About Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa

633 Anton Blvd.
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Bristol

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 546-7405

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Parking Details:
Valet & public lot

Executive Chef:
Nick Foegal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For you next event please contact Shashona Reynolds.
sreynolds@ldry.com
714.546.7405

Restaurant Photos

Warm Butter Cake
Vanilla Bean Gelato
Chocolate Layered Cake
Warm Buttercake
Petite Filet
Sweet potato fries
Onion Rings
French Onion Soup
Creamed Corn
Chefs Cut Rib Eye W/Creamed Corn And Almond Green Beans
Big Eye Tuna Tataki
Warm Bread Basket
Jumbo Prawn Cocktail
Cheesecake
Chocolate Cake
Filet Mignon
Profiteroles
Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Oysters Rockefeller
Bone-in Rib Eye
Grilled Rack Of Lamb
Pretzel Bread
Chef's Cut Ribeye Chop
Oysters on the Half Shell
Pomegranate Martini
Tomahawk Chop Lobster Mashed Potatoe And Baby Lobster Tail
Mastros Martini
Wagu Tomahalk Chop
Jumbo Prawns
Mastro's Sea Food Tower
Fleur de Blu
Butter Cake
Chocolate Pudding Cake
Cosmopolitan
Mastro's Butter Cake
Rack of Lamb
Mashed Potatoes
Bone-In Filet
18oz Bone-in Filet
Creamed Spinach
Chocolate Sin Cake
Ribeye Steak, Black Truffle Gnocchi, Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Blue Point Oysters

Private Dining

Mastro’s combines atmosphere, comfort and elegance to create the perfect setting for your next corporate, social or charitable event.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Orange County
Most Booked
Orange County
Steakhouse
North Orange County
1 More
Most Booked
North Orange County
Best Restaurants in Costa Mesa ›

Special Occasion (180)
Romantic (130)
Notable Wine List (97)
See All
Fit for Foodies (76)
Good for Groups (62)
Hot Spot (47)
Vibrant Bar Scene (47)
Late-night Find (19)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Scenic View (4)
Sort By:
Newest
3075 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I generally dine @ Mastros Beverly Hills ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

I generally dine @ Mastros Beverly Hills, thought we would try a different location....A elderly caucasion couple kept staring @ my family, I and my husband make a substantial amount of money so we dress appropriate for the occasion, we are not what non minority people would usually stereotype us to be. It's so sad that it's 2016 and caucasion environments still feel threatened by minorities.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

NEVER a letdown. Amazing food, great vib ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

NEVER a letdown. Amazing food, great vibe and SO not pretentious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I had previously visited the Chicago Mas ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

I had previously visited the Chicago Mastro's and enjoyed that very much. Wanted to do something special for my new wife and thanks to everyone she enjoyed every minute of the evening.

Thanks to all who made our evening at Mastro's Costa Mesa a special night.

Ron H

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ribeye was served warm, but not hot. Wh ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 3 days ago

Ribeye was served warm, but not hot. When mentioned to the server, the manager cam to our table, offered to replace the steak (refused due to time), and comped the desert as consideration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

We have been to Mastros locations in Mal ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

We have been to Mastros locations in Malibu, Palm Desert and now Costa Mesa. The Food at all Mastros is superb and a "cut above" all other steak houses. We also have been to all of the hot steak spots in Ca. but our favorite is Mastros.

The particular dinner at the Costa Mesa location was very good and we will definitely be going back to this location again soon.

We also enjoyed the vibrant bar atmosphere with the Friday evening entertainment.

A real memory for us!! Thanks again to Mastros for making our meal special.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat in the bar next to the piano + singe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Sat in the bar next to the piano + singer who had a great voice! Fun atmosphere, great food & drinks, overall awesome night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good meal / dinner. The food i ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always a good meal / dinner. The food is always great. The service is always top notch. We enjoy eating at Mastro's...

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was disappointed...the service and foo ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was disappointed...the service and food is usually better, but today was just below average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

I brought my wife to Mastro's for our 24 ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I brought my wife to Mastro's for our 24th anniversary dinner. The service was excellent and the ambiance was great. My wife had a great time which meant I had a great time. The prices are a bit out of my normal day to day range, but would come back for another special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

There were 6 of us celebrating my son's ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

There were 6 of us celebrating my son's 21st Birthday. David our waiter was really nice and pleasant. We left him a generous gratuity despite we had to send back 4 of our fillet mignon and chef's cut ribeye steaks to re-cook . One guest ordered medium rare but arrived rare. Others, myself included, ordered medium but came out medium rare. David had to take the steaks back to the kitchen. When the steaks were returned to our table, the plates were so hot and the oil/fat from the steaks were splattering all over the place. Some dress shirts/clothing were stained from the grease. I was just glad no one got burned or injured. Worst off, the steaks were way over cooked. We had them packed to go for our pet dog.

