About Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse

6991 E. Camelback Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Goldwater

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 941-4700

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
George Harrison

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Suzi Ayers for your next event.
sayers@mastrosrestaurants.com
480.596.5250

Restaurant Photos

CrÚme brullée
French Onion Soup With French Bread
Tanquray And Tonic
Porto Flight
Twin Lobster
Ahi tuna
Lobster Bisque
Strip Side Of Porterhouse Steak
porterhouse steak
Tenderloin Side Porterhouse Steak
Chilean Seabass
Sauteed Asparagus
Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Bread
Bone-In Ribeye
The Porterhouse Steak
Shrimp Cocktail
Iceberg Wedge
Fresh Hot Pretzel Bread
Mastro's House Salad With Tiger Shrimp
Creamed Spinach
Basil Bloody Mary
18oz Bone-in Filet
Wedge (split for two)
Warm Buttercake
Petite Filet
Jumbo Lump Crab Stuffed Mushrooms
Roasted brussels sprouts
Alaskan King Crab Black Truffle Gnocchi
Wedge Salad
Bone Marro
Wedge Salad w/ Blue Cheese
Sauteed Shrimp
Bone In Ribeye
Martini
Oysters

Private Dining

Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse combines atmosphere, comfort and elegance for the perfect setting for your next corporate, social or charitable event. Our private dining rooms offer the perfect setting for every type of event for groups of 10 to 500 guests. It's an unforgettable experience!

Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Phoenix / Arizona
Steakhouse
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale â€ș

special occasion (101)
romantic (68)
notable wine list (52)
See All
vibrant bar scene (48)
hot spot (37)
fit for foodies (34)
good for groups (33)
late-night find (10)
neighborhood gem (9)
great for outdoor dining (7)
scenic view (4)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1577 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

SO good!!! Wonderful service and such go ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

SO good!!! Wonderful service and such good food!!! BUTTER CAKE was the BEST😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always- it was fantastic! I've never ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

As always- it was fantastic! I've never had a bad meal here. Bobby provided excellent customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seating is to close to other people. I p ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

Seating is to close to other people. I prefer an intimate setting to enjoy my partners company. Waitress was more interested in helping the table beside us because he was handing her cash every time she got him something. Not the memorable experience that I was hoping for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The finest restaurant in the Phoenix met ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

The finest restaurant in the Phoenix metro. A fine dining (steakhouse) gem. Excellent service and very, very high quality food cooked masterfully. Many people are intimidated by the price/reputation, but it is worth it. Fantastic for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing food! The bone-in filet just mel ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Amazing food! The bone-in filet just melts in your mouth. I can't wait to visit again. I plan on dining at the Washington DC location now that I know it exists. Mastro's makes Morton's and Ruth's Chris look like Texas Roadhouse. Definitely the best steakhouse I've ever been to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing, as usual. You pay for it but it ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing, as usual. You pay for it but it's worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, noisy bar, singer off-key...b ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Good food, noisy bar, singer off-key...but a fun place to enjoy food with friends if you don't mind the bill!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

WE HAVE SIX MARRIED CHILDREN AND WHENEVE ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

WE HAVE SIX MARRIED CHILDREN AND WHENEVER HUSBAND'S BIRTHDAY OCCURS, WE TAKE THE HUSBAND AND SPOUSE TO MASTRO'S FOR STEAK.. IT'S A HIGHLIGHT FOR ALL THE COUPLES.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Phoenix. Excel ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Phoenix. Excellent food and service! Oysters, Bone-in Filet and Butter Cake for dessert. The even called me the following week to make sure I was happy with everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is absolutely amazing!!! My s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This place is absolutely amazing!!! My son said he would fly to Scottsdale just to dine here again. Made me laugh because there is one in Newport Beach close to us❀

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always my first choice for a quality ste ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Always my first choice for a quality steak dinner. The butter cake is must have to finish off a perfect meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over-priced, over-rated, snobby, boring, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Over-priced, over-rated, snobby, boring, great service, boring bar, unoriginal menu.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Great food and bar scene! Steak was amaz ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food and bar scene! Steak was amazing. Would go back for sure.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. Amazing food. Had a g ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great atmosphere. Amazing food. Had a great time Can't wait to go back

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was the best part. Our serve ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The service was the best part. Our server was outstanding. The food was good but not better than other steak houses. The lobster bisque was just average, way too oily. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We have eaten at City Hall before and ha ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have eaten at City Hall before and have been pleased. Our experience was a little disappointing. Two steaks were over cooked and two fish dinners over cooked. The second go around the steak was fantastic and the fish was way undercooked. Little disappointed overall especially at the prices we were paying. No constipation at all. We are not people to complain. There was a dish that we did not even complain about because she was so hungry. Not sure we will be going back, sorry to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was going well at dinner unti ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything was going well at dinner until our friend who was with us for dinner almost swallowed a big piece of glass in his drink. Thought is was ice aand bit down on it and it was glass. Fortunately he did not swallow it. It was a big piece of glass. Dinner was good but everyone of us was a little shook up.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Veal chop, scalloped potatoes, & butterc ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Veal chop, scalloped potatoes, & buttercake were top-notch! Halibut was fresh, but over cooked. In all fairness, only Alaskans know how to cook halibut! Having lived there for 30 years, we know halibut goes from done to over cooked in 30 seconds! I will order the veal chop next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Worth every penny!! So glad we finally m ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Worth every penny!! So glad we finally made it ! Perfect for a date night when you have 6 kids and need to spend some adult time

