About Massimo's Eclectic Fine Dining

31876 US Hwy 19 N
Palm Harbor, FL 34684
View Larger Map

Join Chef Massimo for an artful blend of Italian and Mediterranean cuisines paired with an award winning wine list and full bar.
Appetizers range from Hudson Valley Grade-A Foie Gras, Pistachio coated Pan Seared Duck and Brie to Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes and rice flour battered calamari. A rich, creamy lobster bisque is a favorite among customers.
Other specialties include Veal Cognac in a creamy truffle sauce, veal chop, sweetbreads, risotto and Chilean Sea Bass.
Last, but not least, are the homemade delectable desserts.
Complementing his efforts in the kitchen is the gracious, knowledgeable and efficient staff.
Tables at the casually elegant restaurant are dressed with crisp table linens, and candles. Cascading fountains decorate the walls.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Tampa & Curlew Rds.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 784-1881

Website:
http://www.massimosrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Music available on certain holidays/private functions.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Patano

Private Party Facilities:
Private room available for meetings/banquets up 32 people.

Main dining room available for larger parties, up to 60 people.

Customized menu and on-premise audio/visual equipment rental available.

Private Party Contact:
Massimo: 7277841881x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Massimo's Eclectic Fine Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Tampa / Central Florida West
Fit for Foodies
Tampa / Central Florida West
Notable Wine List
Tampa / Central Florida West
11 More
Romantic
Tampa / Central Florida West
Special Occasion
Tampa / Central Florida West
Italian
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Overall
Clearwater
Best Food
Clearwater
Best Service
Clearwater
Best Ambiance
Clearwater
Best Value
Clearwater
Fit for Foodies
Clearwater
Romantic
Clearwater
Special Occasion
Clearwater
Best Restaurants in Palm Harbor ›

Special Occasion (26)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Romantic (19)
See All
Notable Wine List (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Authentic (3)
Private Room (3)
Business Meals (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful atmosphere, excellent food and ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful atmosphere, excellent food and service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Outstanding service and food. My husband ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Outstanding service and food. My husband and I went for a Saturday night date and found our new favorite restaurant. We started with the Brie appetizer, that from the description sounds good, but the actual taste cannot be put into words. We split the veal scaloppine and the bison ribeye. Both amazing. Finished the evening with cappuccinos and panna cotta dessert. We can't wait to go back and try the risotto! The wine list is quite extensive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb! Always wonderful food and warm w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Superb! Always wonderful food and warm welcoming atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, as usual. Calamari cooked p ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent, as usual. Calamari cooked perfectly with a nice horseradish based dipping sauce. Might be the best calamari dish I've enjoyed anywhere.

Penne Vodka and Fettucine Alfredo were both outstanding leaving little room for dessert.

Go to this restaurant. Never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best restaurant in north Pinellas an ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The best restaurant in north Pinellas and one of our favorites. Start with the people. Massimo and Donna Patano are delightful hosts. Their wait staff - Bertrand, Mario, and Emad, are pros and will make you feel special, even if it's your first time. The menu is imaginative and daily specials are always inviting - Mediterranean influenced but really eclectic - every dish that comes out of Massimo's kitchen is delicious and artfully presented. Nice wine list - it runs from modestly-priced by the glass to bottles in the three figures - don't be overwhelmed by the upper end wines; the selections at the lower end of the price scale are terrific - I always feel adventuresome and willing to try something new (to me) on the wine list because I know I won't be disappointed.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed. I ordered lobster ra ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very disappointed. I ordered lobster raviolis. Tasteless and scimpy amount of lobster. Prices exorbitant and ambiance lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

I had heard about Massimo's from a busin ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I had heard about Massimo's from a business associate however did not have an opportunity to try it until Saturday evening. It's located in a strip mall behind the Outback on Hwy 19 in Palm Harbor. Once inside you would never think you were in a strip mall location.

The feel is comfortable but elegant. Our server Mario was terrific, great service and excellent recommendations. My wife had the shrimp, they were very large and, she said, delicious.

I had a sea food over risotto dish and it was excellent, large shrimp and scallops and prepared to perfection. We enjoyed a chocolate canola for desert.

