Massimo's Eclectic Fine Dining

4.7
353 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
Join Chef Massimo for an artful blend of Italian and Mediterranean cuisines paired with an award winning wine list and full bar.
Appetizers range from Hudson Valley Grade-A Foie Gras, Pistachio coated Pan Seared Duck and Brie to Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes and rice flour battered calamari. A rich, creamy lobster bisque is a favorite among customers.
Other specialties include Veal Cognac in a creamy truffle sauce, veal chop, sweetbreads, risotto and Chilean Sea Bass.
Last, but not least, are the homemade delectable desserts.
Complementing his efforts in the kitchen is the gracious, knowledgeable and efficient staff.
Tables at the casually elegant restaurant are dressed with crisp table linens, and candles. Cascading fountains decorate the walls.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Contemporary European, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(727) 784-1881
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Massimo Patano
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Private room available for meetings/banquets up 32 people.

Main dining room available for larger parties, up to 60 people.

Customized menu and on-premise audio/visual equipment rental available.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Massimo: (727) 784-1881
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between Tampa & Curlew Rds.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Music available on certain holidays/private functions.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 353 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.6
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Lovely atmosphere, fabulous food and service. We are great cooks and critical diners. This was wonderful. The mushroom tart was superb, as was the foie gras. Every bite was delicious. Will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

I took my girlfriend here for a nice romantic meal. After I proposed to her and she said yes! The food was excellent, the staff was friendly and professional. The Chef even came out during our meal to see how everything was. We started out with a ceasar salad and a duck salad which both were delicious. Our main course was the rack of lamb and risotto. The lamb was so tender and cooked to perfection and her risotto was perfectly seasoned with fresh sea scallops, pork belly, and frrsh shrimp. We finished off with an amazing creme burlee and a mango raspberry champagne sorbet, along with cappuccino and an expresso. Would reccomend this for anyone looking for a fine dining experience date night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Outstanding restaurant! Celebrated 50th wedding anniversary and everything was wonderful!! Could not have made a better selection! B is the perfect waiter!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

SIMPLY THE BEST. Try the mushroom tart, it’s delicious!! Everything we had was amazing and I can’t wait to go back again!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

A truly special place in Palm Harbor.
Fantastic food with exceptional service and
a great wine list!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Fantastic food and experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Outstanding! Everyone in our party of eight raved about their meal. Jennifer provided excellent service. The restaurant is consistently good. Chef Massimo is a gem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Great food and delicious dessert!!! Great place for getting together with friends. Service is really good and Massimo's makes an effort to visit his patrons. Thumbs up.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Everything from the appetizers through dessert was wonderful. Serve was great, nice quite old school fine dinning!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Great food and superior service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Food and service were excellent. I had the Saffron Lobster Ravioli and my husband had the special Seafood Risotto.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Overall very nice service, food and atmosphere. A bit pricey for the locale.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

