About Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago

520 North Dearborn
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner only, 5:00pm - Midnight, Daily.
M Bar Piano Lounge - 4:00pm - 2:00am, Daily.

Cross Street:
North Dearborn and Grand

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 521-5100

Website:
http://mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Justin Floerchinger

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Kelly McGrath for your next event.
kmcgrath@ldry.com
312.521.5100

Restaurant Photos

8 Oz Filet, Lobster Mashed Potatoes, Roasted Brussels Sprouts, Sautéed Mushrooms
Burrata And Heirloom Tomatoes
Mastro's Butter Cake
Seafood Tower Two Tiers
Porterhouse
Chocolate Layer Cake, Butter Cake, And Key Lime Pie
Mastro's Signature Warm Butter Cake
Crab Legs
Strawberry Martini
Tuna Tostada/Veggie Roll
Creamed Spinach
Crab Gnocchi
Cherry Crisp
Bread Basket
Warm Spinach Salad
33 Oz "Chef's Cut" Bone In Ribeye
Dungeness Crab Cocktail
Tuna Tartare
Buttercake
Lobster Bisque
Filet Oscar
Shrimp Cocktail
Sliced Peppercorn Sirloin Steak
Petite Filet Mignon
Single Malt Glenfiddich 18 Yr
Bone-In Filet
Chocolate Covered Strawberries
Tuna Tostadas
Martinis
Martini
The Woodland Manhattan
Chef's Cut Ribeye Chop
Chocolate Layered cake dipped in Brandy
Steak
Bombay Saphire Martini
Tequila Flight
Wedge Salad
Bone In Filet With Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Warm Butter Cake
12Oz Bone In Filet
Kansas City Cut
Desserts
Seared Ahi Tuna
Sweet potato fries
18oz Bone-in Filet
Double Porterhouse Steak
Oysters Rockefeller
Creamed Spinach, Snap Peas, Lobster Mashed Potatoes, Steak
Crab Tower
Key Lime Pie
Rack of Lamb
Double Cut Porterhouse 48Oz.
Salmon

Private Dining

Mastro’s Steakhouse Chicago offers four luxurious private rooms with wall-to-wall wine displays and glass blown chandeliers.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (139)
romantic (90)
notable wine list (71)
See All
vibrant bar scene (69)
fit for foodies (68)
hot spot (55)
good for groups (48)
late-night find (17)
neighborhood gem (14)
great for lunch (7)
great for brunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love this place more every time I come ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

I love this place more every time I come...they accommodated my request for a table near the bar/band, and as always the food and service were top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing. Best ribeye in the city!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing. Best ribeye in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastically hip and by far the best st ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastically hip and by far the best steak we have had at any of the big name steak houses in Chicago. The service was second to none, and the Butter Cake for desert is worth the visit alone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't get me wrong, the food was good bu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Don't get me wrong, the food was good but for the price I would expect spectacular. Also, for that price I would expect a dining room where conversation would be easy across the table. The band in the bar (which was good, I admit) was so loud that even in the dining room we had to yell across the table. Not what you would expect for a dinner that cost $750 (with tip) for 3 people.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We celebrated our 21st Anniversary at Ma ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated our 21st Anniversary at Mastro's. Everything was exquisite. The service, the attention to detail, the food, and the ambience was fantastic. And the Butter Cake is truly legendary. Everything good you have heard...is absolutely true. Would definitely come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Killer porterhouse for two. What else i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Killer porterhouse for two. What else is there to say?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I heard a lot of good things about this ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I heard a lot of good things about this establishment but left a bit disappointed. The bar was nice though the dining room seemed a bit tired. I'd give it another chance though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Remarkably, the restaurant "ran out" of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Remarkably, the restaurant "ran out" of all 6 ounce, 8 ounce and 12 ounce filet mignon. We were only told this after the bottle of wine we ordered was opened and served. This was remarkable considering it was a Sunday night. The hostess seemed very annoyed that we did not want to be seated in the bar area with loud live music. I was not impressed with the attitude.

Despite not being able to eat what we wanted, the food was well prepared. Our server was pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was good dont get me wrong. Basic ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was good dont get me wrong. Basic steakhouse type of menu nothing too exotic. They ran out of 3 smaller filets and steaks which was not great and we dined at 7pm ( not so late ).

Service was sub-par. I think they just need more staff on crowded nights. Our waiter tried hard but I can not say it was smooth service.

He was either rushed, or absent. Wine pouring was lacking, and we probably would have drank more, spent more, if it was poured more frequently.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good place for a business dinner or lunc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good place for a business dinner or lunch. Food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are many "bad" tables in this rest ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

There are many "bad" tables in this restaurant.

