About Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago

520 North Dearborn
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner only, 5:00pm - 11:00pm Sun thru Thur / Fri. & Sat till Midnight.
M Bar Piano Lounge - 4:00pm till ... Daily.

Cross Street:
North Dearborn and Grand

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 521-5100

Website:
http://mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Justin Floerchinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Kelly McGrath for your next event.
kmcgrath@ldry.com
312.521.5100

Restaurant Photos

8 Oz Filet, Lobster Mashed Potatoes, Roasted Brussels Sprouts, Sautéed Mushrooms - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Porterhouse - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Layer Cake, Butter Cake, And Key Lime Pie - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Burrata And Heirloom Tomatoes - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Mastro's Butter Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Seafood Tower Two Tiers - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Tuna Tostada/Veggie Roll - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Strawberry Martini - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Crab Legs - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Crab Gnocchi - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Mastro's Signature Warm Butter Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Cherry Crisp - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Dungeness Crab Cocktail - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Tuna Tartare - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Creamed Spinach - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Bread Basket - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Buttercake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Warm Spinach Salad - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Filet Oscar - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
33 Oz "Chef's Cut" Bone In Ribeye - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Lobster Bisque - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Shrimp Cocktail - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Sliced Peppercorn Sirloin Steak - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Petite Filet Mignon - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Bone-In Filet - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Single Malt Glenfiddich 18 Yr - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Covered Strawberries - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Tuna Tostadas  - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Martinis - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Martini - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Woodland Manhattan - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Chef's Cut Ribeye Chop - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Layered cake dipped in Brandy - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Steak - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Bombay Saphire Martini - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Tequila Flight - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Wedge Salad - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Bone In Filet With Lobster Mashed Potatoes - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Warm Butter Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
12Oz Bone In Filet - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Kansas City Cut - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Desserts - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Seared Ahi Tuna - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Sweet potato fries - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
18oz Bone-in Filet - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Oysters Rockefeller - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Double Porterhouse Steak  - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Creamed Spinach, Snap Peas, Lobster Mashed Potatoes, Steak - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Crab Tower - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Rack of Lamb - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Key Lime Pie - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Double Cut Porterhouse 48Oz. - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Salmon - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Celebrate Christmas Eve at Mastro's. Join us for our classic menu featuring premium steaks, fresh seafood, hand-crafted cocktails, and world-class wine.

Open 4pm - 10pm. Reserve your table today!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mastro’s Steakhouse Chicago offers four luxurious private rooms with wall-to-wall wine displays and glass blown chandeliers.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (81)
Romantic (64)
Good for a Date (60)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Business Meals (46)
Live Music (46)
Notable Wine List (45)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Vibrant Bar Scene (38)
Bar Seating (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Hot Spot (29)
Worth the Drive (20)
Modern Decor (18)
Fun (17)
Cozy (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Private Room (13)
People Watching (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Authentic (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Scenic View (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Family Style (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2608 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food amazing ambiance.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food amazing ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Spectacular

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amateur hour. My husband and I had a res ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Amateur hour. My husband and I had a reservation that was confirmed (surly host with poor phone manners) and when we arrived the foyer was packed shoulder to shoulder and we were told they were 45 minutes behind. The host we checked in with, clearly couldn't care less about the restaurant's poor operations. If you're a $30,000 dollar millionaire, wannabe, recent post-grad kid that only cares about a scene, this place may be tolerable. If you are a professional, mature, high earning, adult with grown up expectations, do yourself a favor and skip this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Love the crowd here. The food is always ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Love the crowd here. The food is always so amazing. Very cozy.

Tags: Cozy, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Steak was 4 out of 5. Can do better at ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Steak was 4 out of 5. Can do better at home on my grill.

Garlic mashed potatoes were average, no thing special.

Service was excellent, but noise level is high for us more mature patrons.

