Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 9 times today

Massa's South Coast Grill

4.6
134 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Southern
Top Tags:
  • Business Meals
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Birthdays
The Massa family has been serving Houston since 1944. Massa's second location across from the Four Seasons Hotel and near the George R. Brown Convention Center offers casual fine dining in a comfortable contemporary atmosphere. Centrally located, Massa's South Coast Grill is convenient for downtown business professionals, convention attendees, private parties and sports fans.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Southern, Creole / Cajun / Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Saturday 5-10pm



icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(713) 655-9100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Joseph Massa/Team Kitchen
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering to Downtown Office Buildings, and inside the 610 Loop. Specializing in Buffets and Receptions. Full Bar available. Parties of 25 - 250 People. Minimum of $500 in food and beverage purchaces. Personal Service, Owner Joseph Massa handles all large catering jobs.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Caroline Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free validated parking in 4 Houston Center Garage. Surface lots and street parking available. Prices and availability vary.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Three Blocks from Light Rail on Main Street.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Massa's South Coast Grill can help make your Special Event a success.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 134 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.8
service
4.4
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Food was delicious. Service was excellent and prompt. Prices were very good. I had not been to Massa's in a while but will go back more often now.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

This was our first time dining at Massa’s for dinner. I had eaten business lunches at Massa’s several years ago and had always thought it was pretty good. So I was surprised when the food turned out to be excellent. I ordered a cup of crab and corn bisque and it was very well prepared, spicy but still allowing the crab to shine through. My main course was the bacon-wrapped, crab-stuffed shrimp. It was covered with thin/crisp bacon and the shrimp and crab stuffing were moist and flavorful. My wife ordered the tuna special and it was cooked just as she wanted and was very fresh.

The restaurant was not very busy in the evening so the staff was very friendly and accommodating...much more so than I remembered from busy lunchtime visits. While i wouldn’t say the restaurant has the most romantic environment for date night, it certainly was a pleasant place for a night of fine dining.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Good place for a table service meal if you work in the Park Shops Area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

The calamari appetizer was worth the journey to Houston, in its own right. Mario, our waiter was most attentive, he offered great suggestions for entree's and made us feel like we were the only couple in the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Went on Valentine's day. Ordered off the holiday menu. Good selection and delicious. Good wait staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 5, 2018

We all had seafood dishes, snapper. Very good. One person had diet restrictions. The wait staff and kitchen were sensitive to this and catered to the requests. Easy place to have conversation and nice ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

My husband and I had read the good reviews for Massa's and decided to check it out on a Saturday night. We loved the ambience of the restaurant and enjoyed sitting by the window. Our waiter, Justin, was excellent. He attended to our every need, was helpful with menu options and was a very pleasant young man. The food was delicious! We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

First time to eat there. The food was incredible and the atmosphere was even better. Loved loved this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 23, 2018

Our first visit here and definitely will go back. Our server was attentive and personable. Started with oysters on the half shell which were delicious. Our entrees were brought timely. Grilled catfish with red beans and rice and the special grilled red fish. Both were awesome we ended up swapping half through and I really can’t decide which was better or I should say my next visits request. Simply enjoyable experience. .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Thanks for a wonderful experience. The food was great and the service fantastic. Thanks again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Had a special occasion dinner here recently. There were three of us and we all ordered something different and we all loved it. Had outstanding service and a very enjoyable dinner before heading over to a concert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Houston. Great food and great environment. Justin our server is very personable and is a great waiter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 8, 2017

It was a Wednesday evening business meal with a total of 7 of us. The restaurant was not busy, quite enough for all of us to talk, great service, and the food was very tasty. I had the red fish and it lived up to the recommendation of our waiter. Wine was nice as well and the price was in line with what you would expect for downtown Houston.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Had a great dinner with friends here while staying in downtown Houston. The food had amazing flavor. The appetizer and dessert were as great as the meal. I nice beer and wine list also. I am shocked they don't have a line out the door! A gem, must try if in the area!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2017

Food and service was awesome. On the way there we ran into some really bad traffic (Astros Parade) and had to push our reservation back. They were friendly and accommodating with the changes. After eating one in our party dropped his phone and staff got in touch with us so we could get it back. Great experience and we will go back for sure.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Good Gulf Coast seafood in pleasant environment at reasonable prices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 24, 2017

We enjoyed our meal very much. We need to support our independently owned restaurants, especially Massa’s!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 6, 2017

