About Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa

633 Anton Blvd.
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Bristol

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 546-7405

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Parking Details:
Valet & public lot

Executive Chef:
Nick Foegal

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For you next event please contact Shashona Reynolds.
sreynolds@ldry.com
714.546.7405

Restaurant Photos

Warm Butter Cake
Vanilla Bean Gelato
Chocolate Layered Cake
Warm Buttercake
Petite Filet
Sweet potato fries
Onion Rings
French Onion Soup
Creamed Corn
Chefs Cut Rib Eye W/Creamed Corn And Almond Green Beans
Big Eye Tuna Tataki
Jumbo Prawn Cocktail
Warm Bread Basket
Cheesecake
Chocolate Cake
Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Profiteroles
Filet Mignon
Bone-in Rib Eye
Oysters Rockefeller
Grilled Rack Of Lamb
Pretzel Bread
Chef's Cut Ribeye Chop
Pomegranate Martini
Oysters on the Half Shell
Tomahawk Chop Lobster Mashed Potatoe And Baby Lobster Tail
Mastros Martini
Jumbo Prawns
Wagu Tomahalk Chop
Mastro's Sea Food Tower
Fleur de Blu
Butter Cake
Mastro's Butter Cake
Cosmopolitan
Chocolate Pudding Cake
Bone-In Filet
Mashed Potatoes
18oz Bone-in Filet
Rack of Lamb
Creamed Spinach
Chocolate Sin Cake
Ribeye Steak, Black Truffle Gnocchi, Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Blue Point Oysters

Private Dining

Mastro’s combines atmosphere, comfort and elegance to create the perfect setting for your next corporate, social or charitable event.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Orange County
Most Booked
Orange County
Romantic
North Orange County
2 More
Steakhouse
North Orange County
Most Booked
North Orange County
Best Restaurants in Costa Mesa ›

special occasion (234)
romantic (174)
notable wine list (119)
See All
fit for foodies (111)
good for groups (87)
vibrant bar scene (74)
hot spot (54)
late-night find (27)
neighborhood gem (21)
great for outdoor dining (9)
great for lunch (8)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2999 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorites! Have never had a ba ...

Dined 6 days ago

One of my favorites! Have never had a bad meal there. John was our waiter this time, and he did not disappoint. Tomohawk ribeye prepared to perfection. Topped off with Foie Gras and a helping of Lipitor :) Lobster Bisque is a must! Very attentive staff. Another enjoyable and memorable evening with the Mastro's gang.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Mastro's for our six year ann ...

Dined 7 days ago

We went to Mastro's for our six year anniversary. The menu is expensive but the food was AMAZING. Easily the best rib eye I've ever eaten in my life. At the recommendation of our waiter we tried the lobster mashed potatoes -- they were good, but for $33 I was underwhelmed and will probably not get them again. The portions for the sides are HUGE. Between the two of us we only got two sides and had plenty of leftovers. The service was absolutely stellar and exceeded my expectations, even for such a nice restaurant. We went because we received a gift card and probably never would have tried it otherwise, but now I'm hooked. We will definitely return, maybe for birthday or Valentine's Day. It's a bit too pricey for just a date night, but it's great for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

had the tomahawk . and shrimp cocktail. ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

had the tomahawk . and shrimp cocktail. green beans with toasted almonds. delicious. butter cake overrated imho.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Typically, I am a Mastro's fan. However ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Typically, I am a Mastro's fan. However, I was disappointed with the service on this particular visit. After, my drink order arrived, my waiter basically disappeared for a good 30 mins. It left my table wondering if someone was going to come back to take our food order.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Mastros is always phenomenal to us! The ...

vip
Dined on June 24, 2016

Mastros is always phenomenal to us! The food never disappoints and the service is impeccable. We spent the evening there for our anniversary and the entire staff made the evening even more special.

food5
ambience5
service5

On the pricey side but well worth it for ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

