About Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert

73405 El Paseo Dr. #120
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lupine Lane

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 776-6777

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Tajchman

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Greene : 7607766777x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Vibrant Bar Scene
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
5 More
Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Service
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Vibrant Bar Scene
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Desert ›

special occasion (119)
vibrant bar scene (83)
romantic (65)
See All
hot spot (61)
fit for foodies (58)
notable wine list (57)
good for groups (43)
late-night find (22)
neighborhood gem (21)
great for brunch (5)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Great service, impeccab ...

Dined 6 days ago

Love this place. Great service, impeccable food, and friendly atmosphere. Including this place in my cool vibe category. Frank S or have been proud of the martini and service, let alone one hella good steak!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I think it may have been the best New Yo ...

Dined 7 days ago

I think it may have been the best New York steak I've ever had.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

The resturant in Palm Desert was ice col ...

Dined 7 days ago

The resturant in Palm Desert was ice cold and very uncomfortable on Fathers day.. the service started out good and then they just left us sitting for a while.. not what I expect when Iam paying these prices... The music was loud and not conducive to relaxing and having dinner... and being able to talk... I won't be back anytime soon.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

I must say that the minor oversight from ...

Dined 7 days ago

I must say that the minor oversight from our last visit in May was minimal but the staff was so welcoming and treated us to a appetizer. We were not asking for that but it was well appreciated also by the couple accompanying us for our anniversary dinner. All four of us last Sunday asked for the $65 special dinner and ordered the 8 oz. filet. things were going along well until our guest received this half inch steak instead of the thicker filets we received. the waiter was perplexed and a woman supervisor was adamant that his small piece of meat was a filet. His wife traded the steak with him and confirmed that it was a NY strip. We all thought the staff would want to satisfy and offer a new steak but none was forthcoming. I'm not sure we will be able to bring our friends back who have dined at Mastros everywhere except PD. Too bad it happened that this one person made our evening uncomfortable especially for our waiter who worked hard and we appreciated his effort.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

I had requested a quiet table in my rese ...

Dined 7 days ago

I had requested a quiet table in my reservation form through open table...as we were with elderly people with hearing aids. When we arrived we were told they would not honor our request as they were not opening up another dining room. The only dining room open on Father's Day was next to the bar where live music was playing...and only a curtain separated the 2 rooms. so the loud music infiltrated the dining room they were utilizing. For what we paid, this was unacceptable. The manager stopped by our table , as well as others, and asked how we were enjoying ourselves, and we explained the situation. She offered no explanation, but said it should n to have happened...and did not offer to move us, or comp a drink or dessert, or anything.She just walked away and we did not see her the rest of the evening.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We requested a high table in the bar sin ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We requested a high table in the bar since we like the lively scene and our request was granted. The service was pretty on point; however for the high level of restaurant Mastro's is, I thought our service was not very polished. Her serving style, etc. were not very crisp or on point. Overall we had a great experience and would go back but dinner for 2, splitting an entrée , was $153. If you like a high end restaurant and have the funds, it's the place to go

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Steaks are absolutely amazing, but I lov ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Steaks are absolutely amazing, but I loved the dungeonous crab cocktail! It was delicious. Very knowledgable and courteous staff.

food4
ambience4
service3

Very upscale. Might sound petty but if m ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very upscale. Might sound petty but if my glass of Diet Coke is empty, I should not have to ask to have it refilled.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Mastros exceeded expec ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our experience at Mastros exceeded expectations. The service, atmosphere, quality of food and overall experience was fantastic. Chef Devin Peters came out and said hello, which made us feel special. I highly recommend to anyone considering a great dining experience in the desert.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Chef's cut ribeye steak was cooked perfe ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Chef's cut ribeye steak was cooked perfectly! Well seasoned. Definitely worth a return visit.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our first time here, and celebrating our ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Our first time here, and celebrating our 27th anniversary we found we weren't alone. At least three couples around us doing the same. Excellent steak..filet on the bone. The lobster mashed potatoes too pricey but tasty. Service? Great. From door to table, and even a follow up call the next day. Very comfortable room, too. We'll be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining has always met my expectations, g ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Dining has always met my expectations, great food with ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Mastro's is a 5 star dining experience. ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Mastro's is a 5 star dining experience. They live up to this standard every time I visit.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

