About Massa's South Coast Grill

1331 Lamar
Suite 114
Houston, TX 77010
View Larger Map

The Massa family has been serving Houston since 1944. Massa's second location across from the Four Seasons Hotel and near the George R. Brown Convention Center offers casual fine dining in a comfortable contemporary atmosphere. Centrally located, Massa's South Coast Grill is convenient for downtown business professionals, convention attendees, private parties and sports fans.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Saturday 5-10pm



Cross Street:
Caroline Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 655-9100

Website:
http://southcoastgrill.com/

Catering:
Catering to Downtown Office Buildings, and inside the 610 Loop. Specializing in Buffets and Receptions. Full Bar available. Parties of 25 - 250 People. Minimum of $500 in food and beverage purchaces. Personal Service, Owner Joseph Massa handles all large catering jobs.

Parking Details:
Free validated parking in 4 Houston Center Garage. Surface lots and street parking available. Prices and availability vary.

Public Transit:
Three Blocks from Light Rail on Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Massa/Team Kitchen

Private Party Facilities:
Main Dinning room holds up to 100 people for a reception. Banquet Room holds up to 60 People for a seated dinner or reception, Executive Room holds up to 14 People for a seated dinner. The whole restaurant can be booked out for up to 200 people for a reception. Closed for all business on Sundays.

Private Party Contact:
massaseventcoordinator@msn.com: 7136559100x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Massa's South Coast Grill can help make your Special Event a success.

Massa's South Coast Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
See All
Business Meals (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Romantic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Authentic (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Casual (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
69 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Left my credit card there and the owner ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Left my credit card there and the owner called me and offered to meet me on Sunday (when they are closed) to return it to me. Customer service extraordinaire! Everything was fantastic from the bread to the dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food and service were exce ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As usual, the food and service were excellent. Both the seafood and chicken/sausage gumbos were delicious. Crab cakes were great too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent. We were 6 people an ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Food was excellent. We were 6 people and had 6 different dishes. Crab cakes were especially good. Bacon wrapped shrimp was delicious. Service was attentive even with a very large retirement party at the restaurant at the same time. We were in a separate room so the party did not interfere with our service or ambience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the quality o ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was excellent and the quality of a higher end restaurant. I had pecan crusted trout and my wife had the redfish special. Very fresh and cooked perfectly. Do not pass up the gumbo as an appetizer.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Chose because of location but will retur ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Chose because of location but will return because of the food. This place was great. On my list now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great choice for dining Downtown after ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2016

A great choice for dining Downtown after a game or an evening at the theater . My family and I would return again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very accommmodating to tastes. Filet was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Very accommmodating to tastes. Filet was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place has a very open concept and t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2016

This place has a very open concept and they pack the tables in, which makes it feel suffocating to eat in the main dining room. If you go eat in the bar. The food was average; not bad nor great. I had a very average time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We went for the Restaurant weeks menu an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went for the Restaurant weeks menu and had a great date night. The management and servers were all very nice and attentive. The food was really good, in particular the bread pudding was melt in your mouth!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was excellent. The bacon wrapped s ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food was excellent. The bacon wrapped shrimp was delicious. I can't wait to have it again. The gumbo and crab and corn chowder were both excellent. The service was very attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend this place on you next ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Highly recommend this place on you next Downton Houston visit.

Our server, Omar was excellent.

Timed all our courses well.

I tried all 3 soups- all were Spectacular!

Gumbo File was slightly the best.

Candlestick Shrimp appetizer was excellent.

Served with a flavorful sauce that added a kick.

Shrimp n grits for my entree.

Awesome. Blackened shrimp in cheese grits and some grilled asparagus to complement.

My wife had Bacon wrapped stuffed shrimp and ate it all.

Topped off with a shared Texas Pecan pie and a Coconut cream pie. Portions are reasonable, so our 3 diners shared 2 desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food great service. Also enjoyed t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food great service. Also enjoyed talking with the owners. They were very personable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful cuisine and service. The wait ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Wonderful cuisine and service. The waiter was enthusiastic and eager to please. Nice plating, flavors and value. A great place to dine in Houston.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on July 4th for the holiday buffet. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Went on July 4th for the holiday buffet. Good choice of food - salad, beef, seafood, pasta, veggies and dessert. Had great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love that the portions were NOT huge. Ju ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Love that the portions were NOT huge. Just perfect amount.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat.

