About Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert

73405 El Paseo Dr. #120
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lupine Lane

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 776-6777

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Tajchman

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Greene : 7607766777x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
For the man who deserves the best...
Make this Father's Day a celebration to remember with Mastro's Restaurants.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Vibrant Bar Scene
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
1 More
Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Desert ›

special occasion (130)
vibrant bar scene (86)
notable wine list (75)
See All
romantic (74)
hot spot (71)
fit for foodies (69)
good for groups (58)
late-night find (24)
neighborhood gem (22)
great for brunch (6)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food and service was great, but no ambia ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food and service was great, but no ambiance. It was so loud, we couldn't hear each other talking. Tables were too close together. We won't be coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience1
service3

Way too loud: Music from the bar made co ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Way too loud: Music from the bar made conversation impossible

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

First time for a bad experience at Mastro's

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Made a reservation for our anniversary for dinner and dancing in the lounge. Very busy, service was slow. There were servers but all attentive to tables around us. Been coming to Mastro's for many years and the Palm Desert Location since it opened. Took a lot of time to place orders and receive them from the bar and kitchen. Oyster Rockefeller's are the best. The Filet is a 9 of 10. We ordered the Lobster Mac and Cheese, but got mashed potatoes instead. so we ended up paying for food we did not order. Tried to bring it to the attention of management but it was too busy. next time we go back to Ruth Chris for some reason the steaks at this Mastro's are inconsistent.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love this place. Favorite in ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Absolutely love this place. Favorite in the desert

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5

Good steak not great. Went two times in ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Good steak not great. Went two times in one week. One time on Sunday night, it was great. Second time on a Saturday night, just so/so....consistency especially during prime hours is a must....

food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Way too crowded and noisy although it wa ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Way too crowded and noisy although it was Saturday night. Food was good but overpriced and certainly not worth the hype and cost. Couldn't wait to leave the noise. Couldn't talk to friends.Even the waitress had to yell over the sound and we were in the back (quiet) room. Never will return here when there are better places nearby.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been several times and found the ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I have been several times and found the food and severs great and will return

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

I ordered a petite filet My husband a bo ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I ordered a petite filet My husband a bone in filet 12 oz We asked for medium For both the meat was overcooked and flavorless. The Brussels sprouts were under cooked Even the scalloped potatoes were not as good as we remembered. Very disappointing

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great and the service was e ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was great and the service was even better!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was amazing! Delicious sea bass and lamb! And their scallop app was perfectly cooked! The staff was so nice, we will be going again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will come back!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food & drinks were delicious, service was amazing! We will be going back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Horrible service

Dined on May 1, 2016

Go here if you don't mind having your cell phone stolen by the staff and receiving zero help from management.. I walked from my table to the door remembered that I forgot my phone walked back one minute later and my phone was stolen and turned off... My phone had a full charge and when I asked the manager for help I was told we're busy at the bar its your problem.. Have a good night

food5
ambience5
service5

Erica Villalobos, the manager, was incre ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Erica Villalobos, the manager, was incredibly helpful and accommodating during our visit. Her excellent service created a very distinct and enjoyable experience. And the food was delicious as always!

food2
ambience1
service1

Upon arrival our table for 7 was not sui ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Upon arrival our table for 7 was not suitable as they had not read the request for access for a double stroller. Whilst the initial order for drinks was done quickly we had to wait a further 35 minutes for a waiter to take the food order despite making representations to front desk. Eventually a surly waiter approached who was expressionless and had a could not care less attitude. After making a further complaint that waiter was replaced. The starters then came in good time and were delicious, however we then had to wait another half an hour for our main course to arrive which was not up to the usual standard that we are used to, some of the steaks were over done and vegetable sides were under done and the mashed potato was lumpy and we were on very disappointed with our evening. No one apologised to us not withstanding a bill for approaching $1,000! Having eaten at this establishment many times i was surprised at the lack of response from anyone in authority. I will not be frequenting Mastro's in Palm Desert for the foreseeable future.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Nice place, great food, vibrant entertainment

Dined on April 25, 2016

A 9.9 on a scale of 10. Great food, great atmosphere, vibrant entertainment, and a comfortable setting. A cool spot to hangout and just chill.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great night

Dined on April 24, 2016

We started at the bar with a great (and huge) martini. Bar scene very happening and live duet playing good music. Dinner was wonderful - great salad and sides. I do not order steak often but had a steak and it was perfectly cooked and delicious. Only complaint was I didn't save room for any dessert. Really enjoyed the evening - the food, drinks and overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, our server Daniel was aw ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was great, our server Daniel was awesome! Daniel was also a Som which we appreciated for his knowledge. Overall great experience, we will be back!

