About Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa

633 Anton Blvd.
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Bristol

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 546-7405

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Parking Details:
Valet & public lot

Executive Chef:
Nick Foegal

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For you next event please contact Shashona Reynolds.
sreynolds@ldry.com
714.546.7405

Restaurant Photos

Warm Butter Cake
Vanilla Bean Gelato
Chocolate Layered Cake
Warm Buttercake
Petite Filet
Sweet potato fries
Onion Rings
French Onion Soup
Creamed Corn
Chefs Cut Rib Eye W/Creamed Corn And Almond Green Beans
Big Eye Tuna Tataki
Jumbo Prawn Cocktail
Warm Bread Basket
Cheesecake
Chocolate Cake
Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Profiteroles
Filet Mignon
Bone-in Rib Eye
Oysters Rockefeller
Grilled Rack Of Lamb
Pretzel Bread
Chef's Cut Ribeye Chop
Pomegranate Martini
Oysters on the Half Shell
Tomahawk Chop Lobster Mashed Potatoe And Baby Lobster Tail
Mastros Martini
Jumbo Prawns
Wagu Tomahalk Chop
Mastro's Sea Food Tower
Fleur de Blu
Butter Cake
Mastro's Butter Cake
Cosmopolitan
Chocolate Pudding Cake
Bone-In Filet
Mashed Potatoes
18oz Bone-in Filet
Rack of Lamb
Creamed Spinach
Chocolate Sin Cake
Ribeye Steak, Black Truffle Gnocchi, Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Blue Point Oysters

Private Dining

Mastro’s combines atmosphere, comfort and elegance to create the perfect setting for your next corporate, social or charitable event.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Orange County
Most Booked
Orange County
Best Food
North Orange County
3 More
Romantic
North Orange County
Steakhouse
North Orange County
Most Booked
North Orange County
Best Restaurants in Costa Mesa ›

special occasion (217)
romantic (162)
notable wine list (111)
See All
fit for foodies (96)
good for groups (79)
hot spot (53)
vibrant bar scene (53)
late-night find (23)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for outdoor dining (8)
great for lunch (7)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
3020 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my second time at a Mastro's, f ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was my second time at a Mastro's, first time to this location. For the price, I didn't think the food was anything spectacular. What is extraordinary, however, is their lemon drop martini, which is served over dry ice. It's not only delicious but memorable!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

My steak was cooked perfectly. I usuall ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

My steak was cooked perfectly. I usually have to force my son to eat his dinner but he finished his steak on his own. He even ate the sides too. I love the lemon drop cocktail too.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. Filet was tender. Drinks wer ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great meal. Filet was tender. Drinks were awesome. Great ambiance for friends gathering on Friday evening. Service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love going to Mastro's for dat ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

We always love going to Mastro's for date night especially on the weekends because they have live music and you can hear it in the dining room too. It's a fun atmosphere and all of the servers are great. Our server even suggested adding jalapeños and bacon to the Gorgonzola Mac N' Cheese so we did. Now we don't want to any other way! Delish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prices increased but flavor did not. Rib ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Prices increased but flavor did not. Ribeye was just Ok and the mushrooms were not as good . Disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Everything was great and our servers wer ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Everything was great and our servers were excellent. One note - the room that we had was private and in the back by the kitchen which was great for our business dinner ! The only note is that it was VERY dark. We did ask if the light could be turned up a bit but they said the controls were in the back of the bar somewhere so they opened the screen to let light in from the kitchen window that was at the end of the room. Again, the room was perfect otherwise! Thank you for a memorable evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Appreciated the gluten free menu for my ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Appreciated the gluten free menu for my daughter. The steak she had was not as good as your other steaks which was a bit of a disappointment but never the less, we appreciated the special menu you were able to provide my daughter .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Best steak and service I've ever had han ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best steak and service I've ever had hands down! Definitely will be back next time me and my fiancé come to Orange County

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prices are crazy high. Only disappointed ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Prices are crazy high. Only disappointed in my vodka gimlet.