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, service and atmosphere - ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fabulous food, service and atmosphere - none better

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special care by the owner & staff

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We've been to South Coast Grill a few times. Nearly every time the owner takes special care to come to the table and make certain that we're well cared for. Great service. Love this place!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Gumbo

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day here where they had set up a special brunch. Brunch foods were fresh and delicious - all family friendly. One in our party ordered gumbo off the menu and thought it was the best he had eaten outside of Lousiana. Mimosas were just $2.50 for the day. Owner was on site and working, introduced himself to our party. Very attentive service. Tablecloths and cloth napkins - very nice. We will definitely go back to order off the regular menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A group of us only had about an hour to ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2016

A group of us only had about an hour to eat in between educational sessions of the convention going on at the nearby Convention Center. This place was a great time for lunch. We were able to get a table for 6 on OpenTable with very short notice. The men you had a lot of seafood and New Orleans style cuisine to offer. I tried the corn and crab chowder with a house salad that came with shrimp. Both were very good. The service was excellent! It is directly across from the front doors of the Four Seasons Hotel in Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love the place!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 13, 2016

I ordered a shrimp and chicken salad that was not on the menu. I was not disappointed. I ate every bite! Great service too. The manager came over and greeted us personally. Will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Massa's

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 11, 2016

The restaurant was not exactly what I expected but was pleasantly pleased. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was good and for Houston, reasonably priced. Would visit again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Here for the final four w 3 women and we ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 4, 2016

Here for the final four w 3 women and we lived it-fabulous salads and fast service-even during the lunch rush -it was wonderful to see downtown rush by while we were having a leisurely and delicious lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great specials, and appetizer selections ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 8, 2016

Great specials, and appetizer selections are ample portions. Wine list was broad and reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Very good location for lunch meeting

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Great service, attention to keeping water and ice tea filled, order taken and food delivered in good timing. high quality salads and soups, entrees well prepared and tasty, great flavors.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and food!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food! The tamales and fish t ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Outstanding food! The tamales and fish tacos were the best ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a very a good meal with excellent ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We had a very a good meal with excellent service. I had the pecan crusted trout and my wife had the shrimp and grits. Both were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A freshly and expertly prepared lunch

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2016

I couldn't enjoy the ambiance as much as I would have liked because we had a short window for lunch before a meeting nearby. We were served efficiently, and both the pasta and the burger were well enjoyed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner before HoB Concert

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Overall Very Good. Service was excellent, timely, attentive, not overbearing and got everything right. Food was very good. The Smoked Corn & Crab Bisque was excellent. The House Salad was good. The Rainbow Trout was excellent. The Seared Ahi Tuna Salad Special was Very Good. Extensive wine list. Adequate beer list, should be expanded given all the craft beer now in Houston. Very convenient to the House of Blues where we had tickets to see Grace Potter (great show by the way!).

Made for an excellent start to a wonderful evening. We will be back to try additional items on the menu that enticed us, e.g. Blue Cheese Filet Mignon or Catfish Courtboullion!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food - Excellent

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2015

Although they changed their names, they are still a great restaurant, with great food and excellent and friendly service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Apps outstanding. Mains good but not as ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2015

Apps outstanding. Mains good but not as stellar. Service impeccable. Pro tip: get the seafood gumbo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Laid Back, Great Service

 
·Dined on August 30, 2015

Went on a Sat night for date night. It was scarcely populated with my gf and I being 2 of about 10 guests. The waiter advised a nice white wine and we enjoyed the whole bottle since it was 50% off. Proceeded to get the snapper and mahi mahi and both were most excellent. If you're looking for a fun, quiet date night, that's your place: the woman will enjoy the ambiance as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Wonderful meal and a wonderful night!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 25, 2015

My friends and I met at Massa's Grill on Lamar street. The meal was awesome everyone enjoyed what they ordered. I ordered the salmon mignon. It was fabulous. We will definately go back to that restaurant. It is very close to the Toyota center so could eat at Massa before a game or concert!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice, laid back feel to a place in contr ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 15, 2015

Nice, laid back feel to a place in contrast with the hustle and bustle of downtown. Service was on the spot. Orders arrived promptly. Food was delicious and its presentation was impeccable. Definitely want to come back and try some of the wines!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Perfect spot for a business lunch

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2015

We had the shrimp and cheese grits and the flounder special. Both were outstanding. The cheese grits were the best I have ever had, and I eat grits a lot. Service was attentive, and the owner even came out to ask us how we liked the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bacon wrapped stuffed shrimp - amazing!

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 28, 2015

Went to Massa's South Coast Grill for dinner. I ordered the bacon wrapped stuffed shrimp as my entree. It was decadent and delicious. Large shrimp were wrapped with bacon and stuffed with crab. Oh my. We ordered coffee after dinner and it took a long time to come. So our server brought us a complimentary slice of cheesecake and apologized for the inconvenience. I really appreciated that level of service. I would absolutely go back and recommend it to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our favorite restaurant in downtown Houston.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 17, 2015

The young man who served us was very attentive and helpful. The food was served promptly and was hot, plated attractively, and was delicious. It is a very classy place to enjoy a delicious meal before joining evening activities in the downtown Houston area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beware of menus found online

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 4, 2015

We were looking forward to some of the items listed on the online menu we found here: http://www.allmenus.com/tx/houston/16071-massas-seafood-grill/menu/

Disappointed that most of those items are not on the current menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Delightful Dinner

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 3, 2015

Attentive service and review worthy food - what a combo! Had the Shrimp and Grits and they did not disappoint. The grits were jalapeno cheese grits and were divine! Served with about 6 well seasoned shrimp. This meal was pre-Garth Brooks concert and we were timely served and well cared for. They even got us a couple of waters on our way back to the car after the concert. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE :)

Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.