About Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert

73405 El Paseo Dr. #120
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lupine Lane

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 776-6777

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Tajchman

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Greene : 7607766777x

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
1 More
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Desert ›

Special Occasion (94)
Romantic (65)
Vibrant Bar Scene (64)
See All
Notable Wine List (47)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Good for Groups (38)
Hot Spot (36)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Late-night Find (19)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I go quite a bit but this was the first ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 4 days ago

I go quite a bit but this was the first time I had Cliff as my waiter and the man is a true professional. He anticipated our needs before even having to ask. One way he did that was with my martini I hadn't poured the rest of shaker out and he brought me another lemon zest (just the rind) so the second pour would be as good as the first. That was a great touch with him focusing on the little details. And of course Becka (sp?) and the supporting cast to Cliff was fantastic. Thanks again for a great time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As is its reputation, the food and servi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

As is its reputation, the food and service were outstanding. However, the noise level was just a bit more than I expected. And we were sitting in the back room. If you want a place where you do not have to speak loudly at your table, this place is not suitable.

As mentioned above, the service by Daniel and his other 2 partners was simply outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food. Had a "band" (really a sing ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food. Had a "band" (really a singer with music track and a guitarist). Food was great. Service by Cisco was fabulous. Good night.

We had Fanny Bay oysters for appetizer. They were fresh and fantastic. I had the bone-in Filet. My daughter had the 8 oz Filet. Both were cooked perfectly. Sides were good too.

Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have never been disappointed with our ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We have never been disappointed with our meal at Mastro's. We were fortunate on this occasion to have a semi quiet table. Great birthday or special occasion restaurant to celebrate.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place to celebrate a wonderful e ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Perfect place to celebrate a wonderful event/anniversary/b-day/holiday.....great ambiance great service excellent food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was AMAZING! The service, the ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything was AMAZING! The service, the meal, the ambience were all amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second time I've dined at Ma ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is the second time I've dined at Mastros and it gets better each time. My only regret is that I was too stuffed to eat any butter cake. Lol.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food, music, and service. gre ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

excellent food, music, and service. great birthday spot!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For how expensive this restaurant is, it ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

For how expensive this restaurant is, it should have been an "experience" dining here.

The steak I ordered was $70, and I have had better steak at OutBack.

The service was about as average as any chain restaurant. It was by no means bad, but it certainly was not special.

$250 for 2-people should mean a memorable dining experience, not a regretful one. Based on the meal + service, the bill should have been around $70.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Our party of four had a fabulous evening ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our party of four had a fabulous evening at Mastro's. The food was excellent and the service and care outstanding. We highly recommend this steak house.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wonderful and attentive s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food and wonderful and attentive service. Sat in the lounge and enjoyed the atmosphere and live music. Was a very nice evening for my wife and Me. Will definitely return on next trip to the desert.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The summer menu and drink specials are w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The summer menu and drink specials are well worth a visit!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great service, food, and experience. Th ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great service, food, and experience. The restaurant even called the next day to make sure we had a great experience. Glad we went!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Over an hour for appetizers. Food under ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Over an hour for appetizers. Food undercooked . Very noisy - could not hear across the table. Bus staff stacked up and clear away our dessert plates before we were half was done. The waitress did replenish the desserts for which we were appreciative. In no hurry to go back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

everything was great would return whenve ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

everything was great would return whenver i couldddddddddddddddddddddddddd

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mastro's has dropped a notch. Why? Thi ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Mastro's has dropped a notch. Why?

This is visit number two where I felt the experience didn't match the price. The food and service is great, but the experience has to be there, too. Our Valentine's Dinner felt like we were crammed in due to the amount of tables they squeezed into the dining area. Any intimate talk was gone as we could all easily hear each table's conversations that night due to the closeness. I figured they tried to meet the demand of the night not realizing that there has to be a touch of romance that night and this strategy of maximizing floor space with tables didn't help that part of the night at all. Still, I gave them another shot.

This recent dinner we were given a small table for two that gave the impression of us being too far apart. I would have expected more intimacy, and had there been room I would have swung my chair around to be closer to my date and not across from them where conversation had to be louder to be heard.

I don't believe my standards are unfair. Yet, there has to be some give here if you're going to the be the highest priced steakhouse in the valley and the romance aspect of dinner is gone.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

It was great! service was awesome and fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was great! service was awesome and food was amazing. the manager even came by to ask how everything was - we felt spoiled - we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were looking for a fin ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

My husband and I were looking for a fine dining restaurant on a recent stay in La Quinta and found Mastro's. We live in Orange County and occasionally visit the Mastro's in Costa Mesa.

When we arrived for our reservation, the concierge was accommodating and friendly and we were seated immediately.

The service was excellent as usual. I, unfortunately, cannot remember our servers names and I apologize for that. The food, as always, was superb. We ordered to share the Kansas City New York. He ordered the steamed spinach and I ordered the Beefsteak Tomatoes with onions and added bleu cheese dressing with extra crumbles. While waiting for our dinner to be prepared, we enjoyed a nice bottle of Stag's Leap Merlot. Our dinner arrived after just a short while. While I received the side I ordered, Stephen received steamed asparagus. Our server apologized profusely and offered to replace it immediately. We decided that asparagus was fine and we both enjoyed it. If anything went wrong, that was it. We didn't mind in the least.

