About Massimo's Eclectic Fine Dining

31876 US Hwy 19 N
Palm Harbor, FL 34684
View Larger Map

Join Chef Massimo for an artful blend of Italian and Mediterranean cuisines paired with an award winning wine list and full bar.
Appetizers range from Hudson Valley Grade-A Foie Gras, Pistachio coated Pan Seared Duck and Brie to Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes and rice flour battered calamari. A rich, creamy lobster bisque is a favorite among customers.
Other specialties include Veal Cognac in a creamy truffle sauce, veal chop, sweetbreads, risotto and Chilean Sea Bass.
Last, but not least, are the homemade delectable desserts.
Complementing his efforts in the kitchen is the gracious, knowledgeable and efficient staff.
Tables at the casually elegant restaurant are dressed with crisp table linens, and candles. Cascading fountains decorate the walls.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Tampa & Curlew Rds.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 784-1881

Website:
http://www.massimosrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Music available on certain holidays/private functions.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Patano

Private Party Facilities:
Private room available for meetings/banquets up 32 people.

Main dining room available for larger parties, up to 60 people.

Customized menu and on-premise audio/visual equipment rental available.

Private Party Contact:
Massimo: (727) 784-1881

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Massimo's Eclectic Fine Dining Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Romantic (18)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Cozy (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Private Room (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Business Meals (4)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

This was a very good restaurant. In an area that is not known for good food, this one stands out. The wine list is very impressive. Overall a very pleasant meal, including a table side visit from the chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 16, 2017

One of the best restaurants in the area. Service was attentive but a bit slow (not the waiter's fault). The on-line menu seems rather small but there are a large number of specials, so the choice is wide and varied. The entrees were good, but the Caesar salad was somewhat bland, although the white anchovies were a nice touch. Prices were more in line with a big city restaurant than suburban Pinellas but not unreasonable for a night out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our second visit in seven days! We brought another couple and Bertrand our server went above and beyond as always! Massimo came out of the kitchen twice even though he was busy he and his lovely wife find a way to greet everyone making our dining experience comforting as well as serving the best freshly made meals in Tampa Bay! Don't miss this Palm Harbor treasure! Scott H

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Loved Massimo's! Great menu, wines, and service. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The server did the best he good -however, we had to wait for water, drinks, food etc . There was not enough servers--was a birthday dinner for a friend and I was disappointed--will not go again. It was not server's fault--it was management!!! The server was running around doing he best he could. Will not be going back anytime soon. So disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We are quite fond of Massimo, his staff took great care of us. It was our daughters birthday and they made sure we had a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The best restaurant in Pinellas County bar none! Wonderful family and employees that cater to your wishes every time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Massimo's never disappoints!!! Excellent food and ambience!! Great wine selection.

Service is incredible, professional and friendly! Great place for celebrations, such as birthdays and anniversaries!!!!

My favorite dining experience!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I choose Massimo's for a special evening out to celebrate two birthdays, my in-laws. What a wonderful choice, the atmosphere was enjoyable, the food most delicious and the service perfect. Will definitely chose Massimo's again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always a great experience at Massimo's. My husband and I started with two crab cake appetizers (we love it and can't bear to split one!). For our entrees, my husband had a perfectly prepared filet mignon with vegetables and I had the lobster ravioli. The ravioli contained larger pieces of lobster in a delicate sauce cooked to perfection. For dessert we shared the apple strudel which is part chocolate and part apple and the panna cotta, which comes with a large spoon of chocolate sauce and raspberries. We also tried the Bananas Foster dessert drink and will definitely order that one again. All in all a perfect dinner!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Excellent evening. Wonderful food and service. If anything negative it would be that the wine prices are a bit lofty otherwise great

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Massimo's never fails to deliver great food, service, and personal touch. Rack of Lamb is outstanding as is the Penne Vodka. No room for desert but had to indulge in tha mango raspberry champagne sorbet.

Superior wine list.

