About Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago

520 North Dearborn
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner only, 5:00pm - Midnight, Daily.
M Bar Piano Lounge - 4:00pm - 2:00am, Daily.

Cross Street:
North Dearborn and Grand

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 521-5100

Website:
http://mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Justin Floerchinger

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Kelly McGrath for your next event.
kmcgrath@ldry.com
312.521.5100

Restaurant Photos

8 Oz Filet, Lobster Mashed Potatoes, Roasted Brussels Sprouts, Sautéed Mushrooms
Seafood Tower Two Tiers
Burrata And Heirloom Tomatoes
Mastro's Butter Cake
Porterhouse
Chocolate Layer Cake, Butter Cake, And Key Lime Pie
Mastro's Signature Warm Butter Cake
Crab Legs
Strawberry Martini
Tuna Tostada/Veggie Roll
Creamed Spinach
Crab Gnocchi
Cherry Crisp
Bread Basket
Warm Spinach Salad
33 Oz "Chef's Cut" Bone In Ribeye
12Oz Bone In Filet
Chef's Cut Ribeye Chop
Martinis
Desserts
Dungeness Crab Cocktail
Tuna Tartare
Buttercake
Lobster Bisque
Filet Oscar
Shrimp Cocktail
Sliced Peppercorn Sirloin Steak
Petite Filet Mignon
Single Malt Glenfiddich 18 Yr
Bone-In Filet
Chocolate Covered Strawberries
Tuna Tostadas
Martini
The Woodland Manhattan
Chocolate Layered cake dipped in Brandy
Steak
Bombay Saphire Martini
Tequila Flight
Wedge Salad
Bone In Filet With Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Warm Butter Cake
Kansas City Cut
Seared Ahi Tuna
Sweet potato fries
18oz Bone-in Filet
Double Porterhouse Steak
Oysters Rockefeller
Creamed Spinach, Snap Peas, Lobster Mashed Potatoes, Steak
Crab Tower
Key Lime Pie
Rack of Lamb
Double Cut Porterhouse 48Oz.
Salmon

Private Dining

Mastro’s Steakhouse Chicago offers four luxurious private rooms with wall-to-wall wine displays and glass blown chandeliers.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (150)
romantic (91)
notable wine list (73)
See All
fit for foodies (71)
vibrant bar scene (70)
hot spot (60)
good for groups (58)
late-night find (19)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for lunch (7)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on our honeymoon and planned one ...

Dined 5 days ago

We were on our honeymoon and planned one very nice dinner. Our server Kelly was fantastic as was the gentleman she was training. They never missed a step.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We ordered a course at a time, as we wai ...

Dined 7 days ago

We ordered a course at a time, as we waited for a friend to join us. Waitstaff was polite, attentive, and did not rush us. Probably the best rack of lamb I've had in years, and the portion was generous enough to split (at no extra charge).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Fantastic steak menu! A little pricey w ...

Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic steak menu! A little pricey with all food a la cart but well worth it! Dress code not enforced as visible through patrons in gym shoes and shorts. Would recommend sitting in upper dining room due to the loud band in lounge.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had our anniversary dinner here. Fro ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had our anniversary dinner here. From the minute we walked in it was special. The manager found out it was our 33rd anniversary and we were given a better table. He checked on us throughout the meal. We both had different steaks. I had truffle butter on mine and it was to die for. The server was excellent, even the washroom attendant was a pleasure. They brought us their famous butter cake with happy anniversary written on the plate for dessert. I'm not much of a dessert person and prefer chocolate but this cake was to die for! Even the coffee we ordered was so good. It is not cheap but so worth it. This has to be the best meal we both have ever eaten and we've eaten at many great restaurants. Highly recommend. They had live music in the bar as well. Make your reservations early as this is a popular spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I Love the steak and the service exper ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I Love the steak and the service experience. Very personal

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I have always been pleased with Mastro's ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I have always been pleased with Mastro's. However, this was a bad experience. Our main entree was very late. Ruined the dining experience and made us rush for our next engagement. We spent a lot of money for a bad experience. Yes, we were disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Very pricey but good food. Cocktails are ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Very pricey but good food. Cocktails are amazing. Butter spread for the steak alone was $15

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

The seafood tower, while expensive, was ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The seafood tower, while expensive, was absolutely delicious and worth every penny!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved the food and service. Atmosphere ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Loved the food and service. Atmosphere was great, but a little loud to hear each other talk and too dark to read menu without phone light assist.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing food! Must have the tuna tartare ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Amazing food! Must have the tuna tartare, steak and buttercream cake! Truffle gnocchi is fantastic!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and service. Very lively ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Very lively atmosphere and great ambience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Chef's Cut New York was phenomenal. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The Chef's Cut New York was phenomenal. I had it medium rare, and it literally melted in your mouth. The sides are big enough to share between 3-4 people. Great food, great service, great wine, great experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There are a lot of good steakhouses in C ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

There are a lot of good steakhouses in Chicago. But this one is exceptional because not only is the food spectacular, the service is top notch, and the ambiance couldn't be better. They also have an outstanding bar that has live music which is great too

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and Great service!!! Made ou ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food and Great service!!! Made our anniversary celebration very special. Thanks to Brian our server, and all the staff. Great job! Keep up the good work!! We'll be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Anniversary disaster

