About Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse

6991 E. Camelback Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Goldwater

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 941-4700

Website:
http://www.mastrosrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment & dancing nightly at the piano bar.

Executive Chef:
George Harrison

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Suzi Ayers for your next event.
sayers@mastrosrestaurants.com
480.596.5250

Restaurant Photos

Crème brullée
French Onion Soup With French Bread
Tanquray And Tonic
Porto Flight
Twin Lobster
Ahi tuna
Lobster Bisque
Strip Side Of Porterhouse Steak
porterhouse steak
Tenderloin Side Porterhouse Steak
Chilean Seabass
Sauteed Asparagus
Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Bread
Bone-In Ribeye
The Porterhouse Steak
Shrimp Cocktail
Iceberg Wedge
Fresh Hot Pretzel Bread
Mastro's House Salad With Tiger Shrimp
Creamed Spinach
Basil Bloody Mary
18oz Bone-in Filet
Wedge (split for two)
Warm Buttercake
Petite Filet
Jumbo Lump Crab Stuffed Mushrooms
Roasted brussels sprouts
Alaskan King Crab Black Truffle Gnocchi
Wedge Salad
Bone Marro
Wedge Salad w/ Blue Cheese
Sauteed Shrimp
Bone In Ribeye
Martini
Oysters

Private Dining

Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse combines atmosphere, comfort and elegance for the perfect setting for your next corporate, social or charitable event. Our private dining rooms offer the perfect setting for every type of event for groups of 10 to 500 guests. It's an unforgettable experience!

Mastro's City Hall Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Phoenix / Arizona
Steakhouse
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

special occasion (123)
notable wine list (76)
romantic (75)
See All
vibrant bar scene (70)
hot spot (58)
fit for foodies (51)
good for groups (51)
late-night find (14)
great for outdoor dining (12)
neighborhood gem (10)
scenic view (5)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I expected and received a bill at least ...

Dined 3 days ago

I expected and received a bill at least twice the cost it should have been. We went early so virtually no noise. Excellent service. Too much cheese in the scalloped potatoes and it seemed like the chef used meat tenderizer on our steaks. This was our second time there. Well, my curiosity has now been satisfied.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

I've dined at Mastro's before at this lo ...

Dined 5 days ago

I've dined at Mastro's before at this location as well as Los Angeles. I took my father there as his Father's Day gift and was a little disappointed. Although our steaks are usually amazing, they were rather salty on Tuesday. At first I thought maybe it was the lobster mashed potatoes but then when I tried each separately I realized it was the steak. Thinking it was just my steak I kept it to myself. Only until my father said the same about his and then my mother said the same. Again, the food there is usually amazing, however this wasn't a great first impression for my dad. Unfortunately, due to time constraints that evening we didn't have time to send them back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had several meals here and it is ...

Dined 7 days ago

We have had several meals here and it is always top notch. The service and food is always perfect. Our favorite part of the Mastros restaurants is the warm butter cake that is absolutely to die for. We will always return!

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Our food was excellent and service frien ...

Dined 7 days ago

Our food was excellent and service friendly and attentive. Frustration: the dining room was half empty, but we were seated immediately next to a large party. We were so close to their table, that every time the servers walked by to assist them, the back of my chair got hit by the servers. By the end of my night, I would guess I was bumped into about 25 times. It had a very negative affect on my evening, but I did not want to upset my daughter's birthday dinner by asking to move. There were many open tables in the room that could easily have accommodated our party of 6 without this discomfort.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaraunt provided great service a ...

Dined 7 days ago

This restaraunt provided great service according to the occasion and was professional throughout.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE GO TO MASTRO'S CITY HALL FOR NEARLY A ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

WE GO TO MASTRO'S CITY HALL FOR NEARLY ALL SPECIAL OCCASION DINNERS AND WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED. THIS WAS FOR FATHER'S DAY AS WELL AS A BELATED BIRTHDAY FOR MY WIFE. WE NEARLY ALWAYS GET THE FILETS AND THEY WERE EXCELLENT.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife as we're doing the post kid ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Took my wife as we're doing the post kids awesome places to eat in Phoenix tour. She was quite impressed with the food and service which were both amazing. The wagyu ribeye was off the charts as was the tour of seafood. The only thing that I could complain about is my old eyes had a hard time reading the menu. Somebody needs to invent a backlit menu for over 40's. The wife and I wore some nice clothes, nothing extravagant due to the attire requirements but many people were wearing t-shirts and jeans with no issue. I will definitely return once every few months for a great steak and some awesome seafood.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed my experience at Mastros, from ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

I enjoyed my experience at Mastros, from the customer service to the food. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

