About Mastro's Steakhouse - Beverly Hills

246 N. Canon Drive
Beverly Hills, CA 90210
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Wilshire

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 888-8782

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Parking Details:
Valet only.

Executive Chef:
Walter Mayen

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Kristina Amad for your next event.
kamad@ldry.com
310.888.8782

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
For the man who deserves the best...
Make this Father's Day a celebration to remember with Mastro's Restaurants.

Private Dining

From 2 to 500 guests, Mastro’s courteous and professional staff can provide an unforgettable experience for you and your guests. The private dining rooms offer the perfect setting for every type of event, with additional options such as a large flat screen television and audio visual components.

Mastro's Steakhouse - Beverly Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Los Angeles
Steakhouse
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Most Booked
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in Beverly Hills ›

special occasion (221)
romantic (140)
hot spot (125)
See All
fit for foodies (119)
good for groups (107)
vibrant bar scene (90)
notable wine list (84)
late-night find (40)
neighborhood gem (29)
great for lunch (15)
great for outdoor dining (12)
scenic view (11)
great for brunch (7)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
3246 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious

Dined 3 days ago

Great food, great for special occasions. I would recommend to friends and family .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time experience changed my life. I ...

Dined 5 days ago

First time experience changed my life. I love this place and would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a nice date on an occasion or just a normal date night

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Front desk lady( just one) Rude. I did n ...

Dined 6 days ago

Front desk lady( just one) Rude. I did not like the way she spoke to me. But loved my at the table!

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The Management has squeezed in additiona ...

Dined 6 days ago

The Management has squeezed in additional tables to make it seem crowded! So much for ambiance!

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Husband loved it!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent Food! My husband loved his Ribeye Steak. The sides were delicious and the server was great. He was personable and explained things to us. We had a great birthday celebration! We would recommend to others and return.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Gerard was excellent

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Our server Gerard was excellent

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

A little too hip for me but the food was ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

A little too hip for me but the food was good as was the service. But you pay mightily for it.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

Food was delicious, scenario was great u ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Food was delicious, scenario was great unfortunately our waitress did not service us. She gave us attitude and never check up on us. We came in at 8:30 and didn't leave til 11:30 not because we wanted to stay the 3 hours there but because the waitress didn't service us. My boyfriend asked for a sample of the wine, she just left it down and left not telling us which is which. Then when we asked to order she gave us attitude. She disappeared for the remaining period. When I asked for anything it was from the guys that brought food out to us. When we wanted to order dessert she gave us the menu and left for almost an hour and didn't come back so I decided to ask someone else to take out order. I believe that other steak houses have better service that Mastro's, I would never recommend this restaurant to anyone. I would rather go else where than to be treated like I'm not wanted there.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Good, but pricey

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent steak, and good sides. Lobster mashed potatoes good, not great. Service was good. Top Steakhouses are expensive (about $150 per person after tax and tip, without liquor or extravagant ordering); this is just the way it is. I am not a fan of the crowd or the ambience, but that is subjective of course.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time at Mastros. I had a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It was my first time at Mastros. I had an open mind. I really enjoyed the live music. The singers were awesome. It was nice to hear newer music. The food was also very good. My wife's steak was a little more well done than she preferred. But i told her who orders a steak well done anyways. But other than that was a great place. Made for a nice anniversary dinner. Service was wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Here's a few things to know about this p ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Here's a few things to know about this place before coming: 1. Space is tight, they fill up the dining room tables on the second floor and you're crammed into a small space. If you do an open table reservation, you'll be placed on second floor. First floor has more room and probably need to call to get a spot there. 2. It is dark. The type of dark where you can't see your menu without using your phone and you can't see your food. This is a huge problem for me since presentation is part of the food experience. 3. Ambiance is loud. The restaurant is large and there are competing sounds. You will be shouting to be heard across the table. 4. The steak will not be as good as you think it will or should be. At steakhouses, I typically get the ribeye since it is usually it is tender and flavorful. Not here. The chef's choice for the ribeye was tough, had no fat and had sinew surrounding the entire piece. I had asked for it to be served on a hot plate, which they forgot to do. There was no Maillard crusting typically found in high end steak restaurants and I confirmed this when I brought it home and could see it under proper light. They stated that their meat was in "top 2%, aged for 28 days on house rub", but it's taste was flat and somehow dry. 5. The steak knives are dull. We went through two rounds of asking the server to bring a knife that could cut through the meat before giving up. This seems ridiculous for a restaurant that calls itself a steakhouse. A few good things about this place: 1. Service is good - the waiters are attentive and kind. 2. Appetizers were delicious, I recommend the foie gras and the oysters. 3. Soups were excellent. The portions were large and well seasoned. The lobster bisque wasn't over salted like it typically is and the French onion soup was decadent. TL;DR - Came to Mastro's expecting life changing steak, was severely disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great, as usual. But expensive.

