Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Massa's South Coast Grill

The Massa family has been serving Houston since 1944. Massa's second location across from the Four Seasons Hotel and near the George R. Brown Convention Center offers casual fine dining in a comfortable contemporary atmosphere. Centrally located, Massa's South Coast Grill is convenient for downtown business professionals, convention attendees, private parties and sports fans.

1331 Lamar
Suite 114
Houston, TX 77010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Saturday 5-10pm



Cross Street:
Caroline Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 655-9100

Website:
http://southcoastgrill.com/

Catering:
Catering to Downtown Office Buildings, and inside the 610 Loop. Specializing in Buffets and Receptions. Full Bar available. Parties of 25 - 250 People. Minimum of $500 in food and beverage purchaces. Personal Service, Owner Joseph Massa handles all large catering jobs.

Parking Details:
Free validated parking in 4 Houston Center Garage. Surface lots and street parking available. Prices and availability vary.

Public Transit:
Three Blocks from Light Rail on Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Massa/Team Kitchen

Private Party Facilities:
Main Dinning room holds up to 100 people for a reception. Banquet Room holds up to 60 People for a seated dinner or reception, Executive Room holds up to 14 People for a seated dinner. The whole restaurant can be booked out for up to 200 people for a reception. Closed for all business on Sundays.

Private Party Contact:
massaseventcoordinator@msn.com: (713) 655-9100

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Massa's South Coast Grill can help make your Special Event a success.

Massa's South Coast Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Business Meals (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Authentic (3)
Romantic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Casual (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Cozy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
113 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

Good meal, service and location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food. Attentive, friendly staff. Nice ambience. Great place to dine pre theater. This was our case (and also celebrated my birthday).

Tags: Live Sports, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We've been here numerous times and it's always great, but we do miss our favorite waiter, Tony! We understand that he has gone on to work somewhere else, but he was always our favorite waiter!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Massa's is great for a lunch business meal! Arrive early at opening if you need quiet time to discuss business as it tends to get noisy around noon. Massa's wait staff is always very attentive and the food is fantastic! Massa's is a MUST!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Very nice they gave us a dessert with happy anniversary on the chocolate, very appreciated.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant. Justin our server is very knowledgeable and has a great personality. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

the food and the service was spot on. Our waiter was really friendly and helpful to select what to eat. THe beverages we ordered were really good. Mine was an old fashioned and perfectly chilled . Can't wait to go back. !!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 4, 2017

First time visit for us. Food and service (Kevin) was terrific. Lighting could have been lowered to improve ambiance and nearby table was overly loud celebrating a birthday. Was there thru HRW and we were really pleased overall. Was a bit confusing regarding parking (no valet) and suggest better signage related to that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

My first dining experience at this Massa's brothers restaurant, but we will be back again. We were going to a concert at Toyota Center that started at 7:00 PM, so we wanted to dine before the concert. Our food was excellent, and service was great. We also had the opportunity to meet Joe Massa who manages the restaurant, and Mario personally welcomed and seated us, and then ensured that we had an outstanding dining experience. Massa's South Coast Grill is a short two blocks walk to Toyota Center and the nearby George R. Brown and Discovery Green area. This is a " hidden gem" of a restaurant and is family-owned, and it clearly beats the competitors in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Excellent meal! We enjoyed everything from the appetizer to the dessert! Lovelyrics restaurant with professional service and exquisite food! Truly a delight!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food and service was wonderful. Easy to walk there from Convention Center. We would definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Great food! Pecan crusted chicken, scalloped potatoes and grilled asparagus were all delicious! Also loved the chocolate mousse cake! So yummy!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We found the restaurant on trip advisor. We were on vacation and decided to give it a try. Great food and nice presentation as well. Really enjoying dining there. Would return next time we're in Houston.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Scenic View, Authentic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Still a great place. Great food if you get the "specials" - best seafood downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 27, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary with great wine and food. The seafood and steaks were done perfectly. The owner Joe came to our table to a few times to make sure our experience was perfect. We were considering going to a different very popular steak house in town, we are very happy we chose Messa's. We will skip that other place every time we are in Houston and come back to Messa's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Very Delicious great Service would definitely recomend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Came here on a Friday evening with plans to walk through Discovery Green on the way to a show at the GRB convention center afterward. Business was slow, but that's to be expected from a downtown restaurant. Their peak times are during lunch. Food was great. Wait staff was attentive. The owner and his wife even came over to say hello and ask how we were doing. Great experience for my first time there. Will definitely be back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Fantastic food, service & cocktails! Texas coastal fresh seafood cooked to perfection. Prefer to eat dinner here than eat at any other downtown Houston restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Went before a concert at House of Blues. Made the decision based on the fact that they take reservations (as we have ended up not being able to eat before a concert at the Toyota Center because of crowds) and they had good reviews. Being from New Orleans, we have a high expectation for seafood dishes--we were not disappointed. The menu included an intriguing variety of dishes we don't normally see in Houston. The Oysters Rockefellar was delicious! Also had the stuffed shrimp and shrimp and grits. Will definitely be back to try the fish.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The blueberry lemon drop martini was sooo good. The Food was good and our waiter was very friendly and fun. Great location for House of Blues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Always good food and good service at lunch time. The ambiance there is nice and comfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very pleased with original cocktails, beer selection, shrimp on the house salad and excellent house vinaigrette, and the entree (we both ordered bacon-wrapped stuffed shrimp) was tasty and ample. Potatoes au gratin and grilled veggies were a great accompaniment. Service was attentive without being obtrusive. Great value!

