About Mastro's Steakhouse - Scottsdale

8852 E. Pinnacle Peak Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85255
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pima Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 585-9500

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing seven nights a week in the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
David Battersby

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Gina Stanghellini for your next event.
gstanghellini@mastrosrestaurants.com
480-889-3744

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
For the man who deserves the best...
Make this Father's Day a celebration to remember with Mastro's Restaurants.

Private Dining

Mastro's is an upscale cosmopolitan steakhouse featuring prime steaks and seafood with live music nightly

Mastro's Steakhouse - Scottsdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Phoenix / Arizona
Steakhouse
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

special occasion (132)
romantic (84)
notable wine list (81)
See All
fit for foodies (66)
good for groups (60)
vibrant bar scene (53)
hot spot (41)
neighborhood gem (25)
scenic view (13)
late-night find (12)
great for brunch (6)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1445 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Service slacking

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The quality of service was not the best, food was good.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wife's birthday

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great experience. Solo man was our waiter and he made the entire experience outstanding

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

We felt rushed through our dinner. Plat ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We felt rushed through our dinner. Plates too hot and food too hot.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a first class experience

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a first class experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

our server was extremely knowledgeable a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

our server was extremely knowledgeable and made us feel extremely welcomed

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overwhelming

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

While the food at Mastros is wonderful, the portions are so large as to be overwhelming, when I commented to the waitress about it, she said everyone says that, she laughed and said "welcome to Mastros". What is the point? If I am still hungry I will order more. Adjust your portions, adjust your prices, and we will all come more often

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very convenient

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Always good. There a lot of other options around for a steak house these days. Haven't been back in awhile. Enjoyed the meal. Cocktails a joy pricey.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mom's day

Dined on May 9, 2016

We have always had the finest dining experience at Mastro's. The service and food is the really the best in the country. Honouring veterans makes it a very special place for us. If we have visitors in town, the first thing we do is take them to Mastro's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing as all other time ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Everything was amazing as all other times we have been there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First Class Service

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server was very professional without being too "stuffy". He made fantastic recommendations, and everything was fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience overall. The food, ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent experience overall. The food, service, and live performers made it a great night. Great place for a drink after work and even better for a romantic dinner. I plan to return very soon.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Noisy But Fun

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a able in the bar area and there as live music, so the noise level was pretty deafening. The music was good, but people were trying to speak over it. The food was great, as was the service. When I made a reservation, I noted a birthday, which was not acknowledged. The marrow bones were delicious, the steaks were perfectly cooked and the meat was excellent. The scalloped potatoes were a bit over the top rich. Should have stuck with French Fries. We would return, as it is convenient, but would probably request a quieter table!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the experience. Food was incredibl ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Loved the experience. Food was incredible, cocktails were outstanding. The service was great! Already planning to go back and sharing the experience with other members in my family. Highly recommended!

food2
ambience1
service5

Steak was over cooked and dried out.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Steak was over cooked and dried out.

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Friday Night Dinner, 4/22/16

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The restaurant is very spacious and very well furnished making for a great atmosphere . Our waiter was a very seasoned pro. The menu is very extensive and very expensive with steaks around $45 up to $115 for an individual serving. My strip steak was very good, but not outstanding for $56. In my opinion, Ruth's Chris has a better strip steak and for a few dollars less. The drinks were very reasonably priced based on a good pour for a glass of wine. I would go back to a Mastros again when the special occasion comes up, but it is too pricey to eat there on a normal basis. This location (one of 3 in the Scottsdale area) has many private dining rooms that are separated from the main floor space by glass and curtains which does not keep the noise level down so the restaurant is very loud to the point some people by us asked for a new table. Lastly, the restaurant did not have our reservation even though I had the Open table print out as well as on my phone for 4/22. The hostess just looked up my name and said my reservation was a week away under "David Smith", but she had tables open so it was not a problem. During dinner I figured that there was another david Smith who probably did have a reservation there next week. On the way out, I told here to re-instate that reservation as it was for a different David Smith. She then looked up reservations under my name and came up with 10 pending reservations for a David Smith. I stressed to her than the others are not me and it is just a common name and she should just rebooked the reservation she cancelled for next week for that David Smith, but I do not think she comprehended the situation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous meal at Mastro's!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

As usual, Mastro's delivered. My husband and I had a great booth and the appetizers (oysters Rockefeller and a shrimp special) were fantastic. We moved on to filets, which can't be beat, and side dishes including spinach and gorgonzola mac and cheese. It was simply delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is not just an ordinary steak house ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

This is not just an ordinary steak house. We took some distinguished guests here on Thursday night. Phillip the GM made sure to make quite an impression on all us. He made sure our every need was met. The seafood tower was unbelievably fresh! The steaks as always we're cooked perfectly. A wonderful wine selection as well as perfectly mixed cocktails. Super attentive waiters and to finish it all up with their signature butter cake. This is one of my favorite places for dinner. It is my favorite in Scottsdale. Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Excellent

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

It never disappoints! Our friends at Mastros always come through for us, even with last minute large groups. Thanks again

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as usual! One of the best steaks ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Awesome as usual! One of the best steaks we have ever had and the butter cake dessert again was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Destination steakhouse

Dined on April 18, 2016

Best steakhouse in Arizona and we tried them all. Biggest menu of any steakhouse ever visited. Superb service, wonderful ambiance and top of the line steaks. If you are a carnivore this place is for you! Large portion apps, salads and sides. Will be our go to steakhouse in future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a lovely time we had!

