About Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa

633 Anton Blvd.
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Bristol

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 546-7405

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Parking Details:
Valet & public lot

Executive Chef:
Nick Foegal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For you next event please contact Shashona Reynolds.
sreynolds@ldry.com
714.546.7405

Restaurant Photos

Warm Butter Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Vanilla Bean Gelato - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Chocolate Layered Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Warm Buttercake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Petite Filet - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Sweet potato fries - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Onion Rings - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
French Onion Soup - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Creamed Corn - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Chefs Cut Rib Eye W/Creamed Corn And Almond Green Beans - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Big Eye Tuna Tataki - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Warm Bread Basket - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Jumbo Prawn Cocktail - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Cheesecake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Chocolate Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Filet Mignon - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Profiteroles - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Lobster Mashed Potatoes - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Oysters Rockefeller - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Bone-in Rib Eye - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Grilled Rack Of Lamb - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Pretzel Bread - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Chef's Cut Ribeye Chop - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Oysters on the Half Shell - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Pomegranate Martini - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Tomahawk Chop Lobster Mashed Potatoe And Baby Lobster Tail  - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Mastros Martini - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Wagu Tomahalk Chop - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Jumbo Prawns - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Mastro's Sea Food Tower - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Fleur de Blu  - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Butter Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Chocolate Pudding Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Cosmopolitan - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Mastro's Butter Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Rack of Lamb - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Mashed Potatoes - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Bone-In Filet - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
18oz Bone-in Filet - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Creamed Spinach - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Chocolate Sin Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Ribeye Steak, Black Truffle Gnocchi, Lobster Mashed Potatoes - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Blue Point Oysters - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Celebrate Christmas Eve at Mastro's. Join us for our classic menu featuring premium steaks, fresh seafood, hand-crafted cocktails, and world-class wine.

Open 4pm - 10pm. Reserve your table today!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Gather friends and family for the perfect Christmas meal at Mastro's. Indulge in premium steaks, fresh seafood, hand-crafted cocktails, and world-class wine.

Open for dinner at 5pm on Christmas Day. Reserve your table now!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mastro’s combines atmosphere, comfort and elegance to create the perfect setting for your next corporate, social or charitable event.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Orange County
Most Booked
Orange County
Steakhouse
North Orange County
1 More
Most Booked
North Orange County
Best Restaurants in Costa Mesa ›

Special Occasion (106)
Romantic (90)
Good for Anniversaries (84)
See All
Good for a Date (79)
Good for Birthdays (74)
Notable Wine List (68)
Business Meals (45)
Live Music (38)
Worth the Drive (35)
Good for Groups (35)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Modern Decor (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Bar Seating (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Hot Spot (26)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Fun (20)
Private Room (19)
People Watching (14)
Cozy (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Family Style (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Authentic (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Seasonal (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Casual (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Scenic View (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
3231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food - average, so can't justify the pri ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Food - average, so can't justify the price. The ribeye was a tiny piece of meat, nothing better than Sizzler (not sure if they ran out of food or what?).

The pork was raw in some areas (saw it a home). It was too dark to see it there.

The noise level was unbearable for a nice restaurant.

Two people asked what we were celebrating, but surprisingly there was no "surprise dessert" like most restaurants do. It's not required, but it's a nice touch when going to a pricey restaurant.

The only redeeming thing about the place was the service. Great service!

Disappointing experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Delicious food, great service. Very loud ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food, great service. Very loud though and had to scream at my fiancé the whole time to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I love this place, food is so good.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

I love this place, food is so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the Best Food and Service in Oran ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Always the Best Food and Service in Orange County!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What stood out to me the most was the ov ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

What stood out to me the most was the overall setup of this restaurant is enjoyed myself with my family food is always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Excellent food and service. Recommend to ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and service. Recommend to go with a big appetite. If you like seafood the tower is a must for table to share. If in town for business or special occasion they serve the best steak in town period.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was outstanding, very knowled ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Our server was outstanding, very knowledgeable on the wine list and had great recommendations for the food and appetizer menu. The crab appetizer presentation was amazing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Mastros and we keep coming back ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We love Mastros and we keep coming back however Sunday night was not quite the same. We were seated close to the bar and we enjoy listening to the piano bar... The bar crowd was very rowdy and loud, lots of yelling and we did not enjoy our dinner. The lobster bisque we ordered was a bit cold and the ambiance did not help. We will try another location, hopefully it delivers a better setting compared to Costa Mesa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Food is amazing! Unfortunately, it's s ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Food is amazing! Unfortunately, it's so dark in the restaurant that you can't see what you're eatung. Twice they brought us the wrong dish and had I been able to see, I would have told them it was wrong.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Amazing food and service as usual. Love ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Amazing food and service as usual. Love going to Mastro's for dinner. Always a special experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Live Music, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, polite staff, seated on t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great service, polite staff, seated on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

First time here, but several visits to o ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

First time here, but several visits to other high end steak houses. Took the whole family for an after play special treat.

