About Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago

520 North Dearborn
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner only, 5:00pm - Midnight, Daily.
M Bar Piano Lounge - 4:00pm - 2:00am, Daily.

Cross Street:
North Dearborn and Grand

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 521-5100

Website:
http://mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
Justin Floerchinger

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Kelly McGrath for your next event.
kmcgrath@ldry.com
312.521.5100

Restaurant Photos

8 Oz Filet, Lobster Mashed Potatoes, Roasted Brussels Sprouts, Sautéed Mushrooms
Seafood Tower Two Tiers
Burrata And Heirloom Tomatoes
Mastro's Butter Cake
Porterhouse
Chocolate Layer Cake, Butter Cake, And Key Lime Pie
Tuna Tostada/Veggie Roll
Strawberry Martini
Crab Legs
Mastro's Signature Warm Butter Cake
Creamed Spinach
Crab Gnocchi
Cherry Crisp
Bread Basket
Warm Spinach Salad
33 Oz "Chef's Cut" Bone In Ribeye
Dungeness Crab Cocktail
Tuna Tartare
Buttercake
Filet Oscar
Lobster Bisque
Shrimp Cocktail
Sliced Peppercorn Sirloin Steak
Petite Filet Mignon
Bone-In Filet
Single Malt Glenfiddich 18 Yr
Chocolate Covered Strawberries
Tuna Tostadas
Martinis
Martini
The Woodland Manhattan
Chef's Cut Ribeye Chop
Chocolate Layered cake dipped in Brandy
Steak
Bombay Saphire Martini
Tequila Flight
Wedge Salad
Bone In Filet With Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Warm Butter Cake
12Oz Bone In Filet
Kansas City Cut
Desserts
Seared Ahi Tuna
Sweet potato fries
18oz Bone-in Filet
Oysters Rockefeller
Double Porterhouse Steak
Creamed Spinach, Snap Peas, Lobster Mashed Potatoes, Steak
Crab Tower
Rack of Lamb
Key Lime Pie
Double Cut Porterhouse 48Oz.
Salmon

Private Dining

Mastro’s Steakhouse Chicago offers four luxurious private rooms with wall-to-wall wine displays and glass blown chandeliers.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (130)
Romantic (90)
Notable Wine List (73)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (64)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Good for Groups (50)
Hot Spot (44)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Late-night Find (17)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice!!! Can't wait to go back! Grea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice!!! Can't wait to go back! Great for date nights or special occasions!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Waited 25 minutes for dri ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good. Waited 25 minutes for drinks. Music was so loud in the dining room, impossible to carry on conversation. And too dark. I like mood lighting but this was ridiculous. It was like they didn't want you to see your food. Ordered a bottle of Sauternes with dessert; I had to go find our server to see where the bottle was. We were done with our desserts by the time it came to the table so we sent it back. Service and ambience were disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

To start, the host stand did not greet u ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

To start, the host stand did not greet us with the professionalism expected at an expensive steakhouse. We were seated close to the dining room entrance and it was too loud for an enjoyable evening.

Salad and soup were good. Filet and chicken were not up to the previous high standards of this restaurant. Service was marginal. Bread took awhile to arrive despite a tray full passing us in dining room. Server did not offer to refill drinks not was there any follow-up after dinner arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The food was delicious Steaks were all ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was delicious Steaks were all done perfectly to order and were melt in your mouth. Lots of food with the sides

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place & great food. The only e ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Beautiful place & great food. The only exception is I wasn't notified of the anchovies used in the dressing for my salad & my lips & mouth swelled up. Our special anniversary dinner was a bit scary after the fact.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, service excellent, but t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was great, service excellent, but the ambiance was ordinary and the restaurant was very noisy. Considering the extreme prices, we would probably not return. Great steaks are easy to find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Everything was perfect! From the reserv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was perfect! From the reservation through to dessert. Thanks for making our Anniversary dinner one of the best we've ever had!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server as amazing, have had her before a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Server as amazing, have had her before and she makes the experience even better. Loved hearing the band in the bar and had a great table by the windows. We love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great attention to guests! Waitress was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great attention to guests! Waitress was very knowledgeable & assisted us with recommendations. Food was a bit more than our usual night out, but well worth the money !!!! We will definitely go again -for special occasions...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My husband and I have always loved going ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My husband and I have always loved going to Mastro's. This most recent dining experience changed our opinion. The food was sub par. Excellent salad, but steak was gamey and the spinach was not up to previous standards. The cocktails were even bad. It was not the service, food, or experience we expect from Mastro's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

I spent a significant amount ( over 4 di ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I spent a significant amount ( over 4 digits) for dinner and felt that the noise level was very high especially with the live music coming from the bar area. I later noticed that there was an upstairs part to the restaurant which I would have preferred as it would have been less noisy. Food and service GREAT the bar music just did not fit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For being a traditional upscale steak ho ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

For being a traditional upscale steak house I was surprised at how loud the music was. The pop music being played in the bar was pumped through the speakers into the upstairs dining area which made conversation difficult at times. Service was extremely slow and the only time we saw our waiter was when he took our order and delivered the food. At one point I wanted to order a drink and after waiting quite awhile ended up having to get up and go find a different waiter. The side of vegetables was standard but the steaks and lamb chops were prepared nicely and to our specifications. Overall, we were disappointed for how expensive it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Food and service were outstanding! Only ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food and service were outstanding!