Needless to say, We were not very happy with the dinner. For the price, we expected a lot more than what we experienced. Heavily disappointed.

Denise & Family

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

Excellent food. Great service. Another g ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent food. Great service. Another great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place with amazing service which ma ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Nice place with amazing service which made the fact that the food just wasn't that great that much more disappointing.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

It was our anniversary, the service and ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was our anniversary, the service and the food was amazing!🤗

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you for the beautiful birthday cak ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Thank you for the beautiful birthday cake ! Everything was perfect !

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food but terribly noisy. Very expen ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good food but terribly noisy. Very expensive. Some of their side dishes could use improvement.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We were 2 people and were seated in betw ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were 2 people and were seated in between other couples very close in proximity. Because of the proximity there was no privacy. Pork chop was fine, honestly nothing too special, would order differently next time. Salads were great. Nice touch for the cake for my birthday but would have rather had a better dinner. We go to Mortons and Flemmings and for our style, they work better all around for a variety of reasons. The only reason we came here was because we were part of the Landry's club only to find out at the end of the night that all of our points didn't work so extremely disappointed. At least I got open table points. Probably our fault for not reading fine print somewhere but still.... Not obvious for sure.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This was a very classy but pricey birthd ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was a very classy but pricey birthday destination. The quality of food was very high, and the waitstaff were attentive, helpful and professional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The only downside was the hostess and wa ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The only downside was the hostess and waiting for the table. We arrived maybe five minutes early and they said we would have to wait until our reservation time. Really? Five minutes? So I said no problem, we'll be in the bar. 25 minutes later, nothing. I went over and checked and they said that they went to get us and we were not there. NOT!! The bar was not that crowded and we were in plane view. I was also keeping an eye out for the hostess. Fortunately, the young lady helping us at the bar setup a table for us and provided great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The steak, of course, was fantastic! We ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The steak, of course, was fantastic! We ordered the Ribeye chef's cut which my friend and I split. It was a hefty portion still. The lobster mashed and the butter cake lived up to the hype. The gorgonzola mac n cheese is a 3-star. The cheese was all on the topping and the macaroni by itself tasted bland.

The complimentary were so good we were full before the entrée arrived; our fault of course.

We wanted wine mid-meal and left the choosing to our server; she did great!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service is excellent...Meat was sub-par ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service is excellent...Meat was sub-par for the price. Do not order the microscopic Twin Lobster Tails.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

This was a poor experience. The Mac and ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This was a poor experience. The Mac and Cheese was so bad. The green beans had little to no favor.

The wait staff kept taking away the bread plates while we were still using them.

The steak was average at best.

I usually enjoy this restaurant but this was a poor experience and will make me think twice the next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I had a reservation for 2. The host trie ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I had a reservation for 2. The host tried to seat us on a tiny table against a wall that had a pertruding picture frame that practically was touching me. The table didn't look big enough to hold 2 courses. When asked for a bigger table they tried to deny me stating that they were full booked. The host was able to get us a bigger decent table after a bit of back and fourth. But, that kind of left a bad taste in my mouth. But other than that, the food was great and the waiter was great too.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I brought my children. Food was good bu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I brought my children. Food was good but very dark. Could barely see what I was eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Steaks were too greasy and there was too ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Steaks were too greasy and there was too much oil on our plates. Chocolate cake was delicious. Server was very nice. Not an ideal place for a family with younger children.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great lobster bisque and French onion so ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great lobster bisque and French onion soup. Steaks were outstanding. Butter cake dessert was fantastic. Our server Nicolai was great. Room was dark and a bit noisy but still very nice. Very expensive but we will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Mike Martinez and his staff are all amaz ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Mike Martinez and his staff are all amazing. Abby was our server and she was super attentive and kind. The food is also always superb.

