Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Marx Bros Cafe

Located in one of the oldest homes in Anchorage, The Marx Bros. Café specializes in innovative contemporary cuisine featuring fresh Alaskan seafood and only the finest quality meats. Our chef revises the menu each night to reflect unique ingredients and imaginative preparations. Our cuisine is expertly paired with an extensive selection of wines housed in one of Alaska's largest cellars. Welcomed at the door by partner Van Hale, guests are at once immersed in a quaintly elegant atmosphere provided by our original town-site house and tasteful table settings. The evening is guided with unrivaled service by our subtle, accomplished staff. With only 14 tables in our house, we serve an average of 60 guests each night. Reservations are highly recommended. Please contact the restaurant directly if you are unable to get the time or party size requested online.

627 W Third Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 278-2133

Website:
http://marxcafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Jack Amon

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining room for parties of 10-12. The restaurant can be booked for private parties up to 40 people.

Private Party Contact:
Van Hale: (907) 278-2133

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Marx Bros Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
See All
Notable Wine List (24)
Local Ingredients (18)
Romantic (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Cozy (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Authentic (10)
Scenic View (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Casual (6)
Fun (5)
Waterfront (4)
Seasonal (3)
Business Meals (3)
Historic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
786 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food here was wonderful. We had to wait for our (reserved) table, but the staff were very accommodating and offered us drinks. The quality of the food more than made up for the wait. Our meal definitely lived up to our special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything we ate was phenomenal. Service was amazing! This was our first visit and we will be back. It was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. Do try the Caesar salad made by Van at the table. But remember to bring mints for afterwards, you will need them. Best steak I've ever had, don't skip the dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed stopping in on our vacation. Food was fresh and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Best Restaurant inAnchorage

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Dinner was fantastic as always. Van's Caesar is a must. Best place in town!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had an outstanding meal and an excellent bottle of wine. Highly recmommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Cesar salad was so tasty.
Food all over was so good and atmosphere was very warm and cozy.
Service was friendly and warm.
I would like to visit next summer.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 30, 2017

As always the service and food is excellent. We celebrated out 10th anniversary and had the Caesar salad, duck and I had the gnocchi and crab appetizer for dinner. We were too full to have dessert, darn it! Highly recommend Marx Brothers for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My wife and I have been "dating" on Saturdays since 1981. The first time we went to Marx Brothers was 1981 and it has become and remains a very special restaurant for us. The salad, main courses, deserts and wine along with the service tonight were excellent keeping with the mark of excellence usually displayed at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Amazing food as always! The table side Cesar was phenomenal. Loved the NY as well as the lamb dish. Oysters were perfect. Wine selection impeccable!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent food and a great wine list. Definitely an incredible place to dine in Anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Worth it! The Caesar salad is exactly as it should be, made tableside with fresh ingredients and no gloppy dressing. Each item we ordered was delicious and inventive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 18, 2017

My husband and I went here for our 8 year wedding anniversary. We started with the Caesar salad and then had a wonderful dinner which we enjoyed with a great bottle of wine. Finished with an excellent dessert! I love that one of the original owners from opening in 1979 made the Caesar salad, which was amazing! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We ordered the Halibut Macadamia, it was excellent. Very friendly staff and took good care of us. Good atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Wonderful experience and exceptional food. Great ambiance in an intimate setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 14, 2017

Absolutely perfect in every way, from the ambience to the service to the food! Pricey? Yes, but well worth the price for the delicious fresh food and super service!! Would come back in heartbeat! Wished we lived closer!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 13, 2017

A must place to eat on our annual return holiday to Anchorage. We regard it as one of the nicest casual dining venues that we have encountered.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Marx Bros. is our absolute favorite Anchorage restaurant for celebrating a special occasion! The food is absolutely amazing- Van's made at the table Caesar salad, Macadamia Halibut, Boutbon Glazed Filet... oh, my!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This may have been a case of not managing my expectations well, but with the tremendous amount of stellar reviews for Marx Bros., I expected to be "wowed"; unfortunately, I was left disappointed. Of all the dishes ordered, the best were the salmon entree (very well prepared), and the eggplant pate appetizer (though likely because it tasted like cheese, and I love cheese). The halibut entree & its sides were a bit bland, the crab cakes were not appetizing, and the glass of wine poured for me was the end of a bottle, and there was a tremendous amount of residue coating my glass the more I drank.

I try not to go to restaurants where I spend more than $25-30 on an entree because I know good food does not have to cost that much, but my friends and I were in town for one night and we wanted to go all out. Sadly, we did not get the experience we hoped for, but still paid quite a bit for it ($40-46 per entree).

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Long time customers, bringing California friends this past week. They loved the evening, especially Van and his wonderful salad!

All in all, very good food and an enjoyable time was had by all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

What a meal! Everything was spectacular

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food and fantastic service! Highly recommend this place for a great dinner experience in Anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Outstanding meal in a warm, welcoming historic setting. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The Caesar salad ... need I say more? We love the interaction with the owner as he made his famous Caesar tableside ... how did he cut that garlic without even looking at the clove?! Our main courses were lovely and well-prepared and dessert was a treat. So glad we booked several weeks in advance to experience Marx Bros Cafe!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We love the table-side Caeser salad and come here on most special occasions because of it. We think it is the best place to eat in Anchorage for really good food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Best Caesar salad in the world, and the owners are super friendly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 20, 2017

All members of the staff were tuned in to great service like a well oiled machine. They worked well together as a team and all were very friendly. Excellent presentation of the fare. Great place for special occasions.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great meal - king salmon for me and halibut cheeks for my wife. They special made the halibut cheeks as an entree for my wife. Excellent crab cakes. Service was excellent (as usual) and friendly. Our 44th wedding anniversary. They treated us well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Just outstanding. My favorite special place to dine in Anchorage. Food is masterfully prepared with some unique flavors. Service can not be beat anywhere anytime.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Well worth the price. The salmon and halibut were both delicious. There is an extensive wine list, and the server was very helpful in picking out a great bottle for us. Great experience all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Always a delicious meal! Van's table-side Caesar salad is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great waitress and very nice wine. The oysters were fantastic as was the soup. The main course was a bit heavy for my taste (stuffed feasant) and portions are big. Save money and share your main.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The ambiance was good and the waitstaff was excellent. The food was very good, but for the price, I expected a little more somehow.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The Caeser salad prepared table side is the best. The wine list is awesome.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Delicious as always!! Favorite place to come. Best food in anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Different menu - a little pretentious and very pricy. Unfortunately gave me an upset stomach for 12 hours afterwards

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 23, 2017

The food was quite good. I was surprised at the cost. It was a wonderful evening for a special occasion

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Wonderful. A time to enjoy a good meal without rushing. To savor every bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Love this restaurant. It is our go to destination every time we are in Anchorage. Wouldn't miss an evening during a visit.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Marx Bros never fails to deliver a quality dining experience. We have been there only three times over 30 years (because it's outside our normal dining budget). All three times have been a treat worth saving for. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.