Looking forward to our next meal their. Massimo coming to the table to ask if everything was enjoyable was a very nice touch!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just fantastic. Excellent food, service ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Just fantastic. Excellent food, service and quite enough to have a conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There a no words to describe this place ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

There a no words to describe this place....a gem tucked away. Love it!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I find Massimo's to be a great little re ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I find Massimo's to be a great little restaurant. I have never had a bad meal there, and the chef always comes out to see how you like the food. He is very proud of his cuisine, as he should be. Massimo does like to prepare the food his way, but he is very flexible and gracious, as well.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Massimos remains the very best restauran ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Massimos remains the very best restaurant around. While a bit pricey, the food and service are worth every dime. His risottos are phenomenal, and provide enough for a second meal, and the osso buco, recommended by our superb server, was the best. It's always great to visit with Massimo, as he makes it a habit to greet his guests. Great place for celebrations, and even his lunches are remarkable. A hidden treasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Above average food and great service. Ch ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Above average food and great service. Chef came by table. Slightly noisey for a romantic destination.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I had read several mixed reviews before ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I had read several mixed reviews before deciding to try this place. It is very tiny, maybe 15 tables total. Server was friendly but spoke with very strong french accent and it was not easy to understand him. Food was okay, not something I would consider eclectic. It is a nice, fairly quiet restaurant but I will pass on another opportunity to visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Massimo's is truly one of our very most ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Massimo's is truly one of our very most favorite restaurants in Tampa Bay! Wonderful ambiance, and exceptional high-quality food! We recommend to all of our friends and family and will definitely be back many times to come

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were excellent. The wi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food and service were excellent. The wine list was extensive, but very expensive. A selection of more moderately priced wines, readily available in the $50 to $70 range, would have been appreciated. Overall, a nice dinner, but most likely will not return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved the Lobster risotto...perfect for ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Loved the Lobster risotto...perfect for our family birthday celebration! Waiter was delightful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Massimo's for a special night. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We love Massimo's for a special night. The food is amazing, the service is fantastic but I think the best part is that Massimo comes out into the dining room and personally asks every table if they liked their food. He is an amazing chef and we absolutely treasure this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the place is romantic and they h ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Overall the place is romantic and they have a lot of regulars as I could tell, very good, or should I say excellent wine list.

The service is excellent, the appetizers were very good, and if you like veal this is the place for you because most of the dishes are veal.

The veal dishes are extremely tender, and very tasty, but a little on the salty side for me.

The big disappointment for me was the special of the night, Fillet of Sole Cooked bone in, and then D-boned tableside.

This came out smelling a little fishy, but when I tried it it was very fishy, I let my wife try it to see if it was just me, and she basically spit it out, I got through almost half of it and I could not eat anymore.

The most disappointing part was when I told our waiter that the fish was very strong and to let the chef know this, there was no reaction, no apology, no offering of another dish, nothing, this was their specials for $45 so you would expect it to be fresh fish? I was not expecting them to take it off the bill but to offer some sort of apology or dessert something to it knowledge me.

We ordered a nice bottle of wine to go with our dinner and with tip its was $400 for dinner for two < when you drop that much money for two people for dinner you kind of expect things to be, well you know........

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

the food, and wine were great, the servi ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

the food, and wine were great, the service even better. a truly amazing dinning experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first visit, very impressed w ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

It was our first visit, very impressed with food and service. We have only found a couple other places in Palm Harbor that are in this league.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

lovely lunch menu and good sounding spec ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

lovely lunch menu and good sounding specials..

Good portions for the price...

Great friendly service..

Owner/chef even comes out to say hi and see how you meal was..

Great quaint place for girls lunch or romantic dinner..

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Italian at its Best

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

It is hard to select what to eat from the excellent menu choices. Every course is well balanced and compliments a variety of taste.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3rd visit. Always a pleasure.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Relax. The staff and atmosphere make you Relax. This time we had buffalo mozzarella Napolean which had the fluffiest, most flavorful cheese; not the rubbery and bland kind. Tomatoes were still not "in season"good but better than in late winter. Penne with vodka sauce was delicious. Bison steak was gorgeous as were it's accompaniments. I don't think this creature is as flavorful or tender as beef, probably has no fat, but it was prepared perfectly. Panna cotta desert was GREAT. We also took the cannoli(left the gun). It was good but I prefer a more traditional cheese filling. That would be great with pistachios also. Overall: Yum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

the food, service, and wine were amazing. we are telling all our family and friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love trying out new restaurants and p ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We love trying out new restaurants and picked Massimo's on a whim. WOW were we ever so glad that we did! We would have never stopped here just driving by. It is located in a strip shopping center and really doesn't stand out. But what does stand out about this great restaurant is it's service and it's food! Our waitress tended to our every need and the food was fantastic! Everything was way above our expectations, the food was handmade and the great thing was that the Chef came out of the kitchen every so often to make sure that we were enjoying his cooking. We will be coming back here soon and for many years to come!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a Special Occasion

