About Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert

73405 El Paseo Dr. #120
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lupine Lane

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 776-6777

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Tajchman

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Greene : 7607766777x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Mastro's Steakhouse - Palm Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Vibrant Bar Scene
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
5 More
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Vibrant Bar Scene
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Desert ›

Special Occasion (82)
Romantic (60)
Vibrant Bar Scene (55)
See All
Notable Wine List (43)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for Groups (29)
Hot Spot (27)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for a Date (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Live Music (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fun (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Private Room (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Historic (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We booked reservation online well in adv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

We booked reservation online well in advance. Upon arrival, walk-in customers just ahead of us were asked if they were celebrating anything. They said they were celebrating a birthday and were seated at a prime, intimate table (without a reservation). With a reservation we were not asked about celebrating when in fact we were celebrating an anniversary. We were seated at a table for 4 in the middle of a loud room. When we asked, the hostess offered no other options. Food was fine and wait staff was good. Best part of the meal was the butter cake. Not sure it's worth the price.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Exceptional service and food, great wine ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Exceptional service and food, great wine list, beautiful decor.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always!!! Breanna and Prisc ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent as always!!! Breanna and Priscilla were great servers and bartenders!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Either be fine dining or be a nightclub ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Either be fine dining or be a nightclub but don't try to be both!! The noise level in the dining area that was spilling over from the bar area kinda ruined a nice meal...it was over the top.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Fantastic food and best service! Will re ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Fantastic food and best service! Will return and recommend to clients!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mastro's is a great special occasion res ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Mastro's is a great special occasion restaurant, if you like steak. The service is impeccable and the ambiance is outstanding. But be sure to be prepared for an expensive meal. But for that special event - I was there for my birthday, its a great choice.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Shoestring fries had to be remade 3 time ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Shoestring fries had to be remade 3 times before being right. 22oz ribeye had no crust and was maybe 3/4 inch thick with a lot of gristle-like texture. Creamed spinach was more runny than creamy. Nothing close to their Beverly Hills, Malibu or Thousand Oaks locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We had a great time celebrating my cousi ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a great time celebrating my cousins bday. Noe our server was excellent, very attentive to detail and made the experience that much more enjoyable. The staff all around was exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food (wedge, filet, fries, profitero ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The food (wedge, filet, fries, profiteroles) was excellent. The service is top-notch and what you'd expect for a quality restaurant. Unfortunately our request for seating in a quiet area was not granted but the manager made compensation -- another sign of a quality restaurant. Truly at the top of the list for Palm Desert restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We had an awesome time. Only complaint w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We had an awesome time. Only complaint was that they were out of oysters when we were there. It was a big holiday weekend and pretty much what everyone in our party was looking forward to that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food, service, wine and all ove ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Fabulous food, service, wine and all overall experience. Wonderful entertainment!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Live Music, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always enjoyed all Mastro's rest ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have always enjoyed all Mastro's restaurants and have been to this one several times. This one has always been a bit louder due to the lay out and the music / dj in the bar so it affects all dining rooms. This one is not good for large groups or dates - its only good if you don't really feel like socializing with your dining guests. IT IS EXTREMELY LOUD due to the pop music they play. Its more of a club type feel while eating our $1300 meal. It ruined the experience. I even booked the private room thinking it would lessen the noise....well its not fully closed and its by the bar where the music is. It was a bummer - having a large group for a celebration and we couldn't really enjoy each other company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

The food was decent for the price (summe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was decent for the price (summer prix fix menu with additional appetizer and sides ordered): the filet, beef carpaccio, tuna tartare, and the crab cake was delicious. However, this may be a personal preference, the sides, and the arugula salad on the carpaccio were quiet salty for our taste. The temperature inside the dining room really warranted a light jacket, even though the temperature outside was around 90F. The service was very attentive and not at all overwhelming. I really appreciate the fact that all the waiters/waitresses/busboys helped during our whole meal experience. They also packed up our dessert and leftover so neatly and came after us when we left our dessert behind, and we were able to enjoy them in our hotel. It was a very nice first time experience at a Mastro's Steakhouse. We also received a followup phone call from the hostess 2 days later thanking us for dining with them. A very nice gesture.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Groups, Private Room, Happy Hour, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very unusual for a Mastros experience. N ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Very unusual for a Mastros experience. No attention to detail. The steak (a filet) was extremely fatty. The Brussel sprouts were completely undercooked. Would not return to Palm Springs Mastros. I was shocked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Food was amazing, atmosphere so fun, wai ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Food was amazing, atmosphere so fun, wait staff attentive!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We come to Palm Springs every summer and ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We come to Palm Springs every summer and we always return to Mastro's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favorite places in the area. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

One of our favorite places in the area. Service is always the best. Have had Sarah wait on us a few times. Very personable and very good!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Fun, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we walked everything was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

From the moment we walked everything was wonderful! We brought our own wine, had the summer menu special and added a few extras! Crab cakes outstanding! Stuffed mushrooms outstanding! The tuna tartar excellent! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maestro's as always had outstanding food ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Maestro's as always had outstanding food and great cocktails. The wine list has something for most. If you want to have a conversation this may not be the spot for you. Sadly, it continues to br "lively" to the point of annoyance.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Ordered a New York, got a filet. Did no ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Ordered a New York, got a filet. Did not send back. Took it home.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I go quite a bit but this was the first ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I go quite a bit but this was the first time I had Cliff as my waiter and the man is a true professional. He anticipated our needs before even having to ask. One way he did that was with my martini I hadn't poured the rest of shaker out and he brought me another lemon zest (just the rind) so the second pour would be as good as the first. That was a great touch with him focusing on the little details. And of course Becka (sp?) and the supporting cast to Cliff was fantastic. Thanks again for a great time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As is its reputation, the food and servi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

As is its reputation, the food and service were outstanding. However, the noise level was just a bit more than I expected. And we were sitting in the back room. If you want a place where you do not have to speak loudly at your table, this place is not suitable.