We sat in between 2 couples and the serv ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We sat in between 2 couples and the service we received vs them was subpar. When they brought out our food, they did not serve it on our plates. We had to scoop our own food out. The couples next to us got their food scooped, not us. The other times I visited I got my food scooped onto my plate as well so I know this is common protocol here. When they brought dessert to us, they didn't bring out utensils or plates until after 10 mins. The waitress came by and noticed so she said she would be right back but when she got back, she only brought out spoons so we had to eat off one plate. By this time the cream had melted so it was not as great dessert experience. The couples next to us got both plates and utensils with their dessert. We were definitely treated different. We come here to celebrate our anniversary every year and after this experience we will choose to take our business elsewhere. Food is great but service was lacking.

Tags: hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Food is extremely overpriced

Dined on June 11, 2016

What you’re paying for is the white linen table cloth, the waiters dressed in white, good service without attitude, you can make the same food at home for way less half the cost, 34 dollars for chicken and it had no flavor and was dry. I guess this is why it’s based in Scottsdale I don’t know.

food4
ambience5
service5

The piano bar is loud, which made for a ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

The piano bar is loud, which made for a fun, energetic evening for my group. However, if you wanted an ambiance that promotes good conversation, I would opt for the dining room. The performers were fantastic! The food was great, some not exactly what I expected but still wonderful. Very generous portions, we took lots home and ate the next day.

food5
ambience5
service5

A amazing service great food really had ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

A amazing service great food really had a wonderful birthday

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Steakhouse in Scottsdale

Dined on June 6, 2016

From the appetizers to the steaks to the hot butter cake, City Hall Grill is the best steakhouse in Scottsdale -- and its not even close.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic

Dined on June 5, 2016

The service is impeccable. The food fantastic. It is a place we always have to visit whenever we come into town. Even our children love the food. The ambiance is just right.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on June 4, 2016

We came here for my boyfriends birthday. Everything was perfect. Great food, fast service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Very loud in the piano bar even during t ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Very loud in the piano bar even during the week. Choose the dining room if you want to be able to have a conversation. Very good food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food were outstanding!!! ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Service and food were outstanding!!! And the entertainment in bar had amazing voices!!! I'll be back on my next trip for sure😍

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on May 29, 2016

We go to Maerstro's City Hall on special occasions and this time was even better than the others. Exceptional food and service that made it worth the price. Tried the bone marrow appetizer for the first time and loved it. You won't be dissappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The crab and lobster were prepared to pe ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The crab and lobster were prepared to perfection! Very much appreciated the call 3 days later, thanking us for our business!

food3
ambience2
service4

We heard good things about this place an ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We heard good things about this place and the reviews were good so we gave it a try. First impressions - Too loud to talk across the table.. Asked about Water choose - Flat or Bubbly - I thought flat, I thought this would be more like normal water but it came out in a bottle (first red flag) and they poured into a 8 oz glass - Bill at the end $16.00 for 2.5 glasses of water. Some beers cost up $25.00 a bottle.. They kept trying to take the bread plate away after 5 minutes and we only had one piece each with about four pieces left, I was thinking I could eat with my streak. (red flag #2) Steak was wonderful, I ordered medium rare and it was perfect (Bone in rib eye) Pecan pie was a large portion and came with a ton of whip cream, not a normal pecan pie more like a bread putting infused pecan pie. Very good, just way to big a portion, maybe they are trying to justify the price. Idea lower the price and server smaller portions. All in all a good meal, just ask questions if you plan on going and bring a lot of cash!!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

NOISE

Dined on May 26, 2016

food and service was good, my problemas was that out side the music was too loud and they couldn't lower it so I requested to be moved inside and there was a little bit better , the problem was not the music but the accistic....

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

Dined on May 26, 2016

We drive from Tucson to have dinner at Mastro's City Hall. Need we say more.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat to dine here. Lounge is s ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Always a treat to dine here. Lounge is so much fun. Service is perfect and food amazing

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Although we had a dining room reservatio ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Although we had a dining room reservation, we opted to eat in the bar so we could watch Diamondbacks/Yankees game. After cocktails ordered steaks and side dishes. NY Strip was not a very good cut of meat (very fatty) and came out very rare (vs. medium rare order). Overall a very mediocre high priced meal.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. I set up a lot of bus ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Love this place. I set up a lot of business dinners here. This past one was with our associates from China

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A great, elegant, delicious food establ ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

A great, elegant, delicious food establishment that can't be beat!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience and meal! One ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a great experience and meal! One of our favorite places. It has become a tradition for our family!

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

More Organic Options Please!