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, excellent service. The noise ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Great food, excellent service. The noise from the bar area (music n sport noise from the NBA games) was extreme and put a damper on our evening intended to reward my group of top tier customers n their spouses in the dining room. Need to find a way to buffer /separate that.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and food. Everything ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Fantastic service and food. Everything was great. We used to go to Ruth Chris but a bad experience has caused us to find another place. Maestros is our new choice

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite

Dined on April 11, 2016

Since they opened they have been our favorite place for dinner. The steaks are great and the service is always outstanding. We know several of the servers and they always remember us. Sit in the dinning room for a more intimate setting. The bar is fun and energetic. Music at the bar at 6:30pm everyday.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Was unhappy overall.

Dined on April 10, 2016

For a $200 meal for 2 I expected the food and service to be outstanding. Our steaks were not cooked enough and though it was corrected we did not receive a greet nor visit from manager with apologies. I expected more from Mastros. The appetizer was amazing but disappointed with lack of flavor on rest of the dinner.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

It's Ok

Dined on April 10, 2016

It's very noisy with little to no private, romantic tables. The roast chicken was incredbly dry I could hardly get the knife through it and the creamed spinach looked like it was put in a blender and had no taste. My husband had the bone in fillet and thought it was very good. The green beans were bland. The pecan pie was very good and the Chocolate pudding pie was delicious. The drinks were magnificent and our waiter was absolute perfection.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience. Worth the price.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Awesome experience. Worth the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Great

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Great steaks, oysters and salads. Great service from waiter, Noe. Great wine list too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

DINNER OUT WITH FRIENDS

Dined on April 10, 2016

Mastros' is noted for its food, service and wine selection, as well as the number of $$$$$ signs related to costs. We enjoyed the evening, the food was good, service fine, and while the prices were quite high, we would recommend it to friends for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous place to celebrate 3 birthdays! ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Fabulous place to celebrate 3 birthdays! Lounge is always fun with fantastic live music! We can't wait to come back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

well tailored evening

Dined on April 8, 2016

a fine dining experience with all of the expectations of a top notch restaurant being fully met--the only criticism is for value received -- while I would rather pay dearly for fine dining than less for good dining the pricing at Mastro's exceeds the reasonable amount one would expect to pay-- Palm Springs is not New York and shouldn't pretend to be.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get there early~!

Dined on April 8, 2016

We have found that the secret to an enjoyable dining experience at Mastro's is to get there early (between opening and 6 pm) and if it is just one or two of you sit at the bar where you can order off the complete menu and enjoy your favorite beverage. Plus you won't need a reservation in most cases.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent steaks

Dined on April 7, 2016

The service was excellent. Was seated in a small room away from the lounge which was nice considering the noise level. The Japanese wagu steak was delicious that was perfectly seasoned. The sides were reduced for 2 since the sides typically feeds 4. Would definately go back. One of the best steaks I've had. Expensive however worth it

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Always good services food and experience

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Always good services food and experience

food3
ambience2
service4

Food and service good. Room very very l ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Food and service good. Room very very loud and super dark. Very large portions

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic evening- great food and en

Dined on April 3, 2016

Fantastic evening- great food and en

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful meal on a very busy a ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We had a wonderful meal on a very busy and fun Friday night. The crab cake appetizer was divine, all crabmeat!! Our steaks were cooked perfectly and the drinks were great. We couldn't have asked for better service. The bar was very lively and crowded. Great music and people watching. We have eaten at other Mastro's before and this one is just as good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable. Great menu, ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

The service was impeccable. Great menu, food and wine. Portions for an ala cart menu were very fair. Food was delicious. My steak melted in my mouth...best I've ever had

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff at the Palm Desert location was amazing!

Dined on April 1, 2016

My husband and I had an amazing time at this Mastro's location. From the moment we walked in and were greeter, we felt the love! Our waitress was really attentive and very funny too! The general manager is also a great guy!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing meal and we really enjoyed the a ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Amazing meal and we really enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar. Band was outstanding as well.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food as always was excellent.

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Food was excellent. Our waitress was excellent. My only complaint was with the support staff. None of the helpers ever checked to see if our water glasses needed refilling. Disappointed because in the past the helpers had been excellent.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dinner house In the desert!!

Dined on March 26, 2016

If you have never tasted a Mastros steak you have NOT tasted the best!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak in the valley. Outstanding se ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Best steak in the valley. Outstanding service. The bar has some great unique drinks.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

No trip to the desert would be complete ...

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

No trip to the desert would be complete without at least one special dinner at Mastro's. The shrimp cocktail is to die for--the shrimp are huge but tender and the sauce is perfect. The steaks are outstanding, cooked perfectly, flavorful, and when accompanied with the best Bernaise on the planet and some great Cabernet, the dinner is as good as it gets. The sides are generous and the haricot verte with slivered almonds and the shoestring potatoes are exceptional. For desert, if you have any room left, the butter cake and the profiteroles can cap off a perfect meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.