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I expected and received a bill at least ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I expected and received a bill at least twice the cost it should have been. We went early so virtually no noise. Excellent service. Too much cheese in the scalloped potatoes and it seemed like the chef used meat tenderizer on our steaks. This was our second time there. Well, my curiosity has now been satisfied.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I've dined at Mastro's before at this lo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I've dined at Mastro's before at this location as well as Los Angeles. I took my father there as his Father's Day gift and was a little disappointed. Although our steaks are usually amazing, they were rather salty on Tuesday. At first I thought maybe it was the lobster mashed potatoes but then when I tried each separately I realized it was the steak. Thinking it was just my steak I kept it to myself. Only until my father said the same about his and then my mother said the same. Again, the food there is usually amazing, however this wasn't a great first impression for my dad. Unfortunately, due to time constraints that evening we didn't have time to send them back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We have had several meals here and it is ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We have had several meals here and it is always top notch. The service and food is always perfect. Our favorite part of the Mastros restaurants is the warm butter cake that is absolutely to die for. We will always return!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was excellent and service frien ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our food was excellent and service friendly and attentive. Frustration: the dining room was half empty, but we were seated immediately next to a large party. We were so close to their table, that every time the servers walked by to assist them, the back of my chair got hit by the servers. By the end of my night, I would guess I was bumped into about 25 times. It had a very negative affect on my evening, but I did not want to upset my daughter's birthday dinner by asking to move. There were many open tables in the room that could easily have accommodated our party of 6 without this discomfort.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

This restaraunt provided great service a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This restaraunt provided great service according to the occasion and was professional throughout.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE GO TO MASTRO'S CITY HALL FOR NEARLY A ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

WE GO TO MASTRO'S CITY HALL FOR NEARLY ALL SPECIAL OCCASION DINNERS AND WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED. THIS WAS FOR FATHER'S DAY AS WELL AS A BELATED BIRTHDAY FOR MY WIFE. WE NEARLY ALWAYS GET THE FILETS AND THEY WERE EXCELLENT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Garey was great! Nice, funn ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our waiter, Garey was great! Nice, funny, attentive.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife as we're doing the post kid ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Took my wife as we're doing the post kids awesome places to eat in Phoenix tour. She was quite impressed with the food and service which were both amazing. The wagyu ribeye was off the charts as was the tour of seafood. The only thing that I could complain about is my old eyes had a hard time reading the menu. Somebody needs to invent a backlit menu for over 40's. The wife and I wore some nice clothes, nothing extravagant due to the attire requirements but many people were wearing t-shirts and jeans with no issue. I will definitely return once every few months for a great steak and some awesome seafood.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our last few visits to City Hall have be ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our last few visits to City Hall have been better than great! The food and service has been better than it has been since they were purchased by Landry's. For a while it seem like they not only lost focus on service but on their great food as well. Well... again that seems to be a thing of the past. Steaks are back on point but more importantly the vibe and service seems to be back to superb! We always ask for Allen and his team to be our servers and he will make sure you have a wonderful dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I enjoyed my experience at Mastros, from ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I enjoyed my experience at Mastros, from the customer service to the food. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat in between 2 couples and the serv ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We sat in between 2 couples and the service we received vs them was subpar. When they brought out our food, they did not serve it on our plates. We had to scoop our own food out. The couples next to us got their food scooped, not us. The other times I visited I got my food scooped onto my plate as well so I know this is common protocol here. When they brought dessert to us, they didn't bring out utensils or plates until after 10 mins. The waitress came by and noticed so she said she would be right back but when she got back, she only brought out spoons so we had to eat off one plate. By this time the cream had melted so it was not as great dessert experience. The couples next to us got both plates and utensils with their dessert. We were definitely treated different. We come here to celebrate our anniversary every year and after this experience we will choose to take our business elsewhere. Food is great but service was lacking.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Food is extremely overpriced

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

What you’re paying for is the white linen table cloth, the waiters dressed in white, good service without attitude, you can make the same food at home for way less half the cost, 34 dollars for chicken and it had no flavor and was dry. I guess this is why it’s based in Scottsdale I don’t know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

The piano bar is loud, which made for a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The piano bar is loud, which made for a fun, energetic evening for my group. However, if you wanted an ambiance that promotes good conversation, I would opt for the dining room. The performers were fantastic! The food was great, some not exactly what I expected but still wonderful. Very generous portions, we took lots home and ate the next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A amazing service great food really had ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

A amazing service great food really had a wonderful birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Steakhouse in Scottsdale

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

From the appetizers to the steaks to the hot butter cake, City Hall Grill is the best steakhouse in Scottsdale -- and its not even close.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The service is impeccable. The food fantastic. It is a place we always have to visit whenever we come into town. Even our children love the food. The ambiance is just right.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We came here for my boyfriends birthday. Everything was perfect. Great food, fast service.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very loud in the piano bar even during t ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Very loud in the piano bar even during the week. Choose the dining room if you want to be able to have a conversation. Very good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food were outstanding!!! ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Service and food were outstanding!!! And the entertainment in bar had amazing voices!!! I'll be back on my next trip for sure😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We go to Maerstro's City Hall on special occasions and this time was even better than the others. Exceptional food and service that made it worth the price. Tried the bone marrow appetizer for the first time and loved it. You won't be dissappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The crab and lobster were prepared to pe ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The crab and lobster were prepared to perfection!

Very much appreciated the call 3 days later, thanking us for our business!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.