About Mastro's Steakhouse - Scottsdale

8852 E. Pinnacle Peak Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85255
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pima Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 585-9500

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing seven nights a week in the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
David Battersby

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Gina Stanghellini for your next event.
gstanghellini@mastrosrestaurants.com
480-889-3744

Restaurant Photos

Escargot
Butter Cake
Shrimp Cocktail
Mastro's Chopped Salad
Lamb Rack With Mudhrooms
Grilled New York Strip Wet Aged
Baked Patato
Chilean Sea Bass
Bone In Filet Mignon, Alaskan King Crab Black Truffle Gnocchi, Sugar Snap Peas
Mastro's Butter Cake
Merlot Candor Central Coast
Bone In Filet Mignon
Steak
Rack of Lamb

Private Dining

Mastro's is an upscale cosmopolitan steakhouse featuring prime steaks and seafood with live music nightly

Mastro's Steakhouse - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Phoenix / Arizona
Steakhouse
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

special occasion (101)
romantic (62)
notable wine list (56)
See All
fit for foodies (45)
good for groups (36)
vibrant bar scene (32)
hot spot (20)
neighborhood gem (20)
scenic view (11)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (1)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

My husband ordered the large fillet whic ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

My husband ordered the large fillet which was over cooked. The waiter and manager were quick to apologize and immediately had another fillet prepared. The second fillet was more over done than the first one! Management took the fillet off our bill but think more should have been done. After dining for 2 hours, my husband went home hungry!!!!

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent service, great seefood and ste ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent service, great seefood and steak Love oysters and crab

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, we enjoy the great dining at ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

As always, we enjoy the great dining at Mastros! This visit was made especially nice due to the affability and kindness of our wait staff. Monica (?) was a delight!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Father's Day weekend, so we expected it ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day weekend, so we expected it to be a little crowded. Service was great. Food was fabulous.

food2
ambience5
service5

Pretty plain stuff here. In the overcrow ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Pretty plain stuff here. In the overcrowded Scottsdale Steakhouse scene, Mastros must be surviving on legacy, not genuine food quality.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Steaks and sides, but...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent Steaks just save your $ and skip any of the chocolate cakes :(

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

While it was still a good dinning experi ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

While it was still a good dinning experience. I am not sure what happened? The food was luke warm. It was fresh but it seemed that it had been seating there for a while. For example, the crab cakes were awesome the first time I came. This time, not as great. The bread, again while good, it wasn't their best like my first experience. The main course was good, but not excellent like the first time I came. Again the flavors were not as outstanding like the first time. Especially on the Alaskan Halibut. While still had a good time, the food seemed pretty bland which was disappointing since this time we brought other people to dine with us based with our first experience which was great

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal ever!

Dined on June 5, 2016

This is probably the best meal I've ever had! Definitely pricey but totally worth it. Get the butter cake for dessert! You will not regret it! It's big enough to share but so delicious you will want it all for yourself!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Pretty disappointed.

Dined on June 5, 2016

I had high expectations going into dinner and had to say I was not impressed. Both of our steaks tasted a little off. I couldn't even finish my 6 oz filet, it just didn't taste good. The sides were fine and the wine was great but the best part of the meal should be the steak! We frequent several other fine steak houses in the area (we have a wine locker at one) but thought we'd give this a try since we had a gift certificate. The dinner here was just not worth the price. Will not be returning anytime soon.

food5
ambience5
service5

We decided to sit in the bar area to eat ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

We decided to sit in the bar area to eat as it was so lively and fun! The food is so good it's hard to choose what to get! The tuna tartar was the best I ever had!! The live music set us over the edge in love with this place! Will def go back to any and all of its locations!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mastro's delivers a fantastic dining exp ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Mastro's delivers a fantastic dining experience. Our server this evening was Ashley in the lounge and she is amazing. Very personable, and attentive. Our entrees could not been prepared better...thanks for a fantastic evening

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great as always. Server was the ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was great as always. Server was the best we've ever had!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for Business Dinner

Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent venue for a business dinner. Not too loud, great service and excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on May 31, 2016

We had a large party (11) and the staff was beyond attentive. Everything about the evening was perfect - from the service, to the food, and the wine selections. We couldn't have asked for more.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and took our 3 children for a ce ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and took our 3 children for a celebration dinner for my son Jake that finished 8th grade, and will now move onto high school with his older siblings (twins). As always, service was amazing, and so was the food. I had the beef carpacio, and the 12 Oz Lobster Tail, with garlic mash potatoes, sautéed mushrooms, and roasted brussel sprouts, as sides. Paired with the Archery Summit Premier Cuvee Pinot Noir 2013...irlt was delicious. Add the Chocolate Singapore Cake paired with the Taylor Fladgate 20 yr old tawny port...phenomenal! I have been to many great American steakhouses, and Mastros consistently delivers "amazing" 100% of the time.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Service slacking

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The quality of service was not the best, food was good.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wife's birthday

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great experience. Solo man was our waiter and he made the entire experience outstanding

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

We felt rushed through our dinner. Plat ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We felt rushed through our dinner. Plates too hot and food too hot.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a first class experience

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a first class experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

our server was extremely knowledgeable a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

our server was extremely knowledgeable and made us feel extremely welcomed

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overwhelming

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

While the food at Mastros is wonderful, the portions are so large as to be overwhelming, when I commented to the waitress about it, she said everyone says that, she laughed and said "welcome to Mastros". What is the point? If I am still hungry I will order more. Adjust your portions, adjust your prices, and we will all come more often

