About Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa

633 Anton Blvd.
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Bristol

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 546-7405

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Parking Details:
Valet & public lot

Executive Chef:
Nick Foegal

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For you next event please contact Shashona Reynolds.
sreynolds@ldry.com
714.546.7405

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
For the man who deserves the best...
Make this Father's Day a celebration to remember with Mastro's Restaurants.

Private Dining

Mastro’s combines atmosphere, comfort and elegance to create the perfect setting for your next corporate, social or charitable event.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Orange County
Most Booked
Orange County
Romantic
North Orange County
2 More
Steakhouse
North Orange County
Most Booked
North Orange County
Best Restaurants in Costa Mesa ›

special occasion (254)
romantic (185)
notable wine list (124)
See All
fit for foodies (123)
good for groups (86)
vibrant bar scene (85)
hot spot (64)
late-night find (31)
neighborhood gem (21)
kid-friendly (8)
great for lunch (7)
scenic view (7)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2950 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We went to Mastro's to celebrate our wed ...

Dined 3 days ago

We went to Mastro's to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Everything that I expected before I dined at Mastro's was matched. Food was top notch. I had the 22 oz. Rib-Eye. The steak was very juicy and delicious. Cooked as requested, medium. My wife had two 7 oz. Lobster tails and she also enjoyed it. We both shared the lobster mashed potatoes and asparagus for the sides. The sides are meant to share and the portions are huge. I thought the sides and drinks were overpriced. Overall I came in expecting to spend $$$$ with top notch service and that's what I got. If you are looking for a top steakhouse I don't think you can't go wrong.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My dining experience at Mastros steakhou ...

Dined 4 days ago

My dining experience at Mastros steakhouse in Costa Mesa was phenomenal. The service was outstanding and the food was spectacular. The dinner was the highlight of my senior prom night! I will be back to enjoy a nice succulent steak and the lobster mashed potatoes very soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Choice for Special Occasion!

Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I really enjoyed the dining experience at Mastro's and would definitely come back for different occasion as well. We just thought the place was a bit too dark to see anything, other than that the food was great and the wine list was superb!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my brother there for his graduati ...

Dined 5 days ago

I took my brother there for his graduation from college. We sat in the lounge area, music was great and the food was great as usual. My husband and i go there all the time. The duo they have in the lounge is awesome! We will continue to go there. We have alot of family that come in from out of town...we always take them here when they visit.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy good beautiful room and bar Ver ...

Dined 5 days ago

Yummy good beautiful room and bar Very expensive seafood towers though

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Over the last 44 years my wife and I hav ...

Dined 5 days ago

Over the last 44 years my wife and I have eaten at many high end restaurants. Some of them, like Chez Cary and Scandia (originator of Veal Oskar) no longer exist. We also like Oceania cruise line-French service in main dinning room. The valet at Chez Cary had our car ready when we walked out the door. So that is the level of service we would look for in a outstanding restaurant. Mastros has an extensive steak menu. We had the Macaroni and Gorgonzola cheese and the string beans with almonds side dishes. The side dishes are large enough for 3 to 4 people-depending on your appetite. Service was excellent. Our steaks were properly done and were very good. Be prepared to spend at least $250 for 2 people.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Expected more and received much less. T ...

Dined 6 days ago

Expected more and received much less. Tables are way too close. Restaurant too loud. For the type of dinning experience I was expecting, I was very disappinted.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoyable!

Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding restaurant! The pretzel bread is amazing and you can't go wrong with anything on the menu. A true dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food amazing!

Dined on May 18, 2016

The service and food amazing!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal was outstanding as usual partic ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The meal was outstanding as usual particularly the steaks which is what we came for

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Always wonderful having dinner here!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Always wonderful having dinner here!

food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Not a great experience this time around

Dined on May 14, 2016

Requested a small chocolate cake for my mom to celebrate a special time and they couldnt even give me that after spending all that money.

food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent choices for steaks. Portions a ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent choices for steaks. Portions are very generous. Side dishes are definitely big enough to share. Don't miss the scalloped potatoes and creamed spinach. The pretzel bread is warm and salty and yummy. Cocktails are generous pours. Save room for dessert. The butter cake is amazing.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on May 13, 2016

We celebrated my sister's 30th birthday and it was her first time dining at a Mastros. The service was excellent, the food was delicious and she especially enjoyed the butter cake at the end. We ordered 3 sides to share between 6 people and it was perfect.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made our 59th anniversary special. Wait ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Made our 59th anniversary special. Waiter was wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Maestro's Mothers Dat

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great food, great drinks, great expense. We started with two signature drinks and the crab stuffed mushroom -- Devine. For the main courses, mYwife ordered the NY pepper steak. The steak was cooked perfectly, but my wife would have liked a little more black pepper flavor. I ordered the pork chop, between medium rare and rare; perfect choice, as the plate continues to cook the meat. The end result after cooling was about medium rare to medium. The portions were very large, as indicated on the menu. We ordered three sides, garlic potatoes, sautéed green beans, and steamed broccoli. All sides were excellent. There were enough of each side to serve four people well, and since we were only two, we took our sides home for a total meal redo. Finally, we had the butter cake. A perfect choice and heavenly. Overall, I highly recommend Mastro's

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great Mother's Day dinner at Mastro's

Dined on May 8, 2016

I had an absolutely wonderful dinner. The sushi was out of this world and the steaks were amazing! A five star dinner on Mother's Day !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food.

