About Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago

520 North Dearborn
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner only, 5:00pm - Midnight, Daily.
M Bar Piano Lounge - 4:00pm - 2:00am, Daily.

Cross Street:
North Dearborn and Grand

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 521-5100

Website:
http://mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Justin Floerchinger

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Kelly McGrath for your next event.
kmcgrath@ldry.com
312.521.5100

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
For the man who deserves the best...
Make this Father's Day a celebration to remember with Mastro's Restaurants.

Private Dining

Mastro’s Steakhouse Chicago offers four luxurious private rooms with wall-to-wall wine displays and glass blown chandeliers.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (180)
romantic (118)
vibrant bar scene (92)
See All
fit for foodies (81)
notable wine list (75)
hot spot (72)
good for groups (64)
late-night find (22)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for lunch (8)
scenic view (7)
great for brunch (7)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2361 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

exceptional service before, during and a ...

Dined 3 days ago

exceptional service before, during and after! an absolute MUST!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything about it! The ambiance, ...

Dined 4 days ago

Loved everything about it! The ambiance, the food and the wonderful staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Very loud, but some people like it I gue ...

Dined 5 days ago

Very loud, but some people like it I guess. I had a beanie on, they asked me to remove it. Totally fine with that. I was just wearing it to keep my head warm. I was very dressed up otherwise. Unfortunately, I had to watch some dude wear his 1998 Tiger Woods hat in bright red hat all dinner. For those who can read between the lines, let's just call that "Mastro's Privilege". It was my bday, I was happy to be with my parents. Better steaks and ambience are available through out this wonderful city. If you're going to spend this much, at least be treated fairly.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience here. They do ...

Dined 5 days ago

Always a great experience here. They do an awesome job of making you feel welcome and part of the Mastro's environment. Food was excellent as you'd expect if you've ever been here.

food5
ambience5
service5

I've been on Friday and Saturdays, and ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I've been on Friday and Saturdays, and even thought it was good, the crowds were a bit much. Sunday was fabulous. Food was cooked to our satisfaction and HOT, exactly like I prefer it.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

First time experience

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This was first time dining at Mastro's. The food was excellent. Several people had the filets which I would put up against any in Chicago. I had the veal chop which was also outstanding. We had the Ahi Tuna appetizer and also the marrow. The marrow was very good but the tune was just OK. The desert of the butter cake was very good. We had what seemed to be a new waitress and she was not very helpful. When asked about the quality of the veal chop, she just stated, "everything here is good". She was not very attentive. I do believe it is a little high priced in comparison to other steak houses in Chicago, but at least the quality was there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Over priced small menu Gibsons is bette ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Over priced small menu Gibsons is better

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service. Food was very good. E ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent service. Food was very good. Everything is a la carte and quite pricey. We were sitting in the lower dining area which was near the bar. The bar had live music which was a little too loud for us. Made conversation difficult. Had I known there was an upstairs dining room , I would have requested it. We were there for a special birthday. Made an excellent dessert with Happy Birthday and my son's name. Great experience for a special occasion. Server was excellent. Cannot remember her name.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and ambiance was excellent

Dined on May 13, 2016

The soft-shell crab appetizer was amazing. The steak was good, not the best one I've had at Mastro's but was still good. Phenomenal service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. Service was to fas ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Everything was great. Service was to fast. We were in and out in under an hour.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Great service Too noisy .. ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food! Great service Too noisy .. And it was a Tuesday

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great bartender

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great overall experience. I would recommend them to a friend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Skip this place

Dined on May 9, 2016

After making our Mother's Day reservstions, they called to confirm that we were aware of the dress code. Ok, kinda lame that a $100 per person place has to even mention a dress code - oh, and on Mother's Day to boot. But whatever, I proceeded to purchase a new pair of jeans as they made it quite clear that torn jeans of any kind were unacceptable. Being a shorter guy, I frequently step on the backs of my jeans and they tear...blah blah blah, whatever. Arrived at this place only to find ripped jeans galore walking right by the hostess as she seated them. Oh, and I mean the fully ripped (out of style) fashion jeans, they specifically said even these were unacceptable. T shirts, saw 'em there too. Flip flops and baseball hats too. So much for the dress code. Love my new jeans, though, thanks for that. Service pretended to be good, but cannot even compare to Gibsons or other local steakhouses in the premium category. Generally bad service, overpriced seafood, mediocre steaks and annoyingly loud band playing in the bar. We sat almost as far from the bar as you could, but still heard the band full volume. Could not hear each other and perhaps why the waiter got a few orders wrong. He was also particularly snappy when we asked questions. I will go back to Ruth's Chris, Mortons, even Gene and Georgetti, before hitting this wannabe again.

food5
ambience4
service5

We had read the reviews about the noise ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

We had read the reviews about the noise level, but we didn't think the noise was that bad. Food and service were terrific. Definitely a special occasion restaurant. The pour for my glass of wine was huge. Waiter said it was roughly a third of a bottle. Prices are very high, but portions are generous. We split the house salad and it was plenty. Had lots of take home food at end of a lovely evening.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Front Staff

