About Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa

633 Anton Blvd.
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Bristol

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 546-7405

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Parking Details:
Valet & public lot

Executive Chef:
Nick Foegal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For you next event please contact Shashona Reynolds.
sreynolds@ldry.com
714.546.7405

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Warm Butter Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Vanilla Bean Gelato - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Chocolate Layered Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Warm Buttercake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Petite Filet - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Sweet potato fries - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Onion Rings - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
French Onion Soup - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Creamed Corn - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Chefs Cut Rib Eye W/Creamed Corn And Almond Green Beans - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Big Eye Tuna Tataki - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Warm Bread Basket - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Jumbo Prawn Cocktail - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Cheesecake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Chocolate Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Filet Mignon - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Profiteroles - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Lobster Mashed Potatoes - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Oysters Rockefeller - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Bone-in Rib Eye - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Grilled Rack Of Lamb - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Pretzel Bread - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Chef's Cut Ribeye Chop - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Oysters on the Half Shell - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Pomegranate Martini - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Tomahawk Chop Lobster Mashed Potatoe And Baby Lobster Tail  - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Mastros Martini - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Wagu Tomahalk Chop - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Jumbo Prawns - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Mastro's Sea Food Tower - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Fleur de Blu  - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Butter Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Chocolate Pudding Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Cosmopolitan - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Mastro's Butter Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Rack of Lamb - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Mashed Potatoes - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Bone-In Filet - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
18oz Bone-in Filet - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Creamed Spinach - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Chocolate Sin Cake - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Ribeye Steak, Black Truffle Gnocchi, Lobster Mashed Potatoes - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA
Blue Point Oysters - Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa, Costa Mesa, CA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Make this Valentine's truly extraordinary with dinner at Mastro's. We will be opening at 4:00pm.

Reserve your table today.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mastro’s combines atmosphere, comfort and elegance to create the perfect setting for your next corporate, social or charitable event.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (105)
Good for Anniversaries (95)
Good for a Date (87)
See All
Good for Birthdays (83)
Romantic (76)
Notable Wine List (55)
Business Meals (47)
Live Music (42)
Worth the Drive (39)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Good for Groups (33)
Bar Seating (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Modern Decor (30)
Private Room (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Fun (20)
Hot Spot (17)
Cozy (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Family Style (16)
Happy Hour (15)
People Watching (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Authentic (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Seasonal (9)
Casual (7)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
3523 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were celebrating my grandmothers 94th ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 20 hours ago

We were celebrating my grandmothers 94th birthday and had a wonderful evening start to finish! The host had us seated right away and our server and entire wait staff was extremely friendly and attentive. Wonderful meal, as always!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! I had a great time cel ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was amazing! I had a great time celebrating here! Music is just perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent customer service, great food. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent customer service, great food. Nice ambiance. Will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maestro's never disappoints. We arrived ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

Maestro's never disappoints. We arrived and were greeted right away by courteous staff. The place has plenty of seating and they were able to accommodate us earlier than our reservations. The menu is top notch and as always prepared just to our liking. The waiters are attentive and very knowledgeable. We had a great time and will definitely be making this our new favorite.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak house in OC for sure. It's a ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Best steak house in OC for sure. It's always consistently perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you are looking for a great steak or ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

If you are looking for a great steak or excellent seafood with impeccable service then you won't be disappointed. Mastro's waiters and assistants are among the best in the OC. Arrive early and start your evening with their equally creative and top notch mixologists in the bar.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always fantastic at Costa Mesa Mastro's. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

Always fantastic at Costa Mesa Mastro's. Highly recommend!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent, however ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food and service was excellent, however being seated at a table next to the lounge where a live band was performing made it impossible to hold a conversation with anyone at our table. It would have been nice to have been told this is the table I made reservations for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was outstanding as usual, however, ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was outstanding as usual, however, the service was slow and disorganized. The staff and our server were great, but checked on us a few times and that was it. We didn't like the table we got in the covered patio either. Our waiter did do something very special for our friend's engagement dinner and we were thankful for that. He did bring out 3 desserts with a congratulations message for them. We frequent Mastro's and understand this is more of an isolated experience that it was a busy day. Usually we receive very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Best steaks hands down. Great for that s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Best steaks hands down. Great for that special occasion and service was perfect.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a great dinner! They made it spec ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was a great dinner! They made it special, congratulating us on our anniversary. They even gave us a free desert that was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I got married hear a year ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My husband and I got married hear a year ago and came back for our first anniversary dinner celebration. We had a wonderful time.

