Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Massa's South Coast Grill

The Massa family has been serving Houston since 1944. Massa's second location across from the Four Seasons Hotel and near the George R. Brown Convention Center offers casual fine dining in a comfortable contemporary atmosphere. Centrally located, Massa's South Coast Grill is convenient for downtown business professionals, convention attendees, private parties and sports fans.

1331 Lamar
Suite 114
Houston, TX 77010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Saturday 5-10pm



Cross Street:
Caroline Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 655-9100

Website:
http://southcoastgrill.com/

Catering:
Catering to Downtown Office Buildings, and inside the 610 Loop. Specializing in Buffets and Receptions. Full Bar available. Parties of 25 - 250 People. Minimum of $500 in food and beverage purchaces. Personal Service, Owner Joseph Massa handles all large catering jobs.

Parking Details:
Free validated parking in 4 Houston Center Garage. Surface lots and street parking available. Prices and availability vary.

Public Transit:
Three Blocks from Light Rail on Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Massa/Team Kitchen

Private Party Facilities:
Main Dinning room holds up to 100 people for a reception. Banquet Room holds up to 60 People for a seated dinner or reception, Executive Room holds up to 14 People for a seated dinner. The whole restaurant can be booked out for up to 200 people for a reception. Closed for all business on Sundays.

Private Party Contact:
massaseventcoordinator@msn.com: (713) 655-9100

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Massa's South Coast Grill can help make your Special Event a success.

Massa's South Coast Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
See All
Outstanding Value (6)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Romantic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Private Room (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
85 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A favorite restaurant that we visit whenever we are in Houston. The food is excellent, service has always been outstanding and the people are friendly. Our most recent visit was exceptional again and we had a chance to speak with the owner, Joe. A great guy. Highly recommend the restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We took some friends to Massa's before a Rocket basketball game. They were impressed and loved the food and will be back with us and without us. We got our parking validated which saved us $10!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We met some friends to celebrate two of our birthdays. One friend was hard of hearing so they seated us is a very quiet corner near the front. It was the first time in a long time that she could hear our conversations easily. The food was great. Two of us had the blacked red snapper and the deserts were almost too big to finish, but they were so good we forced ourselves.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Six of us went for a birthday lunch celebration. The restaurant was not crowded yet it took 10 min for a waiter to take our order. The food was very non- descrip too. My shrimp had very little flavor and a high price. The desserts were poor: bread pudding and peach cobbler. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

food was outstanding. Service just as good. A true gem.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great spot for dining before attending Rockets game or other downtown destinations. Only a 5 minute easy walk to Toyota Center. Casual dress is permitted and dinners run about $25 which I don't think is bad for downtown. Fresh fish, steaks, chicken or poboysor burgers available. This is the third time we've eaten there before attending concerts or a game.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Service was bad. The severs are not. Trained they just walk up and start talking right in the middle of conversations that are going on reach over food. Very rough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our server Kevin went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of. I have an allergy, and it can be difficult sometimes to eat while traveling, but he made it easy. And his recommendation (salmon with sweet potatoes and sautéed greens) was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Fantastic lunch at reasonable prices. Everyone enjoyed the good food and great service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great service, great food! Next time I'm in Houston, I will make it a point to stop in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Awesome food before a Rocket game! Happy hour drinks and reasonable prices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Nice quiet restaurant. Our server seemed pleasant, but the food wasn't good and it took forever to come to our table (unlike everybody else in the restaurant, who all seemed to be served in a timely fashion - people that got there 30 minutes after we did received their food less than 5 minutes after we did).

My husband had the shrimp and grits; the grilled shrimp were fine (not overdone), but the sauce on them tasted like Ragu. Ugh.

