About Massimo's Eclectic Fine Dining

31876 US Hwy 19 N
Palm Harbor, FL 34684
View Larger Map

Join Chef Massimo for an artful blend of Italian and Mediterranean cuisines paired with an award winning wine list and full bar.
Appetizers range from Hudson Valley Grade-A Foie Gras, Pistachio coated Pan Seared Duck and Brie to Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes and rice flour battered calamari. A rich, creamy lobster bisque is a favorite among customers.
Other specialties include Veal Cognac in a creamy truffle sauce, veal chop, sweetbreads, risotto and Chilean Sea Bass.
Last, but not least, are the homemade delectable desserts.
Complementing his efforts in the kitchen is the gracious, knowledgeable and efficient staff.
Tables at the casually elegant restaurant are dressed with crisp table linens, and candles. Cascading fountains decorate the walls.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Tampa & Curlew Rds.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 784-1881

Website:
http://www.massimosrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Music available on certain holidays/private functions.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Patano

Private Party Facilities:
Private room available for meetings/banquets up 32 people.

Main dining room available for larger parties, up to 60 people.

Customized menu and on-premise audio/visual equipment rental available.

Private Party Contact:
Massimo: 7277841881x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Massimo's Eclectic Fine Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Tampa / Central Florida West
Notable Wine List
Tampa / Central Florida West
Italian
Tampa / Central Florida West
9 More
Best Overall
Clearwater
Best Food
Clearwater
Best Service
Clearwater
Best Ambiance
Clearwater
Best Value
Clearwater
Fit for Foodies
Clearwater
Neighborhood Gem
Clearwater
Romantic
Clearwater
Special Occasion
Clearwater
Best Restaurants in Palm Harbor ›

fit for foodies (26)
special occasion (25)
romantic (22)
See All
notable wine list (22)
neighborhood gem (16)
good for groups (8)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

the food, service, and wine were amazing. we are telling all our family and friends

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love trying out new restaurants and p ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

We love trying out new restaurants and picked Massimo's on a whim. WOW were we ever so glad that we did! We would have never stopped here just driving by. It is located in a strip shopping center and really doesn't stand out. But what does stand out about this great restaurant is it's service and it's food! Our waitress tended to our every need and the food was fantastic! Everything was way above our expectations, the food was handmade and the great thing was that the Chef came out of the kitchen every so often to make sure that we were enjoying his cooking. We will be coming back here soon and for many years to come!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a Special Occasion

Dined on May 8, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day at Massimo's and as usual Massimo did not disappoint. The food, as well as it's presentation and service are always a notch above the ordinary. The sea food risotto with shrimp and scallops was perfection! The veal scallopini served with asparagus tips and a white wine lemon sauce was excellent. Of course, sophisticated dishes commands elegant service which our server Emad delivered. We always look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Family has been to this place a few time ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Family has been to this place a few times. Overall food was delicious, tiramisu and espresso sorbet also. The chicken was average/bland but the seafood risotto, Dover sole and shrimp with pasta were great. Made reservations in advance for Mother's Day where it was written all mothers would get a rose and glass of wine or something. One of the reasons we chose it. However it never happened and was not even mentioned, even after I dropped hints to the waitress. Very disappointing & confusing especially as we did see someone else leaving with a rose.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Mother's Day Dinner with Privacy

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great little hole in the wall place with incredible food and atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food in an old fashioned Italian theme

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had superior service and the food was just delicious. A very interesting and extensive enough menu to satisfy most diners, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed our meal

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent italian food. Service was impeccable. Will definitely dine there again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints

Dined on April 22, 2016

Go to place for fine dinning. Always take out of town quest for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem

Dined on April 16, 2016

Sshhh...the best Italian food inPinellas. Tucked away from tourists. Each plate made to order. Outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Massimo's is a hidden gem

Dined on April 6, 2016

Massimo's is a gem of a restaurant hidden in an assuming shopping plaza in Palm Harbor. Don't be fooled by the modest exterior. The food, service, and ambience are first-rate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine, friendly experience

Dined on April 3, 2016

Second visit. Main: filet mignonette and pappardelle with mushrooms and truffles were delicious. Napoleon mozzarella with roasted pepper and tomato disappointing-the tomatoes were seriously out of season bad. Desserts both were supposed to have ice cream but were only served with whipped cream. The water was great(I have experienced this on prior visit as well.) I recommend that if an inferior or different ingredient is to be used that the customer be told at th time of ordering.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great night at massimo's

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

For my birthday my better half and I (and she truly is my better half) were looking to go someplace special while not having to travel too far. The answer? Massimo's! The minute we arrived I knew we were in for a special night. The waiter was extremely friendly and welcoming. And the food? Scrumptious! They even gave me a birthday card without knowing it was my birthday before we got there. I would highly recommend Massimo's to anyone looking for a special night out, or even just a great meal. It is certainly one of the finest restaurants in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Nice night at Massimo's!

