About Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert

73405 El Paseo Dr. #120
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lupine Lane

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 776-6777

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Tajchman

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Greene : 7607766777x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
1 More
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Desert ›

special occasion (111)
romantic (70)
vibrant bar scene (69)
See All
notable wine list (48)
fit for foodies (45)
hot spot (44)
good for groups (37)
neighborhood gem (22)
late-night find (21)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were disappointed, there were only 2 ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were disappointed, there were only 2 tables seated in our room and the hosts seated them RIGHT next to us. That is nuts.

As well, one of us ordered the crab appetizer at 6:00 PM and we were told you ran out. What?

We were there last Tuesday and then this past Thursday. What a difference experience a week makes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We enjoyed a great evening for our Anniv ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We enjoyed a great evening for our Anniversary dinner. Service was outstanding and the food was great. There was a large party in the room next door, however it was no bother except for the occasional flash from the photographer.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I were on vacation and wante ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My wife and I were on vacation and wanted a romantic night out. Unfortunately the service was terrible and the restaurant wasn't busy. We had to continually grab anyone we could just to refill our drinks.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I expect more for the food

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I expect more for the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Service was great, food was amazing when ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was great, food was amazing when in Palm Springs will be returning no doubt!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FOOD WAS TASTY THE SERVER WAS VERY PERSO ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

FOOD WAS TASTY THE SERVER WAS VERY PERSONABLE AND HELPFUL WITH THE MENU. IT WAS A LITTLE NOISY AS WE WERE CLOSE TO WHERE THE BAND PLAYS, BUT OVERALL AWESOME

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Only downfa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. Only downfall was they were out of the Oystets Rockefeller. The signature dessert, Butter Cake was to die for. Their Lobster sushi roll was outstanding.

I would recommend Mastro's for any special event, but be ready to drop $300-$400 for a nice dinner for a two and a mid price bottle of wine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This was our anniversary. My wife ordere ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was our anniversary. My wife ordered a filet well done with no pink. Those were her words to the server "no pink". After 40 minutes our food was delivered. We didn't expect a quicker turn around since her steak was well done. My wife cut open the steak and it was not well done, but medium rare. The outside of the steak was burned. I know the chef threw the steak on at the last minute and thought he would slip this buy her. To be honest, Outback can cook a better steak. There is absolutely no excuse for what the server presented her.

Also, the singing in the bar makes it to mousey in the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

This is probably the Best steak house!!! ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This is probably the Best steak house!!! Yes, better than our next favorite Ruth's Chris! I can't believe we didn't know about it sooner. We come over at least 4-5 times a year. This will be a must every time we come. We had Bret and we had the best service! His suggestions we so good! The manager is very attentive. He came up to our table a couple of times just to check in. We will be back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is no better place in the desert t ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

There is no better place in the desert that is better than Mastro's for a special occasion and a great meal. We celebrated our 50th anniversary and my son and daughter in law's first at Mastro's on July 4th and returned for another special dinner on our last night in the desert on this trip. The bone-in filets are always prepared perfectly and accompanied by the best Bernaise sauce ever. Starting the meal with their sublime shrimp cocktail is a must--the shrimp are huge but tender and the atomic horseradish in the cocktail sauce is superb. I'm partial to the profiteroles for desert but at that point barely have room for one and my son and his wife always want the absolutely fantastic butter cake. Some of Mastro's regular exceptional wait staff understandably were spending the Fourth of July with friends and family but we discovered another extraordinary waiter on our last visit--Brett. He has a knack for making a memorable meal even better!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

If you would like to have a conversation ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

If you would like to have a conversation with your dinner companions this is not the place. The bar scene is great but the music and noise carries to the dining room which in turn makes those that have had a few cocktails increase their volume. Our Server and the staff were amazing. Dessert was excellent.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Mastro's always has delicious food and i ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Mastro's always has delicious food and impeccable service . The only disappointment was I took my husband there for his birthday and they charged us for the birthday, we didn't ask for . I. Top of it we ordered the prefix summer menu which included dessert . Just a bit tacky.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always great, the best cooked steaks any ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always great, the best cooked steaks anywhere. It is not inexpensive , but worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Room with tables is a little tight. Coul ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Room with tables is a little tight. Could have a better dinning room.

Steaks are 2nd to none!!!!!!!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Unlike other Mastros the meal was averag ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Unlike other Mastros the meal was average. My steak lacked flavor as did the sautéed asparagus . The service was superior and Mastros was kind enough to prepare a special dessert for our anniversary.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

For a restaurant that professes to be a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

For a restaurant that professes to be a "special occasion, classy" restaurant, they do a lot to diminish that effect with three HD tvs blasting sports from three sides of the bar and and an electronic band that permeates the restaurant. The food was surpassed only by the attentive service, but the effort was ruined by the noise.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

My wife and I celebrated our 30th weddin ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary and the dinning experience was outstanding. Thank you Mastro's for the exceptional service and quality of food for a reasonable price. We plan on returning in the future and highly recommending it to our friends.