Butter cake was superb as advertised.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Delicious steak and apps, loved sushi an ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious steak and apps, loved sushi and sides as well. Took care of us with a free piece of cake for one of our guest's birthday. Great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant! The meals were am ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent restaurant! The meals were amazing and the staff was very attentive to our needs. I'll be back for sure.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Go for the steak, butter-cake & "Sugar a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Go for the steak, butter-cake & "Sugar and Spice". This is why I got Mastros. It is one of the best steak houses in Chicago. The ambiance, service, live music in the Piano bar, THE STEAK, and THE Butter-cake! Sugar and Spice was a seasonal handcrafted cocktail. It was DIVINE! Mastro's is definitely worth the money.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Horrible waiter. Did not check in us. Di ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Horrible waiter. Did not check in us. Did not Che k on drinks, did not check on food. Did not ask if we were celebrating a special night - birthday / anniversary gone bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

Best dining experience we've had in a lo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Best dining experience we've had in a long long time. Who serves shrimp cocktail on dry ice??? Absolutely phenomenal lobster bisque and the small filet was perfect. We split the wedge salad and it was a treat. They have an incredible wine list with all price ranges and varietals. I also had the best dirty vodka martini ever. If you want a top shelf dining experience, look no further. Make a reservation. They fill up quickly (even in the large bar area).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat at the bar and I was very well atten ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Sat at the bar and I was very well attended to. I enjoyed a nice red wine from the by the glass list. This all while haveing a salad Kansas City steak and Mashed potatoes. Food was great

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing and the service lev ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing and the service level was excellent, except for all of the people at the hostess stand. They weren't friendly or particularly helpful and didn't really greet anyone that walked in the door. Waitress was attentive and made excellent suggestions. My only other complaint was that it was difficult hearing the waitress and my wife who was sitting right next to me because of the noise level. Highly recommend going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another perfect night at Mastros. This ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Another perfect night at Mastros. This is our favorite restaurant in Chicago and Scottsdale. Every course was perfect from the seafood tower to the warm butter cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband fully enjoyed his 22oz birthd ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband fully enjoyed his 22oz birthday steak. As a non beef eater myself, there were few options. I thoroughly enjoyed the scallop and buratta appetizers, but the cob salad was below average, over dressed, too much radicchio, and they had "no alternatives to blue cheese." More concerning was the very disruptive argument between what I believe were 2 staff members happening next to our table at the beginning of our meal. That should never be happening in the dining area where it clearly effected the experience of the dinners, us. It was very unprofessional and alarming at this nice establishment. On a positive note, the live band was wonderful and the server Leah was charming.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I had been before and thought it was top ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

I had been before and thought it was top notch. This time it was just OK. Steaks lacked flavor and my view was there are certainly better places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great service. Great food. Great musi ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service. Great food. Great music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time at Mastro's. The ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

This was my first time at Mastro's. The food was great! Entrees were big enough for sharing. The salads tasted great but were very small.

The service was just ok as it appeared that they assigned our server to too many large tables which made him unavailable for our tables needs. The restaurant also didn't acknowledge our bday celebration or the allergies we listed until we reminded them after they brought out the dessert menus. Most restaurants acknowledge this upon arrival if it was stated in the reservation comments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

A good experience starts with a great se ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2016

A good experience starts with a great server and Kelly fit the bill. She was friendly, attentive and helpful. Our steaks and lamb chops were served HOT, which was awesome. This was a blow up the budget kind of meal, but for a special birthday it was worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

As usual great food butthe service was n ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As usual great food butthe service was not the best. Our server seemed overwhelem

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

This was my third time to Mastro's but m ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was my third time to Mastro's but my friends' first. The steak and the onion rings were exceptional and the service was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten at most steak houses in Am ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We have eaten at most steak houses in America and Mastro's is NOW our favorite "go to" steak house. We were visiting family in Chicago and will travel anywhere for dinner at Mastro's. Very, very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was superb. We started with the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was superb. We started with the shrimp cocktail, which was delicious. The shrimp were huge! The steaks were cooked perfectly and were also delicious. We ordered the mashed potatoes with lobster as a shared side dish. We never had that before and we both loved it. The service was top of the line as well. I highly recommend Mastro's.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service went from good to poor by the en ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Service went from good to poor by the end of the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Enjoyed the food and service was outstan ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Enjoyed the food and service was outstanding. Can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect service.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The perfect service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing every time!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OUTSTANDING EXPERIENCE! June, the waitre ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