I got the oyster po-boy, billed as coming with kale slaw, onion rings and French fries. All the fried food was served cold, and there was only one (cold) onion ring. The kale slaw was kale and chopped tomatoes tossed with bleu cheese dressing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This is a great place for a business lunch. The waiters are top notch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My wife and I had a lovely evening here. The food was excellent, the service outstanding. Ask for Justin. The owner, Joe, met with us and was absolutely charming. Wonderful location and prime spot for dining before a Rockets game.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 5, 2016

the nice cub cakes, try them
excellent services
good cost performance

Tags: Healthy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Left my credit card there and the owner called me and offered to meet me on Sunday (when they are closed) to return it to me. Customer service extraordinaire! Everything was fantastic from the bread to the dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As usual, the food and service were excellent. Both the seafood and chicken/sausage gumbos were delicious. Crab cakes were great too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Food was excellent. We were 6 people and had 6 different dishes. Crab cakes were especially good. Bacon wrapped shrimp was delicious. Service was attentive even with a very large retirement party at the restaurant at the same time. We were in a separate room so the party did not interfere with our service or ambience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was excellent and the quality of a higher end restaurant. I had pecan crusted trout and my wife had the redfish special. Very fresh and cooked perfectly. Do not pass up the gumbo as an appetizer.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Chose because of location but will return because of the food. This place was great. On my list now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2016

A great choice for dining Downtown after a game or an evening at the theater . My family and I would return again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Very accommmodating to tastes. Filet was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2016

This place has a very open concept and they pack the tables in, which makes it feel suffocating to eat in the main dining room. If you go eat in the bar. The food was average; not bad nor great. I had a very average time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went for the Restaurant weeks menu and had a great date night. The management and servers were all very nice and attentive. The food was really good, in particular the bread pudding was melt in your mouth!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food was excellent. The bacon wrapped shrimp was delicious. I can't wait to have it again. The gumbo and crab and corn chowder were both excellent. The service was very attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Highly recommend this place on you next Downton Houston visit.
Our server, Omar was excellent.
Timed all our courses well.
I tried all 3 soups- all were Spectacular!
Gumbo File was slightly the best.
Candlestick Shrimp appetizer was excellent.
Served with a flavorful sauce that added a kick.
Shrimp n grits for my entree.
Awesome. Blackened shrimp in cheese grits and some grilled asparagus to complement.
My wife had Bacon wrapped stuffed shrimp and ate it all.

Topped off with a shared Texas Pecan pie and a Coconut cream pie. Portions are reasonable, so our 3 diners shared 2 desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food great service. Also enjoyed talking with the owners. They were very personable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Wonderful cuisine and service. The waiter was enthusiastic and eager to please. Nice plating, flavors and value. A great place to dine in Houston.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Went on July 4th for the holiday buffet. Good choice of food - salad, beef, seafood, pasta, veggies and dessert. Had great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Love that the portions were NOT huge. Just perfect amount.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fabulous food, service and atmosphere - none better

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We've been to South Coast Grill a few times. Nearly every time the owner takes special care to come to the table and make certain that we're well cared for. Great service. Love this place!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day here where they had set up a special brunch. Brunch foods were fresh and delicious - all family friendly. One in our party ordered gumbo off the menu and thought it was the best he had eaten outside of Lousiana. Mimosas were just $2.50 for the day. Owner was on site and working, introduced himself to our party. Very attentive service. Tablecloths and cloth napkins - very nice. We will definitely go back to order off the regular menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2016

A group of us only had about an hour to eat in between educational sessions of the convention going on at the nearby Convention Center. This place was a great time for lunch. We were able to get a table for 6 on OpenTable with very short notice. The men you had a lot of seafood and New Orleans style cuisine to offer. I tried the corn and crab chowder with a house salad that came with shrimp. Both were very good. The service was excellent! It is directly across from the front doors of the Four Seasons Hotel in Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 13, 2016

I ordered a shrimp and chicken salad that was not on the menu. I was not disappointed. I ate every bite! Great service too. The manager came over and greeted us personally. Will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 11, 2016

The restaurant was not exactly what I expected but was pleasantly pleased. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was good and for Houston, reasonably priced. Would visit again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 4, 2016

Here for the final four w 3 women and we lived it-fabulous salads and fast service-even during the lunch rush -it was wonderful to see downtown rush by while we were having a leisurely and delicious lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 8, 2016

Great specials, and appetizer selections are ample portions. Wine list was broad and reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Great service, attention to keeping water and ice tea filled, order taken and food delivered in good timing. high quality salads and soups, entrees well prepared and tasty, great flavors.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.