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was Mothers Day and I had on torn jeans; I was asked to leave the restaurant due to my attire! I was extremely upset because the manager stated that the dress code was business casual, when I asked where I could find that info there was no response! My children had on LED light up shoes they asked me to have them turned off by this time I'm furious! The manager stated that his staff confirms the dress code everytime they confirm an appointment! Well apparently not this time. Other people in the restaurant came to me an said this is horrible how they are treating your family! Needless to say I will never eat there again!!!!

food5
ambience3
service5

Great upscale expensive steakhouse, wort ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Great upscale expensive steakhouse, worth the money and service great. Not a wine snob, but when the wine on the list (a 2010 was brought to the table and was a 2013), the sommelier was right there to assure me all OK. It was noisy, and not a good place for conversation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite in the city

Dined on May 1, 2016

Favorite in the city - been here 10 plus times - will return

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, drink, music, fun

Dined on May 1, 2016

Outstanding service, delicious steaks, fun music. A great place to splurge for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best food, service and atmosphere (s ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The best food, service and atmosphere (sat in bar area) in Chicago!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the expensive tab!

Dined on April 30, 2016

It "sounds" like everyone already covered all the details; The good, the great and the amazing! I'll just leave it at, it's definitely WORTH the cost of the meal. It's not often we spend $500 (all inclusive) on a meal for 4 and walk out feeling like the cost was justifiable. Definitely a must try!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in town!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Absolutely the best steak that I have ever eaten. I got the 18 oz. Bone In steak. It was seared to perfection and tender to the bite. Even the sides were fantastic. Lobster Mash is a must! The price is quite steep but I would highly recommend for a special night out to remember.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Temperature issues

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was of course amazing. Only issue was it was freezing at our table. Instead of moving us away from the vents, we ended up having to complain multiple times. It would warm up for a time, but then cold air would start blasting not long after. We were told it was because the restaurant is an old factory, but we asked to be moved and were not. Otherwise it was a nice evening with amazing food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Spoiling the birthday girl!

Dined on April 27, 2016

My brother and I flew my mom to Chicago for her birthday. She said it was in her top 3 trips she has been on. Mastro's helped make her birthday a memorable one. She was speaking about the presentation of the dessert today! Amazing!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Not as good as we were told

Dined on April 26, 2016

open table and we have a group of 9 they put us by the door the music from the bar was so loud we could not hear when we tried to talk

food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent as usual! Great date spot.

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent as usual! Great date spot.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food

Dined on April 23, 2016

The New York strip was outstanding!! The ribeye bone in has been better on other visits. Desserts and appetizers were on point!! Service was great

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak house in the city

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Best steak house in the city

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great butter cake!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

The main courses were just ok but everything else was wonderful. Especially liked the live music in the lounge. I ordered the halibut so take or leave my review as it is a steakhouse. I was with 2 other women who ordered petite filets and both said they have had better. The halibut was just ok. The sides we ordered (scalloped potatoes and grilled asparagus) were delicious and my Caesar salad starter was great too. I was in love with their butter cake for dessert. Highlight of the meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steakhouse

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Even in the city of renowned steakhouses this one stands out.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Meal

Dined on April 21, 2016

Steak was unbelievable as were the sides. Have to try the lobster mashed potatoes. For dessert the butter cake was probably one of the best deserts I have ever eaten. Service was fantastic and server was very nice and personable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The sushi rolls with lime were AMAZING! ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

The sushi rolls with lime were AMAZING! The best I've ever had! We did have to wait for our waitress over 10 min to just take our drink order and it was quite loud and difficult to hold a conversation. My 8oz filet was a little tough around the edges but delicious in the middle and the Brussels sprout are great. And the butter cake was so good!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious. Great service. Took clients t ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Delicious. Great service. Took clients there for dinner and they couldn't stop raving about the food and desserts. Truly a great experience if you don't mind spending a little money, it will be worth it. Enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Superb service and food as always!! Waiter was very friendly. Food was impeccable. Ambiance was hip, romantic. Just perfect. This is our go-to spot. Hot!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Was an awesome experience great service ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Was an awesome experience great service and food was excellent

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Too loud

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Food is outstanding, service is impeccable but the noise level is so bad that our group of 8 could barely speak to the person next to each other. I was hoarse from talking over the din the next morning, however would go back in a heartbeat. Great restaurant all in all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot and awesome seafood tower and ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Great spot and awesome seafood tower and steaks And sides

food5
ambience4
service5

The best steak ever. Come prepared to su ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The best steak ever. Come prepared to sure though. They are massive!

food5
ambience5
service5

The bone in filet just melts in your mou ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The bone in filet just melts in your mouth and the service is EXCELLENT!

food5
ambience5
service5

If you felt like treating yourself and y ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

If you felt like treating yourself and your loved one to a romantic dinner with top notch customer service, Mastro's it is! All the food was prepared perfectly and the drinks were amazing. Have a good time and after dinner, my wife and I went to the bar where the live music kept the night going with great beats.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Mastros Chicago

Dined on April 16, 2016

Cocktails well made, rushed a bit to order, starters were prepared to satisfaction &I the entrees & sides were superb. Been there twice & Mastros Newport Coast once, uniformly deliciousHB g

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.