"Semper Fidelis,"

Dr. Alex Pacheco

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My waiter was Marco he gave excellent se ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My waiter was Marco he gave excellent service n made my special nite run smooth. The seafood tower was amazing as with the sea bass. The dry ice El Paseo margarita was out of this world tasty👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾. The nite ended with a beautiful plated dessert butter cream cake my waiter even wrote happy birthday on it and topped it with a candle very nice touch😎 I would definitely come back for future special dates not bad at all for the 250$ I spend including tip which he deserved 😊😊😊😊😊😊

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Tomahawk Wagyu ribeye was outstandin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The Tomahawk Wagyu ribeye was outstandingly tender, tasty and cooked to perfection. The lobster tail was also tender And generous! It was a feast for royalty!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The only problem that I had, was I didn' ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The only problem that I had, was I didn't order cream of spinach, it was dished out before I could tell the waiter that it was not ordered. Someone in our party was brought another beer that he didn't order. I was charged for both items. FYI my bill was $1000.00.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Love this place. Great service, impeccab ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Love this place. Great service, impeccable food, and friendly atmosphere. Including this place in my cool vibe category. Frank S or have been proud of the martini and service, let alone one hella good steak!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think it may have been the best New Yo ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I think it may have been the best New York steak I've ever had.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The resturant in Palm Desert was ice col ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The resturant in Palm Desert was ice cold and very uncomfortable on Fathers day..

the service started out good and then they just left us sitting for a while..

not what I expect when Iam paying these prices... The music was loud and not

conducive to relaxing and having dinner... and being able to talk...

I won't be back anytime soon.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

I must say that the minor oversight from ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I must say that the minor oversight from our last visit in May was minimal but the staff was so welcoming and treated us to a appetizer. We were not asking for that but it was well appreciated also by the couple accompanying us for our anniversary dinner. All four of us last Sunday asked for the $65 special dinner and ordered the 8 oz. filet. things were going along well until our guest received this half inch steak instead of the thicker filets we received. the waiter was perplexed and a woman supervisor was adamant that his small piece of meat was a filet. His wife traded the steak with him and confirmed that it was a NY strip. We all thought the staff would want to satisfy and offer a new steak but none was forthcoming. I'm not sure we will be able to bring our friends back who have dined at Mastros everywhere except PD. Too bad it happened that this one person made our evening uncomfortable especially for our waiter who worked hard and we appreciated his effort.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

I had requested a quiet table in my rese ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I had requested a quiet table in my reservation form through open table...as we were with elderly people with hearing aids. When we arrived we were told they would not honor our request as they were not opening up another dining room. The only dining room open on Father's Day was next to the bar where live music was playing...and only a curtain separated the 2 rooms. so the loud music infiltrated the dining room they were utilizing. For what we paid, this was unacceptable. The manager stopped by our table , as well as others, and asked how we were enjoying ourselves, and we explained the situation. She offered no explanation, but said it should n to have happened...and did not offer to move us, or comp a drink or dessert, or anything.She just walked away and we did not see her the rest of the evening.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

We requested a high table in the bar sin ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We requested a high table in the bar since we like the lively scene and our request was granted. The service was pretty on point; however for the high level of restaurant Mastro's is, I thought our service was not very polished. Her serving style, etc. were not very crisp or on point.

Overall we had a great experience and would go back but dinner for 2, splitting an entrée , was $153. If you like a high end restaurant and have the funds, it's the place to go