Perfect pre-Astros meal spot, and they validate parking in the adjacent garage

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant downtown. The red fish is wonderful. I am gluten free and the chef will always make my meal safe for me. Justin, our server, is the best. His personality also make the evening enjoyable. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

We chose to have dinner here which was walking distance from the hotel and the Toyota center. We loved the food, the service, and the drinks. The Maui Maui was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

This was our second visit to Massa's and we've really been impressed both times. The food was great and the server was very attentive. We made our reservation prior to attending a show at Hobby Center and the only drawback was that the service was slower than we expected, which put us in a rush getting over to the play. Give yourself some extra time. That being said, we'd go back for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 16, 2017

Good meal, service and location

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 15, 2017

Delicious food. Attentive, friendly staff. Nice ambience. Great place to dine pre theater. This was our case (and also celebrated my birthday).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 8, 2017

We've been here numerous times and it's always great, but we do miss our favorite waiter, Tony! We understand that he has gone on to work somewhere else, but he was always our favorite waiter!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 8, 2017

Massa's is great for a lunch business meal! Arrive early at opening if you need quiet time to discuss business as it tends to get noisy around noon. Massa's wait staff is always very attentive and the food is fantastic! Massa's is a MUST!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2017

Very nice they gave us a dessert with happy anniversary on the chocolate, very appreciated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant. Justin our server is very knowledgeable and has a great personality. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2017

the food and the service was spot on. Our waiter was really friendly and helpful to select what to eat. THe beverages we ordered were really good. Mine was an old fashioned and perfectly chilled . Can't wait to go back. !!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 4, 2017

First time visit for us. Food and service (Kevin) was terrific. Lighting could have been lowered to improve ambiance and nearby table was overly loud celebrating a birthday. Was there thru HRW and we were really pleased overall. Was a bit confusing regarding parking (no valet) and suggest better signage related to that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2017

My first dining experience at this Massa's brothers restaurant, but we will be back again. We were going to a concert at Toyota Center that started at 7:00 PM, so we wanted to dine before the concert. Our food was excellent, and service was great. We also had the opportunity to meet Joe Massa who manages the restaurant, and Mario personally welcomed and seated us, and then ensured that we had an outstanding dining experience. Massa's South Coast Grill is a short two blocks walk to Toyota Center and the nearby George R. Brown and Discovery Green area. This is a " hidden gem" of a restaurant and is family-owned, and it clearly beats the competitors in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 1, 2017

Excellent meal! We enjoyed everything from the appetizer to the dessert! Lovelyrics restaurant with professional service and exquisite food! Truly a delight!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 22, 2017

Food and service was wonderful. Easy to walk there from Convention Center. We would definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 17, 2017

Great food! Pecan crusted chicken, scalloped potatoes and grilled asparagus were all delicious! Also loved the chocolate mousse cake! So yummy!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 6, 2017

We found the restaurant on trip advisor. We were on vacation and decided to give it a try. Great food and nice presentation as well. Really enjoying dining there. Would return next time we're in Houston.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 28, 2017

Still a great place. Great food if you get the "specials" - best seafood downtown.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 27, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary with great wine and food. The seafood and steaks were done perfectly. The owner Joe came to our table to a few times to make sure our experience was perfect. We were considering going to a different very popular steak house in town, we are very happy we chose Messa's. We will skip that other place every time we are in Houston and come back to Messa's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2017

Very Delicious great Service would definitely recomend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2017

Came here on a Friday evening with plans to walk through Discovery Green on the way to a show at the GRB convention center afterward. Business was slow, but that's to be expected from a downtown restaurant. Their peak times are during lunch. Food was great. Wait staff was attentive. The owner and his wife even came over to say hello and ask how we were doing. Great experience for my first time there. Will definitely be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2017

Fantastic food, service & cocktails! Texas coastal fresh seafood cooked to perfection. Prefer to eat dinner here than eat at any other downtown Houston restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2017

Went before a concert at House of Blues. Made the decision based on the fact that they take reservations (as we have ended up not being able to eat before a concert at the Toyota Center because of crowds) and they had good reviews. Being from New Orleans, we have a high expectation for seafood dishes--we were not disappointed. The menu included an intriguing variety of dishes we don't normally see in Houston. The Oysters Rockefellar was delicious! Also had the stuffed shrimp and shrimp and grits. Will definitely be back to try the fish.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4