to finish, to match the perfectly prepared food. We were in the El Paseo room, which was full. The bar was packed, with lots of action to go along with the superb live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went here to start a "Night on the To ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

We went here to start a "Night on the Town/ Bachelor Party". It is a Steak House, so get a steak. Service was great. If you don't get the cheese cake for dessert, you are a fool. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place! Food was delicious. It was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place! Food was delicious. It was our first time and it was louder than I expected but still great. Recommend the quiet area for a first time date.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Live Music, Fun, Modern Decor, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Hostess greeted us by name and wished my ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Hostess greeted us by name and wished my husband a happy birthday like she knew him personally. She had a great welcoming smile. Our waiter, Bill, had 4 tables with birthdays and treated each one like they were the only one with a birthday. He was professional, personable and pleasant. My hus band's dinner was the perfect meal to celebrate his 87th birthday. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, this was another amazing eveni ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

As usual, this was another amazing evening at Mastro's.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Vegan, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Authentic, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Private Room, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anyone who goes to Mastro's knows what t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Anyone who goes to Mastro's knows what they are in for ... I would happily pay their prices for superior food, but each time I go I am underwhelmed. The raw bar is not great quality, the steaks are just ok, and the vegetables are always drenched in butter. This always feels like a "foodie" experience for people who have never had truly great food in a major city. Their bread bowls are, however, superior, and so are the desserts. Next time I go, I'll just order a salad and make a meal out of the pretzel bread and butter cake ; )

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Fun, upbeat party environment with great ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Fun, upbeat party environment with great food and wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely setting, lively atmosphere in the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Lovely setting, lively atmosphere in the bar and excellent ahi tuna sashimi. Flavours are more wholesome and comfort food than fine dining, but still a place worth trying for a fun meal out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Had a fabulous Thanksgiving experience! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Had a fabulous Thanksgiving experience! Can't wait to return for another special occasion!

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Fun, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving was a huge letdown. There w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving was a huge letdown. There was nothing special about it except that they opened their doors where others may have taken the day off. I thought they'd have some inventive and creative dishes in honor of the holiday. Nope, just same expensive menu you can get every night of the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Amazing food and service. I am a frequen ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing food and service. I am a frequent guest at the Mastros in Scottsdale. Quality was just as good. Infortunately, the seating was too tight. We were seated by a door in a dining room where everyone walked in and out. Bumping up again three guests all the fans. Also, the room was very loud. Hard to hear conversations across the table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was excellent! The noise from ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was excellent! The noise from the bar area was too loud and the dining room noise was also loud because the tables are close together etc. We had to speak loudly to one another to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Dining at Mastro's was an amazing experi ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Dining at Mastro's was an amazing experience!! Thank you to the great friendly staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always dined at Mastro's every ti ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I have always dined at Mastro's every time I visit Palm Desert. I love the Beverly Hills and Malibu locations. The food tonight was below average, the steak was over cooked and rubbery, the steak sauce wasn't ordered so we got it half way through the meal, and then it was so peppered it was inedible. My husband and I now have terrible stomach aches and my husband is sick. I will never go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Our dinner was amazing. We custom order ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our dinner was amazing. We custom ordered our seafood tower. Let's just say nothing shy of our deliciousness . Huge shrimp, crab legs and lobster. If that wasn't enough, the lobster bisque was amazing. We ordered one vine in rib eye steak that was enough food (after the others items I mentioned) that was the icing on our dinner cake. Great all around experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The restaurant wasn't crowded at all, ye ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The restaurant wasn't crowded at all, yet they chose to set us at a table right next to the band. We could not talk without yelling. Our reservation was at 7:15 and the band was already playing. I don't expect to go to dinner at 7:15 and have a loud band playing in my ear. Our dinner was okay, but our dessert was awful. We always order the butter cake when we go to Mastro's in Newport Beach, and its always delicious. This one was dry and burnt. This is my third and last time at Mastro's in Palm Desert. The restaurant is dark and always playing loud music. Plus the food is never as good as the Mastro's in Newport Beach. Definitely not worth the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Excellent restaurant, very accommodatin ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent restaurant, very accommodating. I am salt free and they were very considerate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably my favorite chain steakhouse in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Probably my favorite chain steakhouse in NYC, Scottsdale, and Palm Springs. Always consistent. Great atmosphere. Food and cocktails always consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I would like to thank Gabby (Floor direc ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I would like to thank Gabby (Floor director) and Amy (our server) specifically. They ensured that our experience was a great one even though it did not start out right due to the delay in being seated. Things can go wrong for a number of reasons due to unavoidable circumstances but it was Gabby's positive attitude in ensuring that our special occasion was not ruined because of it.