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great, as usual. But expensive.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had reservations in the dining room but ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Had reservations in the dining room but bar-tendress was so awesome, we stayed for dinner in her area. Wonderful service from her. Halibut and salmon were awesome...brussel sprouts were yummy too. Wines by the glass.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Still the best steak I've ever had! Visi ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Still the best steak I've ever had! Visited during a business trip and took my coworker with me and she's still raving about her meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had great time will come back soon 😘

Dined on May 11, 2016

Had great time will come back soon 😘

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice meal

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Husband and I started with Oysters Rockefeller - very tasty as was the bread brought before the meal. I enjoyed my Caesar Salad and French Onion Soup. My husband's steak could have used a touch more seasoning. We ordered the garlic mashed potatoes, but we didn't taste any garlic. The sauteed asparagus with garlic, butter and Parmesan really tasted fantastic. The chocolate cake with house whipped cream was tasty too. Will definitely return to Mastro's.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was amazing! I have never or ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The server was amazing! I have never ordered a steak other than medium rare, but he recommended that I get the grade a5 wagyu beef medium rare with a slight char, as it NEEDED the extra heat to release the flavor. BOY was he right! Amazing service and steak!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on May 9, 2016

We enjoyed every element of our experience at Mastro's, from the food (all courses--even the bread!), to the wine, to the excellent service. Will most definitely be visiting again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful tasting food with great size p ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful tasting food with great size portions and unmatched customer service

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

If not as bad as Maestro NYC, maybe even worse

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

What a joke. Its amazing to know that establishments can be just as bad if not worse across the country. Thats why I usually steer away from Corporate chain steakhouses/restaurants bc its all the same BS. Mediocre food, horrible service where they just rob you of your money for ridiculous priced cuts of steak or food dishes. Whoever thinks wet aged steaks is the way, your obviously been told wrong. Wet aged steaks are tasteless, filled of flavorless juices and tend to be tough and chewier than dry aged steaks. My rib eye was consumed by so much marbling I couldn't even eat HALF my steak. My friends Strip had no flavor and was as well consumed with veins and marbling, to much to chew. My other friends Filet was just as boring if not more boring and tasteless than both my friends and my steak. They shoved us in a corner table where we were ignored by staff who seemed to care more about texting and conversation with other staff than paying attention to the patrons paying their bills. Maestro's in NYC was just as bad, but at least there the service was a little more attentive and not as laid back as Maestros in LA. This shouldn't be named a steakhouse bc they OBVIOUSLY don't specialize in steaks. 0-3 for me on Maestro's and they couldn't pay me to go and try a 4th time. Its a shame places like this stay in operation for as long as they do. Straight highway robbery if you ask me.. Or cuisine robbery... Thanks for nothing Maestro's, but you'll never rob me of my $ anymore. Lesson learned and accepted.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was a cool place. Sever was a bit o ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

It was a cool place. Sever was a bit over bearing and sarcastic to the uncomfortable point but the food was good and the ambiance was nice.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great dining experience; the food and se ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great dining experience; the food and service was excellent! The noise level was a little too loud for me but my son enjoyed the live band and the piano bar.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food always fantastic. Noisy but really ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Food always fantastic. Noisy but really fun !!! Great for special occasions too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good but needs to be Great

Dined on May 4, 2016

Kind of loud at an early reservation time-7:15pm because of their live music. The steak my wife ordered was over-cooked. At a $100+ per person check average, I feel the steak should have been perfect. It was my second time there and I really like Mastro's so the next time I go, I will ask to make sure the steak temperature is correct. The service was good but I seemed to have to wait longer on a few things than I would expect at a restaurant of this caliber. As I said, I like Mastros but I want them to be better. Having been a waiter for 15 years, I think I am pretty objective about what are reasonable expectations.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a must

Dined on May 3, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in LA! Always outstanding service delicious food and great ambiance. I recommend the filet mignon medium rare since it comes in a very hot plate that keeps cooking it and sugar snap peas.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still the best of the best

