About Mastro's Steakhouse - Scottsdale

8852 E. Pinnacle Peak Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85255
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pima Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 585-9500

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing seven nights a week in the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
David Battersby

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Gina Stanghellini for your next event.
gstanghellini@mastrosrestaurants.com
480-889-3744

Restaurant Photos

Escargot
Butter Cake
Shrimp Cocktail
Mastro's Chopped Salad
Lamb Rack With Mudhrooms
Grilled New York Strip Wet Aged
Baked Patato
Chilean Sea Bass
Bone In Filet Mignon, Alaskan King Crab Black Truffle Gnocchi, Sugar Snap Peas
Mastro's Butter Cake
Merlot Candor Central Coast
Bone In Filet Mignon
Steak
Rack of Lamb

Private Dining

Mastro's is an upscale cosmopolitan steakhouse featuring prime steaks and seafood with live music nightly

Mastro's Steakhouse - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (70)
Romantic (49)
Notable Wine List (41)
See All
Fit for Foodies (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1479 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

AWESOME! This place is PERFECT!!! When i ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

AWESOME! This place is PERFECT!!! When in Scottsdale this is the place!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, spectacular waiter. We go th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, spectacular waiter. We go there every year for our anniversary and always have a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful evening. Their summer m ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

Had a wonderful evening. Their summer menu is a great value compared to the regular items on the menu. The one downside is the noise factor created by conversations among the diners. Even though we were sitting next to each other, you had to raise your voice to be heard. The result was, of course, that everyone else raised their voices as well

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When only the best we know will suffice, ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

When only the best we know will suffice, Mastro's is it. There is refinement in every detail that no other venue can attain. There is no detail overlooked, and the entire experience is choreographed perfectly. Never rushed and staff from entry to exit is first class. We've enjoyed Mastro's at least 12 times and continue to consider the visit a life's highlight. As always, our compliments to the Chef for a such a wonderful culinary experience every time. Mastro's makes memories.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best most attentive wait staff in AZ ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The best most attentive wait staff in AZ. LOVE Mastros!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hadn't been to Mastro's in a couple year ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Hadn't been to Mastro's in a couple years. It was a definitely a bit more relaxed, but still as good as I remember.

Service was a bit less polished/refined, but friendly and more than competent. Our server was great.

It was a bit on the loud side (sat next to raucous 8-top who wanted to split the check line-by-line... our server handled it with incredible patience/grace), but in a relaxed, lively way.

The warm spinach salad to start was every bit as awesome as the first time I tried it more than a decade ago. My wife had the petite fillet, and I had the bone-in filet... both cooked perfectly to temp (med for her, med-rare for me) and of course, brought out on the 400 degree, sizzling plates. We opted for the truffle butter on top which was delicious, but probably put us over the top on the richness scale. Sides were gorgonzola mac (probably another over-rich decision), green beans, and mushrooms - all what you'd expect at a place like this. We were pleasantly surprised when our server offered half-portion on the side (which were still too much for too people).

We finished with coffee and warm butter cake served with ice cream... O.M.F.G. Food coma.

While I'm sure I shaved a good month off my life expectancy, it was definitely worth it.

With a drinks, it's gonna be north of 150/person, but as an occasional treat, I still think Mastro's is probably the best option in the valley for steaks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything was delicious-- I ate too muc ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everything was delicious-- I ate too much! Service was superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was our anniversary and my husband an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It was our anniversary and my husband and I decided to spend a few days in Scottsdale. We wanted a nice romantic dinner but we weren't familiar with the area so we googled best steakhouses in Scottsdale and Maestro's was on top. Well, let me tell you we were not disappointed. Everything was perfect, the ambiance, service, food......We we had a great time and will make sure we visit again when we return. The only complaint I have, which is not a big deal if you can afford it, is that their prices were high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The filet is amazing, as is the tuna sta ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The filet is amazing, as is the tuna stack appetizer! If you sit in the bar, ask for Ashley- she's awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Way too loud, slow service, & a chewy st ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Way too loud, slow service, & a chewy steak. Not good! Very expensive 3 people sharing...$300.00! Not going back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

It was amazing. Staff, steak, seafood, w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was amazing. Staff, steak, seafood, wine, champagne, and oh yes the butter cake was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in town for a business meeting a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We were in town for a business meeting and needed a break. This restaurant was recommended to us by a friend for the service, food and music. Great recommendation. The service was exquisite. The quality and preparation of the prime steak was right one! Side dishes were not only tasty but the portions were huge. Be sure and come with an appetite. The wine list was very comprehensive with many quality choices of both whites and reds.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love mastros, unfortunately this time ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We love mastros, unfortunately this time is did not work out well..a transformer blew in the neighborhood which, although not mastro's fault and totally out of there control, I did NOT like the way the situation was handled..they wanted to take down everyone's credit card information by hand to charge the estimated amount the next day. COME ON!! This is a five star restaurant..we only received our salads had 3 cocktails and a bottle of wine..although the salads were comped we had to pay the rest of the"estimated bill" can't people add manually anymore?.. I own a business and sometimes you just have to take a loss..I feel we should have been comped the entire bill..plus no one has even called to ask how our experience was that evening..disappointing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