Good was good though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We were there for a special occasionan w ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were there for a special occasionan which was a 21st birthday. When we made the reservation, we had Requested that the birthday girl would be greeted at the check in. What happen when we arrived, there were four employees hanging out at the check in desk and not one said a thing till we got their attention to check in, let alone greeted the birthday girl.

I understand that ambiance is a huge deal for such a high end restaurant, but being there for two hours, not by choice but because as our server walked by and didn't check on us. We had to attract our own attention to address our dining needs. Now maybe I'm wrong in assuming, but where ever I dine and purchase a cup of coffee. Usually I am asked if I would like a refill. But at this dining experience, I was not asked so when i finished my cup of java. I was so done with the service that I just got up, and left. Even if the refill was something I needed to purchase, I would of. That extra cup of coffee would not not of broke the bank for me based on what the meal already cost, but I was not even offered the opportunity.

At the end of the day, the service was way beyond poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was amazing and service was even be ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was amazing and service was even better! Shane was very attentive and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fine until we started not ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything was fine until we started noticing a couple of spiders were crawling around our table so we had to move

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service and great food.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wonderful service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been to several different Maestro' ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We've been to several different Maestro's on multiple occasions but this was the first time to the Costa Mesa restaurant. On those past occasions, the food and service has been excellent as would be expected based on price and reputation. Unfortunately, our expectations were not met in Costa Mesa. In order of importance, the food quality was not very good. My New York strip steak was surprisingly tough (I've ordered this from the other Maestro's and it had always been wonderfully tender.) The brussel sprouts were insufficiently trimmed and very bland. The service was erratic. At Maestro's it is common to get a team approach to service. On this occasion, some of the wait servers were very attentive; however, there were several lengthy periods of inattention during our two hour dinner. Also, I didn't expect to be served my steak without a steak knife and then have to flag down someone to get one. We were celebrating an anniversary and were given a complimentary dessert (thank you Maestro's). Unfortunately we were not informed of this until after we ordered something else off of the dessert menu. The ensuing delivery and removal of the complimentary dessert and then (delayed) delivery of the ordered dessert was farcical. The restaurant was surprisingly noisy but I would attribute that to three nearby tables with restless infants/toddlers. It was not a problem but is reflected in the noise level and ambiance ratings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Mastros mash was suggested by our server ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Mastros mash was suggested by our server Shane and it was delish!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food never disappoints . Always on point ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food never disappoints . Always on point. Staff over the top friendly and great service. My favorite steak restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally I love Mastros but this time no ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Normally I love Mastros but this time not so much . Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Great food and service. Had a great tim ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great food and service. Had a great time with a large family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took our son for his 18th birthday W ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We took our son for his 18th birthday We had no alcohol nor soda but were offered "filtered spring water" or "sparkling water" and we opted for filtered water. They brought bottles of water and we said "two should be enough, thank you". The bill came to $189.00 - without a tip. My husband and I could not believe our eyes but did not want to embarrass ourselves or our son. I think the waiter deliberately put down ENTREE salads and kept opening that fancy water (which they never tell you is pricey). I was very disappointed in the server because he should have been up front with us, especially when he knew that it was our first time to the venue.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Impeccable. Just very noisy.Competitive ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Impeccable.

Just very noisy.Competitive conversations that seemingly escalated with progression of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

One of my favorites! Have never had a ba ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of my favorites! Have never had a bad meal there. John was our waiter this time, and he did not disappoint. Tomohawk ribeye prepared to perfection. Topped off with Foie Gras and a helping of Lipitor :) Lobster Bisque is a must! Very attentive staff. Another enjoyable and memorable evening with the Mastro's gang.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Mastro's for our six year ann ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We went to Mastro's for our six year anniversary. The menu is expensive but the food was AMAZING. Easily the best rib eye I've ever eaten in my life. At the recommendation of our waiter we tried the lobster mashed potatoes -- they were good, but for $33 I was underwhelmed and will probably not get them again. The portions for the sides are HUGE. Between the two of us we only got two sides and had plenty of leftovers. The service was absolutely stellar and exceeded my expectations, even for such a nice restaurant. We went because we received a gift card and probably never would have tried it otherwise, but now I'm hooked. We will definitely return, maybe for birthday or Valentine's Day. It's a bit too pricey for just a date night, but it's great for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