Dined on April 15, 2016

It was our first visit to the Scottsdale area and we were told to give Mastro's a try! As we come from NY, it has to be a pretty good steak house to impress us! And it was! Everything from the ambiance to the large menu was perfect! We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and would certainly go back again and again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious, as usual, but ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Everything was delicious, as usual, but the pretzel bread and the butter cake are tops! Seriously, how do they make a cake that melts in your mouth? I look forward to my next experience at Mastro's.

food5
ambience5
service5

A most memorable evening for our group . ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

A most memorable evening for our group . Tony was our captain , service outstanding and the food was over the top great...we can't wait to come back!

food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Very Disappointing!

Dined on April 8, 2016

I was amazed how bland the food was. We ordered the Rib Eye which was a nice piece of meat and cooked perfect for our liking but just NO flavor at all. Then we had the Sea Bass and again cooked well, but the only way I was able to get flavor was by squeezing lemon juice all over it which I have NEVER done before, VERY BLAND and the Crab Leg was a great piece of meat but just NO flavor. We also shared a green salad which was nothing special. The only think we liked was the Butter Cake but it wasn't worth $220.00. I would not recommend, nor will we return! (It was EXTREMELY LOUD and the tables are odd shaped making it hard for two people to sit across from one another and enjoy a conversation. I didn't care for the layout of the dining area much either.)

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great except we were seat ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Everything was great except we were seated by a 4 some that was quite loud. The waiter offered to reseat us but we said no. They were a little quieter later.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Mastros. The staff were helpful and attentive. In today's casual dining environment, the service was noticeable, impressive and will the primary reason, other than the excellent food, why we will think of Mastros next time we have a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Mastros never fails! Consistent food and service! Special shout out to the Gluten Free Butter Cake

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Bar music a little loud for the size of the area

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great steaks especially the 18 oz bone in filet! Martinis nicely chilled, and excellent wine list selections.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

ELEGANT RESTAURANT

Dined on March 30, 2016

This is the fourth time for us at this restaurant. It is a very nice restaurant with all the right touches. Wait staff are very good but do not check on you as much as I expect at a venue like this. My first visit could not have been better. The remaining visits have not reached the expectation level set by my first visit. You pay top dollar at this restaurant and that's what it is all about. However, a very high level of expectation comes with that. On my last visit, again got the 12 ounce filet, always a favorite. Ordered medium rare, came medium to medium well. When served, the wait staff could not have been more helpful. However, not once did he return to check how we were doing with our meal. The fish was ordered fully cooked and they provided that and then some. Vegetable's were nicely done. Overall, disappointed with the restaurant. Next time might try the Ocean's Club owned by the same owner - Landry's.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved every minute!! Amazing tasty food ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Loved every minute!! Amazing tasty food & wonderful service Outstanding!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and great service! Easter Bru ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Good food and great service! Easter Brunch is superb!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

GreatDateNight

Dined on March 27, 2016

Mastro's was highly recommended by 2 friends when we mentioned we would be vacationing in Phoenix. We had a GREAT experience. Our reservation was at 9pm. The place was packed and lively. There was a tasteful band. Our server, Tony, was knowledgeable in wine. He recommended the perfect wine based on our description of the type of wine we prefer. The appetizers, steak and dessert was fantastic. They also make great cocktails. Our experience was spectacular and top notch. We expected it to be pricey. It was worth it, especially if celebrating a special event.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistent excellence on every visit

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Consistent excellence on every visit

food5
ambience4
service5

Lived up to the hype! Food was excell ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Lived up to the hype! Food was excellent. We had the Sea Bass and the Bone-in Fillet and the Black Truffle Gnocchi was incredible! I eat at high end steakhouses weekly and this was among the best experiences I've had in quite some time. Do yourself a favor and get to this place.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely the best overall dining exper ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Absolutely the best overall dining experience in Scottsdale

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice, a family favorite

Dined on March 20, 2016

Been to this particular Mastro's several occasions and have found it to be excellent for each and every visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was the best! Mastro's accommodat ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Steak was the best! Mastro's accommodated a large group of 9 with ease. Our server Cee Cee was fabulous, as well as her support team.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food, but overpowering noise

Dined on March 19, 2016

Expect foundry-level noise at Mastro's for dinner. Close seating and local popularity make the restaurant seem way over-crowded. The bar, which we did not dare visit, was jumping and contributed to the din. Friendly, knowledgeable service unravels when waiters have too many tables to cover. Many nice wines by the glass. Argyle Brut and Rosenblum Zin matched well with dinner. Salads were outstanding. Spinach, Caesar and Mastro salads all tasty. We passed reluctantly on appetizers because we saw the size of passing entrées. Kansas City strip steak and Scottish salmon prepared perfectly. Loafer-sized baked potato good; stuffed potato slightly disappointing, with lots of goopy cheese atop potato purée. The creamed corn was undistinguished -- fresh flavor, but curiously bland. Warm butter cake, a house special enjoyed before, was delicious and one order is just right for three stuffed people. Coffee had little flavor, arrived too soon and got too cold to be enjoyed with dessert (which was delayed far too long). Expensive, but the meat is worth it. It would be a pleasure to see some small plate offerings, especially in the side dishes, since the menu is huge and many dishes look tempting. With a decibel warning, I would recommend this restaurant to friends. Personally I will go to one of the other Phoenix Mastro's when I am again in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding experience!!

Dined on March 13, 2016

My husband and I went for his birthday. While Mastro's is expensive, it was worth every penny. From the incredible fresh oysters all the way through the chocolate covered strawberries for dessert, each course was flavorful and beautifully presented. If you don't mind denting the wallet, this is a terrific place for a special event.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

Terrible food and very loud.

Dined on March 13, 2016

Terrible food and very loud.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.