I have dined at Mastros many times and e ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I have dined at Mastros many times and every time the food and service is way beyond my expectations. I travel often and frequent many high end restaurants and none of them come close to Mastros.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our service and meal. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We really enjoyed our service and meal. Although some say a bit and with the great service, quality of food, and atmosphere it was worth penny. I would rather pay good money for the service we received than to get more food that is less quality and that is mediocre.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the sea bass. It wasn't served wi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I had the sea bass. It wasn't served with anything, no sauce, no spice, nothing and I was charged $50 for it. Definitely not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Took exceptionally long to take our orde ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Took exceptionally long to take our orders, way too long. When I complained to the manager he provided free appetizers and immediately corrected the delay. Generally very good food, especially the meat and fish. Veggies very average. Excellent shrimp cocktail. Waiter tried to open wrong vintage of wine selection. He was a bit taken when I refused the bottle in favor of an alternative. Overall not what I expect from Mastro's, usually much better service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The best service ever! A little more lob ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The best service ever! A little more lobster in the mashed potatoes would be nice. Steaks & sea bass, perfection.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience, top tier service, best s ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great ambience, top tier service, best steaks, delicious deserts...visited in 2015, and made sure to return when came back in 2016. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband ordered the large fillet whic ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

My husband ordered the large fillet which was over cooked. The waiter and manager were quick to apologize and immediately had another fillet prepared. The second fillet was more over done than the first one! Management took the fillet off our bill but think more should have been done. After dining for 2 hours, my husband went home hungry!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

Excellent service, great seefood and ste ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent service, great seefood and steak

Love oysters and crab

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

As always, we enjoy the great dining at ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

As always, we enjoy the great dining at Mastros! This visit was made especially nice due to the affability and kindness of our wait staff. Monica (?) was a delight!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Father's Day weekend, so we expected it ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day weekend, so we expected it to be a little crowded. Service was great. Food was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pretty plain stuff here. In the overcrow ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Pretty plain stuff here. In the overcrowded Scottsdale Steakhouse scene, Mastros must be surviving on legacy, not genuine food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Great Steaks and sides, but...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent Steaks just save your $ and skip any of the chocolate cakes :(

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

While it was still a good dinning experi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

While it was still a good dinning experience. I am not sure what happened? The food was luke warm. It was fresh but it seemed that it had been seating there for a while. For example, the crab cakes were awesome the first time I came. This time, not as great. The bread, again while good, it wasn't their best like my first experience. The main course was good, but not excellent like the first time I came. Again the flavors were not as outstanding like the first time. Especially on the Alaskan Halibut. While still had a good time, the food seemed pretty bland which was disappointing since this time we brought other people to dine with us based with our first experience which was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Best meal ever!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is probably the best meal I've ever had! Definitely pricey but totally worth it. Get the butter cake for dessert! You will not regret it! It's big enough to share but so delicious you will want it all for yourself!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty disappointed.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I had high expectations going into dinner and had to say I was not impressed. Both of our steaks tasted a little off. I couldn't even finish my 6 oz filet, it just didn't taste good. The sides were fine and the wine was great but the best part of the meal should be the steak! We frequent several other fine steak houses in the area (we have a wine locker at one) but thought we'd give this a try since we had a gift certificate. The dinner here was just not worth the price. Will not be returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We decided to sit in the bar area to eat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We decided to sit in the bar area to eat as it was so lively and fun! The food is so good it's hard to choose what to get! The tuna tartar was the best I ever had!! The live music set us over the edge in love with this place! Will def go back to any and all of its locations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mastro's delivers a fantastic dining exp ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Mastro's delivers a fantastic dining experience. Our server this evening was Ashley in the lounge and she is amazing. Very personable, and attentive. Our entrees could not been prepared better...thanks for a fantastic evening

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as always. Server was the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was great as always. Server was the best we've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for Business Dinner

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent venue for a business dinner. Not too loud, great service and excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We had a large party (11) and the staff was beyond attentive. Everything about the evening was perfect - from the service, to the food, and the wine selections. We couldn't have asked for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and took our 3 children for a ce ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and took our 3 children for a celebration dinner for my son Jake that finished 8th grade, and will now move onto high school with his older siblings (twins). As always, service was amazing, and so was the food. I had the beef carpacio, and the 12 Oz Lobster Tail, with garlic mash potatoes, sautéed mushrooms, and roasted brussel sprouts, as sides. Paired with the Archery Summit Premier Cuvee Pinot Noir 2013...irlt was delicious. Add the Chocolate Singapore Cake paired with the Taylor Fladgate 20 yr old tawny port...phenomenal! I have been to many great American steakhouses, and Mastros consistently delivers "amazing" 100% of the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service slacking

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The quality of service was not the best, food was good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Wife's birthday

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great experience. Solo man was our waiter and he made the entire experience outstanding

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We felt rushed through our dinner. Plat ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We felt rushed through our dinner. Plates too hot and food too hot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Always a first class experience

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a first class experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

our server was extremely knowledgeable a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

our server was extremely knowledgeable and made us feel extremely welcomed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overwhelming

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

While the food at Mastros is wonderful, the portions are so large as to be overwhelming, when I commented to the waitress about it, she said everyone says that, she laughed and said "welcome to Mastros".

What is the point? If I am still hungry I will order more.

Adjust your portions, adjust your prices, and we will all come more often

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.