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my special lady for mother's day this past Saturday night. We were greeted by the valets with a a smile and they opened the door for my lady. The reception area was crowed, but the lady's were ready for the crowd. We were seated right away and began our evening. The specials of the day were explained to us in detail and sounded wonderful. The food was serve quickly and taste wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Place has great ambiance, however, the s ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Place has great ambiance, however, the steak was not well cooked, we had to send it back. We also ordered the sea bass, which was cooked on point, however we ordered scallops with it whcih came with a white wine sauce that was not very good. The drinks were delicous tho and so were the sides!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find
food2
ambience4
service3

Steak not tasty. Slow service in the beg ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Steak not tasty. Slow service in the beginning

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a fabulous experience.

Dined on May 2, 2016

The bone-in filet is always fabulous. I never want to miss this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

The Seafood Tower was unbelievable! The steak were great!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best!

Dined on May 1, 2016

You cannot beat a Mastro's for food, service & cocktails. I've never had a problem with any of them. The petite filet and seared ahi are my favorites. Don't miss the mac & cheese and grilled asparagus. Very nice wine list but I lean toward a Bombay Sapphire maritini, three blue cheesed filed olives. Always made to perfection. Sam was our waiter and she was excellent. The noise level is just loud. But it's not anything that would keep me from going back again... and again... and again!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Maestros has superb service

Dined on May 1, 2016

I had paidmycheck giving the waiter a good tip We then decided to have a coffee One cup and I was charged the $4.50 bill

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lobster and wagyu steak were cooked perfect

Dined on April 30, 2016

Best food .....service......and atmosphere in a long. Loved the live music evening was fantastic

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Fabulous as always!!! The service made my birthday extra-special!! And the butter cake is always the perfect way to celebrate a special occasion!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Mother's Day Dinner

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food as usual was delicious and we always enjoy dining at Mastro's

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic the service was s ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

The food was fantastic the service was spectacular would recommend this to anybody don't miss A once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to taste the best steak you will ever try

food4
ambience3
service5

Very dark inside at first. Very loud whe ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Very dark inside at first. Very loud when sested. The service was excellent but it was more of a show than anything else. The food was good, very rich in taste and top quality but far over priced for what you get. The steaks were a bit over cooked as well. The "served on a hot plate with clarified butter" was non-existent. We were hosting guests, so I did not complain. A comparable meal can be found at similar local steak houses without the price and hype. Not worth the the high cost here. Would not return. Sorry.

food5
ambience5
service5

Sat in the bar. Great time. Amazing food

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Sat in the bar. Great time. Amazing food

food5
ambience4
service4

Great food. No complain what so ever.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great food. No complain what so ever.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Service!!!

Dined on April 23, 2016

G provided really fantastic service and the food was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent server and wonderful meal.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent server and wonderful meal.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic Date Night

Dined on April 22, 2016

Did not know what to expect as it qHas been several years since I last ate here. Wanted to take my boyfriend out for date night. The food was delicious! The steak cooked to perfection! The prawn cocktail with the horseradish cocktail sauce amazing. It is a little pricey so expect to spend some money. Enjoyed the atmosphere, but the music was a little loud. Enjoyed live music, however couldn't carry on a conversation with my date. He had to sit next to me. Definitely recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was amazing. Staff was rude

Dined on April 18, 2016

Food was amazing, staff was rude. I know my reservation was late but I did not expect to get the end of the straw. Even the valet gentlemen returned and keys and stated he was close and had to go. Luckily the food was great to subitude the rudeness. I will not be going back to the Costa Mesa location.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and great food! Worth the ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great service and great food! Worth the money! Ribeye was to die for!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our meal (though very ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal (though very pricey) we thought it was worth it because the service and food were excellent. The noisy level got a little high but the area was full, so we excused it for that reason alone. We plan to return, but for a special occasion only and will try on a week night opposed to weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Special Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 17, 2016

The Mastri's signature martini was wonderful with blue cheese stuffed olives. The lobster mashed potatoes are a must have. The steaks were cooked to perfection. Don't forget the butter cake, yummy. My Mom had a very special 75th birthday. Thank you

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience1
service1

The lobster bisque was delicious but the ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

The lobster bisque was delicious but the lobster mash potatoes was horrible, way over priced at $35.00 with very tough lobster meat. A big disappointment. The main dishes were nothing special. Our waiter was rude and arrogant. What a joke! When I asked for just water to drink (my husband had an alcoholic drink) the waiter asked if I would like a Perrie or flavored water and when I said that plain water would be fine, he said that if I changed my mind to let him know because they didn't refilled plain water. We were celebrating our anniversary so they brought us a piece of chocolate cake but they also charged us $6.00 for it. When I ordered a desert to take home, then they took the $6.00 charge out from our bill. We have bad dinner at many excellent restaurants and I'm taking about excellent food, but Mastros is just a no show type of restaurant in our opinion, lots of talk but no show. A name but that's it! I spoke to their manager and told him what had happened. Very disappointed indeed. Will never go back. We go to the Segestrom theater and lot and have found out that most of the restaurants in that area are that.. just a name, way over priced with very average food.

food5
ambience5
service5

the best steak in CA

Dined on April 12, 2016

the best steak in CA

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.