Services was wonderful.

Shashona Reynolds was our event coordinator and awesome. She took the time to great us and made it that much more special.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Great Beer, Cozy, Modern Decor, Live Sports, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Private Room, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for our anniversary and the st ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Came here for our anniversary and the steaks we're on point!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was unimpressive. Our server ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The service was unimpressive. Our server splattered the cocktail as she was refilling. There was very little effort made by the server to form a connection with us, everything seemed very passive.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I made reservations for my boyfriend's 2 ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I made reservations for my boyfriend's 22nd birthday dinner. The live music set a nice mood but it was too loud. We started off with sauteed scallops and the lobster bisque and it was extremely heavy for the appetizers. I got the seabass and my boyfriend got the porterhouse steak which was very flavorful but we both could not finish it because it was very heavy. I wish I had something to eat on the side that was more light and refreshing. The birthday special cake we had kind of tasted like playdough. Service was good, nothing too special.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Server named Shane and hosts treated us ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Server named Shane and hosts treated us like second class citizens, it took over 15 minutes just to finally come back and take our order and then another 15 just to get our check. Host did not seem too happy to seat us. It's funny because just to get our check we were not even realized by our own server either. For a $$$$ restaurant I would at least expect top notch service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Horrible service

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Horrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Food as always was great. I feel like se ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food as always was great. I feel like service was a bit slow - waitress was very nice and energetic, but we felt a bit neglected compared to the times we've come in the past.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

My steak was burned. The salad was too b ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 2, 2017

My steak was burned.

The salad was too big.

The soup was too big for one person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Chef's cut ribeye chop was undercooked. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Chef's cut ribeye chop was undercooked. Lamb was on the dry side. Lobster mash potato had less lobsters than before. And our waiter forgot to box up our leftover appetizer. :(

We had our New Year's Day dinner here, felt that this restaurant is going down. Their quality has declined throughout past years. Not considering to return to this place anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

I truly love the experience I have when ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I truly love the experience I have when I eat here. The service is amazing and the food and drinks are even better. I never leave without ordering their signature dessert, butter cake. Their drinks always have a healthy pour and last the evening. They even have a great wine list for the wine enthusiast. I look forward to my next dinner there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for New Year's Eve and had a ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went there for New Year's Eve and had a great time in the lounge area. Fantastic service and great food as always.

Tags: Private Room, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding as usual. Service and food w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outstanding as usual. Service and food was exceptional

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NYE celebration!! What a wonderful even ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