Dined on June 11, 2016

After reading all the positive reviews on Open Table, I wanted to celebrate our 15th anniversary at this top spot, but was sorely disappointed. The steaks had a very gamey taste, the rub they use is overly sweet (which the server did not mention upon ordering), and the plates were sizzling with grease, thus splashing us both and staining our clothing. I had to return my 8oz filet for being tough, dry, and inedible. I truly couldn't order anything else, despite the pleadings of both our server and the manager. Their apologies were all we received and a cold dry piece of chocolate cake for our anniversary, no free drinks, or anything else to make up for being an awful dinner. Never will I ever return.

food5
ambience5
service2

Food was excellent as always

Dined on June 9, 2016

Food was excellent as always

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Evening

Dined on June 5, 2016

My husband and I connected in Chicago as we were both working in two different states during our anniversary and my husband's birthday. With a short time to spend together and little planning, Mastro's made us feel like it had been planned for months. We had a great dining space in the bar area (our choice) that gave a romantic setting but great energy as well. We had a few of their signature cocktails, steaks, seafood, etc and it was all incredible. The server learned about my husband's birthday and our anniversary and brought out a beautiful and very tasty piece of chocolate cake with a candle and personalized writing on the plate. It was thoughtful and amazing! We plan to make this a regular stop in Chicago for a nice evening out. It is a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best steakhouse in Chicago

Dined on June 5, 2016

I've been to a lot of steakhouses in Chicago and in other cities and this is the best one I've been to. Tremendous service and outstanding food make this a can't miss gem. My wife and I LOVE this place for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Bev B.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent steaks and the service is always spot on. The people with us commentted on how great the service was.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything about this restaurant was top notch.

Dined on June 4, 2016

We came to restaurant from a recommendation of a friend. It was fabulous. The service, food, and ambiance was all wonderful. The pricing is a little high, but the quality makes up for it!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Rack of Lamb was FLAWLESS!

Dined on June 4, 2016

The Rack of Lamb was FLAWLESS!

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

In a city full of great steakhouses, Mas ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

In a city full of great steakhouses, Mastro's is not worth your time. We ordered two steaks--a NY strip au poive and the bone-in ribeye. The strip was overcooked--well when ordered medium--and had no noticeable pepper on it perhaps aside from a dusting of ground black pepper. Beyond that, it simply did not good and was sent back. While cooked properly, the ribeye was not allowed to rest and essentially was a tough ball of meat with no flavor. The appetizers, desserts and sides were decent and the service was enjoyable. But when I know that I can get an excellent steak at any of another handful of steakhouses within a few blocks, I will do so going forward.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great and the food was a ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The service was great and the food was awesome. One of the best oyster Rockefeller dishes I ever had

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

good food and service, however my son an ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

good food and service, however my son and i both ordered a filet medium well and it was cooked well. for how expensive it is, it should have been cooked correctly. have eaten at mastro's numerous times in past with great results

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing meal, great service!

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Amazing meal, great service!

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The place was way too dark, too noisy a ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

The place was way too dark, too noisy and service n food were not great for price. Overall I would not recommend this restaurant nor will i come back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of favorite steakhouses in Chicago

Dined on May 25, 2016

Don't miss this when I am in Chicago. Delicious steak and sides. Wait staff very professional.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Appetizers were awesome. Steak was delic ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Appetizers were awesome. Steak was delicious. Great wine list

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

exceptional service before, during and a ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

exceptional service before, during and after! an absolute MUST!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything about it! The ambiance, ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Loved everything about it! The ambiance, the food and the wonderful staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Very loud, but some people like it I gue ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Very loud, but some people like it I guess. I had a beanie on, they asked me to remove it. Totally fine with that. I was just wearing it to keep my head warm. I was very dressed up otherwise. Unfortunately, I had to watch some dude wear his 1998 Tiger Woods hat in bright red hat all dinner. For those who can read between the lines, let's just call that "Mastro's Privilege". It was my bday, I was happy to be with my parents. Better steaks and ambience are available through out this wonderful city. If you're going to spend this much, at least be treated fairly.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience here. They do ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Always a great experience here. They do an awesome job of making you feel welcome and part of the Mastro's environment. Food was excellent as you'd expect if you've ever been here.

food5
ambience5
service5

I've been on Friday and Saturdays, and ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I've been on Friday and Saturdays, and even thought it was good, the crowds were a bit much. Sunday was fabulous. Food was cooked to our satisfaction and HOT, exactly like I prefer it.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

First time experience

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This was first time dining at Mastro's. The food was excellent. Several people had the filets which I would put up against any in Chicago. I had the veal chop which was also outstanding. We had the Ahi Tuna appetizer and also the marrow. The marrow was very good but the tune was just OK. The desert of the butter cake was very good. We had what seemed to be a new waitress and she was not very helpful. When asked about the quality of the veal chop, she just stated, "everything here is good". She was not very attentive. I do believe it is a little high priced in comparison to other steak houses in Chicago, but at least the quality was there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Over priced small menu Gibsons is bette ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Over priced small menu Gibsons is better

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service. Food was very good. E ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent service. Food was very good. Everything is a la carte and quite pricey. We were sitting in the lower dining area which was near the bar. The bar had live music which was a little too loud for us. Made conversation difficult. Had I known there was an upstairs dining room , I would have requested it. We were there for a special birthday. Made an excellent dessert with Happy Birthday and my son's name. Great experience for a special occasion. Server was excellent. Cannot remember her name.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and ambiance was excellent

Dined on May 13, 2016

The soft-shell crab appetizer was amazing. The steak was good, not the best one I've had at Mastro's but was still good. Phenomenal service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. Service was to fas ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Everything was great. Service was to fast. We were in and out in under an hour.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Great service Too noisy .. ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food! Great service Too noisy .. And it was a Tuesday

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great bartender

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great overall experience. I would recommend them to a friend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.