Only complaint is my chair was in a high traffic area once more and more tables were seated. I was able to move easily to the other side of the table and sit next to my date for dessert.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place and great food! I love going ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great place and great food! I love going to Mastro's for special occasion. It's also fun to go there for a regular dining experience. I love the decor, and I always enjoy the service. I always recommend this place to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got sick on the gluten free steak. Found ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Got sick on the gluten free steak. Found out later there was butter in it so probably gluten in the butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Love this place!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Service is slipping. We were greeted and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service is slipping. We were greeted and seated promptly and placed orders for drinks and starters. My salad arrived as we waited at least 15 minutes for drinks. Awkwardly. Then the appetizers arrived followed by drinks. No comments or apologies offered. Food and drinks out of order make an uncomfortable dining experience. Oh and the halibut was dry. This is no longer on our list of favorite spots.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I have been to Maestros at least 25 time ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have been to Maestros at least 25 times and love the food but the noise of the live music is too loud for anyone to have a conversation during dinner. This is a huge problem

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I went to this over rated re ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My wife and I went to this over rated restaurant for her birthday.Rudest most incompetent waiter I have Ever had the misfortune of havingl serve me. He came to our table,COMPLETELY ignored . wife.If it had not been so upsetting it might have been funny. His behavior ruined the wholeevening.This establishment is one to avoid at all costs. Plus his breath was awefull

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Our waitress was amazing. Good staff ca ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our waitress was amazing.

Good staff can make the dining experience that much better

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice for steak. I had the la ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent choice for steak. I had the lamb chops, they were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My guest food had to be taken back 3 tim ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My guest food had to be taken back 3 times. I brought her thete to celebrate her birthday. The last time her food came back it was over cooked. The lamb chops were taken off the bill. My food had no flavor and had more fat on the bone than meat. I had lamb chops as well. Our experience wasn't the best and we were not satisfied as first time guest

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Loved loved loved our server!! He was ou ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Loved loved loved our server!! He was outstanding and very attentive and I really love that especially since we came in at almost midnight. Your staff, food, scenic view and live music seems to make our time spent there outstanding....

God bless & continued success!!

Dee

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great experience. The only flaw ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a great experience. The only flaw was we got bone in fillet when we asked for the regular fillet. Our server Jason was great and he took care of everything! Mastros made it very special for my boyfriends bday. It's our favorite place. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mastro's never disappoints. Introduced a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Mastro's never disappoints. Introduced a friend this last time and he says it's the best porterhouse steak of his life!! I feel the same about the rib eye, every time...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was really good. Love the live band ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food was really good. Love the live band- probably the best part of the restaurant!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my second trip to Mastro's. I r ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

This is my second trip to Mastro's. I really like this restaurant. Everything is just great, food, service, etc. I highly recommend Mastro's. Each time I take one of my customers and they are blown away with Mastro's.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this place more every time I come ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I love this place more every time I come...they accommodated my request for a table near the bar/band, and as always the food and service were top notch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My group and I went to Mastero's for a b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My group and I went to Mastero's for a bachelor party and we were blown away! The service, food, and overall atmosphere was fantastic. The wait staff really know their stuff and it was probably the best meal any of us had ever had. The price is what we expected because of the location in Chicago and the fact that it is a high class restaurant. You don't have to order steak either, they have a great menu! If you're looking for a great place to eat near the Magnificent Mile in Chicago, go to Mastero's!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing. Best ribeye in the city!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Amazing. Best ribeye in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had to sit in the lounge because I had s ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had to sit in the lounge because I had sandals on...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The food was amazing especially the bone ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was amazing especially the bone in ribeye steak. However, the crab patty was great but not big enough for the price.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastically hip and by far the best st ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fantastically hip and by far the best steak we have had at any of the big name steak houses in Chicago. The service was second to none, and the Butter Cake for desert is worth the visit alone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't get me wrong, the food was good bu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Don't get me wrong, the food was good but for the price I would expect spectacular. Also, for that price I would expect a dining room where conversation would be easy across the table. The band in the bar (which was good, I admit) was so loud that even in the dining room we had to yell across the table. Not what you would expect for a dinner that cost $750 (with tip) for 3 people.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We celebrated our 21st Anniversary at Ma ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We celebrated our 21st Anniversary at Mastro's. Everything was exquisite. The service, the attention to detail, the food, and the ambience was fantastic. And the Butter Cake is truly legendary. Everything good you have heard...is absolutely true. Would definitely come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Killer porterhouse for two. What else i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Killer porterhouse for two. What else is there to say?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I heard a lot of good things about this ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I heard a lot of good things about this establishment but left a bit disappointed. The bar was nice though the dining room seemed a bit tired. I'd give it another chance though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Remarkably, the restaurant "ran out" of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Remarkably, the restaurant "ran out" of all 6 ounce, 8 ounce and 12 ounce filet mignon. We were only told this after the bottle of wine we ordered was opened and served. This was remarkable considering it was a Sunday night. The hostess seemed very annoyed that we did not want to be seated in the bar area with loud live music. I was not impressed with the attitude.

Despite not being able to eat what we wanted, the food was well prepared. Our server was pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was good dont get me wrong. Basic ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was good dont get me wrong. Basic steakhouse type of menu nothing too exotic. They ran out of 3 smaller filets and steaks which was not great and we dined at 7pm ( not so late ).

Service was sub-par. I think they just need more staff on crowded nights. Our waiter tried hard but I can not say it was smooth service.

He was either rushed, or absent. Wine pouring was lacking, and we probably would have drank more, spent more, if it was poured more frequently.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good place for a business dinner or lunc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good place for a business dinner or lunch. Food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.