NYE celebration!! What a wonderful evening, with exceptional service. Food was out of this world! I had the Japanese Wagyu 8oz--expensive (for me) but so worth it! I would totally order it again! And of course had to have the famous butter cream cake!! "Sweet!" In more ways than one. We were able to be there through midnight...got to count down in style, with compliment champagne!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great up until we got our ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was great up until we got our food. HORRIBLE! If im going to spend $300 on dinner I expect the best. Never wasting my money here again. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Best steak and sides ever! Can't wait to ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best steak and sides ever! Can't wait to dine here again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last time I go to this Mastro's (Costa M ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Last time I go to this Mastro's (Costa Mesa). Service is not up to par at this location. I requested several times to be in the main dining room but was located in the busy hallway. On my Open Table request I indicated if they were unable to seat me in the main dining area then cancel the reservation. Confirmed one day before with a positive response. It didn't happen. Go to the Newport or Beverly Hills locations, much better.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Had New Years dinner at Mastros. Food , ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had New Years dinner at Mastros. Food , service, bar, drinks, ambiance were fantastic. Nice live entertainment in the bar area, made the night very fun. Couldn't have picked a better spot for New Year's Eve.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. A leisurely enjo ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was excellent. A leisurely enjoyable dinner. Steak was superb. Server described doneness perfectly. Beans were great. Scalloped potatoes need to be cooked a little more. Butter cake was good. We sat in a covered patio which remained comfortable even when the outside temperature was very cold. The portable heaters worked great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Delicious dinner on NYE. Restaurant had ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious dinner on NYE. Restaurant had black and silver balloons all over and was very festive. Our meal was cooked perfectly and service very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ribeye was ordered medium but served ver ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ribeye was ordered medium but served very rare. Disappointing at a high level restaurants, but server tried to make right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is definitely worth it. Food ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This place is definitely worth it. Food is top notch, service is excellent, valet is great, and you just feel looked after very well during your stay. Recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter BJ was awesome. I just wish w ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our waiter BJ was awesome. I just wish we our table was inside not in the extension area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Tonight's dinning was very disappointing ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Tonight's dinning was very disappointing. This would be my first

Time at your Costa Mesa location where I have experienced such poor service. Patricia our server was not attentive to our table at all. We felt ignored and under value. Our waters were not even refilled, until about 40 mins later. The dirty and finished plates were not being cleared as well. When our main course got delivered to us, Patricia did not once check in to see if needed anything. I had to ask other staff members to get our server just to ask for something. By the time she came

With it my meat was cold, so it was not even good anymore. It's just very disappointing to pay so much money for good food and better server but receive none at all. Tonight's dinning experience left a bitter taste in my mouth. I hope we can find some way to resolve this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Went to Mastro's Costa Mesa for special ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went to Mastro's Costa Mesa for special occasion with family. Food was beyond amazing. Steaks were cooked perfectly. Seafood was great as well. Our waiter, Dennis was very informative, friendly and accommodating. Fantastic service! Can't wait to go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious meal. Ordered the petite filet ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Delicious meal. Ordered the petite filet, ribeye steak and lobster tail. Everything was prepared perfectly as we like meat medium rare. The Mastro's house salad was crispy and refreshing. Also ordered the mac'n cheese. It was okay but a bit on the dry side so won't order it again. The butter cake was amazing! Definitely going back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A nice dinner but a few flaws. Being ca ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A nice dinner but a few flaws. Being carded as near 40yr olds is just silly. Two different servers was clumsy. Then to top it off i ordered a martini and they left the strainer at the table which is basically ice water at that point and she poured the remainder into my half finished martini before i could stop her. Good intentions but just lack of knowledge. Food was excellent as usual.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Delicious food but very very noisy. I we ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Delicious food but very very noisy. I went with my elderly parents and they could not hear the conversation at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

We had our aniversary dinner last night. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had our aniversary dinner last night. And the service was really bad! The server was not accommodating at all!!! after he took our order and served our food. He didn't come back to our table anymore and check us what else do we need etc etc and no one refills our water! And the worst part , we were still eating when the server came to our table and he placed 2 steaks knives beside us and told us we have a take out for you guys!!!! He acted like he wanted us to leave and he doesn't want to serve our complimentary anniversary cake!!! My wife wanted to order shrimp cocktail but i said No because i felt they are ignoring us but we're still waiting for our cocktail drinks for more than 15mins already!!!We don't deserved to pay $230+××+ to have this kind of service or treatment! And not only that my wife asked him to take pictures and he said wait and he ran after he got the bill never come back to our table again and someone did it for us! I don't know what's wrong with him, why he was so rude to us! I should brought my wife at mortons and have a good quality service and deserve to pay $230++++ I will not going to celebrate my bday here in two weeks from now, I already changed my mind. Terrible service! And last thing the steak mu husband ordered was burned like hell.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.