This was our first experience and we were generally pleased. Our server was very attentive and the food was creative but too salty. I had the rack of lamb, the other entree was the veal with lobster and crab. The Tiramisu was excellent. The wine list although very extensive, didn't give many options for those not ordering a bottle.
There was quite a large group that made the made the ambiance a little louder than we would have liked but it was Mothers Day.
We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Never disappointed at Massimos. He’s a terrific chef!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Everything was incredible and I can't wait to go again. Our server, Bertrand, took the entire experience to the next level. His recommendations were perfect and it was, by far, some of the best service I've ever received at a restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Massimo's main draw is the menu. About a dozen main course dishes of exceptional quality, ranging from fairly traditional European to innovative. Service is also excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Delicious food and the best service in the Bay area. Be sure and ask for Mr. B. and be blown away by the service you will receive. Top end wine list and generous cocktails.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Very good food as always. We visit at least once a month when in town from Pittsburgh.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Our dinner was wonderful. From cocktail to entree. Our server Jennifer made our evening perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Massimo's far exceeded our hopes. The ambiance was very nice and quiet, a great place for a special occasion meal, birthday, anniversary. The food was TO DIE FOR. We got four Appetizers----Mushroom Tart, Tuna Tiradito, Maine Lobster & Lump Crab Meat Ricotta Cake and the Maple Leaf Duck & Brie. All were outstanding, the last two..were my favorites. Would gladly order them all again. Good portion sizes, and outstanding flavor with high quality ingredients. Veal was the choice of our table this evening, with two orders of the Veal Scallopini (which was excellent almost a play on a piccata with the lemon butter sauce) The veal with lobster n crab (Frutta Di Mare) was outstanding, my father got a side of sautéed mushrooms which was sensational if you like mushrooms as we do, and I got the namesake dish...Veal Massimo....as much as I wanted to try the special of the day which sounded and looked equally delectable Seafood Risotto....I would be hard pressed to ever get anything different when I return (hopefully very soon) than that Veal Massimo, it was easily one of the top Veal meals ihave ever had. Full of Shittake mushrooms with the best tasting cognac sauce...n black truffle. This was a special day for my family...as it was the 49th yr anniversary to my father being rescued in Vietnam and Massimo made our family feel extremely special especially my father. We will never forget his act of kindness. This restraunt is a feel good story starting with the owner and Chef, our waiter B, was also outstanding and incredibly professional and adept at making us feel like we were at a high end gourmet restraunt. Chardonnay were good pours and high quality and our Perfect Manhattans were well made as well. I couldn't recommend this place enough. I hope you enjoy this practically hidden gem Palm Harbor, as much as we did...cnat wait to return!!!! 6 Stars!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We'd heard about this Italian/eclectic venue off and on, but had stuck to our favorites. Glad we branched out. Wine list is excellent, duck was to die for. This is definitely upscale, a la carte, so not for the budget challenged. Otherwise, a foodie's treat.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

We always enjoy this restaurant. The food is very good. I had one of their specials - Duck a l'orange. A throwback to the 60s and very tasty. The noise level is a little high but not horrible. Great cocktails and good wine list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We came in after Saturday night Harborside Church Easter Service. I had made reservations through Open Table and the Hostess greeted us by my family’s last name and seated us right away. She opened the table cloth for my wife and within a short time our server Michele was there. She was excellent and made the dining experience enjoyable. Excellent service and she knew the food very well. Very attentive and asked about any food allergies. Always made sure our water was topped off. Great menu as always and the chef himself came out later to greet everyone at their tables and ask about our meals. Enjoyed the appetizers, main dishes and the desserts too! Well worth the money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

We have been coming to the restaurant since they opened and Massimo always delivers consistent delicious meals and the wait staff is superb! His food rivals any you would be served in major cities!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Fabulous

Finally, not a chain restaurant but one that is
privately owned . Thank you Massimo

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Nice menu, attentive service, the restaurant tries very hard to give you a fine dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

The waiters are superb and the food knocked my socks off. I had the scallops and they were the best I’ve ever had. They were huge!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Massimo's has the best Italian in Pinellas County!!! All servers are so professional and friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Overall our experience was fantastic. The food was EXCELLENT.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great experience top to bottom. Friendly staff. Wine selection was expansive. Delicious appetizers: tried bruschetta and foie gras. Caesar salads were ok. Bone in NY Strip and Veal Massimo were spot on.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

I never tire of this amazing quiet restaurant. An amazing gem!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

This restaurant has consistently fine food: fresh ingredients combined thoughtfully. The staff is very good, the owner/chef available.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Food was good! Our waiter was fantastic! Noise level a little high.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

The food was extremely delicious. One of the best italian restaurants I went to in the Tampa bay area. If you live italian food as much as I do you must go here to eat!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Very good quality service and knowledge from Bertrand, very nice food although minimalistic portions, but very expensive for what we got. Cant fault food quality though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Another wonderful meal at Massimo’s. We had the seared tuna loin which was perfectly prepared and the daily special of porcini mushroom ravioli in the best Alfredo sauce I’ve ever had. For dessert we finished with our favorite apple strudel and a slice of super soft and rich chocolate raspberry cake that was a special for Valentine’s week.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Great food , outstanding service. We will definitely Return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

All good! Food outstanding, great presentation, service, ambiance, etc.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

called 1/2 hr before reservation time with a last minute guest pushing from 2 to 3...there was no problem; they graciously provided additional seating...as always a wonderful evening !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

The very finest Italian restaurant in Clearwater/North Pinellas. Outstanding wine selection...well beyond what one might anticipate for such a small restaurant. Personal visit from Massimo to every diner. This is my “go to” restaurant for an always pleasing meal.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9