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very convenient

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Always good. There a lot of other options around for a steak house these days. Haven't been back in awhile. Enjoyed the meal. Cocktails a joy pricey.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mom's day

Dined on May 9, 2016

We have always had the finest dining experience at Mastro's. The service and food is the really the best in the country. Honouring veterans makes it a very special place for us. If we have visitors in town, the first thing we do is take them to Mastro's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing as all other time ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Everything was amazing as all other times we have been there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First Class Service

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server was very professional without being too "stuffy". He made fantastic recommendations, and everything was fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience overall. The food, ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent experience overall. The food, service, and live performers made it a great night. Great place for a drink after work and even better for a romantic dinner. I plan to return very soon.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Noisy But Fun

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a able in the bar area and there as live music, so the noise level was pretty deafening. The music was good, but people were trying to speak over it. The food was great, as was the service. When I made a reservation, I noted a birthday, which was not acknowledged. The marrow bones were delicious, the steaks were perfectly cooked and the meat was excellent. The scalloped potatoes were a bit over the top rich. Should have stuck with French Fries. We would return, as it is convenient, but would probably request a quieter table!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the experience. Food was incredibl ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Loved the experience. Food was incredible, cocktails were outstanding. The service was great! Already planning to go back and sharing the experience with other members in my family. Highly recommended!

food2
ambience1
service5

Steak was over cooked and dried out.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Steak was over cooked and dried out.

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Friday Night Dinner, 4/22/16

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The restaurant is very spacious and very well furnished making for a great atmosphere . Our waiter was a very seasoned pro. The menu is very extensive and very expensive with steaks around $45 up to $115 for an individual serving. My strip steak was very good, but not outstanding for $56. In my opinion, Ruth's Chris has a better strip steak and for a few dollars less. The drinks were very reasonably priced based on a good pour for a glass of wine. I would go back to a Mastros again when the special occasion comes up, but it is too pricey to eat there on a normal basis. This location (one of 3 in the Scottsdale area) has many private dining rooms that are separated from the main floor space by glass and curtains which does not keep the noise level down so the restaurant is very loud to the point some people by us asked for a new table. Lastly, the restaurant did not have our reservation even though I had the Open table print out as well as on my phone for 4/22. The hostess just looked up my name and said my reservation was a week away under "David Smith", but she had tables open so it was not a problem. During dinner I figured that there was another david Smith who probably did have a reservation there next week. On the way out, I told here to re-instate that reservation as it was for a different David Smith. She then looked up reservations under my name and came up with 10 pending reservations for a David Smith. I stressed to her than the others are not me and it is just a common name and she should just rebooked the reservation she cancelled for next week for that David Smith, but I do not think she comprehended the situation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous meal at Mastro's!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

As usual, Mastro's delivered. My husband and I had a great booth and the appetizers (oysters Rockefeller and a shrimp special) were fantastic. We moved on to filets, which can't be beat, and side dishes including spinach and gorgonzola mac and cheese. It was simply delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is not just an ordinary steak house ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

This is not just an ordinary steak house. We took some distinguished guests here on Thursday night. Phillip the GM made sure to make quite an impression on all us. He made sure our every need was met. The seafood tower was unbelievably fresh! The steaks as always we're cooked perfectly. A wonderful wine selection as well as perfectly mixed cocktails. Super attentive waiters and to finish it all up with their signature butter cake. This is one of my favorite places for dinner. It is my favorite in Scottsdale. Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Excellent

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

It never disappoints! Our friends at Mastros always come through for us, even with last minute large groups. Thanks again

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as usual! One of the best steaks ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Awesome as usual! One of the best steaks we have ever had and the butter cake dessert again was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Destination steakhouse

Dined on April 18, 2016

Best steakhouse in Arizona and we tried them all. Biggest menu of any steakhouse ever visited. Superb service, wonderful ambiance and top of the line steaks. If you are a carnivore this place is for you! Large portion apps, salads and sides. Will be our go to steakhouse in future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a lovely time we had!

Dined on April 15, 2016

It was our first visit to the Scottsdale area and we were told to give Mastro's a try! As we come from NY, it has to be a pretty good steak house to impress us! And it was! Everything from the ambiance to the large menu was perfect! We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and would certainly go back again and again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious, as usual, but ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Everything was delicious, as usual, but the pretzel bread and the butter cake are tops! Seriously, how do they make a cake that melts in your mouth? I look forward to my next experience at Mastro's.

food5
ambience5
service5

A most memorable evening for our group . ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

A most memorable evening for our group . Tony was our captain , service outstanding and the food was over the top great...we can't wait to come back!

food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Very Disappointing!

Dined on April 8, 2016

I was amazed how bland the food was. We ordered the Rib Eye which was a nice piece of meat and cooked perfect for our liking but just NO flavor at all. Then we had the Sea Bass and again cooked well, but the only way I was able to get flavor was by squeezing lemon juice all over it which I have NEVER done before, VERY BLAND and the Crab Leg was a great piece of meat but just NO flavor. We also shared a green salad which was nothing special. The only think we liked was the Butter Cake but it wasn't worth $220.00. I would not recommend, nor will we return! (It was EXTREMELY LOUD and the tables are odd shaped making it hard for two people to sit across from one another and enjoy a conversation. I didn't care for the layout of the dining area much either.)

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great except we were seat ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Everything was great except we were seated by a 4 some that was quite loud. The waiter offered to reseat us but we said no. They were a little quieter later.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.