had the tomahawk . and shrimp cocktail. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

had the tomahawk . and shrimp cocktail. green beans with toasted almonds. delicious. butter cake overrated imho.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Typically, I am a Mastro's fan. However ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Typically, I am a Mastro's fan. However, I was disappointed with the service on this particular visit. After, my drink order arrived, my waiter basically disappeared for a good 30 mins. It left my table wondering if someone was going to come back to take our food order.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Mastros is always phenomenal to us! The ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Mastros is always phenomenal to us! The food never disappoints and the service is impeccable. We spent the evening there for our anniversary and the entire staff made the evening even more special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

On the pricey side but well worth it for ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

On the pricey side but well worth it for special occasions! The lobster mashed potatoes were excellent! The pork chop was so big I was only able to eat half. The sides are bigger than expected so come with a big appetite! Didn't care for the gorganzola mac & cheese, the cheese was melted on top and not spread throughout the macaroni. The sauteed mushrooms, asparagus, and lobster mashed potatoes were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pricey but worth it. Lovely surprise ch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Pricey but worth it. Lovely surprise chocolate cake for birthday guy. Not a bad choice from the four people ordering. Delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing steak at a great value. Definit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Amazing steak at a great value. Definitely will return in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Made reservations for a very special occ ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Made reservations for a very special occasion - my 25th wedding anniversary. When making the reservation online, was asked if there were any special requests to which I asked for "the best table in the house." I was called by the restaurant to confirm my reservation. Upon arriving for dinner, we were seated at a table directly next to a room where a private group function was being held. The noise level was loud (not the fault of the patrons in the room) but how does my table then become the best table in the house or even appropriate for a special occasion dinner? Plenty of other tables that were open. Although they offered to move us to a new table, this just seemed patronizing and demonstrated a lack of thoughtfulness. If you won't do much to accommodate my request, don't bother asking - then no one has to deal with unmet expectations.

Our server was very good and the food was spectacular. It was a great meal overall although this will not be my first choice for the next special occasion dinner. Plenty of other restaurants that will go the extra mile to accommodate a guest's request.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The restaurant was very good. Since it w ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The restaurant was very good. Since it was Father's Day it was overbooked, but still enjoyable. The ambiance was a little too dark for my taste. The secondary wait staff was a little slow in clearing dishes and filling water glasses. I did notice them chatting among each other at times a little too long. Also we ordered a bottle of wine that came after we already had our main course served. Still I highly recommend the restaurant. The food was great tasting (better than The Ranch, Ruth's, and Morton's).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The side dishes and dessert were very go ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The side dishes and dessert were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

We were celebrating a combination of 21s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were celebrating a combination of 21st birthday, Father's day and another birthday. We were seated quickly, the service was good. We all had the 22oz bone in ribeye and they were outstanding. It was expensive but worth it.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

It was my first time and I was beyond co ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was my first time and I was beyond content with the service, the food was exquisite, I am most definitely coming back to this location. Everything was so perfect. The food was out in perfect timing, I was very pleased with my visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was awesome,our waiter Andre ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was awesome,our waiter Andrew was amazing. His recommendation for food &drinks were excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my friend there for his birthday. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I took my friend there for his birthday. They over cooked his steak and my lobster as well. We enjoyed the Ceasar Salad and side dishes. However, we were really disappointed that the food took so long and that it was dry and over cooked. It was our first time at this Mastros. I have dined at the one in Beverly Hills and had a much better experience. Our waitress was friendly and did a good job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always great service.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Always great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food, service, and overall din ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic food, service, and overall dining experience! Great way to celebrate our wedding anniversary!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant and food! Service was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great restaurant and food! Service was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent! And the food ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The service was excellent! And the food was well worth the high end pricing! Very nice for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The place was great. Everyone was welcom ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The place was great. Everyone was welcoming and with pleasant attitude. Our server was very attentive to our needs.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.