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Centrally located in Houston. Food was excellent. Would go again. Recommend it for lunch or dinner

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We dined here in February before a Rockets game. We enjoyed it so chose this restaurant again before the Rockets game Friday night. Service great and good tasty. My husband and nephew had fresh fish dishes and I had pecan crusted chicken. Meals came out promptly and tasty. Great option before Toyota Center events. An easy walk.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

House sampler is really tasty but salmon croquette in lunch menu is not fresh and way too salty. Service is good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Excellent as always- great service. Seafood specials are always top notch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent meal with wonderful seafood selections. Fabulous service as well. Only complaint, very odd background music selection (80's rock) considering the overall atmosphere of the restaurant which made it somewhat distracting during our meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A favorite restaurant that we visit whenever we are in Houston. The food is excellent, service has always been outstanding and the people are friendly. Our most recent visit was exceptional again and we had a chance to speak with the owner, Joe. A great guy. Highly recommend the restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We took some friends to Massa's before a Rocket basketball game. They were impressed and loved the food and will be back with us and without us. We got our parking validated which saved us $10!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We met some friends to celebrate two of our birthdays. One friend was hard of hearing so they seated us is a very quiet corner near the front. It was the first time in a long time that she could hear our conversations easily. The food was great. Two of us had the blacked red snapper and the deserts were almost too big to finish, but they were so good we forced ourselves.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Six of us went for a birthday lunch celebration. The restaurant was not crowded yet it took 10 min for a waiter to take our order. The food was very non- descrip too. My shrimp had very little flavor and a high price. The desserts were poor: bread pudding and peach cobbler. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

food was outstanding. Service just as good. A true gem.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great spot for dining before attending Rockets game or other downtown destinations. Only a 5 minute easy walk to Toyota Center. Casual dress is permitted and dinners run about $25 which I don't think is bad for downtown. Fresh fish, steaks, chicken or poboysor burgers available. This is the third time we've eaten there before attending concerts or a game.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Service was bad. The severs are not. Trained they just walk up and start talking right in the middle of conversations that are going on reach over food. Very rough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our server Kevin went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of. I have an allergy, and it can be difficult sometimes to eat while traveling, but he made it easy. And his recommendation (salmon with sweet potatoes and sautéed greens) was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Fantastic lunch at reasonable prices. Everyone enjoyed the good food and great service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great service, great food! Next time I'm in Houston, I will make it a point to stop in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Awesome food before a Rocket game! Happy hour drinks and reasonable prices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Nice quiet restaurant. Our server seemed pleasant, but the food wasn't good and it took forever to come to our table (unlike everybody else in the restaurant, who all seemed to be served in a timely fashion - people that got there 30 minutes after we did received their food less than 5 minutes after we did).

My husband had the shrimp and grits; the grilled shrimp were fine (not overdone), but the sauce on them tasted like Ragu. Ugh.

I got the oyster po-boy, billed as coming with kale slaw, onion rings and French fries. All the fried food was served cold, and there was only one (cold) onion ring. The kale slaw was kale and chopped tomatoes tossed with bleu cheese dressing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This is a great place for a business lunch. The waiters are top notch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.