About Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago

520 North Dearborn
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner only, 5:00pm - Midnight, Daily.
M Bar Piano Lounge - 4:00pm - 2:00am, Daily.

Cross Street:
North Dearborn and Grand

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 521-5100

Website:
http://mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Justin Floerchinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Kelly McGrath for your next event.
kmcgrath@ldry.com
312.521.5100

Restaurant Photos

8 Oz Filet, Lobster Mashed Potatoes, Roasted Brussels Sprouts, Sautéed Mushrooms
Seafood Tower Two Tiers
Burrata And Heirloom Tomatoes
Porterhouse
Chocolate Layer Cake, Butter Cake, And Key Lime Pie
Mastro's Butter Cake
Tuna Tostada/Veggie Roll
Strawberry Martini
Crab Legs
Mastro's Signature Warm Butter Cake
Creamed Spinach
Crab Gnocchi
Cherry Crisp
Bread Basket
Warm Spinach Salad
33 Oz "Chef's Cut" Bone In Ribeye
Dungeness Crab Cocktail
Tuna Tartare
Buttercake
Filet Oscar
Lobster Bisque
Shrimp Cocktail
Sliced Peppercorn Sirloin Steak
Petite Filet Mignon
Bone-In Filet
Single Malt Glenfiddich 18 Yr
Chocolate Covered Strawberries
Tuna Tostadas
Martinis
Martini
The Woodland Manhattan
Chef's Cut Ribeye Chop
Chocolate Layered cake dipped in Brandy
Steak
Bombay Saphire Martini
Tequila Flight
Wedge Salad
Bone In Filet With Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Warm Butter Cake
12Oz Bone In Filet
Kansas City Cut
Desserts
Seared Ahi Tuna
Sweet potato fries
18oz Bone-in Filet
Oysters Rockefeller
Double Porterhouse Steak
Creamed Spinach, Snap Peas, Lobster Mashed Potatoes, Steak
Crab Tower
Rack of Lamb
Key Lime Pie
Double Cut Porterhouse 48Oz.
Salmon

Private Dining

Mastro’s Steakhouse Chicago offers four luxurious private rooms with wall-to-wall wine displays and glass blown chandeliers.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (110)
Romantic (75)
Notable Wine List (58)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (56)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Good for Groups (38)
Hot Spot (35)
Good for a Date (17)
Live Music (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Late-night Find (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Business Meals (12)
Modern Decor (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Scenic View (6)
People Watching (6)
Family Style (4)
Private Room (4)
Cozy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2501 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Restaurant was very nice and comfortable ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Restaurant was very nice and comfortable, not cramped. Food was amazing, appetizer lobster bisque was delcicious with a generous portion. Shrimp cocktail was good and had an impeccable presentation. I had the NY strip steak with peppercorn gravy which delicious and cooked to perfection. Drinks were great and dessert, which was the butter cake, flavor was out of this world.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is very good... but pricey. Expect ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food is very good... but pricey. Expect to pay $100 per person before drinks. Service was second rate, our waiter acted like he was doing us the favor of serving us. We had a very nice table by the window... and they made us pay for that privilege all night, the AC was blasting, we were all cold, and asked to have the AC turned down... Yeah!! Right!! Never happened. There are better steakhouses in Chicago... not worth the money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

My only complaint is the noise level. We ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My only complaint is the noise level. We were in the downstairs room and it was extremely loud. Other than that the restaurant is phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

By far the best steak I've eaten. Melts ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

By far the best steak I've eaten. Melts right in your mouth, literally! The sides are very tasty as well but the only downfall is they don't hold up as well the next day if you happen to take a doggy bag home. The cocktails are delicious and I love that they leave the shaker on the table. After 6pm you can look forward to a piano playing cover band. Absolutely my favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed the restaurant. The food was g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I enjoyed the restaurant. The food was great and the ambiance was amazing. I would recommend to anyone willing to pay for some good food. All of the sides were delicious and I ordered the bone in ribeye.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a good restaturant the food was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was a good restaturant the food was amazing. I do feel that it was too noisy and they were playing music in the back ground so it was a fight to hear. Also it was too dark I could barely see what was on the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was great but we had a few glit ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was great but we had a few glitches with the service. I felt rushed the entire meal. While one of our guests was eating his bread, he looked away to speak to someone else and they took his bread plate and bread without asking if he was finished. It was fairly abrupt and we were all very surprised. We were not even halfway finished with our salads (you could see that we weren't) and they asked us if we were finished because our entrees were ready. We said, no- we would like to finish these first. After the servers continued to stand by our table we decided they could serve our steaks, but we would still finish our salads. I was served a filet, which I did not order. No one at our table ordered the filet. I told the waiter, "no one at our table ordered this steak." He then took the plate with the filet away (it was already on the table and he had walked away) and the tray with the other entrees also. About 7-8 minutes later our entrees came out. They tried twice to take away our dessert when we were still eating them. We had two for a table of four to share.