OUTSTANDING EXPERIENCE! June, the waitress was AMAZING!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a City of great steakhouses, the stea ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

In a City of great steakhouses, the steaks here always the star. Just a damn good blend of old school and new school. We had a such a great time and our waitress was friendly and top notch. It made for a fun, fun night out for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

been there for the third time. The place ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

been there for the third time. The place is great, fantastic bar with live music, a bit too noisy but great for a drink before dinner. The food is always fantastic and I highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We had an amazing dinner with our "adult ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had an amazing dinner with our "adult" kids!! All in their 20's. The bar was fun with music, flat screens and white linen! Just lovely.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bustling $$$ city restaurant with a busy ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Bustling $$$ city restaurant with a busy bar and live music

It was our 1st visit there with friends from the U.K.

We made an early booking as they had a very early start planned for Sunday.

We had a reservation for 7pm and after at least 4 reminders to the Host we were seated at 7.45pm

I even tracked down the Manager to have a word

As a consequence our meal was rushed so we could conclude by 10pm

The food was great, but the overall experience was chaotic and claustrophobic.

The food service team were running around like commuters dashing for the last train...not really relaxing or pleasant.Our mushrooms were forgotten and deducted from the bill.

The tables are so tightly packed you can't pass by another guest without contact.

Some might call this great city atmosphere but it wasn't for us.

Well go back to RPM or David Burke next time....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We missed the 6:15 time because of a car ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We missed the 6:15 time because of a car accident but made it there around 9:30

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I've been to many steakhouses around thi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I've been to many steakhouses around this country. Mastro's is now in my top five probably in my top three !!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding. My favorites so far are th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Outstanding. My favorites so far are the scallops, classy leather booths, and above all the incredible service from Kim our waitress and MJ our bartender. I certainly can't make going to a high end place like Mastros a habit, but for my special splurges I think I'll forgo the rest of the Chicago steak houses and make this one my home. Oh and the bone-in fillet medium-rare is to die for. And the butter cake: don't forget the butter cake. ;-)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The absolute best steak I have had. I go ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The absolute best steak I have had. I got the 8 oz filet cooked medium rare with a blue cheese crusted topping. also the garlic mashed potatoes and Brussel sprouts were great. Expensive place great for an occasion of some kind.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu was a bit pricey compared to what I ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Menu was a bit pricey compared to what I am used to. However, for Chicago fine dining, it was probably in line. (2 people; salads, steaks, shared veggies and tip = $175) Food and service were both excellent, particularly the sauteed mushrooms and bone-in filet. Would do it again for special occasion and save room for desert next time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

2nd floor is like a second class Mastro. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

2nd floor is like a second class Mastro.

There was no space between tables.

Prosseco was not cold enough.

Few waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

We have several tables reserved under di ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We have several tables reserved under different names for clients/business meeting. It was so loud with the music from the bar you had to yell thru your whole me to have a conversation. Our waiter even made comments and apologized. Dinner was good but a little pricey for what we received. Would have made the whole experience better if it wasn't so loud.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I have heard good reviews of this place ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I have heard good reviews of this place however was personally disappointed and had some negative feedback from my customers as well.

Was in town for a large convention so that impacted booking and wait times for many restaurants in the area. Wait staff was friendly and professional. Table was uncomfotably close to others and was two loud to talk to everyone in our group of 5.

Steak was ok however nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

My company was in town for the Pack EXPO ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

My company was in town for the Pack EXPO Chicago and we took one of our customers out for dinner. Everything was fantastic from the food to service and our customer said his steak was now a part of his top 5 favorites ever! Thanks for the first class experience!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Live Music, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.