On the pricey side but well worth it for special occasions! The lobster mashed potatoes were excellent! The pork chop was so big I was only able to eat half. The sides are bigger than expected so come with a big appetite! Didn't care for the gorganzola mac & cheese, the cheese was melted on top and not spread throughout the macaroni. The sauteed mushrooms, asparagus, and lobster mashed potatoes were very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey but worth it. Lovely surprise ch ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Pricey but worth it. Lovely surprise chocolate cake for birthday guy. Not a bad choice from the four people ordering. Delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing steak at a great value. Definit ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Amazing steak at a great value. Definitely will return in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Made reservations for a very special occ ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Made reservations for a very special occasion - my 25th wedding anniversary. When making the reservation online, was asked if there were any special requests to which I asked for "the best table in the house." I was called by the restaurant to confirm my reservation. Upon arriving for dinner, we were seated at a table directly next to a room where a private group function was being held. The noise level was loud (not the fault of the patrons in the room) but how does my table then become the best table in the house or even appropriate for a special occasion dinner? Plenty of other tables that were open. Although they offered to move us to a new table, this just seemed patronizing and demonstrated a lack of thoughtfulness. If you won't do much to accommodate my request, don't bother asking - then no one has to deal with unmet expectations. Our server was very good and the food was spectacular. It was a great meal overall although this will not be my first choice for the next special occasion dinner. Plenty of other restaurants that will go the extra mile to accommodate a guest's request.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant was very good. Since it w ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The restaurant was very good. Since it was Father's Day it was overbooked, but still enjoyable. The ambiance was a little too dark for my taste. The secondary wait staff was a little slow in clearing dishes and filling water glasses. I did notice them chatting among each other at times a little too long. Also we ordered a bottle of wine that came after we already had our main course served. Still I highly recommend the restaurant. The food was great tasting (better than The Ranch, Ruth's, and Morton's).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service5

The side dishes and dessert were very go ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The side dishes and dessert were very good.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We were celebrating a combination of 21s ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We were celebrating a combination of 21st birthday, Father's day and another birthday. We were seated quickly, the service was good. We all had the 22oz bone in ribeye and they were outstanding. It was expensive but worth it.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time and I was beyond co ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

It was my first time and I was beyond content with the service, the food was exquisite, I am most definitely coming back to this location. Everything was so perfect. The food was out in perfect timing, I was very pleased with my visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was awesome,our waiter Andre ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was awesome,our waiter Andrew was amazing. His recommendation for food &drinks were excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I took my friend there for his birthday. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I took my friend there for his birthday. They over cooked his steak and my lobster as well. We enjoyed the Ceasar Salad and side dishes. However, we were really disappointed that the food took so long and that it was dry and over cooked. It was our first time at this Mastros. I have dined at the one in Beverly Hills and had a much better experience. Our waitress was friendly and did a good job.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always great service.

Dined on June 18, 2016

Always great service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, service, and overall din ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic food, service, and overall dining experience! Great way to celebrate our wedding anniversary!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant and food! Service was ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great restaurant and food! Service was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was excellent! And the food ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The service was excellent! And the food was well worth the high end pricing! Very nice for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was great. Everyone was welcom ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The place was great. Everyone was welcoming and with pleasant attitude. Our server was very attentive to our needs.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

My fellow diners called Mastro's "upscal ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

My fellow diners called Mastro's "upscale Cheesecake Factory" and that's exactly how I would describe it. The ambiance is suitable for a special occasion, but the food is not exactly fine cuisine. It's just steak cooked to the preferred temperature with choices of typical steak house side dishes like mashed potatoes (even with the lobster added it wasn't noteworthy), spinach, and creamed corn. The waiters are obviously trained to push on to the diners daily specials like lobster that is, yikes, $120 or $180 Wagyu beef or the 3-tier seafood appetizer that all Mastro's restaurants practically force you to order. The food definitely does not justify the final bill. I've had pricier meals at Jean-Georges in New York or at any Nobu and felt the food was worth every penny. I cannot say the same for Mastro's. In fact, the price is downright ridiculous even if you are on an expense account and the company's paying for it. Sorry, but I cannot recommend this overpriced, subpar establishment to anyone with good conscience.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I booked this reservation for a business ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

I booked this reservation for a business meeting, and the staff was extremely kind and accommodating. The food was outstanding, as always. Will be returning for sure.

food4
ambience5
service5

This was our first time at Mastro's. We ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This was our first time at Mastro's. We celebrated our anniversary & we even took our kids (they're teens). This was our kids' first time at a "fancy restaurant." They're foodies and enjoyed everything we ordered. One of our kids has food allergies & the server was very helpful & attentive in making sure what we ordered was safe. The steaks were cooked to perfection & the desserts were delicious. Hope we can go back soon!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Been to Mastro's about 7+ times, all tim ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Been to Mastro's about 7+ times, all times great. This time we were seated at a small table for 2, limited space for two entrees, two sides, etc.. so we asked to move. We were seated on the patio, which actually ended up working out nicely. We had originally asked for a quiet table. Service was fine, oddly took a while to get water service going. Our busser had a great personality and the server was nice as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Too noisy and cramped. Feels like they t ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Too noisy and cramped. Feels like they tried to fit too many tables Don't get the lobster mash potatoes, they are a rip off for $35. 3-4 half inch pieces of lobster and rest mash potatoes. Steaks were good but overpriced. We had half our meal left over to box up and they didn't include most of it in the take out box so lost half of our meal.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was amazing and our server was ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was amazing and our server was top notch.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at this restaurant, and we we ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