Our server Amy was VERY PLEASANT to deal with and made some nice recommendations for my wife and I to enjoy our meals.

Food was great and ambience was awesome. We would go there again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We came to Mastro's in PD for our annive ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We came to Mastro's in PD for our anniversary. The food and service was spectacular and worth every penny. There was some live music that night so it took away from the romantic feel of the occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great drinks Great food Love the steak

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great drinks

Great food

Love the steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a nice experience, although we no ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always a nice experience, although we noticed that the restaurant was unusually noisy, which dropped the enjoyment level a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was excellent and th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As always, the food was excellent and the service was attentive (thanks Amy). However, the band started playing half way through our dinner and they were LOUD. Most especially because they were on the other side of a curtained opening. We were finishing our main course by this time and the tables were full, requesting another table was not an option. Next time I will ask

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Spectacular!!!! We have been to numerou ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Spectacular!!!! We have been to numerous Mastro's around the county and each and every location is sheer perfection. The food is amazing, the wine, conversation and service were a true memory.

Can't wait to go again here in DC and the next time we are in Scottsdale or Palm Springs, each creates a memorable experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found the food so-so ..the service was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I found the food so-so

..the service was slow. The food overpriced. Ambience. nice...

I mean they charged $5 for a Coke with no free refill.

And the birthday cake dessert was dry and tasteless.

.

.otherwise a. great evg

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Food is excellent! We were disappointed ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food is excellent! We were disappointed in our table however, stuck in a corner after booking a few days in advance. Table was also small for 4 guests.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This was the first time we were not wowe ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 8, 2016

This was the first time we were not wowed at Mastro's.

We always find their food, service, attention to detail and overall experience to be 5 Star but not tonight.

It was still very good but not quite as good as Costa Mesa or Newport Beach.

Keep trying Palm Desert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an early dinner to celebrate my s ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had an early dinner to celebrate my sister's Birthday. We were seated immediately and our server introduced himself. Jason had worked in San Francisco and was very knowledgable about Napa Valley wines. Our meals were all superb, filet mignon, and lamb riblets. The corkage fee was steep at $35, and there was a live band next to our dining room, the music was contemporary and a bit too loud.

We would return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was incredible. Yes, the steak ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was incredible. Yes, the steaks were fantastic, but the lobster bisque and lobster mashed potatoes were the best. Pricey, but worth it for a special night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Whilst live music is a good thing, it wa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Whilst live music is a good thing, it was so loud we could hardly converse. Also, it was necessary to get a 9:45 reservation, but in doing so the restaurant was empty at this time.

Tags: Late-night Find, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a great time dinning in the bar. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a great time dinning in the bar. The band was great, the service excellent. A great evening overall.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive...... probably wouldn't g ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very expensive...... probably wouldn't go back.

Very pretensive.....

Expense account type restaurant

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Excellent food. Great steak. However res ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Excellent food. Great steak. However restaurant extremely cold. Best part was warming up after the steak was served on 400 degree plate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was very good to outstanding. Steak ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Food was very good to outstanding. Steaks well prepared and to order. All food extremely hot which is how it should be. Desserts very well prepared. Service was good and overall attentive. Great wine selection. NOISEY and LOUD in the separate dining room which truly distracted from our enjoyment, meal and conversation. We had to almost "yell" across the table to be heard. The table across from us were a group of men who swore and shouted the entire time we were there. We asked for a quiet dining room location. Didn't happen. Without the noise, I would have gladly given Mastro's a 9/10

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

The bone-in filet was to die for. Medium ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The bone-in filet was to die for. Medium rare plus was exactly what I got. I could have cut it with a butter knife. It was the first restaurant steak that was actually better than I can do on the Oak pit.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was good but not at the level I ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was good but not at the level I've come to expect from Mastro's, the same can be said for our waiter; the busboy was more attentive. I used to look forward to dinner at Mastro's, now not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Waitress was great But two out of four ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Waitress was great But two out of four steaks were cooked incorrectly. One person's order was completely incorrect (wrong cut of meat). Three of us were almost finished eating by the time the correction was made and the steak wasn't cooked as ordered. Very disappointed for the caliber of the restaurant. Have been to several other Mastro's but never had these issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great food and great food. Always a goo ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food and great food. Always a good experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came back to Mastro's after having eaten ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Came back to Mastro's after having eaten here before in February 2016. The food was once again excellent. The Kobe Beef is very pricey and worth every penny. Seriously the finest steak I've ever eaten. Any time I am back in the area, I will be coming here for an outstanding dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always great food and service

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.