Dined on May 1, 2016

L.A. foodies endlessly debate what's the best steakhouse. It's a pastime. For my money (and I've been to Mastro's too many times to count), it's still the best combination of quality, service, and energy. The drinks are stiff, the portions are huge, and the "scene" is very entertaining. Utopia for people watching. I could eat their Gorgonzola Mac and their Butter Cake until I explode.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

food and service were both very good. Lo ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

food and service were both very good. Lobster Mashed potato is a must! Probably my favorite part of the meal. We tried the bone in filet, rib eye, and the porterhouse. The rib eye was probably my favorite. Only thing that bothered me was that The dining area was very dark - almost ran into a chair getting to our table. Halfway through our meal they turned on the music and it was very loud.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

REVIEW

Dined on April 30, 2016

The restaurant is great but the check process needs much attention. it's very chaotic to get to the desk to check in. Been there many times & even after people have checked in they still tend to stand at the desk hindering others from checking in. Also process to check in is very slow even when there are 2 people at the desk. I feel like if you make a reservation and still must wait for your table after you check in the restaurant as a courtesy should offer a complementary drink of some sort. I've always made reservations but still arrive on time & still have to wait 15 to 30 mins to be seated. Other than that restaurant is great & love it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding period!!! 👍🏻

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Outstanding period!!! 👍🏻

food5
ambience5
service5

100% hands down just an awesome place!

Dined on April 29, 2016

100% hands down just an awesome place!

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect tastes along with a perfect ambi ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Perfect tastes along with a perfect ambiance

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

A B. Hills Scene

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

I used to go a bunch on the aughts, also visited Mastro's in Scottsdale, loved the steaks and seabass. Just moved back to LA and made the reservation. Vibe and service were better, but the food -- at least for us -- had dropped a notch since my previous visits. The restaurant is still solid, but comparing it to a decade ago, not on par.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome food and great service

Dined on April 25, 2016

There aren't many restaurants left in town that are really "old school" - meaning that not only is the food exquisite, but the service it outstanding - from keeping your water glass filled to crumbing the table between courses, to a personalized birthday treat at the end - it took the recommendation of several friends to get us to go the first time - now we're hooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special evening

Dined on April 24, 2016

we were not familiar with Mastros when we found it on opentable and made reservations for our 17rh wedding anniversary. But it was obviously known by others on a very busy Sat night. For good reason , perfect steaks, maybe the best Ceasar salad I have ever had, light but with incredible flavor, great atmosphere and top service. We will absolutely be back

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Two Visits In 1 Week

Dined on April 24, 2016

I've been going to Mastro's for over a decade, having visited 5 of their locations. My favorite has always been the BH location though, it just has an energy and vibe that the others can't match. In the last week I visited the BH location twice, once for business and the other for pleasure. Unfortunately, as the years have passed by, the overall quality has begun to fall off, and I've begun to lose my appetite for the restaurant. This poor impression isn't just a recent event as I've been noticing the downward spiral in quality over the last 18 months or so. The place is as popular as ever, so it doesn't seem to be hurting their business. Too bad, maybe losing clientele would help them to remedy the situation. The food is still good, but not great, now seemingly prepared and served in a ho-hum manner without any finesse; it's as if the kitchen and wait staff are just going through the motions. Service is now less attentive, with servers seemingly more interested in turning over tables as opposed to providing great service. Attention to detail seems to be a thing of the past, as orders on the last two occasions were not filled as requested. And drinks (Mastro's Margaritas) that used to serve 1 1/2 glasses, barely having enough in the shaker to top off a few sips. There's little doubt that food costs have gone up over the years, especially the cost of meat, so it's not surprising to see per-ticket prices rise in any good restaurant. In fact I'm happy to pay a premium to be in a great atmosphere, eat great food, and experience great service. But paying $16 for butter cake (butter/flour/sugar/eggs/buttermilk) is a reach in terms of price-point, especially since it takes far more time and costlier ingredients to make some of their other deserts that they charge less for. And having several sub-par experiences, especially on back-to-back visits, in a place that so frequently exceeded expectations, has left me looking for my next favorite restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome

Dined on April 23, 2016

From the Door MAN to the server it was a great night my wife loved it will be back

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food, incredible service!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Great Food, incredible service!

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Dessert mix up

Dined on April 22, 2016

Unfortunately we were given the chocolate cake instead of the butter cake, as we had requested, for my husbands birthday. We don't mind being charged for the right dessert and we were disappointed. Since we were on a time crunch to get home to our little ones (and let our sitter go) we didn't say anything, but it was a let down. Our waiter didn't check in a lot with us so we didn't want to risk waiting another 30 minutes for it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The finest as always . Rino, the waiter ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

The finest as always . Rino, the waiter is amazing and everyone team work at best . We can never have enough . See you soon .

food5
ambience5
service5

Jared was awesome

Dined on April 21, 2016

Jared was awesome

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.