Dined on May 14, 2016

For the price of the steak I was expecting all natural, grass fed, no hormone or antibiotic meat. Instead they use USDA Choice meat.(you can find at Walmart) Which is corn(most genetically modified plant) fed and has lots of antibiotics and hormones. I just wish they had more options for people that actually care about what they put in there bodies!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were both amazing, I wo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food and service were both amazing, I would highly recommend eating here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite steakhouse in Scottsdale, o ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Our favorite steakhouse in Scottsdale, or anywhere for that matter. Expensive of course, but worth the splurge. Service is top notch. Don't miss the Butter Cake - amazing!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food, great service. Crazy expensive.

Dined on May 12, 2016

Good food, great service. Crazy expensive. I would recommend, if you don't have a budget.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Consistent!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Mastro's has always been consistent with their food, service, drinks and ambiance - nobody does it as good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Just an OK visit

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I've been a Mastros customer for 10+ years and the past couple times, this one included, the meat quality has been just OK. I used to rave about "no better steak around" but I'm getting worried that the Landry group (new owners) has cheapened up the cut of meat. I ordered the bone in rib eye this and last visit and basically same results - tough, chewy and very high fat percentage. Manager called me the next day and offered a free steak at next visit saying "bad cut" so we'll see how next visit goes. Going to hold back further recommendations until proven out.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not as good as acticipated

Dined on May 9, 2016

The restaurant was much louder and congested than anticipated. The veal chop was not of high quality, tough veins running through it. Our waiter did offer to replace the chop. The restaurant was not as expected.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food, missing on some of the details

Dined on May 9, 2016

City Hall, tight quarters as you enter the seating floor, squeezing between the tables to be seated. There were several things that came up during dinner that you wouldn't expect from and restaurant of this caliber. Little things like placing warm plates during the salad course, selecting from the wine list and being told that "wine not available, do you have another selection" The service was rushed with constant interruptions while trying to engage in conversation with table guest. What they may feel is attentive (Refilling your water glass after every sip) is really annoying and you then stop drinking from your water glass. Table conversation shouldn't turn to worrying what the "Ninja's" are doing around you during dinner. The food was terrific, Chopped salad delicious, and the steak was prepared perfect and was fabulous. Butter cake will kill you as you cant stop eating it. But when paying a ~$500 bill, you would not expect to see a $3 upcharge on your Manhattan. Having your drink changed up without requesting it is odd, and if you had run out of the whiskey listed on the drink menu, then the additional cost should not come to the consumer. So, they stuck me for $3. Hard to believe. Previous dinning experiences here were not this stressful and chaotic.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

It's a great experience every time. The ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

It's a great experience every time. The food is always outstanding and make sure you save room for the butter cake. My only suggestion would be to raise the lights a bit or at least around the tables. When every table gets their cell phone out to turn the flashlight on to read the menu, it brings down the ambiance of the place. That doesn't stop us from going back again and again but it's something to consider.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daughter's Special Evening

Dined on May 8, 2016

Reservations for my daughter and her prom date. "Alan" took excellent care of them and gave them an exceptional experience to remember. The kids enjoyed their meal and acknowledged that it was the best restaurant they had ever dined in. My wife and I enjoyed our alone time as well in the bar area while we waited for the kids. We all had a wonderful time and will be back again and again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

My group had a great time, our servers w ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

My group had a great time, our servers were amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5

From the welcome we got as we drove up t ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

From the welcome we got as we drove up to the front of the restaurant until we walked out to pick up our car, the experiencee was beyond wonderful. There were three of us, Washington state, Australia, and semi local, and we all agreed that this was one of the best meals we all have had in quite a while. The absolute topping on the cake was our waiter, Corell, who was charming, so easy to communicate with, very knowledgeable about the food and drink, but most notable was how he treated us like we were the most important people in the world. The food was tastefully prepared. I had the Salmon, grilled and my guests split the lamb. We shared the creamed spinach and scalloped potatoes. For dessert we all shared the cheesecake which was very large. All in all a wonderful meal and evening, and will definitely return.

food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Service off the mark this time

Dined on May 1, 2016

We dined on Saturday 7:00 we were in back dining room . Our server was Andrew and he had several bus- assistants . We ordered 2 cups of coffee and finished them quickly. They were never filled again , assistants walked by and appeared to look at them but never asked or brought more . Dinner served and we recieved 1 check back to see how it was going . I think Andrew was in charge of all the tables in that area 8-10 ? Which is far to many for a restaurant that is 2nd to none and I think just too busy to give city halls normal service bar none . Our bill for 3 was about 350.00 no alcohol this time

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.