The food is great- but it was almost as though they were either "too attentive" or trying to turn the table quickly. We were not slow eaters and ordered fairly quickly once we sat down. There seemed to be plenty of other tables open but it was on Friday night at 7:00 pm.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I enjoyed the food and the service but t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I enjoyed the food and the service but the live music was entirely too loud in the dining room. It made it hard to hear the server and it was difficult to have a conversation with my client.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Snooty hostess. Pushy waiter. Overfilled ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Snooty hostess. Pushy waiter. Overfilled and extremely LOUD room. Food was good but they didn't deserve our money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

It was the worst table location I have e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

It was the worst table location I have ever experienced!

After making the reservation a month in advance, flying in from Boston, they sat us between the entrance door and kitchen access door which was approximately 10 feet from the live band. I brought a high level customer and we could not carry on a conversation. It was a total waste of time regarding the conversation and business.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Sat in the lounge enjoying the live musi ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Sat in the lounge enjoying the live music. Great bone in ribeye. Attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Just too many mistakes for a restaurant ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Just too many mistakes for a restaurant this good. We will be back though as does have a great atmosphere and we usually do enjoy this restaurant quite a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

It was great! Had the steak t was soooo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

It was great! Had the steak t was soooo good!

Enjoyed the ambiance.. Romantic and dark! With good food and the love of my life!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Masters provided a wonderful seafood (ye ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Masters provided a wonderful seafood (yes - halibut and sea bass) experience. We normally get the bone in filet but decided a la Ocean Club to have the fish and it was prepared perfectly! Our server was attentive and brought over (not on the menu, but highly recommended) lemon drop martini on dry ice. Dinner was superb. Try the gorgonzola mac and cheese and the onion rings as well!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a first visit for a special occ ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was a first visit for a special occasion and Mastro's did not disappoint. Our server, Corey, was phenomenal throughout to our relatively large party. Every aspect of the meal from the drinks to the appetizers, salads to the steaks and sides was excellent. We tried the bone marrow, oysters (from east and west coasts) and sashimi as appetizers, all of which were delicious. The ceasar salad and spinach salads were perfectly made and layered with flavor. The steaks were aged and cooked to perfection. The mac n cheese and potatoes as well as brussel sprout sides were fantastic and so large in portion that several people could partake. They have a large dessert menu. The chocolate sin cake is decadent and rich. The chocolate covered strawberries were served with an enormous pile of fresh whipped cream. The sorbet was enough for the entire table. There was live music in the bar, which added to the atmosphere. It was truly a great night and I would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fun, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Mastro's it's all about the steak and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

As Mastro's it's all about the steak and mine was dry, despite ordering medium rare and being assured that it would arrive pink and hot. It was neither.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

I've been going to Mastro's since it ope ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I've been going to Mastro's since it opened in Scottsdale 10 years ago. It's my favorite steakhouse in the city. Unfortunately, this outing less than impressed. Our service was atrocious. My friend loves bread and she especially likes to use it to sop up delicious juices from our steaks. They took our basket away before the main courses came along (even though we'd asked them not to). When we asked our waiter to bring it back, not only had our steaks arrived, we had to ask him about it a 2nd time (halfway through our steaks) and didn't get it until we were nearly done eating. I mean, it's bread. How hard can it be to bring a new basket in less than 30 minutes? Not only that, he never came back to check on us. We would have ordered more drinks if he had. Our waters were hardly ever filled. They sat us at the top of the stairs right next to the stairwell when the room was pretty much empty which was an awful location to be in. And the speakers were right above our heads and the music SO LOUD that we could hardly hear one another talk. It was a pretty lame experience. We were so frustrated by the poor service that we left after our main courses even though we had every intention of doing dessert/after dinner drinks. Our waiter really missed out on quite a bit of tip because of his own missteps. Next time, I'll order carry out or fly back out to Arizona.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

I made reservations here for a bachelore ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I made reservations here for a bachelorette party. We all enjoyed the food, but I thought it was a little too pricey for the very little food you got. Overall we had a good experience, but if you aren't planning on spending $200 minimum for 2 people, I wouldn't go there.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was decent for the most part. Took long to get seated but I was happy with the table one we got seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was fantastic and provided th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our server was fantastic and provided the very best service! He had our needs covered. The meal was paced perfectly. Our steak were delicious. The butter cake is heavenly. Nothing but great things to say.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I called in before arrival and was told ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I called in before arrival and was told this place was family friendly. I do not agree.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Bone in Kansas City strip was delicious. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Bone in Kansas City strip was delicious. Tomahawk Wagyu was too dry and not very tasty. Definitely not worth the money.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was good, food was fair & it was ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Service was good, food was fair & it was very expensive for what we ordered. Will think twice before I / we would return...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This was my third time at Mastros and it ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This was my third time at Mastros and it was great as usual. Each visit gets better and better. Awesome service, positive attitudes, hot and fresh food, and great wine choices! Very romantic for my anniversary dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, People Watching, Scenic View, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love everything about Mastros!!!!