It saddens and angers me that we chose M ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

It saddens and angers me that we chose Mastros to 34th. we got bad service and my hubby's steak was so bad that he had to have them take it back. He did end up getting another steak but by the time he got his new steak our sides were too cold to eat. We ask for more bread which we got but the person who broght it to us just placed it on our table in a not so nice manner without taking the other empty basket. We had to aks for our waters to be refilled twice. When we got our check, we were being charged for both of my hubby's steak which we had to tell them to fix. It was as if noone was paying attention that night. I just feel like we could have gone to a lower scale steak house and gotten way better service for the $200 we ended paying at Mastros in Palm Desert. We have gone to Mastros in Costa Mesa many times and have always gotten great service. Needless to say next time we have a special occasion will think twice before going back to Mastros. I feel like my birthday dinner was ruined. About the only thing i enjoyed that night was the signature lemon drops i had. Very disappointed customer, Sherley Vargas

food5
ambience4
service1

Service markedly diminished from previou ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Service markedly diminished from previous experiences; almost absent! Nobody came after serving apps, main course or dessert to check. Had to chase down personnel in halls for needs including water/tea refills. No offer of tea/coffee/etc with dessert or after. New personnel vs staffing problems?

food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints! Aside from the $$,it' ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Never disappoints! Aside from the $$,it's THE BEST! Drinks are great, steaks and sides definitely enough to share...still going to set you back, but not quite so painful...LOVE IT!

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Steaks did not get served t the same time

Dined on May 30, 2016

Food as usual was great! Our servers where uncoordinated. My wife and kids filet came 10 minutes after mine was delivered. Not good!

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

Dinner was good until the Kardashians showed up

Dined on May 30, 2016

I took my wife and our best friends there for her 39th ++ BD. Our waitress was less than ok, a bit on the loud side. I asked for a glass of ice which took at least 15 minutes to arrive. The expensive bottle of champagne that was bought for the two ladies, I had to pour twice because no one came by. The same was true with the equally expensive bottle of red wine. But the service got very bad when Cris Kardashian sat down stairs a table next to ours. Ours waitress wouldn't leave there table and became even louder. Their table seemed to find great humor in flicking butter up so it stuck on the restaurant's 12' + ceilings. My friend told them they should stop and one came over and said it was all in fun. When he asked who was going to pay to clean it , he was told it wasn't their problem. After waiting a half hour for our desserts, my wife's favorite hot butter cake, which she'd waited for was not brought but instead a piece of cheese cake. Wanting the butter cake we'd order we ordered it again being assured it would take just 5 minutes. We finally gave up after 20-30 minutes and decided to leave, the cake was brought to us in a bag as we left the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Tables a little bit scattered and close ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Tables a little bit scattered and close in dining room but otherwise service and food were excellent as always.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food and service was great, but no ambia ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food and service was great, but no ambiance. It was so loud, we couldn't hear each other talking. Tables were too close together. We won't be coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience1
service3

Way too loud: Music from the bar made co ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Way too loud: Music from the bar made conversation impossible

food2
ambience2
service2

Our guests were seated before we arrived ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Our guests were seated before we arrived and they did not order cocktails. When we arrived we were not offered cocktails until the third visit to the table and I had to ask to order a drink. Waiter was condescending catering to men at the table who he may have thought were paying the bill...not!!!

food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing as always! We had a group of 5 a ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Amazing as always! We had a group of 5 and everyone was completely satisfied! Tried the butter cake, to die for!!!

