Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Massa's South Coast Grill

The Massa family has been serving Houston since 1944. Massa's second location across from the Four Seasons Hotel and near the George R. Brown Convention Center offers casual fine dining in a comfortable contemporary atmosphere. Centrally located, Massa's South Coast Grill is convenient for downtown business professionals, convention attendees, private parties and sports fans.

1331 Lamar
Suite 114
Houston, TX 77010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Saturday 5-10pm



Cross Street:
Caroline Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 655-9100

Website:
http://southcoastgrill.com/

Catering:
Catering to Downtown Office Buildings, and inside the 610 Loop. Specializing in Buffets and Receptions. Full Bar available. Parties of 25 - 250 People. Minimum of $500 in food and beverage purchaces. Personal Service, Owner Joseph Massa handles all large catering jobs.

Parking Details:
Free validated parking in 4 Houston Center Garage. Surface lots and street parking available. Prices and availability vary.

Public Transit:
Three Blocks from Light Rail on Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Massa/Team Kitchen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Massa's South Coast Grill can help make your Special Event a success.

Massa's South Coast Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
123 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Houston. Great food and great environment. Justin our server is very personable and is a great waiter.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 9, 2017

It was a Wednesday evening business meal with a total of 7 of us. The restaurant was not busy, quite enough for all of us to talk, great service, and the food was very tasty. I had the red fish and it lived up to the recommendation of our waiter. Wine was nice as well and the price was in line with what you would expect for downtown Houston.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Had a great dinner with friends here while staying in downtown Houston. The food had amazing flavor. The appetizer and dessert were as great as the meal. I nice beer and wine list also. I am shocked they don't have a line out the door! A gem, must try if in the area!!!

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Food and service was awesome. On the way there we ran into some really bad traffic (Astros Parade) and had to push our reservation back. They were friendly and accommodating with the changes. After eating one in our party dropped his phone and staff got in touch with us so we could get it back. Great experience and we will go back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Good Gulf Coast seafood in pleasant environment at reasonable prices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 24, 2017

We enjoyed our meal very much. We need to support our independently owned restaurants, especially Massa’s!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Perfect pre-Astros meal spot, and they validate parking in the adjacent garage

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant downtown. The red fish is wonderful. I am gluten free and the chef will always make my meal safe for me. Justin, our server, is the best. His personality also make the evening enjoyable. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We chose to have dinner here which was walking distance from the hotel and the Toyota center. We loved the food, the service, and the drinks. The Maui Maui was amazing!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This was our second visit to Massa's and we've really been impressed both times. The food was great and the server was very attentive. We made our reservation prior to attending a show at Hobby Center and the only drawback was that the service was slower than we expected, which put us in a rush getting over to the play. Give yourself some extra time. That being said, we'd go back for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Good meal, service and location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Delicious food. Attentive, friendly staff. Nice ambience. Great place to dine pre theater. This was our case (and also celebrated my birthday).

Tags: Live Sports, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We've been here numerous times and it's always great, but we do miss our favorite waiter, Tony! We understand that he has gone on to work somewhere else, but he was always our favorite waiter!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Massa's is great for a lunch business meal! Arrive early at opening if you need quiet time to discuss business as it tends to get noisy around noon. Massa's wait staff is always very attentive and the food is fantastic! Massa's is a MUST!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Very nice they gave us a dessert with happy anniversary on the chocolate, very appreciated.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant. Justin our server is very knowledgeable and has a great personality. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

the food and the service was spot on. Our waiter was really friendly and helpful to select what to eat. THe beverages we ordered were really good. Mine was an old fashioned and perfectly chilled . Can't wait to go back. !!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 4, 2017

First time visit for us. Food and service (Kevin) was terrific. Lighting could have been lowered to improve ambiance and nearby table was overly loud celebrating a birthday. Was there thru HRW and we were really pleased overall. Was a bit confusing regarding parking (no valet) and suggest better signage related to that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