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

We enjoyed a nice meal at Massimo's for my husbands birthday. We didn't want to fight the traffic and drive to the beach so we opted for a nearby restaurant. Our first time for dinner, we were impressed with the ambiance, you wouldn't know you were on U.S. 19! The wine list is lengthy and impressive, however when we asked the waitress more about it she explained she didn't know much about wine. She did bring another waiter over who helped but really didn't give a recommendation. Our food was tasty, we both ordered veal. My husband loved the veal with lobster, though my veal with a mushroom cognac sauce was too strong and didn't pair well with my wine. I do not drink cognac so maybe it was me, I just didn't know it would impact the dish the way it did. Overall it was a nice evening and we will probably give it a try again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Good choices and really good food

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Good choices and really good food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delish

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Everything was wonderful, the service was impeccable and the food was to die for! What a lovely little gem in our town, I highly recommend you try.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dennis Harper

Dined on March 17, 2016

I only have the opportunity to visit Massimo's once a year when I drive down to spend a couple of days with my Mother, the snow bird. Massino's is a must. We enjoy not only the wonderful menu offering but the ambiance is fantastic. The staff is always warm and very inviting. A pure pleasure. You will always see the Chef visiting all of his patrons. This is a true gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem in Palm Harbor

Dined on March 15, 2016

Fantastic. The atmosphere was delightful. I had the Veal Massimo, out of this world. My wife had the risotto with sea bass and lobster, not one bite left. Our server, Bertrand was very attentive and described the dishes perfectly. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Disappointed

Dined on March 12, 2016

I dislike writing negative reviews but in this case I must. First let me say that the service was excellent, our waiter was attentive and professional but dishes arrived late, presumably because of the kitchen. A risotto dish was over salted and the duck breast was so tough it could not be readily cut with a serrated knife. Lobster meat was watery and its texture mushy. There were four of us for dinner and we all agreed this was a disappointing meal.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Every time my husband and I dine here we are always amazed by Massimo's talent. The service is impeccable and you always feel as if you are dining in his home. We are blessed to have this "gem" close by.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Lovely small restaurant.

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Lovely small restaurant.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfecto!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Massimo himself visits each and every table throughout their dining experience and makes you feel like you're special whatever the occasion. I took my extended family there for their first visit to the restaurant and they couldn't stop talking about it for the next week massive Massimos is number one on our list and now theirs. I highly recommend! Scott H

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great Food as usual

Dined on February 10, 2016

We've eaten there many times, always good. Not a Kids place

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food2
ambience3
service2

Service slow and inattentive Second ser ...

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

Service slow and inattentive Second server did not know who gets what dinner. Very 2nd class and annoying Sea Bass poor tasting Lasagna Bolognese without decent red meat sauce. Tasteless

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always stellar

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

This is our go to place when we want consistent high level service and food. It's always guaranteed here. This time I had a special, dry aged pork chop which was delightful. Chef likes to serve it rare, I asked for it to be a little more done than that, it turned out delightful. Make sure you ask for the tiramisu, it's made in-house and is quite the delicacy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointing

vip
Dined on December 23, 2015

Rigid menu... do it our way... pasta undercooked Have had fabulous food here with excellent service but not this lunch

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Massimo's Review

Dined on December 18, 2015

Massimo's restaurant is our favorite, great food, wine list and atmosphere. It is where we go for a nice 2 hour meal, not rushed. Will repeat as often as we can.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service and fantastic food. ...

vip
Dined on November 11, 2015

Outstanding service and fantastic food. This was our first visit, but won't be our last. Very interesting menu filled with many traditional items and the daily specials include great flavor twists. I had the pork porterhouse with a black rum and maple syrup topping.

food3
ambience3
service5

Phenomenal service- food was just ok

Dined on October 16, 2015

Loved our waiter and the rest of the staff. I liked my steak, but my wife's fish didn't taste quite right- It's possible that it just didn't match her taste, but it was a white fish that tasted a bit strong. The crème brule was just ok as well. The place had a good "vibe" and we will try it again. I was a bit surprised that they didn't offer my wife a different dish or a discount when she told them hers was too "fishy." She is a bit shy and it takes a lot for her to mention a problem.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!

Dined on October 16, 2015

By far one of the best restaurants in Tampa. A must try and must repeat! Bertrand the waiter is fantastic and Massimo's cooking and personal touch is rare to find.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining with class!