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

First time for a bad experience at Mastro's

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Made a reservation for our anniversary for dinner and dancing in the lounge. Very busy, service was slow. There were servers but all attentive to tables around us. Been coming to Mastro's for many years and the Palm Desert Location since it opened. Took a lot of time to place orders and receive them from the bar and kitchen. Oyster Rockefeller's are the best. The Filet is a 9 of 10. We ordered the Lobster Mac and Cheese, but got mashed potatoes instead. so we ended up paying for food we did not order. Tried to bring it to the attention of management but it was too busy. next time we go back to Ruth Chris for some reason the steaks at this Mastro's are inconsistent.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love this place. Favorite in ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Absolutely love this place. Favorite in the desert

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5

Good steak not great. Went two times in ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Good steak not great. Went two times in one week. One time on Sunday night, it was great. Second time on a Saturday night, just so/so....consistency especially during prime hours is a must....

food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Way too crowded and noisy although it wa ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Way too crowded and noisy although it was Saturday night. Food was good but overpriced and certainly not worth the hype and cost. Couldn't wait to leave the noise. Couldn't talk to friends.Even the waitress had to yell over the sound and we were in the back (quiet) room. Never will return here when there are better places nearby.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been several times and found the ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I have been several times and found the food and severs great and will return

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

I ordered a petite filet My husband a bo ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I ordered a petite filet My husband a bone in filet 12 oz We asked for medium For both the meat was overcooked and flavorless. The Brussels sprouts were under cooked Even the scalloped potatoes were not as good as we remembered. Very disappointing

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great and the service was e ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was great and the service was even better!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was amazing! Delicious sea bass and lamb! And their scallop app was perfectly cooked! The staff was so nice, we will be going again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will come back!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food & drinks were delicious, service was amazing! We will be going back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Horrible service

Dined on May 1, 2016

Go here if you don't mind having your cell phone stolen by the staff and receiving zero help from management.. I walked from my table to the door remembered that I forgot my phone walked back one minute later and my phone was stolen and turned off... My phone had a full charge and when I asked the manager for help I was told we're busy at the bar its your problem.. Have a good night

food5
ambience5
service5

Erica Villalobos, the manager, was incre ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Erica Villalobos, the manager, was incredibly helpful and accommodating during our visit. Her excellent service created a very distinct and enjoyable experience. And the food was delicious as always!

food2
ambience1
service1

Upon arrival our table for 7 was not sui ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Upon arrival our table for 7 was not suitable as they had not read the request for access for a double stroller. Whilst the initial order for drinks was done quickly we had to wait a further 35 minutes for a waiter to take the food order despite making representations to front desk. Eventually a surly waiter approached who was expressionless and had a could not care less attitude. After making a further complaint that waiter was replaced. The starters then came in good time and were delicious, however we then had to wait another half an hour for our main course to arrive which was not up to the usual standard that we are used to, some of the steaks were over done and vegetable sides were under done and the mashed potato was lumpy and we were on very disappointed with our evening. No one apologised to us not withstanding a bill for approaching $1,000! Having eaten at this establishment many times i was surprised at the lack of response from anyone in authority. I will not be frequenting Mastro's in Palm Desert for the foreseeable future.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Nice place, great food, vibrant entertainment

Dined on April 25, 2016

A 9.9 on a scale of 10. Great food, great atmosphere, vibrant entertainment, and a comfortable setting. A cool spot to hangout and just chill.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great night

Dined on April 24, 2016

We started at the bar with a great (and huge) martini. Bar scene very happening and live duet playing good music. Dinner was wonderful - great salad and sides. I do not order steak often but had a steak and it was perfectly cooked and delicious. Only complaint was I didn't save room for any dessert. Really enjoyed the evening - the food, drinks and overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, our server Daniel was aw ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was great, our server Daniel was awesome! Daniel was also a Som which we appreciated for his knowledge. Overall great experience, we will be back!

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, excellent service. The noise ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Great food, excellent service. The noise from the bar area (music n sport noise from the NBA games) was extreme and put a damper on our evening intended to reward my group of top tier customers n their spouses in the dining room. Need to find a way to buffer /separate that.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and food. Everything ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Fantastic service and food. Everything was great. We used to go to Ruth Chris but a bad experience has caused us to find another place. Maestros is our new choice

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.