About Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse

6991 E. Camelback Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Goldwater

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 941-4700

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
George Harrison

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Suzi Ayers for your next event.
sayers@mastrosrestaurants.com
480.596.5250

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
For the man who deserves the best...
Make this Father's Day a celebration to remember with Mastro's Restaurants.

Private Dining

Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse combines atmosphere, comfort and elegance for the perfect setting for your next corporate, social or charitable event. Our private dining rooms offer the perfect setting for every type of event for groups of 10 to 500 guests. It's an unforgettable experience!

Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Phoenix / Arizona
Steakhouse
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

special occasion (166)
romantic (102)
notable wine list (99)
See All
vibrant bar scene (97)
fit for foodies (83)
hot spot (76)
good for groups (73)
great for outdoor dining (24)
late-night find (18)
neighborhood gem (12)
scenic view (10)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Although we had a dining room reservatio ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Although we had a dining room reservation, we opted to eat in the bar so we could watch Diamondbacks/Yankees game. After cocktails ordered steaks and side dishes. NY Strip was not a very good cut of meat (very fatty) and came out very rare (vs. medium rare order). Overall a very mediocre high priced meal.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. I set up a lot of bus ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Love this place. I set up a lot of business dinners here. This past one was with our associates from China

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A great, elegant, delicious food establ ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

A great, elegant, delicious food establishment that can't be beat!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience and meal! One ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a great experience and meal! One of our favorite places. It has become a tradition for our family!

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

More Organic Options Please!

Dined on May 14, 2016

For the price of the steak I was expecting all natural, grass fed, no hormone or antibiotic meat. Instead they use USDA Choice meat.(you can find at Walmart) Which is corn(most genetically modified plant) fed and has lots of antibiotics and hormones. I just wish they had more options for people that actually care about what they put in there bodies!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were both amazing, I wo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food and service were both amazing, I would highly recommend eating here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite steakhouse in Scottsdale, o ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Our favorite steakhouse in Scottsdale, or anywhere for that matter. Expensive of course, but worth the splurge. Service is top notch. Don't miss the Butter Cake - amazing!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food, great service. Crazy expensive.

Dined on May 12, 2016

Good food, great service. Crazy expensive. I would recommend, if you don't have a budget.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Consistent!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Mastro's has always been consistent with their food, service, drinks and ambiance - nobody does it as good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Just an OK visit

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I've been a Mastros customer for 10+ years and the past couple times, this one included, the meat quality has been just OK. I used to rave about "no better steak around" but I'm getting worried that the Landry group (new owners) has cheapened up the cut of meat. I ordered the bone in rib eye this and last visit and basically same results - tough, chewy and very high fat percentage. Manager called me the next day and offered a free steak at next visit saying "bad cut" so we'll see how next visit goes. Going to hold back further recommendations until proven out.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not as good as acticipated

Dined on May 9, 2016

The restaurant was much louder and congested than anticipated. The veal chop was not of high quality, tough veins running through it. Our waiter did offer to replace the chop. The restaurant was not as expected.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food, missing on some of the details

Dined on May 9, 2016

City Hall, tight quarters as you enter the seating floor, squeezing between the tables to be seated. There were several things that came up during dinner that you wouldn't expect from and restaurant of this caliber. Little things like placing warm plates during the salad course, selecting from the wine list and being told that "wine not available, do you have another selection" The service was rushed with constant interruptions while trying to engage in conversation with table guest. What they may feel is attentive (Refilling your water glass after every sip) is really annoying and you then stop drinking from your water glass. Table conversation shouldn't turn to worrying what the "Ninja's" are doing around you during dinner. The food was terrific, Chopped salad delicious, and the steak was prepared perfect and was fabulous. Butter cake will kill you as you cant stop eating it. But when paying a ~$500 bill, you would not expect to see a $3 upcharge on your Manhattan. Having your drink changed up without requesting it is odd, and if you had run out of the whiskey listed on the drink menu, then the additional cost should not come to the consumer. So, they stuck me for $3. Hard to believe. Previous dinning experiences here were not this stressful and chaotic.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

It's a great experience every time. The ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

It's a great experience every time. The food is always outstanding and make sure you save room for the butter cake. My only suggestion would be to raise the lights a bit or at least around the tables. When every table gets their cell phone out to turn the flashlight on to read the menu, it brings down the ambiance of the place. That doesn't stop us from going back again and again but it's something to consider.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daughter's Special Evening

Dined on May 8, 2016

Reservations for my daughter and her prom date. "Alan" took excellent care of them and gave them an exceptional experience to remember. The kids enjoyed their meal and acknowledged that it was the best restaurant they had ever dined in. My wife and I enjoyed our alone time as well in the bar area while we waited for the kids. We all had a wonderful time and will be back again and again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

