About Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago

520 North Dearborn
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner only, 5:00pm - 11:00pm Sun thru Thur / Fri. & Sat till Midnight.
M Bar Piano Lounge - 4:00pm till ... Daily.

Cross Street:
North Dearborn and Grand

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 521-5100

Website:
http://mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Justin Floerchinger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Kelly McGrath for your next event.
kmcgrath@ldry.com
312.521.5100

Restaurant Photos

8 Oz Filet, Lobster Mashed Potatoes, Roasted Brussels Sprouts, Sautéed Mushrooms - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Porterhouse - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Layer Cake, Butter Cake, And Key Lime Pie - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Burrata And Heirloom Tomatoes - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Mastro's Butter Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Seafood Tower Two Tiers - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Tuna Tostada/Veggie Roll - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Strawberry Martini - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Crab Legs - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Crab Gnocchi - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Mastro's Signature Warm Butter Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Cherry Crisp - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Dungeness Crab Cocktail - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Tuna Tartare - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Creamed Spinach - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Bread Basket - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Buttercake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Warm Spinach Salad - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Filet Oscar - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
33 Oz "Chef's Cut" Bone In Ribeye - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Lobster Bisque - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Shrimp Cocktail - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Sliced Peppercorn Sirloin Steak - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Petite Filet Mignon - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Bone-In Filet - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Single Malt Glenfiddich 18 Yr - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Covered Strawberries - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Tuna Tostadas  - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Martinis - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Martini - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
The Woodland Manhattan - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Chef's Cut Ribeye Chop - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Layered cake dipped in Brandy - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Steak - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Bombay Saphire Martini - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Tequila Flight - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Wedge Salad - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Bone In Filet With Lobster Mashed Potatoes - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Warm Butter Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
12Oz Bone In Filet - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Kansas City Cut - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Desserts - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Seared Ahi Tuna - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Sweet potato fries - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
18oz Bone-in Filet - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Oysters Rockefeller - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Double Porterhouse Steak  - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Creamed Spinach, Snap Peas, Lobster Mashed Potatoes, Steak - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Crab Tower - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Rack of Lamb - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Key Lime Pie - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Double Cut Porterhouse 48Oz. - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Salmon - Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago, Chicago, IL

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Celebrate Christmas Eve at Mastro's. Join us for our classic menu featuring premium steaks, fresh seafood, hand-crafted cocktails, and world-class wine.

Open 4pm - 10pm. Reserve your table today!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mastro’s Steakhouse Chicago offers four luxurious private rooms with wall-to-wall wine displays and glass blown chandeliers.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (81)
Romantic (60)
Good for a Date (55)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Notable Wine List (46)
Business Meals (44)
Live Music (44)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Vibrant Bar Scene (41)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Bar Seating (29)
Hot Spot (28)
Worth the Drive (20)
Modern Decor (18)
Cozy (14)
Fun (14)
People Watching (13)
Private Room (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Authentic (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Casual (7)
Scenic View (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Family Style (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing and the service lev ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

The food was amazing and the service level was excellent, except for all of the people at the hostess stand. They weren't friendly or particularly helpful and didn't really greet anyone that walked in the door. Waitress was attentive and made excellent suggestions. My only other complaint was that it was difficult hearing the waitress and my wife who was sitting right next to me because of the noise level. Highly recommend going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had been before and thought it was top ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

I had been before and thought it was top notch. This time it was just OK. Steaks lacked flavor and my view was there are certainly better places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great service. Great food. Great musi ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service. Great food. Great music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time at Mastro's. The ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first time at Mastro's. The food was great! Entrees were big enough for sharing. The salads tasted great but were very small.

The service was just ok as it appeared that they assigned our server to too many large tables which made him unavailable for our tables needs. The restaurant also didn't acknowledge our bday celebration or the allergies we listed until we reminded them after they brought out the dessert menus. Most restaurants acknowledge this upon arrival if it was stated in the reservation comments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

A good experience starts with a great se ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

A good experience starts with a great server and Kelly fit the bill. She was friendly, attentive and helpful. Our steaks and lamb chops were served HOT, which was awesome. This was a blow up the budget kind of meal, but for a special birthday it was worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

As usual great food butthe service was n ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As usual great food butthe service was not the best. Our server seemed overwhelem

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

This was my third time to Mastro's but m ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was my third time to Mastro's but my friends' first. The steak and the onion rings were exceptional and the service was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten at most steak houses in Am ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We have eaten at most steak houses in America and Mastro's is NOW our favorite "go to" steak house. We were visiting family in Chicago and will travel anywhere for dinner at Mastro's. Very, very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was superb. We started with the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was superb. We started with the shrimp cocktail, which was delicious. The shrimp were huge! The steaks were cooked perfectly and were also delicious. We ordered the mashed potatoes with lobster as a shared side dish. We never had that before and we both loved it. The service was top of the line as well. I highly recommend Mastro's.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service went from good to poor by the en ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Service went from good to poor by the end of the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Enjoyed the food and service was outstan ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Enjoyed the food and service was outstanding. Can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect service.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The perfect service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing every time!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OUTSTANDING EXPERIENCE! June, the waitre ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

OUTSTANDING EXPERIENCE! June, the waitress was AMAZING!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a City of great steakhouses, the stea ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

In a City of great steakhouses, the steaks here always the star. Just a damn good blend of old school and new school. We had a such a great time and our waitress was friendly and top notch. It made for a fun, fun night out for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

been there for the third time. The place ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

been there for the third time. The place is great, fantastic bar with live music, a bit too noisy but great for a drink before dinner. The food is always fantastic and I highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We had an amazing dinner with our "adult ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had an amazing dinner with our "adult" kids!! All in their 20's. The bar was fun with music, flat screens and white linen! Just lovely.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bustling $$$ city restaurant with a busy ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Bustling $$$ city restaurant with a busy bar and live music

It was our 1st visit there with friends from the U.K.