First time at this restaurant, and we were very impressed. The service was excellent and the food was absolutely delicious. Had a wonderful time celebrating my birthday! I cannot say enough about the customer service. Even from the moment we walked in. Everyone greeted us with smiles and made it very welcoming. I had heard a lot of great things about Mastro's and it definitely lived up to my expectation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious Food!

Dined on June 11, 2016

We got a variety of menu items (French onion soup, tomahawk bone in rib eye steak, twin lobster tails, shoestring potatoes, scalloped potatoes, creamed corn, chocolate cake, and key lime pie) and everything was absolutely delicious! We obviously ordered too much food for two people and ended up taking quite a lot home, but it was still delicious the next day! I'd highly recommend this restaurant to any friends, but you must be willing to spend money. Mastro's isn't cheap, but the quality is well worth the price and a perfect place for a special occasion or celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mastros's is truely a gastronomic deligh ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Mastros's is truely a gastronomic delight. Everything is superb. The ambiance, wine list, appetizers, service and of course the food are excellent. If you want the highest quality food experience expect to pay for it, but always worth it.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Really nice restaurant and the bone in r ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Really nice restaurant and the bone in ribye is so tendor

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is delicious as always, and our ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

The food is delicious as always, and our waitress was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great A-5 beef

Dined on June 6, 2016

A-5 beef is not on the menu, but it is available. It melts in your mouth...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on June 6, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a very nice anniversary dinner at this location. The waitress was extremely friendly and offered us several different options/ways to enjoy our dining experience. We ordered the French onion soup which was fantastically cheesy and among the best we have ever had. We also ordered the bone in filet which was so juicy and tender. The sides were huge! We ordered the gorgonzola mac and cheese, as well as the scalloped potatoes. Very well worth ordering! The flavors exploded onto our taste buds. Lastly, we ordered the chocolate layered cake, described as a five layered chocolate cake. Well, we were surprised to see that those five very thick, substantial layers. Our dining experience here was top notch and I'm sure we will come back to this location for another special occasion. Note: valet parking is the primary means to park - $6

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite

Dined on June 5, 2016

From valet service to the plentiful host anxious at door to get each guest seated to the wine list and exceptional description of menu from server, we had a grand time! Can't wait to visit again, thank you.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Constant consistancy

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

The food and service are amazing. Hands down the best chilean sea bass, anywhere!!! My husband won't eat steak "wagyu" anywhere else.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mastros will always be our favorite

Dined on June 4, 2016

We have gone to mastros for years and have visited most of the locations. I would say Costa Mesa is still one of the best. It is my hope that they continue keep the tradition now that they are all now owned by Landry's.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Always a good time at Mastro's

Dined on June 3, 2016

Always a good time at Mastro's

food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Great service but Underwhelming

Dined on June 3, 2016

Dine at high end steakhouses 2-3X monthly for business at all the usual suspects. First time at Mastros on biz trip. Wait staff and Manager very accommodating but overall experience just average . Chef's Choice Bone-in Ribeye good but quality of meat and seasoning not up to Del Frisco's/Grill23 etc. standards. Too salty and maybe I just got a bad cut. Wine list overpriced even by client biz meal standards. Ate at a Capitol Grille nearby a day earlier and had a better meal which surprised me hearing the "buzz" around Mastro's. Again people couldn't have been nicer but overall product and experience not remarkable vs peers when set against premium pricing.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Maestro's Birthday Dinner

Dined on June 1, 2016

Ambience was very nice. Servers were great. Shrimp cocktail was excellent (loved the spicy horseradish). Wine suggested by server was awesome. Stuffed mushrooms (signature app) was nothing to write home about. Steaks were just okay...I've had better at other high-end steakhouses and even the lower-end steakhouses. Lobster mash was good. Took kids (5 & 8) and that was a mistake. They only liked the bread. Did not like the chicken. I would like to try their seafood. Those dishes looked good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Consistently good food- extraordinary se ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Consistently good food- extraordinary service makes anyone feel like a king.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.