Thank you all for a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the best steak I have ever had ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was the best steak I have ever had in my entire life. I will definately be going back, for special occasions of course. Thank you for a wonderful dining experience. Everybody was very pleasant from the moment we entered the restaurant until the moment we left.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Half of my final bill was the champagne ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Half of my final bill was the champagne and wine we enjoyed with dinner. My wife and I were celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary so we splurged. It was worth every penny. We customized a cold seafood platter full of king crab legs & claws, shrimp, and oysters to start. I ordered the 33 oz. bone in wagyu ribeye and my wife had the 8 oz. wagyu New York steak. We ordered the lobster mashed potatoes and the Brussels sprouts as sides. Finally, we split a butter cake for dessert. The food and service were amazing. They even brought us a chocolate cake that had Happy 16th Anniversary written in chocolate drizzle on the plate. Everything was first class.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner once again. Portions for si ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great dinner once again. Portions for side items are always generous. The fillet was perfectly cooked (med rare). Even though Mastro's offers military discounts, I have yet to ask for it. The service and amazing food is well worth the expense.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the chef special steak. I asked fo ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I had the chef special steak. I asked for medium received well done. Steak was tough. My wife's food was just ok. Expected a lot more from what we heard about the place. We had great service from everyone. Disappointed with the quality of the steak. Hit and miss I know. I like to cook myself. We will try again when we are in the area again. A little disappointed for our 60 th anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We had been to the Mastros Ocean Club i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had been to the Mastros Ocean Club in Las Vegas which we really enjoyed so we thought we'd try the steakhouse. It did not disappoint! The food was exquisite, the service fabulous , such a classy place. My only gripe was it was a little too dark and I wish there was a tiny more light on the inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was probably one of the greatest st ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This was probably one of the greatest steakhouses I've ever been to!!

I live in San Diego and decided to take a first trip to Huntington Beach and we made a short drive to Mastro's and I must say, it was probably the best steakhouses I've tried on top of Morton's, Flemings, and it might even be better than Ruth Chris!

The only reason I gave this rating 4 stars instead of 5 is because when we arrived on a Wednesday night, there was a performer and it was WAY too loud for any kind of conversations from across the table. Most couples had to sit side by side to even carry a conversation and we couldn't even hear the waiter talking about what he recommends.

For the class and elegance of the restaurant with dimmed lights and all, you would think it would have more intimate classical music rather than a loud rock.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

VERY expensive for same type of "steakho ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

VERY expensive for same type of "steakhouse" food.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I had high expectations for the quality ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I had high expectations for the quality of food. I ordered a 6oz. filet mignon (medium rare), the flavor was ok, but as soon as I cut the steak it feel apart, it looked like shredded meat. I was let down. Definitely will not be going back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I totally love the steak here it melts i ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I totally love the steak here it melts in your mouth like butter.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was beyond outstanding! I could ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was beyond outstanding!

I could cut my filet mignon with my fork - it was that tender!

But the best surprise was the Tuna Tartare, which was far superior to Roy's restaurant.

From appetizer to dessert, all 6 of us just savored every bite.

If I have one complaint it's the noise - at times we felt like we were shouting at each other; and add to that the music from the bar... there were times we just couldn't hear our waiter.

Having been there before, we were all aware of the noise, maybe next time I'll ask if there is a quieter area...but rest assured there will be a next time as your food is the best!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

We were greeted by a very polite hostess ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were greeted by a very polite hostess that seated us within 3 minutes of arriving.

A nice table in the back behind the bar it sat 4 but there were only 2 of us. We enjoy live music so this seating choice was EXCELLENT for us. Might not be delightful if older and choose quiet or lively.

We both started with a drinks. Lemon drop martini with dry ice for a lovely touch. Kettle One and soda with a lime was perfect. Never a short pour here.

Then after cocktails we ordered 2 of each of the fresh oysters, dungeons crab, giant shrimp seafood tower. We like the fact you can add just about anything your heart desires.

Lamb, twice baked potato and a 8oz filet. Medium rare. Steak and lamb perfectly prepared and the twice baked potato tasty too.

Got the signature butter cake to go and had a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great place to go for special ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This is a great place to go for special occasions. The service is fantastic, as is the food. The atmosphere is lively, but not too loud. Really a nice place! My only complaint with the restaurant overall is that it is SO DARK -sometimes I feel like I'm in a nice closet! For that reason I usually request the back room where there are windows and a hint of natural light.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've been to Mastros many times and the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I've been to Mastros many times and the food and service is always outstanding. It is a very expensive restaurant, but if you have the money or if it's for business, it is a memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Food is great, but don't fall for the se ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food is great, but don't fall for the seafood tower. One small tower will double your bill for a group of four. One crab claw alone will set you back $18. Since the price is not advertised, they can always adjust the price to "pad" the bill higher.

I once came here for business, spent over $3,000 for 9 of us to eat. Then after I paid the bill, the server came back to me with another bill to pay for parking.....$54. You would think that after paying $3k, they would at least comp the parking. Nope!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.