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Steaks are absolutely amazing, but I lov ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Steaks are absolutely amazing, but I loved the dungeonous crab cocktail! It was delicious. Very knowledgable and courteous staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very upscale. Might sound petty but if m ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very upscale. Might sound petty but if my glass of Diet Coke is empty, I should not have to ask to have it refilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Our experience at Mastros exceeded expec ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our experience at Mastros exceeded expectations. The service, atmosphere, quality of food and overall experience was fantastic. Chef Devin Peters came out and said hello, which made us feel special. I highly recommend to anyone considering a great dining experience in the desert.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a good visit. Mastro's is about the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Not a good visit. Mastro's is about the steaks. Unfortunately, my steak and my companion's steak were a miss (mine) and a complete failure (the companion). I ordered the bone-in rib-eye, medium rare, and had a very specific conversation with the wait-person (Rita?) to ensure it came medium rare. It arrived medium in parts and medium plus in others. Since it seems to take forever to prepare a steak and it was getting late, I had this one. My companion ordered the filet, medium. His came undercooked; they put it back on the grill and it was returned rare; and then they put the same steak back on the grill, again!, and by now, it was overcooked and awful. God, I couldn't believe they did that: a 3rd time with the same steak? Really?!! That's just bad training. The side of green beans were good (not overcooked); the creamed spinach had too much cream and not enough spinach; the mushrooms were fine; and the French fries were cold. I recognize that shoestring fries do not retain their heat very long, but these fries clearly had been sitting around a while before being served. The cherry crisp: I love sour cherries, but this item had more crisp than cherries - too sweet; not good. Service was fine, but I was very disappointed that the guy helping Rita (when the steaks went south) decided it was acceptable to put the same steak back on the grill for a 3rd time; and then serves it overcooked. You have to wonder about their training (and ability) on how to prepare a steak. They took care of the steaks, but the entire point of the meal IS the steak. Otherwise, why bother? We sat in a smaller room away from the noise of the place - it was fine. Lighting could be improved, but having visited other locations in this chain, they somehow think the lack of sufficient lighting is an interesting feature. It's not. Sigh. In the end, it's just another steakhouse chain. No better or worse than the others in this area including Ruth's Chris, Morton's, Flemings, LG's, or Chop House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Chef's cut ribeye steak was cooked perfe ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Chef's cut ribeye steak was cooked perfectly! Well seasoned. Definitely worth a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Our first time here, and celebrating our ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our first time here, and celebrating our 27th anniversary we found we weren't alone. At least three couples around us doing the same. Excellent steak..filet on the bone. The lobster mashed potatoes too pricey but tasty. Service? Great. From door to table, and even a follow up call the next day. Very comfortable room, too. We'll be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dining has always met my expectations, g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Dining has always met my expectations, great food with ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mastro's is a 5 star dining experience. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Mastro's is a 5 star dining experience. They live up to this standard every time I visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

David was kind enough to treat us like a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

David was kind enough to treat us like a king and queen on our 16th wedding anniversary. Thank u Mastro's for making our weekend gateway "delish" 👍👌💋❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It saddens and angers me that we chose M ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It saddens and angers me that we chose Mastros to 34th. we got bad service and my hubby's steak was so bad that he had to have them take it back. He did end up getting another steak but by the time he got his new steak our sides were too cold to eat. We ask for more bread which we got but the person who broght it to us just placed it on our table in a not so nice manner without taking the other empty basket. We had to aks for our waters to be refilled twice. When we got our check, we were being charged for both of my hubby's steak which we had to tell them to fix. It was as if noone was paying attention that night. I just feel like we could have gone to a lower scale steak house and gotten way better service for the $200 we ended paying at Mastros in Palm Desert. We have gone to Mastros in Costa Mesa many times and have always gotten great service.

Needless to say next time we have a special occasion will think twice before going back to Mastros. I feel like my birthday dinner was ruined. About the only thing i enjoyed that night was the signature lemon drops i had.

Very disappointed customer,

Sherley Vargas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Service markedly diminished from previou ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Service markedly diminished from previous experiences; almost absent! Nobody came after serving apps, main course or dessert to check. Had to chase down personnel in halls for needs including water/tea refills. No offer of tea/coffee/etc with dessert or after.

New personnel vs staffing problems?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Never disappoints! Aside from the $$,it' ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Never disappoints! Aside from the $$,it's THE BEST! Drinks are great, steaks and sides definitely enough to share...still going to set you back, but not quite so painful...LOVE IT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steaks did not get served t the same time

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Food as usual was great! Our servers where uncoordinated. My wife and kids filet came 10 minutes after mine was delivered. Not good!

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Dinner was good until the Kardashians showed up

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I took my wife and our best friends there for her 39th ++ BD. Our waitress was less than ok, a bit on the loud side. I asked for a glass of ice which took at least 15 minutes to arrive. The expensive bottle of champagne that was bought for the two ladies, I had to pour twice because no one came by. The same was true with the equally expensive bottle of red wine. But the service got very

bad when Cris Kardashian sat down stairs a table next to ours. Ours waitress wouldn't leave there table and became even louder. Their table seemed to find great humor in flicking butter up so it stuck on the restaurant's 12' + ceilings. My friend told them they should stop and one came over and said it was all in fun. When he asked who was going to pay to clean it , he was told it wasn't their problem. After waiting a half hour for our desserts, my wife's favorite hot butter cake, which she'd waited for was not brought but instead a piece of cheese cake. Wanting the butter cake we'd order we ordered it again being assured it would take just 5 minutes. We finally gave up after 20-30 minutes and decided to leave, the cake was brought to us in a bag as we left the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.