About Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert

73405 El Paseo Dr. #120
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lupine Lane

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 776-6777

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Tajchman

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Greene : (760) 776-6777

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Make this Valentine's truly extraordinary with dinner at Mastro's. We will be opening at 4:00pm.

Reserve your table today.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Notable Wine List (35)
See All
Live Music (35)
Bar Seating (30)
Good for a Date (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Romantic (25)
Fun (24)
Business Meals (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Good for Groups (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
People Watching (13)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Dancing (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Private Room (7)
Casual (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Family Style (4)
Vegan (3)
Live Sports (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a very nice evening. Our food was ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We had a very nice evening. Our food was delicious and our service was very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have enjoyed Mastro's at least 25 time ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I have enjoyed Mastro's at least 25 times and this evening was unacceptable by all standards! But to add to the horrible experience we had. I received a call from maestros asking me how my dinner was , I asked if I could talk to the manager and he came on the phone. I talked to Hanny the manager and explained what happened and he apologized up and down and was aware of everything. The upsetting part he offered nothing in return and was aware of the horrible service as we were the first to arrive! He said he would make sure next time I came in that everything would be better! Wow, seriuosly! Didn't offer a drink or dinner nothing! Not sure I will frequent this location again! Shame on Mastro's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Beautiful decor, ambiance, service. Serv ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful decor, ambiance, service. Service and food second to none. Fabulous dining experience on every level. A special restaurant to visit for sure! A++

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as always but service was not ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food as always but service was not to expectations, slow and inattentive. Noise level in the dining room was LOUD. Very disappointing, might as well have been seated in the open bar area. Music through the speakers was higher than it should have been as well. Tables way too close to one another. We will not visit here again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

You should clone Ashley! She was wonder ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

You should clone Ashley! She was wonderful and very attentive. Love her suggestions and sense of humor. Love mastro's we will be back the next time we are in town. Only draw back, it gets noisy later in the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Judged on its own, Mastro's in Palm Dese ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Judged on its own, Mastro's in Palm Desert was a fantastic experience. Great food, exceptional service, and a fun atmosphere. If you've never been to a Mastro's and don't mind the price tag, I highly recommend it (it's worth the price).

However, I've been to four Mastro's now including this one (Beverly Hills, Costa Mesa, Newport Beach), and the food at this location was slightly disappointing compared to the other locations. I specifically got the French Onion soup because I liked the way it was prepared at Mastro's, but what I received at the Palm Desert location was closer to something I'd get at Outback; it was still delicious, but didn't meet the exceptionally high quality bar set by the other Mastro's locations. The Gnocchi, Lobster Mashed Potatoes, and steaks were all a little saltier and the steak a little less flavorful than I was expecting from a Mastro's restaurant. The Sauteed Scallops, Sauteed Mushrooms, and Warm Butter Cake were all as expected (and delicious).

Overall, this is still a Mastro's restaurant and is an amazing dining experience with delicious food and incredible service. The only knock against it is that the food of the Palm Desert Mastro's is probably a tier below the other Mastro's restaurants that I frequent regularly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

service was slow but very attentive, sal ...

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

service was slow but very attentive, salad was fair, main course very good, with side dishes also.

Definite upscale restaurant, enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

meal was fantastic, the only dissapointm ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

meal was fantastic, the only dissapointment was the twice baked potato. too much cheese. the butter cake lived up to its reputation!!! great place! will be back.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was extremely friendly and hel ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, with the steak being one of the best I've tasted. They do not over season it like some steakhouses.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great experience. Our uber driver ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had a great experience. Our uber driver told us many great things about Marcos theft manager. We asked for Marcos and received great service from him and the rest of the staff. The food was great. I will definitely be back on my next visit to Palm springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service 5* but should be for the prices. ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Service 5* but should be for the prices. We were well taken care of. Food was great but pricey, but knew that going in.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very expensive relative to other high en ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very expensive relative to other high end steak houses. A lot of upselling also.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Party of 4, New Year's Eve 2016, very no ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Party of 4, New Year's Eve 2016, very noisy and crowded as expected! We have had these reservations for about 6 weeks and have dined at this location several times. Big disappointment because they "ran out" of the Tomahawk Ribeye Steak, our usual order. How can this happen when our reservations were at 6:45 pm? We dine at Mastro's frequently at different locations and this is pretty strange: wouldn't they have ordered ahead for a big night?? We suspected that they were "holding back" these specialty steaks for larger or more important parties that night. The manager told us that each location is "allocated" just so many of these steaks and they just ran out at very early. Yes, we found another steak to order and yes, they compensated with free wine corkage and dessert. It's just a weird story!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As a frequent guest, I am happy to repo ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

As a frequent guest, I am happy to report that as always , Mastros meets or exceeds all expectations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter (Bill) seemed aloof... We request ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Waiter (Bill) seemed aloof... We requested gluten fee sauce for the steak; he said they didn't have any. We asked the bus boy later; he happily brought it over.

Great steak!

The restaurant was overcrowded, due to the New Years rush (so we understand that)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Mastro's did not meet our expectations. ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Mastro's did not meet our expectations. We had previously visited the Mastro's in Laguna and loved it. Based on that experience, we had expected the Palm Desert location to be a fine dining experience, but that is not what we got.

When we arrived the 5 hostesses were helping the guest ahead of us, no one greeted us. When a party arrived after us, the host sat them immediately, before even acknowledging us.

