Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Marx Bros Cafe

Located in one of the oldest homes in Anchorage, The Marx Bros. Café specializes in innovative contemporary cuisine featuring fresh Alaskan seafood and only the finest quality meats. Our chef revises the menu each night to reflect unique ingredients and imaginative preparations. Our cuisine is expertly paired with an extensive selection of wines housed in one of Alaska's largest cellars. Welcomed at the door by partner Van Hale, guests are at once immersed in a quaintly elegant atmosphere provided by our original town-site house and tasteful table settings. The evening is guided with unrivaled service by our subtle, accomplished staff. With only 14 tables in our house, we serve an average of 60 guests each night. Reservations are highly recommended. Please contact the restaurant directly if you are unable to get the time or party size requested online.

627 W Third Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 278-2133

Website:
http://marxcafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Jack Amon

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining room for parties of 10-12. The restaurant can be booked for private parties up to 40 people.

Private Party Contact:
Van Hale: (907) 278-2133

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Marx Bros Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (24)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Cozy (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Authentic (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Business Meals (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Scenic View (8)
Good for Groups (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
815 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

Excellent as always. Dining alone I thoroughly enjoyed my spot near the fireplace on a cold night. A must for every time I’m in Anchorage. I recommend it to everyone!

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Always a treat at the Marx Brothers Cafe. A Get-away weekend in Anchorage means reservations at this local charmer. Waitstaff is attentive and helpful. Food is beautifully prepared and presented. Menu is varied and food is always very good. Look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We had our first date at Marx Bros. in May, 1997. We recently celebrated our 19th Anniversary and wanted to visit again. Van made Caesar Salad, table-side and it was fantastic, as usual.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

The best Cesar salad ever! My husband says the streak melts in your mouth like butter. Great service! Reservations well ahead is recommended, books fast, even in the winter.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 3, 2017

This was our first time at this restaurant. It was a most enjoyable experience from the very start. The food was excellent and I’d go there again. My wife and I celebrated our 29th anniversary and we’d go there again in the future for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Food was prepared just as we ordered. Cesar Salad was excellent and the entrees were delicious. Staff was friendly and made us feel like we were welcome. They listened to our questions and were able to understand what we wanted. RARE these days. I enjoyed my food, the atmosphere and the staff. Thanks everyone.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

The wine pairings with every course were delicious. Loved the Tiramisu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

The food was delicious, the service top-notch, and the environment delightful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 19, 2017

We go here on special occasions because they are known for giving a free dessert with an entrée purchase. The famous Van's Cesar Salad is not to be missed! Van even prepared it himself tableside for us. We also liked the halibut cheeks and the gnocchi appetizer. Next will be taking the classes on how to prepare the Cesar Salad!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

We had a lovely dinner to celebrate a milestone birthday. The service was awesome, all the food was really really good, and the wine that was recommended was perfect! We knew going in that the price point is at the very top end of our scale, but the restaurant did everything right on their side to make the experience well worth it! The only downside was That a group was seated in the History Room and they were really loud, especially given the size of that room. We were almost done anyhow so it wasn't too bad but we were happy they weren't there the whole time we were there. Overall, a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

This place is absolutely fabulous. Just remember to book your reservation early (we're talking at least a month in advance), and communicate with the restaurant owners about which table you'd like to be seated at. This makes a huge difference, as those who don't will typically get undesirable seating arrangements! Also, make sure to arrive early, as this restaurant has an ambiance which can best be appreciated when your party is the first to arrive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, People Watching, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had the lobster bisque special as our appetizer and it was excellent. It also had a center of crab and lobster meat. My wife had the rockfish cooked in parchment with shrimp and king crab as her entree - I had the same two weeks earlier but with salmon. She said it was excellent even though she is particular with fish. I had the beef filet as it had been quite some time since I had it as I alway try the unusual proteins on the menu. It was cooked to medium rare as I asked for. A good entree. We shared the berry crisp for dessert - that was good. Thanks to all the staff at Marx Brothers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Seasonal, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food was cold and the service was inattentive. Not a good value or look for such a normally phenomenonal place.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Marx Bros has been our go to restaurant for years. We enjoy the friendliness of the staff and they treat us generously. My wife has had the halibut cheeks three times in a row. I had the gnocchi special appetizer-very tasty. I had the salmon baked in parchment which included shrimp and king crab - man, that was excellent tasty. Thanks Melissa.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 20, 2017

My wife and I dined with our son, daughter-in-law and 1 year old granddaughter. The staff was very friendly and accommodating., they made it a very enjoyable dinner for us. The food and wine was excellent. Would recommend Marx Bros to anyone visiting (or living in) Anchorage. It's a special place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 17, 2017

My boyfriend and I have lived in Anchorage for years and have never been here! I would definitely suggest this place for special occasions as the food is exceptional but expensive. It's in an old house in Downtown Anchorage and it's a place you want to dress up for. My only complaint is there was a large party there was extremely loud and my boyfriend and I could barely hear each other talk. I wish there was a separate room for large parties because it ruined the ambience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Marx Brothers never disappoints. Every appetizer, main course and dessert celebrates the freshest ingredients.