Go here as often as you can.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Wonderful" new to me "restaurant! The chef checked in with our table a couple of times- nice touch! Helpful Sommelier and server-

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Four couples enjoyed a wonderful time at Massimo's for one of our members birthday. The service was attentive, food wonderful (4 ordered duck) and wine perfect. It is a small place so book early.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

How often have we passed Massimo's and said "we really have to try that place." Unfortunately, we did that way too many times and missed a lot of opportunities for fabulous meals. This gem is so well hidden and so unassuming from the outside, but inside the place is warm and charming, the service is friendly and attentive and the food is wonderful. We can't wait to return and will be doing so soon! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food quality is exceptional. Chef Massimo masterfully has created a fantastic 5-star restaurant in the heart of Pinellas County. The staff provide an unparalleled dining experience suitable for any occasion. My wife and I take every anniversary or birthday as an opportunity to go to Massimo's. You will never be disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Family holiday meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great service (as usual) great food (as usual) and great atmosphere. Bartender and server were fantastic.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Exceptional as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 22, 2016

As always, great service, great food and expansive wine list. Also, I love that it is locally owned.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 20, 2016

As always, five star dining combined with outstanding service makes Massimo's a true neighborhood gem.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Everything from the delicious food to the great service noise level was low was delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The best meal you'll ever have - PERIOD!

I have never had a disappointing experience at Massimo's. I absolutely love the food. It continues to be the best restaurant in the area. Thanks for another delicious meal!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fabulous as usual. We were out to celebrate my husband's birthday. I had the lamb rack and it was perfect. My husband had the special. A huge NY strip steak, his favorite! Both meals were cooked exactly to our liking and the presentation was lovely. The restaurant is small and a lovely decor. However, it can get quite loud when they are full as was the case Friday night. Generally, this is a restaurant you want to save for very special occasions. It is very pricey. 2 people, 2 drinks, 1 salad, 2 dinners, 1 desert came to $170 after tax and tip. It's great but be prepared to pay.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience. Service and quality of food were excellent. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The chef and owner made sure our food was good and the waiter "B" was excellent - great service - make you feel very appreciated customer. Food selection and pace of the meal excellelent. A nice cozy romantic small establishment with great food and wine list

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Outstanding food and services

Menu is varied but not overwhelming. Atmosphere very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was a special dinner for my wife's 50th birthday. The food was amazing and the service was outstanding. The Chef even came out to talk to us and the staff gave my wife a signed birthday card and they added a candle to our desert. The Chef came out of the restaurant as we were leaving to again wish my wife a happy birthday. The restaurant was first class and the entire experience was fantastic! We will definitely be back. Thank you so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Massimo's, as usual. The food was excellent. The soup of the day was lobster bisque and was outstanding. I ordered the Veal Massimo, which was very thin sliced veal with a cognac cream sauce. Delicious. Others ordered the Veal Scallopini and Jumbo Shrimp. All of us were very happy with our meals. The service was outstanding. If you want great service, ask for Emad. He keeps your glasses full and makes sure he stops by the table often in case you need anything. Reservations are a must.

Tags: Private Room, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had the tuna tiradito and crab cake for starters and both were excellent. My husband had the Duck L'orange special and I had the diver scallops. I couldn't decide which was better. Both were perfectly prepared and so tender. We finished with a delectable apple strudel and panna cotta for dessert. Massimo's wait staff are so knowledgeable and kind. You absolutely cannot go wrong with anything on Massimo's menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The food here was probably the nicest I have had at any restaurant in the Tampa Bay Area since I moved here 3 years ago. There were 4 in our group and everyone was reaLLC blown away by the food. The service was also exceptional, the staff here know how to make you feel good. The meal was not inexpensive but it felt fairly priced for the quality of ingredients, cooking and service. We will definitely be going back again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Wonderful attentive servers, atmosphere was very nice, food was well prepared and presented. My Osso buco was the best I've ever eaten, husbands scallops were excellent. The mushroom tart appetizer was delicious. We will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