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Love everything about Mastros!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best in Chicago. Food f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Absolutely the best in Chicago. Food fantastic and servers more than attentive!! Fabulous!

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fav steakhouse hands down. Get the gn ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My fav steakhouse hands down. Get the gnocchi and ri eyes are fire

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was fantastic. Our steaks we ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service was fantastic. Our steaks were over-cooked (charred really) and a disappointment. The scalloped potatoes were very good. The butter cake was delicious. We went for our anniversary. It definitely felt like a nice spot to celebrate a special occasion. We went downstairs to the bar area after dinner and there was live music which we really enjoyed. I almost wish there was a little dance floor. Everything was great except what we expected to be great, the steaks!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything taken into consideration, thi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Everything taken into consideration, this is the best steakhouse in Chicago. And there are a lot of really great Steakhouses in the city. It took me quite a while to admit this as I always found ways to justify the shortcomings of others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing, tasty and flavorful. N ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was amazing, tasty and flavorful. Noise level was almost too loud. Tables were close together & long; and I felt far from my hubby. Overall, great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Mastro's was recommended by a friend but ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Mastro's was recommended by a friend but I was not expecting to be so impressed. Our party of three had a great experience from the moment we walked into the restaurant. The service was attentive without being intrusive, the food was excellent and the ambience was so relaxing. Jason made several recommendations for our dinner that really enhanced our enjoyment of the evening. We will definitely return and would recommend Mastro's for any occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Hot Spot, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Mastro's does not disappoint. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

As always, Mastro's does not disappoint. It's our favorite restaurant. It's the most consistent 100% of the time - delicious, quality food, excellent service, great ambience, and desserts to die for. On top of that, they always remember us when we walk in.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Live Music, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing as usual. Sat in the b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was amazing as usual. Sat in the bar area and the atmosphere was great. Server was very nice, but not very helpful or attentive. Literally had to ask to put our order in for each phase of the meal. My wife and I don't eat $400 meals very often so I wish the service was a bit better. Won't stop us from coming back though.

Seared ahi tuna - some of the best we've had

Heirloom tomatoes & Burrata cheese - expensive, but really good!

Bone in chefs cut ribeye - awesome

Wife loved the filet

Alaskan king crab gnocchi - incredible!

Manhattans - huge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

I enjoyed the taste of the steak and it ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I enjoyed the taste of the steak and it was cooked perfect with a side of truffle butter ,i also had the lobster mashed potatoes that are very good and huge 2-3 people can eat on it.one of my friends was a vegan and our waitress helped her find a meal to fit her needs,also the manager came over to witness someone finish eating there 48oz porterhouse steak lol.theres no t-shirt or prize but it was very good and worth it ,the manager recommend this desert called butter cake and omg it was delicious light and fluffy like a pound cake without the over sweetness.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

our server Jeffrey was excellent, as was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

our server Jeffrey was excellent, as was the food.

the band played like we were all there for a concert. we could not hear ourselves talk. $100/ a person for dinner and we could not enjoy our conversation.

we asked for a table in the dinning room as far from the lounge and band as possible. they had tables in the back, but they say empty all through our dinner. had reservations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

A bit too dark

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

A bit too dark

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

AWESOME !!! That RibEye was the best ,al ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

AWESOME !!! That RibEye was the best ,also don't forget to try the Brussels sprouts .

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of favorite restaurant groups in US.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

One of favorite restaurant groups in US.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

On a Monday night, the atmosphere was ca ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

On a Monday night, the atmosphere was calm and unhurried. As this was the second time I dined here, I wanted to savor and not rush through the meal. Spinach salad (split into 2) was fine. Bone-in filet was special, but the 2 dogs only found 1 of our 2 bones in their box. As hoped for from other reviews I'd read, the gnocci (Alaskan king crab & black truffle oil) kind of made me moan. Sugar snap peas crunched perfectly. Only tiny let-down was the butter cake, perhaps cuz it had approached nirvana status in my mind, and I couldn't wait to try it. Really, I was probably just too full, and the generous glob of ice cream pushed me over the edge.

I love this place! May be the best place in Chgo to get a great steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice!!! Can't wait to go back! Grea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very nice!!! Can't wait to go back! Great for date nights or special occasions!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.