Vann, Jack and their family of chefs and servers make everyone feel special!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Have heard great things about this place from so many sources. We are definitely coming back! They food, service, and atmosphere was perfect for our anniversary dinner. Definitely worth the extra dough and effort to book ahead. Every bite (ate too much) was a delicious as the last. The hospitality of the hosts was more than most! We really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had an amazing anniversary dinner. Friendly staff, the owner seated us and made us a Caesar salad, tableside. The entire meal was delicious and romantic, we felt very well taken care of.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Have gone here many times in past 25 years. We were disappointed this time. Two of the three dishes we ordered (spot prawns over pork belly, fillet, and rack of lamb) were good, but not spectacular. My husband says the fillet itself was excellent, but glaze made it a bit sweet for his taste. Serving of rack of lamb was surprisingly tiny, considering it cost $45. Was a bit noisier than we remembered. The Cabernet we ordered (least expensive---$54/bottle) was a "meh". Even their signature dish, the tableside prepared Caesar salad seemed a bit more watery, with less flavor than we remembered. One would think that a dinner for 4 that cost $400 (entrees, salads, 2 desserts, bottle of wine) would be better.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Frequent travelers to Alaska and always looking for great dining expreriences, this was our first time at Marx Brothers. It is definitely the best restaurant that we've tried in Anchorage. Service was top-notch with expert advice, timely, and friendly. Food was superb - had local Alaska oysters for starters which were fresh and flavorful. Scallops as entree were cooked perfectly with great presentation and accompaniments. Returning to Marx Brothers will be a must on our next trip to Alaska.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Unassuming setting in a historic house. Caesar salad made at the table looked wonderful and was clearly enjoyed by other guests (we did not choose it). Extensive wine list. Crab cakes were not the best, but salmon entree was indeed delicious as was chocolate mousse dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Birthday dinner for a friend. Atmosphere was elegant, food delicious, service superb! Thank you!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had a lovely dinner at Marx Bros. Cafe. Loved the caesar salad made at your table. It was recommended to us by relatives and experience couldn't have been more delightful. We highly recommend it if you live or are visiting Anchorage.
Joy & Bernie

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were quite pleased that the owner was present and that he personally prepared the outstanding table-side Caesar Salad. The filet was one of the most tender that I have ever had. We already made our next reservations for my birthday and our wedding anniversary. We rate this as our favorite restaurant in Anchorage.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

I have dined here for several decades and my mouth waters at the thought of Van's Caesar Salad, which never disappoints. Best in World. Jack's spicy Halibut Cheeks scored again. Always a challenge to select just one tasty appetizer: the gnocchi special made from Yukon Gold potatoes with king crab on top was absolutely melt-in-your-mouth first class. Keep setting the standard, guys -- you best the pack!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The food, the service, and the presentation were all incredible!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Very average. Not very good. I would not recommend.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Absolutely great, as always. Perfect everything, including a last minute accommodation. We always choose Marx Bros for special occasions (as long as it's not too many people).

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food here was wonderful. We had to wait for our (reserved) table, but the staff were very accommodating and offered us drinks. The quality of the food more than made up for the wait. Our meal definitely lived up to our special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything we ate was phenomenal. Service was amazing! This was our first visit and we will be back. It was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. Do try the Caesar salad made by Van at the table. But remember to bring mints for afterwards, you will need them. Best steak I've ever had, don't skip the dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed stopping in on our vacation. Food was fresh and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Best Restaurant inAnchorage

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Dinner was fantastic as always. Van's Caesar is a must. Best place in town!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had an outstanding meal and an excellent bottle of wine. Highly recmommended!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Cesar salad was so tasty.
Food all over was so good and atmosphere was very warm and cozy.
Service was friendly and warm.
I would like to visit next summer.

Tags: Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My wife and I have been "dating" on Saturdays since 1981. The first time we went to Marx Brothers was 1981 and it has become and remains a very special restaurant for us. The salad, main courses, deserts and wine along with the service tonight were excellent keeping with the mark of excellence usually displayed at this restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 30, 2017

As always the service and food is excellent. We celebrated out 10th anniversary and had the Caesar salad, duck and I had the gnocchi and crab appetizer for dinner. We were too full to have dessert, darn it! Highly recommend Marx Brothers for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Amazing food as always! The table side Cesar was phenomenal. Loved the NY as well as the lamb dish. Oysters were perfect. Wine selection impeccable!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent food and a great wine list. Definitely an incredible place to dine in Anchorage.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.