My first dining experience at this Massa's brothers restaurant, but we will be back again. We were going to a concert at Toyota Center that started at 7:00 PM, so we wanted to dine before the concert. Our food was excellent, and service was great. We also had the opportunity to meet Joe Massa who manages the restaurant, and Mario personally welcomed and seated us, and then ensured that we had an outstanding dining experience. Massa's South Coast Grill is a short two blocks walk to Toyota Center and the nearby George R. Brown and Discovery Green area. This is a " hidden gem" of a restaurant and is family-owned, and it clearly beats the competitors in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Excellent meal! We enjoyed everything from the appetizer to the dessert! Lovelyrics restaurant with professional service and exquisite food! Truly a delight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food and service was wonderful. Easy to walk there from Convention Center. We would definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Great food! Pecan crusted chicken, scalloped potatoes and grilled asparagus were all delicious! Also loved the chocolate mousse cake! So yummy!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We found the restaurant on trip advisor. We were on vacation and decided to give it a try. Great food and nice presentation as well. Really enjoying dining there. Would return next time we're in Houston.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Scenic View, Authentic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Still a great place. Great food if you get the "specials" - best seafood downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 27, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary with great wine and food. The seafood and steaks were done perfectly. The owner Joe came to our table to a few times to make sure our experience was perfect. We were considering going to a different very popular steak house in town, we are very happy we chose Messa's. We will skip that other place every time we are in Houston and come back to Messa's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Very Delicious great Service would definitely recomend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Came here on a Friday evening with plans to walk through Discovery Green on the way to a show at the GRB convention center afterward. Business was slow, but that's to be expected from a downtown restaurant. Their peak times are during lunch. Food was great. Wait staff was attentive. The owner and his wife even came over to say hello and ask how we were doing. Great experience for my first time there. Will definitely be back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Fantastic food, service & cocktails! Texas coastal fresh seafood cooked to perfection. Prefer to eat dinner here than eat at any other downtown Houston restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Went before a concert at House of Blues. Made the decision based on the fact that they take reservations (as we have ended up not being able to eat before a concert at the Toyota Center because of crowds) and they had good reviews. Being from New Orleans, we have a high expectation for seafood dishes--we were not disappointed. The menu included an intriguing variety of dishes we don't normally see in Houston. The Oysters Rockefellar was delicious! Also had the stuffed shrimp and shrimp and grits. Will definitely be back to try the fish.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The blueberry lemon drop martini was sooo good. The Food was good and our waiter was very friendly and fun. Great location for House of Blues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Always good food and good service at lunch time. The ambiance there is nice and comfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very pleased with original cocktails, beer selection, shrimp on the house salad and excellent house vinaigrette, and the entree (we both ordered bacon-wrapped stuffed shrimp) was tasty and ample. Potatoes au gratin and grilled veggies were a great accompaniment. Service was attentive without being obtrusive. Great value!

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Centrally located in Houston. Food was excellent. Would go again. Recommend it for lunch or dinner

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We dined here in February before a Rockets game. We enjoyed it so chose this restaurant again before the Rockets game Friday night. Service great and good tasty. My husband and nephew had fresh fish dishes and I had pecan crusted chicken. Meals came out promptly and tasty. Great option before Toyota Center events. An easy walk.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

House sampler is really tasty but salmon croquette in lunch menu is not fresh and way too salty. Service is good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Excellent as always- great service. Seafood specials are always top notch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent meal with wonderful seafood selections. Fabulous service as well. Only complaint, very odd background music selection (80's rock) considering the overall atmosphere of the restaurant which made it somewhat distracting during our meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A favorite restaurant that we visit whenever we are in Houston. The food is excellent, service has always been outstanding and the people are friendly. Our most recent visit was exceptional again and we had a chance to speak with the owner, Joe. A great guy. Highly recommend the restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We took some friends to Massa's before a Rocket basketball game. They were impressed and loved the food and will be back with us and without us. We got our parking validated which saved us $10!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We met some friends to celebrate two of our birthdays. One friend was hard of hearing so they seated us is a very quiet corner near the front. It was the first time in a long time that she could hear our conversations easily. The food was great. Two of us had the blacked red snapper and the deserts were almost too big to finish, but they were so good we forced ourselves.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.