After dinner, we enjoyed a delicious Molten Lave Cake with cappuccino. We went home almost unable to move we were so full but both of us were smiling.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mastros is a must!! We celebrate every b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Mastros is a must!! We celebrate every birthday ad anniversary at various Mastro's locations. Butter cake is to die for!!! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server did not offer bread upon our arri ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Server did not offer bread upon our arrival. We had to ask for it. Rub on filet steak was far too salty. Rub on other steak was fine. Consistency is the issue here. Server brought check without asking if we wanted coffee or desert Her excuse when we asked was " we looked like we were ready to leave". I would say you never assume what a customer is going to do. This restaurant was recommended but we have been to far better in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We were disappointed, there were only 2 ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We were disappointed, there were only 2 tables seated in our room and the hosts seated them RIGHT next to us. That is nuts.

As well, one of us ordered the crab appetizer at 6:00 PM and we were told you ran out. What?

We were there last Tuesday and then this past Thursday. What a difference experience a week makes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We enjoyed a great evening for our Anniv ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We enjoyed a great evening for our Anniversary dinner. Service was outstanding and the food was great. There was a large party in the room next door, however it was no bother except for the occasional flash from the photographer.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I were on vacation and wante ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My wife and I were on vacation and wanted a romantic night out. Unfortunately the service was terrible and the restaurant wasn't busy. We had to continually grab anyone we could just to refill our drinks.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I expect more for the food

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I expect more for the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Service was great, food was amazing when ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was great, food was amazing when in Palm Springs will be returning no doubt!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FOOD WAS TASTY THE SERVER WAS VERY PERSO ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

FOOD WAS TASTY THE SERVER WAS VERY PERSONABLE AND HELPFUL WITH THE MENU. IT WAS A LITTLE NOISY AS WE WERE CLOSE TO WHERE THE BAND PLAYS, BUT OVERALL AWESOME

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Only downfa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. Only downfall was they were out of the Oystets Rockefeller. The signature dessert, Butter Cake was to die for. Their Lobster sushi roll was outstanding.

I would recommend Mastro's for any special event, but be ready to drop $300-$400 for a nice dinner for a two and a mid price bottle of wine.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This was our anniversary. My wife ordere ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was our anniversary. My wife ordered a filet well done with no pink. Those were her words to the server "no pink". After 40 minutes our food was delivered. We didn't expect a quicker turn around since her steak was well done. My wife cut open the steak and it was not well done, but medium rare. The outside of the steak was burned. I know the chef threw the steak on at the last minute and thought he would slip this buy her. To be honest, Outback can cook a better steak. There is absolutely no excuse for what the server presented her.

Also, the singing in the bar makes it to mousey in the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

This is probably the Best steak house!!! ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This is probably the Best steak house!!! Yes, better than our next favorite Ruth's Chris! I can't believe we didn't know about it sooner. We come over at least 4-5 times a year. This will be a must every time we come. We had Bret and we had the best service! His suggestions we so good! The manager is very attentive. He came up to our table a couple of times just to check in. We will be back for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is no better place in the desert t ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

There is no better place in the desert that is better than Mastro's for a special occasion and a great meal. We celebrated our 50th anniversary and my son and daughter in law's first at Mastro's on July 4th and returned for another special dinner on our last night in the desert on this trip. The bone-in filets are always prepared perfectly and accompanied by the best Bernaise sauce ever. Starting the meal with their sublime shrimp cocktail is a must--the shrimp are huge but tender and the atomic horseradish in the cocktail sauce is superb. I'm partial to the profiteroles for desert but at that point barely have room for one and my son and his wife always want the absolutely fantastic butter cake. Some of Mastro's regular exceptional wait staff understandably were spending the Fourth of July with friends and family but we discovered another extraordinary waiter on our last visit--Brett. He has a knack for making a memorable meal even better!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

If you would like to have a conversation ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

If you would like to have a conversation with your dinner companions this is not the place. The bar scene is great but the music and noise carries to the dining room which in turn makes those that have had a few cocktails increase their volume. Our Server and the staff were amazing. Dessert was excellent.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

I was very disappointed with the food. T ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was very disappointed with the food. The food was very very salty. We felt very rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Mastro's always has delicious food and i ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Mastro's always has delicious food and impeccable service . The only disappointment was I took my husband there for his birthday and they charged us for the birthday, we didn't ask for . I. Top of it we ordered the prefix summer menu which included dessert . Just a bit tacky.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always great, the best cooked steaks any ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always great, the best cooked steaks anywhere. It is not inexpensive , but worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Room with tables is a little tight. Coul ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Room with tables is a little tight. Could have a better dinning room.

Steaks are 2nd to none!!!!!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Unlike other Mastros the meal was averag ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Unlike other Mastros the meal was average. My steak lacked flavor as did the sautéed asparagus . The service was superior and Mastros was kind enough to prepare a special dessert for our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

For a restaurant that professes to be a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

For a restaurant that professes to be a "special occasion, classy" restaurant, they do a lot to diminish that effect with three HD tvs blasting sports from three sides of the bar and and an electronic band that permeates the restaurant. The food was surpassed only by the attentive service, but the effort was ruined by the noise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

My wife and I celebrated our 30th weddin ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary and the dinning experience was outstanding. Thank you Mastro's for the exceptional service and quality of food for a reasonable price. We plan on returning in the future and highly recommending it to our friends.

"Semper Fidelis,"

Dr. Alex Pacheco

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My waiter was Marco he gave excellent se ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My waiter was Marco he gave excellent service n made my special nite run smooth. The seafood tower was amazing as with the sea bass. The dry ice El Paseo margarita was out of this world tasty👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾. The nite ended with a beautiful plated dessert butter cream cake my waiter even wrote happy birthday on it and topped it with a candle very nice touch😎 I would definitely come back for future special dates not bad at all for the 250$ I spend including tip which he deserved 😊😊😊😊😊😊

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Tomahawk Wagyu ribeye was outstandin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The Tomahawk Wagyu ribeye was outstandingly tender, tasty and cooked to perfection. The lobster tail was also tender And generous! It was a feast for royalty!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.