As mentioned above, the service by Daniel and his other 2 partners was simply outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food. Had a "band" (really a sing ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food. Had a "band" (really a singer with music track and a guitarist). Food was great. Service by Cisco was fabulous. Good night.

We had Fanny Bay oysters for appetizer. They were fresh and fantastic. I had the bone-in Filet. My daughter had the 8 oz Filet. Both were cooked perfectly. Sides were good too.

Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have never been disappointed with our ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We have never been disappointed with our meal at Mastro's. We were fortunate on this occasion to have a semi quiet table. Great birthday or special occasion restaurant to celebrate.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place to celebrate a wonderful e ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Perfect place to celebrate a wonderful event/anniversary/b-day/holiday.....great ambiance great service excellent food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was AMAZING! The service, the ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything was AMAZING! The service, the meal, the ambience were all amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second time I've dined at Ma ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is the second time I've dined at Mastros and it gets better each time. My only regret is that I was too stuffed to eat any butter cake. Lol.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food, music, and service. gre ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

excellent food, music, and service. great birthday spot!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For how expensive this restaurant is, it ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

For how expensive this restaurant is, it should have been an "experience" dining here.

The steak I ordered was $70, and I have had better steak at OutBack.

The service was about as average as any chain restaurant. It was by no means bad, but it certainly was not special.

$250 for 2-people should mean a memorable dining experience, not a regretful one. Based on the meal + service, the bill should have been around $70.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Our party of four had a fabulous evening ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our party of four had a fabulous evening at Mastro's. The food was excellent and the service and care outstanding. We highly recommend this steak house.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wonderful and attentive s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food and wonderful and attentive service. Sat in the lounge and enjoyed the atmosphere and live music. Was a very nice evening for my wife and Me. Will definitely return on next trip to the desert.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The summer menu and drink specials are w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The summer menu and drink specials are well worth a visit!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great service, food, and experience. Th ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great service, food, and experience. The restaurant even called the next day to make sure we had a great experience. Glad we went!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Over an hour for appetizers. Food under ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Over an hour for appetizers. Food undercooked . Very noisy - could not hear across the table. Bus staff stacked up and clear away our dessert plates before we were half was done. The waitress did replenish the desserts for which we were appreciative. In no hurry to go back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

everything was great would return whenve ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

everything was great would return whenver i couldddddddddddddddddddddddddd

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mastro's has dropped a notch. Why? Thi ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Mastro's has dropped a notch. Why?

This is visit number two where I felt the experience didn't match the price. The food and service is great, but the experience has to be there, too. Our Valentine's Dinner felt like we were crammed in due to the amount of tables they squeezed into the dining area. Any intimate talk was gone as we could all easily hear each table's conversations that night due to the closeness. I figured they tried to meet the demand of the night not realizing that there has to be a touch of romance that night and this strategy of maximizing floor space with tables didn't help that part of the night at all. Still, I gave them another shot.

This recent dinner we were given a small table for two that gave the impression of us being too far apart. I would have expected more intimacy, and had there been room I would have swung my chair around to be closer to my date and not across from them where conversation had to be louder to be heard.

I don't believe my standards are unfair. Yet, there has to be some give here if you're going to the be the highest priced steakhouse in the valley and the romance aspect of dinner is gone.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

It was great! service was awesome and fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was great! service was awesome and food was amazing. the manager even came by to ask how everything was - we felt spoiled - we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were looking for a fin ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

My husband and I were looking for a fine dining restaurant on a recent stay in La Quinta and found Mastro's. We live in Orange County and occasionally visit the Mastro's in Costa Mesa.

When we arrived for our reservation, the concierge was accommodating and friendly and we were seated immediately.

The service was excellent as usual. I, unfortunately, cannot remember our servers names and I apologize for that. The food, as always, was superb. We ordered to share the Kansas City New York. He ordered the steamed spinach and I ordered the Beefsteak Tomatoes with onions and added bleu cheese dressing with extra crumbles. While waiting for our dinner to be prepared, we enjoyed a nice bottle of Stag's Leap Merlot. Our dinner arrived after just a short while. While I received the side I ordered, Stephen received steamed asparagus. Our server apologized profusely and offered to replace it immediately. We decided that asparagus was fine and we both enjoyed it. If anything went wrong, that was it. We didn't mind in the least.

After dinner, we enjoyed a delicious Molten Lave Cake with cappuccino. We went home almost unable to move we were so full but both of us were smiling.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mastros is a must!! We celebrate every b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Mastros is a must!! We celebrate every birthday ad anniversary at various Mastro's locations. Butter cake is to die for!!! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server did not offer bread upon our arri ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Server did not offer bread upon our arrival. We had to ask for it. Rub on filet steak was far too salty. Rub on other steak was fine. Consistency is the issue here. Server brought check without asking if we wanted coffee or desert Her excuse when we asked was " we looked like we were ready to leave". I would say you never assume what a customer is going to do. This restaurant was recommended but we have been to far better in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.