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day at Massimo's and as usual Massimo did not disappoint. The food, as well as it's presentation and service are always a notch above the ordinary. The sea food risotto with shrimp and scallops was perfection! The veal scallopini served with asparagus tips and a white wine lemon sauce was excellent. Of course, sophisticated dishes commands elegant service which our server Emad delivered. We always look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Family has been to this place a few time ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Family has been to this place a few times. Overall food was delicious, tiramisu and espresso sorbet also. The chicken was average/bland but the seafood risotto, Dover sole and shrimp with pasta were great. Made reservations in advance for Mother's Day where it was written all mothers would get a rose and glass of wine or something. One of the reasons we chose it. However it never happened and was not even mentioned, even after I dropped hints to the waitress. Very disappointing & confusing especially as we did see someone else leaving with a rose.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Mother's Day Dinner with Privacy

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great little hole in the wall place with incredible food and atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food in an old fashioned Italian theme

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had superior service and the food was just delicious. A very interesting and extensive enough menu to satisfy most diners, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed our meal

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent italian food. Service was impeccable. Will definitely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never Disappoints

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Go to place for fine dinning. Always take out of town quest for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Sshhh...the best Italian food inPinellas. Tucked away from tourists. Each plate made to order. Outstanding service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Massimo's is a hidden gem

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Massimo's is a gem of a restaurant hidden in an assuming shopping plaza in Palm Harbor. Don't be fooled by the modest exterior. The food, service, and ambience are first-rate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine, friendly experience

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Second visit. Main: filet mignonette and pappardelle with mushrooms and truffles were delicious. Napoleon mozzarella with roasted pepper and tomato disappointing-the tomatoes were seriously out of season bad. Desserts both were supposed to have ice cream but were only served with whipped cream.

The water was great(I have experienced this on prior visit as well.)

I recommend that if an inferior or different ingredient is to be used that the customer be told at th time of ordering.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night at massimo's

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

For my birthday my better half and I (and she truly is my better half) were looking to go someplace special while not having to travel too far. The answer? Massimo's! The minute we arrived I knew we were in for a special night. The waiter was extremely friendly and welcoming. And the food? Scrumptious! They even gave me a birthday card without knowing it was my birthday before we got there. I would highly recommend Massimo's to anyone looking for a special night out, or even just a great meal. It is certainly one of the finest restaurants in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice night at Massimo's!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

We enjoyed a nice meal at Massimo's for my husbands birthday. We didn't want to fight the traffic and drive to the beach so we opted for a nearby restaurant. Our first time for dinner, we were impressed with the ambiance, you wouldn't know you were on U.S. 19! The wine list is lengthy and impressive, however when we asked the waitress more about it she explained she didn't know much about wine. She did bring another waiter over who helped but really didn't give a recommendation. Our food was tasty, we both ordered veal. My husband loved the veal with lobster, though my veal with a mushroom cognac sauce was too strong and didn't pair well with my wine. I do not drink cognac so maybe it was me, I just didn't know it would impact the dish the way it did. Overall it was a nice evening and we will probably give it a try again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good choices and really good food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Good choices and really good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delish

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Everything was wonderful, the service was impeccable and the food was to die for! What a lovely little gem in our town, I highly recommend you try.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dennis Harper

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

I only have the opportunity to visit Massimo's once a year when I drive down to spend a couple of days with my Mother, the snow bird. Massino's is a must. We enjoy not only the wonderful menu offering but the ambiance is fantastic. The staff is always warm and very inviting. A pure pleasure. You will always see the Chef visiting all of his patrons. This is a true gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem in Palm Harbor

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Fantastic. The atmosphere was delightful. I had the Veal Massimo, out of this world. My wife had the risotto with sea bass and lobster, not one bite left. Our server, Bertrand was very attentive and described the dishes perfectly. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.