The dining room is so-so for ambience, not nearly as refined as Laguna. The service was good, although there were a few times we had to ask for things multiple times.

My biggest complaint was the noise. They had a live band in the bar, which was very talented, but the noise carried into the dining rooms and made it extremely difficult to have a conversation.

I would not go back to this Mastro's on a date, as it was not worth the cost. However, I would recommend going there for the bar to listen to music.

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Night before New Year's Eve, crowded and ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Night before New Year's Eve, crowded and not great service in the bar. Mixed up request for Cl

Hi lean sea bass sauce, but all else fine. Music not as great as we have heard before. I would still go back as usually the food is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food and awesome service!

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and excellent service. Hi ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. Highly recomended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster was the worse I have ever h ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

The lobster was the worse I have ever had. It was two flat pieces of fish.🙁 very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

This was our first time going to Mastro' ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was our first time going to Mastro's and we looked forward to it. When we first entered the restaurant we waited to give them our reservation name and we were not greeted. Once the young lady finished with the guest in front of us, she immediately asked the couple behind us how she could help them and that lady told the hostess that we were next, (I guess she didn't notice that we were standing right in front of her). Once she was corrected, she didn't bother to apologize and I had to tell her who we were. Once seated our server Lily was exceptional & we were treated well by everyone else.

The filet mignon was not as tender as expected it was warm not hot, brussel sprouts & Alaskan king was salty. Alaskan king crab was overpriced at 1 pound for $67 really? In addition, the Caesar Salad had parts of the lettuce that is usually discarded and did not come with slivered Parmesan cheese... how can you mess up a salad?

Finally the noise from the lounge made it difficult to have a conversation, but at least we had a view of the street through the blinds and could see everyone that was receiving valet parking.

So if you want to spend $250 + for a great meal; please choose somewhere else to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

As always, a great meal with great servi ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

As always, a great meal with great service!

The atmosphere is the best in the Desert!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, People Watching, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was delicious, the music was en ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our meal was delicious, the music was enjoyable, and we loved the butter cake for dessert.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good, service was very good ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was good, service was very good but it was very noisy and hard to talk to each other

Tags: Live Music, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Great food and lovely atmosphere as alwa ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food and lovely atmosphere as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, dining experience was ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Outstanding food, dining experience was fantastic, server Cliff was truly exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in palm desert over the holiday ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

We were in palm desert over the holiday and had our Xmas dinner at Mastro's. All four of us think it might have been the best filet we ever had. And we have eaten all over the world. Also, the duo performing in the bar were fun and excellent. I think the hostess said there name was The Trebles. Awesome!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall it was a great experience and th ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Overall it was a great experience and the food was delicious. It was very loud in the whole restaurant, however with the live singing (it was not a band) and it being christmas, we did expect the noise level so it really didn't bug us. The service was not exceptional, it was just okay and a restaurant of that price and class I would expect it to be better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The restaurant is very overpriced for wh ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

The restaurant is very overpriced for what you get. The service was excellent but the food was not exceptional and the ambiance was crowded and noisy. We dressed up to go there but most other guests did not. Vegetables were soaked in butter/oil though crispy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Went with my family to Mastros on Christ ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Went with my family to Mastros on Christmas. It started off a little shaky with a confusion about the Lounge seating options, but the bar manager made it up to us quickly with a round on the house and got our reserved table ready in great timing. The food was excellent and overall a great time :)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Live Music, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Christmas dinner at Mastro's, what a won ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas dinner at Mastro's, what a wonderful experience. Great food, great service as always. First time at this location and we really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I live in Marina Delray and we drove all ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

I live in Marina Delray and we drove all the way to the desert for an extended weekend. Dinner at Mastro's was really good. The steak was exactly prepared as I requested and the meat was fantastic. I told the hostess that I had a hearing problem and wanted to be in a quiet room. I was seated in a room with five tables and it was exactly perfect. I recommend the restaurant at the highest level.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bill was our server and he made our expe ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Bill was our server and he made our experience one that was truly memorable. We make it a habit to come to Mastro's for each Christmas Eve we're in the desert and haven't been disappointed yet...I even received a call from them asking how our experience was!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambiance was horrible...Stuck in a s ...

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

The ambiance was horrible...Stuck in a small room staring at a wine rack ,being overwhelmed by the conversation of 4 other tables...The filet was charred black for "medium" ...Prices are a rip off in value compared to other steak houses in town...Will never return and waste another special celebration opportunity!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Great service, delicious food, overall a ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great service, delicious food, overall amazing experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food albeit rather pricey. S ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Outstanding food albeit rather pricey. Sat in the bar area which is nice for people-watching and enjoying the live singer. A bit loud for conversations. Next time will sit in the dining room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a wonderful dinner celebrating ou ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner celebrating our anniversary. I had the bone-in ribeye and my wife had the bone-in filet. The steaks were the best we've ever had.....so tender and flavorful. The ambiance, service and wide selection was great. Will definitely return to Mastro's Steakhouse. Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service, very good.

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food and service, very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my 1 year anniversary with my ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Celebrated my 1 year anniversary with my girlfriend here and it was awesome from the service to the food. definitely recommend coming here regardless of the occasion. I have even done large dinners for my clients here and again the staff went out of their way to make our dining experience exceptional.

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. The server was ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was wonderful. The server was visibly annoyed that my wife and I were sharing an entree. The portions are large and our appetites are not.

In spite of his less than cordial attitude, a gratuity exceeding 20% was left.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.