My group had a great time, our servers w ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

My group had a great time, our servers were amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5

From the welcome we got as we drove up t ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

From the welcome we got as we drove up to the front of the restaurant until we walked out to pick up our car, the experiencee was beyond wonderful. There were three of us, Washington state, Australia, and semi local, and we all agreed that this was one of the best meals we all have had in quite a while. The absolute topping on the cake was our waiter, Corell, who was charming, so easy to communicate with, very knowledgeable about the food and drink, but most notable was how he treated us like we were the most important people in the world. The food was tastefully prepared. I had the Salmon, grilled and my guests split the lamb. We shared the creamed spinach and scalloped potatoes. For dessert we all shared the cheesecake which was very large. All in all a wonderful meal and evening, and will definitely return.

food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Service off the mark this time

Dined on May 1, 2016

We dined on Saturday 7:00 we were in back dining room . Our server was Andrew and he had several bus- assistants . We ordered 2 cups of coffee and finished them quickly. They were never filled again , assistants walked by and appeared to look at them but never asked or brought more . Dinner served and we recieved 1 check back to see how it was going . I think Andrew was in charge of all the tables in that area 8-10 ? Which is far to many for a restaurant that is 2nd to none and I think just too busy to give city halls normal service bar none . Our bill for 3 was about 350.00 no alcohol this time

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Poor Srever Attitude

Dined on April 24, 2016

Was celebrating birthday dinner of wife and son, party of 5. My daughter asked me to pass the pepper. When I reached across table, my watch hit the center lamp. The shade from the flimsy lamp fell off and knocked over a glass of water. Our main server (female) arrived and immediately stated "what happened"? She said it in a chastising and authoritative tone and had a scowled face. I immediately apologized and was somewhat embarrassed. She was obviously upset, and made it clear to all of us that I had inconvenienced her. During the evening, she seemed hurried and and not very sincere about providing us with good service. For example...... When she rattled off the nights dinner specials, she was looking at other tables around the room - almost as if she was playing a tape recorder. She talked so fast, she sounded like an auctioneer. None in our part had a clue as to what the specials truly were. Poor eye contact, hurried tone and was eager to move on to other tables. As the night ended,m y son made a comment in a joking tone.......how I had been "slapped down" by the waitress for spilling the water.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a small world!

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was my first visit to this Mastro's, but my third visit to any Mastro's. NONE of them disappoint! The food is always top notch and consistent. Steaks are cooked perfectly to order. I had the pepper NY Strip - it was perfectly blackened, not overdone but flavorful. My colleague got the regular NY Strip and hers was excellent as well. Their wine list is exciting and cocktails perfectly balanced. I am certified by WSET, so it was a fun surprise that our server Michael was a sommelier and made excellent wine recommendations. Our other server, Brian, is actually from a small suburb of Rochester, NY near where I currently live and where my dad grew up! Both were charming and engaging and provided excellent service. I take my employees to Mastro's to show them the level of service I expect them to provide and we were not disappointed. To top it all off, we ended our meal with their BUTTER CAKE, which is reason enough for everyone to go to Mastro's. Michael paired it w/ a Hungarian Tokai, which was an out of this world pairing. If you are anywhere near any Mastro's, I highly suggest you make it a point to go!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Richard Morrison

Dined on April 21, 2016

Service as usual was excellent and first class. I ordered a boneless rib eye which was quite tough, certainly not worth the hefty price. My wife and son were very pleased with their food though. I did mention my feelings to our server and she was gracious and apologetic. Manager did deduct 1/2 the steak price which I felt was fair. I did not even hint at some sort of a discount so we were quite grateful. Our bill totaled almost $300. with $50 tip for three of us (1 glass of wine only). I question value of dinning here again and will probably cancel our Mother's Day reservation. Thanks.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exquisite Dining Experience

Dined on April 19, 2016

Our server was incredibly friendly and knowledgable, and even spent time explaining a variety of menu options to our curious teenager. Dinner was incredible. My husband and I split a 30oz slab of waygu called a 'tomahawk' It cut like butter. My son's rib-eye was just right. Other party members were extremely happy with their trout and sushi. The family-style sides were excellent. I'm drooling as I write this review... the gorgonzola macaroni and cheese is a must. For dessert, the butter cake. Just get it. Your world will be rocked.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server made our evening delightful!