One of the best restaurants ever!! We had the specials and they were outstanding! We enjoyed the Chef coming to check on everything. Our server Bertrand from Nice, France was superb! ! Wine list is incredible. We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Always enjoy the food and service at Massimo's. The wait staff is very friendly and makes you feel welcome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, excellent food and service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Outstanding service and food. My husband and I went for a Saturday night date and found our new favorite restaurant. We started with the Brie appetizer, that from the description sounds good, but the actual taste cannot be put into words. We split the veal scaloppine and the bison ribeye. Both amazing. Finished the evening with cappuccinos and panna cotta dessert. We can't wait to go back and try the risotto! The wine list is quite extensive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Superb! Always wonderful food and warm welcoming atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent, as usual. Calamari cooked perfectly with a nice horseradish based dipping sauce. Might be the best calamari dish I've enjoyed anywhere.

Penne Vodka and Fettucine Alfredo were both outstanding leaving little room for dessert.

Go to this restaurant. Never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The best restaurant in north Pinellas and one of our favorites. Start with the people. Massimo and Donna Patano are delightful hosts. Their wait staff - Bertrand, Mario, and Emad, are pros and will make you feel special, even if it's your first time. The menu is imaginative and daily specials are always inviting - Mediterranean influenced but really eclectic - every dish that comes out of Massimo's kitchen is delicious and artfully presented. Nice wine list - it runs from modestly-priced by the glass to bottles in the three figures - don't be overwhelmed by the upper end wines; the selections at the lower end of the price scale are terrific - I always feel adventuresome and willing to try something new (to me) on the wine list because I know I won't be disappointed.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very disappointed. I ordered lobster raviolis. Tasteless and scimpy amount of lobster. Prices exorbitant and ambiance lacking.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I had heard about Massimo's from a business associate however did not have an opportunity to try it until Saturday evening. It's located in a strip mall behind the Outback on Hwy 19 in Palm Harbor. Once inside you would never think you were in a strip mall location.

The feel is comfortable but elegant. Our server Mario was terrific, great service and excellent recommendations. My wife had the shrimp, they were very large and, she said, delicious.

I had a sea food over risotto dish and it was excellent, large shrimp and scallops and prepared to perfection. We enjoyed a chocolate canola for desert.

Looking forward to our next meal their. Massimo coming to the table to ask if everything was enjoyable was a very nice touch!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Just fantastic. Excellent food, service and quite enough to have a conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2016

There a no words to describe this place....a gem tucked away. Love it!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 12, 2016

I find Massimo's to be a great little restaurant. I have never had a bad meal there, and the chef always comes out to see how you like the food. He is very proud of his cuisine, as he should be. Massimo does like to prepare the food his way, but he is very flexible and gracious, as well.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Massimos remains the very best restaurant around. While a bit pricey, the food and service are worth every dime. His risottos are phenomenal, and provide enough for a second meal, and the osso buco, recommended by our superb server, was the best. It's always great to visit with Massimo, as he makes it a habit to greet his guests. Great place for celebrations, and even his lunches are remarkable. A hidden treasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Above average food and great service. Chef came by table. Slightly noisey for a romantic destination.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I had read several mixed reviews before deciding to try this place. It is very tiny, maybe 15 tables total. Server was friendly but spoke with very strong french accent and it was not easy to understand him. Food was okay, not something I would consider eclectic. It is a nice, fairly quiet restaurant but I will pass on another opportunity to visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Massimo's is truly one of our very most favorite restaurants in Tampa Bay! Wonderful ambiance, and exceptional high-quality food! We recommend to all of our friends and family and will definitely be back many times to come

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food and service were excellent. The wine list was extensive, but very expensive. A selection of more moderately priced wines, readily available in the $50 to $70 range, would have been appreciated. Overall, a nice dinner, but most likely will not return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Loved the Lobster risotto...perfect for our family birthday celebration! Waiter was delightful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.