Dined on October 2, 2015

I can never say enough good things about Massimo except...I wish I could go all the time!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Anniversary Dinner @ Massimo's

Dined on August 29, 2015

Have been wanting to try Massimo's for quite some time and we were not disappointed...only wishing we had come sooner!! Everything was delicious and service was impeccable. We shared a hot mushroom appetizer and lobster bisque which were both delicious. For dinner I had diver scallops which were perfection. My husband had a pasta dish, which was not to my liking (heavy anchovy) but he enjoyed it. We brought a special bottle of wine & were happy to pay the $25 corkage fee. The wine list is impressive however, from what I glanced at. Tiramisu & cappuccino finished the meal off nicely. Portions were perfect and well presented. Will definitely be returning frequently now that we have experienced this gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Lovely Night Out

vip
Dined on August 8, 2015

This was our first visit and we enjoyed it very much. The atmosphere is very nice. You can actually hear each other talking. Our server was courteous and efficient and the food was delicious. If you like Osso bucco, you must try it here. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Good Neighborhood Place

Dined on July 31, 2015

I had read reviews, with most of them being good, so we made our reservations to give Massimo's a try. Glad we did. The food and the service were both very good. We had a quiet corner table so the noise was low. Although in a strip center, it is located on and end. Once inside you could be anywhere. Nice ambiance with good food and service -- a nice combination. They have an extensive wine list. We usually have wine with our dinners when we go out, but for us the wines here were on the pricey side. They say they have a large wine cellar, and I now know why -- most are too expensive for a sensible night out, and they are able to keep aging in their cellar. I don't mind paying $60 - $80 dollars for a bottle, but in my opinion their lower price wines were not something I would order so we had a couple of cocktails instead and they were really good. Overall, a good experience and would go back.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible treasure

Dined on July 31, 2015

Our experience was, as always, AWESOME. Massimo's is a treasure. Menu is not the largest around, but the food is excellent. Our companions pointed out that, "in the big city, the meals would have been worth 5 times the price." I had the risotto "of the day", which was a truffle based combination of divers scallops & pork, which was superb. My wife had "the best steak she'd ever had".....& we live not all that far from Bern's Steakhouse in Tampa. We WILL go back, and we HAVE shared Massimo's with our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food ... Great atmosphere... A ...

Dined on July 31, 2015

Excellent food ... Great atmosphere... And awesome service .. (Zach was our server.. )

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredibly awesome

Dined on July 10, 2015

We just discovered Massimo's....it's only been around for, like, 11years or so. And love it. While a bit pricey, the food and service are superb and the wine list, extraordinary. Service is excellent, with a staff who knows the menu and seems to have been working together quite a while. Dover sole was awesome, while the sea food risotto was incredible, with identifiable shrimp, lobster & scallops throughout. We have discovered a neighborhood treasure!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time and will definitely return!

Dined on June 28, 2015

My husband and I ate at Massimo's for the first time earlier this year to celebrate our anniversary. We recently returned to celebrate our birthdays. It has definitely become a favorite "special occasion" restaurant! The service and servers (thank you Bertrand!) are attentive and knowledgeable. The food is delicious with all sorts of unique touches including house-made, specially flavored butters. The chef also makes a point of greeting patrons and asking about their meal. Delightful, old world touches that really add to the experience! Not to mention a first-class cocktail and wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome

Dined on June 26, 2015

Incredible food, superb service from a "neighborhood" treasure. We WILL be back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beating the rush for Fathers Day

Dined on June 21, 2015

This was not our first visit to Massimo's so it was no surprise as to how fantastic our meal was. We made our reservation for earlier in the evening to take my Father for a good Italian meal and beat the Father's Day rush Saturday night. The process as always was seamless, our day however hit a few snags. We had no issues pushing the reservation back an hour so we were able to finish up our projects at home and get cleaned up for dinner. We were greeted by Massimo himself at the hostess stand, and quickly seated and served water and cocktails. Service was above and beyond, our server even went as far as hand making the "mixer" for our drinks because we were his only table. We started with the calamari which is battered with rice flour and served with a horseradish sauce, very light and different from the usual. For dinner my Father had the Veal Marsala which he ate every bite off stating it melted in his mouth and going on about how it was the best he's had in the the 20 years he's been away from NYC. My mother had the scallop risotto special, which for a picky eater who normally only eats a tiny portion almost finished her plate. I had the sea bass which is served in a lime mustard sauce, it's quite simply out of this world! From start to finish every aspect of our meal was deserving of endless praise. We will definitely keep returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic

vip
Dined on June 13, 2015

This was our 2nd visit and it was again, fantastic. Food, service, friendliness, attention to detail and quality food. All around excellent. Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.