Dined on April 18, 2016

Our server made our evening delightful!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

ONLY ONCE IN A WHILE

Dined on April 17, 2016

Many years ago, I dined at Mastro's Steakhouse in North Scottsdale, and was very impressed with the food and atmosphere. I especially enjoyed the service and remember it to have been expensive, but worth the cost. Mastro's City Hall, however, as WONDERFUL as everything was, from the food to the service, was far more pricey than I had expected ($500 for three people, one of which does not drink, and the other two only ha two drinks), and was VERY, VERY LOUD. It was, though, a special occasion, and as I stated in the title of this review, a great place to enjoy a fantastic dinner, but only once in a great while.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional service from Chris! Cocktail ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Exceptional service from Chris! Cocktails were delicious, especially the Tiki Time martini. Steaks were cooked to perfection and the lobster mashed potatoes were absolutely divine. Perfect setting for a romantic dinner. It was pretty loud but it was a Friday night and I can understand why it's so packed; it's amazing!! Fancy but not at all stuffy, expensive but totally worth it. Anyone who doesn't give 5 stars must be crazy. I will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak Since I can remember. Servic ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Best steak Since I can remember. Service was outstanding. My dad had a great birthday.

food5
ambience5
service5

The private car service to the cigar sho ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

The private car service to the cigar shoppe. And the meat and key lime pie

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food.

Dined on April 10, 2016

We had a wonderful evening and the food was great. We just have to be more careful about ordering side dishes because the portions are so large. We ended up taking home a lot of food.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Have always looked forward to dining at ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Have always looked forward to dining at all Mastros. Although I must admit, my 16oz strip steak was not up to standards. A little dry and a tad tasteless. I'm thinking it's a one time deal as I've always had scrumptious meals at Mastros. The spicy cesar was great, as was the twice baked potato.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my mom here for her 70th birthday c ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Took my mom here for her 70th birthday celebration and it far exceeded my lofty expectations. Food, wine, service, and special touches were fantastic. Been here twice now each time it has been first class!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb Service!

Dined on March 29, 2016

Wonderful dining experience at Mastro's City Hall. The service was impeccable. The restaurant was beautiful. My dinner was delicious. I had warm spinach salad and a filet with truffle butter and black peppercorn sauce. My friend had a bowl of lobster bisque and she raved about the large pieces of lobster. She also had the filet. The bread is phenomenal and we loved the soft pretzel breadsticks. We shared warm butter cake which was good but not as great as I anticipated. I'd definitely dine here again. We loved it. They even called the next day to see how our experience was!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Amazing

Dined on March 27, 2016

Always a great experience. We initially were sat in a back overflow room that felt very "hotelly" but asked to be moved to the main area. They did it no questions asked. Food was amazing, as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

Get a mortgage

Dined on March 27, 2016

You'll need a mortgage to pay for this one. Great good and wonderful service, every everything costs, even just for peaking at the menu. (jest)

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

It was everything I had hope and more, w ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

It was everything I had hope and more, will be back!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ask for Lauren as your server!

Dined on March 26, 2016

A wonderful steakhouse with more than just steak, Mastro's City Hall had excellent cocktails, an impressive wine list, and a well balanced menu. True to any of the great restaurants, the service is what put the experience over the top. Lauren and her team took very good care of us. She understood we were out for a romantic evening and did everything she could to exceed our expectations. She was warm, friendly, attentive but also gave us our space. If she is available, request to be seated with her. And, finally, the Butter Cake is a must for dessert! Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply Amazing!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Our third trip to Maestro's and this one perhaps the best. The ambiance, food, service. All impeccable. Don't mind paying these prices when everything is so fantastic we can say "Well worth it". We live in San Francisco, and wish there was a steakhouse nearly this good at home. Maestro's is a very good reason to visit Scottsdale! Keep it up, we'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner. Live music a little too lo ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great dinner. Live music a little too loud

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love their Sea Food Tower

Dined on March 24, 2016

Really live their Sea Food Tower, we took our Granddaughter there for her 21st Birthday, she lives sea food and couldn't get over all the variety of sea food on the tower. I love the tower and their Scallops, best sauce and cheese toast,yummmmy. Also love their pretzel bread..

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect

Dined on March 23, 2016

Everything was perfect

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good service

Dined on March 22, 2016

Service was good - attentive but we didn't feel like were being hurried. It was interesting to watch a new employee being trained. The trainer did a good job - offered good tips to the new staff member but wasn't overbearing. Almost didn't know he was there.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Steak

Dined on March 22, 2016

My husband and I ate at Mastro's City Hall one night last week. We had a 5:00 reservation and were seated about 5:15. We ordered bone in filets, green beans, lobster mashed potatoes and onion rings. The filets were juicy, tender and grilled to perfection. The sautéed green beans with almonds were delicious. The mashed potatoes, however, were runny, greasy and lacking of lobster. They were a very expensive side for 2 small chunks of lobster in runny potatoes with pools of grease floating on top. Very disappointing. The onion rings were also greasy-just ok. Our server was great and very helpful and friendly. The restaurant is lovely although a bit dark and became very noisy by 6:30. Overall, we loved the steak and beans but probably will not return unless we win the lottery.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.