The noise level from the bar is out of control

This restaurant costs $$$ and the food is ok.... But they need help with space planning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

The menu, service and food are absolutel ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The menu, service and food are absolutely outstanding. It is a great place to celebrate a special event where everything is first class.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was extremely loud. It wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The restaurant was extremely loud. It was for a special occasion, but it was very difficult to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

The food and the service was excellent. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and the service was excellent. We had a great time celebrating our anniversary at the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We eat at Mastros a couple times a month ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We eat at Mastros a couple times a month and not sure we will be back anytime soon. We were seated 45 minutes later than our reservation. Not even an apology offered. We arrived early and looked for a seat in the bar. When a group got up from a high table, we went to sit down. After they cleared the table and we sat, a manager told us the table was reserved and made us move. Same manager who is offering us free everything when I am dinner with guys on the Blackhawks. Not the way to treat people, let alone people you have met under different circumstances.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Great place I wish there was better ligh ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great place I wish there was better lighting for pictures.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and service, but could be the ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food and service, but could be the most karaoke-like band I've ever heard. It is also WAY too loud in the dining room. Loved the food, but not being able to hear anyone you're with certainly detracts....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Upon being seated it took 10 LONG minute ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Upon being seated it took 10 LONG minutes before a server came to our table with menus. I order the 22oz bone-in rib-eye cooked medium-well, the steak was slightly burned along the edges. For a $58 steak at a high-end restaurant I would expect better! Other than the steak, my girlfriend and I enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant. There was also live music and the bar was very vibrant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I loved the food! I'm a foodie so I enjo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I loved the food! I'm a foodie so I enjoy good food. I 1st went to the location in Vegas but this one in Chicago was the best. The steak was super tender, they special made garlic butter that I wanted and it was to die for. The drinks are a little expensive but well worth it ESP because it was extra in the shaker for later. The waiter was just ok, he seemed to get frustrated because we wanted the bill separate. Other than that I will make it a tradition to go to this restaurant every time I go to Chicago since I'm from MI.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Fantastic experience...the server was ve ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fantastic experience...the server was very good with recommendations.Music added to the great ambience.

Hefty price but worth every bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The older female hostess was rude, hatef ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The older female hostess was rude, hateful, and discriminated against our party of 5. The moment we walked in she had a scowl. Not a good way to start the evening

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

We had heard rave reviews regarding Mast ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had heard rave reviews regarding Mastro's. We found this retaurant to be overpriced, seating that was to close to other quests and food that was not impressive. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent steak and seafood. Nice atm ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent steak and seafood. Nice atmosphere. Would definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had shrimp cocktail and largest shrimp e ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had shrimp cocktail and largest shrimp ever had. Had the 48 oz porterhouse and it was cooked just right. Butter cake for desert was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

HAppy Anniversary cake was a nice surpri ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

HAppy Anniversary cake was a nice surprise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Host was unpleasant. We are a younger cr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Host was unpleasant. We are a younger crowd, and got treated terribly. Money isn't a problem for us and they treated us like our parents were going to come in and pay our bill. Our server was not friendly; she gave us the vibe she was annoyed to have to serve us. Didn't want to explain menu options to us/add ons. Went there for my friends birthday and they didn't do anything special.. After I spoke to them twice they still never did anything!! Once our bill came and the server saw we tipped good, she was extra friendly to us. The GM apologized but that doesn't change the fact of how we were mistreated and they did not follow through with the birthday celebration. Only 4 tables in the restaurant and somehow the information was miscommunicated.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent Steaks! Enjoyed great apps and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent Steaks! Enjoyed great apps and a wonderful bottle of wine. Our favorite place in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated my sister's 25th birthday. W ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Celebrated my sister's 25th birthday. Was eight of us plus a four year old. June our waitress was so helpful, so professional and took great care of my little one! Was my first time but definitely not my last!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were on our honeymoon and planned one ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We were on our honeymoon and planned one very nice dinner. Our server Kelly was fantastic as was the gentleman she was training. They never missed a step.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered a course at a time, as we wai ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We ordered a course at a time, as we waited for a friend to join us. Waitstaff was polite, attentive, and did not rush us. Probably the best rack of lamb I've had in years, and the portion was generous enough to split (at no extra charge).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic steak menu! A little pricey w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fantastic steak menu! A little pricey with all food a la cart but well worth it!

Dress code not enforced as visible through patrons in gym shoes and shorts.

Would recommend sitting in upper dining room due to the loud band in lounge.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

We had our anniversary dinner here. Fro ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had our anniversary dinner here. From the minute we walked in it was special. The manager found out it was our 33rd anniversary and we were given a better table. He checked on us throughout the meal. We both had different steaks. I had truffle butter on mine and it was to die for. The server was excellent, even the washroom attendant was a pleasure. They brought us their famous butter cake with happy anniversary written on the plate for dessert. I'm not much of a dessert person and prefer chocolate but this cake was to die for! Even the coffee we ordered was so good. It is not cheap but so worth it. This has to be the best meal we both have ever eaten and we've eaten at many great restaurants. Highly recommend. They had live music in the bar as well. Make your reservations early as this is a popular spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food choices, preparation, and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food choices, preparation, and presentation. Able to accommodate and personal requests to individualize. Nice ambience, music throughout facility at a noise level to permit socializing. Service exceptional, paying close attention to every detail without hovering.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I Love the steak and the service exper ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I Love the steak and the service experience. Very personal

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I have always been pleased with Mastro's ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have always been pleased with Mastro's. However, this was a bad experience. Our main entree was very late. Ruined the dining experience and made us rush for our next engagement. We spent a lot of money for a bad experience. Yes, we were disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Very pricey but good food. Cocktails are ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Very pricey but good food. Cocktails are amazing. Butter spread for the steak alone was $15

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

The seafood tower, while expensive, was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The seafood tower, while expensive, was absolutely delicious and worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved the food and service. Atmosphere ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Loved the food and service. Atmosphere was great, but a little loud to hear each other talk and too dark to read menu without phone light assist.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing food! Must have the tuna tartare ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Amazing food! Must have the tuna tartare, steak and buttercream cake! Truffle gnocchi is fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful food and service. Very lively ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Very lively atmosphere and great ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.