We made an early booking as they had a very early start planned for Sunday.

We had a reservation for 7pm and after at least 4 reminders to the Host we were seated at 7.45pm

I even tracked down the Manager to have a word

As a consequence our meal was rushed so we could conclude by 10pm

The food was great, but the overall experience was chaotic and claustrophobic.

The food service team were running around like commuters dashing for the last train...not really relaxing or pleasant.Our mushrooms were forgotten and deducted from the bill.

The tables are so tightly packed you can't pass by another guest without contact.

Some might call this great city atmosphere but it wasn't for us.

Well go back to RPM or David Burke next time....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We missed the 6:15 time because of a car ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We missed the 6:15 time because of a car accident but made it there around 9:30

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I've been to many steakhouses around thi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I've been to many steakhouses around this country. Mastro's is now in my top five probably in my top three !!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding. My favorites so far are th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Outstanding. My favorites so far are the scallops, classy leather booths, and above all the incredible service from Kim our waitress and MJ our bartender. I certainly can't make going to a high end place like Mastros a habit, but for my special splurges I think I'll forgo the rest of the Chicago steak houses and make this one my home. Oh and the bone-in fillet medium-rare is to die for. And the butter cake: don't forget the butter cake. ;-)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The absolute best steak I have had. I go ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The absolute best steak I have had. I got the 8 oz filet cooked medium rare with a blue cheese crusted topping. also the garlic mashed potatoes and Brussel sprouts were great. Expensive place great for an occasion of some kind.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu was a bit pricey compared to what I ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Menu was a bit pricey compared to what I am used to. However, for Chicago fine dining, it was probably in line. (2 people; salads, steaks, shared veggies and tip = $175) Food and service were both excellent, particularly the sauteed mushrooms and bone-in filet. Would do it again for special occasion and save room for desert next time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

2nd floor is like a second class Mastro. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

2nd floor is like a second class Mastro.

There was no space between tables.

Prosseco was not cold enough.

Few waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

We have several tables reserved under di ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We have several tables reserved under different names for clients/business meeting. It was so loud with the music from the bar you had to yell thru your whole me to have a conversation. Our waiter even made comments and apologized. Dinner was good but a little pricey for what we received. Would have made the whole experience better if it wasn't so loud.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I have heard good reviews of this place ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I have heard good reviews of this place however was personally disappointed and had some negative feedback from my customers as well.

Was in town for a large convention so that impacted booking and wait times for many restaurants in the area. Wait staff was friendly and professional. Table was uncomfotably close to others and was two loud to talk to everyone in our group of 5.

Steak was ok however nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

My company was in town for the Pack EXPO ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

My company was in town for the Pack EXPO Chicago and we took one of our customers out for dinner. Everything was fantastic from the food to service and our customer said his steak was now a part of his top 5 favorites ever! Thanks for the first class experience!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Live Music, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. One plate came out LATE - but ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Good food. One plate came out LATE - but they gave us dessert. Which was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Mastros for birthdays, holiday ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We go to Mastros for birthdays, holidays and for business dinners. Last night was the first time ever our shellfish was poor. It was not flavorful and we all noticed it. Our server was also sub standard. Typically they are very enthusiastic and helpful. Last night he was slow, distracted and did not provide good service. We were disappointed because we were celebrating a birthday with close friends and the meal was not special.

We will go back, and we hope to have a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Didnt disappoint again. I always take f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Didnt disappoint again. I always take friends and family here when they are in town.

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a very good dining experience. A ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Overall a very good dining experience. A little noisy for conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Mastros was great. We had a couple of ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Mastros was great. We had a couple of lads in from Ireland. We ate in the bar area which had live music, very good. The service was excellent. The steaks were perfect.. I would highly recommend Mastros...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great as always but a bit loud in the di ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great as always but a bit loud in the dinning room. Hard to have any kind of conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Came here to celebrate my boyfriends bir ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Came here to celebrate my boyfriends birthday. Staff and food were both nothing short of amazing. This was our first time there and we will definitely be back sooner rather than later.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food and the service! Great w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Loved the food and the service! Great way to celebrate my 11year olds birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent evening! Great service and foo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent evening! Great service and food! We sat upstairs which was much quieter than downstairs. We love to dine here when in Chicago, always superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorites in Chicago. The bar ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

One of my favorites in Chicago. The bar scene has always been very happening and the live entertainment has always been outstanding. Fun night out.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food. We like to sit in the lou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Love the food. We like to sit in the lounge. Its a little bit louder in there, but fun atmosphere with the live music. Dinning room is nice, but a bit of a more sophisticated and older crowd.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Steak was Great..I also love the Amb ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Steak was Great..I also love the Ambiance of the restaurant!!

Tags: Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time as always dinner and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a great time as always dinner and the awesome butter cake 🍰

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.