Overall, not great. Server indicated very usual responses on their version of "Medium" "Medium Well" etc that was actually quite confusing. We rarely saw her at the table, and really did not have any common sense regarding kids excitement on the occasion and order special drinks (shirley temples). Too many other steak houses to waste your time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

This place was great! We had a show at t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This place was great! We had a show at the Sergestrom at 7:30 and had an rsvp at 5. Service and food quality were very good. It has a bit of a club feel. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, cocktails and wine, service ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food, cocktails and wine, service and ambiance. It does not get any better. Bring $'s.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for Thanksgiving we had a gre ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went there for Thanksgiving we had a great time, the staff is top notch

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite a reservations at 5:15 pm, we ha ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Despite a reservations at 5:15 pm, we had to wait about 5 - 10 mins for the table- we were on time for our reservations. Otherwise, great service. The seafood tower was excellent; steak was just right. Gorgonzola Mac n Cheese could use a bit more seasoning. It was a bit on the bland side. Nice birthday dessert, on the house, for my wife. Good touch. We were seated next to a table with a loud 2 yr-old (that's life). After they left, the ambiance was better. Overall, it was an enjoyable experience and would certainly visit Mastro's again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Business Meals, Family Style, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Great quality meat so always wanted to t ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great quality meat so always wanted to try different steak but most of them come with a large portion which is very hard for me as I cannot eat much at once. So for this time instead of three of us each getting 8 oz or 12 oz Fillet, we got 22 oz Ribeye and 24 oz Porterhouse and shared them. It was a great idea and enjoyed three different parts.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Service was great. My son said the steak ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Service was great. My son said the steak was good. The fish was good but nothing special. The buttercake was good but wasn't evenly warmed. Newport Beach and the Vegas locations have way, way, way, way, better ambiance, better food taste, & decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

They threw away my leftovers! Didn't off ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 20, 2016

They threw away my leftovers! Didn't offer anything as compensation. Bill was around $350, half of the food was uneaten. $175 down the drain.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

WE LOVE COMING HERE, ALWAYS GREAT! VERY ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

WE LOVE COMING HERE, ALWAYS GREAT! VERY GOOD FOOD...

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. World-class preparat ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent service. World-class preparation. Excellent wine selection. Huge portions; split them whenever possible. Plan to spend time enjoying your meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful food and service. Extremely lo ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Extremely loud environment. Plus there was a band in the lounge that piped into the restaurant, so people yelled over it. Not the best environment for something romantic or a business meeting. Great wine list. Wine prices not ridiculous either.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My brother and I treated my parents to t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My brother and I treated my parents to their 25th anniversary, it was our first time here. We had a couple drinks at the bar while waiting for table. Bartenders were very warm and friendly, drinks were well balanced. When our table was ready, BJ was our server. Very knowledgeable, he was just amazing. Food was outstanding. The live music started at 6:30pm. They played their version of modern music, which was a nice surprise. Definitely will come back.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a repeat visit to Mastro's Stea ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This was a repeat visit to Mastro's Steakhouse for a special evening out for dinner. As before the experience was fantastic, from the reception to dessert. Our server, Nicolae and his team, were the best. Food preparation has always been perfect. Save room for their signature butter cake for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and a great waiter named shan ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great meal and a great waiter named shane. He always makes does a great job

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing from the service ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Everything was amazing from the service to the food to the live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was average. She was not atte ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our server was average. She was not attentive and we waited a long time in between courses. We were very pleased with our food selections and can highly recommend the shrimp cocktail and chef's cut steak. Our sides were great. We ordered the au gratin potatoes, creamed spinach, and creamed corn. Overall we were satisfied with our food but our server and bus help were very inattentive. We had to continuously ask for water refills, bread, and as already mentioned very very slow between courses with no check in from our server.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Service, food...always the Best in the c ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service, food...always the Best in the count by far!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place.

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I love this place.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. Lots of fun. Live music ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great place. Lots of fun. Live music was great.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My steak was not cooked as it would be d ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

My steak was not cooked as it would be described (significantly over done). Our server looked and acted annoyed and was simply going through the motions. He was knowledgeable about the menu and the wine list but otherwise, it was a disappointing experience for the amount we spent.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Good experience of course. Intetesting t ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Good experience of course. Intetesting thing is it is quiet. But if you have other guests who are getting intoxicated, it is very obvious. Luckily we came on a day when it wasn't too busy so it didn't bother us but I could imagine the ambiance could go from romantic to annoyingly obnoxious driven within minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

First time here. Very nice place with gr ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 7, 2016

First time here. Very nice place with great ambiance. Will be back for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I took my sister-in-law there...it was h ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I took my sister-in-law there...it was her first time and she loved it. She told me she was going to bring her husband there for their anniversary. I go there for the excellent martini's of course, Mastro's has the best black cherry martini's. Yum!!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a terrific evening. From arrival AND ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had a terrific evening. From arrival AND valet to leaving. Thank you for making my anniversary evening a special time.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing! It was my friends ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was amazing! It was my friends first time there and he will be going back. Chris the gentleman that served us during dinner was ver professional and polite.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every year we come to Mastro's to celebr ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Every year we come to Mastro's to celebrate our wedding anniversary and every year it is an amazing experience. The steaks are our favorite and also we cannot leave without having the famous butter cake. Thank you for such wonderful service and we look forward to dinning with Mastro's for years to come.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had to send back the scalloped potatoe ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I had to send back the scalloped potatoes twice for being cold! The medium rare rib eye was also cold (raw) in the center and had to be sent back to be refired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

First time there and I loved it. Waiter ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

First time there and I loved it. Waiter was knowledgeable and took his advice on recommendations of meat selection.

Only concern it was a tad too dark to read the menu

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was top notch. Food was perfe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything was top notch. Food was perfectly prepared and the staff was very attentive. This is my new favorite place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.